Google Tag Manager Reviews

185 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 22, 2021
Travis Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web developer, we have utilized Google Tag Manager on multiple website projects. Rather than just doing the bare minimum (Google Analytics), Google Tag Manager allows you to go beyond just page tracking, to get a more in-depth view of how users are interacting with your site. Things, such as interactions on a page, become tracked and your data is taken to the next level.
  • Tracking beyond page-views.
  • Good for non-developers to implement.
  • Provides greater analytic opportunities.
  • Great test capability.
  • Like anything, it definitely takes some experience to be comfortable.
  • Not a lot of Google tutorials that are on target (plenty of non-Google content).
If you aren't using Google Tag Manager when you are creating a site and implementing analytics, you are doing yourself a disservice. This is a free tool that I believe is not used more, because either people don't know or they are too intimidated by the startup. However, when you push through, you see how valuable this tool becomes and how much more it opens up your data for analysis.
Read Travis Brown's full review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a consultancy and as such, have advised and helped several clients implement and properly use Google Tag Manager to simplify their digital analytics solutions into one streamlined platform. Most of our clients have multiple analytics tools and third-party vendors that all require tracking of identical information to properly function. Google Tag Manager simplifies this by reducing the number of calls made on each web page. For example, if you have 10 different tools that need to track similar information, you now can reduce it to 1.
  • Easy to acquire and implement.
  • User-friendly interface and an adequate amount of self-help information available online.
  • Can't ignore it's free. Makes it easy to test and try before going out and purchasing a more costly solution.
  • Since it is free, there is little to no personalized support from Google.
  • While it's getting better, the number of pre-configured solutions for third-party vendors is still limited compared to the top paid solutions.
Great first tag management solution, also great for smaller organizations and those with limited budget.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is a MUST HAVE tool for any website! It allows us to add and manage various pixels/tracking codes (From Google Analytics to Facebook and LindedIn) from one place, with a super straightforward UI.

Also, it keeps logs of all the changes to different containers, which is a very helpful thing when it comes to collaboration between different people/departments
  • great UI/UX
  • easy learning curve
  • manage all tracking assets from one place
  • can't think of any, really. Super easy to use
It is a great tool if a company ever needs to manage multiple tracking codes from one place. Plus, it has a lot of flexibility in writing the rules for "firing" each particular tag, which is a super nice feature for a more granular control, especially when dealing with remarketing campaigns.
Never had to deal with their support, because the product is so easy to use + has great documentation
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used in the SEM department at my company for an easy way to track CDRS and revenue. My company builds and tracks websites for hotels and with Google Tag Manager we are able to implement a tag on their booking engine to see if a visitor has not only gone to that page but if they booked a room.
  • Shows us CDRS for our websites so we can report back to our clients on how well they're doing.
  • Shows us the revenue we got from the visitor.
  • Sometimes you have to play around with the code for it to work.
  • I've had it not be compatible with websites and not even firing.
If you or a client are wondering how well your website is performing and how much revenue you're getting from visitors on your website then Google Tag Manager is a great product for you. This is a quick and easy way to track revenue and CDRS. The only reason a person wouldn't be able to use this is if they didn't have access to the back end of a website to implement the code.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review
March 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The problem was that we wanted to track specific button clicks that users made on our website which was not naturally picked up by Google Analytics. We did not want to change the code on the website. We decided to use Google Tags to implement this tracking. Now we can successfully track our conversions as it is reported in Google Analytics.
  • Easy interface. The work environment where you set up tags is intuitive to me as it is arranged logically. Very easy for someone that has a programming background to understand the flow.
  • Useful testing feature. After you have created your tags, you can open your website and start clicking around. The tag manager has a testing screen that comes up and you can see live which tags are getting fired.
  • Step by step tutorial/guide for those new to the environment. I know I had to Google a bit and used someone else's blog to figure out how to set up some of the Facebook tags.
When you want to track certain events happening on your website that is not being captured by Google Analytics already, then Tag Manager is the answer. Especially if you do not want to edit your website code. We use Shopify to host our website and did not have the capacity to hire a code developer, so it was a very good solution.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2020
Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to enable the use of tracking pixels from various sources on our website. Our website was developed and coded by an agency, so Google Tag Manager allows us to integrate these codes without having to edit or modify the coding of the site. We can then track user behavior concerning our business.
  • Google Tag Manager allows you to see the source of incoming traffic to your site and track their behavior (make purchases, abandon carts, etc.)
  • We can implement Google Tag Manager in-house, so we don't need to pay our developer to make changes or edit code for us, saving us money.
  • Google Tag Manager is easier to use than coding a website, but you still need to have some technical knowledge.
  • As someone with fundamental coding knowledge, if you set up a tag incorrectly, it can take a long time to figure out why the tag isn't working properly.
If you have the time to learn what Google Tag Manager can do, and know some technical coding info or are willing to learn, it is a great solution to implement tracking pixels. If that doesn't sound like you or if you have tried in the past and can't get it, you might want to hire someone to manage it for you.
Read Dave Becker's full review
January 18, 2020
Alec Dibble | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manger is used across the public-facing web properties to manage web tagging/pixel placement in production and staging. It allows you to dynamically install tags and disable them without having to push new code. It has a lot of customizability but some of it still needs coding integrations and pre-planning to work smoothly. With proper setup and training, a non-coder, like someone on a marketing team, should be able to add new website tags themselves using Google Tag Manager.
  • Google Tag Manager makes it really easy to view and manage all of your third-party marketing tags/pixels in one place.
  • Google Tag Manager allows non-coders to easily implement new marketing and ad tracking services that rely on web pixels or trackers.
  • It does a poor job of letting you create separate staging/dev environments. It requires a lot of setup and could be much smoother and integrated into the experience.
  • Even with the debugger, it can be really tough to see values that have been passed from your backend into the scripts.
I think Google Tag Manager is a good fit for any company that utilizes several marketing, ad and/or analytic services. Once it is set up correctly, it minimizes the engineering effort to do pixel/tag implementation. It also is much easier to audit tags in Google Tag Manager vs spread out across a codebase.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
December 20, 2019
Nathan Cavicchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used at the most basic level to keep all of our pixels and firing actions in one place along with allowing us to control when and how they fire on a page. We use this repo as a great place for pixel audits to keep page load speed as fast as we can. Recently we have started using Google Tag Manager for click tracking on Google Analytics goals.
  • Version control of pixels
  • Easy to use
  • Help text
  • Visual representation of firing
Small to large--if you have a web property, using Google Tag Manager will speed up your process. Even if you just have Google Analytics firing, you will need to add more later. Also, if you just have Google Analytics, you can more easily customize it and deploy quickly.
Read Nathan Cavicchi's full review
December 17, 2019
Wadie Aroua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Essentially we use Google Tag Manager to get better data in Google Analytics. We have over 100 sites for different purposes. So, Google Tag Manager helps us in tracking purchase events, how much time users spend, on which product pages, how many downloads per day, etc. With GTM we get more benefit from Google Analytics.
  • Free
  • Codeless
  • It 's too complicated for beginners.
For a marketer like me, it's a magic tool that gives me all the data I need to make decisions and get better results. I don't need a developer--I do everything myself. All I have to do is insert snippets of code. Of course, I have to define events, variables, and tags
Read Wadie Aroua's full review
December 17, 2019
Tomer Nuni | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Google Tag Manager throughout all of our customers' websites for tracking, analytics, and various integrations of other tracking technologies (such as Facebook for example).
  • Tracks Performance
  • Tracks Conversions
  • Onboarding process is a bit tricky.
  • Google should release an official WordPress plugin for integration.
It's a must in every website (even a simple landing page).
Read Tomer Nuni's full review
January 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag manager is used to manage all tags implemented on our multiple websites and apps. It allows for one piece of code to be embedded by the devs in sites and apps, and then other users can manage, monitor and implement tags allowing for integrations with a host of others applications and platforms. It should be a foundational part of any website or app implementation.
  • Tag, triggering and event handling for 3rd party apps on your site
  • One platform to manage all applications with tags on your site and apps
  • Sometimes it requires some research to know how to handle a particular use-case
  • Event handling and different scenarios can sometimes be difficult to understand
Google Tag Manager (GTM) is essential for any business with websites or apps. It is one source to handle deployment, monitoring and troubleshooting of having 3rd party platforms collecting data or interacting with your website. For example, Google Analytics, Adwords, Facebook Pixel integration, LinkedIn integration, Hotjar, and the list goes on and on.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager (GTM) is used as the preferred tag management system that our company recommends like to use. It allows us to place and customize variables, triggers for clients to help manage marketing performance and analytics. A high level overview of how all three of these live within GTM are as follows: Tags are snippets of Javascript or tracking pixels; Triggers tell GTM when or how to fire a tag; Variables are additional information GTM may need for the tag and trigger to work.

