Clarizen Reviews

72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

Clarizen clearly covers consumers' call for a lightweight alternative.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is being used to manage a variety of projects. Everything from true IT projects with a variety of staff, needs, and steps, to smaller non-IT projects with very few stages. It's used because it is easy to use, and easy to track and report against. The product is also less intimidating to use for newer or non-IT staff than the tried and true (MS Project).
  • Simpler and more intuitive to use than other big name products.
  • Provides the ability to easily use templates, and cuts down on building projects.
  • Being different than say, MS Project, if you have a lot of seasoned staff, may be frustrating for those users.
  • Some of the automated features are too automated, and not always desirable.
It is great if you have a lot of inexperienced staff, or have small to midsized projects. You need some reporting, but nothing too crazy. Basically, if you want something akin to Project light, this is an excellent tool. If you are a large, powerhouse Project user and considering a change, it might be frustrating. While the product is intuitive and easy to learn, it is very different from some of the other bigger offerings out there.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Amber Keehn | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Clarizen Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is used as a project management and time tracking solution for the organization. This includes client onboarding, ongoing work and tracking time for each task, as well as aggregating the hours worked by employees overall. This helps us forecast work and understand where someone needs assistance or who can assist.
  • Project Management for ongoing and implementation work.
  • Time tracking.
  • Forecasting future workload.
  • The system can glitch and have slowdowns.
Overall this works well and is the best solution for our organization so far.
Read Amber Keehn's full review
Sarah Meerschaert | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Clarizen - Great for Teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The professional services departments use Clarizen to manage customer implementations. It helps us track project cost/scope/time and also allows us to keep project records tied to that information. We store information about project contacts, documents like the statement of work, requirements, and signatures on the project plan. We use color coding to track project statuses and we add notes which are pushed to internal management teams about the project status.
  • Real time updates: as a web based solution when I update a timeline my manager and team can see the updates as soon as they refresh their view
  • Highlighting what changes and the critical path: I can set up a view that marks items on the critical path and I can set up a view to highlight any dates that change based on a change I make earlier in the plan. This makes slashing timelines much much easier than most programs.
  • Collaborative notes: you can @ team members when adding notes. This is a great way to share project specific comments and also the system keeps a record of these conversations which can be useful for post mortems.
  • Reports: You can create custom reports and share them with your team so they can pull similar reports for their own projects
  • Export: I'm not wild about the export options. We created a custom project plan formatter to turn the ugly export in CSV to a customer facing color coded PDF. It's not super easy to give your customers something pretty to look at (although they do offer PPTs)
  • Gantt Charts: All I want in life is a nice little high level set of milestones to pop into a slide I'm showing to a steering committee. It's just not something the system does. I've just had to screen shot a hard to read gantt from the system or recreate in PPT or Visio. No fun
  • Speed: I am not sure what's going on here but Clarizen can be pretty slow to update small changes to project plans. It's rough when you have a laundry list of changes to make but the system is waiting
It's really well suited to keeping you on task and sharing information with your team. It's not great if you need to export data. And since lots of people use older tools like MS project, chances are you will have to export. I'd highly recommend this for internal projects or projects where most of the team is internal. It's very easy to use and a lot more functionality that is useful to my day to day work than MS Project offers.
Read Sarah Meerschaert's full review
Divya Mattey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Clarizen-- One Stop Solutions to Operations and Project Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Clarizen across the organization in all departments. We are using Clarizen for project and request management, reporting, budgeting, and billing purposes.
It serves all our needs in operations, billing, efficiency, tracking, and ensuring projects are worked and handled within the budget and stipulated time.
  • Clarizen has flexibility to be collaborated with Salesforce and other existing tools.
  • Clarizen is very customization friendly to meet user needs.
  • It has easily available inbuilt syntax, which helps the user to create the logic by its own to meet their desired need.
  • Clarizen does not have feature to management request tracking on hourly basis.
  • It does not have functionality to track or allocate requests automatically on the basis of FIFO.
  • The reports dashboard cannot be transformed into the PPT.
It is good in the fixed work flow. However, it is limited if you want to track the error or manage tickets.
If there is bug it is sometimes very difficult to track the history of the issue, and sometimes you will never be able to know what led to the issue.
Read Divya Mattey's full review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

