TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/pF/4b/1F9B4CS4QOLI.JPEGGreat A/B testing and personalization toolWe use Dynamic Yield for A/B testing and personalization in the marketing department. It enables us to run A/B test easily through the admin and if we have any issues, the account managers and support team are always there to help us.,Product recommendations are easy to build and implement Live chat with support teams They listen to their customers and ask for feedback New improvements and features are very common Data feeds make it easy for mass uploads,Load times can be improved Lack of technical support for complex tests for those who can't code,8,With Dynamic Yield, we were able to test the newsletter pop-up delays to find the most optimal timing.,Sitecore Web Content ManagementDynamic Yield's very user-friendlyVarious teams in my organisation use Dynamic Yield - the A/B testing team, onsite team and CRM. Dynamic Yield helps us seek out opportunities; shows how we can optimise our performance, helps us manage our onsite banners (easier to make frontend edits), and we load our newsletter lead generation pop-ups using this platform.,Great user interface, very intuitive. I hadn't used any similar platforms before, but I know how to use Dynamic Yield without referring to any guide. 24/7 support team available, so it's easy to reach out whenever we encounter a problem. And we can arrange for a call to share screens if it's hard to explain over messages. Up to date with product features, always striving to get feedback from customers on what they want to see, then building it Shares successful case studies of other companies and we learn from each other.,Support service can be quicker at times Unable to open different sections (e.g. Philippines, Taiwan) in the same browser - will have to open incognito or use another browser Page breaks at times,8,Improved conversion rates, click-through rates and bounce rates for certain tests that we'd conducted However, with the script implemented, load time can be longer,Tealium iQ Tag Management System,Tealium iQ Tag Management SystemGood product from a new provider!It is currently being used for testing and optimisation by our marketing department. It helps improve our website by identifying segments and allowing us to test against these. We found our previous provider (Monetate) was more than twice the cost of Dynamic Yield and did 90% of the same things. It has the ability to build product recommendations, but we are currently tied into a third party. We will definitely investigate using Dynamic Yield for this function too. We are currently seeing a commercial benefit to using Dynamic Yield, however the business is not able to spend enough time producing new and innovative tests.,It segments our performance so we can accurately measure improvements. Unlike other tools, Dynamic Yield is faster. It allows you to segment for an audience and tells you how big the test audience is likely to be. This is not an easy thing to do with other platforms. You often have to run a test before you realise how big the user pool is likely to be. It is more than 50% cheaper than our previous provider. The Account Manager is proactive, keen, and has regular meetings with us. Other providers that I have used in the past are productive for an initial 2-3 month period then tend to go missing until renewal, and this is not the case with Dynamic Yield.,It would be great if you could provide 24 hour support, seven days a week UK time. Devise level testing is a problem. We have built tests on mobile and tablet devices and they have not always worked as designed. On one occasion, a mobile test broke all transactional reporting (for mobile devices) in Google Analytics. We feel we are missing out on hearing about tests that other Dynamic Yield customers have done. We haven't seen a lot of positive case studies of tests other customers have conducted.,8,It's too early to tell as we have only been using it for 4 months, but signs are positive for ROI We believe that 3 tests will pay for Dynamic Yield in a 12 month period. ROI can afford to be 50% less than with our previous provider because Dynamic Yield is so much cheaper.,Qubit, Webtrends Analytics and Monetate,Google AnalyticsDynamic Yield almost too good for everyday useDynamic Yield is being used only in our eCommerce department. It is helping with our conversion rate on our site as well as our retention rate for our returning customers.,Onsite personalization Testing Anal Analytics,User experience from a marketer's perspective - there are almost too many options and capabilities, such that it is hard to accomplish everyday tasks.,6,Conversion rate optimization,Optimizely, Bounce Exchange and Sailthru,Google Analytics,2,1,A/B testing onsite optimization customer personalization,homepage banner designs warm welcome for podcast customers,Further personalization on site recommendation widgets multiple touch point tests,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,I don't think I wouldWhy I like working with Dynamic YieldWe use Dynamic Yield across Marketing and Product departments. It help us provide dynamic content on the site, a/b test UX hypothesis and make personalised product recommendations.,Targeting of the experiments is very flexible, powerful and reliable Platform UX is very intuitive and flexible to your own needs of structure The process to activate an experiment end to end is very agile, the preview mode is also very helpful,Data feed infrastructure is not lean, but it works just fine, especially when you require it to support localised content for multiple domains and your product have a lot of attributes Doesn't support a backend API yet, but I am aware that it's on the way. It will be very helpful for page Load performance and SEO of the content provided by Dynamic Yield Doesn't support negative engagement with products or product attributes, as yet,9,Reduce the dependence from engineering team to experiment different variations of an element that is already implement through Dynamic Yield. To do so, you need to define the scope of the experiments very well before development Peace of mind for Marketing and Product teams, since everything can be tested Empowers the non-technical team to be more independent,5,5,Dynamic content on the site a/b test different UX Hypotesis Product Recommendation & Personalisation strategies,9
Unspecified
Dynamic Yield
40 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Dynamic Yield Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Dynamic Yield
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 40 vetted Dynamic Yield reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jessendra Loke profile photo
November 23, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Great A/B testing and personalization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamic Yield for A/B testing and personalization in the marketing department. It enables us to run A/B test easily through the admin and if we have any issues, the account managers and support team are always there to help us.
  • Product recommendations are easy to build and implement
  • Live chat with support teams
  • They listen to their customers and ask for feedback
  • New improvements and features are very common
  • Data feeds make it easy for mass uploads
  • Load times can be improved
  • Lack of technical support for complex tests for those who can't code
Dynamic Yield is great to modify your website and implement A/B tests easily. The way that they split the audience is very clean and the number of overlaps (where a user sees both variations) is minimal. It would be good to have some knowledge in HTML, CSS and Javascript to explore more complex tests. However, they are not able to ingest order cancellations/returns data in the dashboard so our analysis is still done internally.
Read Jessendra Loke's full review
Grace Lee profile photo
November 23, 2018

