Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
379 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 211)

Andrei Ion | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Just honest.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is mostly used in the Sales and Marketing department. It helps to track the costumer's journey and experience with us.
  • Helps scale and operationalize success
  • Improve costumer attention
  • Shorter loading time
  • Change theme functions would be a nice add on
Gainsight is perfect for keeping track and for being able to see the big picture in your business, where you started, where you are every month, and where you are heading.
Because there is always room for upgrades.
The most valuable outcome out is that you don't have to guess how your costumers are reacting. You receive a notification on your phone with accurate data.
Read Andrei Ion's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

A good way to help your organization see more with your customers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used within our customer success department only. Our intended use is to help us become a more proactive organization and a way to better organize our day through the usage of the call to actions.
  • Call to actions.
  • Timeline events.
  • Actual customer success execution.
  • Rules engine is a bit clunky.
I am a bit passive because I believe Gainsight has everything we need to be successful and become proactive, but I also feel it is something that can be built with the correct resources in another CRM.
We often reach out to the support team and it takes a while for our tickets to be resolved depending on the size of the ticket. We are frequently referred to their community and our admin has become self-sufficient in finding answers without using support.
Our executive team leverages the Gainsight dashboards that we have built to give them visibility into our top accounts. Our executives will review the dashboards in meetings and get a nice high-level overview of our top accounts from this.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Yeargin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Team Gainsight!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight throughout our entire Customer Success Team. Is helps us stay organized by prioritizing our CTA's with a due date and it even allows you to check off smaller tasks within a CTA before closing it out. Gainsight allows you to customize your view as a user and admins have control over the information it shows. It is so nice to have this platform that integrates with Salesforce and shows us a timeline of the team activity! While there is a lot of information, it is well-organized and easy to locate. Highly recommend!!
  • Seamless integration - I have never had any issues with information showing up after input.
  • Transparency - Clearly shows your progress and where you are at as an individual and team.
  • Sometimes I am not able to fit all of the items into the window I have open but this is just due to having to shrink the page to fit multiple pages.
  • You need to refresh before grabbing CTAs so that you do not take one that has already been claimed. It does not update in real time so if you are viewing something 60 seconds after someone else picked it up, it will still allow you to take it and that causes issues.
I would definitely say that Gainsight is a great ADDITION to something like Salesforce, but not enough to replace it. Gainsight does not hold all of the information but it does an amazing job of organizing it and keeping you on track with your goals. Now that I have been using it for so long, I would panic if I ever tried to do my job without it.
We have a couple of Gainsight admins that are over the customizations. It has taken us a little bit to get things exactly how we want them but overall, we love the end result and Gainsight has been very helpful in assisting our team. We even held a Gainsight user training at our company and it was a big success!
Customer Success is responsible for so much of the recurring revenue. We reduce churn, increase customer loyalty and provide value. Because of this, it is important to have measurable information when considering budgets for headcount, incentives, etc. Gainsight does a great job of forecasting/tracking for us.
Read Sarah Yeargin's full review
Markus Melton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Good Customer success organization? This is needed for you!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Gainsight within our Customer Success Team to expand our knowledge of customer relationships, to understand account health better, and make informed decisions on what plays to run. To a certain extent, it is used outside of CS but mainly by leadership who also want insight into existing relationships.
  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and, therefore, has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • Allows leadership/management to roll up the health of their accounts/portfolios and sort by various health factors.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered would be helpful. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks, which limits how much we can use it.
I think the difference in value you will get out of Gainsight is mostly dependant on the size of your organization, your desire to scale, and willingness to keep things updated. If you're a large org that is willing to devote time to configuration, this is for you. If you're a small team, I don't think the operational benefits compensate for the amount of time you'd need to devote.
I have integrated Gainsight with Salesforce, Slack, Gmail, and SurveyMonkey. They have a great suite of integration options that work together well. Sometimes integrations feel very piecemeal and don't work as a unified whole, but with Gainsight, it feels like your building a seamless tech solution that creates efficiency.
Read Markus Melton's full review
Cason Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

