LinkedIn Marketing Solutions

LinkedIn Marketing Solutions

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions

Overview

Recent Reviews

Leading B2B advertising platform

9
January 18, 2022
Our team at PrograMetrix managed paid advertising campaigns on behalf of our clients using LinkedIn Marketing Solutions. We also utilize …

Great tool to target B2B audience

9
December 02, 2021
We are using LinkedIn Marketing Solutions to run advertising on LinkedIn targeting wholesale clients (the B2B side of our business). It is …
Read full review

Get in their Inbox!

8
September 15, 2021
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions was used by our management team and marketing team. It allowed our team and salespeople a different avenue to …

Works Well with the Right Audience

8
June 10, 2021
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is primarily used by the marketing team, but directly impacts the sales team. The problem we look to address …
Read full review

Best B2B advertising platform

8
September 18, 2020
As a marketing agency, we often recommend LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, specifically LinkedIn Advertising, to our clients that sell B2B. …

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is LinkedIn Marketing Solutions?

LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is a recently (2015) expanded marketing platform for reaching audiences through the popular Linkedin work-oriented social network that includes modules like the Lead Accelerator (supporting segmentation features to improve conversion), Sponsored Updates, LinkedIn Onsite…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

Sorry, this product's description is unavailable

What is Taboola?

Taboola is a native advertising platform from the company of the same name in New York for publishing "recommended" content in a variety of popularly visited news sites and spaces. Taboola is partnered with many publishers (the Atlantic, Tribune, MailOnline, Business Insider, etc.).

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is LinkedIn Marketing Solutions?

LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is a recently (2015) expanded marketing platform for reaching audiences through the popular Linkedin work-oriented social network that includes modules like the Lead Accelerator (supporting segmentation features to improve conversion), Sponsored Updates, LinkedIn Onsite Display, LinkedIn Network Display, and Sponsored InMail. While still at its core a social marketing engine, Linkedin Marketing Solutions now presents a more comprehensive B2B advertising platform. The Linkedin Text Ads module supports both pay per click (PPC) and cost per impression (CPM) pricing models.

The platform is used by many well-known companies, including Adobe, Citi, General Electric, HP, and many others. It integrates technology from Bizo, a company and platform acquired by LinkedIn in mid-2014.

LinkedIn Marketing Solutions Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is LinkedIn Marketing Solutions?

LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is a recently (2015) expanded marketing platform for reaching audiences through the popular Linkedin work-oriented social network that includes modules like the Lead Accelerator (supporting segmentation features to improve conversion), Sponsored Updates, LinkedIn Onsite Display, LinkedIn Network Display, and Sponsored InMail. While still at its core a social marketing engine, Linkedin Marketing Solutions now presents a more comprehensive B2B advertising platform. The Linkedin Text Ads module supports both pay per click (PPC) and cost per impression (CPM) pricing models. The platform is used by many well-known companies, including Adobe, Citi, General Electric, HP, and many others. It integrates technology from Bizo, a company and platform acquired by LinkedIn in mid-2014.

What is LinkedIn Marketing Solutions's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses LinkedIn Marketing Solutions?

