Google Tag Manager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
170 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Quick and Easy Tags

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used in the SEM department at my company for an easy way to track CDRS and revenue. My company builds and tracks websites for hotels and with Google Tag Manager we are able to implement a tag on their booking engine to see if a visitor has not only gone to that page but if they booked a room.
  • Shows us CDRS for our websites so we can report back to our clients on how well they're doing.
  • Shows us the revenue we got from the visitor.
  • Sometimes you have to play around with the code for it to work.
  • I've had it not be compatible with websites and not even firing.
If you or a client are wondering how well your website is performing and how much revenue you're getting from visitors on your website then Google Tag Manager is a great product for you. This is a quick and easy way to track revenue and CDRS. The only reason a person wouldn't be able to use this is if they didn't have access to the back end of a website to implement the code.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Google Tag Manager lets you track custom events on your website without having to change your website code.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The problem was that we wanted to track specific button clicks that users made on our website which was not naturally picked up by Google Analytics. We did not want to change the code on the website. We decided to use Google Tags to implement this tracking. Now we can successfully track our conversions as it is reported in Google Analytics.
  • Easy interface. The work environment where you set up tags is intuitive to me as it is arranged logically. Very easy for someone that has a programming background to understand the flow.
  • Useful testing feature. After you have created your tags, you can open your website and start clicking around. The tag manager has a testing screen that comes up and you can see live which tags are getting fired.
  • Step by step tutorial/guide for those new to the environment. I know I had to Google a bit and used someone else's blog to figure out how to set up some of the Facebook tags.
When you want to track certain events happening on your website that is not being captured by Google Analytics already, then Tag Manager is the answer. Especially if you do not want to edit your website code. We use Shopify to host our website and did not have the capacity to hire a code developer, so it was a very good solution.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Excellent Tag Manager With a Learning Curve

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to enable the use of tracking pixels from various sources on our website. Our website was developed and coded by an agency, so Google Tag Manager allows us to integrate these codes without having to edit or modify the coding of the site. We can then track user behavior concerning our business.
  • Google Tag Manager allows you to see the source of incoming traffic to your site and track their behavior (make purchases, abandon carts, etc.)
  • We can implement Google Tag Manager in-house, so we don't need to pay our developer to make changes or edit code for us, saving us money.
  • Google Tag Manager is easier to use than coding a website, but you still need to have some technical knowledge.
  • As someone with fundamental coding knowledge, if you set up a tag incorrectly, it can take a long time to figure out why the tag isn't working properly.
If you have the time to learn what Google Tag Manager can do, and know some technical coding info or are willing to learn, it is a great solution to implement tracking pixels. If that doesn't sound like you or if you have tried in the past and can't get it, you might want to hire someone to manage it for you.
Read Dave Becker's full review
Alec Dibble | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Google Tag Manager is a solid choice for web tag management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manger is used across the public-facing web properties to manage web tagging/pixel placement in production and staging. It allows you to dynamically install tags and disable them without having to push new code. It has a lot of customizability but some of it still needs coding integrations and pre-planning to work smoothly. With proper setup and training, a non-coder, like someone on a marketing team, should be able to add new website tags themselves using Google Tag Manager.
  • Google Tag Manager makes it really easy to view and manage all of your third-party marketing tags/pixels in one place.
  • Google Tag Manager allows non-coders to easily implement new marketing and ad tracking services that rely on web pixels or trackers.
  • It does a poor job of letting you create separate staging/dev environments. It requires a lot of setup and could be much smoother and integrated into the experience.
  • Even with the debugger, it can be really tough to see values that have been passed from your backend into the scripts.
I think Google Tag Manager is a good fit for any company that utilizes several marketing, ad and/or analytic services. Once it is set up correctly, it minimizes the engineering effort to do pixel/tag implementation. It also is much easier to audit tags in Google Tag Manager vs spread out across a codebase.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
Nathan Cavicchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

