TrustRadius
Veeam Backup & Replication Software is a data center backup solution, providing recovery and protection of data.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/J3/G5/9IIFITSZDUKS.pngFaster Virtual Machine Backups and RestoresWe are using Veeam Backup and Replication to support around 200 Virtual Machines and 4 Physical Servers running Linux OS. We are using it to take daily incremental backups of both Linux Virtual Machines and Windows Virtual Machine. Also, although I am not a big fan of Veeam Backup Agent for Linux on a physical host, it's doing a satisfying job in a very cost-effective manner. We are using Veeam for image-based replication for some of our virtual machines as required by our business. We use it for fast full restores or a file level restore as required case to case. It has been a very easy to configure and easier to manage solution. The tool is easily being supported by our system admins and we did not need to hire additional backup and recovery experts to manage the solution.,It is an amazing solution best suited for vSphere and Hyper-V virtual machines backup and replication needs. Image-based virtual machine replication is very fast and easy to configure. The incremental backups are quite nice and lead to smaller storage footprints for your backup copies.,I have had a hard time supporting Veeam Agent on Linux on my physical linux database servers. The job gets stuck due to several reasons like network glitch etc but what's more annoying is that killing the job sends Veeam service into zombie mode. The only solution we have is to restart the server. We have tried working with Veeam support on it, but have not received any better solution for this problem. Veeam Agent on Linux does not support Oracle ASM volumes, so a backup that includes ASM volumes will not be incremental and run long based on your ASM volume size. Veeam Support support is not a great team and they need to work on their customer satisfaction.,9,Cost Savings. It has been a cost-optimal backup and replication solution for our overall environment. Faster Recovery. We have been happy with the amazing fast recovery time for our virtual machines. We haven't really tested the recovery on physical hosts yet. Disaster Recovery. We are using Veeam cost-optimal and Recovery as part of our DR solution in case Site Recovery Manager doesn't work.,CommVault,Azure Active Directory, Oracle Identity Manager, HP StoreOnce, HP 3PAR StoreServ Flash Storage, Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Oracle Linux, Oracle Exadata Database Machine, Oracle GoldenGate, Oracle WebLogic Application Server, Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,I don't want to change much but I would have considered comparing backups of physical hosts while deciding on what product to purchase.,Image-based replication for virtual machines File level restores Machine level restores Virtual Machine Cluster level backups,Backup of Physical Servers Point in Time restores on physical servers backup of Oracle ASM volumes,9Veeam 60% of the time is works every time. Honestly it's 100%.Veeam Backup and Replication is our go to solution for both virtual and physical systems that are Windows 7 and newer. Veeam provides backup and offsite replication of backups within a majority of our clients manufacturing infrastructure.,Veeam is easy to install and manage. However, I recommend getting support personnel Veeam technical training to ensure they are able to deploy to complex environments and tune the software for optimal performance while not impacting production systems. Veeam is dependable in that it provides consistent and reliable backups which are easy to restore. This applies to backup and restore of both physical systems to similar/dissimilar hardware and virtual systems (VMware). Veeam replication features allow for faster recovery of systems which consume a large amount of disk space. Keep in mind disk and network are most often your bottlenecks so you must design accordingly to obtain your target RTO.,This applies primarily to the manufacturing realm for legacy operating systems are still prevalent. Veeam will only backup physical systems Windows 7, or Server 2008 and newer. In my field we often encounter Windows XP and 2003 systems.,10,As an Veeam MSP we are able to offer our customers a top quality solution at an affordable price. This is when comparing to similar products such as Acronis, vRanger and Unitrends.,Veeam Backs Up All For YouSince my office started to implement virtual machines 5 years ago, we switched to using Veeam as our primary backup tool. Also because our Los Angeles office is the only one with virtual machines, we're the only office out of 3 that are using Veeam. With the past 3 months, I started to familiarize myself with the use of Veeam taking over this task from our computer consultants. Veeam is a powerful tool providing us with the ability to backup virtual & physical machines with multiple scheduled tasks along with automated reports on the status of each backup job performed.,Excellent collaboration with VmWare to backup virtual machines created using VmWare Provides a scheduling tool to perform timed backup tasks sends out email notifications to specified email addresses of backup success or failures when jobs are completed,Veeam seems to force the multiple functions provided into a single application window without an option to open the various modules as separate windows. Since these modules are sometimes related, it would be better to be able to see the modules opened in separate windows to modify side by side. Since Veeam is closely tied in to VmWare when virtual machine backup jobs are created, any changes to information like credentials on VmWare could impact Veeam