TrustRadius
RingCentral is a cloud-based VoIP solution available via computer mobile application. It features video and audio conferencing, desktop phone rentals, collaboration tools, and integrations with other business applications. RingCentral offers plans available on a monthly, per user subscription basis.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/i9/vg/7JRPL8JAA75T.jpegStrong Cloud Phone/VoIP OptionWe use RingCentral for our telephone and fax service, and their Glip product for team communication. The phone system works quite well, and we love Glip. RingCentral allows our team to stay in communication with each other and our clients regardless of where we are, and it includes a lot of great features.,Their phone system can be configured to use data (even WiFi) or calling minutes on a mobile. That may not sound like a big deal, but it can make an enormous difference in both call quality and data usage. Glip is absolutely awesome. RingCentral has made some less than ideal updates since they took over that platform, but it's still a wonderful team communication and task management tool. Plus, it's free — even if you don't have a RingCentral account. The calling rules available are robust. We use their Professional plan, and it allows us to have multiple extensions where each user can choose their hours, etc.,It's incredibly frustrating that we can't add a texting service to our Professional plan. Their support is truly terrible. They'll take a week or more to get back to you sometimes, and regularly call at the crack of dawn or in the middle of the night. The "press 1 to answer" functionality doesn't work consistently. I'm unable to answer about 20% of incoming calls and have to call the client back.,7,It's allowed us to have a single business number that we use across multiple mobile phones, which is great for clients. It's MUCH less expensive than purchasing a second mobile phone for all of our employees. Employees love that they don't have to carry a second mobile phone.,Grasshopper and Google Voice,Paymo, Calendly, Dashlane, Glip, Zoom, G SuiteA Messaging Tool as Robust as a Project Management PlatformOur entire company uses RingCentral. We even use it with our independent contractors, as they can be invited into specific teams. We've been using it since it was Glip (former company). It helps us to separate teams for each of our clients (we're a marketing agency) and set up internal team chats and of course, a company-wide team chat. It's great because you can share files, links, notes, tasks and about everything you'd get out of a project management tool, all inside this chat tool. The best part about it though is the quick access to 1-on-1 or team video chat. We use it every day, multiple times, to interface with remote employees. The only thing it doesn't do that a PM tool would is time-tracking, but you wouldn't really want that in this tool anyways.,Video Chat. Quick access, great quality. It's perfect when you need to check-in with remote team members and for days when you work from home and still want to feel like you're in the office. Task creation and assignment. We take conversations that we just had and with one click, turn them into tasks and assign them to individuals or teams. Share files/links and get quick access to them. Everyone needs to share files and links, but the best part is being able to have a quick access sidebar and a great search function to recall those files/links at a later date.,Could add time tracking on tasks. Not a need to have, but would be a nice to have. Also the "Sections" part of tasks isn't filterable/sortable. Better Google Drive integration would be great, so I didn't have to download all of the files that were shared. I'd like an integration with Teamwork that would send tasks created in glip into Teamwork as well.,10,It saves us a ton of time that it would take to connect in other ways, so that saves us money that we can't even begin to try and quantify. It allows all team members to always feel involved, even when they're remote. Keeping employees engaged keeps us from having to deal with costly turnover. It lets us take a team of fewer than 10 employees and work like we're 30. This lets us take on more business and make more money.,Slack,Teamwork Projects, Google Drive, SEMRush,10,2,Video chat Team messaging File/link sharing and organization for specific clients,Assigning tasks to independent contractors Connecting our website contact form (HubSpot/Wordpress) to a new team chat so whenever someone fills out the form, it links to their hubspot contact record as a new message in a "Leads" team chat increasing productivity amongst remote team members,inviting clients to team chats for quicker response using it as a support/help desk channel with a new team chat organizing links and files that have been sent between team members,10Ring Cheers for RingCentralOur office has a number of different offices and use RingCentral as our phone platform so that we can use our personal mobile phones as our work phone (in addition to our desk phones, when in the office). This way, when we call clients from any of our devices, it will show that it is coming from our office number.,The mobile app is very robust and offers more options than the desk phone it is tied to. Call quality is very good through this platform. The desktop app is great for conference calls and is easy to share screens between attendees.,Oftentimes, calls to not get forwarded to my mobile phone and result in having to close out the app and restart it. Closing out from conference meetings is tricky (not simply just closing out the meeting window).,8,It improves connectivity within the company and provides the agency our clients the ability to reach us at any time any where (and allows for our company to bill additional hours to our clients for always being 'on call').,Cisco WebEx Teams (formerly Cisco Spark) and Skype for Business (formerly Lync),Workfront, Slack, EgnyteRingCentral is Great!RingCentral is being used across our entire company. It helps a ton when people are working from home and want to be able to access their phone at the office for missed calls and voicemails etc. It transcribes voicemails into an email so you don't even have to listen to the messages.,Transcribes voicemails into an email. Click to dial plugin. Very useful app.,Can be a tad confusing in the set up stage. Wish it was a tad easier to toggle between cell phone and hard-phone.,9,Helps us collaborate between departments better. Helps a lot with training new hires and for managers to review calls. The mobile app is very very helpful when working remotely.,,Join.me, SalesLoft, ZoomInfoGreat platform with a variety of servicesWe use RingCentral for pharmaceutical marketing/promotion. We have a team of sales reps who use it to call remote areas across Canada and needed something that would allow them to make these calls from home with some tracking tools for monitoring their activities. Prior to using RingCentral, we would simply have the reps use cell phones, but having RingCentral integrated into our CRM makes that process much easier and more efficient. RingCentral is low-cost, easy to deploy, and offers a good suite of tools for our sales reps to communicate in a variety of ways with the teleconferencing, webinars, and faxing.,Fast to deploy - Once we were signed up, we had soft phones ready to start making calls within minutes Good variety of platform - VOIP calls are the main purpose, but having teleconferencing, web conferencing, faxing, voicemail, customizable caller ID, and call recording make it a great suite of services Good call quality - Depends on internet connection, but we haven't had any concerns about the call quality other than when there was an internet connection problem,Device transfer - Transferring the account from one rep to another requires an admin to deauthorize the existing device before the new user has full functionality, which seems unnecessary Spam calls - The phone numbers available are probably recycled often, as we commonly receive spam calls on different lines Zoho integration - Calling from Zoho CRM results in the rep needing to answer a call and press a button before it actually calls the intended recipient,8,Low-cost teleconferencing and web-conferencing - Competitors for either can easily cost just as much as the full RingCentral platform Able to offer more customized services to partners/clients No need for any special hardware - just need a computer with internet Low investment to integrate with a CRM,Twilio Voice, Dialpad, HubSpot, Twilio Video, Bell Communications Outsourcing, GoToMeeting and Webex Meetings,GoToMeeting, Bell Communications Outsourcing, Google Hangouts
Unspecified
RingCentral
109 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

