TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/BG/n2/X9KNWD7BTKJ8.PNGUser friendlyTotango was used as our CRM to track customer usage, data, touchpoints, etc. It was only used by our specific Customer Success department so other departments did not have visibility or access to it. Previously, we had several systems, including a home grown CRM to track customer information so data was dispersed across many platforms. This helped to consolidate platforms as well as provide a single pane of glass for all information regarding a customer.,I liked the attributes at the top of the page so you can see snipits of important information right from the customer page. The filter feature was really nice because you could sort or group customers by a number of different metrics to make it easy to find specific attributes of customers. I liked how simple it was to create a task and reminder for myself. It helped me to make sure no customers fell through the cracks.,Unfortunately, Totango didn't integrate with our internal data and other platforms well- like Salesforce. We likely didn't implement it well, but I didn't like having a different page for Customer vs. each individual product with the attributes all being the same. Too much duplicate work. Apparently not easy to run reports on data.,7,Improved customer retention. Increased insight into customer trends and data.,Gainsight,26 to 50 peopleTotango ReviewTotango is an awesome solution for Customer Success. It allows CSMs to have a consolidated view of their customers' overall health. It eliminates the need to work out of your inbox as a to-do list and improves employee productivity and efficiency!,Right when you log in, you have a clean view of what your daily to do list is. This is comprised of both manual and automated tasks. The overall interface is very visually appealing. Reporting is simple and easy.,I do wish that the system would not log me out as frequently. The searching capabilities could be improved.,8,Totango’s task list was awesome to work out of because we all know how messy working out of an inbox can be! It gave a clear list of daily activities that was easy to digest and take action on.,Gainsight,51 to 100 peopleTotango- Great start for Customer ManagementIt is effectively a CRM for our customers in the Customer Success department. It is for tracking, centralized note-taking, and eventually automating simple tasks and alerts based on, among other things, customer health.,Tagging things differently to be able to see groupings of activity types. Organizing customers in an easy and efficient way. I really like the way tasks are organized in Totango. Easy to see and manipulate the things I have to do that day, week, and month.,The way we implemented it, there were too many manual attributes to edit. In our scenario, things were segmented by customer, but then individually by product within that customer. That was an added obstacle for daily use.,8,Easier to track revenue opportunities for a non-sales-focused team Allows other teams to view customer status and get real-time updates for being able to continue support and sales process,Gainsight,Salesforce.com, Slack,26 to 50 peopleLooking for something better stillTotango was being used to help us gauge customer health. The goal was to use it to see who needed touch points and mitigate churn from our product. It was mainly used by our CX team.,Totango is fairly robust. Integrates with a lot of things. The ease of use seemed decent.,The implementation was a nightmare. The consistency and making it work our team failed. Just plane hard to keep up and running.,6,We have not seen a positive ROI from Totango. We hoped to get a leg up on churn, but kind of saw Totango as a flop. At this point, we saw little help in retention.,Intercom,Postmark, UberConference, Loom,11 to 25 peopleTotango for Data Driven Customer Success TeamsTotango is currently used by our Customer Success organization. We implemented Totango so our customer success managers can have more visibility into health/activity metrics per client in their book.,Being able to port over custom data into Totango was easy with our data team. Creating segments off of the data that we gave Totango and create tasks when a customer would fall into a specific segment,Creating campaign programs is something Totango could improve upon.,9,We were able to create an engaging onboarding campaign through Totango,Front, Slack, Asana, Dropbox,6 to 10 people
Unspecified
Totango
95 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Totango Reviews

Totango
95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 95 vetted Totango reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 56)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 17, 2018

