TrustRadius
Designed for large, complex organizations as well as federated and international nonprofits.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/W5/0M/H7H6EF2G0NTL.pngBlackbaud is outdated, has a steep learning curve and difficult to useWe use it for email newsletters to donors, donation forms on our website and for data management. It's being used by our Communications and Development departments. It addresses the business problem of emailing our audience and allowing donors to safely make online donations.,Customizable Personalization in emails Support articles,Hard to use interface Outdated front end Importing contacts takes multiple steps, is not easy or intuitive Hard to teach others how to use Blackbaud Difficult to find what I need Very hard to segment out inactive emails,1,Decreased open rate in email because we can't figure out how to segment out inactive or soft bounce emails in Blackbaud Mistakenly sent an email with the wrong personalization The whole team can use Blackbaud but only 1-2 people know how to actually use it. Very steep learning curve,MailChimp, Emma, Constant Contact, Luminate and Luminate CRM and Analytics,Luminate, Constant Contact, SlackSuch a Difference: Blackbaud's Help DeskWe are pretty much a Blackbaud shop, using Blackbaud products for finance, development, and student management. The push to go with Blackbaud has been mainly to build as seamless an interaction as possible between the needs of those three departments. We are soon going to implement the next version of the finance and fund development software, and are currently implementing the worlds-of-difference replacement Blackbaud is developing for their student management solutions.,Help desk. Can't praise that enough. As the main in-house resource for figuring out all things Blackbaud, when something "interesting" occurs their online chat is both responsive, helpful, and delightfully prompt. Reaching out to customers to get their input. Particularly in the past 5 years, Blackbaud has vastly improved their interest in listening to their customers.,The interface is overly complex - intimidating for the new user. That said, they are working on improving that with the next generation. It will be interesting to see what abilities will go by the wayside in an effort to simplify. Setting up user access is complex, and not complex enough in some cases.,8,This is difficult to measure. It isn't so much that Blackbaud has saved us time and effort, as it has given us a different way to do things.,ACTIVE NetworkCRM after using and implementing for multiple organizationsBlackbaud CRM is being used by participating Federations (separate organizations) as their sub ledger for fund raising and overall constituent management. It provides the ability to have a comprehensive view of constituents and is customizable to meet additional needs.,The user interface is user friendly, intuitive and customizable through security. Reduces the change management obstacle in training. The application is both configurable and customizable. This presents significant benefits in addressing unanticipated needs, once the proper resources, and training are established. Examples are creating custom reports, adding functionality, interfacing with other applications / platforms. Support and application enhancements. Blackbaud support is effective in addressing out of the box functionality and overall supporting customizations as well. Blackbaud's knowledge base and community provide several resources that can be leveraged in support and enhancing the application.,As an enterprise application, I would like to see additional application administration functionality incorporated as part of the application. A specific example is providing additional functionality to address database maintenance. Additional report development tools to allow users (non technical) to create dynamic reports. Currently you can use MS Report Builder and leverage an adhoc query but believe this can be enhanced further. Surface the Financial Transaction Model to the application further. This would allow users to see revenue changes overtime better when reconciling revenue.,8,The web and mobile interface provide an opportunity for users to access application and enter information, providing more insight and less likelihood of loss of details. Can reduce cost if other modules are used such as BBIS as a CMS and other functionality. Using the system within a community (separate databases) provides internal knowledge and best practice to reduce likelihood of single point of failure various roles within an organization.,Raiser's Edge,Abila MIP Fund Accounting, Aurea List Manager (formerly Lyris LM), The Raisers EdgeBlackbaud CRM - Ready To Use Right Out Of The BoxI was implementing and training Blackbaud users at a non-profit client of mine. It was used as a donation and fundraising tracking system for a community college foundation. The system was very powerful, especially against the background of the client's former software infrastructure which consisted of an Access database combined with QuickBooks.,Very flexible configuration options. Excellent reporting options. Tight accounting system integration.,Learning curve steeper than other competing products. More expensive alternative to other systems. Social media functionality not there yet.,8,Employee efficiency/productivity Less possibility of errors Better understanding of data due to reporting features,Salesforce, Act, Access and QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions,QuickBooks Online, Sage 50 Accounting, Swiftpage ACT!After 2 years of BB CRM, here's what I think!It is used in several departments within the organization, serving multiple purposes. It addresses the business problem of housing donor and prospect data.,I like how user-friendly and intuitive BB CRM is. A new user can learn quickly, which is a useful strength in our department. I like the customization of the features. What I want my layout to look like can be different than my colleagues. I also think Blackbaud is great at allowing you to get only want you want out of it. With such a large database, the ability to drill down to specific data records is super helpful.,Querying for data is a complex process- one that requires much time and practice to get good at it. We have issues with our system during the import process- duplicate records are not handled well by the system. We're only just learning about export definitions, but once we know more, it seems to be a much better way to organize data output than query.,9,Definitely having one system of record is a huge impact on our department. Prior to BB, we had a couple systems that were independent of each other. We've developed multiple business processes and documentation to support the efforts of BB, so that keeps our department consistent and on the same page with one another. The "real-time" access is also important in Planned Giving, so we can see stats as of today.,Basecamp
Unspecified
Blackbaud CRM
53 Ratings
Score 5.8 out of 101
TRScore

