Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (76-100 of 127)

Scott Kirk | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2016

Great cloud based budgeting/forecasting/analytics solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used IBM's Cognos TM1 with a previous employer, and although TM1 is powerful, it also requires a lot of IT work. Adaptive can be completely supported and maintained by the finance users who use and implement it. It does not require any IT support or maintenance. The administration of the software is easy, and the setup is fairly simple.
Read Scott Kirk's full review
Amanda Hutchins | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2015

Adaptive Insights offers incredible ROI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Hyperion, Prophix, and an internally-developed Access based solution for budgeting, along with Excel. I honestly never want to be in a non-Adaptive environment again. It has most of the flexibility and ease of Excel, without the version control and linking issues that come along with it. Since it's hosted, budget managers can log in easily to update their budgets and see their monthly financial results. The Finance team can maintain the system internally, without having to request assistance from IT. And with Office Connect, creating and updating reports is so fast and easy, it saves so much time we used to spend manually updating and linking new files.
Read Amanda Hutchins's full review
Robin Webber | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2015

Adaptive Planning Budget Submission

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As noted in the last question, I love not needing developers and programmers involved in simple changes. Oracle is great for larger businesses where more control and global development is required.
Read Robin Webber's full review
Aaron Itczak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2016

Great Data with Discovery

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The only other product I have used to compare data/financials has been Microsoft Excel. While Excel is a robust application that can compare data and integrate graphs, it does not easily pull in data from our database. Adaptive Discovery already houses our data (cuts out the entry step) and has additional features Excel does not.
Read Aaron Itczak's full review
Bob Katz, CMA, CFM, CFP® | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

Adaptive Insights Works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Lower cost (1/3 to 1/2) than the enterprise class applications. Faster development and lower cost of ownership. Better UI and flexibility of design. More efficient storage/database model.
Read Bob Katz, CMA, CFM, CFP®'s full review
Thom Keyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2015

Adaptive Insights - My thoughts after a year of use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used extensively the Hyperion Planning tool use the Essbase technology. Adaptive has several easier to use functionalities and does well compared to that tool. Adaptive, is a cloud-based solution which enables easy access not requiring a vpn connection. Also, being cloud-based you are free from trying to acquire the servers needed to implement and then upgrade the system. We give up some flexibility in using Adaptive but too much flexibility can also by just more rope to hang yourself with. If I had a larger team and could dedicate more resources I would likely choose something with more flexibility but for now Adaptive is a great solution.
Read Thom Keyes's full review
Sarah Sebby | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2015

Adaptive Insights implementation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive Suit allows you to be as involved as you want to be. People are able to implement Adaptive Suite with little or no consulting for smaller companies. Larger companies may utilize consultants but as a user, it is easy to make changes along the way.
Read Sarah Sebby's full review
Denise Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Adaptive Insights

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We took a look at some (then) similar packages to Adaptive Insights in our selection process. Forecast Pro was the leading competitor at the time of our decision. Forecast Pro was less expensive in the long run but was much more difficult in set-up, implementation and maintenance. Adaptive was clearly the better choice.
Read Denise Schultz's full review
Beth Walkley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2015

Adaptive will change the way we handle the budgeting process as well as increase efficiency.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The fact that the software was built in the cloud and can be accessed from anywhere, is definitely a plus. None of the big vendors we looked at were in the cloud, they were either just looking into or in the initial stages. But again, they might be putting their application in the cloud, but they did not rebuild the entire applications. They also do not have all products in the cloud, only some. I was asked by one major vendor why would you want it in the cloud. Just from that statement, it turned me off. One of the biggest factors was the cost and IT support. Adaptive's cost was much lower and there is very little IT support required..
Read Beth Walkley's full review
Michael Bright | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

A big fan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive Insights is more user friendly, I love the fact that it updates in real time, without having to "roll up" your data to see the results. The reporting is easy to use and understand and the cost is much better when compared with big hitters such as Hyperion and Oracle. I have never had an issue with data loss, system freezes, downtime or delayed support responses. In short, the system has never caused me frustration, something that can't be said for most other software I rely (Excel for instance).
Read Michael Bright's full review
Kevin Bradshaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Adaptive Insights saves time, money and gives you an incredible view of your company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Like many other companies, we once budgeted using Excel. We most recently used Horizon. Excel is obviously not the way to budget with hudrends of locations and users. Horizon was difficult to roll up multiple divisions into a high level view. Our users were frustrated and spent a lot of time entering data and then waiting for a roll up.

Adaptive solves these issues by giving us an easily deloyed solution to many users across the country and as soon as those users hit save we can see a high level company-wide budget number. That kind of instant view is priceless.
Read Kevin Bradshaw's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Take your Planning & Reporting to the Next Level!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • sage
The Adaptive Insights system capabilities are much more robust than any other competitor out there. Very easy to learn and allows us to customize a model that aligns with our specific needs as an organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Adaptive for the entire organization and SPEED

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We look hard at Host Analytics and softly at Longview and Prophix. Adaptive's advantages was ease of use, offered a full solution and pricing. We wanted to roll this out to the entire organization and felt Adaptive met those needs best and could grow with the company.
Read this authenticated review
Frederick Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2015

Adaptive Insights: Look no further

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With Hyperion, there was always additional time associated with IT involvement, whether it was to add to the organizational structure, currency rate calculations etc. In Adaptive Insights there is no need for IT intervention - AI is truly real-time information when you need it. AI is a no-brainer!
Read Frederick Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2018

Adaptive is user-friendly and easy to deploy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adaptive was easier for me to learn than the competitor product. The other product requires custom development, which takes time. However, once up and running it is easier to do analytics with less steps by using more formulas. The caveat is that it requires considerable amount of time to learn how to use the other product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Highly recommend Adaptive Insights

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Essbase and Hyperion (the non-Essbase version) previously.
I slightly preferred Essbase to Adaptive insights from an ease of use perspective- particularly the Excel interface on Essbase. However, I simply could not justify the additional expense. So I wouldn't hesitate to get Adaptive Insights again.
Compared to Hyperion(the non-Essbase version) , I prefer Adaptive Insights as the Excel interface is easier to use.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.8
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
9.0
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.7
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.4
Multi-currency management (58)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
8.0
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.6
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.6
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.4
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.6
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.5
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch