Tealium Customer Data Hub

Tealium Customer Data Hub

Score 8.7 out of 10
Tealium Customer Data Hub

Overview

What is Tealium Customer Data Hub?

The Tealium Customer Data Hub powers capabilities across the data supply chain. Tealium universally collects customer data from any source including; websites, mobile applications, devices, kiosks, servers, and files. Data collected is then standardized in the data layer, which drives...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Become Agile!

9 out of 10
July 13, 2018
Tealium allows us to free up our developer's time and quickly add and remove vendors tags to our website. We recently considered it to add …
Continue reading

Basic impression

9 out of 10
April 27, 2016
We have implemented Tealium to get a handle on our runaway tags on our web store. We have over 200 tags on our site and many of them were …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Tealium Customer Data Hub, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Tealium Customer Data Hub?

The Tealium Customer Data Hub powers capabilities across the data supply chain. Tealium universally collects customer data from any source including; websites, mobile applications, devices, kiosks, servers, and files. Data collected is then standardized in the data layer, which drives usage of data…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

30 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Leadspace?

Leadspace is a software as a service (SaaS) company that finds leads in social media, contact databases and customer relationship management systems by comparing people's online presence to a vendor's unique ideal buyer profiles. Leadspace is used by inside sales teams for finding new prospects, and…

What is Arena.im?

Arena.im is a live chat, live blog, and content wall solution that can be embedded on a website, from the company of the same name headquartered in San Francisco. The solution avails an in-built customer data platform that enables users to activate individual marketing with centralized data and…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Get a high level overview of Tealium AudienceStream CDP in this quick 2-minute demo.
YouTube
Tealium iQ Tag Management - Quick Overview and Demo
YouTube
Tealium EventStream API Hub - Quick Overview and Demo
YouTube
What is the Tealium Customer Data Hub?
02:11
Building a ROI Business Case for Tealium CDP
50:28
Taking a swing with Customer Data
03:04
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Tealium Customer Data Hub?

The Customer Data Hub (CDH) connects data so that users can connect with customers. It aims to transform data fragmentation across CX technologies into a foundation by constructing rich, cross-channel customer profiles in real time that help to understand and engage customers intelligently. The CDH handles customer data securely, honors customer privacy, and enables the collection, unification, and understanding of the most valuable resource, and, with over 1300 client-side and server-side integrations, to act with speed and clarity.

Tealium Customer Data Hub Features

  • Supported: Data Collection - Ingest data from online and offline sources including web, mobile, IoT, point-of-sale, and call center
  • Supported: Audience Creation and Management - User segmentation and profile stitching for a complete customer view
  • Supported: Integrations Marketplace - Over 1300 turn-key integrations with key adtech, martech and big data providers
  • Supported: Privacy and Security - Privacy-centric data layer compliant with HIPAA, GDPR, ISO2701 and other standards
  • Supported: Tag Management - No-code tag management tools for client-side data collection
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics - Anticipate customer behavior with machine learning-driven insights and automate corresponding actions
  • Supported: DataAccess -Store and analyze Tealium data at rest for additional insights, to monitor operations, or audit data practices
  • Supported: Reporting & Dashboards - Visualize any data for insights. Share reports with stakeholders to support data-driven decision making

Tealium Customer Data Hub Screenshots

Screenshot of Data Supply ChainScreenshot of Data LayerScreenshot of Connector MarketplaceScreenshot of Live Event TrackingScreenshot of AudienceStream Dashboard

Tealium Customer Data Hub Videos

What is the Tealium Customer Data Hub?
Tealium and special guest, TEI Senior Consultant at Forrester, outline the main benefits of Tealium along with the quantifiable (and unquantifiable) value customers have obtained.
How leading travel organisation, Golfbreaks, enabled a 360 view of their customers with real-time call centre insights by leveraging technology and data to provide smarter, simpler, and safer customer experiences.

