TrustRadius
IBM Campaign products (based on IBM's acquisition of Unica Software in 2010) are a suite of enterprise marketing management (EMM) software that include marketing automation with cross-channel campaign management, along with budgeting and forecasting, project workflow management, asset management, brand management and spend management. IBM Campaign (formerly Unica Campaign) and IBM Marketing Operations (formerly Unica Marketing Operations) are the foremost products in the suite. The product is geared towards large B2C customers, and is available as either a Saas or an on-premise offering.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/4Z/2A/AD0OTXJ1C6DQ.PNGIBM Campaign is still the leaderWe use it to generate the majority of the marketing campaigns that my company sends out. Predominately through email but also through direct mail, web and social media.,Ability to translate Multiple SQL queries into a very easy to use visual GUI. Provides the ability to pre-define segments, run them once in off hours, store them in their own system tables for quick youth and a significant reduction in CPU utilization on the database. It’s use of Reusable objects. Including user variables to pre-define calculations one time, macros that you can create and pass values to parameterize the SQL code And the creation of templates to easily replicate work. It’s ability to bring in external data on the fly that can very easily be mapped into any flowchart. It’s flexibility and creating UNIX script via triggers to automate sending of files to multiple vendors with different FTP sites It’s flexibility in the output layouts that it can create.,The system tables are too convoluted and there should be the ability to have a single view of contact history without having a drawing to have to be tabbed together. Utica is not a very efficient creator of SQL is very resource intensive. I would like to see more functionality in their marketing operations tool to allow more customization and easier creation of monitoring reports including KPI’s.,9,We’ve been able to send out Thousands of communications and generate over 1 billion touches per year because of the speed and flexibility of the tool. We’ve helped our marketing partners achieve or exceed some very lofty goals in the past two years because of the tool,Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio,More than 5 million,B2CIBM Campaign is PowerfulWe have been using IBM Campaign as a campaign management tool for 5 years now. It is so powerful for us to know exactly what we send to our customers or non-customers and when they received it. For a call-center perspective it is extremely useful, but for a marketing perspective as well. We can build predictive models more powerful than before with these insights. In addition, the response tracking helps us to know which campaign has been more successful, based on their lift. So, in this case, it is easier to adapt our communications for our market. I strongly recommend this application.,Contact History of our campaigns. Response History to know what kind of campaigns work well. Extremely powerful. If you have the right access to the database, the sky is the limit. Perfect for larger companies in telecommunications or banking.,The version 8.6 was not user-friendly at all. This is not ergonomic compared to other applications. Complex to learn at the beginning. You can have some glitches and IBM is not the best for fixing this, unless you are one of their biggest clients. Better to have a good third party to help you like us.,10,It is feasible use a control group on our Unadress Mail campaigns, what was impossible in the past. We can calculate the ROI for each campaign We know where our competitors are developping their network,MicroStrategy Analytics, IBM SPSS, IBM SPSS Modeler and Microsoft Access,More than 5 million,Both,IBM SPSS, Microsoft Access, IBM SPSS ModelerQuick Review of IBM CampaignIBM Campaign is used across whole organization at our company. We started with one division but later scaled to other divisions. It is used for outbound and inbound segmentation of audience. Later it sends the list to eMessage for email delivery or uses IBM Interact to display dynamic personalized banners on website.,Campaign canvas is very powerful and rich functionalities Strong integration with eMessage Strong integration with iBM Campaign Supports Hadoop Database,UI is a little clumsy Integration with IBM Marketing Operations is not that great Huge Temp files auto-generate when flowchart runs and cause issues,8,IBM Campaign is the major and biggest contributor for marketing ROI With integration to IBM Interact, it helped marketing achieve next level of personal marketing,Oracle Eloqua,1 to 5 million,B2B,Oracle Eloqua, IBM Marketing Operations, IBM InteractIBM Campaign: A Wonderful Tool to Navigate AudiencesIBM Campaign provides an easy-to-use graphical user interface that supports the direct marketing process of selecting, suppressing, segmenting, sampling, and creating output lists of customer IDs. It really helps put everything all into one place, and it streamlines everybody's workload. IBM's UDI data communication layer lets you to seamlessly access and manipulate data from all of your data sources.,Campaign treats a marketing campaign as a discrete entity that is made up of one or more flowcharts, which are in turn comprised of one or more processes. IBM Campaign performs actual data manipulation live. Users do not need to know SQL to design campaigns.,May be a little confusing to pick up if this is the first time you're managing a campaign. Some of the commands are a little slow to response. Live data can sometimes be misconstrued.,7,It helps my clients drive their business which in turn, drives more profit for them. It helps my clients determine what works, and what doesn't work, in terms of their social marketing campaigns. It helps navigate proper budgeting through determining what clients' users respond to, and what they find unique.,Adobe Campaign,100,000 to 250,000,B2B,Adobe Analytics, Adobe Campaign, Adobe Audience ManagerGet IBM Unica for less work inorder to get best resultsWe are Using Unica to find the right contacts from the huge database based on the requirements. It is being used to support company business and the media departments in the organization. Whenever the marketing team decides to contact their users based on necessity, they are able to generate the right contacts list by using different filters. That’s how they can filter the unnecessary contacts from the targeted list and the company can save on budget and can hold valuable customers. Indirectly it will increase the company revenue.,IBM Unica offers more than one module as we can start from market planning and can end with analysis of post campaign results. Not required to work with different tools and can skip having the difficulties while integrating them for automation. Can design multi wave, multi touch, multi-channel automated campaigns in one place and incredible automation while setting up triggers and schedules to avoid more manual work in order to save resource time. Having valuable user guide to answer whenever we had questions while setup /design phase. Able to get output list without writing huge lines of SQL when there are multiple number of table joins as you can join as many tables as you want to the table catalogs to fetch the output data in seconds..,Not suitable to small industries even if they really want to use. It would be great to have a lighter version to let any company use in order to make more customers. It would really great to have support team available whenever having the issues / difficulties with in the tool itself. At least able to respond asap.,8,Positive impact on ROI as able to target right people at right time. Ideal case is when using the campaign management, e-message and cognos under one roof, able to do the analyze the results in shorter time. When using Cognos integration with Unica, capturing the results and analyzation done pretty quick and appropriate steps has been taken before next communication.,1 to 5 million,9
Unspecified
IBM Campaign
48 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

