TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/5Z/sg/XZJTWH12WBEX.pngHotSchedules Solutions Work!Being used across the whole organization. Helps us address scheduling, labor controls, and communication.,ABF reporting Ease of use for all people for scheduling/swapping shifts Tie-in to Schoox training platform,Would like to see quicker response times to issues that arise Have had trouble with pre-formatted reports not coming through properly,9,ADP Enterprise eTIME, CrunchTime! and Aloha POS,10,Super easy to navigate these benefits.,Scheduling/shift swaps. Above store communications. newsletters.,Time it takes to create a schedule. managing swaps and changes.Perfect Scheduling Choice for RestaurantsHotSchedules is used by our restaurant operators for scheduling forecasting, communication and training.,Communication Integration Support,The are many add ons it is hard to know what you're missing out on. Support response time is at times long. Activity based scheduling should be part of standard features.,10,Ctuit Radar,10,No comment here.,We use many forms of communication with HotSchedules. Task lists, log books, bulletins, surveys. It is great.,Increased communication and consistent scheduling.Nathan Miller's Review of HotSchedulesIt is being utilized in my organization for scheduling and forecasting. It addresses any holes in scheduling and cost analysis.,Makes everything paperless. Very user-friendly for back office and staff. Can really dive deep into data and sales and what you are spending.,The schedule view was much better before it changed.,9,8,see what is scheduled vs actual and based on hourly sales,Messaging, scheduling, and tasks are very easy and are used often,time back to managers and loss of slips for request etc.Great commumication toolEach of our full-service locations utilizes HotSchedules as a tool to minimize labor expense and a communication tool with our team.,Communication with team members Enforce time and attendance with POS to control labor expense Communication among managers Tracking staff performance issues Keeping up permits,Does not tie labor/schedule postings to budget; too easy for managers to override Messages are not easily accessible Above store reporting tools are outdated; should be able to schedule reports,8,Snag,7,POS integration is the biggest benefit. When used correctly, forecasting is great within HotSchedules. A bit harder when business is more seasonal or tied to local events that are not regular. Needs improvement in enforcing "rules" versus flat dollars and hours.,HotSchedules is great as a communication tool for employees.,Organization is the biggest benefit. Employee availabilities are easily updated without forms and papers lost in the manager office. Great tools for above store users to communicate incentives and contests.HotSchedules: Hot and Ready for Action!We previously used HotSchedules when implementing 4 shifts across our production and packaging groups. We went from 1 shift M-Th, to 2 shifts M-Th, then added 2 additional 30 hour F-Su shifts. We also used it for our warehousing and sanitation crews. We had a change in our business and started to fall away from its use. Now that we are growing again, we are reimplementing its use and will also use it for clocking in and out, as well as tracking employee training and certifications. Having the ability to print hours reports to do daily labor analysis by project as well as tracking training are both incredibly valuable and help us stay on top of costs by being able to do daily labor analysis.,HotSchedules tracks our labor hours and dollars. Being able to do quick labor analysis helps us make sure our pricing is in line with our estimates for clients. HotSchedules tracks our employee trainings. Because we are a third party audited food manufacturing facility, we have both formal certifications (CA Food Handler Cards) and monthly trainings on subjects such as Food Safety, GMP's, Pest Control, Allergen Control, HACCP and Sanitation. Being able to have a record easily accessible for each employee to prove to our auditors and keep those employees up to date with training is invaluable as an organizational tool.,I find that the system of assigning jobs and rates is a little tedious, but understand the need for it. I'm not familiar enough with the copy and setting the next week's schedule, but it's not necessarily hard to use. The whole assigning welcome letter and with log in and password is difficult with the Spanish speakers even though you have a Spanish version. Many of our employees do not have email or smart phones, so I find that HotSchedules is not as useful to them or us.,10,We are just starting to use the time and attendance model, but expect it will help with reporting payroll hours for our own payroll as well as for our staffing company employees. We are mostly looking forward to the time theft issue. We found sign in timesheets allowed employees to not accurately report hours unless watched like hawks. The same thing happened for employees when we set up timesheets in google docs. We considered a biometric thumbprint sign in, but have been using the traditional punch time clock, which makes processing payroll time consuming.,,We are just fully implementing the program, but we expect several long term time savings in reporting payroll hours, tracking certifications and tracking labor dollar totals once the initial data input is all done.
Unspecified
HotSchedules
215 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
TRScore

