Vertex

Vertex

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Vertex

Overview

Recent Reviews

Exempt This

10 out of 10
August 11, 2022
Right now we are using Vertex O Series to input and monitor all of our customers' Exemption Certificates. We are gradually pulling all …
Continue reading

vertex

8 out of 10
March 15, 2022
Sales invoicing transactions for US sales/sellers use tax and Singapore GST using Oracle Cloud Order entry transactions using SAP Hybris …
Continue reading

Vertex Review

9 out of 10
January 07, 2022
We use Vertex for US sales tax and for filing US sales and use tax returns.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Sales and Use Taxes (89)
    8.8
    88%
  • Tax Data Reporting (77)
    8.7
    87%
  • Complex Tax Scenario Management (63)
    8.5
    85%
  • Geolocation for Tax Assessment (62)
    8.4
    84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Vertex, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Vertex?

Vertex combines tax research with technology to improve tax accuracy and consistency on sales and purchase transactions. The automation aims to support high volume and complex transactions at speed and scale to streamline internal processes and improve audit performance. Integrations to ERP, e…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

20 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Avalara?

Avalara AvaTax connects to the software that businesses already have and delivers sales tax decisions based on precise geo-location in more than 12,000 taxing jurisdictions in the U.S.

What is TaxJar?

TaxJar offers automated sales tax reporting and filing. According to the vendor, capabilities include: Accurate, Detailed Sales Tax Reports: TaxJar’s local jurisdiction reports show sales and sales tax collected not only for each state, but for local jurisdiction (counties, cities, special…

Features Scorecard

Type of tax

7.7
77%

Tax Reporting & Compliance

8.6
86%

Product Details

What is Vertex?

Vertex combines tax research with technology to improve tax accuracy and consistency on sales and purchase transactions. The automation aims to support high volume and complex transactions at speed and scale to streamline internal processes and improve audit performance. Integrations to ERP, e-commerce, procurement, and other billing systems enables a single tax engine to seamlessly support a growing business. In addition to tax determination, Vertex provides tools and services to automate and streamline exemption certificate management and compliance filings.

Discover How Vertex Ranks Amongst Industry Competitors
IDC MarketScape compared Vertex against industry peers with Worldwide SaaS and Cloud-Enabled Sales and Use Tax Automation Software for their:
  • Enterprise 2021 Vendor Assessment
  • Value-Added Tax Software 2021 Vendor Assessment
  • Small and Midsize Businesses 2021 Vendor Assessment

Vertex Features

Type of tax Features

  • Supported: Sales and Use Taxes
  • Supported: Cross-border Taxes
  • Supported: VAT / GST Taxes

Tax Reporting & Compliance Features

  • Supported: Geolocation for Tax Assessment
  • Supported: 3rd-Party Software Integrations
  • Supported: Tax Data Reporting
  • Supported: Compliance Administration Management
  • Supported: Tax Exemption Processing
  • Supported: Tax Document Management
  • Supported: Complex Tax Scenario Management

Additional Features

  • Supported: Robust Tax Content: Tax content supports U.S sales and use tax and global VAT/GST with available options for North America lease tax and communications services tax.
  • Supported: Compliance Options: Software and services to manage compliance in-house or outsource.
  • Supported: Retail Point of Sale: Local tax engine deployment to support point of sale for retailers.
  • Supported: Streamlined UI: Single user interface for tax calculation, exemption certificate management, and PDF returns (multi-tenant cloud option).
  • Supported: Implementation Services: Knowledgeable experience implementation services to speed the time to value.

Vertex Videos

Vertex Downloadables

Vertex Integrations

Vertex Competitors

Vertex Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNorth America, EMEA, Central/South America, Asia Pacific
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Avalara and TaxJar are common alternatives for Vertex.

Reviewers rate 3rd-Party Software Integrations highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Vertex are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Retail industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 113)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 11, 2022

Exempt This

Deric Jordan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we are using Vertex O Series to input and monitor all of our customers' Exemption Certificates. We are gradually pulling all divisions of our company into SAP and Vertex O. This software has made it easier to address tax exemption issues as well as being able to provide a copy of exempt certificates for auditors.
  • Integrates exempt certificates into our system which helps A/R prepare invoices properly and prevents short pays.
  • The only thing I can see is uploading can be made easier.
If a company has more than 100 regular customers or 100,000.00 dollars in sales they should consider the benefits of looking at Vertex O.
August 11, 2022