IBM Campaign Reviews

IBM Campaign
48 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 48 vetted IBM Campaign reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Eric Bahme profile photo
March 30, 2018

User Review: "IBM Campaign is still the leader"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to generate the majority of the marketing campaigns that my company sends out. Predominately through email but also through direct mail, web and social media.
  • Ability to translate Multiple SQL queries into a very easy to use visual GUI.
  • Provides the ability to pre-define segments, run them once in off hours, store them in their own system tables for quick youth and a significant reduction in CPU utilization on the database.
  • It’s use of Reusable objects. Including user variables to pre-define calculations one time, macros that you can create and pass values to parameterize the SQL code And the creation of templates to easily replicate work.
  • It’s ability to bring in external data on the fly that can very easily be mapped into any flowchart.
  • It’s flexibility and creating UNIX script via triggers to automate sending of files to multiple vendors with different FTP sites
  • It’s flexibility in the output layouts that it can create.
  • The system tables are too convoluted and there should be the ability to have a single view of contact history without having a drawing to have to be tabbed together.
  • Utica is not a very efficient creator of SQL is very resource intensive.
  • I would like to see more functionality in their marketing operations tool to allow more customization and easier creation of monitoring reports including KPI’s.
It’s fantastic for a list-based generation. I’ve been in a number of fortune 500-row class organizations using the tool and for the most part, there’s very little and can’t do.
Read Eric Bahme's full review
Gabriel Racine profile photo
September 01, 2017

User Review: "IBM Campaign is Powerful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using IBM Campaign as a campaign management tool for 5 years now. It is so powerful for us to know exactly what we send to our customers or non-customers and when they received it. For a call-center perspective it is extremely useful, but for a marketing perspective as well. We can build predictive models more powerful than before with these insights. In addition, the response tracking helps us to know which campaign has been more successful, based on their lift. So, in this case, it is easier to adapt our communications for our market.