Blackbaud CRM Reviews

Blackbaud CRM
53 Ratings
Score 5.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 53 vetted Blackbaud CRM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Debbie Gillum profile photo
October 12, 2018

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Blackbaud is outdated, has a steep learning curve and difficult to use"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for email newsletters to donors, donation forms on our website and for data management. It's being used by our Communications and Development departments. It addresses the business problem of emailing our audience and allowing donors to safely make online donations.
  • Customizable
  • Personalization in emails
  • Support articles
  • Hard to use interface
  • Outdated front end
  • Importing contacts takes multiple steps, is not easy or intuitive
  • Hard to teach others how to use Blackbaud
  • Difficult to find what I need
  • Very hard to segment out inactive emails
Well suited for a small non profit that is looking for a basic software to help with sending out mass emails and for managing donation forms. Less appropriate for teams of people, a large non profit who wants to stay up to date with marketing trends. Blackbaud is outdated, antiquated and difficult to learn.
Read Debbie Gillum's full review
Petra Hall profile photo
April 24, 2017

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Such a Difference: Blackbaud's Help Desk"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are pretty much a Blackbaud shop, using Blackbaud products for finance, development, and student management. The push to go with Blackbaud has been mainly to build as seamless an interaction as possible between the needs of those three departments. We are soon going to implement the next version of the finance and fund development software, and are currently implementing the worlds-of-difference replacement Blackbaud is developing for their student management solutions.
  • Help desk. Can't praise that enough. As the main in-house resource for figuring out all things Blackbaud, when something "interesting" occurs their online chat is both responsive, helpful, and delightfully prompt.
  • Reaching out to customers to get their input. Particularly in the past 5 years, Blackbaud has vastly improved their interest in listening to their customers.
  • The interface is overly complex - intimidating for the new user. That said, they are working on improving that with the next generation. It will be interesting to see what abilities will go by the wayside in an effort to simplify.
  • Setting up user access is complex, and not complex enough in some cases.
Blackbaud is very good for the finance and development office, but lacks some basic flexibility needed for a school: such as payment plans and the ability for parents to choose a payment plan, provide a credit card, and have the installments charged automatically. From what I understand, Blackbaud knows that is an issue and has partnered with another company to overcome it. However, it is not available in Canada: which brings up another issue. Blackbaud is US-based software. There are going to be compatibility issues, such as things that deal with banking.
Read Petra Hall's full review
Salvador Orochena profile photo
January 15, 2016

Blackbaud CRM Review: "CRM after using and implementing for multiple organizations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud CRM is being used by participating Federations (separate organizations) as their sub ledger for fund raising and overall constituent management. It provides the ability to have a comprehensive view of constituents and is customizable to meet additional needs.
  • The user interface is user friendly, intuitive and customizable through security. Reduces the change management obstacle in training.
  • The application is both configurable and customizable. This presents significant benefits in addressing unanticipated needs, once the proper resources, and training are established. Examples are creating custom reports, adding functionality, interfacing with other applications / platforms.
  • Support and application enhancements. Blackbaud support is effective in addressing out of the box functionality and overall supporting customizations as well. Blackbaud's knowledge base and community provide several resources that can be leveraged in support and enhancing the application.
  • As an enterprise application, I would like to see additional application administration functionality incorporated as part of the application. A specific example is providing additional functionality to address database maintenance.
  • Additional report development tools to allow users (non technical) to create dynamic reports. Currently you can use MS Report Builder and leverage an adhoc query but believe this can be enhanced further.
  • Surface the Financial Transaction Model to the application further. This would allow users to see revenue changes overtime better when reconciling revenue.
The Blackbaud Internet Solutions (BBIS) platform is still being evaluated as it provides external web presence (content management system), donor self service, event registration, email marketing, revenue processing and has an interface with the application.
Read Salvador Orochena's full review
Laurence Sarner profile photo
March 04, 2016

