Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
642 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 256)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 03, 2021
Robert Roetger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is used for saving the data from the whole family and our company. We make backups from our onedrive accounts, as well as from the local NAS. We put the backups to a DLT-tapedrive and to a second NAS. Up to now there were no problems. It took a while configuring it the first time, but now it will replace the former backup solution from another company.
  • Works without hassle.
  • Clear and easy user interface when you have got it.
  • More intuitive first time installation.
  • Backup to ftp server.
It's well suited for backing up data to tape, but lacks a tape use strategy like "towers of hanoi" or similar. Restore of files is not as intuitive as it could be at the first sight. You have to use it frequently to get used to the user interface. It is not really simple to give it to a normal user.
I use the solution eactly for the desired workloads.
Read Robert Roetger's full review
February 24, 2021
Scott Pearce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam to backup all network files and servers to a local storage device. Then, we use Veeam Backup Copy to send images to a cloud based Data Center for offsite storage. This provides multiple levels of protection for our data.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Intuitive interface.
  • Alert notification is clear and concise. Easy to get to the root of a problem.
  • Support is great! Quick response, knowledgeable techs, take ownership of an issue.
  • Perhaps some examples of how to set up Veeam given a certain scenario (some of the more common solutions).
  • Something to let a new user know that when you click "Next" on the restore selections, there will be a 'pause', and that it is not restoring the entire volume while you are waiting for the file selection window to load.
For small to medium companies like ours, Veeam is a good mix of capabilities without being over complicated.
We currently back up two physical hosts and eight virtual servers. This is the expected number of workloads we anticipated. We know we can just add more licenses to allow Veeam to grow with us.
Read Scott Pearce's full review
February 02, 2021
Lauri Viitanen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam is used in the entire organization to protect our data and to ensure business continuity and resiliency. We use Veeam to back up our on-premise infrastructure and have been a happy user for several years. Veeam Backup & Replication has proven to be a reliable tool for backups, replication as well as recoveries.
  • Performance
  • Ease of use
  • Granular recovery
  • Veeam fulfills all our requirements and we do no have any issues regarding it's functionality
Veeam Backup & Recovery does it's job well protecting our data from hardware failures, accidental deletion of files, malware attacks etc etc. Recovering data has been made easy and this role can easily be delegated within the organization. Veeam Backup & Replication ensures our business continuity and does it well.
We have had somewhat steady growth in the amount of workload protected by Veeam during the several years we've been using it. Being a small/mid-sized company, our IT infrastructure is small compared to the larger companies. Currently we protect nearly 40 separate workloads with Veeam Backup & Replication.
Read Lauri Viitanen's full review
February 02, 2021
Robert Crooks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In 30 years at in my position, I have used various iterations of all the big names in backup software, with varying levels of success.
Over the past decade as workloads have become more and more virtualized, none of the packages i used were specifically designed for virtual environments and I found that issue to create a big hole in my DR preparedness.
Some of the other divisions in my organization were using the Veeam [Backup & Replication] solution and our corporate office decided that we should all standardize on this platform.
My virtualization is centered around Hyper-V clusters, so I decided to license Veeam [Backup & Replication] around the sockets that I use. This proved to be the right solution as I have 200+ guests hosted on 4 servers and I am not limited by the number of guests.
I now have 100% protection of database, line-of-business applications and factory floor loads.
Because of Veeam technology, my backup window has shrunk from 12 hours to 3-4 a day, even with an air-gap backups to a tape library.
In the past weeks I am also using SOBR to the cloud for additional reassurance that I can restore from an encryption event.
Veeam [Backup & Replication] has given me confidence to consistently backup and restore any loads or data to keep my business running.
  • The ability to perform transaction and redo log backups on a constant schedule give exceptional point-in-time restore ability.
  • That Veeam still supports air-gap backup to tape is invaluable. Also that it manages retention policies between disk and tape is a life saver.
  • Veaam's ability to compress data as it backups saves both time and space on both capacity and performance storage.
  • The ability to include Transaction and Redo logs as part of a SOBR would be a very important option to have.
  • Perhaps it already exists, but some way to automate a scheduled restore from all tiers of storage (Performance, Capacity and Tape) would give the admin the security in knowing that in the case of an emergency all the components were working.
  • Some method to make Performance-tier backups immutable.
For virtualized workloads, Veeam [Backup & Replication] is the only solution. It's performance is un-paralled in that space.

