TrustRadius
Entrinsik Informer is a web-based Reporting and Business Intelligence (BI) application. It helps organizations transform real-time data into actionable information by delivering ad-hoc reporting, data analysis and interactive dashboards.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nX/v6/JHQFTF3O54OS.jpegGreat Product and Awesome Support!Simply and as succinctly as I can possibly make it - Informer is a great product that produces superior results right out of the box. It is a product we depend on every single day in our entire organization and it always produces great results and truly worth every last cent of investment. The enhancements over the years have taken an already great product and truly made it better and the company is always listening to their customers to better the product and add features that truly enhance the customer experience. We originally purchased Informer to report from a single U2 Data source, but it is now reporting from multiple data sources and solving more analytical problems than the simple reporting we originally purchased it to solve.,The ability to schedule using various methods of delivery or on-demand reporting to users in a secure way - Giving users access to the data source and selection and parameters that return what they need to see, but nothing more. The ability to report and link on multiple data sources and types. This makes it far easier for use to link SQL Data with U2 Data and provide functional reporting and analytics without having to create a warehouse in between. Support and Enhancements. They are always providing great things and the releases are far more stable than most other software that is released.,That is pretty difficult as we built the ROI on Informer solving a specific set of roles in the company. It has far exceeded the initial and current specifications, so we couldn't be happier. If I had to pick one thing, it would be to have employees geared to a specific industry for deployment and integration, but they have done a far better job than the others playing in the same ballpark.,10,,10,Initial ROI was met by having a reporting system that didn't take a huge chunk of resources from the system or Information Technology. The ability to schedule parameterized reports that go out to much of our staff on a weekly and monthly basis. Over time, we found more creative ways to utilize some of the live excel aspects of reporting to build analytical and graphical based reporting and forecasting. The ability to utilize native U2 commands, lists made it easier to port existing reporting and knowledge.,8,10Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer.The Informer product is used in a variety of ways across our whole university. The reports and dashboards provide up to date information in an easy to digest format. While a majority of the report and dashboard construction is housed in the Office of Systems Analysis, our users actively use and create reports to help with their operational and/or strategic decisions. From the ad hoc reports, to the scheduled reports to the automated processes, Informer is synonymous with efficiency and productivity on our campus.,Initially, Informer was chosen primarily because of how it handled our multi-valued database structure for our student information system. Since then it has expanded to a support a slew of database platforms. Our institution uses informer for internal and Federal reporting as well as a host of other data requests that come to our institution. Informer quietly and seamlessly drives several Business Intelligence initiative on our campus. The solutions provided range from supplying our online employee directory with accurate information to aiding the Financial Aid office in monitoring and projecting financial budgets.,Informer has room to grow in the dashboard delivered. While helpful and visually pleasing, they are not as robust as some of the other solutions that are more focused on the dashboards. The API leaves the opening for well-resourced organizations to enhance this area on their own. We make it a point to show Informer as a list generator and not a fully fleshed out report writer. There is room to grow here as well. It just so happens our users are much more used to extracting the data than generating a publishable report directly out of the Informer product. Over the years, Informer has expanded its capability to meet all of the needs initially. Some of the things I initially saw as weaknesses was because it didn't fit into the vision Entrinsik had set for its product.,10,,10,3,8,Creating selection criteria for each report is very logical and easy to follow. The UI makes the process very easy to handle the potentially complex nature of the data requests. Adding fields of data to the reports are a breeze. The drag and drop UI make the composition very quick and easy. The flexible nature of the calculated columns vastly extends the power of the report.,Informer won't let you tell it to do something it can't. It won't let you query against a field it can't see, etc. This can be confusing for some users, but I'm not sure how Entrinsik could improve it. Informer can support complex custom functions, and unless you are very adept at writing these functions, they can come across as difficult.,No,10,7Entrinsik's Informer is a solid, versatile, and powerful reporting tool.Ohlone needed a flexible reporting tool that supported multiple database platforms and we chose Entrinsik's Informer in late 2011 and were up and running in January 2012. What was initially a limited roll-out to specific departments quickly turned into an enthusiastic campus-wide implementation: everyone wanted to use this new, easy-to-use reporting tool. We have over 1000 reports, with some scheduled and others setup as quick links for individual users. Most of the reports are written by the Applications Team in Information Technology, but we engaged with tech-savvy and power-user employees around the campus, training and encouraging standards in writing their own reports for themselves and their departments. The Informer product has helped departments "own" their reports through the ability to quickly review, audit, and verify data specific to their area.,Files and fields can be mapped and linked in Informer without the need to create computed columns within the Colleague environment, alleviating ad hoc requests to the I.T. department. Scheduled reports can be created that will run if a range of criteria are met: users are not receiving scheduled reports that contain null/empty/blank values. Quick links and Live Excel reports give users instant access to their most used and favorite reports. Dashboard views give instant aggregate information essential during peak times: registration headcount, outstanding receivables, payroll tax deposits, enrollment and financial aid verification, etc.,If