Review: "Blackbaud CRM - Ready To Use Right Out Of The Box"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was implementing and training Blackbaud users at a non-profit client of mine. It was used as a donation and fundraising tracking system for a community college foundation. The system was very powerful, especially against the background of the client's former software infrastructure which consisted of an Access database combined with QuickBooks.
  • Very flexible configuration options.
  • Excellent reporting options.
  • Tight accounting system integration.
  • Learning curve steeper than other competing products.
  • More expensive alternative to other systems.
  • Social media functionality not there yet.
With Blackbaud you are basically talking about a system meant for a larger organization in terms of functionality and price. So, for example, a smaller non-profit would find the many features to be overkill. The Blackbaud platform is so flexible that it can really be molded to fit the needs of many types of non-profit organizations.
Read Laurence Sarner's full review
Caitlin Tom profile photo
February 19, 2016

Blackbaud CRM Review: "After 2 years of BB CRM, here's what I think!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in several departments within the organization, serving multiple purposes. It addresses the business problem of housing donor and prospect data.
  • I like how user-friendly and intuitive BB CRM is. A new user can learn quickly, which is a useful strength in our department.
  • I like the customization of the features. What I want my layout to look like can be different than my colleagues.
  • I also think Blackbaud is great at allowing you to get only want you want out of it. With such a large database, the ability to drill down to specific data records is super helpful.
  • Querying for data is a complex process- one that requires much time and practice to get good at it.
  • We have issues with our system during the import process- duplicate records are not handled well by the system.
  • We're only just learning about export definitions, but once we know more, it seems to be a much better way to organize data output than query.
I honestly have never seen an alterative, as I've been a user since I began working with my current company. That makes it difficult to give a specific scenario where BB would be better or worse.
Read Caitlin Tom's full review
Katalin Sankowich profile photo
June 01, 2016

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Not just another database solution..."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization I was at used Blackbaud CRM for record management, processing of gifts, events, reports, etc.
  • Support is second-to-none.
  • Blackbaud CRM is one of the more customizable options. Since you can't always be sure of future needs, this is a must-have.
  • It is one of the easier systems to learn. Many CRM options are cumbersome and require much more training. I had no issue training individuals with varied experience levels.
  • As with most (read: all) Blackbaud products, the pricing is a bit high. There are other options that are significantly cheaper - which makes Blackbaud CRM a much less-likely option for smaller organizations.
Honestly, I didn't hate it. Do I think that you can get essentially the same product for a much more manageable price? Yes.
Read Katalin Sankowich's full review
Tim Ambrose profile photo
April 19, 2016

Blackbaud CRM: "My Review."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud CRM is being used to track and inform our advancement and alumni activities for our department.
  • Blackboard provides great training for their products which is important when introducing new team members to the necessary software.
  • Blackbaud CRM allows easy web access to our database which is important when out in the field for real time updates.
  • Blackbaud CRM improves team time management by allowing the inclusion of important and efficient reminders.
  • I have no feedback in this area at this time.
Read Tim Ambrose's full review
Rebecca Armstrong profile photo
June 25, 2014

Blackbaud CRM Review: "More than just a donor database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use eTapestry as our donor database and as our moves management system for the entire organization. This includes the development department and well as marketing, mission services and our commercial services department, which has more sales functions. The main problem that it helps to address is lack of organized communication. With one search of the database, anyone can tell all of the activity that has been done with a constituent throughout the entire organization.
  • Customization of fields is really awesome - you can do basically anything you can think of
  • Report pulling is super useful and you can analyze any information that is in the database
  • Mobile/remote access is particularly useful in our organization
  • Reports can be tricky to get correct
  • Mass imports are hard to get correct - you often have to refer back to the fields, which means you have to start over completely
  • Sometimes, the system just runs super slow
I think a much larger organization (in terms of fundraising) might want something a little more savvy. We use a lot of different customizations so we find the software perfect for us, but a solely fundraising-based department might not find that as useful.
Read Rebecca Armstrong's full review
Jeff Swan profile photo
June 30, 2014