A great tool for scaling your Success organization.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our global customer success team. We also have view-only licenses for our AEs. CSMs use it to organize their day and track activities within accounts.
  • Gainsight is a thought leader in customer success and therefore has built the functionality of the tool to reflect best practices.
  • For leadership, Gainsight is a great tool to be able to scale a success organization. For example, we are able to create standardized processes or activities for CSMs, and then we can execute on those things via Gainsight as the system of record.
  • For CSMs, Gainsight helps them manager their day. Things do not slip through the cracks, and the tool proactively helps them manager their account load.
  • Speed of the tool - several CSMs complain it takes too long to move around in the platform. We have an open ticket and are optimistic there is a fix vs. it being an inherent issue in the tool.
It is well suited for companies growing fast and in-need of a system to scale their customer success motion.
CSM and overall account team is fantastic and very attentive. We are lucky to have them as partners.
It's important, and we use Tableau to visualize key Gainsight fields for our executive team when accounts are "at risk".
Read Cason Green's full review
Meredith Giersch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Gainsight is the Cadillac of CSM platforms, but still has work to do on its UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to manage our enterprise accounts. As a manager, I use it daily to understand the health of my portfolio of accounts and the status / progress of each customer's Success Plan. In addition, it serves as a critical 'single source of truth' if a CSM is on vacation / sabbatical or if we're transitioning the account to another CSM.
  • Offers a single place for CSMs to enter all notes and success plans so that everyone across the organization can access that information - key for knowledge capture and transfer
  • Allows leadership / management to roll up the health of their accounts / portfolios and sort by various health factors
  • Timeline becomes a mass chaos especially for high engagement / touch accounts - it lacks the ability to reference various objectives / initiatives. A CSM will regularly talk to a customer on one status call about 4 objectives / initiatives, but we can't ask them to click between 4 objectives / initiatives while in one call.
  • There's a lack of sufficient hierarchy in success plans for what we need to do in the high touch enterprise space.
  • The user experience for Success Criteria is poor - the current functionality limits us from building a "value log" of the benefits a customer is receiving from our software and services.
  • Cockpit is a nightmare - it's a massive list and not intuitive to search / filter / query.
Gainsight is currently the most robust platform in the CSM industry, however, I've seen 90% of my peers do a poor job of implementing / customizing it. So make sure you have a strong team to focus / clarify how you want CSMs / managers to do their job first... then a team to implement the tool and do proper enablement. Without that, you'll likely fail round one.
Our Gainsight CSM is highly engaged.
Executives can see Account Health, but we limited it to one Health Factor (our fault because of lack of skill in our org), so there's a big lack of granularity into Account Health. And we still struggle with building dashboards because the user experience is tough for our team.
Read Meredith Giersch's full review
Mike Hilverda | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

A premier option among CS tools

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Gainsight within our Customer Success Team to expand our knowledge of customer relationships, to better understand account health, and make informed decisions on what plays to run. To a certain extent, it is used outside of CS but mainly by leadership who also want insight into existing relationships.
  • The layout is intuitive and easy to customize what data you want to display.
  • Easy to assign different plays as needed.
  • Insights can be gained at a glance by outside users within the organization.
  • Very customizable but it takes a long time to configure things to a useable level for us.
  • The email automation has to be connected to particular playbooks which limits how much we can use it.
  • Movement within the app is a little slower than I would like.
I think the difference in value you will get out of Gainsight is largely dependant on the size of your organization, your desire to scale, and willingness to keep things updated. If you're a large org that is willing to devote time to configuration, this is for you. If you're a small team, I just don't think the operational benefits compensate for the amount of time you'd need to devote.
I have only contacted Gainsight's support team a couple of times, but it was a solid experience each time. The team was responsive and the people I spoke with were very knowledgeable about the product. A sign of good support is how efficiently they move toward a solution. Gainsight didn't waste time emailing back and forth with one discovery question per email. They asked all of the right questions upfront so they could quickly get to a solution.
Executive visibility has not been critical at our company. Executive Team members can dip into account data when necessary, but it is situational and infrequent. We haven't organized specialized dashboards and I don't expect we will in the future, though I can see how it would be helpful.
Read Mike Hilverda's full review
Ibrahim Ijaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

