Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Avalara

Avalara

Overview

What is Avalara?

Avalara AvaTax connects to the software that businesses already have and delivers sales tax decisions based on precise geo-location in more than 12,000 taxing jurisdictions in the U.S.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Avalara Review

10 out of 10
May 08, 2024
Incentivized
I use Avalara to make our indirect sales and use tax computations and compliance accurate and efficient. It is hard to imagine being …
Continue reading

Worth every penny

9 out of 10
May 02, 2024
Incentivized
Attached to our ERP, Avalara helps us calculate the correct sales taxes for even our most complicated customers, where the sales taxes can …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Sales and Use Taxes (321)
    8.8
    88%
  • Tax Exemption Processing (220)
    8.5
    85%
  • Tax Data Reporting (271)
    8.3
    83%
  • 3rd-Party Software Integrations (244)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.avalara.com/us/en/products/…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $21 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Avalara AvaTax Demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Type of tax

A list of the different types of taxes that can be filed using tax compliance software.

8
Avg 7.9

Tax Reporting & Compliance

Activities relating to tax filing, reporting, document management, and exemption certificate processing.

8.2
Avg 7.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Avalara?

Avalara helps to make tax compliance faster, easier, more accurate, and more reliable for 30,000+ business and government customers in over 90 countries. Tax compliance automation software solutions from Avalara leverage 1,200+ signed partner integrations across ecommerce, ERP, and other billing systems to power tax calculations, document management, tax return filing, and tax content access. Visit avalara.com to learn more.

Avalara Features

Type of tax Features

  • Supported: Sales and Use Taxes
  • Supported: Cross-border Taxes
  • Supported: VAT / GST Taxes
  • Supported: Energy and Fuel Taxes

Tax Reporting & Compliance Features

  • Supported: Geolocation for Tax Assessment
  • Supported: 3rd-Party Software Integrations
  • Supported: Tax Data Reporting
  • Supported: Compliance Administration Management
  • Supported: Tax Exemption Processing
  • Supported: Tax Document Management
  • Supported: Complex Tax Scenario Management

Additional Features

  • Supported: Centralized tax management: Unifies sales and use tax calculation, document management, and returns preparation.
  • Supported: Integrations: AvaTax connects with more than 700 prebuilt integrations to connect with accounting, ecommerce, POS, and other systems, plus an advanced API.
  • Supported: Cloud-based: A software-as-a-service solution, AvaTax updates take effect as soon as they are deployed, helping to ensure the most current information is used.
  • Supported: Exemption management: Certificates from vendors are stored electronically for access and to track expiration dates. Automatic renewal requests are sent out before certificates expire.
  • Supported: Returns filing and remittance: Returns preparation and remittance in multiple jurisdictions. Avalara Returns can track and manage due dates and payment requirements, enabling users to pay returns with a single source of payment.
  • Supported: Lodging: Lodging tax for hotel or rental property are managed with a solution that plugs into reservation software to deliver lodging tax calculations in real time as well as preparation, filing, and remittances of lodge tax returns.
  • Supported: Communications: Tax calculations are delivered on an array of communications transactions by directly connecting to a current billing or ERP system, or to an in-house build via API.
  • Supported: Beverage Alcohol: Simplified regulatory compliance for suppliers, distributors, and retailers in the beverage alcohol industry.

Avalara Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Avalara Video

Why Avalara?

Avalara Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Avalara AvaTax connects to the software that businesses already have and delivers sales tax decisions based on precise geo-location in more than 12,000 taxing jurisdictions in the U.S.

Avalara starts at $21.

Vertex, Sovos Intelligent Compliance Cloud, and Thomson Reuters ONESOURCE are common alternatives for Avalara.

