TrustRadius
GoToAssist from LogMeIn is remote administration software for IT tech support professionals, supporting remote access from any device (e.g. mobile), the ability to connect to and control unattended machines, and more. For smaller teams needing less functionality, LogMeIn offers the similar product GoToMyPC, a popular tool for remote desktop access.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/P2/rX/90T3OA4UWJDC.JPEGGoToAssist: great low impact support toolGoToAssist is a multi-faceted support software that we use for virtual tech support, meetings, and training. Our IS team plus several of our EPIC teams use this software, and we use it to help clients when in-person support is not available or practical.,It does not require users to share a network Gives access and control to either user with GoToAssist Can share one screen, one program, or the whole desktop Small install, 7-8 megabytes,Download of the client support is done via the browser, can be problematic with Firefox/Safari/Opera Because the download is done in a user's profile, if a technician needs to log into another profile [say an admin profile], the session will be suspended If your user cannot get to their email, trying to give them the URL one letter at a time is quite painful Login password changes and unlocks are done by the GoToAssist company directly, instead of in-house support, giving longer lag time between locked and use.,8,GoToAssist was a replacement for DMC, and while it didn't allow for profile changes, it allowed technicians to keep working with virtual support. From what I understand, the per-seat licenses are quite expensive. Teams often dispute which accounts belong to which team.,ServiceNow and Bomgar Remote Support Software,Applied Epic, Skype for Business, ServiceNow, Microsoft Office 2016Fast, reliable tool that your customers will love!Me and my team used GoToAssist to provide support to our users remotely. Prior to this we were using an alternative tool but we moved on to this after trying it out in a limited scope with a few of our team members. The overall feedback of those team members was very positive which led to us moving on to GoToAssist fully and ditching our previous solution. It was super easy to set up and deploy and our entire team had switched to GoToAssist within a matter of days.,It is incredibly easy to use for the people you are supporting. A lot our clients/users are limited in their knowledge of computers so it was critical that the tool we use be easy to download and run and GoToAssist did that wonderfully. We rarely had to spend time getting connected to users. The ability to reboot and automatically reconnect in safe mode was a godsend. A lot of our troubleshooting requires the end users PC to be in safe mode. GoToAssist let us trigger that remote and get connected again (without the user redoing the process) was a godsend. The in built chat was also super nice to have for some of our hearing impaired users. Normally we have to use a go between in those scenarios but since the chat exists, we could just have the go between hang up and talk to the client directly. Mac support was nice to have as well. We don't have a lot of end users on an Apple system but it was nice that GoToAssist just worked smoothly regardless of the OS or platform. File transfer was great! We sent over the required files and it uploaded in a jiffy.,We didn't use it with mobile devices too often but whenever we did it felt a little wonky. It wasn't bad but just not as good or smooth as the experience of using it on PCs. Some minor issues with admin privileges when launching the app. Again, nothing that came up too often but it was there occasionally.,9,Reduced our on call time for team members by up to 17% compared to the solution we were using. Reduced the number of repeat calls to be made for reconnection in cases of disconnection (since it auto connects so well) Increased customer satisfaction. Our users to connect to our support staff very easily leading to less frustrated and happier customers. Increased resolution rate for our support staff.,TeamViewer, LogMeIn Rescue and Bomgar Remote Support Software,LogMeIn Rescue, TeamViewer, Bomgar Remote Support SoftwareGoToAssist makes remote support simpleWe use GoToAssist for remote support of end users, so it is used only by the Desktop Support team. We have a large number of remote users spread across several countries, so effective remote support is essential. GoToAssist makes remotely accessing a user's desktop or laptop very easy, and allows us to install software, troubleshoot issues, and collect information. It is an indispensable tool in this regard.,Easy to use. GoToAssist doesn't require much training to use, and the user interface is quite intuitive. Powerful. GoToAssist is useful for software installation, troubleshooting issues, and collecting information or log files. Versatile. Whether we are assisting Windows or Mac users, GoToAssist is a very powerful support tool. It is effective whether you are working with an experienced user or a relative novice.,Cost. For smaller businesses, the cost of GoToAssist might be too high. Mobile Support. The support options for mobile devices are a lot more limited than some other solutions in this category. Date interface - The interface, while fairly intuitive, is a bit dated. It is good at what it needs to do, but could certainly use a facelift.,8,Effective Remote Support. For our company, GoToAssist was a good value for remote end user support. It worked very well for what we used it for. Reduced in-office trips. GoToAssist enabled us to keep remote machines running smoothly without necessitating costly travel or equipment shipments. It saved us a lot of money as a result. Teaching tool. GoToAssist also served as an effective teaching tool, since a junior tech could sit in and observe remote support done via GoToAssist. This helped bring our technicians up-to-speed more quickly after being on-boarded.,WebEx Support Center and UltraVNC,Microsoft Office 2016, Digital Guardian Platform, Mimecast Secure Email GatewayGoToAssist is too expensiveI mainly use GoToAssist to help technicians connect remotely to provide remote assistance.,Remote Assistance Session Tracking and Delegation for large teams Quick connectins with Chat when it works,UAC Standard permission Users can't initiate a connection High Cost,1,Gotoassist was too expensive for the amount of times we needed to use it Gotoassist was impossible to use when the end user wasn't a computer administrator We stopped using gotoassist for a cheaper feature rich support tool,Splashtop On-Demand Support, LogMeIn Rescue, TeamViewer and ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect),ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), Splashtop On-Demand Support, TeamViewerGoToAssist - Great balance of features and costWe use GoToAssist for remote support purposes. We have a large number of remote users and three satellite offices and GoToAssist makes it easy to connect with those users.,Easy to set up. It took less than an hour to have it up and running with an internal URL that our users could connect to. Makes remote support a breeze by being able to use remote technicians credentials for elevated commands. This is something our previous solutions were missing. It's very transparent for the end user and makes it easy for them to end a session or see active sessions when running.,Session management - Closing the application or just opening the application opens a session. If you work with limited session licenses, this can be problematic for the next technician that needs to use it. It's also not obvious that there are open sessions to techs, and they must rely on the admin to kick users out. It could be cheaper. Even though it wasn't the most expensive product we evaluated, it wasn't the cheapest either.,8,This saves us from making excessive trips to remote users. Prevents the need for remote users to send in problematic laptops/hardware.. Keeps us from using third party IT support companies for emergency issues.,Bomgar Remote Support Software and Skype for Business,Veeam Backup & Replication, SolarWinds Log & Event Manager, Microsoft Office 365
Unspecified
RescueAssist
60 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