I strongly recommend this application.
  • Contact History of our campaigns.
  • Response History to know what kind of campaigns work well.
  • Extremely powerful. If you have the right access to the database, the sky is the limit.
  • Perfect for larger companies in telecommunications or banking.
  • The version 8.6 was not user-friendly at all. This is not ergonomic compared to other applications.
  • Complex to learn at the beginning.
  • You can have some glitches and IBM is not the best for fixing this, unless you are one of their biggest clients. Better to have a good third party to help you like us.
You can produce every type of multichannel campaign. With a good dedicated team for this application (guys from IT, marketing and/or finance) you can do whatever you want. With this application, we were able to leverage our knowledge of our competitors with some geo-marketing campaigns. As we do Email, Door to Door, Outbound Telemarketing, Inbound, Unadressed Mail, Unsold and Direct Mail campaigns, IBM Campaign is a really good choice for our company. Otherwise, for small player, maybe it is too complex.
Read Gabriel Racine's full review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

"Quick Review of IBM Campaign"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Campaign is used across whole organization at our company. We started with one division but later scaled to other divisions. It is used for outbound and inbound segmentation of audience. Later it sends the list to eMessage for email delivery or uses IBM Interact to display dynamic personalized banners on website.
  • Campaign canvas is very powerful and rich functionalities
  • Strong integration with eMessage
  • Strong integration with IBM Campaign
  • Supports Hadoop Database
  • UI is a little clumsy
  • Integration with IBM Marketing Operations is not that great
  • Huge Temp files auto-generate when flowchart runs and cause issues
If the organization has tons of data to segment, IBM Campaign is more powerful than many other products. The availability of mDue to zero coding approach, developers are not required to learn any programming language in particular manipulation tools and advanced functions in IBM Campaign is unmatched. I believe the users must have knowledge of SQL to get the most out of the tools. Typical business users using Eloqua would find it tough to migrate into IBM Campaign.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 18, 2017

Review: "IBM Campaign: A Wonderful Tool to Navigate Audiences"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Campaign provides an easy-to-use graphical user interface that supports the direct marketing process of selecting, suppressing, segmenting, sampling, and creating output lists of customer IDs. It really helps put everything all into one place, and it streamlines everybody's workload. IBM's UDI data communication layer lets you to seamlessly access and manipulate data from all of your data sources.
  • Campaign treats a marketing campaign as a discrete entity that is made up of one or more flowcharts, which are in turn comprised of one or more processes.
  • IBM Campaign performs actual data manipulation live.
  • Users do not need to know SQL to design campaigns.
  • May be a little confusing to pick up if this is the first time you're managing a campaign.
  • Some of the commands are a little slow to response.
  • Live data can sometimes be misconstrued.
IBM Campaign helps you target your audience, so if you're into digital marketing and want to find the defining line (i.e., what drives the most 'clicks', what content drives the most traffic) this will be a very useful tool. It's great for big businesses/websites...may be inappropriate for smaller businesses and websites with less than 100,000 unique visitors everyday, but that's just me speaking from experience.
Read this authenticated review
Vasu Vetcha profile photo
May 07, 2015