GTM is the standard for a reason

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used at the most basic level to keep all of our pixels and firing actions in one place along with allowing us to control when and how they fire on a page. We use this repo as a great place for pixel audits to keep page load speed as fast as we can. Recently we have started using Google Tag Manager for click tracking on Google Analytics goals.
  • Version control of pixels
  • Easy to use
  • Help text
  • Visual representation of firing
Small to large--if you have a web property, using Google Tag Manager will speed up your process. Even if you just have Google Analytics firing, you will need to add more later. Also, if you just have Google Analytics, you can more easily customize it and deploy quickly.
Read Nathan Cavicchi's full review
Wadie Aroua | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Reasons You Should Use Google Tag Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Essentially we use Google Tag Manager to get better data in Google Analytics. We have over 100 sites for different purposes. So, Google Tag Manager helps us in tracking purchase events, how much time users spend, on which product pages, how many downloads per day, etc. With GTM we get more benefit from Google Analytics.
  • Free
  • Codeless
  • It 's too complicated for beginners.
For a marketer like me, it's a magic tool that gives me all the data I need to make decisions and get better results. I don't need a developer--I do everything myself. All I have to do is insert snippets of code. Of course, I have to define events, variables, and tags
Read Wadie Aroua's full review
Tomer Nuni | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

The Best All-In-One Google Tracking Solution On The Market!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Google Tag Manager throughout all of our customers' websites for tracking, analytics, and various integrations of other tracking technologies (such as Facebook for example).
  • Tracks Performance
  • Tracks Conversions
  • Onboarding process is a bit tricky.
  • Google should release an official WordPress plugin for integration.
It's a must in every website (even a simple landing page).
Read Tomer Nuni's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Google Tag Manager needs to be part of the foundation of any website or app

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag manager is used to manage all tags implemented on our multiple websites and apps. It allows for one piece of code to be embedded by the devs in sites and apps, and then other users can manage, monitor and implement tags allowing for integrations with a host of others applications and platforms. It should be a foundational part of any website or app implementation.
  • Tag, triggering and event handling for 3rd party apps on your site
  • One platform to manage all applications with tags on your site and apps
  • Sometimes it requires some research to know how to handle a particular use-case
  • Event handling and different scenarios can sometimes be difficult to understand
Google Tag Manager (GTM) is essential for any business with websites or apps. It is one source to handle deployment, monitoring and troubleshooting of having 3rd party platforms collecting data or interacting with your website. For example, Google Analytics, Adwords, Facebook Pixel integration, LinkedIn integration, Hotjar, and the list goes on and on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Google Tag Manager (GTM) Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager (GTM) is used as the preferred tag management system that our company recommends like to use. It allows us to place and customize variables, triggers for clients to help manage marketing performance and analytics. A high level overview of how all three of these live within GTM are as follows: Tags are snippets of Javascript or tracking pixels; Triggers tell GTM when or how to fire a tag; Variables are additional information GTM may need for the tag and trigger to work.

A huge benefit of using GTM is that it's a Google product so implementation of GCM (Google Campaign Manager) and GA (Google Analytics) makes it a seamless process.
  • GTM allows you to customize the data that feeds direct to Google Analytics.
  • Houses all 3p code in one place, rather than having to hard code data directly on the site.
  • GTM has a preview and debug feature which allows you to see what's implementing properly and makes for a much easier QA.
  • Although GTM is a Google product, it still works with non-Google product suite.
  • Although you don't have to be a web developer to use GTM, it still requires some training and expertise. It's not necessarily a platform you can pick up instantly however there are many resources and training guides online to help you along the way.
  • Implementing GTM across a site is the process that requires some web developer expertise.
GTM is well suited for companies that are running paid media. This allows each channel or partner to have the same key performance indicators that can be found on the site. This is especially relevant to advertisers running SEO and Display media as those pixels can be directly implemented within the GTM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Google Tag Manager Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital strategist at a web company, one of my many roles is ensuring the websites we manage have strong conversion points. One way I am able to help manage this is through using Google Tag Manager to set up unique triggers and tags that provide analytics for how users are interacting with the website.
  • Google Tag Manager integrates with other Google reporting platforms well such as Google Analytics.
  • The platform offers an incredibly wide variety of things to track.
  • Google Tag Manager offers little guidance within the tool. I often have to refer to outside guides or walk-throughs each time I set up a new feature.
  • There is a steep learning curve.
  • Difficult to test and manage if you have to rely on another webmaster or third-party to implement any code changes.
As cumbersome as Tag Manager can be at times, it's really a great tool for tracking specific items on a website. If any of your KPIs have to do with web performance, this tool is a must in order to point to success and measure results well. It takes a bit of getting used to but it's extremely helpful to see how users are interacting with the site.
Read this authenticated review
Meredith Walter | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Fantastic tool all GA users should use!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used by our company for Data Layer activity management, marketing pixel management/placement, and other pixel or event activities.
  • GTM has fantastic governance for users with even an approval option
  • GTM is extremely user friend with fantastic UX that is easy to pick up on
  • GTM is extremely easy to "install" and use
  • GTM works fantastic with GA
  • I'd love to see more ways to keep the container "clean" - i.e. a way to see which pixels haven't fired recently or maybe the date the last time a pixel fired.
  • Easier way to view tags in the container - maybe a filter button on tag type?
  • Easier account organization, where if needed, we could move one container from one account to another.
I think GTM is well suited for anyone using Google Analytics. That goes for large corporations all the way to small businesses. It's a fantastic tool to easily place/remove marketing pixels, create GA events, etc.
Read Meredith Walter's full review
Travis Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