User Review: "Dynamic Yield's very user-friendly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Various teams in my organisation use Dynamic Yield - the A/B testing team, onsite team and CRM. Dynamic Yield helps us seek out opportunities; shows how we can optimise our performance, helps us manage our onsite banners (easier to make frontend edits), and we load our newsletter lead generation pop-ups using this platform.
  • Great user interface, very intuitive. I hadn't used any similar platforms before, but I know how to use Dynamic Yield without referring to any guide.
  • 24/7 support team available, so it's easy to reach out whenever we encounter a problem. And we can arrange for a call to share screens if it's hard to explain over messages.
  • Up to date with product features, always striving to get feedback from customers on what they want to see, then building it
  • Shares successful case studies of other companies and we learn from each other.
  • Support service can be quicker at times
  • Unable to open different sections (e.g. Philippines, Taiwan) in the same browser - will have to open incognito or use another browser
  • Page breaks at times
It's well suited when your company believes in A/B testing, and will take much time to reach out to the developers to make edits on the frontend. It's also good when you have ample CRM data you can use to personalise your tests.
Read Grace Lee's full review
Rita Patel profile photo
November 20, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Good product from a new provider!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used for testing and optimisation by our marketing department. It helps improve our website by identifying segments and allowing us to test against these. We found our previous provider (Monetate) was more than twice the cost of Dynamic Yield and did 90% of the same things.

It has the ability to build product recommendations, but we are currently tied into a third party. We will definitely investigate using Dynamic Yield for this function too. We are currently seeing a commercial benefit to using Dynamic Yield, however the business is not able to spend enough time producing new and innovative tests.
  • It segments our performance so we can accurately measure improvements. Unlike other tools, Dynamic Yield is faster.
  • It allows you to segment for an audience and tells you how big the test audience is likely to be. This is not an easy thing to do with other platforms. You often have to run a test before you realise how big the user pool is likely to be.
  • It is more than 50% cheaper than our previous provider.
  • The Account Manager is proactive, keen, and has regular meetings with us. Other providers that I have used in the past are productive for an initial 2-3 month period then tend to go missing until renewal, and this is not the case with Dynamic Yield.
  • It would be great if you could provide 24 hour support, seven days a week UK time.
  • Devise level testing is a problem. We have built tests on mobile and tablet devices and they have not always worked as designed. On one occasion, a mobile test broke all transactional reporting (for mobile devices) in Google Analytics.
  • We feel we are missing out on hearing about tests that other Dynamic Yield customers have done. We haven't seen a lot of positive case studies of tests other customers have conducted.
it is well suited in fast pace environments. Producing tests is a lot easier if you have a dedicated front end developer who understand CSS and JavaScript.
If you need help with these technical parts, I don't believe the online support is fast enough or detailed enough to provide good advise. If you believe your website has at least 3 tests that are worthwhile to conduct you would probably pay for Dynamic Yield within 12 months. Because of the costs, it is much easier and faster to prove the product has paid for itself within a short period.
Read Rita Patel's full review
Lanie DePasquale profile photo
October 24, 2018

Review: "Dynamic Yield almost too good for everyday use"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is being used only in our eCommerce department. It is helping with our conversion rate on our site as well as our retention rate for our returning customers.
  • Onsite personalization
  • Testing
  • Anal
  • Analytics
  • User experience from a marketer's perspective - there are almost too many options and capabilities, such that it is hard to accomplish everyday tasks.
Dynamic Yield is great for a company with an advanced development team who is fond of data analytics and testing. It is less appropriate for a team that does not have a dedicated person to manage the platform and a team of some well-versed developers to help.
Read Lanie DePasquale's full review
Saúl Trujillo Suárez profile photo
October 22, 2018

