Vembu BDR Suite

Vembu BDR Suite

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Vembu BDR Suite

Overview

Recent Reviews

My Vembu BDR Suite Review

6 out of 10
December 17, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup physical servers, HyperV VMs, and workstation in a combination of the full image and file backups. We …
Continue reading

VembuBDR 4.2

10 out of 10
August 18, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our organization and implement it at client sites. It addresses all of our backup and DR needs by providing …
Continue reading

Vembu BDR

9 out of 10
June 07, 2021
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup our ESXi VM's for our entire organization.
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Popular Features

View all 14 features

Retention options (44)

8.2
82%

Platform support (47)

7.9
79%

Incremental backup identification (45)

7.3
73%

Management dashboard (47)

7.1
71%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Vembu BDR Suite, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Vembu BDR Suite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Veeam Backup & Replication?

Veeam’s® premier product, Veeam Backup & Replication™, delivers availability for all cloud, virtual, Kubernetes and physical workloads. Through a management console, the software provides backup, archival, recovery and replication capabilities.

N/A
Unavailable

What is Veritas Backup Exec?

Veritas Backup Exec is a backup and disaster recovery solution. It works in virtual, physical, and multi-cloud environments and integrates with several third-party software releases and applications.

Features Scorecard

Data Center Backup

7.6
76%

Product Details

What is Vembu BDR Suite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a comprehensive universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery and disaster recovery needs of diverse and heterogeneous IT environments. Through its flagship offering, Vembu can backup VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Physical Servers, Workstations, Exchange Items, SharePoint Items, SQL Items, Office365, G Suite, etc. – and they can back that up on-site, off-site, or even to the cloud – not to mention that most of this is done within a single UI. Also, Vembu offers one of the most complete free edition for SMBs as well. Post 30 days trial version, user can either opt to purchase the product or continue using the free edition. In Free edition user has two options to proceed with backup configurations : Full featured free edition for limited VMs or Limited featured Edition for unlimited VMs

Vembu BDR Suite Competitors

Vembu BDR Suite Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Vembu BDR Suite?

Vembu BDR Suite is a universal backup solution catering to the backup, recovery, and disaster recovery needs of diverse IT environments. It is also optimized for service providers who deliver BaaS and DRaaS to their customers.

What is Vembu BDR Suite's best feature?

Reviewers rate Universal recovery highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Vembu BDR Suite?

The most common users of Vembu BDR Suite are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (82)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 50)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted an affordable but working product that could cover our daily backup and restore needs.
  • Backup of Physical Server
  • Backup of Virtual Server
  • Free Workstation or Endpoint Backup
  • License Assignment could have been better
One of our critical process has crashed and we were back in track in no time with Vembu BDR Solution.
Cost!!! Vembu BDR understands small business needs and have curated their pricing affordable.
Vembu BDR has provided us with nothing but peace of mind!
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Good for disk image backups and file backups
  • Should consider to switch to more stubborn backend database
  • New functionality (if any) should be work seamlessly
  • Need intense testing in all places
Instant recovery by saving time
  • Affordable Pricing
  • Ease of setup
  • Minimum time for initial configuration
Need improvement in each place. [Vembu BDR Suite] should be developed to work with more [stability] in larger environments.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are trying to use Vembu BDR Suite for data backup for user laptops who are traveling a lot. It seems fine.
  • It seems very good and easy to install
  • It is easy to create jobs and we can see all these jobs in central console.
  • It has good reporting facilities as well.
  • We prefer to have clear information provide in the job review
  • Job History could have be more better
  • Dashboard can be more better
For us, Vembu BDR Suite seems very good for end point backups. It also takes PST Files backup in good way.
We need to review it for endpoints and also look for VMware in Later stage
It seems a very good product now!!!
January 20, 2022