RescueAssist Reviews

RescueAssist
60 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 60 vetted RescueAssist reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-18 of 18)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David Reese profile photo
June 06, 2018

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist: great low impact support tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoToAssist is a multi-faceted support software that we use for virtual tech support, meetings, and training. Our IS team plus several of our EPIC teams use this software, and we use it to help clients when in-person support is not available or practical.
  • It does not require users to share a network
  • Gives access and control to either user with GoToAssist
  • Can share one screen, one program, or the whole desktop
  • Small install, 7-8 megabytes
  • Download of the client support is done via the browser, can be problematic with Firefox/Safari/Opera
  • Because the download is done in a user's profile, if a technician needs to log into another profile [say an admin profile], the session will be suspended
  • If your user cannot get to their email, trying to give them the URL one letter at a time is quite painful
  • Login password changes and unlocks are done by the GoToAssist company directly, instead of in-house support, giving longer lag time between locked and use.
The software is great for working alongside a remote user, allowing you to see and ultimately manipulate their PC. The software is light and easily transferable from PC to PC. If one requires the ability to change profiles on the remote PC, this will not allow one to do it, just based on how the software is installed. So if you require someone's profile to be rebuilt, you will need hands-on PC or another software.
Read David Reese's full review
No photo available
September 12, 2018