User Review: "Why I like working with Dynamic Yield"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamic Yield across Marketing and Product departments. It help us provide dynamic content on the site, a/b test UX hypothesis and make personalised product recommendations.
  • Targeting of the experiments is very flexible, powerful and reliable
  • Platform UX is very intuitive and flexible to your own needs of structure
  • The process to activate an experiment end to end is very agile, the preview mode is also very helpful
  • Data feed infrastructure is not lean, but it works just fine, especially when you require it to support localised content for multiple domains and your product have a lot of attributes
  • Doesn't support a backend API yet, but I am aware that it's on the way. It will be very helpful for page Load performance and SEO of the content provided by Dynamic Yield
  • Doesn't support negative engagement with products or product attributes, as yet
It's well suited for any e-commerce, especially those with a large portfolio of product attribute/s... Personalisation will help users find what they want quicker.
Read Saúl Trujillo Suárez's full review
Dorota Bison profile photo
October 26, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Powerful Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is being used mostly by our brand and content marketing department as well as performance marketing. Additionally, the product managers are using it for any type of A/B test.
  • Simple or multivariant A/B tests.
  • It’s a great tool for content management. The tool will choose the best performances and/or A/B test your content on the fly.
  • Recommendations with many different strategies.
  • Improving the impact on the page speed. Currently, it can be that the page speed is impacted by the tool. It all depends on the heaviness of usage.
I would say any bigger online e-commerce company would benefit.
Read Dorota Bison's full review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Great tool for AB testing and personalisation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is being used by the Personalization and A/B testing teams under the e-Commerce department at Sephora. It enables us to personalize the user's journey on our web and app platforms, as well as email. Additionally, we use it to run front-end tests to optimise our UI and marketing campaigns.
  • Personalisation - The tool is heightened with user personalisation opportunities that Dynamic Yield is able to identify with their algorithm. It's a very smart tool and the product recommendation strategies have proved to be a success, generating uplift in revenue and other e-commerce core metrics. Additionally, the recommendation algorithm continues to get stronger over time, which is really a testament to the technology that makes Dynamic Yield so successful.
  • A/B Testing - The number of variations and ability to control the traffic split is a very basic capability but the ease of using it on Dynamic Yield really takes this tool to the next level. Reiterating and pausing losing variations make it a very user-friendly and scalable tool.
  • Support - The Customer Success Managers play a really large role as they help us with strategic and technical questions and enable us to help move our capabilities with Dynamic Yield forward. Additionally, we have a very good relationship with members from the 24/7 Support team as really take care of us when we go to them with any problems/issues we'd like to solve.
  • App SDK is still new - the SDK is still new in a sense that the capabilities and support documents provided are not as thorough as they are for Web (Desktop and Mobile Web). Newer features are typically rolled out to web sections before they are rolled out to Mobile App.
  • Audience prediction - We are looking at other tools to get audience predictions as we'd like to further optimise our campaigns by reaching the relevant audience and targetting the ones that have a higher propensity to convert. Dynamic Yield is currently missing this functionality.
  • Reporting - The reporting dashboard is not sufficient to take a look at the data and results. It's very manual and tedious to pull the reports and manage our own insights. Additionally, we manage multiple sections which run the same experiences and consolidating the data outside of the Dynamic Yield platform means that our analytics and reporting is done offline.
It is well suited for A/B testing and personalisation. The product recommendation algorithms are varied and intelligent. They grow smarter over time which optimises the conversion opportunities we have with our customers. Great to use for splitting traffic and serving different variations. Additionally, the multi-campaign touch tool is a great way to build out the customer journey and test multiple experiences.
Read this authenticated review
Devon Chulick profile photo
September 28, 2018