RingCentral Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
RingCentral
109 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 109 vetted RingCentral reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jillyn Dillon profile photo
May 20, 2019

RingCentral Review: "Strong Cloud Phone/VoIP Option"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use RingCentral for our telephone and fax service, and their Glip product for team communication. The phone system works quite well, and we love Glip. RingCentral allows our team to stay in communication with each other and our clients regardless of where we are, and it includes a lot of great features.
  • Their phone system can be configured to use data (even WiFi) or calling minutes on a mobile. That may not sound like a big deal, but it can make an enormous difference in both call quality and data usage.
  • Glip is absolutely awesome. RingCentral has made some less than ideal updates since they took over that platform, but it's still a wonderful team communication and task management tool. Plus, it's free — even if you don't have a RingCentral account.
  • The calling rules available are robust. We use their Professional plan, and it allows us to have multiple extensions where each user can choose their hours, etc.
  • It's incredibly frustrating that we can't add a texting service to our Professional plan.
  • Their support is truly terrible. They'll take a week or more to get back to you sometimes, and regularly call at the crack of dawn or in the middle of the night.
  • The "press 1 to answer" functionality doesn't work consistently. I'm unable to answer about 20% of incoming calls and have to call the client back.
Their support is by far my biggest complaint. If you won't need support often, that won't be a bit deal. Also, if you know your clients and your relationship with them won't be damaged by having to call them back when the system won't allow you to answer their call, this is a good system for you. The call quality is the best I've found, and their billing tends to be more accurate than any of the other systems I've used.
Read Jillyn Dillon's full review
Kyle Moloo profile photo
February 04, 2019