Vembu BDR Suite Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is just used for backup servers (virtual machines) running on VMware ESXi hosts.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Fast backup configuraion
  • Easy to use restore operation
  • Delete old backups
  • improve reports
In multi-vendor virtual environments. You can easily restore virtual machines (vmware) backup to hyper-v environment or vice versa.
The possibility to install Vembu BDR Suite on a Linux server was important. We don't need to buy an additional operating system server license.
I give it this rating because of its product abilities, functionality, and ease of use.
December 17, 2021

My Vembu BDR Suite Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup physical servers, HyperV VMs, and workstation in a combination of the full image and file backups. We also install and manage Vembu for a number of our clients. It is a comprehensive package but has a bit of a learning curve to understand and use. A key element is the ability to boot and image backup as a VM for disaster recovery and to add a level of ransomware recovery. Recovery of individual files is fairly simple but would like to have the facility at the client level so users could restore files from backup without IT intervention. The granular recovery of SQL data is essential and supported. Vembu offers a free version that allows potential users to become familiar with the product before opting for the paid features. During the trial period, all features are available. For many small businesses and Sole Proprietors, the Free version was sufficient but now has a limitation of 10 endpoint backups which has reduced the enthusiasm. One issue we have is that the combination of Postgresql and Vembu components can make the server fragile to run in production.
  • VM and Physical machine backup - Boot as VM for DR recovery
  • Granular restore
  • Image backup client implementation now done from the server console. Do not have to go to the client workstation to run the installation.
  • DR backup to an off-site system
  • Recovery boot tool needs to be USB. At this time it requires a CD/DVD to be created. A clean bootable USB image file should be made available for download.
  • Access to all downloads from Vembu main download page. Should not have to install Vembu to gain access to client installers.
  • File backup fails if a file is in use such as Outlook.pst file. This is problematic for users that have Outlook permanently open. Backup reports show as failed, partial. This is essential to address as we have to do full image backups at a cost to backup storage space when it is not essential.
  • As an IT integrator, we need products that offer a recurring income to build a viable revenue stream. Vembu only offers a commission on the initial purchase of a subscription. Subsequent renewals do no qualify. This factor means that we are not incentivized to really recommend Vembu when other equally good backup solutions are available with long term commission plans.
Vembu suits DR requirements but needs constant monitoring and management. Linux-based clients will find the Linux implementation more difficult. A configured Linux VM appliance for download would be preferred.
Not suited to small business without experienced IT support. A small business will often use a Win 10 workstation to run the backups as Windows server can be out of the budget. This configuration has issues with drive limitations Vembu tends to be more problematic.
The most important factors for us are disaster recovery and a guarantee that backups are recoverable. Test restores and sandboxing are essential.
Recurring margin income for IT Service providers is essential and the current Vembu model fails to address the requirement. Being able to build up an increasing recurring revenue stream allows for better support and technical skill to be available to support the product.
The restore via CD is a sticking point. Most systems no longer have optical media. Bootable USB is a must. The interface has improved with new releases. Backups are easy to set up. Reporting is good.
Most support issues have been resolved.
August 18, 2021