Tealium Customer Data Hub Competitors

Tealium Customer Data Hub Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Tealium Customer Data Hub powers capabilities across the data supply chain. Tealium universally collects customer data from any source including; websites, mobile applications, devices, kiosks, servers, and files. Data collected is then standardized in the data layer, which drives usage of data for customer engagement and analysis.

Twilio Segment are common alternatives for Tealium Customer Data Hub.

Reviewers rate Performance and Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Tealium Customer Data Hub are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Tealium Customer Data Hub Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)25%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)70%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 53)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Tealium iQ Tag Management System is a well-designed clientside Tag Management System with hundreds of 3rd party vendor tags. It is in use across many websites and apps. Tealium iQ Tag Management System manages all analytical functions in focus, but it is also used to control the consent layer. The data layer can be adapted for each vendor using extensions. In this way, new tags can be integrated and managed completely independently of release cycles.
  • Integration of various vendors regardless of release cycles
  • Managing the content layer
  • Managing the data layer across all vendor tags
  • building specific load rules to manage the vendor tags
  • the further development of the tool has stagnated somewhat in the last few years
  • Due to predefined extensions, it is easy to learn, but difficult to master due to Tealium-specific rules
  • as a leader in the tag management segment, Tealium iQ Tag Management System is not cheap
Tealium iQ Tag Management System should be used on websites and apps that have several different tags. Tealium iQ Tag Management System can act very well as a content layer. It is easy to manage different tags and control them centrally. It should not be used if only one Vendor is in use. If many vendors are used for apps, a combination of Tealium iQ Tag Management System and Tealium EventStream should be considered.
On the one hand, Tealium iQ Tag Management System offers a well-maintained ticket system in which tickets can be answered in different languages. On the other hand, Tealium offers a large community and an extensive learning system. If consent is given, Tealium iQ Tag Management System can also independently make adjustments to the customer's profiles. The contact persons are always friendly and competent.
Tealium iQ Tag Management System does exactly what it is intended for, it manages vendortags. Changes can be made to websites and apps in minutes. The frontend is well structured, updates are easy to carry out, and Tealium support is available at all times.
Adam Hatfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize Tealium IQ as our primary digital tag management solution. We were initially introduced to it as part of our purchase of Tealium Audience Stream and it was required to enable our use of this platform. What we have found is that it helps us manage our tags more effectively and also helps improve the performance of our site.
  • Tag management
  • Web performance
  • Easy integration with other systems
  • Onsite optimisation integration
  • Time to implement
  • Initial complexity and upskilling
Tealium IQ is well suited as a tag management solution particularly if you are looking at using other components of the Tealium ecosystem such as audience stream. We have found it to be an extremely capable tag management system and provides us far more advance capability over the Google Tag Manager solution we utilized previously. If your tag management needs are basic and you do not require Audience Stream there may be other alternatives such as Google Tag Manager.
  • Online Training
They are always on hand to answer our questions and they push us at least as hard as we push them. It's a great partnership.
Very intuitive and easy to find what you are looking for. Doing the training does help though. We have onboarded multiple new users and came across no issues with getting them up to speed. Probably one flaw is that you do need to be aware of what other changes people are making as it's possible to overwrite things occassionally.
Never had an issue, scales as we use it.
No
Jason Paddock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The marketing team manages TiQ and we use the software to implement tags and custom solutions such as live chat. We also alter the behavior of the site based on data that we have about a user. We fire tags both client-side and server-side. The main business problem solved is removing the bottleneck of engineering to get involved to implement changes. TiQ makes it easy to make a few updates and deploy it live within minutes.
  • Multiple environments for easy testing and deploying
  • Tag library is extensive and makes it easy to add new pixels
  • Ease of deployment and rollback if necessary
  • JavaScript container to do some custom work beyond tagging
  • Consistency of extensions with conditions
  • Load rule conditions can cause exceptions if not built right. Easy fix on TiQ ends that's never been implemented.
  • Additional scopes of when to run code within a tag would be nice.
TiQ is a great product and I find it more powerful than GTM. TiQ extensions are such a powerful feature making it easy to manipulate and track the data the way you want. TiQ is enterprise-level software and comes with a large sticker price. If you're just starting out, go with GTM until your marketing program advances to where you want more functionality.
The more technical you are the easier the platform will be, but they have plenty of no-code options to help the general marketer make some basic updates.
I have not been impressed with support while being a customer. They are slow to respond and typically are argumentative about issues with their system.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • switch the environment and testing it
