Xero Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
341 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 110)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 23, 2021
Alfredo Herran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the finance team. We use it for all accounting purposes for our United Kingdom company and all the international subsidiaries.
  • It's very user friendly and intuitive.
  • Does well what it's supposed to do.
  • Integrates easily with other apps.
  • Can't work with two different companies at the same time, on a different tab for example.
  • It doesn't allow to do a one off address change or contact person change in a sales invoice.
  • [I feel] it could use a cashflow function
It's very good for it's price, so very convenient for small businesses. But it's not the most practical when working with different companies at the same time.
Everything is easy and intuitive.
Read Alfredo Herran's full review
June 06, 2021
Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero for bookkeeping, accounting, payroll, and tracking cash flow in the business. It brought a lot of order and clarity in the bookkeeping and simplified the task. It actually makes accounting less daunting and provides us with key reports with just one click. It allows us to have a finger on the pulse and to see trends. We can also pay superannuation directly from Xero which makes it really simple and efficient and avoid missing deadlines. Overall, Xero removes the friction for accounting and fiance management.
  • Bookkeeping with direct feeds from bank accounts.
  • A simple and elegant user interface.
  • A variety of specific reports.
  • Makes reconciliation a breeze.
  • Lodge Activity statement.
  • Payroll management.
  • Integrates well with Stripe.
  • Superannuation contribution payments
  • Can upload receipt/scan receipts to have everything in one place for bookkeeping
  • Sometimes bank feeds disconnect for no obvious reason.
  • Could provide graphic charts in addition to number reports to make it more visual.
Well suited for a small business to maintain good quality bookkeeping and get some insights into your numbers in real-time. It facilitates the provision of Taxes and the management and reconciliation of transactions. It's simple, effective and cost-effective. It makes accounting much more enjoyable and gives you accurate numbers in real-time wich allows you to create a budget for forecasting. It also simplifies payroll and superannuation and Tax reporting.
Xero is very simple and easy to use. There is also a very good help section in case you get stuck on something. The UI is simple and clean and the features are quite intuitive. Xero adds new features from time to time which enhances the user experience. Overall it makes the accounting experience much more enjoyable.
Read Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching's full review
May 30, 2021
Laura Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero for both a practice management tool, a tax tool and to track our own transactions. We refer our clients to use Xero cloud software above MYOB or Quickbooks as we find it is way more user-friendly, secure, it has more options and it is reasonably priced.
  • Data collection: The fields and customization are very useful.
  • Small amount of down time compared to other software
  • Support: Their support team is very helpful.
  • Reporting: The system is missing a report for when new clients were set up.
  • Duplicates: We see duplicates come through XPM with file set up. I would like to see a notification function for this.
  • Some validation errors are not clear.
If you are a small business that would like to maintain your bookkeeping and accounting in one place, have access to all your financial reports, and work online from anywhere, I would recommend that Xero is well suited to your needs. If you prefer to keep physical data backups, you will not have that ability with Xero but it is saved to the cloud.
From start to end, Xero is designed for a simple user experience. It is always changing and updating subtly to keep improving which is something I do not see with other software products. The ability to use the app on your phone is also a game-changer for people on the go.
Read Laura Johnson's full review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero software for tax computation, bookkeeping, and financial reporting for our Australian clients. It can import bank statements and other related feeds in this software easily. It tracks revenue and expenses with invoices, and we also use it for payroll, accounts receivable, payable reconciliation, etc. It's the best choice for financial reporting and very user friendly.
  • Customized reports
  • Easy to use
  • Importing bank statement
  • Slowness while generating reports
  • Could not see the opening balance for no-movement balance sheet accounts in account transactions report
  • Minimal sorting and reporting options
Well suited for bookkeeping
Xero is very user friendly and easy to access. It can create customized reports and has functionalities like importing bank feed, posting manual journals, BAS and GST reporting, automating transactions to pick account codes based on description, finding and recoding options. Excellent for bookkeeping and financial reporting and tax. Needs a few improvements in areas of performance and design.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Jez John | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses Xero, and we love it! In 2008 we were using an apple mac solution called MYOB, it needed us to email 14mb data files from our bookkeeper, to me and our accountant. It got so confusing we had to build a tool to manage who had the file and allow it to be uploaded and downloaded. I found c. 6 online solutions and asked my bookkeeper to choose 1. She came back and said Xero, new to the UK would be a good fit. It is really easy to use, always up to date and is so well designed it's a pleasure to use.
  • Allowing the entire team to issue invoices as a project reaches a milestone or is singed off.
  • Amazing profit and loss reports
  • Super easy UK vat returns.
  • Possibly payroll, it was a late addition and we had already gone with another vendor.
  • They offer a project management tool called Work Flow Max and we had hoped this would be a useful addition but were underwhelmed. More of a negative for WFM than Xero though
Perfect bookkeeping and accounts package for small and medium businesses, I genuinely can't think of anyone who wouldn't find this valuable. It's so easy to use it hurts and decreases our reliance on bookkeeping staff. It integrates with our bank account and transactions appear to reconcile. I really think it saves hours every week.
Read Jez John's full review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is used by our micro-business across the whole organisation, but primarily from the fulfilment and financial reporting requirements. Our business is located in several different countries, and staff frequently work offsite (including at home). Xero allows us to do our accounting in the cloud. We have other SaaS apps that integrate into Xero; customer CRM (WORKetc) and product fulfilment (TradeGecko).
  • Ability to access and manage accounting data from non-head office locations
  • Superb integration with other SAAS apps
  • Secure document system to hold scans and photographs of documents (receipts, invoices, statements)
  • In an attempt to make Xero more "touch-screen" friendly, the GUI has become larger which takes up more screen space.
  • Some work-paths are a little repetitive
  • Lack of "skin" customisation and personalisation
Xero is excellent for small businesses (or those who are not office-centric). The ability to access the information and conduct business processing is the best advantage. Previously we used the MYOB system that was not internet-savvy. Xero enables us greater freedom. It also works well for our accountant. No longer do we need to print and email reports; the accountant simply logs on to Xero!
They have always been responsive to my communications. I guess this is the best aspect of their business support.
I find that there is an overall positive workflow - data entry, reporting etc. Everything is easily found, their online help has videos and written notes which is good.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an academic turned business owner, I had a really hard time learning the QuickBook system. But I was able to set up Xero and use it for all of my expense reconciliation almost immediately. Now, we use Xero for all of our companies bookkeeping, project cost tracking, and accounting activities.
  • A user friendly and clean interface.
  • Accounting and bookkeeping functionalities are easily accessible.
  • Automatic bank and credit card feeds reduce reconciliation work time.
  • Check templates don't always align with physical checks.
  • Location of buttons aren't always obvious.
  • Does not have as extensive [of a] list of external integration as QuickBooks.
Xero is perfect for new business owner[s] and people without [an] accounting background. While having the same functions as QuickBooks, Xero has [an] intuitive, user-friendly interface, clean design, and everything can be done within two buttons. Since Xero is still relatively new in the U.S., traditional bookkeeper[s] and accountant[ing] firms are not as [familiar] with the program, so it requires some time for them to learn the new system.
Xero has a very clean design and a pleasant, easy-to-navigate GUI. It was immediately understandable how to reconcile book charges without a tutorial. Creating and sending invoices are fairly straight forward; and financial reports are easily customizable. Xero also has a support database that gives quick solutions to most issues.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the firm we use it to be able to recommend its use to our clients in their day-to-day operations. We take care of being able to review your financial information and integrate it with your Mexican compliance obligations.

