TrustRadius
Is Expensify better than Concur and ExpensePoint?I have used Expensify for years to track my own business expenses. I also used it as a contractor for a consulting firm. Contractors would record expenses for engagements and submit weekly expense reports. It made expense-tracking and reporting extremely easy.,You can record an expense as quickly as you can snap a picture on your phone. Submitting an expense report requires very little effort. All receipts are kept in one place. The user interface is very intuitive.,Sometimes the receipt scanning can take a while to complete, and hard-to-read receipts may require some manual input.,10,Expensify made it simple to record and submit expenses. By saving admin time, we were able to commit more effort to our consulting practices.,Concur ExpenseExpensify, simplify your expense reports.Expensify is used across the company. It directly addresses the problem of managing expenses including categorization and ensuring that receipts are attached.,Excellent mobile app makes scanning new receipts quick and easy. Relatively flawless smartscanning reduces the need to manually enter data for receipts. Centralized rulesets allow enforcement of company policy.,Managing multiple expenses at once can be slow and cumbersome Occasionally, the receipt images are lost. Web interface can be sluggish at times.,8,Reports are more consistent. Automated reimbursements, reduce overhead,,Amazon Route 53, Docker,Adding expenses via a simple photograph is invaluable. Photos are automatically scanned and the expense is updated with all of the proper values. Name of the company, date, value of the expense, etc. Rules allow you to customize the system to rapidly add expenses and categorize them properly.,Handling multiple expenses can be difficult. There is no mass update functionality. Adding multiple mileage expenses can be cumbersome. Each one has to be entered by hand.,Yes,7Expensify Scales w/ Hypergrowth Tech Company!Expensify is being leveraged across the organization as the de-facto expense toolIt has a simple and easy to use interface that enables employees to quickly submit expenses and therefore spend more time performing their core competenciesIt has a sleek mobile app that is highly leveraged at the companyI have leveraged Expensify for the past 5 years,Great mobile app for snapping pictures of receipts on the go! Simple and intuitive user interface helps users get up to speed quickly Smart scan feature, which scans your receipts and auto-populates data, has a fairly high success rate Integrates well with other products Pricing is fair and flexible,Smart scan feature is good but could be great with a higher success rate Smart scan feature is slow at times More security could be helpful for your IT team,8,The product has effectively scaled with growing tech company Enables employees to tackle expenses quickly so they can focus on the product projects Integrates well with payroll and accounting systems Fair and flexible pricing Attentive product team that listens to feedback,Oracle Enterprise Planning CloudEasy Reimbursement ToolWe use Expensify for reimbursements to employees. Team members travel a lot, and they often need to submit requests in Expensify for flights, train rides, Uber, meals, and other costs incurred while completing business activities for the firm. We then review and approve these requests and reimburse employees directly. It makes it more flexible for employees to pay for certain services on the job and then getting reimbursed as opposed to finding someone with a company card to pay for it.,It is very easy to use, as long as you have a picture of the receipt. Easy and convenient for people to keep track of their receipts compared to keeping physical copies of receipts.,It doesn't integrate with our other systems too well. Not much assistance in the beginning with setup and initial training, which could lead to subsequent problems, but overall it wasn't too difficult to navigate. Customer service isn't great - the only option seems to be a website chat and responses take a while. On the admin side, there aren't many options, particularly with the reports you can pull.,7,I do not have insight into the ROI of the software for the company.,Zoom, ClickTime, WebEx Meetings, UberConferenceExpensify is the ExpertWe use Expensify across our whole organization, in our US companies as well as our international companies. We have also connected our corporate credit cards to Expensify so that our users can more easily report their credit card transactions and provide important details and receipts easily. We have also used Expensify with users outside our company. When we host events that we will reimburse travel for, like board member travel or contractor workshop travel, these users can submit their requests for reimbursement through Expensify as easily as our employees can.,Expensify has a user-friendly interface. Receipts can be easily uploaded onto the platform through multiple methods. Users can also download the app so, which is particularly useful while they are on travel. Our reps at Expensify have helped build reports that respond to our complicated multi entity needs. I have a report that I export that is in the exact format I need for journal entry template importation. This is a game changer when the monthly credit card transaction list for the journal entry is on average 800 lines! We are able to host employees on the platfomr from many different countries because Expensify allows for multiple policies to be set. Each policy can then be set with needs to that country, like currency and even different categories and departments to charge items to. Since we have our corporate cards connected to Expensify, Expensify builds reports for our employees through the month, adding their charges to the report as they are charged to the card. Expensify imports the amount, merchant and date and the user just needs to fill in a comment, add a receipt and select what the charge needs to be budgeted to. Users can also set up "rules" that automatically code recurring charges so they can "set it and forget it." It is very easy to add user and remove users. This comes in useful in a busy HR department when stake holders are changing all the time.,Sometimes Expensify gets confused when receipts are emailed in and then "smart scanned" into the system. The receipt either does not get attached to the appropriate charge or it takes a very long time. I have had many users say they love this feature though and have no problem with it. At the beginning of the month Expensify can be slow. This may be because all of out users want to use it then or a system wide issue. Sometimes the system does not react well when words are typed in to the admin side when creating users. It responds much better when the info needing to be added is just copy/pasted.,10,Before Expensify, my company was getting Expense reimbursement requests via paper and getting the info about company card transactions via Excel and email. Both of those scenarios created a lot more work for the HR/Payroll team and also allowed for a lot of mistakes to be made. Expensify allows the admins and users a lot more ease. It has freed up a lot of time on both sides. We have a lot more success now in getting receipts. Users that are on travel don't lose them as much because they can take a picture and upload them on the spot and our company card users find tracking their receipts much easier as well since they do not have to hand us a pile of them when they turn in their monthly statement. Our budget to actuals are much more accurate now for our company cards because the users can select where items are budgeted from the drop-down lists of categories and departments. We used to just guess.,,Namely, Trello, ADP Streamline Payroll, Culture Amp, Slack, YouEarnedIt,300,3,Employee Expense reimbursements. Company card holder expense tracking. Journal Entry creation,We have had custom reports created to have us with our multi-entity needs. We have used it so our outside board members and contractors can submit expense reimbursements. We have linked it to our company cards so we can have the charges flow to the report.,We are trying to expand the credit card functionality to our international entities. It has the capability to create invoices, we may look in to this. We may start using it full time with our contractors.,10,10,No,Yes! Our rep is so great he worked very hard to get our export template to so exactly what we needed. I said we did not need it to "think" that hard, and I could just make some adjustments after the report was produced, but our rep thought that was crazy and said that we could build it the way we needed it done, we just had to spend a little more time on the logic, and it was a success!,it is easy for basic users to create their expense reports and submit them. it is easy for admins to maintain. It is easy to set up new credit card connections and users
Unspecified
Expensify
129 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Expensify Reviews

Expensify
129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 129 vetted Expensify reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 28)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joe &quot;JC&quot; Cross profile photo
August 21, 2018

Review: "Is Expensify better than Concur and ExpensePoint?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Expensify for years to track my own business expenses. I also used it as a contractor for a consulting firm. Contractors would record expenses for engagements and submit weekly expense reports. It made expense-tracking and reporting extremely easy.
  • You can record an expense as quickly as you can snap a picture on your phone.
  • Submitting an expense report requires very little effort.
  • All receipts are kept in one place.
  • The user interface is very intuitive.
  • Sometimes the receipt scanning can take a while to complete, and hard-to-read receipts may require some manual input.
I have used multiple expense tracking software solutions. Expensify is the easiest and most enjoyable to use by far. There was organization-wide grumbling when we had to switch to Concur and later to ExpensePoint. From a user standpoint, you can't get much easier than Expensify.
Read Joe "JC" Cross's full review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Review: "Expensify, simplify your expense reports."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is used across the company. It directly addresses the problem of managing expenses including categorization and ensuring that receipts are attached.
  • Excellent mobile app makes scanning new receipts quick and easy.
  • Relatively flawless smartscanning reduces the need to manually enter data for receipts.
  • Centralized rulesets allow enforcement of company policy.
  • Managing multiple expenses at once can be slow and cumbersome
  • Occasionally, the receipt images are lost.
  • Web interface can be sluggish at times.
Expensify excels at collecting expenses as you accumulate them and collating them into a report to be submitted to the accounting department. But, it only does this well if you're consistent with scanning the receipts as you collect them, and creating the reports as you go. Mass scanning and report generation can be slow and cumbersome.

Overall, this is a must-have tool for anyone dealing with expense reports on a regular basis.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 22, 2018

Review: "Expensify Scales w/ Hypergrowth Tech Company!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Expensify is being leveraged across the organization as the de-facto expense tool
  • It has a simple and easy to use interface that enables employees to quickly submit expenses and therefore spend more time performing their core competencies
  • It has a sleek mobile app that is highly leveraged at the company
  • I have leveraged Expensify for the past 5 years
  • Great mobile app for snapping pictures of receipts on the go!
  • Simple and intuitive user interface helps users get up to speed quickly
  • Smart scan feature, which scans your receipts and auto-populates data, has a fairly high success rate
  • Integrates well with other products
  • Pricing is fair and flexible
  • Smart scan feature is good but could be great with a higher success rate
  • Smart scan feature is slow at times
  • More security could be helpful for your IT team
Pros. - Fair pricing - Solid mobile app - Effective smart scan feature - Intuitive user interface - Great for rapidly growing companies - Effective at streamlining expense process so employees can work on more value-add projects
Cons. - Smart scan feature could be faster - Smart scan feature could be more accurate - Security could be more robust
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 28, 2018

Expensify Review: "Easy Reimbursement Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Expensify for reimbursements to employees. Team members travel a lot, and they often need to submit requests in Expensify for flights, train rides, Uber, meals, and other costs incurred while completing business activities for the firm. We then review and approve these requests and reimburse employees directly. It makes it more flexible for employees to pay for certain services on the job and then getting reimbursed as opposed to finding someone with a company card to pay for it.
  • It is very easy to use, as long as you have a picture of the receipt.
  • Easy and convenient for people to keep track of their receipts compared to keeping physical copies of receipts.
  • It doesn't integrate with our other systems too well.
  • Not much assistance in the beginning with setup and initial training, which could lead to subsequent problems, but overall it wasn't too difficult to navigate.
  • Customer service isn't great - the only option seems to be a website chat and responses take a while.
  • On the admin side, there aren't many options, particularly with the reports you can pull.
Expensify is a useful tool for tracking expenses and reimbursing employees for costs incurred while completing firm business. It has a nice and easy interface on the user side but a bit lacking on the admin side with limited functions, configurations, and reports.
Read this authenticated review
Lisa Shapiro profile photo
April 13, 2018

User Review: "Expensify is the Expert"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Expensify across our whole organization, in our US companies as well as our international companies. We have also connected our corporate credit cards to Expensify so that our users can more easily report their credit card transactions and provide important details and receipts easily. We have also used Expensify with users outside our company. When we host events that we will reimburse travel for, like board member travel or contractor workshop travel, these users can submit their requests for reimbursement through Expensify as easily as our employees can.
  • Expensify has a user-friendly interface. Receipts can be easily uploaded onto the platform through multiple methods. Users can also download the app so, which is particularly useful while they are on travel.
  • Our reps at Expensify have helped build reports that respond to our complicated multi entity needs. I have a report that I export that is in the exact format I need for journal entry template importation. This is a game changer when the monthly credit card transaction list for the journal entry is on average 800 lines!
  • We are able to host employees on the platfomr from many different countries because Expensify allows for multiple policies to be set. Each policy can then be set with needs to that country, like currency and even different categories and departments to charge items to.
  • Since we have our corporate cards connected to Expensify, Expensify builds reports for our employees through the month, adding their charges to the report as they are charged to the card. Expensify imports the amount, merchant and date and the user just needs to fill in a comment, add a receipt and select what the charge needs to be budgeted to. Users can also set up "rules" that automatically code recurring charges so they can "set it and forget it."
  • It is very easy to add user and remove users. This comes in useful in a busy HR department when stake holders are changing all the time.
  • Sometimes Expensify gets confused when receipts are emailed in and then "smart scanned" into the system. The receipt either does not get attached to the appropriate charge or it takes a very long time. I have had many users say they love this feature though and have no problem with it.
  • At the beginning of the month Expensify can be slow. This may be because all of out users want to use it then or a system wide issue.
  • Sometimes the system does not react well when words are typed in to the admin side when creating users. It responds much better when the info needing to be added is just copy/pasted.
Expensify can be great for small and large companies. We have multiple entities and a lot of specific situations that we needed built into our reports which is why we cannot take advantage of the NetSuite integration at this time, but we have worked with our rep to make it work for us by building these custom reports. Expensify is flexible and I think they can find a solution for many different companies' needs.
Read Lisa Shapiro's full review
Lawson Brooks III profile photo
February 28, 2017

Review: "Expensify delivers, but leaves freelancers out of the mix"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First, for the sake of full disclosure as a solopreneur I alternate using Expensify along with another expense tracking act. The reason for this is that there is no one like policy that I have to follow in order to submit my reports to various clients. However, I have been engaged by clients who use this app which makes it easier for me to submit expenses for reimbursement.

By that same token, several past and current clients have cumbersome or virtually non-existent expense reporting systems. Consequently, I have suggested that they take a look at Expensify to help them solve their needs in this area.
  • The first thing that I believe Expensify does well is that it offers a very friendly user experience on the desktop version and if you're new to the app, the free version allows the user to give it a complete test run. The simplicity of it all makes it easy for a user to navigate the site and input the necessary information.
  • Secondly, not only does Expensify allow you to keep a handle on your expenses, it also keeps you abreast of miles traveled and time worked on a project as well as syncing your info with select CRMs.
  • Another plus is the pricing model is not only very straightforward, but it's based on how many people actively use the system. The ability to add a credit card for importing works well and adds to the app's functionality.
  • The smartscan is really cool and easy to use.
  • As a solopreneur, I would like to see a version geared toward freelancers that avoids all of the policy, employee and administrator designations. While I'm extremely high on Expensify as a software for multi-employee companies that have some bureaucracy, it's a lot more than freelancers need or want.
  • While I like some of the integrations, I think that they are missing the boat on some like Quickbooks for Self-employed, FreshBooks, and TripIt to name a few.
  • The need to manually export data on the desktop is a little of a turn off.
Best suited for companies with multiple employees. Not great for freelancers.
Read Lawson Brooks III's full review
G.I. Sanders profile photo
February 09, 2017

User Review: "Huge Time Savings With Expensify"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses Expensify (all departments and virtually all employees). I've never heard anything negative about it. Everyone loves how easy it is to track and submit their expenses. It solves a number of issues for us. It simplifies the process of categorization, receipt tracking, and ties it all together in reports that are easily managed and approved by our managers.
  • Easy platform for managing and tracking employee expenses
  • Mobile app for ease of use taking photos of receipts
  • Check status of submitted reports
  • Easily categorize expenses
  • Sometimes have issues with SmartScan properly identifying amounts
  • SmartScan can be slow at times
For any employees that travel a lot, it is an absolute godsend, making it so easy to deal with expenses and get reimbursed in a timely manner. Rather than manually tracking purchases in spreadsheets and stapling receipts together with printed out reports, or scanning in receipts, it digitizes it all.
Read G.I. Sanders's full review
Doug Caci profile photo
April 04, 2017

User Review: "Expensify is great!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify was used to automatically upload expense reports. I was in the process of implementing the system so that the entire company would use the product instead of manually handing in paper copies of expense reports.
  • Automation
  • Phone Pictures of Receipts
  • Quickness
  • Not always accurate
  • App needs work
  • Pictures not always clear
Expensify works well when employees travel so that they can be reimbursed accurately and quickly. I recommend it.
Read Doug Caci's full review
No photo available
March 15, 2017

Review: "Expensify enhances employee accountability and expense reporting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use it for my corporate credit card tracking. I am currently the only one in my department that is using Expensify. It solves so many "On the Go" accounting problems. For most people, their receipts and budgets/accounts are either paper, on a computer or some combination of the two and Expensify allows me to take it on the go and make edits and track while I am not in the office.

  • Expensify allows you to photograph receipts and logs them as expenses while automatically pulling vital info from the receipt such as place of purchase and total spent.
  • Using the data and expenses already entered, Expensify creates reports and you are able to customize the reports based on which expenses you want to include on that specific report.
  • It can automatically email or add items or expenses to your email. You have the ability to sync Expensify and integrate it with other software and productivity programs.
  • It has a GPS tracking option for tracking mileage for expense reports. The GPS functionality seems a little unreliable, I would rather use the odometer option or distance option although not as "high tech" it just seems to work better.
  • On the time tracking piece I would like to see more filters and criteria options to be filled out.
It is great for anyone who does any amount of travel for business! This does not have to be international travel or consistent coast to coast travel although it is great for that. Anyone who has expenditures and is not locked to their desk, meaning they are out and around town or having working lunches or using any payment that needs to be tracked for accounting purposes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2017

User Review: "Love Expensify"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Expensify across the entire organization for all kinds of business expenses, including cell reimbursements. We don't currently have a corporate credit card system.
  • I like that we can take photos on our mobile because it helps me stay on top of my expense reports.
  • I like that it's easy to review and submit expenses quickly.
  • I like that it shows you the status of your reimbursement.
  • I like that you can modify each expense accordingly.
  • The AutoScan feature takes way too long.
  • The AutoScan feature is sometimes inaccurate.
  • I've had expenses flagged as "Duplicates" which were not.
  • I don't like that the system flags when you've manually entered an expense because it's necessary most of the time. AutoScan is way too slow.
  • I don't like that our reimbursement payout time takes much longer with expensify than it does with a regular check.
[It's] well suited for monthly expenses. I use it for a variety of expense types, including cell phone bills, customer gifts, shipment fees, travel expenses, meals, and company outing expenses. I would recommend it for any company in need of an expense software. I don't like that expensify pulls in every single one of my credit card purchases. Perhaps there could be some sort of flagging system and it discards the rest?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 23, 2016

Expensify Review: "Finally! Expense Reports Don't Suck"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is being used across the entire organization. We are currently in the pilot phase, but we're planning to officially roll it out in the first quarter of 2017. We are still using paper-based expense reporting, which takes up so much time for our researchers and administrative staff. Aside from time and monotonous work paper-based expense reporting creates, it will decrease stress from our researchers who must hand in all receipts and itemize receipts, especially since we travel throughout developing and conflict inflicted countries. Expensify will greatly reduce the time and effort spent on this very administratively heavy task!
  • One of the best features of Expensify is the currency exchange module. Our researchers travel globally and may travel to more than 3 countries in a matter of days, so it's very helpful to account for currency change automatically. In our old paper-based systems, administrators had to covert the currency manually.
  • Expensify accurately captures information from the receipts. I was surprised that information from hand-written notes, such as a written Taxi receipt in Niger, could be uploaded correctly to the system.
  • I like that Expensify targets items that need additional review. Some of our expense reports can be very daunting, so I appreciate how Expensify identifies areas that require further review.
  • As a new user, it would be great to have an online training. The blogs have been useful, but an interactive video explaining the basics would be helpful.
  • It would be helpful to be able to upload more than one credit card. For example, sometimes our corporate card is not accepted in certain international locations and the researcher needs to use his/her personal card.
  • I haven't come across this yet, but I'm wondering how we can take out tax and alcohol on some of the receipts, because this is coded differently both internally and by certain donors such as USAID.
Expensify is best suited for people with smart phones. One colleague had a lot of trouble keeping her receipts in order; therefore, her administrators have a very difficult time creating her expense report. She does not have a smart phone, but I believe she can take pictures and then upload them to the system. She's not very technically savvy either, so I'm interested to see whether Expensify will improve the way her team processes and executes her reports.
Read this authenticated review
Melody Hojati, CPA profile photo
November 07, 2016

Review: "Expensify is not expensive for my expenses"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is currently being used across the whole organization. Expensify is an efficient, great way to process employee business related expenses requiring reimbursement.
  • Easy receipt upload
  • Easy review process
  • Connection to financial systems for upload
  • Timely customer service feedback
  • Visibility and clarity in the system of where in the review process an expense report is
  • Deleting a created report requires a work around because of a current glitch in the system
  • Expenses, receipts, reports tabs need better explaining as there are overlaps in functionality
  • Better communication on updates, glitches, fixes to be made, work-around entries, processing etc.
Expensify is currently not linked to QuickBookss which makes the expense processing manual for our organization. We are switching to a platform that does work with Expensify and look forward to leveraging off of automated entries.
Read Melody Hojati, CPA's full review
Vlad Merson profile photo
June 13, 2016

Expensify Review: "Expense report made easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Expensify throughout the whole organization. It is used by employees and managers from all departments. Expensify is used for two main purposes: 1) By employees to submit reimbursable expense reports 2) By managers to submit business credit card reports with receipts and description of expense to help the finance department book everything correctly in the accounting system and stay compliant with the IRS guidelines.

Expensify helps us stay paper free and saves a lot of time for both employees, managers and accounting staff. It also helps us to keep accurate records of our business expenses, with receipts and descriptions.
  • Expensify has the so called Smart Scan option which reads the receipt and is able to recognize vendor name, amount, date and match to the corresponding expense.
  • Easily forward email receipts directly from my email to my expensify account by forwarding the email to receipts@expensify.com
  • Allows to create a feed directly from the credit card to your exensify account, no need to enter manually, all credit card expenses get to your Expensify account automatically.
  • Allows for direct reimbursement by easily connecting my bank account to my expensify account.
  • Sometimes the Smart Scan option is not reading the receipts properly and creates duplicate expenses rather than attaching the receipt to already existing credit card transaction.
  • I would like to see an option for direct, one day, reimbursement of an amount higher than $100 as well. Right now for higher amounts the reimbursement takes approximately 4-5 business days.
  • I sometimes find Expensify being very slow when opening a report or attaching a receipt.
In my opinion Expensify can save a lot of effort and time for companies with a number of traveling employees, a big sales team, or employees that travel and either use their personal funds and expense them as company reimbursable expenses or use their business credit cards and need to submit receipts and reports for firm's accounting records. It would be less suitable for very small companies that do not have traveling personnel. It would probably also would not be a great fit for big companies with 100's -1000's of employees.
Read Vlad Merson's full review
Kiara Bynum profile photo
June 20, 2016

Expensify Review: "Give it a try!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify was the primary tool used to organize, submit, track and reimburse expenses incurred by the entire organization. Prior to the adoption of Expensify, the organization had a manual, Excel-based system of tracking expenses (the team had to fill out an excel spreadsheet, copy and attach all of their receipts, then email the entire file to someone on the finance team). Expensify was adopted by the entire organization (including a team of over 50+ independent contractors that incurred an average of $10,000 each month in reimbursable expenses) and simplified the process tremendously.
  • Expensify is very easy to pick up and use. We had people at all different levels of technological expertise, but almost everyone picked it up very quickly.
  • The customer service team at Expensify is very helpful and knowledgeable. They were very easy to access, and helped us during the entire implementation phase.
  • Expensify works well with modern technology, and is very convenient. Most things can be done from the Expensify app, which is very helpful for an organization with a lot of travelers.
  • We adopted Expensify when it was relatively new, so at the time, there were glitches occasionally in the software. This did improve as time went on, though.
  • Our organization struggled with its limited customization options. Our organization was very unique, so there were a lot of areas where we wished we could have changed the functionality to fit our needs a bit better.
Overall, I would definitely recommend Expensify, espeically for small to medium organizations, and especially for organizations with members who travel a lot or are always on-the-go. Larger or less standard organizations may struggle with its limited customization options. The functionality continuously improved during my time using the software. All of the organizations' users believed the website to be easy to pick up and use. Customer service is top-notch.
Read Kiara Bynum's full review
Michael Freeman profile photo
April 26, 2016

Review: "Expensify is fast, easy and an asset to anyone who needs to regularly do expense reports"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Expensify across the whole company to track and manage expenses. It makes it quick and easy to capture expenses and close out my monthly expense reports.
  • Great mobile app makes it fast and easy to capture expenses
  • I could copy previous expense reports and use those as templates to make it quicker to handle monthly recurring expenses
  • Visually appealing design was clear and easy to understand
  • It didn't handle spending rules as well as I had hoped. For example, we had a spending limit for hotels on a per night basis, but anytime I stayed somewhere more than 1 day it would break the rule because it was more than the allowed amount. It needed to be smart enough to know how hotel stays work and enforce a limit based on the avg. cost per day.
Seems like a great general purpose expense tracking system
Read Michael Freeman's full review
Colin Tan profile photo
March 27, 2015

Expensify Review: "Expense with Ease"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is being used by our organization as way for our employees to submit their expenses and upload receipts. It is being used by all the employees in the organization who incur expenses. It allows us to keep track and monitor expenses to make sure that they were business-related and not personal expenses.
  • Easy to add expenses and upload receipts.
  • Very simple to sync your expenses to QuickBooks.
  • The customer support is very helpful if you run into trouble.
  • They provide an extensive manual for employees.
  • Wish there was a way to change tags on multiple items at once after expense report was approved.
  • Sometimes receipts for employees don't attach.
  • Sometimes system made it so the report was submitted to wrong approver.
I think Expensify is well suited for a smaller company because it is easier for one person to manage all the expense reports that way. With a public company of 1000+ employees it may take a while and would probably work better if multiple administrators looked over the reports. Other than that it is very simple to use and has been great so far.
Read Colin Tan's full review
Richard Wilbert, MBA profile photo
December 15, 2014

"Expensify Review a good product"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is used by the entire organization.
  • Captures charges with multiple credit cards
  • Allows categorization to be easily defined
  • Allows you to calculate mileage right from the application.
  • The mileage calculation does not allow you to modifty the route and often calculates it incorrectly
  • Mileage should be automatically categorized as ground transportation
Can you create templates that can be reused on a monthly basis?
Read Richard Wilbert, MBA's full review
Khalil Snobar profile photo
June 17, 2014

Review: "It's ok to spend, just make sure to keep track of it with Expensify"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is easy and I was able to use it extensively on business trips, and while attending trade shows and startup conferences. I'm able to run reports and submit accurate numbers for approvals with receipts and such. It's mainly being used on an individual level, each person uses their own expense reporting system but some prefer Expensify due to the ease of use and cross-platform access. This helped us as an organization since a big portion of folks travel globally so a good app like Expensify is very handy in keeping track of expenses whether personal or for business. It also helps keep my budget in check.
  • Its excellent for helping you keep track of personal and business expenses all in the same application.
  • Cross-Platform support. I can work on a report on my iPhone then continue editing on my computer.
  • Great features like taking immediate pictures of receipts, ability to pull info from credit cards to easily import accurate data regardless of which card you use.
  • Creating reports is as easy as ever especially to send over for easy management approval all through the app. Can even export to store locally on your machine.
  • I'd like to see some integration with hotel and flight reservation tools like what we currently use with Concur.
  • Salesforce integration
  • Upgraded and modern UI
  • Multi-factor authentication leveraging SSO and TouchID perhaps to verify user for security purposes especially for business
Expensify is easiest to use once you prepare for it prior to traveling or using it since it requires some setup to enter credit card info and getting used to storing in the cloud as some folks might or might not be too keen on storing in the cloud. But the best part is the fact you can access your data from everywhere.
Read Khalil Snobar's full review
No photo available
June 20, 2016

Review: "Expensify - Good Solution for Small Companies"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is being used across the entire organization. Currently, employees outside the finance and accounting team specifically use Expensify for expense reporting and reimbursement requests. The finance and accounting team uses it to process expense reports and reconcile corporate credit cards and maintain records of receipts for credit card transactions. It does an excellent job of record-keeping in an organized fashion (linking a transaction to a specific line item in a credit card statement or expense report, for example). By eliminating the need for paper expense reports and receipts, we have streamlined our processes and we have been able to reduce lost/misplaced expense information by 90%.
  • Organization - Expensify places types of expense reports/credit card statements into buckets based on where they are in their individual process.
  • File maintenance - by using digital receipts and scans, Expensify eliminates the need for paper files for expense reporting and credit card reconciliations.
  • Reimbursement - the process by which you designate a report as reimbursed is extremely simple (you can click in Expensify to automatically reimburse someone or you can mark it as reimbursed through your accounting system very easily).
  • Exporting credit card transactions can be difficult. When importing, all transactions are lumped under one vendor (American Express, in our case), so it can very difficult to link a line item on the general ledger to an individual transaction/receipt.
  • Basic instruction for new users can be confusing. For employees who have not previously used expense reporting or accounting software, some of the terminology can cause a problem. Also, it's not clear that a user must actually submit their expense report to a particular email - some employees have submitted it to themselves or failed to submit it at all.
Expensify is well suited for an organization that has grown out of first-stage startup mode. If everyone in your company has a corporate card, Expensify would be welcome as a way to reconcile your credit card statements quickly and easily. If members of your organization need to be reimbursed quickly and without a physical paper trail, Expensify also works well. However, if your accounting system already has an expense reporting system in place, or if Expensify doesn't sync with your ERP, it may be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 07, 2016

Review: "Expensify is my top recommendation for expense tracking!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify was being used/and was required to be used across the whole organization. Most users were using the app on their phones as well. Over all of the years of expense reporting, this by far is the best application I have used. Many other coworkers would say the same. The simplicity of the program made our reporting quick and brainless. Will continue to recommend to others.
  • Simplicity of use
  • Photo snap of receipts
  • Organization of receipts
  • None that I can think of
Large or small organizations Expensify would work well for. Very simple to use and to capture receipts, instead of having to keep receipts in wallet, etc., with fear of losing or misplacing. Keeps in chronological order and easy to process. Organizations of all sizes could benefit from this program and even more so from their integrated app.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 04, 2016

Review: "Expensify is great for startups and SMBs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify was being used organization-wide to track employee expenses. Our business, especially in the marketing department, required a lot of travel and last-minute expenses. Having a seamless expensing system was crucial. Expensify has an easy to use interface and made it really simple to import receipts by connecting your card.
  • Great looking user interface that is responsive and state of the art.
  • Clear instructions and flow for entering expenses and submitting expense reports.
  • Easy to connect expense accounts and payment accounts.
  • Expensify can do better about consolidating reporting. We had to implement a formal process for the users on how exactly to submit reports each month so that accounting could stay organized. Features should exist in the software to prevent this problem.
  • The interface and login could sometimes be slow, but was usually not buggy.
I think Expensify is a great solution for startups or SMBs wanting to implement an easy-to-use solution for expense reporting. It handles expense logging all the way to reimbursement. You can even reimburse through PayPal, which makes it easy to reimburse contractors who may not want to share bank account information. Overall, the interface is easy to use which is one of the most important assets for a solution that has to be used by many different people.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 10, 2016

Expensify Review: "Quick and Easy to Implement, Ideal for Small to MidSize companies"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a whole, Expensify is the most user-friendly Expense platform I have ever used. I started at a company that simply used Netsuite's expense module and it was a nightmare. It was very difficult to audit the receipts against the charges - we would need to click on each uploaded document and compare them to the charges. Most times, all receipts were scattered/lumped into one large file where I was tasked with an seemingly endless "Where's Waldo" search. However, at my next company, I was introduced to Expensify. From a users standpoint, it is extremely easy to use. I always encourage new users to download the mobile version. For each expense, you simply snap & key in some info, and toss the receipt. Both at a previous company and at my current company, Expensify has been used throughout the whole organization.

From an administrator's perspective, Expensify management is easy. You can add/remove users with a click of a button. It would be great to have a button which allows all "Policies" to be updated rather than having to go to each and clicking "sync" for each policy. Also, it would be great to a more seamless method to add individuals to access multiple policies. Expensify expense review is quick and easy. With a click on the right button, the receipts info is clear and readable. If not, I can easily add a comment that will notify the user to review. it would be great to be able to comment on a line comment box within the report so that users can easily reference the issue and resolve the issue. Also, rules can be set up so that a person cannot submit without some necessary details or they can be flagged. Additionally, managers/expense report approvers do not appear to have any major concerns/issues with the approval process either. Perhaps, one the best features is that changes have a clear audit log with timestamp, making it ideal for audit purposes.
  • Quick and Easy to Use
  • Simple implementation - Ideal for small to mid-size Companies
  • All reports are timestamped and have an audit log
  • Not ideal for large companies - some functions are not built to scale
  • No live customer support - only email support is available
  • Export/Sync issues (not frequent)
I would recommend this module for small to midsize companies. For larger companies with corporate cards, I would recommend against. It is not as easy to export the corporate statements - I experienced a great deal of issues with the date/time auto-pulls from the bank corporate card statements.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 12, 2016

User Review: "Expensify"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Expensify to reconcile credit card charges made by our CEO and to submit business expenses made on my personal credit card for reimbursement.
  • Expensify remembers expense types.
  • Easy to upload receipts.
  • Easy-to-read visual summary.
  • The expense feed is slow in uploading. There only seems to be a push twice/week when new expenses appear.
  • There is no reference number or vendor contact information provided in the expenses.
It is well-suited for expense reimbursement.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 10, 2016

Expensify Review: "Expenisify is great if you use the paid service"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a company for our expense reports. We use the free version. It is a great way to organize expenses.
  • Uploading and reading receipts.
  • Approvals.
  • Organizing expenses.
  • Using the free version it seems that functions start to go away, making it very hard to use. I would assume that is because the vendor wants our company to purchase.
If you are paying it is great. I would not recommend the free version.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2015

Expensify Review: "You get what you pay for."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expensify is used company wide to submit, approve and process business T&E expense reports. It is also used to process P-card expenses.
  • It is functional for submitting expense reports.
  • When working, the linkage to credit card activity is a time saver. The problem is these links frequently break.
  • It's functional for retaining expense documentation.
  • Reporting is terrible. It is difficult to pull useful data out of the system. The standard reports do not meet our needs.
  • Reliability is poor. The system is frequently slow and linkages to credit cards break requiring the card to be reconnected (if possible) or for labor intensive manual data entry.
  • Support and service is slow and inconsistent. Typically when there is a system problem, an immediate response and resolution is necessary. It can take up to 24 hours to receive an acknowledgement that someone is aware of the issue. And even longer for it to be fixed.
I would only recommend Expensify to a company with the need to manage a lot of expense report related activity and very little budget available for a better solution.
Read this authenticated review

About Expensify

Expensify is an expense management software product from Expensify, Inc in San Francisco, available as a cloud-service and billed as a fast and easy way to manage your business expenses. With Expensify, cash and card transactions are automated. Billable time, including mileage, time, and other reimbursable expenses, are captured via its document storage system for creation of a clear audit trail, ensuring compliance and reducing fraud. Expensify has a SmartCategorization feature which allows varying kinds of expenses to be sorted according to type. Employees may be reimbursed via integration with ACH Direct Deposit or Paypal at no additional cost. Workflow and rule-based approval processes are automated in Expensify. It is mobile accessible and supports integration with many commonly used accounting programs (e.g. NetSuite, Quickbooks). Expensify supports domain control, tracking all activity within a particular domain (e.g. @trustradius.com) and automated GL mapping for better workflow and compliance.

A free version is available for individual users. Two paid tiers are also available, one at $5 per user for the Team tier, billed as adequate for "non-profits, church groups, student groups," and the like, and a more sophisticated $9 dollar per user Corporate package, which contains the most sophisticated features and is meant for use by administrators at companies. "Users" are persons who have edited expense data with the software in a given month. No other costs are incurred but this. Support for integration via workshops and training videos is present, and 24-hour email support is available as well.
Categories:  Expense Management

Expensify Integrations

Expensify Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No