  • Use web companion
  • scan companion
  • custom tool
  • I dont think of any
We have using Tealium iQ Tag manager for the past three years. It is a very useful tool to switch the environment whenever it is needed and to test it out. It has already great advanced techniques like redirecting user web companions, Tealium iQ, scan companions are the best so far in my knowledge. You can also use this tool to check all the parameters which are passed are displayed properly. They also have a custom tool where you can customize your own tool and use it. this is one of the best tools in the market. With just changing the environment you can also verify the production behavior which will give you a better understanding
Their support system is very good
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium is utilized by the clients I work with to establish standardization across various sources that need website user behavioral information. It is also a critical aspect to enabling marketers (rather than IT) to be in control over the tags that go on the website, updating tags in a timely manner, etc. It helps us avoid time delays and mistakes in miscommunication between the two organizations and instead put the power in the marketer's hand to control their own data collection preferences.
  • Integrations with third-party martech
  • Ease of use
  • Customer support
  • Support documentation
  • Utilization of the platform without trying to be upsold into other Tealium products
  • Timeliness of support responses
Tealium is best suited for large organizations looking for a (paid) professional tag management software. Organizations where Google Tag Manager has been vetted and has been deemed not the right solution. For most, in my opinion, GTM works great as an introduction for an organization into tag management, get them comfortable with the concepts and the best ways to use it, and, if they feel like they have graduated beyond its capabilities, look to Tealium for a more professional tag management solution.
Compared to Google Tag Manager, which is designed to be a "DIY" type of product making it very easy to use or at least self-service, Tealium has a little more of a learning curve. However, you also have dedicated support to help you through.
As someone coming from a previous support organization, I find the response time to be a little underwhelming and automated messages abound. Would like a more personal touch and someone who knows my account rather than having to "ramp up" each support person I interact with.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium iQ Tag Management System is used by digital marketing, data, and IT teams. It is being used to collect behavioral data about our visitors to our digital assets. We are using these data to enhance our digital ecosytem and activate digital campaigns.
  • Tag marketplace: a large number of digital marketing tags can be deployed quickly using the tag marketplace
  • Reuse of set-up between different profiles. for a large company/agency managing several profiles. reusing set-up between profiles is very helpful
  • Consent manager: native consent manager feature helping companies to be compliant regarding GDPR
  • User interface: providing a better user interface could be a plus
  • Better visualization for the linking between libraries and profiles
  • The ability to visualize several screens of the tool simultaneously
Tealium iQ Tag Management System is well suited to collect digital data in compliance with GDPR. We haven't tested Tealium iQ implementation on our mobile applications.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Tealium iQ Tag Management to manage all of our eCommerce tags. Ownership of the platform has been a cross-functional effort between Growth Marketing, Analytics, Product Management, and 3rd-party developers. The purpose of the software for our business is centralized management of all tags and tracking scripts, and exposing the data layer to our 3rd-party platforms.
  • Tealium iQ Tag Management is very robust and highly customizable for any eCommerce environment, given the requisite dev resources.
  • Tealium iQ Tag Management enables Growth and Analytics teams to implement tagging and tracking changes outside of the platform dev and release cycle, potentially making these organizations much more agile and efficient.
  • The platform is a bit clunky to navigate and use. For example, data mapping does not expose the syntax being used, so it will map variables, but you can't see the actual output until you save and test in the platform.
  • Tealium iQ Tag Management is very robust and flexible, however the benefits versus less expensive or free alternatives are unclear in many use cases.
Tealium iQ Tag Management is well suited to a robust analytics organization with dedicated TiQ resources. Since the software is highly specialized, most front-end developers will not be able to support it without additional training. TiQ teams also will need to partner closely with Growth Marketing as stakeholders, and with eCommerce support teams who may have strict performance and release requirements.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
A single department implements it for use across the entire company. It allows teams across the company to quickly and easily inject JavaScript anywhere on our sites. The main purpose is consistent behavior tracking and analytics, that only has to be managed in one tool by one team. We've been long-time users of the product.
  • The utag.data data layer. We utilize this to the fullest.
  • The custom Javascript templates and extensions.
  • Stability.
  • You need to be a JS developer to really utilize the custom work many sites require.
  • There is a bit of a learning curve.
  • Lack of version control support on tag templates.
The large database of pre-built vendor tags is one of Tealium's largest selling points. For me as a tracking engineer, I preferred hard coding the tags via the tag and extension custom templates, but Tealium has a large number of supported vendors and they update them as the vendors make updates.
February 14, 2019