IBM Campaign Review: "Get IBM Unica for less work inorder to get best results"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are Using Unica to find the right contacts from the huge database based on the requirements. It is being used to support company business and the media departments in the organization. Whenever the marketing team decides to contact their users based on necessity, they are able to generate the right contacts list by using different filters. That’s how they can filter the unnecessary contacts from the targeted list and the company can save on budget and can hold valuable customers. Indirectly it will increase the company revenue.
  • IBM Unica offers more than one module as we can start from market planning and can end with analysis of post campaign results. Not required to work with different tools and can skip having the difficulties while integrating them for automation.
  • Can design multi wave, multi touch, multi-channel automated campaigns in one place and incredible automation while setting up triggers and schedules to avoid more manual work in order to save resource time. Having valuable user guide to answer whenever we had questions while setup /design phase.
  • Able to get output list without writing huge lines of SQL when there are multiple number of table joins as you can join as many tables as you want to the table catalogs to fetch the output data in seconds..
  • Not suitable to small industries even if they really want to use. It would be great to have a lighter version to let any company use in order to make more customers.
  • It would really great to have support team available whenever having the issues / difficulties with in the tool itself. At least able to respond asap.

It supports multi-wave campaigns, external command line triggers and automated scheduled functionality. Scheduling functionality is useful for ad-hoc and multi touch campaigns. Platform independent scheduler can schedule regular / irregular intervals.


But it’s not compatible for non-enterprise organizations.

Read Vasu Vetcha's full review
Myles Mckee profile photo
February 25, 2015

IBM Campaign Review: "IBM Unica"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Unica to manage all of our email marketing campaigns and a large number of direct mail and telemarketing campaigns. We use the Distributed Marketing tool to allow our field employees to generate corporate compliant marketing emails to members and prospects.
  • Campaign and eMessage have proven to be well integrated and reliable tools for managing email campaigns.
  • Use of segments and templates in Campaign allows for easy use of recurring data selection processes.
  • eMessage features, such as the document editor, Global Suppression, and activity tracking, have been relatively reliable and easy to use.
  • Distributed Marketing tools is flexible in its application with lots of potential applications.
  • Integration of Distributed Marketing and IBM Scheduler with Campaign and eMessage still needs work.
  • Transporting projects betwen development, test, and production environments does not work well.
  • Distributed Marketing tool still seems to be immature, particularly data security mechanisms (XML documents that, when refreshed, require JVMs to be restarted).
Well-suited for email campaigns. Requires a decent investment of resources to install and develop user processes. Works relatively well for projects with short turnaround times in an environment where data is pulled from multiple sources.
Read Myles Mckee's full review
Justin Russell profile photo
February 04, 2015

IBM Campaign Review: "Unica old shool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Unica is being used in our Marketing Department only. We use it to target email our members. Unica Predictive Insights helps us target the right members for specific products.
  • Predictive Insights is a very successful tool for us. Out click rates and conversion are always high when we use this tool.
  • Unica Web Analytics is what our Senior Management loves to see results and reporting from .
  • Unica support is always fast and helpful.
  • Unica UI isn't the best. It seems like its from the 90's.
  • We have had a rough time using Web Analytics. Many issues arise. We went a full month of the daily import of our data not importing into Web Analytics. It took Unica a very long time to resolve it. We had senior management waiting for certain campaign results which we didn't have.
Predictive Insights is the main reason we enjoy Unica. After our contract ends in a year, we are going to see what other Marketing Solution companies are out there. To update to a new version is a huge project and is a big con for us.
Read Justin Russell's full review
Tim Biddiscombe profile photo
May 03, 2014