backup jobs connected with the VmWare virtual machines. Currently there isn't an option to automatically port the changes made on VmWare over to Veeam. You'll have to re-enter those changed credentials.,9,We had a situation where data on one of our virtual machines crashed. We were glad that we had a Veeam backup of that data and information was restored rather quickly within hours instead of days due to the convenience of using Veeam. Since Veeam provides immediate email feedback after a backup job has ran, right away I knew if the job succeeded or failed. When a job does fail, which there were times when this happened, I can make the adjustments necessary and immediately instruct Veeam to start the backup job over again.,Veeam Backup is the do all software for virtual and physical backupsWe use Veeam Backup and Recovery to backup all of our virtual machines as well as all of our physical Windows machines. We have a Data Domain as our backup target and then we send those backups out to a monthly tape.,Fast reliable backup of VMWare guests. Who doesn't want fast and reliable backups? Physical machine backups - It does these much faster than our previous product from EMC, Networker. Backup Inline Deduplication - It does this so well with our data that we have turned off the deduplication on our Data Domain.,NAS backup. We really wish this was available for our environment. Releasing newer versions of software. Veeam is particularly bad about promising new features and then taking a very long time to release the feature. They have always released a stable product though.,10,It uses less space yet it still backs up the same environment as our last product. Quick was to DR in the cloud with their service providers. Free Cloud Connect software in all version of Veeam.,Networker,Citrix NetScaler, Cisco UCS B-Series, Cisco UCS C-SeriesVeeam Backup and Replication: Absolutely the BEST Backup Solution!!!!!Veeam Backup & Replication is being used at all of our departments/sites that have VMware deployed. I believe that Veeam Backup & Replication is the best solution available for the backup and recovery of vSphere and Horizon View environments. Veeam Backup and Replication is easy to use, performs flawlessly, and support is excellent. The interface is intuitive to use. I have not needed to use support too many times with this product because of the ease of use and how well the product performs. Response from support is fast and questions are answered quickly. They do their best to assist you whenever it is needed. The ability to get real-time alerts makes monitoring easy and allows me to respond to issues outside of the normal business day and try to resolve them before the employees arrive for the business day. Recovery of entire VM's is easy and fast. The granular recovery using Veeam Explorer is one of the best features. I can recover specific deleted user files, corrupted files, and even user exchange mailboxes or mail messages. More recently we have added the use of the agent to backup physical Windows servers. This agent has been a great addition to us and now we also back up our physical servers with Veeam. Having one product for backup is really great. Veeam pairs well with the use of a deduplicating backup device like EMC Data Domains.,Backup and recovery of entire VMware VM's and granular recovery of files using Veeam Explorer make this an ideal product. Backup of physical Windows servers using the agent allows the use of a single product for backup. Software installation and setup I found was relatively easy as was setting up backups. I find the interface is intuitive and easy to use once you are familiar with it. Email alerts are important and allow you to verify backup status without having to remote in to check on things. When an issue is reported, it allows me to respond to resolve the issues before the production day starts. Usually, the alert points out an issue that is VMware related and not a Veeam issue. Once Veeam is setup and configured properly, it requires little intervention. Pretty much a set it and forget it solution. Highly reliable. Veeam is an important part of our DR recovery strategy. We can spin up entire VM's at our backup site whenever needed very easily and quickly to resume critical business operations. Veeam works well for backing up encrypted volumes on Windows servers using the backup agent.,Pricing of this product and ongoing support is a little expensive but well worth the cost. It is reliable and solid, which is very important with backup and recovery. You cannot afford a product of this type to fail. You do get what you pay for! Once in a great while, backup snapshots are not removed. It would be nice if Veeam could alert you that snapshots exist, whether they were created by Veeam backup or in vSphere. This would prompt you to go into vSphere and remove/resolve the snapshot issue and free up storage resources.,10,A solid enterprise product that delivers. Loss of data is not an option for us. Veeam is the only choice for us. Is it really worth the risk of data loss to save a little money? If data is not recoverable what is the potential financial loss? Fast and easy restoration of individual files, mailboxes or specific emails get users back up and running quickly without delay.,,Adobe Acrobat DC, BitLocker Drive Encryption, VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View), Cisco ASA, Cisco Aironet Access Points, Cisco Catalyst Switches, Cisco Cloud Email Security, VNC Connect, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft SQL Server, ESET Endpoint Security, Self Service Reset Password Management, VMware vCenter Server
Unspecified
Veeam Backup & Replication
149 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Veeam Backup Reviews

Veeam Backup
149 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 149 vetted Veeam Backup reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ravinder Gupta profile photo
December 14, 2018

Veeam Backup Review: "Faster Virtual Machine Backups and Restores"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup and Replication to support around 200 Virtual Machines and 4 Physical Servers running Linux OS. We are using it to take daily incremental backups of both Linux Virtual Machines and Windows Virtual Machine. Also, although I am not a big fan of Veeam Backup Agent for Linux on a physical host, it's doing a satisfying job in a very cost-effective manner. We are using Veeam for image-based replication for some of our virtual machines as required by our business. We use it for fast full restores or a file level restore as required case to case. It has been a very easy to configure and easier to manage solution. The tool is easily being supported by our system admins and we did not need to hire additional backup and recovery experts to manage the solution.
  • It is an amazing solution best suited for vSphere and Hyper-V virtual machines backup and replication needs.
  • Image-based virtual machine replication is very fast and easy to configure.
  • The incremental backups are quite nice and lead to smaller storage footprints for your backup copies.
  • I have had a hard time supporting Veeam Agent on Linux on my physical linux database servers. The job gets stuck due to several reasons like network glitch etc but what's more annoying is that killing the job sends Veeam service into zombie mode. The only solution we have is to restart the server. We have tried working with Veeam support on it, but have not received any better solution for this problem.
  • Veeam Agent on Linux does not support Oracle ASM volumes, so a backup that includes ASM volumes will not be incremental and run long based on your ASM volume size.
  • Veeam Support support is not a great team and they need to work on their customer satisfaction.
It is very well suited for a VMWare virtual environment. It's easy to configure and easier to the manager. You can configure Veeam Backup & Replication for both full and incremental backups. It is very reliable and doesn't break in the middle of the night. The storage footprint is also quite small and you can configure a backup retention policy to keep good control of it. It is definitely not a great solution if you want to back up your physical server. But if you want to save on the additional cost of buying a separate solution for that, just like we are doing, you can use it to a satisfying level. But do not expect a point in time recovery for physical hosts.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
Jon Liedtke profile photo
December 14, 2018

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam 60% of the time is works every time. Honestly it's 100%."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Veeam Backup and Replication is our go to solution for both virtual and physical systems that are Windows 7 and newer. Veeam provides backup and offsite replication of backups within a majority of our clients manufacturing infrastructure.
  • Veeam is easy to install and manage. However, I recommend getting support personnel Veeam technical training to ensure they are able to deploy to complex environments and tune the software for optimal performance while not impacting production systems.
  • Veeam is dependable in that it provides consistent and reliable backups which are easy to restore. This applies to backup and restore of both physical systems to similar/dissimilar hardware and virtual systems (VMware).
  • Veeam replication features allow for faster recovery of systems which consume a large amount of disk space. Keep in mind disk and network are most often your bottlenecks so you must design accordingly to obtain your target RTO.
  • This applies primarily to the manufacturing realm for legacy operating systems are still prevalent. Veeam will only backup physical systems Windows 7, or Server 2008 and newer. In my field we often encounter Windows XP and 2003 systems.
We utilize Veeam to protect small and large infrastructures spread across single or multiple data centers. Typical installation is backup of 100-200 systems.
Read Jon Liedtke's full review
Paul Li profile photo
October 08, 2018

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam Backs Up All For You"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since my office started to implement virtual machines 5 years ago, we switched to using Veeam as our primary backup tool. Also because our Los Angeles office is the only one with virtual machines, we're the only office out of 3 that are using Veeam. With the past 3 months, I started to familiarize myself with the use of Veeam taking over this task from our computer consultants. Veeam is a powerful tool providing us with the ability to backup virtual & physical machines with multiple scheduled tasks along with automated reports on the status of each backup job performed.
  • Excellent collaboration with VmWare to backup virtual machines created using VmWare
  • Provides a scheduling tool to perform timed backup tasks
  • sends out email notifications to specified email addresses of backup success or failures when jobs are completed
  • Veeam seems to force the multiple functions provided into a single application window without an option to open the various modules as separate windows. Since these modules are sometimes related, it would be better to be able to see the modules opened in separate windows to modify side by side.
  • Since Veeam is closely tied in to VmWare when virtual machine backup jobs are created, any changes to information like credentials on VmWare could impact Veeam backup jobs connected with the VmWare virtual machines. Currently there isn't an option to automatically port the changes made on VmWare over to Veeam. You'll have to re-enter those changed credentials.
Veeam is well suited for scenarios when backing up of virtual machines are required. If you are only using tapes for backups, though Veeam supports this process, it's best to use pure tape backup software to handle this instead of investing in Veeam with so much more bells & whistles.
Read Paul Li's full review
John Glenn profile photo
July 13, 2018

