Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
466 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 175)

Stefan Zuban | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication - Put value in your data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition in one of our departments in our local data center. Our local data center counts 3 HP ProLiant DL 380 GEN10 servers and a 48 TB SAN supporting corporate applications running on Windows servers and Linux servers on top of VMware vSphere 6.7 U3 Hypervisor. More than 30 VMs are available for users. The infrastructure is protected with a specific backup policy in place.
  • Very good user interface.
  • Compatible with Microsoft Hyper-V and VMware vSphere virtualization infrastructure.
  • Optimized backup size.
  • Backup scheduling features.
  • Compatibility with Citrix XenServer Hypervisor infrastructure.
  • Allow adding low cost storage e.g. a regular NAS to the storage infrastructure.
  • Improve reporting and allow better online error or warning description, avoiding intermediate reporting through a browser.
Should you have a virtualization infrastructure based on Microsoft Hyper-V or VMware vSphere, should you host several virtual machines some in production, some in acceptance, should you have a business model where you do regular upgrades and deploy new releases or just want to have a backup capability in case of business critical application requiring disaster recovery capabilities, should you keep backup footprint as small as possible, care for a community edition for smaller businesses and full edition for more corporate environment, this tool is for you.
We do not use this feature as of yet. Corporate IT policies, Data protection are all matters to be dealt with prior the European Commission would go for it. For the time being our data center provides private cloud and backup and replication is kept to the classic features.
Read Stefan Zuban's full review
Miguel Letona | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication Road Test

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition for testing purposes. We have VMware and Hyper-V servers and create tasks for backing up virtual machines hosted on those servers. We are doing this for 5 VMs and monitor the time it takes to backup, then we restore them and check them to see if the software works as expected; and it does.
  • Backing up VMs hosted on VMware and Hyper-V
  • Restore VM to original host and alternate host
  • Using VeeamZip to obtain an image of a VM for archival purposes
  • Allow the creation of schedule task for VeeamZip
  • Faster start-up
  • Allow backup of older VMware versions, like 5.5
We have tested Veeam Backup & Replication in a LAN and the performance was good. In our environment, the servers work 24x7 and there was no noticeable drop in performance so, in scenarios where the infrastructure is up and running 24x7, this is well suited. We have not tested doing a backup from another site so can't tell if it is well suited across the WAN.
We have 6 VMs that are currently protected with Veeam Backup & Replication. Because we installed the Community Edition and the limit is 10 VMs, we are protected. Our environment is small and, in the future, we are planning to add more local servers so, we have to plan for a purchase of the product. Right now, we are in the test phase.
Read Miguel Letona's full review
Aleksey Pletnev | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2020

