TrustRadius
SurveyMonkey provides free, customizable surveys, and a suite of paid, back-end programs that include data analysis, sample selection, bias elimination, and data representation tools. SurveyMonkey also offers large-scale, enterprise options for companies interested in data analysis, brand management, and consumer focused marketing.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/gB/Zj/RTDW1VBTAT9C.PNGSurveying CustomersWe utilize SurveyMonkey for a variety of surveys we conduct, but mainly for our large spring survey. This program is being utilized specifically by CCR&R. SurveyMonkey allows for us to survey a wide number of providers in order to collect data for the following year.,A strength for SurveyMonkey is that it is very user friendly. If one should become stuck in an area, the guides that are provided work nicely. Allowing for a large number of participants to be mailed at once is a huge plus. Being able to offer providers a link directly, being FB friendly, is a HUGE plus for our business.,I truly feel there is room for improvement around the cost associated with an account. We are a 100% nonprofit, do not raise any type of funds, operating solely on a grant. Providing a deep discount for nonprofits like myself would get you further word of mouth than a review.,9,Overall, SurveyMonkey has allowed for us to collect additional data from our participants. They have found the means for collecting their responses much easier than the survey platforms we have used in the past.,Typeform,Typeform, Eventbrite, GoToMeeting, GoToWebinar,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysSurvey Monkey in the Hospital worldDepartment-specific client satisfaction surveys. In this case, the performance and needs of the Medical Conference and Education Center at Children's Hospital Colorado. Polling satisfaction with our services such as Video Conferencing, A/V Support, training opportunities for large event, and CME planning.,The options for question-types. Reports for data-gathering. QR code.,Logic questions are not as user-friendly.,9,For the large department of Medical Education with the hospital, this has been very worth the investment. Not sure it would be so for a smaller group with less need.,,SmartSurvey, Google Forms,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysServes the Basic Needs of Most BusinessesSurveyMonkey is mostly used by the marketing department to send out post-event surveys and product surveys. Other team members have access to SurveyMonkey as well to view the results of different surveys. The business problem that SurveyMonkey solves is that it gives us a way to collect and measure customer feedback so we can assess how we're doing in different areas. It also helps us collect information on our customers.,SurveyMonkey makes it really easy to create surveys and structure different questions. There's a good variety of different question types to select from. The workflow of the survey builder makes a lot of sense and is very user-friendly. You don't need to be super tech savvy to use the platform. I've been impressed with the reporting features that SurveyMonkey provides. It has multiple chart types to select from to view the survey responses. It also lets you export all the results as a CSV.,The design capabilities in SurveyMonkey are pretty limited. The templates they provide aren't great. The survey logic flow could be better. If you want to use conditional logic in your survey you need to have all questions on their own pages. I prefer Qualtrics in this sense. A lot of the main things you need require an upgrade, such as adding a logo to the survey. So any brand hoping to use SurveyMonkey will definitely need to upgrade their plan.,7,SurveyMonkey has allowed us to track to the success of our marketing campaigns to help us figure out which channels to allocate resources to. SurveyMonkey helps us determine how successful we were in putting on an event based on customer feedback, and gives us suggestions for how to improve. We use SurveyMonkey to get demographic information from our customers, which helps us figure out which audiences to target.,Qualtrics,Asana, Slack, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysSurveyMonkeyWe use SurveyMonkey for newsletter feedback, sending out company wide surveys of satisfaction. It allows us to see the analytics of how employees feel about things while keeping it anonymous. This in turn allows departmental staff to make changes based off the answers of staff.,Providing statistics based off answered questions and giving you a date range of when the responses were received The options for how to form your questions for answering is great as well. You can choose just 2 options or multiple. Showing how long it would take to complete the survey is nice, because sometimes when I take surveys I never fully know how long it will take to complete.,Initially using SurveyMonkey was a little hard. Just becoming familiar with all the things you can do. It would be cool if they had an instructional that maybe pointed out things you can do if you're new to the program.,7,The responses help us know if we are on track with the employees' wants and needs. For example, asking if they are satisfied with their benefits package, asking what they would change, etc. The answers can be positive or negative depending and if they are negative, the department heads may want to evaluate what's provided or may feel that employees aren't satisfied.,,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research StudiesExtremely easy to useI use SurveyMonkey to poll people in regards to many things. The biggest reason we poll our folks is to get their opinions regarding our conference speakers and whether they'd like to hear a particular speaker again in the future. We have also used SurveyMonkey to collect information such as shirt size when ordering bulk t-shirts as giveaways.,Very intuitive and user-friendly. Great reporting capabilities No cost.,I honestly cannot think of anything at this time.,10,SurveyMonkey has helped to increase my productivity. SurveyMonkey has made certain parts of my job easier. I cannot think of any negative impact.,,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys
Unspecified
SurveyMonkey
539 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SurveyMonkey Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