A Must Have for any Customer Success Organization (and more)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is not only used in our Customer Success organization, but also cross-functionally as well. We use Gainsight to provide historical data on all our merchants (High Touch, Low Touch, and No Touch). We use it for many different functions, some of them being sending out mass email campaigns, sending out all types of surveys (NPS, various CSAT). Some other teams that utilize Gainsight are Product, Implementations, Account Management, and Customer Marketing. We have developed Gainsight to be our tracking platform for a lot of our campaigns, as well as a platform where anyone on other teams (who have a license) can view responses or view historical data on a merchant, such as updates that have been inputted by the CSM's in the past, or emails that have been logged, etc. Gainsight is a great tool-- if not for it, we would essentially be using a notebook, or a very cluttered excel spreadsheet for each client. Being able to log all kinds of updates (email, call, meetings) and assigning action items directly to users who are involved is a very seamless process, and Gainsight has helped us with that. It has also helped us with providing daily alerts based on usage data to help CSM's be notified whenever there are spikes or negative trends with our customers.
  • Ease of note-taking/activity updates for customers; being able to assign action items directly within the platform.
  • Surveys with in-box NPS features. Surveys are very easy to create and choose contact lists from, and very straight-forward to configure.
  • Configurability by an administrator to make Gainsight beneficial not just to a CS organization, but for cross-functional players as well.
  • Connectors between Gainsight and s3 can be a little iffy sometimes and cause false ingest failures.
  • More configuration for alerts when CTA's get triggered. It could be more in-depth for specific CTA Types/Reason codes etc.
Gainsight for a customer success organization is essential. It gives account managers or CSM's a one-stop-shop view of all their customers, and with the dashboards that can be configured, they can have an easy outlook as to why a merchant's overall health score may have dropped or improved. Some scenarios where it is less appropriate, however, would be Sales or Risk, etc, just due to the limitations of the product and how catered to it is for customers and updates/historical information on them.
Overall support for Gainsight is great. Asides from a dedicated Customer Success Manager, there are multiple ways of reaching out to them, which makes it super easy depending on the type of question you are trying to ask. They also have support forums where you can first check to see if any other users have encountered your issue in the past. The only thing is that you have to know that these options are available in order for you to fully utilize them (email, webchat).
It is very very very important. In our organization, we have dashboards for all our CS managers, which gives them a complete overview of all accounts' health, as well as profitability, losses, etc. It also gives an instant idea of workload based on open tasks that are created either automatically or manually by CSM's on the team. We also utilize Gainsight for weekly at risk meetings, for which we utilize features within Gainsight to assign tasks to people including executives.
Read Ibrahim Ijaz's full review
Sacha Laskow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Use your Brainsight, get Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success Department and management/executive team for the client services organization. The goal was to address a number of business goals:
  • Accurate health scoring across our client base to manage escalations, track advocates, and give management better visibility
  • Manage the tasks and workload of the CSMs day-to-day through the use of a mix of automated and manual triggers for Calls to Action
  • Provide a central hub for client information, usage stats and CSM contact history (Timeline)
  • Reduce the number of tools the CSMs were having to log-in to and use each day
That mandate has also expanded much further to include various reports and insights as well as automating tasks and emails using Journey Orchestrator.
  • Gainsight is massively flexible and can be configured to do almost anything with the Rules Engine and being built on the Salesforce platform.
  • The team at Gainsight is amazing, super helpful and will always make time to help improve and achieve the goals of the implementation.
  • The community, documentation and support are all quite mature and provide a lot of resources to understand a complex system with many features.
  • Along with the flexibility, the complexity of implementing and thus the learning curve is quite high.
  • Some Admin functions could be made more user-friendly with some simple UI tweaks, for example changing 'Subtract N+7 days' to 'In the last week'.
  • Could also use more consistency across the UI, for example sometimes you hit 'Save', other times you just close the window etc.
Due to the flexibility Gainsight could likely be adapted to a multitude of scenarios and functions within a customer success organization. The key to getting the most out of it is ensuring your organization has their data in order (this is not a small task), and the business goals are clearly defined and supported.
There have been times my CSMs have not been as responsive or missed meetings / follow-ups; but, generally they are super helpful and the general technical support is excellent. Everyone is busy and I understand that, but they can work on being more organized or having smaller portfolios if they need to keep follow-ups from slipping through the cracks.
Executives currently leverage Gainsight primarily for insight into Churn Risks and managing escalations. Ultimately we would like to become more proactive and prescriptive as time goes on, but the first step has been integrating Gainsight as a Risk Management tool and sharing information cross-functionally in relation to that initiative. Health Scoring is still in Beta at this time.
We've leveraged all those tools and found them all very valuable. An active user community and robust set of training resources is indispensable with such a complex product. We also attended the Pulse conference recently and it was a great mix of fun and learning, with a number of great speakers and of course VANILLA ICE!
Read Sacha Laskow's full review
Lindsey Schell | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