Tealium needs Signal!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's being used on our retail site. Most of the UI related integrations and third-party integrations are done using Tealium. Any UI issues are also fixed using Tealium.
  • It does separate the environments like DEV, QA, and PROD well.
  • Versioning is well managed compared to the other tools.
  • The tag pushing changes have been overly complicated. If there is one tag that is being changed, it combines with all other tags and creates one single file. It could be as simple as pushing a single tag in the production.
  • The rollback is also as complicated as production push. It could have been a simple tag rollback/turn off, etc.
It's good for managing the versioning to fix a number of tags. It's not suitable for dynamic tag turn on/off scenarios.
Jorge Guevara, EIT | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium is started with one department, mainly with supply chain integrated with engineering. It addresses our issues in the Oil & Gas field with the satisfaction of customers. In our field, customers can be widely dispersed and often difficult to keep track of. The feedback from a customer would be lagged and often times the issue in our manufacturing wouldn't be addressed until several batches later, when we finally received feedback and understood it. Tealium AS addresses this by giving us quicker response times, and thus allows us to act on customer feedback more quickly, as well as improve our quality by quickly addressing scrap or issues in our manufacturing line.
  • Relationship links. In data management in predictive consumer behavior, there are many variables that may affect whether a customer may come back. In Oil & Gas these "One-Time Customers" aren't really one time but often different companies that buy through each other. Having customers like these is difficult because it becomes near impossible to keep track of their needs. Tealium change this by spotting similar buying patterns as well as similar locations and times for buying.
  • Mobility and connected devices is one of Tealium AudienceStream's major strong points. No longer are people tied to a computer to receive feedback, but we can pull up necessary analytics on-the-go during a meeting, to see things in real time. There is nothing stronger than this, it keeps employees engaged and it minimizes the burden of having to go in and manually look for a data file.
  • Intuitive Dashboard. While this point may seem superficial, there are many softwares that are absolutely powerful in data analytics but completely botch the user interface and dashboard. There is no second guessing or "I wonder what this button does" type of thought processes when you use AudienceStream. It is a program that feels natural to use with intuitive colors and graphs.
  • The live events feature in Tealium seems rather lacking, there seems to be a heavy emphasis on user engagement when there needs to be a wide variety of filters for that dashboard. Particularly geographic data.
Tealium AudienceStream is great if the user has familiarity with competitors like Azure, AWS, etc. But I would not recommend it to a beginner looking to leap into consumer data analytics in a company. The reason being is that at first glance the dashboard has too many options and while that seems to be an ironic statement, it would be easier for a beginner to get lost at this phase. An ideal person I would recommend this to would be an individual with intermediate knowledge of similar CRM software with a passion for learning in an environment that is interested in capturing that data.
July 13, 2018

Become Agile!