A huge benefit of using GTM is that it's a Google product so implementation of GCM (Google Campaign Manager) and GA (Google Analytics) makes it a seamless process.
  • GTM allows you to customize the data that feeds direct to Google Analytics.
  • Houses all 3p code in one place, rather than having to hard code data directly on the site.
  • GTM has a preview and debug feature which allows you to see what's implementing properly and makes for a much easier QA.
  • Although GTM is a Google product, it still works with non-Google product suite.
  • Although you don't have to be a web developer to use GTM, it still requires some training and expertise. It's not necessarily a platform you can pick up instantly however there are many resources and training guides online to help you along the way.
  • Implementing GTM across a site is the process that requires some web developer expertise.
GTM is well suited for companies that are running paid media. This allows each channel or partner to have the same key performance indicators that can be found on the site. This is especially relevant to advertisers running SEO and Display media as those pixels can be directly implemented within the GTM.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital strategist at a web company, one of my many roles is ensuring the websites we manage have strong conversion points. One way I am able to help manage this is through using Google Tag Manager to set up unique triggers and tags that provide analytics for how users are interacting with the website.
  • Google Tag Manager integrates with other Google reporting platforms well such as Google Analytics.
  • The platform offers an incredibly wide variety of things to track.
  • Google Tag Manager offers little guidance within the tool. I often have to refer to outside guides or walk-throughs each time I set up a new feature.
  • There is a steep learning curve.
  • Difficult to test and manage if you have to rely on another webmaster or third-party to implement any code changes.
As cumbersome as Tag Manager can be at times, it's really a great tool for tracking specific items on a website. If any of your KPIs have to do with web performance, this tool is a must in order to point to success and measure results well. It takes a bit of getting used to but it's extremely helpful to see how users are interacting with the site.
Read this authenticated review
July 18, 2019
Meredith Walter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used by our company for Data Layer activity management, marketing pixel management/placement, and other pixel or event activities.
  • GTM has fantastic governance for users with even an approval option
  • GTM is extremely user friend with fantastic UX that is easy to pick up on
  • GTM is extremely easy to "install" and use
  • GTM works fantastic with GA
  • I'd love to see more ways to keep the container "clean" - i.e. a way to see which pixels haven't fired recently or maybe the date the last time a pixel fired.
  • Easier way to view tags in the container - maybe a filter button on tag type?
  • Easier account organization, where if needed, we could move one container from one account to another.
I think GTM is well suited for anyone using Google Analytics. That goes for large corporations all the way to small businesses. It's a fantastic tool to easily place/remove marketing pixels, create GA events, etc.
Read Meredith Walter's full review
June 27, 2019
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to track everything from floodlight tags, events, exclusions and so on. I regularly review our site content to look for opportunities to add additional tags for improved reporting to our search, marketing, and social teams. When requested by those team I'll add tagging to new content sections or existing sections that are lacking the tracking they want to help answer business questions and enhance user experience.
  • Ease of use!
  • No need to involve IT so we can add and update tags in a timely fashion.
  • Since it's part of the Google Suite, it's very reliable.
  • It can be used for variety of tagging options.
  • The learning curve for beginners can be steep.
  • Anyone with access to your GTM account can make changes so you have to be diligent about who has access and the type of access they have.
  • It helps to have an understanding of the data layer and what it represents to better understand how you use GTM.
Google Tag Manager basically takes all the tags that are normally put within the page source and pools them all in one central place and then deploys them according to rules. Think of Google Tag Manager (GTM) as a taxi dispatcher; where the taxi(es) are the tags and the destinations are the various platforms. So as a user’s request goes in, GTM sends the taxi(es) to the various destinations (platforms) including Google Analytics, AdWords, Linkedin, or even other third-party tags. GTM (Taxi Dispatcher) knows where the destinations (Platforms) are and has all the info it needs to get each taxi (tag) to fire and what driver to send to that location (Platform).
Read Richard Perroset's full review
May 22, 2019
Ellen Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Add tags without a dev team! What a dream for small e-commerce teams. Though this is a very powerful tool, which can sometimes be dangerous, I love that Google has an easy way for Analytics users to tag their sites. Though some technical knowledge is required (knowing what the DOM is, about what the data layer is, and how triggers, tags & variables work together), this is a very easy, straight-forward interface for tag implementation.
  • Tags custom events with ease, tracking clicks and form submissions.
  • VERSIONING! Yes, thank you very much! The ability to revert if something breaks once pushed to prod.
  • Collaboration between teams, and adding users and permissions, is easy.
  • The debugger tool could be improved.
  • Bring back the classes/certification! Google removed this from the academy last year.
  • More hand-holding for custom variables and tracking. I've hit a few roadblocks since I don't know Javascript.
For small eCommerce teams that don't have a full dev team for support, this product is your friend. Stop waiting on the dev team to tag something or implement a pixel, use GTM! I am such a fan after understanding the capabilities and the red tape it eliminates. Get your work done faster, just invest the time to learn this product.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
October 19, 2018
Santiago Valdés | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tag Manager in the marketing department, but we do it in conjunction with the technology department.
GTM makes it extremely easy to add code to the site, which can be extremely useful if you want to add a tracker, snippet or something related to a marketing, tracking, analytics or similar software (Adwords, Facebook Ads, Email marketing, Hotjar, Analytics, etc.)
Before GTM you had to add the code yourself to the site, which (1) can be very slow depending on your org bureaucracy or technology department and (2) can be way more inefficient that doing it with GTM, because it optimizes the code to keep it smaller.
This way you can be very agile from a marketing perspective without wasting time on technical issues.
  • Selecting elements on a site [object, class, cookie, etc] (to later fire an event, send some data, etc) is very easy with triggers. Want to add an event when someone clicks on a button? Super easy. It was many many DOM selectors and you can even add custom functions if you need to do something more specific
  • In general, firing events in different circumstances is very easy mixing triggers and tags. You can track almost any element of the DOM and do whatever you want with it.
  • Testing is a great functionality. Only you can see what's on the site and you can debug it easily by seeing which events or tags were triggered and all the DOM elements involved (and why they matched the trigger).
  • Working in environments (staging, production) and versioning is easy to do, deploying changes in 2 clicks.
  • For someone who's just starting, it can be overwhelming to understand how it works. Onboarding is not easy and even thought it has improved a lot since it started, still has a way to go so you can actually understand what's going on.
  • Documentation is very poor and generally you are on your own if it doesn't work right. Try searching for GTM gurus like Simo Ahava or ask forums, but general use cases or more docs don't exist.
  • Debugging is a bit hard. Even thought you have the test functionality (which is useful) in some cases when you reload the page or the action takes you to another page (form submit, redirect, etc) it can be hard to debug.
If you have a marketing department that wants to be agile and measure valuable goals for your company, then GTM is the way to go.
You will be able to track almost any event of value that you want on the site (without adding any extra code, thanks to auto-event listener), add new marketing tools if needed in minutes and send events to multiple platforms.
This has huge value for your company if you think about it: measuring your efforts quickly and changing course if it is not working can save tons of money. I believe almost anyone who has a site on the internet can benefit from it because of how much time it saves (considering it's even free!).