the reporting dashboard included a column on reporting sharing, if the report is public or restricted, would be very helpful. One must detail into each report to see if there are restrictions, which is not efficient. It would be helpful to be able to modify the columns that are displayed on the reporting dashboard: add a column for last modified, add a column for sharing (report is public, shared, private), etc, at the global level, and ideally, at the user level. Help information could be expanded, particularly on mapping and auto suggest type. Helpful option to be able to selecting/view specific multi-values without normalizing the report view. Include a list of common script samples within the application versus posting them to Entrinsik's forums.,10,10,Informer has helped us pull more timely and more accurate data, with the flexibility of multiple formats (Excel, PDF, .CSV, etc). Informer audit reports created for the HR/Payroll office has decreased monthly payroll processing time by at least a full business day. Informer reports have assisted institutional research and student service reporting needs, decreasing the number of days needed to generate for cyclical mandated reports by several business days. We have increased employee efficiencies in departments across campus because of Entrinsik's Informer. Informer has had a very positive impact and return on investment, helping the campus fulfill our business objectives and college goals.,Implemented in-houseExcellent product--Excellent companyEntrinsik Informer is being used throughout the university as the primary reporting tool. It allows not only for ad-hoc reporting but also to assist in decision-making at management level. We are able to export data to outside entities to provide data for FMLA benefits, insurance benefits, and Alumni database population as well as others. The ease of the tool itself makes it relatively easy for end-users to create their own reports as well. It also allows mapping to a UniData database which is not common in the BI world.,Ease of use for end-users--drag and drop interface allows for users without database knowledge to create reports. The ability to map Informer to multi-valued databases like Unidata/U2. The ability to link multiple databases allows for endless opportunities for data integration. Reliable, dependable, and extremely stable product that works seamlessly with upgrades. Allows export of data in multiple formats to allow for external download of data. The dashboard product (which we don't have but we have had a trial version in the past) allows for Google map plotting to view trends in applicant/student demographics.,While I don't think there is anything that is hard to use with Informer, additional functionality might be the ability to run multiple reports off of one query.,10,,10,25,1,Ad-hoc report building/running throughout the entire university. Quick and easy report writing capabilities. Ease of use for report writers. Export of data required by either internal or external entities in various formats. Live Excels allow for users to run reports when needed with no intervention from IT,One report runs a process that calculates hours worked for the past 365 days for FMLA elibitility and then runs a report that exports the FMLA data directly to our 3rd party FMLA administrator. Our Institutional Research department runs their 10th day statistical data from an Informer report and then archives this data. Created extremely complex report for export of our Alumni data to our Blackbaud Alumni database in the format that this database needed for successful import.,Implemented in-house,10,10Entrinsik Informer Makes Reporting Fast and EasyEntrinsik Informer is currently being used as a reporting tool across our entire college campus. I work in a admissions office where data needs are always changing for reports and Informer allows me to create advanced reports in a matter of minutes to fit those needs in a very user friendly way. I have used to create a work flow process with a series of reports that are scheduled and send based on specific conditions to other employees. The scheduling module allows me to create and schedule a report based on a select statement which means I can have one report that sends 60 emails to different people instead of having 60 individual reports where each one is "hard coded" with that select and emailed out. Entrinsik Informer really makes it easy for the end user, who might not be as technical, log in and run reports based on their needs or the reports they have access to on their security class.,Reporting: Entrinsik Informer makes report writing easy. I have had to train a few employees on how to write reports and it is much easier to teach them the logic of how to write reports rather than teach them the syntax of a reporting language like SQL. Because they can drag and drop statements as well as columns in a report to meet their needs I can focus more on the logic then anything else. Security: Entrinsik Informer is a very powerful reporting tool that can allow someone to pull massive amounts of information at one time. Having security for reports and what tables you can report from is very important. You can give a user access to just run one report that is given to them, or give a user access to make their own reports, or any combination of times. Having groups of who can see this report is also very helpful when your company has many departments with in it and each one has their own data. Multiple Data Sources: Being able to link between more then one data source and report information from both sources is huge when it comes to writing reports. You don't have to worry about anything but setting up the initial link between the data sources and writing some reports. You can pull columns in from both data sources with ease then. Scheduling: Being able to make a schedule that can export in almost any format from CSV to PDF to TXT file is a great plus. If a person who has a scheduled report has a MAC that does not Microsoft Office you can send them a PDF of the same data for viewing. Being able to generate fixed width text files allows for the porting of that data for some type of other processing such as adding users into active directory.,Allowing to put code behind a column instead of creating a calculated column and calling upon that one. I would like to see a way to be able to copy and paste selection statements from report to report do you do not have to re-drag each item onto the screen. Being able to save the fixed with outputs for text files such that it does not have to be a scheduled report, it could be one that you can launch and chose the export to be fixed with text file with the widths populated.,10,10,Implemented in-house
Windows, Linux, Mac
Entrinsik Informer
84 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Entrinsik Informer Reviews