Clarizen for Project and Request Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is used by our information systems teams/departments to support our manufacturing application changes. We handle all application projects, resources, time management, application support, and change requests. Clarizen is the most user-friendly project management and request system we have used with a built-in configuration that allows us to manage our workflows, including business testing and approvals.
  • User-friendly interface. This allowed us to implement Clarizen with very minimal training. The system has six to a dozen ways of doing the same thing which allows flexibility. Also, the mobile app is fully functional and just as friendly to use.
  • Workflow. The workflow was easy to configure and setup.
  • Auditing. Although we needed the audit features that out-of-the-box provided. The configuration and set up allowed for quick and maintainable auditing as needed. Clarizen PS provided insight and support as we set up 90% of our environment configuration.
  • Integrations: How you set up your environment (configuration) and added features or proprietary fields could adjust your integration needs. Therefore, specific integrations between 3rd party systems can be "proprietary" to your company. The API calls and rest service out of the box work well, on the other hand.
  • Building the Clarizen Marketplace applications
We were using a mature product that was not very user user-friendly and took a lot of time to implement and change. We chose Clarizen and within three months we had the system up and running using the historical information we uploaded. Clarizen was the user-friendly tool we were looking at. Our internal resources created a Google site with links to documentation, the Clarizen app, and short one to seven minute how-to videos for our employees.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Clarizen, time tracking, but on a smaller scale

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team used to use Clarizen to track employee time and expenses. Time tracking is imperative to what we do, and we use the information we gain from time tracking in numerous ways across our organization. From a project management standpoint, Clarizen was the software we turned to house and mine that data, while also tracking expense reports.
  • Time tracking functionality. This was probably the most important aspect of Clarizen for us, and as far as time tracking software goes, it gets the job done.
  • Expense report functionality
  • Backend reports and analytics of time tracking
  • Yes, Clarizen has time tracking functionality. But in the end, so does much other software, and they do it with a better, less confusing interface which is one of the reasons our organization ended up switching. The platform was crowded and made it confusing for users who only used it to track time (like me).
  • Our organization also wanted software that would better house PTO information, in addition to time tracking, and Clarizen's program wasn't efficient enough.
  • The point above also goes with expenses. We wanted a more diligent and robust expense report system. For our needs, Clarizen wasn't it.
Clarizen got the job done with time tracking and expense reports, but it didn't do enough to make our organization continue using it. We ended up switching because the key stakeholders (resource management) were unhappy with its offerings. This might be a good fit for smaller organizations that require less feature and capabilities. Instead, our company switched to OpenAir, which has more robust time tracking, expense reports, and PTO accrual and monitoring programs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

The Single Most Important Thing You Need To Know About CLARIZEN

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is used across our entire organization for client project management, project financial reporting, and time and expense reporting. We use it as a core project management tool for our professional solutions, as well as for internal projects and time management.
  • Highly customizable, can develop organization specific workflows, modules, etc.
  • Interface (in most instances) is easy to use. Timesheets, project details, and report modules are fairly easy to navigate and understand.
  • Good comms tools like discussions, group pages, automatic reminders and notifications.
  • Reports can be difficult and confusing to build, and don't have a lot of flexibility in terms of layout or formulas.
  • Expense reporting module is not user friendly, lacks ease of use of most competeing tools.
  • Mobile app is limited in functionality and difficult to navigate.
  • Integration with CRM and accounting tools can be difficult and costly, especially if you have customized your Clarizen build.
Clarizen is great as a supplement to solid project planning, and can be utilized to foster collaboration between remote resources or teams. However, its project financial tracking functions aren't fully fleshed out, and its 'all-in-one' modules for things like time and expense reporting are lacking compared to competitors. Clarizen also doesn't have much in the way of built-in BI or analysis tools. My organization also struggled a lot with integrating Clarizen with our CRM and accounting tools. It is definitely not a plug-and-play integration.
Read this authenticated review
April Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2017

