TrustRadius
Avalara AvaTax connects to the software that businesses already have and delivers sales tax decisions based on precise geo-location in more than 12,000 taxing jurisdictions in the U.S.In LOVE with AVATAX!Avalara is an important addition to our company's processes. We were able to take billing to a completely different level. We have our Shop Supervisors billing now and our Parts Managers. At a Business standpoint, if your business is collecting in multiple states, I would highly recommend using the Avatax portion of Avalara. The ease of knowing that a Tax Professional is an email away is a nice feeling.,It provides answers to commonly asked Sales Tax questions. Avalara's website is very user-friendly and you can get most of all your answers to any of your questions right then and there. Monthly Sales Tax filings- The reports to reconcile with are very detailed and make sales tax life so much easier. Integrates well with other accounting systems. It will make your day to day billing process so much faster. The system validates addresses by location to get you the correct tax amount every time as you are billing.,I'm guessing the only con would be that sometimes we do get issues where we get like a timeout, and the system takes too long to ping back into our system and the document doesn't get uploaded onto the admin console and we have to manually enter into that month the invoice was done. But the admin console is very user-friendly so it doesn't take much to upload it. I'm not too sure you can do anything about speeding up the internet! I'm thinking what would be nice if you had an automation of mailing out the invoices as well.,10,We save money by not having to hire a tax expert just to get our invoices out to our customers. Along with filing our company's monthly sales taxes for all the states that we collect in. We save time due to having more employees being able to do invoicing. Which leads to a faster cash flow.,10,We have only Avalara integrated into our Accounting Software.,10,Our company uses the Returns Filing of Avatax and it's a great benefit to just be able to reconcile the 2 reports and know that the company is only paying what it should be.,Avalara - Automating sales tax and use taxIt is used by the whole organization. Whenever we create invoices, the Zuora-to-Avalara connector automatically pushes the relevant invoice data to Avalara for AvaTax to calculate the amount of sales tax instantly. It addresses the issue of scalability, automation, and accuracy. We no longer have to keep up with the tax rate changes in any jurisdiction as AvaTax is always updated.,The tax has automatically calculated the instance that invoice is generated. The sales tax rates are maintained on Avalara's side. Whenever there's a sales tax rate change for any jurisdiction, Avalara will update the rate. The User Interface is very user-friendly. Reports can be constructed and filtered in many ways (by state, by types of documents, etc.),Avalara doesn't have the ability to tax multiple jurisdictions if you have one invoice line item but have a quantity of more than 1. This is relevant for when you have 100 software licenses and these licenses are used throughout multiple jurisdictions. Avalara needs to find a solution to handle and remit use tax that is not manual-intensive work. It sometimes takes a while to connect to chat support when you try to get support during peak hours.,9,Our compliance with the sales tax has improved dramatically. The reports in which you can export aides when getting audited. This helps mitigate our audit risk and having to pay taxes, penalties, and fees. We do not need to have a full-time tax person to maintain changes in sales tax rate. The sales tax task is just an extra task that the accountant has to do every month. Along with AvaTax, we have the Ava Returns service. Using the data collected in AvaTax, Avalara is able to prepare our sales tax returns in a timely manner.,6,Zuora SalesForce Quickbooks NetSuite,9,Our organization utilizes the AvaTax managed returns filing service. Since we have many jurisdictions in which we collect sales tax, it saved us money to have Avalara prepare the sales tax returns as AvaTax has all the relevant data to prepare the returns. Each state return is different and may change. It is easier to have Avalara do the returns for us. We don't have the exemption certification management because we do not have many exempted customers.Avalara Returns to the rescue~!We use Avalara Returns to obtain sales tax rates, provide our Customer Service Department with sales tax quotes and manage 36 states transactional data to build and file sales & use tax returns.,Provides accurate rooftop sales tax rates. Collects transactional data for building returns. Timely submit returns to individual states.,Needs to ensure there are not unnecessary prepayments submitted. Tech Support needs to verify support tickets have been properly resolved prior to closing a ticket.,9,Positive impact on ROI with respect to the amount of time it takes to reconcile & submit returns for filing. Positive impact on ROI with rooftop sales tax rates accuracy.,IQMS EDI Translator, Microsoft Office 2016Avalara and AvaTax, the go-to productWe use WooCommerce as our e-commerce retail solution. AvaTax (Avalara) connects right to Woo and calculates tax perfectly for the states where we are required to collect Sales Tax. Monthly AvaTax files our sales tax return and arranges payment from our bank. My interaction (besides setup) is confirmation of data at month's end and reconciliation with our G/L account. Pretty mindless once setup is done.,Calculate Sales Tax Record tax in a secure system (books of record) File timely sales tax reports,While it works perfectly with WooCommerce sales, it doesn't handel returns, requiring me to manually correct my book of record (AvaTax). Setup can be very painful (but with the new improvements to the UI it has become much easier). It can get a little expensive.,7,Well worth the money since it is almost plugged and play Rates are calculated to the locality Full integration between WooCommerce and my other backend to G/L systems,8,WooCommerce,8,We don't use these features.,Managing your certificates!It is used by our Accounting department. Only 3 users currently use it frequently for customers' resale certificates purpose. However, the information in CertCapture is being used in our ERP system as well, so that our Sales team has the relevant information regarding whether or not the customers are taxable. We also use AvaTax, which takes information from CertCapture as well.,Robust search function, regardless if it's a customer based search or certificate search. Uploading function - can feed the information from our ERP system into CertCapture. Reporting seems to be easy. Help center and webinars are helpful tools.,Uploading is a great tool. However, the template seems to be very rigid. We sometimes have to try multiple times to finally get it to work, even with your tech support. Customer types are somewhat confusing. Especially after we started using AvaTax, we realized certain types are not really valid in AvaTax, i.e. Exporters.,8,Help us be more tax compliant.,Sage 100 ERP, Avalara AvaTax
Unspecified
Avalara
132 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Avalara Reviews

