TrustRadius
ThoughtSpot will change your company's visibility into the futureThoughtSpot has been selected to replace most of our general reporting implementations. We want to spend more time on data quality and less time on custom report churn as ThoughtSpot is providing us the ability to go this route. Currently our legacy systems have been integrated into ThoughtSpot. We still have new platforms and other service lines that need to get integrated which the company is ready to have one place for analytical reporting to be done. The problem that ThoughtSpot solves is wasted time on custom report development that generally has to go through several iterations to answer the questions the business is initially asking. ThoughtSpot reduced that time and cost by 1000% by allowing the business users to determine what answers they really are trying to extract out of the data set by having direct access to all the data for a specific focus area.,Speed of aggregation is is unmatched with other analytics tools. Visualization is instantaneous in most interactions which gives the users the Google response time we have been conditioned to in this day and age. The business is empowered to create their own custom dashboards for their focus area.,Regression testing for all existing functionality to ensure smooth upgrade to existing worksheets, dashboards, etc., that have been created on prior versions. Ability for modifications to underlying source tables to propagate changes throughout all worksheets built on top of source data. Currently if you have to modify a relationship field or primary key definitions, you have to recreate everything sitting on top of that source which as time goes on it makes it very problematic to address relationship issues that have been uncovered over time. group_max performance,10,ThoughtSpot has changed our path within the data services department which allows us to focus on larger initiatives rather than your everyday reporting request.,A week - once they get use to using the interface.,Accurate,Yes bigger picture projects.,10Think fastTS is being used by the various product development teams and customer relationship management folks. It is also being used by data analysts to assist with client adoption of our products, monitor changes in client behavior after product releases and find data anomalies. The main problem that TS addresses is making data available and easy to search for our end users who are not proficient in SQL but do need the data and insights.,It is FAST. Once the data is loaded, there is really nothing comparable to the speed that TS provides. It is an easy learning curve for the setup as well as end users. Very intuitive design and the ability to share easily. No limitation on the number of users. Don't have to worry about handing out licenses every time someone wants to look at the data.,Simple reports are easy to create and simple questions are readily answered. Complex questions that involve sub-queries etc are very hard to answer. It has limitations compared to a regular database. Data updates are hard to make. Adding new columns and populating them are very hard. Concept of a lower environment needs to exist - and promoting worksheets and definitions needs to be a feature.,8,Have been able to get some users to self-serve - helping them get their answers faster Has reduced analytics team's turnaround time for responses. Need to explore more areas like SpotIQ to get better returns.,Depends on the type of user. Some are very quick and can get rolling in a matter of minutes. Some take longer.,TS is very accurate. Of course, it all depends on how the data is structured, loaded and setup. But once the initial setup is done, there are no issues with accuracy.,We have not (yet) replaced our existing BI stack - rather we have added TS. Over time, we expect more reliance on TS and lesser on our other products.,8The power of ad-hoc reporting.Currently, ThoughtSpot is being used with our senior management. The plan is to eventually allow our external customers access to ThoughtSpot via API into our