Clarizen too clouded by gratuitous features

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen was implemented across the whole company when I started working here. It was used for time tracking, timesheet submission and client workload accountability. It addressed the problem of tracking time across multiple client projects in an accountable way for the HR team but was not well liked by the general users.
  • Clarizen's timesheet submission process was straightforward.
  • Searching for projects/time codes was easy.
  • Clarizen tried to offer workplace management and communication features, though we did not use them.
  • The user interface could use work, it's very busy.
  • For our purposes, Clarizen had too much going on. We did not use the "status" or chat features, it should try to focus on doing some things very well instead of being an all-in-one offering.
Clarizen is useful for time tracking and time sheet submission for agencies/companies with many different projects and clients to keep track of. I felt it was more designed for the administrator and less for the general employee to use. We could not easily access PTO accrual or project codes ourselves.
Read April Muller's full review
Matthew Tate | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2017

Clarizen, great for project management across large orgnizations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has hundreds of projects running at the same time. Clarizen is used for planning out work weeks, time tracking and internal communication across teams.
  • Resource Allocation - Understand how many projects are going at once, forecasts how many hours are needed to complete a project and understand which resource is the best fit for the project.
  • Internal Communication - Clarizen allows for a place to discuss specific tasks or projects between the project team. The ability to leave notes on the task level allows the entire team to review decision points and helpful information that has caused a delay.
  • Gantt charts and combining all projects our company is working on to view at an overall level could be better.
  • Better/easier connectivity with other 3rd party software that we use on a day to day basis would be helpful.
Clarizen is a good tool to keep the entire organization on the same page with projects and communication.

It takes time to set up specific views that are relevant to an individual. This could be more simplified.
Read Matthew Tate's full review
Mandy Langston Manley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

Clarizen - All the bells and whistles in a complicated interface

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen was used by my marketing agency as a way to manage employee bookings, track time and manage travel arrangements. There were many functions of Clarizen that we didn't use, but it was a way for us to see which resources (people) had availability to work on upcoming projects and also keep track of individual time on multiple projects (most people were working on many tasks at once).
  • Make it possible to see current and future bookings of all resources.
  • Serve as a central hub for timekeeping and travel arrangements.
  • Make it easy to keep track of your own personal time spent on projects.
  • The interface was hard to navigate (e.g., you'd have to click multiple times to get to some of the screens you needed to use most).
  • It was a relatively complicated system to learn so it created the need for lots of onboarding.
  • Most people in my office found it frustrating to use and overly complicated for what we needed it to do.
Clarizen is fantastic if you want to create transparency across disciplines in an agency setting. Project and account managers can easily see which members of different teams (creative, development, etc.) are available weeks or months in advance. Our project managers seemed to find it easy to book resources through Clarizen. It would be less appropriate for smaller teams, or teams all working in one office. We used it to manage teams across 5 locations in 3 time zones.
Read Mandy Langston Manley's full review
John Tasinas | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

Clarizen makes it easy!!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses Clarizen as a project management tool. It helps us set up timelines for our clients. Our users can make sure the project remains on track, lets them enter notes and we can also see the status of other projects for the same client within our company.
  • Ease of use - Clarize is really user-friendly and easy to learn.
  • Very customizable - Clarizen can be customized in many different ways and even has workflows that automate tasks for you.
  • Customer Service - Clarizen customer service is always friendly and helpful.
  • Workflows sometimes don't run.
  • Disconnect between project and task levels.
We probably only use 5% of Clarizen's features. Our setup is very basic but works for us. Users love Clarizen's simplicity.
Read John Tasinas's full review
Mike McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2017

Good overall, great support, great webinars

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Clarizen in the services team.
  • User interface
  • Options to view data in different ways
  • Integrations
  • Social
  • Tracking
  • Project Management
  • Reports
  • Ease of use
Attend the webinars that are offered to customers and prospects, spend some time really understanding the product, it is very flexible.
Read Mike McCarthy's full review
Brandon Coleman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2016

Clarizen is Effective But could use slight improvment

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is being used by all account managers. It helps identify resource conflicts and helps with timeline management.
  • Identify timeline. Clarizen is very appropriate for timeline management and keeping tasks on schedule.
  • Easily transferable to other colleagues. Our company requires transparency through projects and Clarizen is great at that.
  • Revenue reporting. Clarizen has many features that allow for accurate and timely revenue projections and revenue recognition.
  • It's very program heavy. There is a lot of coding. If this could be simplified I think that would be great
  • There's so much in it, I don't think it's clear on its capabilities. So many features are being lost. I think we need to improve the communication with our point of contact at Clarizen to explain other features. We may know all that are applicable to use, I'm not sure.
  • The layout could use very slight modifications. There is often a lot being displayed that can be overlooked.
Clarizen is well suited for management of daily tasks and resource allocation. I don't think there's an area where it is technically "less appropriate". Everything is beneficial.
Read Brandon Coleman's full review
Sean Woods, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Clarizen - A PMO's Best Friend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is currently being utilized by the Tulare County Information and Communications Technology Departments PMO for project management. When we made the selection and subsequent move to Clarizen we were using Sciforma (PSNext) which held many problems that needed to be solved. For example:

  • A lack of project metrics, which led to “guesswork” on behalf of
    project managers and the PMO
  • Weak or non-existent effort data, which made it impossible to accurately
    track time spent on projects
  • An absence of work notes -- the PMO had no idea what was going on
    outside of weekly project meetings
  • Sciforma was only being used by PMO staff and not by project teams
  • Resource Utilization, Considering prior to using Clarizen resource utilization was guesswork on the part of the Project Manager I would have to say having any realistic visibility much less the excellent level Clarizen provides is only to be said as exceptional.
  • Clarizen API, We made heavy use of the API integrating Clarizen with two core systems already in use at TCiCT. We integrated actual effort with Service-Now and our homegrown time management software.
  • Project Reporting, Clarizen provides an excellent built in reporting tool that as of late is only getting better with the ability to create custom dashboards directly through the software. Providing management with well laid out project metric data is as important as keeping your project on schedule.
  • Honestly I am so impressed with what Clarizen can do I haven't had time to stop and think about what it doesn't. If I had to pick something I would say it could provide a graphical interface for simple workflow rules.

I have had the pleasure of seeing Clarizen implemented in many different ways by many different organizations. I attended an event where we received presentations from a few organizations and I was blown away at the vast differences in implementations. Clarizen is not a one size fits all. Clarizen is a "How can we fit you" company. There is one key question to ask during a selection process. What are my requirements? Clarizen will meet them, will others? Here were our key requirements (I fully expect yours to be different):


  • Robust API tool set to connect with existing technologies
  • Versatile in order to fit in the “middle” of TCiCT’s environment
  • Capture project metrics – particularly effort/time tracking
  • Give PMO insights into project costs and actual resource utilization
  • Store and organize work notes
  • Enable ongoing, real-time project visibility
  • Accessible by all necessary team members, not just PMO staff
  • User friendly to avoid triggering change management issues

Read Sean Woods, PMP's full review
Jason Beamer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2015