Excellent backup solution for small companies and enterprises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company hosts a few online services for our customers using our hardware and software resources. We were looking for a backup solution that can process a few terabytes of data every night in a small amount of time. Veeam was great for this task. We use it for backup of all our virtual machines.
  • Fast backup process with excellent compression level.
  • Distributed backup process between a few servers.
  • Instant recovery.
  • Incremental backups.
  • No
  • No
  • No
Veeam Backup & Replication is a good solution for fast distributed backups. From its name you can understand that it has 2 main features: backup and replication. I haven't use the second one because I'm sure that native built-in Hypervisor replication features are no worse than Veeam but it's free because they are part of Hypervisor. May be somebody can find something interesting in Veem's replication future but I have plans to use it only for backups.
Now we protect 8 VMs and 1 physical server. It matches as we expected. Because of that, we have chosen the Community Edition with 10 free licenses. We thought that we would install the solution in production, then understand all the positives and negatives. When we reach the limit, we'll know if this solution really works in our environment and can help us save our time and money, which is the same.
Read Aleksey Pletnev's full review
stefano facoetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Never again use dozens of different software for different types of backups!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication internally to easily manage the backup of our infrastructure. As service providers, we also install and use it to all of our customers, from the small company with one server and few PCs to the big multinational corporation with hundreds of VMs and workstations. Our common goal is the same: feel safe. When I receive the daily report from each backup job and I read "Success", my day starts with a smile.
  • It's easy to define and schedule backup jobs.
  • Reports are detailed.
  • No matter how many VMs you have or what they do
  • A sort of "smart wizard" for the first backup could help users in the first step.
  • I'd like to have a dashboard with only main simple information and graphs.
Veeam Backup & Replication is perfect for medium-large companies, with a lot of VMs in the infrastructure. For very small companies maybe it's too much.
We currently manage the backup of more than 100 virtual and physical machines. We are planning to double this number in the next few months. Initially, we used to have multiple software solutions for different kinds of backup complexity: now we are converging towards a single solution.
Read stefano facoetti's full review
Tom Mockus | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication across the organization for backup. It is extremely user friendly and works across platforms. I am very impressed with both the current software and the amount of R&D they put into improving the product.
  • #1 Ease of use
  • Works across platforms
  • They are always coming up with new/improved features
  • They have many training opportunities to increase knowledge of the product
  • Sales-wise, too many different staff contact you about same product.
I cannot say enough great things about Veeam Backup & Replication. Easy to use, affordable, works on different platforms, great customer service.
Roughly 170. We actually expected more difficulty bringing these into Veeam but it was easier than anticipated.
Read Tom Mockus's full review
Guido Favotto | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Simple, reliable, sure. Backup and replication software for nerds and dummies.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used to back up the virtual infrastructure, giving us a chance to quickly perform a restore in case of a fault. The choice is to keep data in an external environment, safer solution, rather than keeping data in the local backup server. The graphic interface is so user friendly that I quickly explain how to manage backups and restores, keeping only the necessary restore points. We don't use it to backup groups of VMs, only one VM at a time. We never had any problems with restores from existing backups.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Planning
  • Disaster recovery
  • One click restore.
  • Drag and drop backup.
  • Detailed information on VM to backup.
Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited for all organizations, from the smaller ones to the bigger ones. Doesn't matter how big you are, it is always so simple to use. I think that it is less appropriate for infrastructures where you have both virtual and physical machines in our net.
The virtual or physical workloads currently protected by Veeam Backup & Replication in our organization are the same as when we first acquired the product. We never thought to try something else because we couldn't find f anything similar, simple and suitable to multiple examples. Usually, our workload doesn't grow, but when it does, the solution will always be ok.
Read Guido Favotto's full review
Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

A Backup Solution That Has All the Bells and Whistles with an Easy-to-Use Interface

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is not being used currently in the business, but clients use it for their VM backups. It offers a very robust and easy to use solution for reliable backups. Some clients use it for backing up physical servers as well. It is very quick with the right hardware and environment. There aren't any recurring issues, so it just works, which is one of the best things you can ask of a backup solution.
  • It offers various backup types. If the infrastructure can handle the forever incremental or reverse incremental options, these are very efficient on space usage.
  • The interface is easy to use. There are a lot of options within the software, but it's never felt overwhelming to figure out and adjust job settings.
  • Restores are simple and offer great options. Even full VM restores are easy to do. File-level restores offer multiple ways to restore files, such as to a different location, or the same, then making copies of any collision files.
  • On occasion, the error feedback is not as useful as we'd like. However, the forums, KB articles, and support are always helpful.
  • No other negatives come to mind at the moment. The software really does work well and there have not been many headaches using. Most of the headaches are when storage runs out of space, but that's not the fault of the software.
Veeam is a great solution for small businesses and larger. The licensing costs are more than other options, so some small businesses might find it hard to justify. While cheaper alternatives can work, you get what you pay for. We've used other solutions, and some of them are just terrible in comparison. The biggest issue is an inferior interface followed closely by the lack of key features that Veeam supports.
There are about 10 clients that use Veeam for their backups currently, which represents most of the current clients. Some of these are smaller businesses, but others have 15-20 VM's to be backed up. Only one client utilizes a cloud destination for offsite copies. The current is about what was expected. Most of our clients appreciate Veeam for what it offers, but we knew some smaller clients just couldn't be convinced to pay the higher cost. Some smaller clients also wouldn't make enough use for it, or simply don't need it if they lack main servers.
Read Adam Friedli's full review
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Why don't you have Veeam installed?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Availability Suite is being used across our entire IT organization as a primary means to backup and replicates our virtual and physical server environment. Included in Availability Suite is VeeamONE, which allows us to monitor the health of our vSphere clusters.

Think of Veeam Availability Suite as a one-stop-shop for backing up and monitoring your environment.
  • Veeam Backup and Recovery can easily restore entire VMs or files contained in the VMs, regardless of OS.
  • Extremely easy to restore Active Directory objects and Exchange Mailboxes.
  • VeeamONE is easily able to pinpoint performance contention within your VM environment.
  • Veeam Backup and Recovery performance is particularly reliant on the performance capability of your backup infrastructure. Your network and disk resources WILL get taxed, so make sure to prepare properly. If your backup infrastructure is slow, your backups will be slow.
  • Backup and Recovery does have a wizard to make recommendations on how to build out the backup infrastructure for large environments, so you should have experts involved in the proper configuration.
  • Some backup/replication jobs do not process in one day. Example - We have some VMs that are quite large, so the processing of VMs can take several days when we change disk sizes.
I think Veeam Availability Suite is suited for all sized environments. When you have a large environment, you need to make sure Backup and Recovery has the appropriate resources so backups aren't bogged down. Do not try to install Veeam Availability Suite when your environment is short on computing and networking resources.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
Jon Harrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication saved the day!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to back up virtual servers at my client's sites. It is used for migration and nearline backups. Veeam Backup & Replication enables us to restore servers to a recent exact working copy. Veeam also greatly simplifies physical hardware upgrades and migrations. I'm not sure how we would live without Veeam.
  • Migration to new virtual hosts
  • Quick and easy backups
  • Reliable restores
  • Fail safe replications
  • User interface could be improved.
  • The IA behind organizing the interface could also be improved.
  • Some basic wizards for first-time users could help.
Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited for SMB to large virtualized HyperV environments. It also can help with offline large data transfers via removable disks.
4 Physical and 8 Virtual workloads are currently protected with Veeam Backup & Replication. This is less than first estimated as Veeam has allowed for easy migration and upgrades.
Read Jon Harrell's full review
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Veeam is a good player in the management of the modern datacenter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Availability Suite as our backup and availability software has helped us to have better backup management of all our data center infrastructure, not only because of its easy management but for all the features it has like instant recovery and DR capabilities. They definitely gave us a lot of value as a company for IT administration.
Mainly for the IT area, it has helped us to have critical servers and applications backed up, however for the other end-user areas such as Sales, Marketing and Directory it has helped to solve the management of user-level backups as much as desktops and laptops.
Veeam's management solution has managed to consolidate all the backups of the corporation, both users and servers.
  • Easy to manage. The Veeam console is very rich in its environment, while being very simple and intuitive to use. It is very robust and stable for virtualized environments.
  • Rapid deployment. The installation of the solution components can be done in less than a day. The native interaction with the main hypervisors makes the solution in production very fast.
  • Good brand support. On the after-sales side, Veeam support has a considerable Net Promoter Score, greater than +70 which reflects satisfactory support.
  • Great compatibility ecosystem. It has long stably supported VMware and Hyper-V, but very quickly has aligned itself to Hyperconvergence solutions like Nutanix and its Acropolis AHV hypervisor in a very stable way.
  • Unattended upgrades. The platform updating tasks still have to be done manually. It would be very valuable if in the future it has one click upgrade or automatic programming of upgrades.
  • Reports and notifications. Veeam Suite availability natively does not have all the reporting environment. It is necessary to acquire another solution called Veeam One, separate licensing.
  • Multiple user management. There are only administrator profiles for Veeam console management, it would be nice to have read-only or operator profiles.
  • Multi-cloud integration. Currently, the integration for backups scale out is integrated only to AWS and Azure, other clouds such as Google Cloud Platform or others are not supported yet.
Very good performance to generate backups and restorations in virtualized environments. It's very agile and mature in solutions with VMWare and Hyper-V. For HCI infrastructure like Nutanix, it is also a very good option. As an alternative to disaster recovery scenarios and alternate data centers, it manages to integrate and consolidate the data center as a single large entity. In the case of managing a large corporation, it simplifies the management of backup and replication data.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
Vladan Seget | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Veeam: "It just works"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm a long time Veeam user as they were the 1st backup company who's product just worked back in a day. Arcserve and Symantec were too buggy and too focused on backing up physical infrastructure. Veeam works flawlessly.
  • Good backup speed
  • Deduplication ratios
  • Replication to remote site or cloud for DR purposes.
  • Perhaps web-based UI that we could access from a Linux machine.
I think that Veeam has built a product that can be used either by very small businesses or large corporations. Now with v10, you can even use Linux proxies to scale out.
As it has been said, the product is used for education only, demo environments show the students the different capabilities, etc. We do not have a production environment.
Read Vladan Seget's full review
Евгений Елизаров | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Veeam is good and hopefully it will be even better!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is a cloud provider. We work on the basis of several Veeam services:
  • Backing up VMs in our cloud-based on customer wishes.
  • Technical backup of the entire virtual infrastructure.
  • Backing up customer capabilities to our cloud.
  • VM backup
  • NAS backup
  • VM replication
  • VM snapshots
  • NAS snapshots
  • Windows + MSSQL platform for systems
Deduplication efficiency is quite low. Tighter integration of NAS backup and storage. Support for opensource hypervisors like KVM, Xen, QEMU, etc. More advanced scheduling scheduler, something in the style of Windows.
Today it is already more than 2000 VMs and we are trying to constantly grow.
Read Евгений Елизаров's full review
Richard Faulkner | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Get peace of mind with Veeam