Blackbaud CRM Review: "A Fundraiser's View of the CRM suite"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization used it as the database for donors. We used it across the organization, but primarily by fundraising and marketing staff. It addresses the problem of storing and retrieving information about donors and prospects, and then using that information for historical perspective, as well as sorting for mail lists, invitations to events, etc.
  • Plenty of space to add detailed notes
  • Easy for different members of the staff to see the same information
  • Can be used well by trained staff to pull reports for management
  • Not always easy to use when trying to find a new function that one was not previously familiar with
  • No ability to use via iPhone or other mobile device
  • Not easy for remote users who are not inside the secure company network to print reports - too many steps to go through the VPN, etc.
How easy is it for remote home-office staff to use? How is access on mobile devices? How easy is it for remote home-office users to translate the data into an email list or printed mail list? How easy is it for remote home-office staff to move straight from the Blackbaud database into Outlook to draft and send an email, and then have that recorded automatically in the database?
Read Jeff Swan's full review
Lin Wormley profile photo
June 25, 2014

Blackbaud CRM: "My Review and what it do..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was using a specially developed version for helping the Salvation Army deploy emails and landing pages for various corps.
  • Constituent Management - It's a great database to store donor information
  • Email Deployment - Since joining with Convio there are a lot more functionalities
  • Landing Page Provisioning - It's a great place to keep all assets in one place
  • The main area for improvement is with access for agencies. Seeing that Salvation Army utilized many agencies it was hard to make sure that assets stayed unique to one place.
Budget is the main question I would ask when making a decision. It's a great tool. However, depending on what you have available there are definitely other options to consider. If budget is no concern I would look at a platform that is more "Engagement Marketing Focused" as opposed to just being a lower cost alternative that focuses on Non Profits.
Read Lin Wormley's full review
Kammie Russel profile photo
July 08, 2014

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Easy to Use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CRM was used by my organization to hold constituent data and to track interactions, activities and financial contributions.
  • Track constituent information
  • Record financial information
  • Store constituent information such as interactions, donations and activities.
  • Synching with the CMS
I think it is an excellent product. Very user friendly!
Read Kammie Russel's full review
No photo available
June 24, 2016

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Blackbaud"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud CRM is used in the business office for financial data and our development office for fundraising.
  • Geared for smaller organizations
  • Has majority of fields to store data
  • Needs to update system for speed in running data through
  • Needs to update system to show new interface
  • Needs more ability to customize system
  • Needs to flush out purchasing/PO module
  • Needs better ability to write custom reports and data fields
More suited for smaller organizations
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Blackbaud CRM: "Blackbaud review"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are the philanthropic arm for a local community owned hospital. Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge was used as our donor database for record management, gift processing, reporting and events.
  • Pledge reports are clear and easy to run, as well as a few other financial reports.
  • Records are clearly organized with tabs to select your area of interest
  • Record searching is all inclusive
  • The platform for event management and registration did not work as promised. Data being imported was all wrong and had to be removed
  • Poor customer service
  • Social fundraising aspect did not work as promised
We felt that this platform was built for a larger organization. They do not understand the smaller grassroots organizations and overlook our needs. Overall it was just too complex a system for our uses and the simple things- event registration linking to a donor record- did not work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2016

Blackbaud CRM Review: "I'm a fan of Blackbaud!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it while I was at UGA. They still use it [as] a broad based donor and constituent management database. It is used to track donor contact reports and giving information and a broad spectrum of alumni and donor information. It is used to run reports and in overall relationship management with key people.
  • The product was very good at maintaining records and information. The information was agile and simple to retrieve and operationalize.
  • The system is user friendly. We implemented across an entire campus and more specifically within a division with hundreds of employees. Overall people took to it quickly.
  • The product I think does a more than adequate job of managing contact tracking which is key in all kinds of fields. This is critical because either for your own reasons, or as you depart from an organization, you are able to leave an accurate track record of your activities for the organization's continued success.
  • Three words. Desk. Top. Queries. I advocated for this the whole time I was there. Was told that users querying information from their desktops would crash the system. Can't believe it. Product like this shouldn't have that problem and as a user, my job would have been made infinitely easier had I been able to query information on the desktop.
We used Blackbaud CRM in a large scale setting. My sense is it would be better suited there than in a smaller setting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2015

Blackbaud CRM Review: "Blackbaud/Convio daily user"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Almost our entire organization uses Blackbaud CRM to manage our participant database for our clients' fundraising events, including event registration (teamraiser), donations, email campaigns and websites (PageBuilder). It is a one-stop shop for event fundraising and communications.
  • It integrates your database, allowing you to collect registrations and donations online, and then build email communications and websites that integrate with those contacts, so you don't have to import/export between tools.
  • It also provides tools for your participants, so they can customize their experience with your website and your communications, manage their own fundraising and participation, and conduct their own peer-to-peer fundraising efforts.
  • Blackbaud's responsiveness to their clients reporting issues with their CRM is notoriously delayed. It often takes them years to address bugs, and if the issues reported are just "nice to haves" and non-urgent, they often never get addressed.
  • The system has required significant customization on our end to make it work for us. While we've had clients who are smaller organizations use it right out of the box, if you are a larger organization with more specific needs, you're going to need a consultant or a IT department to help you customize the system.
  • The help feature built into the system is not very helpful and often outdated, with information that doesn't reflect the way the system currently operates. (They are also doing updates but not updating the help.) The online trainings that Blackbaud offers are pretty superficial and often don't speak to the way an organization uses the system. I've trained myself to use the system, through trial, error and explore, and our organizations trains all of our employees and clients on Blackbaud ourselves. Blackbaud does not provide that.
It's very useful for a non-profit organization with a fundraising event (or events, or a series). When choosing which modules to purchase, consider whether you will be using it for your entire operations (registration, donation, eCommunication, website). It doesn't fully integrate with social media yet, but there are many consultants and other organizations that will provide that customization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2014

Blackbaud CRM Review: "BB CRM 2.93"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud CRM is being used primarily as a constituent management tool. The problem it addressed was the lack of a CRM that could record moves for individual and foundation prospects. It is not integrated with other revenue systems.
  • Application is robust in terms of performance and lack of downtime.
  • Application can be used after brief training.
  • Application is powerful in that it can easily create constituent groups and the prospect management applications are strong.
  • Great room for improvement on reporting capabilities.
  • The foundations module is not worth the price, is very hard to use.
  • The concept of research groups needs to be rethought, as they are very hard to utilize by users.
It is not well suited for small organizations. It is likely suited for larger organizations that need all staff on one CRM.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 02, 2014

Blackbaud CRM Review: "BBNC ...is it for your org?"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it in the development department in a variety of ways:

  • Donor information-donation tracking, contactable information
  • Website platform
  • Membership selling and tracking
  • Managing campaigns
  • Event registration
  • BBMS (merchant account)
  • Locked configuration strategy- if you have a high turn over, or an undocumented culture you will want to find a solution that supports change management. The config files are locked in Blackbaud which means some things you can't change. For orgs that have frequent turn-over this strategy is helpful.
  • Blackbaud has tutorials online as well as classes in person staff can take. They offer certificates so supervisors know that staff have been exposed to a body of knowledge. When staff members take the workshops it is important to provide them the time to practice and use what they just learned. We purchased (for a high fee) a pass for any of our staff to take as many of the workshops as possible. We also offered this to key volunteers- as more knowledge makes folks more employable and more comfortable.
  • Blackbaud has a very strong team of sales staff. Make sure you demo and that you know what you want. Fees are sadly complicated so use a spreadsheet. Once a quote is sent in writing my experience is there was very little flexibility in pricing. So your first call is really important. Do your homework.
  • The Sales experience is rough. Be prepared. Write everything down. It is rough because if you are new you do not know what to ask for. You have the purchase of the function and the maintenance of the functionality you purchase. It is complicated and tricky. It is also frustrating.
  • Costs are not consistent. Caution...you are on your own to set your limit or what you can pay, If you are not a techy and new or uncomfortable with negotiations you probably should involve others. Make them explain each line item to you. Do not sign until you know you have everything you will need to achieve your goals.
  • There documentation is old school and lacks graphics, workflow and is loaded with text. I would like to use user videos with click through demos.
A three as in not very likely. I have converted over to Salesforce. You will have to pay for each license and each functionality or module and my experience as a consultant is to help you get things to work well. With Salesforce you may still want an implementation consultant but you get 10 licenses for free annually if you are a 501(c)(3) non profit. Their documentation is easy to use. Additional licenses are more than 70% off and their Dreamforce conference is outstanding. My loyalty has moved to Salesforce Foundation. I implemented the same functionality for less than 1/2 the costs in the same amount or less time.
Read this authenticated review

About Blackbaud CRM

Designed for large, complex organizations as well as federated and international nonprofits.

Blackbaud CRM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No