TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/rc/k2/T0KOTVB9XTN5.PNGVembu BDR is a great find!We switched to Vembu BDR Suite to replace an aging Tape Backup system to perform on-site backups of all of our VM Hosts and VMs. It has greatly improved the speed of recovery, and the time it takes to perform a backup is significantly faster than our previous solution. This software has resolved our worries about moving away form Tape drives as a primary backup system.,Recovery time is very fast Can set many recovery points down to 15-minute intervals Schedule Rollups to improve storage,Easier to eliminate old storage locations,9,Decreased the Time it takes to manage backups, providing IT Staff more time to perform needed tasks.,Cost-effectiveness was the initial reason I explored Vembu, but performance kept my attention. The ability to manage backups from a web GUI on any PC and assign permission to other team members and delegate tasks has been fantastic. The performance boost has allowed us to focus on more business-driven tasks and reduced outstanding issues for our department.,We are backing up physical servers and Windows 10 desktops as well as our virtual machines. As we expand our storage, we hope to back up all of our Windows devices with Vembu and consolidate our backup strategy to one software. Vembu made this idea very easy to come to, and the software made execution a breeze.,VembuHIVE performs reasonably well, however, I do not believe it is working on the scale of other compression or Deduplication programs. I am running Deduplication on the same volume Vembu is compressing and it is cutting another 30% off the total storage size. With frequent update releases, I am confident that Vembu will continue to improve their compression implementation.,9,Veeam Backup & ReplicationVembu BDR Suite ReviewIt is used by the IT department to back up all of our server VMs. It addresses the business problems of disaster recovery and continuity.,User-friendly web UI Ease of setting up a backup VM Responsive customer service,Cryptic error messages that can be hard to troubleshoot Licensing requirements can be difficult to understand More information on what is fixed in releases would be helpful,10,For organizations that use different tools for backup and recovery, this could be the single tool for storage and backup administrators to automate and work effectively. Software cost is less than our previous solution, thus the money can be invested in other tools/software procurement.,Vembu BDR Suite is a single backup and recovery tool with all the basic features covered. I really liked the fast image backups and restoration time. Image backups can be opened without restoring and mounting as a disk. That was really a helpful feature that saves time in restoring the right back up.,We have been using it for our VMware on-premises environment and it is functioning pretty good and does its job. We do not currently license the physical bare-metal option.,We have not used this feature.,10,Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance and Acronis BackupVembu BDR Suite is awesome!We are using the BDR Suite to backup multiple customer servers and workstations, all departments. So far we have experienced only workstation failures and the backups helped us restore the users’ data when rebuilding the workstation.,More reliable than any other backup solution Amazing support from Vembu Great price,Reporting can be better, I liked StoreGrid for reporting and some of that functionality is missing in BDR360. When on backup reports graph mode, you can see the number of missed or failed backups but after clicking on the graph nothing happens. I would like to see the problem machines coming up. Missing delete options for customers.,10,Vembu helped us provide backup services to small and medium-size companies, at a very competitive price,The cost, ability to backup any sort of VM or OS, the free support and how easy it is to deploy Vembu BDR.,We are backing up many laptops (physical) and few server (virtual). The restores have always worked and helped us meet the SLAs.,I was not aware of HIVE, we are already using the encryption option for security & compliance and the compression option to save on storage.,10,NAKIVO Backup & Replication, Altaro Hyper-V Backup and Solarwinds BackupVembu BDR - flexible, reliable online backupDataMirror is a specialist online backup service provider. Vembu BDR is being used across our organisation as a stable, reliable backup solution. We are also using it as the software platform which underpins our online backup service for all of our customers. It is being used to back up a mix of server and desktop machines. It is protecting files as well as backing up bare metal system images and SQL server instances. It ensures that our clients have 24/7 data protection.,Bare metal system images. These are incredibly flexible, enabling you to do dissimilar hardware restores, local or online backups and restore to VHD Full, differential and transaction log backups for SQL server, ensuring rapid backup and restore, with maximum storage efficiency. Incremental backups for files, meaning only the changes which have been made to a file are backed up, dramatically reducing time to backup and increasing storage efficiency.,I think the platform is very comprehensive. If one possible improvement might be made, it is the process of creating a bare metal restore image/recovery cd.,10,The platform has been good value for money throughout our relationship with Vembu.,Vembu offered a great, flexible pricing model, and a highly resilient, robust backup product. The combination of these factors persuaded us to buy the product.,We use Vembu for both physical and virtual server backups. The performance has been reliable in both cases.,We haven’t used this.,10,Acronis Backup Cloud and Acronis BackupVembu BDR Suite ReviewWe use Vembu BDR Suite across our company as our server and data backup solution. Vembu BDR Suite addresses all of our disaster recovery needs.,Easy to manage backup and restore Centralized management solution Backup encryption Good versioning of files,Web based layout can be tricky Licensing portal is cumbersome Backup alerts can be obnoxious,10,Rest easy knowing data is backed up No reliance on third parties for backup No time spent troubleshooting backup scripts,We were looking for a robust disaster recovery suite with support for physical servers as well as virtual as our push moving forward was to virtualize more of our environment. The most important factor was cost of the solution versus what the solution offered. Vembu BDR Suite met and surpassed my requirements.,At the time of our search for a robust backup solution, we were also planning to begin migrating some services and servers to a virtual environment. We needed a solution that would fit not only our existing physical-based environment, but a mixed and eventually entirely virtualized environment too. Vembu BDR Suite fit this requirement.,We have benefited from the VembuHIVE file system via it's space-saving abilities as well as the added security of having our backed up data encrypted on both the BDR server and Offsite locations.,9,Veeam Backup & Replication
Unspecified
Vembu BDR Suite
29 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Vembu BDR Suite Reviews

