TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0c/lg/TRG2KIAHTSUD.JPEGProvides a lot of valuable dataWe are startup company, so Mixpanel is used by almost everyone in our organization. Our marketing team, product manager, sales, data analyst, and customer support all use Mixpanel on a different level. Marketing team use it as a key tool every day, and others use it when they need some particular information. The platform gives us a lot of insights about our clients' behavior.,The best thing is the amount of data that Mixpanel provides, it is very detailed and you can look at the data from different angles Sales funnel tracking is very visual and convenient to analyze Users' behavior tracking is very detailed and accurate A/B testing is great,The UI is not perfect, new users always spend significant amount of time finding hidden features and figuring out how to use the platform. Customer support is slow to reply Price is pretty high,9,We learned a lot of valuable information about our customers We use the free plan, so it doesn't cost us much money We collected significant amount of data that could bring some value in the future,Kissmetrics, Google Analytics and Moz,MailChimp, Hootsuite Free, Owler, Slack, SkypeGreat for mobile users behavior analyzeMixpanel is being used by marketing team in our company. The tool helps to analyze our websites and mobile apps and see how our users behave when using the website or the mobile app. Also, Mixpanel is great for A/B testing and our team uses the tool for this purpose.,Mobile App Analysis is great - we started using the Mixpanel when found out that it provides very detailed mobile app users' analysis. Good for startups - Mixpanel offers pretty good free plan, which is very useful for startups. A/B testing capabilities are good and the feature is very easy to use.,Their API is not very scalable. Reports could be more visual and have more graphics. Sometimes the software is very slow.,9,We have a positive ROI from Mixpanel,Kissmetrics, Mozy Pro and Google Analytics,Stripe, Amazon Cloud Drive, WordPressDecent platform for web and mobile analyticsThe Mixpanel platform is mostly used by our marketing department, but some specialists and managers from other departments, such as security specialists and data analysis specialists also use Mixpanel for different purposes. Mixpanel helps us to understand users, channels, locations, and devices from which the users visiting our website and mobile app.,Mixpanel allows us to see very detailed information about web and mobile users, such as location, devices, channels and many more Mobile analytics is very good, accurate and detailed. Real-time insights about users are very helpful.,UI is not user-friendly. The security of the platform could use some work. Sometimes works slower than usual.,8,I believe the ROI was positive,Google Analytics and Kissmetrics,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, Trello, SkypeGood for e-commerce analyticsMixpanel platform is used by sales managers and marketing team in our organization. Sales managers track and manage mostly our e-commerce platform, while our marketing team uses the Mixpanel tool to see users' behavior on different website pages. Both departments use the platform to get automated reports and use them for presentations and strategy planning.,Beautifully made user interface, which looks very stylish and has great UI/UX E-commerce solution is awesome and works perfectly Mobile apps analytics is very detailed and insightful Quick automated reports,After reaching users limit it gets a little expensive Sometimes custom coding is needed to get right metrics Filtering needs some work,8,Mixpanel works very well for us. We've been using startup plan so far and did not spend a cent for the tool. ROI is definitely positive.,Yandex Metrica, Kissmetrics and Google Analytics,Crazy Egg, Slack, Zoom, Skype, SimilarWeb PROUseful tool for marketing teamsWe use Mixpanel across the organization, but mostly the tool is used by our product marketing team. Mixpanel helps us to understand our website visitors and use this information to improve our UI/UX depending on the visitors’ behavior. The platform has many features similar to other analytics tools, but in Mixpanel customization is much better and we can track events based on our requirement. One of the best thing about Mixpanel is that people with no tech skills can easily operate it.,Customization is great, it allows us to track events based on our own requirements Interface is very easy to navigate and no tech skills are required to use the platform It allows to set up your own flows, which is a great way to track actions that users take on your website ML Capabilities,Mixpanel could improve the visuals of their reports: statistics and data reports are not graphical and clear enough The paid plans are pretty expensive compared to other analytics tools on a market Setup process took a while and Mixpanel tech support team didn't reply quickly,7,We definitely have a positive ROI, as we have not bought a paid plan yet, so we did not spent money for the product.,Tableau Desktop, Moz and Google Analytics,Google Analytics, MailChimp, HubSpot, Hootsuite Free
Unspecified
Mixpanel
83 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

