EMS Software Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
366 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (101-125 of 158)

Courtney Massari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are new clients and in the implementation phase. It will be used broadly across campus, but will not capture every space as the university does not mandate its use.
  • Ability to configure
  • Ease of use
  • Thoughtful application. The options really encompass everything we would typically need
  • Friendly consultants and sales team (shoutout to Brandi, Yanni, Tyson and Dan!)
  • Will be back in touch when we get going with it!
We have a lot of space managers of just a few rooms — this will hopefully be the software and change that gets buy-in from those users with its ability to configure and set security fairly easily (or at least more easily than our current product)
Read Courtney Massari's full review
Joseph Pasquarelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS Software is being used by several of the schools at the University of Rochester. EMS Software is used to manage spaces used for instruction, athletics and our Memorial Art Gallery.
  • Defining buildings, rooms and outdoor spaces that allows for efficient management.
  • By using EMS Faculty, Staff and Students at our campus have an easy way to reserve spaces
  • EMS provides reporting tools that administrators can leverage in their day-to-day work.
  • EMS level 1 support: all channels are in need of improvement.
The EMS Campus product continues to be well suited for our room scheduling needs on our campus. We are looking forward to new integrations with our SIS, FAMIS and other enterprise applications.
Read Joseph Pasquarelli's full review
C D | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2018

EMS is the best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used for events and classroom reservations.
  • Organizes and makes scheduling possible
  • Prevents conflicts
  • Ensures students and faculty needs are met
  • Provides the best tool to complete work and promote a sane operation
  • I wish the product would feed the sys. class and schedule data
  • I wish you had a curriculum management solution integrated that would feed EMS and make EMS the true resource of curriculum, class, and scheduling data. EMS is a powerful repository and could be amazing adding curriculum management
Excellent tool to harness course offering data, do schedules, manage space, prevent conflicts
Read C D's full review
Kerri Wallen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2018

EMS Newbie

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS will be used by our traditional and non-traditional classes and event services.
  • New to the system but am looking forward to the reporting aspects.
  • New to the system and hoping for less repetitive entry than what's in our current system.
  • Looking forward to implementing the tips that we have learned at the EMS Conference.
  • Wish we could add our Visio Diagrams to the system and be able to make changes without having to create and reattach PDF’s.
  • Being able to invoice through EMS and have the charges automatically sync with our current accounting department systems.
  • Have our deposit form attached to EMS while prepopulating deadline dates.
Being a new user and still in the implementation process I am unable to completely respond to this question, but am looking forward to seeing what the software brings to our organization. I appreciate hearing other users share scenarios of how their organization is using the software and their hopes for the future.
Read Kerri Wallen's full review
Ping Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2018

EMS review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole campus mainly for registrar and event scheduling.
  • Using the web app to have students and departments submit request to reserve a room
  • All locations are easy to see
  • Multiple storage managers can communicate
  • User defined fields could do with more flushing out. Like being able to have a multi leveled dependency and have user defined fields appear basic on the room selected by the everyday user
  • Categories could have the option to be made required
  • Possible to have the option for a status that can hold the space but also allow the everyday user the option to request the space and be added to a wait list
Obviously scheduling is where EMS is well suited. Less so is to track member information
Read Ping Lai's full review
Debbie Letterman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2018

EMS Software Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using EMS in our student union in 1998. In 2017 we upgraded to professional plus and added the web app for our customers. This year we have now implemented EMS Campus and will go live with it November 1.
  • Communication between services (house crew, a/v, food, parking etc)
  • Flexibility
  • User-friendly. Easy to train people how to use the system
  • More friendly mobile app.
  • When you have a multi-day multi-space conference.
  • The fact that it can be done on all one reservation.
Read Debbie Letterman's full review
Kenneth Wieler | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

General Overview

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS primarily for room booking and resource requests. We have integration with our lecture capture, student club app, calendar, etc.
  • Rules within EMS are very flexible
  • The new user interface is a very user-friendly interface
  • Flexibilty
  • Cloud service support is not where it needs to be.
  • Get rid of the thick client and make this totally a web app
  • End user mobile app improvements
Great for room scheduling and resource requests.

