BigCommerce

BigCommerce

Customer Verified
Top Rated
Score 8.1 out of 10
Top Rated
BigCommerce

Overview

What is BigCommerce?

BigCommerce is a SaaS platform that allows SMBs to develop eCommerce sites. Features include the capabilities to design the storefront, configure products, manage payments, generate traffic, and optimize conversion.
Read more

Recent Reviews

BigCommerce Review

10 out of 10
April 26, 2022
Used to run our ecommerce business and have been using the service for over three years.

BC allows us business to consumer and business to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

How BigCommerce Differs From Its Competitors

BigCommerce Customization

We have integrated with API of Tamper Monkey, Unicommerce, JusPay, JudgeMe and RazorPay. We have also integrated with delivery partner Shiprocket and Delhivery. We are able to use BigCommerce API with these services which helped us to run our operations smoothly. This is just a great application …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

We utilized API for order processing. All of our orders flow into QuickBooks which generates a sales receipt for deposit and finance purposes. The orders then move into the designated distributor for the items that are on the order. Once order has shipped the tracking information is then applied …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

BigCommerce is great as we have been able to use several of these features. Our products are very unique and BigCommerce gives us the ability to be very specific in how we tailor our experience to the customer. We integrate this with our Inventory Management software as well as our Shipping …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

There is great potential in the open APIs and I've seen incredible things done with them. In my opinion, it's a great system and really competes. However, I'm a bit disgruntled that there are simple tasks that other platforms make easy to take care of through the online editor that BC really …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

Over the 2 years we've been using BigCommerce we've realized the power of their open APIs and made increasing use of them - initially it was just to call the products so we can show BigCommerce products and pricing on our CMS site, but recently we've begun the transition to a headless store and …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

Other than integration for shipping, I'm honestly not using anything super complicated where I'd feel comfortable saying something like oh the open API is easy to use, or whatever. What I can say though, is in the past I was working with a company that was using this incredibly outdated, …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

APIs are used to process payments for multiple payment platforms. The customers like payment options and BC provides plenty. There are also integrations with email marketing, automatic listings on Pinterest, and automatic integrations with Facebook. All of these provide marketing value.
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

We are using the open APIs now to modify how our Product Categories appear on the homepage. We don't do this often but appreciate very much the ability to do this. We have also used the open APIs to modify the hard-coded text that appears on every page on our site.
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

Their API was the key selling point for us. We use a bespoke in-house ordering system that handles phone orders, orders placed at tradeshows, and manages our entire process from quote to production to fulfillment. Being able to import our online orders at the click of a button, rather than having …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

The available integrations and standardized API makes the value proposition even higher. I used to use custom CMS's to do the same thing BigCommerce does out of the box, but the number of API partners they work with is huge. If you can't find your software partner, I'd be surprised. Especially …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

Open API which [helps to connect] third part data with BigCommerce. [It really helps] to [manage] all data with single admin like needs to managed order, products with Amazon, [eBay], any payment or shipping services, Automated data processing, etc...
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

We use the API to integrate BigCommerce with our Retail Management System which manages our brick-and-mortar. BigCommerce's API is one of the primary reasons we chose BigCommerce for our replatforming. Virtually every aspect of BigCommerce is exposed via an API endpoint. This allows us to do just …
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

My experience level is very limited with APIs, but we have found BigCommerce to work with other apps well for example ShipStation and Google shopping.
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

We used an integration with Paypal and other payment options. This gives our customers more options and it makes [it easier for] us to complete the transactions.
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

We use WordPress open API to integrate with our custom Wordpress backend. The integration was easy for our developers to establish and cost-effective to maintain with minimal issues over thousands of orders.
Continue reading

BigCommerce Customization

I am currently using multiple integrations with BigCommerce. I have recently added integrations such as buy now, pay later apps to have a broader reach to my customers. I like the fact that the integrations are easy to set up and are another way to provide great service to my customers. …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 20 features
  • Product catalog & listings (406)
    8.1
    81%
  • Product management (403)
    8.0
    80%
  • Mobile storefront (394)
    7.5
    75%
  • Visual customization (397)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

User Review: BigCommerce Takes Sales Online For Sellers With Ease
02:35
User Review: Business Depends on BigCommerce With Easy-To-Use Platform & Great Customer Service
02:54
User Review: BigCommerce Keeps Focus On Product For Business While They Handle The Software
04:25
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$29.95

Cloud
per month

Plus

$79.95

Cloud
per month*

Pro

$299.95

Cloud
per month*

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.bigcommerce.com/essentials/…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $29.95 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Getting Started with BigCommerce | BigCommerce Tutorials
02:50
BigCommerce Company Values
03:30
BigCommerce for WordPress Announcement
01:09
Return to navigation

Features

Online Storefront

Features for creating an online storefront with a browse-able product catalog.

7.6Avg 7.8

Online Shopping Cart

Features that facilitate the collection of items so that customers can purchase them as a group.

7.5Avg 7.7

Online Payment System

Features related to processing online payment for eCommerce purchases.

8Avg 8.6

eCommerce Marketing

Features related to marketing for eCommerce websites

7.2Avg 7.7

eCommerce Business Management

Features related to business management and administration of eCommerce operations

7.4Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BigCommerce?

