TrustRadius
Entrinsik Informer is a web-based Reporting and Business Intelligence (BI) application. It helps organizations transform real-time data into actionable information by delivering ad-hoc reporting, data analysis and interactive dashboards.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nX/v6/JHQFTF3O54OS.jpegInformer - A Good Fit for Paciolan Hosted ProductWe package Informer in our hosted software solution for our clients. We started with Informer to address web-based reporting needs for our back office Universe database. Specifically, Informer Universe reporting addressed client needs for scheduling and distribution of reporting content. The evolution of Informer to include SQL databases has expanded our scope of reporting content to other Paciolan products/databases. The SQL database access and Dashboard features of Informer also will help us address content delivery from a data warehouse database.,Usability of the product for self-service reporting. Scheduling and distribution of reporting content. This includes the ability to provide links to reporting content. Extensibility of the Informer development platform. Open SDKs.,Recoverability of site when memory issues are encountered (usually due to large reports). Cache management - our production sites frequently experience corrupt cache symptoms that result in unusable UI and java exceptions. Processing utilization and time it takes to render large result sets.,5,Informer is a Customer Satisfaction play for us. Reporting/intelligence is an expected feature of our product, Informer enables us to deliver a solution with minimal development effort.,,8Entrinsic Informer - a fantastic and scalable toolEntrinsik allows our employees to easily create custom reports queried directly from our main databases without needing to wait on MIS. It has a fairly intuitive interface that has drag and drop functionality, allowing them to either a) get the information they need in a timely manner, or b) get enough information down to allow MIS to intervene and turn their thought process and request into a functional report. It's ability to read SQL written reports has allowed us to created custom reports driven by SQL stored procedures, integrate SQL-written functions that reside solely for use within Informer, and link tables via functions. Overall, the product offers excellent results and is a fantastic value for the price.,Simple select queries from a SQL database Process SQL stored procedures and report the results in an automated (scheduled) and useful output Dashboarding capabilities for reports existing in your Informer system,Dashboarding functionality and visualizations options need improvement Ability to stop a query from continuing to process on the database server,10,Informer has offered a positive ROI by allowing end users to run reports rather than wait on other departments. This increased production and decreased turnaround time on projects.,10The IT Crowds reviewI'm not real sure how we ever managed data before Informer. Every department uses it now. I am so happy to see people use it. I want to bring it all the way down to the instructors level so that can use it in the classroom to pull data on students. It's a slow process but we are getting there. I use it in my department to manage my budget. We love it.,It allows me to custom build integration with our Google Domain and OpenLDAP. It allows other departments to customize reports for their specific duties. Extremely flexible. Customizing the reports is easy. With the Entrinsik java training we expanded our use of Informer to calculated tables and created a whole new way of looking at our data.,Needs updated documentation. Needs updated java documents,10,It has helped us comb data for our accreditation. It has increased employee efficiency by cutting down on pen and paper.,None,10Informer is a Great Reporting ToolOur organization uses Informer to help with reporting needs. It is very user-friendly, and makes it much easier for end users to access data. We can set up file structures in Informer that are more simplified than our actual database setup, and people can report from there without detailed knowledge of the original data structure. Additionally, we can have a specialized report writer, and then end users can run the reports that were created. We love the option of scheduling reports to run automatically, which are then delivered to the inboxes of the interested parties.,Distributed report running, with proper security controls. Can use less "techie" language for files and fields. Reports can be modified by users without changing the original structure of the report.,Sometimes it can be difficult to write a complex select statement, particularly if you need to jump between files.,10,Gets data into the hands of our staff more quickly. Still allows for control over data security.,,10Entrinsik Informer - What you need to get to your Data!We use Entrinsik Informer across our entire organization. From Business office to Student services to Faculty. Informer allows us to get insight into our data and helps us understand the data.,Informer is very user friendly Informer works with multiple databases Informer has great technical support,For the most part Informer does everything you need, I would like to see a little more dashboard features within the product,10,THE ROI has been great- This product does what it is suppose to do. We could not be effective without it,,9
Windows, Linux, Mac
Entrinsik Informer
84 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Entrinsik Informer Reviews