RescueAssist Review: "Fast, reliable tool that your customers will love!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Me and my team used GoToAssist to provide support to our users remotely. Prior to this we were using an alternative tool but we moved on to this after trying it out in a limited scope with a few of our team members. The overall feedback of those team members was very positive which led to us moving on to GoToAssist fully and ditching our previous solution. It was super easy to set up and deploy and our entire team had switched to GoToAssist within a matter of days.
  • It is incredibly easy to use for the people you are supporting. A lot our clients/users are limited in their knowledge of computers so it was critical that the tool we use be easy to download and run and GoToAssist did that wonderfully. We rarely had to spend time getting connected to users.
  • The ability to reboot and automatically reconnect in safe mode was a godsend. A lot of our troubleshooting requires the end users PC to be in safe mode. GoToAssist let us trigger that remote and get connected again (without the user redoing the process) was a godsend.
  • The in built chat was also super nice to have for some of our hearing impaired users. Normally we have to use a go between in those scenarios but since the chat exists, we could just have the go between hang up and talk to the client directly.
  • Mac support was nice to have as well. We don't have a lot of end users on an Apple system but it was nice that GoToAssist just worked smoothly regardless of the OS or platform.
  • File transfer was great! We sent over the required files and it uploaded in a jiffy.
  • We didn't use it with mobile devices too often but whenever we did it felt a little wonky. It wasn't bad but just not as good or smooth as the experience of using it on PCs.
  • Some minor issues with admin privileges when launching the app. Again, nothing that came up too often but it was there occasionally.
Its a great tool if you support users remotely. The fact that it is easy to deploy (or have the end users connect) is a massive plus. If you provide software support to end users or are part of an IT team that helps users fix their problems this will save you a ton of time. It also works great in low bandwidth scenarios. So if your users are in remote locations with slow speed internet this will still get the job done. It is also really reliable. We faced almost no bugs or critical issues.

I would imagine it would also perform really well as a server monitoring tool. Just deploy it and you can remotely connect to the server whenever you need to.

Great tool if you need reliable, high performing remote connection.
Read this authenticated review
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
November 17, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist makes remote support simple"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GoToAssist for remote support of end users, so it is used only by the Desktop Support team. We have a large number of remote users spread across several countries, so effective remote support is essential. GoToAssist makes remotely accessing a user's desktop or laptop very easy, and allows us to install software, troubleshoot issues, and collect information. It is an indispensable tool in this regard.
  • Easy to use. GoToAssist doesn't require much training to use, and the user interface is quite intuitive.
  • Powerful. GoToAssist is useful for software installation, troubleshooting issues, and collecting information or log files.
  • Versatile. Whether we are assisting Windows or Mac users, GoToAssist is a very powerful support tool. It is effective whether you are working with an experienced user or a relative novice.
  • Cost. For smaller businesses, the cost of GoToAssist might be too high.
  • Mobile Support. The support options for mobile devices are a lot more limited than some other solutions in this category.
  • Date interface - The interface, while fairly intuitive, is a bit dated. It is good at what it needs to do, but could certainly use a facelift.
GoToAssist is a great tool for support organizations with lots of remote users to support. It works well in both Windows and OS X. We utilized a single account, shared among several technicians, for our remote support needs.