Vembu BDR Suite
29 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 29 vetted Vembu BDR Suite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 29, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Vembu BDR is a great find!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We switched to Vembu BDR Suite to replace an aging Tape Backup system to perform on-site backups of all of our VM Hosts and VMs.
It has greatly improved the speed of recovery, and the time it takes to perform a backup is significantly faster than our previous solution.
This software has resolved our worries about moving away form Tape drives as a primary backup system.
  • Recovery time is very fast
  • Can set many recovery points down to 15-minute intervals
  • Schedule Rollups to improve storage
  • Easier to eliminate old storage locations
Very good at immediate VM recovery when compared to recovering from an image. File-level recovery is available as well or you can mount the backup as a directory.

The backup repositories could be named more appropriately, currently, they are numbers. I'd like to be able to browse right to them in the file system rather than navigate the Vembu software every time for a single file.
Read Jesse Brandt's full review
September 13, 2018

"Vembu BDR Suite Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the IT department to back up all of our server VMs. It addresses the business problems of disaster recovery and continuity.
  • User-friendly web UI
  • Ease of setting up a backup VM
  • Responsive customer service
  • Cryptic error messages that can be hard to troubleshoot
  • Licensing requirements can be difficult to understand
  • More information on what is fixed in releases would be helpful
Well-suited:
The Vembu BDR suite solution is simple and robust and is fairly easy to install and administer backups for a VMWare environment.
Dislike:
An earlier backup product had features to keep a backup on local disk but this feature is missing in the Vembu BDR Suite.
Read Jesse Furr's full review
August 28, 2018

User Review: "Vembu BDR Suite is awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using the BDR Suite to backup multiple customer servers and workstations, all departments. So far we have experienced only workstation failures and the backups helped us restore the users’ data when rebuilding the workstation.
  • More reliable than any other backup solution
  • Amazing support from Vembu
  • Great price
  • Reporting can be better, I liked StoreGrid for reporting and some of that functionality is missing in BDR360.
  • When on backup reports graph mode, you can see the number of missed or failed backups but after clicking on the graph nothing happens. I would like to see the problem machines coming up.
  • Missing delete options for customers.
Backing up workstation is free.
Vembu support is amazing.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
April 24, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Vembu BDR - flexible, reliable online backup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
DataMirror is a specialist online backup service provider. Vembu BDR is being used across our organisation as a stable, reliable backup solution. We are also using it as the software platform which underpins our online backup service for all of our customers. It is being used to back up a mix of server and desktop machines. It is protecting files as well as backing up bare metal system images and SQL server instances. It ensures that our clients have 24/7 data protection.
  • Bare metal system images. These are incredibly flexible, enabling you to do dissimilar hardware restores, local or online backups and restore to VHD
  • Full, differential and transaction log backups for SQL server, ensuring rapid backup and restore, with maximum storage efficiency.
  • Incremental backups for files, meaning only the changes which have been made to a file are backed up, dramatically reducing time to backup and increasing storage efficiency.
  • I think the platform is very comprehensive. If one possible improvement might be made, it is the process of creating a bare metal restore image/recovery cd.
Vembu BDR is well suited to both simple and complex environments with a large or small number of systems to be backed up. If there are large numbers of machines to be backed up, it is simply possible to have a local backup server onsite and a replication server stored at a remote location.
Read Tom Evans's full review
May 15, 2018

