ThoughtSpot Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
138 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 11, 2021
Torsten Wiegel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is used as an addon to the current BI Landscape. The use case are:
- Next Level of Self Service BI
- High volume Data to be analyzed by the end user
- Reduce the number of used Dashboards by combining data sources and use case into just a few.
  • Live Search on Cloud data bases (Snowflake, Redshift, Big Query, Terradata and SAP Hana)
  • Speed of search on data set bigger the 20 GB
  • Intuitive way to create sharable information
  • Using SpotIQ for unexpected insights (Specially the speed)
  • ETL Functionality (Dataflow is getting there)
  • More data source connectors
  • Debugging data loading scripts before using them (Simulation)
  • More chart types
Well suited for:
- Using big data set < 25/50 GB for analysis and search
- Fast connect and search capabilities on online data bases
- Next level of self service
- Quickly sharing information
- getting automated insights and ideas with SpotIQ
Less appropriate:
- Standard reporting
- ETL features, if data has to be transformed (need to use other ETL products)
For smaller data set < 50 MB users and upload their data and search it right away.
For bigger data set and structures there has to be a time frame between 1-5 weeks depending on the complexity of the use case. Also data privacy need have to be part of the equation, if they have to be applied.
Very intuitive. A few short videos or guidelines will be enough to help the end user to get results. The product helps the users to be curious again to explore the data by themselves.
Read Torsten Wiegel's full review
January 13, 2021
Jeremy Pierce, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is used widely by organization--roughly 300 active users. It allows users to analyze their data without having to rely on a data analyst. By having a true data democracy, all of our users are able to get the data to make well-informed decisions on their own.
  • Self-service data analytics
  • Easily search your data using natural language processing
  • Ease of use
  • Pixel-perfect charting
  • Better documentation
  • Easier to be picked up by a new user
Some scenarios where ThoughtSpot is well suited:
  1. If a user is data savvy and needs to get a quick number to answer a question
  2. If a user needs to do simple data exploration
  3. If a user needs to refresh a static dashboard on a regular basis.
Some scenarios where ThoughtSpot is less suited:
  1. Well experienced data analysts trying to learn the syntax of ThoughtSpot
  2. Analyzing custom data sets
I've found that it takes roughly a month for users to become proficient in ThoughtSpot. There's some documentation and training on ThoughtSpot's site but it also has a built-in formula assistant that explains formulas and gives syntax examples. It is based on UNIX, so it can be a little different than most people are used to.
I give it this rating because I have been the admin of the tool for over a year. It is very easy to pick up and use once you are familiar with how it works. Getting users trained and comfortable with the tool has been the main headache that I've encountered.
Read Jeremy Pierce, MBA's full review
January 08, 2021
Diana Maultsby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently developing this as our infusion data insights solution for customer-facing analysis for Infusion medication safety practices and trends. Options are being explored that will be the solution to drive parallel analysis with other BD portfolio products. Speed to insight to identify improvement opportunities and measure outcomes
  • Speed to insight within massive data banks
  • UI for all learner levels, up to executives (highlights key takeaways to data scientists)
  • Graphical output
  • Data modeling
  • Advance understanding of the problems that the healthcare industry is facing (great at counting cans of tuna, however healthcare has more complexities and variables)
  • Account consultant is readily available, however need to use more dedicated time with them to hone my skills
Good with aggregate data; processing. However because there is so much flexibility in using the search terms, one can render various answers if they are unclear about the 'relationship' for which terms should be paired. (this my be unique to our data source/type)
Honestly - a while. Most of our end users are nurses and pharmacists. The informatics group does better. The average user and especially new to using or data takes 60-90 to understand what they are seeing... beyond that, we move them to understanding the insights and discussing an action plan.
I love the tool, but it takes and understanding of the worksheet, how to derive the correct data modeling, and I honest fall short on an advance skill set for developing forumlas
Read Diana Maultsby's full review
January 07, 2021
Manish Motiramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is available across the organization. Some functions have taken a larger leap in self-service analytics with ThoughtSpot. It helps us with reducing cost and improving efficiency.
  • Analysis comes more naturally in ThoughtSpot than in other tools through NLP.
  • It ties in very well and effortlessly with our fiscal calendar and makes time series analysis by fiscal dates very efficient.
  • Auto ML (Spot IQ) is able to uncover insights that encourage users to dive into areas that they would have not known otherwise.
  • Visualization options and graphics colors can be improved.
  • Deeper analysis with "growth of" has a lot of untapped potential.
  • Administration processes (upgrades, patches, migrations, etc.) can be better.
  • Self-service analysis using NLP and time keywords (last month, year to date) for off-calendar fiscal periods is phenomenal.
  • Gives the business users a large
    productivity boost by reducing the build time for self-service analysis.
  • Spot IQ encourages us to look in places that
    were not on our radar in the past.
Our training sessions for ThoughtSpot are much shorter. Users can build productive insights after a one-hour training. Other tools may take four to six hours of training to achieve the same productivity.
Great UI for users to use existing answers or build new searches. The pinboard functionality can be enhanced with better interactivity.
Read Manish Motiramani's full review
December 14, 2020
David Clifton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is primarily used a resource tool. We have Global projects and ThoughtSpot helps us to closely track project hours on a weekly basis. It is also used to estimate project related billing costs.
ThoughtSpot is used also as an internal cost management tool given the rapid analytics capability.
Many other users have leveraged ThoughtSpot to create basic lists and counts.
  • Search through millions of rows of data in seconds.
  • Rapid response time with searches.
  • The search indexing feature is impressive.
  • Content sharing.
  • Scheduling.
  • Improve the export feature so that PDFs are paginated.
  • Pivot table exports need to have column labels included.
  • Better user/group security - ability to create special groups as in roles.
  • Better ability to report on content, tables(rows loaded, etc.), system reporting leverage search.
  • Improve scheduling to allow for report bursting to multiple users/groups/roles from a single Pinboard.
ThoughtSpot is well suited for rapid deployment, getting data in the hands of decision makers. The ease of onboarding non-technical users is a proven example of how ThoughtSpot is innovative and nimble. I have literally trained users on basic functions in 5 minutes.
When the Covid pandemic was ramping up we were able to deploy critical information to our global business leaders within days. Everyone was impressed with its capabilities.