Highly Configurable SaaS Tool with Great Overall Value

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Clarizen tool (V6) is likely the most configurable SaaS tool available in the PPM world - especially when it comes to the user interface. Meeting a company's need for custom fields & workflows to support unique processes is a major selling point of the tool.
  • Training and support for the tool is nearly unprecedented - there is high involvement from Clarizen staff to ensure both Administrators & End-Users have the assistance they need to utilize the breadth and depth of the offering in both a highly usable & highly available manner.
  • I believe one of Clarizen's strongest points of appeal is that it seems to be able to uniquely meet the needs of the SMB all the way up to true enterprise requirements for PMO's.
  • While V6 has brought with it a phenomenal amount of customization of the entire user-interface, I think there is a need for Clarizen to strike a better balance in providing a greater set of pre-configured interface & workflow options for those organizations that don't need that level customization, as it can be overwhelming.
  • The weakest point of Clarizen today in my mind is the "interactive" Gantt - it is surprisingly limited in configuration options and somewhat clunky in its current design.
  • -- That being said, I know that within 2014 they have committed to rolling out a new interactive Gantt consistent with their updated HTML5 UI overhaul and based on the innovation updates, looks very promising.
  • Though it's understandable from the need to "support" the infrastructure (and from a revenue perspective, I'm sure), I think the current licensing limitations on workflow rules, but more importantly custom field creation, as well as the process by which those limitations are "calculated" is a little convoluted.
  • The mobile "app" is desperately in need of some work - it does very little in terms of value of end-users.
  • -- Again, that being said, I know that within 2014 they have committed to rolling out a new mobile app that more consistent with the main UI standards.
Best suited for SMB companies - low financial impact and great value.
Read Jason Beamer's full review
Jeffrey Driscoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Clarizen grants flexibility without sacrifice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Clarizen merges a host of project, resource, and time management tools under one, integrated solution.
  • It improves visibility to our performance data. Up until now, we've had to use custom solutions or time consuming deep-dives to find out the facts.
  • It doesn't give good direction for how to do the things it does well. Some other PSA software have a method they ask you to adopt. Clarizen is almost too flexible out of the box, but it's also a strength.
This is the fourth PSA I've used and/or administered. So far, it's the one that does the most and is most flexible. It can be molded to fit a larger number of organizations than the previous offerings I've used or the half-dozen we looked at during our review process.
Read Jeffrey Driscoll's full review
Peter Koch | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2015

Clarizen: The Tie That Binds

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is used to manage and coordinate activities for a portfolio of projects utilizing a shared resource pool. Prior solutions could not adequately manage resource workload. Clarion offers high-level and detailed views so we know that projects will be completed on time.
  • Resource planning
  • Reporting
  • Ad hoc queries
  • Advanced project management
  • Assigning multiple managers to work items
  • License structure supports anemic customization capabilities (Professional) or robust (Enterprise); nothing in between.
I have had very good experience with Clarizen. The product is robust though could use minor tweaks. Clarizen is on a predictable upgrade cycle and offers great training programs. The customer success managers are knowledgeable and willing to help. I'll continue to promote Clarizen to anyone who will listen.
Read Peter Koch's full review
Scott Krangel | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Clarizen Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allows you to generate projects for any accounts that you're working with and mark each task complete as they are finished.
  • Allows you to create templates for specific product offerings to be re-used when a new project for the product begins.
  • Allows you to track time spent on a project (this can be done either at the project or the task level)
  • Allows you to generate status reports that will be e-mailed to you and then you can edit and forward to the client/team members
  • Allows you to generate customized reports
  • I would like to see an improved Issues Log that is more easily maintainable for each project.
  • I would like to see the roadmap that can be shared with a client be formatted more like a high level project plan
I think this is best suited for organizations where PM's have many projects to manage at once. This allows you to see a high level view of all of your projects and the percentage complete. You also have the ability to view all tasks sorted by when they should be completed, so that you can track what is coming up and any tasks that you or a colleague are expected to complete in the near future.
Read Scott Krangel's full review
Jeff Smargon, Prince2 | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2015

Clarizen Review - Alorica

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is utilized by all departments in the organization to manage projects large and small of both internal and external nature. Clarizen addresses the core business problem of collaborative project implementations through an easy and user friendly solution. The application is accessible both via the web and mobile devices providing extraordinary flexibility to the project team thus bypassing long interval updates.
  • Social collaboration - Clarizen's platform allows project participants to interact in real-time through a plethora of channels.
  • Reporting and Dashboards - Clarizen provides a flexible reporting and dashboard approach that provides a wealth of information at your fingertips.
  • Process automation - Scheduled workflow rules allow for increased efficiency for report automation, change/risk management and project accuracy.
  • Backend UI - At times Clarizen can be complicated to customize requiring a higher than normal skillset and or/professional service engagement.
  • Exchange Integration - Clarizen does not have a exchange integration option which requires users to navigate away from the platform.
  • Training - Clarizen training curriculum is not current (YouTube, Clarizen University, etc) which leaves a gap in implementation and or ongoing support.
What is the ongoing support model and what level of resource is required from a system admin standpoint?
Read Jeff Smargon, Prince2's full review
Lea Mohr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2015