According to the vendor, BigCommerce is one of the leading cloud ecommerce platforms for established and rapidly-growing businesses. Combining enterprise functionality, an open architecture and app ecosystem, and market-leading performance, BigCommerce aims to help businesses to grow online sales with less cost, time, and complexity than on-premise software. BigCommerce powers B2B and B2C ecommerce for more than 60,000 brands, 2,000+ mid-market businesses, 30 Fortune 1000 companies, and industry-leading brands, including Assurant, Ben & Jerry’s, Paul Mitchell, Skullcandy, Sony, and Toyota.

The vendor says that the product provides the following benefits to customers:

Customize and innovate at a lower total cost of ownership
Build in HTML, CSS, and Javascript
96% of brands relaunch in 2-4 months
Test and push changes without downtime in a local environment

Focus on generating sales, less on monitoring security & performance
PCI DSS 3.2 certified at Level 1
99.99% median uptime
Multiple layers of security through the Google Cloud Platform

Leverage your existing tech stack with flexible APIs
90% of platform data is exposed to APIs
400+ API calls per second
Headless commerce out-of-the-box, across any front-end

Solve your toughest challenges with SaaS
B2B, Wholesale
Headless Commerce, Wordpress
Multi-channel
International

BigCommerce Features

Online Storefront Features

  • Supported: Product catalog & listings
  • Supported: Product management
  • Supported: Bulk product upload
  • Supported: Branding
  • Supported: Search & filter
  • Supported: Mobile storefront
  • Supported: Product variations
  • Supported: Subscriptions & downloads
  • Supported: Website integration
  • Supported: Visual customization
  • Supported: CMS
  • Supported: Customer service tools

Online Shopping Cart Features

  • Supported: Abandoned cart recovery
  • Supported: Tax calculator
  • Supported: Shipping calculator
  • Supported: Integration with Amazon
  • Supported: Integration with eBay
  • Supported: Checkout user experience

Online Payment System Features

  • Supported: PayPal integration
  • Supported: Returns & refunds
  • Supported: Single-click checkout
  • Supported: eCommerce security
  • Supported: B2B features

eCommerce Marketing Features

  • Supported: Promotions & discounts
  • Supported: Personalized recommendations
  • Supported: SEO
  • Supported: Product reviews
  • Supported: Social commerce integration
  • Supported: Customer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

  • Supported: Multi-site management
  • Supported: Order processing
  • Supported: Inventory management
  • Supported: Accounting
  • Supported: Shipping
  • Supported: Custom functionality

Additional Features

  • Supported: High Availability (HA) infrastructure that allows us to deliver 99.99% uptime
  • Supported: Open Platform: 90% of the BigCommerce platform data is exposed to the API
  • Supported: Server-to-server API functions enable a headless commerce on WordPress and more
  • Supported: Develop, test and push changes without downtime in a local environment using the Stencil CLI tool.
  • Supported: Omnichannel management (Amazon, Ebay, Facebook, Instagram, POS)
  • Supported: Global CDN, localized payments and multi-language support

BigCommerce Screenshots

Screenshot of Enterprise ecommerce for high-volume brands like Skullcandy.Screenshot of Our industry-leading integration will let you list your products on Amazon directly from the BigCommerce control panel, with centralized inventory and order processing and fulfillment.Screenshot of Easily customize the look and feel of your storefront.

BigCommerce Videos

Create differentiated commerce experiences on the industry’s most versatile enterprise solution.
BigCommerce Company Values
Scale your business with WordPress on the front-end and free up server resources from things like catalog management, processing payments, and managing fulfillment logistics, with BigCommerce on the back end.

BigCommerce Competitors

BigCommerce Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

BigCommerce is a SaaS platform that allows SMBs to develop eCommerce sites. Features include the capabilities to design the storefront, configure products, manage payments, generate traffic, and optimize conversion.

BigCommerce starts at $29.95.

Shopify, Shopify Plus, and Salesforce Commerce Cloud are common alternatives for BigCommerce.

Reviewers rate Product catalog & listings highest, with a score of 8.1.

The most common users of BigCommerce are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).