The most common users of LinkedIn Marketing Solutions are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Marketing & Advertising industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 48)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Ghanshyam Thumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First, we always thought for marketing on Facebook and Google only help but later we found solutions on LinkedIn to connect more professional people related with the accurate business we started first our own company's marketing and we got success and after that, we are doing for our customer.
  • Always get valuable people on LinkedIn.
  • Create a our own LinkedIn group.
  • Easy UI to make end to end process.
  • Ads improvement.
  • Detail analytics report.
It is very helpful for small business to start their own products or service-related digital marketing without much technical knowledge.
  • No Training
Dedicated technical support team which help to resolved and guide easily with video's and documents
Yes
No any downtime
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions was a great tool for our company to allow us to promote content to specific audiences. The platform is great when it comes down to targeting based on specific demographics such as job title, seniority, education, etc. Our campaign results had great conversion and were effective, however, advertising on this platform can be expensive.
  • Audience Targeting/Demographic Selection
  • Campaign Management/Reporting
  • B2B Targeting
  • Explanation of each field when setting up a campaign
  • Costly advertising platform
  • Filtering/Report Breakdown Options
We really enjoyed using LinkedIn to create targeted advertising campaigns whether it was to promote our brand, increase web traffic, or highlight new positions within our company to attract to talent to our team. LinkedIn Marketing Solutions allows you to create specific campaigns to reach the desired campaign goals I just listed. Once you understand how to use the platform to its fullest, you will reap good results.
Phil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team at PrograMetrix managed paid advertising campaigns on behalf of our clients using LinkedIn Marketing Solutions. We also utilize LinkedIn Marketing Solutions for our own internal advertising campaigns. LinkedIn Marketing Solutions helps us generate leads, drive website traffic, and build brand awareness for our clients and for our own brand. LinkedIn is our go-to platform for B2B advertising campaigns.
  • B2B advertising
  • Lead generation
  • Brand awareness
  • Reaching and engaging business professionals
  • Campaign Manager simplifies campaign management
  • Conversion tracking
  • Lowering cost per click
  • Better customer support
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is a great platform for business-to-business (B2B) marketers. With over 750 million business professionals on LinkedIn, LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is the #1 B2B and lead generation advertising platform in the industry. According to LinkedIn, 4 out of 5 of its members are actually involved in making business decisions. LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is not an ideal fit for direct-to-consumer (D2C) brands.
John Tarr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use LinkedIn ads to generate leads and awareness for my B2B clients.
  • Company targeting.
  • Job Function targeting.
  • Job seniority targeting.
  • Campaign structure; follow campaigns, ad group, and ad structure used by other networks.
  • Duplication features to more quickly set up A/B tests.
  • Billing and invoicing clarity.
LinkedIn ads are perfectly suited for b2b companies looking to generate leads or raise awareness. The targeting options for LinkedIn ads are not suitable for B2B or eCommerce.
Junaid Poolayil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We using LinkedIn Marketing solution for B2B Operations, it allowed us to reach the Top and most engaged business people and its conversion rate is higher than other normal SME platforms, we can reach the top business people very easily, and I think new-gen B2B businesses definitely use the LinkedIn marketing solutions
  • Huge database of Business people
  • Easy to engage
  • easy budgeting
  • Communication Transparency
  • Confusing Analytics report
  • Should allow narrow targeting
  • lack of tutorials
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is well suited for B2B businesses, actually, we doing B2C and B2B operations, for B2C businesses we are using traditional ways and SMEs, but in the case of B2B operations we need some specific contacts and databases, that we get only on LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, we are situated in Qatar, with depending the Qatar market we getting good results from LinkedIn Marketing Solutions
Henri Favier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Linkedin Marketing solutions [are] used in our organization through our lead generation strategy. The communication made through this tool is to develop our software product in the french and international market. We are targeting C-level from big companies, all sectors.
  • Precision of the audience targeting
  • Remarketing audience
  • User experience
  • Linkedin messages ads functionality does not perform
Linkedin solutions [are] well suited for our point of view to implement two kinds of campaigns. Notoriety campaign to improve the brand image on the specific market for a specific target. Lead generation campaign, through specific campaign thanks to the capacity of targeting specific personas.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using LinkedIn Marketing Solutions to run advertising on LinkedIn targeting wholesale clients (the B2B side of our business). It is used by the paid marketing department with the purpose of building awareness on the market. This tool allows us to be specific in our industry targeting and stay precise with our ad spend.
  • Very specific audience targeting.
  • Easy setup and management.
  • Great native B2B targeting that looks professional.
  • Setup can be more complex for more sophisticated advertising campaigns and retargeting.
  • Not aware of connectivity to CMS.
  • Not very deep reporting and insights on the campaigns.
This tool is great if your audience is on LinkedIn and you would like to target your B2B clients. It is easy to use but also because it is simple. Not much training is required to be able to run your own campaigns. Therefore, it is great for smaller businesses with smaller budgets.
Manuela Murillo Jaramillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LinkedIn Marketing Solutions to promote our content through different audiences. Depending on the strategy and the type of content, we use different types of ads, the one that we use the most is lead generation, since it has shown to be the most effective for us. We also sponsor our company page's posts, and have a lot of dynamic, follower, and text ads.
  • Ad targeting
  • Lead generation
  • Data reporting
  • Matched list creation (time)
  • Support is bad, slow, and basically non-existant
  • Slow platform
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is well suited for B2B marketing and advertisement. It has the best targeting criteria based on jobs and companies. The platform shows a lot of data, which is great because you can better understand the results of your campaigns.