SurveyMonkey
539 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 539 vetted SurveyMonkey reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 48)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Stacey Pagan profile photo
November 26, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Surveying Customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SurveyMonkey for a variety of surveys we conduct, but mainly for our large spring survey. This program is being utilized specifically by CCR&R. SurveyMonkey allows for us to survey a wide number of providers in order to collect data for the following year.
  • A strength for SurveyMonkey is that it is very user friendly. If one should become stuck in an area, the guides that are provided work nicely.
  • Allowing for a large number of participants to be mailed at once is a huge plus.
  • Being able to offer providers a link directly, being FB friendly, is a HUGE plus for our business.
  • I truly feel there is room for improvement around the cost associated with an account. We are a 100% nonprofit, do not raise any type of funds, operating solely on a grant. Providing a deep discount for nonprofits like myself would get you further word of mouth than a review.
SurveyMonkey is well suited for someone collecting data for more than 10 questions. It's also suited for those that have a large population to survey.
Read Stacey Pagan's full review
Jamie Bell profile photo
December 10, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Survey Monkey in the Hospital world"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Department-specific client satisfaction surveys. In this case, the performance and needs of the Medical Conference and Education Center at Children's Hospital Colorado. Polling satisfaction with our services such as Video Conferencing, A/V Support, training opportunities for large event, and CME planning.
  • The options for question-types.
  • Reports for data-gathering.
  • QR code.
  • Logic questions are not as user-friendly.
SurveyMonkey is extremely useful with customer satisfaction surveys. Works well when you have clear options to choose from, but anything more vague or that requires a longer explanation does not work as well in data gathering.
Read Jamie Bell's full review
Becca Sangwin profile photo
November 26, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Serves the Basic Needs of Most Businesses"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey is mostly used by the marketing department to send out post-event surveys and product surveys. Other team members have access to SurveyMonkey as well to view the results of different surveys. The business problem that SurveyMonkey solves is that it gives us a way to collect and measure customer feedback so we can assess how we're doing in different areas. It also helps us collect information on our customers.
  • SurveyMonkey makes it really easy to create surveys and structure different questions. There's a good variety of different question types to select from.
  • The workflow of the survey builder makes a lot of sense and is very user-friendly. You don't need to be super tech savvy to use the platform.
  • I've been impressed with the reporting features that SurveyMonkey provides. It has multiple chart types to select from to view the survey responses. It also lets you export all the results as a CSV.
  • The design capabilities in SurveyMonkey are pretty limited. The templates they provide aren't great.
  • The survey logic flow could be better. If you want to use conditional logic in your survey you need to have all questions on their own pages. I prefer Qualtrics in this sense.
  • A lot of the main things you need require an upgrade, such as adding a logo to the survey. So any brand hoping to use SurveyMonkey will definitely need to upgrade their plan.
SurveyMonkey is appropriate for businesses doing a smaller number of basic surveys. It's great for standard customer satisfaction surveys or for collecting demographic information. It's fairly inexpensive and gets the job done.