Even the Community edition provides a sub-set of tools that a SMB could use to protect it's IP/assets before committing to a full set of licenses.
I have about 200 virtual workloads. When I first licensed Veeam [Backup & Replication], I was not sure of the solution when it came to production servers and database loads, but tested it out and it's performance was far and above what I was expecting and the backup operation has a minimal impact on my operations.
Read Robert Crooks's full review
February 01, 2021
Michael Craven | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I use [Veeam Backup & Replication] to backup our Server and 10+ workstations. I have also deployed it among numerous client's networks to backup their Server's and Workstations.
It has been a major help since Windows Server Essentials 2019 and later have removed their Built-in Workstation/Client Backup System.
We have also used it multiple times to perform Bare-Metal Restores of systems that have had their hard drive physically fail. Veeam Software literally made the process effortless!
  • Bare-Metal Restore using a Simple Thumb Drive!
  • Complete Backups of Client Workstations to the Server
  • Supporting Multiple External Backup Hard drives (destinations) to allow for off-site storage of Backups, etc.
  • Data Deduplication should be easier to implement for Client Workstation Backups
[Veeam Backup & Replication] is perfect for anything from a Home Network with a Server to a SMB with a Server that wants full protection of the Server and Client/Workstations in case of the need for a Bare-Metal Restore due to hardware failure or Ransomware/Malware.
Veeam works, it is very reliable, handles multiple back-up destinations, Bare-Metal restore is effortless and it is easy to manage.
We currently have 10+ physical workloads being protected. This includes Laptops, Desktops and our main Server. This is more than we had anticipated because of the addition of the Laptops that we now also include in our backup regimen.
Read Michael Craven's full review
December 22, 2020
Ethan Bough | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used for full and incremental backups for all infrastructure servers. It also replicates current backups to AWS weekly. It provides most of my clients with a backup and recover solution that not only provides local solutions but methods to get our backups secured offsite.
  • Ease of automation
  • 3rd party integration
  • Failure/Success reporting
  • User centric features for file restores
  • Backup database mounting speed
  • UI restructure based on current backup types
Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited to environments that employ any kind of virtualization technology for their infrastructure, namely VCenter. The intuitive integration and quick setup makes backups easy and gives peace of mind that they are being completed in the manner that is desired. Veeam is less suited to environments specializing on MacOS or highly mobile environments.
In our current environments we use Veeam Backup & Replication to protect over 100 virtual servers mixed in with a few physical devices. Veeam was our go to choice for backing up these devices so it is exactly on par for how many devices we planned on backing up in our environments.
Read Ethan Bough's full review
December 19, 2020
Jeremy Lyzenga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam B&R is being used to back up all virtual machines across all global offices and replicate the data offsite. It's also being used to back up physical workloads. Combined with HPE Storeonce appliances we achieve high levels of deduplication and can have lengthy retention policies without the needs of lots of disk. It's simple to set up and maintain and has all the granular recovery features that we need.
  • Consistant fast backups.
  • Robust backup files that are portable and don't need the original backup server to restore.
  • Simplicity of setup and restoring files.
  • Versatility of working with different types and tiers of storage.
  • When using HPE catalyst the displayed values of backed up data and transferred data is erroneous.
  • Quick restore of changed blocks only doesn't work well on application servers.
Veeam B&R is the simplest and most effective backup solution I have ever worked with. Previous experience with Avamar, netbackup and Windows backup, moving to Veeam was easy and saves countless hours on maintenance. Its hardware agnostics make it great for using legacy storage that would otherwise be retired or the flexibility to use low cost storage up to enterprise storage arrays in tandem. It works great in a datacenter and in remote sites.
We are backing up 100+ virtual servers in 6 locations on three continents with backup data stored locally and being replicated to a secondary location. We are also using it to back up 12 workstations that are critical for daily operation of the company. We began with just backing up the servers but as Veeam adds more features to the existing products we find ourselves utilizing them at little or no extra cost.
Read Jeremy Lyzenga's full review
February 27, 2021
Mark Ingrum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company, HarvestHill Bev Co., is made up of several smaller companies. We use Veeam to backup an environment we are not staffed in. The software enables us to run backups without worry they will complete. We are backing up 12TB. Wished we used Veeam for the rest of the company. Give me some time, I will work on it.
  • Installs easily - as ANY backup software should!
  • Easy to restore files.
  • Easy to set up backup jobs
  • Using Hyper-V - Veeam actually works with MS.
  • Would love to have in my VMware environments.
  • When throwing alert for backup would be nice to see percent complete as you are working problem.
  • Need more swag out there.
VMware loves Veeam! Would love to have it backing up my 12TB X 4 sites.

Easy to manage Veeam backups - just takes a few seconds to look and less time than other backup providers!

Thanks Veeam!
Just for our one sister company, ABC.
Read Mark Ingrum's full review
February 24, 2021
Chad Culbreth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam to backup our company servers and virtual infrastructure. Veeam has allowed us to have a backup solution that works all of the time without error. It has not failed since we implemented it. Also, setup was a breeze!
  • It has never had a failed backup since we implemented it.
  • The pricing is top notch for what we get for it.
  • The setup support was great!
  • Setup was a long process. It took almost 4 hours to setup and start.
Veeam is ideal for virtual environments as well as for NAS backups. We are about to move some of our infrastructure to Azure and Veeam will most definitely be used to move those servers as well as backing them up.
2 VMs are currently protected as well as 1 NAS. This is exactly what we anticipated when we purchased the licensing.
Read Chad Culbreth's full review
February 08, 2021
Miguel Letona | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition for testing purposes. We have VMware and Hyper-V servers and create tasks for backing up virtual machines hosted on those servers. We are doing this for 5 VMs and monitor the time it takes to backup, then we restore them and check them to see if the software works as expected; and it does.
  • Backing up VMs hosted on VMware and Hyper-V
  • Restore VM to original host and alternate host
  • Using VeeamZip to obtain an image of a VM for archival purposes
  • Allow the creation of schedule task for VeeamZip
  • Faster start-up
  • Allow backup of older VMware versions, like 5.5
We have tested Veeam Backup & Replication in a LAN and the performance was good. In our environment, the servers work 24x7 and there was no noticeable drop in performance so, in scenarios where the infrastructure is up and running 24x7, this is well suited. We have not tested doing a backup from another site so can't tell if it is well suited across the WAN.
We have 6 VMs that are currently protected with Veeam Backup & Replication. Because we installed the Community Edition and the limit is 10 VMs, we are protected. Our environment is small and, in the future, we are planning to add more local servers so, we have to plan for a purchase of the product. Right now, we are in the test phase.
Read Miguel Letona's full review
February 06, 2021
Akito Inakazu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam B&R is being used across our organization in two datacentres. It was primarily brought in to modernize our older backup system (NetBackup) and to reduce our backup windows.
  • User interface is easy to manage.
  • Restoring from file/brick-level backup is much easier than recovering from our old backup.
  • Scheduling is easy to understand and manage.
  • When mounting a backup for restore, this process can be slow.
We changed our backup method from daily tapes to daily backup to disk and then tape weekly. This shortened our backup windows and enabled much quicker backup windows. The ability to restore files/application-level data easily made it easier to offload this job to junior admins and free up our time.
In our environment, we are backing up approx 200vms. Including Exchange, Sharepoint, File Servers, and other various application servers/workloads. This has grown since we originally purchased the product, but that has been organic growth in the business. We do not currently backup cloud/physical workloads, but we are starting to move things into the cloud and have started to look at Veeam to back up that data.
Read Akito Inakazu's full review
February 02, 2021
Shayne Blakemore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used to backup our VMWARE ESXi virtual infrastructure, We backup Virtual machines to a local datastore (different Rack) and between 2 of our 3 sites. Currently it is only being used for this purpose, we will look to use replication functionality when we have increased infrastructure capacity at our newer sites.
  • When data loss occurs it is easily recoverable with little/no downtime
  • Easy to use interface
  • Excellent scalability
  • Slow Backup and restore tasks
  • Troubleshooting errors can be tedious
I have used this for a while and it suits my needs, it is easy to use and works well. Have had to restore near all of our VI and Veeam handled it without a hitch.
Currently around 40 in our VI. has been scalable and time permitting I will add more to this scope
Read Shayne Blakemore's full review
February 01, 2021
Jeff Mack | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam to backup our complete virtual environment across four datacenters. We are also replicating the backup between datacenters. This addresses our backup requires with offsite storage.
  • Easy file level backup and recovery
  • Site to site replication
  • Cloud provider integration
  • Database aware backups
  • Bandwidth throttling with replication
Does a great job with Virtual Environment.
We have four datacenters. We are replicating between all four sites.
Read Jeff Mack's full review
January 28, 2021
Matt McLeary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Veeam [Backup & Replication] to backup 2 sites worth of VMs and replicate to DR site which is off site.