Where ThoughtSpot is less appropriate is the embedding of links, images, videos and other web page type content. An example comes to mind with a function called Bar Chart Racing.
I have literally trained users in 5 minutes on the basic functions that enabled them to retrieve the data they needed.
On average we can train a large number of users in less than 30 minutes.
Many users are self taught and frequently ask about more complex tasks but the tool is so intuitive they usually train themselves.
There are only a few areas where ThoughtSpot has just not matured to a comparable reporting tool.
However, even with these limitations, ThoughtSpot has proven itself in our business as the "go to" rapid data tool.
Read David Clifton's full review
January 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot enable self-service BI, and is positioned between classical dashboard BI and AI/ML-based Data Science. It opens up opportunities for business users to better understand their data, and to develop insights on this data. Based on the natural language based query language end user can more easily navigate through their data, and build insights graphics per click. Collaboration with peers and insights consumers is enabled through a social media like sharing, commenting and voting experience. All in all a great step towards data driven company. There are similar products, but ThoughtSpot shines in its set of features and capabilities, as well as in the User Experience.
  • Natural Language Query formulation
  • Immediate response to any change in query or layout
  • Foster collaboration on developed insights
  • A true SaaS offering (e.g. like Snowflake)
  • Packaged installation based on Docker / Kubernetes
  • Full-fledged multi tenant support
Quickly gain insights on new or changed data, detect hidden data patterns, quickly spot anomalies, easily leverage Cloud DataWareHouse data, e.g. in Redshift, Snowflake, Big Query, SAP Hana, etc.
Business end user: will have a hard time if they only now Excel, those experienced with e.g. Tableau will need some time to understand on how to deal with data themselves, but then will gain much more agility in data journey (learning and mastering their data)
Technical users: The set-up of ThoughtSpot is not trivial, and is typically perform together with ToughtSpot support.
Quite a good UI design, and good UX. But still room to improve UX, new UX features point in the right direction.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by one department to support many business units. The goal is to better understand when is the best time to contact customers for purchasing. This proves to be a bit difficult as it challenges you as a data analyst to choose the right input data for the software to ingest.
  • The interface is pleasing. Makes you feel like you have access to some future tech software you would see in a Bond film or something.
  • Their customer service has been top notch as far as I can tell.
  • When there are questions they are quick to respond or reach out to colleagues that might better know.
  • Better communicating the limitations of the software. It's not valuable to me to know that it's a sign of success that "purchased" is included in the data set for successful transactions.
  • Giving direction on data cleanliness could be improved.
Even though I am not in the contract discussions or know pricing, my understanding is that it is a very expensive product. I'm not certain we are ready to extract the value we should out of this relationship, yet. I believe that by improving our data set by including real-time data instead of just historic we could potentially be better at utilizing this product.
Since we have had very few users trained or given access to the software, I would say it is going to take awhile. You have to have such a commanding understanding of our internal BI architecture, to begin with, and really know what the correct signals for success really are that it's proven difficult to just sit down and extract value from it.
I think there is potential but I/We are not ready to extract it from my experience. We do have one colleague that is leaps and bounds above the rest of us but he is generally hamstrung with the business problem not aligning with the data set available.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. It's been useful for addressing the big amount of queries we receive on a daily basis, as the platform is user-friendly and you can direct people that normally wouldn't run a report in a ERP.
  • Intuitive platform, easy to learn how to use it.
  • Lots of charts possibilities, and presentation mode saves you hours doing PowerPoint presentations.
  • It's quite easy to upload a new database to analyse different datasets.
  • There's still some work to be done in presentation mode.
  • The tool could be a bit faster.
It's really good for seeing live information, doing quick analysis or graphs without the need of Excel, as this will be dynamic and you won't need to update them every time. It's less useful if you want to download a big set of information for then modelling it into Excel (i.e. large financial models).
I think it's quite easy to learn how to use it. I helped with some trainings in the company and people learnt quite fast to use it as the tool uses an approach similar to Google search.
I think ThoughtSpot's interface is very user-friendly, and makes complex analysis quite easy with it's capabilities (i.e. Drill down and SpotIQ).
Read this authenticated review
January 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is being used across our business to solve an analytical challenge we had that our incumbent vendor was unable to support. The rollout was smooth and we encountered only medium issues during the rollout following a fairly drawn out and fraught negotiation with the vendor in the UK.
  • Analytics