Totango Review: "User friendly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango was used as our CRM to track customer usage, data, touchpoints, etc. It was only used by our specific Customer Success department so other departments did not have visibility or access to it. Previously, we had several systems, including a home grown CRM to track customer information so data was dispersed across many platforms. This helped to consolidate platforms as well as provide a single pane of glass for all information regarding a customer.
  • I liked the attributes at the top of the page so you can see snipits of important information right from the customer page.
  • The filter feature was really nice because you could sort or group customers by a number of different metrics to make it easy to find specific attributes of customers.
  • I liked how simple it was to create a task and reminder for myself. It helped me to make sure no customers fell through the cracks.
  • Unfortunately, Totango didn't integrate with our internal data and other platforms well- like Salesforce.
  • We likely didn't implement it well, but I didn't like having a different page for Customer vs. each individual product with the attributes all being the same. Too much duplicate work.
  • Apparently not easy to run reports on data.
I liked the ease of creating tasks to keep up with work and being able to see all my notes on a customer on one page.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 14, 2018

"Totango Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is an awesome solution for Customer Success. It allows CSMs to have a consolidated view of their customers' overall health. It eliminates the need to work out of your inbox as a to-do list and improves employee productivity and efficiency!
  • Right when you log in, you have a clean view of what your daily to do list is. This is comprised of both manual and automated tasks.
  • The overall interface is very visually appealing.
  • Reporting is simple and easy.
  • I do wish that the system would not log me out as frequently.
  • The searching capabilities could be improved.
I think any customer success organization should consider using Totango. It is a wonderful tool that increases user efficiency.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Review: "Totango- Great start for Customer Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is effectively a CRM for our customers in the Customer Success department. It is for tracking, centralized note-taking, and eventually automating simple tasks and alerts based on, among other things, customer health.
  • Tagging things differently to be able to see groupings of activity types.
  • Organizing customers in an easy and efficient way.
  • I really like the way tasks are organized in Totango. Easy to see and manipulate the things I have to do that day, week, and month.
  • The way we implemented it, there were too many manual attributes to edit.
  • In our scenario, things were segmented by customer, but then individually by product within that customer. That was an added obstacle for daily use.
  • Good for organizing and keeping tabs on customers.
  • Task-based items are perfect.
  • Integrating and automatically creating triggers or automated tasks was a struggle.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

Totango Review: "Looking for something better still"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango was being used to help us gauge customer health. The goal was to use it to see who needed touch points and mitigate churn from our product. It was mainly used by our CX team.
  • Totango is fairly robust.
  • Integrates with a lot of things.
  • The ease of use seemed decent.
  • The implementation was a nightmare.
  • The consistency and making it work our team failed.
  • Just plane hard to keep up and running.
Totango really didn't fulfill the promise we hoped it would. We eventually had to leave / discontinue the service due to the issues we were seeing. We did not see the results we had hoped to see.
Read this authenticated review
Andersen Yu profile photo
April 25, 2018

Review: "Totango for Data Driven Customer Success Teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is currently used by our Customer Success organization. We implemented Totango so our customer success managers can have more visibility into health/activity metrics per client in their book.
  • Being able to port over custom data into Totango was easy with our data team.
  • Creating segments off of the data that we gave Totango and create tasks when a customer would fall into a specific segment
  • Creating campaign programs is something Totango could improve upon.
Totango is well suited for customer success teams that are supported by engineering and data resources internally. Most of the value that you'll get out of Totango is going to be leveraging the data you put into it. If you don't have good data going into Totango, the insights that you'll be getting won't be very actionable.
Read Andersen Yu's full review
Stephen Wilson profile photo
May 12, 2017

User Review: "It Actually Only Takes One: Totango"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success and Renewal Sales organization uses Totango to provide insight into client utilization, client health, contract status, and client "TouchPoints" and interactions with the CSMs and Sales team. Allows us to create playbooks (Sets of actions) for our CSMs for certain conditions like a new contact is in play, or client has a support incident logged. It helps address the need for more granular real time insight into client health so we don't have to rely on lagging indicators like NPS or CSAT Survey scores. It is critical we get out in front of any potential client issues as well as understand how our CSMs are interacting with their portfolio of clients.
  • Totango really allows flexibility in dashboarding a client contract. You can pull in all the relevant metrics into one spot to help make efficient use of CSM and management time.
  • Integrates well with Salesforce contract records. This is nuanced, but other vendors interact at the "opportunity" level in SFDC. For Services execution, it needs to be focused on the contract. This allows a lot of flexibility in designing the flow.
  • Reporting is pretty easy to set up. You can slice and dice the segments and create reports based on these segments.
  • There are a wide range of "TouchPoint" options in Totango, so you can log Kick Offs, QBRs, Renewals, Escalations, Nurture... TouchPoints. Super easy for CSMs to add and Management to report on.
  • While the TouchPoints are flexible, they display on the date entered in. This assumes that all TouchPoints are put in when they are being done. Would like to see them allow the ability to backdate TouchPoints.
  • Report setup is a bit quirky. Not bad, but you have to wrap your head around how they do it.
  • Would like to see more chart options, but this is me being geeky.
Great for CSM and Client Services teams. Can help increase collaboration with Sales side. Really helps frame out how CSMs should be spending time and definitely helps with what clients to focus on. Has allowed us to stop focusing last minute on renewals and get a longer view to catch potential churn.

Not really a "Support" software or [meant to] take the place of something like Zendesk.
Read Stephen Wilson's full review
Cyrille Saulnier profile photo
May 22, 2017

User Review: "Totango is pushing to be better"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is currently used to manage our client usage. It is used by CSMs, AMs, product managers, and marketing. We have several workflows implemented and have started to send campaigns.

It allows us to be more pro-active and anticipate potential issues with our clients. The business is really getting value from Totango and more and more people are using it beyond the CS team.
  • Track client usage
  • Define workflows
  • Integrate with SalaesForce
  • Integrate with Zendesk
  • Triggering campaigns
  • Not all features are properly integrated - like success plays and segments. We are using Totango to generate all the on boarding tasks but are managing them on SalesForce as Totango was somehow limited
  • Campaigns are fairly basic - difficult to monitor who has received one. Not integrated properly with SalesForce or Hubspot
  • Segments and Reports can have limitations
  • Data and activities limitation
  • Great to manage our onboarding workflow, even if we have to manage it from SalesForce.
  • Great to generate alerts and triggers
  • Great to give a clear view of each rep's portfolio
  • Campaigns are good but need to be improved
  • Data can sometimes be a bit messy and not consistent from one feature to another
  • Like any system, getting it adopted by the team has been difficult
Read Cyrille Saulnier's full review
Cecilia Prado profile photo
October 27, 2016

Review: "Do you really know if your customer is happy with your product and willing to do a renewal? Totango knows."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is being used to minimize the impact of unexpected churns; to measure and increase sales and the customer success teams' productivity and to get product optimization insights.

Today, it is used mainly by 3 teams: customer success, operations, and product development. Customer success is totally guided by Totango's insights. They constantly monitor their account's health and design strategies to increase customers' satisfaction together with the operations team.