Avalara
132 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 132 vetted Avalara reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 69)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 14, 2018

Avalara Review: "In LOVE with AVATAX!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is an important addition to our company's processes. We were able to take billing to a completely different level. We have our Shop Supervisors billing now and our Parts Managers. At a Business standpoint, if your business is collecting in multiple states, I would highly recommend using the Avatax portion of Avalara. The ease of knowing that a Tax Professional is an email away is a nice feeling.
  • It provides answers to commonly asked Sales Tax questions. Avalara's website is very user-friendly and you can get most of all your answers to any of your questions right then and there.
  • Monthly Sales Tax filings- The reports to reconcile with are very detailed and make sales tax life so much easier.
  • Integrates well with other accounting systems. It will make your day to day billing process so much faster. The system validates addresses by location to get you the correct tax amount every time as you are billing.
  • I'm guessing the only con would be that sometimes we do get issues where we get like a timeout, and the system takes too long to ping back into our system and the document doesn't get uploaded onto the admin console and we have to manually enter into that month the invoice was done. But the admin console is very user-friendly so it doesn't take much to upload it. I'm not too sure you can do anything about speeding up the internet!
  • I'm thinking what would be nice if you had an automation of mailing out the invoices as well.
I have not found any less appropriate scenarios. Avalara is well suited for our company and has made day to day work a lot less tax pressured.
Read Becky Wade's full review
May 30, 2018

Review: "Avalara - Automating sales tax and use tax"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization. Whenever we create invoices, the Zuora-to-Avalara connector automatically pushes the relevant invoice data to Avalara for AvaTax to calculate the amount of sales tax instantly. It addresses the issue of scalability, automation, and accuracy. We no longer have to keep up with the tax rate changes in any jurisdiction as AvaTax is always updated.
  • The tax has automatically calculated the instance that invoice is generated.
  • The sales tax rates are maintained on Avalara's side. Whenever there's a sales tax rate change for any jurisdiction, Avalara will update the rate.
  • The User Interface is very user-friendly. Reports can be constructed and filtered in many ways (by state, by types of documents, etc.)
  • Avalara doesn't have the ability to tax multiple jurisdictions if you have one invoice line item but have a quantity of more than 1. This is relevant for when you have 100 software licenses and these licenses are used throughout multiple jurisdictions.
  • Avalara needs to find a solution to handle and remit use tax that is not manual-intensive work.
  • It sometimes takes a while to connect to chat support when you try to get support during peak hours.
AvaTax has the ability to scale with your business as you are paying on a per-transaction basis. The amount charged per transaction is related to the tier in which you contract for. If there are very few jurisdictions in which you must collect and remit sales tax, then it might be more cost-effective to calculate tax and maintain rates yourself.
Read Christopher Woo, CPA's full review
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Avalara Returns to the rescue~!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara Returns to obtain sales tax rates, provide our Customer Service Department with sales tax quotes and manage 36 states transactional data to build and file sales & use tax returns.
  • Provides accurate rooftop sales tax rates.
  • Collects transactional data for building returns.
  • Timely submit returns to individual states.
  • Needs to ensure there are not unnecessary prepayments submitted.
  • Tech Support needs to verify support tickets have been properly resolved prior to closing a ticket.
Avalara Returns is well suited in the area of rooftop sales tax rates; especially in states where there are a plethora of jurisdictions all with varying sales tax rates.
Read Kimberly Souders's full review
July 06, 2018

User Review: "Avalara and AvaTax, the go-to product"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WooCommerce as our e-commerce retail solution. AvaTax (Avalara) connects right to Woo and calculates tax perfectly for the states where we are required to collect Sales Tax. Monthly AvaTax files our sales tax return and arranges payment from our bank. My interaction (besides setup) is confirmation of data at month's end and reconciliation with our G/L account. Pretty mindless once setup is done.
  • Calculate Sales Tax
  • Record tax in a secure system (books of record)
  • File timely sales tax reports
  • While it works perfectly with WooCommerce sales, it doesn't handel returns, requiring me to manually correct my book of record (AvaTax).
  • Setup can be very painful (but with the new improvements to the UI it has become much easier).
  • It can get a little expensive.
As long as an API exists, it is well suited. The setup of the plugin was relatively simple, straightforward and adding additional reporting entities (states) at least in WooCommerce) is as simple as adding that State to a drop-down box. One can also import transactions (like from Amazon), which I will need to learn and perform within the next 60 days.
Read Wayne Spivak's full review
May 23, 2018

Avalara Review: "Managing your certificates!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our Accounting department. Only 3 users currently use it frequently for customers' resale certificates purpose. However, the information in CertCapture is being used in our ERP system as well, so that our Sales team has the relevant information regarding whether or not the customers are taxable. We also use AvaTax, which takes information from CertCapture as well.
  • Robust search function, regardless if it's a customer based search or certificate search.
  • Uploading function - can feed the information from our ERP system into CertCapture.
  • Reporting seems to be easy.
  • Help center and webinars are helpful tools.
  • Uploading is a great tool. However, the template seems to be very rigid. We sometimes have to try multiple times to finally get it to work, even with your tech support.
  • Customer types are somewhat confusing. Especially after we started using AvaTax, we realized certain types are not really valid in AvaTax, i.e. Exporters.
In my opinion, better suited when most of your customers have resale certificates. Not really a good fit if you are a retailer yourself.
Read Li Reeve's full review
May 22, 2018

Avalara Review: "What a time saver!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara Returns for the filing and submission of all our sales tax returns. It saves us a lot of time having to calculate the tax for each reporting area (state) we have to file in. One payment to Avalara versus multiple payments each month. We also use AvaTax and Certcapture so the benefits kinda blend together. The process is much smoother from quote (and giving customer final price including sales tax) to the payment of the actual tax.
  • Tracks the taxable and non taxable sales by month by state (or reporting area in foreign areas).
  • Tracks the actual tax by reporting city (we have sales in multiple cities with different sales tax rates. The tax is quickly and accurately calculated for each area.
  • We never have to worry about being late or a payment not getting to a state in time. We submit by 10th of the month and the payment is automatically pulled from our account.
  • The speed at which transactions load. If I wait until the 7th-10th of the month, it seems that the speed at which transactions load for me to confirm is very very slow.
  • I'd like to have multiple sort functions when I go to confirm (approve) transactions. It is nice to sort by state. I'd like to be able to sort by state (or country), then by invoice type.
  • Auto reminder if I have not committed the transactions by the 9th, to remind me to complete the next day. Helpful if I am out of the office.
To me, it eliminates hiring an additional person to manage sales tax.
Read Randy Engelby's full review
May 22, 2018

"Avalara Returns Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara Returns services are being used to file most of our sales and use tax filings. Our corporate offices use this to file for our entire company. The returns service allows us to focus on other areas of our business while having the filings outsourced for better use of our internal resources.
  • Avalara Returns offers timely returns filed for our company.
  • Avalara Returns is an automated process with many issues with filings that humans processing the work would be able to find easily.
  • Filing discrepancies often take place which causes our company downtime of our resources where we have already paid for the services for this to be outsourced.
  • Avlara has room for consistency to be applied and their processes to be made more transparent. When errors occur it's often like pulling teeth or grabbing for straws to see the "why" of what happened, and even more so to avoid it happening again in the future.
Avalara Returns are useful for companies that do not have the time or resources to dedicate to their sales tax filings. They allow an automated system to be established so that timely filings occur and are systematic. Avalara is less appropriate for businesses that do have the resources and are willing to invest in the area of research and accurate filings.
Read Brandi Francisko's full review
January 22, 2018

Avalara Review: "We love AvaTax"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AvaTax to automate the calculation of sales tax for all of our sales in both channels of our organization. We ship products throughout the United States; AvaTax makes it possible for us to charge the correct amount of sales tax on thousands of sales transactions across hundreds of tax jurisdictions.
  • AvaTax is reliable. In the three years I have been using it, there has been only one system outage that affected one day of our sales transactions.
  • AvaTax knows how to calculate the correct sales tax rate for states with specific origin, destination, and mixed sourcing rules such as California, Illinois, and Texas.
  • The AvaTax reporting tool is easy to navigate and provides useful reports for tax return filing.
  • In my experience, the AvaTax rate database is updated regularly, so we never have to worry about making sure AvaTax is keeping up with tax rate changes.
  • AvaTax allows us to customize which taxing jurisdictions we want to "turn on" down to the most local level.
  • AvaTax can be set up to charge sales tax or seller's/vendor's/retailer's use tax rates on a state-by-state basis.
  • AvaTax uses the U.S. Postal Service address database to calculate tax rates for specific locations. Usually, this is extremely accurate. However, in the case of new construction projects without an established address, sometimes the tax calculator fails to locate the ship-to address. When this occurs, the tax calculator appears to default to the center of the zip code for the address provided, which can lead to an incorrect rate being used. This is an infrequent issue, and we are usually able to sort it out with our customers.
  • AvaTax keeps on top of taxing jurisdiction rate changes. However, in the month when a new rate takes effect, the AvaTax report sometimes shows sales for that jurisdiction segregated into two lines. Total sales are correct, but we have to manually add the two lines together.
AvaTax is well suited to an organization that is making taxable sales to customers throughout the United States and is registered for sales tax in multiple states, particularly those states with a complicated taxing jurisdiction structure.
Read Eric O'Link, CPA's full review
May 15, 2018

User Review: "Avalara Tax Return"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Fuel Tax group is currently using Avalara Tax Return Software for Fuel Excise and Sales Tax. Avalara cuts our return processing time by 30%. This gives us more time to work on Tax Saving initiatives.
  • Allows flexibility to setup different scenarios depending on the data we receive from our fuel inventory system.
  • I love that Avalara listens to their customers and enhances the software to make our return filing more seamless.
  • Their conferences allow their customer to get together and meet other software users and share their tips with each other
  • if you are adding additional information to a location, it would be nice to append the additional information, for instance, if the state now requires a county code, but the address information hasn't changed.
  • Reconciliation reports that can be added to the return to show a summarized version of the data on the return.
  • An additional function to add a check request of cash voucher with payment information and GL account information for approval and posting.
I really enjoy the product and the Avalara team is always extremely helpful with all questions and concerns
Read Andrea Campbell's full review
May 10, 2018

Avalara Review: "AvaTax crushes tax calculations!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our accounting and tax departments use AvaTax to calculate sales tax company-wide. The process is manual which takes a lot of time for us, but AvaTax makes it relatively easy.
  • Provides accurate tax rates which ensures that we are charging the right amount to our customers.
  • Calculates tax quickly and efficiently so we can get invoices out the same day.
  • Allows us to set up tax scenarios specific to our company.
  • Since our process is manual, it would help if the templates had better instructions.
  • While the reports are coming back quicker, you still have to pull them separately. It would be really helpful if the document report could be downloaded as part of the result file.
  • We could use better tax reports for manually filing returns.
Sales tax is difficult for our company because it is done manually. AvaTax makes it significantly easier for us. I can trust Avalara to compute the tax correctly based on the data we upload.
Read Jennifer Neiner's full review
July 06, 2018

Avalara Review: "Sales Tax"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our finance department uses it for sales tax rates in our point of sale system.
  • They have good support teams.
  • The break sales tax rates down by state to the highest level they can go.
  • They easily work with our point of sale system for every order.
  • They don't notify us of changes in rates so we are aware of them.
  • Their online website isn't always accurate and up to date.
  • There are specials rules in every state, like higher rates in malls, that we still have to research and be aware of.
It is well suited for smaller companies that need to ping the sales tax rate whenever an order is placed. It is not well suited for a company with no sales tax experience that just needs to know rates of jurisdictions.
Read Tessa Peterson's full review
June 19, 2018

Avalara Review: "User Friendly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. We (Finance) are using this platform to support several business units, such as invoicing with sales and use tax, file tax returns to states, and remit sales and use taxes to states where we collect and register in. After attending the Avalara CRUSH 2018 conference, we realized that Nexus study is very important for us to verify we are doing this correctly whether we create or/and add an AvaTax profile for our customers as much accurate as possible. One challenge for us to use this is to put proper or accurate jurisdictions for specific customers who have provided their service nationwide. It means we have to create about 50 tax rules (one rule per state) for the customers and it is very time-consuming.
  • Easy to add/update tax profiles - user-friendly as easy to follow
  • Able to find taxability for products or services quickly
  • Like the sales tax calculator which helps us put correct tax rates on the invoices
  • Adding a quick Nexus questionnaire before creating tax rules or codes - that helps us determine what tax activities we should comply
  • Inserting a map feature like Google Map to view jurisdictions clearly and quickly
  • Expanding API feature for accounting apps such as Sage Intacct and QuickBooks
Not just for tracking sales and use tax for our business activities, we are using AvaTax as sales tax calculator to insert into a software we have developed for invoicing generation.
Read Yan Liu's full review
February 12, 2018

Avalara Review: "AvaTax - Compliance Comfort"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AvaTax in finance accounting to calculate sales tax on all invoices as well as sales tax reporting compliance and payment.
  • Calculate state a local tax rates correctly.
  • Remit payments to the states timely and accurately so we get our early payment credits.
  • Maintain archives as support in the event of an audit or for internal reporting needs.
  • Tax calculations for services, exempt or not based on State and type of service.
  • setting up special tax codes that can be customized to the client.
  • Monthly newsletter with Sales Tax updates or changes shared in one place.
If you are looking for a company to outsource sales tax compliance work at a reasonable expense, Avalara is a great partner to strongly consider.
Read Paul Cummings's full review
February 07, 2018

Review: "Avalara - A Great Way to Automate your Sales Tax Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used for sales tax management across our organization. Avalara ensures we are collecting the right amount of tax where our products/services are taxable and helps ensure we meet our compliance obligations.
  • I have found Avalara to be extremely easy to implement and maintain.
  • Avalara offers a tool called CertCapture to ensure tax exemption certificates are maintained and applied correctly.
  • Avalara's admin console is extremely intuitive and it's easy to contact support.
  • Follow-through from Avalara support could be better to ensure issues are completely resolved.
  • I have not used their foreign VAT module yet, but I understand it's still in its early phase.
  • I would like to see more granular Avatax codes to ensure our products/services matchup more accurately with the taxability codes with Avalara.
I think Avalara is fantastic for a big dollar, low volume company like ours. The pricing is very reasonable for a company with our sales tax profile.
Read Victor Castleman's full review
June 01, 2018

Avalara Review: "Excise tax"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is used to file all of our motor fuel excise tax returns for our family of companies.
  • User-friendly
  • Accurate with rate updates
  • Good customer service
  • Adding fuel sales tax returns like California, Hampton roads etc
  • Very good product for excise tax returns
  • I would like them to integrate with more state websites for filing
Read Wendy Thompson, CPA, CGMA's full review
February 05, 2018

Avalara Review: "Gotta Have our AvaTax!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara AvaTax in our accounting department. It supplies us the tools to charge our customer's the proper sales and use tax and then helps us submit the correct amount to the correct taxing authority. It keeps us on track and accurate, without the overwhelming effort to maintain the tax records.
  • If you have to submit sales tax in California, then you will love Avalara AvaTax! It keeps all the tax divisions in the right divisions separate.
  • The liability worksheet makes it easy to check the amounts to be submitted, which you approve prior to submittal.
  • Avalara AvaTax keeps you in control of the sales and use tax, which saves you time and stress.
  • The training on the system could be much better. We only use the system once a quarter, so it difficult to remember something you only use in that time frame.
  • Better help with the committed items, as sometimes they do not commit.
  • Make the system reminders for the liability worksheet pertain only to your client's time-frame. We are quarterly, so please don't send us a reminder every month, it's confusing, especially when we are new to your system.
It works great for us as we need the help with all of the returns.
Read Lori Clark's full review
February 01, 2018

Avalara Review: "AvaTax - Sales tax solution for our company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AvaTax for our billing. We have nexus in 31 different states so it calculates the correct sales tax amounts for each of our invoices. Each state and county has its own tax rates and rules. AvaTax helps take away the burden of complying with all of these different states correctly.
  • Great customer support
  • Admin console is very user friendly and organized
  • Keeping you current with tax rate changes and rules
  • We have a lot of farm addresses. Since they aren't mailing addresses in the postal service we sometimes have problems with tax calculations.
If you are required to collect sales tax in multiple counties and states AvaTax is a great tool to ensure you are in compliance with those requirements. Also if you have customers who are exempt from sales tax, AvaTax is a good fit. You are able to enter those tax exemptions in once on the Avalara admin console and it applies the exemption correctly to each invoice.
Read Kellie Harrell, CPA's full review
February 01, 2018

Avalara Review: "AvaTax and 3dCart plug and play"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has Nexis in 12 states. Prior to using AvaTax, the tax calculation was done manually. This was very prone to errors as we could not account for all of the taxing districts and certainly could not keep up on changes.

It was the establishment of our e-commerce web store that got us started with AvaTax. It easily integrated with our 3dcart store software. The on-boarding process was quick and easy. All of our online transactions were done automatically and accurately.

We then purchased the API option and developed an interface from our ERP system to pull the tax rates from AvaTax. Now even our offline sales are calculated with 100% accuracy. No more manual tax tables.
  • Accurately calculates the appropriate sales tax for every transaction.
  • Tax tables are updated constantly so we don't have to worry about it.
  • Works with our ecommerce software as well as our ERP system.
  • None offered. AvaTax works for us.
AvaTax is a must for any business that sells taxable goods and ships them to their customers across their state or across the country. I would say it is not as well suited if you only sold product out of your storefront as you would know your tax % to charge.
Read Bruce Butler's full review
January 30, 2018

Avalara Review: "Great software, very intuitive!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara is currently being used by our accounting department so that we can track and monitor our sales tax. Each state has different filiing requirements, and Avalara makes it easy to pull reports by state with specific time periods.
  • Reporting capabilities are fantastic - By State, Time Period, etc.
  • Ease of use - The software is very intuitive, even updates are easy to learns and understand.
  • Setup - Rather easy to add files/date manual or upload bulk data quickly!
  • One login to access Certcapture & Avatax would be nice.
  • Drag and Drop function would be nice.
  • An editable dashboard as your welcome page would be nice.
Ease of use is a plus but it would be nice to have a dashboard.
Read Philip Redline, LSSBB's full review
January 22, 2018

Avalara Review: "Great Product and Easy to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AvaTax with several of my companies both fully integrated and some we use uploaded spreadsheets to calculate tax. We also use CertCapture for our certificate management.
  • Good Products- Both AvaTax and CertCapture are really good software products.
  • Connection between AvaTax and CertCapture is great.
  • Having a direct person to work with for AvaTax returns would be helpful. Right now I have to call support and explain everything each time over and over again.
  • I would like if all billing was available online to view and pay. If you use professional services the bills don't come through website.
  • I have several accounts between CertCapture and AvaTax and I have tried to get my account information (contact and address) updated but it hasn't been updated everywhere.
  • The biggest issue I had with Returns is the lack of flexibility with the process. My company is always changing and that means sometimes I have last minute changes and Avalara doesn't allow for that. Another issue I had with the returns process is regarding non-registered amounts. Right now there is no report that will tell me how much I have charged over the time it takes me to get registered. I have to pull up each month to find total amount.
Avalara AvaTax is good for non-IT people because it is easy to navigate. I implemented AvaTax at a new company and I was able to completely set up the AvaTax side by myself without IT help. There are a couple areas that would be good to improve. When choosing a tax code you have to [use] a spreadsheet to find the code. It would be great to have a tool to search for them online. Another issue is the tax calculation tool. It would be great to be able to save a transaction I would want to rerun.
Read Amy Hansen's full review
January 22, 2018

Avalara Review: "US Sales Tax Compliance Made Easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Avalara AvaTax to administer USA sales tax for one of our companies in New York state. We have AvaTax connected to our ERP system (Epicor 10) so it is embedded in our Sales Order Entry process to estimate state sales tax and then firmed up at the invoicing stage. Our Finance Department then uses AvaTax to administer the month end sales tax reconciliations. Being a Canadian company we were looking for an accurate and efficient way to traverse the complicated and time-consuming USA state tax system.
  • Avalara AvaTax helps us to avoid the urgency of filing with multiple states at the end of the month. We are a smaller sized company and this would be a strain on resources.
  • AvaTax takes the guesswork out of which states we have nexus in with using their expert guidance.
  • AvaTax has one of the best online help systems I have ever used.
  • I can’t think of anything I would change.
Speaking from the standpoint of a Canadian company with operations in the USA I would strongly recommend AvaTax to any Canadian company needing to traverse the complex and ever-changing sales tax system in the USA.
Read Steve Kopelchak's full review
January 19, 2018

Avalara Review: "The least taxing way to handle taxes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AvaTax to calculate, invoice customers and remit sales and use tax to approximately 30 states. We have an interface with our ERP system that automates the process. That means we don't have to maintain 30 tax tables with hundreds of jurisdictions and do not have to manually prepare 30 sales and use tax returns.
  • AvaTax calculates the correct sales tax based on the street address entered. Not having to maintain tax tables is a huge time savor and makes it possible for us to stay in compliance.
  • AvaTax prepares the monthly and quarterly tax returns eliminating the need for my staff to manually prepare 30 returns all with different formats and levels of information required.
  • AvaTax provides a file upload option as a means for us to remit use tax to our home state. This is necessary since our ERP system does not integrate the PO or AP systems to AvaTax.
  • I find that sometimes customer service or our account manager are a bit slow to respond.
  • The annual renewal process is not as efficient as it should be. Making changes to the account, adding or changes options, is particularly painful.
AvaTax is especially useful when you are registered to collect sales and use tax in more than one state. Trying to maintain multiple tax tables and complete multiple forms is a daunting task at best. Even if you do not have an ERP interface and you are manually entering the sales tax it is worth it from the stand point of having up to date tax tables and having the returns prepared for you.
Read John Free, CPA's full review
February 01, 2018

"Avalara Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Avalara to calculate our sales tax on our invoices for our corporate customers. We also use Cert Capture to track the tax exemption forms of our customers.
  • Certificate Capture
  • Details of sales tax jurisdictions
  • Support
  • Implementation was a bear!
  • Better training
  • More hands on sales
The cert capture feature is awesome. I think smaller organizations with a lot of invocies will find it is too costly.
Read Rob Clawson's full review
June 18, 2018

"Avalara Avatax Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization utilizes Avatax to apply the correct tax percentages to our e-commerce sales of goods. We rely on Avatax to provide us coverage across all 50 states and Canada.
  • Avatax has a ton of content - over 2000 tax codes to address the many needs of an e-commerce company
  • Avatax's user interface is easy to navigate and makes working in Avatax easy and efficient
  • Avatax syncs directly with our API which allows us to apply the appropriate tax rates and make tax calls in real time
  • While Avalara does have a great range of content, they're still behind some of their competitors in terms of industry specific content. This could be expanded upon.
One of Avalara's key differentiators is its excellent customer service. Avalara has been a pleasure to work with and the customer support team is both knowledgeable and friendly!
Read this authenticated review
July 02, 2018