RingCentral Review: "A Messaging Tool as Robust as a Project Management Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses RingCentral. We even use it with our independent contractors, as they can be invited into specific teams. We've been using it since it was Glip (former company). It helps us to separate teams for each of our clients (we're a marketing agency) and set up internal team chats and of course, a company-wide team chat. It's great because you can share files, links, notes, tasks and about everything you'd get out of a project management tool, all inside this chat tool. The best part about it though is the quick access to 1-on-1 or team video chat. We use it every day, multiple times, to interface with remote employees. The only thing it doesn't do that a PM tool would is time-tracking, but you wouldn't really want that in this tool anyways.
  • Video Chat. Quick access, great quality. It's perfect when you need to check-in with remote team members and for days when you work from home and still want to feel like you're in the office.
  • Task creation and assignment. We take conversations that we just had and with one click, turn them into tasks and assign them to individuals or teams.
  • Share files/links and get quick access to them. Everyone needs to share files and links, but the best part is being able to have a quick access sidebar and a great search function to recall those files/links at a later date.
  • Could add time tracking on tasks. Not a need to have, but would be a nice to have. Also the "Sections" part of tasks isn't filterable/sortable.
  • Better Google Drive integration would be great, so I didn't have to download all of the files that were shared.
  • I'd like an integration with Teamwork that would send tasks created in glip into Teamwork as well.
It is well suited for any business where messaging needs to be done. RingCentral gets the team out of their inboxes and away from text messaging. Keeping this kind of messaging separate allows for it to be better searched at a later date and keeps teams better organized. Video chatting in RingCentral also allows for minimizing a team's technology stack, as there's no need for two different platforms for messaging and video chat.
Read Kyle Moloo's full review
Casey Gold profile photo
December 18, 2018

User Review: "Ring Cheers for RingCentral"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our office has a number of different offices and use RingCentral as our phone platform so that we can use our personal mobile phones as our work phone (in addition to our desk phones, when in the office). This way, when we call clients from any of our devices, it will show that it is coming from our office number.
  • The mobile app is very robust and offers more options than the desk phone it is tied to.
  • Call quality is very good through this platform.
  • The desktop app is great for conference calls and is easy to share screens between attendees.
  • Oftentimes, calls to not get forwarded to my mobile phone and result in having to close out the app and restart it.
  • Closing out from conference meetings is tricky (not simply just closing out the meeting window).
RingCentral works better than many other platforms I have previously used. Integration with current work operations is key in the ease of use between devices and RingCentral does a good job of that. I haven't felt that there was anything that I needed more or less of with this platform and would recommend it for any small or medium size company that spans in different locations.
Read Casey Gold's full review
Jordan Kruger profile photo
January 29, 2019

User Review: "RingCentral is Great!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral is being used across our entire company. It helps a ton when people are working from home and want to be able to access their phone at the office for missed calls and voicemails etc. It transcribes voicemails into an email so you don't even have to listen to the messages.
  • Transcribes voicemails into an email.
  • Click to dial plugin.
  • Very useful app.
  • Can be a tad confusing in the set up stage.
  • Wish it was a tad easier to toggle between cell phone and hard-phone.
It is well suited for companies that are highly conversive and need to transfer calls between departments. It is very simple to shadow calls for training purposes and conference in the appropriate people. It would not be needed in departments that don't need to talk on the phone internally or externally.
Read Jordan Kruger's full review
No photo available
January 31, 2019

RingCentral Review: "Great platform with a variety of services"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral for pharmaceutical marketing/promotion. We have a team of sales reps who use it to call remote areas across Canada and needed something that would allow them to make these calls from home with some tracking tools for monitoring their activities. Prior to using RingCentral, we would simply have the reps use cell phones, but having RingCentral integrated into our CRM makes that process much easier and more efficient.