"Vembu BDR Suite Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our company as our server and data backup solution. Vembu BDR Suite addresses all of our disaster recovery needs.
  • Easy to manage backup and restore
  • Centralized management solution
  • Backup encryption
  • Good versioning of files
  • Web based layout can be tricky
  • Licensing portal is cumbersome
  • Backup alerts can be obnoxious
Vembu BDR Suite is suited to any medium to large organization requiring reliable backups. It is well suited to organizations with offsite hosted servers for disaster recovery and replication. There aren't really any scenarios I wouldn't recommend Vembu BDR Suite for.
Read Darrian Churchill's full review
August 31, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite: "Vembu Review"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it just as a file backup application. It did not solve any problems, and instead created more.
  • None
  • The whole GUI interface needs a revamp. The reporting is terrible.
  • Push installation/adding clients to backup does not seem to effectively work.
  • I believe that there can be a lot of improvements done and they can base it out of existing backup softwares.
As per my personal experience, Vembu is effective only when the file server you're backing up is less than 500GB-- over this size, it tends to fail.
Read Vipin Thulaseedharan's full review
August 28, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Happy with Vembu’s technical remote support team."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently had to engage with Vembu’s remote support and engineering teams to assist with a complex data restoration. The support teams were professional and well informed and turned a dire situation into a successful restore. My experience with Vembu’s technical teams surpassed my expectations and I am very happy with the results.
  • Technical support
  • Support escalations
  • Engaging development and engineering teams to solve a problem.
  • I wish I was given the option of phone support at the time I entered my ticket.
The product I’m familiar with (StorGrid) is a solid solution for direct offsite backups.
Read Edward Morando's full review
April 06, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "A flash of DRaaS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are resellers as such, we support our clients. The BDR suite is used by one of our clients who specialize in healthcare services. The BDR is used across all departments of the organization. The client has 18 virtual machines being backed up to our datacentre. They are in a critical line of business as such the BDR suite addresses challenges of failure in case of a disaster.
  • Configuration is easy: Requires basic knowledge to set up and manage.
  • Easy restores: It supports up to six recovery options to users hence give freedom to chose what to recover.
  • CBT tracking: Reduces time taken to backup VMS.
  • Run on other OSes like centos.
  • Full tests before rolling out any newer versions.
  • Daily merges are not well explained. Very confusing.
  • Matching data on the BDR and offsite DR. Seems to be a disconnect from what I have worked with.
Suited for businesses with heavy reliance on virtual environments.
Read Alex Oira's full review
April 10, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Automated backup solution - reduce management."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is primarily used to backup Hyper V VMs.
  • Automating backups and retentions periods.
  • Notifications of failed backups.
  • Clear dashboard to view the status of backups.
  • Improve the process of restoring a backup. It is confusing to restore a VM the initial time.
Provides added functionality for Hyper V backups over Windows Server backup function.
Read Richard Costin's full review
June 26, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Simple yet Powerful BDR Tool, Give it a try!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lesser Backup time and quick restoration. As a whole, a complete Disaster recovery package.
  • Faster Backup
  • Faster restoration
  • Storage management
  • Offsite Copy management feature
  • License check could be made offline
  • Option to choose the destination for Network Backup not available
It is very well designed and easier to start with. The UI is very simple yet powerful enough. I would recommend Vembu BDR for managing Windows and Vmware environments. There are a plethora of features available which is surprising. The option to encrypt your backups and scheduling email reports after every task(Successful/failed) is a great advantage.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Vembu so-so"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the NetworkImage, ImageBackup, and VMBackup products associated with VembuBDR to backup our main production servers and Hyper-V hosts.
  • Scheduling backups
  • Backup pruning
  • Integration with Hyper-v
  • Stability. Our VMBackup product on Windows 2012 keeps crashing the Hyper-V Management Service and then failing.
  • Upgrade process. Going from 3.5 to 3.8 was paiiinful.
  • Support process. Getting support has often required many days of support personnel being continuous connected to our production server via TeamViewer.
I only know we've had issues in our usage scenario. I would recommend never upgrading the product - always remove the old and install new. The Hyper-V backup is stable on Windows 2016 but has issues on Windows 2012. We don't run it on 2012 R2.
Read Bruce Redfern's full review
March 02, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Vembu - Backups on the go"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our specific need was to have incremental backups over slow WAN links for desktops and servers. Vembu BDR was the only product that could achieve it securely, affordably and quickly. The VM Ware offering was just icing on the cake for us.
  • Incredibily efficient backups from remote sites.
  • Securely stored backups encrypted enabling multi-tenancy for us to serve our clients.
  • Reports emailed whenever any actions are taken on client data.
  • Include skipped files in reports.
It is the only product well designed for WAN use. The VMWare/HyperV could benefit from directly over the internet backup as the rest of Vembu BDR has already in place.
Read Emil Heinemann's full review
March 12, 2018