IBM Campaign Review: "IBM Enterprise Marketing Management - best of breed"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
At Purple Square Consulting Ltd, we implement IBM EMM (also known by it's legacy name Unica) suite for many clients across Europe. We provide design services, aswell as implementation, configuration, training & troubleshooting.
  • Marketing Automation - the scheduling capabilities are incredibly sophisticated.
  • Multi-wave, multi-channel capabilities within single Marketing Campaigns.
  • Highly advanced reusability. Every aspect of the users experience can be templates, allowing workflows & objects of every kind to be used again and again.
  • Greater integration of real time (Interact) capabilities with outbound channels, in particular IBM eMessage Email & SMS delivery.
  • Additional outbound channels to be integrated into eMessage, including Facebook Fanpage & Twitter DM broadcasts. At the moment these are possible only through custom additional integration.
  • Support for additional marketing database technology, e.g. MySQL, Exasol, ParAccel, WX2.
  • Provision of database technology with software purchase, as Web technology (IBM WebSphere Express) is supplied for free, but no database is supplied - since IBM also market DB2, which is a supported technology it seems a shame.
Extremely well integrated in the TelCos and Financial Services areas. Retail & Online Gaming are the next big sectors. Real Time capabilities via IBM Interact are starting to come to the fore as marketers start to understand the necessity for true reactive CRM. Additional functionality using IBM Distributed Marketing is also another very powerful area for the future, allowing regional marketers to fill out web based forms, which initiate and run flowcharts & email delivery automatically.
Read Tim Biddiscombe's full review
Brent Banning profile photo
March 28, 2014

Review: "Why IBM Campaign (Unica) is still number 1 for Enterprise Marketers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Unica Campaign (IBM Campaign) is hosted on behalf of clients, to provide access a customer and prospect data for the purpose of marketing and service campaigns. Generally the tool is used by either analytics team who have a core understanding of data OR marketers who are using pre-built pre-defined campaign segments. IBM Campaign can be used for very simple data selections or complex data selections that require numerous requirements to be met, this includes splitting 'contacts' by channel based on customer preferences (opt outs) or data that is available (presence of data or not, based on a requirement for a contact channel - telephone contact obviously requires a telephone number).
  • Allows for complex selection to be made using both simple process of 'merge/purge' processes and also the ability to use raw SQL within a selection process.
  • One campaign flowchart can cover off multiple channels for an individual campaign, along with multiple campaigns within one flowchart (can defeat the purpose but it is an option)
  • Contact History - Allows good management of contact points with a individual be it a customer or a prospective customer, allows you to provide compliance information when required to appropriate authorities or respond to a customer/prospect complaint.
  • Automation using scripts outside of the actual application environment to call an IBM Campaign object (such as a flowchart), to trigger a campaign post another process such as a data load into a table within the defined application schema.
  • A user can schedule a flowchart to run on a set schedule and an output file delivered to a specific location on an going basis (set and forget).
  • IBM Campaign is a tool for enterprise organisations with large and complex data content, with the introduction of IBM Marketing Cloud (dubbed Unica Lite) this will allow access to the power of this tool to smaller organisations. To use a previous reviewers comment "It's VERY involved. Hire a an integrator and educator!" - this is an involved integration process and the right training can make it very easy to use.
  • IBM Campaign by itself lacks data visualisation within it's module, additional modules within IBM's EMM suite does allow data visualisation but as within any additional module it does come with the IBM price tag.
The more data you have, the more likely I would recommend IBM Campaign over the other tools in the market. It is truly an Enterprise Marketing Management solution, that can be built on as you mature your marketing requirements from traditional channels to the evolving channels under the digital banner. There are over 10 modules within the full suite of IBM EMM from Campaign through to Marketing Operations, Opportunity Detection and email campaign execution (IBM eMessage).
Read Brent Banning's full review
Bill Shaughnessy profile photo
November 08, 2013

IBM Campaign: "IBM Unica Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to track, manage and update a project quickly and efficiently. It allows both project owners and contributors to interact, add and edit documents, approve and coment on projects and keep everyone aware of the projects status.
  • It is a very detail oriented software capable of keeping complex projects with various elements on time and keeps all the players and stakeholders in the know.
  • It's a long-term commitment but well worth it!
  • The editing section should be more user friendly and more intuitive. A lot of time can be taken up just navigating through the document editing sections and the scheduling section.
  • It's VERY involved. Hire a an integrator and educator!
Get as much training as possible.
Read Bill Shaughnessy's full review
No photo available
April 11, 2015