Vertex at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex O is being used in the US and Canada for both sales and purchases. It is not used globally.
  • Rates for sales.
  • Allows multiple flex fields to help correctly determine taxability.
  • Updates the tax rules when the change in a state.
  • A trusted vendor doesn't work the best.
  • We have an issue with the tax drivers, for us, it is material groups and that isn't always taxed in the same manner across states.
  • Vertex does not have the best global platform yet, needs to improve LAO, especially Brazil capability.
Vertex is well suited for large manufacturing companies that sell to all states. All the rates are automatically applied. Like any system, it's all in the configuration, so it takes a lot of work to implement Vertex.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The company (including the tax dept) utilizes Vertex O to maintain and retain exemption certificates, calculate and retain sales records, and automate the use tax accruals.
  • Calculation of Sales Tax
  • Accurate Sales Tax Rates
  • Excellent solution for Exemption Certificates
  • Interface could be more user-friendly
  • Updating Exemption certificates in mass (such as expiration dates) should be easier
Vertex is an excellent all in one solution for sales and use tax. On the sales tax side you can set up exceptions, exemption certificates, special rates. The same can be done for Use Tax.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We license Vertex Indirect Tax Returns for our own compliance in addition to a separate license for our third-party "service bureau" customers. We also licensed Vertex O Series for Leasing and are currently in the implementation process. Our Vertex solutions are utilized for tax compliance on US sales transactions, and we plan to incorporate our Canadian VAT sales transactions in the near future.
  • Vertex does a great job of building in-house industry expertise (leasing in our case) so they truly understand the tax technical and compliance obstacles we face day to day.
  • Vertex actively solicits for and responds to customer feedback on development and product roadmap suggestions. The Leasing users group is an example where Vertex takes an active role in communicating with and taking feedback from our industry.
  • Vertex tax updates are very timely and thorough, which makes the compliance process less stressful for our team.
  • Their leasing module has fewer customers than say retail, so product content development has been less robust, but still far better than their competitors.
  • The sales tax calendar tool is functional, but with a bit more development would probably be used by a lot more customers.
  • We need an accurate count of the number of tax returns filed by the legal entity each month. We haven't found an easy way to extract this information which seems like should be readily available. I would like to see some development in the KPI area of Vertex Indirect Returns.
Vertex has a commanding presence in the leasing vertical attributed to their investment in really understanding the unique tax complexities we face. Vertex Consulting members are comprised of tax professionals that utilized Vertex O Series for Leasing when they were in private industry. Said simply they get leasing because they've been on the other side of the fence so to speak.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex manages/allocates the tax rate for our retail shops in the US and Canada.
  • identifies tax free holidays
  • identifies correct state taxes
  • automatically calculates taxes per purchase in our stores
  • occasionally going offline
  • faster customer service on weekends
  • more user-friendly guidelines for our seniors on our retail teams that are not as savvy on IT
Overall we have no complaints as a company about Vertex. They provide efficiency and efficacy for all of our stores. When it comes to taxes, we love knowing we have a partner that manages that part for us.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
US Sales Tax, France Purchasing transactions
  • Quick sync process with ERP system
  • Support can only be reached via email
  • Clarify that "Vertex Premium" still requires a lot of attention from the users
  • Responsiveness is slow - can be very frustrating when you're in a hurry and you can't call someone
The program itself works well, and now that I've used it for a year, I am comfortable with the maintenance process. However, it's very frustrating that all communications with the support team are done via email. It feels like they assume our job is 100% sales tax, so when they do finally respond there is very little time to react.
March 15, 2022

vertex

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sales invoicing transactions for US sales/sellers use tax and Singapore GST using Oracle Cloud Order entry transactions using SAP Hybris Both order and sales systems point to the same Vertex Production environment
  • Keeping rates up-to-date
  • Flexibility to handle all types of transactions, tax scenarios
  • Reliable tax results
  • When I want to use a particular feature or to learn more about a feature, it's difficult to find exact instructions - I guess I don't know how to search the various knowledge tools? Is there more than one place to look for assistance?
  • Learning to fill in knowledge gaps - some things I know ad nauseum, but other things I don't know at all, such as flex fields.
Vertex requires strong technical knowledge to achieve full performance & functionality. I don't believe it's a plug-and-play resource.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Vertex for sales transactions both online and in brick and mortar. We do have a huge variety of SKUs and multiple product classes that need to be mapped properly to allow the correct taxation of our product. We do use the engine to provide us with use and sales tax for both US and Canadian transactions.
  • Testing transactions.
  • Tax break down.
  • Easy access to XMLs (input and output) of transactions.
  • Some changes to become active need a refresh of the account provided by the support.
  • Vertex should be more on top of tax changes, sometimes they are late on applying them in the system.
Vertex can manage properly a huge classification of products. You can map your catalog by different attributes in order to set it up properly and retrieve the correct tax data for any transaction. You can use the O'series version for both your online and brick-and-mortar business with no distinction. You can test transactions [by] backdating them to verify old taxation rules. Vertex support is pretty responsive and quick to resolve tickets.
January 07, 2022