The health score given by Totango is even in these team's business goals related to compensation and bonus. The health scenario is also analysed by the company directors frequently in order to understand the impact of customer success' actions.
  • Account's health and changes overview: In the homepage, which is your "dashboard", you can clearly see your portfolio's health and what has changed since your last update. In this way, it is easy to get fast insights and move accounts to your "attention center".
  • Health history: It's easy to see health changes over time and by clicking in the date range, you see what criteria were impacting this health at that time.
  • Account's hierarchy: For my business, it's really important to be able to group accounts and have more than one level of customers (companies and groups of companies, for example). This way, it is possible to design and deploy strategies to different decision makers.
  • Easy health profile set up: The Health Profile set up page is really easy to use, with simple calculations features to determine what is good and poor health for your customers.
  • Tasks and touchpoint monitoring: Although these features have some room for improvement (e.g.: edit options, paragraph, bold or topics could make a huge difference when you want to record long conversations or detailed topics), they are really user friendly and make it easy for the account manager to write down notes on the customer's updates.
  • Retroactive actions: Today, Totango is not able to understand past data and make changes on customer's health based on that, which is a representative gap when you don't have real-time integration with your product.
  • Experience for offline data upload: Since we don't have a real-time integration with our product (we upload on a CSV data basis), it would be better if Totango was more adapted to this kind of use. An example of a gap in this matter is that Totango doesn't understand the "timestamp" when the actions were made, which means it is like all the actions you uploaded were made in the second you were uploading your CSV, instead of when it was actually made by your user. Although I know this development is on the product team's radar, it still does not have any forecast for the launching.
  • Block users to see data of different portfolios: When you have a big company and you don't want to share your revenue information or key contacts data with sales/CS managers who don't own the specific account, you have a certain gap with Totango. I know they are aware of that and planning some improvements, but today you cannot hide any data from any user, which means every Totango's user in your company can search and find data from every account. Its impacts are minimized by the portfolio set up (a segment of your homepage/dashboard), but the users are still able to find the data using the accounts search field.

If you are beginning your customer success strategy and want have a lot of data to put together in a health rank you have to monitor frequently, Totango should definitely be considered. It has an easy implementation (for both offline/CSV data and easy integrations like segment.io) and an onboarding process. It will give you a fast answer about how your features and the product usage are impacting customer health. Also, after a contract renewal cycle, you will be able to improve your guess on what good and poor health really is for your customers.

If you have trouble with unexpected churn and your forecast are still based on account managers' analysis, you should definitely get to know Totango and how it could help you not only with this matter but also with increasing your team productivity [that is] focusing on the risky accounts.

On the other hand, if you already have a customer success department and a health rank/score implemented and are working fine with internal tools or other tools, you should analyse if Totango would represent a huge progress on your strategy or not.

Read Cecilia Prado's full review
Jamie Wang profile photo
August 22, 2016

Totango Review: "Imperative for Customer Success and Many Other Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily customer success and support is making use of Totango. We are using the tool to track user engagement to see the various actions specific users are taking. This helps us better understand use cases and challenges a user my face. Beyond that, it gives a nice quick glance into seeing what is happening across a large group of customers to try and find clients falling into bad health and proactively reach out to them if they have stopped using the tool.

The benefits also extend to our product team to track the effectiveness of new feature releases.

Also, the sales team has not yet implemented it, but it will be helpful for them to track how various leads are using the software during their trials.

  • Support and Customer Success have been very helpful in teaching/coaching and responding quickly.
  • Tool has never gone down or let us down when we needed to access important data.
  • Interface and usability is super straightforward and easy to use.
  • They are consistently releasing new, relevant features.
  • if you connect through segment.io it requires you to go one plan higher on segment in order to use totango (but it's not a lot of money),
  • Sometimes the totango created 'engagement' score can be a bit tricky to understand rather than our own created health metrics and health scores we use totango for.
Totango can be very helpful for product and marketing and sales teams but I do think the most success is in customer success and support to identify risks and keep close tabs on how various users are using the system. Rather than just tracking accounts, it it cool to track multiple end users for B2B SaaS with multiple end users. Our billing team also used it for credit card disputes to prove clients used the tool if there were ever disputes.
Read Jamie Wang's full review
Nate Richardson profile photo
November 07, 2016

User Review: "It takes two to Totango"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is used to provide business intelligence to Customer Success, Consulting, Onboarding, Professional Services, Sales, Marketing, and Support groups.
  • Intuitive Design
  • Reliable
  • Fast
  • Newness of the Enterprise platform is apparent. Have encountered more than a few bugs.
Totango seems like it is best suited for companies that are focused on scalable customer success strategies over high touch. Totango is also very useful for companies that have a strong account based marketing strategy in place.
Read Nate Richardson's full review
George Markou profile photo
November 07, 2016