One thing that is not the best is the price of leads/clicks. It's the most expensive platform to advertise on. This could be weighted out if you manage to convert any leads into costumers.
September 15, 2021

Get in their Inbox!

Emily Hammell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions was used by our management team and marketing team. It allowed our team and salespeople a different avenue to reach potential clients instead of the traditional in-person visit, emails, or phone calls we were accustomed to. I think this solution worked a lot better for younger potential clients, as LinkedIn notified them in a variety of ways.
  • Targeting
  • Transparency
  • Reporting
  • Specific targeting
  • Analytics
  • Tutorials
Although it offered great features, we didn't really see a lot of traffic or results from the ads we placed. Working in hospitality, we had to strategically time and place our ads around holiday seasons and it can be difficult to predict a marketing campaign. Depending on your market, LinkedIn may not be the best avenue to advertise with.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is primarily used by the marketing team, but directly impacts the sales team. The problem we look to address is finding professionals with the capability of purchasing our solutions and involvement in the right industry objectives/organizations. We typically use the tool to identify potential prospects utilizing the marketing solutions title and organizational filters.
  • Segmenting the audience - the filters can be fairly comprehensive
  • Offering engaging, yet not overwhelming options for prospects
  • Ability to drive awareness as well as demand generation
  • Reporting can be improved to be able to overlay information and potentially connect back to Salesforce.
  • A similar title function - would be great to offer something where you can see similar titles to include in the filtering. So many titles aren't standardized so it could increase the audience size if you could do this.
  • Sponsored posts would be a great addition. They may offer this now, but the last time we leveraged the solution it was limited in terms of the functionality and what it would look like on the prospect's feed.
Based on experience, if you have a target audience that is active on LinkedIn, then the marketing solutions can offer a great way to engage the audience, provide messaging, and get in front of key decision makers. It can also be used to drive awareness of learning events such as webinars, conferences, whitepapers, etc.
Adanne Chinmaobi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Professionals are a core part of our day to day customer target and thus LinkedIn has been a reliable platform for the marketing department in my organization, to prospect for new customers and also put our services in the face of prospective customers.

We make use of LinkedIn marketing tools such as Sales Navigator and most importantly LinkedIn Ads. While LinkedIn Sales Navigator makes social selling across the LinkedIn network easier, LinkedIn Ads. allows us to target specific demographics of the LinkedIn social network.
  • Targeted ads - LinkedIn targeted ads. Enable us at the marketing department of my organization to place interesting advertorial content in the faces of LinkedIn users, who fall into the category of our targeted audience and are thus likely to be interested in using our services.
  • Sales Navigator - LinkedIn sales navigator allows myself and colleagues to tap into the population of professionals present on the network and increase our sales pipeline.
  • Linkedin Company pages - This marketing tool has allowed LinkedIn users to independently discover my company, and by extension discover our fantastic products and services.
  • LinkedIn Marketing Solutions ,although effective are way too expensive and can be more competitively priced.
  • Geographical targeting in the case of LinkedIn ads can be improved. As an example, LinkedIn currently allows us target cities and countries with our ads.
  • There is no way to target specific towns and districts.
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions are fantastic for targeting professionals across most industries. There is no social networking platform which boasts as many professionals as LinkedIn, thereby making LinkedIn Marketing Solutions the best way to take advantage of the broad LinkedIn professional population.
Asides from official support materials made easily available by LinkedIn themselves, there are millions of user generated contents created to help users take advantage of what LinkedIn offers users of its marketing solutions.
Adam Lumley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions are used as a lead acquisition tool and an engagement tool for our audience. It offers more precise targeting than other platforms we use on a regular basis. Multiple departments use features relevant to their roles in the company. However, most of our usage comes from the marketing department.
  • Targeting - they have done a great job of allowing you speak to ideal audiences
  • Support - dedicated customer service and account advising is always accessible and very responsive
  • Curation of professional audiences - one of the biggest advantages to the platform is that its users are for the most part are professional
  • Ad management is cumbersome - a bulk editor would be great. Uploading/editing one ad at a time can be very time consuming.
  • User Interface - although they have come a long way over the past few years, the UI is still more difficult to navigate when compared to other platforms.
  • Budgeting - campaigns can potentially spend up to 20% over your submitted budget so it may be necessary for some marketers to adjust their budget down in the platform. It's a small change that would take the burden off the marketer to allow them to simply set a spending cap.
  • Reporting - their reporting features are very limited and performance charts only allow single metric views.
  • Competition - there are no insights provided around how your ads are doing vs your competition aside from your costs fluctuating. Even something as simple as "share of voice" would be nice to see.
LinkedIn has a much higher CPC than most commonly used platforms resulting in a much higher CPL/CPA. For businesses that don't have big CPC budgets, it would be difficult to be able to run tests without breaking the bank. Unless they get it right out of the gate, they may not find success with their efforts.