This is the tracking tool you need to be using

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web developer, we have utilized Google Tag Manager on multiple website projects. Rather than just doing the bare minimum (Google Analytics), Google Tag Manager allows you to go beyond just page tracking, to get a more in-depth view of how users are interacting with your site. Things, such as interactions on a page, become tracked and your data is taken to the next level.
  • Tracking beyond page-views.
  • Good for non-developers to implement.
  • Provides greater analytic opportunities.
  • Great test capability.
  • Like anything, it definitely takes some experience to be comfortable.
  • Not a lot of Google tutorials that are on target (plenty of non-Google content).
If you aren't using Google Tag Manager when you are creating a site and implementing analytics, you are doing yourself a disservice. This is a free tool that I believe is not used more, because either people don't know or they are too intimidated by the startup. However, when you push through, you see how valuable this tool becomes and how much more it opens up your data for analysis.
Read Travis Brown's full review
Richard Perroset | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

Google Tag Manager Sets You Free from IT!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to track everything from floodlight tags, events, exclusions and so on. I regularly review our site content to look for opportunities to add additional tags for improved reporting to our search, marketing, and social teams. When requested by those team I'll add tagging to new content sections or existing sections that are lacking the tracking they want to help answer business questions and enhance user experience.
  • Ease of use!
  • No need to involve IT so we can add and update tags in a timely fashion.
  • Since it's part of the Google Suite, it's very reliable.
  • It can be used for variety of tagging options.
  • The learning curve for beginners can be steep.
  • Anyone with access to your GTM account can make changes so you have to be diligent about who has access and the type of access they have.
  • It helps to have an understanding of the data layer and what it represents to better understand how you use GTM.
Google Tag Manager basically takes all the tags that are normally put within the page source and pools them all in one central place and then deploys them according to rules. Think of Google Tag Manager (GTM) as a taxi dispatcher; where the taxi(es) are the tags and the destinations are the various platforms. So as a user’s request goes in, GTM sends the taxi(es) to the various destinations (platforms) including Google Analytics, AdWords, Linkedin, or even other third-party tags. GTM (Taxi Dispatcher) knows where the destinations (Platforms) are and has all the info it needs to get each taxi (tag) to fire and what driver to send to that location (Platform).
Read Richard Perroset's full review
Ellen Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

