TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6v/mc/T70VMQB1E1CC.PNGAnalytics taken to a whole new levelWe've used Kissmetrics for a few years now which was initially used as supplemental to Google analytics. But over time it has grown rapidly in regards to functionality and features it has and we've now used it as a replacement for Google analytics. It definitely helped increased conversion rates and increased goals across our digital marketing campaigns.,A/B Multivariate testing, conversion rates of campaigns Simple and easy to use UX Setting up goals and events,First time setup is time-consuming, should be improved upon. Lacking support and documentation. Some experiment reporting requires the user to be very tech savvy.,8,Time-consuming to set up and cross-train associates who will use it Provided valuable insights into a customer's behavior Improved the conversion funnel leading to higher sales,Google Analytics and Google Analytics Premium,100,000 to 250,000,Both,Google Analytics, Google Analytics Premium, Adobe AnalyticsPowerful, yet simple sales funnel analyticsWe have used Kissmetrics tools for several months, originally as a supplementary analytical tool to Google Analytics, then as a selfstanding toolset that overcomes several Google limitations. I have used this solution by delivering marketing and sales optimization projects, aiming at reaching higher conversion rates. Using this tool helped us to set up and analyze the customer behavior and delivered nice reports in a short time.,Planning and implementing campaigns, A/B testing, conversion rates measurement Very useful by mid sized company (client), easy to deploy, setup and get quick reports Sales funnel reports with zoom-in ability by analyzing the root causes for customer behavior,Integration with other tools - when an "online" or "near-online" integration is required the tool does not cope. You can always export data to JSON etc. and load them into a second system, but this is not a viable solution for many business applications. UI - the user interface is not very user-friendly, it is not always very intuitive.,7,It helped to start thorough monitoring of new, returning clients, conversion rates and helped to improve the conversion rates. It is a paid tool, that provided very good value for money in our use cases by a middle-sized and large company. It offers comparable features to Google Analytics Premium in some aspects.,Google Analytics Premium,100,000 to 250,000,B2C,KNIME Analytics Platform, RapidMiner StudioYour Data Complement to GAWe use KM to identify leaks in the funnel and understand the flow of the visitors' behavior. We track how traffic learns about our company and our service; we also use it for calculating how many people visit a page over a period of time and the conversion rates of customers coming from different traffic sources.,KM provides granularity of all information, performance can be checked in near real time. The interface is clean, intuitive, and easy to navigate. KM pulls data and refreshes itself which removes the manual work alternative platforms require.,The various reports types and how to use them can be unintuitive and confusing to new users; in addition, the reports can take awhile to load and they can also be difficult to customize. It should easier than it is to modify the underlying data so that users could easily remove test traffic and robot clicks to gain more accurate information. KM lacks automatic event tracking, if you've forgotten to add an event, it doesn't pull data retroactively.,7,KM has added a more detailed view into the user behavior on our website. The tool has equipped our Marketing department with the ability to track individual users, this is very useful with KM's live tracking functionality. The fact that Kissmetrics integrates with Marketo was very important to use - it brought increased value for both solutions.,Hotjar and Crazy Egg,1 to 5 million,B2B,Crazy Egg, Hotjar, KompyteKissmetrics helps keep data simple.Kissmetrics gives us essential information about key metrics along our motion rate which are critical for adoption by our users. These insights put us in a position to be proactive in identifying trends contrary to our assumptions during development/ release and also closely support the effective pursuit of our OKRs for the whole Product team.,Very simple UX for non tech professionals Keeps the important metrics front and center with daily summaries Easy to integrate with minimal burden on systems,Would love to be able to drill down on the data more (once it's available).,8,Better and more realistic insights/ validation into product development and feature adoptionEngineer + Data Analyst Perspective on KissmetricsKissmetrics has been deployed to our whole company. We use it as a self-service analytics tool to calculate metrics around key events that happen within our system. Our advanced analytics are done using a data warehouse. Its an OK analytics tool to complement Google Analytics.,Tracking Event Data. Debugging Implementation Issues/Verifying the implementation is doing well. Always adding new features.,The interface is really cumbersome especially for basic tracking of just specific events over time by property. Because it's an event driven system there is no way to modify events in the past. For example if you are selling products and returning products there is no easy way to just look at the orders that were not returned. I wish the data export was more real time then the batch transfer to S3.,5,Faster time to answer very simple questions Allows our business users to see what things are tracking and then ask questions to our data team,Mixpanel, Amplitude Analytics and Heap
Unspecified
Kissmetrics
79 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Kissmetrics Reviews