BigCommerce Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)60%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)30%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 429)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Albert Reyes-McCarver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use BigCommerce to manage our shipping and online orders during our mail order season. The product helps us track orders and seamlessly integrate into shipping while getting preferred rates on postal service.
  • Shipping
  • Automated emails re status of order
  • Integration of other apps like ship station and privy
  • The interface is dated and needs a refresh
  • The Inter app feed isn’t always seamless. Sometimes I need to go into ship station to get it to work vs. just using the dashboard
  • Apps like privy could be more seamlessly integrated into the dashboard to see email performance in concert with the dashboard vs. isolated
It’s great for taking in orders. It is less integrated when it comes to fulfillment.
It seems very scalable but we are a small shop.
We use ship station and privy for email. Both have been valuable to be coupled with our e-commerce site.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Bigcommerce as our primary order processing service for our website www.kapiva.in, It help us to manage orders, create offers and manage customer profiles. We don't to look anywhere else to get the sale data, all are in-build in BigCommerce. It helps us to export all sorts of reports to calculate revenue. It also is integrated with JudgeMe, which gives us feedback from customers everyday. A big chunk of our work has been made easy just because of BigCommerce.
  • Process orders
  • Integration with other tools, such as Unicommerce
  • Export detailed report
  • Enable us to create offers and coupon codes in minutes.
  • Managing customer profiles
  • Wanted feature to track history of wallet amount for a customer
  • Ability to replace orders and process refunds with automation
  • adding more filters to search an order, such as product name,
BigCommerce is suited for organizations who wants to process and manage orders in the most effective way possible. I would recommend everyone to give it a try, it will prove to be one of the best.
It's ability to integrate with almost all the major SaaS. There are multiple customization features which can be implemented within minutes.
We have integrated with API of Tamper Monkey, Unicommerce, JusPay, JudgeMe and RazorPay. We have also integrated with delivery partner Shiprocket and Delhivery. We are able to use BigCommerce API with these services which helped us to run our operations smoothly. This is just a great application for any product company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Big Commerce for our website. We have so many products that either have size options or core charges and the platform allows us to customize those specifics.
  • Easily Add Pages
  • Simple to enter Products, Descriptions, Photos & Videos
  • Love the professional looking Carousel
  • Sorting products under categories/sub-categories creates a simple search process for potential customers
  • The customization features allows us to tailor the site to us
  • When entering an item and then going to options, I would like the list to stay the way I sorted it originally. Unfortunately, it goes back to the default sort
  • When viewing products, the list seems very random - I would like it to be in alphabetical order.
I believe Big Commerce is well suited for any size company, with any number of products. I just believe it is a great platform and can be customized for any enterprise.
I have worked with Big Commerce for a few years now and see it's potential for any business
We're integrated with Paypal, Affirm, Snap Finance, UPS, USPS. Integration was simple and quick.
December 11, 2022

Best E-commerce platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We normally provide b2c services , as BigCommerce easy to use for any customer so we recommend them to use BigCommerce, we provide them start to end service like theme setup , payment setup , product setup etc. so BigCommerce is one stop solution for it.
  • Customer experience
  • Faster checkout
  • More security
  • Easy admin management
  • Easy catalog ,order management
  • API document more in details
  • Free trial more increase for customer
  • More theme option
I have worked more than 20+ website of BigCommerce, its easy to use for any customer, and their 24*7 support is more helpful than others. BigCommerce admin area is easy to use for any customer who is technical or non technical. For security reasons no one can't modify checkout so somewhere its little less appropriate but its also feature of BigCommerce as well.
As its easy to use and best solution for any ecommerce customer, BigCommerce catalog , order , customer management is best than others in market.

Its provide easy to access api, we have already integrated 3rd party api as well , we didn't find any issue.
Heather Borders | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize it for orders that are placed through our website. We also us MiniBC App for our order subscription program. The main areas I have issues with is MiniBC, limitations when creating sales or campaigns, and the subscription frequency.
  • Eye4Fraud App works very well when identifying fraudulent orders
  • Status of orders
  • Order, reviews, or other notifications
  • Details of the order
  • Reports
  • MiniBC (Subscription App)
  • Sales/Campaigns
  • Website restrictions
  • Discounts/Promo Codes
It is well suited for utilizing for the processing orders from a website. We also enjoy the product reviews that consumers can place for items they have purchased. We are able to create sales and promotions that discounts can automatically be applied to ones cart. The reporting is easy to navigate and pull.
We currently do not have it deployed across multiple departments or sites. We currently only have one website and have not tried several sites or department. Hopefully as we move forward with a third party advertising company we will be able to test this the flexibility and scalability more as they build out our website.
We utilized API for order processing. All of our orders flow into QuickBooks which generates a sales receipt for deposit and finance purposes. The orders then move into the designated distributor for the items that are on the order. Once order has shipped the tracking information is then applied to the order and the buyer is notified. We also have request for samples and these orders also go through API into CRM Dynamics. This has helped eliminate manual processes and errors as well as ease and consistency for our orders.
November 30, 2022

BigCommerce Review

Davina Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Used BigCommerce as a platform for an online store
  • you can call customer service
  • account notifications
  • user interface
  • slow loading
Only use BigCommerce if you absolutely have to, otherwise use Shopify. BigCommerce is outdated, slow, clunky to use and they have a lot of bugs in their platform. For example, they cannot send out billing invoices, if you miss one accidentally, they will lock your store an domain with no warning.
You cannot sign up quickly for any multiplaform functionality, it is best to keep them separate anyways as if there is a billing issue with one store they will block all yoru stores.
we have not used the open APIs, they use webdav which is complex and timeconsuming and expensive to setup
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BigCommerce is used as our main platform for website orders. We receive the orders and can access the customers' order information through this platform. This is also where we can answer questions or issue any refunds needed. We also can create our discount codes, promotions, etc. though here. This product is perfect for our business and is extremely user-friendly.
  • Marketing Codes
  • Customer Order Information and Details
  • Ease of Answering Customer Questions
  • Ease of Inputting Customer Orders
  • Notifications - once you read, it would be nice if they could be marked as "read".
  • The discount codes, it would be nice if there were more options to choose from for narrowing down specifics for uses and maximum discount on dollar amounts.
  • Ability to make more fields mandatory at checkout.
When I first started using the BigCommerce platform, it was so user-friendly! Again, it was very easy to use and figure out right away. I had no issues with finding where everything was and it is organized in such a way, that it made sense where to look for something. I also really like the customer order layout as we have to issue refunds a lot and it's very simple.
We started out as a startup company and started with BigCommerce, and as of today, as no longer a startup company, we are still able to use BigCommerce for all of our needs. Almost every one of our departments uses BigCommerce in some capacity for their specific roles within the company.
BigCommerce is great as we have been able to use several of these features. Our products are very unique and BigCommerce gives us the ability to be very specific in how we tailor our experience to the customer. We integrate this with our Inventory Management software as well as our Shipping Software and the integration work great!
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
I'm a web developer that specializes in e-commerce. I regularly help clients open new stores on BigCommerce or migrate their stores from other platforms to BigCommerce. It's especially good for B2B businesses and those that need multiple storefronts. The headless option makes a great pairing with WordPress, which gives customers more design control over the informational aspects of their e-commerce stores.
  • B2B / Wholesale Tools
  • Multistore front for sharing a catalog between different stores
  • Product Filtering
  • Customer Support
  • Adding custom properties is extremely limited compared to other platforms.
  • Some files can only be modified offline are requires a bunch of command line stuff.
  • The Page Builder is lacking especially when it comes to custom fonts and styling.
The BigCommerce platform is well suited for small retailers with simple needs, especially those that would work well on an out-of-the-box theme. There are also great use cases for B2B / wholesale situations. If you run multiple online stores, but share inventory, you can use the multistore front feature to make managing them easier. Not a great platform if you have highly customizable product page needs or if you have a large demand for custom development. It's not that custom development isn't possible, it's just more time-consuming than platforms like Shopify, so it might cost you more in development costs. Their pricing model and no transaction fees are a big selling point. Also, the out-of-the-box integration with other shopping channels like eBay is a bonus for those looking to do omnichannel commerce.
Very easy to upgrade plans based on growth. Onboarding is fairly easy; however, it's a real pain for developers that the store owner has to add all the themes/apps or basically anything that costs money. It's hard to walk less tech-savvy people through this.
There is great potential in the open APIs and I've seen incredible things done with them. In my opinion, it's a great system and really competes. However, I'm a bit disgruntled that there are simple tasks that other platforms make easy to take care of through the online editor that BC really requires you to have to do by API, which is overkill for a simple web developer.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We need a flexible e-commerce solution that's easy for our internal users to manage, integrates with a wide range of 3rd party apps, and most importantly can provide a fantastic experience for our customers. We sell in multiple regions around the globe and need the flexibility to manage and serve our stores to different regions, currencies, customer groups, and product portfolios.
  • Customer Experience
  • Range of integrations
  • Support and service
  • Flexible development environment
  • Tax inclusive/exclusive pricing by region/currency
  • More checkout customization
BigCommerce is a fantastic solution for a growing medium-sized e-commerce focussed business. It's great from an administrative standpoint with an easy-to-navigate interface and huge feature set. We compared BigCommerce to Shopify, Woo Commerce, and Sana E-commerce. The amazing personal service, robust feature set and continually developing product roadmap sets BigCommerce apart from the crowd - it's that sweet spot of "just right" for a fast-growing business: not too big that we don't get attention and not too small that it constrains our ambitions
We've more than doubled is revenue since starting with BigCommerce. It was the right size for us when we started, and we don't see ourselves outgrowing BigCommerce for many years to come. Each time we ask if BigCommerce has the capability to help us reach the next stage of our growth trajectory, the answer is "YES!"
Over the 2 years we've been using BigCommerce we've realized the power of their open APIs and made increasing use of them - initially it was just to call the products so we can show BigCommerce products and pricing on our CMS site, but recently we've begun the transition to a headless store and now offer a more branded e-commerce experience for our customers.
Paul Francis Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our eCommerce website platform needs to be willing to work with hemp-derived products, and BigCommerce is one of the more well-known platforms in that arena. Honestly, in the last couple of years, BigCommerce hasn't really been my first choice, but again, when you're working with products derived from federally legal hemp, your choices are very limited. Having said that, I've been very surprised with how far BigCommerce has come in the last couple of years, specifically the Page Builder, which essentially allows you to select a free template, and customize it in a drag-and-drop environment, and if you have the time and ability to do that, Page Builder essentially negates the need for a paid, premium template. I would also say adding and editing products, and building out promotions, and customer groups are very easy in BigCommerce, and more robust than the other platforms I previously preferred to work with.
  • Page Builder
  • Promotions
  • Products
  • Order data
  • Complicated product imports/exports
  • Theme updates
BigCommerce is one of the better platforms, in our experience, when working with hemp-derived products like CBD. As a person with ten years in eCommerce, again, I'll say that my previous experience with BigCommerce was neither good nor bad, I'd best describe it as average, and not very memorable. In recent years though, BigCommerce has grown, and become easier to use, and if you're in an industry that a lot of other platforms define as high-risk, BigCommerce is, in my opinion, the best and most robust eCommerce platform you're going to find. Even if we stop talking about hemp-derived products, and go with any other industry like t-shirts or outdoor living products, the improvements on both the front-end and back have made BigCommerce a legit option, comparable to the best eCommerce platforms available.
While I cannot use them due to the nature of our product, I can see that BigCommerce has a robust selection of additional marketplaces native to the backend, so no additional apps or add-ons are required, which is a nice change of pace. When I've connected my store to selling channels like Amazon, eBay, or Walmart in the past, it's always this weird, but free, third-party app and the support hasn't been great, so it's nice to see those options available native in BigCommerce. This would include social media channels and point-of-sale POS.
Other than integration for shipping, I'm honestly not using anything super complicated where I'd feel comfortable saying something like oh the open API is easy to use, or whatever. What I can say though, is in the past I was working with a company that was using this incredibly outdated, all-in-one business software that handled accounting, eCommerce, shipping, and inventory and was REALLY bad at all of them, but you know, a cheap solution that the company liked...anyhow, we connected BigCommerce to that nightmare, easy peasy. There were no issues passing any data back and forth, so in my limited experience, the API works great for any app or custom API you might need to connect.
April 26, 2022

BigCommerce Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Used to run our ecommerce business and have been using the service for over three years.

BC allows us business to consumer and business to business sales across the globe. Standard out of the box ecommerce setup includes multiple selling channels such as Facebook, Instagram, Amazon and other channels.

The service is continuously being improved.
  • Business to business sales.
  • Business to consumer sales.
  • Needs a more robust mobile app.
  • Needs better mobile website compatibility for the backend.
Excellent for both B2C and B2B sales.
Pricing plans allow for great scalability.
Apps allow for greater customization and the number of developers available for customization is great.
Keith Whitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The BigCommerce website platform hosts all of our products and processes all sales. Prior to changing to BC, I maintained my own website code and was responsible for all web-hosting. The old site/code was hacked more than once and managing security was becoming a liability. Furthermore, the old site was not responsive and became outdated for smartphones. BigCommerce fixed all of that, and I was up and running much quicker than expected. The templates are highly professional and feature-rich.
  • Provides a secure web platform for hosting eCommerce sites.
  • Includes many professional templates.
  • Includes many add-ons for order processing, payments, and shipping.
  • Would like to have better "catalog only" pages to show sample items that are not for sale.
  • The backend interface could be more intuitive.
BigCommerce excels at providing an affordable eCommerce site for the sale of products online. It does that very well and provides a highly professional look and feel. If your organization is planning an informational site that does not sell directly to customers, BigCommerce is not the best choice. Informational or catalog-only pages are clumsy.
We continue to add pages and products, and the site has had no scaling issues. Our organization is not utilizing all capabilities and cannot fully assess the scalability of the platform.
APIs are used to process payments for multiple payment platforms. The customers like payment options and BC provides plenty. There are also integrations with email marketing, automatic listings on Pinterest, and automatic integrations with Facebook. All of these provide marketing value.
April 13, 2022

BigCommerce Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to sell our product online, both wholesale and retail.
  • One stop solution for our e-commerce needs.
  • Easy to learn and use.
  • Price could be better.
  • 3rd party vendors constantly bothering us.
For a small business like us, it is a one-stop solution for our e-commerce. Not sure about any other situation.
I do not think the way our company uses it qualifies us to determine the product's overall scalability yet.
I am not familiar with the term API and do not think our company currently uses this function.
  • no training
Explained on previous question. Got friendly customer support, every time I called in.
I am happy
No
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BigCommerce to promote our products and services, generate leads, and facilitate product purchases. The products we sell are complicated in that they can be packaged and sold by a number of different units of measure (e.g., milligrams, micrograms, milliliters, etc.). The software is flexible enough to allow us to create customized units of measure for every product, and a single product can be offered in multiple pack sizes with different units of measure.
  • They have a great WYSIWYG interface for creating webpage content.
  • The software allows us to create multiple pack sizes, using different units of measure, for any or all of our products.
  • It is very easy to add product categories, manipulate the top-level menu headings, and swap out graphic elements.
  • We charge different packaging fees for our products, based on how they ship, so it would be nice to be able to tag a customizable packaging fee to every product. Currently, this cannot be done.
  • We cannot customize how products are sorted on a page that shows all the products available within a given Product Category; the default is an alphabetical list. We would like to be able to manually prioritize how the products appear on a Product Category page.
  • This is a minor annoyance, but I'll go ahead and try to describe it - When making edits to products, it would be nice to save your changes and close out of the editing interface, then be returned to where you were in your list of products. Currently, you are taken to the top of that page's list of products. So, if you're viewing 50 products, and you want to edit products 45-50, after you save each set of changes, you are taken back to the top of the list (product 1), so you have to scroll back down to edit products 46, 47, etc. Not a big deal, but thought I'd mention it.
BigCommerce's ability to customize product units of measure is very valuable. Certain products we sell can be sold in units, milligrams (mg), or milliliters (ml), depending on a customer's preference. The software makes it very easy to present these options to our customers. It's also easy to make product edits and post them immediately. We often need to make a price adjustment on very short notice and the software allows us to do that in just a few minutes. And nothing comes to mind when trying to think of a scenario in which the software is not appropriate.
Would have selected N/A here, as we are a small company and we have no need to scale the software or deploy it in multiple departments.
We are using the open APIs now to modify how our Product Categories appear on the homepage. We don't do this often but appreciate very much the ability to do this. We have also used the open APIs to modify the hard-coded text that appears on every page on our site.
Doug Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I took over maintenance on a website using BigCommerce. They used it as their main website and shopping cart platform.
  • Easy setup.
  • Page Layouts.
  • Make add-ons simpler to use.
  • Make product options easier.
I use several different eCommerce platforms and BigCommerce is not one I would choose. I find it overly complicated and hard to customize the style and layout.
Admin area is hard to navigate.
We used Zoho interface but had to hire an outside API programmer and use a third party add-on to make it work properly.
Jim Lopardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are a 46-year old brick and mortar company in a niche industry whose primary customer base is large, multistate, and multilocation food, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, and retail distribution companies with in-house maintenance departments. We had to integrate our product catalog with the purchasing and EAM systems of our large customers. That was our primary goal. We accomplished that, with the byproduct being an impressive online store that has brought in dozens of new customers. The BigCommerce platform is remarkably intuitive, and when support is needed (which is very infrequently), their response is exemplary.
  • Provides an intuitive, highly customizable platform.
  • It does not "nickel and dime." The included themes are well-crafted, and integrated apps are functional and reliable.
  • Support response times are the best among our tech vendors.
  • There is some inconsistency in the default Import/Export routines regarding field mappings. It's easy to correct but adds some time to the task.
With tens of thousands of items representing 80 brands, BigCommerce is particularly well-suited for managing large product catalogs. Flexible pricing structures and customer classes make it a powerful tool. With its easy-to-use UI, you won't need a programmer to maintain your site, although some database, IT, and website design/maintenance would be highly recommended. Alternately, for small catalogs or a small, very specific product line, the cost may not be as justifiable. Also, it does take daily upkeep for your store to remain fresh and dynamic.
As a small, single-location business (with a large footprint) - this does not really apply to us.
We currently use a "stock" BigCommerce-powered site and have not needed to do much deep customization. This does not really apply in our situation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BigCommerce acts as our online shopping cart. It replaced a previous product that had developed glaring security issues. BigCommerce provides a reliable, flexible solution for us. It allows us to manage a large variety of SKUs in our online marketplace. It has greatly streamlined online/mobile ordering for our customers. It has also greatly improved our annual pricing update process with its product import template.
  • Robust security and uptime. We are always confident that our site will be accessible, protected, and that our customer's data is secure.
  • Fantastic third-party integrations and options for development. Their responsiveness has been integral, and they are very good about helping to cooperatively find solutions to our problems.
  • Great product library, with support for Variant items. This fits the bill perfectly for our company, as we deal with hundreds of variant SKUs on some of our customizable products.
  • Great shipping integrations with ShipperHQ. We're able to pass across custom flags to help ShipperHQ build the perfect rates from BigCommerce's library.
  • Smooth Export/Import process. Their Bulk Edit Template makes our annual pricing update process a breeze. We are able to use our internal database to simply populate the exported Product data, then turn right back around and re-import. The import monitor does a great job of calling out errors as well.
  • Their support for a sandbox development environment has been a tremendous boon to us. We've been consistently using it to test layout updates, pricing changes, and new third-party integrations with the confidence that they will perform 100% in the live environment.
  • Smooth integration with Authorize.net, our payment processor. We are able to easily interact with the two systems and help customers understand why their transactions may fail during checkout.
  • Their API is exceptional and provided everything we needed at our fingertips to create our own script to import our BigCommerce orders into our bespoke internal order system.
  • The backend interface for working with orders could use some more options for dynamically querying and sorting orders. For example, it's very difficult to see all of the orders that are currently unfulfilled for a given customer. It's also impossible to see all of the orders in a given date range that contained a specific SKU.
  • It would be nice to be able to delete SKUs that are no longer in use. Even if the product is removed, the SKU it held is still stored and locked in the system. Sometimes these show up on exports and cause confusion.
  • Some of the options and settings are a little unintuitive on their location, and you need to dig a few options deep to find the ones you're looking for. A more straightforward settings page would be appreciated.
  • More ways to customize check out, such as with separately acceptable Terms and Conditions, and alerts for Delays in Shipping or Fulfillment.
I would say BigCommerce is most suited for a business that has relatively few unique products, but with an abundance of customizable SKUs. We deal with devices that can be designed to a variety of configurations and specifications. But a more common example would be apparel; Having a given style in a dozen colors and half a dozen sizes would amount to 72 different product entries in most systems, but BigCommerce supports it exceptionally well using their Variant system. It even supports different photos for each product, all of which can be stored in a single product record. This makes it incredibly easy to manage and update, even on the pricing side. On the other hand, it falls short when product offerings need to be tailored to a specific geographic region. For example, there are only select products we ship internationally, and we had to resort to a cumbersome dropdown menu that forces the customer to declare what country they are shipping to. This introduces the potential for errors, as opposed to what we wanted: For the shopping cart to autodetect and respond to the GeoIP of the customer.
I have not encountered anything in BigCommerce so far that has been a hard stop. I've been able to set up and effectively manage over 50 products amounting to over 1,500 SKUs. The pricing is easy to manage and adjust, and the variant settings can be tailored at the individual or global product level. It is a breeze to add new products to the system; If we have the photos on hand we can get a new product into the site and in front of our customers in under 10 minutes. Any time we have felt challenged with the default solutions, we have been able to reach out to an actual human being and have a real conversation with their design and solutions team about our options, time frame, and cost. Even when we do not opt for a paid development cycle, they are more than happy to spend their time guiding us and making suggestions for how we may be able to achieve an in-house solution.
Their API was the key selling point for us. We use a bespoke in-house ordering system that handles phone orders, orders placed at tradeshows, and manages our entire process from quote to production to fulfillment. Being able to import our online orders at the click of a button, rather than having a customer care representative re-key those orders manually was paramount to a successful solution. Their API gives us everything we need at our fingertips to take the customer's BigCommerce order, and the captured payment, render it into our system, and include it in our daily batch for finances at the press of a button. We are able to pair customer accounts up between the two systems, guaranteeing accuracy and minimizing record duplication. We can even take BigCommerce's orders and sub-divide them for more efficient shipment to the customer. The ability to bring in menu choices and customer notes have been a tremendous boon to our production team when customized solutions come in online. We were never able to do anything to this degree or scale with our previous solutions.
I think that overall it has a great front end for the customer. On the back end, it takes a little spin-up time, but in just a couple of hours you can really have your head wrapped around everything you're going to need 99% of the time. It takes me about 5 minutes to train a new user on how to interact with customer orders.
JoAnna Cohen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Management of the entire multichain online commerce for retail/wholesale business. Use it to manage eBay, Amazon, and private site product listings, prices, updates, sales, and manage inventory as well. One change gets sent to all of the appropriate places without having to mess around with separate information silos. Wholistic picture of sales and revenue and dead inventory as well. We get to see product engagement and capture abandoned carts effectively. Great API tie-ins to other software like shipping management and advertising campaign management. At this point, I wouldn't use any other e-commerce platform or recommend anything else. Has a scalable robust feature set that allows for personalization within any business model.
  • Product management.
  • Order management.
  • Multi-chain e-commerce management.
  • Customer management.
  • If it's possible an even more customizable payment structure.
  • More email features.
Honestly any online commerce business from boutique shops to large wholesale operations can benefit from BigCommerce. I have tried other software, blog sites with e-commerce plugins (WordPress), and Squarespace. They aren't as intuitive or powerful, or customizable for the average person. BigCommerce just works. It's beautiful and is feature-rich without having to know anything about coding, or plugins. Just add your logins and you're good to go.
It's almost perfect. I'd love to see more options to drill down some specific features from their preset packages to really customize things, but overall it's outstanding for what you get in each tier of service. It's simple to understand, and the pricing is fair. Scalability is actually what BigCommerce does better than Shopify and the others already. Always some room to improve though.
The available integrations and standardized API makes the value proposition even higher. I used to use custom CMS's to do the same thing BigCommerce does out of the box, but the number of API partners they work with is huge. If you can't find your software partner, I'd be surprised. Especially their e-commerce account partners that allow the easiest cross-selling capabilities. No complaints.
I literally don't use anything else anymore. It's the best option out there. What else can I say? If you have read the rest of my review, and it makes sense to you, there you go. Everything just works. Have had to call support 1 time in 7 years. That says a lot.
Rakesh Prajapati | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BigCommerce is the main application we use for our business. We have seen many improvements in the past 10 years, BigCommerce is the [world's] best e-commerce solution.
  • High tech
  • User friendly
  • Best customer support
  • Product image on packing slip
  • Gift message on checkout and able to print on packing slip
  • Change default for selection for "My billing address is the same shipping address"
  • Need to fix report due to multi currency purchase
Overall good, but still need to improve basic stuff. BigCommerce is [an] excellent eCommerce platform.
Front designs need to be improved and flexible for all retailers, as we are an online gifting store we need more flexibility on design.
[Minimal]
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Very easy to use systems. Lots of functionality is in-built without the need for external apps. Used it in the retail industry with 1000s of products. Easy to customize the functionality. Default UI is decent to begin with and we tailored it to our needs as time passed. Availability of sandbox is a good bonus.
  • Easy to use
  • In-built features
  • Refunds reporting
scalable
custom functionalities added via apis
December 12, 2021