An important part of our operation is based on the generation of information from the systems used by the company, so knowing the use of this platform is essential for us.
  • Be completely a cloud-based program.
  • The cost is very affordable for small-sized companies.
  • Ease of integration with other systems or reports outside of your ecosystem.
  • Overall it is a great platform and quite comprehensive for US based users.
  • However, if we focus on multinational companies that want to integrate the information of different companies in several countries within the same solution, we find the need to carry out reports outside the platform to provide the accounting structure and compliance necessary in countries outside the US.
It works wonderfully in companies with a regular operation in which several people are users of the information; either from who feeds the information by capturing analysis or auditing users or only the management and direction that interprets the figures for their decision making.

Where it is least suitable is for extremely large companies with particular or very detailed needs.
In our experience it is always available and if it has any maintenance we are notified in advance and they are even imperceptible for our operation.

The flexibility of having access to your information from virtually any device and anywhere is highly valued by us.

We also appreciate the continuous improvement in the functionalities and new options available.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero has been used at our company for a number of years and is still currently being used. It is managed and controlled by the Finance department for a number of different purposes such as account reconciliation, invoice management, financial reporting and payroll. Users of the organization do not have access to Xero other than the Finance team and a few select individuals.
  • Payroll
  • Account Reconcilliation
  • Financial Reporting
  • More user friendly management reports
  • Better expense management
  • Cleaner user interface
I would recommend Xero very highly to a colleague with a rating of 8. This is because it is a single system which serves a variety of purposes and functions which allows us as a finance team to work efficiently. It has many benefits which make our day to day responsibilities much easier.
There are not many faults with Xero's overall usability. It is a very simple yet effective financial system to use which serves many benefits. It is very easy to navigate through and the split between different organizations (entities) makes using the system even easier. It is definitely a system which can be learned very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Mark Sinclair | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero to manage our accounting and reporting requirements. Xero also integrates with other applications we use including Chargebee, Bank accounts[,] and Stripe.
  • Synchronises transactions with bank account for easy reconciliation
  • Automates BAS and GST reporting
  • Automates transaction allocation to accounts based on banking transaction codes
  • Provides all financial reports
  • Reconciles transactions from our subscription system, Paypal and Stripe
  • None come to mind. Xero meets all our needs.
Xero is great at reconciling transactions between bank accounts, our subscription system, and payment integrators. Also, the automated BAS and GST reporting functionality saves significant time.
Xero is simple to use and at the same time covers all the financial and accounting complexity needed for a SaaS business like ours.
Read Mark Sinclair's full review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is being used to manage all business transactions from multiple accounts and currencies. It gives us a great overview of the company cash position and is essential in planning budgets and forecasting sales and revenue.
  • Customized reports
  • Multiple bank accounts support
  • Expenses support
  • Payroll
  • Design, UI
Xero works great for smaller companies and is easy to use and adapt. However, for larger scale companies I imagine a more sophisticated solution would be needed with much more automation and custom functions.
Xero is a great product suited for our business needs. In general, I imagine there is room for improvement in the user interface. Otherwise, it is [...] usable and quick to learn [the] platform.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Joe Salas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To create and send POs, as well as some accounting. It is being used by multiple departments.
  • Accounting purposes
  • Creating POs
  • Sending & logging invoices (via POs)
  • Sent POs don’t include item numbers from the POs created in Xero. Would recommend a fix there.
  • Lack of integrations with inventory management platforms
Good for online-based companies, especially retail.
It’s definitely easy to use, but limited in some ways, such as integrations with inventory management.
Read Joe Salas's full review
April 30, 2021
CiCi Reagan Twining 👑 | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across my entire organisation. It's used to keep up with accounts, invoice clients, and receive payments. Because it integrates with multiple payment platforms, it's easier for clients to pay their invoices. It also allows us to implement payment plans for our clients with repeating invoices and auto payment.
  • Auto matching transactions
  • Easily convert quotes to invoices (one click)
  • Automatic invoice payment reminders
  • Not a lot of room for customisation of invoice/quote templates
  • Complicated to add new accounts
Xero is great for my business. As a sole trader with multiple income streams and the ability to link to my bank account, it's easy to stay organised. I can quickly create quotes and convert them to invoices. I know that a lot of accountants recommend this software and I can imagine that I'm only using it to a small percentage of it's ability as I find a lot of the functionality difficult to even locate. It does make it easier to do taxes at the end of the year, etc due to its reporting functionality.
The basic functionality is quite easy to use. Things like creating quotes, invoices, repeating invoices, templates, invoice reminders, and linking to your bank account is really straightforward. I haven't used much of the functionality of adding accounts or any of the payroll settings or inventory management, but for basic use as a sole trader I recommend it.
Read CiCi Reagan Twining 👑's full review
April 30, 2021
Jeremy Grant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is used across our organization. Aside from the standard accounting functionality that it offers, we use it extensively for quotes. The simple, intuitive nature of the user interface allows for a range of user skills, whilst at the same time providing an efficient tool for our business. Its integration with Insightly CRM allows our sales team to easily stay on top of their clients' account status as well. All employees make use of the Expense Claims module, allowing them all to track claims from time of entry through to payment.
  • Xero does the accounting and bookkeeping basics very well, and it also caters for the more experienced users to report comprehensively on the current status of their business.
  • Xero is Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), therefore we don't worry about backups. Our friends at Xero do that for us. It's also available 99.99% of the time.
  • Xero is accessible on any machine. We don't need to manage databases, VPNs etc. It's all done for us, securely!
  • Reporting on the Quotes modules. It is very difficult to manage large volumes of quotes.
  • Access levels could be more granular. Certain areas of the package allow for great flexibility, however there are times when you do need to restrict certain functionality. This is not a deal breaker however!
Xero is very well suited to the small-medium sized business. I am comfortable saying this as this is where our business is positioned. I cannot comment on its suitability to larger businesses with many users. From the ease-of-setup, to designing and generating more complex reports, there is not much that is not relatively straightforward to do. Add to this the wealth of knowledge available online, we're very self sufficient with Xero, as opposed to our older system, which required constant interventions by our consultant and days of waiting for any modifications required. With Xero, the system update responsibility is taken out of our hands. More reason to switch to a SaaS product.
Read Jeremy Grant's full review
April 29, 2021
Jerry Pett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XERO across the organisation. I also have clients who use XERO and we have provided integration of systems for this.