custom built applications. We are currently obtaining information on our employee utilization. We are working to get all of our sales revenue into the system and make that searchable.,Ad-hoc reporting is number one. Very easy for the end user to create their own ad-hoc visualization.,ETL process. Should have a built-in way to import your data.,9,It is too early to tell. We just implemented ThoughtSpot,I will answer the questions about timeliness. As for the data being stale, this happens when the data is loaded into ThoughtSpot. We have been running the import script nightly, which means the data can be up to 24 hours old. However, this is configurable. As for the timeliness in terms of speed, it is fast. In fact instant. No issues about ThoughtSpot's performance.,In the past, we have used Open Text's iHub product. This is the commercialized version of the open source product called BIRT. This product requires a developer to design and write a report that is primarily used to create static PDF reports. ThoughtSpot was needed in our organization for our senior level management that would like to perform ad-hoc reporting.,8Useful for simple ad hoc reportsBeing used to reduce ad hoc requests by allowing users to create dashboards with ease.,Easy for business users to use. The search functionality is simple and clear Data loading is fairly simple when connecting to databases A lot of display options for users to show their data in a desired format,On the backend data mapping can get very messy and needs to be constantly monitored Importing an Excel or CSV file is not nearly as simple as it should be More flexible graph options,6,Reduces the amount of time the operations team needs to spend on ad hoc requests and work Reduces the back and forth between business and operations in creating dashboards or reports, because the user can make it exactly as they want it Teaches business teams the basics in developing dashboards so they can become more comfortable with how it works, making interaction with operations team smoother going forward,Does have a steep learning curve. So quick to learn, but takes a while to know all the kinks.,It's amazing how fast it works and how much data it keeps in memory for users to be able to access quickly. One of the best attributes about ThoughtSpot. I have yet to test how much data it can continue to do this for, but only once was I struggling with its ability to query quickly.,Reduced time spent on Ad-hoc request. Before, we had several employees dedicated to doing exclusively ad hoc requests; now we can reduce the amount of time required to produce ad hoc reports and they can spend their time on other projects. Only side note is that ThoughtSpot is not yet the best tool for complex queries and analyses, so those still need to be done ad hoc.,8A great tool for prepared and harmonized dataWe recently started using ThoughtSpot as a reseller/partner in Germany. My first experience, when I started about 2 months ago, was kind of poor. As I'm working with ETL Tools the majority of the time, I was still missing the possibility for data preparation. But on further review, I could gain more knowledge and experience through the back-end of ThoughtSpot. I hope to learn more about specific use cases where a significant added value can be generated.,Attractive layout High performance in speed Easy to use,ETL Database connectors set up via user interface Standard format definings,9,Not a substitute for other software yet Allowed easy and fast decision making,It depends on whether the data has been prepared and loaded before. Visualizations are generated really fast within the user interface. if the admin distributed the relevant data to the responsible people appropriately, data insights can be evaluated even faster.,Answers can be given in real-time with high performance and speed. The high level of accuracy is impressive, but depends, like always, on the raw data.,8
Unspecified
ThoughtSpot
103 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ThoughtSpot Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

ThoughtSpot
103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 103 vetted ThoughtSpot reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joseph Pruiett profile photo
December 12, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot will change your company's visibility into the future"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot has been selected to replace most of our general reporting implementations. We want to spend more time on data quality and less time on custom report churn as ThoughtSpot is providing us the ability to go this route. Currently our legacy systems have been integrated into ThoughtSpot. We still have new platforms and other service lines that need to get integrated which the company is ready to have one place for analytical reporting to be done. The problem that ThoughtSpot solves is wasted time on custom report development that generally has to go through several iterations to answer the questions the business is initially asking. ThoughtSpot reduced that time and cost by 1000% by allowing the business users to determine what answers they really are trying to extract out of the data set by having direct access to all the data for a specific focus area.
  • Speed of aggregation is is unmatched with other analytics tools.
  • Visualization is instantaneous in most interactions which gives the users the Google response time we have been conditioned to in this day and age.
  • The business is empowered to create their own custom dashboards for their focus area.
  • Regression testing for all existing functionality to ensure smooth upgrade to existing worksheets, dashboards, etc., that have been created on prior versions.
  • Ability for modifications to underlying source tables to propagate changes throughout all worksheets built on top of source data. Currently if you have to modify a relationship field or primary key definitions, you have to recreate everything sitting on top of that source which as time goes on it makes it very problematic to address relationship issues that have been uncovered over time.
  • group_max performance
We have found for general and in-depth reporting ThoughtSpot is perfect. We have identified that in some cases it's better to grab the flow of events as you need to see them prior to pushing into ThoughtSpot so we are not dependant on using group_max to find the date an event happened because as with all reporting systems, views on top of views on top of views can eventually be a performance issue.
Read Joseph Pruiett's full review
Hari Varadhan profile photo
November 16, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Think fast"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TS is being used by the various product development teams and customer relationship management folks. It is also being used by data analysts to assist with client adoption of our products, monitor changes in client behavior after product releases and find data anomalies. The main problem that TS addresses is making data available and easy to search for our end users who are not proficient in SQL but do need the data and insights.
  • It is FAST. Once the data is loaded, there is really nothing comparable to the speed that TS provides.
  • It is an easy learning curve for the setup as well as end users.
  • Very intuitive design and the ability to share easily.
  • No limitation on the number of users. Don't have to worry about handing out licenses every time someone wants to look at the data.
  • Simple reports are easy to create and simple questions are readily answered. Complex questions that involve sub-queries etc are very hard to answer.
  • It has limitations compared to a regular database. Data updates are hard to make. Adding new columns and populating them are very hard.
  • Concept of a lower environment needs to exist - and promoting worksheets and definitions needs to be a feature.
SPEED. Any reports slow? Querying takes too long? TS is your answer. If your customers know exactly what they want, there may be other tools to provide them that. But anything else, TS is worthwhile. It may not be appropriate for providing custom reports and pixel perfect reporting.
Read Hari Varadhan's full review
Doug Smith profile photo
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "The power of ad-hoc reporting."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, ThoughtSpot is being used with our senior management. The plan is to eventually allow our external customers access to ThoughtSpot via API into our custom built applications. We are currently obtaining information on our employee utilization. We are working to get all of our sales revenue into the system and make that searchable.
  • Ad-hoc reporting is number one. Very easy for the end user to create their own ad-hoc visualization.
  • ETL process. Should have a built-in way to import your data.
Ad-hoc reporting is very powerful with ThoughtSpot. I would also say ThoughtSpot is very useful for the power user that creates their own Excel file in order to create their own visualizations. They can import that Excel file and create visualizations on the fly. Heatmaps and geo visualizations are also very powerful.
Read Doug Smith's full review
Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney profile photo
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Useful for simple ad hoc reports"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used to reduce ad hoc requests by allowing users to create dashboards with ease.
  • Easy for business users to use. The search functionality is simple and clear
  • Data loading is fairly simple when connecting to databases
  • A lot of display options for users to show their data in a desired format
  • On the backend data mapping can get very messy and needs to be constantly monitored
  • Importing an Excel or CSV file is not nearly as simple as it should be
  • More flexible graph options
When business users have many simple ad hoc requests, ThoughtSpot is a wonderful tool to take over that work. Users themselves can make the graphs, tables, and dashboards with minimal operation team support due to the easy and friendly interface, and they can complete whatever dashboard they need to accomplish their goals.
Read Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney's full review
Jens Englert profile photo
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "A great tool for prepared and harmonized data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We recently started using ThoughtSpot as a reseller/partner in Germany. My first experience, when I started about 2 months ago, was kind of poor. As I'm working with ETL Tools the majority of the time, I was still missing the possibility for data preparation. But on further review, I could gain more knowledge and experience through the back-end of ThoughtSpot. I hope to learn more about specific use cases where a significant added value can be generated.
  • Attractive layout
  • High performance in speed
  • Easy to use
  • ETL
  • Database connectors set up via user interface
  • Standard format definings
If you have a pre-built data warehouse with well structured data, ThoughtSpot can be easily and quickly built up. For huge data sets that are not well transformed, it is pretty hard to load it into ThoughtSpot. Additionally, ThoughtSpot is more appropriate for non-technical users as Front-End Usability is easy. It allows for fast decision making for real language questions without having knowledge about the raw data.
Read Jens Englert's full review
Surya Ravi profile photo
November 25, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Doogle- Google for data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by multiple departments. Serves as a self-service reporting platform for users to find useful insights with data, especially using search keywords in an intuitive way. Great for analysts to quickly gather data and glean insights for both reconciliation and key business decisions.
  • Fast data searches
  • Spot IQ is great for automated insights and data discovery
  • Could be more robust in different visualization types and customization
  • Could provide an easier way to validate data in the form of queries
  • Migrating between environments could be refined
Well suited for analysts and end users who are data aware. Not great for canned reports. Integrating into other applications with security layers is not very intuitive and has room for improvement.
Read Surya Ravi's full review
John Swingle profile photo
November 14, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Thought Spot easy to use, fast and a great backend tech stack."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for ad hoc analysis and for future Voice Recognition.
  • Easy to use.
  • Automatically indexes all columns.
  • Fast engine for data.
  • Spot IQ
  • Can be picky on initial set up
  • Spot IQ can produce more results than can easily be looked at
For Ad hoc analysis for people that know the data, it’s very strong. Not so much for end users with no programming skills.
Read John Swingle's full review
Hailing Xu profile photo
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Still in the early stages... High Hopes for the future"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are setting it up as a quick-answer tool. First we will roll it out to BI and data analysts so they don't need to build ad-hoc queries and reports for data requests. Next, we will roll the product out to some data-savvy marketing and sales users to enable self-service for them.
  • Fast search results for large data sets
  • User friendly interface for search
  • Data Aware: For example, uses column names, data values
  • Visualization fine tuning/customization
  • Data integration options are limited
  • Data join features are very limited to leverage data from different sources
Q/A system for a well structured data set is highly . We use ThoughtSpot to get quick answers, which in this scenario will reduce the number of reports and ad-hoc queries for well defined data sets. It can also replace custom UIs to interact with well-structured data for internal apps, as well as websites.
Read Hailing Xu's full review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

User Review: "ThoughtSpot - The Future Has Come!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is being used by different departments across the organization. My department (Operations Support Services) is one of the early adopters. The business problems we are addressing are mainly of ad-hoc nature, i.e. requests for a dataset that other tools functionality cannot accommodate.
  • ThoughtSpot is very intuitive for the end user. No particular technical skills are required to start using the tool, just you need to know your data in order to search for meaningful statistical results.
  • With ThoughtSpot you are getting real-time data, which is particularly helpful when you need to make timely decisions for resolving data exceptions/issues.
  • ThoughtSpot has really cool features that help you actually get more proficient to use the tool full capacity, i.e. replay feature which shows steps by steps how to construct your question, especially helpful for more complex searches; your data can be transformed into a chart and even presentation slides; the tool is intuitive enough to learn your search pattern and even to present suggestion scenarios related to your historical searches; and so much more!
  • Historical data searches are important for the operational business areas, as it's common to export and save results for the decision making process. In this regard, maybe adding historical search repository for reference purposes, or historical replays.

ThoughtSpot is well suited for ad-hoc data searches, to derive real-time metrics, to create personalized pinboards, to explore data that you haven't thought in the past exists.

ThoughtSpot is not the right tool if you are used to canned reporting, i.e. BOXI or Tableau.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "AI for BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ThoughtSpot to democratize the data across the company. It was initially launched for a single department but within weeks it was being used across the entire enterprise. It mainly solves the business problem of having static reports. It is very difficult, if not impossible, for a report developer to think about all the permutations and combinations which users might be interested in. ThoughtSpot solves this problem brilliantly.
  • ThoughtSpot is great at answering questions no one asked before.
  • SpotIQ helps identifying the data quality issues.
  • Giving users ability to create their own reports is a huge plus.
  • Lightening fast performance on terabytes of data.
  • ThoughtSpot can do a better job of providing prescriptive analytics.
  • Live connection for other databases is a much needed feature.
  • Pinboard canvas should allow for custom size rather than sticking to 5 pre-defined sizes.
  • More features needed in pinboard level filters.
ThoughtSpot is very well suited to make data available across the company. It does lack at connecting R and other tools to the database for further enrichment of the data. Mobile app is not available.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Data democratization for the masses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is currently being used by our Global Procurement Organization to better understand vendor invoice spending by supplier, payment term, spend area, spend classification etc. We are also implementing additional use cases across Sales, Marketing and Finance. The biggest business problem ThoughtSpot solves for us is democratizing access to information for every day users. Efforts previously aimed at enabling self-service have focused on business power users with some success, but still left everyday users dependent on IT or power users to produce reports and dashboards. With ThoughtSpot, we are able to get our line of business users to get insights without these bottlenecks.
  • Easy to use - guides user on what to search for. Indexes not just field names, but dimension members.
  • Strong professional services team supporting the implementation. This helped a lot during ramp up and now our internal team is able to run most new use cases independently.
  • Robust modeling options solve for both simple and complex data models.
  • SpotIQ is stil relatively immature. Can do basic analysis, but marketing is a bit overdone for what it can really do at this point.
  • More graph/chart customization options.
  • More models available in SpotIQ out-of-the-box. Specifically, would like to see multiple linear regression.
  • Live query options - would be good if ThoughtSpot would support the ability to directly query our existing in-memory databases (e.g. HANA, Spark).
Highly appropriate for self-service analytics use cases where you need a simple user experience for a line of business users (non technical business users). It works really well on large transactional data sets due to superior performance over other tools. Not well suited for pixel perfect reporting/dash boarding. We still use Tableau for this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 21, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot is right on par with the major BI vendors."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ThoughtSpot to address simple use case needs where Tableau dashboards can't quite provide the self-service capabilities we would like. We plan to expand it across the whole organization but currently have only 5 projects live so far.
  • Self-service. Other vendors like to cite self-service as within end users reach but not like ThoughtSpot. It is able to create a "Google-like" interface that all can understand, rather than just the trained Analyst.
  • Search. Vendors are starting to work with search in their products but ThoughtSpot was built with that in mind from the beginning.
  • Anomaly detection and advanced analytics. With SpotIQ, end users with very little training are able to take advantage of models that normally require specialized training.
  • Back end improvement. We would love to see a more robust back end for administrators and for even loading the data into ThoughtSpot.
  • Drivers. Current drivers give mixed results on loading data but we are told new ones are being developed.
  • Permissions. We would like to see more granular permissions available but have been told this is coming as well.
We feel that simple transactional use cases are the best for ThoughtSpot. Cases that would lend themselves to cubes with slicing and dicing. In healthcare, the more complex use cases are where I don't feel as comfortable. ThoughtSpot is about scale whereas some of those use cases are only in the 100s or maybe 1,000s of records.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Powerful data analytical tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of training users. It speeds up and simplifies users queries of financial information. We also use it to find possible fraud through database queries. It allows users to query our database without knowing SQL.
  • It shows charts, based on the database
  • It is easy to do searches. Even non expert users can do searches without knowing how to use databases.
  • It allows you to drill down to the data in tables.
  • ThoughtSpot queries are much faster than with our previous database.
  • Deployment is difficult. The instructions for deployment could be more detailed so we don't need to ask ThoughtSpot for help.
  • ThoughtSpot could use a Windows GUI for the backend.
  • Using command line is difficult and complicated.
  • Even a Unix GUI would be usefull.
It is very useful for our transactional data. It doesn't work as well when there are many filters.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Great product, easy to use!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a large data set that is housed in an old platform that only allows Excel extracts. ThoughtSpot has allowed us to access that data quickly and get insights into our program efficiently.

We use ThoughtSpot to analyze the program coverage of our stores in Channel retail locations, and it allows our non-analytical teams to quickly and efficiently search for complex and sometimes dirty data in a streamlined and easy way.
  • The easy to use UI allowed our teams to get on-boarded to the platform very quickly and let our least BI friendly teams customize reports to their liking.
  • The flexibility of the platform allowed us to reach all levels of our team
  • Quick onboarding process allowed us to move from inception to implementation in a matter of weeks
  • Hard to change a search after inputting, sometimes users need to relearn how to type in a ThoughtSpot manner
  • Would love to allow more capacity for "playing" around with pinboards without changing the existing report
  • We work a lot of photo data, would be interested to see if photos could be incorporated into the platform
Well suited for quick reporting but lacks some of the complexity that Tableau has.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Good tool, still needs some polishing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are embedding ThoughtSpot into our website. External customers (financial advisors) will be able to get a summary of how their retirement plan participants are doing as far as being on target to retire successfully from a pre-built pinboard. They can then modify or start a new search as they see fit. We use row-level security so people can only see data for their plan, and have pre-aggregated data with no row-level security so they can compare to the industry without seeing details of plans that are not theirs. We also use column-level security to hide things like an SSN column, or a formula to mask the SSN based on what group the user is in.
  • Very fast. The in-memory solution seems to respond very quickly.
  • Very easy to type something and get a nice visual with little effort.
  • Everything can be shared with other uses very easily.
  • Until the natural language search is available, an external customer with zero training is going to have some issues. Everyone is spoiled by searching the way we speak so that feature will be great when available.
  • Why can't I thumbs up/down an insight that was generated for me like I can when I run an analysis myself?
  • You constantly get popups about saving before losing changes. It would be nice if it only popped up when there was an actual change. For example, when I change something and then change it back, I shouldn't get a 'do you want to save' popup.
ThoughtSpot works very well for AdHoc queries by users. In the past it was always a slow request process to IT to generate a specific report, and then lots of back and forth to get it adjusted.

I don't feel that it works really well for external customers who can't have any training. The searching isn't as intuitive as it seemed in the sales presentation. The natural language feature should help significantly with this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Good software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use ThoughtSpot for reporting and to present our data analysis. We use the graphics and its search capabilities in order to have deeper insights. We use it at our operations department for reporting and monitoring and data relations.


  • It is a good data search tool
  • It's intuitive
  • Easy to use
  • More data structures
  • Easy ways to manipulate data into structures (as an example pivot tables excel)
  • Be able to incorporate external predictive models
ThoughtSpot is well utilized on table joins, data presentations, dashboards and in data visualization, as well as for ad-hoc requests. Note that ThoughtSpot is not as well suited to apply models and external analysis in an automated way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

User Review: "Hopeful for future of ThoughtSpot"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in several departments throughout the organization.
  • Quick results
  • Drill down
  • Data load backend needs some work. Difficult to load data.
  • Needs a role that can create and manage tables that isn't the admin account
  • Better metrics about table and worksheets. How many rows, key metrics, etc.
Answering 80 percent of the questions based on the data set and then use another BI application to answer more in-depth questions
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot - Getting Started but Good so Far!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Limited use currently but would like to roll out broadly to the organization. Addresses needs of business users to get data without having to go through an analyst
  • Scalability
  • Speed
  • Recommending insights
  • Ability to embed in other tools
  • Data ingestion
  • Data compression
Well suited for one-off questions from end users and for helping end users ask the questions they hadn't thought of previously. Less appropriate for massive data pulls out of a database for other use. Also less appropriate for questions over a large time period as all the historical data would have to be loaded into memory.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 14, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Easy to adopt and beautiful interface. Could improve by enhancing testing/validating options."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as an analytical tool for Risk Analytics. It's being used in a specific department. It addresses aggregate measures of risk at the enterprise level, as well as giving the capability of drilling down. Aggregate measures are good for reporting purposes but if we had to answer the question about why a metric is trending one direction, ThoughtSpot is a great tool to create different views and drilldowns to tell a story.
  • Creating formulas ad hoc
  • Easy visualization and switching between view types
  • Faster population of variables. Sometimes when typing a formula, it takes some time for it to load.
It's good for on-the-fly analysis. However, if we wanted to see a more robust analysis, some tests need to be done outside of ThoughtSpot to ensure accuracy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Great Product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ad-Hoc analysis and analytics of internal and external reporting data.
  • Ad-Hoc analysis
  • Drill-down analysis
  • Clean and clear visualizations
  • Powerful SpotIQ AI insights
  • Continued development of real-time computations.
Well suited for ad-hoc analysis and exposing large volumes of data to end-users who are not overly technical. Not necessarily the best standardized reporting solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

ThoughtSpot Review: "Excellent tool for data democratization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is being used at my company to create business insights and make data easily accessible for the non-technical users. It is used across the whole organization in varying capacity depending on a user's role. We had a significant backlog of reporting changes before implementing ThoughtSpot. After implementing ThoughtSpot the backlog has reduced significantly due to enhanced self-service.
  • Self-service is the biggest advantage of ThoughtSpot.
  • The query performance is very fast.
  • It is very easy to spot data quality issues
  • Data discovery is easily available.
  • I think visualizations can be better.
  • Data prep is missing. This feature is available in most of the market leading tools.
  • Advanced analytics and predictive analytics can be improved as well. ThoughtSpot answers WHAT but does not answer WHY.
The best use case for ThoughtSpot is data democratization. I think it is less useful for data scientists who want to connect their own data and do advanced algorithms on top of it. Another good use case for ThoughtSpot is to understand data quality issues across the organization. It can easily identify anomalies automatically.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

Review: "Good experience as a ThoughtSpot Customer."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are planning on using ThoughtSpot to enable users with Self Serve Analytics under our Single Family Analytics group. We have heavy report users both internal/external to Fannie Mae. There was a need from Users for self service when it came to capabilities around generating analytics and getting more insights. We have piloted this capability with some users and are looking forward to opening up to our full stream of users in next few months.
  • Self Serve Capability
  • Performance
  • Spot IQ insights
  • Object level Migration capability and automated deployment features. This was an important capability we had challenges with, as a standard SDLC we wanted to avoid manually creating pinboards in production. We have lower environment and production boxes and wanted to have the capability of migrating the tested reports in lower environment to production. We did not want the full backup and restore and needed more native support for migrating only the objects which were tested in lower environment.
  • More controls and users for Unix Shell. We had issues sometimes with the limitation on User ID’s in ThoughtSpot ,mainly with the Shell Users. It would be helpful if ThoughtSpot could provide the capability to on-board new users.
  • More visibility into the back-end generated SQLs would be very helpful. Currently, the UI feature is very good, but during the development phase of the reports, and while validating the reports, it would be more helpful to provide an option for the user to see the underlying SQLs.
It is well suited when there is need for Performance and Self Serve analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Schmitz profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot is very user friendly and efficient but it is still "green" as a BI tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use ThoughtSpot for the traditional company-wide KPI reports. Dashboards are developed and then shared with the appropriate group of people so they can track productivity and efficiency. With ThoughtSpot, end users also have the ability to do their own "search" to build their own graphics, but the primary use as of now remains in the pre-built dashboards.
  • Once ThoughtSpot is initially set up, it is pretty easy for end users to build their own graphics
  • The site navigation/layout is pretty intuitive so even a novice user should be able to figure out how to navigate the site and build a graphic
  • Each graphic has a nice "help" tooltip that explains exactly what is needed before that specific graphic is usable. Ex: if you want to use a Map graphic, they disable it and give you a hover saying something like "you need at least one geographical data point to use a Map"
  • The various graphics that are created to build a dashboard are not related, so if you click on a Bar in Graphic A, it will not highlight the related items in the other Graphics on the dashboard.
  • The graphics you place on a dashboard are restricted to three default sizes and you are unable to manually resize the graphic to exactly what you want/need.
  • You do not have many options when it comes to customizing each element of a graphic. You have a few standard options to "customize" but they are all pretty basic and do not give you the control that other tools allow
Good:
ThoughtSpot is very user-friendly and will make it easy for an end user to quickly search and build a graphic on their own. This will take away the wait time of having a middleman that actually creates these random graphics requests since the end user could do it themselves.

Bad:
ThoughtSpot does not have the true dashboard feel yet so if you want the nice interactive dashboard functionality where a user can click one item and filter the other graphics, this is not going to work for you.
Read Josh Schmitz's full review
Jason Westenskow profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot - from a user/admin perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ThoughtSpot throughout the organization. I've personally trained our call center supervisors in the use of the tool along with retraining our corporate users repeatedly. I am the in-house expert on ThoughtSpot.

Our main use case is research and ad-hoc exploration. Tasks that would take hours to days previously are completed within 1/2 hour and span millions of rows of data in the process. Specifically, we are speeding up our access to data (user license limitations are removed with ThoughtSpot) and speed of insight (e.g. ad hoc exploration).
  • Millions of rows via in-memory database creates quick-insight/access to data
  • No user license restrictions (license is based on data loaded to the instance)
  • Easy Google-like interface for querying data
  • Simply put, ThoughtSpot is a new product. formatted/pixel-perfect reports are not what ThoughtSpot is good at.
  • Limited app-level administration controls.
  • Limited in allowing modification to "loaded" tables. For example, a DBA likes fields in a proper order. ThoughtSpot relies heavily on unchanged table structures (assigned by guide) and so new field adds must be added to the end or all relationships and reports are invalidated. This is not the end of the world.
ThoughtSpot is great for data exploration. As long as your data can be connected via primary key / foreign key relationships (no referential integrity is enforced - it's a relationship). Starting from the raw tables, a user can comb through millions of rows of data and use both simple and complex formulas to break up the results.

ThoughtSpot is not built for pixel-perfect reporting. Don't plan on using this as a wholesale replacement for financial reporting - unless you're willing to forgo the normal report structure.
Read Jason Westenskow's full review
Gareth Baxendale profile photo
February 06, 2018

Review: "ThoughtSpot analysis for Health organisations"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We looked at ThoughtSpot at a time where we wanted to explore the idea of natural language based analytics. This would be used to augment our current investment in other technologies such as QlikSense.

To this end, we carried out a proof of concept to understand how the product could meet our needs.
  • The company behind ThoughtSpot is very professional and keen to work with you.
  • The product is very good for traditional business-related scenarios such as spend, orders, and purchase related queries.
  • The interface is reasonably good and intuitive.
  • ThoughtSpot does not allow for true natural language. What it does is allow keywords to be used which it interprets and is similar to the way you might look for a product using Amazon.
  • The product is a challenge when it steps outside of traditional sales-based analysis. In our case, we wanted to analyse health data which is far more complicated and prone to variance.
Excellent for traditional BI environments in sales based organisations. The product is improving and thoughtSpot will no doubt work very well in other verticals.

Their model is to provide you with the product on a 'purchase if all goes well' method which may not be to everyone's liking.

Overall the company is great and is really supportive of solving your issues as you learn the system and I would recommend on that basis.
Read Gareth Baxendale's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (19)
6.5
Customizable dashboards (27)
7.4
Report Formatting Templates (22)
6.4
Drill-down analysis (27)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (26)
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
7.5
Report sharing and collaboration (25)
8.3
Publish to Web (19)
8.2
Publish to PDF (24)
7.5
Report Versioning (15)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (19)
6.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (10)
6.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (24)
8.4
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (24)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (20)
7.7
Multi-User Support (named login) (25)
8.5
Role-Based Security Model (23)
7.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (25)
7.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (21)
8.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (12)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (6)
7.6
Dedicated Android Application (6)
8.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (12)
6.6
REST API (14)
7.2
Javascript API (14)
7.3
iFrames (11)
6.7
Java API (11)
6.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (10)
7.4
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (12)
6.4

About ThoughtSpot

ThoughtSpot Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No