Kissmetrics
79 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 79 vetted Kissmetrics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 40)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Kissmetrics Review: "Analytics taken to a whole new level"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Kissmetrics for a few years now which was initially used as supplemental to Google Analytics. But over time it has grown rapidly in regards to functionality and features it has and we've now used it as a replacement for Google Analytics. It definitely helped increased conversion rates and increased goals across our digital marketing campaigns.
  • A/B Multivariate testing, conversion rates of campaigns
  • Simple and easy to use UX
  • Setting up goals and events
  • First time setup is time-consuming, should be improved upon.
  • Lacking support and documentation.
  • Some experiment reporting requires the user to be very tech savvy.
Kissmetrics is great to use when you need to identify the individual user's behavior and the journey taken throughout your website to identify improved paths to conversions. There is a learning curve when analyzing the reports produced within Kissmetrics but it is worth the investment. Being able to monitor social campaigns and content marketing efforts.
Read this authenticated review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
April 28, 2018

Kissmetrics Review: "Powerful, yet simple sales funnel analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Kissmetrics tools for several months, originally as a supplementary analytical tool to Google Analytics, then as a selfstanding toolset that overcomes several Google limitations. I have used this solution by delivering marketing and sales optimization projects, aiming at reaching higher conversion rates. Using this tool helped us to set up and analyze the customer behavior and delivered nice reports in a short time.
  • Planning and implementing campaigns, A/B testing, conversion rates measurement
  • Very useful by mid sized company (client), easy to deploy, setup and get quick reports
  • Sales funnel reports with zoom-in ability by analyzing the root causes for customer behavior
  • Integration with other tools - when an "online" or "near-online" integration is required the tool does not cope. You can always export data to JSON etc. and load them into a second system, but this is not a viable solution for many business applications.
  • UI - the user interface is not very user-friendly, it is not always very intuitive.
Strong points:
  1. Engagement scenario planning
  2. A/B testing
  3. Simple and easy to use conversion rates analysis
  4. Finding possible root cause or touch points where the web or mobile front-end can do better
  5. After getting used to "what means what" in the interface, it is quick to accomplish tasks within Kissmetrics
Weak points:
  1. When the customers clear the cookies between visits, it is impossible to recognize they are returning visitors, not new ones. There are ways how to keep the digital signature, but this is implicitly not allowed without a consent of the client (neither here, nor by Google etc.). An analyst needs to recognize returning clients, from really new clients to the site. There should be some legal way how to overcome this "deleted cookies" issue, but it is not available here
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Dustin Hovey profile photo
April 27, 2018

Kissmetrics Review: "Your Data Complement to GA"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use KM to identify leaks in the funnel and understand the flow of the visitors' behavior. We track how traffic learns about our company and our service; we also use it for calculating how many people visit a page over a period of time and the conversion rates of customers coming from different traffic sources.
  • KM provides granularity of all information, performance can be checked in near real time.
  • The interface is clean, intuitive, and easy to navigate.
  • KM pulls data and refreshes itself which removes the manual work alternative platforms require.
  • The various reports types and how to use them can be unintuitive and confusing to new users; in addition, the reports can take awhile to load and they can also be difficult to customize.
  • It should easier than it is to modify the underlying data so that users could easily remove test traffic and robot clicks to gain more accurate information.
  • KM lacks automatic event tracking, if you've forgotten to add an event, it doesn't pull data retroactively.
Kissmetrics shows us where visitors click and move around on the website, providing us qualitative and quantitative data which we use to influence how we engage our users.

