Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
379 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 211)

Sarah Yeargin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Team Gainsight!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight throughout our entire Customer Success Team. Is helps us stay organized by prioritizing our CTA's with a due date and it even allows you to check off smaller tasks within a CTA before closing it out. Gainsight allows you to customize your view as a user and admins have control over the information it shows. It is so nice to have this platform that integrates with Salesforce and shows us a timeline of the team activity! While there is a lot of information, it is well-organized and easy to locate. Highly recommend!!
  • Seamless integration - I have never had any issues with information showing up after input.
  • Transparency - Clearly shows your progress and where you are at as an individual and team.
  • Sometimes I am not able to fit all of the items into the window I have open but this is just due to having to shrink the page to fit multiple pages.
  • You need to refresh before grabbing CTAs so that you do not take one that has already been claimed. It does not update in real time so if you are viewing something 60 seconds after someone else picked it up, it will still allow you to take it and that causes issues.
I would definitely say that Gainsight is a great ADDITION to something like Salesforce, but not enough to replace it. Gainsight does not hold all of the information but it does an amazing job of organizing it and keeping you on track with your goals. Now that I have been using it for so long, I would panic if I ever tried to do my job without it.
Read Sarah Yeargin's full review
Markus Melton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Good Customer success organization? This is needed for you!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Gainsight within our Customer Success Team to expand our knowledge of customer relationships, to understand account health better, and make informed decisions on what plays to run. To a certain extent, it is used outside of CS but mainly by leadership who also want insight into existing relationships.
  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and, therefore, has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • Allows leadership/management to roll up the health of their accounts/portfolios and sort by various health factors.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered would be helpful. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks, which limits how much we can use it.
I think the difference in value you will get out of Gainsight is mostly dependant on the size of your organization, your desire to scale, and willingness to keep things updated. If you're a large org that is willing to devote time to configuration, this is for you. If you're a small team, I don't think the operational benefits compensate for the amount of time you'd need to devote.
Read Markus Melton's full review
Cason Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

A great tool for scaling your Success organization.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our global customer success team. We also have view-only licenses for our AEs. CSMs use it to organize their day and track activities within accounts.
  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and therefore has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • For leadership, Gainsight is a great tool to be able to scale a success organization. For example, we are able to create standardized processes or activities for CSMs, and then we can execute on those things via Gainsight as the system of record.
  • For CSMs, Gainsight helps them manager their day. Things do not slip through the cracks, and the tool proactively helps them manager their account load.
  • Speed of the tool - several CSMs complain it takes too long to move around in the platform. We have an open ticket and are optimistic there is a fix vs. it being an inherent issue in the tool.
It is well suited for companies growing fast and in-need of a system to scale their customer success motion.
Read Cason Green's full review
Meredith Giersch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Gainsight is the Cadillac of CSM platforms, but still has work to do on its UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our enterprise accounts. As a manager, I use it daily to understand the health of my portfolio of accounts and the status / progress of each customer's Success Plan. In addition, it serves as a critical 'single source of truth' if a CSM is on vacation / sabbatical or if we're transitioning the account to another CSM.
  • Offers a single place for CSMs to enter all notes and success plans so that everyone across the organization can access that information - key for knowledge capture and transfer
  • Allows leadership / management to roll up the health of their accounts / portfolios and sort by various health factors
  • Timeline becomes a mass chaos especially for high engagement / touch accounts - it lacks the ability to reference various objectives / initiatives. A CSM will regularly talk to a customer on one status call about 4 objectives / initiatives, but we can't ask them to click between 4 objectives / initiatives while in one call.
  • There's a lack of sufficient hierarchy in success plans for what we need to do in the high touch enterprise space.
  • The user experience for Success Criteria is poor - the current functionality limits us from building a "value log" of the benefits a customer is receiving from our software and services.
  • Cockpit is a nightmare - it's a massive list and not intuitive to search / filter / query.
Gainsight is currently the most robust platform in the CSM industry, however, I've seen 90% of my peers do a poor job of implementing / customizing it. So make sure you have a strong team to focus / clarify how you want CSMs / managers to do their job first... then a team to implement the tool and do proper enablement. Without that, you'll likely fail round one.
Read Meredith Giersch's full review
Andrei Ion | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Just honest.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is mostly used in the Sales and Marketing department. It helps to track the costumer's journey and experience with us.
  • Helps scale and operationalize success
  • Improve costumer attention
  • Shorter loading time
  • Change theme functions would be a nice add on
Gainsight is perfect for keeping track and for being able to see the big picture in your business, where you started, where you are every month, and where you are heading.
Read Andrei Ion's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

A good way to help your organization see more with your customers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used within our customer success department only. Our intended use is to help us become a more proactive organization and a way to better organize our day through the usage of the call to actions.
  • Call to actions.
  • Timeline events.
  • Actual customer success execution.
  • Rules engine is a bit clunky.
I am a bit passive because I believe Gainsight has everything we need to be successful and become proactive, but I also feel it is something that can be built with the correct resources in another CRM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Gainsight - The Best Way to Organize Customer Success Teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was being used by all of the customer success to log activities with customers on a daily basis. We also had very specific alerts related to usage and communication built in to make sure we were monitoring how our customers were doing with our product and how often we were speaking with them.
  • Customized alerts directly to your email
  • Incredible reporting/graphs to show customers usage breakdowns
  • Load time of reporting can be slow based on how large of a data set you are pulling
Best suited for users looking to organize a lot of different information about a lot of different customers. Less appropriate for a sales team from a day to day basis, but extremely useful for a customer success team.

As a CSM, you are constantly context switching between customers and it can become hard to keep track of your most recent interactions/where each customer stands in regards to product usage. Gainsight solves this problem. Both departments (sales & customer success) can benefit from the reporting suites and alerts in Gainsight.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Gaining true Insights into your Business.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in the Customer Support and Success teams. It helps us bring together information from multiple software applications. Salesforce, Zendesk, Domo, and Pendo, these are are the primary software applications we use. For the two teams this is what they use to connect and record contacts with our clients. It can be customized, and we are doing better now.
  • Allows us to bring information such as, client Health Scores to our cockpit view.
  • Allows us to use our Salesforce information, but in a more efficient way for our teams.
  • It was a difficult transition, with issues that needed to be ironed out.
  • Customizable, but we had to collaborate, rather than having each individual team have their own options.
We have gained a lot of insights into the clients we have enabling us to plan more effective ways to help and support them. When we pull up a client's file we have a color coded health score that helps us understand the basic adoption. This also helps to prioritize the struggling clients to help them achieve greater success.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Gainsight -- We really like you

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by a variety of departments at my org including Sales, Client Success and Client Implementation. Gainsight addresses support and monitoring of client life cycle, success plans, progress and client risk.
  • Love, love, love the Timeline feature for my Client Success team -- meetings notes, collaboration etc...awesome feature
  • Very detailed support site and online community
  • CTAs have been a lifesaver for our Implementation Specialists that work with large numbers of clients.
  • Success Plans have been instrumental in supporting our higher-tiered clients without creating duplicate work for our Success Managers.
  • Ability to print Success plans is severely lacking.
  • Printing survey results is bulky and not user-friendly.
  • Clearly understanding the Gainsight nomenclature (CTAs, Objectives, Playbooks, etc.) and how they relate to the system's internal structure was difficult for someone not super involved with the back-end of the system.
Keeping track of current client programs with notes, CTAs and Success plans has been a very positive add for my team and they have used the tool with great success. The scenario where Gainsight is a bit of a struggle is for surveys. We consistently survey our clients but very much need a quick tool to report survey results in graph form, which we cannot get from Gainsight at this time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Gainsight an Asset for Scaling CSM Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged by our team of Customer Success Managers and CS Management in order to track and manage customer health, predict and triage at-risk and/or unhealthy accounts based on key data ported related to how customers leverage our software, log important engagements with customers, track CSM activity/productivity to ensure we're at a healthy utilization rate as a team, and aid in proactive engagements with customers as our CSM team scales.
  • Gainsight is easy to integrate with other systems and allow flow of important data to and from the system. This allows us to report key metrics to business stakeholders as well as proactively gives our CSM team important information related to their customers that allows them to make strategic business decisions.
  • Customization of Gainsight makes it easy to tailor the information that different people need to see in various forms (Reporting/dashboards etc.). The interface is clean and easy to navigate.
  • It can still be tricky to get certain data into Gainsight that the team needs in order to do their jobs properly in the appropriate format. Requires manual intervention from our Customer Success Ops Manager.
  • While it allows for task managment and information storage on the account level, it would be great if we could have a team-level view where certain activities/metrics could be leveraged from an internal team standpoint.
Great for CSMs managing larger subsets of customers as well as smaller subsets. Helpful for CS management to configure in a way where key metrics and data are provided that can be reported to the business in a productive way.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Finally a product built by company that understands CSMs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to standardize our approach to client situations. Gainsight is our single data source regrouping all our customer data; this allows us to have a consolidated picture in a single environment and leverage that to build a success plan around that situation. It is also used to run automated NPS campaigns.
  • C360 - Account dashboard providing the complete health of a customer
  • CTAs - Call to action triggers on customers relevant to a particular situation during the lifecycle or a risk arising in the client journey.
  • Success Plans - Build a consolidated program based on tasks to make a clients journey successful
  • Configuration of the tool can be tricky and not so obvious.
Gainsight is well suited when a CSM is managing multiple accounts (higher than 10) and each requires a certain degree of personalized follow up. With its automation (rules engines) you can also build into the system automated responses and triggers for your customer and/or CSMs relevant to a particular situation. Reporting for management is also a key feature that Gainsight is well tooled for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Good CS Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as the platform for our CSMs to work with their customer base. It provides meaningful insights and automated actions to make it easier to see which accounts need additional support, where opportunity for upsell/cross-sell exist, and general risk management.