VembuBDR 4.2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our organization and implement it at client sites. It addresses all of our backup and DR needs by providing a consistent console, the ability to backup bare metal, VMs, all the way down to single files and database entries. It solves an issue we had before with not being able to easily backup client data directly to our data center. Vembu BDR Suite makes this really simple and efficient.
  • Seed an offsite backup. A simple checkbox to seed a large backup prior to backing it up to our datacenter. Previously with another well knows backup provider this was convoluted and time-consuming.
  • Backup Speed. Vembu BDR is fast and allows me to schedule multiple jobs within time constraints that prohibit some backup products from working.
  • DR - Vembu BDR provides an option to mirror your backups to an offsite datacenter without taxing production servers with a secondary backup job.
  • Bare Metal Recovery: the ability to create a custom bootable ISO that you can quickly recover a failed physical server or workstation.
  • Ease of use: The console is consistent and very easy to use. From initial install to being fully configured takes just a few minutes.
  • Restoring VMs. Version 4.x restores a recovered VM in a default location that cannot be modified. That's annoying, especially when you have a standard for your VM locations. I can move them afterward but that's an additional step that takes additional time. I believe this is resolved in the upcoming V5 release.
  • Depending on the backup job you are creating, you can't select the repository for that specific backup. You must make sure you set the repository you want as Default prior to setting up the job.
  • The ability to backup the same physical hard drive to multiple local storage devices should be an option and allowed.
  • Although the bare metal bootable ISO is a nice feature, it needs to be able to access the data independently instead of having to restore the data to a location first and then use the boot disk to restore the physical server or workstation. It's basically two restore jobs and if it's many TBs in size, that takes a lot of time and you need to have that extra space available for a temporary location for that first set of data to be placed. It's very rare to have to recover a physical server these days but it happens and waiting for 2 restores for one recovery increases the time needed. I have submitted a request for this feature and I believe they are working on it.
  • I must also note, I believe many if not all of the above are being addressed in Vembu BDR v5 which is due to release soon.
I've been working with nearly every backup program for more than 25 years from small shops to corporations with thousands of users. Vembu BDR [Suite] is a great product for any business, large or small. It is missing a couple of options that maybe the most popular one has but it doesn't prevent protecting your business. When budget is an issue it's by far the best option. Being able to provide it to our clients is an added bonus since that makes it so much easier to manage when everyone is using the same product. When it comes to technical support, I haven't experienced support like Vembu Support in years. They are quick to respond, happy to remotely connect if desired and seem to really understand their product well. Many others I've worked with refuse to help, and send responses that have nothing to do with my question or they simply provide a link to a document and basically tell me to read and figure it out myself. Often that document does not relate to my issue. I've always done my research before contacting support and that kind of response is one of the biggest reasons we decided to look elsewhere and after many trials and deep testing, ultimately switched to Vembu. Vembu has been rock solid, fast, and tech support has been top-notch. The biggest place I would say that VembuBDR is less appropriate is when you have the desire to backup your physical systems to multiple internal storage devices and want a secondary backup as a safety net and don’t want to risk that the backup itself is corrupt or infected and your only other option is a mirrored copy of that data. I know they are working hard on adding features and I’m excited to know version 5 is releasing soon.
Price and Tech Support were our major factors. There are a lot of backup options out there that do pretty much the same thing. Tech support is lacking terribly in most cases. Vembu BDR Suite is the exception to this. For the features you get along with great tech support, you simply can't beat the price of Vembu BDR Suite.
It's really easy and intuitive.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu is used in backing up our data in our whole organization. The need for a better compression method for our backup data was essential and we chose Vembu BDR Suite.

  • Compression is far better than competitors
  • Better RTO
  • Better prices for at least the same features and more
  • Vembu BDR Suite should use their own datacenter for cloud backup for better prices
IT basically does its job. Nothing less, nothing more. [Vembu BDR Suite] provides what it promises to do.
The need for compression and RTO are the most important topics for us. Thus, we decided to use Vembu BDR Suite.
[Vembu BDR Suite] provides what we need in our company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a 20+ year distributor for various online backup companies over the years. We now use Vembu BDR Suite as our go to solution to backup VMware, Hyper-V, Windows image, AWS, Office 365, etc for our entire client base. Vembu is very easy to setup, easy to use and easy to support. The price difference between Vembu and our competitors is dramatic.
  • VMware backup
  • Hyper-V backup
  • Office 365 backup
  • AWS backup
  • NA
Vembu's sweet spot is backing up VMware and Hyper-V. Since it is agent-less, deployment is very simple. Vembu can also image any PC/Server on the network. You need an additional PC to be able to image another PC and sometimes that isn't always available.
Costs. Vembu is hands down the most cost effective backup solution on the market.
Vembu BDR is easy to set up and easy to use.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used to make a backup plan of our main hardware server.
  • Simple interface.
  • Multiple types of scenarios: VMs, Windows and Linux.
  • Problems with incremental backups.
  • Inconsistency in the information in different parts of the software.
  • Very good price.
If you are not interested in incremental backups it works. If you do, get another option.
I used the free version for 6 months, support stopped answering as backups didn't work right. Sales were not interested in working things out, just sale.
Average usability.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

There’s a reason Vembu BDR Suite is renowned in the world of backup software. It’s capable, flexible, and rock-solid reliable. Indeed, it’s easily the most comprehensive data safety package on the planet.