A very handy tool, but also very powerful, which can be dangerous for beginners

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Add tags without a dev team! What a dream for small e-commerce teams. Though this is a very powerful tool, which can sometimes be dangerous, I love that Google has an easy way for Analytics users to tag their sites. Though some technical knowledge is required (knowing what the DOM is, about what the data layer is, and how triggers, tags & variables work together), this is a very easy, straight-forward interface for tag implementation.
  • Tags custom events with ease, tracking clicks and form submissions.
  • VERSIONING! Yes, thank you very much! The ability to revert if something breaks once pushed to prod.
  • Collaboration between teams, and adding users and permissions, is easy.
  • The debugger tool could be improved.
  • Bring back the classes/certification! Google removed this from the academy last year.
  • More hand-holding for custom variables and tracking. I've hit a few roadblocks since I don't know Javascript.
For small eCommerce teams that don't have a full dev team for support, this product is your friend. Stop waiting on the dev team to tag something or implement a pixel, use GTM! I am such a fan after understanding the capabilities and the red tape it eliminates. Get your work done faster, just invest the time to learn this product.
Read Ellen Evans's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Google Tag Manager is a great tag managing solution for less complex websites and tagging needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage a portfolio of 50+ independent websites and utilize Google Analytics (GA) as our primary web analytics tool. Due to the large number of sites and already being a GA user, we decided to implement Google Tag Manager as our tag management solution so that we could better integrate with GA and have a free tag management solution that wouldn't cripple us financially.
Google Tag Manager solves our needs of managing marketing tags and reducing IT needs around deployments for tracking snippets, and it's free!
  • Google Tag Manager integrates with other Google tools (Analytics, Ads) very easily.
  • Google Tag Manager meets the standard requirements of tag management software, and while it isn't the most feature-rich option out there, it really does get the job done!
  • Google Tag Manager is great for less sophisticated tagging/rules, such as for websites that are smaller and less complex (which most of ours are).
  • Google Tag Manager doesn't offer a very streamlined interface for organizing and categorizing tags.
  • It can be difficult (or inefficient) when managing many sites in the same Google Tag Manager account, since it isn't easy to copy tags to other accounts.
  • Google Tag Manager isn't as full-featured or robust as other tag management software, so I'd be somewhat concerned using it for more complex tagging and management.
Google Tag Manager is a great tool for marketing and analytics teams, which empowers them to implement and manage a wide variety of tracking scripts. It also removes the need for IT support for deployments (as any tag management software should help do).
Google Tag Manager is great for basic and moderate level tagging, but I would caution against using for more complex tagging, and would consider looking at a paid provider instead.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2019

Tired of hard-coding scripts and events? Try Google Tag Manager!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager is used by our Marketing team in order to easily implement event tracking and to serve advertising pixels on our website.
  • Event tracking. Google Tag Manager makes setting up Google Analytics events much easier than before.
  • Serving third-party tracking scripts. Just upload to GTM and it's on your website.
  • Easily able to revert to previous versions if new configurations are causing issues.
  • GTM needs a guide to implementing GA Event Tracking.
  • Sometimes when Google Analytics script is served through GTM, ecommerce doesn't track correctly.
Google Tag Manager is great if you have several tracking scripts you want to use (Google Analytics, Google Ads, Bing Ads, etc) but you don't necessarily want to hard-code those scripts onto your website. Additionally, Google Tag Manager makes event tracking much easier than alternate methods.
Read this authenticated review
Santiago Valdés | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

GTM gives speed and tools to really increase your ROI (for free!)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tag Manager in the marketing department, but we do it in conjunction with the technology department.
GTM makes it extremely easy to add code to the site, which can be extremely useful if you want to add a tracker, snippet or something related to a marketing, tracking, analytics or similar software (Adwords, Facebook Ads, Email marketing, Hotjar, Analytics, etc.)
Before GTM you had to add the code yourself to the site, which (1) can be very slow depending on your org bureaucracy or technology department and (2) can be way more inefficient that doing it with GTM, because it optimizes the code to keep it smaller.
This way you can be very agile from a marketing perspective without wasting time on technical issues.
  • Selecting elements on a site [object, class, cookie, etc] (to later fire an event, send some data, etc) is very easy with triggers. Want to add an event when someone clicks on a button? Super easy. It was many many DOM selectors and you can even add custom functions if you need to do something more specific
  • In general, firing events in different circumstances is very easy mixing triggers and tags. You can track almost any element of the DOM and do whatever you want with it.
  • Testing is a great functionality. Only you can see what's on the site and you can debug it easily by seeing which events or tags were triggered and all the DOM elements involved (and why they matched the trigger).
  • Working in environments (staging, production) and versioning is easy to do, deploying changes in 2 clicks.
  • For someone who's just starting, it can be overwhelming to understand how it works. Onboarding is not easy and even thought it has improved a lot since it started, still has a way to go so you can actually understand what's going on.
  • Documentation is very poor and generally you are on your own if it doesn't work right. Try searching for GTM gurus like Simo Ahava or ask forums, but general use cases or more docs don't exist.
  • Debugging is a bit hard. Even thought you have the test functionality (which is useful) in some cases when you reload the page or the action takes you to another page (form submit, redirect, etc) it can be hard to debug.
If you have a marketing department that wants to be agile and measure valuable goals for your company, then GTM is the way to go.
You will be able to track almost any event of value that you want on the site (without adding any extra code, thanks to auto-event listener), add new marketing tools if needed in minutes and send events to multiple platforms.
This has huge value for your company if you think about it: measuring your efforts quickly and changing course if it is not working can save tons of money. I believe almost anyone who has a site on the internet can benefit from it because of how much time it saves (considering it's even free!).