Entrinsik Informer
84 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 68 of 84 Entrinsik Informer ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 68)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Todd Doster profile photo
June 30, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Great Product and Awesome Support!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Simply because it continues to solve the original business problem we originally purchased the product to solve and the product continues to evolve with enhancements that are truly valuable to our organization.
Read Todd Doster's full review
Jeffrey Jones profile photo
February 03, 2016

Review: "Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Hands down, Informer is the best ROI our university has ever had. Our day to day operations thrive on the data, and the product contributes regularly to our strategic decisions and plans as a university.
Read Jeffrey Jones's full review
Don Penrose profile photo
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsik's Informer is a solid, versatile, and powerful reporting tool."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Informer is invaluable because of:

  • the ease of use,
  • the quick adoption by the campus community,
  • the +1K reports in our collective library,
  • the affordable licensing and maintenance costs,
  • Entrinsik's responsive customer service,
  • Informer's seamless aggregate and analytics functionality,
  • and the powerful script availability.
Read Don Penrose's full review
Noelle Hurley profile photo
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Excellent product--Excellent company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Excellent overall product. Entrinsik's development team provides a quality product and are always developing to further improve it. Cost to benefit ratio on this product makes all the difference to a non-profit institution like SXU.
Read Noelle Hurley's full review
James Kastrantas profile photo
September 30, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer Makes Reporting Fast and Easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Entrinsik Informer is a great product that allows us to improve our workflow and is well liked by our end-users. The biggest reason we will renew is that we get a lot of return on our investment.
Read James Kastrantas's full review
Lisa O'Dellick profile photo
January 07, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Hands down, Informer is the icing on the cake!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It gives our employees everything they need in a report writer. Ease of use, budget friendly, and excellent help desk. When you interact with Entrinsik employees, you feel a part of the company. They ask for your recommendations and change requests, and actually provide feedback as to how they might implement the ideas. They are a joy to work with.
Read Lisa O'Dellick's full review
Ron Darschewski profile photo
November 11, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer Easy Reporting/Visualizations of Data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Entrinsik is a great company to work with. The product has improved our workflow and is well liked by our end-users. The biggest reason we will renew is that we get a lot of return on our investment.
Read Ron Darschewski's full review
Kyle Rima profile photo
July 08, 2015

Review: "Entrinsik Informer makes reporting life easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have written thousands of reports using Informer. Our end users know how to use it and really like it. Many of them are able to write their own reports easing the report writing burden on our IS department. On top of the ease of use of Informer, Entrinsik is a great company to work with. They are very responsive when we need help with an issue and they work really hard to take our product suggestions and implement them in their software.
Read Kyle Rima's full review
Nakamura Dean profile photo
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer, not just for Unidata"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I like the conference. I get to learn a lot there. They keep coming out with new cool things. New functionality, better security, better tools. They are not a huge shop but seem to keep it together pretty well. They respond fairly quickly and address issues efficiently. We have been a client for a long time and we will be for the foreseeable future.
Read Nakamura Dean's full review
Theresa M. Frachalla profile photo
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer: Data at Your Fingertips in Minutes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Entrinsik is always improving and expanding it's functionality. It's a cost effective way to provide real-time reporting and can be expanded to report off a data warehouse in the future. The Dashboards is another piece that we'd like to investigate for the future. And, the ease of use makes it a quick win for us.
Read Theresa M. Frachalla's full review
John Bowker profile photo
August 19, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "How did we function without it?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
This product has become the campus "norm" and the expectations of staff have grown. We are adding new staff and new departments on a regular basis. All training sessions offered across campus fill up immediately. There is a pent-up demand for self-controlled data mining and Informer is the tool to help get that done.
Read John Bowker's full review
Bryan Horstman profile photo
July 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "It's a great product, we couldn't get along with out it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have nearly 2,500 reports written - our institution relies heavily on Informer.
Read Bryan Horstman's full review
Joseph Riquelme profile photo
September 30, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsk Informer for Public Safety"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Another aspect to look at when buying software is, "Who makes it". In all my dealings with Entrinsik it has always been positive with a can-do attitude. Also Entrinsik is not a company to sit on its laurels after creating a great product. They in my estimation are always looking to move the product forward and keeps their eye on the horizon looking for new and better things to add.
Read Joseph Riquelme's full review
Jerry Fowler profile photo
April 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer, a tool that every institution needs in their toolbox"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Informer is a product that is always in motion. We have found that even though updates sometimes brings with it issues, we have found that the positives out weigh the negatives.
Read Jerry Fowler's full review
Christopher Kennedy profile photo
March 18, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer provides great value to our customer base."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Informer is a great value to us and our customers so I see us continuing to provide this tool to our customer base for a long time to come.
Read Christopher Kennedy's full review
Stephanie Holliman profile photo
March 18, 2015