Reviewers rate Sales and Use Taxes highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Avalara are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(751)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 438)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara for tax calculation integrated with our ERP system, exemption certificate management, and they file sales tax returns for us in 45 states.
  • Access to detailed reports - makes it easy when looking up quickly
  • filing the returns
  • detailing out difference taxes within a jurisdiction
  • Customized dashboard
  • Support is not very helpful at time
  • Support response time is slow at times
I think Avalara is great for a tax management software, I like that everything is all in one place. The things that they do well is having everything all on one platform. I wish we could get the e-commerce plug in to work a bit smoother for our company.
Andrew Greco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use three Avalara solutions in our tax team. Avatax compliance software for filing and paying monthly sales/use and hotel tax returns. We also use the Avalara Business License and Permit Managament (ALM) software to track our operational license and permit renewals. We use a custom research service specific to the tax rates for our hotels to ensure we are using the most current state and local tax rates at our hotels.
  • Communicate well with customers
  • Partner with our internal staff to implement new functionality in our solutions
  • Offer various products and services that may be customized to a customer's needs
  • communication among different parts of the Avalara organization can be inconsistent.
  • It would be great if there was an ability to bundle different products and services to offer better pricing to customers that use multiple Avalara solutions.
Avalara is well-suited for organizations that already have strong internal teams to manage their solutions. Their products and services are most effective and beneficial to an organization when there are experienced team members to manage them.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Tracking of economic nexus for all US states in terms of order counts and net sales
  • sales capture
  • sales tax calculation
  • reports
  • software integration
  • other taxes
  • high costs for smaller businesses
  • deregistration
well suited on integration of different software.
May 08, 2024

Avalara Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Avalara to make our indirect sales and use tax computations and compliance accurate and efficient. It is hard to imagine being responsible for sales and use taxes and not using a software product like Avalara. Our indirect sales and use tax process operates very efficiently with the assistance of Avalara.
  • Management of exemption certificates
  • Sales tax compliance
  • Computing sales tax
  • Responding to open questions and issue in a more timely manner
Avalara offers interfaces to many ERP systems. In my opinion the software is intuitive and easy to use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Avalara helps collect the correct amount of sales tax for each state, county and city. Stores all tax exempt certificates and sends expired certificates to help resolve updating issues. Also once uploaded it lets you know if the certificate is valid.
  • Store Certificates
  • Totals amounts of sales
  • Files returns
  • Ease of looking up information
  • Updating information
  • Verification of sales tax before return is filed.
Asked for the sales tax that was accrued from the prior year only gave me a link, that was no help. When it filed sales tax for the quarter and our system was down once uploaded all the sales all the customers were charged sales tax in the period even when they were tax exempt we had to pay for this mistake.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a medical device manufacturing/distribution organization. We sell into many states throughout the US, and as we grew, we quickly realized we could no longer handle sales tax management in-house, even if we hired additional staff. Avalara's returns filing and certificate management service have allowed us to focus on managing /growing the business while remaining compliant with sales tax. They have tax codes that fit our business, enabling us to calculate sales tax for our customers accurately. Other products we've used previously did not have the range of tax codes that Avalara offers. Avalara also provides an API that allows seamless integration with our ERP. They do all the work for us regarding sales tax management.
  • Exemption Certificate Management.
  • Timely Filing of Tax Returns.
  • Extensive list of product codes for determining tax rates.
  • N/A
Avalara was the only solution we found that fit our needs. The tax codes were a sticking point with other solutions, as they did not have medical device/diabetic supply-specific codes.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avatax because we are shipping to customers all over the country and frequently need to collect and remit sales tax on behalf of the customers and states.
  • Estimate sales tax
  • compile sales tax needed to remit sales tax return
  • tracking different taxable items
  • keeping track of resale certificates
  • keeping track of economic nexus
  • Communicating changes in states needs like codes used
  • Sometimes emails are vague and I don't know if I need to make a change on my end somewhere.
  • The initial setup was unclear. There are some people who were exceptionally helpful like Roger Ingalsbe and some who were not helpful at all.
Sales tax is complicated and you need to have a software that can help you track it all. Avalara does this pretty well over all.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, we use Avalara for knowledge base and article reference. We attend multiple webinars to remain compliant regarding Resale Certs and state nexus. We also have the Salesforce application integrator which we are currently navigating thru with our reps. We use them on a daily basis for reference and guidance for compliance issues. Their staff is extremely knowledgeable and customer service orientated.
  • Customer Service
  • Knowledge Base Articles
  • Relatable Blog Posts
  • Quote via website/info given
  • Articles that reference E-invoicing
  • Federal Agency buyers and their taxability from state to state
We have used SOVOS in the past and would recommend Avalara 100X over as their customer service and knowledge base articles are top notch compared to SOVOS. When you contact SOVOS, their customer service is outdated and not willing to assist the customer with issue resolution whereas Avalara strives to resolve any issues and ensure your experience is fruitful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize Avalara's AvaTax platform for product taxability for sales taxes nationwide. It is directly connected to an ERP for real time transactional tax determination. This direct connectivity allows for reporting to be generated for sales tax compliance, transactional review, and state audit support. We have direct access to tax rates and and the ability to create custom rules.
  • Product Taxability
  • Supports US Tax Rates nationwide
  • Customer Support
  • Product Taxability for Construction Industry
  • Product Taxability for Transportation Industry
  • Product Taxability for Building Materials Industry
Avalara has the platform to be able to have support for all products at any time. Would be perfect if all products for all industries were supported. While custom rules are great, they do have to be maintained and tracked as state rules and regulations change versus directly supported in the platform.
May 02, 2024

