Mitel MiCollab Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 01, 2021
Kaitlyn Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Administrators at our district have been setup with the Micollab app on their phones to be able to contact families without showing their cell phone number. This has been crucial during the pandemic closures. In addition, our administrative staff have the app to be able to continue to receive phone calls even when the building is closed. Micollab has become an integral tool for us. We utilize both the iOS app and the web application.
  • Simple interface
  • Easy to setup
  • Straight forward settings
  • The swipe from left and right for menus on the iOS app is not intuitive for less tech savvy
  • Sometimes status gets stuck and you have to switch it multiple times
  • Wish it would not offer to call using your cell phone number
MiCollab is great for employees working remotely, on the go, or just wanting flexibility. No physical phone is required allowing employees to make calls from anywhere they can get access to a computer or device. Would highly recommend for staff to be setup before they need it to avoid having to learn it in a panic.
Read Kaitlyn Wright's full review
January 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used to use Mitel MiCollab as a soft-phone, team collaboration solution, but we have switched to Microsoft Teams a couple years ago as our collaboration solution. MiCollab was used across the entire organization and the main purpose for it's use was to couple a user's phone with their laptop, instead of a hardwired desk phone. This enabled employees to have access to the company phones when working from home, or hot-desks. It supported a flexible work environment.
  • Easy access to company phone and voicemail, no matter where you are working
  • Instant messaging worked well for quick questions/conversations with colleagues
  • Screen share feature worked well
  • Initial configuration and set up was a bit painful
  • Mobile app was not useable. Lost connection and log-in too many times.
  • Lack of user customization
Mitel MiCollab is fine for a softphone and collaboration solution. Instant messaging and screen sharing works well for team collaboration. MiCollab should suit any mid to large sized corporation looking to unify communications. The mobile app is not reliable, so if the company relies on cell phone use, then this might not be the best solution. If VoIP only, then MiCollab is servicable.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
At my organization, we utilized it to replace our Cisco BE6000 and Cisco Jabber. As consultants, we utilized it as a VoIP product of choice to deliver client solutions. It provides voice and collaboration as well as allows for easy remote access to the VoIP system for excellent mobility capabilities.
  • Easy deployment to end users, which assists with client deployment. Their email that provides access to download the software via multiple methods helps tremendously on the consulting side.
  • Easy interface for collaboration and voice. End users like the clean interface and ease of use.
  • An all-in-one solution for voice and collaboration. It delivers voicemail, chat, voice services, and mobility.
  • SIP registration can be difficult at times and tricky during the first time setup. I would recommend taking the MiCollab class offered through Mitel as well as having experience with SIP and Wireshark.
  • If you need to have a clustered MiCollab setup for SIP (one MiCollab server on LAN, the other on DMZ), this can add to the cost. It would be nice if they offered an all-in-one solution with a single MiCollab server.
This is suited to any environment that wants to improve their voice and collaboration capabilities. I've deployed well in single-site and multi-site deployments.
Read Steve Davis's full review
February 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We set this product up approximately 5 years ago. The product works, BUT the product has not kept up with its competitors who have far surpassed this product's capabilities. My recommendation for anyone seriously considering this product for the collaboration tools is to evaluate competitors - who typically have more robust solutions. My recommendation to Mitel is to figure out who you want to be - a telecom provider or a collaboration customer. If you're trying to be the latter, you really need to be much more innovative and agile.
  • The phone system works well.
  • Collaboration tools have not kept pace with other competitors.
  • Speakerphone is sub-par with vast room for improvement.
With on-premise infrastructure, this product tends to run smoothly. We have yet to evaluate Mitel's cloud offerings, which appear to be good, but quite expensive.

As a phone system, the product does what it's supposed to do. As a collaboration tool, it has very basic functionality but that's about it.
Support is typically handled by a reseller. Buyers should evaluate the reseller as much as they evaluate Mitel for the product suite.

The few times when the reseller was not able to handle the issue directly, Mitel did step up and quickly answer/address the question/issue.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had a Mitel phone system and replaced our online meetings with Mitel MiCollab to integrate the whole thing. It is used by the entire organization for internal meetings. We have a good number of remote employees and offices in other countries so we are required to do a considerable amount of collaborating via online meetings.
  • For a user, once you get everything set up, attendance is pretty seamless.
  • This provides easy access for meetings that involve only a call.
  • We use it also to share screens and information and it works well for this.
  • I found the set up to be less than intuitive. And, it involved a lot of steps. But, now I seem to be good to go.
  • I don't host many meetings at all but those who do present seem to have issues with recording from time to time.
  • Reviewing a recording can sometimes be a challenge because of the set up and the type of file involved. We have a lot of recordings and I end up watching a good number of them. I wish that part were easier.
As I said, I find it to be fairly seamless when used for only a call. It works fairly well for calls where the user must share a screen. It seems to work less well for instances where a recording is needed. But, we do get the recordings and we are able to watch them.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MiCollab is used as the real-time phone directory for our organization. It also allows staff to use the chat function, check their voicemails from within the app and toggle where their phone calls are routed to within the app. Using this tool saves staff time and effort when using their Mitel devices.
  • The directory search function.
  • Controlling of Mitel equipment (desk phone, softphone, mobile).
  • Not good integration with the ACD (call center agents). It cannot be used as a softphone only with ACD.
  • The chat function can be improved.
  • Setting up provisioning can only be pushed from server-side, especially on re-deployment or changes.
Mitel MiCollab is well suited to phone directory searches.
Mitel support is good but I have not really dealt with them directly. We go through our phone provider for support who requests from Mitel.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2018
Erik Jensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the entire organization. With over 50 users and growing each month, it allows seamless communication with our associates as well as our staff. We were using several different media platforms prior to combining everything into MiCollab. It allows us to message directly with peers eliminating the need to use MS Lync/Skype for Business. We are able to easily transfer calls to and from mobile devices, see who is on the phone and also as a global contact list.
  • The messaging platform, while simple, gets the job done without all the unnecessary and often clunky features of other instant messaging platforms.
  • With a click of a button I can see all my messaging and call history. Set my away status with different options for how the phone should respond based on that status. This is great for when I am traveling for work and need to set my phones up to ring a specific way.
  • Checking of voicemails and clearing them out is simple with the MiCollab app. No need to have to dial from your desk phone any longer. Quick and easy to return calls directly from the app. You can also forward the voicemail to other users with a couple clicks of the mouse.
  • It would be nice if they integrated SMS and Faxing easily into one platform. If they have it, we may simply have not taken advantage of it, yet.
  • Tenanting of MiCollab is in the works but something that would be helpful sooner than later.
  • Make it easier to reinstall the app on your cell phone. I have had a few times where my phone needs to be fully reset and reinstalling this app becomes put off due to how cumbersome the process is.
If you're looking to streamline your enterprise-level communications system and interoffice communications then this is the tool to get the job done. As stated previously it works as intended with minor issues. It is well suited for larger companies who can afford the infrastructure and investment it takes to set it up properly. As far as back-end support goes, you may be better off hiring a third-party telecom vendor like we did. For smaller companies looking for only a few phones, there are solutions that are much less expensive and "out of the box" ready for use.
Read Erik Jensen's full review
January 16, 2018
Nathan Venno | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented this company-wide and have been using it for about a year now. We are a very phone-heavy company and this helps the users to manage their time/calls more efficiently. It also helps with conference calling and mobile use - making our salespeople more efficient as they can be reached at almost any time and location
  • See who is using the phone at a given time
  • Easy to use pop-up window alerts you to incoming calls, lets you transfer to VM or other users, helpful for conference calling
  • Has chat feature to tag someone when they are on the phone, or you just don't want to call
  • App for smartphone allows for desk phone to cell phone collaboration
Excellent for the receptionist - allows easy transfer and viewing of incoming calls. The chat feature is helpful as well. Transfer and conference options are easy to use click option. Good for sales as well - easy to sync phone and smartphone so they are never out of reach. Also good for checking message and calls that may have been missed
Initially, support from Mitel was fantastic, but recently it has started to lag significantly. Response takes 8 hours, at a minimum, usually requiring a second call to spur a response. Email support is even worse (email in a ticket) - I have had to call in to get things running the 3 times I've tried to email support.
Read Nathan Venno's full review
March 30, 2017
Heather Keene | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have just recently implemented Mitel MiCollab across the whole organization. We are hoping that by using Mitel MiCollab it will address the problem of communication issues as a whole within the organization.
  • Going with Mitel MiCollab provided our company and employee access to everyone in the organization whether we were on or off the premises.
  • MiCollab Mobile is supported by many devices such as BlackBerry, Android, and iPhone/iPads, there are not many O/S that are not supported.
  • Everything is available at your fingertips so you can balance your work life as well as your personal life and is extremely user-friendly!
  • I wish that Mitel MiCollab had more customization options, I personally think MiCollab would work better with inverted or high-contrast color schemes.
  • Mitel's website in general is very difficult to navigate and if you want pricing for your company for the New Mitel MiCollab, you have to contact them directly.
  • The names of the services that Mitel provides regarding the Mitel miCollab are very similar, which can be confusing when browsing and trying to learn about the Mitel Micollab, so you need someone who really understands what they are reading to explain everything to you at first, but then it is pretty easy from there.
For an organization such as ours, the Mitel MiCollab was suited for us for personal and business use to unify our business communications. We also [use] iPaired with Mitel phones, and can now check for missed calls and voicemails while away from the office and it is pretty easy, and the directory list makes it easy to call anyone in the company without having to look up their extension while out in the field.
Read Heather Keene's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (4)
6.3
Gantt Charts (1)
8
Scheduling (6)
7.0
Workflow Automation (1)
9
Mobile Access (9)
6.5
Search (5)
7.6
Visual planning tools (3)
6.2
Chat (9)
8.0
Notifications (8)
8.4
Discussions (5)
7.1
Surveys (1)
10
Internal knowledgebase (4)
7.4
Integrates with GoToMeeting (2)
1.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (2)
4.0
Integrates with Outlook (5)
7.3
Video files (3)
7.1
Audio files (4)
6.2
Document collaboration (4)
6.3
Access control (5)
6.7
Advanced security features (4)
6.2
Integrates with Google Drive (1)
8
Device sync (5)
6.1

What is Mitel MiCollab?

Mitel MiCollab is a collaboration and conferencing tool for enterprises, from Canadian company Mitel.

Mitel MiCollab Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No