A powerful tool to build a CS division

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as our Customer Success Management tool.
  • CS Management dashboards.
  • Customer lifecycle.
  • Customer health.
  • Slow load times.
  • It takes a large number of clicks to get into the main work screens.
Gainsight does a great job of consolidating relevant account information and automating tasks associated with Customer Success. Their staff is also very helpful in recommending the best practices they've observed across their own customers.
My Customer Success Manager is terrific and very responsive. I've had fewer successful interactions with the tech support team.
This is an important source of information for executives when preparing for customer calls and meetings.
Read Lindsey Schell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

End user review of Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Customer Success organization to capture and display customer adoption data as it relates to various products. Its use addresses the problem of understanding customer engagement in products with the goal of improving product marketing efforts as well as optimizing future product design and features.
  • Charting/graphing/reporting - lots of options to create visualizations.
  • Report Builder function - again, many options to choose from, relatively easy to use and quick to see output.
  • Logical and pleasing UI - easy to follow and find what you're looking for.
  • Playbook creation from template was a bit complicated and not easy to understand - more robust capability and better documentation of the feature would be useful.
It is well suited to adoption/customer success focused endeavors where there is quantifiable data, which will make charting/graphing/etc. much easier. It becomes less intuitive and useful to use in cases where there isn't a lot of quantifiable data but rather subjective type data. For example, gauging a customer's success/adoption by survey questions will make Gainsight less useful than having measurable data.
The customer service is definitely responsive and will acknowledge requests, but sometimes the waits for resolution can be a bit long, and at times very long.
Executives here focus on customer health scores and trends. Within Gainsight, the functionality that enables this focus are things like Report Builder function which allows ad-hoc report/chart/graph creation. Ultimately those resulting charts are usually placed on dashboards, some of which are created for the customer success organization as a whole and others that are created for executives specifically.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Gainsight - The Best Way to Organize Customer Success Teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight was being used by all of the customer success to log activities with customers on a daily basis. We also had very specific alerts related to usage and communication built in to make sure we were monitoring how our customers were doing with our product and how often we were speaking with them.
  • Customized alerts directly to your email
  • Incredible reporting/graphs to show customers usage breakdowns
  • Load time of reporting can be slow based on how large of a data set you are pulling
Best suited for users looking to organize a lot of different information about a lot of different customers. Less appropriate for a sales team from a day to day basis, but extremely useful for a customer success team.

As a CSM, you are constantly context switching between customers and it can become hard to keep track of your most recent interactions/where each customer stands in regards to product usage. Gainsight solves this problem. Both departments (sales & customer success) can benefit from the reporting suites and alerts in Gainsight.
Overall most support tickets are resolved after back and forth. I would love to see more 1-1 solving via phone calls to knock out the robotic feeling of a queue. I feel like this would increase the speed of time to resolution.
My manager and VP monitored my team's activities and where our customers were at daily. We used our activity dashboard as the basis for our weekly 1-1s and also for calculating our quarterly bonuses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Gaining true Insights into your Business.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight in the Customer Support and Success teams. It helps us bring together information from multiple software applications. Salesforce, Zendesk, Domo, and Pendo, these are are the primary software applications we use. For the two teams this is what they use to connect and record contacts with our clients. It can be customized, and we are doing better now.
  • Allows us to bring information such as, client Health Scores to our cockpit view.
  • Allows us to use our Salesforce information, but in a more efficient way for our teams.
  • It was a difficult transition, with issues that needed to be ironed out.
  • Customizable, but we had to collaborate, rather than having each individual team have their own options.
We have gained a lot of insights into the clients we have enabling us to plan more effective ways to help and support them. When we pull up a client's file we have a color coded health score that helps us understand the basic adoption. This also helps to prioritize the struggling clients to help them achieve greater success.
We have received good support with most of our inquiries. And that has not been a part of my direct experience. They have occasional had issues that were a little more difficult to diagnose. In those cases, we have had to be a little more patient that we would like.
There is a robust reporting system that has been very helpful for management. Each of our individual teams has multiple reports available to assess the teams efforts and success. The analytics helps to determine effectiveness of campaigns and more importantly it helps us have a better view at hiring needs and being able to set appropriate goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Gain efficiency with Gainsight

