TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/5Z/sg/XZJTWH12WBEX.pngHotSchedules: Hospitality FocusedHotSchedules is the premier labor management and communication platform for the hospitality industry. There's no need to look further, competing platforms do not hold a candle to the restaurant-centric approach HotSchedules takes when designing the functionality and UI for their applications. They're one of the top paid apps in the App Store for a reason.,Mobile Application Restaurant Centric Technology Great UI Intuitive Features Customer Support,Lack of scheduled/automated reporting POS integration version management Limited ability to access own data,10,7shifts, When I Work, CrunchTime! and eRestaurant,8,Activity-based forecasting.,HotSchedules provides a single unified platform for employee/manager communication that is capable of reaching an employee via multiple methods. SMS, email, text, push notifications.,Through utilization of HotSchedules—we've been able to better manage our labor, communicate with our team members, communicate changes or new initiatives to team members. We've realized time savings for operators, a clearer communication method for schedules, or changes to our employees and a user-friendly way to keep the whole team on the same page.HotSchedules Solutions Work!Being used across the whole organization. Helps us address scheduling, labor controls, and communication.,ABF reporting Ease of use for all people for scheduling/swapping shifts Tie-in to Schoox training platform,Would like to see quicker response times to issues that arise Have had trouble with pre-formatted reports not coming through properly,9,ADP Enterprise eTIME, CrunchTime! and Aloha POS,10,Super easy to navigate these benefits.,Scheduling/shift swaps. Above store communications. newsletters.,Time it takes to create a schedule. managing swaps and changes.Perfect Scheduling Choice for RestaurantsHotSchedules is used by our restaurant operators for scheduling forecasting, communication and training.,Communication Integration Support,The are many add ons it is hard to know what you're missing out on. Support response time is at times long. Activity based scheduling should be part of standard features.,10,Ctuit Radar,10,No comment here.,We use many forms of communication with HotSchedules. Task lists, log books, bulletins, surveys. It is great.,Increased communication and consistent scheduling.Nathan Miller's Review of HotSchedulesIt is being utilized in my organization for scheduling and forecasting. It addresses any holes in scheduling and cost analysis.,Makes everything paperless. Very user-friendly for back office and staff. Can really dive deep into data and sales and what you are spending.,The schedule view was much better before it changed.,9,8,see what is scheduled vs actual and based on hourly sales,Messaging, scheduling, and tasks are very easy and are used often,time back to managers and loss of slips for request etc.Great commumication toolEach of our full-service locations utilizes HotSchedules as a tool to minimize labor expense and a communication tool with our team.,Communication with team members Enforce time and attendance with POS to control labor expense Communication among managers Tracking staff performance issues Keeping up permits,Does not tie labor/schedule postings to budget; too easy for managers to override Messages are not easily accessible Above store reporting tools are outdated; should be able to schedule reports,8,Snag,7,POS integration is the biggest benefit. When used correctly, forecasting is great within HotSchedules. A bit harder when business is more seasonal or tied to local events that are not regular. Needs improvement in enforcing "rules" versus flat dollars and hours.,HotSchedules is great as a communication tool for employees.,Organization is the biggest benefit. Employee availabilities are easily updated without forms and papers lost in the manager office. Great tools for above store users to communicate incentives and contests.HotSchedules: Hot and Ready for Action!We previously used HotSchedules when implementing 4 shifts across our production and packaging groups. We went from 1 shift M-Th, to 2 shifts M-Th, then added 2 additional 30 hour F-Su shifts. We also used it for our warehousing and sanitation crews. We had a change in our business and started to fall away from its use. Now that we are growing again, we are reimplementing its use and will also use it for clocking in and out, as well as tracking employee training and certifications. Having the ability to print hours reports to do daily labor analysis by project as well as tracking training are both incredibly valuable and help us stay on top of costs by being able to do daily labor analysis.,HotSchedules tracks our labor hours and dollars. Being able to do quick labor analysis helps us make sure our pricing is in line with our estimates for clients. HotSchedules tracks our employee trainings. Because we are a third party audited food manufacturing facility, we have both formal certifications (CA Food Handler Cards) and monthly trainings on subjects such as Food Safety, GMP's, Pest Control, Allergen Control, HACCP and Sanitation. Being able to have a record easily accessible for each employee to prove to our auditors and keep those employees up to date with training is invaluable as an organizational tool.,I find that the system of assigning jobs and rates is a little tedious, but understand the need for it. I'm not familiar enough with the copy and setting the next week's schedule, but it's not necessarily hard to use. The whole assigning welcome letter and with log in and password is difficult with the Spanish speakers even though you have a Spanish version. Many of our employees do not have email or smart phones, so I find that HotSchedules is not as useful to them or us.,10,We are just starting to use the time and attendance model, but expect it will help with reporting payroll hours for our own payroll as well as for our staffing company employees. We are mostly looking forward to the time theft issue. We found sign in timesheets allowed employees to not accurately report hours unless watched like hawks. The same thing happened for employees when we set up timesheets in google docs. We considered a biometric thumbprint sign in, but have been using the traditional punch time clock, which makes processing payroll time consuming.,,We are just fully implementing the program, but we expect several long term time savings in reporting payroll hours, tracking certifications and tracking labor dollar totals once the initial data input is all done.HotSchedules: Why?HS is used across our entire company, by all who work here. I think that the program has good intentions behind it, but those ideas do not translate well into the actual product, in my opinion.,HS is useful for keeping track of hours HS is probably the best platform for this type of service Users are able to see their hours in an easy to read format,The most frustrating thing about this platform is how long it takes to clock in for the workday. I have to log in to the portal, which takes me to a second screen that I have to log in to, which takes me to a THIRD screen to select that I want to clock in / out. I then have to wait to make sure that it actually clocks me in before walking off, otherwise, I have issues with my hours at the end of the week. On top of these things, it takes a long time for the system to get through the four screens that you have to deal with to start or finish your workday. We've tried to streamline the process associated with this by moving to a pin number, but that has not been effective. I cannot believe that you have to pay for the application. No other platform that I have seen makes the company pay for using the service AND THEN passes off the price of the app to either the company or the individual user. On top of the money aspect, all of your apps are named "HotSchedules," leaving a high probability that a user will buy a three dollar app that they have no use for. The app is also terribly created, often freezing or downright not working. I deleted it very quickly, almost as quickly as the buyers' remorse.,3,,We now have people's schedules sent to them weeks in advance rather than the day before they work. This has been a tremendous help for our organization. Some people use it for communication, but most of us know each other so there isn't a need there.HotSchedules ReviewHotSchedules is used by our whole organization. The primary reason we use it is to provide employees a reliable and effective way to see when they are scheduled to work. It also is useful in that it allows employees to add their availability as well as request days off. This is extremely useful when it comes to scheduling employees to suit there wants/needs.,Provides employees with an effective mobile application to view their schedule whenever they need to. Allows employees to add availability and request days off. Allows other employees to see other co-workers schedules so they know who they work with.,Allow companies to set up different departments within hotschedules, without constantly having to give employees different hotschedule logins.,10,Slack,Hotschedules has provided us with an effective scheduling tool as well as an effective way to optimize labor cost and keep track of them.HotSchedules ReviewMy company uses HotSchedules for scheduling all of our staff at all of our locations. As well as tracking our revenue and labor percentages via integration with the micros system that we use in our stores.,Makes scheduling easy and simple Integrates well with other systems Can easily be used to set up sales forecasts based on previous weeks and or years,Deleting old employees is more complicated then it needs to be. Often times it won't allow employees to log on, saying it has an error,9,It's great because you can accurately track employees clock in and out times, vs when they are scheduled to be working. Making it easy to tell when employees are late, or staying on the clock after their scheduled shifts.,,We have used it to accurately track labor costs, and as a result, we.have reworked our schedules year over year to save thousands of dollars per week. As well as quickly and efficiently being able to create and edit schedules.Time saving tool for everyone!We are using hotschedules throughout all the branches of Island Pacific Supermarket. This is what we use to generate employee scheduling and time cards, manage labor cost versus labor budget, monitor employee working hours, manage overtime cost, manage employee time off requests, and is mainly used for employee time punches.,Easy and convenient to use. Very detailed and organized.,A lot of times that the app/website is experiencing technical issues.,10,Absolutely! HotSchedules made it easier for us to manage employee timecards and all the time punches of our employees are being monitored properly because only the managers that have the permission to access HotSchedules were able to make changes if some time punches are incorrect or questionable.,BambooHR,It helped our company to save time to create employee schedules, increase communication, and optimize labor costs. Also helped our payroll managers to monitor employee payroll accurately.HotSchedules - Mobile Clock-InIt is being used by our home office employees that are mobile and in the field for the WebClock. They aren't able to clock in at any restaurant of ours so we needed a mobile app that could track hours and compile data for us.,Very user-friendly Customer service is very nice, patient, and willing to help right away Hotschedules is a very slick looking site/application,I don't like that even as the admin in the above store console that I don't have access to turn on/off all features. Even for users below me. I need to contact customer service and they have to do it which just creates a lag. I don't know the features that are available sometimes because they aren't activated right away for some reason, and to my point above, I have to reach out to someone else to see what they are/activate them. The automated reporting isn't very robust, I really need to be able to have an automated report that can give me individual employees' hours for a week not just by job code.,8,It is [too] early to tell as we have only been on this for a month now but I do see the potential that the software has to monitor people on the road which was our biggest concern. We still have only scratched the surface I feel on what it can provide.,,We haven't been with HotSchedules long enough to really achieve anything yet. So far it is working admirably for what we need which is to basically just record hours of our mobile people but there isn't necessarily an improvement in any field.Scheduling made easy and saves the company labor dollars and YOUR time.HotSchedules is used in all departments of the FOH and BOH. It helps us forecast our labor budgets and gives us actual vs. scheduled to see if we are scheduling accurately and if all staff members are clocking in and out as scheduled. The corporate office does not have much use for HotSchedules and is utilized mostly by the operations team in the restaurants.,Communicates well when writing a schedule if there is overtime, overlapping shifts, or against availability to prevent poorly written schedules. Notifies when there are shift changes, time off requests, or availability approvals needed. Very easy to build schedules and is user-friendly.,Being able to override "time off approvals" after they've been approved. sometimes a staff member will make an exception and work a half a shift or change their mind and they have to go back and remove their request before a manager is able to schedule. Fewer website crashes. Requires the page to load completely before navigating to where you need to go.,10,HotSchedules allows us to sync our schedules to our POS so that we can activate a punctuality function that prevents our staff from clocking in more than 1 minute early or up to 5 minutes late for their scheduled shifts without manager approval. It also helps keep our over time down to a minimum because it alerts us if someone is getting close. Easily able to communicate with our team if there are any menu changes, operational updates, all staff meetings, etc.Thank You Hot Schedules!Across the whole organization. It has made scheduling and checking hours much easier.,It is super easy to copy schedules and paste them into future weeks if the schedule stays the same. The new clock in update has made it possible for employees to check their own hours. The support that is provided has proven to be helpful, especially when we first implemented HotSchedules.,Their clock in update was much needed, especially now that employees can check their own hours. It needs to be made possible to check hours and make corrections real time and not the next day. There have been issues with the clocking in and out function, particularly when coming back from breaks.,10,The time it takes to create and modify schedules has greatly decreased. It is easy to request time off and track PTO. Communication is real time, and the employees like being able to check their own hours.HotSchedules - The disasterWe use it across our entire organization for user management and time tracking; or we would if the time tracking feature worked. We are using it to make our schedules but still have to use our old time tracking system due to errors from hotschedules.,They have 24 hour support which is nice, but the reps are not trained on all the "new" features. Their upper-management is not afraid to get involved and help resolve issues, which we have taken advantage of multiple times. The user interface is clean and fairly easy to use.,The inability to share employees from site to site is really disappointing. Their support reps are not aware or trained on the "new" features that are developed for customers. Their database engineers seem reluctant to provide assistance correcting issues their product caused.,1,We have not seen any results from this yet as we can not yet use hotschedules for time tracking due to issues with their "share employee" feature.,,So far hotschedules has increased the time it takes to build our schedules, makes it impossible to request PTO, however it has increased communication as now our stores have to call each other to confirm that employees can be borrowed and can cover shifts and they constantly have to call the support team to try to get active employees reactivated due to hotschedules randomly terminating them.A Company that Values its Clients!It's used for all of our locations for time and attendance and also scheduling purposes. One of our locations uses the logbook feature which is great. We use this to pull hours, pull labor statistics, track clock in and outs, and also scheduled vs. hour employees.,They take feedback seriously and make changes The reporting is nice to use The webclock improvements are continuous,Being able to report on breaks Being able to separate out holiday time City specific pay rules to be used,10,Well, it is easy to assist when it comes to time theft, we are able to track it when we look at hours daily or scheduled vs. actual hours, which is a great report. In regard to labor regulations, we are based out of NYC, and we would love to have some of the special pay regulations set up in the system and be able to determine holiday pay in HotSchedules as well.,Planday, ADP Enterprise eTIME and MICROS PoS,It's easier to track time, track OT and build schedules... as well as increase communications with employees in the company.HotSchedules making it easy!Hotschedules was initially more widely used by the company to manage scheduling and hourly employees. I kept track of my staff and their hours and set and managed scheduled time. We used the clock in feature, which I liked because we could sign on remotely to clock in. Now we have to clock in at a store location, no more remote access to the clock in feature. I am now a salaried employee and do not clock-in any longer. I found the program easy to navigate and enjoyed using it.,Ease of setting a schedule. If the schedule is repeated week after week, it is easy to copy it with out rewriting the whole thing. Fast, easy reference to who is clocked in. Easy to check my weekly hours for my team and keep it under control. Messaging feature was very handy.,Ability to delete old employees and reuse the assigned sign in number at the end of a fiscal year. Really had few complaints.,9,,I believe we have been able to better communicate with staff about their schedules. The time it takes to create a schedule is far less than in the past and we have an accurate tool to track our labor costs. I like the availability feature, so you don't schedule someone who cannot work on a certain day.Great Program!We use HotScedules for employee schedules and maintaining time off throughout the business.,Well Organized Easy Setup,A better layout for the employees to view their schedule,10,HotSchedules had made it very easy to create and post my schedule. My favorite part is being able to see who