IBM Campaign Review: "Unica compared to SAS CM, Alterian and Teradata"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The implementations I supported were primarily used by my clients' Marketing departments. IBM EMM (aka Unica) for these clients is primarily used for the very granular segmentation of customers for multi-channel marketing such as Direct Mail, eMail and Social. The solution (the application and underlying datarmart) allows the client to efficiently create segments and campaigns; capture promotion history and assign responses.
  • The application has very robust and flexible functionality while maintaining a relatively high ease of use. Relatively complicated segmentation logic can be created for a campaign by a knowledgeable user and the application design supports efficient execution.
  • The application supports the logical "storage" of campaigns in support of a multi-faceted marketing organization: multiple divisions; field marketing; different channels etc.
  • The application allows SQL to be hand coded and inserted into the segmentation process.
  • The application supports exit points for custom code to be executed instream.
  • I don't see a lot of areas for improvement in the actual application software - I see a lot of areas where you need to have someone that really knows what they are doing do the implementaton; configuration and tuning.
  • Different datamart mappings should be created for different groups of users or types of campaigns. I see a lot of implementations where the team was pretty lazy and just mapped everything and left it up to the user to sort it out. This slows down the creation and execution (running) of the campaigns as well as causing a longer learning curve for new users.
  • It would be nice to have more tracking on the components that are added to the templates section so that users know when it was last updated and by whom. I see a lot of companies set up templates and then either never use them (instead just copy/paste last months campaign) or worse - not maintain them and therefore potentially introduce errors.
Key questions: 1. What can you afford? 2. What do you really need? 3. Do you need something that runs superfast like Alterian? or something that is slower but much more sophisticted and robust like Unica? 4. How complicated is your datamart? How many customer rows? How much transactional data etc. 5. How quickly and how often do you have to incorporate new data? suppression files; zip files etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 07, 2014

IBM Campaign Review: "After 4 years, still not convinced ..."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by 2 departements.
It is used to "program" campaigns. 2/3 of the campaigns are one shot, 1/3 is recurrent. 1/2 are commercial campaigns, 1/2 are administrative campaigns to inform clients of p.e. changes in interest rates and so on.
  • The most powerful in Unica are the audience swaps. They are very helpful for cleaning up audiences like households, if one of the members of a household has a product, you can easily exclude the whole audience.
  • When working with segments in a flow, this goes really fast.
  • The use of templates is easy and helps to standardise the working process.
  • The mappings of tables can be different in every campaign
  • Logging is not easy to read and is incomplete. It has a lot of information i'm not interested in, but the queries that really interest me, p.e. the queries used for calculation of derived fields are missing. I also miss the queries that add the result of the derived field to the final selection.
  • Difficult to document a flow in a good manner.
  • No way to search in a flow. and over all the flows where something is calculated.
  • No way to have a good overview of what is happening in a flow or a process in a flow.
  • The calculation of derived fields is far too slow.
  • You can not make decisions in a flow based on data.
  • You have to promote flows by copying them manually from a test environment to a production environment.
  • This might lead to inconsistence over the environments.
I think it is wel suited for a business with a lot of one on one relations in the database. For example a supermarket that sells products to a client and gives a reduction on that product. It is nice if the selection process is not to complex and does not involve to many calculations. It is also nice if it is very clear what you want to follow up.

In our environment we have lots of many-to-many relations. for example one product is held by more then one client. And that client might have more of those products with other clients. These kind of situation demands for a lot of calculations with derived fields(*), and there things go far too slow. Unica is probably not such a good solution for us, because our environment is too complex, and so is to process of creating the selection, we often have to change things in the selection flows. Because of the complexity it is difficult to see what the flow is exactly doing afterwoods, it also takes to much time to modify existing campaigns.

The interface is not handy to work with, if you have long lists of variables, of tables or derived fields(*) you have to scroll through trough them, you can not really search them or reorder them. You can not drag and drop fields or other objects like derived fields in the flow, what would be easy if you have to make frequent changes to the proces flow.