User Review: "Experience with Dynamic Yield"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is an amazing Personalization Platform. There are some little things lagging, but the majority of the platform and company are great. I am very happy with them as our current personalization platform. Dynamic Yield allows us to create personalization flows for customers from any channel, and leverages customer preferences for a more personalized experience. Right now it is only the marketing team leveraging DY, but I am excited to see how we can fold it into the rest of the company teams. It is also a great tool for running our A/B tests. We run several a week.
  • AB Testing
  • Personalization Flows
  • User Support
  • My CSM is amazing. Really dedicated to making sure I get the most out of DY, my tests, and working with my organization.
  • Personalization through product feeds and the level of complexity is amazing. You can target based off of weather, which is amazing. You can set up product type and actions to define your flows fairly easily, but again, my CSM was very helpful here.
  • Auto Allocate is a great feature.
  • Audience Manager is pretty cool. Allows you to define audiences also based off product feed and event actions.
  • The 24/7 support is very impressive. Their chat is great at helping you overcome small issues or answering questions.
  • Code editor is a little wonky, so best to write your code elsewhere and the paste into DY. I wish there was an editor similar to the one Optimizely has for setting up tests. I'm sure this is something I will see down the road.
  • Implementation (Was very smooth though, but this can always be improved)
  • Mobile view for editing experience.
  • Requires a developer for a lot of aspects. Not completely plug and play depending on how your site is built.
DY is perfect for any company looking for personalization and A/B testing solutions.
Read Devon Chulick's full review
Stephanie Erlita Arifin profile photo
September 28, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Highly recommendable personalization tool for any e-commerce sites"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's currently used by my e-commerce platform MASARISHOP.COM to enhance customer experience and add personalization to the site. Everyone in my team contributes to it, from the IT to merchandiser to marketing; and we look at how it can improve our revenue, user retention and loyalty.
In our retail group we're the only one doing e-commerce so DY is not used by other departments.
  • The many design templates we can choose, it really saves time for our graphics designer.
  • The ease of reading information on dashboard and reports.
  • All our problems are addressed, from increasing newsletter subscribers to personalizing the product selection.
  • Integrating newsletter (MailChimp in particular) API to DY can use a little bit more guidance.
  • Some currency functions (ours is Indonesian Rupiah) does not work properly.
  • Product recommendations section for 'similarity : needs to address the fact that they cannot accept multi-categories of each product. e.g. a shirt can be categorized as a 'top' category but will also fit into 'vacation wear', 'sale', etc.
It is very appropriate if you're a mid-sized (or up) e-commerce looking to boost your customer retention and keep traffic flowing in; and want some features that your current back end development cannot create in a short time / money consuming environment.
It's less appropriate if you have limited budget as it is quite costly, or you only want limited features on your site
Read Stephanie Erlita Arifin's full review
Diogo Gomes Pio profile photo
October 17, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Generally good results and good support"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using DY for product recommendations (in Homepage, product detail page and pages with products sold out - each one with different strategies and audiences), AB tests on the website, and a few out of the box templates by DY, like the social proof widget. We also implemented Newsletter subscription with good results. Basically, it is used by Marketing with the help of IT to set up some experiments.
  • Product Recommendations - we had designed similar widgets as we had in our page, and input different strategies, e.g. new users will see recommended products with strategy of most popular and/or automated, while recurrent users are seeing recently viewed items strategy. The widgets are running at home page, product page and sold out products page.
  • Newsletter subscription templates, and we can test with different experiences of the user.
  • Can easily try different elements in the nav bar
  • Can easily try different layout of the cart page
  • Custom actions tests
  • Logic on the strategies for companies with unique items (e.g. where most popular or bought together categories do not work)
  • In some cases we need to involve our developers in the elements selector or some formatting CSS code.
Recommended for conversion optimizer emails. If you don't have a content feed, does not make sense to run personalized content to users.
Read Diogo Gomes Pio's full review
Nichelle Letson profile photo
October 15, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Dynamically Serve Up Relevant Content to Your Variety of Audiences (and their needs!)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is great for providing personalized dynamic content to any audience that you can specify. Marketing and IT are the two primary departments we use DY with. It resolves the business issue of: How do you serve unique and relevant content to a wide variety of audiences that come from a wide variety of marketing sources.
  • Targeting Different Audiences
  • Dynamic Links
  • Dynamic Content
  • A/B Testing content and landing pages
  • Organization is horrible. You can't organize renderings by page they are all seperate.
  • Labeling.. You can't delete labels from auto-suggestion if you mislabel them wrong.
  • Load times can be slow if you have a lot of renderings.
Dynamic Yield is suitable for an organization that serves a lot of unique customers who need different things (or find different things relevant). Which is a fair amount of different companies.

I would say it is less appropriate for someone who needs a lot of landing pages and dynamic content pieces though, just because the organization in the UI is not good at all and your stuff will get lost if you have a lot.
Read Nichelle Letson's full review
Jake Madoff profile photo
September 28, 2018

Dynamic Yield Review: "Solid AB testing tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Dynamic Yield to run tests on our subscription and shop flows. It's an easy-to-use and robust tool that helps us improve our overall site. Their analytics tools are easy to use and also help us understand top-line insights which allow us to make effective conclusions. Plus, their out-of-the-box templates helps us get tests up quickly and seamlessly.
  • Easy-to-use
  • Built-in analytics support
  • Diverse set of out-of-the-box templates
  • Front-end editor can be buggy
  • Doesn't allow for a data deep-dive
Dynamic Yield is well suited to run on-site tests quickly and seamlessly. Their templates and front-end editor enable us to get tests up quickly and generate new ideas for behavioral flows. In terms of what Dynamic Yield is relatively less suited for - although the dashboards are helpful, deeper data dives may be done outside of DY.
Read Jake Madoff's full review
Rachel McDonnell profile photo
July 10, 2017

Review: "Testing & Personalization with Dynamic Yield"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamic Yield within our product department to run A/B testing for our consumer experiences, and surface targeted on-site merchandising and promotion messaging in coordination with our marketing department.
  • Easy self-service platform.
  • Prebuilt templates, and ability to create more, makes repeated tests or messaging easy for marketers to set up without needing engineers.
  • Account managers are actively involved in client success beyond implementation.
  • We have experienced some minor bugs with the platform and the plugin, but tech support seems responsive to those issues.
  • A way of connecting to clients' own APIs for testing product recommendations or allowing for more types of product feeds would be helpful.
  • As a client, would like to see more information provided for upcoming features and roadmap or have input into what those are.
Well-suited for marketers looking to benefit from a unified A/B testing platform with easy personalization, targeting, and promotional messaging functionality, instead of having platforms where the testing and other features are separate.