Kelly Saux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium allows us to free up our developer's time and quickly add and remove vendors tags to our website. We recently considered it to add tags to our apps as well (this is included in your subscription to Tealium), but have so far not taken that step. The support you receive from Tealium is excellent if you need to customize a tag beyond the standard implementations. This flexibility allows marketers to run vendor tests and even do A/B tests between vendors all within the Tealium dashboard. Our company wouldn't be nearly as agile marketing-wise without Tealium.
  • Allows us to stay nimble and focus on limited developer resources to other more critical development tasks.
  • By have the flexibility to add, but also to remove tags easily, you can ensure your site speed doesn't suffer from forgotten tags still on the site.
  • A lot of tags are almost plug and play, but some complex tags (e.g., Sitecatalyst) do require assistance from Tealium's support team. That being said rarely has this help spilled over into billable support hours. It is usually covered by our standard support agreement, which is offered to all clients. The Tealium support team is very available to support us on a daily basis.
Anyone with an ecommerce site that partakes in paid marketing campaigns will undoubtedly benefit from Tealium iQ Tag Management System. If you care about data, analytics, and tracking, chances are you'll find the tool very valuable.
December 20, 2017

The plumbers of data

Víctor Garnica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
The main purpose of Tealium AudienceStream is to deliver, enrich, clean and manage data from the whole organization. This service helps you to resolve the governance of data, even with the new GDPR could make it simple steps to ensure your data is under control. You could do a true 360 Marketing efforts because Tealium AudienceStream helps you with a lot of connections and a simple API or JSON format.
  • Data Governance is a priority for my clients in this moment, Tealium AudienceStream helps you with that.
  • Find the right people in the first party data and stop the waste of money on the excess of frequently attacking the same people with advertising already expired.
  • Trace a better customer journey with online and offline interaction.
  • A lot of connections with different tools and an easy API.
  • Tealium AudienceStream is not an analytics tool.
  • Tealium AudienceStream is not a DMP.
  • Doesn't have cons :)
The data management for marketing purposes could mix data from your Analytics, CRM, Call Center, IOS, Android and other in one place, then select a specific cross-platform data to generate re-marketing with no more than tools almost as programmatic and send these audiences to specific tools in few steps. If you have some beacons or antennas software analytics in your physical store you could make a specific re-marketing to audiences who start the journey online and buy on the store.
April 27, 2016

Basic impression

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have implemented Tealium to get a handle on our runaway tags on our web store. We have over 200 tags on our site and many of them were unmanaged and no longer used. This tool is helping up to manage that.
  • Ease of implementation.
  • The training is very supportive.
  • They worked closely with us to set up a professional services contract to handle several concurrent implementations.
  • I would really love to see Oracle Commerce added as a standard bundle.
How well suited is it for ecommerce?
April 27, 2016

Excellent solution

Jordi Roura i Rabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium is run across all sites in the company and has been an awesome aid to reduce the cost of data consumption as well as solving the problem of data standardisation. The data layer is a great way to normalise and reuse data, thus making product testing and marketing much more agile and powerful. It has also completely separated the work that has to be done by IT from the work of the rest of the departments, making life (and code maintenance) much easier for everyone.
  • Reuse data.
  • Gives marketers and product owners the agility they need to use the data and deploy solutions.
  • Gives IT full control over which data is delivered and how, independently of the tool that will use it.
  • Tool agnostic.
  • Dynamic updates of rules, instead of manual imports of CSV.
  • Better multilingual support.
  • Lookup tables should be able to set values from other variables, not just plain text.
Tealium is an excellent all-round tool. Any online business that is going to make a serious attempt at tracking the performance of their web/app/marketing efforts is going to need a tag manager, and Tealium is an excellent solution. I've been using it for 6 months and never regretted the decision. Solving a lot of problems, from launching marketing campaigns to feeding our proprietary systems with custom data.
The user interface is very well thought out, using human readable names and explanations to explain what each thing does. It's very easy to get familiar with it.
November 11, 2015