Besides offering unparalleled backup functionality that’s both robust and easy to navigate, Vembu are able to backup while the worker is working, which protect against malware, ransomeware, and other threats.

  • Able to perform Real-time backup.
  • Easy to use.
  • It’s the fastest software we’ve tested so far for backing up full disks and partitions.
  • Boot media backup.
  • Continuous backup options.
  • End user can perform backup itself on the Vembu BDR Suite agent.
It’s the fastest software we’ve tested so far for backing up full disks and partitions. Its CPU usage during backup is also commendably light.
This software covers all the usual backup processes, and can easily create complex routines, including automated backup.
Home users are FREE for a single PC, which offers protection against data loss, ransomware, and hardware failure.
  • Straightforward setup!
  • Provide Full backup: a copy of all selected data.
Very stable.
June 07, 2021

Vembu BDR

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite to backup our ESXi VM's for our entire organization.
  • Integration with ESXi & Hyper-V
  • Easy to understand and easy to use interface
  • Free Edition is good for small organizations
  • Office 365 backup needs a lot of improvement. Specially integration is a bit complex. Can be made simpler.
  • Office 365 restore doesn't work. I had used it as a trial, but it never worked.
Ease of use - backup & restore
Free edition is pretty attractive for SMB's
[I] have been using Vembu for the past 10 years and I find it pretty easy to use.
Darrian Churchill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu BDR Suite across our company as our server and data backup solution. Vembu BDR Suite addresses all of our disaster recovery needs.
  • Easy to manage backup and restore
  • Centralized management solution
  • Backup encryption
  • Good versioning of files
  • Web based layout can be tricky
  • Licensing portal is cumbersome
  • Backup alerts can be obnoxious
Vembu BDR Suite is suited to any medium to large organization requiring reliable backups. It is well suited to organizations with offsite hosted servers for disaster recovery and replication. There aren't really any scenarios I wouldn't recommend Vembu BDR Suite for.
We were looking for a robust disaster recovery suite with support for physical servers as well as virtual as our push moving forward was to virtualize more of our environment. The most important factor was cost of the solution versus what the solution offered. Vembu BDR Suite met and surpassed my requirements.
Vembu is easy to configure and manage. The primary reason for not giving it a full 10 out of 10 is the odd placement of some settings withing the management portal. Overall, though, configuring and maintaining backups as well as the restoration process is fluid and easy to navigate.
Diego Alejandro Jimenez Peña | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu [BDR Suite] is being used in our organization as the main backup platform for our entire cloud computing business line, thus covering all the needs, not only backup but also replication and failover.
Additionally, we support all our channels to implement it in their own infrastructures and those of their clients.
In short with Vembu [BDR Suite] your IT staff will have one less headache to think about.
  • Hybrid local and cloud backup
  • Intuitive and easy-to-use administration console
  • Vembu Hive will allow you to use any available storage for your backups
  • Application-level backup
  • File-level backup
  • Vembu Backup for AWS
  • Vembu Backup for G Suite
  • Centralize all backup administration in your Vembu BDR console
  • Allow replication role in Hyper-v
  • Allow remote management of physical computers
Vembu [BDR Suite] adapts very well to virtual environments such as Vmware and Hyper-V, allowing you to easily manage backups and other tasks that are assigned, in addition to this it already has the integration for office 365 and G-suite which will allow integration practically complete with all the platforms most used by companies today. Although in the virtual part I have no complaints, in the physical environment there can be a lot of improvement in terms of centralized administration and management of endpoint backups.
The most important factor in acquiring Vembu [BDR Suite] is the cost-benefit ratio, as it is a tool with affordable prices and that meets the robust characteristics of an enterprise backup solution. In addition to this, there is an intuitive solution that allows for easy administration and does not require strong IT training for staff.
There are always things to improve, I consider that Vembu [BDR Suite] is an excellent tool but it can continue to evolve to be better and better.
February 02, 2021