SurveyMonkey is not for businesses that need to do more in-depth and complex research. In this scenario, a platform like Qualtrics would be much better suited. SurveyMonkey's features and capabilities are too basic to meet these needs.
Read Becca Sangwin's full review
Alissa Levanway profile photo
October 16, 2018

User Review: "SurveyMonkey"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SurveyMonkey for newsletter feedback, sending out company wide surveys of satisfaction. It allows us to see the analytics of how employees feel about things while keeping it anonymous. This in turn allows departmental staff to make changes based off the answers of staff.
  • Providing statistics based off answered questions and giving you a date range of when the responses were received
  • The options for how to form your questions for answering is great as well. You can choose just 2 options or multiple.
  • Showing how long it would take to complete the survey is nice, because sometimes when I take surveys I never fully know how long it will take to complete.
  • Initially using SurveyMonkey was a little hard. Just becoming familiar with all the things you can do. It would be cool if they had an instructional that maybe pointed out things you can do if you're new to the program.
I think it's great for students who are looking to get feedback for a class. I used it for a feasibility study for school and it worked out perfectly for what was needed. I've only used on a smaller scale but I don't think large audiences would be appropriate for it.
Read Alissa Levanway's full review
Sandy Breihan Sinclair profile photo
July 29, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Extremely easy to use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SurveyMonkey to poll people in regards to many things. The biggest reason we poll our folks is to get their opinions regarding our conference speakers and whether they'd like to hear a particular speaker again in the future. We have also used SurveyMonkey to collect information such as shirt size when ordering bulk t-shirts as giveaways.
  • Very intuitive and user-friendly.
  • Great reporting capabilities
  • No cost.
  • I honestly cannot think of anything at this time.
SurveyMonkey is suited for just about anyone. It is super easy to use and is very versatile. I've used it to poll our employees for various reasons and I've used it to gather the opinions of our conference attendees. It is truly a great tool. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Read Sandy Breihan Sinclair's full review
Jess Messenger profile photo
July 17, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Easy-to-use Survey Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SurveyMonkey to develop surveys for on-site events such as trade shows. We also use this program to create surveys for clients to administer on their own.
  • SurveyMonkey provides reports that are easy to read and understand
  • Building surveys in SurveyMonkey is fast and easy
  • SurveyMonkey makes it easy to administer surveys with a kiosk mode
  • If you are new to this program it can be difficult to build surveys where only certain respondents see certain questions (ex: skipping to question 6 if they answer “no” to question 1). However, the “logic” function is a great one to use.
SurveyMonkey is great for building, administering and reporting on survey results. It can be used easily on-site for in-person surveys and the link can also be shared to promote a survey online, in an e-newsletter, or even internally.
Read Jess Messenger's full review
Emeka Opara profile photo
June 20, 2018

Review: "SurveyMonkey is the perfect tool for creating surveys!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey is used by the entire organization to get insights on how students are faring in their various programs and what else they want to see in the engineering programs to help them chase their dreams of becoming good engineers.
  • SurveyMonkey is intuitive and easy to understand once you start using it.
  • It is also easy to use and very user-friendly.
  • It is very effective in obtaining detailed information from it’s intended audience. It’s simply the best!
  • SurveyMonkey could use more functionality in terms of the range of activities it can be used for as it has only a few in my opinion. This way people can perform a lot with just one software.
  • SurveyMonkey could be revamped to be more attractive in my opinion. It looks a bit plain. People are more likely to use a software that is aesthetically pleasing.
  • The software should be modified to include more languages to be used by an even broader audience. This isn’t the case at the moment.
It is useful when you want to get information from a lot of people at once.
Read Emeka Opara's full review
Maya Darghawth, CHRL, CEBS, CCP (IP) profile photo
August 09, 2018

