Google Analytics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2509 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-100 of 126)

Patrick Buffum | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2014

A powerful, FREE tool to take the pulse of your inbound audience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics was used within my organization to track our website's traffic. The metrics that we gathered and reviewed included CTR, unique visitors, pages viewed and time spent on the site. It was used primarily by the marketing department with relevant information relayed to sales. We didn't use it to address business problems per se, but rather to calculate the effectiveness of our marketing campaigns through web traffic.
  • Detailed breakdown of web traffic by any specified length of time (could for correlating with campaigns)
  • Time on site, % New Visits and Bounce Rate help qualify potential customers
  • Ease of Use! Very intuitive and well laid out
  • It would be nice if the free version had more tracking tools, but that is understandable.
  • I am unsure of the turnaround of analytics data for free users. Even premium accounts will not see immediate turnaround.
  • Multiple variations of a keyword may often be reported but you must manually group them together in reporting which could become tedious. Ex. Organic keywords searched that include: Startec, Startech, Starteck will all be compounded separately even though all searches were variations of the company name.
One scenario for which I found this service particularly well suited was for tracking and calculating ROI on trade show spending. For example a company may purchase banner ad space for a trade show and have site links included at the end of an attendee email. Using Google Analytics you can measure the traffic from the trade show homepage (referral) and the CTR/time spent from the email links.
While this service is very impressive for one that is free it is far from all encompassing. While the platform reports data it is not an all in one tool that allows you to monitor how your actions directly influence inbound web participation.
Read Patrick Buffum's full review
Joshua Van Horsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2014

The Power of Data is a No-Brainer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Google Analytics with Marketing to gather data on the traffic visiting our site, how our site is being found, how it is being used, and how potential guests are navigating through our sales funnels. Google Analytics also provides us information on mobile vs. desktop users and the type of devices our guests may be using to access our content.
  • Google Analytics does a great job allowing us to define conversion goals, and sales funnels and then track how users are ultimately using our site. The information collected through this data can then be used to optimize our site to reduce lost visitors that we were unable to convert into a sale.
  • Google Analytics allows us to segment our sites visitors and look at where these visitors are coming from and educate us on what attracts visitors to our site. This is incredibly important to us in determining where our marketing might be falling short, allowing us to adjust our messaging and track results.
  • Paired with Google Adwords, Google Analytics is a powerful platform for collecting data on our paid advertising vs. our organic traffic.
  • One of my biggest complaints is that Google Analytics removed the functionality of tracking search keywords and phrases referrals from within the service. While a slimmed-down version of this functionality is still available through Google Webmaster Tools, the need to utilize multiple tool sets is limiting and unintuitive.
  • Without some research and understanding of how Google Analytics Event Tracking works, I feel that there is minimal support or explanation of how to track downloadable content on your sites. This is a major shortcoming, and something that Google should make more obvious. The feeling of going to pull download data on an item, only to find out no data has been collected for the last 2 years is horrible.
I unfortunately have very limited experience with other analytics services, so in that regard my opinion is slightly biased. As a free product, Google Analytics is hands down a fantastic value and a terrific tool for everyone from professional marketers, to beginning bloggers or search engine marketers.
Read Joshua Van Horsen's full review
John McElhenney | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Getting Google Analytics to Perform for Your Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is the starting point for all good digital marketing strategies. It's free, it's fairly accurate, and it's the benchmark everyone knows and uses for things like Unique Views and Page Views.
  • Charts and graphs are good in GA. You can load your presentation or report with hard numbers and nice charts. BUT, this is also the problem with GA, there are so many charts and graphics, and they look so good, you sometimes forget you have to actually analyse them and make actionable suggestions for improvement.
  • The basic numbers from 50,000 down to granular analysis are all available in GA.
  • You can build very sophisticated dashboards, lead funnels, and eCommerce reports inside GA. The learning curve for these types of uses are high, but free and extremely valuable.
  • Connecting AdWords, AdSence and your eCommerce wins to GA, gives you a massive overview of your digital business.
  • Don't rely too much on the top-level dashboards. They are nice and broad, but often don't give you much to go on for building recommendations.
  • The eCommerce connection between GA and your shopping process is not always accurate and may take several tries to get it working. Just reporting the presentation of a Receipt page does not really equal a definitive sale.
  • The depth of the rabbit hole in GA is amazing. You can spend hours, days, weeks, building tools and maps and strategies, and still miss the actionable goals. Don't be mesmerized by the charts and graphs either. Dig into the WIN for your client, and focus all your efforts there.
GA is free. If the client has a different system (one tied to their shopping cart, for example) you might not use GA as you complete reporting solution. But you have to know your GA numbers.
Read John McElhenney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