I wouldn't recommend Dynamic Yield for companies that are lacking a sufficient development team (primarily front-end) supporting the marketers who would be using this tool. Much of the benefit comes from the advanced templating that can be done to automate the creation of tests, which requires strong development skills.
Read Rachel McDonnell's full review
David Lindsey profile photo
June 15, 2017

User Review: "Dynamic Yield is a game changer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamic Yield to power custom content inclusions on our pages, either conditionally by custom audience or according to user demographics (i.e. location, device). We also use Dynamic Yield to serve creatives to promote publication subscription, A/B testing them for best CTRs and order completions.
  • A/B Testing of Creative - this feature allows us to trial multiple creatives and messages without having to force a choice between any one. This gives us much greater freedom in messaging and improves our development workflow by not artificially restricting our choices.
  • Audience Segmentation - We can segment our audience based on behavior (social sharing, content consumption rates, etc.) and target them with messaging specific to their interests. We can then provide reports on how different audience segments are interacting with our content, and especially how our differentiated messaging is helping to improve those interaction rates.
  • Display Ads - We have used this feature to create display ads that run through our ad system, but they allow us greater flexibility to A/B test creative. We have also used this to provide retargeting or purchased ads to third parties, and this give us much more control over the deployment and testing of creatives without needing to send the third-party new ad codes.
  • The analytics of Dynamic Yield are not very clear, and do not always match up even closely with our Google Analytics. Their measuring criteria is different, so I understand the discrepancies, but it sometimes causes problems for me when producing reports from both systems and having to explain why the numbers are so far off.
  • The documentation is not always very helpful. It provides basic instructions on how to do things in the interface, but does not provide nearly enough specific examples on how to set things up. For most things beyond a simple setup, I have to get in touch with my CSM, and this is problematic in cases where I need to be able to act quickly.
  • I have encountered problems using templates for the Site Personalization. Specifically, when updating a template, it takes a very long time for the actual code deployments to update, if at all. Most of the time, if I do want to change a template, I have to uncouple the variation from the template, make the changes, and then save a new template.
I think this is very well suited for publishers or agencies with limited technical resources. After implementing, someone with skills in HTML, CSS and Javascript could perform a vast array of tasks with Dynamic Yield that would otherwise require custom development from a larger and/or more skilled team. In that sense, I think that Dynamic Yield presents an opportunity to reduce or limit HR costs. It is very useful in situations where the messaging needs to be customized for different audience segments, whatever they may be. In publishing, we have different groups of people who are very passionate about specific topics, and it's very useful for us to be able to target our messaging or offerings to them in language and in visuals that they identify with.
Read David Lindsey's full review
Brianna McMillan profile photo
August 02, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Only just scraping the surface!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Dynamic Yield to make changes to recommendation logics with little to no involvement from our internal development team. It also allows me to test these logics against each other immediately which in turn makes optimizations a lot faster and allows me to do them at scale. It is currently being used by our merchandising team for this but there are other teams in the process of getting trained (such as marketing and purchasing) who will use various tools Dynamic Yield provides.
  • Little to no internal development resources required post initial integration.
  • Do not need to know how to write code - great for merchandisers!
  • The user flows can be a little difficult to follow at first.
  • Naming conventions are key if you plan to use this tool at scale.
Dynamic Yield looks very strong in allowing users to A/B and multivariate test in a matter of minutes. Everything from banners to messaging/text on the site, to recommendation logic, it's all there. If you are looking for a comprehensive merchandising tool which includes a strong internal search provider, Dynamic Yield is currently lacking. They offer Findify, which albeit is decent, it is not as robust as other search providers.
Read Brianna McMillan's full review
Justus Reinikainen profile photo
July 31, 2017