Entrinsik Informer
84 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 84 vetted Entrinsik Informer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (51-75 of 76)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mike Stephanson profile photo
April 16, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer - A Good Fit for Paciolan Hosted Product"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We package Informer in our hosted software solution for our clients. We started with Informer to address web-based reporting needs for our back office Universe database. Specifically, Informer Universe reporting addressed client needs for scheduling and distribution of reporting content. The evolution of Informer to include SQL databases has expanded our scope of reporting content to other Paciolan products/databases. The SQL database access and Dashboard features of Informer also will help us address content delivery from a data warehouse database.
  • Usability of the product for self-service reporting.
  • Scheduling and distribution of reporting content. This includes the ability to provide links to reporting content.
  • Extensibility of the Informer development platform. Open SDKs.
  • Recoverability of site when memory issues are encountered (usually due to large reports).
  • Cache management - our production sites frequently experience corrupt cache symptoms that result in unusable UI and java exceptions.
  • Processing utilization and time it takes to render large result sets.
Depends on the colleague's objectives. Would like to hear from Entrinsik how they would go up against a comparison to a report/intelligence product such as Business Objects/Crystal.

For Universe reports, would rate this question higher. For SQL reports, there are a lot of products on the market. I understand that there are Entrinsik roadmap plans for Big Data/Hadoop integration... providing this functionality will be a great feature.
Read Mike Stephanson's full review
Matthew Brown profile photo
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsic Informer - a fantastic and scalable tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik allows our employees to easily create custom reports queried directly from our main databases without needing to wait on MIS. It has a fairly intuitive interface that has drag and drop functionality, allowing them to either a) get the information they need in a timely manner, or b) get enough information down to allow MIS to intervene and turn their thought process and request into a functional report. It's ability to read SQL written reports has allowed us to created custom reports driven by SQL stored procedures, integrate SQL-written functions that reside solely for use within Informer, and link tables via functions.

Overall, the product offers excellent results and is a fantastic value for the price.
  • Simple select queries from a SQL database
  • Process SQL stored procedures and report the results in an automated (scheduled) and useful output
  • Dashboarding capabilities for reports existing in your Informer system
  • Dashboarding functionality and visualizations options need improvement
  • Ability to stop a query from continuing to process on the database server
Complex visualizations are often best served by exporting the results from Informer into Excel, and creating the dashboard within Excel.
Read Matthew Brown's full review
Mitchell Walker profile photo
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer: "The IT Crowds review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm not real sure how we ever managed data before Informer. Every department uses it now. I am so happy to see people use it. I want to bring it all the way down to the instructors level so that can use it in the classroom to pull data on students. It's a slow process but we are getting there. I use it in my department to manage my budget. We love it.
  • It allows me to custom build integration with our Google Domain and OpenLDAP.
  • It allows other departments to customize reports for their specific duties. Extremely flexible.
  • Customizing the reports is easy.
  • With the Entrinsik java training we expanded our use of Informer to calculated tables and created a whole new way of looking at our data.
  • Needs updated documentation.
  • Needs updated java documents
I think because of the flexibility I can use it just about anywhere.
Read Mitchell Walker's full review
Nancy Bryant profile photo
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer is a Great Reporting Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Informer to help with reporting needs. It is very user-friendly, and makes it much easier for end users to access data. We can set up file structures in Informer that are more simplified than our actual database setup, and people can report from there without detailed knowledge of the original data structure. Additionally, we can have a specialized report writer, and then end users can run the reports that were created. We love the option of scheduling reports to run automatically, which are then delivered to the inboxes of the interested parties.
  • Distributed report running, with proper security controls.
  • Can use less "techie" language for files and fields.
  • Reports can be modified by users without changing the original structure of the report.
  • Sometimes it can be difficult to write a complex select statement, particularly if you need to jump between files.
It really is very flexible. The security is good, so you can give people access to write reports or just to run reports created by others. You can give people access to the file/field setup, or not.
Read Nancy Bryant's full review
Neil Baker profile photo
April 15, 2014

Review: "Entrinsik Informer - What you need to get to your Data!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Entrinsik Informer across our entire organization. From Business office to Student services to Faculty. Informer allows us to get insight into our data and helps us understand the data.
  • Informer is very user friendly
  • Informer works with multiple databases
  • Informer has great technical support
  • For the most part Informer does everything you need, I would like to see a little more dashboard features within the product
If you have data that is in a database and you want to get to that data and understand it, Informer is the product for you. We use it against our Unidata database as well as SQL databases. It brings a concise picture into what we are doing as an organization.
Read Neil Baker's full review
Steve Link profile photo
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Stephen J. Link (Johnston Community College)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this to report data from Ellucian Colleague. It is available across the organization although there are two departments that are the main users. It addresses many data access concerns that could not be accomplished without Informer or some other reporting tool. The satisfaction with the product was 100% until the latest version which has a bug that slows things down somewhat. I understand that a bug fix is in the works and due out very soon. Maybe we can get back to the feeling of 100% satisfaction after that patch is installed.
  • Between data mappings and javascript, we are able to access data and views truly well.
  • The system security is excellent because we can assign specific file rights to individual groups. Sometimes it is a pain because file security is so tight.
  • Ability to normalize data is quite helpful. Normalizing all data (apparently due to specific file mappings) would be greatly helpful. I have data now that needs to be run through Excel macros to complete the normalization.
  • Normalization
  • Easier security managament
  • Integrated javascript help
Read Steve Link's full review
Stuart Shepherd profile photo
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer - A product that provides solutions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WE both use and sell Informer. Internally we use it across all departments to support our business report. For our customers we integrate our software solution fully into Informer to provide a seamless reporting tool.
Dashboarding facilities are very easy to use and intuitive for what can be a very complicated area of reporting. Compared to some other BI tools out there, our users have found Informer really easy to use to put information clearly and visually
  • Dashboard Reporting
  • Scheduled reporting which can drive system level tasks
  • Integration into our own solutions
  • Positive feedback to Entrinsik has resulted in improvements directly benefiting us
  • Archived report management could be better. Especially in the area of auto delete of old archives
  • You can still delete a dashboards underlying report which stops you entering the dashboard again
  • Code tables should be stored with the mapping rather than globally. This is especially a problem on a hosted platform
If you have a lot of information and want to be able to summarise perhaps graphically and still allow drill down this is great. Users are able to create reports for distribution where the consumers of those reports can add their own columns (or delete ones they do not need) without being able to change the core report itself. This saves hours of repeatedly writing specific reports for users who only want some columns changing.
Integration to our own software platform for security purposes has allowed us to have multi-level data security applied automatically
Read Stuart Shepherd's full review
Jeff Butera profile photo
March 28, 2014

Review: "Entrinsik Informer offers intrinsic value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hampshire College purchased Entrinsik's Informer in 2010 to address the campus-wide need for operational (daily) reporting, ad-hoc requests as well as use in our datamarts for a quick view on analytic data. Informer helped Hampshire's IT department transition from "we'll write that for you" to "we'll show you how to write that report".
  • Informer has an intuitive User Interface so even non-power users can grasp the use of the product for running report.
  • Informer allows for quick report creation lending itself towards ad-hoc requests.
  • Informer can connect to a variety of data sources from U2 and SQL databases to spreadsheets and/or Google Docs.
  • Informer works well, but with large reports (250+ columns) tends to bog down at times.
Informer's foothold was established in the U2 (Universe/Unidata) world, but works with SQL as well. I have no knowledge of how/if informer may be used in the growing NoSQL movement (such as Mongo). Entrinsik's customer support is very good and responds to requests in a timely manner with great support.
Read Jeff Butera's full review
Timothy Smalarz profile photo
June 27, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informed"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While working at Holy Family University in Philadelphia I used Informer everyday. Having the ability to have all of my necessary reports available with one click ensured processing of information in a timely manner for myself or for those requesting it. As a valuable tool, Informer enhanced my job experience.
  • Makes creating reports straight forward
  • Emailed reporting capability
  • Making the work day easier
  • Since my experience with Informer was more than 12 months ago I can not comment about its current format
Will this work with my SIS?
Read Timothy Smalarz's full review
Charles Barouch profile photo
April 16, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Excellent product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Informer across multiple departments. It has empowered the users and saved them time.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Quick and accurate answers.
  • Easy to manage.
  • The calculated fields need better documentation.
We keep finding new uses.
Read Charles Barouch's full review
Katherine Knobloch profile photo
April 16, 2014