Review: "Veeam Backup is the do all software for virtual and physical backups"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup and Recovery to backup all of our virtual machines as well as all of our physical Windows machines. We have a Data Domain as our backup target and then we send those backups out to a monthly tape.
  • Fast reliable backup of VMWare guests. Who doesn't want fast and reliable backups?
  • Physical machine backups - It does these much faster than our previous product from EMC, Networker.
  • Backup Inline Deduplication - It does this so well with our data that we have turned off the deduplication on our Data Domain.
  • NAS backup. We really wish this was available for our environment.
  • Releasing newer versions of software. Veeam is particularly bad about promising new features and then taking a very long time to release the feature. They have always released a stable product though.
Perfect for any size vmware environment. As long as you have a large enough target the software will do all of the heavy lifting with ease. You can even backup physical machines to cloud based targets with the agent.
Read John Glenn's full review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Review: "Veeam Backup and Replication: Absolutely the BEST Backup Solution!!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used at all of our departments/sites that have VMware deployed. I believe that Veeam Backup & Replication is the best solution available for the backup and recovery of vSphere and Horizon View environments. Veeam Backup and Replication is easy to use, performs flawlessly, and support is excellent. The interface is intuitive to use. I have not needed to use support too many times with this product because of the ease of use and how well the product performs. Response from support is fast and questions are answered quickly. They do their best to assist you whenever it is needed. The ability to get real-time alerts makes monitoring easy and allows me to respond to issues outside of the normal business day and try to resolve them before the employees arrive for the business day. Recovery of entire VM's is easy and fast. The granular recovery using Veeam Explorer is one of the best features. I can recover specific deleted user files, corrupted files, and even user exchange mailboxes or mail messages. More recently we have added the use of the agent to backup physical Windows servers. This agent has been a great addition to us and now we also back up our physical servers with Veeam. Having one product for backup is really great. Veeam pairs well with the use of a deduplicating backup device like EMC Data Domains.
  • Backup and recovery of entire VMware VM's and granular recovery of files using Veeam Explorer make this an ideal product. Backup of physical Windows servers using the agent allows the use of a single product for backup.
  • Software installation and setup I found was relatively easy as was setting up backups. I find the interface is intuitive and easy to use once you are familiar with it.
  • Email alerts are important and allow you to verify backup status without having to remote in to check on things. When an issue is reported, it allows me to respond to resolve the issues before the production day starts. Usually, the alert points out an issue that is VMware related and not a Veeam issue.
  • Once Veeam is setup and configured properly, it requires little intervention. Pretty much a set it and forget it solution. Highly reliable.
  • Veeam is an important part of our DR recovery strategy. We can spin up entire VM's at our backup site whenever needed very easily and quickly to resume critical business operations.
  • Veeam works well for backing up encrypted volumes on Windows servers using the backup agent.
  • Pricing of this product and ongoing support is a little expensive but well worth the cost. It is reliable and solid, which is very important with backup and recovery. You cannot afford a product of this type to fail. You do get what you pay for!
  • Once in a great while, backup snapshots are not removed. It would be nice if Veeam could alert you that snapshots exist, whether they were created by Veeam backup or in vSphere. This would prompt you to go into vSphere and remove/resolve the snapshot issue and free up storage resources.
Veeam Availability Suite is well suited for virtual environments. We specifically use it in our vMware environments for VSphere and Horizon View. If you also have some existing physical servers, you'll appreciate using the agent so that you can use one product to backup everything. If your environment is made up of only physical servers I would recommend using another product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Review: "Veeam Backup and Replication is rock solid!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam to backup our VMWare servers to our local backup repository. I also use Veeam to backup our most critical workstations daily so we could quickly recover them in case of any issues. Veeam is very easy to use and reliable and makes managing my backup tasks very easy.
  • It allows me to very easily restore a file that was accidentally deleted or modified.
  • The reports of the backup results are very good and gives me the comfort of knowing my backups completed properly
  • It's very easy to create and manage backup jobs.
  • I wish there was a lower price point that would allow a smaller client I manage to afford Veeam. It's a great product, but was a little too expensive for this smaller site.
I think Veeam Backup and Replication works great for any VMWare system and is very easy to use. I have not used it with HyperV, but I am sure it works just as well for those systems also. It's a great product and easy to use. I recommend it to anyone that needs a backup solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

Review: "Veeam Backup and Replication is the right choice for your IT environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Veeam Backup and Replication has allowed our customers to finally get off of legacy backup solutions, such as tape backup, and use a reliable backup solution across their entire network environment. Veeam delivers backup, recovery and replication for everything, including virtualized as well as physical and cloud-based resources.
  • Shorter backup windows and reduce backup and storage costs - Lowers RPOs and generate very fast backups from storage snapshots
  • Improves remote offices backup times - with ROBO enhancements
  • Enables fast and secure cloud backup with Veeam Cloud Connect - total encryption
  • Veeam is the leader in the industry, so as far as areas for improvement, it's hard to see them since they tend to be the leader in innovation
Our customers have moved from various legacy and other types of backups to Veeam. It allows for fast and efficient backups, allowing for peace of mind. Whether our customers have a one-man IT staff or a full staff, Veeam's ease of use allows backups to run efficiently and lets us all go home and be able to sleep at night knowing their data is safely backed up up both onsite and remotely.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam - reliable backup!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in-house to back up and replicate VMS for our virtual and cloud workloads.We back up and at times recover application data and log information, and we like the reliability and speed Veeam provides. It's able to pull from a no-SQL database that is tied to automation processes and predictive, preemptive actions that we've custom developed.
  • Single pane of glass management.
  • Cloud connectivity.
  • Security.
  • Disaster recovery
  • They should integrate Ansible capabilities.
  • It could be faster.
  • It could be more secure.
Veeam is usually able to provide faster time to resolution and recovery than other providers. If I remember correctly, when we were selecting them, the fact that they outperformed in this category was a big deal. It's pretty cool how they are able to monitor your environment, as well. It's making IT managers' lives easier.
Read this authenticated review
Ian Raloff profile photo
July 05, 2017