It simplifies business administration, and being a cloud company ourselves, we love cloud solutions. It comes with a full range of out of the box reporting and tools (statements, VAT returns, P&L, balance sheets, bank feeds), has plug ins for areas such as eCommerce or payment gateways, and a fully developed API for integration.
  • Quick and simple to do the basic tasks, i.e. billing, statements.
  • Our of the box formatting is clean and usable. Easy to tweak for branding.
  • Great API.
  • Dashboard customisation could be improved. It can be done but we did not find it intuitive.
Small businesses, it is ideal. Low or high transactions work equally well, for high transaction you would want to use the API.
Read Jerry Pett's full review
April 28, 2021
Nicola (Nicki) Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is being used across the organization for sales invoicing, accounts receivables management, expense reconciliation, accounts payable, bookkeeping functions and financial reporting. It addresses all of our accounting and financial management needs. It is a comprehensive application that allows manual journal entries, integrates well with other applications, and is very user friendly.
  • Sales invoices - can be customized, default due dates set up and reminders sent to facilitate payment
  • Integrates well with other applications (Dext/Receiptbank) - makes expense reconciliation very efficient and accurate.
  • Excellent reports - can be customized and valuable for simple or detailed reporting and analysis
  • Easy to use for those with no accounting background (also suitable for those with advanced accounting knowledge)
  • Improvements are always being made but nothing currently needs improvement
[Xero is well suited for] Small business, bookkeeping, for those with limited accounting skills (and also appropriate for those with advanced accounting knowledge).
Any business that needs a comprehensive, well integrated accounting platform with excellent support resources and technical support.
Xero is easy to learn and easy to use - many of the functions are intuitive
Read Nicola (Nicki) Morris's full review
April 16, 2021
Prashant Somaiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is used as main accounting system across [the] whole organization ; it is cloud based - can be access from any browser and any device; helps in remote log in. user friendly , bank feed and consequently bank reconciliation feature helps a lot.
  • Cloud based - can be accessed from any browser and any device with connection to internet.
  • Bank feed - bank reconciliation
  • Asset register reconciliation
  • Various reports with facility to filter on tracking categories
  • Ability to attach emails and other documents to Journal
  • Integration with other apps
  • Audit trail of transaction
  • Addition to an asset - in current scenario we cannot add an asset ; it has to be created as new separate asset .
  • Increase in tracking category - currently there are only two category
  • Increase in tracking category options - currently there are only 100 options - in one category
  • Audit trail for financial settings - currently Xero does not who has locked the period in financial settings.
  • Sorting feature in assurance dashboard ; currently feature is missing - if we can sort transaction based on date will be great.
  • Phone facility - currently Xero help responds only by an email ; there is not facility where we can talk to real person.
[Xero is well suited] for small enterprise with less than 100 option in tracking category and payroll of less than 200 staff
[Xero is] user friendly
Read Prashant Somaiya's full review
March 21, 2021
Krunal Thakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero for our clients. It is used by the accounting department. It almost solves every problem like balance sheet, profit and loss account, and ledger statements.
  • It creates accounting statements automatic.
  • It also gives very good facility for Payroll.
  • We can easily access our bank with the Xero.
Xero is a very good accounting tool for bookkeeping activities where you just have to pass the journal entry and every other thing will be done by XERO. It also gives the facilities to upload the Budget data so it is easy for the client to check actual vs budget.
It is a very useful tool/software especially for bookkeeping where it scales up all the things on one platform related to accounting.
I have been using XERO for the last 2 years. It works very smoothly without any hurdles. We can also pull out any report whether it is standard or customize or we can also create our favorites reports and pull them.
Secondly, it also gives us the facility for Payroll and other taxes too.
Read Krunal Thakkar's full review
March 20, 2021
Marc-André Lapierre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Xero for my personal accounting to manage the different buildings I own (rent, expenses, etc.). It is a fairly basic use of the product I must say. The software is in general ok to use, reporting is enough and easy to work with. My accountant knows that software as well so this is very convenient.
  • Easy to use
  • Web based
  • API
  • Pricing is a joke in Canada. 45% exchange rate on USD when it's 20%.
  • Customer service is almost absent and slow to respond.
  • Software is slow many times a week.
  • Software crash and they are not even aware.
The most negative aspect of Xero is that it might be slow to use, generate reports, or during general use. The interface crashes a few times a year for a couple of hours. Unfortunately, the customer service is not very "responsive" since you can only chat or email them. Most of the time, going through Facebook is the best way to interact. Weird thing is that most of the time when it crashes and I communicate with them they don't even know it's crashed! If you can rely on Cloud-based software, Xero is ok in general. There's an API that you can use to link it with other software.
Xero is easy to use and learn without very basics knowledge. Linking it to other software/platforms could be a bit tricky. Linking it to a bank account is somewhat difficult but it could be an issue on the banking side. Having multiple users is ok but the right management is not flexible enough.
Support is not very good. Relying on Facebook is faster. Multiple crashes a year and no report on their side to explain the situation. Accounting is something important and I think we should have an easy way to make a complete backup of all our data.
Read Marc-André Lapierre's full review
February 18, 2021
Lacey Davidson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Xero for our whole office. At the restaurant level, invoices are entered into PeachWorks. We have a program that integrates those invoices into Xero, putting each item into the correct account code. Our office assistant enters invoices that come to the office like water and electric bills. Then we print check directly from there, or batch payments to pay online.