"Systems Tax Specialist Review of Avalara Excise"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Avalara Excise is currently used in the Indirect Tax Motor Fuel Department. Avalara Excise addresses a one way simple solution to bring together all of our business transactions into one place and allows the department to file tax returns timely and accurate.
  • Allows for accurate reporting
  • The ability to query data in a manner that is useful to analyze
  • Functionality - a user should be able to work throughout the program by using keyboard strokes, especially when filtering on information. Example: I want to filter for a state, I should be able to click into the Jurisdiction column, type in the State needed the tab to the filter box and use my arrow keys up or down to select starts with or contains, etc.. this functionality was available however it went away recently. The less a person has to move their hand away from the keyboard the more productive they are. You spend a lot of time jumping from keyboard to mouse.
Avalara is great at selling your product, however, could use some help in taking time for customers especially during implementation of products.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (2)
4.5
Direct deposit files (2)
8.2
API for custom integration (16)
7.6
Plug-ins (10)
7.9
Single sign-on capability (22)
6.7
Role-based user permissions (27)
7.2
Dashboards (25)
7.4
Standard reports (29)
6.9
Custom reports (24)
6.7
Accounts payable (7)
7.1
Accounts receivable (21)
9.1
Cash management (6)
7.4
Bank reconciliation (6)
7.4
Expense management (2)
7.3
Time tracking (1)
9.1
Multi-currency support (1)
7.3
Multi-division support (6)
7.6
Regulations compliance (25)
8.4
Electronic tax filing (31)
8.7
Self-service portal (24)
8.4
Global Financial Support (1)
5.5
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (7)
7.6
Intercompany Accounting (2)
3.4
Localizations (8)
7.4
Journals and Reconciliations (12)
7.2
Enterprise Accounting (6)
8.0
Configurable Accounting (3)
8.2
Centralized Rules Framework (5)
7.5
Standardized Processes (13)
8.1
Pricing (4)
8.1
Order entry (5)
8.1
Credit card processing (3)
9.1
Cost of goods sold (4)
8.1
Order Orchestration (3)
8.2
End-to-end order visibility (3)
8.2
Order exception Resolution (3)
8.2
Branded client dashboards (3)
5.4
Client data roll-up capabilities (1)
9.1
Configurable alerts (2)
6.6
Single sign-on (1)
9.1
Industry-specific versioning (2)
3.4
Legacy system data migration (1)
2

About Avalara

Avalara AvaTax helps thousands of customers accurately calculate sales and use taxes based on up-to-date tax data. AvaTax provides 580+ integrations with the most commonly-used business applications including ERP, POS, E-commerce, Billing, and CRM, to support quick deployment.


AvaTax also handles VAT, GST, and other transactional taxes for millions of products and services across thousands of tax jurisdictions. The solution also supports connectivity to custom applications with a well-documented and robust developer toolkit. The vendor's value proposition is that AvaTax’s cloud-based software is easy-to-use and fast-to-implement, ensuring a rapid return on investment.

Avalara Features

Has featurePre-built Integrations: Avalara’s standard integrations to ERP, Order Management, CRM, procurement and Ecommerce technologies makes AvaTax the single platform where consistent and accurate sales tax rates and product taxability rules are applied across the entire quote/order creation/invoicing experience.
Has featureSales Tax Exemption Management: AvaTax provides an exemption certificate document management solution that manages exempt customer information to determine jurisdictional exemption requirements. AvaTax certificate management capabilities allow users to upload and store certificate images, create and request certificates from the customer records within AvaTax [AvaTax Exemption for smaller customers and CertCapture for larger customers]
Has featureReturns Reporting: AvaTax provides and formats tax calculation information for all states that require sales & use tax returns.
Has featureProduct taxability: AvaTax maintains pre-defined tax codes that track taxability for categories of products and services in all US states. Assigning items to tax codes enables product and item-level taxability across all channels and ordering technologies for the retailer.
Has featureCustom Tax Rules: AvaTax allows addition of custom tax rules to determine how items with custom tax codes are taxed, or to override tax rules for the pre-defined Avalara tax codes.
Has featureSourcing rules: Sales tax treatment based on sourcing rules (whether sales taxes should be based on the source or the destination of the transaction) varies across states. AvaTax accounts for the state-by-state variation by automatically applying sourcing rules based on the address of the seller and the “Ship To” location supplied by the buyer.
Has featureCentralized tax management: AvaTax aggregates tax data from across all channels, business units, and application for central control and reporting.
Has featureStandard Reporting: Avalara offers a comprehensive library of common sales and consumer use tax reports which summarize and display transactional history
Has featureGeolocation Technology: AvaTax uses proprietary geolocation technology to validate an address and match it to a nationwide database of tax jurisdictions. Avalara’s tax data is researched and maintained by Avalara’s compliance team, so the rates and boundaries are always up-to-date. Use of geolocation technology to compute accurate taxes enables support for transactions occurring in locations without physical addresses as well as on mobile / handheld devices and ecommerce, POS and ERP invoicing platforms.

Avalara Screenshots

Avalara Video

Skip the line. In three, easy steps we will get you started with Avalara's premier sales tax automation and compliance software. Find out how, today.

Avalara Integrations

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Avalara Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web