Worth every penny

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Attached to our ERP, Avalara helps us calculate the correct sales taxes for even our most complicated customers, where the sales taxes can be different as our trucks drop off materials across the road. So the same load can have multiple tax rates. This has in turn helped us pass many sales tax audits by multiple states.
  • Calculate sales taxes
  • Exemption certificate storage
  • Subledger backup data for each sale
  • 1099 help
  • Support for Audit
  • Support for sales tax research
Avalara is well suited for a customer that needs seamless sales tax calculations. Additionally, the exemption certificate storage and access has helped us through many audits. Sales tax returns has enabled us to have more internal resources dedicated to items other than doing sales tax returns. Audit backup is helpful as well.
Jessica Gorbett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara to calculate sales tax on every sales transaction. Our biggest concern was the old system we had would only allow for physical location tax rates. When the economic nexus became law, we had to find a solution that could calculate and capture sales tax for every single transaction placed on our website. We have now rolled it out to all of our physical stores as well.
  • Sales tax down to the jurisdiction
  • Reporting
  • Ability to access help with minimum wait time
  • Support has been slow or dropped at times
  • I feel we change reps a lot
  • Consistency in response from dedicated rep in past has been bad
  • Filing taxes for merchandising calendar retailers
I feel Avalara is the best at helping with sales tax needs. I also know they are opening up more areas to help with business needs. Our only drawback is that since we are a retailer that follows a 4-4-5 monthly calendar, it isn't an option to have Avalara process and submit our taxes monthly.
Shawntelle McBride-Abrams, MACC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We use Avalara for Sales & Use tax filings. It's the best thing that has happened to me joining this company. In the past I had to manually login into each state website and file the returns. Great tool to keep up with the current sales tax rates. Very easy to setup and use. Will recommend to companies.
  • Keep up with current tax rates
  • Help with filings
  • Help with notices
  • The reports downloads can be slow sometimes
It's been awesome to us. We don't have to do everything manual. Avalara logs into the state sites file the returns for us.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Avalara at least 2-5 times a day to verify sales tax rates and taxability of products during that segment of my job of my job which lasts about 2 weeks. In addition, I check for state tax information regarding exemption certificates, and the law - specifically as it relates to the telecommunications industry. Finally, we recently created an new corporation and I used the guidance I found in Avalara to determine the requirements by states where the company would need to be registered.
  • Sales tax rates at a "roof top" level
  • Has extensive research and documentation on telecommunications industry
  • Research is always up to date
  • The ability to ask questions and get clarification on specific situations with no limit as to how you ask a question and often get the answer the same day
  • Historical sales tax rates is terrible
Avalara is a complete sales tax package. Rates, Research, Compliance, Exemption Certificate projects, Registrations, and everything else related to sales tax such as a tax engine which can be connected with virtually any accounting software package to provide the correct sales tax for any given invoice - after having properly configured the program to match the industry involved.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization is actively involved in multiple Avalara products. Avatax allows us to monitor individual transactions. Avalara does our sales tax reports to multiple states within various jurisdictions. ECM stores and keeps track our customer’s tax exemption certificates. Their tax research product provides volumes of tax related answers to many of our basic tax questions. To quantify exactly how much time Alavara has saved our company is nearly immeasurable.
  • Revamping their products to meet client's needs
  • Being proactive with Clients to meet issues before they arise
  • Taking the load off clients on tax related issues so clients can focus on core business
  • Support. Avalara's quick growth appears to hamper back-in support. Too big too quick?
  • Communication. Account manager use to reach out to discuss service plans options.
  • Pricing. Drastic pricing increases for basic services.
Our company likes the products. They are user-friendly and simple to navigate. Avalara saves us an enormous amount of time every month from tasks like filing sales tax returns to keeping track of exemption certificates. Their proactive approach allows our organization to stay focus and allows us to do what we do best. We trust in Avalara to handle the tax related issues.
Jacob Swager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My company has three separate unique divisions, online retail, national rental, and a marketplace facilitator. The obvious problems we faced were sales tax nexus threshold tracking, calculating the correct sales tax rates, exemption certificate management, as well as managing and reporting on things like the CO retail delivery fee and the Illinois rental tax. Avalara has products to monitor and track state by state sales and compare it to each state's individual nexus thresholds, they are crucial in accurately calculating sales tax on each customer's invoice based on the customer's shipping address. Avalara also has software to manage customer and vendor exemption certificates with automated processing features to help streamline our internal processes.
  • Accurately calculate and apply sales tax rates
  • Avalara is a "total solution" that covers all areas of transactional tax.
  • Managing the software is easy and intuitive.
  • It would be if sales tax reports were available to reflect state upload templates
Avalara is great in the sales tax compliance area, exemption certificates, and 1099s. The property tax software was good for property that is fixed to a specific location, but it did not work well for our rental company where the property will be moving to new jurisdictions on a regular basis.
May 02, 2024

Ava

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara for sales tax purposes only. We don't have to manually calculate sales tax anymore which leaves a lot less room for human error.
  • Reports
  • Sales tax
  • Exemptions
  • Account manager
  • Enter tickets
  • Follow up when there is an issue
The product itself is really good, the issue is there are some room in improvement when it comes to account managers.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We recommend Avalara to our clients who file sales and use tax returns in multiple states. Sales and use tax is not a simple task. It is difficult for businesses to stay up to date on multiple state changes along with accurately completing sales tax filings timely, accurately, and with limited employee capacity. Avalara solves these problems and reduces the stress associated with sales and use tax filing and management. The upfront costs may seem daunting, however after getting set up and acclimated with the system, it is worth the cost and saves so much time. Customer support has been responsive and helpful every time I have run into an issue.
  • Ease of Use
  • Accuracy
  • Efficiency
  • More hands on guidance during initial set up
Recommend for businesses who are filing sales and use tax returns in multiple states. Also, would recommend for businesses who are expected to grow and begin selling remotely to other states as Avalara tracks exposure. AvaTax, the sales tax calculator, seems to link really well with a number of different softwares. For those companies who are filing in one or two states and do not have a lot of transactions, I would ask some additional questions before considering Avalara.
May 02, 2024

Avalara

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Avalara calculates sales tax on our transactions and processes our returns. We also use Avalara to manage our exemption certificates, automatically send out requests for expiring certificates and send out campaigns.
  • communication with CAM
  • calculations
  • certificates at a local level
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a small business with few employees. Avalara is helping us stay compliant with the 35 states that we have to file sales tax in and make sure we remit correct and accurate information. They also are going to be integrated into our software which will take that many more processes off my plate.
  • Easy to navigate the website
  • Quick support responses
  • Easy downloads for record keeping
  • Tax rate calculator in an easy to access location
  • The ability to customize my dashboard to my needs
  • Predicted costs based on previous sales tax data
Most of my sales tax knowledge has come from Avalara. Attending the conference gave me a solid foundation into an unfamiliar world. Then the continuing education from the ambassador program has helped me stay current. As the company has grown so has our compliance needs and Avalara has been able to keep up with our changing needs easily and made my job easier.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use Avalara for address verification with the zip + four so that we can use it for the tax rate processing by state and local using the verified zip code. we do not use Avalara to process sales tax as we use a full service outsource team to use our data exports and auto payment to complete the filings.
  • sales tax by zip
  • address verification
  • clean UI and API
  • error responses for address verification
  • confusing website layout
once setup Avalara just does what we need it to do. though we have used services in the past, it relied heavily on the quickbook integration that we moved away from. the data source we use Avalara for is great and will be used for the foreseeable future as we have the integration setup
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara to collect and validate Sales Tax Exemption Forms, calculate Sales Tax Expense and File Returns.