Additionally, Gainsight offers robust reporting that helps the Customer Success Department communicate effectively with other departments and executives in order to address high level issues.
  • Reporting
  • Automation
  • Customer Insights
  • Reporting across multiple objects in SFDC
  • Ease of automated processes
If you have enough customers and ARR, you can't live in spreadsheets any more. Gainsight is useful to pull data in from different tools and bubble up actionable insights to your team. If you want to use it effectively, you should have a dedicated resource to manage Gainsight and make sure you can make changes to its data structure and reports as quickly as your business needs to change.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Hilverda | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

A premier option among CS tools

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Gainsight within our Customer Success Team to expand our knowledge of customer relationships, to better understand account health, and make informed decisions on what plays to run. To a certain extent, it is used outside of CS but mainly by leadership who also want insight into existing relationships.
  • The layout is intuitive and easy to customize what data you want to display.
  • Easy to assign different plays as needed.
  • Insights can be gained at a glance by outside users within the organization.
  • Very customizable but it takes a long time to configure things to a useable level for us.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks which limits how much we can use it.
  • Movement within the app is a little slower than I would like.
I think the difference in value you will get out of Gainsight is largely dependant on the size of your organization, your desire to scale, and willingness to keep things updated. If you're a large org that is willing to devote time to configuration, this is for you. If you're a small team, I just don't think the operational benefits compensate for the amount of time you'd need to devote.
Read Mike Hilverda's full review
Ibrahim Ijaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

A Must Have for any Customer Success Organization (and more)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is not only used in our Customer Success organization, but also cross-functionally as well. We use Gainsight to provide historical data on all our merchants (High Touch, Low Touch, and No Touch). We use it for many different functions, some of them being sending out mass email campaigns, sending out all types of surveys (NPS, various CSAT). Some other teams that utilize Gainsight are Product, Implementations, Account Management, and Customer Marketing. We have developed Gainsight to be our tracking platform for a lot of our campaigns, as well as a platform where anyone on other teams (who have a license) can view responses or view historical data on a merchant, such as updates that have been inputted by the CSM's in the past, or emails that have been logged, etc. Gainsight is a great tool-- if not for it, we would essentially be using a notebook, or a very cluttered excel spreadsheet for each client. Being able to log all kinds of updates (email, call, meetings) and assigning action items directly to users who are involved is a very seamless process, and Gainsight has helped us with that. It has also helped us with providing daily alerts based on usage data to help CSM's be notified whenever there are spikes or negative trends with our customers.
  • Ease of note-taking/activity updates for customers; being able to assign action items directly within the platform.
  • Surveys with in-box NPS features. Surveys are very easy to create and choose contact lists from, and very straight-forward to configure.
  • Configurability by an administrator to make Gainsight beneficial not just to a CS organization, but for cross-functional players as well.
  • Connectors between Gainsight and s3 can be a little iffy sometimes and cause false ingest failures.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
Gainsight for a customer success organization is essential. It gives account managers or CSM's a one-stop-shop view of all their customers, and with the dashboards that can be configured, they can have an easy outlook as to why a merchant's overall health score may have dropped or improved. Some scenarios where it is less appropriate, however, would be Sales or Risk, etc, just due to the limitations of the product and how catered to it is for customers and updates/historical information on them.
Read Ibrahim Ijaz's full review
Sacha Laskow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Use your Brainsight, get Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success Department and management/executive team for the client services organization. The goal was to address a number of business goals:
  • Accurate health scoring across our client base to manage escalations, track advocates, and give management better visibility
  • Manage the tasks and workload of the CSMs day-to-day through the use of a mix of automated and manual triggers for Calls to Action
  • Provide a central hub for client information, usage stats and CSM contact history (Timeline)
  • Reduce the number of tools the CSMs were having to log-in to and use each day
That mandate has also expanded much further to include various reports and insights as well as automating tasks and emails using Journey Orchestrator.
  • Gainsight is massively flexible and can be configured to do almost anything with the Rules Engine and being built on the Salesforce platform.
  • The team at Gainsight is amazing, super helpful and will always make time to help improve and achieve the goals of the implementation.
  • The community, documentation and support are all quite mature and provide a lot of resources to understand a complex system with many features.
  • Along with the flexibility, the complexity of implementing and thus the learning curve is quite high.
  • Some Admin functions could be made more user-friendly with some simple UI tweaks, for example changing 'Subtract N+7 days' to 'In the last week'.
  • Could also use more consistency across the UI, for example sometimes you hit 'Save', other times you just close the window etc.
Due to the flexibility Gainsight could likely be adapted to a multitude of scenarios and functions within a customer success organization. The key to getting the most out of it is ensuring your organization has their data in order (this is not a small task), and the business goals are clearly defined and supported.
We've leveraged all those tools and found them all very valuable. An active user community and robust set of training resources is indispensable with such a complex product. We also attended the Pulse conference recently and it was a great mix of fun and learning, with a number of great speakers and of course VANILLA ICE!
Read Sacha Laskow's full review
John Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

The linchpin to an intimate and efficient CS organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently leverage Gainsight across our Global Customer Success Organization. Our CS Organization leverages Gainsight to enhance our customer intimacy strategy and to manage our customer portfolios more efficiently. Our CS Organization includes around 35 FTEs globally.

Gainsight is also used by our Customer Support Organization for trasactional NPS.
  • Gainsight has an intuitive UI
  • Gainsight pairs beautifully with Salesforce
  • The Task Activity on timeline allows for efficient task management and leadership visibility on customer engagement
  • Missing a key integration to Outlook Calendars for Meetings displayed in Cockpit (or calendar function in GS)
  • Data integrations can be pricey
Gainsight works extremely well for a SFDC shop that is looking to make for a more impactful and efficient customer success organization.

I am unsure how well Gainsight would work in non-traditional CS capacities (TAM roles).

Make sure that you have IT staff that have allocated time for maintenance and administration as this can take up a large amount of time to get full value on all functionality.
Read John Johnson's full review
Ashley Phelps | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

The timeline feature is incredibly valuable!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used across the organization to see customer health and document activities on the customer timeline. The primary users are Customer Experience Managers and Account Managers, with executives using it to see the timeline activities of the customer. We use some CTAs for sending semi-automated emails. Most recently, we are using it for Risk and Escalation documenting and processing.
  • The timeline is great for having one place for everyone to log notes/emails/calls/important milestones in a customer's lifecycle.
  • Creating rules to generate calls to action.
  • Fantastic reporting.
  • NPS Surveys.
  • Creating Rules in the Rules Engine is complicated.
  • Being able to edit someone else's Gainsight timeline log.
  • Reporting on internal/external attendees on a timeline activity.
Gainsight is well suited for organizations where people are taking notes and documenting things related to their customers, and need them to be visible to the entire organization for visibility, knowledge transfer, etc.
Gainsight is less appropriate for a company that is not B2B, and does not have accounts/clients.
Read Ashley Phelps's full review
Lindsey Schell | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