For small companies with few employees, this might be harder to budget for. It's also not the best tool for supporting machines on a local network. It works just fine for this purpose, but there are less expensive tools like VNC that might be better suited to such applications.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist is too expensive"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I mainly use GoToAssist to help technicians connect remotely to provide remote assistance.
  • Remote Assistance
  • Session Tracking and Delegation for large teams
  • Quick connectins with Chat when it works
  • UAC
  • Standard permission Users can't initiate a connection
  • High Cost
In a larger corporate environment for larger organizations requiring daily remote assistance tools, gotoassist might be a good fit. However, for smaller companies, there are better alternatives for less money.
Read this authenticated review
Randy Munroe profile photo
November 15, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist - Great balance of features and cost"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GoToAssist for remote support purposes. We have a large number of remote users and three satellite offices and GoToAssist makes it easy to connect with those users.
  • Easy to set up. It took less than an hour to have it up and running with an internal URL that our users could connect to.
  • Makes remote support a breeze by being able to use remote technicians credentials for elevated commands. This is something our previous solutions were missing.
  • It's very transparent for the end user and makes it easy for them to end a session or see active sessions when running.
  • Session management - Closing the application or just opening the application opens a session. If you work with limited session licenses, this can be problematic for the next technician that needs to use it. It's also not obvious that there are open sessions to techs, and they must rely on the admin to kick users out.
  • It could be cheaper. Even though it wasn't the most expensive product we evaluated, it wasn't the cheapest either.
We are able to use this for most problems that our remote users have. We are able to run elevated commands and fix basic issues like software installation, keychain management for Macs, VPN access problems, or general problems with software. It obviously isn't suited for users that are unable to get into their OS, where something like LogMeIn may be better.
Read Randy Munroe's full review
YagneshKumar Patel profile photo
November 15, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "IT Support via GoToAssist!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoToAssist has been a pivotal software for the company I work for. We use GoToAssist to remote into out clients' PC's to troubleshoot problems accessing various reports of our BI software. Moreover, most of our technicians can easily log-in or provide access to our clients via GoToAssist token that clients use a one-time access code to allow us to remotely log into their PCs. GoToAssist is being used across the entire organization to troubleshoot, resolve, and provide assistance regarding to business knowledge of our BI Software. The business problems I am able to resolve are: training- getting new clients on-board with our BI software, and troubleshoot- I am able to remotely access my clients' PC via GoToAssist and have access to keyboard and mouse so I can identify the issue and resolve right away.
  • Session Recording: Recently Windows update prevented our reports from being displayed since it blocks VBS scripting. My Team and I we remotely logged in to one of our client's PC who was having issue accessing the reports, we resolved the issue by changing a few settings in IE, and we recorded the session so just in case if other clients are experiencing the same issue we can send them the video directly. The recording session is very clear and I can explain as I am clicking though folders of what the process will do.
  • Fast and Secure: When a support ticket comes in, I would contact the client asking him or her to go to GoToAssist.com. Once there I can provide them with access token, I then can view the client's PC right away very fast and smooth process. Secondly, the secure channel is great to communicate with the client one on one gathering issues and resolving them right away. I have never had issue with GoToAssist software.
  • Multiple Users can access the session: When on a training call, GoToAssist can allow a max numbers of users that one session which is 8, which is great I can have as many clients in one session which is easier to go through the training modules of our BI Software.
  • The support Token or Key: Which provided expires after a certain length of time. Moreover, at times, I provide the Client with the support key via email and keep the window open, if the customers join later than usual, the support key fails and a new key has to be generated.
  • Connection Time Out: There have been cases when the connection resets while being on a call with the customer. I hope GoToAssist can resolve the issue, not a huge deal but they can make some improvements in that area.
One of the examples where GoToAssist is suited well in in the IT area, since GoToAssist may require some technical knowledge most technicians are able to use the interface and get to know all the setting options and features. While others who are not technologically advanced may have difficulties knowing how the features work in GoToAssist.
Read YagneshKumar Patel's full review
Rob Rotundo profile photo
November 14, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist - Good but not the best"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used gotoassist to remote control our client's computers when we needed to do remote support. It saves us from having to roll a tech every time there is an issue. We had about 10 techs using it and it worked well. The biggest issue it addresses is like I said, not having to roll a tech.
  • Allows for pretty much full control over the user's PC.
  • Allows to reboot and reconnect automatically.
  • Allows booting into safe mode.
  • Sometimes, it was cumbersome when trying to get a non-skilled user to connect. There were too many clicks.
  • Sometimes UAC gets in the way and it's hard to get full control.
  • Sometimes the reboot and reconnect option didn't work.
It's good for small businesses, although there are a lot of other competitors out there now. This got expensive for 10 users. Some smaller companies have cheaper alternatives. Or if you are an MSP, a lot of MSP softwares now have remote control built into their solution. It's probably more suited for a larger company.
Read Rob Rotundo's full review
Pritesh Patel profile photo
November 09, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist: Great Software Support tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoToAssist is being used by our Technical Service team. We have a few developers that use it, however, it is primarily used for Support in our company. I personally use it to get con clients machines so we can do the installs necessary for our company as well as provide support when they run into issue with our software.
  • Easy to use both for us and client.
  • File Transfer feature is very nice.
  • Can have multiple sessions open at the same time.
  • Diagnostics allows us to see all stats for the clients machine.
  • Sometimes clients have a hard time installing GoToAssist.
  • Need a better UI.
  • Unattended support is not intuitive.
  • GTA freezes sometimes when client does not have admin role and we lose keyboard and mouse control.
  • Wish it also had a call feature that can allow multiple people to call in to watch the session (mix GoToMeeting into it).
GoToAssist is a great product for a small company who is using is primarily for technical support and go get access to a computer very easily. For us, we use GTA to help us troubleshoot technical issues on Servers as well as to install or fix anything on a hotel user's personal computer. If you are looking for something that is more involved and you have a bigger company, then it might be better to go with a Bomgar type product where you can have more control on the different systems you have.
Read Pritesh Patel's full review
David Whittaker profile photo
May 23, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "Reboots into safemode - remotely"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses GoToAssist to manage the organization's workstations and assist users with a variety of technical issues. These problems can range from software questions and training to reporting errors in production applications.
  • Restarting workstations in safe mode.
  • Remotely accessing workstations to help users.
  • Collaborating with others on workstation problems.
  • Hasn't been updating the workstation status without a manual check.
  • Our GoToAssist service is based on internet access and therefore there isn't any alternate way to use GoToAssist if internet connections drop.
  • Doesn't handle multiple monitors that span different resolutions. May distort remote session.

Well suited for: Wide area network/geographically large foot print

Ill-suited for: Businesses that have poor internet connections

Read David Whittaker's full review
Julian Volpe profile photo
April 05, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist Rocks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gotoassist is being used across the whole business. We provide IT support for about 100 and users at multiple businesses. We really enjoyed the instant access we can achieve to the user's workstation to provide support for our customers. We are able to group our customers by their individual business. This makes it easy to locate a user's computer when deployed to close to 100 client PCs.
  • Provide instant access with the unattended support.
  • Gives you the ability to record a support session.
  • For all the features you get, you cannot beat the price per month.
  • The built-in chat window is a little clunky.
  • The unattended support Window keeps popping up after you finish a support session.
I can receive a work order and within seconds be connected to the end-users machine and fixing their issue. This is unbelievably valuable in today's age where instant gratification is the norm.
Read Julian Volpe's full review
Will Kosnik profile photo
March 01, 2017

RescueAssist Review: "Save Big On IT Travel Expenses With GoToAssist"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the sole user of GoToAssist in our company. As a large project construction company, we do work all around the country. I support each of our employees with their IT needs. If they are not able to come see me in office, or they are at a location where I cannot get to them (out of state or a few hours away), I am able to use GoToAssist to take remote control of their computer, and try to help them troubleshoot their issue. Also, I am able to use it to remotely set up computers for new employees, or when an employee needs a new computer.
  • Allows to have unattended access when someone is not able to be on the other end of their computer if I need to connect.
  • It allows you to save passwords for computers if you need access later.
  • It allows you to send signals to computers that may be in sleep mode and allows you to wake them up to gain access.
  • Has an app for smart phones and tablets that allows me to have full access to remote control, just as if I was at my actual workstation.
  • Not sure if it is just our plan, or if it is a part of just how GoToAssist works, but I cannot have more than 100 unattended computers set up on my account at any given time. This also creates issues where I am unable to get admin access to the computer if I run out of users.
  • I have had few issues where I try to send a connection link to a end user for me to remote in, and it just doesn't load. GoToAssist has said there have been Windows patches that cause these issues. They always fix them rather quickly.
GoToAssist is great for someone like me, where I have to connect to multiple computers on a daily basis. Sometimes I need to even connect to multiple users at a time. If someone just wanted to remote into their own computer, this would be overkill. LogMeIn Inc has a product called GoToMyPC which is made for one end user want to connect to one PC. That would be more well suited for a user that would want 1 computer connection, rather than 100.
Read Will Kosnik's full review
Lin James, CPB, SCC profile photo
August 02, 2015

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist - remote access - customer service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoToAssist allows me to access my customers computers securely to support them. They may need to know how to set up or use a Sage 50 software feature which I can show them remotely and they can get the job done immediately. They may also need me to troubleshoot for problems they may be experiencing with their Sage 50 or other software.
  • Quick access to customer computers via email links or giving them the access code over the phone.
  • Notes area where I can record the details of the remote session.
  • Reporting - I can retrieve a monthly report of all my remote sessions (including notes) which helps me monitor usage, provides billing information and allows me to save a copy of the report locally.
  • Perhaps some pop up notices on screen when waiting for a reboot to finish and reconnect.
  • I would like to know how to handle screen sharing when I want to share my screen, I haven't taken the time to explore for instructions.
  • I would like to know how to use the drawing tools, I haven't taken the time to explore for instructions.
It is well suited for situations where you need to help your customers without leaving your own office; especially valuable for quick fixes that would otherwise take you out of your office for an hour or more.

It is less appropriate for situations where you may need customer involvement and customer is not comfortable with the technology or how it works. In these cases, a site visit is better.
Read Lin James, CPB, SCC's full review
Jarrell L. Chatman profile photo
December 09, 2014

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist, it just works!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently my colleagues and I, in the IT department, use it to support users when they are remote or at times when we are. We have many laptop users at our firm that travel both inside and outside of the United States for work. It is very helpful to have the ability to assist users no matter where they are. In our new image, we will begin to deploy the unattended support portion so that we no longer have a need to send users links, but instead we can connect to their machines and rectify issues when they are not in front of their computers.
  • Being able to remotely restart a users PC and be reconnected without seamlessly is something that is particularly important at times.
  • Being able to pass off a users session to another technician is great in the sense of escalating a user problem to the correct person.
  • Very simple to use for both the technician and the user.
  • The administration web interface can be a bit cumbersome.
  • Would be nice if I had the option where I did not need to tie an account to a email address. It may work fine for companies of a tremendous size for ticketing purposes, but for my firm we just would like to use it and share 3 seats. It is not cost effective for my entire team to use a license as we will never all use it at the same time, but we could all benefit from using the product.
  • We could benefit from a scaled down version that only encompasses the remote support portion. We don't use other pieces of it like the mobile profiles portion, so if we could scale it back and get it at a cheaper cost that would be beneficial.
The best scenario for the use of this product is when you have remote users, or when the support team is remote (working from home). We demo'd this product during a planned company snow day. It worked great for my team and was the deciding factor to ask for this to be purchased for my team. Anytime you have users that have PCs that you cannot physically get to, GoToAssist is a excellent option.
Read Jarrell L. Chatman's full review
Rick Lundgren profile photo
March 18, 2015

RescueAssist: "Goto Assist top rated in my book"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to connect with remote customers to either troubleshoot or to connect to help the customer transfer data from an old computer to new computer.
  • Connect to remote customers
  • Transfer files or programs to remote customers
  • Being able to reboot without having to reconnect
  • May not need as many columns or have them editable
I think it works very well.
Read Rick Lundgren's full review
Kerry Allen profile photo
May 06, 2014