Entrinsik Informer: "Informer Review"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik Informer has allowed us to access our UniData database so that we can provide more flexible reporting options to our end-users. It currently is being used only by myself and only when we need to access LIVE data.
  • Informer allows the user an easy point and click option for extracting data.
  • Right now I have no suggestions on how to improve Informer.
Informer is a great fit for those that have a limited knowledge of extracting data from a database.
Read Katherine Knobloch's full review
Mark Baker profile photo
April 16, 2014

User Review: "Entrinsik Informer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Informer for creating reports for student information on our campus. It is used both for ad-hoc reports as well as Live Excel reports which can be setup and then run by end-users whenever they need an updated version of the spreadsheet.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Relatively short learning curve.
  • Graphical interface is slightly slower than the command prompt reporting I used to do.
Great for universities that want to reduce the time it takes to train new employees to run reports. Also, the Live Excel feature helps take workload off of the report writers by giving end users reports they can refresh whenever they want.
Read Mark Baker's full review
No photo available
October 11, 2016

Review: "Entrinsik Informer: Higher Ed Institution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik Informer can be utilized by anyone with granted access at our institution. Access is granted when a specific need is expressed. At our institution, Enrinsik Informer serves to provide quick, detailed reports as it relates to our customer, or student, base. Additionally, users can create individual reports should our employer not already have one created to fit their specific need. I have yet to generate a report from scratch just yet, but with assistance from our IT department, who oversees the software, I have heard that it is pretty simple to do and allows users to get very specific with their queries.
  • Informer provides detailed, in-depth reports.
  • Reports can be exported and manipulated for individual use through Excel.
  • Allows organization/institution to work together and in a streamlined method. No need to continuously create the same report for different divisions.
  • Personally, I need continued practice with Informer to feel 100% confident when using it.
  • Reports can take several steps to complete, can be a little complicated should you use it infrequently.

Entrinsik Informer is very well-suited for generating specific data. Reports can be created on just about any query. The software has been very helpful at my institution, where different reports can either be created for one specific purpose, or shared with other users and departments, depending on the need.