User Review: "Totango - A must for any CSM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is currenlty being used by the entire organization in order to track our customers' engagement with the product, their general health, as well as to segment our customer base, keep track of the current and past MRR and revenue/other cost metrics, and finally as a platform that facilitates email campaigns.
  • Easy to set up health metrics
  • Email campaigns with included goals and statistics in relation to them
  • Account segmentation
  • Various minor bugs and glitches
  • Inability to remove accounts/users yourself
  • Revenue center is still very basic
Totango excels in account/user segmentation; its campaign module is also very reliable and useful. It is intuitive to use and easy to set up. Its revenue center is not currently as useful. The current integration with Salesforce was both very easy to achieve and has provided us with a great insight to our product process.
Read George Markou's full review
Rob Deutsche profile photo
June 07, 2016

Review: "Love Totango. Could not live without it at this point."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented ToTango to get a better view of how our customers were behaving, and to trigger specific activities at certain points in the customer lifecycle. Our issue was that we had lots of customers and lots of data that we weren't using, as we had scarce people resources. ToTango now powers our entire customer lifecycle, as well as targeted CS, training, and upsell efforts. It has been pivotal for our Customer Success department, and I cannot imagine functioning without it now.
  • Mapping out the customer journey based on points that you customize.
  • Executing cost efficient campaigns based on product usage.
  • Managing a lot of customers with a small team.
  • A bit of a learning curve going in.
  • Would like to have some improved logic in the filters/ health profiles. If/and/not/else functions would be amazing.
Anyone serious about mapping out a customer lifecycle journey could benefit greatly from Totango. Works very well for us, who have 4 people managing 1500 accounts who are responsible for the entire customer lifecycle. Also very good for people who are curious as to how customers behave within your application. Gave us some insights that we were not aware of before.
Read Rob Deutsche's full review
Josh Carlson profile photo
September 23, 2016

Review: "Wish we had Totango a year ago- great product!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success department uses Totango. It allows us to get insight into the health of our customers and helps us turn that insight into action.
  • Insight into customer health. This is critical to retention rate, and Totango has sophisticated abilities to determine and measure health.
  • Automated internal tasks. Based on user actions or health status, you can automatically assign tasks to team members to take action.
  • Automated emails. Based on user actions or health status, you can automatically send emails to customers.
  • Project management. There is some functionality in this area, but we are currently using an external application for project management for our onboarding process in order to handle the advanced functionality we need.
It's less appropriate for a company primarily looking for project management.
Read Josh Carlson's full review
John Abraham profile photo
August 02, 2016

Review: "When it comes to Business Totango is your Adviser"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is mainly used to find our clients' usage of our software. We do get good updates about what modules they use and how many minutes they use as well as how well they use the software. We can also get the following information:
  • Customers usage
  • Appointments through online software
  • Usage frequency
  • Monthly and weekly updates on usage
Totango also helps us to forecast whether the doctor will renew the software subscription or will be churn. It also helps us keep track of whether the doctor has been trained for the software or needs to be trained.
  • Updates about software usage
  • Keeping track of different modules used by the customer
  • Tags and comments along with a summary of calls we make to doctors
  • Overall health of doctors
  • Tags always disappear
  • Some SubIds are only 3 digits, those SubIds won't load up
  • Search should have option to search with mobile number/name/clinic name/ subid
  • Timeline should be the first since it's more important

For doctors we can know the usage of software. For customer success managers we can update all the information about doctor as well as the recent call and work summary. More over this is the main software we look upon to find the doctors history and also get the following:

  • Doctors usage history
  • Module usage history
  • Online/ fabric appointments
  • Forecasting renewal
Read John Abraham's full review
Sam Rutzick profile photo
July 25, 2016