HotSchedules Reviews

HotSchedules
215 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 215 vetted HotSchedules reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 161)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 06, 2018

User Review: "HotSchedules Solutions Work!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used across the whole organization. Helps us address scheduling, labor controls, and communication.
  • ABF reporting
  • Ease of use for all people for scheduling/swapping shifts
  • Tie-in to Schoox training platform
  • Would like to see quicker response times to issues that arise
  • Have had trouble with pre-formatted reports not coming through properly
Well suited for understanding and managing better your labor controls and schedules.
Time it takes to create a schedule. managing swaps and changes.
Read Abe Ruiz's full review
August 06, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Perfect Scheduling Choice for Restaurants"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our restaurant operators for scheduling forecasting, communication and training.
  • Communication
  • Integration
  • Support
  • The are many add ons it is hard to know what you're missing out on.
  • Support response time is at times long.
  • Activity based scheduling should be part of standard features.
Amazing communication tool for managers and team members.
Increased communication and consistent scheduling.
Read Shannon Scally's full review
August 09, 2018

"Nathan Miller's Review of HotSchedules"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being utilized in my organization for scheduling and forecasting. It addresses any holes in scheduling and cost analysis.
  • Makes everything paperless.
  • Very user-friendly for back office and staff.
  • Can really dive deep into data and sales and what you are spending.
  • The schedule view was much better before it changed.
Well suited for any staff especially restaurants or larger than 20 staff members. Makes all digital- Notes, messages and goes right to their email or phone which ever they have set up.
time back to managers and loss of slips for request etc.
Read Nathan Miller's full review
August 09, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Great commumication tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each of our full-service locations utilizes HotSchedules as a tool to minimize labor expense and a communication tool with our team.
  • Communication with team members
  • Enforce time and attendance with POS to control labor expense
  • Communication among managers
  • Tracking staff performance issues
  • Keeping up permits
  • Does not tie labor/schedule postings to budget; too easy for managers to override
  • Messages are not easily accessible
  • Above store reporting tools are outdated; should be able to schedule reports
For small to medium-sized companies HotSchedules works great when business is very static. If you are simply using HotSchedules for a schedule writing tool, it is phenomenal. However, it does miss the mark as a labor control software. Needs more controls to keep managers aware of spending versus historical sales data.
Organization is the biggest benefit. Employee availabilities are easily updated without forms and papers lost in the manager office. Great tools for above store users to communicate incentives and contests.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018

Review: "HotSchedules: Hot and Ready for Action!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used HotSchedules when implementing 4 shifts across our production and packaging groups. We went from 1 shift M-Th, to 2 shifts M-Th, then added 2 additional 30 hour F-Su shifts. We also used it for our warehousing and sanitation crews. We had a change in our business and started to fall away from its use. Now that we are growing again, we are reimplementing its use and will also use it for clocking in and out, as well as tracking employee training and certifications. Having the ability to print hours reports to do daily labor analysis by project as well as tracking training are both incredibly valuable and help us stay on top of costs by being able to do daily labor analysis.
  • HotSchedules tracks our labor hours and dollars. Being able to do quick labor analysis helps us make sure our pricing is in line with our estimates for clients.
  • HotSchedules tracks our employee trainings. Because we are a third party audited food manufacturing facility, we have both formal certifications (CA Food Handler Cards) and monthly trainings on subjects such as Food Safety, GMP's, Pest Control, Allergen Control, HACCP and Sanitation. Being able to have a record easily accessible for each employee to prove to our auditors and keep those employees up to date with training is invaluable as an organizational tool.
  • I find that the system of assigning jobs and rates is a little tedious, but understand the need for it.
  • I'm not familiar enough with the copy and setting the next week's schedule, but it's not necessarily hard to use.
  • The whole assigning welcome letter and with log in and password is difficult with the Spanish speakers even though you have a Spanish version.
  • Many of our employees do not have email or smart phones, so I find that HotSchedules is not as useful to them or us.
Absolutely appropriate for restaurant workers. Less so for manufacturing, but it does gather the labor data effectively when everyone logs in properly.
We are just fully implementing the program, but we expect several long term time savings in reporting payroll hours, tracking certifications and tracking labor dollar totals once the initial data input is all done.
Read Shannon Carpenter's full review
January 26, 2018