Big Big BigCommerce

Muhammad Adil Mujeeb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
All in one solution for setting up an online store. We are getting problems with our web servers and payment options, but after a thorough search, we have found BigCommerce as a complete solution. Now we don't have to worry about server uptime. We have got an extra feature of drop shipping as well which we are planning for our future venture.
  • Integrated SEO tool.
  • Multiple currency and payment options.
  • Drop shipping.
  • Point of sale option.
  • More free template.
  • Payment options for local vendor.
  • Email marketing.
If you don't want to worry about hosting and web servers, BigCommerce is one of the best options. You can build your store with minimum learning although it has options for tech-savvy gurus as well.
Easy to manage and customize across teams. Configuration is not so hard even for non-technical people.
N/A
Ghanshyam Thumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
[Depending] on client budget and product we are helping client to choose Ecommerce platform and [especially] for BigCommerce we made a checklist for our customer why BigCommerce is really good for selling online any products in the world.
  • Less fees per transaction[.]
  • Well organize admin[.]
  • Without code knows client can build ecommerce store[.]
  • Many inbuilt payment method supported[.]
  • Need to implement Inbuilt drop shipping
  • Automated abandoned cart[.]
  • Automated email report[.]
  • Product custom field[.]
As per client [requirements], they wanted to make a [subscription-based] website with API data so [the first] client's recommended Shopify but after done [research,] we found BigCommerce which [provides] edit code easily with API get and post data and set customer subscription on third party admin.
BigCommerce [provides] easy to edit and [manage the store] for anyone who has no technical knowledge. Easy to [manage] products, orders, Customers, Shipping, Payments, etc... [inbuilt] blog features, Abandoned cart, Product Reviews, Advanced reporting tools[.]
Open API which [helps to connect] third part data with BigCommerce. [It really helps] to [manage] all data with single admin like needs to managed order, products with Amazon, [eBay], any payment or shipping services, Automated data processing, etc...
Tony Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It allowed us to operate on multi-channels. We were small. Here is what BigCommerce was to us: It gave us access to Facebook marketplace, business marketplace, and all social media platforms. For a while, this was special/privileged access BigCommerce negotiated for us. While I do know the total outcome I know we were to have an easy opportunity to apply for Facebook's Business Marketplace. Unlike other competitors, BigCommerce really did offer apps for any circumstance you could think of. The majority of people we dealt with who made their apps were industry leaders. Last I looked BigCommerce was smaller than Shopify and some others. However, this did not limit our options or opportunity. It did allow for some of the best customer service we've had in a long time. We felt like we were much more than just another number. The biggest complaint I remember. Before COVID and some issues, we were looking at working with a personal Magento consultant and interested in creating our own multivendor "mall" (shopping arena) from the ground up. We were interested in a fairly specific niche. Magento really rolled out the welcome mat with their Enterprise solutions. The price tag was well over $30,000 though. I recall when asking questions about enterprise solutions the public-facing associates did not know much about it. BigCommerce is not a consulting firm - noted. But their tech was techy and world-class. But at times felt to me as if reps lacked personal involvement. With other applications or companies when I call, they understand my goals, ask how I am doing, tell me things to buy and what not to purchase. I don't want my BigCommerce rep in a non-enterprise situation too involved. However, they did fell further removed. BC has everything you need and the support to back it up. You can go thin with a few bells and whistles and save money or run through a forest of needed and wanted options for that edge. The worst?... Have you looked at the tutorials? When I looked many were not there or have not been updated for months or longer. So, when you make the right choice and sign up for BigCommerce.
  • Finding industry leaders for us to partner with or work with. These were not people from Fiverr or craigslist. Their apps really were wicked.
  • Easily able to sell on almost all relevant marketplaces. SEO! If you are on an island without a boat, you are stuck. BigCommerce provided the bridge and built the high-speed rail line. SEO is important to us, BigCommerce understands that and made it easy for us. We were not on an island.
  • I am a visual learner. Give me a training class or video. The tutorials were outdated and I needed them.
  • I covered others.
I do not think BigCommerce is a great choice for someone who is not fairly knowledgeable about your company's web presence and everything that is involved. I think compared to other options there is a curve.
We did not.
December 03, 2021

Loving BigCommerce!

Diana Ferrato | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use BigCommerce as my eCommerce platform. I really enjoy how easy the product is to use, and the customer service has always been amazing. I am in no way a web designer or developer or very technical, so when I need help, I know that I can contact them on the live chat and get help every time. I would also like to mention that the cost is very reasonable. I am using the standard version as I am a small business. This version still allows me to publish my products with all the options I need. I literally have zero complaints about BigCommerce, and I do plan to use them for another online store I am working on.
  • Customer service
  • Problem solving
  • Cost
  • Google reviews on the lower plans
  • Affiliate capabilities on the lower plan
  • Product options could be slightly easier
Whenever I have called to help me with my website - I have always had my problem solved. If I was late for a payment, they gave me grace to catch up.
I give a 5 because I am only using it for one site. [I] never tried to use [it] across multiple sites, but I think it's awesome you can.
I am using several different apps on my store, and I really think it's great.
December 03, 2021

Our take

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is the [backbone] of our website. We needed a new one back in 2014 and a local company helped set up the site. It works well with Webgility to [the interface without] QB POS[.]
  • Easy to use
  • Great tech support
  • Shipping options to allow for package insurance[.]
  • More ability to separate items for various shipping options[.]
It works for us, and we have no complaints with it or the people at Arc Stone[.]
This has been [a] good back end for our use[.]
Shipping integration. Inventory MGMT[.]
Return to navigation