Currently all backups are done using Veeam [Backup & Replication] along with all restores.
  • DR Capabilites of spinning up replicated VMs instantly
  • Exploring application items such as databses or Exchange items
  • Automatically setup of DR recovery when VM fails
  • Setup of proxies and best practices isn't explained greatly
  • Slow termination of jobs
All scenarios have a use for Veeam Backup and Replication if data security and retention is a worry for your business
50 virtual servers are currently protected by Veeam [Backup & Replication].

This has grown since initially installing Veeam and there has been no issues in scaling up to meet this demand.
Read Matt McLeary's full review
January 21, 2021
Jim Crear | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Veeam Backup & Replication for all of our customer-focused applications in multiple locations, including two colocations in diverse locations. It has successfully allowed us to build backup and recovery redundancy in order to ensure our apps continue to run and process customer data with appropriate security.
  • Windows library structures are easily identified for restoration
  • Restores, in general, are easy to do
  • Replication of data structures to other servers
  • Better method to back up desktop and laptops
  • Improvement of deduping methods
  • Better error descriptions for troubleshooting
Veeam Backup & Replication is very well suited for file-level recovery as well as for full VM recovery when a VM snapshot is unavailable. It is a must-have tool for IT to be able to recover from a malware/ransomware attack. It now works great in backup and replication to cloud storage. As a user of many backup solutions through the years I cannot think of a better solution than Veeam Backup & Replication.
We have approximately 26 hosts in multiple locations that are backed up nightly to an SAN and replicated to another site. Additionally, we utilize Veeam Backup & Replication to back up our entire O365 environment to a cloud service provided away from AWS. We have been adding hosts and licenses since first acquiring Veeam Backup & Replication and have not missed a click on provided a good nights sleep.
Read Jim Crear's full review
January 08, 2021
Bob Field | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to backup our VMWare server environment of over 175 servers for our whole organization. We migrated to Veeam from IBM Tivoli and Veeam is hands down much easier to use. Tivoli required professional help from outside the organization and was very complicated. Veeam is very easy to install, configure and begin backups with minimal knowledge of the product.
  • Ease of use
  • Quick restores of servers & files
  • Reliability
  • Make it easier to get full inventory of servers in all backup jobs
  • add indicator in wizard to show if server is already part of a backup job
Veeam Backup & Replication is very powerful and flexible. We do use it for backups, copy of backup jobs to external storage and replication for backups to an off-site location and it just works. I even use it for my computers at home and found the ease of use and reliability of the backups very valuable. I don't fear losing data with Veeam as I have with other backup software.
We do not yet have Veeam backing up our cloud environment but that is about to change in the near future. Our backups consist of virtual servers only and currently have over 175 servers. We had approximately 100 servers when we first started using Veeam and growing the environment is very easy. We do plan to start backing up physical servers and all of this was anticipated as long as Veeam worked as advertised.
Read Bob Field's full review
December 30, 2020
Kevin Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it over the entire company. It is our backup and replication solution. We backup locally and send that to a secondary site. We also replicate VM images to our Recovery cluster. Testing of this has always gone very well and other than some DNS work is flawless. Great product that takes care of what you need for backup and recovery in a disaster.
  • restore of individual files
  • total restore of Virtual machines
  • replication of VM's to secondary site
  • integration with AD
  • DNS update on the fly
  • Machine rename to replace missing machines
General backup and recovery it is the best. Replication is outstanding, Individual File recovery had saved us many times on our departmental servers. In replication you can snapshot the replicas about every 5 minutes to cover any changes to cover your main systems. We do this with all or SQL servers and has been excellent when issues arise.
Fifty Seven Virtual machines which are everything from file servers to apps and SQL boxes. Plus we back up each individual physical box at several locations. We backup across WAN connections and have no issues with this either. Many of our executives have commented that we have had a much better response for corrupted files and less down time due to failed machines. We runs a 2019 Failover cluster setup and this has made Veeam a simple choice.
Read Kevin Simmons's full review
December 22, 2020
Zach Olsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam to backup data and also replicate the backups as a copy to our data center and vice versa for disaster recovery. Instant VM recovery and also file explorer based recovery to meet our SLA goal of recovery in minutes or at least less than 24 hours.Backup of Hyper-V VM's and physical backup of some desktops with endpoint backup.
  • Application aware backup
  • Instant VM recovery
  • Fast backup
  • DR recovery and replication
  • Portable backups that are taken offline for a long period have a hard time to re-sync backup and just fail
Multiple locations is a great and beneficial use, cloud servers and backup. Fast backup and recovery.
Maybe too expensive for a small backup enviroment but there are some free options that are 2nd to none
30, about the same as when we started, but can easily grow to more as needed.
Read Zach Olsen's full review
December 22, 2020
Harald Husemann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam B&R in our whole organization to minimize downtimes and ensure service quality.
  • Fast backups because of change block tracking and storage snapshots.
  • Almost incredible fast restores with instant recovery.
  • Application-agnostic or application-aware backup.
  • No need to install agents on virtual machines.
  • Fast and easy setup, "It just works."
  • Improve central management (connect one backup shell to more than one B&R server).
Very lilkely, I'm completely satisfied with Veeam B&R and its capabilities.