Just beware: GTM opens the door so you can add any piece of code you want. Someone without much experience can overload the site or affect site speed.
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
J.P. VanderLinden | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Fast, Lightweight, a Great Entry to Tag Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GTM makes creating scalable, repeatable analytics setups much easier for franchises. It's also great for marketers who want to be more nimble and not be locked behind IT or engineering to get new systems or optimizations deployed. We keep a standard implementation for those just getting started using GTM with easily swappable variables, and then layer on additional tracking / prompts / software tags as needed.
  • Code injection is simplified with Tag Manager. Facebook Pixel, Google Analytics, Marketo Munchkin, HubSpot tracking, Hotjar, CallRail, the list goes on. One stop, no constantly bugging the devs to install new code.
  • Need to track onsite events? Build a single listener or trigger, and apply that trigger to countless different applications. A user form fill can trigger an AdWords and Facebook conversion, tag a Hotjar recording, signal deployment of a pop-up or just about anything else javascript-driven.
  • GTM is basically coding light. For non-developers who might be terrified of GitHub, it makes features like version control, forking/branches and draft / deploy mode approachable.
  • There are several good integrations, but there can always be more. Native tracking for call tracking solutions, analytics providers, non-Google advertisers would be top of my list.
  • Documentation is just dreadful. Luckily there are some awesome folks out there doing crowdsourced tutorials (shout out to Simo Ahava) but by and large the Google Tag Manager instructions are worth what you pay for them.
If your site has been using plugins to inject tracking or javascript deployment, they are likely adding unnecessary bloat. If the lag time to get new tracking in place feels like an Ice Age because marketers have to talk to developers and then get in line, there's a faster way. If you want to have a single place to check for whether tracking is installed that ISN'T the source code, GTM is your friend.

And you can't beat the price.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
Josh Randall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2019

Google Tag Manager is a huge time saver!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager to implement many tracking codes across our website. Saves a ton of time not having to update code.
  • It allows for super easy implementation of various code tags.
  • You can easily add new tags or disable old tags no longer needed.
  • You can implement tags site-wide or just on certain pages.
  • I haven't come across any problems with using Google Tag Manager to date.
My only use of Google Tag Manager has been for implementing tags on a website and it works very well for that.
Read Josh Randall's full review
Justin Angelson, Digital and AI Solution Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2018

Google Tag Manager - Ideal Solution for Cross Platform Tags & Pixels

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager for our own businesses, as well as client businesses so simply the creation, implementation, and optimization of remarketing/retargeting and other tracking pixels in one place, across all channels. Once deployed inside of their specific containers, it's easy to make any changes needed, quickly and then deploy them fast.
  • Separate containers for different sites and different pixels on those sites
  • One consolidated dashboard and login to manage multiple properties, containers, and tags
  • Ease of use and access
  • There is a little bit of a learning curve to get GTM up and running, even with a tech background.
  • There interface could be a little more user-friendly.
  • The interface could be more clearly labeled upfront to make sure it's super easy to tell what's what.
In general Google Tag Manager is well suited to help marketing professionals manager their tracking pixels for Adwords, Analytics, Remarketing, and other tracking pixels, easily and in one place. It lets you get the tags/pixels created and deployed live onto the websites without having a lot of time taken up by any coding or development professionals.
Read Justin Angelson, Digital and AI Solution Expert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Google Tag Manager: A must have free tool for tracking!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work in a Digital Marketing agency, and Google Tag Manager (GTM) is being used across all our services (SEO, Analytics, Paid Search and Social) and with the majority of our clients.
It is a very effective tool to track clicks, campaigns, revenue, leads (etc) without the need of involving the dev team of our clients. With GTM, we can quickly tag everything ourselves, which makes us save time, email communications and let us see results almost instantly.
  • GTM does a very good job in updating their predetermined triggers. Every so often they will add a new trigger that they see is needed. For example, the latest update was a Youtube trigger, element visibility trigger and scroll depth trigger. This helps in keeping up with digital marketing trends and tracking.
  • There is a fairly good integration with other Google products like Google Analytics (of course), Google Optimize and Adwords. For example, GTM makes it easy to set up A/B testing with Optimize, since a there is a specific tag created for that.
  • Having the option to create DOM variables and using them in the tags opens a world of possibility for tagging.
  • There is no real tutorial for GTM, and the one that exists in Google Analytics academy is very basic. Google should create a library or a document that specifies how to use each of the elements available in GTM. Earlier today I was trying to use a feature for a GA tag that I've never used before, but couldn't find any information about it.
  • They are not great at integrating with Facebook. FB is one of the most popular platforms for advertising, they should have created a specific Facebook tag by now to help marketer with their tracking.
  • It's hard to connect several actions taken by the same person in 1 tag. For example, there is no easy way of tagging a multiple step action. Each tag will fire individually on each action instead of firing on conditions.
I would really recommend GTM. It's an easy-to-learn tool that can achieve great things.
I think every marketer should know how to use GTM, at least the basic concept of creating tags and triggers. There are many non-Google online tutorials and scripts that other people have already written, which makes it even easier to achieve your goal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

GTM - Get free of the release schedule

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager for Google Analytics implementation across all our domains. We aim to have all third party scripts, that do not need to be implemented in the source, added through GTM Custom HTML tag. Adding scripts through the Custom HTML tag is easy - you can publish any additions, changes or removals out of regular release cycle. Another big use-case for our company is Enhanced Ecommerce implementation, which is done 100% via GTM.
  • User roles - users can tinker around, but live publish requires admin approval
  • Version history - If users fill out the easy to use log when publishing, then version history is easy to understand and explanatory
  • Reverting changes - Easy to see the actual changes made, when the version was published and by who. Just two clicks to revert to an older version
  • Preview mode - very helpful debug mode that works on the live webpage
  • Custom HTML tags could be easier to use for not so code-savvy users. Error messages are sometimes hard to understand.
  • Integration with SPA's
Google Tag Manager is an excellent tool for adding third-party scripts. When something goes wrong with them or when they need a quick change - you don't need to wait for your next release date. Just get the fix done, check that it's working correctly with the preview mode, and publish.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

GTM saves time and simplifies advanced analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Tag Manager (GTM) is being used by our marketing team to better track customers through Google Analytics (GA) primarily and is only used by our marketing team. The integration between the two is absolutely crucial for any digital marketing team to understand and utilize. Without the use of GTM, it's incredibly difficult to do any advanced GA goal and event tracking. Due to its versatility, we're able to accurately report on our user behavior through GA in ways that we were never able to before. This allows us to better A/B test landing pages and improve our website experience for our customers.
  • Flexibility is critical. Being able to easily trigger actions on our website through Tag Manager saves me time in development and stress in the deployment of these tags. Not having to write a line of code and having the ability to trigger events on specific button clicks or scroll depth is nice, but being able to trigger events anywhere you can run a JavaScript function is incredible.
  • Ease of use. It's great to be able to safely give other members of our digital marketing team access to GTM and trust that they can successfully navigate the platform, understand what active tags are doing, and create new tags.
  • Testing and debugging. I'll also list this as a con for one small reason, but in large it's simple to test and see which tags are firing on specific page views, on button clicks, etc. Additionally, you can see every action that GTM tracks (and in turn create new tags based on those).
  • In the debugger, it can sometimes be a frustrating interface. The drawer from the bottom of the screen is large and can be frustrating to navigate. While it gives you all of the information you need and after some time you get accustomed to the organization of it, it would be nice to have a more fluid interface to debug and read the output of GTM
  • GA custom events have become more complicated with GTM. Once you understand the data layer, it is incredibly powerful, but not being able to use a simple GA Send command to push a custom event into your Analytics account is a bummer.
Any scenario in which you want to do any level of analytics on web traffic is very well suited for GTM. It can trigger third-party pixel events with custom HTML tags as well as any of the native tags that are built into the system, so it can help the less technically savvy marketer implement the solutions they historically would have to ask a webmaster or developer for help with.
Read this authenticated review
Ben Rubenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