RingCentral is low-cost, easy to deploy, and offers a good suite of tools for our sales reps to communicate in a variety of ways with the teleconferencing, webinars, and faxing.
  • Fast to deploy - Once we were signed up, we had soft phones ready to start making calls within minutes
  • Good variety of platform - VOIP calls are the main purpose, but having teleconferencing, web conferencing, faxing, voicemail, customizable caller ID, and call recording make it a great suite of services
  • Good call quality - Depends on internet connection, but we haven't had any concerns about the call quality other than when there was an internet connection problem
  • Device transfer - Transferring the account from one rep to another requires an admin to deauthorize the existing device before the new user has full functionality, which seems unnecessary
  • Spam calls - The phone numbers available are probably recycled often, as we commonly receive spam calls on different lines
  • Zoho integration - Calling from Zoho CRM results in the rep needing to answer a call and press a button before it actually calls the intended recipient
RingCentral is great if making a large volume of calls or all of its services are useful to a business, such as in our case. For users just wanting a softphone (no webinar, telecon, etc.) there are cheaper options available. However, many competitors charge for call time by the minute, which can easily shoot costs way higher than RingCentral if making a lot of calls (our users make around 40 calls/day).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2018

RingCentral Review: "To Be Accessible, or Not To Be?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral was implemented in our organization this year to replace the multiple forms of communication that we previously had. Now, our entire company uses RingCentral as a means of both external and internal communication, which means we use both RingCentral Meetings and Glip (RingCentral's Slack-like counterpart). From my understanding, the goal in using the software was to have one central form of communication to improve accessibility and capabilities.
  • Accessibility. RingCentral makes your desktop/mobile your work phone, so you can be accessed from anywhere at anytime. The app and desktop software can also be rerouted to your cellphone.
  • Sound quality. Out of all of the communication software I've ever used, nothing quite picks up sound like RingCentral. It's clear, focused—some would say it picks up even too much sound.
  • Form of communication. Depending on your organization's needs, RingCentral offers multiple forms of communication (phone, text, chats, video, etc.)
  • The app. I am one of those people who likes to separate work from my personal life, and unfortunately I can only download and use the app if I have my personal phone number connected, even though my work phone is associated with a different line. The result is that my work calls get routed to my cellphone, which feels like an invasion of privacy. I have resorted to forgoing the app altogether.
  • Connectivity issues. This is common for many communication tools, though when our organization started with RingCentral, there were many kinks internal to the software that needed to be worked out prior to its use. And, months later, it feels like we still haven't 100% adjusted. (Maybe 90%; so close, but not complete.)
  • Multiple platforms. I would prefer one centralized communication platform that houses all of my communication needs. Instead, our team has RingCentral Meetings, Glip and a RingCentral widget hooked up to my email (that always kicks me out of my account, no less!). At times it can feel like too many tabs are open.
RingCentral is great for one overarching communication platform. If your business requires text, phone calls, video, whatever—RingCentral can help you. That said, being that accessible can feel invasive at times. If you're looking for a communication tool that is less expansive, or don't need all of its features, I'd go with a simpler platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 25, 2018

Review: "RingCentral a great all-in-one solution for Professional Services communications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral is used by our entire organization as both our general phone system and for audio conference calls and video conferencing.

Our workforce has become 40% remote, so video conferencing and screen sharing is very important, and this works very well (RingCentral app is white labeled Zoom).

By using both softphones and physical phones, we were able to completely replace our Asterisk-based PBX system with more features and reliability.
  • The app-based experience for both computers and smartphones is excellent for audio, video, and screensharing
  • Unlike many conferencing solutions, it provides one-tap phone number links in invites making it very easy to join from mobile
  • It's the most reliable conferencing solution I've used
  • It's among the easiest video conferencing/screen sharing solutions for non-users to join successfully the first time
  • Love that when you launch a meeting, the invite link is automatically copied to your clipboard
  • Some of the configuration options are confusing.
  • You can create both a "personal" meeting that always has the same ID and an ad-hoc meeting which has a different ID every time. This causes confusion with new users as the default is ad-hoc versus personal...people often end up on the wrong call the first time they host a meeting.
  • There is a feature "touch up my appearance" like a face-smoothing Snapchat filter...I think this is a horrible message to send.
  • If you need an all-in-one solution (phone system plus conferencing plus screen share, plus video) it works very well.
  • Talking to our IT team, the product seems to have a lot of features focused at call centers and messaging that we don't use, but require reconfiguration anyway.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

Review: "RingCentral for Tech Support Call Center Use"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral is our primary phone system used in both the call center and inter-office calls. It allows us to not have physical phones and only need a laptop when working remotely. This system is used company-wide.
  • Calls and Transfers are easy and intuitive.
  • Ability to text message.
  • The Hud allows you to see who is online and in what status.
  • Constant complaints from clients of echoing back of their own voice.
  • Occasional program crashes.
Ring Central is solid for Call Centers other than the echo issues. It would probably less beneficial for a single user or small company.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Bongard profile photo
August 30, 2018