Best for virtual servers

Eric Houston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Vembu BDR Suite to back up 12 virtual and two traditional servers. Each of these servers is critical to our business. When I came on with this company they had no sort of backup system for files on their servers. After some research, I chose Vembu BDR Suite to fill that need.
  • File backup and recovery
  • System snapshots
  • Ease of use
  • Could have a little better user interface
  • Make it easier to back up to a network location
Vembu BDR Suite seems to work best when most of your servers are virtual. The system is really easy to set up and configure multiple machines in a virtual environment. You simply sign in using the root password and all of your servers populate. While not really harder, it is simply more time consuming to set up multiple traditional servers.
The most important factors in choosing Vembu BDR Suite for our backup solution were cost and ease of use. Compared to other solutions, Vembu BDR Suite is relatively cheap. At half the price of other solutions, it was an easy choice after testing the free version.
Vembu BDR Suite is very easy to set up and can be running within minutes. The recovery process is simple and straightforward. My only problem was the not so great interface. Sometimes the interface seems clunky.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used to backup all file servers on site to a NAS as an additional backup measure. Runs automatically on schedules and notifies via email job completion and errors where applicable. All managed from a simple to use web interface. Only management required is deletion of old backups. System currently running on a Windows 10 desktop PC
  • Backup schedules
  • Easy web interface
  • Reliable
  • Historical backups not deleted automatically. Could be due to my version
[Vembu BDR Suite is] good for file backups, and looks good for VM backups although not using this feature
Used free version as a secondary backup. Looking to purchase full version
Very simple to use, just does the job I need it to
October 15, 2020

Vembu BDR Free Edition

Pantelis Verginadis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is small, so Vembu BDR was used to back up all our server infrastructure but it was also used to back up some demo infrastructure that we used for product demonstration and training. Our infrastructure was all virtual using VMware's Vsphere. The main purpose was for backup and replication to recover in case we lost complete VMs or we needed to recover data that was lost from within a VM.

My main issue with Vembu and the reason why I wouldn't recommend it is because the way it manages the backup volume is complicated and difficult to use. In my case the backup volume was on a shared drive on our storage unit and at some point due to some issues unrelated to Vembu, it lost access to the volume; once remounted we could not use that volume any more and had to create a new one thereby having to redo all the backups.

There are other solutions, equally good that don't have such complications.
  • It is generally easy and straightforward to use
  • The performance was adequate
  • Management of the backup volumes
  • GUI interface
I would only recommend Vembu BDR if there was a problem with other solutions such as Veeam Backup & Replication. On its own, it's not a bad solution but the backup volume system is not very good.
We didn't purchase Vembu BDR, we used the free version; Veeam was not available any longer as a free product which is why we used Vembu.
As mentioned before, the issues with the management of the backup volume don't allow me to really recommend this product wholeheartedly.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The product works and takes backups fairly easy
  • Simple and quick to install and configure
  • Once configured, it doesn't require much maintenance
  • Generally a simple interface
  • Although its interface is simple, a web-only interface for a backup solution isn't recommended as the main interface.
  • Using PostgreSQL as the configuration DB Source is OK. But, the lack of options for the Database isn't OK. Especially on a Windows Environment, admins prefer using a centralized MS SQL Instance, and this is not possible with Vembu.
  • More work needed on SharePoint, Active Directory, and Exchange Restores. All three are critical workloads in almost any infrastructure.
  • Reporting can be greatly improved.
From my experience, Vembu BDR is well suited for environments where a quick, simple backup solution is needed. It's fairly easy to setup and administer, and you can get up to speed quickly. If you have a complex infrastructure with various technologies and tools, say SharePoint Server, Exchange, System Center and Other Microsoft Products, you might have some issues/limitations with restores in some of these products. If you need a free backup product, Vembu offers a Free Edition as well, and its features are compelling when compared to other competitors. Also, the lack of SQL Server support as a configuration database option might be a problem for companies with certain compliance requirements.
In these difficult times, the cost is a very important factor, and an investment in any product goes through a long decision-making process. In our experience, being able to test the product first was key to decide if it fits our needs or not. After our testing phase, we found that the features we were looking for are all there and fits our business needs, the cost vs. benefit factor was the most important factor.
We are generally satisfied with Vembu. The product works well and its features are competitive. However, we believe that there is room for improvement: there are certain minor limitations in backup operations, and the reporting capabilities can be greatly improved. Additionally, dependability on a purely web interface can be difficult in certain scenarios. Overall, the product works well and will mature more in the future to include more capabilities and features.
I contacted the support once, it was fairly good, no issues experienced.
October 02, 2020

Vembu BDR 4.2.01 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Vembu BDR to backup some of our less-critical servers. It ticks all the boxes for us, in that it's easy to use, provides email notifications on the job status, is easy to install, configure, and manage, and finally, the support team (when needed) has been super-efficient to help assist and resolve the odd issue that arises.
  • Easy To Install and Manage
  • Support Team is Efficient
  • Free!
  • Regularly Updated
  • User Interface
  • Editing Existing Job Schedules
  • Better Reports
Vembu BDR Suite is best suited for any company/organization that is searching for a low-cost backup solution for their servers. We currently use it for less-critical physical servers, and it works really well. I can't comment on when/where it will be less suited, but from what I've seen, Vembu has a range of solutions for small to large corporations, so it looks as if there's a product suitable for every business, regardless of size.
I was looking for a backup solution that was ideally free or low-cost just to back up less-critical servers.
Having searched high and low on the Internet, I came across Vembu which was little-known I believe (at the time), and I thought I'd give it a try. It also had to be relatively user friendly and easy to set up and manage, which Vembu is.
Vembu is very simple to install and manage, etc. And thankfully, creating job schedules and viewing reports, etc. is also easy enough to set up. However, I do find the user interface to be a little outdated and hard to navigate, which (for me) is the biggest drawback of the software and could do with some improvement.
Colin Rosario | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu BDR is used in a wide variety of ways. We use it across the whole organization to backup physical workstations and servers, files and folders, and virtual machines. It's a centralized solution that allows us to reduce downtime for our internal organization as well as our customers.
  • Image backups of workstations and servers
  • File/folder backups
  • Virtual machine backups
  • Replication to off-site locations
  • Support could be better (occasional language barrier).
  • Troubleshooting logs are cryptic; need more natural language explanations.
  • Updating the location of the backup server for clients should be included in client UI, not via CLI commands.
Vembu BDR Suite is especially well-suited for on-site backups for physical workstations, laptops, servers, along with virtual platforms (VMware, Hyper-V), and for replicating backups for off-site disaster recovery.
The single most important decision was a solution that covered all areas of our business requirements for backup and disaster recovery, namely image, file/folder, virtual machines, replication to co-location/cloud.
Vembu is a great solution, but it still requires some fine-tuning. The user interface for Managed Service Providers could be more streamlined. Support logs need to provide clearer information about an issue whenever there's a failure. Backup agents should have the ability to automatically update when there's a new version and support should be on-shore during US business hours.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Vembu is used by some of our clients mainly for long retention backup purposes. Some also use it to back up and replicate VMware VM.
  • Reliable - few problems.
  • Good and quick support.
  • Easy to setup.
  • Too few administrative features vs Storegrid.
  • Requires too many support requests for simple tasks like storage move.
Vembu is especially good for file backup with long retention.