On the opposite side of that, if a business can afford higher acquisition costs, this platform is likely worth exploring. They offer precise targeting with audiences full of professionals so often the leads are really high quality if you get it right.
Our support rep support is amazing. We often get responses from our rep within the same hour we email her. We have productive meetings and she allows provides followup and feedback.
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LinkedIn Marketing Solutions on my team of data analysts and media buyers. We have a combination of consumer and B2B brands that we recommend and execute digital advertising strategies for. We use Linkedin and a strong option for brands looking to make B2B communications. Our media buyers set up and run marketing plans on LinkedIn, occasionally with the help of our LI agency rep. I specifically spend most of my time pulling reporting and performance information from the platform.
  • Excellent targeting capabilities.
  • LinkedIn reps have been very responsive when we reach out for help.
  • LinkedIn has generated some of our best ROAS for B2B campaigns.
  • The UI is still a bit clunky, especially compared to other social platforms.
  • Organic reporting could definitely improve. Exporting organic data is a huge hassle.
  • Reporting customization is fairly limited.
When you're looking for a professionally-facing advertising option, LinkedIn is definitely top of mind. Their user base stands alone compared to other social platforms because users are in a professional mindset and more receptive to B2B messaging. This in turn has generated strong ROAS for our clients. The drawback of LI is the advertising expense is much higher than other social platforms. However, it's still significantly cheaper than going to third-party professional associations and partnering with them directly.
The few times my colleagues and I have had to reach out to our assigned LinkedIn rep, they have been quickly responsive and efficient at providing solutions.