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Deploying Vembu in your environment"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vembu DBR is currently being used to back up our infrastructure against data and application/server loss. It falls into our business continuity plan.
  • The software is easy to deploy within your infrastructure and it doesn't run on top sophisticated software such as SQL which requires some knowledge to set up.
  • Restore process is also easy to do. With just a few clicks you may recover your data or VMs.
  • Back up Schedule is also easy to set up and manage and error messages are very straightforward and easy to understand.
  • Also doesn't require any SAN technology for storage your backups.
  • The reporting tools are also a pleasure to work with, you can get e-mails of detailed reports about backup jobs and schedules. The e-mail platform may be third-party e-mail such as Gmail or Yahoo, or robust as an Exchange server setup.
  • It also back up at the VM level and at the file level which makes for easy restore.
  • Also offer cloud and local backup for DRS plan or a simple backup.
  • Customer service, all their calls are encouraged to be down via chat or have them remote in and work with them. There is very little voice communication.
  • Vembu engineers also encourage customers to do tasks themselves.
  • They don't seem to take priority of service in mind. When you call stating a critical issue, you have to wait for a few minutes or hours before someone gets back to you.
Good for small business where you don't have a high SLA and enterprise level service
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2017

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "On premise easy to setup backup software"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allowed for automated scheduled backup and redundancy
  • Good compression of backups
  • Scheduled backups with retry
  • Encryption standard
  • Best practices standard
  • Error checking
  • Backup success verification
  • Online database backup
Affordable network backup for companies with own offsite. Restore should be tested and image backup recommended or bare metal.
Read Franz Josef Bautista's full review
February 08, 2016

Vembu BDR Suite Review: "Vembu"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vembu is used to backup virtual servers in our environment to an SAN appliance. It allows us to effectively capture a copy of our virtual environment, and restore it much more quickly than other backup solutions.
  • Monitoring/management
  • Granular recovery of files
  • Support for server roles
  • Support
  • Sales contact
  • Pricing
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (11)
7.6
Live recovery (11)
7.8
Recovery verification (11)
7.5
Business application protection (9)
9.1
Multiple backup destinations (7)
9.1
Incremental backup identification (14)
8.2
Backup to the cloud (7)
8.8
Deduplication and file compression (8)
7.4
Snapshots (8)
8.4
Flexible deployment (12)
7.9
Management dashboard (13)
7.8
Platform support (13)
7.7
Retention options (12)
8.2
Encryption (11)
8.4

About Vembu BDR Suite

Vembu BDR Suite is a comprehensive universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery and disaster recovery needs of diverse and heterogeneous IT environments. Through its flagship offering, Vembu can backup VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Physical Servers, Workstations, Exchange Items, SharePoint Items, SQL Items, Office365, G Suite, etc. – and they can back that up on-site, off-site, or even to the cloud – not to mention that most of this is done within a single UI. Also, Vembu offers one of the most complete free edition for SMBs as well. Post 30 days trial version, user can either opt to purchase the product or continue using the free edition. In Free edition user has two options to proceed with backup configurations : Full featured free edition for limited VMs or Limited featured Edition for unlimited VMs

Vembu BDR Suite Competitors

Vembu BDR Suite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No