Review: "Testing Dynamic Yield on a news website"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently testing Dynamic Yield on a few departments. It helps us to provide customized news and features (like buttons) to our readers - thus helping us get more committed readers and more advertisers' money. It also helps us to A/B test new features.
  • If you are technically skilled, you can do lots of stuff with Dynamic Yield and you get lots of different data out of the tests.
  • Analyzing the basic test results is easy. When working with Google Analytics, you need to have more skills.
  • The tests work quite reliably, we haven't found any bigger glitches.
  • You need quite a lot of technical knowledge to run more complex tests, I could not do everything I wanted although I have lots of HTML experience and some JS.
  • There are too many different menues and functionalities that need to be used. For one of our tests I needed to use four different functions hidden behind different menues. If I remember correctly they were two different templates, custom actions and something else too.
  • The personalization engine should be more transparent and configurable. Now we do not know on what basis the engine makes recommendations. It would also be nice to get to adjust some variables.
A/B testing is pretty easy with Dynamic Yield and analyzing the results is intuitive. Personalization is sometimes really hard to implement if you are not really solid with Javascript. Article recommendation/personalization works quite well, but it would be nice to get to adjust some parameters to make it fit our needs better.
Read Justus Reinikainen's full review
Max See Yong Jun profile photo
July 07, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Personalize your customers entire journey!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is being used by my organisation to provide a personalised experience for users on our site, run A/B tests to decide optimal best practices and also to serve product recommendations in our in-house EDMs. The tool is managed by a single team but being used collaboratively by many different teams throughout their organisation to serve their needs.
  • Very easy implementation of web features (easy even for a non-technical person)
  • A/B testing of almost everything on the site with detailed reports
  • Superb round the clock support
  • Reports can be even more detailed with more metrics to track
  • More templates could be provided for non technical users who cannot code
Dynamic Yield is suitable for organisations that want to serve a tailored and personalised experience for each user. It will be particularly relevant for sites that have a wide range of customers and thus need to cater to their different needs. Dynamic Yield is also particularly relevant for companies that are data driven and make their decisions based on data and not just gut feeling. This is, however, not a website building tool.
Read Max See Yong Jun's full review
Maritza Cartaya profile photo
July 07, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Multifunctional Marketing Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield (DY) is a marketing solution implemented in our e-commerce company used for personalization of content, segmentation of users, A/B testing of messages and also as an additional CMS. The tool has been implemented onsite and will be on email as well. It has helped us understand user behaviour, inject content/messages and target specific audiences. It's being managed by the IT and marketing teams.
  • Flexible and intuitive tool: navigation through the tool is simple and changes can be set up in a few seconds.
  • Personalization: acquiring data from our customers and delivering them specific content is a plus.
  • All-in-one tool: DY has a wide range of functionalities and having them centralized in one specific tool is great.
  • Technical background needed: in order to fully manage the platform a technical background is required. Marketing teams may need tech support.
  • Tool still in early stages: some features are still in development and the range of templates to users is not that wide.
  • Visibility of changes: it can take up to 10 minutes to fully view changes implemented.
DY is well-suited for adding extra-content, understanding user preferences, showing product recommendations. DY is not that appropiate for managing all content of your site.
Read Maritza Cartaya's full review
Kelly Park profile photo
July 06, 2017

Review: "Dynamic Yield Delivers Exceptional Personalization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed Dynamic Yield (DY) a year ago with the intention of improving our user experience. The personalization has been fantastic, delivering product recommendations throughout the site with exceptional user engagement but we've also found the platform has been an amazing CMS for us. This has given us the ability to schedule content on our site from hero images, to promotions, notifications, promo boxes and featured items.
  • Product Recommendations.
  • Ability to A/B test experiences and testing them against a control group.
  • Usage as a CMS to replace the tedious work within our backend.
  • Weather based personalization.
  • Product Recommendation engine is not intuitive at first. Quite a few steps to get up and running.
  • Audience intelligence needs a little work when it comes to gender. Gender is determined by a contact who visits X number of men's or women's pages and X number of the other gender.
We wanted to A/B test whether or not having product recommendations on our cart page was beneficial or would hurt sales by pulling customers back out of the checkout process. We found that AOV & UPTs both went up product recommendations were presented vs the control group. Product recommendations on PDP (Product Display Pages) had a negative affect.