Mixpanel Reviews

Mixpanel
83 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 83 vetted Mixpanel reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 10, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Provides a lot of valuable data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are startup company, so Mixpanel is used by almost everyone in our organization. Our marketing team, product manager, sales, data analyst, and customer support all use Mixpanel on a different level. Marketing team use it as a key tool every day, and others use it when they need some particular information. The platform gives us a lot of insights about our clients' behavior.
  • The best thing is the amount of data that Mixpanel provides, it is very detailed and you can look at the data from different angles
  • Sales funnel tracking is very visual and convenient to analyze
  • Users' behavior tracking is very detailed and accurate
  • A/B testing is great
  • The UI is not perfect, new users always spend significant amount of time finding hidden features and figuring out how to use the platform.
  • Customer support is slow to reply
  • Price is pretty high
It is well suited when a company wants to collect and analyze as much information about their online users as possible. Great for marketing teams and product marketing teams because it gives valuable information about customers' reaction to website, mobile app or product changes. Not sure about scenarios when it is not well suited. I think as an example, I would use other tools for SEO improvement.
Read Helen Racutin's full review
April 11, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Great for mobile users behavior analyze"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is being used by marketing team in our company. The tool helps to analyze our websites and mobile apps and see how our users behave when using the website or the mobile app. Also, Mixpanel is great for A/B testing and our team uses the tool for this purpose.
  • Mobile App Analysis is great - we started using the Mixpanel when found out that it provides very detailed mobile app users' analysis.
  • Good for startups - Mixpanel offers pretty good free plan, which is very useful for startups.
  • A/B testing capabilities are good and the feature is very easy to use.
  • Their API is not very scalable.
  • Reports could be more visual and have more graphics.
  • Sometimes the software is very slow.
Mixpanel is well suited for the scenarios when you are trying to understand your users, especially mobile users. I'd say that Mixpanel has much better mobile analytics than Google Analytics does. I would not recommend Mixpanel for companies that do not have a particular person who would be dedicated to the tool, as it takes a lot of time to get useful insights from web and mobile analytic tools, such as Mixpanel.
Read Vadim Peskov's full review
May 29, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Decent platform for web and mobile analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Mixpanel platform is mostly used by our marketing department, but some specialists and managers from other departments, such as security specialists and data analysis specialists also use Mixpanel for different purposes. Mixpanel helps us to understand users, channels, locations, and devices from which the users visiting our website and mobile app.
  • Mixpanel allows us to see very detailed information about web and mobile users, such as location, devices, channels and many more
  • Mobile analytics is very good, accurate and detailed.
  • Real-time insights about users are very helpful.
  • UI is not user-friendly.
  • The security of the platform could use some work.
  • Sometimes works slower than usual.
Well suited for companies that want to analyze their mobile apps users, as Mixpanel's mobile analytics feature is pretty good. Also, well suited for small and medium organizations. Not sure if the tool is well suited for enterprises as the software sometimes operates slowly even when we do not process a large amount of data.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Good for e-commerce analytics"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel platform is used by sales managers and marketing team in our organization. Sales managers track and manage mostly our e-commerce platform, while our marketing team uses the Mixpanel tool to see users' behavior on different website pages. Both departments use the platform to get automated reports and use them for presentations and strategy planning.
  • Beautifully made user interface, which looks very stylish and has great UI/UX
  • E-commerce solution is awesome and works perfectly
  • Mobile apps analytics is very detailed and insightful
  • Quick automated reports
  • After reaching users limit it gets a little expensive
  • Sometimes custom coding is needed to get right metrics
  • Filtering needs some work
Considering the pricing I think Mixpanel is well suited for small companies with not many users or for marketing agencies that have small companies as clients. Also, the tool is well suited for e-commerce platforms. Not sure if the platform is good enough for enterprise size companies as I heard that Mixpanel does not do a very good job with big data processing.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Useful tool for marketing teams"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mixpanel across the organization, but mostly the tool is used by our product marketing team. Mixpanel helps us to understand our website visitors and use this information to improve our UI/UX depending on the visitors’ behavior. The platform has many features similar to other analytics tools, but in Mixpanel customization is much better and we can track events based on our requirement. One of the best thing about Mixpanel is that people with no tech skills can easily operate it.

  • Customization is great, it allows us to track events based on our own requirements
  • Interface is very easy to navigate and no tech skills are required to use the platform
  • It allows to set up your own flows, which is a great way to track actions that users take on your website
  • ML Capabilities
  • Mixpanel could improve the visuals of their reports: statistics and data reports are not graphical and clear enough
  • The paid plans are pretty expensive compared to other analytics tools on a market
  • Setup process took a while and Mixpanel tech support team didn't reply quickly
We are a small business and Mixpanel works great for us. It is well suited to analyze not a very large amount of data. Mixpanel is also well suited to monitor website visitors and do the segmentation based on particular events.
As reports are not very visual and clean I would say that the tool is not very well suited for companies with a lot of data.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Great tool to understand users' behavior"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is widely used by marketing and product departments in our company. Both product and marketing teams use Mixpanel to understand how users interact with our website, products and services. The tool helps us to analyze real time data of our marketing campaigns get useful insights about our customers' behavior in order to improve user experience of our website and features of the products.
  • Mixpanel gives a great amount of data, which is very well organized and easy to work with
  • Ability to create really nice looking and accurate quick reports
  • Push notifications are very useful and easy to setup and operate
  • Free profiles for small companies
  • Mixpanel does not allow you to have the same event for both web app and mobile app, so you have to create two separate events and track them separately
  • Customer support is pretty slow and just over the email, which becomes an issue when you need quick solution for your question
  • Once you reach users' limit, the price go up significantly
Mixpanel is well suited for small and medium companies; it is also pretty scalable to be used by enterprises as well. It helps to capture visitor activities and presents data in very clean, insightful and understandable way. It can be used as an addition to Google Analytics or as a completely separate tool.
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Finding new Lead with MixPanel!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is embedded in our product so we can track the activities of our users and make improvements to the product based on insights we learn. Mixpanel also allows us to know where people are logging in from around the world and what customer they're working with.
  • I'm in sales, so it's really important for me to understand who is using our solution in which region. Mixpanel allows querying based off a number of factors including location.
  • Setting up multiple queries that I can run is really easy. I didn't need IT involvement to set them up.
  • Once you run a query, you can drill down and discover more information about the people using the product and how they use it.
  • No real cons from my perspective.
Running queries on people by location, by a customer, by action or by which part of the solution they are using.
Read this authenticated review
April 17, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "Good Analytics Platform"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing department uses Mixpanel on a daily basis. The platform allows us to track all activity that is happening on our website. It is especially helpful for funnel tracking, as we can see on what stage of their sign up process the particular group of users are and adjust our user acquisition strategy.
  • Allows to track all activity that is happening on our website.
  • Funnel tracking is very good, it shows on what stage of their sign up process a particular group of users are.
  • A/B testing is also good, I'd say it's even better than in Google Analytics.
  • Reports are not visual enough and sometimes there is some missing or incorrect data.
  • Mixpanel does not provide a phone support, just email.
  • User Interface looks nice, but it is not very user friendly and it is sometimes hard to find what you need on the page.
Mixpanel is a pretty powerful tool and it is well suited for organization that wants to track their users' behavior, but as I said, the data in reports could be sometimes inaccurate, so it is better sometimes to check the accuracy of the data with other analytic tools. It is also well suited for A/B testing.
Read this authenticated review
March 05, 2018

Review: "Mixpanel - Don't Build an app without it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it in our six-person startup team. I know several other startup products are using it, and some of our established products are also looking at it. My team uses it to understand how our users are using our system. We instrument all major features. We also use it to measure our activation process. We are not using it for messaging of any sort (there are modules to send in-app and email messages).
  • Great for behavioral analytics. It helps answer questions like: "how many unique users did X last week?" or "what percentage of users chose options A, B, or C for this process.
  • The "live" view is awesome for keeping an eye on certain things. For example - release a new feature? Set up a live view filter to watch your users engage with that new feature. You can sometimes notice problems very quickly this way.
  • Good visuals / graphs. Many options for choosing how you want to display or segment your data. Examples: linear, rolling log, etc. Can easily specify that you want Total, Avg, Unique or other counts.
  • Very good, detailed support. I've never been disappointed by a response.
  • The trigger based messaging system is sub-par and we don't use it. It may have improved in the last year, but we do all our messaging with Intercom and haven't looked back. The UI was clunky, and I recall that it was very difficult to create certain triggers. What you want is "when user does X+Y, but hasn't done Z, then send them a message". I recall that being very hard to set up and test.
  • You can't create segments or tagged groups of users which you then use in analytic reports. This may be possible using their new Cohorts feature, but that is only available with Enterprise. What I want to be able to do is define a user segment who has done XYZ as "XYZ Group" and then filter my analytic and behavior reports by those segments. Huge gap (that may be solved by the Enterprise version, but this is way beyond our means).
I think I covered this pretty well in my pros and cons. But Mixpanel is great for creating overall behavior analytics and understanding usage patterns. It is also very powerful and easy to do "exploratory" work to answer a question. Great for hypothesis testing. For example: "If we add feature X, will that result in increased usage/interaction frequency?"