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam caused my Vm backup problems at a remote site to vanish"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our second site, Engineers needed to back up a set of test VMs. I did not have backup infrastructure at the site. Veeam was perfect. I was able to quickly backup all the VMs, but I can also restore to previous points in time, and I only needed storage space and a local express database on a server.
  • Veeam automatically locates any new VMs the Engineers create and backs them up.
  • Veeam automatically has point in time backups.
  • Veeam works without interaction once it is set up.
  • Veeam sends out reports on what it does.
  • I have had trouble setting up Veeam free tools at other sites.
  • The jump from the 3 license pack to more hosts is a big price increase.
  • Veeam does both Hyper-V and VMWare, but I have found the VMware side more functional and working as expected automatically. The hyper-V takes more effort.
Their 3 server express pack was perfect for my small site needing backup. It had a great price and I could back up all my hosts. The full enterprise license would work well company wide if I were given a bigger budget for the program, but we had existing tools that are functional. Veeam is great at VMWare virtual machine discovery, and it can be set to automatically backup everything is finds.
Read Ian Raloff's full review
Bill Holmberg profile photo
June 21, 2017

Veeam Backup Review: "That tasty tasty VEEAM..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all of our servers, as well as a DR tool. Every department is using it (although they do not know this) and we routinely restore mistakenly deleted files. We have defeated ransomware with the ability to simply roll the users MyDocs back to the previous day. I was recently trained at the VMCE sessions at VEEAMON2017 in NOLA, and learned even more about this most powerful and easy to use tool.
  • You can keep several different sets of data to give the most robust or storage friendly backup abilities.
  • You can keep years of backup sets while being incredibly "skinny" on storage use.
  • You can create sandbox servers to quickly test a use case.
  • Restoring individual files is easy and intuitive.
  • Adding new storage could be easier like a browse feature for SAN volumes, etc.
  • The virtual networking portion could be easirer to define and use. Non network engineers will struggle.
  • The monitoring and alerting can be daunting to set up but is easy to use afterward.
One of the only easy to use solutions for businesses of any size; particularly great for a small business.
Read Bill Holmberg's full review
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
June 20, 2017

Veeam Backup Review: "Easy, robust backups at a generally reasonable price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is our preferred tool for backing up virtual machines. It provides efficient, reliable, and cost effective backups of virtual machines without being overly complicated. I can teach a new admin how to use it effectively within 30 minutes. You can't really say that for most other backup software. We use it company-wide, as it simply offers an excellent mix of efficacy and cost effectiveness.
  • Fast, simple backups - Once you have everything setup, starting a backup takes only minutes.
  • Robust feature support - Supports integration with certain SAN's for improved performance and efficiency, and supports very granular backup and restoration options.
  • Cost effective - Veeam is full feature backup software, without the full feature price. They've always provided great software at a reasonable price.
  • Free version has limited functionality - The free version of Veeam Backup & Replication offers only very basic backups, and doesn't work well with free versions of VMware ESXi as a result.
  • Cost goes up with lots of cores - While generally quite affordable on the lowend, Veeam can get costly if you're backing up a large number of ESX hosts with a large number of CPU's and cores, especially with the Enterprise and Enterprise Plus versions.
  • Can require a dedicated admin in larger environments - Veeam is very hands-off for many installs, but some Enterprises with a large number of VM's and ESX hosts may require a dedicated admin to manage Veeam.
Veeam is awesome for small and medium businesses especially. It's not expensive to use for a small number of hosts, especially for the standard version of the product. It provides easy but robust backups without a great deal of time invested. For larger enterprises, especially those with many hosts and/or hosts with lots of CPU sockets, they may want to find a product that licenses differently.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

"Veeam Backup Review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller and a couple of our clients use it. We backup all servers and replicate them to another device at the same physical location. Anytime we have ever needed to restore an individual file or entire system, we have always been successful. It's a great solution for backups and BDR, even though we only replicate within the same physical locations. I believe Veeam only works for VMware though, not Hyper-V (unless that has changed) so it will not work for all organizations.
  • Quick backups
  • Easy restoration
  • Ability to replicate backup files
  • I do not believe it works on VMWARE or physical servers
  • Cloud replication very expensive
  • Need to purchase hardware as well as software in order to use it
Clients that are smaller but using VMWARE, in my eyes, would be the ideal client. If you have a lot of servers and not a lot of bandwidth, this would likely not be a good solution to use. Multi-site clients that could replicate between sites would also be a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
Romeo Popa profile photo
April 21, 2017