Review: "RingCentral is the best solution for fax capability on most extensions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company I work for and other companies that broke off of ours use it as their primary phone, fax, and meeting service. We use it for customers to call an automated queue with prompts. It guides them to different extensions and call queues. We do not have any physical fax machines. Everything we do is done through email or the apps to send and receive faxes.
  • Phones that also support fax. This sets them apart from Vonage and especially Microsoft that does not support faxing at all.
  • All of the apps work really well, especially the phone and meeting apps
  • They have a bunch of integrations, like with Google and Microsoft office applications that are useful
  • If you keep reusing users in the system, it will eventually lead to corruption. Whenever you reassign a phone number, it's best to delete the user and recreate it with the phone number.
  • Tracking support tickets could be better and I would like to be able to reopen them instead of creating a new ticket based and old ticket, based on a ticket, based on a ticket, etc.
  • They need to polish up their backend in general. We have random errors only they can fix about twice a month for our company size of about 250 extensions.
  • Their support chat is just text. It would be great to be able to have an email address so you can forward evidence of issues to them, be able to attach pictures or other files.
If you really do a lot of faxing or want one system that can handle both faxes and phones, this is the solution you should choose. You should certainly get away from faxing if you can, but we deal with many lawyers and medical centers that refuse to use emails, so this is our option. If you can break away from the archaically-old faxes, I would recommend getting the version of office that comes with Skype for business. That way you have your phones, emails, office licenses, chat, meetings, all in one solution. It's where we would like to be but can't since they don't support faxing.
Read Justin Bongard's full review
Chris Hartwig profile photo
November 18, 2018

Review: "Affordable and highly customizable VOIP with RingCentral"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral across the organization. We are a relatively small company and RingCentral was very easy to set up. We use the RingCentral softphone in most instances however we also have purchased Polycom phones at some desks. RingCentral Meetings integrates with the RingCentral phone system and I can easily set up and join meetings from the interface.
  • Integrates phone system and meeting platform
  • Provides visibility to coworkers availability through HUD
  • Excellent VOIP call quality
  • It can take a couple minutes for calls to show up in the call log.
  • I have experienced reports of incorrect caller id on outbound calls
  • Setup of a new extension can be cumbersome.
It's great for mobile users. You can install the phone app and provide a Bluetooth headset and users can make calls from the company wherever they may be.
Read Chris Hartwig's full review
Laurance J. Specht profile photo
October 29, 2018

User Review: "RingCentral is Great Option"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral provides us with a VOIP phone system for all campuses of our school. It is easy to set up, manage from an online portal and good support live or through web-based articles and videos. The ability to use it from your cell phone through their app has made communication with families easier and stress free for teachers. The system is stable and we have had no outages related to RingCentral itself.
  • Quality tone and connection
  • Great support
  • Easy online portal interface
  • Easy to install equipment
  • Language in the portal can be tricky for new users
  • Access to what is available need to be clarified
  • Too many tools can make choices confusing
Well suited for a startup or small company with small IT supports as so much is ready to go out of the box. Clarifying language and terminology for new users will help. Support is easy to get and willing to work with you to get issues resolved. The number of ways to access and use RingCentral is impressive.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
Charlotte Eddy profile photo
October 15, 2018

RingCentral Review: "To Ring or Not"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ring Central on a company-wide basis including remote employees.
  • Web based so all call logs and voicemail can be reviewed on line.
  • All call routing options are accessible on line, so you don't need to be in the office to forward.
  • Phone app available so you can access when mobile.
  • Application could be more user friendly.
Works great when mobile and for staff that are remote. Having all call logs and voicemail on line is real helpful and easily accessible.
Read Charlotte Eddy's full review
Sam Bush-Joseph profile photo
June 06, 2018

Review: "RingCentral, reliable if you have reliable Wi-Fi!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral as an enterprise-wide digital phone for all employees. My team, in marketing, uses RingCentral to call customers and prospects. We have traditional phones on employees desks that are linked to RingCentral, but many of us use it exclusively on our laptops using the Mac OS desktop application.
  • RingCentral has a clear phone reception as long as the internet connection is strong
  • RingCentral gives us the ability to choose an area code that is familiar to our customers and prospects
  • RingCentral gives us the ability to host and record conference calls as well
  • RingCentral should have the ability to act as a 'power-dialer'; dialing through a list of customers or prospects
  • Call/VoiceMail forwarding can be a bit cumbersome to be 'on top of' when people change teams or positions
  • RingCentral does not have a video/screen share conference call option to date
It is well suited if employees don't have a 'work phone'; they can use it on the computers (desktop App) or from the cell phone on the iOS app, as long as there is strong Wi-Fi connection. If there is not strong Wi-Fi connection throughout the office, RingCentral requires you to wire in physical phones.
Read Sam Bush-Joseph's full review
No photo available
August 27, 2018

RingCentral Review: "Pretty good tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral across the whole organization. Each of our employees has his/her own extension number which is very convenient. We use RingCentral for phone calls, voice mails and conference calls, sometimes we use it for video meetings with our clients and it is very helpful that it has a screen sharing feature.
  • It allows each employee to have his/her own extension number which is very convenient
  • We are a small organization and RingCentral has pretty affordable prices for small companies like ours.
  • Screen sharing feature is very helpful for video meetings with our clients and partners
  • Mobile app is good, but not very user friendly
  • Not all pricing options are shown on their website. When we called to customer service they showed us where to find other price options, but without their help we'd never find them. It'd be much more convenient if they showed all price options in one place.
  • User interface (both mobile and web) shows features that are not available in our plan, it is quite confusing
RingCentral is a pretty good software product. In my opinion, RingCentral is very well suited for any organization that needs a high quality phone communication system. I see that RingCentral is very widely used in different business areas and by different sized companies: enterprises, medium businesses, small businesses and even by very small 2-3 person companies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Review: "RingCentral got us all on the same page...and screen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
RingCentral has been our recommended cloud-based office communication platform for 2 years now. Customers love the price and the performance!
  • Easy to deploy and provision users
  • Fantastic customer/technical support when needed
  • Superior features
  • Hardware selection options could be broader
  • Could shift some features into the lower tiers
Any office or business that wants to have enormous amounts of flexibility and capability can benefit from their suite of products. I just makes sense to go with a Gartner leader when making this decision.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 02, 2018

RingCentral Review: "Makes a big impression with your phone system, even if you're a smaller company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral allows us to connect with remote offices, easily transfer who answers lines when offices are unstaffed and provide us the capabilities of a phone system of a huge corporation at a price we can afford and administered internally without extra staff. Easily scalable as we add more staff and remote offices.
  • Customer Service-if its truly urgent, they answer quickly and have always solved our issues on the first call.
  • Easily administered- once its setup, a non-tech person could keep the basics going.
  • Cost effective- allows us to add and remove users quickly and easily, move extensions without additional wiring.
  • Call quality may suffer sometimes- this is the major shortcoming
  • Initial setup can be cumbersome
A smaller company with a budget to match can develop an easily scalable system with a phone tree, ring groups, call dispatch, auto call forwarding and after-hours messages all at an affordable price no matter how few lines they have. The per line expense would not be practical for a larger company that has an existing phone system and a solid IT staff to support it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 14, 2018

RingCentral: "Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ring Central is used by the department to help address questions with another application currently used.
  • This program helps to clearly address questions by providing visual navigation along with being able to hear what the other person is saying. I believe this is a strength because many people are visual learners.
  • Every program has area that can be improved. For this program I would like it to have the ability to type on the screen as well. This would be a better service to the hearing impaired.
Ring Central is a good training tool or can be used to help answer complicated questions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

RingCentral Review: "Decent call conversion solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used the ringcentral software service for a couple of clients at a specific advertising agency setting. The ringcentral tool was a decent solution for call conversion tracking.
  • reporting dashboard
  • easily swap redirect numbers to and from your advertising efforts
  • auto voice features
  • a bit out dated ui
  • basic service that other companies provide
  • more customer service
Its one of the cheaper offerings and handles high volume at a basic level well.
Read this authenticated review
Katie McKinlay profile photo
May 16, 2018