Of course all of this depends on instrumenting your code well - you have to know what to track and how. There is a learning curve there initially, but once you get it, it is easy.
Read Michael Ball-Marian's full review
February 12, 2018

"Mixed Reviews for Mixpanel"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our products stream live event data to Mixpanel. This event data is then analyzed by the product analytics team for business decisions and reporting.
  • Has a web console that allows raw high-level analysis.
  • Supports an API for downloading data for external processing.
  • Reliability of the export API. The service can sometimes become unavailable causing issues in the middle of the night for critical post processing jobs.
  • Duplicate data. Some events being streamed to Mixpanel are being stored multiple times causing bloated numbers.
  • Missing data. There are times when the export results to less data than expected. Because of how it works under the hood, there are certain limitations on how new data can be exported and there's no way to guarantee that you're getting all your data.
Mixpanel is more appropriate for low-volume non-critical data. We have issues with it when we are processing tens of millions of records per day.
Read Rolando Bernabe Tribo's full review
January 09, 2018

User Review: "My journey with Mixpanel!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at CutShort use Mixpanel across the organization. It helps us to understand:
  • Our users' profile and their activities on our platform.
  • Funnel creation helps us to understand where we are losing our users.
  • Track users' activities
  • Create funnels
  • User Segmentation
  • Mixpanel doesn't do a user search when I write a full name of a user, it takes only the first name hence making things difficult and complicated.
  • I cannot compare traffic sources between multiple date ranges, e.g. compare traffic sources for Nov 2018 vs Dec 2018.
  • Error showing mechanism is very bad. User is typing at the bottom and error is shown at the top so a user doesn't even know why things are not moving forward.
  • It's very slow.
  • Mixpanel is well suited if you exactly want to track what a user is doing in every step and to track their dropoffs/conversions. I can easily add events in mixpanel and create multiple funnels to track user conversions.
  • It is not well suited if you want to track campaign/source/medium/content all in one go. At a time you can choose any one of the parameters to view the data.
Read Neha Verma's full review
January 23, 2018

Review: "How Mixpanel Fits into the Growth/Marketing Tech Stack"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company relied on data from Mixpanel to evaluate product feature adoption and to understand user flows. It was very useful to understand where users fell off during the onboarding phase and if users were successfully adopting new areas of the product. Many times people will assume high usage in areas of the product, but this made it very easy to argue the success of each feature release.
  • Easily integrates with Segment which makes setting up event/people tracking very easy if you're already using Segment with other tools.
  • Creating quick reports to share with your team is really easy and the visuals are nice looking. If you launch a new feature, you can quickly create a nice looking graph to share with your product team to let them know how things are going.
  • The Live feed of events on each People profile is really cool if you need to drill into a user flow. Also, if you're not using FullStory, this live view is a great way to help users with issues since you'll know the exact set of events related to their issue.
  • I didn't use the engagement features at all but it seems like they could have a better WYSIWYG editor for the emails for non-technical people using Mixpanel.
  • The custom reports feature seems to be really powerful but I wish they had more resources/templates for creating custom reports. I don't code so it was really hard for me to use this feature...BUT the reports I was able to get help with, were really powerful.
  • I wanted a dashboard area for all of my reports in one view. It seems like they were implementing this when I was moving jobs. If it's not available yet, they definitely need to add a master dashboard page for arranging saved reports.
  • It's great for product teams who want to better understand their users from a macro level
  • I would suggest using something like FullStory for understanding user flows instead of Mixpanel
  • Prepare to spend some time learning how it all works together and creating reports
  • Once you get reporting figured out, it's pretty easy to get value out of this
  • Make sure you confirm that your data is tracking properly (you can use the live view for this) before putting too much value on the reports
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2018