RescueAssist: "GoToAssist review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GoToAssist was used by our IT Department. In Advertising we work long hours and many projects needed to be taken home. Often, I would need help while I was working from home and our IT contact was always able to troubleshoot from wherever. I was working on a 100 page competitive deck and my computer crashed, luckily Stanley was able to fix my bug and save my presentation. It was sometimes difficult to set up but once it was set up, it was smooth sailing.
  • User interface was easy, everything was easy to use
  • Set up- It was difficult for me to initially use GoToAssist however, after I set it up it went well.
It's well suited if you travel quite a bit or if you have an older laptop. Some of our work equipment is quite old and my programs would crash too often. Honestly, I am really glad our IT department recommended and used Go To Assist because it saved a couple very important documents.
Read Kerry Allen's full review
Karrie Reno profile photo
February 03, 2014

RescueAssist Review: "GoToAssist offers so many tools, and provides a one stop shop to IT Support. Although a little more expensive, Sometimes cheaper isn't better!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I connect to users having issues with their printers and various other applications, and I work with users having problems with their cloud desktop. Installation of a new customer with the Citrix receiver, or updates to older customers with XenApp, and ICA Client software. I've also worked with colleagues by giving them a second support key and reversing their view in GoToAssist so they can see my screen or invite them to the session and work together on a customer's computer that I am remotely connected to. When a user have web issues, I have them login into safe mode with networking when they can't get to the webpage. If I create an unattended session with a user, I've also created unattended sessions with servers.
  • It's very simple to connect remotely to a user, you can send them a link through email. It's easy to get them connected, as opposed do say logmein.
  • I love their reports because when it comes to billing, the time you spent on a user/customer's computer is accurate. If there is any question about time spent, details are right there.
  • Service Desk is an all-in-one for knowledge Base, incoming requests, sharing of information, thorough communication between customer and IT Support. Ticket tracking accuracy.
  • I can tell when someone is online and when they aren't. So if they are having issues I can also set their computer to turn on.
  • You can make notes so that when you work on someone's computer, you can remind yourself everything you did, and it is included in that day's reports.
  • Most of all I can send files necessary to possibly remove a virus, or malware through "file transfer". I can send to myself error messages, or logs, or send them a tool, documentation.
  • The recording downloads don't always work, if it's under 7 minutes or over an hour, you can't download the recording of the session.
  • I'd like more customized reports.
  • Nothing else wrong with GoToAssist!!!
Is it cost effective? What is your overhead? Is there a contract and how long does it last? What tools are you getting for your cost? Is it a solution that is end user friendly? Customers can get frustrated trying to connect remotely with multiple steps. How easy is it to reach support for questions or issues with your remote support solution?
Read Karrie Reno's full review
No photo available
October 22, 2013

RescueAssist Review: "Excellent Software for Connecting to Clients"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Multiple monitor view - sees all monitors, where WebEx Support Center limits you to three.
  • Ability to stretch screen to view all monitors at once - instead of switching between screens, you can view all of the monitors at the same time, avoiding time spent looking for a pop up window.
  • The interface is less "modern" looking than other solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2012

RescueAssist Review: "Not really intuitive."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows quick connection and great meeting management.
  • Presenter controls and screen sharing is always positive.
  • Video quality is usually outstanding, and much better than other video call systems.
  • Connection issues seem to plague the novice users.
  • Bringing in clients to join calls usually confuses them, and we resort to having 10 minutes of instructions assigned to them.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (12)
9.2
File transfer (11)
8.2
Instant message (11)
8.4
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (4)
8.3
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (7)
6.8
Over-the-Internet remote session (12)
9.2
Initiate remote control from mobile (5)
7.7
Remote management of servers & workstations (10)
8.5
Remote Active Directory® management (6)
8.1
Centralized management dashboard (7)
8.1
Session record (9)
7.8
Annotations (8)
8.6
Monitoring and Alerts (5)
7.9
Multi-platform remote control (6)
7.6

About RescueAssist

GoToAssist is now RescueAssist. RescueAssist offers remote support and ITIL-based service desk management to enhance IT operations and reduce cost. The vendor says that key new features include lightning-fast connection time, right fit support including chat, remote view, and file transfer, in-channel support (integrations with apps like Slack), and mobile device support + camera share.
Categories:  Remote Desktop

RescueAssist Competitors

RescueAssist Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No