User Review: "Huge fan of SurveyMonkey!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SurveyMonkey to assess and gather data on various employee-related or department-specific functions. For example, we recently used SurveyMonkey to send out a survey to all employees regarding a summer hours program (i.e. interest, feasibility, comments or recommendations for the program moving forward). We will also use SurveyMonkey again to assess how the program was received and whether or not it is worth continuing in future.
  • Easy to set up and very user-friendly
  • Good amalgamation of data and results.
  • Setting up a survey from scratch is not as intuitive as I would have hoped. Although once you understand how to use the product, it is quite easy. Just navigating the first few times is a bit challenging.
I think for data-collection from multiple users - provided the surveys aren't that long - SurveyMonkey is a great product.
Read Maya Darghawth, CHRL, CEBS, CCP (IP)'s full review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Great Product at an Affordable Price!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SurveyMonkey as a way to monitor and report customer satisfaction for specific corporate clients. Before implementing the SurveyMonkey process, we used a third-party to gather feedback but didn't have nearly as much success in getting responses. Our corporate clients require reporting quarterly on the feedback that we gather and SurveyMonkey has made it simple to comply to our clients' requirement.
  • Ease of use - SurveyMonkey is simple to implement. You can send out a survey in minutes.
  • Customizable - SurveyMonkey does a great job of allowing you to build in logic to your questions which definitely provides a better user experience.
  • Reporting - Post survey report is simple to set up and you can slice and dice things they way you want to see it or just export all responses and sort through them in spreadsheet form.
  • I really don't have any negatives to report about SurveyMonkey. For what we are looking to use it for, it performs perfectly and fits our needs.
SurveyMonkey is well suited for gauging customer feedback. As mentioned previously, we send surveys out to our end customers of some of our corporate clients. This allows us to gauge how we are doing and make sure that any issues are addressed not only with the customer, but also in the process moving forward.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

User Review: "SurveyMonkey Is Easy to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SurveyMonkey 4 times per year (quarterly) to organize a team building events within the Human Resources Department. The surveys are designed to allow team members to vote on the prescribed date and times that we can hold the team building event. With everyone's busy scheduled between meetings and tight deadlines, it would address what time and date was best to meet. Typically, we would use Outlook to view peoples calendars. However, SurveyMonkey would take it one step further by allowing team members to cast a vote on what date and time they prefer.
  • Allows you to customize the questions
  • provides standard templates that are ready to use
  • intuitive to use
  • free of charge depending on what package you purchase
  • sometimes hides important options that are important in creating a survey.
SurveyMonkey is a great tool if you don't know how to create a survey. Being an Admin Coordinator, I wasn't sure what the template of a survey would look like. SurveyMonkey is very intuitive where it allows you to pick how you want the survey to be setup. I enjoy the real time e-mail notifications I receive when someone takes my survey. I can also pull the results of the survey and create reports.
Read this authenticated review
Reita Silvis profile photo
December 28, 2017

SurveyMonkey Review: "Survey Monkey Doesn't Monkey Around"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey is a great tool to help us make a solid decision based on the group's consensus. It allows us to get a better feel for what others want and expect of us and gives them a voice to work alongside us. It is a nice organic way of connecting with the audience as well as fellow colleagues on the projects.
  • I enjoy the simplicity of SurveyMonkey- It is easy to upload your questions and edit them before distributing
  • Shareability- it allows you to easily share the survey with large numbers of people in a quick amount of time.
  • It has helped us reach a consensus of what others want or when to meet in the past and the analytics that we are provided with at the end of a survey term are remarkable!
  • Sometimes, we catch snags and it does not implement the surveys exactly as we expect/hope for.
  • I've had to re-upload questions to my surveys before because it would create duplicate entries of the same answer for people to choose from
  • Just these minor glitches, really - Haven't noticed much else going on that I don't like about SM
This is a fantastic tool for quick answers to help you make better decisions to accomplish your goals! We recently used it to get a company-wide stress test to see where our pain points were to improve things for employees. We do not like or recommend using Survey Monkey for polls on matters that do not have as important an impact on the company or employees.
Read Reita Silvis's full review
No photo available
March 06, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Bananas for Survey Monkey"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous company I used it primarily for meetings, especially for meetings with those that were new and we were still trying to gather the direction they should be going. After each meeting a survey was sent to out to all participants with a time line to complete. Questions asked were around the topics discussed, the length of time on each topic, the length of time for the meeting, the occurrence of it, and open ended questions were the best. They changed each time depending on the meeting, but it allowed participants to give suggestions of what you thought would be best. Now, at my current company, we use them for career fairs and to measure our ROI for each attendance, to identify strengths and weaknesses at each event so that we know whether we should return or not.
  • It really allows you to be able to manipulate it as you please to meet your needs.
  • The interface is extremely clean and easy to understand. It doesn't take an expert or advanced person to be able to create the surveys or take them.
  • I LOVE THE REMINDERS YOU CAN SET UP! If there was a deadline that I needed to complete the survey by I would get an automated email reminding me of it. Which personally I thought was pretty neat.
  • I have only created maybe two surveys, but when I did I didn't see much to be able to get the format to look a little nicer. It was very simple as I previously mentioned, which is great sometimes! However, it would be neat to be able to make the survey look a tad bit fancier depending on who will be receiving the surveys. Other than that, I do not have too much experience to be able to say anything that is negative or could improve.
I feel that being able to measure your return on events has been the most instrumental for us with this tool. You are able to save the responses for a pretty decent amount of time to go back and look at it. I don't see it being very helpful though in groups where analytics won't be looked at it and/or where nothing is done with the analytics this tool can provide.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2018

SurveyMonkey Review: "Surveys with Survey Monkey"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Surveymonkey was used for internal evaluations. The surveys were analyzed to make research management improvements. The option of anonymity allowed us to receive additional comments for improvements. The free version was used and it allowed us basic data analysis. Exporting the data however was not free. We had to convert it to PDF for sharing purposes.
  • Easy to create an account and set up your survey
  • Provides options for survey responses
  • Easy to share survey for responses via emails
  • Anonymous responses can be collected
  • Free version works well for basic creating survey, collection of data and analysis
  • You can track the progress of the survey
  • Exporting data in the free version
  • Does not allow collaborations
  • Questionnaire is limited to 10 questions
Surveymonkey is best for quick short surveys. It does provide you the option of additional comments. You may have to check the paid versions for longer research type surveys which have a lot more than 10 questions. You don't have to analyze the data. Surveymonkey does it for you and you can dig in deeper for some more details. Progress tracking is also a great feature. You don't have a survey closing date option.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph Collins profile photo
November 17, 2017

SurveyMonkey Review: "Survey Monkey - helping us evaluate and improve our program delivery"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SurveyMonkey (SM) on a weekly basis to evaluate our program delivery and to get feedback from our students on the activities/plans that we implement. We also use SM when we facilitate large group activities (100-300 students) to evaluate the workshops/activities.
  • Allows us to use drop down and multiple choice responses
  • Creates space for narrative responses
  • Creates great reports, visually to share with our constituents
  • Creating options to edit/personalize reports
We use it for both small group and large group audiences. I have had a great response from our students who mention that it a useful tool to capture their thoughts/feelings about certain activities or workshops. We have also used it to gather feedback from our board of directors on annual events that we produce as a learning tool to improve moving forward.
Read Joseph Collins's full review
Stella Kovaleva profile photo
December 05, 2017

User Review: "SurveyMonkey is a Leader."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Surveymonkey is the kind of web-service that suits everyone. We are currently using SurveyMonkey in our organization, especially by marketing and information technology departments, but I want to talk about my experience. I am individually using SurveyMonkey for collect responses from my staff and from clients. SurveyMonkey is the best survey app. It works so smoothly. And you can create your surveys quickly and you can share them in the way you like. The functions and tools are so useful.
  • So simple.
  • Quickest way to create surveys.
  • Friendly customer service.
  • Extra question types would be nice.
  • Features leads to add graphic stuff like videos.
  • There is no way to change your font type.
We first started using the free version of SurveyMonkey to collect the basic information. But there was a huge limitation to creating big surveys, and getting responses. And that wasn't enough for working in professional environment, so we changed our plan and we loved it. And price of SurveyMonkey is quite cost effective and reasonable. It helps us greatly. It is useful, and works properly. Now it's like a daily program for me. Almost every day I use it to create surveys about our needs.
Read Stella Kovaleva's full review
Nico Leussink profile photo
February 22, 2017

User Review: "My experience with SurveyMonkey"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Surveymonkey is used by several students because of its ease of use. So support is hardly needed from our support department. Teachers and professors mostly use another application for surveys and examination.

Focus on privacy is an issue. In the free account, SurveyMonkey privacy is not guaranteed. In those cases, our company suggests using the business application for surveys.