Although I have sporadic usage of Informer, I have yet to encounter a scenario when using it is less appropriate than other options.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Entrinsik's Informer - a valuable reporting tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Entrinsik's Informer for the majority of our reporting from the Student Information System. Informer is used by virtually every department on campus for ad-hoc reporting and for scheduled reports. The types of reports include nightly audit reports, extracts that are then used to feed other systems, and traditional reports designed to track progress for the different business needs of the various offices across campus.
  • Simple user-interface: Informer is relatively easy to learn and end users can begin running reports and creating new reports quickly.
  • Email "burst" functionality: This feature allows emails to be sent out based on data in the report. So for example, a report could be scheduled that would email all student employment managers listing out the specific employees that report to them that haven't submitted their time sheets. Each manager would only see the rows that correspond to their email address.
  • Analytics and grouping: Users can quickly drag columns to group and sub-total, and can use the analytics tab to get deeper insights into the data.
  • Performance is sometimes an issue. This can usually be overcome by re-designing the report - using fewer fields, using indexed fields etc.
  • The java script calculated fields are overall a good feature, but they can be difficult to work with as some true javascript syntax is not supported due to the architecture used.
Most schools that use Colleague (the Student Information System) have either UniData or SQL Server as the back-end database. If a school is currently a UniData school but has plans to move to SQL Server in the relatively near future then I'd advise against moving forward with Informer until after the conversion to SQL Server. There is a tool that will convert some reports, but there are many instances where the tool won't successfully convert the report and it will need to be re-written.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 04, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "A must-have for Ellucian Colleague users"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Registrar, Human Resources, and IT departments heavily rely on Informer, but almost every department has at least one user. Ellucian Colleague is used for crucial services like housing transcripts and course records and assigning student and employee ID numbers. Colleague has no useful way to report on this data, so Informer fills that need.
  • Informer's Calculation columns are extremely useful, particularly "Script" columns. They allow users to write Javascript snippets that analyze other columns and display complex calculations, so long as you can write the Javascript to do so.
  • Informer's Scheduler is full-featured and vital to automating its use. Avid Informer users like to schedule reports to write data directly to servers of ours (accessible while on-campus or through VPN), and non-users like to schedule reports to be emailed to them. Both replace the need for staff to remember to periodically run reports.
  • At a basic level, Informer is vital for Ellucian Colleague users simply because it can easily query records and display them as a spreadsheet. It's supremely disappointing that Colleague users suffered so long without this feature.
  • Informer needs more predefined date formats in its Column Display Editor. The existing 5 do not meet everyone's needs.
  • It's a minor UI issue, but Informer's Edit Columns view stutters and displays empty space when scrolling left or right. It may be because I'm using Safari on Mac OS X, and Informer isn't designed for input devices that scroll with "momentum" (as Apple calls it).
  • The Reports Listing takes longer to load reports than I believe it should. At least a progress bar displays to tell you when it's complete.
Entrinskik Informer is vital for Ellucian Colleague users. Entrinsik has clearly been filling the need left by Ellucian, in that their product cannot report on the data housed within it. The only reason not to use Informer is if your institution's database software already has capable reporting tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2016

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Powerfull cheap till with minor drowbacks"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik informer tool is used for delivering daily, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly and yearly reports. In addition to this it is used to export data in csv format and deliver it to other systems to be used. It is used by administrative offices for daily work. It helps users with no technical skills or knowledge to create reports on their own without necessarily knowing database relationships or how to write a query.
  • Easy to use - no technical skills required to understand how to get a report with basic data that user needs. It is simple drag and drop which is very useful for many users.
  • Easy to maintain - for IT administrators updating the system is super easy. Once it is set up very little to no maintenance is required.
  • Easy to set up - When connecting to databases it is easy define the connection and the username and password. It is a bit tricky with unidata databases as you have to set up one "additional" subroutine to be initialized once the informer connects.
  • Super cheap - compared to other reporting tools this is like fraction of that cost with the same functionality.
  • It can [eat] your resources - if your query is big or got into some endless loop which is possible) it will use all RAM you dedicated it to a jetty server and it will make your CPU go to 100% which is bad if you are running other applications as it would have serious impact.
  • It is bundled with Jetty server - and Jetty server is not a very nice web server to work with and can be complicated. I really don't understand if they have a Java application why .war file wouldn't run on Tomcat that we already have in use so it requires additional software.
  • If number of reports is big it becomes very slow when loading main page and reports.
  • It does not have a limit on number of columns which is bad for everyday user in two ways: They think they can put 30+ columns and use it as report - who is going to read 30+ column report? Having 30+ columns will slow down the application for all users and eat all of your server resources.
  • It will potentially have a performance impact on unidata database when executing a large report. Number of fields should be limited.
It can work well in small and large organizations but it has to grow a lot when it comes to dashboards and presentable reports. Yes you may use templates for PDF but you cannot really visualize data. So for "higher ups" visualizing data is what you want to present not plain text. For everyday work and for some IT data transfer between systems (CSV) it is really nice. I've heard the new version coming in Q3 2016 should fix some of those problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 26, 2015