User Review: "HotSchedules: Why?"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HS is used across our entire company, by all who work here. I think that the program has good intentions behind it, but those ideas do not translate well into the actual product, in my opinion.
  • HS is useful for keeping track of hours
  • HS is probably the best platform for this type of service
  • Users are able to see their hours in an easy to read format
  • The most frustrating thing about this platform is how long it takes to clock in for the workday. I have to log in to the portal, which takes me to a second screen that I have to log in to, which takes me to a THIRD screen to select that I want to clock in / out. I then have to wait to make sure that it actually clocks me in before walking off, otherwise, I have issues with my hours at the end of the week. On top of these things, it takes a long time for the system to get through the four screens that you have to deal with to start or finish your workday. We've tried to streamline the process associated with this by moving to a pin number, but that has not been effective.
  • I cannot believe that you have to pay for the application. No other platform that I have seen makes the company pay for using the service AND THEN passes off the price of the app to either the company or the individual user. On top of the money aspect, all of your apps are named "HotSchedules," leaving a high probability that a user will buy a three dollar app that they have no use for. The app is also terribly created, often freezing or downright not working. I deleted it very quickly, almost as quickly as the buyers' remorse.
Takes forever to clock in, please see my detailed explanation on previous question.
We now have people's schedules sent to them weeks in advance rather than the day before they work. This has been a tremendous help for our organization. Some people use it for communication, but most of us know each other so there isn't a need there.
Read Jake Smith's full review
January 25, 2018

"HotSchedules Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our whole organization. The primary reason we use it is to provide employees a reliable and effective way to see when they are scheduled to work. It also is useful in that it allows employees to add their availability as well as request days off. This is extremely useful when it comes to scheduling employees to suit there wants/needs.
  • Provides employees with an effective mobile application to view their schedule whenever they need to.
  • Allows employees to add availability and request days off.
  • Allows other employees to see other co-workers schedules so they know who they work with.
  • Allow companies to set up different departments within hotschedules, without constantly having to give employees different hotschedule logins.
Hotschedules is well suited when it comes to providing employees a reliable way to get their schedules. It also helps with holding employees accountable for coming to work.
Hotschedules has provided us with an effective scheduling tool as well as an effective way to optimize labor cost and keep track of them.
Read Tyler Tillinghast's full review
January 25, 2018

"HotSchedules Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses HotSchedules for scheduling all of our staff at all of our locations. As well as tracking our revenue and labor percentages via integration with the micros system that we use in our stores.
  • Makes scheduling easy and simple
  • Integrates well with other systems
  • Can easily be used to set up sales forecasts based on previous weeks and or years
  • Deleting old employees is more complicated then it needs to be.
  • Often times it won't allow employees to log on, saying it has an error
It's great for scheduling large amounts of staff.
We have used it to accurately track labor costs, and as a result, we.have reworked our schedules year over year to save thousands of dollars per week. As well as quickly and efficiently being able to create and edit schedules.
Read corey savoie's full review
January 23, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Time saving tool for everyone!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using hotschedules throughout all the branches of Island Pacific Supermarket. This is what we use to generate employee scheduling and time cards, manage labor cost versus labor budget, monitor employee working hours, manage overtime cost, manage employee time off requests, and is mainly used for employee time punches.
  • Easy and convenient to use.
  • Very detailed and organized.
  • A lot of times that the app/website is experiencing technical issues.
It is well suited for companies that have 50 or more employees because it will help them monitor their employee timecards easily and in an organized manner.
It helped our company to save time to create employee schedules, increase communication, and optimize labor costs. Also helped our payroll managers to monitor employee payroll accurately.
Read Jacynth Aragones's full review
January 22, 2018