GA Premium issues and bugs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GA is used to track paid ads against ROI. In addition, track website performance and CID. It can track online visits to offline purchases .
  • Can track my individual and device.
  • Connection to big query is robust.
  • Data studio is great to visualize the data.
  • Tracking on the dbm and dsm is inaccurate and slow.
  • The dbm and dsm data doesn't work.
  • Many bugs with the Dbm data .
I don't think GA has really solved many of the basics bugs and issues with tracking. Still feels like it's in beta. Audience center doesn't work correctly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2017

GA is Tricky at Time but is the best

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by the Marketing Team, Its used to track the major source of traffic to the website which then helps the business to track the website performance and to know where users are going when they visit the website, which forms give us the maximum conversion on the website.
It is an essential tool when it comes to figuring out what sections of the site are most popular, and which sections could use some help.
  • It's free!!
  • We can create goals to track, which forms on the website give us maximum number of leads
  • We can enable tracking on the forms to see where are the maximum drop off and hence modify the fields based upon its popularity
  • We have connected the GA account with Ad words and manage the keywords
  • Set up custom reports and enable the subscription to go to all the stakeholders so that everyone in the business is up to date with the number of leads and traffic coming to the business
  • Track specific information depending on the needs and requirements of the business
  • Easy installation of GA on third party software for a holistic view of User behaviour
  • It requires technical knowledge to create goals, events etc in order to do some custom tracking, and people who have less knowledge can go down the rabbit hole find for information as it is quite overwhelming
  • When the traffic is high the data is not accurate
  • You can become certified easily as its open book and then it lasts only for a year
It provides us detailed data which helps us measure the effectiveness of the website (for example, the page, or the form from which we get the maximum conversion, how much time people spend on the website and the website load speed). It less appropriate in giving the right attribution to the visitors for their purchase, as the visitors do not always access the website directly before making a purchase. They generally go to multiple channels before they make a purchase. So its gets hard to give credit to the marketing channel without having a deep understanding.
Read this authenticated review
Jonathan Bentz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2014

Don't Want The Best Free Analytics Software? Don't Get Google Analytics!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used by our organization like most businesses use it - to track daily activity on our website. Primarily, the marketing department uses GA to monitor traffic patterns and track sources for goal conversion. Information gathered from GA is then shared with sales and operations as necessary to make business decisions. GA allows us to know what traffic we are getting to our website, where it is coming from, and how that traffic is contributing leads to our sales funnel.
  • Monitors website traffic patterns. If you don't have a handle on where or how your website is getting traffic, I can't think of a better tool to use to get that information.
  • Tracks goal conversions. If you have a specified path you want visitors to take to complete an action on your website, GA does a great job of reporting to you how many times that path has been completed.
  • Integrates with other Google tools. If you aren't using Analytics, but are running AdWords campaigns or monitor site health in webmaster tools, Google allows you to sync them all together.
  • Google used to tell us keyword referrals. Kind of annoying that they don't anymore, but life goes on.
  • They change the names of important metrics from time to time, generally into more ambiguous names. Again, kind of annoying, but a couple Google searches will bring up 100s of SEO blogs that tell you what means what - so not the end of the world here, either.
  • It doesn't tie-in (yet) with other Google tools like YouTube Analytics and Google+, or Google My Business. So in some cases you still need to monitor information from multiple areas of your Google-verse.
I guess if a business is looking for a web analytics software that integrates into ERP or something, then Google Analytics may not make sense. Otherwise, it's hard to say another tool for monitoring web traffic, conversions, or revenue generated from your website is better suited to meet your needs than Google Analytics.
Read Jonathan Bentz's full review
Christopher Corbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2014