Great Tag Management Tool

Steve Moon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Tealium IQ across our numerous eCommerce web sites to deploy and manage tags. It has shortened our deployment cycle and taken away the dependency on IT and web site builds.
  • Quick deployment and rollback of tags.
  • Ease of new tag deployment with canned implementations.
  • Ease of user management.
  • Good debugging tools.
  • Extensions can be difficult for some to get their head around.
  • Sometimes end users don't understand the important difference between adding a tag and adding to the UDO.
For tag management it is simple and comprehensive.
David Gailey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium iQ Tag Management System is being used on our main company website and a replatforming project. The decision was made to move from Google Tag Manager to Tealium iQ Tag Management System based on a group evaluation of several tag management solutions including Google Tag Manager, Tealium, and Adobe Tag Manager. Tealium iQ Tag Management System is used primarily by our marketing team to deploy analytics tags quickly without having to wait on IT capacity and deployment schedules. However, our IT team occasionally uses Tealium to deploy JavaScript that has vendor dependencies, and QA testing tools. For example, we have a Jira tag that is deployed only on our QA environment that allows our QA team to easily create tickets from the website instead of having to switch to another window or tab.
  • The user interface is easier to use and organizationally more helpful than that of other tag management solutions.
  • The versioning system provides a nice diagram to minimize confusion when trying to trace a particular change/version
  • The Tealium support team is by far one of the biggest benefits. The are friendly, helpful, and quick to respond. We've had some bad experiences with vendors that thought they knew GTM but ended up breaking our site several times. With Tealium, it is their product, and they know it best. We haven't had any site problems as a result.
  • The Teamium team is great at onboarding. They do an analysis of current analytics tagging and suggest a tagging strategy for the UDO. The UDO is a universal data object that holds relevant data for any given page. This is the same concept as Googel TagManager's data layer. However, the Tealium team is right there guiding the implementation team through the process. They then end with an audit and training to make sure everything is good to go live. There is no endless Googling about what might be the best way to implement something.
  • Tealium's tag marketplace is where you can find a smorgasbord of vendor tags. We only ran into one vendor tag they didn't have from an obscure vendor. Their solution to this: they were happy to write us a tag and add it to the tag marketplace! Tealium really does pamper their clients and are always willing to help.
  • Really the only thing I can think of is that the js templates for custom containers are hard to find. The casual marketing user would probably never find it unless they researched it. But then again, our marketing department usually isn't changing these. Just one of those things that as a developer, you have to remember how to do or make a note of.
  • This one is minor and based on the perception of certain individuals on our marketing team and didn't apply to me. After the launch of Tealium iQ Tag Management on our site, there was some confusion over a poorly performing third party tag. It was thought (wrongfully) that the Tealium servers were causing the performance problems with data not being sent to said third party. However, this was not the case at all. The Tealium servers were managing and delivering the JavaScript for the tag just fine. It was the final delivery of the data to the third party servers (via a pixel tag) that was causing the issue. So maybe the weakness here was that there was a broader misunderstanding of how Tealium iQ Tag Management actually worked.
The scenarios where a tag management solution is appropriate are:

  • Your marketing team needs to move faster on actionable data than your IT team can deploy tags.
  • You want to give your marketing team the power and responsibility of managing and deploying analytics tags.
  • Vendor tags are interfering with site performance or uptime and you wish to have an easy "off" switch.

One key question to ask is: "Do I need assistance with the technical implementation of the data layer?". And if you do, "how much assistance?". Another question is "does our marketing team need direction on a data layer or tagging strategy?" Tealium excels at these areas because of their excellent support before, during, and after implementation.
Courtney Craig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
RentPath is using Tealium to completely rebuild our tagging system. Our websites are currently tagged through autotagging or WebTrends, which are managed by our devs, and they don't maintain it well. Our team falls under the data department, and we're using Tealium to retag all our sites and make our data cleaner and easy to understand.
  • User interface is simple and easy to understand
  • Our deployment engineer and account manager have been outstanding resources for us
  • Gives us the flexibility to put our data into a readable, understandable format before it gets stored in our data warehouse
  • Puts data in the hands of a data team instead of developers
  • Biggest issue: I wish it were easier to define click events in Tealium without using jQuery. If there were something in the interface that allowed us to pull in the code we need to define these events without relying on our devs.
  • It would be nice if only one person were allowed in a profile at a time. If someone's in there, please lock out other people.
  • Please alphabetize the dropdown list of available variables in the data layer! It's very frustrating to hunt through a list of 100+ variables to find the one I need.
If developers manage tagging and it's going to stay that way, they can just implement tags in the code. That might be easier than learning an interface. Tealium is better for data analysts who don't know or don't have access to code, but want to manage tagging.
September 30, 2015