Clarizen - best project management program I have seen

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is currently being implemented in our organization to manage new projects and change management procedures.
  • Clarizen provides an up to date format for easy user interaction.
  • It allows visibility of project status to help minimize email traffic.
  • It allows external customers access to specific projects to allow them to stay on top of the projects with you.
  • The on-boarding experience helped us stay on track to implement the program into our company.
  • It was difficult to determine what level company participants should be in order to be the most effective but least costly.
  • The sales team could be a little pushy to get you signed on with in a certain time frame.
  • There was some confusion about upgrade potential and capability to down grade if necessary.
My main question for any customer in the selection process would be: How likely is your team to use project management software and dedicate time to implement? This is the important in deciding whether any project management software will work for you. Clarizen is probably the best program I have used to date for the application.
Read Lea Mohr's full review
David Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2015

SaaS Project Management Software is the present and future - Clarizen is representative of that belief

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen was first implemented to fulfill a need within the Web Production/ Web Marketing organization as a way to manage KTLO activities. It quickly morphed in the central tool for managing all work streams, programs, projects and maintenance. With our success of using it to ring a multi-year, multi-million dollar project to market, several other groups/ PMOs within the organization took interest and began adopting Clarizen. Principally, it allowed for high visibility and predictability into project health, while allowing improved communication within project teams.
  • Exceptional UX, with a high degree of client accessible customization allowed us to tailor the experience and workflows to our unique business needs.
  • Communication integration and capture, with document association allowed remote/off-shore teams to be more effective. As a more open system we were free to choose a technology for document management that worked best for us; rather than a proprietary system which Clarizen replaced.
  • Client engagement; extremely responsive to feature requests, and worked collaboratively with us to match the tool to our needs. I've never worked with a professional services team who was so willing to teach me how to fish when it came to running and customizing the tool.
  • They may have already addressed this since I last worked with the tool; agile and particularly hybrid project methods are becoming more common. Their initial capability in 2013 was a little weak in this area when compared to software specific tools such as Jira.
I never really came across an issue that couldn't be addressed via customization, and or an app from the marketplace. Workflow automation is the most complex piece to implement, so if your organization needs it you should be very clear in explaining how you need to leverage the tool upfront. We experienced some initial delay by not looking inward before trying to kick off implementation.
Read David Wilson's full review
Michele Berman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2015

Clarizen - The best way to increase employee efficiencies.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current job, I use Clarizen for project management. I have a project created for each client and tasks within those projects to help keep me on task. Most of our departments use Clarizen for project management; there are only two departments that do not (sales and lead management). Clarizen helps address organizational issues that can occur when a company has too many clients or projects. It allows us to keep other departments on task and to review each other's workload.
  • Clarizen is extremely user friendly.
  • The program keeps track of your progress on any project or task.
  • Clarizen can be fully customized to fit your business.
  • One of the areas where I could see improvement would be that the program allows you to know if you are falling behind on a project, it will say "At Risk". I would like for it to go into detail telling how many of those tasks are late. I think that would help eliminate additional time and additional filters.
  • For specific tasks which have a certain turnaround time, it would be nice if the turnaround time auto-populated.
  • Rarely, when an email is sent out through a project or task, there is an error message stating that the email never sent. But, I will receive the email anyway. Probably just a small bug that needs fixing.
Clarizen is a great tool for my company, which needs constant project management. In our company, client projects change so quickly and it allows all departments to stay on track, as well as keep in great "trackable" communication. The accountability of each department can be quantified which is another excellent quality. I will continue to use Clarizen for my daily work and recommend it to others in need of project management software.
Read Michele Berman's full review
Hirendra Vikram | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2015