When it comes to needing to generate low-level, customized reports, we find it easier to rely on other solutions the provide better functionality and more features.
Read Dustin Hovey's full review
SAM Rizvi profile photo
September 22, 2015

User Review: "Kissmetrics helps keep data simple."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kissmetrics gives us essential information about key metrics along our motion rate which are critical for adoption by our users. These insights put us in a position to be proactive in identifying trends contrary to our assumptions during development/ release and also closely support the effective pursuit of our OKRs for the whole Product team.
  • Very simple UX for non tech professionals
  • Keeps the important metrics front and center with daily summaries
  • Easy to integrate with minimal burden on systems
  • Would love to be able to drill down on the data more (once it's available).
We use Kissmetrics across a wide and increasing range of data points within our organization. From simple campaign-related conversion tracking to more complex in-app actions along the critical motion path. It's a great no-nonsense management dashboard to keep a focus on things that matter and is becoming more essential to our organization daily.
Read SAM Rizvi's full review
Brad Ruderman profile photo
September 21, 2015

Review: "Engineer + Data Analyst Perspective on Kissmetrics"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kissmetrics has been deployed to our whole company. We use it as a self-service analytics tool to calculate metrics around key events that happen within our system. Our advanced analytics are done using a data warehouse. Its an OK analytics tool to complement Google Analytics.
  • Tracking Event Data.
  • Debugging Implementation Issues/Verifying the implementation is doing well.
  • Always adding new features.
  • The interface is really cumbersome especially for basic tracking of just specific events over time by property.
  • Because it's an event driven system there is no way to modify events in the past. For example if you are selling products and returning products there is no easy way to just look at the orders that were not returned.
  • I wish the data export was more real time then the batch transfer to S3.
1) Do you need an event system or a data warehouse?
2) What specifically are you trying to track and report on?
3) Are you doing anything special on your app (impersonating other users/admin functionalities) that might affect the ability to track users, since Kissmetrics uses cookies?
4) What is the pay-back period for a tool like this? It's hard to calculate but see how many events you are sending and the types of analytics Kissmetrics can do over a data warehouse.
Read Brad Ruderman's full review
Bruce Pannaman profile photo
September 21, 2015

Review: "Kissmetrics is much easier to implement than other providers and gives your control of your aggregation unlike Google Analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kissmetrics to track user behavior within our website, mobile apps and inside of our API.
  • Easy to implement tracking within the API so that you don't use too much dev time on tracking users instead of developing the product itself.
  • You can add properties to the events so that you can enrich the data you are collecting later.
  • Lots of help within the community and tools that are available, such as statistical significance calculator.
  • The reports on the website are quite basic, you can only subset by one property and filter by on property at a time
  • The numbers take a while to settle. Because of the sheer amount of events hitting the platform it can take a day or so for the number to be static between days.
  • Live feature is very hard to use for testing, if you could filter out the feed by IP address that would be excellent!
If there could be some kind of margin of error visibility so that you know how well to trust the exact numbers that would be great.
Read Bruce Pannaman's full review
Javier Iglesia Sabio profile photo
September 21, 2015

Kissmetrics Review: "An easy to use tool for tracking and data analysis"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Kissmetrics for business intelligence analytics and user tracking. Currently we're using it for building analytics for a multi million user base and Kissmetrics has never run short for our purposes. The BI department uses it for gathering useful data and the dev team has always felt comfortable when working against Kissmetrics.

Kissmetrics is an important piece of our overall data gathering and analysis tools. :)
  • Simple API.
  • Good and concise documentation for development.
  • Stable and reliable service.
  • Interface for different environments can be confusing sometimes.
  • Some analytics can be hard to configure the first time.
  • First time on the site experience can be better for newcomers.
Maybe Kissmetrics is not the best tool for businesses with a very small user base, as the analytics cannot achieve the best level of relevance, but anyway, it's a great tool for anyone who wants to gather data and build insightful metrics based on it.
Read Javier Iglesia Sabio's full review
Danny Varner profile photo
September 17, 2015

"KissMetrics review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses KissMetrics to track user events across our web application and then to create reports on usage. It is used primarily by the product owner and developers but it is also available to support and sales. It enables the organization to make data-driven decisions about actual usage on our web app.
  • Generating custom reports
  • Daily email snapshots of key metrics
  • Separation of prod vs pre-prod environments
  • Company seems to be broadening scope to more than just metrics, it's unclear if these capabilities will be useful
Kissmetrics seems well suited to out of the box reporting once the appropriate events are set up.
Read Danny Varner's full review
Joris Brabants profile photo
November 19, 2014