About Tealium

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Tealium is being used a tag management solution currently. We are working to leverage capabilities for improved campaign management and site performance improvements through controlled tag firing.
  • Great at enabling the easy addition of tags. The tag library is robust.
  • Editing and powering tags as well as customizing as needed with information and for specific purposes is simple and can be done without touching the site.
  • Control over the firing of tags to load tags at the right time for the right reasons.
  • Being able to better export information for reporting and use among teams.
Tealium is good for most sites that are not actively managing tags and want to better leverage tags for campaigns and analytics.
September 30, 2015

Tealium

Max Andresen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Tealium to manage all of the tracking on our site. It loads in all of the tracking tags to the site and manages them all.
  • Organizes tags
  • Deciding how and when to load those tags
  • Loads tags quickly.
  • I wish it grabbed the data and ran the tracking on their servers instead of the clients device.
I believe Tealium is well suited for a large website with many tracking tags. I don't believe it would be very useful for small sites with little tracking.
August 19, 2015

Tealium Tag Management

David Campanella | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Our organization uses Tealium on behalf of our clients to help cut down on development hours and keep tag management in the hands of our analytic's team. In general, the tool is only used by our analytics team. This allows us to leverage our analytics experts knowledge to efficiently tag multiple site elements when and how we would like saving time and money in tag management and deployment.
  • Creates an easy wizard interface to deploy tags that any one can follow.
  • Makes tags easily customizable for your business needs.
  • Provides outstanding support and training on the tool.
  • Web companion has some room for improvement.
  • The labeling system could be improved to help organization of multiple rules and tags.
Tealium is a best in class tag management system that is integrated well across a multitude of vendors and plug ins. Tealium makes tag management simple and easy to use for anyone in your company. However, it is an investment of both time and money to train and understand how to use the tool effectively.
Tealium is very straight forward and transparent in its tool interface. It does a good job of providing information and resources around every function of the tool. This allows a user to be comforted knowing there is a wealth of information surrounding any specific action in the tool for a user to rely on.
Mark Jaggers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We just rolled Tealium out as a Global solution. Previously one region was using Tealium, another was using Ensighten and another was using Google Tag Manager. Rolling Tealium out allowed us to have a global solution and also made it easier for our regions to manage their own tags since Tealium has a great user interface.
  • A large number of existing vendor templates to make it easy to roll out new tags quickly
  • A robust data layer
  • Excellent user interface
  • Great customer support and large community
  • While the UI is great, it can be a little overwhelming. I am not sure there is much that can be improved. I think it just requires some good training.
Tealium IQ is for more that just adding tags to a site. If you just need to add basic tags to a site, then Tealium may be overkill. Tealium is much more than just a tag management system.
Adam Schnaare | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We support our clients that use this software.
  • Correctly categorizes the main functions of the system.
  • Provides the key value of abstraction.
  • I don't see any mobile/tablet support for the iQ. It would be great to see a subset of the features available on other devices.
  • The UI relies a little too heavily on popups.
I don't know the costs of this project, but if the company doesn't have the budget, analytics might need to be introduced into the organization before using this. But then I'm sure this would prove its value very quickly.
James Hunkele | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are still as an organization working on how Audience Stream Fits in. We are still currently working on wiring the tool and getting Omi data to flow bi-directionally
  • It is integrated in our site seamlessly since it runs off of our tealium data layer
  • Easy integration with our target testing platform
  • The interface. I know the tool is not meant for reporting, but the ability to do more data discovery would be very helpful while trying to make segments.
  • The tool is so new that the documentation is limited. I am a learn on my own type of person so the more documentation the better.
For AE it was a good fit because we already have tag management through tealium, so this was a natural next step for us.