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Our organization utilizes Veeam Backup and Replication to securely backup our virtualization environment and ensure we can recover data if it is lost. Veeam works well with our environment, ties directly to our Nimble Storage, and makes backups and replication easy. It also permits us to backup data to the cloud.
  • Easily integrates with VCenter.
  • Easily Integrates with Nimble Storage.
  • Detailed reports on the status of our backups.
  • Better cleanup of VM snapshots.
  • Replication could integrate with SD-WAN or optimization technologies.
Veeam is well suited in VCenter and Hyper-V deployments. Not sure of support for KVM or things like Kubernetes. Cloud targets cover most of the big clouds like AWS and Azure. Replication reports are detailed and notify you well when there are any issues. Other vendor support is there, as Veeam has been around for a long time.
We currently support all of our workloads, but as a small company, we do not have that much. Most of our customers that we deploy Veeam to support all of their workloads as well. With support for Exchange, SQL, AD, etc. There are not many workloads that cannot be supported by the software. Multiple target locations, including cloud, are very helpful.
Read Richard Faulkner's full review
Bradley Geppert | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Veeam Backup and Replication is THE answer for your virtual backup and replication problems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Veeam in the IT department to back up all of our VMware virtual servers and virtual desktops. We also use it to replicate to our backup VMware hosts. It provides for quick, reliable daily backups and replications. Granular and full restores are quick and simple. We use it to backup Windows server and workstation operating systems plus several flavors of Linux and FreeBSD. In addition, we backup several types of SQL databases, Exchange and Active Directory. It handles all those operating systems and application platforms very well.
  • Quick incremental backups of virtual machines.
  • Quick replications of virtual machines.
  • Reliable full scheduled full backups.
  • Easy to monitor and manage.
  • It excels with virtual machines. We don't have as much success with physical servers. It works but takes more effort to get working.
  • Scheduled backup copies to USB aren't as easy to set up as I think they should be.
  • Interaction with vCenter can be buggy in some versions.
Veeam Backup and Replication is the best choice for virtual environments. It can handle smaller deployments fine as well as larger deployments. In our office we use it to back up and replicate 25 virtual instances spread amongst 3 physical hosts.