Review: "Totango: Organize the Chaos of Customer Success"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is used by our Account Management, Customer Success, and Product teams to track customer engagement in the TrackMaven platform, our interactions with them, and to help set tasks that we need to complete with the customers. It also allows us to track customer health by seeing how much they are interacting with our platform and what modules they use.
  • Allows you to see an in-depth view of how your customers are interacting with your product in terms of both time spent and what parts they use.
  • Helps multiple teams coordinate communications across accounts and track tasks that need to be fulfilled for the customer.
  • Allows you to easily send outreach emails to wide segments of customers based on custom criteria.
  • The app itself can be pretty slow, especially when you are trying to perform activities across multiple accounts.
  • It can be difficult to track large organizations who have multiple workspaces in our platform, particularly on an enterprise level.
Totango is great for serving mid-market customers on SaaS platforms and tracking how they interact with your app. It is also well suited for a scenario where multiple teams are reaching out to customers so you can coordinate easily.

Totango can be hard to use with enterprise customers as it can be difficult to get the hierarchies within the enterprise set up.
Read Sam Rutzick's full review
Philip Nguyen, SCPM profile photo
July 22, 2016

"Totango review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses Totango across my organization. We use it to track customer usage, campaigns, tasks, and success plays.
  • Provides view into how/when/what our customers are using our platform. Before Totango, we didn't know this information. I find that it's a good indicator of renewals.
  • I like the campaigns feature.
  • Totango isn't super easy to use. If you don't use the product for a couple weeks, it's hard to pick it back up.
  • It's not completely connected to SFDC. There's some data that gets lost because of this. Would be nice for it to be an app on the SFDC platform.
I'm not sure Totango is great for CSMs. You probably need an admin to build campaigns and reports.
Read Philip Nguyen, SCPM's full review
Alex Kim profile photo
July 21, 2016

Review: "Totango is worth a shot, and constantly improving."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our Customer Success team uses Totango to monitor customer health and activity, as well as track touchpoints. It helps us to know the current customer health, get alerted about changes in health, and perform actions and tasks based on that health. Before we used it, we could only use our own metrics to gauge their usage, but now we can track clicks, actions, and users and set health scores based on it.
  • Tracking logins and clicks on certain areas of our site.
  • Create automated tasks based on health score or actions.
  • Look at overall team performance based on customer health.
  • As a management tool there are many areas and feature that could be built. Currently it's mainly a CSM tool, as opposed to a tool for managers of CSMs.
  • Creating tasks that aren't based on account - this would help us to use the tool to manage overall and would increase daily usage for managers and CSMs.
  • Email reporting is limited to 10 accounts - it would be great to see much more in reports (such as all accounts in bad health).
It's suited for customer sucess managers (CSM), and less for managers. They are working on many things that will help managers and I look forward to seeing their improvements! It's very suited for click oriented websites. It's also suited for accounts that have many users with different logins, rather than those with single logins.


Read Alex Kim's full review
Anurag Agarwal profile photo
July 13, 2016

User Review: "Experience with Totango"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Totango to track our customers' accounts and every feature available on Totango helps in various ways especially in pulling out reports.
  • Tracking usage of our customers' accounts
  • Task reminders
  • Easy reports
  • Bugs in Totango lead to loss of touchpoints
  • Delay in updates; if there is change in usage/details of our customer, Totango takes time/Fails to update on their account
  • Slow at times
It is well suited for us as it helps us assign our customers' accounts to the associates. Tracking usage and tasks to be done becomes easy as well. Even after accounts being assigned to their respective associates, Totango makes it possible to pull out information of any account irrespective of account assigned to anybody else.
Read Anurag Agarwal's full review
Ben Joe profile photo
July 01, 2016

Totango Review: "To Tango"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is being used to monitor all Doctor accounts and last updates made on them. We monitor the usage of the doc and which details are missing in his profile, training, etc. This helps other agents who take up the account to have a fair idea of what was already happening with the Concerned Doc.
  • Totango helps generate detailed reports.
  • It's a single interface where you collect multiple aspects within.
  • It is easy access to overview and observe workflow.
  • Helps make detailed decisions based on results.
  • It keeps crashing in between, which needs serious working on.
  • Some data put in doesn't end up reflecting.
  • Touchpoints keep re-appearing.
As a customer success manager, Totango makes it easier to track which users are getting the most out of our platform. It also alerts me when users fall into poor health and need a quick email or call.