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight enables our customer success team to manage their accounts through health scores, meeting notes, surveys, email campaigns, and CTAs. Our executive, sales and CS leadership teams use the tool to gain information on their accounts and to review dashboards. We use Gainsight as the main tool to store all customer data. It allows us to monitor trends and risks at a high level.
  • C360 page: all the information about a customer is one place that is easy to read and customize as needed. Allows CSMs to prep for calls within minutes as well bring other team members up to speed quickly.
  • Timeline: quick and easy way to create, search and edit notes about the customer. These are easy to share with other teams and create different categories for quick searching and reporting.
  • Sally bot: a quick and easy way to get customer information without navigating Gainsight. Great to use on the go, especially through the Slack bot and new Gainsight app.
  • Reporting is good, but remains confusing and requires an admin to really navigate instead of end users being able to use
  • Sharing: getting other teams access to the C360 page has been difficult without a full license.
  • Journey Orchestrator can handle most emails, but the HTML functionality could be easier to navigate.
Great tool for CSMs and account managers who are managing individual accounts. It’s also great for 1: many teams with the CTAs and automated emails. We still send most data back to Salesforce and share the customer information through Salesforce instead of Gainsight.
The CSMs are very hands-on and helpful, both Elaine and Lane have provided a lot of guidance and value over the years. Support is responsive and will jump on things as needed. The thought leadership and community is probably the most valuable part of our support from Gainsight.
It is extremely important, all of our executives have access but it is a bit overwhelming for them to log in. We send them specific dashboards that we have created but usually send them data from other sources like DOMO because it contains data from other sources, like services that they need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Gainsight -- We really like you

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by a variety of departments at my org including Sales, Client Success and Client Implementation. Gainsight addresses support and monitoring of client life cycle, success plans, progress and client risk.
  • Love, love, love the Timeline feature for my Client Success team -- meetings notes, collaboration etc...awesome feature
  • Very detailed support site and online community
  • CTAs have been a lifesaver for our Implementation Specialists that work with large numbers of clients.
  • Success Plans have been instrumental in supporting our higher-tiered clients without creating duplicate work for our Success Managers.
  • Ability to print Success plans is severely lacking.
  • Printing survey results is bulky and not user-friendly.
  • Clearly understanding the Gainsight nomenclature (CTAs, Objectives, Playbooks, etc.) and how they relate to the system's internal structure was difficult for someone not super involved with the back-end of the system.
Keeping track of current client programs with notes, CTAs and Success plans has been a very positive add for my team and they have used the tool with great success. The scenario where Gainsight is a bit of a struggle is for surveys. We consistently survey our clients but very much need a quick tool to report survey results in graph form, which we cannot get from Gainsight at this time.
I do not interact directly with Gainsight but we have struggled a bit with getting product issues fixed in a timely manner.
Executives at my org use the dashboards daily to measure client health and Client Success team KPIs.

My executive sales team uses the account health weekly to target clients at risk and to assist with the build of Risk Mitigation plans.

Our executive team is very engaged with CSAT scores that are collected via the Gainsight tool. CSAT will continue to be a top priory for 2020 and will continue to be measured via Gainsight.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Gainsight an Asset for Scaling CSM Team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is leveraged by our team of Customer Success Managers and CS Management in order to track and manage customer health, predict and triage at-risk and/or unhealthy accounts based on key data ported related to how customers leverage our software, log important engagements with customers, track CSM activity/productivity to ensure we're at a healthy utilization rate as a team, and aid in proactive engagements with customers as our CSM team scales.
  • Gainsight is easy to integrate with other systems and allow flow of important data to and from the system. This allows us to report key metrics to business stakeholders as well as proactively gives our CSM team important information related to their customers that allows them to make strategic business decisions.
  • Customization of Gainsight makes it easy to tailor the information that different people need to see in various forms (Reporting/dashboards etc.). The interface is clean and easy to navigate.
  • It can still be tricky to get certain data into Gainsight that the team needs in order to do their jobs properly in the appropriate format. Requires manual intervention from our Customer Success Ops Manager.
  • While it allows for task managment and information storage on the account level, it would be great if we could have a team-level view where certain activities/metrics could be leveraged from an internal team standpoint.
Great for CSMs managing larger subsets of customers as well as smaller subsets. Helpful for CS management to configure in a way where key metrics and data are provided that can be reported to the business in a productive way.
We've had good experiences with our CSMs and Technical Account Managers. Support articles are readily available.
We are in the process of building out executive dashboards within Gainsight for our executive leadership team. This will allow us to present key data related to at-risk customers as well as opportunities tied to current customers with data relevant to this group of stakeholders.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Finally a product built by company that understands CSMs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to standardize our approach to client situations. Gainsight is our single data source regrouping all our customer data; this allows us to have a consolidated picture in a single environment and leverage that to build a success plan around that situation. It is also used to run automated NPS campaigns.
  • C360 - Account dashboard providing the complete health of a customer
  • CTAs - Call to action triggers on customers relevant to a particular situation during the lifecycle or a risk arising in the client journey.
  • Success Plans - Build a consolidated program based on tasks to make a clients journey successful
  • Configuration of the tool can be tricky and not so obvious.
Gainsight is well suited when a CSM is managing multiple accounts (higher than 10) and each requires a certain degree of personalized follow up. With its automation (rules engines) you can also build into the system automated responses and triggers for your customer and/or CSMs relevant to a particular situation. Reporting for management is also a key feature that Gainsight is well tooled for.
Overall very good support experience, some tickets tend to take longer to resolve.
We have built in an automated reporting mechanism which provides C level executives with a weekly health status of the customer success organisation. We have also built dedicated reports per regions for the regional management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Good CS Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight as the platform for our CSMs to work with their customer base. It provides meaningful insights and automated actions to make it easier to see which accounts need additional support, where opportunity for upsell/cross-sell exist, and general risk management.