wants to switch their shifts.,,I use Hotschedules for all of the above - creating the schedule, communicating with my team and making sure my labor costs stay down.Amazing HotSchedulesWe use HotSchedules to schedule employees; follow up with changes in schedules and SMS employees, and for payroll budget accordingly with sales forecasts.,Payroll Budget Sales Forcast Cash handling Sales target,HotSchedules App Missed punch alert to employees Blocking employees for a full 30-min break When employees clock in late the manager should be notified via SMS,8,So far I haven’t had any experience with the Time & Attendance module in HotSchedules.,,Total control on Labor Costs by 18%-20%The hot schedules reviewWe use the suite across all locations company wide. We use it to schedule the hourly employees at the restaurants.,It works great as an internal environment that the employees can use to trade shifts It’s easy for the managers to make shifts and move people around buy moving blocks around by hour You can copy schedules from previous weeks as a template,It’s very expensive for what it’s worth Better integration into the POS More integration between all of your own products that you offer.,7,That’s the best part of the app and what makes it worth it to the location,HotSchedulesTrain powered by Schoox and GoHire,[Hotschedules] is so easy even the servers love it.Hot Schedules - the benefits in an ever changing retail environmentIt is used as a schedule platform to monitor labor budget and for scheduling as well.,Flexibility 9 can be tailored fit to your company needs. Ease of use Availability ( mobile access / remote access ),For now concerns are addressed directly by the HotSchedules team.,10,It monitors employee punches (be it clocking in or clocking out) - it reports the overrides as well and the reason for it, gives the manager a rationale on the variances in actual schedule vs schedule. It also gives you a report on how many hours (variance) compared to your posted schedule - on a daily basis instantly, thereby giving the store more time to understand the variance and correct ASAP.,HotSchedules has decreased time in creating a weekly schedule, which has been cumbersome and even a burden at times, on top of the million things that our managers have to accomplish on day to day basis. It also communicates the schedule directly to the employees in the organization via email - including notifying them of any changes made - which is a great tool.HotSchedules Review[It's] Used by all scheduling departments in the restaurant. [It's] Used for timekeeping, scheduling, time off requests, staff communication, labor budgeting.,Schedule changes--live time schedule updates. Management log--accessed easily by app when away from restaurant. Time off management--easy to block dates, approve or deny requests.,Always improving. New updates seem to be done well and improve the software.,10,Great to be able to prevent unauthorized punches.,Improved labor costsSo Hot ReviewI have four businesses with one building, all restaurant and Bar related. I use HotSchedules for all employee scheduling as well as the web clock. I refer back to several of their reports that are easily accessible.,Time off approvals- Keeps a list of who has requested and been approved for time. Makes it easy to not schedule someone accidentally. Schedule templates- allows me to have the schedule done with inminutes. Employee time management- allows you to see if someone is predicted to hit overtime. Keeps our payroll down.,If I am looking at the Staff area, for example, and I go into a particular employee, then want to return to the list - I would like it to not automatically start again at the top of the list but where I left off. Loading time could be faster If I wanted to add a extra shift prior to applying my template it will not allow me to use the template.,10,I like that it will not allow employees to clock in more than 7 minutes prior to their shift. It also keeps the clock-in log well organized easy to adjust if need be.,none,HotSchedules has made communication easier among the whole staff. The time it takes to schedule now is minutes instead of hours.Hotschedules is great!We use it for our employees work schedule and any messages that need to be sent out. Our employees are also able to track their hours worked and we are able to use check lists to keep up with weekly/daily duties. This allows us to be accountable within management and for our staff to be accountable. We have been much more organized since using hotschedules.,Hotschedules is very easy to navigate making it usable by everyone! Hotschedules makes staying organized easy! We can reach every single employee at any given moment with important information through hotschedules!,We just had an update to our time clock and we don’t like it. It takes longer for our management and team to clock in and out and has added steps that could be more simplified, though we do like seeing hours worked so far.,8,n/a,We have used hotschedules to achieve all of the above!Scheduling Made SimpleWe use it for the weekly schedule, sales forecasting, budgeting, as well as lower our labor costs across the board. Helps us lower OT and lower payroll mistakes. We run the report at end of the week and use it for payroll.,Schedule writing Forecasting Reports Updates,Schedule writing made a little easier Coaching when there are updates Report finding they should have a search bar,10,The clocking in aspect has truly helped. It helps manage punctuality & labor savings. People can’t clock in early without a manager override and that helps. If they are late they must get a manager and that helps us control lateness.,,We have lowered labor and OT significantly as well as payroll mistakes.Changing the Scheduler's life!HotSchedules is used by our operations team department, including all of our part-time staff. Some of our business leaders have an account to simply utilize the messaging tools that HotSchedules offers, though it is not used for scheduling purposes or finance purposes seeing as they have a more gridline schedule. HotSchedules has helped our team remain connected through the messaging tool, updates, and changes to their schedules, and keeping track of their attendance. It has also streamlined the time keeping process as we utilize the time and attendance module of HotSchedules and utilize their time clock feature for our team to clock in and out. Given it's a webpage it gives the freedom to move the clock to where our team meetings to start the work day are.,Communication is so simple on HotSchedules. Whether it is communicating a new schedule release, or a quick note about tonight's shift we as managers are able to easily communicate and know that it will reach our team through text notifications, or email notifications. The Meal Break planning tool is very useful in being able to help our floor leaders clearly understand and plan for what breaks are needed throughout the shift. This allows them to come up with a strategic game plan quickly and spend more time with our guests. Shift Swaps and Releases are so seamless. This is our favorite tool as it makes helping our team cover shifts extremely easy and painless. On the flip side it also makes staff who want more hours be able to find what is available in real time.,Breaks and Meals: On the time clock we are limited with meals and breaks. If someone has a 4-7.99 hour shift we give them a 20 minute paid rest break. If the employee reaches an 8-hour shift they are given 2 15 minute rest breaks and a 30-minute meal. Meal and Break set up cannot understand changing the breaks. We had it set up to add a 10-minute break to equal 30 minutes when you reach the 8th hour, however, the time clock when they click "Start Break" still gives them 20 minutes on both breaks leaving confusion. The Availability module has a few issues we have noticed. When a new employee is set to start a new availability it does not change in the scheduler. The Scheduler still holds the old staff members availability making it challenging for the scheduler to schedule appropriately. We believe a late or missed schedule report should be available to print easier reports for time and attendance tracking. Currently having to go through each staff's punch is not as smooth as it could be. This seems to be a simple addition to a great arsenal of reports.,9,The time and attendance module is incredibly vital to the success of our business. We were a new business that just started out and luckily chose HotSchedules from the start and we have had minimal issues with these features. The addition of flags alerting us of staff staying punched in past their time and leaving early has been very helpful. As well as our new addition of the meals and break planning. We were somewhat disappointed our startup rep did not tell us about the meals and break planning that was included in our package. We had asked a few reps along the way and most did not have answers we were seeking. We had to reach out to our sales rep and ask about meals and breaks who then told us we were already subscribed to that package.,,As stated before, it has reduced creating schedules from 5-6 hours to close to 1 hour a week now. We can easily make schedule adjustments all week long with a few simple clicks, it eliminates the need to call staff since a notification is sent directly to them as soon as a modification is made. Any business I move to in the future I would advocate for utilizing this simple program.
Unspecified
HotSchedules
221 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

HotSchedules Reviews

HotSchedules
221 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 221 vetted HotSchedules reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 162)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
No photo available
February 28, 2019

HotSchedules: Hospitality Focused

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is the premier labor management and communication platform for the hospitality industry. There's no need to look further, competing platforms do not hold a candle to the restaurant-centric approach HotSchedules takes when designing the functionality and UI for their applications. They're one of the top paid apps in the App Store for a reason.
  • Mobile Application
  • Restaurant Centric Technology
  • Great UI
  • Intuitive Features
  • Customer Support
  • Lack of scheduled/automated reporting
  • POS integration version management
  • Limited ability to access own data
Well suited for multi-unit brands in the restaurant industry. Not well-suited for unit brands or non-hospitality related retail.
Through utilization of HotSchedules—we've been able to better manage our labor, communicate with our team members, communicate changes or new initiatives to team members. We've realized time savings for operators, a clearer communication method for schedules, or changes to our employees and a user-friendly way to keep the whole team on the same page.
Read this authenticated review
Abe Ruiz profile photo
August 06, 2018

HotSchedules Solutions Work!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used across the whole organization. Helps us address scheduling, labor controls, and communication.
  • ABF reporting
  • Ease of use for all people for scheduling/swapping shifts
  • Tie-in to Schoox training platform
  • Would like to see quicker response times to issues that arise
  • Have had trouble with pre-formatted reports not coming through properly
Well suited for understanding and managing better your labor controls and schedules.
Time it takes to create a schedule. managing swaps and changes.
Read Abe Ruiz's full review
Shannon Scally profile photo
August 06, 2018

Perfect Scheduling Choice for Restaurants

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our restaurant operators for scheduling forecasting, communication and training.
  • Communication
  • Integration
  • Support
  • The are many add ons it is hard to know what you're missing out on.
  • Support response time is at times long.
  • Activity based scheduling should be part of standard features.
Amazing communication tool for managers and team members.
Increased communication and consistent scheduling.
Read Shannon Scally's full review
Nathan Miller profile photo
August 09, 2018

Nathan Miller's Review of HotSchedules

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being utilized in my organization for scheduling and forecasting. It addresses any holes in scheduling and cost analysis.
  • Makes everything paperless.
  • Very user-friendly for back office and staff.
  • Can really dive deep into data and sales and what you are spending.
  • The schedule view was much better before it changed.
Well suited for any staff especially restaurants or larger than 20 staff members. Makes all digital- Notes, messages and goes right to their email or phone which ever they have set up.
time back to managers and loss of slips for request etc.
Read Nathan Miller's full review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

Great commumication tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Each of our full-service locations utilizes HotSchedules as a tool to minimize labor expense and a communication tool with our team.
  • Communication with team members
  • Enforce time and attendance with POS to control labor expense
  • Communication among managers
  • Tracking staff performance issues
  • Keeping up permits
  • Does not tie labor/schedule postings to budget; too easy for managers to override
  • Messages are not easily accessible
  • Above store reporting tools are outdated; should be able to schedule reports
For small to medium-sized companies HotSchedules works great when business is very static. If you are simply using HotSchedules for a schedule writing tool, it is phenomenal. However, it does miss the mark as a labor control software. Needs more controls to keep managers aware of spending versus historical sales data.
Organization is the biggest benefit. Employee availabilities are easily updated without forms and papers lost in the manager office. Great tools for above store users to communicate incentives and contests.
Read this authenticated review
Shannon Carpenter profile photo
January 31, 2018

HotSchedules: Hot and Ready for Action!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used HotSchedules when implementing 4 shifts across our production and packaging groups. We went from 1 shift M-Th, to 2 shifts M-Th, then added 2 additional 30 hour F-Su shifts. We also used it for our warehousing and sanitation crews. We had a change in our business and started to fall away from its use. Now that we are growing again, we are reimplementing its use and will also use it for clocking in and out, as well as tracking employee training and certifications. Having the ability to print hours reports to do daily labor analysis by project as well as tracking training are both incredibly valuable and help us stay on top of costs by being able to do daily labor analysis.
  • HotSchedules tracks our labor hours and dollars. Being able to do quick labor analysis helps us make sure our pricing is in line with our estimates for clients.
  • HotSchedules tracks our employee trainings. Because we are a third party audited food manufacturing facility, we have both formal certifications (CA Food Handler Cards) and monthly trainings on subjects such as Food Safety, GMP's, Pest Control, Allergen Control, HACCP and Sanitation. Being able to have a record easily accessible for each employee to prove to our auditors and keep those employees up to date with training is invaluable as an organizational tool.
  • I find that the system of assigning jobs and rates is a little tedious, but understand the need for it.
  • I'm not familiar enough with the copy and setting the next week's schedule, but it's not necessarily hard to use.
  • The whole assigning welcome letter and with log in and password is difficult with the Spanish speakers even though you have a Spanish version.
  • Many of our employees do not have email or smart phones, so I find that HotSchedules is not as useful to them or us.
Absolutely appropriate for restaurant workers. Less so for manufacturing, but it does gather the labor data effectively when everyone logs in properly.
We are just fully implementing the program, but we expect several long term time savings in reporting payroll hours, tracking certifications and tracking labor dollar totals once the initial data input is all done.
Read Shannon Carpenter's full review
Jake Smith profile photo
January 26, 2018

HotSchedules: Why?

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HS is used across our entire company, by all who work here. I think that the program has good intentions behind it, but those ideas do not translate well into the actual product, in my opinion.
  • HS is useful for keeping track of hours
  • HS is probably the best platform for this type of service
  • Users are able to see their hours in an easy to read format
  • The most frustrating thing about this platform is how long it takes to clock in for the workday. I have to log in to the portal, which takes me to a second screen that I have to log in to, which takes me to a THIRD screen to select that I want to clock in / out. I then have to wait to make sure that it actually clocks me in before walking off, otherwise, I have issues with my hours at the end of the week. On top of these things, it takes a long time for the system to get through the four screens that you have to deal with to start or finish your workday. We've tried to streamline the process associated with this by moving to a pin number, but that has not been effective.
  • I cannot believe that you have to pay for the application. No other platform that I have seen makes the company pay for using the service AND THEN passes off the price of the app to either the company or the individual user. On top of the money aspect, all of your apps are named "HotSchedules," leaving a high probability that a user will buy a three dollar app that they have no use for. The app is also terribly created, often freezing or downright not working. I deleted it very quickly, almost as quickly as the buyers' remorse.
Takes forever to clock in, please see my detailed explanation on previous question.
We now have people's schedules sent to them weeks in advance rather than the day before they work. This has been a tremendous help for our organization. Some people use it for communication, but most of us know each other so there isn't a need there.
Read Jake Smith's full review
Tyler Tillinghast profile photo
January 25, 2018

HotSchedules Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our whole organization. The primary reason we use it is to provide employees a reliable and effective way to see when they are scheduled to work. It also is useful in that it allows employees to add their availability as well as request days off. This is extremely useful when it comes to scheduling employees to suit there wants/needs.
  • Provides employees with an effective mobile application to view their schedule whenever they need to.
  • Allows employees to add availability and request days off.
  • Allows other employees to see other co-workers schedules so they know who they work with.
  • Allow companies to set up different departments within hotschedules, without constantly having to give employees different hotschedule logins.
Hotschedules is well suited when it comes to providing employees a reliable way to get their schedules. It also helps with holding employees accountable for coming to work.
Hotschedules has provided us with an effective scheduling tool as well as an effective way to optimize labor cost and keep track of them.
Read Tyler Tillinghast's full review
corey savoie profile photo
January 25, 2018

HotSchedules Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses HotSchedules for scheduling all of our staff at all of our locations. As well as tracking our revenue and labor percentages via integration with the micros system that we use in our stores.
  • Makes scheduling easy and simple
  • Integrates well with other systems
  • Can easily be used to set up sales forecasts based on previous weeks and or years
  • Deleting old employees is more complicated then it needs to be.
  • Often times it won't allow employees to log on, saying it has an error
It's great for scheduling large amounts of staff.
We have used it to accurately track labor costs, and as a result, we.have reworked our schedules year over year to save thousands of dollars per week. As well as quickly and efficiently being able to create and edit schedules.
Read corey savoie's full review
Jacynth Aragones profile photo
January 23, 2018

Time saving tool for everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using hotschedules throughout all the branches of Island Pacific Supermarket. This is what we use to generate employee scheduling and time cards, manage labor cost versus labor budget, monitor employee working hours, manage overtime cost, manage employee time off requests, and is mainly used for employee time punches.
  • Easy and convenient to use.
  • Very detailed and organized.
  • A lot of times that the app/website is experiencing technical issues.
It is well suited for companies that have 50 or more employees because it will help them monitor their employee timecards easily and in an organized manner.
It helped our company to save time to create employee schedules, increase communication, and optimize labor costs. Also helped our payroll managers to monitor employee payroll accurately.
Read Jacynth Aragones's full review
Caleb Cochrun profile photo
January 22, 2018

HotSchedules - Mobile Clock-In

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our home office employees that are mobile and in the field for the WebClock. They aren't able to clock in at any restaurant of ours so we needed a mobile app that could track hours and compile data for us.
  • Very user-friendly
  • Customer service is very nice, patient, and willing to help right away
  • Hotschedules is a very slick looking site/application
  • I don't like that even as the admin in the above store console that I don't have access to turn on/off all features. Even for users below me. I need to contact customer service and they have to do it which just creates a lag.
  • I don't know the features that are available sometimes because they aren't activated right away for some reason, and to my point above, I have to reach out to someone else to see what they are/activate them.
  • The automated reporting isn't very robust, I really need to be able to have an automated report that can give me individual employees' hours for a week not just by job code.
Hotschedules is accessible by anyone, anywhere which is great. The lag between adding features as I stated before is a set back though and the inability to modify automated reports [is as well]. A, so the format in which most reports export to Excel is very messy and cannot be changed which is a pain to deal with sometimes.
We haven't been with HotSchedules long enough to really achieve anything yet. So far it is working admirably for what we need which is to basically just record hours of our mobile people but there isn't necessarily an improvement in any field.
Read Caleb Cochrun's full review
Teresa Kiyomura profile photo
January 08, 2018

Scheduling made easy and saves the company labor dollars and YOUR time.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used in all departments of the FOH and BOH. It helps us forecast our labor budgets and gives us actual vs. scheduled to see if we are scheduling accurately and if all staff members are clocking in and out as scheduled. The corporate office does not have much use for HotSchedules and is utilized mostly by the operations team in the restaurants.
  • Communicates well when writing a schedule if there is overtime, overlapping shifts, or against availability to prevent poorly written schedules.
  • Notifies when there are shift changes, time off requests, or availability approvals needed.
  • Very easy to build schedules and is user-friendly.
  • Being able to override "time off approvals" after they've been approved. sometimes a staff member will make an exception and work a half a shift or change their mind and they have to go back and remove their request before a manager is able to schedule.
  • Fewer website crashes.
  • Requires the page to load completely before navigating to where you need to go.
It is well suited for restaurants that have a large staff. It keeps all of your time off requests, availability changes, and shift swaps organized all in one place. It's also a great to send out storewide messages and keep logs between the management team.
HotSchedules allows us to sync our schedules to our POS so that we can activate a punctuality function that prevents our staff from clocking in more than 1 minute early or up to 5 minutes late for their scheduled shifts without manager approval. It also helps keep our over time down to a minimum because it alerts us if someone is getting close. Easily able to communicate with our team if there are any menu changes, operational updates, all staff meetings, etc.
Read Teresa Kiyomura's full review
Nicholas O'Leary profile photo
December 15, 2017

Thank You Hot Schedules!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It has made scheduling and checking hours much easier.
  • It is super easy to copy schedules and paste them into future weeks if the schedule stays the same.
  • The new clock in update has made it possible for employees to check their own hours.
  • The support that is provided has proven to be helpful, especially when we first implemented HotSchedules.
  • Their clock in update was much needed, especially now that employees can check their own hours.
  • It needs to be made possible to check hours and make corrections real time and not the next day.
  • There have been issues with the clocking in and out function, particularly when coming back from breaks.
It seemed at first to be mostly useful for restaurants and other retail establishments, but it has actually worked well with our production crew as well.
The time it takes to create and modify schedules has greatly decreased. It is easy to request time off and track PTO. Communication is real time, and the employees like being able to check their own hours.
Read Nicholas O'Leary's full review
Christopher Ticen profile photo
December 13, 2017

HotSchedules - The disaster

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire organization for user management and time tracking; or we would if the time tracking feature worked. We are using it to make our schedules but still have to use our old time tracking system due to errors from hotschedules.
  • They have 24 hour support which is nice, but the reps are not trained on all the "new" features.
  • Their upper-management is not afraid to get involved and help resolve issues, which we have taken advantage of multiple times.
  • The user interface is clean and fairly easy to use.
  • The inability to share employees from site to site is really disappointing.
  • Their support reps are not aware or trained on the "new" features that are developed for customers.
  • Their database engineers seem reluctant to provide assistance correcting issues their product caused.
HotSchedules would be well suited to a small company with only one location or a company where employees do not float between stores.
So far hotschedules has increased the time it takes to build our schedules, makes it impossible to request PTO, however it has increased communication as now our stores have to call each other to confirm that employees can be borrowed and can cover shifts and they constantly have to call the support team to try to get active employees reactivated due to hotschedules randomly terminating them.
Read Christopher Ticen's full review
Erin Massano, M.A. profile photo
December 12, 2017

A Company that Values its Clients!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for all of our locations for time and attendance and also scheduling purposes. One of our locations uses the logbook feature which is great. We use this to pull hours, pull labor statistics, track clock in and outs, and also scheduled vs. hour employees.
  • They take feedback seriously and make changes
  • The reporting is nice to use
  • The webclock improvements are continuous
  • Being able to report on breaks
  • Being able to separate out holiday time
  • City specific pay rules to be used
I think it's great to use for basic payroll. It is not very customizable, but I do think it is good that take into consideration suggestions and make improvements to the site. I like the changes that have been made so far and it is refreshing to utilize a company that values feedback from their clients and actually makes changes.
It's easier to track time, track OT and build schedules... as well as increase communications with employees in the company.
Read Erin Massano, M.A.'s full review
Nora Leuck profile photo
December 12, 2017

HotSchedules making it easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hotschedules was initially more widely used by the company to manage scheduling and hourly employees. I kept track of my staff and their hours and set and managed scheduled time. We used the clock in feature, which I liked because we could sign on remotely to clock in. Now we have to clock in at a store location, no more remote access to the clock in feature. I am now a salaried employee and do not clock-in any longer. I found the program easy to navigate and enjoyed using it.
  • Ease of setting a schedule.
  • If the schedule is repeated week after week, it is easy to copy it with out rewriting the whole thing.
  • Fast, easy reference to who is clocked in. Easy to check my weekly hours for my team and keep it under control.
  • Messaging feature was very handy.
  • Ability to delete old employees and reuse the assigned sign in number at the end of a fiscal year.
  • Really had few complaints.
The writing of schedules for a sizable staff for a retail of restaurant setting - well suited. It has the ability to send out the schedule to staff and communicate with staff. I really liked that. It gives good oversight of daily/weekly hours to watch your salary dollars.
Easy to contact staff about a change in hours or availability of extra shifts.
I believe we have been able to better communicate with staff about their schedules. The time it takes to create a schedule is far less than in the past and we have an accurate tool to track our labor costs. I like the availability feature, so you don't schedule someone who cannot work on a certain day.
Read Nora Leuck's full review
Jae Creech profile photo
January 26, 2018

Great Program!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotScedules for employee schedules and maintaining time off throughout the business.
  • Well Organized
  • Easy Setup
  • A better layout for the employees to view their schedule
HotSchedules is perfect for contacting every employee through the inbox rather than searching their emails on a different site.
I use Hotschedules for all of the above - creating the schedule, communicating with my team and making sure my labor costs stay down.
Read Jae Creech's full review
Chowdhury Islam profile photo
January 24, 2018

Amazing HotSchedules

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HotSchedules to schedule employees; follow up with changes in schedules and SMS employees, and for payroll budget accordingly with sales forecasts.
  • Payroll Budget
  • Sales Forcast
  • Cash handling
  • Sales target
  • HotSchedules App
  • Missed punch alert to employees
  • Blocking employees for a full 30-min break
  • When employees clock in late the manager should be notified via SMS
Total control on Labor Costs by 18%-20%
Read Chowdhury Islam's full review
Paul Zarmati profile photo
January 24, 2018

The hot schedules review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the suite across all locations company wide. We use it to schedule the hourly employees at the restaurants.
  • It works great as an internal environment that the employees can use to trade shifts
  • It’s easy for the managers to make shifts and move people around buy moving blocks around by hour
  • You can copy schedules from previous weeks as a template
  • It’s very expensive for what it’s worth
  • Better integration into the POS
  • More integration between all of your own products that you offer.
Price range is insane. It’s not worth it unless your a bigger chain and need all the functionality. It would be hard to keep justifying the price for a small location
[Hotschedules] is so easy even the servers love it.
Read Paul Zarmati's full review
Louie Trinidad profile photo
January 16, 2018

Hot Schedules - the benefits in an ever changing retail environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a schedule platform to monitor labor budget and for scheduling as well.
  • Flexibility 9 can be tailored fit to your company needs.
  • Ease of use
  • Availability ( mobile access / remote access )
  • For now concerns are addressed directly by the HotSchedules team.
It helps us understand the manning of personnel, particularly since we are a grocery - and hourly manning is critical in our business. HotSchedules has a reporting feature wherein you can view your manning by the hour once you schedule is posted. If there are gaps you will be able to see and correct it.
HotSchedules has decreased time in creating a weekly schedule, which has been cumbersome and even a burden at times, on top of the million things that our managers have to accomplish on day to day basis. It also communicates the schedule directly to the employees in the organization via email - including notifying them of any changes made - which is a great tool.
Read Louie Trinidad's full review
Ward Wollerman profile photo
January 12, 2018

HotSchedules Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by all scheduling departments in the restaurant. [It's] Used for timekeeping, scheduling, time off requests, staff communication, labor budgeting.
  • Schedule changes--live time schedule updates.
  • Management log--accessed easily by app when away from restaurant.
  • Time off management--easy to block dates, approve or deny requests.
  • Always improving. New updates seem to be done well and improve the software.
Great for medium to larger restaurants!!
Improved labor costs
Read Ward Wollerman's full review
Jessica Micka profile photo
January 12, 2018

So Hot Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have four businesses with one building, all restaurant and Bar related. I use HotSchedules for all employee scheduling as well as the web clock. I refer back to several of their reports that are easily accessible.
  • Time off approvals- Keeps a list of who has requested and been approved for time. Makes it easy to not schedule someone accidentally.
  • Schedule templates- allows me to have the schedule done with inminutes.
  • Employee time management- allows you to see if someone is predicted to hit overtime. Keeps our payroll down.
  • If I am looking at the Staff area, for example, and I go into a particular employee, then want to return to the list - I would like it to not automatically start again at the top of the list but where I left off.
  • Loading time could be faster
  • If I wanted to add a extra shift prior to applying my template it will not allow me to use the template.
Great for businesses with several employees with different departments to schedule for.
HotSchedules has made communication easier among the whole staff. The time it takes to schedule now is minutes instead of hours.
Read Jessica Micka's full review
Angela Simmons profile photo
December 20, 2017

Hotschedules is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our employees work schedule and any messages that need to be sent out. Our employees are also able to track their hours worked and we are able to use check lists to keep up with weekly/daily duties. This allows us to be accountable within management and for our staff to be accountable. We have been much more organized since using hotschedules.
  • Hotschedules is very easy to navigate making it usable by everyone!
  • Hotschedules makes staying organized easy!
  • We can reach every single employee at any given moment with important information through hotschedules!
  • We just had an update to our time clock and we don’t like it. It takes longer for our management and team to clock in and out and has added steps that could be more simplified, though we do like seeing hours worked so far.
Hotschedules is well suited for our team to stay connected and organized. We also can stay on the same page with any information that we need to keep current in our ever-changing schedule. I think for our use it is appropriate and not sure how it would ever be less appropriate.
We have used hotschedules to achieve all of the above!
Read Angela Simmons's full review
Matthew Allgauer profile photo
December 15, 2017

Scheduling Made Simple

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the weekly schedule, sales forecasting, budgeting, as well as lower our labor costs across the board. Helps us lower OT and lower payroll mistakes. We run the report at end of the week and use it for payroll.
  • Schedule writing
  • Forecasting
  • Reports
  • Updates
  • Schedule writing made a little easier
  • Coaching when there are updates
  • Report finding they should have a search bar
This has been the best tool I’ve ever worked with. It makes schedule writing so easy. Just to answer the previous question was difficult due to how good the system really is.
We have lowered labor and OT significantly as well as payroll mistakes.
Read Matthew Allgauer's full review
No photo available
February 08, 2018

Changing the Scheduler's life!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HotSchedules is used by our operations team department, including all of our part-time staff. Some of our business leaders have an account to simply utilize the messaging tools that HotSchedules offers, though it is not used for scheduling purposes or finance purposes seeing as they have a more gridline schedule. HotSchedules has helped our team remain connected through the messaging tool, updates, and changes to their schedules, and keeping track of their attendance. It has also streamlined the time keeping process as we utilize the time and attendance module of HotSchedules and utilize their time clock feature for our team to clock in and out. Given it's a webpage it gives the freedom to move the clock to where our team meetings to start the work day are.
  • Communication is so simple on HotSchedules. Whether it is communicating a new schedule release, or a quick note about tonight's shift we as managers are able to easily communicate and know that it will reach our team through text notifications, or email notifications.
  • The Meal Break planning tool is very useful in being able to help our floor leaders clearly understand and plan for what breaks are needed throughout the shift. This allows them to come up with a strategic game plan quickly and spend more time with our guests.
  • Shift Swaps and Releases are so seamless. This is our favorite tool as it makes helping our team cover shifts extremely easy and painless. On the flip side it also makes staff who want more hours be able to find what is available in real time.
  • Breaks and Meals: On the time clock we are limited with meals and breaks. If someone has a 4-7.99 hour shift we give them a 20 minute paid rest break. If the employee reaches an 8-hour shift they are given 2 15 minute rest breaks and a 30-minute meal. Meal and Break set up cannot understand changing the breaks. We had it set up to add a 10-minute break to equal 30 minutes when you reach the 8th hour, however, the time clock when they click "Start Break" still gives them 20 minutes on both breaks leaving confusion.
  • The Availability module has a few issues we have noticed. When a new employee is set to start a new availability it does not change in the scheduler. The Scheduler still holds the old staff members availability making it challenging for the scheduler to schedule appropriately.
  • We believe a late or missed schedule report should be available to print easier reports for time and attendance tracking. Currently having to go through each staff's punch is not as smooth as it could be. This seems to be a simple addition to a great arsenal of reports.
HotSchedules can be implemented in any organization that has to staff a store with varying hours. I have recommended this to my colleague who has 8 employees, yet he has seen great results with the shift swaps and availability tracking/time off requests. I do wish we could see some more attention to general staffing and training VS. the heavy emphasis on restaurant businesses. It feels HotSchedules has grown into many more areas and should work away from marketing so directly to restaurant businesses. Some training programs for other business would be a welcome sight.
As stated before, it has reduced creating schedules from 5-6 hours to close to 1 hour a week now. We can easily make schedule adjustments all week long with a few simple clicks, it eliminates the need to call staff since a notification is sent directly to them as soon as a modification is made. Any business I move to in the future I would advocate for utilizing this simple program.
Read this authenticated review

About HotSchedules

HotSchedules is a cloud-based scheduling, labor and communication management software solution serving the restaurant and hospitality industry.

According to the vendor, key benefits include:

Build & Communicate Schedules

The scheduling and labor management software reduces the time it takes managers to create and communicate schedules. All scheduling and employee information is stored in one central location, so managers have access to time-off requests, availability, skill level, and certification compliance.

Work Schedule App

The HotSchedules mobile app lets employees check their schedule, request time off, swap shifts, manage availability, and send messages. All shift requests require a manager's approval.

Forecasting and Reporting

When integrated with the POS, the tool pulls time and attendance, sales and guest data into the system. The forecasting engine shows past sales trends, which makes it possible to build schedules with the right amount of labor. There are also over 40 reports.

Multi-Unit Store View

The Above Store Console provides reporting and visibility across stores, anywhere and at any time. It can be configured by region, state, country.

Bilingual App & Support

The mobile app is available in English & Spanish. Employees can call into the AVS or Customer Support Center to get their schedule in English or Spanish - 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

HotSchedules Features

Has featureOnline Scheduler
Has featureTime-Off and Availbility
Has featureWork Schedule Mobile App
Has featureScheduling Templates
Has featureEmployee/Staff Communication
Has featureSales and Labor
Has featureForecasting Engine
Has featureReporting
Has featurePoint-of-Sale Integration
Has featureCentralized Communication
Has featureSMS Messaging

HotSchedules Screenshots

HotSchedules Competitors

When I Work, Crunchtime

HotSchedules Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Bilingual: English & Spanish

HotSchedules Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Spanish