Google Analytics - Why aren't you using it?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am using Google Analytics for my Web Development clients. Google Analytics has enabled me the ability to provide my clients improved reporting on each of their respective channels. In addition to that, we can perform extensive AB testing throughout the site to optimize acquisition, user behaviour and flow. It is extremely helpful in analyzing cart abandonment rates, etc.
  • Google Analytics is extremely simple to implement, no matter what web environment you are developing in.
  • Out of the box, Google Analytics provides a great deal of information that is organized in a logical manner. The information is presented in an easy-to-read format. Each report is easily "exportable."
  • Implementing custom attributes and conversion goals is relatively simple. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out how to setup your channels, etc.
  • They could simplify custom reporting. Especially when using customized data and drill downs. It is simple as it is, but at times, doesn't seem very flexible.
  • Goals are currently limited to 20 (unless you pay.) Analytics Premium is costly, but not compared to some of the other major players.
  • Google is constantly upgrading the user experience for Google Analytics. The good, is that they are improving it. The bad, if you only login to GA once a month, you may fumble around looking for features/options that you once knew.
In comparing to other products, ask yourself the following:
  • What is my budget on an Analytics tool? (NONE)
  • Can I create custom reports? (YES)
  • It it cross platform/technology capable? (YES)
  • Can I track custom goals/events (YES)
  • Is it easy to implement (YES)
  • Does it support real time data? (YES)
Google Analytics is well suited for small to medium businesses with a substantial amount of traffic. If you are going beyond the scope of 20 goals, are getting a bazillion hits to your site and have thousands of channels, you may want to look at their premium product.

Read Christopher Corbett's full review
Eric Karkovack | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2014

The Standard Analytical Tool for Just About Any Website

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Google Analytics to gather information for both my own website and the websites of my clients. It's mainly being used for finding the total number of page views, unique visitors and referrals from outside URLs. The majority of the time, I'm using it just for the basic tasks and don't get into the minutia as much.
  • It's great for detail oriented reports on web traffic and related info.
  • The maps indicating where users are coming from are particularly useful.
  • Very easy to create custom reports.
  • Easy integration with just about any type of website.
  • Ability to distinguish between mobile and desktop users.
  • The fact that so many search terms have now been blocked out of Google Analytics is a little troubling.
  • Even as a long time web professional, I still get confused about how to setup goals and other, more complicated features.
  • Documentation is not always as clear and concise as it could be.
  • When integrating with WordPress, it's better to use a plugin to help turn on some of those extended features.
It's useful for pretty much any type of website. Frankly, Google Analytics is the standard bearer at the moment. Despite some areas being tough to figure out (for me, at least), at the very least it's great for getting that basic data that everyone is interested in learning more about. And, if you do want to dig deeper (and are willing to spend the time learning all of the intricacies), you can find out some interesting metrics.
Read Eric Karkovack's full review
Victor Campos | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2014

Letting Google Do What Google Does Best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At PmD Interactive we use Google Analytics with every web design & development client we work with. It is used across our whole organization and is always one of the first things we set up with a new client.
There are two problems Google Analytics solves for us: "Where are customers coming from", and "how can we put that information to good use?"
  • Excellent detail on who visitors to a web site are (broken down to web browser, and how long they are on the site).
  • Information on which pages within our client's site are the most trafficked (including time spent on the page, and previous page).
  • A breakdown of where traffic is coming from (from which domain, and even which page within the domain).
  • The sheer amount of data can be daunting to beginners.
  • Organization of content could be made easier to handle.
  • The mobile experience is lacking.
Google Analytics is best suited for owners of websites that understand the importance of data in the larger SEO/SEM realm. When they can see where their traffic is coming from, they can make decisions to optimize organically, or through PPC.
Google Analytics is less appropriate for a client who does not get much business from their web site, or their site is merely a "business card" web site. The amount of data collected would be wasteful in that case.
Read Victor Campos's full review
Stefano M. Rivolta | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2014