If your environment is purely physical servers, then I wouldn't recommend Veeam as the best choice. It does do well in hybrid environments though.
We protect about 25 virtual workloads in our organization. Including our client base, Veeam protects over 200 virtual and 50 physical workloads. Most of our clients have 2-5 virtual systems protected and 1-2 physical systems. We continue to push Veeam as our backup platform of choice for virtual and hybrid environments.
Read Bradley Geppert's full review
James McCullough | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

Veeam Backup and Replication for Backup and Disaster Recovery

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup and Replication is being tested and used as a partial and possibly a full replacement for Commvault and Zerto. The replication component would replace Zerto by allowing us to perform replication between our primary site and our remote secondary site. backup components would be used to lower the cost of backing up our current infrastructure.
  • Backup servers
  • Replication of virtual servers
  • Bare-metal recovery
  • Implementation of CDP for VM replication
  • Data continuity
  • Synchronization within recovery groups
Veeam would function well for general backup functionality and bare-metal restores of virtual environments. Veeam is less than appropriate in environments that require a high degree of data synchronization between servers due to the lack of continuous data protection in current versions causing timestamps that are too far apart for applications, file servers, and database servers.
20 workloads are currently backed up and/or protected by Veeam including application servers, web servers, database servers, and file servers. Windows Active directory is also protected. Servers are grouped by source application and include servers that are dependencies of the application allowing for recovery groups to test and recover entire suites.
Read James McCullough's full review
Dmitry Malafeev | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Veeam Backup brings you up to the Clouds

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup has been in use for APAC for few years. It is mostly used by our IT department to do backup at remote offices in Australia. Since we implemented Veeam Backup it has greatly improved our backup strategy and reliability of backup copies. The software provides backup, restore and replication functionality for our VMware and Hyper-V hosts.
  • Backup and recovery VMs.
  • Reach backup management and retention plans.
  • Replication of backups, automatic check up and test restore.
  • Interface a little bit slow on recommended build VM.
  • High license price compared with other competitors.
  • Free version doesn't support backup for free version ESXi hosts.
It is good backup platform for virtual environment. In most cases it works well and provides fast and reliable backup and restore for our VMs.
It has many more features which we don't use, like cloud integration, etc. I think Veeam may not suit for old school, on premises, non-virtual environments with deeply customized applications.
We protected our virtual workloads on multiple hosts. The number of hosts will slightly decrease due to moving to the cloud and using Azure style backup. We are going to use only backups on-Cloud in future to reduce costs and complexity of management of our infrastructure.
Read Dmitry Malafeev's full review
jesse nanes | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Veeam

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Veeam for local backups of file folder and images in situations where customers cannot afford my primary solution. Veeam provides lots of functionality at a good price.
  • Image backup.
  • File folder backup.
  • VM replication.
  • Cloud backup.
Veeam is well suited for customers with large datasets. I do not have much experience using it in a cloud setting but it is great for local backups of OS images, file folder, or VM replication.
We backup a total of 25 virtual and physical workloads. It is about what we anticipated.
Read jesse nanes's full review
Daniele Picchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2020