Review: "Mixpanel has a ways to go to scale well"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is being used by our organization to determine the utilization of our products. The entire organization uses some part of Mixpanel in order to get a sense of how each user is engaging with our products, which content is the most appropriate among other things that are relevant for the business.
  • Mixpanel has a really strong Live View that provides good set of properties visible to the user.
  • Mixpanel has a pretty quick feedback loop with live streaming.
  • Mixpanel supports Enterprise Clients with a good Solutions Architect.
  • Mixpanel API is pretty terrible. It is not set up to scale well.
  • Mixpanel has really spotty customer service. Depending on the day they care about their customers.
  • Mixpanel is not built well to integrate with other data sources.
Mixpanel is well suited for a small organization that wants to use the service to get a sense of users but is OK with the fact that it is primarily Javascript based for querying (JQL). I would not recommend Mixpanel to any data-centric organization with enterprise level needs in the organization.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2018

Mixpanel Review: "A good happy medium between analytics and mobile communication"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my last company, we used it across both Marketing and Tech/Product teams. Marketing used it to send push notifications, analyze real-time data for marketing campaigns and understand funnel conversion of our app. Product/Tech teams used it to measure a/b tests.
  • Real-time analytics
  • A/B testing
  • User Interface (it's logical and easy to understand)
  • Push notifications sometimes had delays/errors and this meant us sending out erroneous messages to users.
  • In-app push notifications weren't refined well (there was no expiry date on them so remained active even when no longer relevant)
  • CS response was slow
I would use Mixpanel as an analytics tool and is useful to monitor users and segment them based on specific events. However, I think it is difficult to have a good real-time analytics tool that is also especially strong on CRM. I would prefer them to focus on one side of the product and perfect it. However, it is a very good middle-ground solution whilst still growing.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2017

Mixpanel Review: "Powerful but requires careful set up and use"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is used by the customer success and customer support teams as well as the upper management of the corporation. The customer success team is utilizing to track the usage and engagement of the existing clients. The customer support team is mainly using the product to retrieve specific actions performed by users, in order to replicate bugs or pinpoint the root cause of issues. Upper management is using to drive engagement of the product and make decisions on how to evolve it based on the current usage.
  • Handling thousands/millions of data points with ease, keeping track with historical usage data.
  • Segmentation of existing user base.
  • Funnels of module usage (very useful for free trial conversion of clients).
  • Has a steep learning curve. It is a bit daunting to use at first unless you have dived into tutorials and you know exactly what you are looking for.
  • JQL queries are very powerful and useful but lack documentation.
  • The predict module seems very useful but requires precision and the correct data set up to provide accurate predictions.
Mixpanel is very useful in terms of tracking the usage and engagement of the existing clients, as well as specific actions performed by users. Funnels can be great ways to see where a specific user path has stopped or is having issues, and signals (if set up correctly) can correlate various modules together either positively or negatively, which can be very useful for your product development. The only drawback is that it is a heavy product, which requires extensive setup and knowledge of what you are trying to accomplish and how.
Read George Markou's full review
April 17, 2017

User Review: "Mixpanel Offers Robust Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mixpanel is currently being used in a variety of ways by the organization. We utilize it primarily for product focused analytics and user performance metrics. However, we also utilize the Push and In-App Messaging functions to engage with end users. While it does not address a specific business problem, it does provide countless insights into the pros and cons of our products and allow us to optimize user experiences.
  • Mixpanel is extremely flexible, allowing you to apply tags for virtually any user action or experience with minimal coding required. This allows analytics to be catered to specific products and the functions of those products.
  • Mixpanel tracks and aggregates people properties extremely well to provide a long-term historical view of customers and all of their various interactions with the product. This provides seamless cohort building and user metrics for various teams (marketing, product, UX, etc.).
  • Mixpanel allows for easy set up and analysis of A/B tests on messaging and marketing materials.
  • Having a 255 property limit to be displayed in the UI has caused minor inconveniences when it comes to segmentation.
  • For organizations with multiple products, aggregation and separation of projects can get tricky. An organization level option to segment across multiple projects would be a nice feature.
Mixpanel is great for teams where lightweight customized analytics are required. The setup is catered to your specific needs and allows for agile or waterfall implementation. While lightweight, Mixpanel is scalable and can handle the load of an enterprise client as well as an independent app publisher.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2017

Review: "Mixpanel from a Developers Point of View"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the entire organization in both application development as well as sales. The metrics it provides gives insight into the "usefulness" of a specific feature as well as how active a certain page is. The data allows us to focus on developing specific pages out further to have the maximum impact on our users. In sales, we can determine how the leads come in.
The funnel feature is actually very useful as it can tell you the rate which a specific set of steps are performed (100% from step 1 to 2 but only 50% from step 2 to 3). The tool is powerful once you get to learn the interface.