Additionally, Gainsight offers robust reporting that helps the Customer Success Department communicate effectively with other departments and executives in order to address high level issues.
  • Reporting
  • Automation
  • Customer Insights
  • Reporting across multiple objects in SFDC
  • Ease of automated processes
If you have enough customers and ARR, you can't live in spreadsheets any more. Gainsight is useful to pull data in from different tools and bubble up actionable insights to your team. If you want to use it effectively, you should have a dedicated resource to manage Gainsight and make sure you can make changes to its data structure and reports as quickly as your business needs to change.
Gainsight's support team may be the best support team that I've ever worked with. They are responsive, quick to understand the problem, and can usually provide a solution very quickly. While there are system limitations that the support team cannot always fix, there is a active community board that usually has some crowdsourced options for various problems.
We use the information from Gainsight to directly report to our executive team so that they can see where issues/opportunities are.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

Not sure how we managed accounts without Gainsight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were an early adopter of Gainsight and really didn't use it within our Enterprise business until the past year. In our last renewal with Gainsight, we engaged a Gainsight consultant to determine if their solution made sense for our Enterprise accounts. No surprise coming out of that engagement the consultant recommended we continue using Gainsight with our Enterprise clients and also worked with us on best practices to roll out to our teams. We currently use Gainsight throughout our Customer Success and Sales team. We have other departments that don't work within the tool day to day but upload their client deliverables in Gainsight so we have a proper system of record. Currently, our mid-market and scale team take full advantage of the platform and we're using the platform to about half its strengths in Enterprise. But to be fair, a large part of the delay in using Gainsight to it's fullest extent isn't on Gainsight but on our data cleanliness in Salesforce.
  • Timeline - love that you can see all of the activities that happen on an account in sequence. This has been extremely helpful as we onboard new folks into new portfolios.
  • CTAs - when dealing with clients there are so many things you need to track or deliver upon. When we were able to get our teams to fully utilize CTAs and Cockpit. It has changed how they manage their accounts for the better.
  • Success Plans - in full transparency we're not using these currently but we're about to start. We plan to use these internally as account plans and then also externally with our clients (joint strategic plans).
  • Onboarding - since we were an early adopter we weren't properly on-boarded because they hadn't built out a process. This is no longer a con because I've heard from other colleagues who have implemented Gainsight somewhere else and they were properly on-boarded.
  • They're growing so fast that people are moving all over the place. We feel like we've had to help train their team on our implementation and our overall needs.
  • More frequent engagement with our account team.
Their platform works well for mid-market and scale but may be tough for some global accounts and their complexities.
This is the area where I feel like there's the greatest opportunity for them to grow. Tailored support to our individual business goals and objectives is greatly needed but I feel we haven't gotten that from our team.
Right now, our organization only bubbles up Gainsight data to our executives on a quarterly basis. We're working on some dashboarding that will help get them in the tool more frequently or at least get exports to them for frequently.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Gainsight made my job so much easier.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is exclusively used by the global customer success team (about 15 people). We started using it this year to help us streamline our customer info, notes, and reminders into one platform. We also wanted the automation of reminders for outreach. It has helped us track our efforts and have more visibility into our accounts.
  • Allowing for customized 'calls to action'
  • Providing a lot of information about clients in one shared online platform
  • Sitting on top of Salesforce so that all of the data can be seamlessly transfered
  • More differentiation between 'calls to action' and timeline entries
  • More options for fields in the subscription info
  • Doesn't provide visibility to Salesforce users so there is a disconnect with the sales team
I love gainsight because it makes my job easier. I have already recommended it to my colleagues and peers because I have found such success from it. It is really good to use for proactive outreach such as for quarterly business reviews and health checks. It is not as helpful to break down your onboarding customers because it groups all of those types of CTAs together.
I have not had direct contact with Gainsight support so I cannot accurately provide an answer to this question. I have only had one interaction with a Gainsight customer success manager and it was not the best. The individual had some trouble understanding our questions and did not seem completely prepared.
I think that our executives want visibility at a high level. They do not need to see the nitty-gritty work that we do on a daily basis. they are just looking at the big numbers. I have noticed that our VP does reference the dashboards in Gainsight but still heavily relies on Tableau for reporting. We are bringing in a new director, so how our executives leverage Gainsight might change.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Timeline Lifeline

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight within Customer Success, Sales, and Renewal teams to help provide a better workflow experience in managing our customers. Salesforce can get very overloaded with information and it's refreshing to have a platform that was designed around the customer success mindset but still sync back to Salesforce as needed.
  • Effective communication logging through the Timeline feature has drastically changed our visibility into engagement activities and cross-collaboration among teams.
  • Success Plans have helped us have laser focus action plans and tracking for implementation of onboarding needs.
  • Pro-active data-driven CTAs for Customer Success Managers enable the team to get in front of potential risk and help turn things around before it's too late.
  • Reports and dashboards could be made more robust, I often feel stuck with the current layout and design options.
  • Formatting of text in emails or input fields is a bit clunky and often times gets out of whack requiring additional time to correct.
Well suited for onboarding, pro-active CTAs, timeline tracking. Less appropriate for technical case logging, multiple billing entities/divisions/products.
Support is pretty responsive when I need them and I find the knowledge base is helpful for self-service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Best product for CS, with room to improve.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used as a way for current Customer Success Managers and Account Managers to understand the health of the accounts they serve, and as a task management tool.
  • Quickly deliver mid-level client insights.
  • Generate tasks for users based on client events.
  • More customization on a user-by-user level.
  • Easier tools for building reports.
  • More reliable rules engines means reports are less likely to fail.
Better for serving small/medium business clients than Enterprise clients.
After some early issues, we have found our support prompt and knowledgeable.
Our executives need high visibility. As of now, more than Gainsight can offer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Gainsight is Gold

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used solely by our Customer Success team. However, insights are logged and key reports are shared with various teams and ELT across the organization. Gainsight allows our CS team to own customer relationships, from activity logging in the Timeline, to executing Success Plans within their book of business. Also, the Reports within Dashboards allow for risky behavior to be easily surfaced, creating a simple way to prioritize actions.
  • Admins can create reports easier in Gainsight than they can in SFDC -- the ability to spin up ad-hoc reports is critical, and the ability to do this easily is wonderful.
  • My Customer Outcomes Manager at Gainsight is incredibly reliable, and responds promptly.
  • The features that Gainsight focuses on releasing/creating bring value, and resonate well with CS teams.
  • Though it can do a lot, sometimes the execution of something is extremely technical and requires a lot of steps-- thank goodness for my COM!
  • More help articles would not hurt.
If you are looking to help better scale a CS team, implementing Gainsight enables you to roll out processes that help ensure all CSMs are following the same plays. We purchased Gainsight when we were at ~10 CSMs, which was a big enough group to see the immediate impact the features had on our team. It's a one-stop-shop for them to work from to help create better efficiencies.
Between my Customer Outcomes Manager and contacting their Support, I have always gotten prompt responses and leave the communication feeling like I know how to solve the issue or feel more knowledgable about the case at hand.
Having visibility into customer accounts is important to the executives at our organization. Our CCO operates out of an executive dashboard in Gainsight, which allows him to surface key trends or proactively get ahead of risks. Some reports within Gainsight are actually used in quarterly board decks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Gainsight & Salesforce go hand and hand!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used primarily by our Customer Success Management and Implementation Services teams.