The best solution for small businesses.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to make backups for some virtual machines with VMware. The community version is perfect for our needs. We have 7 virtual machines and no software is so effective.
  • Easy
  • Rapid
  • Efficient
  • Multilingual translation
  • Linux installation not possible
Veeam Backup & Replication is great for small businesses that have few virtual machines to safely save. I don't recommend this version for structured companies that need more resources.
We have 7 virtual machines. Veeam Backup & Replication is the perfect solution we wanted.
Read Daniele Picchi's full review
Paul Troyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Veeam Community Edition - small business use.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition to manage backups for our small group of physical servers. It is very easy to set up and manage. I have peace of mind knowing I can bare-metal restore or restore individual files. The community edition is free, so the price is right! Eventually, we will outgrow the free edition but it will be a simple manner to upgrade, and won't require users to completely rebuild a backup solution.
  • Ease of installation
  • Ease of use
  • Great reporting
  • The free version doesn't include automatic updates.
  • It's not immediately obvious where the location tag settings are.
It works very well with both physical and virtual servers and will work with both Hyper-V and VMware if you're in a mixed environment.
We have a small server footprint, 2 domain controllers, and an application server. We also separately backup some critical accounting files.
Read Paul Troyer's full review
Matthew Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Veeam Availability Suite is the answer, no really, and I don't work for them either.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
How is Veeam Availability Suite, a backup product being used in my organization? Well, let's count the ways. It backs up. It does this very well, it doesn't require my poking, and it backs up my entire VMware platform to my backup storage device. It forms my DR plan between my two on-premises DC's with its Replication service, keeping VM files on the DR side in-sync with the prod side on an hourly basis. It lets me get the data back without fighting for hours with a painful interface.
  • Backups
  • Replications between my 2 DCs
  • It requires a Windows VM to run it, and the proxies (the machines that access the storage at the end), and it would be awesome for these to be OVA / Linux Distros / Apps of some kind rather than full Windows instances. But this is certainly not the end of the world.
Veeam Availability Suite is the best backup product I have ever used. I've been through a few now, from NTBackup built into Windows Servers (back in the dark ages) through some other small business and enterprise-level platforms (names withheld to protect the guilty). Veeam Availability Suite is the only product I have trusted to work with my backups. A backup product shouldn't consume your day fighting with randomly left-open files, it should simply take the production dataset and stick it on your backup media of choice, and Veeam Availability Suite does that admirably. Restoring is simple. It works with your hypervisor of choice, and backups are taken, and, well, it just works.
Read Matthew Davis's full review
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Veeam: The best/easiest backup software I've used.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam in half of our company (SCADA). We use Veeam to backup critical servers VM and folders/files on certain standalone servers. Due to budget constrains I tried using the community edition that works great. We used another backup solution on the Business side of the company called Rubrik. Veeam is better in all aspects. No support required from Veeam. Easy to use compared to Rubrik. Any time we have an issue with Rubrik support has to log in as we don't have full access to the Brik/OS.
  • Backup of VM.
  • Easy configuration without reading the manuals.
  • I would only say cost. I did get a quote for the paid version. The physical hardware and license were too costly.
  • I can't see a job running on a Windows 10 machine with the agent installed from the admin console. Only if it was successful or failed.
Day to Day backup: if you want a backup solution (community edition) installed fast with minimal reading of manuals. I don't see many scenarios where I wouldn't recommend the product unless you have a limited budget. With the licensing and hardware cost it gets very expensive. Our cost was low as I had a file server with a lot of free disk space that wasn't being used. Since I'm using the community edition, I believe I'm limited to a number of servers I can backup which is fine as it's free.
I have 5 VMs and 3 physical servers. I would backup more but I don't have space/bandwidth in the other locations. I can only backup the main office. If I had physical servers/disk at each site it would be in the 50-55 VM and 25 physical servers/workstations.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
Cameron Mottus | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition: Easy to use and easy on your wallet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used to back up our company's VMware ESXi host. It is currently backing up eight servers. The business problems it solves are:
  • Simple backup job creation and management.
  • Backup of the virtual environment.
  • Backup to NAS.
  • Backup a heterogeneous Windows/Linux ecosystem.
Veeam Backup & Replication backs up the entire server environment nightly.
  • As a former Backup Exec consultant, I love Veeam Backup & Replication's simplicity.
  • The status of backup jobs is easy to find.
  • I have not run into any areas requiring improvement.
Aside from ease of use, I chose Veeam Backup & Replication because it is free. The result is a significant cost saving which I have used to reinvest into my business. From the research that I had done, there were no other backup solutions for an SMB that could match the value of Veeam Backup & Replication.
We are currently backing up six servers on a VMware ESXi host. The servers protected:
  • 2 x Windows servers
  • 4 x Linux
This is about what we expected when we acquired Veeam Backup & Replication. Where we may increase the number of servers quite quickly is in dev servers. New servers can easily be included or excluded from backup jobs as required. The Community Edition can protect up to 10 servers for free. For now, we are going to stay under the 10 server threshold. However, as we grow, we will purchase the full version.
Read Cameron Mottus's full review
Frank Rossetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication is fantastic!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication for the school districts we serve. We provide them with a means to write their backup copy jobs to a repository that we host at our facilities, thus giving them an off-site disaster recovery solution in the event of an on-prem backup failure.
  • Ease of use.
  • Fast, reliable backups.
  • Backup copy job sync schedule.
Veeam is a must-have for backing up any type of virtual server environment. It works very well with VMWare or Microsoft HyperV technologies and has the ability to write to many different types of storage devices.
Over 900 physical and virtual servers are being protected by Veeam B&R.
Read Frank Rossetti's full review
Rafik MERAH | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used by the IT Department. It's used to back up the company's virtual environment. The solution helped in fast and instant recovrey of the production env(ERP) in cases of system issues. Veeam Backup & Replication helped to resolve a problem with our exchange server where other solutions could not make a backup, so using Veeam allowed us to make a full backup and truncus log files.
  • High compression when making backups
  • Very fast instant VM recovery
  • Low bandwidth consumption
  • Interface is very well designed
  • Convert physical server to VM
Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited for a virtual enviromment with application aware technology like in cases when backing up a VM with SQL server application. We either can restore the entire VM or specific objects related to SQL.
Veeam Backup & Replication is very appropriate for buisnisses with high network bandwith use. We used it in such a situation and the speed of backup & restore was really improved.
Currently, we are protecting 6 Hyper-V VMs, where 5 of them are in a cluster and one physical server. This is just a few servers of our infra and we anticipate adding more servers, cloud sites, and other resources that will be used to ensure disaster recovery.
Read Rafik MERAH's full review
Eduardo Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Good tools