  • Funnels
  • Tracking user events
  • Interface is not easy to learn how to use
  • Data doesn't seem to match our internal database tracking
Looking at a macro-scale seems to be better suited for Mixpanel. If you want to track the count of a specific event, I'd look into just building a small tracking tool within the application. For larger companies with a huge number of users, Mixpanel is surely the way to go, but a small startup with a smaller userbase would not benefit as greatly.
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2017

Mixpanel Review: "Quick mode to see customers crawling through your site!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep track of customers who sign up with us. We use it to see what stage they are in the process, if they correctly filled out their profile, and status.
  • It lets me view where my customers are at in the process of signing up
  • I can see if they have published their profiles
  • I can see when was their last signup
  • I can see what pages and actions they have taken
  • Haven't had any problems
[It's] well suited to following customers who visit our website.
Read Mary Pugh's full review
February 27, 2017

Mixpanel Review: "Useful but flawed product"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mixpanel data across the entire organization, although the primary users are the product management team and our CEO. Making data-based decisions is a core concept of the company, so every data point is of vital importance to the company. We use Mixpanel to determine if and when users are engaging with our products, as well as optimizing conversion funnels and seeing essential drop-off points.
  • Tracking all events that happen on your website on a personal level. The closest analogy that people tend to make is with Google Analytics, but while GA lets you see how users behave in aggregate, Mixpanel lets you track how individuals behave.
  • Easy funnel and A/B testing tracking - again, much easier than with Google. Must faster to integrate new events and change tracking funnels.
  • Segmentation - it's easy to segment out and see how subsegments of users behave (e.g. users which came from our website from a specific traffic source).
  • Mixpanel has issues differentiating between 'real' and 'spam' clicks sometimes, registering bot behavior as if it were the behavior of real users.
  • You can't clone funnels to make minor changes.
  • It's not easy to compare two different funnels to one another.
  • It's sometimes slow and unpredictable.
  • There are occasional bugs where the date ranges selected show one thing, but the data you're looking at is for a different date range.
  • Mixpanel is the best thing I've found for tracking A/B testing - but even then, there are issues. For instance it's very hard to compare the performance of A funnel vs. B funnel side by side - you essentially have to either look at them one at a time, or export all data and analyze it in Excel.
  • Mixpanel is NOT very good at letting you track percentage changes in behavior over time. I can easily see that we had 1000 loads and 100 conversions this week, but the segmentation tool doesn't make it easy to see that 10% of our users converted this week and 15% converted next week.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2015

"Review of Mixpanel analytics @ WellnessFX"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Advanced segmentation
  • Funnel analysis
  • Cohort analysis
  • Aggregate analytics over a time period of > 2 months.
  • Cohort analysis/retention including same day/week conversions.
  • Better explanations for data discrepancies when using client and server side implementation.
Work with your engineers to properly integrate the tools the first time around
Read Neil S's full review
May 09, 2014

User Review: "Mixpanel - Easy, Affordable, Flexible"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mixpanel to measure engagement and to guide product development of our iOS and Android apps. Mixpanel lets us visualize the customer behavior flow and quantify numerous conversion and behavior funnels.
  • Easily set up simple behavior funnels. I.e. Customers who did A, then did B, then did C, with conversion rates at each step.
  • Manage profiles of customers for targeted marketing. E.g. Send a push notification to all of my customers who consumed a particular product 3 months ago. Or automatically send a message to every user 2 weeks after their first login.
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE!! They have excellent reps who are very knowledgable and quick to jump into a sticky analytics question. They are honest when Mixpanel is not the right tool for the a particular job, but are pretty good and coming up with solutions that fit within your existing framework.
  • Layman's access to data exports is not great, unfortunately. The structure of the data when exported from nice and clean "Export" buttons is such that you can't really squeeze additional insight and custom analysis out of it. It often comes summarized so that the only real use would be creating custom dashboards, not running custom analysis.
  • The data export API could also be a bit more open. Restrictions on the types of operations that can access the data make it more clumsy than it should be to extract your information.
  • There are a few minor disconnects in the main reporting tools that make it so that you can't add that one last filter, or that one last dimension. For example, you might be able to see trends by city, and you see trends in conversion funnels, but you can't see trends in conversion funnels broken out by city.
It is very well suited to scenarios in which consumers of the data like to get their hands dirty, but don't necessarily have the chops to do complex data analysis themselves (think hands-on directors).