User Review: "HotSchedules - Mobile Clock-In"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our home office employees that are mobile and in the field for the WebClock. They aren't able to clock in at any restaurant of ours so we needed a mobile app that could track hours and compile data for us.
  • Very user-friendly
  • Customer service is very nice, patient, and willing to help right away
  • Hotschedules is a very slick looking site/application
  • I don't like that even as the admin in the above store console that I don't have access to turn on/off all features. Even for users below me. I need to contact customer service and they have to do it which just creates a lag.
  • I don't know the features that are available sometimes because they aren't activated right away for some reason, and to my point above, I have to reach out to someone else to see what they are/activate them.
  • The automated reporting isn't very robust, I really need to be able to have an automated report that can give me individual employees' hours for a week not just by job code.
Hotschedules is accessible by anyone, anywhere which is great. The lag between adding features as I stated before is a set back though and the inability to modify automated reports [is as well]. A, so the format in which most reports export to Excel is very messy and cannot be changed which is a pain to deal with sometimes.
We haven't been with HotSchedules long enough to really achieve anything yet. So far it is working admirably for what we need which is to basically just record hours of our mobile people but there isn't necessarily an improvement in any field.
Read Caleb Cochrun's full review
January 08, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Scheduling made easy and saves the company labor dollars and YOUR time."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used in all departments of the FOH and BOH. It helps us forecast our labor budgets and gives us actual vs. scheduled to see if we are scheduling accurately and if all staff members are clocking in and out as scheduled. The corporate office does not have much use for HotSchedules and is utilized mostly by the operations team in the restaurants.
  • Communicates well when writing a schedule if there is overtime, overlapping shifts, or against availability to prevent poorly written schedules.
  • Notifies when there are shift changes, time off requests, or availability approvals needed.
  • Very easy to build schedules and is user-friendly.
  • Being able to override "time off approvals" after they've been approved. sometimes a staff member will make an exception and work a half a shift or change their mind and they have to go back and remove their request before a manager is able to schedule.
  • Fewer website crashes.
  • Requires the page to load completely before navigating to where you need to go.
It is well suited for restaurants that have a large staff. It keeps all of your time off requests, availability changes, and shift swaps organized all in one place. It's also a great to send out storewide messages and keep logs between the management team.
HotSchedules allows us to sync our schedules to our POS so that we can activate a punctuality function that prevents our staff from clocking in more than 1 minute early or up to 5 minutes late for their scheduled shifts without manager approval. It also helps keep our over time down to a minimum because it alerts us if someone is getting close. Easily able to communicate with our team if there are any menu changes, operational updates, all staff meetings, etc.
Read Teresa Kiyomura's full review
December 15, 2017

HotSchedules Review: "Thank You Hot Schedules!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It has made scheduling and checking hours much easier.
  • It is super easy to copy schedules and paste them into future weeks if the schedule stays the same.
  • The new clock in update has made it possible for employees to check their own hours.
  • The support that is provided has proven to be helpful, especially when we first implemented HotSchedules.
  • Their clock in update was much needed, especially now that employees can check their own hours.
  • It needs to be made possible to check hours and make corrections real time and not the next day.
  • There have been issues with the clocking in and out function, particularly when coming back from breaks.
It seemed at first to be mostly useful for restaurants and other retail establishments, but it has actually worked well with our production crew as well.
The time it takes to create and modify schedules has greatly decreased. It is easy to request time off and track PTO. Communication is real time, and the employees like being able to check their own hours.
Read Nicholas O'Leary's full review
December 13, 2017

User Review: "HotSchedules - The disaster"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire organization for user management and time tracking; or we would if the time tracking feature worked. We are using it to make our schedules but still have to use our old time tracking system due to errors from hotschedules.
  • They have 24 hour support which is nice, but the reps are not trained on all the "new" features.
  • Their upper-management is not afraid to get involved and help resolve issues, which we have taken advantage of multiple times.
  • The user interface is clean and fairly easy to use.
  • The inability to share employees from site to site is really disappointing.
  • Their support reps are not aware or trained on the "new" features that are developed for customers.
  • Their database engineers seem reluctant to provide assistance correcting issues their product caused.
HotSchedules would be well suited to a small company with only one location or a company where employees do not float between stores.
So far hotschedules has increased the time it takes to build our schedules, makes it impossible to request PTO, however it has increased communication as now our stores have to call each other to confirm that employees can be borrowed and can cover shifts and they constantly have to call the support team to try to get active employees reactivated due to hotschedules randomly terminating them.
Read Christopher Ticen's full review
December 12, 2017

HotSchedules Review: "A Company that Values its Clients!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for all of our locations for time and attendance and also scheduling purposes. One of our locations uses the logbook feature which is great. We use this to pull hours, pull labor statistics, track clock in and outs, and also scheduled vs. hour employees.
  • They take feedback seriously and make changes
  • The reporting is nice to use
  • The webclock improvements are continuous
  • Being able to report on breaks
  • Being able to separate out holiday time
  • City specific pay rules to be used
I think it's great to use for basic payroll. It is not very customizable, but I do think it is good that take into consideration suggestions and make improvements to the site. I like the changes that have been made so far and it is refreshing to utilize a company that values feedback from their clients and actually makes changes.
It's easier to track time, track OT and build schedules... as well as increase communications with employees in the company.
Read Erin Massano, M.A.'s full review
December 12, 2017

User Review: "HotSchedules making it easy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotschedules was initially more widely used by the company to manage scheduling and hourly employees. I kept track of my staff and their hours and set and managed scheduled time. We used the clock in feature, which I liked because we could sign on remotely to clock in. Now we have to clock in at a store location, no more remote access to the clock in feature. I am now a salaried employee and do not clock-in any longer. I found the program easy to navigate and enjoyed using it.
  • Ease of setting a schedule.
  • If the schedule is repeated week after week, it is easy to copy it with out rewriting the whole thing.
  • Fast, easy reference to who is clocked in. Easy to check my weekly hours for my team and keep it under control.
  • Messaging feature was very handy.
  • Ability to delete old employees and reuse the assigned sign in number at the end of a fiscal year.
  • Really had few complaints.
The writing of schedules for a sizable staff for a retail of restaurant setting - well suited. It has the ability to send out the schedule to staff and communicate with staff. I really liked that. It gives good oversight of daily/weekly hours to watch your salary dollars.
Easy to contact staff about a change in hours or availability of extra shifts.
I believe we have been able to better communicate with staff about their schedules. The time it takes to create a schedule is far less than in the past and we have an accurate tool to track our labor costs. I like the availability feature, so you don't schedule someone who cannot work on a certain day.
Read Nora Leuck's full review
January 26, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Great Program!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotScedules for employee schedules and maintaining time off throughout the business.
  • Well Organized
  • Easy Setup
  • A better layout for the employees to view their schedule
HotSchedules is perfect for contacting every employee through the inbox rather than searching their emails on a different site.
I use Hotschedules for all of the above - creating the schedule, communicating with my team and making sure my labor costs stay down.
Read Jae Creech's full review
January 24, 2018

User Review: "Amazing HotSchedules"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotSchedules to schedule employees; follow up with changes in schedules and SMS employees, and for payroll budget accordingly with sales forecasts.
  • Payroll Budget
  • Sales Forcast
  • Cash handling
  • Sales target
  • HotSchedules App
  • Missed punch alert to employees
  • Blocking employees for a full 30-min break
  • When employees clock in late the manager should be notified via SMS
Total control on Labor Costs by 18%-20%
Read Chowdhury Islam's full review
January 24, 2018

HotSchedules: "The hot schedules review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the suite across all locations company wide. We use it to schedule the hourly employees at the restaurants.
  • It works great as an internal environment that the employees can use to trade shifts
  • It’s easy for the managers to make shifts and move people around buy moving blocks around by hour
  • You can copy schedules from previous weeks as a template
  • It’s very expensive for what it’s worth
  • Better integration into the POS
  • More integration between all of your own products that you offer.
Price range is insane. It’s not worth it unless your a bigger chain and need all the functionality. It would be hard to keep justifying the price for a small location
[Hotschedules] is so easy even the servers love it.
Read Paul Zarmati's full review
January 16, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Hot Schedules - the benefits in an ever changing retail environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a schedule platform to monitor labor budget and for scheduling as well.
  • Flexibility 9 can be tailored fit to your company needs.
  • Ease of use
  • Availability ( mobile access / remote access )
  • For now concerns are addressed directly by the HotSchedules team.
It helps us understand the manning of personnel, particularly since we are a grocery - and hourly manning is critical in our business. HotSchedules has a reporting feature wherein you can view your manning by the hour once you schedule is posted. If there are gaps you will be able to see and correct it.
HotSchedules has decreased time in creating a weekly schedule, which has been cumbersome and even a burden at times, on top of the million things that our managers have to accomplish on day to day basis. It also communicates the schedule directly to the employees in the organization via email - including notifying them of any changes made - which is a great tool.
Read Louie Trinidad's full review
January 12, 2018

"HotSchedules Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by all scheduling departments in the restaurant. [It's] Used for timekeeping, scheduling, time off requests, staff communication, labor budgeting.
  • Schedule changes--live time schedule updates.
  • Management log--accessed easily by app when away from restaurant.
  • Time off management--easy to block dates, approve or deny requests.
  • Always improving. New updates seem to be done well and improve the software.
Great for medium to larger restaurants!!
Improved labor costs
Read Ward Wollerman's full review
January 12, 2018

HotSchedules: "So Hot Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have four businesses with one building, all restaurant and Bar related. I use HotSchedules for all employee scheduling as well as the web clock. I refer back to several of their reports that are easily accessible.
  • Time off approvals- Keeps a list of who has requested and been approved for time. Makes it easy to not schedule someone accidentally.
  • Schedule templates- allows me to have the schedule done with inminutes.
  • Employee time management- allows you to see if someone is predicted to hit overtime. Keeps our payroll down.
  • If I am looking at the Staff area, for example, and I go into a particular employee, then want to return to the list - I would like it to not automatically start again at the top of the list but where I left off.
  • Loading time could be faster
  • If I wanted to add a extra shift prior to applying my template it will not allow me to use the template.
Great for businesses with several employees with different departments to schedule for.
HotSchedules has made communication easier among the whole staff. The time it takes to schedule now is minutes instead of hours.
Read Jessica Micka's full review
December 20, 2017

User Review: "Hotschedules is great!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our employees work schedule and any messages that need to be sent out. Our employees are also able to track their hours worked and we are able to use check lists to keep up with weekly/daily duties. This allows us to be accountable within management and for our staff to be accountable. We have been much more organized since using hotschedules.
  • Hotschedules is very easy to navigate making it usable by everyone!
  • Hotschedules makes staying organized easy!
  • We can reach every single employee at any given moment with important information through hotschedules!
  • We just had an update to our time clock and we don’t like it. It takes longer for our management and team to clock in and out and has added steps that could be more simplified, though we do like seeing hours worked so far.
Hotschedules is well suited for our team to stay connected and organized. We also can stay on the same page with any information that we need to keep current in our ever-changing schedule. I think for our use it is appropriate and not sure how it would ever be less appropriate.
We have used hotschedules to achieve all of the above!
Read Angela Simmons's full review
December 15, 2017

HotSchedules Review: "Scheduling Made Simple"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the weekly schedule, sales forecasting, budgeting, as well as lower our labor costs across the board. Helps us lower OT and lower payroll mistakes. We run the report at end of the week and use it for payroll.
  • Schedule writing
  • Forecasting
  • Reports
  • Updates
  • Schedule writing made a little easier
  • Coaching when there are updates
  • Report finding they should have a search bar
This has been the best tool I’ve ever worked with. It makes schedule writing so easy. Just to answer the previous question was difficult due to how good the system really is.
We have lowered labor and OT significantly as well as payroll mistakes.
Read Matthew Allgauer's full review
February 08, 2018

HotSchedules Review: "Changing the Scheduler's life!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our operations team department, including all of our part-time staff. Some of our business leaders have an account to simply utilize the messaging tools that HotSchedules offers, though it is not used for scheduling purposes or finance purposes seeing as they have a more gridline schedule. HotSchedules has helped our team remain connected through the messaging tool, updates, and changes to their schedules, and keeping track of their attendance. It has also streamlined the time keeping process as we utilize the time and attendance module of HotSchedules and utilize their time clock feature for our team to clock in and out. Given it's a webpage it gives the freedom to move the clock to where our team meetings to start the work day are.
  • Communication is so simple on HotSchedules. Whether it is communicating a new schedule release, or a quick note about tonight's shift we as managers are able to easily communicate and know that it will reach our team through text notifications, or email notifications.
  • The Meal Break planning tool is very useful in being able to help our floor leaders clearly understand and plan for what breaks are needed throughout the shift. This allows them to come up with a strategic game plan quickly and spend more time with our guests.
  • Shift Swaps and Releases are so seamless. This is our favorite tool as it makes helping our team cover shifts extremely easy and painless. On the flip side it also makes staff who want more hours be able to find what is available in real time.
  • Breaks and Meals: On the time clock we are limited with meals and breaks. If someone has a 4-7.99 hour shift we give them a 20 minute paid rest break. If the employee reaches an 8-hour shift they are given 2 15 minute rest breaks and a 30-minute meal. Meal and Break set up cannot understand changing the breaks. We had it set up to add a 10-minute break to equal 30 minutes when you reach the 8th hour, however, the time clock when they click "Start Break" still gives them 20 minutes on both breaks leaving confusion.
  • The Availability module has a few issues we have noticed. When a new employee is set to start a new availability it does not change in the scheduler. The Scheduler still holds the old staff members availability making it challenging for the scheduler to schedule appropriately.
  • We believe a late or missed schedule report should be available to print easier reports for time and attendance tracking. Currently having to go through each staff's punch is not as smooth as it could be. This seems to be a simple addition to a great arsenal of reports.
HotSchedules can be implemented in any organization that has to staff a store with varying hours. I have recommended this to my colleague who has 8 employees, yet he has seen great results with the shift swaps and availability tracking/time off requests. I do wish we could see some more attention to general staffing and training VS. the heavy emphasis on restaurant businesses. It feels HotSchedules has grown into many more areas and should work away from marketing so directly to restaurant businesses. Some training programs for other business would be a welcome sight.
As stated before, it has reduced creating schedules from 5-6 hours to close to 1 hour a week now. We can easily make schedule adjustments all week long with a few simple clicks, it eliminates the need to call staff since a notification is sent directly to them as soon as a modification is made. Any business I move to in the future I would advocate for utilizing this simple program.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2018

Review: "HotSchedules has changed the way our organization does business!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is currently being using across our whole organization. We use HotSchedules for our employee scheduling as well as our time cards. Before Hotschedules we were using Excel spreadsheets to schedule employees, this is by far a better system. It allows for employees to take the responsibility into their own hands. It allows for the employee to set their availability on their own without a drawn-out process of contacting a manager and sitting down with them. It allows the employee to find coverage for their shift, again without intervention from a manager beyond approving the shift change through HotSchedules. The employee can also use it to request time off before we were using a Google Form that the manager would have to check for new submissions and move the information over to their Excel spreadsheet schedule.
  • All the information needed for your employees can all be found in one place. From the availability of an employee to their pay rate to their phone number. It's all just a click away. Before HotSchedules all of this information was kept in different places and the managers would need to open several documents and contact lists to find what they were looking for about a single employee.
  • Control over how indepth you use the product. The possibilities of this service are seemingly endless. However if you are solely looking for a specific feature HotSchedules offers you have the ability to soley use that feature. HotSchedules can simply schedule, or it can automatically schedule, or you can assign a specific job to a specific person on a specific day. For us, we have employees who are doing a specific job/task one week and then they are needed for a different job/task the next week. HotSchedules allowed us to narrow down our options starting with department, moving to location, moving down to the job they would be preforming for that scheduled day.
  • The ease of changing/releasing shifts. If an employee wants more hours they can go in and select shifts that are up for grabs or request to work on a specific day at a specific time. The opposite is also true. If an employee is worried they will have too many hours that week, they can release their shift and put it up for grabs by a different employee. And of course, all of this is fairly customizable to what you want your employees to have the ability to do, with or without your intervention and approval. In our case, if a shift lead releases a shift we only want other shift leads to be able to pick up the shift. HotSchedules allows us to do just that.
  • Clocking In and out can be a little slow. It takes longer to clock in then our previous method. Before we just had a card you swiped and it would clock you in. Took 2 seconds. Now with the Hotschdules method we use it take 30 seconds or so. Not a huge issue but it can add up if you have one computer and a line of employees waiting to clock in.
  • Time Cards. It does not allow you to view someones current time until the "punch" has ended. If the manager would like to check what time the employee clocked in/out from lunch they have to wait until the employee has clocked out for the day before the record is generated. As a shift lead you may send and employee to lunch but forget to note what time you sent them. Awhile passes and you feel like they should be back by now, so you want to go in and see what time they left for lunch but it does not show you that punch record because the employee is still "clocked in" they are just on their "Meal Break"
  • The ability to customize the restrictions for Clocking in and out. You can set it up so that employees can only clock in from a specific location, however if you have a manager who is allowed to work from home they would not be able to clock in without being at the same location as set in the software. It would be nice to see it able to be customized per user.
It is very well suited for the restaurant industry, sometimes I think almost too much. If you are not in the restaurant industry it seems there are some features that you won't be able to/won't have a need to utilize. If HotSchedules can integrate into your point of sale it becomes even more useful and you can use it to analyze sales, etc.
HotSchedules has certainly improved business outcomes for our organization. The general manager in each department would spend approximately 10 hours each week dealing with the schedule; between getting the schedule put together and then dealing with all of the changes and requests and call-ins. Now most of that work is put back into the employees hands. The employee makes any changes they like and the manager is quickly able to review and approve/deny change requests. I would say each manager spends on average 2 hours a week working on scheduling with HotSchedules. HotSchedules has also help us increase communication. Having every employee's info in one place and ability to contact them at a click of a button. Having the ability to send out company wide messages quickly and efficiently has been a huge help as well. Labor costs and analysis has improved by leaps and bounds. The managers have the ability to at a glance see labor costs for shifts, etc.
Read this authenticated review

About HotSchedules

HotSchedules is a cloud-based scheduling, labor and communication management software solution serving the restaurant and hospitality industry.

According to the vendor, key benefits include:

Build & Communicate Schedules

The scheduling and labor management software reduces the time it takes managers to create and communicate schedules. All scheduling and employee information is stored in one central location, so managers have access to time-off requests, availability, skill level, and certification compliance.

Work Schedule App

The HotSchedules mobile app lets employees check their schedule, request time off, swap shifts, manage availability, and send messages. All shift requests require a manager's approval.

Forecasting and Reporting

When integrated with the POS, the tool pulls time and attendance, sales and guest data into the system. The forecasting engine shows past sales trends, which makes it possible to build schedules with the right amount of labor. There are also over 40 reports.

Multi-Unit Store View

The Above Store Console provides reporting and visibility across stores, anywhere and at any time. It can be configured by region, state, country.

Bilingual App & Support

The mobile app is available in English & Spanish. Employees can call into the AVS or Customer Support Center to get their schedule in English or Spanish - 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

HotSchedules Features

Has featureOnline Scheduler
Has featureTime-Off and Availbility
Has featureWork Schedule Mobile App
Has featureScheduling Templates
Has featureEmployee/Staff Communication
Has featureSales and Labor
Has featureForecasting Engine
Has featureReporting
Has featurePoint-of-Sale Integration
Has featureCentralized Communication
Has featureSMS Messaging

HotSchedules Screenshots

HotSchedules Competitors

When I Work, Crunchtime

HotSchedules Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Bilingual: English & Spanish

HotSchedules Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish