Veeam Backup & Replication Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
366 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 144)

Stefan Zuban | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication - Put value in your data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition in one of our departments in our local data center. Our local data center counts 3 HP ProLiant DL 380 GEN10 servers and a 48 TB SAN supporting corporate applications running on Windows servers and Linux servers on top of VMware vSphere 6.7 U3 Hypervisor. More than 30 VMs are available for users. The infrastructure is protected with a specific backup policy in place.
  • Very good user interface.
  • Compatible with Microsoft Hyper-V and VMware vSphere virtualization infrastructure.
  • Optimized backup size.
  • Backup scheduling features.
  • Compatibility with Citrix XenServer Hypervisor infrastructure.
  • Allow adding low cost storage e.g. a regular NAS to the storage infrastructure.
  • Improve reporting and allow better online error or warning description, avoiding intermediate reporting through a browser.
Should you have a virtualization infrastructure based on Microsoft Hyper-V or VMware vSphere, should you host several virtual machines some in production, some in acceptance, should you have a business model where you do regular upgrades and deploy new releases or just want to have a backup capability in case of business critical application requiring disaster recovery capabilities, should you keep backup footprint as small as possible, care for a community edition for smaller businesses and full edition for more corporate environment, this tool is for you.
Read Stefan Zuban's full review
Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

A Backup Solution That Has All the Bells and Whistles with an Easy-to-Use Interface

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is not being used currently in the business, but clients use it for their VM backups. It offers a very robust and easy to use solution for reliable backups. Some clients use it for backing up physical servers as well. It is very quick with the right hardware and environment. There aren't any recurring issues, so it just works, which is one of the best things you can ask of a backup solution.
  • It offers various backup types. If the infrastructure can handle the forever incremental or reverse incremental options, these are very efficient on space usage.
  • The interface is easy to use. There are a lot of options within the software, but it's never felt overwhelming to figure out and adjust job settings.
  • Restores are simple and offer great options. Even full VM restores are easy to do. File-level restores offer multiple ways to restore files, such as to a different location, or the same, then making copies of any collision files.
  • On occasion, the error feedback is not as useful as we'd like. However, the forums, KB articles, and support are always helpful.
  • No other negatives come to mind at the moment. The software really does work well and there have not been many headaches using. Most of the headaches are when storage runs out of space, but that's not the fault of the software.
Veeam is a great solution for small businesses and larger. The licensing costs are more than other options, so some small businesses might find it hard to justify. While cheaper alternatives can work, you get what you pay for. We've used other solutions, and some of them are just terrible in comparison. The biggest issue is an inferior interface followed closely by the lack of key features that Veeam supports.
Read Adam Friedli's full review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Veeam Backup has never let us down

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently working for a company where we utilize Veeam Backup and replication to back up two to three hundred virtual machines. We also take advantage of backing up a number of physical systems. We use the backup software to solve the issue of a potential disasters or simply when a user makes a mistake with a single file.
  • Runs reliably - rarely do we see failures
  • has great reporting capability
  • Is easy to set up and maintain
  • Add the ability to choose the network for the destination VM location
  • The "Delete source VM" option should be DISABLED by default, not enabled
  • There are not that many cons to the product it really does work great.
Many times we have used the tool to restore systems, both partial and full restores to solve issues that users have put us into. As not as the backup ran successfully, which it does 99.9% of the time, we have been able to make a successful restore of the system. It has not let us down.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
James McCullough | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

Veeam Backup and Replication for Backup and Disaster Recovery

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup and Replication is being tested and used as a partial and possibly a full replacement for Commvault and Zerto. The replication component would replace Zerto by allowing us to perform replication between our primary site and our remote secondary site. backup components would be used to lower the cost of backing up our current infrastructure.
  • Backup servers
  • Replication of virtual servers
  • Bare-metal recovery
  • Implementation of CDP for VM replication
  • Data continuity
  • Synchronization within recovery groups
Veeam would function well for general backup functionality and bare-metal restores of virtual environments. Veeam is less than appropriate in environments that require a high degree of data synchronization between servers due to the lack of continuous data protection in current versions causing timestamps that are too far apart for applications, file servers, and database servers.
Read James McCullough's full review
Dmitry Malafeev | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Veeam Backup brings you up to the Clouds

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup has been in use for APAC for few years. It is mostly used by our IT department to do backup at remote offices in Australia. Since we implemented Veeam Backup it has greatly improved our backup strategy and reliability of backup copies. The software provides backup, restore and replication functionality for our VMware and Hyper-V hosts.
  • Backup and recovery VMs.
  • Reach backup management and retention plans.
  • Replication of backups, automatic check up and test restore.
  • Interface a little bit slow on recommended build VM.
  • High license price compared with other competitors.
  • Free version doesn't support backup for free version ESXi hosts.
It is good backup platform for virtual environment. In most cases it works well and provides fast and reliable backup and restore for our VMs.
It has many more features which we don't use, like cloud integration, etc. I think Veeam may not suit for old school, on premises, non-virtual environments with deeply customized applications.
Read Dmitry Malafeev's full review
jesse nanes | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Veeam

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Veeam for local backups of file folder and images in situations where customers cannot afford my primary solution. Veeam provides lots of functionality at a good price.
  • Image backup.
  • File folder backup.
  • VM replication.
  • Cloud backup.
Veeam is well suited for customers with large datasets. I do not have much experience using it in a cloud setting but it is great for local backups of OS images, file folder, or VM replication.
Read jesse nanes's full review
Daniele Picchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2020

The best solution for small businesses.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication to make backups for some virtual machines with VMware. The community version is perfect for our needs. We have 7 virtual machines and no software is so effective.
  • Easy
  • Rapid
  • Efficient
  • Multilingual translation
  • Linux installation not possible
Veeam Backup & Replication is great for small businesses that have few virtual machines to safely save. I don't recommend this version for structured companies that need more resources.
Read Daniele Picchi's full review
Martin Tillbrook | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Complete backup and DR solution for VMWare

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Veeam Backup & replication to protect two separate, medium-sized VMWare environments. Each environment has in the region of 200 VM's protected. We found Veeam to be efficient and generally straightforward for both taking and managing backups and bring us into compliance for disaster recovery policies in place in the business.
  • Protecting (backing up) all our server infrastructures.
  • Ease of recovery of data. Especially for user data, it is quick and efficient to recover data when needed.
  • Compliance with DR plans.
  • Errors are often difficult to diagnose with complex error messages that don't mean much.
  • Software updates often cause other issues with storage hardware which then require firmware updates.
  • Reporting could be better. We currently use a 3rd party tool to report as the built-in reporting doesn't seem to be too good.
In our use case, two backup VMWare infrastructures, it is very good, if not a little expensive. Generally speaking, it is low maintenance and trouble-free and provides an industry-standard to protect our VMs. We use a variety of different storage mediums including SAN, NAS, and Tapes, and it is quite happy interfacing with all of the above. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again in any new environments.
Read Martin Tillbrook's full review
Michael Davey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

A Review of Veeam from a User and Provider's Perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Veeam is being used to backup our virtual systems to a local NAS and a Veeam Cloud Connect repository. In addition, the Veeam Availability Console is used to monitor, administer and manage our customer backup environments. Veeam itself addresses the issue of finding a reliable and consistent bakcup solution for our environment which we in turn recommend to all of our customers.
  • Backup transparency - unlike other vendors, Veeam's solution tells you exactly what is being backed up and where it's going to before then packing it into a single concise backup file.
  • Varied job run options - there is a large variety of customisation in how you can set your backups, backup copies and replications to run. This can be adjusted to suit any business of any size.
  • UI & Reporting - the notifications and in depth reporting available is fantastic and provide you with a huge wealth of knowledge straight out of the box. The UI is also made really easy to navigate and is bursting with information throughout.
  • It would be great to have better replication seeding so that replication jobs and backup jobs using the same VM could work concurrently. This feature is available but I have found it a little bit unreliable in past experiences.
  • It would be great to be able to see more information about a backup repository in the infrastructure tab such as disk quantities, raid versions and serial numbers.
  • Currently backup scheduling on copy jobs can be a little unclear to people without a reference model. A more guided wizard on creation of these jobs or more granular scheduling options could help less familiar users to navigate this portion of the console.
I cannot recommend Veeam enough. In place of backup exec, we have seen a customers job success ratios rise from 60% to over 90% in a week. It is so much more reliable and clearly a better suited product to the workload.