The user interface itself doesn't contain a lot of help/training material, so it definitely takes a bit of trial and error to figure out a smooth workflow within the platform.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the past few years, we've used LinkedIn Marketing Solutions on two of our clients. While the platform allowed us to target new audience groups different from Facebook and Twitter, the cost to reach those targets was quite a bit more expensive than either Facebook or Twitter. While the platform was easy to set up, as we tried to do simple things like tracking visitors from our ads and measuring ROI, we faced many difficulties, as LinkedIn prefers to use tags instead of tracking cookies or pixels (like Facebook).
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions shines in its ability to allow our business clients to target other businesses and decision makers, allowing our clients to promote their products to the right people with ease.
  • Running B2B ads.
  • Targeting decision makers.
  • When we first started we got a sales rep from LinkedIn who walked us through the process.
  • Our clients reported that inMail got them some good sales leads.
  • As a marketer who loves to crunch numbers and find hidden gems of info in data, I feel LinkedIn is still behind other advertising platforms, especially Facebook & Twitter.
  • Weak sales tracking across sites compared to Facebook Pixel.
While we service many clients at our agency, we only felt that LinkedIn Marketing Solutions fit with two out of them, mainly due to their target audience and the type of product they sell. However, LinkedIn proved to be quite powerful and delivered well both in building the online image of those clients and in generating sales leads.
Bailey Witt, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a marketing agency, we often recommend LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, specifically LinkedIn Advertising, to our clients that sell B2B. It solves the problem of being able to target prospects for our clients at various industries, companies, and with specific job titles. There is no other widely used business networking platform as widely used as LinkedIn, so we know we're using very accurate and exhaustive data. We can build awareness for our clients by showing ads to their ideal customers.
  • The variety of Advertising campaign goals and mediums is great. You can use LinkedIn ads for building brand awareness with a broad reach, or get very narrow with InMail messages to a targeted list. Ads can be videos, images, personal messages, or just a text ad, all with varying pros and cons, so our clients lean on us for advice.
  • Setting up campaigns is very easy. Choose a goal, create an audience, add your content, and off you go. You can preview your ad to see exactly how it will look too.
  • The reporting is very expansive, too. You can view traditional metrics like impressions and clicks, but also set up custom goals to track as conversions, see the reach and frequency of ads, video views, clicks or engagement with your LinkedIn company profile, and a lot more.
  • Cost per click has tended to be fairly expensive, especially compared to a search ad campaign with Google or Bing, so it's not necessarily to be used in every situation. Our clients typically see a $10-$15 cost per click, and for smaller companies with limited marketing budgets, sometimes that can only get them 1-2 leads per month.
  • Audience expansion is one thing that doesn't always play to your advantage. It's supposed to find more people like the people you target in your audience, but it tends to go outside of some very important criteria, such as industry or job title. It makes it hard to make sure you're getting the right traffic or leads while still getting a good scale from the audience.
LinkedIn is the perfect solution for a B2B company that wants to grow, and is willing to spend at least a thousand dollars or more per month on LinkedIn. There is no other advertising platform that has as big a scale of professionals' data for targeting. The best way to use it is to create an ideal customer profile or persona, and create an audience based on key attributes like industry, job title, company size, and others, and then create ads that speak to their pain points that your business solves. It's one of the quickest and easiest ways to get in front of your ideal prospects.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is being used by our Marketing and Sales department. We used it to find new target markets and to increase lead generation. In addition to reaching and building relationships with B2B customers through the platform, LinkedIn Marketing Solutions lets you get campaigns up and running rather quickly.
  • Targeted audience (by industry, job titles, company size, etc.)
  • Versatile ad options including sponsored content, text ads, and more
  • Easy to understand ad dashboard for analytics purposes
  • Sometimes the campaign management page is glitchy.
  • Integrating the insight tag isn't so clear-cut.
  • Pricing. LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is not cost-effective for SMBs who want to use the platform.
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is well suited when you know the exact target audience you want to go after. For example, if I want to send an InMail campaign to MSPs and target only C-level executives in Western Europe, I can do that with LinkedIn Marketing Solutions. This would be popular with traditional advertising platforms. Also, LinkedIn's built-in lead gen form allows prospects to opt-in in one location rather than have them visit an external site. Marketing Solutions may not suitable if you have a limited budget and are planning to do a brand awareness campaign
I've rarely had to contact customer support but when I do, the response takes 1~2 business days if done by email. For marketers, there are many campaign optimization tips & tricks available via the resources pages.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has helped us on gathering the necessary people that we need for our continuing growth in the market. We have been able to achieve the goals of our clients by getting more people to know us. It is very easy to use and the issue about people not knowing us is gone as we are fairly well known now.
  • Easy.
  • Fast.
  • Reliable.
  • Web interface.
  • Mobile application.
  • Intuitive.
It is well suited for companies with high rotation, as stated, we were not well known and LinkedIn addressed that. For example, we had months in which there were a lot of people missing and because no one had heard about us, people didn't trust us that much. With the help of LinkedIn, it is solved.
So, everything what I just said previously adds up to the value of LinkedIn Marketing Solutions. Definitely recommending it to a friend. It has its things to improve but its nothing major or nothing to worry about. So I give a 9 because it still has that, some user interface glitches that can be improved but do not damage the experience that you have with it.
September 12, 2020