Review: "RingCentral is great, minus a few small issues."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral across our whole company to communicate with each other and to communicate with our clients and partners. It gives us the ability to communicate via phone call, messaging, and voice conferencing.
  • All inclusive communication for all members.
  • The ability to send PDFs, GIFs, and files within the messaging app along with the ability to create tasks within a group.
  • Recording of all phone communications.
  • Accessible via a phone app to get forwarded calls directly to your cell phone.
  • Frequent glitches.
  • A lot of down-time required for updates.
  • Missed calls because the phone won't ring.
RingCentral is great for a mid-sized company because it has a variety of ways you can communicate with each other. It supports the culture-aspect of the business by having a GIF function that makes the communication more enjoyable. Along with that, the functions support employee needs and client needs. I could see big-businesses having a problem with it because of the glitches/down-time where it could be a problem if they were without coverage for a while.
Read Katie McKinlay's full review
Nick Bencivenga profile photo
January 19, 2018

User Review: "RingCentral - gets the job done well"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral is being used by our entire small business for our phone system. We utilize it both for inbound/outbound communications with clients, as well as internal communications between employees as well. We also use ringcentral for faxes and remote call support when employees are out of the office.
  • The ringcentral "HUB" is really nice. It allows you to see specifically who in your organization is on the phone at any time, and who they're connected with. Very handy.
  • It's nice how easy it is to login on the app and switch where your calls are directed -makes it easy to move to your cell phone if required.
  • Voicemail transcription is quite useful, and works VERY well. I rarely have to listen to voicemails anymore, which is handy as all get out.
  • You can't see the HUB on your mobile app! As a manager, I wish I could login and see who's on the phone in real time, from my mobile device. It only works on a computer, sorta lame.
  • They have serious issues with how faxes are routed through their call system. If someone faxes a non-dedicated extension, the fax comes through as a VOICE call instead of fax! Super annoying - you pick up the phone to hear fax noises. We've had to adjust our internal processes because of this issue.
  • Call quality can sometimes be a bit laggy. Occasionally our customers will complain of choppiness, despite having a super-fast internet connection.
Great for SIMPLE call trees and user extensions. It has trouble with advanced call routing, in my experience. The "builder" for call trees is clunky and cumbersome and regularly drops changes prior to saving. I'm not a huge fan of that tool. We've ended up greatly reducing our call tree as users complained of delayed button responses and oddities when flowing through the queue. Often times RingCentral support will unsuccessfully attempt to recreate the issue and just mark it as "closed" which can be frustrating.
Read Nick Bencivenga's full review
Kevin McBride, PTA, CHMSP profile photo
February 15, 2018

Review: "RingCentral allows us to communicate efficiently"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
RingCentral is used throughout our company by every employee, in-office and remote workers. The RingCentral platform allows our employees to work from wherever they are, and keeps everyone well connected to clients as well as co-workers. It also allows for flawless integration with Outlook, and makes scheduling meetings a breeze with RingCentral Meetings.
  • With adequate bandwidth, audio quality is incredible, and in my opinion, sounds better than a traditional phone.
  • The virtual receptionist is a great feature that makes routing calls a snap. There are also lots of options that can be set when it comes to call routing, such as ringing extensions in a certain order, simultaneously, etc.
  • The mobile app is extremely handy. It allows for calling of course, but also offers text messaging and faxing. Users can transfer calls between their mobile app, soft-phone or desk-phone on the fly.
  • We use a vanity "800" number. We like having the ability to customize our number.
  • At times, text messages will arrive at different intervals on your various devices. Messages get to all devices fairly quickly, but it would be nice if it were simultaneous.
  • Configuring RingCentral can be a bit confusing due to the many, many options and various configurations available.
  • I'd like the ability to be able to use the soft-phone on multiple computers at the same time.
RingCentral is an excellent choice for small or large businesses. If workers are mobile, RingCentral is a great. The ability to receive calls, texts, send and receive faxes from a mobile device is fantastic. You can even use your mobile to host or participate in meetings. For the price conscious business, RingCentral will control expenses. Less phone/fax lines are required as a user's number is used for both. RingCentral may not be the best choice if you have slow or spotty Internet. Also, there may be other options that may be more affordable or free for a solopreneur.
Read Kevin McBride, PTA, CHMSP's full review
Matt Emge profile photo
February 12, 2018

RingCentral Review: "Good performance and easy to use conference calls"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral across our entire organization consisting of a main office and several remote employees. We use it daily for scrum stand ups, one-on-one conversations, company-wide conference calls and client calls.
  • Audio and video have good quality
  • Audio and video controls easy to use
  • Calls clearly display callers and call info
  • The installed client UI could be easier to use for reviewing messages and deleting them
  • Would prefer that product updates not change my preferences like they did once
  • Would be nice to have all functionality in the web app so I don’t need to install and run a separate client
RingCentral is well suited to any size organization where people need to schedule future conference calls or start an unscheduled call with the option of video for none, some or all participants.
Read Matt Emge's full review
Ryan Schertzer profile photo
December 13, 2017

"Got those digits: A RingCentral review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using RingCentral across several locations for both general VOIP capabilities as well RingCentral Meetings.
  • I like the meetings capability. It seamlessly integrates with Outlook to make scheduling very easy.
  • The app works well across desktop and mobile platforms.
  • The VOIP service is a little laggy when we try to use it with other services like ConnectAndSell.
  • It would be great if you could set call recording preferences by state instead of generally.
I couldn't comment on where it is not suited as I'm a user and didn't evaluate this or other solutions.
Read Ryan Schertzer's full review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

RingCentral Review: "A Viable Value-based provider for VOIP and Communication Solutions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RingCentral as our primary phone, teleconferencing, and web conferencing solution. All of our physical phones at desks and in conference rooms are VOIP lines through them, and all of our team members are assigned a personal phone conferencing and web meeting account, which they use for interacting across our multiple offices, as well as with external clients and vendors.
  • Provisioning accounts per user and being able to get easy reporting about usage helps us to see exactly how much direct-phone vs conference line vs web meeting activity is happening.
  • Giving end users flexibility in managing calls - routing to soft phone instances, mobile app support, call forwarding, and voicemail management are all great.
  • It's really easy to call point-to-point in the organization if you know someone's extension.
  • Teleconference dial-in lines and web-conference dial-in lines are different numbers. This causes people confusion because they're not sure when to use which one.
  • Backend diagnostics for web meetings is weak - when people report having connection issues, or low quality audio/video, we can't troubleshoot why.
  • Their text/group chat/team messaging solutions feels bolted on to the other products. Phone, teleconference, chat, and web meeting are all pretty isolated products, and I wish they were more seamlessly integrated together.
  • Having separate desktop apps and mobile apps for basic Phone vs. Web Meetings confuses end users as to which to use.
  • Their Room-based meeting solution requires a lot of hardware purchasing and has something of a "DIY kit" feel to it.
Their basic phone service is great and high-quality audio. It's well suited to small and medium businesses looking to replace traditional landlines with an easy-to-use VOIP phone system. Their user management and admin navigation leave a lot to be desired and could stand to have a UX refresh. Their solution's admin capabilities, I believe, would not scale well out to hundreds or thousands of end users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2018

RingCentral Review: "Innovative & stable VOIP platform that includes fax, IVR, queues & web conferencing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RingCentral is used as our primary telecommunications platform for phone calls via company extensions, web conferencing (audio, video & screen share) & IVR/call queue routing for support and sales teams.

Each person in certain departments has a RingCentral extension to have a business line/company telephone and a webinar/conferencing platform.
  • VOIP
  • Innovation of new tech
  • Keeping apps compatible with latest OS releases and features
  • Native iOS calling
  • Zendesk App integration
  • Customer Support
  • Reporting
The software has always had little to no downtime. My sales executive was sometimes aloof.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (15)
9.5
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (23)
8.1
User templates (21)
8.0
Call reports (28)
7.9
Directory of employee names (32)
8.6
Answering rules (29)
8.5
Call recording (33)
8.8
Call park (26)
8.6
Call screening (29)
9.0
Message alerts (34)
8.9
Video conferencing (27)
8.6
Audio conferencing (33)
8.5
Mobile app for iOS (33)
8.8
Mobile app for Android (21)
9.4

About RingCentral

RingCentral is a cloud-based VoIP solution available via computer mobile application. It features video and audio conferencing, desktop phone rentals, collaboration tools, and integrations with other business applications. RingCentral offers plans available on a monthly, per user subscription basis.
Categories:  VoIP

RingCentral Integrations

RingCentral Competitors

8x8 Virtual Office, Fathom Connect, Fathom Analytics, Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

RingCentral Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No