Our primary drivers for adopting & using Gainsight are:
  • Customer source of truth with a record of customer history
  • Consistent customer experience across CSMs & Implementation Specialists
  • Risk identification & management
  • Customer marketing
  • Lifecycle management
  • Reduced time to onboard new staff
  • Reduced time to first value
  • Customer source of truth: the C360 view of the customer is unparalleled. It gives our CSMs a true view of everything going on with the account in one place. Getting ready for client meetings is much easier when there's only one place you need to look!
  • Salesforce Integration: if you're using SFDC as your CRM, Gainsight is a no brainer! Our sales organization has a quick view of what's going on with the customer in the widget and on the other end, our CSMs have a view of what's going on in terms of expansions via opportunity records surfaced in the C360.
  • Information Surfacing: Gainsight is great at surfacing the information you need in a JIT fashion via CTAs & linked objects.
  • Zendesk Integration: Zendesk integration is extremely rigid and hard to customize. We have struggled to properly surface our customer support tickets in Gainsight.
  • Release communications: I've been caught off guard by pages totally redone with no warning and no explanation of the new workflows of those pages (particularly in Administration).
Well suited:
- There is a dedicated CSM team with a 1:1 assignment of accounts.
- More mature CS organization with defined processes for your CSM team.

Less appropriate:
- There is a services fulfillment team that does not have access to Salesforce—the lack of direct integrations with other tools makes it hard to communicate with other teams.
- Less mature CS organization with no real processes defined.
I've reached out to their support organisation and in multiple scenarios I get confusing, contradictory responses from their team. I find this especially true after a release when I'm looking for guidance in navigating new features/workflows - they seem just as confused as me sometimes!
This is especially important for our executives in getting a quick snapshot of individual accounts. We've really tried to drive Sally adoption amongst our executive team to make this information more accessible to them as well.
Read this authenticated review
✔Robert Riegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Gainsight helps us know when our customers need help before our customers know they need help

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight to help onboard new CS reps, which in turn helps them onboard new customers. We also have connected GS with Mixpanel to bring in customer metrics from our product, and help understand our customers understanding of the product, and where they need additional help. With the health score we can also indicate, and be proactive about, preventing churn.
  • Customer health score, which basically models how well your customers understand, and drive value, from your product.
  • CTAs, which you can trigger to your CS team in order to help them proactively reach out.
  • MDA, which flattens your objects across Salesforce, Marketo, Mixpanel....etc and let's you create rules (or flows) to trigger different events and field updates.
  • The user interface needs some work, for example, when you're creating a rule, sometimes you hit "next", but sometimes you have to click on the next number in order to progress. It's a bit wonky.
  • Maybe create out of the box reports that can help admins show the value of GS with the exec team.
I feel like this is very similar to the last two questions...

What I like:
CTAS
Heath Score
Rules Engine
Flat architecture

What needs work:
User interface
I love GS Support. I can always jump on and chat with somebody in a few minutes, and usually, my problem is solved on that chat. If it's not, they use the message thread to create a Case for me.
Yea one of my recommendations is a templated dashboard to start with so that we could edit it to have a re-occurring dashboard sent to the exec team. I don't think they see the full value.
Read ✔Robert Riegel's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (156)
8.4
API (112)
8.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (193)
8.3
Integration with Marketo (48)
7.4
Integration with Eloqua (19)
7.2
Product usage (186)
8.6
Help desk / support tickets (157)
8.5
NPS surveys (159)
8.6
Sponsor tracking (152)
7.2
Customer profiles (185)
8.7
Automated workflow (199)
8.4
Internal collaboration (186)
8.2
Customer health scoring (199)
9.0
Customer segmentation (169)
8.7
Customer health trends (186)
8.9
Engagement analytics (165)
8.9
Revenue forecasting (105)
8.7
Dashboards (201)
8.8

About Gainsight

Gainsight’s customer-centric technology aims to drive the future of customer success. The company’s Customer Cloud offers a set of solutions focused on customer success, product experience, revenue optimization, customer experience, and customer data, that together are designed to enable businesses to put the customer at the center of everything they do. The vendor states that companies that use Gainsight grow net retention by up to 33 percent. Learn how leading companies like Okta, SAP Concur, and Box use Gainsight at www.gainsight.com.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has feature360 Customer View
Has featureCockpit
Has featureTimeline
Has featureSuccess Plan
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Integrations

HubSpot, Oracle CRM, SAP CRM, NetSuite, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, Slack, SurveyMonkey, Segment, Mixpanel, Google Analytics, Zendesk, G2, Clarizen, Influitive, Learndot, Dell Boomi, MindTouch, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Infor, Sugar CRM, Tableau, Outlook, Gmail, Azugua, Point of Reference, RO Innovation, Salesforce Pardot, CaliberMind, HelpDocs, Electron

Gainsight Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android