We also Xero to integrate our sales from the restaurants. After bills are paid, we use multiple types of reporting features.
  • Bank feeds work great, or I can easily import statements.
  • Easy to use, but still has the manual journal options for more detailed accounting.
  • Fixing errors is easy, plus gives detailed info on which user did what.
  • Cost! Very worth the low price.
  • Setting our own fiscal calendar is not available, so for every return or P&L, I have to manually adjust dates.
  • Remittance information on the checks is not available, and it very frustrating what they let you put on the checks.
  • Checks print in whatever weird order Xero puts them in. You can adjust to make it alphabetically and I can't figure out what ordering system they use.
  • We do use a small bank for one of our accounts, and it doesn't integrate with that bank. But that could be the bank's fault.
For a small or medium business it is excellent. We do not use it for payroll, but I can easily upload a GL import.
Read Lacey Davidson's full review
July 03, 2020
Fergus Mc Manamon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Xero is used for quotations (some of them) and all invoicing across our company.
  • Quote converts to invoice.
  • Design templates can be uploaded for documents.
  • Email templates can be added.
  • They can't be contacted so if you have a problem, you'll have it for a long time (or maybe forever).
  • VAT return period can't be closed. So, someone can amend an invoice or bill or add one in to a previous VAT period, which of course screws everything up.
  • You can't set a date for stock to arrive. When you make the order, the system assumes that it's now in stock!
  • You can't save two customers with the same name! They will tell you to add a special character to duplicate names! Unbelievable but true!
  • There are no delivery notes/packing slips. They tout a "workaround" but be warned, it's exactly 10 extra clicks so it's really not an option if you need this feature.
  • If you want to send a document after preparing it, first you have to save it, wait for it to save, it takes you out to a main screen, you have to click back into it and then send it (if you send directly, it will send a draft document only).
  • There's loads more negatives but that's all I can think of now.
Worst software experience that I have ever had, bar none. I have consistently felt this way for 2 years now and am in the process of moving 2 companies away from Xero. We would have moved ages ago but it's just such a hassle and takes so much time.
Xero has absolutely the worst possible customer service. It is 100% obvious that they don't care about their customers and they don't even try to hide this fact a lot of the time. Read up about them before you consider them and don't believe the reviews that show more than 4 stars! Some review sites show 4+ stars, where a misinformed and/or ignorant writer comes up with the rating, but when you go in and and read actual customer reviews, even on that same website, it's a very different story.
Read Fergus Mc Manamon's full review
March 10, 2020
Jennifer Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We switched from QuickBooks Online to Xero at the beginning of 2019, so we've been using it as our primary bookkeeping system for just over a year. I was attracted to it for its pricing, interface and integrations — specifically with my time tracking solution (Everhour) and credit card processor (Stripe). With QBO, it felt like all their new product development was just bolted on to an existing structure, but not well thought-out or easily navigable. Every year it seemed they were increasing the cost of my plan for services that were more difficult to use and poorly executed. With Xero, I was able to set up not only credit card options for my clients (which QBO also offers), but autopay solutions, PayPal (much easier to use & reconcile than in QBO) and ACH transfer options. While those take a fee, it helps to reduce the amount of time spent hunting down client payments.