I have yet to deploy Veeam into an environment and it not be appropriate.
Read Michael Davey's full review
Bradley Geppert | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Veeam Backup and Replication is THE answer for your virtual backup and replication problems

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Veeam in the IT department to back up all of our VMware virtual servers and virtual desktops. We also use it to replicate to our backup VMware hosts. It provides for quick, reliable daily backups and replications. Granular and full restores are quick and simple. We use it to backup Windows server and workstation operating systems plus several flavors of Linux and FreeBSD. In addition, we backup several types of SQL databases, Exchange and Active Directory. It handles all those operating systems and application platforms very well.
  • Quick incremental backups of virtual machines.
  • Quick replications of virtual machines.
  • Reliable full scheduled full backups.
  • Easy to monitor and manage.
  • It excels with virtual machines. We don't have as much success with physical servers. It works but takes more effort to get working.
  • Scheduled backup copies to USB aren't as easy to set up as I think they should be.
  • Interaction with vCenter can be buggy in some versions.
Veeam Backup and Replication is the best choice for virtual environments. It can handle smaller deployments fine as well as larger deployments. In our office we use it to back up and replicate 25 virtual instances spread amongst 3 physical hosts.

If your environment is purely physical servers, then I wouldn't recommend Veeam as the best choice. It does do well in hybrid environments though.
Read Bradley Geppert's full review
Paul Troyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Veeam Community Edition - small business use.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition to manage backups for our small group of physical servers. It is very easy to set up and manage. I have peace of mind knowing I can bare-metal restore or restore individual files. The community edition is free, so the price is right! Eventually, we will outgrow the free edition but it will be a simple manner to upgrade, and won't require users to completely rebuild a backup solution.
  • Ease of installation
  • Ease of use
  • Great reporting
  • The free version doesn't include automatic updates.
  • It's not immediately obvious where the location tag settings are.
It works very well with both physical and virtual servers and will work with both Hyper-V and VMware if you're in a mixed environment.
Read Paul Troyer's full review
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Veeam: The best/easiest backup software I've used.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam in half of our company (SCADA). We use Veeam to backup critical servers VM and folders/files on certain standalone servers. Due to budget constrains I tried using the community edition that works great. We used another backup solution on the Business side of the company called Rubrik. Veeam is better in all aspects. No support required from Veeam. Easy to use compared to Rubrik. Any time we have an issue with Rubrik support has to log in as we don't have full access to the Brik/OS.
  • Backup of VM.
  • Easy configuration without reading the manuals.
  • I would only say cost. I did get a quote for the paid version. The physical hardware and license were too costly.
  • I can't see a job running on a Windows 10 machine with the agent installed from the admin console. Only if it was successful or failed.
Day to Day backup: if you want a backup solution (community edition) installed fast with minimal reading of manuals. I don't see many scenarios where I wouldn't recommend the product unless you have a limited budget. With the licensing and hardware cost it gets very expensive. Our cost was low as I had a file server with a lot of free disk space that wasn't being used. Since I'm using the community edition, I believe I'm limited to a number of servers I can backup which is fine as it's free.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
Cameron Mottus | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition: Easy to use and easy on your wallet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam Backup & Replication is being used to back up our company's VMware ESXi host. It is currently backing up eight servers. The business problems it solves are:
  • Simple backup job creation and management.
  • Backup of the virtual environment.
  • Backup to NAS.
  • Backup a heterogeneous Windows/Linux ecosystem.
Veeam Backup & Replication backs up the entire server environment nightly.
  • As a former Backup Exec consultant, I love Veeam Backup & Replication's simplicity.
  • The status of backup jobs is easy to find.
  • I have not run into any areas requiring improvement.
Aside from ease of use, I chose Veeam Backup & Replication because it is free. The result is a significant cost saving which I have used to reinvest into my business. From the research that I had done, there were no other backup solutions for an SMB that could match the value of Veeam Backup & Replication.
Read Cameron Mottus's full review
Frank Rossetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Veeam Backup & Replication is fantastic!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication for the school districts we serve. We provide them with a means to write their backup copy jobs to a repository that we host at our facilities, thus giving them an off-site disaster recovery solution in the event of an on-prem backup failure.
  • Ease of use.
  • Fast, reliable backups.
  • Backup copy job sync schedule.
Veeam is a must-have for backing up any type of virtual server environment. It works very well with VMWare or Microsoft HyperV technologies and has the ability to write to many different types of storage devices.
Read Frank Rossetti's full review
Joe Spradlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Great for virtual environments