Great Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in the HR and Sales dept. to market jobs and business opportunities within the company. It addresses reaching a wider variety of people through LinkedIn, more foot traffic.
  • Great customer service
  • Ease of use
  • Customization
  • Honestly nothing, they have anything you could ever need!
Very well suited for getting your company out there and gaining foot traffic. You can analyze your marketing and see how effective it is. They have so many options for any needs you have for different kinds of ads.
Vincent Misiewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run LinkedIn ads, both text ads and sponsored posts with nearly all of our B2B clients. This is being used mainly by our paid media marketing department. We use these campaigns as one of our primary sources of generating qualified leads. We are able to get more mileage out of content already being created for SEO purposes and can effectively target very specific audiences. These campaigns also help us diversify our media spend and reach audiences who are in the market for a solution, but not necessarily "searching" for them.
  • Robust breakout of targeting options
  • Ease of use & setup
  • Reach pre-qualified audiences that may not by actively searching for your products
  • Cannot use dayparting within interface, would need to use 3rd party software such as adstage, which is additional costs
  • Comparatively higher CPCs than search or alternative channels such as Facebook, not crazy about minimum bids
  • Not aware of any remarketing options or further audience targeting
Great for B2B companies that produce a great deal of informative, targeted content. We've seen great results sponsoring long-form industry research, webinars, and whitepapers that get these very specific audiences in the system. Products/services with longer sales cycles can also benefit from sponsored campaigns, as it is possible to really build strong authority on industry topics, making them a first choice when the need for a solution does arise. In general, targeting consumers is less effective, as the targeting is geared more toward professional criteria.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn marketing solutions is being used internally at my company for a variety of clients to promote their content and assets in a variety of paid media ways. We leverage it for different clients, products and industries alike, and use it to promote on a great b2b paid media platform that has a lot of reach.
  • Various ad options
  • Targeting by geographical locations
  • Targeting by job titles
  • Targeting by past or present information
  • Various extended paid media options
  • Connectivity to marketing platforms
  • Connectivity to CRMs
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is one of the best marketing and paid media tools that is available to current marketers to date. It helps to quickly broaden your reach and allows you to market in a paid platform in a seamless way. It is one of the best investments for your money as well.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is being used by our marketing department. We use it to generate business to business marketing leads for our sales team. LinkedIn Marketing has robust targeting capabilities not available on other targeting platforms that are accurate with a lot of different targeting options. It is also a solution for our overall ABM strategy.
  • One of the best B2B targeting capabilities.
  • Lead Gen Forms work particularly well to generate leads.
  • Able to target based on target account lists.
  • Advanced targeting AND/OR statements.
  • Cost per click is higher than other platforms.
  • Reporting capabilities are really lacking.
  • UI is not the best.
If you are in the B2B marketing function then LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is a top-tier advertising platform and in my opinion, a must buy. There's no other platform that has more accurate job and company information than LinkedIn, and that is their key strength. It also offers another ad platform to target companies.
October 15, 2019