Clarizen, Keep it up!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen was implemented as a Web 2.0 collaborative planning tool, where the teams can update the status of progress on their own. We implemented our roadmap projects planning on Clarizen. It was used by only team heads, because of the limited budget, although this limitation was mentioned now and again. The business problem it solves is at the project management level, and provides real time visibility of the status of the projects.
  • Intuitive interface, flexibility of customizing interface.
  • Clean interface, where you can focus on the tasks to do.
  • Dashboards is a big strength.
  • Its ability to notify if someone is online!
  • They can improve on Gantt charts.
  • They can improve on including Kanban boards.
  • They can add screen sharing as a feature.
Clarizen is very well suited for globally distributed teams, but if a team is local and working with the scrum agile methodology, I feel it can be improved for that usage.
Read Hirendra Vikram's full review
Stacey Cellier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

For Visibility, Accountability, Flexibility -- Clarizen is unmatched

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Flexible, intuitive, but with the right balance of controls. This features in this product allow us to enable business processes as we grow.
  • You really need to know what you want and how your users will work in the system; the flexibility can be both a strength and a weakness.
Read Stacey Cellier's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2017

Clarizen review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clarizen is used through most of our business to push work orders through from salesforce and assign work to resources throughout the company. It helps to provide structure and organize when projects are going to complete.
  • It is easy to set dependencies for tasks throughout larger projects to know when a resource finishes a piece of the project when the next part will begin
  • It is easy to save off project templates to be used for common projects
  • Clarizen conversations and logging information is fairly easy to use through the site.
  • I still use reporting through salesforce. It seems to be a lot harder to use in clarizen the few times I have tried to use it.
  • It would be great if attachments on the salesforce Work orders automatically attached and pulled through to clarizen so we dont have to upload them twice.
Well suited for project management and creating rules to workflow that can be automated. It does seem to be difficult to report on items and get this information than from salesforce. It might be easier now than when I tried it in the past but due to that I mainly use Salesforce for it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (23)
8.3
Resource Management (24)
7.0
Gantt Charts (17)
6.0
Scheduling (19)
7.2
Workflow Automation (20)
6.1
Team Collaboration (22)
8.4
Support for Agile Methodology (11)
5.8
Support for Waterfall Methodology (12)
8.1
Document Management (18)
6.3
Email integration (21)
7.1
Mobile Access (17)
6.4
Timesheet Tracking (20)
8.3
Change request and Case Management (18)
6.9
Budget and Expense Management (19)
6.3
Project & financial reporting (8)
6.4
Integration with accounting software (2)
2.5

About Clarizen

Clarizen is a global leader in collaborative work management software. The vendor’s value proposition is that their enterprise-grade SaaS solution simplifies work, reduces communication overload and provides extensive visibility at any level of the enterprise. Clarizen enables users to connect employees and partners, sync planned projects with unplanned activities and create documents, reports and specialized workflows. The vendor says this helps users work more effectively, adapt to change faster and achieve objectives with greater productivity.

The Clarizen platform is built on a secure, scalable platform and is designed to work across multiple teams to enable cross-company task, project, and resource management. The vendor says their solution enables users to work with colleagues and customers from a single system of record that gives them:

  • Configurable workflow automation – Trigger actions on literally any item in the system, making Clarizen the most flexible solution in the market
  • In-context collaboration – Communicate with colleagues and customers, and track those discussions directly on their tasks, documents, projects and reports
  • Tailored experience – Simplify the work management experience by role or organization

Clarizen Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Does not have featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureProject Portfolio Management
Has featureChange Request and Issues Management
Has featureSocial Collaboration
Has featureTime Tracking
Has featureResource Tracking

Clarizen Screenshots

Clarizen Integrations

Box, Google Drive, Salesforce, JIRA, MS Microsoft Visual Studio TFS

Clarizen Competitors

Changepoint, Microsoft Project, Planview Enterprise One (formerly Planview Enterprise and Troux), CA Clarity (PPM)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise Edition$45per user per month
Unlimited Edition$60per user per month

Clarizen Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Clarizen Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English, French, Chinese