Flexible solution for more complex website tracking

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Tag Manager within our business unit to streamline our analytics implementation across multiple websites and environments (staging and production) and to track conversions and user engagement. We were previously using standard Google Analytics to do this tracking but were looking for Tag Manager to be able to more easily make adjustments without having to access/customize site code. GTM is being used by at least one other business unit in our organization, but we have separate implementations.
  • Flexibility. We can create one analytics tag that can apply to multiple sites with a single click. This saves a lot of time when we want to make a minor tweak that applies to, say, our marketing website and our application site.
  • Testing. It's very simple to preview whether a tag has been implemented properly - just visit a page, and you can easily see whether the right tags are firing using the Debug tool. I use this regularly to flag potential issues.
  • Integrations. The ability to add things like Adwords and Facebook Pixel directly to sites using GTM is nice - it enables us to have a single place to store that information rather than having multiple versions of code floating around, which we might forget to update if something changes.
  • Ease of creation. The templated system for creating variables, triggers, and tags makes the setup process fairly simple (even if there is a learning curve).
  • While it's nice to be able to create one tag and apply it across multiple sites or page types, sometimes it's almost too easy to do that. I've run into some situations where we were tracking pageviews in multiple properties mistakenly because the tag was too broadly applied. This is something I'd like to be able to flag more easily. In order to get the kind of granularity we require, it can be necessary to create multiple versions of the same tag, applied to different environments, which creates the possibility for error if our naming structure is not consistent.
  • Messaging is not always clear. Occasionally we'll see a message saying that a bunch of changes has been made (for example when publishing a new version), but it's not immediately clear what those changes are. It would be nice to be able to see a detailed rundown of version changes at any given time, and what pages are affected by those changes.
I think GTM is particularly well-suited for organizations that run multiple sites and have an interest in managing to track across and between those properties. It makes tracking across domains much simpler than the standard Google Analytics setup. It might not be worthwhile to switch to GTM if you run a single site or don't have plans to implement detailed user engagement that requires a lot of custom code.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review
Luiz Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Reliable, Easy to use, Powerful and free!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Google Tag Manager is used to manage tags and codes in your site or app. It can be both marketing tags and other tools that are useful for your business. It is usually used by IT, marketing, or Business Intelligence area.
  • Fast learning curve
  • Friendly integration with Other Google products
  • Stable and reliable platform
  • Provide more control to all tags on your sites.
  • Ability to modify (on / off / pause) any tags very quickly, without bumping into deploys of IT area
  • Transfer modifications tags and triggers to another workpace,
  • Limited workspaces into the free version
Google Tag Manager is great for increasing agility in publishing, changing, and managing marketing tags and other tools. For an online business, that makes all the difference. It is free and has a friendly interface, and we can say that it does not take a programmer to start using it.
Read Luiz Lai's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (44)
8.9
Tag library (49)
8.6
Tag variable mapping (45)
8.6
Ease of writing custom tags (53)
7.5
Rules-driven tag execution (49)
8.3
Tag performance monitoring (47)
7.8
Improved page load times (40)
7.4
Mobile app tagging (27)
7.1
Library of JavaScript extensions (31)
7.4
Event tracking (52)
9.6
Mobile event tracking (37)
8.7
Data distribution management (32)
8.1
Universal data layer (46)
8.8
Automated error checking (39)
7.1

About Google Tag Manager

From Google, the Google Tag Manager is a tag management application that facilitates creating, embedding, and updating tags across websites and mobile apps, thus gaining the benefits of data standardization and speed of deployment. Google touts an agency friendly system with multiple user access, and tools to improve tags performance like debugging, and rules, macros or automated tag firing. The Google Tag Manager also integrates with Google product DoubleClick. Moreover, Google Tag Manager is free.
Categories:  Tag Management

Google Tag Manager Integrations

Google Tag Manager Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No