Price, support, easy to use.
It is a very usable product but with a lack of parameterization that could be done by the IT admin.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu free edition to backup a single virtual production server in our organisation, this gives us a good known backup of our company data each day. The data doesn't take up much space and when we have needed to use the restore feature we have always got back what we needed.
  • Nice interface.
  • Easy to use.
  • Fully automated.
  • Email notifications
  • Limited features for free use.
  • Sometimes the service stalls and needs manual intervention.
  • Indexing feature takes some time on complex folders/files.
The Vembu free suite is well suited to virtual hosts backing up a single guest on that operating system, if you require more advanced features and or more virtual server backups you might want to look at their pro version.
As we only have one single server we were looking for a very cheap solution, most tend to be expensive and back up multiple hosts which we didn't need. We found Vembu and thought this was a lite version but it fitted our needs and does exactly what we need it to do.
Vembu has a nice, easy-to-use, clean HTML interface. All of the features are easy to locate and are extremely easy to use, there are areas where the interface can be slow, such as indexing complex folder with lots of files, but give it time and it will show you what you need. With the automatic email alerts you are always kept up to date.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is used across the company to provide logical separation and single-pass backups of virtualized infrastructure.
  • Single pass backups are good.
  • Deduplication levels using the Vembu File System are good.
  • Support levels are high.
  • The web interface can be slow.
  • The management of Offsite Dr isn't great.
  • Storage utilization and management can be difficult.
BDR is well suited to small environments that want the facility to complete application aware backups swiftly and also to ship these offsite.
The most important factor is reliability. It needs to work with very little management.
Generally it works, but it is a bit no-frills at the moment as the management capability of it needs more work.
Tom Schmidt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the software to backup approx 60 workstations and laptops—all Windows 10 Pro based.
  • Both incremental and Bare Metal backups.
  • Very fast backups over network.
  • Nice email notifications.
  • Top Notch technical support, VERY fast support.
  • Quicker install and setup of workstations if you could set default values.
Very low cost per workstation compared to other products.
Flexibility and overall cost per workstation.
VERY very flexible, it does not require backup over the cloud if not needed.
I have been an IT manager for 31 years and the support is TOP NOTCH with quick responses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vembu Backup for all our shared and dedicated hosting servers across our datacenters for both on-site and off-site backup, and the restore of system code and respective databases on a weekly full and daily incremental bases.
  • Vembu Backup is an easy to configure and setup service.
  • Vembu Backup has powerful reporting functionality and alerting capability.
  • Vembu Backup benefits from a smart GUI to set up and manage backups and restores from or across systems.
  • In my opinion, there is only one area to improve Vembu Backup and that's the license manager. A good metaphor would be, you can't see the forest through the trees.
We have used Vembu Backup for years now in a multi-server cross datacenter with an off-site unattended backup flawlessly.
Vembu Backup was already configured and running when I joined the company so as it was working according to my expectations, it was an easy decision to extend the use of it.
Ease of use, implementation, and support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Testing of new product software is performed on a single VMWare Server. We use VEMBU to back up the 60+ VM's on that VMWare Server to an external Hard drive.
  • It reports test results via e-mail.
  • We can run reliable backups without bringing VSphere server down.
  • It organizes full and incremental back-ups coherently.
  • Upgrading to new versions is relatively labor-intensive.
  • VMs to be backed up sometimes fail due to a lack of ability to create a snapshot. Vembu should find a way to work around this issue.
  • Supporting external storage (cloud) could be easier to configure, use, and integrate into the back-up processes.
The stand-alone VSphere server backup is handled well. I have not attempted to implement it in a larger (multiple server) environment.
I had confidence that I could recover and backed up VM. I ran it in a test mode before purchasing it and confirmed the back-up and recovery processes.
It is reliable and relatively easy to set up. Upgrades and more complex (multiple servers or storage alternatives) were more challenging.