  • Support
  • Details
  • Sales process
  • Negotiations
  • Staffing
ThoughtSpot is widely regarded in the industry and I would suggest the broad use would be a cheaper alternative to some of the 'big boys', especially if keeping costs down is key to your business. ThoughtSpot is both good for internal users and external customers.
ThoughtSpot has a really quick onboarding process which makes it slick and smart for new users to confidently learn the product and feel confident in using it on a daily basis. I like this a lot, it's definitely a smile-inducing feature from the vendor. I would only suggest more manuals for those who prefer to read.
Really happy and super usable and accessible.
Read this authenticated review
January 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is currently being used by our strategy and planning organization. This group is responsible for ad-hoc analysis of data but also gets requests for one-off analysis. We're attempting to leverage ThoughtSpot as a tool for one-off analysis so that users can pull their own data without having to have a deep understanding of the other tools in play for data analysis.
  • Data visualization
  • Data insights
  • Ease of searching
  • Lots of hands on IT work needed for initial setup
  • Sometimes difficult to develop complex metrics
Well suited for ad-hoc quick requests and providing insights that may not be easily discovered. It makes quick work of searching large data sets and makes it easy for users to pull together exactly what they're looking for. It does take a bit of business and IT investment to initially get things configured to ensure it's usable for the average user.
New users come up to speed very quickly. With a few hours of training the users are able to navigate the system and pull everything they need.
The product is extremely easy to use and can be learned by anyone.
Read this authenticated review
May 09, 2020
Dino Cavallo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughSpot is being used increasingly across the organization. It has taken root within merchandising and continues to expand from there. It has helped enable quick access to information for non-technical users. Further data needs to be ingested to unlock the benefits for the supply chain group. Initial attempts to replicate existing reporting in ThoughtSpot have identified some limitations with respect to formatting.
  • Speed
  • Dynamic ability to drill down/up.
  • Ability to share information.
  • Initial attempts to replicate existing reporting in ThoughtSpot have identified some limitations with respect to formatting (year over year, week over week comparisons, etc.).
  • Creating search string to get the data you want is not as intuitive as it is made out to be.
  • Tweaking search string to generate visualizations in desired format is not always clear.
  • Well suited for quick queries.
  • Well suited for simple reports/visualizations/pinboards.
  • Well suited for more senior (manager and above) audience.
  • Not well suited for more complex queries.
  • Not well suited for ad hoc data analysis (data must be curated by the support team).
Certainly, this is company/business/use specific, but ThoughtSpot is fairly intuitive and most anyone with at least some business intelligence reporting experience can start creating queries/reporting right away. This, of course, assumes that all the underlying data is loaded and curated accordingly. That said and in place, I think a few hours of additional/dedicated training will go a long way to getting users very proficient with ThoughSpot.
  • Great clean look and feel, quick and responsive.
  • Ability to visualize and share information easily.
  • Views are dynamic and support related questions (drill-down) easily.
Read Dino Cavallo's full review
April 14, 2020
Iaroslav (Iaro) Boutorin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot has been revolutionary in day-to-day reporting and analytic needs. We rolled out the tool throughout merch organization first and it allowed for ease of use and access to most granular information. That allows for quicker decision making, as well as needed customization for end-users. While we started with roll out to merch first, we ended up implementing the tool with supply chain, branding, marketing, procurement, etc. All to great success and high adoption rate.
  • Ad hoc searches
  • Custom functions such as top 10, vs, quarter to date, etc.
  • Ability to combine tabular representation of info and visuals
  • Ease of formula creation
  • More custom visuals
If you are looking for a picture perfect copy of an existing report and visual, this may not be the tool for you. You can recreate visuals but they may not look the same.
The strength of the ThoughtSpot tool is its search and ability to do quick data pull or quick analysis on the fly.
We do robust training up front and the key is to engage with the user on a regular basis. Questions come up as the tool allows you to be creative with questions.
I would say, after a day of playing around, users are good to go!
I love usability of the tool being the data junky. It's quick, there are not too many bells and whistles so it's straight to the point.
Read Iaroslav (Iaro) Boutorin's full review
March 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has had the ThoughtSpot appliance on-prem for about a year. ThoughtSpot hosted a workshop with each division within our organization to establish viable proof of concepts (POCs). Through the workshop, we were able to rank the POC options and then execute an SOW for our most viable option. By the time the SOW was completed, that particular division was "all-in" with the application. It has been extremely helpful for the division in answering questions using the data we already have within our databases. We think of ThoughtSpot as a compliment to Tableau. Tableau does beautiful things with visualizations, but it can only answer specific questions as the designer created it. With Tableau, we can drill down as the answers create more questions without having to continue to recreate new dashboards. That has been the most helpful aspect of the application for our users. Since the first POC was so successful, we engaged ThoughtSpot for a second POC/SOW with a different division that we felt would be the most challenging. We completed that second POC even more smoothly than the first. If we can implement ThoughtSpot in our most challenging division within the organization, then we can use it anywhere.