It is less appropriate if you have teams of analysts that like to run complex, custom reports on large bodies of internal data.

The best way to determine if Mixpanel is right for you would be to call them up and tell them as much as you can about your business and your reporting needs. They are very personable, while still being technically advanced and will be honest if what you're asking for would be too inefficient or impossible using Mixpanel. If it can be done, they'll prove it by setting up dummy data in your free account and demonstrating the solution.
Read Marshal Gaddis's full review
May 03, 2014

Mixpanel Review: "Some mixed feelings, but still recommend"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mixpanel to track and analyze our customers' activities when they use our web application. We look at how long they are spending on the site, what features they're using, and when they're using them. With that information, we can determine how to improve our product for future users.
  • The Mixpanel interface is simple and intuitive to use. You can add events to Funnels (conversions), Formulas, and Segmentation.
  • Visualization of the data is great - everything is well designed and nice to look at.
  • Customer support is fast and reliable. Mixpanel will usually respond in a day with helpful advice.
  • The most glaringly shortfall is that for Funnels, you cannot track more than 60 days at a time. For our product, we needed a cumulative measurement going back to when we launched the product, and Mixpanel was unable to provide that.
  • It'd be much better if we could export the raw data into Excel without using the API.
  • Being able to do some simple calculations with the People --> Explore function would be better, such as dividing the number of people who completed one event more than once by the total number of people.
Mixpanel is very flexible in that it can give you a vast amount of data about your customers, as long as you are tracking it correctly. If you want a big picture, Mixpanel is great at that. However, some of the details such as cumulative tracking for their most important function, Funnels, is missing. Doing simple calculations with the data is also not possible within the program.
Read Dianna Bai's full review
September 11, 2013

User Review: "Advanced Analytics with Mixpanel"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Mixpanel is great at building funnels on specific events you would like to track. It also has excellent reporting capabilities and allows you to segment your data and ultimately analyze who your customers are and what they do.
  • Funnel analysis, Segmentation, Reporting - these are areas where Mixpanel excels above other analytics tools.
Read Douglas Wright's full review
October 19, 2013

Review: "Mixpanel - Amazingly Deep Analysis of User Behavior Onsite"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Mixpanel offers a high degree of data analysis, some times to an excessive degree. It does a great job of allowing you to view and analyze exactly how your audience uses your product, and enables great testing capabilities.
  • Solved the issue of funnel analysis for us, as well as retention analysis.
  • Not great at scaling in certain aspects, most noticeably the user analysis flows. Does a great job scaling in other areas however, such as retention.
Read Colm Shalvey's full review
October 25, 2013

Mixpanel Review: "Great Overall Tool for Metrics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I really enjoy the interface-- it is nice to be able to share the views with people outside of our "data" team and have them understand what they are looking at.
  • There is a good integration of information that I can share and aggregate within Mixpanel which is super helpful.
  • It would be great to be able to see a data chart of my actual marketing funnel, and be able to identify key points of conversion. In a way, I could have an at-a-glance view.
I would make sure you make a list of data points you want to collect-- and then start to test and see how much you can get to work within the tool. If you can meet 85% of your data needs this tool is a true win.
Read Bailey Dalton's full review

About Mixpanel

Mixpanel aims to help companies build beloved products with leading analytics software for mobile and web.

The vendor says as the only product analytics company featured in Forbes Cloud 100 and Forrester's Digital Intelligence Wave, Mixpanel provides the insights teams need to understand their customers and make smarter decisions.

Backed by Andreessen Horowitz and Sequoia Capital, Mixpanel has almost 20,000 customers worldwide and 14% of the Fortune 500.

Mixpanel Integrations

Mixpanel Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Mixpanel Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android