Totango should be able to pull our users usage longer than just the past 180 days. Some clients want to see usage for the last year.
Read Ben Joe's full review
Mathieu Brillon, MBA, PMP profile photo
October 24, 2016

Totango Review: "Infinite possibilities"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Totango is used by a newly created team of customer success managers to proactively manage our portfolio of clients.
  • The automated touchpoints and tasks based on rules align well with a CSM strategy.
  • The integration hub is a little weak. More features would need to be added (connection to databases). The mapping of custom fields is also lacking.
Privacy is a concern for our clients and workarounds have to be created to manage those concerns for individualized data.
Read Mathieu Brillon, MBA, PMP's full review
Peter Filias profile photo
June 22, 2016

Review: "New Totango User - Totango is doing the trick!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Totango along with Salesforce to give us telemetry on our current customers, mainly to help us with users in 3 phases:
1) Onboarding
2) Middle of their term
3) Towards their renewal time

The Customer Success department is the main user of Totango. It solves the business problem of having a single point (tool) that gives us information on our customers without having to jump between systems.
  • Bubbles up all assigned accounts and shows a health score - either good, average, or poor.
  • Totango does a great job with renewals in the Revenue Center. Very easy to deal with upsells, downgrades, etc.
  • The tasks assigned to specific accounts is great. There is a bit of room for improvement here, but it's nice to be able to designate tasks per account.
  • Infinite scroll on the account list would be nice. Pagination is so 2005!
  • Would be nice to have some sort of email integration. I realize this isn't the space Totango is trying to play in, but would be nice to have some sort of integration here.
Totango does a great job in the area of renewals. With being able to set forecasts and looking at the Revenue Center, a user of Totango gets very clear optics on where they need to be to work with their accounts, their quota(s), and anything else related to capturing their MRR/ARR.
Read Peter Filias's full review
Ziv Peled profile photo
June 08, 2016

Review: "Totango's early warning system for Customer Success Management."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used mostly by Customer Success Managers but we will broaden it in the future.
  • Great event tracking, real time sensors, early warning system
  • Listening to customers
  • Good Customer Success and support teams
  • Slow features delivery
  • Not easy to clean the system if you have bad data
Any SAAS organization needs a solution like Totango but there are many aspects [needed] for it to be successful, for example full development resources to manage the integration from the customer side.
Read Ziv Peled's full review
Christopher Reno profile photo
April 20, 2016

User Review: "Success with Totango"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Totango to manage the health of our customers who are using the monthly subscription version of our software. It is being used by our customer success department. Totango helps us identify which customers are at risk of churning by monitoring their health. it looks at how frequently they use the software as well as which features they are using. For us to keep our customers long term, it is important that they use our software regularly for everything that it is capable of handling. Because of Totango, we are able to identify customers who are not deeply invested in our software so we can contact them and help them fully adopt.
  • Totango helps us identify customers that are at risk of churning so we can contact them and address their needs.
  • It helps us manage our new customers so we can make sure they are properly set up with the software and receive the training they need.
  • It also helps us track billing issues with our customers.
  • We use the success plays that are built into Totango, however, some of our plays involve many phases or steps. Totango is not good at linking these together as it lists them all individually.
  • We rely on reviewing comments to understand what was talked about in previous conversations with customers. The touch-points are easily lost in the noise of all of the automated comments created by Totango for each account.
It is very well suited for tracking the health of individual accounts.
Read Christopher Reno's full review
Chris Hansen profile photo
April 18, 2016