Just beware: GTM opens the door so you can add any piece of code you want. Someone without much experience can overload the site or affect site speed.
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
September 27, 2018
J.P. VanderLinden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GTM makes creating scalable, repeatable analytics setups much easier for franchises. It's also great for marketers who want to be more nimble and not be locked behind IT or engineering to get new systems or optimizations deployed. We keep a standard implementation for those just getting started using GTM with easily swappable variables, and then layer on additional tracking / prompts / software tags as needed.
  • Code injection is simplified with Tag Manager. Facebook Pixel, Google Analytics, Marketo Munchkin, HubSpot tracking, Hotjar, CallRail, the list goes on. One stop, no constantly bugging the devs to install new code.
  • Need to track onsite events? Build a single listener or trigger, and apply that trigger to countless different applications. A user form fill can trigger an AdWords and Facebook conversion, tag a Hotjar recording, signal deployment of a pop-up or just about anything else javascript-driven.
  • GTM is basically coding light. For non-developers who might be terrified of GitHub, it makes features like version control, forking/branches and draft / deploy mode approachable.
  • There are several good integrations, but there can always be more. Native tracking for call tracking solutions, analytics providers, non-Google advertisers would be top of my list.
  • Documentation is just dreadful. Luckily there are some awesome folks out there doing crowdsourced tutorials (shout out to Simo Ahava) but by and large the Google Tag Manager instructions are worth what you pay for them.
If your site has been using plugins to inject tracking or javascript deployment, they are likely adding unnecessary bloat. If the lag time to get new tracking in place feels like an Ice Age because marketers have to talk to developers and then get in line, there's a faster way. If you want to have a single place to check for whether tracking is installed that ISN'T the source code, GTM is your friend.

And you can't beat the price.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
May 18, 2018
Ben Rubenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager within our business unit to streamline our analytics implementation across multiple websites and environments (staging and production) and to track conversions and user engagement. We were previously using standard Google Analytics to do this tracking but were looking for Tag Manager to be able to more easily make adjustments without having to access/customize site code. GTM is being used by at least one other business unit in our organization, but we have separate implementations.
  • Flexibility. We can create one analytics tag that can apply to multiple sites with a single click. This saves a lot of time when we want to make a minor tweak that applies to, say, our marketing website and our application site.
  • Testing. It's very simple to preview whether a tag has been implemented properly - just visit a page, and you can easily see whether the right tags are firing using the Debug tool. I use this regularly to flag potential issues.
  • Integrations. The ability to add things like Adwords and Facebook Pixel directly to sites using GTM is nice - it enables us to have a single place to store that information rather than having multiple versions of code floating around, which we might forget to update if something changes.
  • Ease of creation. The templated system for creating variables, triggers, and tags makes the setup process fairly simple (even if there is a learning curve).
  • While it's nice to be able to create one tag and apply it across multiple sites or page types, sometimes it's almost too easy to do that. I've run into some situations where we were tracking pageviews in multiple properties mistakenly because the tag was too broadly applied. This is something I'd like to be able to flag more easily. In order to get the kind of granularity we require, it can be necessary to create multiple versions of the same tag, applied to different environments, which creates the possibility for error if our naming structure is not consistent.
  • Messaging is not always clear. Occasionally we'll see a message saying that a bunch of changes has been made (for example when publishing a new version), but it's not immediately clear what those changes are. It would be nice to be able to see a detailed rundown of version changes at any given time, and what pages are affected by those changes.
I think GTM is particularly well-suited for organizations that run multiple sites and have an interest in managing to track across and between those properties. It makes tracking across domains much simpler than the standard Google Analytics setup. It might not be worthwhile to switch to GTM if you run a single site or don't have plans to implement detailed user engagement that requires a lot of custom code.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review
January 04, 2019
Josh Randall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to implement many tracking codes across our website. Saves a ton of time not having to update code.
  • It allows for super easy implementation of various code tags.
  • You can easily add new tags or disable old tags no longer needed.
  • You can implement tags site-wide or just on certain pages.
  • I haven't come across any problems with using Google Tag Manager to date.
My only use of Google Tag Manager has been for implementing tags on a website and it works very well for that.
Read Josh Randall's full review
August 09, 2018
Justin Angelson, Digital and AI Solution Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager for our own businesses, as well as client businesses so simply the creation, implementation, and optimization of remarketing/retargeting and other tracking pixels in one place, across all channels. Once deployed inside of their specific containers, it's easy to make any changes needed, quickly and then deploy them fast.
  • Separate containers for different sites and different pixels on those sites
  • One consolidated dashboard and login to manage multiple properties, containers, and tags
  • Ease of use and access
  • There is a little bit of a learning curve to get GTM up and running, even with a tech background.
  • There interface could be a little more user-friendly.
  • The interface could be more clearly labeled upfront to make sure it's super easy to tell what's what.
In general Google Tag Manager is well suited to help marketing professionals manager their tracking pixels for Adwords, Analytics, Remarketing, and other tracking pixels, easily and in one place. It lets you get the tags/pixels created and deployed live onto the websites without having a lot of time taken up by any coding or development professionals.
Read Justin Angelson, Digital and AI Solution Expert's full review
July 27, 2018
Dylan Redd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in my department. We use Google Tag Manager to handle any third-party integration with our clients' websites, such as AdWords or Facebook. Tag Manager keeps all tracking codes and implementation clean and organized, and keeps the code off if the site so it loads faster.
  • Well organized and easy to see what has been created
  • We can manage all of our clients accounts from one dashboard
  • Easily integrates with other Google services
  • There is a steep learning curve when it comes to learning how to set up and integrate different services.