Google Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, my company is supporting a federal website promoting cybersecurity careers and education information. The target audience is essentially the entire nation: youth, parents, educators, students, graduates, job seekers all the way through +30 year professionals and everyone in between. Google Analytics comes into to play when we monitor site traffic and the activity trends over time. It allows us to support arguments for content strategies, interface layouts, outreach and promotional activities and more. And frankly, it serves as a yardstick for the success of our site and content. Having an understanding of who the actual audience is is becoming more accessible through products like Google Analytics. Also, the depth of what you can learn from the end-users is only increasing as the product continues to evolve.
  • For live programming, it allows you to monitor live traffic - IP location, browser, device, language, etc. - and understand the impact of specific marketing campaigns via referrals
  • Google Analytics has competition but blows most, if not all of it, out of the water largely in part to being part of the Google Suite but also because it's one of the first analytics tools to cater to non-technical users and really bridge the gap between back-end analytics experts and front-facing digital content specialists.
  • It continually evolves, improves, enhances, and adapts to the ebb and flow of the user base and digital landscape. Not using for a couple months may yield a pleasant surprise when you return to using the product (new features, better data visualization, etc.)
  • Simplifying tutorials and how-to guides would definitely help beginners.
  • Integrating Google Analytics to data visualizations that are more in line with Prezi animations rather than PowerPoint-esque graphics would be greatly beneficial to analysts!
  • Updating the user interface to be less overwhelming to first-time users
If you have a website, would like to have metrics on site performance and want to increase site visibility through Google index ratings, use Google Analytics.
Read Stefano M. Rivolta's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

The analysis that beats the rest

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is a vital part of our analytics process, helping us uncover our audience and make business decisions regarding who we should be targeting and what campaigns have been successful. From looking at the results every month, we are able to compare our progress and see if current campaigns will work best for the following period. It's a tool predominantly used by marketing, although we do have the occasional sales person have a look too, from all over the globe.
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Audience Research
  • Campaign Research
  • Reporting and Dashboards
  • Comparison
  • Year-by
Google Analytics is well suited when looking at your audience, and finding out which country they're from as well as the most-spoken language, and more. Especially if it's a company looking to progress into different countries, this is a great benchmark to look at where you should be making targets. I wouldn't necessarily use Google Analytics for things such as deciding what value to put on something, as spending money on a project shouldn't be determined just by where it ranks in your analytics, but rather what kind of audience you gained from it - which is hard to specify.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer (Utterback) Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2014

Google Analytics is the Go-To Web Analytics Package

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital marketing agency, we use Google Analytics to track traffic, and conversions (as well as other KPIs) for the digital marketing efforts we run. It is used by every account person in our organization as we recommend it for all of our clients if they are not using it when we sign the contract (which is very few that were not using prior to our engagement). It provides full data into visits, conversions and revenue data for our clients.
  • Allows for robust reporting of web visitors.
  • Allows for customization with use of filters, profiles, segments, etc. We are not stuck with the defaults. Using advanced techniques, we can customize it easily.
  • It is free.
  • While I love the customization, some of it is very technical to put into place. This can be troublesome for non-technical folks.
  • For larger websites with more traffic, there can be a sampling issue with the data.
Two drawbacks can be limits placed on "row data" and sampling if you have a larger website. But unless you are in the millions of data rows, this generally is not a problem. Sampling can still be a problem if you are running extremely advanced segments, but in my mind even these should be limited for analysis. You don't need to know every single path every single person took through your website.
Read Jennifer (Utterback) Davis's full review
Curt Craighead | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Use Google Analytics and Get to Work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a B2B/B2C hybrid, and we use Google Analytics as a way to understand traffic source, conversion, order value and all ecommerce metrics. This also helps us understand the greatest marketing effort in brick and mortar. I also use it to understand +/- by key dates, periods and sales events. I oversee all marketing and ecommerce, and these are the only departments using Google Analytics.
  • Great way to comp dates and events without pulling internal reports.
  • My internal reporting is less than stellar, so I use GA to reference AOV and conversion rates.
  • I use GA to identify traffic sources, which helps me understand where to spend my marketing budget as well as the effectiveness of campaigns, social media posts, etc.
  • I've had a handful of occasions where I get an error, a la "data unavailable" or temporary outage. It generally remedies itself, but when I'm asking for date I'm not in a waiting mood.
  • When comping dates, I'd like more than one range available. For example, if I want to comp this week vs last week, I also want to see this week vs last week vs same period last year vs another week last year (in order to account for shifts in holidays etc)
Let's face it. Marketers and business analysts will never say "that's too much information" and will always ask for more. In my experience, the folks asking for more generally don't know what to do with the info they have, and asking for more is just a smokescreen to put off making a decision. GA provides a fantastic overview with all the key points necessary to make a decision, independent of on-site software for click stream tracking and customer behavior. That includes traffic sources, conversion rates, AOV, comp comparisons, total traffic by date and time range, and all major decision enablers.
Read Curt Craighead's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2017

Google Analytics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is available to the entire company, but only certain teams know how to use it. It addresses the business problem of tracking business decisions and knowing where users are going when they visit the website. It is an essential tool when it comes to figuring out what sections of the site are most popular and which sections could use some help.
  • Excellent user experience
  • Great online tutorials to teach people how to use it
  • Customer support that is easy to access
  • Too many bells and whistles - it can get confusing
  • Beta sections are on the site which can also get confusing
  • Too many reports to chose from
Google Analytics is well suited for tracking how many users are visiting certain areas of the site. It is also well suited for mobile applications and figuring out how many impressions there are. The revenue section under acquisition can be confusing if you are not sure how much money to equate to different decisions.
Read this authenticated review
Zhipeng JIANG | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2014

Simple use experience of Google analytics

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics works by the inclusion of a block of JavaScript code on pages in your website. When users to your website view a page, this JavaScript code references a JavaScript file which then executes the tracking operation for Analytics. The tracking operation retrieves data about the page request through various means and sends this information to the Analytics server via a list of parameters attached to a single-pixel image request.
  • Data visualization
  • Real time data
  • Mobile User Interface
If you link Google Analytics to your AdWords account, Analytics automatically tracks the behavior of users coming from your AdWords ads. This data can help you gauge the ROI of your AdWords budget and make informed decisions about changes to your AdWords account.
Read Zhipeng JIANG's full review
Sabine Sharp | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2014

Google Analytics Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We frequently setup and install GA for clients on their eCommerce stores, including eCommerce transaction and conversion tracking, site search, funnel visualization, etc.
  • If implemented correctly, GA is a very powerful tool that can give you vital business metrics, especially in conjunction with eCommerce and overall marketing campaigns
  • Updating users and developers with new features, new implementation techniques, etc. Google tends to push out new things without updating users or developers, which has the potential to break things or make previous GA setups fail.
Wouldn't run without some sort of Analytics program - if not GA then another solution.
Read Sabine Sharp's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2017

Google Analytics will save your life

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used only by the marketing department to track website traffic. I am on it every day tracking different statistics. It solves the problem we had before I came to this company-- no tracking of any kind. I have used it in previous companies and found it incredibly useful.
  • Gives good statistics for how long people are on your website.
  • Unearths opportunities you may have missed; pages you didn't expect people to be reading but are more so than others.
  • Able to show you the path people are taking on your website.
  • It can be very complex. If you don't have training beforehand you'll be lost.
  • You can become certified but it only lasts a year.
It is perfect for a marketing department who wants to track website traffic. This is the only scenario where it's used. But it also enables you to set up tracking on other items as well, such as leads that do a specific action on your website and so on. It can also be linked to other applications like HubSpot and Power BI for a more visually pleasing display of results.
Read this authenticated review
Gracie Wardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2014