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Veeam Backup & Replication to provide weekly full and daily backups of our corporate VMware environment. Veeam Backup & Replication is used across our entire organization. Veeam Backup & Replication addresses all of our backup and replication needs as well as provide an easy to use recovery option in the unfortunate case of a VM failure.
  • Veeam Backup & Replication connects to cloud providers for replication very seamlessly and makes for a more stout DR posture.
  • Veeam Backup & Replication provides a very intuitive interface that makes getting up and running one less headache in the IT world.
  • Nothing I can think of at this time.
I have not used Veeam Backup & Replication in any other environment other than my own VMware environment. For our purposes, Veeam Backup & Replication is very well suited for our needs and has saved us a few times from a few unfortunate events. I feel strongly that Veeam Backup & Replication is extremely well suited for any VM environment that you have. If you want to have simplicity, performance, and reliability all rolled into one neat package, Veeam Backup & Replication is for you. I can honestly report that while I have been using it for 7+ years, I still have the console open as I type this review as I am trying hard to find something I don't like, but with no success.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Pradeep Kabbur | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Veeam: best suited for small and medium environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup & Replication across our environment, which includes virtual servers and physical servers. We were spending more on the backup tools and storage, Veeam has reduced that burden as our environments are small or medium businesses.
  • Scaling up and scaling out in Veeam is very easy when you have an enterprise plus license.
  • Very good at virtual environment backup as it processes only block level data.
  • Very easy to migrate data from one environment to another.
  • Backup data is not dependent on Veeam Server (Backup server) like other products.
  • If you have backed up data files and catalog files in the media or storage then you can restore data from importing in any Veeam environment.
  • Easy setup and management.
  • They have a lot to improve in the reporting part as reporting came with Veeam once it does not come with Veeam Backup & Replication.
  • Backup copy job concept has GFS copy data but there are limitations to scheduling as there is no room for flexible schedules. We have to go with what is available.
  • Veeam cloud connect is a little complex to set up and expensive and has a lot of limitations.
  • Direct offsite to Cloud object storage is not supported.
This tool is best suited for small and medium environments. Server performed well in our use cases
It is not suited for enterprise level or a large environment as managing becomes fuzzy.
Read Pradeep Kabbur's full review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Veeam Backup Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is being used as a data centre backup tool. It backups most of our systems running on VMware, for example, MS Exchange, AD, financial systems, service desk systems, etc. We use the incremental injection feature which ensures the last back is the latest backup version.
  • Backup of VMware VMs.
  • Forever forward incremental backup.
  • Veeam upgrade had some software issues and had to reinstall.
It is well suited for any business that runs on a virtualization platform such as Hyper-V or VMware. The maintenance and support are minimal as the software can run automatically and notify you of any issues should they occur.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Nasir Khan ناصر خان | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Recovery at a glance!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We integrated Veeam Backup & Replication with EMC VNX 5400 and HP P4300 G2 storage. We used it across the whole organization. It will resolve a lot of issues, like item level recovery of Active Directory, Exchange, and Database. It was help us to make off-site backups in other geographical locations in Saudi Arabia.
  • Its item level recovery is superb and easy to use for all admins.
  • Its WAN Acceleration feature will help admins to take off-site backups with maximum throughput.
  • Its error logs are very pathetic and need to be simpler to understand by young/junior administrators.
  • Reporting needs more improvement, and we need to use 3rd-party software for effective reporting.
In my point of view, Veeam Backup & Replication is well suited for active DR solution with EMC Data Domain on both locations by using its encryption feature to transmit data in secure ways.
In the scenario of taking backup on cloud, Veeam Backup & Replication is less appropriate, so I would suggest to use its deduplication and file compression feature to resolve this issue.
Read Nasir Khan ناصر خان's full review
Muhammad Ahmad Raza | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Veeam the Best backup buddy.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup & Replication as primary
backup tool for all critical physical and virtual servers. It is used by our IT
department. It helps us protect us from corrupt datacenter servers. Although we are safe from any disaster, we keep restoring backups in test environments. We are very satisfied with Veeam Backup & Replication.
  • Bare Metal Recovery
  • Application-aware backups
  • Best support ever experienced from any vendor
  • Recover physical server backup as VM
  • Backup & recovery for Database & Active Directory Servers need to be improved
  • Perpetual licenses for physical servers required
  • License policy must be more clear and understandable
Best for virtual environments; good for a physical server. We are using Veeam Backup & Replication in an environment for both physical and virtual servers. We did face some issues in Active directory restoration, but Veeam
support rocks. They helped us resolve the issue with extensive support. Veeam Backup is suited for both physical and virtual environments.
Read Muhammad Ahmad Raza's full review
Luis Enrique Gonzales Arellano | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

The mighty Veeam Backup comes to rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Veam Backup Replication Community Edition across the whole group of clinics that make up San Pablo Group. It's helping us to have a reliable, fast and easy to use and manage backup solution. Some of the clinics had no backup solution and others had solutions that were not giving us the results we expected.
  • Backup and restore speed.
  • Lot's of technical information.
  • Trustworthy backups.
  • And excellent start to start designing a DRP strategy.
  • Granular restoring
  • Reports
  • Mutisite integration
Well suited: And organization with critical assets to be protected, any industry, any size. I think Veeam Backup is so versatile that it can suite almost any type of organization, that's why I won't mention any particular scenario. You can download, install, configure and have backups running in less than an hour.
Read Luis Enrique Gonzales Arellano's full review
Chris Day | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Why you should get Veeam and ditch the competition.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used to back up our VMware infrastructure which includes our production VMs.
  • Ease of use
  • Single pane of glass for backups
  • When success emails get sent it would be nice to know what backup was successful. Was it full or incremental, for example?
I feel like it really shines on the virtualization side. If you don't have a virtual environment I feel like the implementation may be a little different.
Read Chris Day's full review
Bart Wessels | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Backups at a low price!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product for different purposes. First of all, we use it to back up our on premise clients and our data center clients, besides that, we use it to do an off site backup to our cloudconnect instance. And as a third, we use it to back up our endpoints.
  • Simple backup of VM's.
  • Easy overview of failed and succeeded jobs.
  • Adding cloud storage for long retention.
  • Veeam agent backup requires some modifications.
  • Updates require everything to be on the same version.
If you need a simple-to-deploy backup solution than you will need to install Veeam. If you need a more scalable solution than i would recommend another product.
Read Bart Wessels's full review
David Lesičnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Excellent enterprise backup solution.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Veeam Backup & Replication in-house for our own infrastructure as well as manage it for a number of our customers.
  • Replication Failover
  • Off-site backup copy to our cloud connect infrastructure
  • VBR console manageability
  • The ability to automate backup verification. Currently to verify backup validity we have to do a file level restore and extract a file manually.
It is well suited for a range of scenarios, primarily for managing the backup and replication of the whole server environment.

It is less suited for backing up just one station. VEEAM Agent works better there instead of the whole vbr suite.
Read David Lesičnik's full review
Alinne Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

My Veeam Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Veeam Backup & Replication to do backups of servers in a virtualized environment in several clients our company has.
  • Backups of virtual machines and endpoints.
  • Choose which VHDS include or not in VM backup plans.
  • Integrate backups directly with Azure.
Veeam is suited for virtual machine backup scenarios, disaster recovery strategies and much more. Veeam is not appropriate if you need to back up your files directly to Azure.
Read Alinne Silva's full review
Philip Goldwasser | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Veeam has saved our backups!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Veeam Backup & Replication to backup 6 virtual servers for the entire company. We had an issue where our backup software was just failing and taking much too long to complete. Also, the backup software was creating snapshots in VMware without removing them when finished and that caused major issues.
  • Very fast backups.
  • Allows for single file restoration.
  • Very easy to set-up and configure.
  • There are some times it is hard to figure out a specific feature.
  • Working with physical servers is difficult.
Veeam is well-suited for any company looking to have good backups of their virtual environment. If you do not have virtual servers, Veeam is not the best product for you.
Read Philip Goldwasser's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (120)
8.6
Live recovery (124)
8.7
Recovery verification (126)
8.8
Business application protection (119)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (137)
8.8
Incremental backup identification (141)
9.0
Backup to the cloud (88)
8.2
Deduplication and file compression (131)
8.6
Snapshots (119)
8.8
Flexible deployment (115)
8.7
Management dashboard (17)
8.8
Platform support (115)
8.6
Retention options (120)
8.9
Encryption (102)
8.7

About Veeam Backup & Replication

Veeam Backup & Replication is a complete backup and disaster recovery solution that is hardware and cloud agnostic. It aims to help businesses achieve comprehensive data protection for ALL workloads — including virtual, physical and cloud-based workloads. With a single console, the vendor aims to help users achieve fast, flexible and reliable backup, recovery and replication of all applications and data.

Backup capabilities
  • Fast, reliable application-aware, image-based backups
  • Unlimited capacity and cost savings for long-term data retention on object storage with new Veeam Cloud Tier
  • Enterprise application support for NEW Veeam Plug-ins for SAP HANA and Oracle RMAN

Replication capabilities
  • Advanced replication and failover for Disaster Recovery
  • Built-in WAN Acceleration to get backups and replicas off site fast
  • Fully-integrated, cloud-based DR replication and fast, secure cloud backup with Veeam Cloud Connect through a service provider

Recovery capabilities
  • Recover individual files easily with Instant VM and File-level Recovery
  • Easy portability and recovery to AWS, Azure and Azure Stack with NEW Veeam Cloud Mobility
  • Fast, item-level and application recovery for Microsoft Exchange, SharePoint, Active Directory, and SQL Server and Oracle

Veeam Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

Veeam Backup & Replication Screenshots

Veeam Backup & Replication Video

Join Veeam SE for an in-depth technical deep dive into the architecture and engineering of Veeam Backup & Replication. Learn how to protect your virtual workloads with Veeam Availability Suite by diving into the deployment and technical details of components that allow Veeam Backup & Replication to meet recovery service level objectives of less than 15 minutes for ALL applications and data. Find answers to burning questions around how it works.

Veeam Backup & Replication Downloadables

Veeam Backup & Replication Integrations

Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, SAP HANA, NetApp FAS series, Pure Storage FlashArray, Cisco HyperFlex, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Active Directory, Oracle, NetApp FlexArray (V-Series), NetApp Data ONTAP Edg, IBM N-series, HPE 3PAR, HPE StoreVirtual, Nimble Storage AFA, Nimble Storage CSS, Dell EMC

Veeam Backup & Replication Competitors

Acronis Cyber Backup, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery, Veritas Backup Exec and NetBackup, Rubrik Cloud Data Management, Cohesity DataProtect, Dell EMC

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Veeam sells through channel partners. Contact your partner for detailed pricing and quotes. If you do not have a partner, you can find a reseller or contact sales for assistance. https://www.veeam.com/salesinc.html

Veeam Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Veeam Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Veeam Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, BSD, OES, Solaris
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English