User Review: "A big kiss for KISSmetrics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics is used by marketing, sales and product development. When we first started using it, we got a lot of insights into how our users were using our product. Thanks to that we have a better understanding of our customers, and we were able to make some changes to important steps in the conversion funnel. It really improved (and keeps improving) our product. Besides product development, marketing can get a perfect view of where the converting users are coming from and our sales department can identify both people who have a high potential in sales, and people who got stuck or don't use the power features of our product.
  • The more events you track and properties you send along, the more you can see how specific users use your product/service. The user based timeline gives you a perfect start point to get in touch with users, because you can see where they get stuck.
  • Tracking your traffic sources and how they influence conversions is awesome. You can get a perfect view of how much a traffic source contributes to revenue.
  • Funnel reports give you more insights into micro and macro conversion steps and give you actionable data to work with.
  • Customer support!
  • Integrations with CRM
  • Google Mobile Ads tracking (we're driving signups through mobile display ads to our app on Google play, and cannot identify traffic source in KM). Mobile search and desktop ads are tracked perfectly
  • Mail integration to send e-mails from KM to users
If you have a mobile or web application you MUST use this software to see how your users are using your product. I don't have any experience with e-commerce sites, but I can imagine it must be awesome to see how much revenue a newsletter generates, and how your different segments are performing.
Read Joris Brabants's full review
Travis Wright profile photo
May 30, 2014

User Review: "KISSMetrics is the Bomb Diggity."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics is a person-based analytics product that helps you identify, understand, and improve the metrics that drive your online business. It helps you keep track of the visitors on your site, what they do, and allows you to hit them up with the right offers at the right time. Love it.
  • Figuring out which campaigns brought which visitors to the site.
  • Which buttons and areas of the site were clicked on
  • Where are we losing potential customers
  • Better documentation and tutorials, perhaps.
I recommend KISSmetrics all of the time.
Read Travis Wright's full review
Christian Torres profile photo
May 23, 2014

Review: "KissMetrics is one of the most advanced analytics tools in the market today and for years to come!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics gave me better segmented data and the ability to run better cohort analysis.
  • You will get better data from your users than any other tracking platform out there.
  • The data visualization tools are amazing!
  • You will make better data decisions with KissMetrics!
  • The price can be a little high for a bootstrapping startup but worth it.
  • You're going to have to be more tech savvy to setup more advance experiments.
  • You might have more data than you need.
I could write a blog post about how awesome KissMetrics is and also add them to my resources pages.
Read Christian Torres's full review
Jeffrey James profile photo
May 23, 2014

Kissmetrics Review: "Kiss Metrics - user level analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to buy KISSmetrics to augment the data we were collecting through Google Analytics. Since the majority of the transactions on our site were generated from repeat buyers and there's a huge LTV skew toward a small percentage of buyers, we really wanted granular data regarding user behavior. The tool was pretty easy to set-up, but you need to pay attention to the way that visitors are counted and how attribution works with dimensions. If you're used to GA, KM is more like universal analytics, which represents more of an event: attribute model. They've done a lot to speed up reports over the past year and being able to see the paths of actual people across time as they traverse events and properties is very interesting if you're managing UX or marketing. It's a good product if you have a use case that ties into analyzing individual user behavior.
  • User level analysis
  • Flexible event attribute model
  • Easy interface
  • Report export options
  • Report scheduling
If you have a site which is primarily lead generated or very limited in scope, or where behavior is very homogeneous, there's no point.
Read Jeffrey James's full review
Scott Rutz profile photo
May 23, 2014