Review: "Reporting made easy through Entrinsik Informer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik Informer is used primarily by our administrative offices, including the Registrar, Accounting,Dean of Students, Residence Life, Human Resources, and others. It provides a user-friendly method for pulling information from our database. It has simplified the process for folks who are not as technically savvy as others. The reports provided cover budget, student, and staff information in easy-to-use formats.
  • Entrinsik Informer provides a way to pull information from several files within our database into a single report. This is far superior to having to query the database directly where you can only pull information from a single file at a time. It enables the end user to access information easily without having to involve technical staff.
  • It's possible to train power users to create their own reports in Entrinsik Informer, giving the users more flexibility in writing reports that are most appropriate to their work processes and without taking up technical staff time. We have done that here, and it works well. This only requires the occasional assist from technical staff, freeing our time to devote more time and support to users who are only interested in accessing reports written for them.
  • Some direct training on the advanced features of Entrinsik Informer would be helpful, e.g., more specific instructions on how to create computed columns within Informer reports.
  • Some more detailed instruction on how to use Analytics and Charting would be beneficial as well, with examples geared more to a college setting than to the business world. Often in the sessions at the Entrinsik conferences, for instance, the examples given don't translate well for me to our college experience. It's more along the lines of sales and things of that nature, that don't fit into our experience at all. So, sometimes it's hard for me to figure out how to apply the principles.
I have strongly promoted Entrinsik Informer since I began working with it. I found it to be a much more user-friendly product for providing accurate, timely information from the database to folks across campus, particularly the less technically savvy folks. It provides quick access without any serious technical skills required. But it also is great for those who want to learn more about it and create their own reports. The flexibility and ease of use are the biggest elements for me.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Review: "The Little Engine That Could"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Informer in many departments with more coming online all the time. It's quick and easy to use and training is a breeze. Quite simply, it's been the best tool we have in our arsenal.
  • The Live Excel function allows you to create spreadsheets and send them to others. The recipient can add their own columns but refresh the original data at will which saves time and effort.
  • Client office staff can be trained to create their own reports, but if they don't have the time or interest it's easy to create reports for them. We can deliver the reports in a variety of ways and many people love the option of having reports sent to them by email at a scheduled time.
  • The ability to report from both SQL and Unidata on the same report is amazing! We use this feature all the time and it has greatly simplified our lives.
  • The software is slow to respond when you filter the list of reports on a tag or favorites. It's also slow when you try to add a report to your list of favorites.
We've found Informer to be a versatile, easy-to-use solution for our reporting needs. It can handle pretty much anything we ask it to do. Although we haven't widely deployed the dashboard function I think it will be a valuable tool as well. Learning javascripting in order to create calculated columns can be daunting, especially if you have a complex column to create, but it's worth the effort if you have a need to create some sophisticated reports.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 04, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Easy reporting with Informer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Informer is our institutional reporting tool of choice. Many of our administrative departments use Informer, but mostly use LiveExcel's created for them by Information Technology. It allows for quick access to important information in an easy to read format, thus allowing administrators to make good business decisions.
  • Easy to use
  • Excellent support by vendor
  • Allows for multiple data sources
  • The migration from Unidata backend to SQL is messy, but tools are great and support is there.
Reporting off real time data can sometimes be time consuming and slow the system down.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2014

"Entrinsik Informer usability review."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik Informer is our ERP reporting and data extraction tool used across two campuses. It allows users to get *their* data without relying on IT Services. There was a change made to the old method of retrieving data from our central ERP system so a replacement was sought out which turned out to be Entrinsik Informer. It's really good because you can export in a variety of formats. If there was one minor issue with it it would be the lack of an ability to format report output.
  • Setting up a report is quite easy for end users to manage
  • For the logging in process it interacts with our identity management system
  • It's very easy to download data into a PDF or spreadsheet/csv file.
  • Lack of customising a finished looking report
  • Doesn't work the same was as Crystal or Access reports ... the interface is different.
  • Customising a computed column is a little tricky.
Entrinsik Informer works well as a data extraction tool and the end user doesn't need to know anything about writing queries. One question would be if a person is looking for a solution that they can give to higher management that is formatted and easily understood. This tool is lacking in that regard.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2014

"Entrinsik Informer Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great tool that was deployed across our University Campus. Every department uses it different and has fit the different users needs quite well. Used from everything from enrollment to hr reporting to payroll information.
  • Quick and easy installation and setup
  • Reports are easy to create. The gui is really responsive and easy for users to access
  • Entrinsik support is fantastic. Quick to respond and extremely helpful. Updates are quick to come out and easy to deploy.
  • Certain options such as session timeouts are not included in administration options so the code needs to be manipulated every update that is installed to get the correct settings implemented
  • Security can get out of hand rather easily since there are so many options for allowing and disabling access.
  • Hard to clean up reports at times and if tags aren't utilized it is hard to locate reorts
It is a great little reporting tool that has suited our needs well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "An Informative approach to reporting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Informer is utilized by the entire organization for creating reports that provide a history of the business. Informer is a vehicle that supports enrollment reporting, course scheduling, facilities scheduling, retention management and faculty load management.
  • Informer allows to report across files bringing in data from linked files. Linked files allows for fields from each file to be represented in the report without having to run two reports and have to compare common fields.
  • Reports can be created by competent users that can be shared and run by users who cannot grasp the concept of data querying.
  • Reports can be shared and/or kept private for security.
  • Reports can be created that prompt for input allowing one report to serve many purposes.
  • Exporting to Excel sometimes does not keep formatting correctly. Numbers with dashes sometimes are prefaced with an E+. If I open in Excel it appears to work correctly.
Training availability would be an important piece. While we received training from our IT department, there was little available from the company. I believe it was approached as technical support. While I do not know specifically, I would hope you would confirm costs for tech support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer or Query Builder on Steroids!!!!!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was a supporter of the use of the Informer product even prior to purchase. I convinced my Executive Director that now since Informer will work against SQL databases, we purchased the product about 3 years ago. When we rolled it out the users were very impressed with the ease of use and ease of learning, has been dubbed 'Query Builder on Steroids'. Many of our prior QUERY reports are now processed thru Informer. We have had initial on-site training and also 2 follow-up on-site training for our users on a yearly basis. It has taken some of the burden off the ITR group for report creation, however we still lend a hand if the user does get stuck. Time saving and ease of reporting has been two of the highest ROI items for the product. We will be looking into the Dashboard functionality as we did a 30 day trail just recently. We will be getting more involved with the Dashboards this summer.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease or learning for users
  • File linkage and suite processing
  • At this time not sure where since we will be utilizing the Dashboard functionality
Can not stress the ease of learning
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Great Reporting Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entrinsik Informer is used by our Institutional Research Department to setup reports for our organization. Many different departments use it for many different types of reports, anywhere from financial standings to privacy restrictions. It allows our staff to access information through the reports without having access to our complicated unidata system.
  • Report building in a convenient format.
  • Wonderful support. They are always helpful and solve the issue quickly.
  • Would like another option besides just Excel for report.
The Administrative part of it is great, just cannot speak for the end users but so far no complaints.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2014

Entrinsik Informer Review: "Informer on UniData Yes on SQL No"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Informer when we were on UniData 3 years ago. It was a great product at that time, but since then we have switched to SSRS because we moved to SQL.
  • Easy for end users to use
  • Difficult to maintain meta data
  • Great Support
  • Meta data maintenance needs improvement
  • More external use other than Iframes
If you are on UniData it is the only way to go for end user reporting.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
5.5
Customizable dashboards (5)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (5)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (7)
6.9
Formatting capabilities (8)
7.1
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (8)
8.1
Publish to Web (3)
9.0
Publish to PDF (7)
9.0
Report Versioning (2)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (9)
9.1
Role-Based Security Model (8)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (7)
8.1

About Entrinsik Informer

Informer 5 from Entrinsik is a data discovery and analytics tool that aims to simplify the process of accessing, cleansing, blending, and analyzing data from multiple sources. According to the vendor, with Informer, companies can aggregate all their disparate data into a single platform using an intuitive, 100% web-based interface that replaces outdated query tools and complicated reporting systems.

The tool aims to eliminate the need for data warehouses and cubes, and eliminate complicated “views” and limited functionality. With extensible architecture, collaborative environment, and enterprise-level performance, Informer aims to deliver actionable insights and better, data-driven decisions for its customers.

Entrinsik Informer Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Does not have featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Does not have featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Does not have featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Entrinsik Informer Screenshots

Entrinsik Informer Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Entrinsik Informer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No