EMS could use better integration with ticketing systems since it is not a workflow system
Read Kenneth Wieler's full review
Whitney Brand | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

Academics and EMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is currently being used to schedule academic courses and it is also used to schedule events for most venues on campus.
  • Manages events on campus.
  • Keeps all campus service providers in the loop in regards to events on campus.
  • HR Toolkit. We struggle with the import process because we are no longer receiving detailed error reports. Without these reports, we are unable to correct any issues on our own. We have to reach out to EMS support and it could be a few days before issues are resolved.
EMS Software is well suited in allowing departments to set preferences to where their courses are located. The optimization process honors the preferences set and allows departments to feel more secure in the optimization process.
Read Whitney Brand's full review
Bill McIntosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS keeps me thinking!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Global use. Running 44.0. Initial complications forced our users to use virtual. Excited to upgrade to 44.1 within the next 2 months.
  • Criteria based searching more streamlined, which speeds up room look up.
  • Great for daily reporting and metrics.
  • Resource requests provide our global users the opportunity to reserve all meeting requirements in one central location.
  • No ability to add external email addresses in web app
A specific scenario where EMS adds great value to reservations is its interop with Outlook, functionality with kiosking, and ability to simplify the process for users to create, manage and execute events.
Read Bill McIntosh's full review
Trinity Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

I love EMS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently EMS is used by a few departments at FSU but there is a push to roll it out as an enterprise level solution for all of campus.
  • Data collection and storage
  • Automated reporting
  • User custom configuration
  • Easier to use with MACs
  • Need to be able to configure rooms in multiple ways without duplicating. For instance, we want to have block scheduling in the evenings only but there's not a streamlined way to do this
Well suited: space management, occupancy reporting, knowing what's going on where
Read Trinity Gonzalez's full review
Ahmed Nassef | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

Dive in at EMS Live

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire school of social work to manage events and classes
  • Calendar of events (book)
  • Event wizard and reservation
  • Self service reservation and web app
  • Invoicing and billing needs to be simlplified
  • User Security setup not completely customizable
Carrying the over all load of event, space and resource management for all types of spaces. Hallways, classrooms, conference rooms
Read Ahmed Nassef's full review
Gelys Chacin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

First timer.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, EMS is being used for non-academic events scheduling in general and only academic events just for the Law school. I have heard that EMS is very robust for the non academic events scheduling but that it still has some hiccups in the academic side, like for the schedule of cross-listed or combined sections.
  • Non academic booking
  • Keeping all reservations in just one booking
  • The fact that a reservation can be moved, copied, etc from the booking or calendar view
  • Printing information easily from most views
  • Total accurate enrollment counts for combined sections and the optimización process
  • Coding as “conflicts” spaces used by combined sections
I will have to test the system more on the area of my work. I have just express what I have heard from colleagues from other colleges/schools.
Read Gelys Chacin's full review
Sara K. Anastos | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We will be rolling out EMS for our non-academic spaces. We will be launching early next year.
  • We are excited about the reporting feature.
  • Adding/managing services
  • Ability to edit labels and how it appears on the website. Our room names are constantly cut off.
  • We would like the ability to embed live links.
  • Make it more Mac compatible. About 1/3 of our user have a Mac.
We haven’t launched yet but EMS seems like a great tool to manage our conference rooms. We are exploring at using it for other items such parking spaces, etc.
Read Sara K. Anastos's full review
Anamarie Knapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS - excellent!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use EMS to schedule all of our Academic classes and meetings/events on campus. We are working on requiring it be used by any department on campus to schedule so there is only one platform.

It addresses our issues of space utilization and scheduling.
  • Reduces stress of double bookings - several departments on our campus were using Google Calendar to schedule.
  • User friendly - EMS is very easy to use and configure as an Administrator.
  • Communicates across departments - an easy, one platform solution to communicate with various departments on campus about a single event
  • MAC integration - it's difficult for our MAC users on campus to utilize EMS fully
  • Greater invoicing and tracking of billing capabilities
Very well suited to our campus needs. I cannot think of a way where it would not be appropriate.
Read Anamarie Knapp's full review
Lucy Denny-Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS at RAND

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being using throughout the organization for a variety of services. I manage the Conference Services side.
  • Canned reports
  • Outlook integration
  • Book works pretty well for administrators
  • The event view in the book need to show the Everyday User
  • Tech support always says “it will be fixed in the next upgrade” but it never is
  • Report delivery has been problematic for us
EMS is best suited for concierge service. Less suited for self help.
Read Lucy Denny-Gardner's full review
Kate C | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

Debut User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for basic room reservations and confirmations in our office. Our University uses it for events, student life reservations, academic classes and so on.
  • Love the booking wizard. Makes changes or mass booking easier.
  • Being able to drag a reservation.
  • Love having option to create “ my views”.
  • Wish there was a bit more flexibility in confirmation emails. If one department changes the subject line it changes for all departments. Maybe an issue with our university though, since we are upgrading.
For us it’s well suited for all basic reservations. Working on implementing more of the functions it offers to our normal policies involving reservations.
Read Kate C's full review
Jeannine Riess | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Utilize the software for academic scheduling and for event management.
  • Manage events and approvals
  • Invoicing capabilities
  • History and flow of info
  • Lets everyone know where they are in the process
  • Invoicing is challenging
  • Population of emails is time consuming
  • Alerts does not always work
Great software to manage events
Read Jeannine Riess's full review
Jessica Beesley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is currently being used to manage the rooms and spaces that are in the Student Center and other spaces on campus. It is used on main campus and the Medical School.
  • Does not allow for double booking
  • Saves valuable time for staff
  • Allows for easy use and visibility
  • It still looks a little hard. Softer lines, flashier look might be nice
  • Can be slow
  • Keeps multiple windows open. I wish it would close them when you move to another one.
It is amazing for event management and space flexibility. I highly suggest it if you have multiple resources, spaces and people viewing the space
Read Jessica Beesley's full review
Francis Angilletta, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

EMS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire organization for hoteling and meeting management.
  • EMS is extremely customizable.
  • Advanced research and reporting capabilities.
  • Catering and service order tracking and lifecycle.
  • API Calls
  • Improved Desktop Performance
  • Enhanced settings for override description room for a managed meeting workflow
Appropriate: Meeting management
Less Appropriate: LTR or Long Term Reservation Management.
Read Francis Angilletta, PMP's full review
Rachel Montejano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being used as the university event management tool. The Registrar's office uses EMS for classroom scheduling and for Final Exam scheduling.
  • EMS does event planning well. Love that it prioritizes Academic bookings over event bookings.
  • EMS is a user friendly tool.
  • EMS does not have the best Final Exam Scheduling tools. Still have to do a lot of manual processing on the csv file.
  • Communication for academic booking bumps.
  • Final Exam Scheduling.
  • Automization.
Well suited for event planning. Not so well suited for Academic Planning since there is no push back to our ERP system.
Read Rachel Montejano's full review
Gregory Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to schedule conference room, meeting, ballrooms, wedding, academics... pretty much all aspects of the campus.
  • Scheduling of rooms.
  • Showing availability of rooms in building.
  • Ability to combine both scheduling and catering billing.
  • Working with other software. This is more of trying to find data to use in other systems.
  • Our current version (43) is terrible on virtual. We can make it work. Some days when it is not used it just does not work, or fails to work for some users.
It is great for general schduling and catering.

It does not work for hotel/inn scheduling of rooms as would be desired.
Read Gregory Thomas's full review
Metza Templeton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS for classroom scheduling and events that use classrooms.
  • Integration with Banner.
  • Class size optimization.
  • Visual view of course bookings.
  • Classroom Utilization reports. Would like to limit use to 100%. I often get results that are greater than 100% which upper administration does not understand, which makes the reports useless.
  • Sync changes to room capacities. Currently they are manually updated, if at all.
  • Easier set up steps before beginning optimization.
EMS limits SIS connections to one. Currently on the Auraria Campus in Denver, there are 3 institutions that use shared resources on the same campus. Two of us have our own version of EMS for optimization purposes, then results are uploaded to a Main instance. After the upload, we now need to keep two instances up to date with changes. Much too difficult.
Read Metza Templeton's full review
Lindsay Shively | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several, if not all, departments use this program in some form or another. It helps to streamline communication, share information, improve business processes, and continually advances to be used even more.
  • Keeping up with trends.
  • Continually advances and improves.
  • Amazing customer support.
  • Master Calendar.
  • Web client.
Reporting is amazing. One stop-shopping. Unlimited options and capabilities. A challenge is marketing events.
Read Lindsay Shively's full review
Dennis Nicholson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2018

Hammers' Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used throughout the campus and is used for reserving event space on campus. It unifies the resources as well as time organization.
  • Organizes events well.
  • Accesses resources easily and accurately.
  • Desktop client proficiency with web accessed reservation.

Planning events and monitoring the event.

Tracking all needed documentation.

Read Dennis Nicholson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2018

Easy Peasy Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire catering department uses EMS. We are the only approved caterer allowed in the building so I have configured our menu into the system so it’s easier to input information for the BEOs. We also use it for forecasting, billing, and sales reports.
  • I love the copy and paste feature. This has helped me tremendously and saved a lot of time during the booking process.
  • Being able to book multiple dates at one time has really benefited our department. Since our availability fills up so fast this ensures that our customers are taken care of for future events as well as current events.
  • Query builder is something that I have just started using. I love this feature because it allows me to see what items on our catering menu are selling the most and I can also see the sales that are being generated by each employee.
  • Running reports is very easy in EMS. I love how you can customize them to fit your needs.
  • Billing has been an issue for us. Using different payment methods is an amazing feature, but it doesn't always work. We use CVI and BRS payment accounts and sometimes the software will let us use one of each and then the next it will only let us use two CVIs or 2 BRSs. The inconsistency makes it hard for our customers when it comes to the payment process.
  • Invoices locking after payment is something that we have struggled with from day one. I understand that this is for security reasons, but I feel that it should be up to the user.
I believe that EMS is well suited for for a variety of users and it can be configured in many different ways that can benefit your company.
Read this authenticated review

About EMS Software

EMS Software is an enterprise space management, event, class and resource scheduling application acquired and now supported by Accruent in June 2018.

EMS Software Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No