Kissmetrics Review: "Great product! Very worth it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love the power of KissMetrics. With our SAAS service, it's imperative we can quickly capture the metrics we need to know what users are doing and where we're losing people. Kiss Metrics offers all of those needs and a becomes a daily spot for you to dive into user data and marketing metrics. There can be a small learning curve for more advanced features, but once you get the basics down you can really gain valuable insights. Definitely worth the monthly fee to gain these insights.
  • Tracking of behavior of users
  • Tracking sources of different marketing campaigns and what those users do once they get to your sight
  • Daily, easy to read reports to keep metrics top of mind
  • On boarding, the videos and resources were good but in my opinion not adequate for the depth that KissMetrics offers
  • Funnels could use some explanation, in that it's not immediately clear how you can build them to your exact needs, it can be very one dimension and not elastic to fit other things
  • Within funnel reports, the use and display of properties from events is very weird. It took us a while to figure out what the property stats were actually saying.
At the price point this is not a tool for someone that is just getting their business started and is spending less than $500 a month in marketing or less than a few hundred people to your site per month. It's very robust and is an investment in time to get set up and going.
Read Scott Rutz's full review
Bryant Jaquez profile photo
May 23, 2014

User Review: "New to KISSmetrics and loving it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am new to KISSmetrics, but I love everything about the software. Currently, I am using KISSmetrics to track the sales on a popular Woo Commerce site. From what I've discovered, there is absolutely no equivalent to the insights offered by KISSmetrics.

We are able to use KISSmetrics to do a better job at tracking the profitability on our marketing channels. I am still getting to know the capabilities of what KISS can really do but we've already found ways to improve our spend, and the tool easily pays for itself.

My experience so far as made me a huge fan of KISS and I am working on incorporating the tool into the site of a music label, and a B2B lead generation site. I can't wait to see the results there as well.

  • Link KISSmetrics to your email marketing to measure ROI
  • Use KISSmetrics to judge the effectiveness of your content strategy (blog, social)
  • I'm still new to the product, so my primary challenge so far has been the learning curve. Kiss metrics is powerful and as a result, there is a lot to learn. To be honest it can feel a little overwhelming when you first get started. My only suggestion is to make the on-boarding and learning process easier for newbies like me. :)
KISSmetrics works great when you have either a high-traffic website, or a high-profit product. KISSmetrics is perfectly suited for SaaS and E-Commerce websites. I plan on testing it out on a lead generation site and I expect a positive experience there as well (but I've not personally experimented with that type of site yet).
Read Bryant Jaquez's full review
Angela Estelle Wells, MBA profile photo
May 23, 2014

User Review: "Kissmetrics Love"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product provides excellent information to make informed choices around our data. It has given us insight into our consumers as to how and when they are using our products. It's been a lifesaver and their blog and helpful resources have been what we use to ensure we're on the right path with the product.
  • Excellent Customer Service
  • Supportive blogs and resources
  • Realistic data assessments
  • The price per month is expensive for smaller businesses, but is worth it in order to grow and understand your customers.
I think this provides more stats than any other service. To be successful I suggest reading their blog. That is always full of excellent content for our industry whether you use the software or not.
Read Angela Estelle Wells, MBA's full review
Assaf Eisenstein profile photo
June 14, 2014

Review: "KISSmetrics helps you get actionable metrics for your business."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics is a great tool for analytics, especially if you're looking to see in-depth insight on visitor journey instead of just visitor figures and pageviews.
  • KISSmetrics was one of the first analytics platforms to really focus their attention on individual visitors rather than page views.
  • I use it on a daily basis, and it informs nearly everything I do in terms of outreach to users. Have they used my company's product? How much? When? Where have they traveled on my website?
  • Not much, though the price can be a bit too high for some businesses.
  • Setting up configuration and on boarding may be challenging at first.
It is perfect for SaaS and eCommerce, I don't have much experience with other industries.
Read Assaf Eisenstein's full review
Luke Panza profile photo
May 28, 2014

"KISSmetrics review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics helps us understand who exactly is finding us via our online advertisements and creating accounts. Specifically, we're able to match up a specific account to an ad click-through and determine which customers are clicking which ads. We are also therefore able to tie back sales to specific ads thanks to KISSmetrics.
  • Fairly simple and easy to use
  • Customer support has been helpful
  • Would be great if KISSmetrics tied in directly with our adwords account.
KISSmetrics is a great tool, as it helps us define what account signup has clicked on what online ad. It is better suited for online retail which is not our business, so many of the tools that they offer are really not helpful for our business.
Read Luke Panza's full review
Spencer Toth profile photo
May 27, 2014