Vertex Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vertex for US sales tax and for filing US sales and use tax returns.
  • Ability to automate consumers use of tax
  • Importing/exporting of tax data
  • Vertex deals with complex tax cases for business efficiency
  • The customer support needs some improvement for ease of use
  • Some rules do not work correctly
Vertex deals with complex tax computations, more so the sales and VAT taxes for companies. It supports complex transactions and high-volume computation for business sales tax. They offer reliable and updated tax content that is industry-specific. They have put technology at the forefront, which lets us set up custom taxability and automate exceptions management for every purchase and sales transaction.
January 05, 2022

Tax software review

Linnea Jackson, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vertex for sales transactions in the US and Vertex Returns for filing US sales and use tax returns.
  • Advanced ability to add rules to modify the tax calculation
  • Ability to automate consumers use of tax
  • Advanced reporting capabilities
  • The layout of the settings isn't as intuitive as it could be
  • There should be more standard reports available
  • There should be a dashboard on the main page that shows analytical data on current trends
I have used Vertex for years. Vertex is a great option for users with complex tax requirements, and it is the best option for companies with complex ERP's such as Oracle and SAP. For companies such as manufacturing, the ability to automate use tax for purchasing transactions is a huge plus. Vertex may not be a great option for a small company with low transaction volume, a basic ERP system with very simple tax requirements.
Patrick Taiwo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex utilizes a powerful calculation engine that lets us achieve an accurate determination of sales and purchase tax in every transaction and also automates the tedious processes involved in calculating, collecting, and reporting on sales, VAT, and other transaction tax types.
  • Centralized and automated indirect tax processing.
  • Importing/exporting of tax data.
  • Management of consumer use tax.
  • An innovative way to determine calculations, taxability, and reporting on VAT and other tax-related processes.
  • The main search and the backspace does not work as intended.
  • The customer support ticketing system needs some improvement for ease of use.
Offers reliable and updated tax content that is industry specific. They have put technology at the forefront, which lets us set up custom taxability and automate exceptions management for every purchase and sales transaction.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization. It addresses our use of tax accruals and ensures tax is calculated properly by vendors.
  • Detail of products.
  • Detail of shipping locations.
  • Hard to use.
  • User message boards.
It is well suited for organizations that are buying and selling with lots of volume. It is not appropriate for small organizations that have little volume or have straight forward tax calculations.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex O Series is the tax engine software used by our organization. It's integrated into our ERP system and assists in calculating tax accruals.
  • Linked to the appropriate product categorization.
  • Updated tax rates.
  • Integration with ERP new features not always up-to-date.
  • Communication between Vertex and Oracle.
Vertex O Series works very well with applying the correct jurisdictions to transactions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex O Series is being used for both address cleansing and correct sales/use tax rates charged to our customers. It has helped us gain correct location information for our transactions which has increased our accuracy in both sales tax assessment and property tax reporting.
  • Customization to our business
  • Accurate local tax information
  • Accurate tax treatment of different transaction types
  • Some rules do not work correctly to properly assess tax
  • The UI has some deficiencies such as the calendar to choose the date is not very user-friendly
Vertex O Series is great for complex transactions in numerous jurisdictions. It is less appropriate for use tax calculation/reporting.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
O Series is used in the procurement and the order to cash processes. CONA is an IT service provider to the 12 largest Coca-Cola bottlers in North America. We have an on-premise solution with 15 partitions for the various legal entities services by CONA. We continue to have challenges in the sweetened beverage, deposit compliance and general sales tax on the Order to cash side. Vertex helps with the changing taxation rules across North America and we continue to partner with Vertex for new taxes in the beverage industry as these types of taxes are usually open for interpretation.
  • Manage customer tax exemptions through the creation of certificate records. We pass this information back to SAP for the determination of taxes for nonexempt customers.
  • Vertex teams continue to up to date with respect to sales tax changes and new passed legislation.
  • O series offered web services that we utilized for Certificate information that is passed from a 3rd party tax exemption certificate application. the web services created the certificate record in O series that is then utilized in the OTC process.
  • Vertex teams stay on top of new legislation but in the past CONA team was presented with new changes in the soft drink business and the rules were not available in O Series.
  • CONA team has a number of rules that we manage as a result of rules that were not ready for deployments for the Beverage business. We then work with the Vertex team on have them host the rule and at that point we back out our custom rules. We have a lot of local rules which should be addressed through standard rules in O Series.
  • CONA team continues to work with the support organization in support of our deployment across the US. The beverage industry is unique and ever-changing so we would expect a more focused support model as the rules in O series should support this various legislation.
Vertex O Series is suitable for managing all the various rates across North America. Our legacy system managed the various tax rates through pricing conditions and it was extremely manual and prone to errors. Handheld offline solution options need to be enhanced as the CONA team had to work with DMA and design a solution that supports offline tax calculations when the order is changed at the delivery point.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Vertex O Series for tax determinations on both sales and purchases. The biggest issue addressed on the sales side by our O Series implementation is the exemption certificate management. We have a fully integrated ECM so the Tax Department has taken control of certificate acceptance and configuration.
  • The use of ECM to support exempt sales to customers.
  • The flexibility of Data Extracts to retrieve and analyze data for almost any situation.
  • O Series has been crucial in making accurate tax determinations based on usage at all of our locations.
  • For a North American license the host system can assign an international address but Vertex will not process the transaction.
  • I United States record is required in ECM to setup an exemption. The US requirement adds unnecessary bloat to the database and do the extracts.
I think Vertex is more suited for larger companies with more complex taxing situations.
November 01, 2019

Thank you, Vertex.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it within my department to help the whole organization. It helps us with audits so we are not required to be paying out massive amounts of money when the audits end. This will always help us maintain accurate and correct rates within the correct jurisdiction. It is very useful.
  • Robust
  • Easy to use
  • Efficient
  • Too complicated
  • Lots of information
Vertex O Series is well suited for trying to find a specific jurisdiction.
November 01, 2019

Vertex O Series Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using Vertex across the entire organization for sales, purchases, and exemption certificate management. Vertex enables us to maintain all of our tax data across multiple divisions and companies quickly and accurately.
  • Customization
  • Research
  • Connectivity with systems other than SAP
  • Excessive clicking in UI
Vertex O Series is especially well-suited for retail companies in the U.S. Vertex's global tax function could be expanded on to include intricacies required by other countries, such as Canada's product source tracking requirement.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Vertex O Series for sales and use tax calculations. We have nexus in almost every state, and have a lot of sales to dealers - so we also license ECM (Exemption Certificate Manager), which allows us to seamlessly link the certificate scans to the customers. I have learned from auditors that Vertex is the auditor’s preferred data source as well.
  • Exemption certificate management
  • Staying current with rate changes
  • Staying current with legislative changes
  • Vertex always wants to hear suggestions from their customers.
  • Transaction data extract still requires use of a pivot table...
  • UI is not intuitive and there aren’t mouseover tips, so occasionally it can be difficult to figure out how to use unexplored features.
  • Would like to see more examples of how others use Vertex.
  • Recently learned of the very active user community for Alteryx. Would like to see Vertex incentivize users to share tips, tricks and advice.
Works well with SAP and is an all-round best choice for enterprise level sales and use tax requirements. Pricing can be a barrier for some organizations, and it’s not a product that you can license and configure on your own, you’ll need to budget for consulting and testing. Would like to see Vertex become more active in addressing use tax challenges posed by newer P2P systems, like Coupa, that don’t directly integrate with Vertex, and in fact create gaps in the accuracy of use tax accruals. Since Coupa pretends this is not an issue, I want Vertex to step up with a solution for tax departments who have to find workarounds for P2P software that operates in a vacuum.
October 30, 2019

Vertex Connected!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex O Series is used as the tax calculation engine for all business units in the US except for food and agriculture in our Dean Moines office.
  • Robust calculation engine for leasing.
  • Easy user interface for configurations.
  • Ability to build user-defined rules and tax assist rules.
  • Make it easier to write tax assist rules, maybe add some examples directly within the screens or on the fields being selected.
Vertex is very easy to configure, although building tax assist rules could be a little easier. I recommend adding some examples directly on the screens or fields.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Vertex O Series across our US organization in both our sales and purchasing modules of SAP. Vertex O Series has allowed us to more thoroughly and accurately report use tax and manage our customer exemption certificates throughout the US business.
  • Vertex O Series makes it easier to verify if purchases are taxable or exempt. This allows our AP team to have more confidence in the accuracy of the invoices that are being presented by our vendors.
  • The Exemption Certificate Management system is a much better way to track our customer's exemption certificates and their expiration. We are able to accurately pull reports that give us a list of customers we need to get updated certificates for months before they expire.
  • The ability to access our Vertex O Series anywhere and anytime with our URL has allowed us to access any information needed while we are out of the office or at conferences. This allows greater flexibility for time away from the office since we can access it from any PC.
  • Prior to using Vertex, our reports were very simplified but still contain the information needed to file sales/use tax returns. We do miss the simplified reports, however, we have adjusted to the Vertex Reports and how to use them. We still wish the reports were not so many pages to print.
  • Creating tax assist rules seem like they should be easy, however, when you are doing it without the implementation help, it is somewhat difficult to remember which information is usable in which options.
  • Due to the number of products that we have, we could not possibly map all of the products. So we decided to use material groups, however, we have found that many of the material groups were hard to match to taxability categories in Vertex. We had to do quite a bit of research to map things accurately. It would have been great to have more ways to map products to the taxability categories in Vertex. The categories do have a lot of content, but when your business is a very specific niche in the manufacturing world, it requires more research and business decisions had to be agreed on to get everything mapped correctly.
Vertex has so many options to make the software work for your individual company and its business. The Vertex implementation group was great to work with and they spend time helping us understand how all the pieces fit together to work for your system. They also assisted with the user testing which was so helpful since the tax department was new to Vertex and how it looked and worked as well. Vertex has been fantastic at helping us be more accurate for use tax on our vendor invoices. We have seen reduced fees on audits and even had auditors comment that they can tell when the implementation took place since the error rate for use tax took a dramatic dip after go-live of our Vertex O Series. We do not love the reporting options for Vertex. Vertex has a line in the report for each line item on the invoice. We have several customers that only get billed once a week so their invoices can be 100's of lines long. Our old system only had 1 line per invoice with the tax levels in columns for the total invoice. We miss the simplification of the reports out of the older system.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex O Series is used for U.S. and international transaction taxes across the whole organization. It addresses all of those that SAP native functionality cannot and also avoids maintenance.
  • User-friendly GUI
  • Transaction tester is very useful and user friendly.
  • Tax assist rules are not that complicated to build.
  • Product taxability mapping changes is not user friendly.
  • The import and export of tax data should be available at respective functionality area and not at tax administration - specific functionality to import/export.
  • The data extraction and reading is not straightforward, e.g., I cannot review my taxability mapping of product and tax category next to it. I need to filter out two sets of information and do a Vlookup and then put them together to review. There are many other such examples.
Best for post calculations and allocations.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
O Series is being used throughout our U.S. and Canada companies to calculate sales tax on our customers orders. By using this it has helped us calculate the proper tax rates. Without O Series, we were just calculating a single tax rate for each state we were registered in, using our ERP system.
  • O Series calculates the sales tax rates down to all the local levels. Updates are provided monthly and occasionally more often. We know we are charging our customers the correct tax.
  • Provides testing tools to make sure you have your customers set up properly and that the tax is calculating correctly.
  • Allows us to set up tax assist rules that are specific to our business.
  • Would like to see some additional fields added to reports showing more of the information like customer addresses and not just city & state. I would like to use these reports for tax audits. Currently reports don't show enough information to give to auditors. I have to run separate reports out of our ERP system.
As a manufacturer with multiple companies Vertex has helped us with the calculation of sales tax. Each of our companies has different tax issues which Vertex O Series has been able to address.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vertex is being used by certain companies within our organization. Vertex addresses our indirect taxes for products and services we sell to customers. The tax department manages Vertex along with our IT department.
  • Calculation of sales taxes for U.S. and Canada
  • Updated rates
  • Integration with ERPs
  • Support - specifically more folks to assist and be available by telephone.
I believe Vertex is well suited for implementation and integrations with ERPs for indirect tax calculations. I also believe the returns module and exemption certificate module are an added benefit to its customers. I would say Vertex is less suited for LATAM countries, however, the complexity of taxes in those regions is difficult no matter what system you attempt to utilize.