A powerful tool to build a CS division

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as our Customer Success Management tool.
  • CS Management dashboards.
  • Customer lifecycle.
  • Customer health.
  • Slow load times.
  • It takes a large number of clicks to get into the main work screens.
Gainsight does a great job of consolidating relevant account information and automating tasks associated with Customer Success. Their staff is also very helpful in recommending the best practices they've observed across their own customers.
Read Lindsey Schell's full review
Bradford Gillens | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

Great tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our customer relationships and our customer's lifecycle post-sale up to and through renewal.
  • Scorecards
  • Reporting
  • Documentation of customer interactions
  • N/A
Gainsight is great for managing customer interactions through the customer lifecycle and understanding how to successfully keep your customers on a path to success via using your product or service.
Read Bradford Gillens's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

End user review of Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Customer Success organization to capture and display customer adoption data as it relates to various products. Its use addresses the problem of understanding customer engagement in products with the goal of improving product marketing efforts as well as optimizing future product design and features.
  • Charting/graphing/reporting - lots of options to create visualizations.
  • Report Builder function - again, many options to choose from, relatively easy to use and quick to see output.
  • Logical and pleasing UI - easy to follow and find what you're looking for.
  • Playbook creation from template was a bit complicated and not easy to understand - more robust capability and better documentation of the feature would be useful.
It is well suited to adoption/customer success focused endeavors where there is quantifiable data, which will make charting/graphing/etc. much easier. It becomes less intuitive and useful to use in cases where there isn't a lot of quantifiable data but rather subjective type data. For example, gauging a customer's success/adoption by survey questions will make Gainsight less useful than having measurable data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Gain efficiency with Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight enables our customer success team to manage their accounts through health scores, meeting notes, surveys, email campaigns, and CTAs. Our executive, sales and CS leadership teams use the tool to gain information on their accounts and to review dashboards. We use Gainsight as the main tool to store all customer data. It allows us to monitor trends and risks at a high level.
  • C360 page: all the information about a customer is one place that is easy to read and customize as needed. Allows CSMs to prep for calls within minutes as well bring other team members up to speed quickly.
  • Timeline: quick and easy way to create, search and edit notes about the customer. These are easy to share with other teams and create different categories for quick searching and reporting.
  • Sally bot: a quick and easy way to get customer information without navigating Gainsight. Great to use on the go, especially through the Slack bot and new Gainsight app.
  • Reporting is good, but remains confusing and requires an admin to really navigate instead of end users being able to use
  • Sharing: getting other teams access to the C360 page has been difficult without a full license.
  • Journey Orchestrator can handle most emails, but the HTML functionality could be easier to navigate.
Great tool for CSMs and account managers who are managing individual accounts. It’s also great for 1: many teams with the CTAs and automated emails. We still send most data back to Salesforce and share the customer information through Salesforce instead of Gainsight.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Number 1 customer success platform!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is utilised within our Client Services team as a tool to centralise our engagements with our clients and enable us to have a non subjective view of account health. It removes the need to use multiple tools and allows us to pull data from other systems (eg Zendesk, Mixpanel) as part of our health checks.
  • Customer health
  • Tech touch
  • Best practice
  • Recording of customer engagements
  • Enhancing their Timeline functionality which supports real life use cases such as pulling in open CTAs to a new timeline entry when recording a meeting with a customer.
  • Further enhances the ability to add comments and tag people in sub CTAs similar to what you see in the overall CTA.
  • Journey orchestrator emails to have the ability to output tabular reports.
After extensive research into what customer success software was available, we found Gainsight was a true leader in this area and we were blown away by the possibilities. It allows us to capture our engagements with our customers, record meeting actions (aka action items) and enable the team to view CTAs for their assigned customer accounts. It is limited in sharing meeting timeline records externally in a simple way, however, the benefits in using a customer success system outweigh the cons!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Gainsight makes me feel like a valued customer always!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used in the customer success function of our company. Our CSMs, Renewals Managers, and Professional Services teams are all leveraging Gainsight at some capacity. This tool helps us collaborate across teams, stay on track of customer milestones, escalate risks to the appropriate people, and evaluate the health of the organizations we support.
  • Automated Calls to Action - I love these as an easy way to prompt action items for our reps
  • Customer Service - I adore the Customer Success team and find the technical support team extremely accessible, friendly, professional, and valuable.
  • Aggregation - we're able to manipulate data in different ways to surface that for the reps and managers at our company to understand our clients and entire book of business.
  • Complexity - this tool is very robust and challenging. At a minimum, it's not that complicated if you have proper training to understand basic functionality. However, to truly take advantage of the best features, you have to have time to dedicate to learning the different components of the tool.
  • Opt in/Out functionality for automated emails - I wish we had more control of how we monitor our client's engagement, along with ease of use in trying to recover our points of contact when they decide to opt out of communication.
  • Reporting functionality is very minimal and not very user friendly. I'm able to get what I need after much troubleshooting.
Well suited:
Mature companies are more likely able to dedicate sufficient resources and time to implement, innovate, and evolve their usage of Gainsight.