"KISSmetrics review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use KISSmetrics to track the key metrics from our SaaS products.
  • Great continuing education (webinars, blog posts, etc)
  • Super easy to use interface
  • Better, in-app direction
I've found myself using Google Analytics to compare traffic and conversions between channels.
Read Spencer Toth's full review
Michael Folling profile photo
May 24, 2014

"Review of KISSmetrics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KISSmetrics is being used by the marketing department to make actionable decisions regarding customer acquisition and retention. It also helps us identify areas where we can improve our product.
  • Helps identify cohorts and the lifetime value of particular cohorts.
  • Helps us understand what individual customers are having trouble with our system so we can give proactive customer support.
  • Helps us identify issues with the onboarding experience.
  • Lower priced plans.
It's well suited for SaaS companies but may not be good for a general blog.
Read Michael Folling's full review
Andrew Gale profile photo
May 23, 2014

User Review: "KISSmetrics or No Metrics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
KISSmetrics allows us to identify what's going wrong by who. This information is valuable to every business.
  • Identify holes in the funnel
  • Visualize users flow
  • Create solutions based off data
  • Suggestions on fixes
It's important for any web startup that is going to have data coming in to use a service like KISSmetrics.
Read Andrew Gale's full review
Ryan Cramer profile photo
May 23, 2014

User Review: "Kissmetrics is the BOMB"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I run social media for myself using Leadpages and heard about KISSmetrics. I checked out their infographics and blog. They provide a wealth of information without having to hire an analyst. It's more advanced and in depth than just regular analytics.
  • Better analytics
  • More in-depth
  • Great information
  • Make it free. ;-)
It's well suited if you have the desire to really see true metrics and not just landing page conversions but timing and other good demographics.
Read Ryan Cramer's full review
Karan Arora profile photo
December 11, 2013

Kissmetrics Review: "Great Analytics Platform for Pros and Rookies"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • KISSmetrics did Funnel Analysis really well. Unlike Google Analytics, the admin does not need to predefine the funnel paths and can change funnel paths on the fly. This is very useful because the admin does not always know which path would they be most interested in.
  • KISSmetrics also does tracking of individual users really well. It is able to tie user visits to your website from before the user registers. It is also able to track user visits on different browsers and devices.
  • KISSmetrics customer support is incredible. Each time we had an issue, they would quickly hop on a call and provide all the necessary information and detailed responses.
  • KISSmetrics admin tools' user experience is extremely intuitive. Even for non-technical audiences, it is very easy to learn and start using.
  • At the time I used KISSmetrics, I was not able to use the user segmentation functionality very easily.
  • The API level integration between KISSmetrics and any metrics that the business may be capturing was available, but did not support all features.
To anyone looking to make a selection between various analytics platforms, I would recommend considering the following
- What is the level of expertise of the admin using the tool?
- What features are most important to you?
- Do you care most for webview or number of actual people using your service?
- Do you know in advance what metrics you will be most interested in?
Read Karan Arora's full review
Anne Seckinger profile photo
December 13, 2013

User Review: "KISSmetrics - good for the basics"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • KISSmetrics provides a concise summary of website visitors
  • KISSmetrics shows the activity of website users
  • KISSmetrics allows for analysis to be conducted on website usage patterns over time
  • KISSmetrics is difficult to navigate as the layout is too basic to function well.
  • It is inconvenient to take the results of KISSmetrics and then copy and paste data out in order to create a usable and viewer-friendly summary.
  • KISSmetrics could improve upon the aesthetics of their site.
I would recommend KISSmetrics to someone who needs basic information about usage of their website. KISSmetrics might be particularly of use to start-up or small companies which do not have that much data to process and could function with basic analyses of their data.
Read Anne Seckinger's full review
No photo available
February 05, 2016

Kissmetrics Review: "An excellent service for measuring KPIs, but with a learning curve"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kissmetrics to track our marketing and sales funnels as well as to track user activities within our SasS. Kissmetrics touches all departments in the company, from development to customer service to (of course) marketing. The main problem Kissmetrics addresses involves KPIs across the board: How many new users do we have between X and Y dates? When did X user do the following activity? How impactful was X email?