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have some projects that required replicate virtual server between public clouds with on-premises services.
  • Backup with other clouds.
  • Replicate virtual environment.
  • Restore granularity.
  • Integrate with Oracle VM.
  • Certify with HANA database.
Disaster recovery plans. And backup in public clouds like AWS, Azure.
Around 150 virtual servers with VMware and 30 TB using AWS Cloud Services.
Read Eduardo Garcia's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (140)
8.6
Live recovery (150)
8.7
Recovery verification (152)
8.7
Business application protection (139)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (163)
8.9
Incremental backup identification (169)
8.9
Backup to the cloud (105)
8.2
Deduplication and file compression (157)
8.6
Snapshots (146)
8.9
Flexible deployment (135)
8.7
Management dashboard (23)
8.4
Platform support (139)
8.7
Retention options (141)
8.8
Encryption (120)
8.7

About Veeam Backup & Replication

Veeam Backup & Replication is a complete backup and disaster recovery solution that is hardware and cloud agnostic. It aims to help businesses achieve comprehensive data protection for ALL workloads — including virtual, physical and cloud-based workloads. With a single console, the vendor aims to help users achieve fast, flexible and reliable backup, recovery and replication of all applications and data.

Backup capabilities
  • Fast, reliable application-aware, image-based backups
  • Unlimited capacity and cost savings for long-term data retention on object storage with new Veeam Cloud Tier
  • Enterprise application support for NEW Veeam Plug-ins for SAP HANA and Oracle RMAN

Replication capabilities
  • Advanced replication and failover for Disaster Recovery
  • Built-in WAN Acceleration to get backups and replicas off site fast
  • Fully-integrated, cloud-based DR replication and fast, secure cloud backup with Veeam Cloud Connect through a service provider

Recovery capabilities
  • Recover individual files easily with Instant VM and File-level Recovery
  • Easy portability and recovery to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with NEW Veeam Cloud Mobility
  • Fast, item-level and application recovery for Microsoft Exchange, SharePoint, Active Directory, and SQL Server and Oracle

Veeam Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Veeam Backup & Replication Screenshots

Veeam Backup & Replication Video

Join Veeam SE for an in-depth technical deep dive into the architecture and engineering of Veeam Backup & Replication. Learn how to protect your virtual workloads with Veeam Availability Suite by diving into the deployment and technical details of components that allow Veeam Backup & Replication to meet recovery service level objectives of less than 15 minutes for ALL applications and data. Find answers to burning questions around how it works.

Veeam Backup & Replication Downloadables

Veeam Backup & Replication Integrations

Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, SAP HANA, NetApp FAS series, Pure Storage FlashArray, Cisco HyperFlex, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Active Directory, Oracle, NetApp FlexArray (V-Series), NetApp Data ONTAP Edg, IBM N-series, HPE 3PAR, HPE StoreVirtual, Nimble Storage AFA, Nimble Storage CSS, Dell EMC

Veeam Backup & Replication Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery, Veritas Backup Exec and NetBackup, Rubrik Cloud Data Management, Cohesity DataProtect, Dell EMC

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance. https://www.veeam.com/salesinc.html

Veeam Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Veeam Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Veeam Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, BSD, OES, Solaris
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English