Totango Review: "Excellent product and service."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently implementing Totango with our Customer Success department. Initially we are implementing it across four products with plans to roll out to all of our product lines.
  • Customer Service and Customer Success are the biggest strengths for Totango. They have a great product but what makes it really stand out is their employees' willingness to go above and beyond to make sure that their customers are successful.
  • They have a rapid development cycle which allows them to implement new changes and features quickly and efficiently without compromising code quality.
  • Totango is a web based application and they have employees working worldwide. This means that they get internationalization and that there is always someone available to assist if needed.
  • This isn't actually a problem, but because of the rapid development cycle you will see features that start out a bit clunky. Totango managers reach out though and walk through the new features with us and watch to see where the 'pain points' are to identify where features can be improved and enhanced; this level of service and attention to detail sets the bar higher for all of us.
  • I would like to see more of the configuration exposed in the settings so that we can make changes without having to submit a change through our representative. As we implement it is nice to be able to quickly make a change and then test it out without extra communication.
I haven't seen any organization that wouldn't benefit from the functionality in Totango's product but I have seen many organizations that aren't ready for what they provide. It takes a dedication to great customer service to get the benefit out of Totango and some companies aren't there yet.
Read Chris Hansen's full review
April Rosten profile photo
July 26, 2016

User Review: "Marketers Love Totango"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing department uses Totango to gain more insight into how our products are used. I use it to see if our customers are active users and which products they're utilizing the most.
  • Seeing how often our customers are using our products.
  • Finding out key contacts to reach out to those who are highly active or inactive users.
  • Running reports on different customer segments.
  • Pulling reports isn't super easy. The first six months I received an error and had to have coworkers download them. They've since given me a few work arounds, but a comprehensive solution would be preferred.
It's obviously different for different departments, but the marketing and customer success groups utilize it a lot. Getting that extra insight about customers is really helpful.
Read April Rosten's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (34)
4.9
API (32)
6.7
Integration with Salesforce.com (42)
6.0
Integration with Marketo (3)
5.4
Product usage (55)
7.7
Help desk / support tickets (39)
6.3
Sponsor tracking (6)
6.1
Customer profiles (54)
8.1
Automated workflow (52)
7.2
Internal collaboration (47)
5.5
Customer health scoring (55)
6.8
Customer segmentation (51)
6.4
Customer health trends (54)
6.4
Engagement analytics (54)
6.0
Revenue forecasting (43)
6.8
Dashboards (52)
7.3

About Totango

Totango is a customer success platform that is designed to help recurring revenue businesses simplify the complexities of customer success by connecting the dots of customer data, actively monitoring customer health changes, and driving proactive engagements.

According to the vendor, Totango is also the only customer success platform provider that offers solutions for companies that have or sell into multiple products, hierarchies, and channel partners.

Features Include:

  • Customer and User Monitoring Platform: real-time monitoring of key account and user-level metrics on product adoption, value delivered, utilization, and operational incidents.

  • Early Warning System: a system that computes customer health and alerts companies when a customer needs attention based on shifts in health or occurrence of specific at-risk events.

  • Customer Success Work Management: business process management for customer success managers and executives including account management workflows, best practice automation, team performance measurement, and executive reporting and dashboards.

  • Customer Nurture and Retention Campaigns: automated, personalized campaigns to drive onboarding and product adoption based on actual user behavior and results.

  • Customer Analytics: Deep segmentation and analytics capability to discover trends across the customer base, develop benchmarks, and examine rich account and user profiles.

Categories:  Customer Success

Totango Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Does not have featureNPS surveys
Does not have featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Does not have featureIntegration with Marketo
Does not have featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer Health Reasons
Has featureCustomer Health Change Tracking
Has featurePortfolio Management
Has featureTeam Performance Review
Has featureHealth Console
Has featureAccount Hierarchy
Has featureCustom Metrics
Has featureUser Level Reporting
Has featureTeam Adoption
Has featureISO 27001 Security

Totango Screenshots

Totango Competitors

Totango Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Totango Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS