ThoughtSpot Reviews

111 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

ThoughtSpot: Easy installation and immediate application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has had the ThoughtSpot appliance on-prem for about a year. ThoughtSpot hosted a workshop with each division within our organization to establish viable proof of concepts (POCs). Through the workshop, we were able to rank the POC options and then execute an SOW for our most viable option. By the time the SOW was completed, that particular division was "all-in" with the application. It has been extremely helpful for the division in answering questions using the data we already have within our databases. We think of ThoughtSpot as a compliment to Tableau. Tableau does beautiful things with visualizations, but it can only answer specific questions as the designer created it. With Tableau, we can drill down as the answers create more questions without having to continue to recreate new dashboards. That has been the most helpful aspect of the application for our users. Since the first POC was so successful, we engaged ThoughtSpot for a second POC/SOW with a different division that we felt would be the most challenging. We completed that second POC even more smoothly than the first. If we can implement ThoughtSpot in our most challenging division within the organization, then we can use it anywhere.
  • Ability to drill down into questions on the fly.
  • Easy-to-read pinboards for non-technical executives, including natural language questions.
  • Ability to join multiple databases so data can be analyzed across the organization.
  • SpotIQ: showing us insights to our data that we didn't even think to ask about.
  • The visualizations aren't quite as clean as other leaders in the viz space.
  • Difficult to customize the visualizations.
  • The application is still in its younger years and still needs more time to be fully developed.
The most impressive part about ThoughtSpot is the people. Every ThoughtSpot employee that we have encountered has been incredibly helpful and genuine in their desire to help us make the most of the application. They weren't just there to sell us a product and then leave us to our own devices. They truly want to make sure that we are successful in our implementation and that we are getting the most out of the application. Their implementation process is super clean and they maximized the time with our engineers to ensure that our infrastructure was best suited for the appliance. And while they would prefer to work in the cloud, they understood our desire to be on-prem and knew exactly how to work with hour specific architectural structure. They trained our team so well in how the appliance works that we were able to handle the next implementation with little support from the ThoughtSpot engineers. Yet, they always made themselves available to us when we got stuck on something.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Best out there at the moment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of rolling out TS for our global O2C use case across all operating companies of Siemens. It is addressing the identification of automation levers and rework avoidance where we are currently using process mining solutions. The benefit of TS lies in its performance and usability so that people without domain know-how can interact with the data. Or in easier terms, everyone can become Iron Man. A suit for everyone. You don’t have to be a rocket or data scientist. It is the first time in my professional life where the democratization of data could become a truth.
  • Performance speed.
  • Using AI (spotiq) to facilitate insights.
  • Super easy usability.
  • Ease of set up.
  • None so far.
Works for any scenario in any industry. However, even though it works for reporting use cases, don’t waste your time creating more dashboards. Let everyone use Thoughtspot and you will see that a democratized and citizen integrator approach will do miracles for any organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Thoughtspot - Powerful BI Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solving for human-scale data access implies solving for data-scale by definition, but data is only a means to an end; the end is to help humans do their jobs better as we approached the problem from the other end. We realized that the solution would end up being quite different than what the industry was trying to do—creating big data lakes, throwing a bunch of data in there, and connecting their existing BI tools to it, then hoping for the best. Being able to store a lot of data in a data lake does not matter. You might have a petabyte of data or maybe even two, but if only a handful of experts know how to access it, it will have a minimal impact on your business. On the other hand, if you gave accurate data access to a million human beings—whether your employees, customers, or partners—even if it were only a hundred gigabytes, it would have a significant impact on your business.
  • Powerful search
  • Maximized data sources
  • Simple reports are easy to create, and simple questions are readily answered. Complex problems that involve sub-queries etc. are tough to answer.
  • Migrating between environments could be refined.
Multiple departments use ThoughtSpot. Serves as a self-service reporting platform for users to find useful insights with data, especially intuitively using search keywords. Great for analysts to quickly gather data and glean ideas for both reconciliation and critical business decisions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Best analytics tool in market

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its a department used in our organization, but it uses whole org data actually. We use the data of our sales and use analytics to concentrate on specific areas of interest
  • Search is easy
  • Search is very fast
  • SPOT IQ insights
  • Graphs are very limited.
  • Objects dependencies on worksheets.
  • Wait more time for new features.
  • Difficult to join the tables/data.
It's well suited in the case of better and fast analytic reports.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph Pruiett | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

ThoughtSpot will change your company's visibility into the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot has been selected to replace most of our general reporting implementations. We want to spend more time on data quality and less time on custom report churn as ThoughtSpot is providing us the ability to go this route. Currently our legacy systems have been integrated into ThoughtSpot. We still have new platforms and other service lines that need to get integrated which the company is ready to have one place for analytical reporting to be done. The problem that ThoughtSpot solves is wasted time on custom report development that generally has to go through several iterations to answer the questions the business is initially asking. ThoughtSpot reduced that time and cost by 1000% by allowing the business users to determine what answers they really are trying to extract out of the data set by having direct access to all the data for a specific focus area.
  • Speed of aggregation is is unmatched with other analytics tools.
  • Visualization is instantaneous in most interactions which gives the users the Google response time we have been conditioned to in this day and age.
  • The business is empowered to create their own custom dashboards for their focus area.
  • Regression testing for all existing functionality to ensure smooth upgrade to existing worksheets, dashboards, etc., that have been created on prior versions.
  • Ability for modifications to underlying source tables to propagate changes throughout all worksheets built on top of source data. Currently if you have to modify a relationship field or primary key definitions, you have to recreate everything sitting on top of that source which as time goes on it makes it very problematic to address relationship issues that have been uncovered over time.
  • group_max performance
We have found for general and in-depth reporting ThoughtSpot is perfect. We have identified that in some cases it's better to grab the flow of events as you need to see them prior to pushing into ThoughtSpot so we are not dependant on using group_max to find the date an event happened because as with all reporting systems, views on top of views on top of views can eventually be a performance issue.
Read Joseph Pruiett's full review
Hari Varadhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Think fast

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TS is being used by the various product development teams and customer relationship management folks. It is also being used by data analysts to assist with client adoption of our products, monitor changes in client behavior after product releases and find data anomalies. The main problem that TS addresses is making data available and easy to search for our end users who are not proficient in SQL but do need the data and insights.
  • It is FAST. Once the data is loaded, there is really nothing comparable to the speed that TS provides.
  • It is an easy learning curve for the setup as well as end users.
  • Very intuitive design and the ability to share easily.
  • No limitation on the number of users. Don't have to worry about handing out licenses every time someone wants to look at the data.
  • Simple reports are easy to create and simple questions are readily answered. Complex questions that involve sub-queries etc are very hard to answer.
  • It has limitations compared to a regular database. Data updates are hard to make. Adding new columns and populating them are very hard.
  • Concept of a lower environment needs to exist - and promoting worksheets and definitions needs to be a feature.
SPEED. Any reports slow? Querying takes too long? TS is your answer. If your customers know exactly what they want, there may be other tools to provide them that. But anything else, TS is worthwhile. It may not be appropriate for providing custom reports and pixel perfect reporting.
Read Hari Varadhan's full review
Doug Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

The power of ad-hoc reporting.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, ThoughtSpot is being used with our senior management. The plan is to eventually allow our external customers access to ThoughtSpot via API into our custom built applications. We are currently obtaining information on our employee utilization. We are working to get all of our sales revenue into the system and make that searchable.
  • Ad-hoc reporting is number one. Very easy for the end user to create their own ad-hoc visualization.
  • ETL process. Should have a built-in way to import your data.
Ad-hoc reporting is very powerful with ThoughtSpot. I would also say ThoughtSpot is very useful for the power user that creates their own Excel file in order to create their own visualizations. They can import that Excel file and create visualizations on the fly. Heatmaps and geo visualizations are also very powerful.
Read Doug Smith's full review
Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Useful for simple ad hoc reports

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used to reduce ad hoc requests by allowing users to create dashboards with ease.
  • Easy for business users to use. The search functionality is simple and clear
  • Data loading is fairly simple when connecting to databases
  • A lot of display options for users to show their data in a desired format
  • On the backend data mapping can get very messy and needs to be constantly monitored
  • Importing an Excel or CSV file is not nearly as simple as it should be
  • More flexible graph options
When business users have many simple ad hoc requests, ThoughtSpot is a wonderful tool to take over that work. Users themselves can make the graphs, tables, and dashboards with minimal operation team support due to the easy and friendly interface, and they can complete whatever dashboard they need to accomplish their goals.
Read Jeffrey Di Santo-Ranney's full review
Jens Englert | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

A great tool for prepared and harmonized data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We recently started using ThoughtSpot as a reseller/partner in Germany. My first experience, when I started about 2 months ago, was kind of poor. As I'm working with ETL Tools the majority of the time, I was still missing the possibility for data preparation. But on further review, I could gain more knowledge and experience through the back-end of ThoughtSpot. I hope to learn more about specific use cases where a significant added value can be generated.
  • Attractive layout
  • High performance in speed
  • Easy to use
  • ETL
  • Database connectors set up via user interface
  • Standard format definings
If you have a pre-built data warehouse with well structured data, ThoughtSpot can be easily and quickly built up. For huge data sets that are not well transformed, it is pretty hard to load it into ThoughtSpot. Additionally, ThoughtSpot is more appropriate for non-technical users as Front-End Usability is easy. It allows for fast decision making for real language questions without having knowledge about the raw data.
Read Jens Englert's full review
Jan Bednar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

A game changing tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We resell ThoughtSpot, however we just started the journey and prepare our clients for their first implementation.
  • Possibility to explore how data are calculated brings the trust.
  • So easy to use, no need to train the business users. I am actually waiting for the mobile app, which I think will be the game changer.
  • So simple to support the system. Updates are done within hours and there is no need to do any outage.
  • Some users are used to work with pixel perfect dashboards. Would be nice to be able to create such a dashboard for them.
ThoughtSpot is basically self-service BI that works! It is less appropriate for the static reporting or pixel perfect dashboards. The thing is, that I still think that it is great tool to change the behavior of managers in the future.
Read Jan Bednar's full review
Surya Ravi | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Doogle- Google for data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by multiple departments. Serves as a self-service reporting platform for users to find useful insights with data, especially using search keywords in an intuitive way. Great for analysts to quickly gather data and glean insights for both reconciliation and key business decisions.
  • Fast data searches
  • Spot IQ is great for automated insights and data discovery
  • Could be more robust in different visualization types and customization
  • Could provide an easier way to validate data in the form of queries
  • Migrating between environments could be refined
Well suited for analysts and end users who are data aware. Not great for canned reports. Integrating into other applications with security layers is not very intuitive and has room for improvement.
Read Surya Ravi's full review
John Swingle | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Thought Spot easy to use, fast and a great backend tech stack.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for ad hoc analysis and for future Voice Recognition.
  • Easy to use.
  • Automatically indexes all columns.
  • Fast engine for data.
  • Spot IQ
  • Can be picky on initial set up
  • Spot IQ can produce more results than can easily be looked at
For Ad hoc analysis for people that know the data, it’s very strong. Not so much for end users with no programming skills.
Read John Swingle's full review
Hailing Xu | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Still in the early stages... High Hopes for the future

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are setting it up as a quick-answer tool. First we will roll it out to BI and data analysts so they don't need to build ad-hoc queries and reports for data requests. Next, we will roll the product out to some data-savvy marketing and sales users to enable self-service for them.
  • Fast search results for large data sets
  • User friendly interface for search
  • Data Aware: For example, uses column names, data values
  • Visualization fine tuning/customization
  • Data integration options are limited
  • Data join features are very limited to leverage data from different sources
Q/A system for a well structured data set is highly . We use ThoughtSpot to get quick answers, which in this scenario will reduce the number of reports and ad-hoc queries for well defined data sets. It can also replace custom UIs to interact with well-structured data for internal apps, as well as websites.
Read Hailing Xu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

ThoughtSpot - The Future Has Come!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is being used by different departments across the organization. My department (Operations Support Services) is one of the early adopters. The business problems we are addressing are mainly of ad-hoc nature, i.e. requests for a dataset that other tools functionality cannot accommodate.
  • ThoughtSpot is very intuitive for the end user. No particular technical skills are required to start using the tool, just you need to know your data in order to search for meaningful statistical results.
  • With ThoughtSpot you are getting real-time data, which is particularly helpful when you need to make timely decisions for resolving data exceptions/issues.
  • ThoughtSpot has really cool features that help you actually get more proficient to use the tool full capacity, i.e. replay feature which shows steps by steps how to construct your question, especially helpful for more complex searches; your data can be transformed into a chart and even presentation slides; the tool is intuitive enough to learn your search pattern and even to present suggestion scenarios related to your historical searches; and so much more!
  • Historical data searches are important for the operational business areas, as it's common to export and save results for the decision making process. In this regard, maybe adding historical search repository for reference purposes, or historical replays.

ThoughtSpot is well suited for ad-hoc data searches, to derive real-time metrics, to create personalized pinboards, to explore data that you haven't thought in the past exists.

ThoughtSpot is not the right tool if you are used to canned reporting, i.e. BOXI or Tableau.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

AI for BI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ThoughtSpot to democratize the data across the company. It was initially launched for a single department but within weeks it was being used across the entire enterprise. It mainly solves the business problem of having static reports. It is very difficult, if not impossible, for a report developer to think about all the permutations and combinations which users might be interested in. ThoughtSpot solves this problem brilliantly.
  • ThoughtSpot is great at answering questions no one asked before.
  • SpotIQ helps identifying the data quality issues.
  • Giving users ability to create their own reports is a huge plus.
  • Lightening fast performance on terabytes of data.
  • ThoughtSpot can do a better job of providing prescriptive analytics.
  • Live connection for other databases is a much needed feature.
  • Pinboard canvas should allow for custom size rather than sticking to 5 pre-defined sizes.
  • More features needed in pinboard level filters.
ThoughtSpot is very well suited to make data available across the company. It does lack at connecting R and other tools to the database for further enrichment of the data. Mobile app is not available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Data democratization for the masses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ThoughtSpot is currently being used by our Global Procurement Organization to better understand vendor invoice spending by supplier, payment term, spend area, spend classification etc. We are also implementing additional use cases across Sales, Marketing and Finance. The biggest business problem ThoughtSpot solves for us is democratizing access to information for every day users. Efforts previously aimed at enabling self-service have focused on business power users with some success, but still left everyday users dependent on IT or power users to produce reports and dashboards. With ThoughtSpot, we are able to get our line of business users to get insights without these bottlenecks.
  • Easy to use - guides user on what to search for. Indexes not just field names, but dimension members.
  • Strong professional services team supporting the implementation. This helped a lot during ramp up and now our internal team is able to run most new use cases independently.
  • Robust modeling options solve for both simple and complex data models.
  • SpotIQ is stil relatively immature. Can do basic analysis, but marketing is a bit overdone for what it can really do at this point.
  • More graph/chart customization options.
  • More models available in SpotIQ out-of-the-box. Specifically, would like to see multiple linear regression.
  • Live query options - would be good if ThoughtSpot would support the ability to directly query our existing in-memory databases (e.g. HANA, Spark).
Highly appropriate for self-service analytics use cases where you need a simple user experience for a line of business users (non technical business users). It works really well on large transactional data sets due to superior performance over other tools. Not well suited for pixel perfect reporting/dash boarding. We still use Tableau for this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2018

Just getting started - so far so good!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in several instances across the company. For the purpose of this survey, will focus on the external implementation which serves data and insights to our customers (primary mortgage market).
  • Natural language search is a really neat feature which allows anyone with the business context to search for insights and then create pin boards for reference.
  • SpotIQ is fantastic feature which can survey, crunch, and analyze vast amounts of data, run models, and provide automated insights.
  • Support and consistent performance across major browsers could be a focus area. ThoughtSpot is optimized for Chrome, and supported for Firefox and IE, however, performance on IE can be slow relative to Chrome.
ThoughtSpot is suited best where performance (response) is a big factor. The in-memory database provides for a fast experience if the data behind the scenes is well modeled. Overall, the learning curve for users is pretty low. The system is intuitive and users can be easily trained - the power lies in identifying insights, it is not meant for your standard reporting and visualizations - you can get that with other BI tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

ThoughtSpot is right on par with the major BI vendors.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ThoughtSpot to address simple use case needs where Tableau dashboards can't quite provide the self-service capabilities we would like. We plan to expand it across the whole organization but currently have only 5 projects live so far.
  • Self-service. Other vendors like to cite self-service as within end users reach but not like ThoughtSpot. It is able to create a "Google-like" interface that all can understand, rather than just the trained Analyst.
  • Search. Vendors are starting to work with search in their products but ThoughtSpot was built with that in mind from the beginning.
  • Anomaly detection and advanced analytics. With SpotIQ, end users with very little training are able to take advantage of models that normally require specialized training.
  • Back end improvement. We would love to see a more robust back end for administrators and for even loading the data into ThoughtSpot.
  • Drivers. Current drivers give mixed results on loading data but we are told new ones are being developed.
  • Permissions. We would like to see more granular permissions available but have been told this is coming as well.
We feel that simple transactional use cases are the best for ThoughtSpot. Cases that would lend themselves to cubes with slicing and dicing. In healthcare, the more complex use cases are where I don't feel as comfortable. ThoughtSpot is about scale whereas some of those use cases are only in the 100s or maybe 1,000s of records.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Powerful data analytical tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of training users. It speeds up and simplifies users queries of financial information. We also use it to find possible fraud through database queries. It allows users to query our database without knowing SQL.
  • It shows charts, based on the database
  • It is easy to do searches. Even non expert users can do searches without knowing how to use databases.
  • It allows you to drill down to the data in tables.
  • ThoughtSpot queries are much faster than with our previous database.
  • Deployment is difficult. The instructions for deployment could be more detailed so we don't need to ask ThoughtSpot for help.
  • ThoughtSpot could use a Windows GUI for the backend.
  • Using command line is difficult and complicated.
  • Even a Unix GUI would be usefull.
It is very useful for our transactional data. It doesn't work as well when there are many filters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Great product, easy to use!

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a large data set that is housed in an old platform that only allows Excel extracts. ThoughtSpot has allowed us to access that data quickly and get insights into our program efficiently.

We use ThoughtSpot to analyze the program coverage of our stores in Channel retail locations, and it allows our non-analytical teams to quickly and efficiently search for complex and sometimes dirty data in a streamlined and easy way.
  • The easy to use UI allowed our teams to get on-boarded to the platform very quickly and let our least BI friendly teams customize reports to their liking.
  • The flexibility of the platform allowed us to reach all levels of our team
  • Quick onboarding process allowed us to move from inception to implementation in a matter of weeks
  • Hard to change a search after inputting, sometimes users need to relearn how to type in a ThoughtSpot manner
  • Would love to allow more capacity for "playing" around with pinboards without changing the existing report
  • We work a lot of photo data, would be interested to see if photos could be incorporated into the platform
Well suited for quick reporting but lacks some of the complexity that Tableau has.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Good tool, still needs some polishing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are embedding ThoughtSpot into our website. External customers (financial advisors) will be able to get a summary of how their retirement plan participants are doing as far as being on target to retire successfully from a pre-built pinboard. They can then modify or start a new search as they see fit. We use row-level security so people can only see data for their plan, and have pre-aggregated data with no row-level security so they can compare to the industry without seeing details of plans that are not theirs. We also use column-level security to hide things like an SSN column, or a formula to mask the SSN based on what group the user is in.
  • Very fast. The in-memory solution seems to respond very quickly.
  • Very easy to type something and get a nice visual with little effort.
  • Everything can be shared with other uses very easily.
  • Until the natural language search is available, an external customer with zero training is going to have some issues. Everyone is spoiled by searching the way we speak so that feature will be great when available.
  • Why can't I thumbs up/down an insight that was generated for me like I can when I run an analysis myself?
  • You constantly get popups about saving before losing changes. It would be nice if it only popped up when there was an actual change. For example, when I change something and then change it back, I shouldn't get a 'do you want to save' popup.
ThoughtSpot works very well for AdHoc queries by users. In the past it was always a slow request process to IT to generate a specific report, and then lots of back and forth to get it adjusted.

I don't feel that it works really well for external customers who can't have any training. The searching isn't as intuitive as it seemed in the sales presentation. The natural language feature should help significantly with this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Hopeful for future of ThoughtSpot

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in several departments throughout the organization.
  • Quick results
  • Drill down
  • Data load backend needs some work. Difficult to load data.
  • Needs a role that can create and manage tables that isn't the admin account
  • Better metrics about table and worksheets. How many rows, key metrics, etc.
Answering 80 percent of the questions based on the data set and then use another BI application to answer more in-depth questions
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Good software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use ThoughtSpot for reporting and to present our data analysis. We use the graphics and its search capabilities in order to have deeper insights. We use it at our operations department for reporting and monitoring and data relations.


  • It is a good data search tool
  • It's intuitive
  • Easy to use
  • More data structures
  • Easy ways to manipulate data into structures (as an example pivot tables excel)
  • Be able to incorporate external predictive models
ThoughtSpot is well utilized on table joins, data presentations, dashboards and in data visualization, as well as for ad-hoc requests. Note that ThoughtSpot is not as well suited to apply models and external analysis in an automated way.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

ThoughtSpot - Getting Started but Good so Far!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Limited use currently but would like to roll out broadly to the organization. Addresses needs of business users to get data without having to go through an analyst
  • Scalability
  • Speed
  • Recommending insights
  • Ability to embed in other tools
  • Data ingestion
  • Data compression
Well suited for one-off questions from end users and for helping end users ask the questions they hadn't thought of previously. Less appropriate for massive data pulls out of a database for other use. Also less appropriate for questions over a large time period as all the historical data would have to be loaded into memory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Easy to adopt and beautiful interface. Could improve by enhancing testing/validating options.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as an analytical tool for Risk Analytics. It's being used in a specific department. It addresses aggregate measures of risk at the enterprise level, as well as giving the capability of drilling down. Aggregate measures are good for reporting purposes but if we had to answer the question about why a metric is trending one direction, ThoughtSpot is a great tool to create different views and drilldowns to tell a story.
  • Creating formulas ad hoc
  • Easy visualization and switching between view types
  • Faster population of variables. Sometimes when typing a formula, it takes some time for it to load.
It's good for on-the-fly analysis. However, if we wanted to see a more robust analysis, some tests need to be done outside of ThoughtSpot to ensure accuracy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (21)
6.1
Customizable dashboards (33)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (25)
6.4
Drill-down analysis (33)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (32)
7.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (20)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (31)
8.5
Publish to Web (22)
8.4
Publish to PDF (30)
7.8
Report Versioning (18)
7.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (23)
7.5
Delivery to Remote Servers (13)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (30)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (30)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (25)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (31)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (29)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (31)
7.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (27)
8.7
Responsive Design for Web Access (17)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (9)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (9)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (16)
7.3
REST API (17)
7.6
Javascript API (18)
7.9
iFrames (14)
7.4
Java API (13)
6.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (13)
7.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (15)
7.3

About ThoughtSpot

ThoughtSpot is a search & AI-driven analytics platform. With ThoughtSpot, users type questions into a search box like they would with Google or Bing to instantly get precise answers. The analytics platform presents best-fit visualizations so users can analyze data, create reports and build dashboards without relying on IT. ThoughtSpot connects with and combines any on-premise, cloud, big data, or desktop data source.

The search is designed to give users fast and easy access to granular insights. AI automatically discovers personalized, relevant insights hidden in the data.

The vendor states that ThoughtSpot’s AI insights engine SpotIQ can automatically asks thousands of questions about billions of data points and bring back dozens of insights, in seconds. It provides non-technical business users with insights through anomaly detection, trend analysis, comparative analysis and more.

With natural language processing (NLP), search enables conversational analytics so business users can ask questions directly from their data in natural language and instantly get results.


ThoughtSpot Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

ThoughtSpot Screenshots

ThoughtSpot Videos (3)

ThoughtSpot Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

ThoughtSpot Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ThoughtSpot Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, Dansk, Deutsche, Español, Français, Italiano, Nederland, Norsk, Português, Suomi, Svenska, 中文(简体), 日本語