Difficult to say as I don't know all internals of the departments which are using Veeam, I'd say we're protecting about 2.000 - 2.500 VMs. And, our O365 environment is also backed up with Veeam.
This is more than expected since we started with Veeam in one department, but quickly saw that it was useful for other departments, too.
Experienced, fast and friendly support.
It's easy, and just works...
Read Harald Husemann's full review
March 04, 2021
Martin Kuehn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is our main backup service. I use it to backup my workstation and our physical server. Since I´m used to work with the full product as well I´m very happy that there is a community edition.
  • Reliable Backup
  • easy to use console
  • I ran into problems during an update from a former version and had to set up everything new.
for me it is the best working backup solution
in the moment only 1 workstation and 1 Server.
Read Martin Kuehn's full review
October 16, 2020
Jamie Bibbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Veeam to backup our important VM's both on site and off site to VTDs. It gives me that peace of mind knowing that I could spin my environment up on new hardware quickly in the event of a disaster.
  • Easily backup and restore VM's.
  • Schedule recurring backups with retention policies.
  • Integration with AWS and VTD support.
  • Auto Ejecting VTD's sometimes gets stuck and requires a manual kick.
  • Web UI feature on backup & replication.
  • Better remote monitoring.
Veeam is my go to for VM backups. It gives me the peace of mind knowing that my on site and off site backups are completing nightly, along with email notifications. This may be the most rudimentary implementation of Veeam, but it does it well and I will continue using the product.
I backup 8 workloads. This is about spot on with what I anticipated when the product was deployed because we knew exactly what we needed to run our environment.
Read Jamie Bibbs's full review
October 16, 2020
Scott Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Veeam B&R to replace several disparate backup solutions. Veeam is able to back up virtual servers (image level), files, and application-level (SQL, Exchange, SharePoint, Oracle) plus perform DR replication to a secondary site with a single product and is saving us $40,000 per year on software maintenance.
  • User interface is very good. Coming from Tivoli Storage Manager, this is a huge upgrade.
  • Scalability (proxy servers) and integration with deduplication appliances. Adding proxy servers for performance is a snap and requires no additional licensing.
  • Ease of restores of application data (SQL, SharePoint and Exchange). Very intuitive (except SharePoint, which is not intuitive anyway...).
  • It would be awesome if B&R could combine with the O365 product for a single management point.
We have one very busy special-use SQL application that doesn't like Veeam touching its databases. Other than that, we replaced TSM, DocAve, native SQL and Oracle backups and vFoglight all with one product that cost much less.
We have about 300 on-premise virtual machines in VMWare, 4 VMs in Azure, and 500 seats of O365. Together with Veeam Backup for O365 we are protecting all these workloads. Workload scale has not changed since we designed the solution. Veeam B&R is licensed by core on the VMWare hosts, so VM count can scale up and down withing the limits of the licensed hardware without license changes.
Read Scott Reese's full review
October 06, 2020
Lance Soller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it primarily as a backup system for all our virtual environments. We use it to cross-replicate servers to DR sites. It covers all servers for all departments. The biggest factor in choosing Veeam was the extremely fast ability to recover lost data. The reporting on each backup/replication job allows you to monitor the status of each job. The surebackup and restore feature allows you to test the backups as often as you would like by starting them in a sandbox environment. In addition, this feature allows you to test system updates in a sandbox environment without affecting the live servers.
  • Backups up VMWare better than any other product.
  • Allows a safe environment to test your backups.
  • Allows instant recovery in an extremely fast manner.
  • Allows archiving of backups.
  • Less generic errors would be great.
  • Better management of data retention policies.
  • Better management of backups in terms of how much space they use and when they overwrite.
Any scenario where you are running a virtual environment you should be using Veeam. I use it in both VMWare and HyperV and find it to be excellent in both. The physical server backup option, while it works and is great, does not seem as polished as the virtual environment. I do not believe there should be a separate charge for physical agents.
We are running this at all our sites. As soon as I proved the solution to the management with a server failure they where quick to agree and roll it out to all sites, both internally and to our external customers. I succeeded in switching them from Appassure to Veeam with ease.
Read Lance Soller's full review
January 28, 2021
Nathan Lindsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We love the ease of use in backing up our VMware vSphere environment.
  • Restores
  • Backups
  • Testing
  • DR
  • Jobs
  • Backup
[Veeam Backup & Replication is used for] backing up vm's for upgrades.
All Production servers. More as we learned the value.
Read Nathan Lindsey's full review
January 28, 2021
Caleb Wolf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam [Backup & Replication] for local backups of DC and File servers. This product works great for being hands off, reliable and trustworthy.
  • Easy setup
  • Intuitive application
  • Reliable software
  • Software loads very slow
[Veeam Backup & Replication is] very affordable for low budget environments.
One virtual and one physical, capacity has not changes since installation but could be expanded to several more virtual or physicals.
Read Caleb Wolf's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (142)
8.6
Live recovery (151)
8.7
Recovery verification (154)
8.8
Business application protection (140)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (165)
8.9
Incremental backup identification (171)
8.9
Backup to the cloud (106)
8.2
Deduplication and file compression (159)
8.6
Snapshots (148)
8.9
Flexible deployment (137)
8.6
Management dashboard (23)
8.1
Platform support (141)
8.7
Retention options (143)
8.8
Encryption (122)
8.5

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam Backup & Replication is a complete backup and disaster recovery solution that is hardware and cloud agnostic. It aims to help businesses achieve comprehensive data protection for ALL workloads — including virtual, physical and cloud-based workloads. With a single console, the vendor aims to help users achieve fast, flexible and reliable backup, recovery and replication of all applications and data.

Backup capabilities
  • Fast, reliable application-aware, image-based backups
  • Unlimited capacity and cost savings for long-term data retention on object storage with new Veeam Cloud Tier
  • Enterprise application support for NEW Veeam Plug-ins for SAP HANA and Oracle RMAN

Replication capabilities
  • Advanced replication and failover for Disaster Recovery
  • Built-in WAN Acceleration to get backups and replicas off site fast
  • Fully-integrated, cloud-based DR replication and fast, secure cloud backup with Veeam Cloud Connect through a service provider

Recovery capabilities
  • Recover individual files easily with Instant VM and File-level Recovery
  • Easy portability and recovery to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with NEW Veeam Cloud Mobility
  • Fast, item-level and application recovery for Microsoft Exchange, SharePoint, Active Directory, and SQL Server and Oracle

Veeam Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Veeam Backup & Replication Screenshots

Veeam Backup & Replication Video

Join Veeam SE for an in-depth technical deep dive into the architecture and engineering of Veeam Backup & Replication. Learn how to protect your virtual workloads with Veeam Availability Suite by diving into the deployment and technical details of components that allow Veeam Backup & Replication to meet recovery service level objectives of less than 15 minutes for ALL applications and data. Find answers to burning questions around how it works.

Veeam Backup & Replication Downloadables

Veeam Backup & Replication Integrations

Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, SAP HANA, NetApp FAS series, Pure Storage FlashArray, Cisco HyperFlex, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Active Directory, Oracle, NetApp FlexArray (V-Series), NetApp Data ONTAP Edg, IBM N-series, HPE 3PAR, HPE StoreVirtual, Nimble Storage AFA, Nimble Storage CSS, Dell EMC

Veeam Backup & Replication Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery, Veritas Backup Exec and NetBackup, Rubrik Cloud Data Management, Cohesity DataProtect, Dell EMC

Veeam Backup & Replication Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Backup Essentials$400per year
Backup & ReplicationContact sales team
Availability SuiteContact sales team

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact a partner for detailed pricing and quotes. Resellers or sales personnel are available for assistance.

Veeam Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Veeam Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Veeam Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English