  • The help tips are vague and unhelpful
Tag Manager is great for any website, especially if you are integrating a variety of different services into your website. When using tag Manager you don't have to dig through code to figure out where a snippet of code is hiding. It is all organized and labeled.
Read Dylan Redd's full review
July 27, 2018
JC Matthews | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Google Tag Manager across my whole website. It allows me to track all the data points for managing customer acquisition cost as well as determining how good a specific campaign is doing and what expectations on a monthly basis I should be looking for on each specific product that we offer. Since we offer several different insurance products (around 10) we're able to use Google Tag Manager to tag each specific link that a customer may click through in order to purchase a product.
  • Google Tag Manager allows you to track specific links very well
  • Google Tag Manager allows you to track clicks on HTML data such as forms
  • Google Tag Manager allows you to have multiple triggers for specific tags
  • Better training on how to use the product
Google Tag Manager is well suited for service and e-commerce businesses scenarios like tracking specific data especially for specific products tracking click-through rates as well as sales. I will say is less appropriate if you don't have a large number of things to track or a much smaller business is starting off you might want to try and outside tracking system because it is extremely complicated.
Read JC Matthews's full review
July 23, 2018
Bobby Stemper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is being used to track website behavior and simplify the deployment process for website javascript, event tracking, and essential third-party integrations. It solves the business problem of needing engineers to assist in website development, marketing analytics, and other business side projects necessary to understanding how our customers, leads, and visitors interact with our various web-based applications and websites.
  • Super easy implementation
  • Great guides and documentation available
  • Awesome tool that helps marketers acquire more technical skills
  • Potentially dangerous tool to give access to non-technical marketers
  • Educational resources could be more specifics
  • WordPress implementation could be easier
Google Tag Manager removes the need for deprecated documentation or anything complicated that your company would lose track of. It replaces a lot of unnecessary back-and-forth between different teams within a business. It lets marketing work more independently of the rest of the company and allows for quick iterations and quick fixes. It also is really helpful if you have clients that use it because permission sharing is great.
Read Bobby Stemper's full review
July 16, 2018
Stefanie Cash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager (GTM) to track users on our site based off of campaign/programs we have running. It is managed by one department, marketing, but benefits the whole organization. It allows us to track users within our site and figure out what is the most effective digital advertisement.
  • Allows for tracking of users
  • Can activate triggers for defining when tags are executed
  • Easy interface and setup
  • Help section could be more in-depth
GTM is an easy solution for tracking users and measuring digital advertising.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (45)
9.1
Tag library (50)
8.9
Tag variable mapping (46)
8.1
Ease of writing custom tags (54)
7.7
Rules-driven tag execution (50)
8.3
Tag performance monitoring (47)
8.2
Improved page load times (41)
8.2
Mobile app tagging (27)
7.1
Library of JavaScript extensions (31)
7.4
Event tracking (53)
9.7
Mobile event tracking (38)
8.9
Data distribution management (33)
8.5
Universal data layer (47)
8.8
Automated error checking (39)
6.8

What is Google Tag Manager?

From Google, the Google Tag Manager is a tag management application that facilitates creating, embedding, and updating tags across websites and mobile apps, thus gaining the benefits of data standardization and speed of deployment. Google touts an agency friendly system with multiple user access, and tools to improve tags performance like debugging, and rules, macros or automated tag firing. The Google Tag Manager also integrates with Google product DoubleClick. Moreover, Google Tag Manager is free.
Categories:  Tag Management

Google Tag Manager Integrations

Google Tag Manager Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Tag Manager?

From Google, the Google Tag Manager is a tag management application that facilitates creating, embedding, and updating tags across websites and mobile apps, thus gaining the benefits of data standardization and speed of deployment. Google touts an agency friendly system with multiple user access, and tools to improve tags performance like debugging, and rules, macros or automated tag firing. The Google Tag Manager also integrates with Google product DoubleClick. Moreover, Google Tag Manager is free.

What is Google Tag Manager's best feature?

Reviewers rate Event tracking highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Google Tag Manager?

The most common users of Google Tag Manager are from Mid-size Companies and the Marketing & Advertising industry.