LinkedIn Marketing

Austin Voigt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an advertising agency, with many B2B clients looking to do digital advertising. LinkedIn Marketing Solutions is used for many of our clients, due to the robust professional targeting available, as well as the unique ad formats (such as Sponsored InMail). LinkedIn advertising provides options for targeting that are unavailable on other platforms.
  • Great professional-based audience targeting
  • Great ad formats that are unobtrusive and native in appearance
  • Great customer support and feedback for campaign optimization tips & tricks
  • LinkedIn's campaign management platform is not very robust.
  • LinkedIn's campaign management platform is extremely glitchy.
  • LinkedIn's campaign management platform could use more robust targeting options - like more specific geos, more locations, etc.
LinkedIn is GREAT if you have B2B clients, or want to reach audiences that have specific professional traits you can identify them with. We actually have some higher education clients who use it - not because they're targeting professionals, but because sometimes students will have careers or previous education listed in LinkedIn, and they can target them that way. But all in all, LinkedIn is great for professional audience targeting.
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn Marketing Solutions was being used by our organization to post pay-per-click ads to build awareness of our SaaS product and to drive sales. We primarily focused on creating and deploying ads to specific user segments, although we ventured a little into using sponsored content as well. We did not try the sponsored inmail feature.
  • Allowed us to tune our targeting options to reach specific groups of LI users - by title, industry, etc.
  • Set a budget without long term commitment.
  • Allows you to incorporate an (albeit very small) image into your creative copy.
  • When we used LinkedIn Marketing Solutions, the reporting was not the most detailed system. The best way to gauge PPC effectiveness is by analyzing data sets, and LinkedIn didn't give us deep insight, considering it was using very specific criteria.
  • The image size limitation of 50x50 pixels makes it difficult to create/select a compelling image that matches your ad content.
  • Price. It was very expensive to do LinkedIn advertising compared to other options.
If you have a strong budget (i.e. you're working for a medium size or larger company and you've got $1,000+/ month for this channel) then you can effectively use this solution, as long as you've got a planned ROI value. If you're running a small business with a small budget, this is most likely not the best option for you (IMHO). Like all PPC options, you'll need to test and tweak your campaigns. If you want deep data sets to create actionable insights, this also may not be the option for you.
Scott Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses LinkedIn Marketing Solutions for B2B clients that are having a tough time getting qualified leads through other means. Sometimes, it is hard to get the right leads using Facebook or Google ad networks, and LinkedIn offers a more professional/business-level platform. Though LinkedIn isn't as ubiquitous as FB or Google, it has audience refining features that make it better for B2B clients. We typically don't use LinkedIn unless we're not getting the performance from other sources, but we have also utilized it alongside other ad platforms to generate interested and drive consideration.
  • By company and industry targeting means, you can create detailed campaigns specifically targeting an industry you're looking to break into. This allows you to craft a message that resonates with a specific industry or company, rather than relying on an affinity or interest on other platforms.
  • Job title or seniority level targeting allows you to refine your target demo to the decision makers. If you have a product or service that needs to go to a c-suite customer, you can target just that group or title. Or, if you know exactly the titles you want to hit, such as Facilities Manager or Human Resources Supervisor, you can craft a message and targeting profile that gets your ads in front of them.
  • One of the best ad products I've found is Sponsored InMail. Though it is pricey, it offers a more direct-mail style ad product without the additional hassle of email list rental, mailing service, or similar services. This puts you in the inbox of those you target. Though it is mostly just in the LinkedIn inbox, many people also get a push notification and an email alert from LinkedIn in their email inbox. This is pretty valuable, and the prices aren't exorbitant considering how powerful the targeting can be.
  • The Campaign Manager is not good. It seems like the Campaign Manager (where you create and manage your self-serve ad campaigns) is buggy and doesn't have a good flow. Contrast with FB Ad Manager of the Google AdWords/Ads interface, which has a much more simple process to create and edits campaigns, ad groups, ads, keywords, audiences, budgets, etc. LinkedIn Campaign Manager seems to actively work against you trying to make changes to your campaigns.
  • LinkedIn Campaign Manager offers three options: sponsored content, InMail, and text ads. LinkedIn used to offer other ad services that you couldn't access unless you had a "managed ad account" run by LinkedIn Staff with a dedicated monthly ad spend. It seems most of those "hidden" features have disappeared, though you still have to contract with LinkedIn to offer dynamic ads. It would be better if LinkedIn empowered marketers to create the ads they want. (Perhaps with a dedicated acct. manager like how Google Ads works.)
  • This is silly, but it isn't easy to navigate to Campaign Manager. I have a bookmark for Campaign Manager because if you want to click there through LinkedIn, it takes 2 or 3 different screens to get to Campaign Manager. In my opinion, when you click the "Work" dropdown from the LinkedIn header (by your profile picture) you should have a link to Campaign Manager.
  • LinkedIn, in recent months, has made substantial changes to the Ads platform and Campaign Manager. Though these changes work to address some of the above issues, LinkedIn still has quite a ways to go before their platform is on par with their competition.
I would recommend LinkedIn Marketing Solutions to colleague under certain circumstances. First, I think all companies would benefit from having a company page on LinkedIn. I would set-up the page to cross post from another platform (like Facebook or Twitter) or have it hooked up to your social media manager. That way you still look active on the platform, but since interaction isn't as popular on LI, you won't waste time. If you are a B2B company that is having difficulty reaching your target client, LinkedIn Ads may be a useful tool for you. With better pricing than most direct mail or print alternatives, LinkedIn InMail and sponsored content might be the best way to get some leads in. If you are a B2C company that is only interested in targeting certain professional classes, then maybe LI Ads would be helpful. This is true for talent agencies/headhunters that need to find qualified candidates, a continuing education college looking for professionals to get a higher degree, or a convention for a certain type of profession.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within the last two years, we have used Linkedin Marketing Solutions in order to promote content for our company, including articles, course releases, and promotions (sales and discounts). We chose to use Linkedin because of the unique audience it provides in regards to people interested in furthering their careers in IT and Networking.
  • It provides a very unique audience that you cannot usually reach with other social marketing platforms. It's especially helpful when you want to reach job seekers or people in specific positions.
  • Creating ads is pretty simple and quick. It's one of the easier platforms to learn if you don't have any prior knowledge of creating ads.
  • The analytics suite is easy to understand and includes some important metrics to determine success.
  • Setting up tracking is particularly difficult, as many sites don't easily integrate the insight tag (unlike how easy it is to install a Facebook pixel on many sites).
  • Because of the tracking issues we were never able to get a clear look at conversions and ROI. I wish there was a metric for Website Conversion Value like on Facebook /Google.
  • Support can be hard to find, even if you're willing to spend a significant amount on the platform. It mostly consists of help forums, with very little access to actual people to talk to.
If you need exact (and accurate) ROI reporting I would not suggest Linkedin's Marketing Solutions, as there are many other solutions that do this much better. Though, if you want to access a very unique audience that you can't find anywhere else it may be worth the lack of reporting to reach these people!