User Review: "Entrinsik Informer ROCKS!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
There is no reason to change - we have not had any bad experiences with the product or the company.
Read Stephanie Holliman's full review
Ed McClusky profile photo
January 05, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Get Consistent real-time Unidata Reporting with Informer."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
UAPB has created and uses well over 1000 different Informer reports. Besides having a lot vested into Informer - Nothing else better is available now.
Read Ed McClusky's full review
Martha McInnis profile photo
April 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer - A great product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Entrinsik is a very good company to work with, all the employees that we have spoken with have been very friendly and helpful.
Read Martha McInnis's full review
Sarah Gaither profile photo
November 11, 2014

Review: "Make Life Easier with Entrinsik Informer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I couldn't imagine doing my job without Informer. We have created and use so many reports within Informer on a daily basis that it has become a part of our regular work flows. No other reporting product has the integration and abilities that Informer has with our current Colleague system.
Read Sarah Gaither's full review
Kara Bosch profile photo
November 06, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer as a User Friendly Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Informer has become an integral part of our daily operational routines at CPCC. Users throughout the college have adopted the tool to perform many regular processes in their daily work. The widespread adoption throughout CPCC would mean users would be less likely to accept a less user friendly solution.
Read Kara Bosch's full review
Lauren Newcome profile photo
November 04, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Client converting to SQL"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We already have over 1000 reports created, so to start over would be very difficulty.

The issue on SQL with mapping suites could lead us to look at a different solution.
Read Lauren Newcome's full review
Marjorie Williams profile photo
November 04, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Great low-cost Reporting Tool with Superb Support Staff"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
The Informer product is a great reporting tool. The upgrades are seamless, the cost is right, and the support team is great!
Read Marjorie Williams's full review
Kris Hutchens profile photo
November 04, 2014

"Entrinsik Informer Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I really enjoy using Informer. It has all the capabilities that we need for our company. I don't see why we would need to start all over again with a new product.
Read Kris Hutchens's full review
David Hodges profile photo
November 04, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Why Chapman depends on Informer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Users (Staff) are happy with the results Informer provides. We are currently in the process of our enterprise conversion, and Informer helps compare systems and allow for accurate data conversion.
Read David Hodges's full review
Verdon Vaillancourt profile photo
November 04, 2014

Review: "Entrinsik Informer reduces support and training while improving reporting and access to data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
It just works.
Read Verdon Vaillancourt's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
5.5
Customizable dashboards (5)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (5)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (7)
6.9
Formatting capabilities (8)
7.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (8)
8.1
Publish to Web (3)
9.0
Publish to PDF (7)
9.0
Report Versioning (2)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (9)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (8)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (7)
8.1

About Entrinsik Informer

Informer 5 from Entrinsik is a data discovery and analytics tool that aims to simplify the process of accessing, cleansing, blending, and analyzing data from multiple sources. According to the vendor, with Informer, companies can aggregate all their disparate data into a single platform using an intuitive, 100% web-based interface that replaces outdated query tools and complicated reporting systems.

The tool aims to eliminate the need for data warehouses and cubes, and eliminate complicated “views” and limited functionality. With extensible architecture, collaborative environment, and enterprise-level performance, Informer aims to deliver actionable insights and better, data-driven decisions for its customers.

Entrinsik Informer Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Does not have featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Does not have featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Does not have featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Entrinsik Informer Screenshots

Entrinsik Informer Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Entrinsik Informer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No