Kissmetric's addition of the click-to-track feature makes it incredibly easy to specify events and actions to be tracked from any site you have your KM javascript installed on. Tracking user actions that way combined with the URL API makes it super easy to create cohort, path, and funnel reports for aggregate reporting, and if you've got it set up to alias the auto-generated UID to an identity (e.g. a username or an email address in your system), it's easier than ever to track specific user actions and drill down to the most important thing you want to know— what makes people buy? What makes people stay?
  • The URL API, when combined with reports and people search, is very powerful. It allows you to create and track a virtually unlimited number of cohorts using property and event tracking.
  • Live view is fantastic for a bird's eye view of what's going on with your users in real-time. We use this often to test our funnels and make sure things are indeed tracking, and that it's set up in a way that is actually helpful to us.
  • Kissmetrics support is bar none– they're friendly and speak in terms that even the most novice of users can follow.
  • Click-to-track makes it virtually fool-proof to specify events and actions to track, without having to figure out any complicated coding.
  • In-app reports are often not quite "enough" as is. Kissmetrics lacks secondary/tertiary sort of filter functions that let the user distill the collected information in a useful way on-screen. What we sometimes have to do is export reports and use functions within Excel to get the data view that is useful for us.
  • We've gotten some conflicting advice about whether or not the ideal identity to use is an email address or some other unique identifier, and that has made implementation/reporting more confusing.
  • Kissmetrics does not track or provide demographic or location data by default.
  • It's certainly not an inexpensive service, so it may be cost prohibitive for smaller, bootstrapped startups to get started with it.
Kissmetrics is best suited for organizations that have a strong focus on KPIs [that are] measurable through solid analytics data. Kissmetrics is not for you if you're looking for a plug and play solution, however. It requires configuration and strategic implementation. If you're considering Kissmetrics, you should ask yourself:

  • What am I looking to track?
  • Do I need to be able to track demographic/location data, or do I already have another solution in place?
  • Am I or is my team comfortable using software with advanced features?
  • Am I or is my team comfortable spending time configuring what we need to in order to make Kissmetrics track what we want? This includes hooking kissmetrics up to 3rd party APIs like Stripe, for example.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2015

Kissmetrics Review: "Decent product for solving lead attribution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Kissmetrics with a client in order to track the sources for specific individuals who submit forms. While Google Analytics offers anonymous data, we wanted a solution to actually link sources to names. In addition, Kissmetrics offers the added benefit of showing multiple stages in the funnel (e.g., person came in through organic search and later converted via paid search).
  • Excellent at tracking lead attribution, so you can see exactly what source people came from (organic, ppc, etc.) with name, address, and other info of those individuals.
  • Highly customizable reports: can filter by sources, form field attributes, etc.
  • High learning curve: it's not immediately straightforward how to implement for your specific use case.
  • Reports are limited in number of fields you can include (although this has improved).
  • Dashboard has a limited timeframe.
Kissmetrics is excellent for ecommerce; workable for lead generation with customization; but not a good choice for small businesses with few leads.
Read this authenticated review

About Kissmetrics

Kissmetrics aims to help companies get, keep and grow more customers with its customer engagement automation. This solution includes behavioral analytics, segmentation and email campaign automation all in one place.

The vendor says Kissmetrics helps companies deeply understand and uniquely engage each customer from prospect to advocate. Additionally, the vendor says their solution is built to help marketers and product teams increase conversions, engagement, and retention over the entire lifespan of a customer.

Kissmetrics Features

Has featureAnalyze
Has featurePopulations
Has featureCampaigns

Kissmetrics Screenshots

Kissmetrics Integrations

Kissmetrics Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Growth$500Monthly Tracked People
Power$850Monthly Tracked People
EnterpriseCustomMonthly Tracked People

What are Monthly Tracked People? Monthly Tracked People are unique visitors that engage in an Event on your website or with your product, that gets tracked by you in Kissmetrics. Monthly Tracked People can be anonymous or identified.

Kissmetrics Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
20%

Kissmetrics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Phone
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Kissmetrics Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English