We also began using Earth Class Mail (virtual mailbox) a few years ago, which automatically deposits any received checks to our bank, and has a Xero integration so I can record the deposit directly from the ECM interface (it has limitations, but that's an ECM issue not a Xero issue, though Xero may benefit from improving / expanding their API).
  • Simpler, more streamlined interface
  • Easy integration with payment services like Stripe, PayPal & GoCardless
  • Customizable email templates with merge tag support, including reminder emails and recurring invoice email templates
  • Recurring invoices are easier to setup, manage & modify (as compared to QBO)
  • Integration with time tracking solution (Everhour) is easy to manage, and doesn't create any invoice numbering issues due to the generation of invoices from two platforms (e.g., recurring Xero invoices and Everhour time tracking invoices). The system just uses the next sequential Xero invoice number regardless of which platform the invoice comes from. This was a problem on QBO + Harvest.
  • Vendors and clients are all lumped into a giant 'Contacts' pile, which makes it easier to manage contacts who fall into both categories (QBO gets confused about that), as I have clients who are also sometimes vendors.
  • The reporting options are VERY limited, especially as compared to QBO. Minimal support for filters, and it can be tricky to refine some reports by client.
  • Vendors and clients are all lumped into a giant 'Contacts' list, which can make management & organization there difficult. Especially considering the limited reporting options. You can group them, and it has some 'smart grouping' options, but if you don't create an official 'bill' for every expense, or generate an invoice for every past client on your books, the system won't auto-identify 'suppliers' or 'customers'. So, basically, the groups have to be set up manually.
  • All of the digital payment solutions are paid platforms. There is no free bank-to-bank option like with QBO. Likely due to the use of 3rd party vendors for its payment services.
  • There's a 'classic' and 'new' interface, and users can switch between them. But they don't offer the same features, so I find myself using the 'classic' (less pretty) more often. Though I periodically check the 'new' interface, which seems to be improving.
  • Limited support by accounting professionals (in the US at least). My CPA hates it. But I do most of the day-to-day management myself anyway.
  • You can assign billable expenses to a customer, however, sometimes you want to assign it to a customer without actually billing it on their invoice (e.g., it's included in a flat project rate). The system doesn't allow for that. You either have to assign & bill it to the client, or just list it as a regular expense (I add a manual note as to which client it was used for).
Xero is great for small businesses who don't need a lot of complex features, or who will be managing accounting internally. It has robust integration capability that can grow with you (more so than, say FreshBooks), but won't break the bank.

It's not as well suited for larger organizations or those with more complex reporting needs. For example, I acquired another business several years ago, and needed to pull quarterly reports of income from specific clients in order to calculate my pay-out for that quarter. I did that in QBO fairly easily, and had a saved template that I could use to generate it. Luckily I made the switch to Xero after the final pay-out because it would be very difficult to generate such a report now, since there aren't any report filters where you can select only specific customers from your contact list. Xero does support customized report templates that can be saved, the filtering options are just very limited. Essentially, you have to export all of the data to a CSV and then manipulate the spreadsheet locally.
Read Jennifer Hess's full review
March 09, 2020
Genie Forkner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Xero across our whole organization as an affordable alternative to QuickBooks. With little to no bookkeeping experience, It's user-friendly interface allowed me to effectively and efficiently reconcile my payables and receivables and generate dynamic reports to track our overall financial performance and identify areas of opportunity.
  • Integrates perfectly with PayPal and Traditional Banks
  • Allows a novice to generate detailed reports and analytics
  • Easy to use visual interface
  • Affordable alternative to Quickbooks
  • Sorting and grouping invoices when reconciling payables
  • Payment interface integration with PayPal
  • Streamlining the banking history import features.
Xero is an ideal solution for Freelancers or Micro Agencies. It's easy to use, and you don't have to have a degree in finance to reconcile your books, keep accurate records, and generate reports.
It may or may not be as effective if multiple users were needed with various permission roles.
Read Genie Forkner's full review
March 04, 2020
Lori Feldman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After 10+ years with QuickBooks, I was ready for a change to accounting software that was designed for non-accounting types and didn't require me spending 5 hours a month to reconcile. (To be fair, we were on the desktop version and Xero's online version is what appealed to me.) The user interface in Xero was simple to understand because each screen only gives you so many choices. I only have 5 employees and only 2 on payroll. The rest are 1099s. Three of us have access, but I'm the only one with admin access.
  • Beautiful proposals compared to QuickBooks.
  • Easy reconciliation through the bank feed.
  • Customer service ALWAYS responds, although it may take them a day or so. I never feel abandoned by support.
  • Active and helpful community forum.
  • Even after 3 years, they never added Missouri to payroll, so I had to hire an outside payroll company, then reconcile their records with Xero.
  • The bank feed broke when my bank changed their authorization to a 2-step verification. Xero said it was out of their control, but I ended up having to export/import several times a month to stay up to date. Bummer.
  • Custom reporting is limited. There were many reports I would like to see and there's no way to create them unless Xero gives you something similar to customize.
I couldn't believe how little time I spent reconciling, compared to when I used to use QB. Xero is perfect for small businesses that don't have many transactions. I'm not sure if a larger company, with a CFO type role would find it detailed enough...not saying they wouldn't. But I have ZERO (no pun intended) expertise in accounting, so use a minimal amount of the firepower it seems to have. Reporting is not very detailed, so that would not be acceptable if I were more numbers oriented. As it is, I get that detail from my CPA, outside of Xero.
Read Lori Feldman's full review
February 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Robby Group is a Consultant/Advisory Accounting Firm that uses Xero, and all of our clients use Xero.
  • Our client base is small businesses with ten or fewer employees that need a reliable accounting, cloud-based application.
  • On the lowest level, easy to start using
  • On a higher level, it provides useful accounting reports that both accountants and non-accountants can read and understand.
  • Excellent Integration with other applications
  • Journal Entries - Accountants need to be able to entry to any Cash Accounts rather than always using "Spend" or Receive" Money.
  • Xero is suitable for small to mid-size companies
  • Large Corporations would most likely need a more advanced package
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (39)
8.9
Benefit plan administration (14)
8.1
Direct deposit files (33)
8.0
Salary revision and increment management (28)
7.6
Reimbursement management (34)
7.9
API for custom integration (63)
7.5
Plug-ins (62)
7.8
Single sign-on capability (46)
8.1
Role-based user permissions (77)
8.6
Dashboards (88)
8.3
Standard reports (91)
8.4
Custom reports (84)
8.0
Accounts payable (91)
8.7
Accounts receivable (92)
8.7
Cash management (85)
8.3
Bank reconciliation (94)
8.6
Expense management (87)
8.4
Time tracking (22)
7.3
Fixed asset management (61)
7.8
Multi-currency support (58)
8.1
Multi-division support (54)
7.1
Regulations compliance (41)
8.1
Electronic tax filing (37)
8.3
Self-service portal (54)
8.4
Global Financial Support (22)
7.2
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (23)
8.2
Intercompany Accounting (24)
8.2
Localizations (20)
7.1
Journals and Reconciliations (58)
8.9
Enterprise Accounting (21)
7.6
Configurable Accounting (38)
8.7
Centralized Rules Framework (23)
7.6
Standardized Processes (41)
8.0
Inventory tracking (39)
6.6
Automatic reordering (15)
5.7
Location management (17)
6.8
Manufacturing module (10)
5.6
Pricing (42)
7.7
Order entry (41)
8.3
Credit card processing (38)
8.8
Cost of goods sold (46)
8.5
Order Orchestration (12)
7.2
End-to-end order visibility (13)
7.4
Order exception Resolution (9)
7.1

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software platform for small businesses and their advisors, as well as for personal finance. Xero competes most often with QuickBooks Online. Its features, beyond the ubiquitous general ledger and double-entry bookkeeping support, include invoicing with quotes, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, tax management, and it is mobile-accessible. Xero integrates with over 800 third-party applications, covering everything from inventory and logistics to cash flow, project management, customer relationship management, e-commerce and more.

The product is sold by subscription (a distribution model commonly known as software as a service or SaaS) requiring the payment of a monthly fee. This charge is proportionate to the number (and type) of company entities managed by the subscriber. The lowest tiered pricing option is the $9 per month Starter pack, which supports unlimited users but a limited number of transactions. The $30 Standard pack breaks open usage limits and adds e-filing and payroll options. The $70 Premium package doubles the number of supported employees on payroll from 5 to 10, and supports multiple currencies.

Xero Screenshots

Xero Video

Xero is beautiful accounting software for small businesses and their advisors. See your cashflow in real-time with online accounting, invoicing, payroll, billing & banking. Just login and see the difference. Sign up for a free trial at https://www.xero.com/signup​/

Xero Integrations

Xero Competitors

Xero Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Early$11per month
Growing$32per month
Established$62per month

Xero Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Xero?

Xero is an online accounting software product for small businesses and personal finance. Its features beyond general ledger and double-bookkeeping include quotable invoicing, bank reconciliation, purchase order and expense management, and tax management. Third party apps can extend its features further.

What is Xero's best feature?

Reviewers rate Pay calculation and Journals and Reconciliations highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Xero?

The most common users of Xero are from Small Businesses and the Accounting industry.