The platform allows you to pivot very quickly with pre-made templates that are easy to tweak / edit. Had a cold spell across the US in April this year, so we used weather based personalization to display a "sticker" to customers that were seeing snow, letting them know we had Winter Styles in our outlet.
Read Kelly Park's full review
Ofir Hoffman profile photo
July 06, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Great platform with a lot of capabilities"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically, we integrated Dynamic Yield 2-3 months ago and my team is the pioneer for using the platform. The idea is that other departments besides our team will use the platform for creating tests and for content management.
  • The customer support is great! Every time I have a question or something is not clear, the CSR response is fast and efficient.
  • The knowledge center is well organised and clear. You can find a lot of data there.
  • The platform is user-friendly. Great interface.
  • It takes 5-10 min from "publish" to "live on site".
  • Once the content is "live" we can't pause it - we have to archive it.
  • These two reasons make the QA process inefficient and very time-consuming.
  • Also there is a problem to manage many sites in parallel. Its good to have the separation between sites but we should have a way to manage our account cross-site.
  • It's hard to connect between different experiences but we're using evaluators to do so. The only problem is that the report on the platform is per experience and we can't see one report for several experiences.
1. It's easy to use even you're not a developer. Of course, there are cases when a developer is needed but most of the time, it's not necessary.
2. The custom actions preview is not working good.
3. We're using Dynamic Yield to test our product. This is why we need to have better funnel analysis reports.
Read Ofir Hoffman's full review
Valter Roldão profile photo
July 06, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Flexible marketing (product) tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Dynamic Yield (DY) for:
- website campaigns - We are using overlays such as email capture and conversion campaigns and we are targeting by multiple user groups. We plan to use DY in the future for product recommendations on our page as well
- email campaigns - only product recommendations
  • Flexible product - with a few clicks (and sometimes a bit of code) it's quick to build and deploy a targeted campaign.
  • Extensive list of functionalities - we can use DY to manage and target all onsite campaigns, product recommendations both web and on email and soon also use them for trigger emails.
  • It requires the support of a technical person on our team. There are not many templates and those that exist are not easy to change without getting on the code. For us it is not a problem as we have a large tech team, but it can be a limitation if you do not know and don't have a technical person to support you.
  • Coordination with support team could be faster - our communication is good and response times as well. We have an open line of communication with our customer success team, virtually 24/7. However, their tech team takes time to respond, which poses a difficulty whenever there's a technically more challenging question to answer or problem to solve (their tech team sits in Israel, 9-10 h difference to our local time).
It might be hard to use if you don't have a tech person on your side to support you with non-usual use cases.
Read Valter Roldão's full review
Jack Yulzari profile photo
July 06, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Recommended."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is being used by several departments in our e-commerce company, led by one of our product teams.

We use it for two things: i) testing different creatives, offers, UI and new or improved features, and ii) creating personalized experiences for specific audiences, whether it's geo-based targeting, traffic source based or on-site behavior.
  • Scale - most test or personalization plans are done more than once or twice. Whether it's an offer we'll promote using different banners or a notification popping up, having the ability to create templates for re-use makes it easy to clone and do a lot with 1-time development effort.
  • User experience - the whole UX is very easy similar to other known tools like Google Analytics or others, which makes it friendly and easy to use.
  • Performance segmented by an audience - one of my personal favorites is the ability to review a test's performance by pre-defined audiences.
  • Some tests result in an insignificant change/uplift, but! when examining its results for specific audiences you'll always find some groups of users that have benefited from the offer from the new experience and keep it live only for them. No test should end without an uplift.
  • Focused on e-commerce - it's clear to see that Dynamic Yield's focus is on e-commerce, which has been great for us.
  • Starting from e-commerce focused reporting and analytics, pre-made templates for experiences that are known to be best practices for leading an e-commerce site at your finger tips, and streamlined e-commerce focused targeting capabilities, KPIs and objectives.
  • Maturity - though DynamicYield's solution answers most of our needs, it's clear to see that the solution is relatively "young". - There are many things missing or lacking. Most aren't crucial, yet altogether it has a great impact on our ability to make the most out of the solution.
  • Up to a 10 minute wait until an experience is published - we double check and QA each new experience we publish using Dynamic Yield and have to wait 10 minutes each time. We click the "Publish" button until it's online and ready for our QA; might seem petty yet it's the #1 time-consuming issue we've suffered from, especially when creating/editing experiences and publishing it for tests dozens of times. At times, this has cost us 3-4 days for things that should have taken less than 1 day.
  • Test and personalization management - we run many tests and personalizations and there's no one place like a centralized report or a dashboard for a quick review of all running experiences, either for one of our sites as well as all together. Dynamic Yield's solution currently makes you go one-by-one and check each experience's performance at a time.
Looking for personalizing your site like Amazon? Testing new offers, creatives, new or improved features? Go for it.

Looking for a simple, code-less tool for testing banners and texts - use something simpler and cheaper.
To leverage Dynamic Yield's solution will require front-end abilities and effort. I'd say that the minimum should be around 25% of a front-end developer's time.
Read Jack Yulzari's full review
Marco Lunazzi profile photo
June 22, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Recommendation, personalization and optimization... made easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamic Yield is the platform we choose for adding personalization and optimization to our e-commerce. Regarding optimization, we developed a set of new features that we wanted to test from a business perspective, to understand how much they would have impacted the user behavior. Basically, we used Dynamic Yield for A/B testing a few solutions.