  • Ability to drill down into questions on the fly.
  • Easy-to-read pinboards for non-technical executives, including natural language questions.
  • Ability to join multiple databases so data can be analyzed across the organization.
  • SpotIQ: showing us insights to our data that we didn't even think to ask about.
  • The visualizations aren't quite as clean as other leaders in the viz space.
  • Difficult to customize the visualizations.
  • The application is still in its younger years and still needs more time to be fully developed.
The most impressive part about ThoughtSpot is the people. Every ThoughtSpot employee that we have encountered has been incredibly helpful and genuine in their desire to help us make the most of the application. They weren't just there to sell us a product and then leave us to our own devices. They truly want to make sure that we are successful in our implementation and that we are getting the most out of the application. Their implementation process is super clean and they maximized the time with our engineers to ensure that our infrastructure was best suited for the appliance. And while they would prefer to work in the cloud, they understood our desire to be on-prem and knew exactly how to work with hour specific architectural structure. They trained our team so well in how the appliance works that we were able to handle the next implementation with little support from the ThoughtSpot engineers. Yet, they always made themselves available to us when we got stuck on something.
The implementation process that ThoughtSpot uses for standing the application up and getting it into the final user's hands is about six weeks. We thought this would be near impossible considering the other priorities our teams had, but we managed to have an end-user training in exactly six weeks. With that said, we didn't yet have the data refresh automated, so the users loved it for that first two weeks and then the data became old, quick. It took us several more weeks to get the data refresh automated. Once that happened, the end-users began working in the tool more frequently. Getting the natural language to a point where people will use it easily takes more time as well. We have been working on synonyms for at least five months and we are still not to a point where we feel comfortable that we have most of them done. With that said, I don't see that as a negative. Adding synonyms, formulas, and pinboards is an ongoing process that we may never fully complete.
ThoughtSpot is extremely easy to use from a frontend perspective. With that said, it does take training and time to adapt to the UI. If you don't have proper synonyms established, then asking questions may be difficult if you don't know how the data is stored. For example, in order to ask a question, you have to know what the column is called where that particular piece of information is stored. Some users in our organization don't necessarily know how the data is broken down. Therefore, we have to spend a significant amount of time thinking about how to best utilize the synonyms so that executive-level users can ask natural language questions.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is being used by a number of departments at our company. It allows the average user to access data quickly and make sound business decisions.
  • Adhoc search.
  • Instantaneous visualization.
  • Getting access to data fast.
  • Formulas - i.e. aggregation of data for common financial time periods are cumbersome.
  • Formatting - Not able to apply basic formatting, it makes tables hard to read.
  • Querying - Restricted to querying only one worksheet at a time.
  • When sharing scheduled reports - PDF or CVS attachments don't do the report justice, format-wise and visually.
The strength of ThoughtSpot is that it allows anyone in the organization to have access to data fast and easily, but if you are a report builder you may be better off with another BI tool (i.e. Power BI, etc).
If you are searching for basic adhoc data, maybe a day but if you want to build intuitive and meaningful dashboards that could be used weekly by your department, then a lot more time is required.
I would say 8 since the usability goes down when you want to get specific, produce curated content, etc.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ThoughtSpot to supplement Tableau in sales analytics and marketing teams. It is used for quick data access and analytics.
  • It's fast, and easy to use for non technical users.
  • Alternative non-specialist search based analytics tools are all too young to be useful.
  • There are no per user fees, so it's possible to democratise access to key data.
  • Loading data can be slow.
  • Total storage is generally limited by RAM, which makes space relatively expensive (Snowflake connector has potential to mitigate this for some users).
  • Cloud option is expensive.
Where you have data literate users without the technical skills to write SQL, or where there are many small questions being asked of data where SQL is more cumbersome. Simpler data sets, focused on topics work best.
ThoughtSpot is generally very easy to use. It's a search experience, which most users are now familiar with (Google, Bing, etc).

For consumers, 1 hour. Longer to learn the meaning of the data of course.

For admin - you need to understand how the meta data is processed, etc. to create good user experiences. This is not hard, but takes a few days experimenting.
Once you understand it and your data, this is BI at the speed of thought.
Read this authenticated review
April 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is our data warehouse linked to our application for daily use by end-users as well as internally by al areas of the company. It is used for a variety of reporting (sales, inventory, billing) as well as for developing projections. The data warehouse we have developed is quite extensive.
  • Excellent natural language
  • Good, clean UI
  • Highly performant
  • Ongoing functional support could be improved
  • Quicker reaction to patch / bug fixes
  • Increase in self-service day to day system maintenance
ThoughtSpot is an excellent product for deploying as an off the shelf data analysis tool. Its development of natural query language gives software companies the flexibility and options to both internally develop standard usage reports, graphs, data analysis while also giving any day to day user of the product the capability to develop their own ad hoc reporting.
Most new users are able to navigate the product comfortably within a week. By using a train the trainer philosophy, we are able to focus our efforts on key members within an organization to get them up to speed quickly with the necessary knowledge for them to take what they have learned and use that to bring others on board,
The UI is very clean, easy to use and navigate. The performance is very good, quick. Performance for us has not been a concern since we deployed the product initially, nor have we had to initiate any performance-related (hardware) upgrades. That is a key contributor to the usability of this product. Our ability to link it with our application seamlessly is also a plus.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is the only product on the market that supports search, analytics and BI across corporate. It's been used by the whole organization. We have users who use pinboards on a daily basis. We have users that launch searches for a specific loan and drill down to its details. ThoughtSpot was able to hold large data volume in memory and return search results in the desired timeframe.
  • Searching like Googling was the number one feature that we were looking for and ThoughtSpot does it best.
  • Pinboards are very useful for the group of field managers who're working on a set of products.
  • Data manipulation ( e.g. joining multiple tables and views ) under the hood
  • The model file/worksheet is typically used as a whole and it'll be nice if it could be used at the column level.
  • Integration with commonly used ETL tools, such as Informatica, will help the IT/Data department greatly.
Searching is definitely the number one feature we like because a fieldworker can type in unique words/terms used by his/her professional field and an accurate report will likely pop up in a timely manner. Users also save their pinboards and use them with real-time data every day.
We conduct user on-board training for any new user to get it started with Thoughtspot. We provide follow-up training in a month or two to cover advanced features beyond the 101. Typically, within a couple of months, a new user is good at the basics. In many cases, users said that they needed to change their mind set a bit from traditional reporting to the self-service reporting.
Based on its intuitive easiness, I value ThoughtSpot's overall usability at 8 (out of 10). ThoughtSpot has delivered its promise as a business search engine.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of rolling out TS for our global O2C use case across all operating companies of Siemens. It is addressing the identification of automation levers and rework avoidance where we are currently using process mining solutions. The benefit of TS lies in its performance and usability so that people without domain know-how can interact with the data. Or in easier terms, everyone can become Iron Man. A suit for everyone. You don’t have to be a rocket or data scientist. It is the first time in my professional life where the democratization of data could become a truth.
  • Performance speed.
  • Using AI (spotiq) to facilitate insights.
  • Super easy usability.
  • Ease of set up.
  • None so far.
Works for any scenario in any industry. However, even though it works for reporting use cases, don’t waste your time creating more dashboards. Let everyone use Thoughtspot and you will see that a democratized and citizen integrator approach will do miracles for any organization.
It depends on the users. Usually from minutes to never. But not a software issue. Reality is that data literacy is still a thing everyone has to work on. However, some digital heroes can interact very fluidly with the solution, thus we can see already results that are amazing to the entire organization. The question rather will be: will an organization allow all their members to become a knowledge worker or not.
Just try it and compare to other solutions. Couldn’t give it a 11.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ThougthSpot at the Enterprise level.
  • Spot IQ
  • Adhoc search
  • Multiple graphs
  • Frequent data refresh
  • Space restricted admin access
  • User-based licensing
When the requirement is for a quick analysis, ThoughtSpot is the tool to go to. However, in Falcon Mode, you have to ensure the data is refreshed on a regular basis.
It is fairly quick to adopt the tool once you bypass the first time set up and all.
When the tool is being explained, it's constantly compared against other tools out in the market, like Tableau, etc. ThoughtSpot needs to make its own space in the market to create unique visibility.
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its a department used in our organization, but it uses whole org data actually. We use the data of our sales and use analytics to concentrate on specific areas of interest
  • Search is easy
  • Search is very fast
  • SPOT IQ insights
  • Graphs are very limited.
  • Objects dependencies on worksheets.
  • Wait more time for new features.
  • Difficult to join the tables/data.
It's well suited in the case of better and fast analytic reports.
It's easy for new users to begin with it compares to others.
It's very easy for higher-level execs yo directly jump to PIN boards and play with underlying data.
Read this authenticated review
January 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solving for human-scale data access implies solving for data-scale by definition, but data is only a means to an end; the end is to help humans do their jobs better as we approached the problem from the other end. We realized that the solution would end up being quite different than what the industry was trying to do—creating big data lakes, throwing a bunch of data in there, and connecting their existing BI tools to it, then hoping for the best. Being able to store a lot of data in a data lake does not matter. You might have a petabyte of data or maybe even two, but if only a handful of experts know how to access it, it will have a minimal impact on your business. On the other hand, if you gave accurate data access to a million human beings—whether your employees, customers, or partners—even if it were only a hundred gigabytes, it would have a significant impact on your business.
  • Powerful search
  • Maximized data sources
  • Simple reports are easy to create, and simple questions are readily answered. Complex problems that involve sub-queries etc. are tough to answer.
  • Migrating between environments could be refined.
Multiple departments use ThoughtSpot. Serves as a self-service reporting platform for users to find useful insights with data, especially intuitively using search keywords. Great for analysts to quickly gather data and glean ideas for both reconciliation and critical business decisions.
ThoughtSpot is very intuitive for the end-user. No particular technical skills are required to start using the tool. You need to know your data to search for meaningful statistical results.
Very fast. The in-memory solution seems to respond very quickly. Very easy to type something and get a nice visual with little effort.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2018
Joseph Pruiett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot has been selected to replace most of our general reporting implementations. We want to spend more time on data quality and less time on custom report churn as ThoughtSpot is providing us the ability to go this route. Currently our legacy systems have been integrated into ThoughtSpot. We still have new platforms and other service lines that need to get integrated which the company is ready to have one place for analytical reporting to be done. The problem that ThoughtSpot solves is wasted time on custom report development that generally has to go through several iterations to answer the questions the business is initially asking. ThoughtSpot reduced that time and cost by 1000% by allowing the business users to determine what answers they really are trying to extract out of the data set by having direct access to all the data for a specific focus area.
  • Speed of aggregation is is unmatched with other analytics tools.
  • Visualization is instantaneous in most interactions which gives the users the Google response time we have been conditioned to in this day and age.
  • The business is empowered to create their own custom dashboards for their focus area.
  • Regression testing for all existing functionality to ensure smooth upgrade to existing worksheets, dashboards, etc., that have been created on prior versions.
  • Ability for modifications to underlying source tables to propagate changes throughout all worksheets built on top of source data. Currently if you have to modify a relationship field or primary key definitions, you have to recreate everything sitting on top of that source which as time goes on it makes it very problematic to address relationship issues that have been uncovered over time.
  • group_max performance
We have found for general and in-depth reporting ThoughtSpot is perfect. We have identified that in some cases it's better to grab the flow of events as you need to see them prior to pushing into ThoughtSpot so we are not dependant on using group_max to find the date an event happened because as with all reporting systems, views on top of views on top of views can eventually be a performance issue.
A week - once they get use to using the interface.
I have been in data realm for most of my career, this is the first product I have labeled as the holy grail of BI because it's Google for your data at speed of the day and age expectancy.
Read Joseph Pruiett's full review
November 16, 2018
Hari Varadhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TS is being used by the various product development teams and customer relationship management folks. It is also being used by data analysts to assist with client adoption of our products, monitor changes in client behavior after product releases and find data anomalies. The main problem that TS addresses is making data available and easy to search for our end users who are not proficient in SQL but do need the data and insights.
  • It is FAST. Once the data is loaded, there is really nothing comparable to the speed that TS provides.
  • It is an easy learning curve for the setup as well as end users.
  • Very intuitive design and the ability to share easily.
  • No limitation on the number of users. Don't have to worry about handing out licenses every time someone wants to look at the data.
  • Simple reports are easy to create and simple questions are readily answered. Complex questions that involve sub-queries etc are very hard to answer.
  • It has limitations compared to a regular database. Data updates are hard to make. Adding new columns and populating them are very hard.
  • Concept of a lower environment needs to exist - and promoting worksheets and definitions needs to be a feature.
SPEED. Any reports slow? Querying takes too long? TS is your answer. If your customers know exactly what they want, there may be other tools to provide them that. But anything else, TS is worthwhile. It may not be appropriate for providing custom reports and pixel perfect reporting.
Depends on the type of user. Some are very quick and can get rolling in a matter of minutes. Some take longer.
A user unfamiliar with databases and data structures can simply come in and ask a question and get the answer they are looking for. For that reason alone I would give it a high rating. It is blazing fast in providing the answers. Faster in orders of magnitude than anything else on the market
Read Hari Varadhan's full review
November 13, 2018
Doug Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, ThoughtSpot is being used with our senior management. The plan is to eventually allow our external customers access to ThoughtSpot via API into our custom built applications. We are currently obtaining information on our employee utilization. We are working to get all of our sales revenue into the system and make that searchable.
  • Ad-hoc reporting is number one. Very easy for the end user to create their own ad-hoc visualization.
  • ETL process. Should have a built-in way to import your data.
Ad-hoc reporting is very powerful with ThoughtSpot. I would also say ThoughtSpot is very useful for the power user that creates their own Excel file in order to create their own visualizations. They can import that Excel file and create visualizations on the fly. Heatmaps and geo visualizations are also very powerful.
ThoughtSpot is very intuitive to use. The UX/UI (user experience and user interface) is very plain and easy to use. It looks like it was modeled after Google (fast but pretty plain). The "drillable", "exclude from result", and "show underlying data" are, in my opinion, the most powerful features. Overall rating is great.
Read Doug Smith's full review
November 13, 2018
Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used to reduce ad hoc requests by allowing users to create dashboards with ease.
  • Easy for business users to use. The search functionality is simple and clear
  • Data loading is fairly simple when connecting to databases
  • A lot of display options for users to show their data in a desired format
  • On the backend data mapping can get very messy and needs to be constantly monitored
  • Importing an Excel or CSV file is not nearly as simple as it should be
  • More flexible graph options
When business users have many simple ad hoc requests, ThoughtSpot is a wonderful tool to take over that work. Users themselves can make the graphs, tables, and dashboards with minimal operation team support due to the easy and friendly interface, and they can complete whatever dashboard they need to accomplish their goals.
Does have a steep learning curve. So quick to learn, but takes a while to know all the kinks.
Very easy and friendly to users. The learning curve is steep but most employees do not need to use the advanced functionality to produce the reports that they want to create.
Read Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (21)
6.1
Customizable dashboards (50)
7.6
Report Formatting Templates (25)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (50)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (49)
6.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (29)
7.5
Report sharing and collaboration (48)
8.2
Publish to Web (30)
8.2
Publish to PDF (45)
7.4
Report Versioning (18)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (35)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (19)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (47)
8.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (46)
7.7
Predictive Analytics (39)
6.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (47)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (42)
8.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (46)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (41)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
8.1
Dedicated iOS Application (17)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (15)
8.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (26)
7.2
REST API (23)
7.9
Javascript API (20)
8.2
iFrames (17)
8.1
Java API (13)
6.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (17)
6.5
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (15)
7.2

What is ThoughtSpot?

ThoughtSpot is a search & AI-driven analytics platform. With ThoughtSpot, users type questions into a search box like they would with Google or Bing and get answers. The analytics platform presents best-fit visualizations so users can analyze data, create reports and build dashboards without relying on IT. ThoughtSpot connects with and combines any on-premise, cloud, big data, or desktop data source.

Search is designed to give users fast and easy access to granular insights. AI automatically discovers personalized, relevant insights hidden in data.

ThoughtSpot’s AI insights engine SpotIQ can automatically ask thousands of questions about billions of data points and bring back dozens of insights. It arms non-technical business users with insights through anomaly detection, trend analysis, and comparative analysis.

With natural language processing (NLP), search enables conversational analytics so business users can ask questions directly from their data in natural language and instantly get results.

ThoughtSpot Cloud provides a turnkey search and AI-driven analytics solution, managed in the cloud. ThoughtSpot Cloud connects to popular cloud data warehouses like Amazon Redshift and Snowflake, the cloud data platform, allowing business users to unearth insights from all their cloud data with search and AI.


ThoughtSpot Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featureCustomizable dashboards

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features

Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Additional Features
Has featureSearch-driven analytics
Has featureDeploy on-premises
Has featureDeploy on AWS
Has featureDeploy on Google Cloud Platform
Has featureDeploy on Azure
Has featureAvailable as a managed service

ThoughtSpot Screenshots

ThoughtSpot Videos (5)

ThoughtSpot Downloadables

ThoughtSpot Competitors

ThoughtSpot Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

ThoughtSpot Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ThoughtSpot Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Dansk, Deutsche, Español, Français, Italiano, Nederland, Norsk, Português, Suomi, Svenska, 中文(简体), 日本語