Monique Trulson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AudienceStream is currently being used by the Marketing Department, including the ECommerce Department. We initially implemented it to power trigger email programs through our email service provider - we have several campaigns currently triggered by AudienceStream. We have since started utilizing the tool to enhance our knowledge of our customers, and are working to utilize this knowledge to make the user experience more relevant for each visit to our website. Tealium iQ (supporting tool for AudienceStream) currently allows us to enhance our marketing database with online data, and AudienceStream allows us to enhance our online experience with offline data.
  • AudienceStream allows me to expand on the data I'm already capturing about my visitors to the website, taking the data points and combining them to create and assign new definitions ("badges") to my visitors, which then allows me to enhance their experience with my company.
  • The APIs within AudienceStream expand the reach of all the data we collect and the new definitions we create - we are no longer limited to only using this data on our site directly, instead we can pass this information effortlessly through to other tools to increase the relevance of our other marketing efforts, be they email, retargeting, paid search, or even our call center and retail stores through a connection to our CRM system.
  • Audience Discovery within AudienceStream immediately provides insights to the folks on my website in real time, and also allows for historic views. I can slice the data in any way I choose to watch as visitors move through my site, gaining or losing badges as they perform various actions. I can then drill down into any group of visitors for the smallest of details, and use that to create new badges to use.
  • The tools Tealium provides, such as AudienceStream Trace, allow me to feel 100% confident that the tagging and defining I'm doing is correct, and working as expected.
  • Tealium's customer service is AMAZING - an entire team supports both your technical and strategic needs, and provides tools such as customer communities to help with learning.
  • We are using AudienceStream with offline data to help identify and improve online experiences for our visitors, and build out more robust personas - once uploaded into AudienceStream, the visitor stream is monitored for a period of time and when a match is found, the data we uploaded is assigned to that match, allowing for more relevant interactions with them. We find that period of time to be relatively short, given our customers buying patterns.
  • Within the AudienceStream interface we have the ability to create attributes - taking the information we know about the visitor and assigning it within AudienceStream to allow us to act on it in some way. This is incredibly easy, thus we have a very large amount of attributes available, to the point where it can be overwhelming to understand what is mapped to what. I'd love to see some sort of visual representation of how things tie together, above and beyond the labeling that is currently available.
  • The dashboard, which is the main view presented upon login to AudienceStream, has some great snapshot reports which would be valuable to share - however there is no way to share them currently.
This tool is definitely made for organizations that go above and beyond simply capturing data on their online visitors for simple reporting. AudienceStream allows you to combine data from multiple sources and manipulate it to represent everything from hard facts about a visitor/customer (# of times ordered, device used, time on site, etc) to more intangible concepts (visitor is a fan of the company, visitor is a frugal shopper, visitor is a social maven, visitor prefers search over navigation) - and then allows any of that data to be shared back to your reporting platforms, and your other online functionality. This would be overkill for an organization that only uses basic segmentation.
Igor Krakovsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We're currently leveraging Tealium AudienceStream primarily for our cart/browser abandonment email campaigns. The AudienceStream integration has proved to add a 6 to 7 figure incremental revenue for Beachbody and is an effective tool to generate incremental revenue/orders. We're also currently exploring a few display tests based on AudienceStream's ability to create very granular audience segments as well as to take action on them right away with one of our display partners.
  • Visitor device stitching, provided the client has some sort of login.
  • Email scraping/aggregation for Cart/Product Page Abandonment campaigns with our ESP.
  • Creating granular set of audience targets using our first-party data and ability to take action on these audiences for Display, Email, Social and Mobile.
  • Training should be improved. Given that AudienceStream is a very robust tool, organizations will need to hire a tech-savvy/developer-type resources to administer the tool.
  • Including Audience Templates, similar to how Google Analytics provides templated reports and segments. For example, I would create audience templates based on following categories: Prospecting Display, Retargeting, Cart/Browser Abandonment, Personalization, etc.
  • This would allow companies onboarding the tool to quickly create audiences based on pre-built templates and start testing vs. struggling to figure out the tool first.
Do you have a technical resource who understands audience segmentation, first-party data and e-comm/page attributes?
Return to navigation