The Great Google Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is being used across the entire campus of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh - encoded in every webpage we have in order to look at traffic we get on the web. If certain webpages get more traffic, we can tell by Google Analytics and take the techniques used on the successful page and implement similar techniques on the sites that are not as successful in web traffic. It addresses the problem of websites not getting traffic - it helps significantly.
  • Implements HTML5 code into your website's source code to track specific information about who is visiting your site, when, and from where.
  • Without Google Analytics, bloggers, businesses, and all professionals wouldn't be able to track how useful their website is to other people.
  • Since many people aren't familiar with HTML5 coding, and although Google Analytics makes it somewhat simple, they could improve the directions on where exactly to put the code (and what code specifically) on your website since every website is different.
  • Google is such a large and powerful company that they should be able to cater to each user's needs, therefore having steps for the HTML5 or iFrame tags for each browsers and for each type of website.
  • These types of websites could include both responsive and non-responsive, but Google Analytics should focus on responsive sites since mobile is becoming a fanatic trend.
It is suited well for both technical and non-technical users, but if a more technical user uses Google Analytics as a resource they can learn and find out many things that it can do. But it is appropriate for non-technical users as well, as it has directions for each step. The homepage after you get your code set up can be intimidating at first, but the usability is great after learning more and more about it.
Read Gracie Wardin's full review
John Loftis, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2014

Google Analytics Has Transformed the Way We Do Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using web analytics is critical in understanding how people use your website. Whether you are trying to analyze customer behavior, find out how people are navigating to your website, or even success of marketing campaigns, Google Analytics has proven to be an essential tool that I use on a daily basis.
  • Evaluate the success of marketing campaigns using conversion tracking.
  • Monitor sources of web traffic to ensure our organic traffic, PPC advertising, social media campaigns etc. are performing consistently.
  • Identify emerging markets by monitoring web traffic by country.
  • Test A/B splits on landing pages. We use Google Analytics to compare performance of each page.
  • Identify trends by monitoring organic keyword searches.
  • Evaluate overall performance of website based on traffic tracked in Google Analytics
  • My main complaint would be that there is a bit of a learning curve with Google Analytics.
Google Analytics is a fantastic tool for web analytics, especially when you're working with a limited budget.
Read John Loftis, CFE's full review
Erik Blair | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2014

Google Analytics (GA): You can't manage what you can't measure! GA does it from KPI to ROI and beyond!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Analytics to measure results and progress on multiple websites and campaigns. I help clients setup and use Analytics to monitor their own websites and brand presence online. Analytics provides an effective means to measure and monitor a websites performance and the focus and test specific areas of potential success or to identify problems.
  • Google Analytics provides numerous avenues to valuable information about your audience, such as demographics, keywords and behaviors. You can tell which pages are getting traffic, where they are coming from and what technology they are using (mobile, ipad or laptop for example).
  • One cool example of the value of Google Analytics data can be found in Acquisitions>Social>Network Referrals. There you'll see exactly how many visitors you received directly from Facebook, twitter or other social media channels.
  • Key data that is highly important to website owners that can be easily found in Google Analytics is: Page Views, Page Depth (how many pages per session), Time on Page, and the all-important "Bounce Rate". These critical indicators provide website owners with valuable insight into site performance.
  • One of the missing components is certainly Keyword Research. Some clever marketers and website owners want the ability to research keyword statistics and data. They want the ability to find the keywords that are less competitive and relevant to their topic(s). That's possible in Google Adwords to some extent, but it should be in Analytics to a large extent in my opinion.
  • Another feature I think is missing in Google Analytics is page rank data of in-bound links and the ability to research page rank data and suggestions to improve page ranking for all pages and sites. That would be valuable.
For anyone using WordPress CMS, Google Analytics is a must because it is so easy to include and implement on your website that not doing so is foolish. You can't manage what you can't measure. Google Analytics provides that critical management tool to measure your online brand performance.
Read Erik Blair's full review
Kelly Rates | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2014

Google Analytics is a website must-have!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have Google Analytics implemented on all the websites that I manage, which are my own and my clients'. I give my clients monthly analytics reports for their websites and I think it gives them the best insights into web traffic possible. When you go deep into the training you learn there is so much that those reports can show you. I also really appreciate the free training Google and users have made available online.
  • Google Analytics is easy to install to your website and user-friendly from the Dashboard POV.
  • Reports can be customized and exported in various formats. I download PDFs for my clients.
  • See how much traffic you have, where it's coming from, and the patterns that they follow on your site.
  • For visual thinkers/learners, the graphs that they include in the reports are awesome.
  • It is an advanced part, but I think setting up traffic filters and goals could be easier.
  • Google doesn't do as much with keywords as it used to but from our end it would be nice to see more use of keywords (tags)!
I consider Google Analytics a MUST HAVE for anyone with a website. If you aren't very tech savvy and had someone else set up your website or outsource the maintenance; ask them to include it for you. At your request, Google will send your webmaster instructions to set it up.
Read Kelly Rates's full review
Michael Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2014

Google Analytics is a fantastic analytics tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics as a tool to help us track and measure overall e-Commerce performance. It is mainly used by our Marketing Department. This tool has helped address the problem of being able to better understand traffic patterns, marketing campaign performance and who our visitors are and what they are doing when they get to our website.
  • Segmentation - GA provides numerous ways to really segment your data to better understand your traffic and campaign performance. Allows you to really drill down into your data.
  • Useability - The tool itself is VERY user friendly. Training was easy and I found the learning curve of this tool to be much smaller than other Analytic tools.
  • Reporting - It's very easy to set up custom reports and have them emailed to individuals on a timely basis.
  • It would be nice to have a training or robust help section with in the tool.
  • The setting of date ranges can sometime be a bit clunky and feels glitchy.
I believe Google Analytics is a well suited tool for any e-Commerce team.
Read Michael Silva's full review
Shane Hayes | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2014

Analyze This

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Analytics is used by multiple departments to quantify data and measure success, ROI and productivity. By far the biggest user of the platform is our marketing team. We use Google Analytics to track not only web traffic but also pay-per-click ROI, traffic patterns, content popularity and much more. Our social media team is able to leverage Google Analytics to determine the best time to post, measure effectiveness of social marketing campaigns and much more.
  • Incredible customization
  • Wide variety of data sources
  • Free, can't beat the price!
  • The user interface could use a refresh, it can be hard to find what you are looking for at times
  • Better sorting options for data, it can be a pain at times to narrow down the data you really need
I highly recommend every user of Google Analytics to complete the Google Analytics Platform Principles course offered by Google for free each year. This will greatly increase your knowledge of the platform, expertise and make it much easier to create custom data sets and reports. I believe Google Analytics is an essential part of every company's data toolset.
Read Shane Hayes's full review
Chris Osterhout | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2014

A Review of Google Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GA is being used to track the quantitative data about our website visitors. It informs traffic patterns and goal conversions. We also use GA to generate custom reports to share with the different business units internally as to how their website content is performing. This has been very helpful in getting the business group owners on board with content curation.
  • Quantitative Tracking
  • Robust Reporting
  • Click Tracking
  • Goal Conversions
  • It would be great if GA was able to send through the (not provided) keywords.
  • Provide more robust visuals of data reporting. At current the visuals are pretty bland.
  • Make the interface a little more intuitive.
GA works well for gathering raw traffic data. However, it is JavaScript based and will only transmit data on websites that allow 3rd party tracking. It is less appropriate in areas where you need qualitative metrics such as "who" the visitors are. For that type of tracking you will most likely need a Marketing Automation Platform (or similar).
Read Chris Osterhout's full review
Sid Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2014

Google Analytics Provides the Data We Need for Continuous Improvement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Analytics on our own web sites and for all web sites we develop and host for our clients (over 100 of them). It provides terrific insight into how visitors are using each web site and the effectiveness of online marketing efforts. We've also integrated Google Analytics into Sitefinity, the content management system that we recommend for many of our clients.
  • Easy implementation
  • Fast "dashboard" approach to analytics
  • Ability to dive much deeper into analytics as needed
  • Some terms are confusing.
  • Custom reports are not user friendly to build. Takes time to get the right data and have the report look good.
  • Takes some time to get used to the interface. It's not particularly intuitive at first.
Google Analytics is an excellent solution. And it's free. As long as Google provides the information we (and our clients) need, it's difficult for most companies to justify the cost of an analytics application. It's a matter of implementing the tracking codes on every page and within each marketing campaign. If that's done, the data is there to analyze and report.
Read Sid Haas's full review

About Google Analytics

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

Google Analytics Integrations

Google Analytics Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Google Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No