I Will Never Forgive nor Recommend Their Services
November 09, 2020

I Will Never Forgive nor Recommend Their Services

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User

Overall Satisfaction with Thomson Reuters Westlaw

I used Westlaw as a student and instructor, and now use ProFlex to support estate planning needs. This was to cut back on research and form creation needs as part of that business segment. I needed to replace my estate planning forms creator and this seemed the most cost effective solution.
  • I was given a customized home page that included the estate planning forms. It also had a business forms link, which I assumed was part of the package because it was part of my customized home page.
  • A need arose for a contract within a family business as part of an estate plan, and I pursued this second link to see if I could address the family's need. I found the document I needed, and began to create the form. I received a warning that this was not within my plan, so I retreated. I later received an additional charge for $174.00, even though I had retreated and not completed the form.
  • I was treated [poorly] and passed from one department to another. I then lost trust and attempted to cancel the contract on the basis that I was afraid to continue using the product. I had been told that removing the ancillary charge was a "one-time solution."
  • I received my official response to my request to cancel the contract, which stated that "[i]t has been our long-standing policy and belief that agreements . . . should be honored by both parties." Basically even though I had a valid product and customer service complaint and will not be using the product, I am stuck paying.
  • Further, they do not consider my request to cancel as notice of non-renewal, so I will have to make a second request or they will automatically renew the contract at a price increase at the end of the "minimum term." I searched for a non-disparagement clause, and there is not one in any of the multiple "contracts" they offered. Therefore, I am telling you all that they suck and I strongly do not recommend signing up for their services.
  • Customer service.
  • Customer retention.
  • Consumer contracts.
  • Misleading website navigation.
  • I am now paying a monthly charge for a service I do not use.
  • This channels money away from addressing the original need.
  • I have also wasted productive billable hours attempting to address their failure.

Do you think Thomson Reuters Westlaw delivers good value for the price?


Are you happy with Thomson Reuters Westlaw's feature set?


Did Thomson Reuters Westlaw live up to sales and marketing promises?


Did implementation of Thomson Reuters Westlaw go as expected?


Would you buy Thomson Reuters Westlaw again?


Perhaps well-suited in enterprise agreements where many users need access to many areas, and a giant contract is cost effective. This was a good company to work with as a student and instructor where value was not my specific concern. I cannot speak to the value paid by the responsible party in that context.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw Support

I was passed around like a hot potato and nameless responders were somewhat disrespectful and "snippy." There was no offer to resolve the issue I complained about, and I was basically made to feel as though I was lying about the problem. The solution was easy: fix my customized home screen to remove the possibility of wandering into a non-subscription area. This fix was never offered or pursued. Instead, I was offered the option of signing up for additional services.

Using Thomson Reuters Westlaw

The specific product ordered was fine, but it was far too easy to mindlessly incur ancillary charges without warning. This is much less user friendly than other, similar providers of services such as LexisNexis. The Thomson Reuters Westlaw experience is not intuitive when compared to other, similar providers and ended up being less cost effective.