  • Sales Tax Calculations
  • Sales Tax Returns
  • Exemption Certificate Management
  • Customer Support
  • Integration with ERP platforms
Avalara has forced us to become compliant with Sales Tax Collection and Remittance.
May 02, 2024

Avalara Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have Avalara prepare use-tax returns for digital commerce that we conduct in roughly 40 states throughout the US.
  • Detailed tax information
  • Coordination across multi-states
  • Filing use-tax returns timely
  • Backfiling or amended returns
  • Support case communication
  • Client manager communication
Avalara has been tremendously valuable as far as comparing our ERP sales-tax results to Avalara. They have also been invaluable as far as our tax compliance in states outside of Pennsylvania, where we do not have a physical presence. Avalara has been disappointing, in my opinion, regarding communication about time-sensitive issues.
May 02, 2024

Avalara review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara for our sales tax calculations with our connector. Also, they help us with our sales tax returns. We use the ECM pro for our sales tax certificate. We use their reporting to complete some returns that we do manually.
  • Sales tax calculations
  • Sales tax issues with returns they make sure to contact the state.
  • Their ECM pro and Avatax works well with our connector
  • It would be great if they could also advise about franchise tax
  • It would be helpful to know the full explanation of the fees in detail than just summary
If the company have many nexus states for sales tax and also many customers it would be very beneficial to the company to have Avalara to do all the calculations and returns than having the company staff spend so much time on it and Avalara also will contact the state if there is any issues and error and resolve it if they do the returns.
Kim Harper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara for sales tax compliance and submitting returns for SST states. This removes the burden of processing returns and keeping track of tax rate changes. We are an extremely small company that does not have the resources for such a complex task of processing sales tax. The tool for uploading additional transactions is also helpful as it allows us to include transactions that are not part of the online check-out process. The reports options is a great feature for certain returns that are not part of SST and we in turn submit those ourselves.
  • Tax rate compliance
  • Managing exemptions
  • Providing several types of reports
  • Transaction uploads
  • Customer Service: We've had multiple reps and only a couple have been helpful.
  • Knowledge: Providing better, more detailed, information for first time users.
  • Onboarding: Having Avalara expert help and less referring from one person to another.
Avalara is well suited for companies that need to take advantage of the free filings for SST states.
It may not be as well suited for small companies that have a very high number of recurring monthly charges, since the number of transactions can put you in a high tier and make the cost much more.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Avalara for certificate management as well as for sales tax returns and have been very pleased both with the platform and the level of support we receive. Sales tax is ever-changing and to minimize our exposure, we trust Avalara as the experts. Applications are user-friendly and reliable and in the rare cases of technical issues, support personnel has been readily available and helpful.
  • Technical Support
  • Reliability
  • Compliance
  • Site sometimes becomes overloaded during peak return filing periods
We have been very pleased with our 3 year experience with certificate management and return filings
Return to navigation