Another feature we used a lot is the recommendation engine: we add the recommendation widget in a number of pages, adding more engaging content for the users, and testing different strategies, like similar products, most viewed, bought together, and so on. In our company, the solution hypothesis is prepared by marketing team and IT team, while the implementation and future analysis are run by IT team.
  • What we love the most about Dynamic Yield is how easy it is to create experiments that let us compare 2 or more variations. The feature of targeting the right users/pages/context for the experiment cover pretty much everything we wanted and the process of setting it up is very easy.
  • The recommendation engine is another feature that we love. It's very easy to try different strategies to understand what performs best in each case, and using the templates you can save tons of work to set up new recommendation experiments (yes, every feature is an experiment from now on). Moreover, the direct revenue and assisted revenue metrics gives great insight on what is just holding the user on the site and actually shows what users wanted to buy (both are great results though).
  • The possibilities to define goals based on custom javascript events made the platform very flexible and lets you create custom goals (different from the abused conversion rate or click through rate) that can be used by the engine to optimize the performance or to define the winner in an A/B test.
  • One thing that we find limited is the rules you can set in the strategy for recommendation. Especialy the similar products one, has the possibility to define fields that must match and field that must not match: we'd like the configuration to be more flexible.
  • Another thing we struggled with is the product feed. We have different price lists for different countries and we handle multiple languages. Representing all that information in one feed is pretty hard, and moreover, there's a strong limitation on the number of fields available for the feed. Basically, the product feed engine should be boosted.
  • Talking about the reports, it would be amazing if the system would give the result of an experiment not only viewing it for all users, but even segmenting the audiences: in this case the system let you see the raw data, but you have no indication whether the test is performing good, whether you have enough data to take decisions, and so on
If you want a tool that lets you easily modify your UI, acting directly on your final HTML, personalizing the experience for your users and collecting data for understanding which variation performs better for which audiences, this is the tool for you. If you are looking for a tool that can drive your backend execution, and let your system produce different results based on the Dynamic Yield engine choice, that's probably not the tool you need, as you should look for something more API oriented and more strictly integrated with your backend solution, while Dynamic Yield is basically backend agnostic.
Read Marco Lunazzi's full review
Martin Nicholson profile photo
June 19, 2017

Dynamic Yield Review: "Warning! Will dramatically improve conversion!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamic Yield for MVT, A/B and Personalisation testing across all pages of our B2C website. Before Dynamic Yield any testing or site development would be handled by our internal developers. We have been able to reduce IT involvement to almost zero using the built in functionality of Dynamic Yield.
  • The out of the box features are impressive and quick to implement. Overlays, messaging and content changes can be made instantly enabling tests to be carried out quickly.
  • Creation of custom actions enables us to bridge the gap between our online and offline tests by injecting code changes directly onto the page.
  • The test segmenting features are very robust, actions can be triggered by device, ip, cookie, audience type and at specific times of day allowing us to test whatever we want, when we want.
  • We're not using all the features of the tool, there's so much to choose from it's sometimes overwhelming. The support team however are superb and have always been able to help.
  • More integration with GA would be useful.
  • Some of the features do require some technical knowledge to implement, again support are always on hand to help.
Without Dynamic Yield we would not have been able to progress the website as quickly as we have done. Tests can go from concept to creation in under 24 hours and results can be seen in almost real-time. The Custom Action feature has been invaluable in helping expand our localised pages.
Read Martin Nicholson's full review
Valtteri Vartiainen profile photo
June 16, 2017

"My Dynamic Yield Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[The] Main use is personalization in the area of our news site - article recommendations and different actions triggered by user segments. Also some a/b-testing but we use other tools too.

Dynamic Yield is being used by a few business units inside our corporation.

Dynamic Yield increases user engagement and lowers churn.
  • Article recommendations
  • Some good ready made templates
  • Good preview mode
  • Personalization engine is a black box; we'd like to have more power to modify parameters in the algorithm
  • Not clear and too many steps in making test cases
Well-suited: Personalization cases
Less appropriate: A/B testing because there are so many other less expensive solutions available
Read Valtteri Vartiainen's full review

About Dynamic Yield

Dynamic Yield calls itself an AI-powered Personalization Anywhere™ platform that promises to deliver individualized experiences at every customer touchpoint: web, apps, email, kiosks, IoT, and call centers. The vendor says the platform’s data management capabilities provide for a unified view of the customer, allowing the rapid and scalable creation of highly targeted digital interactions.

Marketers, product managers, and engineers use Dynamic Yield for:

  • Launching new personalization campaigns
  • Running server-side and client-side A/B tests
  • Leveraging machine-learning for product and content recommendations, and
  • Employing algorithms for smartly triggered email and push notifications.

Headquartered in New York, the company serves more than 300 brands across the world.

Dynamic Yield Features

Has featureReal-Time Omnichannel Personalization
Has featurePredictive A/B Testing
Has featureCampaign Optimization
Has featureRecommendation Engines
Has featureAudience Segmentation

Dynamic Yield Integrations

Google Analytics, Mixpanel, Marketo, Google Tag Manager, AppNexus, Google Marketing Platform (formerly DoubleClick)

Dynamic Yield Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Dynamic Yield Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Dedicated project manager

Dynamic Yield Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: All