  • Create new surveys.
  • Layout is pretty good.
  • The different question types make a survey more beautiful.
  • For more depth, more questions should be available in one survey.
  • Also for more depth, more question types should be available.
  • The limit of survey responses should be higher.
For a 'quick and dirty' easy survey this is a great option. For more depth, the free account should have more options which the paid application has. Also, privacy is an issue. When respondents feel that privacy is not handled in a good way they won't respond to a survey.
Read Nico Leussink's full review
Jeannette Saquet profile photo
November 11, 2015

Review: "A monkey can't use SurveyMonkey but virtually any professional market researcher can"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When we have very simple surveys -- limited skips, short, etc. -- where we don't have to go to an outside supplier's web site, we set it up on our company web site with Survey Monkey.
  • Cost is very reasonable
  • Very easy to program surveys -- no high level training/learning curve required
  • The survey format is very attractive and easy for respondents to fill out
  • Does not work well with more complex surveys with complicated skip patterns
  • Inability to include graphics or video into survey
  • We can only use it when we have email addresses for target respondents or we have to contact them via phone, letter, etc. and ask them to come to our site. This requires that we have sufficient sample to allow for non-respondents.
Best for very simple and short surveys, especially when there is limited budget. Easy to import data into Excel for easy analysis and presentation. There are different levels or versions that you can purchase depending upon your needs.

If they improved the ability to have complicated skip patterns, it would be more useful. One big problem is that it is so available that many clients think they now can do their own research, not realizing that crafting a survey is more than just asking some questions and that it requires special skills.
Read Jeannette Saquet's full review
Ian Koller profile photo
October 02, 2015

User Review: "SurveyMonkey doesn't monkey around!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey makes it affordable for non-profit organizations to determine how best they're utilizing grant funding to reach our targeted audience.
  • Free access to survey tools.
  • Customized charts and graphs for visualizing data.
  • Allows survey creators to have options in questions and responses.
  • More than one question on a screen at a time.
SurveyMonkey is perfectly balanced for short questionnaires or for more in-depth lines of questioning. The variety of options for responses (multiple choice, essay-style, singular choice, etc) makes SurveyMonkey user friendly for both the creator and the user of the software. The way the program aggregates the responses in an easily understandable and precise way enhances the overall experience.
Read Ian Koller's full review
Lauren Hartman profile photo
September 29, 2015

Review: "Paid SurveyMonkey Subscription Offers Many Time-Saving Benefits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm not sure if it is used across the organization, but SurveyMonkey is used frequently in my department. We use it to solicit feedback around meetings in order to make better use of our time. I have also used it to assess opinion and usage around tools in order to modify trainings and increase usage. SurveyMonkey allows us to see internal feedback in an anonymous forum.
  • Easy to create surveys with a variety of question types.
  • Results are already in chart form, which makes it easy to quickly pull insights
  • Name recognition, so people don't feel like they are providing information to a sketchy service
  • Limited functionality with the free version - can only ask 10 questions and cannot crosstab results
  • While there are a variety of question types, I find them somewhat limiting. I had to modify questions to fit within SurveyMonkey's question format.
  • Takes time to learn how to analyze the results on a more advanced level than how they are presented.
If you have access to a paid account, SurveyMonkey will probably be able to fulfill your needs, but if you have the free version, there are some questions to ask yourself before starting with SurveyMonkey: do you need to ask more than 10 questions? Will you need to be able to manipulate the data and crosstab responses? If the answer is yes to one or both of these, then you will need to pay for SurveyMonkey in order to get the most from the tool.
Read Lauren Hartman's full review
Ben Donkor profile photo
December 08, 2014

SurveyMonkey Review: "Easy and flexible surveys for everyone."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Survey Monkey for polls and survey, and Survey Monkey has been the most reliable and most easy-to-use tool to date. As an analyst, I often find myself creating surveys on Survey Monkey to send to my report stakeholders asking for feedback, to see what they find useful in the reports or what they'd like to see more of (or less of).
  • Managing all your survey and your survey responses is extremely easy in Survey Monkey, and if you need to create several surveys you can start building a repository within Survey Monkey.
  • Unlike other solutions, Survey Monkey lets you fill and submit forms on mobile and tablet devices. This is often an oversight for others, but there's a general assumption that people who receive your surveys are also going to fill them in on a desktop. Survey Monkey gives you the option to work with surveys regardless of what device you're on, and that's a big bonus.
  • You can have access to your survey analytics, and they're just enough for you to get some valuable insights from the responses you get.
  • The UI feels outdated. That in itself is not a bad thing - you know when you're filling a Survey Monkey, as the interface is easily recognisable. However, while all the other competitors and tools are moving with the times, Survey Monkey seems to be stuck in time. That, however, is the opposite of their app: their mobile development team definitely keeps their app up-to-date with the latest technologies. For instance, they updated their app to support the latest iPhone 6 and 6 Plus soon after the devices were released.
  • There's reporting available on the platform, although it feels quite basic. As an analyst I usually require enough features to "slice and dice" the data and work with it, and Survey Monkey doesn't help me all the way. That's not the end of the world however: the reporting available will be just enough for a user who just wants to know the top-level stats, and for advanced users the spreadsheet exports will be enough for you to carry on your reporting in your tool of choice.
Survey Monkey is easy to use, which makes it a practical option for pretty much any occasion, regardless of who's using it - a manager, an analyst, an executive etc. The very intuitive interface makes it user-friendly enough for even the busiest person to set up a survey, customise it to their own specifications, send it over to the various stakeholders, track responses and report on those responses. I've also used it to send surveys to very large groups of people, so I can definitely say that Survey Monkey is easily scalable, whether you're building a survey for one person, ten people, or hundreds of people - or even if you're building multiple surveys at once (e.g. for A/B testing).
Read Ben Donkor's full review
Dave Guo profile photo
March 10, 2015

SurveyMonkey Review: "Good product with room to improve"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SurveyMonkey to collect responses for onsite training meetings and online webinars. We also used SurveyMonkey as an online testing tool to offer quiz and pre-, post- and in class tests.
  • Easy to set surveys. I could give some of my users a brief training and let them design and set up surveys by themselves
  • The abilities to set up mailing list so surveys can be delivered to large number of participants easily
  • The ability to download survey data. I often downloaded survey data and ported it into my own database to feed corporate performance dashbaoard
  • The reporting functions offered online are limited. I often needed to download and process survey data myself in order to get certain reports
  • Data integration: data download option was removed for a while. I don't know if it is restored now.

Randomize answers

Option to download and own the response data is very important for us

Read Dave Guo's full review
Francisco Prieto profile photo
February 01, 2015

SurveyMonkey Review: "Survey Monkey - An excellent, nimble and cost effective survey option."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey was used most often as a way to measure employee satisfaction and engagement. It is used across several departments and is a useful survey tool in both sales and marketing departments. At times we used SurveyMonkey to also get a consensus before deploying system wide changes and also as a discovery tool for process improvements across the organization.
  • Its extremely nimble and easy to set up
  • Provides a useful question bank full of sample questions to guide you in your survey
  • Results analysis shows charts for a quick analysis as well as downloading the raw data for creating custom reports
  • Creates numerous collectors in order to track where people are finding your surveys
  • You cannot use an internal logo across multiple surveys without upgrading.
  • You are limited to the first 100 responses unless purchasing more
  • Limited connectivity: Was unable to connect Survey Monkey to multiple Facebook pages.
In order to know whether SurveyMonkey is good for your organization, you need to discover what the final output will be and how large the survey audience will be. If you are a small department or will be using less than 100 polled users, then the basic product is for you.
Read Francisco Prieto's full review
Megan Abbott profile photo
August 16, 2014

SurveyMonkey Review: "Great for small nonprofits and user friendly and time saver!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SurveyMonkey is used for our whole organization. We are a small nonprofit trade association but we use it throughout the year. Before I worked there, polls would be done by email which is not an effiecent way to gather information. I used SurveyMonkey in my previous job and recommended we use SurveyMonkey over two years ago. It makes getting feedback so much easier and it's user friendly. I recently taught my co-workers the basics of using it so they could create surveys by themselves. Since I've created so many surveys before, it's usually just a copy of a previous survey that needs to be updated and then it's ready to go out to our members and event attendees.
  • They make it easy to create surveys. Once you create a survey, if it's a format you use over and over, all you have to do is copy it, rename it and make any updates you need to.
  • They have a whole list of ways you can gather information. There are different question types and you can use skip logic so if the question doesn't apply, people can skip to the next set of questions.
  • Exporting your final data is easy and easily goes into an excel spreadsheet or PDF file. You can even filter your results now which is a recent upgrade.
  • You can create custom web links but if something is already being used, you can't use it. I understand why you can't use the same one but I don't know if there is something they can do about it or not.
  • Sometimes it can get "stuck" when you have been editing a survey. If you go in to change the page info, it sometimes won't let you click in the box to let you type. You then have to close out of that pop up box and I usually have to go out of the survey then back in.
  • It won't let you change the font or bold or underline anything. I wish it would offer that because sometimes you need to call out a deadline for instance in your intro paragraph.
  • When you want to just preview your survey, you can't just click throught to each page if you have questions that require an answer. You have to fill in those required fields to move on to preview your survey. You should be able to view the draft without having to enter anything (even into required fields).
I think for surveying small groups of people, it works great. I don't have experience sending out a survey to over probably 300 people. And it depends how you use it. I only use it as a link that I embed into a personal email. Those are things you should look at before purchasing.
Read Megan Abbott's full review
Michelle Norton profile photo
December 04, 2014

User Review: "Surveying SurveyMonkey"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SurveyMonkey in many aspects. It is mainly used for attendee response on general sessions, workshops, breakouts or classes the attendee has participated in at conferences we plan.
  • The flexibility of creating your own questions while collecting the responses in a way that fit your individual needs.
  • The analysis of responses is easy to collect and review.
  • The analysis of responses is easy to export.
  • At this time there are no areas that we would like to see improvement.
Survey Monkey is very user friend with a variety of uses. I am able to manipulate it for each client or group we have. It fits and meets our needs perfectly.
Read Michelle Norton's full review
Walter Beck profile photo
December 01, 2014

SurveyMonkey Review: "Survey Monkey Easy-Peasey"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Survey Monkey is used by several colleagues in various departments at Curtis. The platform is easy to use, most employees can pick up the nuances of the program, and it helps me to have one program people use so that I can provide targeted training to help them get their surveys out quickly. Often stakeholders want the survey out within a day or two so it's helpful to be able to show examples of past surveys. Additionally, the brand name of SurveyMonkey is strong so people are quick to accept it as an acceptable platform to use.
  • Offer varying ways to get answers to questions: yes or no; multiple choice, select one, select all that apply; open ended questions.
  • Easy to understand how e-mails are sent to your list of potential survey takers and that you can send a 2nd or 3rd e-mail and it will extract those who already took the survey so they don't get an ask again.
  • Adaptable color palette so you can make it match your color scheme.
  • Pop-ups to alert people of TIPS as they go along. Might help those who are doing it for the first time or someone who hasn't used the platform in awhile.
Important if you want to get survey details from people and have it be anonymous that the person creating the survey clarify this for the survey taker and set it up so you can't attach an e-mail to the survey questions. Additionally, if people would answer questions in a way that the person with access to the survey information could identify them an outside person should be used to deploy the survey.
Read Walter Beck's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (19)
8.1
Themes (18)
7.4
Custom logo/branding (17)
6.8
Changes to live survey (15)
8.8
Question design help (18)
7.2
Multiple question types (20)
8.6
Survey logic flexibility (20)
7.9
Response tracking (20)
9.2
Data export (18)
8.3
Standard reports (20)
8.3
Custom reports (15)
7.6
Analytics (16)
8.1
Access controls (15)
9.1
Compliance (14)
9.3
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (7)
8.2
Respondent restrictions (10)
8.2

About SurveyMonkey

SurveyMonkey is a cloud-based (SaaS) web survey company, founded in 1999. SurveyMonkey provides free, customizable surveys, and a suite of paid, back-end programs that include data analysis, sample selection, bias elimination, and data representation tools. In addition to providing free and paid plans for individual users, SurveyMonkey offers more large-scale, enterprise options for companies interested in both data analysis, brand management, and consumer focused marketing. 

SurveyMonkey provides data collection, data analysis, brand management, and consumer marketing for Facebook, Virgin America, Salesforce, Samsung, and Kraft among others. SurveyMonkey acquired Zoomerang, ZoomPanel and TrueSample in late 2011.



SurveyMonkey Integrations

SurveyMonkey Competitors

SurveyMonkey Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No