When you copy objects something the content of the object changes because the links with other objects or lost.

(*) derived field: field to calculate something
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2014

IBM Campaign Review: "IBM Unica Campaign Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Unica is used as a marketing platform for full service and self service clients. We build and support our client's marketing databases and this is a product that we use for clients across many different industries for delivery of thier marketing campaigns.
  • Flexibility
  • Robust functionality
  • Ease of Use
  • The new version 9.1 eliminated some functionality that was present in earlier versions and I would like to see that functionality restored. For example: the ability to maximize process box windows; Single click on drop downs;
  • The Audience box needs to be enhanced to accommodate the ability to select one per household after multiple levels of segmentation criteria is applied without losing the ability to apply that criteria to the audience being deduped. Currently, the product will randomly select an individual regardless of whether they met the criteria in segmentation. There are ways around this, but would be nice if IBM would resolve this issue.
  • Would like to see performance enhanced when processing Unica macros and derived fields.
I personally like the tool as it is so flexible and robust. IN ten years of use, I have never had a campaign that could not be coded using this tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 25, 2014

IBM Campaign Review: "Overall A Great Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Unica Campaign to build list pulls for email campaigns. It is easy to do segmentation, schedule runs and transfer files to vendors in Unica.
  • The segmentation process is very helpful. You can segment by field value or query. It also shows the counts for each segment.
  • The merge process can combine multiple groups together when you choose "Merge/Purge". It also can pick the overlap group if you choose "Match" in the configuration.
  • The Snapshot process can save a copy of your customer along with their qualifications into a file or a table, which is helpful when you need to do post analysis.
  • Hope there can be more format options when output data to a file. I can only do fixed width and some vendors do not like this format.
It is well suited when you build ongoing email promotions and do not need to do a lot of post analysis of these campaigns. Unica is good at picking audience but not good at retaining their criteria qualifications. When you need to do post analysis based on customers' pre behavior, the flowchart is complex in order to keep all the fields you need in your post analysis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2014

IBM Campaign Review: "Out of Date. Better Options Exist."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetInsight is used by a number of people in the organization for web analytics. We use it to see how many site visitors there are, to monitor campaigns, and view trends. However, due to limitations within the tool, it is not nearly advanced as some others that are available.
  • Easily export data
  • Access past reports that have run
  • Nice visitor retention graph
  • Speed of loading reports
  • Filters! More filtering options with the ability to do and/or arguements
  • Making geographic and other such data not something that developers have to turn on/ off
Although this tool was probably advanced in its heyday, it is far out of date.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2014

IBM Campaign: "Unica Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the organization for marketing key performance indicators.
  • Quantity of dimensions and measurements available.
  • Data visualization.
Best suited for understanding standard KPIs.
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Campaign

IBM Campaign helps marketers design, execute, measure and optimize outbound marketing campaigns. This omni-channel campaign management solution allows marketers to perform segmentation over multiple data sources to deliver tailored messages to large volumes of contacts.

IBM Campaign enables you to:

  • Build a targeted, ongoing dialogue with customers and prospects using available data from local, cloud and third-party repositories including previous interactions and responses, current behaviors and events, big data and more.
  • Manage your full campaign logic and campaign delivery including audience segmentation, ad-hoc field creation, exclusions, assignment of offers and channels, and the ability to directly execute delivery of email, mobile push and SMS campaigns.
  • Reuse campaign management building blocks including audiences, segments, offers, treatments and exclusion rules.
  • Accurately measure and report on marketing activities to enhance insights, decision making and marketing accountability.
  • Choose an on-premise or cloud deployment model of preference.

IBM Campaign Features

Has featureEnd-to-end campaign management
Has featureCampaign measurement and reporting
Has featureDeeper customer relationships

IBM Campaign Screenshots

IBM Campaign Integrations

IBM Campaign Competitors

IBM Campaign Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No