TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gv/rb/XI7SESF1B71F.JPEGPulse Analytics and BirstOur organisation is using Birst to offer Analytics services to clients. It is used by the Analytics department, and is offered either as embedded as part of a larger software offering, or as a standalone solution,Start-to-end data preparation, warehousing and report/dashboard development minimizes points of failure in an analytics solution Easy to quickly develop prototype/proof of concept projects, meaning more productivity Solution built for the cloud works seamlessly for users to access data anywhere,Better documentation of features and user guides - it can be hard to find or understand how to use a feature Better feature request system - currently feature requests are sources from the community forums based on votes - multiple requests for the same issue may not individually receive enough votes to get implemented More options of chart types - currently limited in what we are able to provide as the best chart types for the data are not available.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Other,8Friend of BirstWe use it across the organization as a real time monitor of our statics.,Manages data from multiple sources. Variety of choices to display data Stable platform,Customer service and support User friendly Improve Training,6,Speed and agility Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,8Birst, a data visualization toolWe use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.,Customization of reports Embedded in existing dashboard Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data,Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports,Google Analytics, Tableau Online and IBM Analytics Engine,10BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!We have embedded Birst into our SaaS offering to be used by our customers as one of their reporting options. We have embedded it both in minor dashlets on single record pages for a quick view of how records are doing and as a larger dashboard for more details and advanced reports. We also analyze some of our own statistics in Birst.,Customer adoption and success are important to Birst. They have positions dedicated to our success, worked to making sure we knew how to solve our problems once we were past implementation, and have regular contact even after. Purchasing the TAM program increases that. Attractive reports that render quickly.,Using the cloud offering we have had spaces malfunction, especially if we try to upload data and process them on a frequent basis. They seemed to have fixed this with one of their most recent releases and with us reducing the frequency we upload data (twice a day rather than every hour), but there are still occasional issues. Learning curve - Trying to figure out how to do things in a new system that I could do in seconds in SQL is a bit frustrating. The help, community, and our TAM rep helps with this, but it still happens.,8,Ability to do ad-hoc analysis and scheduled reports Increased adoption, usage and self-service,TIBCO Jaspersoft, Windward Reporting and Document Generation Solution, Yellowfin, Looker, Yurbi, Izenda, Microsoft Power BI, Sisense, OpenText Actuate Information Hub, Information Builders WebFOCUS, ClearStory Data, Pentaho, GoodData and Tableau Online,8,Not SureBirst ReviewWe leverage Birst in two ways. First, it is the access point into one of our turnkey analytics environments. The second use is as a white-labeled solution for our operational reporting. The second use case is being leveraged by both internal resources as well as clients.,Birst has proven itself to be easy to navigate for business users. Birst provides the flexibility to provide multiple views so clients can easily consume the insights how they prefer to view them. Birst has allowed us to "productize" portions of our business intelligence offerings.,We really haven't run into any large areas for improvement. The roadblocks we have encountered have been resolved with the help of Birst.,9,Increased adoption, usage and self-service,,9
Windows, Mac
Birst
179 Ratings
Score 6.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Birst Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Birst
179 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 179 vetted Birst reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (26-50 of 96)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Pulse Analytics and Birst"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our organisation is using Birst to offer Analytics services to clients. It is used by the Analytics department, and is offered either as embedded as part of a larger software offering, or as a standalone solution
  • Start-to-end data preparation, warehousing and report/dashboard development minimizes points of failure in an analytics solution
  • Easy to quickly develop prototype/proof of concept projects, meaning more productivity
  • Solution built for the cloud works seamlessly for users to access data anywhere
  • Better documentation of features and user guides - it can be hard to find or understand how to use a feature
  • Better feature request system - currently feature requests are sources from the community forums based on votes - multiple requests for the same issue may not individually receive enough votes to get implemented
  • More options of chart types - currently limited in what we are able to provide as the best chart types for the data are not available.
Very easy and intuitive to use, however lacking some features and has some quality of life issues for everyday use
Read Mitchell Lawlor-O'Neill's full review
Donald Woodruff profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "Friend of Birst"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization as a real time monitor of our statics.
  • Manages data from multiple sources.
  • Variety of choices to display data
  • Stable platform
  • Customer service and support
  • User friendly
  • Improve Training
  • Bringing together data from multiple sources into one platform.
  • Great flexibility to simplify and display data.
  • There is a large learning curve to achieve full implementation.
Read Donald Woodruff's full review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst, a data visualization tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Birst a number of different ways. The first is to help our customer visualize their data. A majority of customers do not have the expertise to build these reports and visualizations so have done this for them. Our customers can use these reports to better understand their products, how they behave and function. We also use Birst internally to monitor how many devices have been deployed on our networks. We can monitor device transactions, API calls and much more. Within our organization, many departments use the Birst. From Sales, Customer Success, Product, marketing, and engineering.
  • Customization of reports
  • Embedded in existing dashboard
  • Scalability of reports and amount of data it can process
  • Variety of visualizations/graphs to view data
  • Variety of filters to drill down to a specific set of data
  • Birst prices are fairly expensive. License plus cost of users can add up pretty quickly
  • Depending on the size of data, rendering of reports can take a little bit. Need faster processing of data
  • Takes a little time to understand how to build reports, not the most intuitive UI
Birst is great for visualizing large amounts of data. They provide a number of different visuals to help better understand data. They are very good at descriptive data, however, if you would like to get into predictive or preemptive analytics, another tool might be better suited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2018

Review: "BIRSTed ahead of the competition during the vetting process!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have embedded Birst into our SaaS offering to be used by our customers as one of their reporting options. We have embedded it both in minor dashlets on single record pages for a quick view of how records are doing and as a larger dashboard for more details and advanced reports. We also analyze some of our own statistics in Birst.
  • Customer adoption and success are important to Birst. They have positions dedicated to our success, worked to making sure we knew how to solve our problems once we were past implementation, and have regular contact even after. Purchasing the TAM program increases that.
  • Attractive reports that render quickly.
  • Using the cloud offering we have had spaces malfunction, especially if we try to upload data and process them on a frequent basis. They seemed to have fixed this with one of their most recent releases and with us reducing the frequency we upload data (twice a day rather than every hour), but there are still occasional issues.
  • Learning curve - Trying to figure out how to do things in a new system that I could do in seconds in SQL is a bit frustrating. The help, community, and our TAM rep helps with this, but it still happens.
Processing your own well-defined datasets seems to work well. Trying to process more dynamic sets where the data is not well defined (customer defined fields) is not impossible, but takes a lot more work arounds and tricks.

Working with trend data works well. Trying to report on real-time operational data is more tricky due to the time it takes to process your space. I have not used some of their direct connection offerings that might help alleviate that though.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 28, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Birst in two ways. First, it is the access point into one of our turnkey analytics environments. The second use is as a white-labeled solution for our operational reporting. The second use case is being leveraged by both internal resources as well as clients.
  • Birst has proven itself to be easy to navigate for business users.
  • Birst provides the flexibility to provide multiple views so clients can easily consume the insights how they prefer to view them.
  • Birst has allowed us to "productize" portions of our business intelligence offerings.
  • We really haven't run into any large areas for improvement. The roadblocks we have encountered have been resolved with the help of Birst.
Birst has done well in a fixed data model, prescribed insights scenario. We have received positive feedback from business users on the ease of navigating and accessing their insights.

We haven't done this yet, but it appears custom or ad hoc reporting might be a little work for advanced users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

Review: "Birst - Not what we had hoped it would be."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Birst to provide financial and business measures to our internal clients. The data loaded may be used by almost any department in the company. There are a set of standard dashboards created but we have a set of power users in each department that can also create ad-hoc requests with visualizer feature.
  • You can load data to Birst with the same SQL you use to load source databases.
  • Implementation is easy as it is all Web & Cloud based. Only a few components will need to be installed on your local server when you go to production.
  • Modeling your data is difficult. It is a very manual process and easy to get one of the pieces incorrect.
  • Birst processing of dashboards is slow. They need to work on speeding up the screen and data retrieval.
  • The product is unstable. Spaces are prone to corruption causing rework.
There are better products for any situation. Birst is not the best product of choice at this time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

User Review: "Birst helps us close sales"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst plays a critical role in our commercial organization. We use Birst to make sure our field staff and in-house support personnel have the information they need to help close deals. Birst also gives our employees the flexibility to run custom reports or variations which may be more meaningful to the customer. The drill down capabilities also allow catering from C-level to department level.
  • Flexibility of the tool
  • Presentation level very appealing and intuitive
  • Cloud offering makes implementation easier
  • Birst is supported by partners. We have had issues with some of the partner companies. Once identified though they were quick to fix.
  • Training scheduling did not align with our schedule and was not very flexible.
  • We are regulated and our change process can take some time. When upgrades occur we could use more notice.
Birst is very well suited to present outcomes based on disparate data sources.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

Review: "Birst: good for small or mid-sized companies, not so good for enterprise scale"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is globally used worldwide within our organisation as an enterprise BI solution. We adopted Birst as a cloud solution.
  • It automatically builds an analytical star model complaint with Ralph Kimball standards.
  • It's an end-to-end tool providing any capability needed within a BI project.
  • Visualizer is very easy and intuitive to use for users.
  • Building ETL processes is very complex due to the multiple technologies and scripting needed (web service calls, Python, BQL, etc.)
  • Testing or debugging is very difficult, especially due to the lack of access to the underlying database.
  • Multiple bugs are faced during any implementation at any level: a feature working can stop working at any moment (either due to extending the usage of that functionality or due to Birst upgrade breaking old behavior).
  • Birst community is small with lots of unanswered threads.
Birst works better for non-complex BI solutions.

Being a cloud solution helps with adoption of the tool, as there's no need to have an internal support team dedicated to platform maintenance. The usage of Network BI is quite buggy and should be avoided for complex BI solutions. Management of users is very complex in large organisations, as the administration interface is very reduced and Birst support is needed (with the delays it brings).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2018

User Review: "Birst is good, but could be better"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the enterprise. It addresses many reporting needs across the company for different business lines.
  • Quick visualizations and data insights
  • Quick import of excel or csv files for ad hoc or discovery
  • When data model correct, ability to connect data to other data
  • Dynamic dashboards
  • No source control for change control policies
  • Does not follow normal Dev, QA, Production deployments meaning you have to copy spaces to promote collections/reports and in other cases have to recreate Custom Attributes, Filters etc from space to space instead of normal deployment procedures.
  • Quirky things that happen with no visibility into what happened, missing security settings while swapping spaces, things working sometimes and broken other times
  • Better security and roles, Admin functions or search capabilities, more windows style navigation to easily move things around as needed in collections/dashboards.
  • Better metadata Admin functions for tracking production level collections and reports, security groups and users within those groups, and easily producing lists of all Measures, Attributes, variables, custom attributes, custom measures, and ways to manage and cross reference these items within reports or dashboards
Well suited to enterprise reporting when data model valid, one version of the truth if used by all areas for data that is processed consistently for up to date information. Not well suited for dynamic changes within the org where either data changes are required or new reporting is needed as users are used to Excel and doing their own reports faster. It is too technical and complicated for average business user, especially if data model is not simple and easy to follow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2018

Review: "Birst: a whole in one reporting platform."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using birst in the international part of our logistics company. It is used across different departments. In the beginning it was used for sales and marketing but going forward we also provide information to finance and operations. Information is spread by using dashboards, scheduled reports and ad hoc reports. The information we provide via Birst is about client performance, quality of our service, year over year financial analysis and more.
Our current challenge is to implement a near real time reporting on our service in order to be proactive and to keep the degree of service at a high level.
  • It's rather easy to create a datamodel once you understand some basic rules.
  • Development can go pretty fast. Defining the input are more or less straightforward SQL queries, actually called BQL. Transforming input to output can be simple and straightforward but also complex problems can be solved.
  • The ad hoc report creation in visualizer is very convenient and easy to use. If needed a powerful formula can be created in order to transform existing attributes or measures. The editor to create those formulas has evolved from a basic one to an editor using type-ahead and lookups.
  • Dashboard creation is a piece of cake and the use of the dashboard with filtering,drill through and slice and dice is pretty straightforward and intuitive.
  • Birst is spending a lot of effort in the frontend and creating a product which will allow more and more self service for the end user. Nothing wrong with that wouldn't it be that in the backend, the admin part, some effort could be used to improve efficiency and usability.
  • Using a cloud application is both a good and a bad thing. When problems occur we sometimes wish to get more insight in the blackbox under the hood of Birst, actually the database with the physical tables. Fortunately the cloud solution offers us still more advantages than drawbacks.
  • Some powerusers like to get a whole lot of data so they can do some number crunching in their favorite spreadsheet. But Birst doesn't always fit this need as getting big chunks of data out of the system can be pretty inconvenient.
From a technical perspective it is so handy that everything can be handled through the browser. No installation is required.
As we are an international company where a lot of users are spread all over the globe and travelling a lot this is a good point.
The learning curve isn't steep for the users, a little steep for the administrator. Of course, complex solutions or improvement of performance require more insight and knowledge. Integration of different data coming from different sources, on premise or in the cloud, is another good feature of birst.
As stated previously the export of data isn't as powerful as expected. A workaround is of course to change the mindset of the users and get more familiar with using the Birst frontend instead of using a spreadsheet to do the actual analysis. In our current setup some performance improvements are required, and ongoing, to do online and fast analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2018

Birst Review: "A very powerful BI tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Birst for a range of reporting, primarily around sales. We have 200 Birst users across most departments in the company. We use Birst for sales performance against sales targets, comparative sales reporting (this year vs last year etc) and sales analysis. We also use it for Discount analysis and sales commission calculations
  • Visualization capabilities are good
  • Having a datawarehouse is very important
  • Generally the end user experience is good
  • Performance could always be better
  • We don't allow end users to develop their own dashboards and reports. Too much risk that they might accidentaly change something they shouldn't
Very well suited to environments where source data needs to be manipulated and aggregated in a completely different way than the source system supports
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 09, 2018

Birst Review: "End to end BI solution for not complex scenarios"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We adopted BIRST to be used as the enterprise BI solution so all departments with enterprise BI needs would use BIRST.

We use BIRST Cloud solution.

  • Being a cloud solution the platform upgrades are not a pain point anymore.
  • Once the data model is ready, building basic reports/dashboards are really straightforward.
  • One single tool may cover all your business intelligence needs, from data ingestion to reporting so it can be cost-saving in terms of licensing.
  • Building an analytical ready model does not require highly skilled developers.
  • Lack of access to underlying database and use of non standard languages (propietary code) BQL and BIRST scripting.
  • Very poor and not user-friendly administrative area. Big dependency on command line tasks (a few drag and drop) and lack of out of the box administrative views (reports and dashboards showing platform's response).
  • Small community. Really difficult to find skilled resources in the market and few technical blog articles or videos available.
  • Data ingestion capabilities do not scale. Being capable of ingesting data is an added value however, the solution is mainly based on SQL plus scripting (no out of the box monitoring capabilities, difficult to reverse-engineer...).

Depending on the complexity of your company's data and business needs it may or may not be a good fit. I would say it can be a good BI ecosystem for small and mid-size companies with low complexity so they can have data ingestion and reporting capabilities with one single tool.

If you need to integrate data from many different data source;, your environment does change quite frequently, you have many different business areas, the data volume you have is quite big... then it is less appropriate.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

"Birst Review"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it embedded in our product. I find it very hard to use for our purposes. It's great for a user who doesn't have a computer programming background to set up custom reports and dashboards, but for someone who does it's missing a lot of basic functionality.
  • Ease of use for non-technically inclined users
  • Nice UI
  • No ability to do a basic left join. I've never used a BI tool that can't support such basic functionality.
  • Column sorting is broken all over the place. Trying to sort by a datetime, for example, does not work the way it should and shows things out of order.
  • I find it slow and clunky to use.
  • Many options can be unclear in the UI as to what they do.
Best used in a case where the users of the product are not tech-savvy/don't know programming so the customers can drag and drop everything they want.

Not great for when those end users want you to build their reports for them. Lack of basic left join functionality really tanks its usefulness.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 19, 2018

Review: "Dashboard Reporting with large amounts of data and limitations of Birst"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is used as a client-facing reporting tool to track travel spend. It is also used in two internal client groups to track vendor commission income and payment collection, as well as for meetings and events groups.
  • Easily deployable. The stand up of the product was easy and one of the reasons we went with it.
  • Unnecessary complexity -- Birst seems to make even the basic things overly complicated -- for example, schema and table names. Schema names are horrendously long hexa character names with zero logic build into the naming convention. Same with the table names. Aside from some standard appellations like DW, it creates these fact tables and adds random numbers to the end. All this makes it way more complicated than it needs to be when running queries or developing (and I'm even forgiving the need to add a $ after every column name when querying!).
  • Space - schema and data proliferation seems out of ordinary. Again, the complexity of what Birst does in the backend that is the reasoning for so much proliferation is so esoteric that it takes a $185/hr Birst data modeler to really understand it.
  • Lack of version control - due to the nature of how Birst is structured, it's necessary to create multiple spaces to support the same product. But none of these spaces are linked - everything has to be manually copied over. And there is zero concept of version control within the Birst eco system. That all has to be done manually and is very prone to error, time consuming, and not what one would expect of an enterprise level product at all.
  • Horrible product support after the initial phases of the project. When you are paying their consultants full time at $185/hr then everyone in the organization is eager to help and you are so important. Once you go solo and the product is embedded in the organizationnce they have you as a client you are no longer important. We have product issues that have been open for over a year and still have not been resolved. If we don't complain loud and long and continue complaining, they will ignore us. Additionally, they are reluctant to accept some of their shortcomings as genuine bugs or missed features, and that puts the fixes on low priority on their end.
  • Overp romises and under delivers - we have had to practically abandon the feature that is supposed to be our big product differentiator because Birst promised they could deliver what we needed, and after three years and a horrible low -tech design that was nothing like what they originally proposed, we have gotten so tired of hounding them to make good on their promise we've just accepted they don't care and never will.
  • Not a modern enterprise solution - processing large amounts of data takes a huge, burdensome amount of time. Dashboard and report functionality are sub-par (i.e. text sizing was a huge issue and took a year and a half for them to even address). Visuals are not appealing. There is a huge lack of flexibility in the presentation of the tool (they don't even have the ability to sort filters other than alphabetically -- though I hear that may have been fixed in a recent release - three years later). We still can't alter the font size dynamically and our dashboards are not visually appealing. And we have to tell all of our users, inside and outside of the company, if they want our product to work right they have to use Chrome. A good solution would work great on any platform.
It may be well-suited for small companies with limited data and no complex processing needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2018

"Birst review"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We used Birst as a visualization tool for selling our analytical services to our clients. It was used by multiple people internally (data models, visualizations, and analysis) and externally by clients.
  • The flow of visualizations.
  • Latency
  • Ease of use
  • Ability to learn how to quickly use the tool
  • Difficulty in the integration of multiple data sources (Excel, JSON, web)
Not appropriate for citizen development.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 15, 2018

Birst Review: "Great solution for OEM/Embedded analytics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being embedded in a product to provide analytics capabilities.
  • Consuming data from disparate data sources
  • Enabling data blending between Trimble and customer data
  • Displaying data in an intuitive manner
  • Deploying code to multiple Birst regions
Birst is very suitable to those that want to OEM/embed Birst in their product.
Read this authenticated review
Roie Shavit profile photo
July 25, 2017

Review: "Birst as the new challenger in BI analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used as a single] internal BI tool. Itenableses self sevice data analysis for end users.
  • Fast visualization and data extraction
  • Ongoing enhancements and feature upgrades
  • Simple to use and well documented
  • System availability, auditing and enhanced transparency
  • Easy access from anywhere in the cloud, including mobile app
  • Can be embedded in third party sites
  • Full cloud capabilities
  • Good for DWH updates on a recurring basis, has live connection
Read Roie Shavit's full review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

Review: "Birst a good tool for complex organisations"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is curerntly being used by Field Marketing to create reports and analytics. Currently the data is being imported from Salesforce and another systems and weekly fed into Birst. The tool allows us to create our detailed dashbords and reports but unfortunately, due to the manual process of importing the data, the numbers are not always 100% consistent.
  • Complete tool
  • Many options available
  • Great degree of customization
  • Data is imported manually in our organisation
  • Some degree of difficulty
  • Needs at least a permanent engineer to correctly mantain the system
Birst is well suited for organisations with a need of highly segmented and detailed data.
It enables the analysis of big amounts of data based on pre-defined parameters.

Nevertheless, it is not well suited for departments or organisations which just need basic data or a little amount of different parameters. If used in these cases, it can lead to excesive complexity and confusion.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 03, 2017

User Review: "Birst - Ready to go BI tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Birst for our complete BI practice. This tool takes care of ETL, database and data visualization. All the departments in our organization are entitled to a single BI tool which is built by the IT operations team. We use Hyperion reports but reports in BIRST have a good user interface. This tool helps us to visualize the sales data and helps in forecasting and decision making.
  • Speed - It reads the data from flat files very quickly and performs transformations quickly.
  • Intuitive dashboard. It produces attractive dashboards which are easy for the business user to understand the data.
  • It is very easy to use and the customization it offers helps to build as per one's need.
  • Predictive analytics can be more accurate.
  • Though it is easy to use, select modules/features need training to use.
  • The help or any question posted in the community will not be answered quickly. More customer support is needed.
Birst is a tool well suited for a company that has a dedicated IT operations team who can build ETL and dashboards as per the business needs. Maps in Birst are really an impressive feature which explains the story. Birst will be handy on mobile and it has a good engine which will process data quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Andy Olson profile photo
February 27, 2017

Birst Review: "Nerd Crush."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we are using Birst to integrate our Salesforce.com instance with sales data from multiple ERP systems into a singular data model housed in Birst. The use is mostly sales right now, but other departments also use the data within Birst for their needs. A major need for the company was being able to compare forecast and budget data that is entered into salesforce with actual revenue invoiced in the ERP systems. Creating a link between a Salesforce account and being able to track that all the way down to revenue generating customer is a big deal for us. Eventually we will be rolling out Birst solutions for all facets of the company including supply chain, quality, finance and operations.
  • The way Birst simplifies and integrates the ETL with the creation of the star schema is the biggest strength in my opinion. I didn't find any competition that was even close.
  • The all-in-one cloud solution is a huge plus as well. Because they have the back end and front end in one solution they have a huge incentive to see that the customer's projects succeed. The overhead for managing multiple products or disaster recovery for a data warehouse has the potential to be a huge headache.
  • The pre-built Salesforce.com connection/ETL/DataModel was another big deal for us. This probably took 6 months off of our timeline. Also, being able to look at the code for how they did it continues to be a boon to my learning curve.
  • The user interface for the administration and development could use a face-lift. Although I believe this is happening very soon.
  • As a small implementation we've had some issues finding a suitable outside partner for consultation.
Well Suited:
Any data-warehouse solution that is going to include Salesforce.com.
Any implementations that are going to be handled by small teams. I think everyone should take a look honestly.

As far as less appropriate? I don't think I'm really qualified to give an answer on Birst's technical limitations, although I'm sure they exist.
Read Andy Olson's full review
Laura Williams profile photo
April 26, 2017

Birst Review: "Agile BI solution with great data management and customization!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is being leveraged across various departments within the organization. One of the most notable issues it addresses is providing data across disparate systems in one location!
  • Consolidated data ("One source of truth")
  • Heavily customizable
  • Select module(s)/feature(s) require extensive training to master
  • High volume report birsting can be untimely
Birst is well suited for organizations looking to provide an agile solution with great data modeling components and visualizations.
Read Laura Williams's full review
Rick Hutchinson profile photo
April 26, 2017

Birst Review: "Great solution for OEM embedded. Meets or Exceeds our expectations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are embedding Birst in our products. Our customers will consume dashboards we create, but also use Birst as a platform to develop their own dashboards to use within their organization. The networked BI will allow us to provide customers with a standard data model (eliminating data silos) while also allowing freedom to explore data beyond our model. Visualization capabilities are also critical for us.
  • Birst handles visualizations very well. The visualizer and dashboard tools are simple to use but effective.
  • Retrieving data through their preconfigured data connectors for Salesforce and Jira.
  • The Birst API seems to cover everything. We haven't used it yet, but it seems like it will meet our needs very well based on feedback from actual customers at their customer conference.
  • The back-end admin tool is still Fash. It should be changing soon.
  • Data modeling can be confusing for the Birst novice. Knowing what you want to do and how to actually get Birst to do it as an admin can be more complex than it needs to be.
  • Implementation. If they documented some best architectural practices, we could move more quickly and be less dependent on contacting Birst for support.
Birst is well suited for making data more accessible to end users who need to explore data but do not have expertise or time to also manage the datasets on the back end. The complexity of data can be hidden from end users by a data admin creating a situation where the endless request for reports and/or updates to reports is eliminated by Birst's features.
Read Rick Hutchinson's full review
Norman Hussey profile photo
March 20, 2017

Review: "Jump on the the BIRST wagon. It could quickly become a category killer."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BIRST is used as a self-service platform for business units to have their much needed full independent capability. Although BIRST has full capability, our use case was to increase bandwidth for avoiding the bottleneck of our existing data warehouse and BI platform efforts.

Business units are finding value in the capability to resolve issues and improve processes. They can see the impact of their effort in days.

Having a fully integrated data store and data warehouse is a great value. Data connectivity is also very powerful while simple. Lastly, Visualizer's interface is very intuitive and easy for adoption. The capability to carve out a topic, build it and deploy stand-alone supports great time-to-market. The Network BI capability allows you to come back and merge, enhance. Very flexible.
  • Intuitive navigation. Fast and clean interactive output.
  • Back-end incremental updates out of the box. This feature alone is huge.
  • Role playing time dimensions are extremely easy to set up. No sweat.
  • Back-end administration is very capable, but rustic, rough on the edges. Just a little improvement here (mainly UI) will make a huge difference.
  • Having two reporting authoring tools is a little strange, but after all they do have different use-cases, so not terrible.
The main value is capability to deliver. BIRST does almost everything very well. Data sourcing and preparation is very good. Presentation is clean and intuitive and mobile ready (nothing to do!). Allowing the user to upload and merge their own content is a great step to eliminating know-how silos. Self-service data preparation (Birst 6/pronto) and write back goes a long way to wean an organization from Excel.
Read Norman Hussey's full review
James Mills profile photo
May 19, 2017

Review: "Birst is not recommended for imbedded solutions"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Embedded in a product
  • Visual dashboards
  • Dynamic dashboards
  • Data load speed
  • Data mapping is complex
  • Cost is high
Standard DW visualization is excellent. Embedded application is complex and expensive.
Read James Mills's full review
Stephen Phelps profile photo
April 24, 2017

"ebury birst review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Birst is being used as one of the primary business intelligence tools. We have been aggressive in our implementation for the last year, bringing on 3 different business units with the rest waiting on their turn to add data into Birst. Birst is an incredibly powerful tool when used correctly.
  • Invests back into the product, to improve the user experience.
  • Listens to its community to help drive the future of the product.
  • Good user base to help with issues and ways to deal with real time issues.
  • Training material online, having such a forward thinking company with such a backward approach to training material and documentation is a strange mix.
  • Not enough experienced people with technical implementation experience. When questions are asked to Birst people their typical answer is "Have you looked through the documentation?" Translation, I don't know the answer, and I don't know off hand anyone else that does either.
I like the approach BIRST has for working with end users to help develop the KPI.
Read Stephen Phelps's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (68)
6.7
Customizable dashboards (77)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (60)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (78)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (77)
6.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (28)
6.3
Report sharing and collaboration (68)
7.3
Publish to Web (52)
7.9
Publish to PDF (67)
7.9
Report Versioning (9)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (66)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (72)
7.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (58)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (34)
5.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (70)
8.4
Role-Based Security Model (68)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (69)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (52)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (34)
7.5
Dedicated Android Application (24)
7.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (42)
7.3

About Birst

Birst Networked BI is a BI product that promises to enable a single view of data and eliminate data silos. Additionally, decentralized teams and individual users can augment this shared analytic fabric with their own local data, without compromising data governance. This consistency comes from a unified semantic layer, which maintains common definitions and key metrics, no matter where users sit.

Birst achieves Networked BI through a 2-tier architecture that aligns back-end enterprise data with line-of-business or local, edge data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source (data stores, applications, warehouses, big data, and unstructured external sources) into a unified semantic layer. The result is a consistent view that enables users with self-service analytics through dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways:

  • Direct, for enterprises using Birst for analytics on internal data to drive improved business outcomes
  • Embedded, for all size companies who offer data (analytics) products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products

Birst’s product is packaged in 3 available formats:

  • Platform and per-user fee
  • By Department or Business Unit
  • By end-customer (for embedded scenarios)

Birst Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Birst Screenshots

Birst Videos (3)

Watch Birst Networked BI - no more silos.

Watch The VP of Supply Chain at Citrix Systems on their Birst-architected digital supply chain

Watch CIO of CPG Reckitt Benckiser on Birst

Birst Downloadables

Birst Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Birst Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Arabic, English, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Simplified Chinese, Spanish