Less Appropriate:
Start up companies. This is a robust tool that requires at least one person to be an administrator. Like any tool, there are things that go wrong, and it takes some time to learn and troubleshoot.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

Not sure how we managed accounts without Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were an early adopter of Gainsight and really didn't use it within our Enterprise business until the past year. In our last renewal with Gainsight, we engaged a Gainsight consultant to determine if their solution made sense for our Enterprise accounts. No surprise coming out of that engagement the consultant recommended we continue using Gainsight with our Enterprise clients and also worked with us on best practices to roll out to our teams. We currently use Gainsight throughout our Customer Success and Sales team. We have other departments that don't work within the tool day to day but upload their client deliverables in Gainsight so we have a proper system of record. Currently, our mid-market and scale team take full advantage of the platform and we're using the platform to about half its strengths in Enterprise. But to be fair, a large part of the delay in using Gainsight to it's fullest extent isn't on Gainsight but on our data cleanliness in Salesforce.
  • Timeline - love that you can see all of the activities that happen on an account in sequence. This has been extremely helpful as we onboard new folks into new portfolios.
  • CTAs - when dealing with clients there are so many things you need to track or deliver upon. When we were able to get our teams to fully utilize CTAs and Cockpit. It has changed how they manage their accounts for the better.
  • Success Plans - in full transparency we're not using these currently but we're about to start. We plan to use these internally as account plans and then also externally with our clients (joint strategic plans).
  • Onboarding - since we were an early adopter we weren't properly on-boarded because they hadn't built out a process. This is no longer a con because I've heard from other colleagues who have implemented Gainsight somewhere else and they were properly on-boarded.
  • They're growing so fast that people are moving all over the place. We feel like we've had to help train their team on our implementation and our overall needs.
  • More frequent engagement with our account team.
Their platform works well for mid-market and scale but may be tough for some global accounts and their complexities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Gainsight made my job so much easier.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is exclusively used by the global customer success team (about 15 people). We started using it this year to help us streamline our customer info, notes, and reminders into one platform. We also wanted the automation of reminders for outreach. It has helped us track our efforts and have more visibility into our accounts.
  • Allowing for customized 'calls to action'
  • Providing a lot of information about clients in one shared online platform
  • Sitting on top of Salesforce so that all of the data can be seamlessly transfered
  • More differentiation between 'calls to action' and timeline entries
  • More options for fields in the subscription info
  • Doesn't provide visibility to Salesforce users so there is a disconnect with the sales team
I love gainsight because it makes my job easier. I have already recommended it to my colleagues and peers because I have found such success from it. It is really good to use for proactive outreach such as for quarterly business reviews and health checks. It is not as helpful to break down your onboarding customers because it groups all of those types of CTAs together.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (156)
8.3
API (112)
8.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (193)
8.5
Integration with Marketo (48)
7.5
Integration with Eloqua (19)
7.3
Product usage (186)
8.6
Help desk / support tickets (157)
8.5
NPS surveys (159)
8.8
Sponsor tracking (152)
7.3
Customer profiles (185)
8.8
Automated workflow (199)
8.3
Internal collaboration (186)
8.1
Customer health scoring (199)
9.0
Customer segmentation (169)
8.8
Customer health trends (186)
8.9
Engagement analytics (165)
8.9
Revenue forecasting (105)
8.7
Dashboards (201)
8.8

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android