Veeam Backup Review: "AMAZING"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup as a service.
  • Veeam is the best backup solution I have used to date! Simple to install, configure and manage. When it does have an error, 90% of the error messages are in simple English as to what has caused the fault. Would definitely recommend to others!
  • For the most part, it works and is relatively straight-forward to configure. Their support is good, although I tire of hearing the blames on Microsoft VSS. If you're going to code and sell software based off a different vendor's framework, be prepared to offer support for both yours and the framework vendor's products! That said though, I really do like this software.
  • I would love to see an option for physical backups so I could switch my entire environment over to Veeam.
Definitely [well suited] in a virtual environment. Veeam is very easy to set up and offers a tremendous amount of flexibility when it comes to backup media. The ability to fire up a VM right from the backup media is also very handy! Veeam is also able to make use of the built-in Windows Server 2012 R2 de-duplication when storing on DASD. This saves an incredible amount of space and allows for longer retention periods.
Read Romeo Popa's full review
No photo available
March 24, 2017

User Review: "Veeam Backup & Replication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup & Replication to backup our virtual server environment. It is used by the IT department to complete this task. It helps us maintain a backup repository of all of our virtual servers. It addresses the main issue of file restoration and disaster recovery if necessary.
  • File restoration - quick and easy way to restore any file on a server.
  • Interface - simple and easy to navigate.
  • Integration - works well with VMware and Dell storage appliances.
  • Speed - network dependent but not always consistent backup speeds.
  • SQL server backup - often times it will cause server services to stop responding.
  • Retention policies - not straightforward to implement because a separate backup job is required.
Veeam works well in a VMware environment running Windows servers. It integrates well with Windows virtual machines and does not require any special agent installations like many other backup applications do. It's well-suited for companies of all sizes that are looking for an effective way to backup their server environment.
Read this authenticated review
Matthew Michaels profile photo
May 03, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam, Easy and powerful solution for any size organization."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication has been a wonderful asset to our IT Department. It has given us the comfort of knowing our data is safe, and an easier way to test and validate it. We use it across the entire organization to backup our virtual infrastructure. In the time we have used the product, it has been very valuable and allowed quick restoration of accidental user mistakes, as well as building sandboxes to test upgrades and patches. I really can't say enough good things, and am very happy with the transition from our previous backup solution.
  • Configuration and setup is very straightforward. The product for the power it has is very simple to operate. Not a lot of complex jargon or windows to confuse the administrator.
  • Validating that your data is accessible and readable. You can easily fire up your virtual servers you have backed up, or quickly load a file system to view files. It gives you great assurance that when you need your data it will be available and ready.
  • Exchange Restoration. Email is so critical to our users. From time to time they delete, or lose messages of critical importance. Being able to load the information store in Veeam and extract messages or restore them directly to the mailbox is worth its weight in gold for our team.
  • I believe Veeam could do a better job with reporting. At times I can find it difficult to find the true size of my backups.
  • Training and resources are always appreciated to expand knowledge and understanding. This is so critical in the area of DR.
To my understanding it requires a virtual environment. So anyone who relies on physical servers will not be able to take advantage of the greatness of Veeam. It is also important that anyone using it in a VMware environment is not using the free hypervisor. It requires an additional API to perform backups which is not included
Read Matthew Michaels's full review
Kevin Belonzi profile photo
April 26, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam is a cut above the rest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam has been and is currently being used as a centralized backup solution within an ESX/ESXi environment containing over 130 ESX hosts along with multiple vCenters including over 6000 vms. This has been a very useful tool for this establishment and has fulfilled our needs for a solid backup solution.
  • Backups at image level are reliable
  • Extremely easy to use. Very user friendly
  • Very little issues with bugs in the software and support is tremendous.
  • A few added features
  • Possible integration with other Veeam tools such as Veeam One.
Veeam could really be used in any Virtual environment and I would recommend it as it is a great tool
Read Kevin Belonzi's full review
Cesare Arienti profile photo
February 23, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam, the right way to save you virtual enviroment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Veeam for our organization in our two server farms. We also resell Veeam to our clients which are very satisfied for this VM Backup and Replication. I give us the security that all our VMs are backed up or replicated in the right way
  • Backup and Replication of VMs
  • Great Support
  • Consistency
  • Sometimes difficult in throubleshooting errors
It's suited for long and short time backups, the restore procedure of a backup is not very instantaneous but very simple. You can easily replica your VM to second location, in order to have an instant recovery of your VMs
Read Cesare Arienti's full review
Aaron Bolthouse profile photo
February 12, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam is fast, easy, and reliable. It has saved my bacon and it will save yours too!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to perform nightly on-site backups, cross site replication, and even in one instance in a small ROBO we use it to back up to tape for offsite. Veeam covers all of our virtualized infrastructure and even some of our physical infrastructure throughout our entire organization. The main problems Veeam solves are our need for failover and data recovery DR protection, our need for quick and easy backups, and our need for fast, accurate, and user friendly file-level recovery. It provides us with the RTO and RPO we need and doesn't break the bank or take a PhD to configure and get running.
  • Fast Backups
  • Fast Replication
  • Web portal enabled File-Level recovery
  • Easy setup and configuration
  • Could use a constant replication feature for critical workloads
  • Better capabilities to backup physical
  • Wider integration with SAN vendors
Veer Backup & Replication has saved my bacon on multiple occasions. Anytime I do an upgrade to software or OS on critical applications or servers I run a Veeam backup first and have the knowledge that I will always have a solid way back in the case that something goes terribly wrong. Once we had a large file server that had been built poorly, multiple small VMDKs that were joined in Windows as Dynamic Disk. We lost one of the virtual disks due to a VMware file issue and it tanked the entire dynamic drive. Traditionally I would have had to recover the entire server from tape or from a very slow disk recovery. With Veeam I had that huge server back up and running in under an hour! Veeam made me an IT hero that day to my peers and it can do the same for you.
Read Aaron Bolthouse's full review
Jeff Pressler profile photo
October 16, 2015

Review: "Veeam Backup and Replication, Logical and Lightweight."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are 95% virtualized. Veeam Backup & Replication is our lifeline when it comes to backing up important systems, replicating those systems to our data recovery site and even spinning up ad hock labs to explore and test in.
  • Veeam Backup & Replication connects seamlessly into VMware using their API to orchestrate a set it and forget it backup solution.
  • Veeam's ability to throttle its traffic and the functions of the WAN accelerator make it great for offsite backups.
  • Veeam's support of tape libraries mean the 'keep it forever' retention policies of accounting and other groups can still be achieved.
  • Microsoft DAG awareness would improve the functionality of exchange backups. When a snapshot is taken of an active database the DAG will likely fail over the databases to another server unless the tolerance is adjusted. If Veeam could note which servers host what database and then migrate them back at a scheduled time, that would be awesome.
  • Dependency on the snapshot process is a bit of a hindrance. Tapping into the hyperviser level and monitoring the changed blacks as they happen may be more to direct on the storage side but it may also give faster recovery points as well as have less impact on SQL and Exchange type applications.
With the changed block tracking large file systems can be easily handled so long as they are stored on VMDK's which can have snapshots taken.
Read Jeff Pressler's full review
Aaron Margeson profile photo
October 12, 2015

Veeam Backup Review: "Very reliable and easy to use product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We internally use Veeam to backup our internal servers, and we design and deploy it for our customers. It is a comprehensive backup solution that allows granular recovery of files and application data for VMs, as well as replication. It solves problems for data protection and disaster recovery. It is easy to use and maintain.
  • Reliably backs up and replicates VMs
  • Easy to use and maintain
  • Recovers major application and service data granularly easily, such as Exchange and AD
  • Great technical support
  • Better solution for physical machine backup
  • Tighter integration and performance for major deduplication appliances such as Data Domain
  • Proactive notification of inability to purge VMware snapshots
Backup and replication of virtual machines on VMware and Hyper-V. Granular file and application data recovery. Works well in environments where intuitiveness, ease of management and maintenance, and reliability are critical.
Read Aaron Margeson's full review
Alec Larson profile photo
October 06, 2015

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam ONE is an excellent solution for any business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Veeam ONE to backup our Hyper-V servers on a daily basis and to recover lost files. It was much better than our previous solution because of how it handled change data on the virtual servers. It made recovery go from 2 to 5 hours recovering from tape with the old solution, to 10 to 15 minutes with Veeam ONE. I highly urge companies using Hyper-V to use this to backup up their infrastructure.
  • Backups were completed quickly daily and weekly.
  • Recovery of files or entire machines was very quick.
  • The user interface was very intuitive and easy to configure and maintain.
  • When we used it the only weakness was not having the ability to backup to tape for long term storage.
Any network using Hyper-V to host their file servers or email servers would benefit from this product due to it being easy to implement and maintain, as well as having fast backup and recovery times. When you need to keep mission critical systems online this is a great tool to ensure data stability and data retention.
Read Alec Larson's full review
Steven Magargee profile photo
October 16, 2015

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used for recovery of failed VMs, faster backups, deduplication and compression to minimize storage consumption.
  • Deduplication and compression to minimize storage consumption
  • Faster standard file copy
  • DR failover and support
  • Visibility of backup infrastructure
  • Monitoring and reporting tools to helped resolve issue quicker
  • Instant VM Recovery
Instant VM Recovery
Read Steven Magargee's full review
No photo available
September 06, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam can help simplify your backups and recovery."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to protect our internal servers. In addition, as a Managed Service Provider we sell and support Veeam across our clients. Veeam is our main choice for backup & replication when the workload is primarily virtual on VMware. Internally, we protect our entire virtual workload with Veeam and replicate the data across regions to our second datacenter.
  • Restoration is VERY easy with Veeam, much easier than other backup products that we use. Whether it's the Instant VM Recovery or one of the Backup Explorers (for File Server, Exchange, SQL, or AD) it's very simple and easy to restore files.
  • I like the flexibility of the Veeam Suite and how it fits well in any size company. A lot of our smaller businesses that we support only have a single Veeam server, while some of our bigger ones we have multiple Veeam servers and proxies.
  • As part of the Veeam Cloud & Service Provider (VCSP) program, we are able to provide cloud storage to our customers as a very simple process. We can also do subscription based licensing for protected VMs which fits our MSP business model very well instead of perpetual licensing.
  • My biggest complaint with Veeam is the backups seem to fail with new errors every time for no particular reason. Anything from VSS, NTDS, other Backup Providers, and some still unknown errors. Veeam B&R seems to be a lot more sensitive to it's environment than other backup solutions are which causes more management time needed.
  • Another problem we have is that Veeam simply cannot coexist with other backup solutions. We have been moving clients from other software to Veeam, and instead of being able to have them both running for a time we have to completely uninstall other software before installing Veeam. It's quite the hassle and in some cases (our critical internal servers) we'd prefer to keep protecting with both if possible.
  • Veeam doesn't have an easy way to handle long term backup chains. We promise 90 days retention to our customers so we are forced to just keep 90 data points (or more if we're doing more often than daily). I'd like to see a way to have it do weekly/monthly rollups of a backup chain and have it keep those on a separate retention rate for longer term backup storage.
Veeam is wonderful in a Windows environment with VMware as the hypervisor. If you're using Exchange, Windows file services, MS SQL, and Active Directory virtualized in VMware (or Hyper-V allegedly but we don't have direct experience with that) it's a wonderful tool.

However, if you're more in a mixed environment where some workloads are physical/native and others are virtualized it's not as effective. The upcoming version will include "Veeam Agents" for cloud hosted or physical environments, but those are unreleased and unproven so far.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 14, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "Veeam - Recommended for highly virtualized and centralized installs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam is being used to backup all production workloads on a schedule to meet our availability and compliance requirements. It is not being used to backup any user endpoints, like laptops.
  • Backups of VMware and Hyper-v were exceedingly easy to set up
  • GFS strategy was very easy to build, maintain and report on
  • Creating offsite backups and proxies for Veeam was also very easy
  • Documentation is not always super clear - often very steeped in its own verbiage without an easy way to find "their definition".
  • When we had problems, they were difficult to solve without support.
  • Very rarely, we had issues where backups would suddenly fail and support's only solution was to recreate the jobs.
It is well suited for heavily virtualized environments with the need for fast backup and recovery scenarios and/or the need for continual jobs. There are also some good use cases around taking VM backups and using them for tests in an isolation that Veeam makes very easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 09, 2016

Veeam Backup Review: "If you're not using Veeam, you should be"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Veeam is used for VM and file level recovery across the whole enterprise. While storage based replication is our primary mechanism for DR, we'd be able to meet our RTOs and RPOs using Veeam replication and instant VM recovery as well. Currently, Veeam provides an alternative backup type/media in addition to our storage based replication and is our primary mechanism for individual file level recovery as well as longer term recovery of individual files or whole VMs.
  • Support is helpful and responsive
  • Works well/reliable
  • Feature rich
  • Experienced some finger pointing between Veeam and EMC in the past regarding troubleshooting for the Data Domain DD Boost feature integration
  • Backup of virtualized environments (though there was a recent announcement for physical devices too)
  • Need replication and WAN acceleration when it's not offered at the storage level
  • Backup of environments both small and large
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (27)
8.7
Live recovery (29)
9.1
Recovery verification (29)
9.2
Business application protection (29)
9.1
Multiple backup destinations (29)
8.8
Incremental backup identification (29)
9.4
Backup to the cloud (21)
9.0
Deduplication and file compression (30)
8.5
Snapshots (30)
8.4
Flexible deployment (11)
8.8
Management dashboard (12)
9.1
Platform support (12)
8.9
Retention options (12)
9.1
Encryption (11)
8.7

About Veeam Backup

Veeam Backup & Replication Software is a data center backup solution, providing recovery and protection of data.

Veeam Backup Competitors

Veeam Backup Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No