Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Webtrends Analytics

Webtrends Analytics

Overview

What is Webtrends Analytics?

WebTrends provides an enterprise web analytics platform and, according to Forrester, has a strong focus on support for mobile and social channels and a very open platform. Webtrends competes directly with Adobe Site Catalyst, IBM Coremetrics. and comScore DigitalAnalytix.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Webtrends On Premises with SDC and Tag Builder has proven to be a valuable tool for a variety of users across different industries. Many …
Continue reading

Webtrends Analytics Reviews

9 out of 10
January 26, 2017
We use Webtrends across the whole organization, for analyzing each of our platforms both independently and globally. All of the tools …
Continue reading

Not recommended

1 out of 10
September 25, 2014
We used Webtrends until last month but we decided to move to to Google Analytics since we found a lot of restrictions with this product.
Continue reading

Choose a different solution

1 out of 10
June 01, 2014
We have used Webtrends for over 6 years, but we are not renewing our contract. The Webtrends user interface and the fundamental way they …
Continue reading
Read all reviews
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Webtrends Analytics?

WebTrends provides an enterprise web analytics platform and, according to Forrester, has a strong focus on support for mobile and social channels and a very open platform. Webtrends competes directly with Adobe Site Catalyst, IBM Coremetrics. and comScore DigitalAnalytix.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

15 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Google Analytics?

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

What is Smartlook?

Smartlook is an analytics solution tool for websites, iOS/Android apps, and various app frameworks, that answers the "whys" behind users' actions. It helps users understand precisely how customers interact with website and app — watch recordings, create heatmaps, use automatic tracked events, and…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Webtrends Analytics?

Webtrends Analytics provides a combination of features that are designed to provide an accurate and intuitive view into an organization’s multi-channel customer journey. According to the vendor, the key features enable not only sophisticated analysis techniques but also make key insights accessible to everyone in an organization.

Webtrends Analytics Features

  • Supported: Multi-Channel Measurement across social, mobile, web and SharePoint
  • Supported: Configurable digital dashboards
  • Supported: Reports
  • Supported: Metrics and Dimensions
  • Supported: Administration
  • Supported: Path and Scenario Analysis
  • Supported: Unlimited Data Collection
  • Supported: Ad-Hoc Data Exploration
  • Supported: Extensive data export
  • Supported: Standard and customized analytics reporting

Webtrends Analytics Screenshots

Screenshot of 450+ out-of-box reports
Unlimited custom reports
Roll-up reports across domains
Out-of-box channel and market-specific reportsScreenshot of Unlimited dimensions
No processing time
Dynamic, on-the-fly segmentation
Create, save and share custom views, measures and segmentsScreenshot of Unlimited custom dashboards
Key metrics, trends, demographics, geo maps, word clouds and more
Drill-throughs to connected reports

Webtrends Analytics Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry

Frequently Asked Questions

WebTrends provides an enterprise web analytics platform and, according to Forrester, has a strong focus on support for mobile and social channels and a very open platform. Webtrends competes directly with Adobe Site Catalyst, IBM Coremetrics. and comScore DigitalAnalytix.

Adobe Analytics, Coremetrics / IBM Digital Analytics (discontinued), and Google Analytics 360 are common alternatives for Webtrends Analytics.

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.9.

The most common users of Webtrends Analytics are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(67)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Webtrends On Premises with SDC and Tag Builder has proven to be a valuable tool for a variety of users across different industries. Many departments within organizations have utilized this product to assess the effectiveness of their websites and determine the impact of their outreach efforts. Marketing professionals have found Webtrends to be particularly useful in evaluating website performance, tracking marketing campaigns, and identifying successes or issues with site visitors. The tool allows them to measure website engagement, ad performance, overall traffic, and referring pages or sites.

Webtrends has also been implemented by interactive agencies as a means of providing implementation and support to clients who are Webtrends customers. It offers an alternative to other web analytics tools by offering customizable features and better data accuracy. This product has been used by eCommerce teams and analytics teams alike, enabling critical business decisions to be made based on insights gleaned from analyzing website traffic, performance, and usability.

In addition to these uses, Webtrends has addressed various business problems for multiple domains. These include campaign tracking, handling multiple currencies, eliminating data sampling, improving report performance speed, conducting funnel analysis, importing and integrating data, exporting data, segmenting visitors, managing data ownership, and adhering to service level agreements. With its comprehensive weblog analytics capabilities, Webtrends has assisted users in discovering trends between purchases, site visitation patterns, and forecasting.

The product's value extends beyond individual departments as it is also utilized across organizations to analyze platforms independently and globally. It provides a comprehensive view of overall traffic levels on websites and helps in analyzing customer usage and site search performance for effective SEO efforts. Notably, Webtrends has been chosen over popular alternatives like Google Analytics due to its customizable features and accurate data.

Moreover, users responsible for content management on internal web pages have found Webtrends valuable for gathering actionable information that optimizes web traffic. It has also been selected as a paid analytics supplier by companies looking for accurate data and decision-making support, addressing frustrations with other tools.

Overall, Webtrends On Premises with SDC and Tag Builder has emerged as a reliable solution for organizations and marketing professionals seeking to measure website performance, track marketing efforts, and gain actionable insights from data analysis.

Flexible Tool: Many users have found Webtrends Analytics to be a flexible tool with multiple methods of data capture. This flexibility allows them to gather and analyze data in various ways, catering to their specific needs and preferences.

Clean Visual Data Display: Reviewers appreciate the clean and to-the-point visual data display provided by Webtrends Analytics. Unlike other tools, it avoids unnecessary variables and default settings, making it easier for users to understand and interpret the data.

Customizability: Users value the ability to customize everything that the end user sees in Webtrends Analytics, including reporting based on customer channel. This level of customization allows them to tailor the analytics platform according to their business requirements, resulting in more meaningful insights and reports.

Slow customer service: Many users have experienced slow response times and a lack of follow-through on client requests, leading to frustration and delays in getting the support they need. This has impacted their overall experience with the product.

Limited local market reporting: Several users have mentioned that the local market reporting feature is too limiting for their needs. They desire the ability to further segment their data for more granular insights into specific markets or regions.

Difficulty with report exports: A significant number of users have faced challenges when scheduling and deleting report exports. This has resulted in delays in receiving important data, affecting their ability to make timely decisions based on up-to-date information.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 30)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Custom built reports
  • Huge customer support which is particularly useful for newbies
  • Interface and UX is very intuitive
  • Plugins are not easy to use or implement
  • There need to be more reports and template dashboards to present you with actionable data instead of having to build it out yourself
  • Takes time and effort to fully implement into your site
Nathan Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Having used two competitors, the company I am with now uses Omniture, I can honestly say that Webtrends is the best web analytics software I have used. Its UI is very intuitive and easily customized.
  • The back-end data is fairly easy to get to, and it's no hassle getting IP or log level data, unlike competitors. I work with a team of web analysts now and talk about Webtrends to them like the munchkins talked about the Wizard of Oz. It's just a more superior software than most to data mine.
  • Webtrends has great customer service support. They were able to allow us to build out custom reporting and dumps for our specific industry without price gouging us.
  • I would like to see stronger SQL integration into the UI program and software.
  • Better tutorials for people
  • More user groups in our area.
David Cox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Powerful creation of reports. Different categories, globally seen by all platforms, platform specific and personal seen by only me
  • Intuitive drag and drop interface
  • Action center allows for events to trigger near real-time activities
  • API interface could be more intuitive
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Webtrends Infinity tracks our websites accurately - so we know the data we're getting is correct.
  • Webtrends also tracks SPA's.
  • Webtrends is customisable, so you can create and save your own reports, dimensions and metrics.
  • You can really dig into the data with Webtrends Infinity to get many more insights that you could ever find using Google Analytics.
  • The Webtrends team have helped us to produce dashboards for our regular reporting - literally saving us days of reporting time.
  • The Webtrends team really know their stuff, and are on-hand to answer queries and questions, no problem at all.
  • There are a few tweaks to do on the new Infinity system (and the team are really pro-active with feedback), but there's nothing I'd say would need a major overhaul. In fact, new areas are appearing every week.
Charles Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • The javascript tagging of our website provides better metrics over traditional weblogs in tracking unique visits and visitor
  • The pushing of reporting to mobile devices like iPhone and iPad has been useful to the user community
  • By adding scheduled tasks I was able to get web logs from SDC to run metrics hourly. Which comes in hand on heavy traffic days to demographics and for capacity planning for load balancing and adding additional servers into the server farm.
  • Path analysis helps to track are visitors to the site going to the pages you want to direct them to. It also shows conversion rates and where the visitor left or abandoned the site before converting
  • Metrics can be extracted easily to pass to web services to support other services. For example, passing website metrics to the CIO dashboard.
  • Webtrends comes with a compliment of reports with the feature of creating custom reports for a particular client's needs, and to track particular metrics for a specific incident or interest
  • The addition in Insight of social media tracking was a huge help to my Facebook and Twitter metric tracking
  • No complaints it had all of the functionality that I needed.
April 29, 2015

Webtrends 8.5

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Provides website traffic analytics.
  • Allows people to generate customized reports for particular time ranges or areas of site.
  • Allows you to filter out what Web content should not be included in analytics results.
  • Makes it easy to track downloads of documents such as PDFs, Word, Excel, etc.
  • The product has an unnecessarily complicated licensing for limits on page index limits.
  • Expensive compared to Google Analytics, hard to justify to IT management.
  • Could be more flexible in exporting custom searches into other formats such as PDF, Excel, Word, etc.
Chris Grant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • More than some of its competitors, most Webtrends' configurations (reports, dimensions, filters, content groups, measures) can be done in the admin UI, rather than in the tagging and site code. The tag itself is smart - it can sense offsite links, clicks on pdf downloads, form button clicks, and so on, which eliminates a lot of extra coding or tag modification that has to be done with other products.
  • There are so many levers and buttons in the configuration that nearly anything can be turned into a report, or a report dimension, filter, or measure.
  • It allows re-analysis of past data as far back as 90 days. Usually, you do this if you have created new custom reports, content groups, change the filters, and so on.
  • There is a software version, called On Premises. (The SaaS version is called On Demand.)
  • It has real path analysis ... it does not daisy-chain individual steps as others do. The paths it displays are what happens in actual visits, up to 20 steps long. It has forward and backward paths (one visit can appear several times depending on how many times the node was hit), paths-from-entry (one visit, one path), content group paths as well as page paths. Its one lack (that I care about) is SiteCatalyst's Pathfinder report which allows you to identify wildcard pages in a 3-step hypothetical path.
  • This isn't going to ring a bell for a lot of people, but it handles list variables much better than its competitors (basically, parameters that hold multiple values such as "choose as many as apply" kinds of variables.
  • It handles the tabulations of parameters really well. It deals with three kinds of parameters: those in the pages' URL, those placed in the WT.meta's (I don't think any competitors use this approach and it is fantastic for easily keeping URLs clean for SEO purposes), and those collected automatically by the standard tag. When tabulating parameters, its competitors require more up-front work, lots more configuration time, or severe limits on the quantity.
  • Having recently tried out Google Analytics' new Content Groups feature, I was reminded of how powerful it is in Webtrends. There's really no comparison. Furthermore, the content groups can be configured p in the UI as well as hard-coded into the page. Content Group paths can be up to 20 steps long, and are not daisy-chained.
  • The big downside, the elephant in the room, is that it does not (as of right now) have on-demand segmenting, drilldowns, etc. You have to think of what you want in advance and create those reports then analyze some data. This is huge. You can, of course, re-analyze old data after creating new reports but you still have to wait. (This deficiency may become obsolete with the release of Webtrends Explore later this month (May 2014).)
  • It has fewer mature integrations with other products and databases than competitors do, although I'm told it works with SharePoint better than anything else does.
  • Its attribution modeling capability is behind Google Analytics'. In my humble opinion, this could be changed quickly if Webtrends would make some tweaks to its standard visitor history files (i.e. preserve the order in which past visits were sourced beyond the single most recent one, rather than storing all those past sources as a randomized list).
  • It doesn't incorporate statistical tests, confidence intervals, or statistical associations. However, this same criticism can be applied to its competitors (other than A/B Testing products). It's a tabulation program, as they all are. In this respect, web analytics tools as a group are relatively primitive. Sorry to bring this up as a criticism of Webtrends but it's my pet peeve about the whole industry and I just have to say it. (p.s. take advantage of the heavy-duty Webtrends Scheduled Export functionality to get really granular data that you can feed to a stats program to get significances.)
  • Although the documentation, help screens, phone support and the knowledge base have improved tremendously in recent years, there is still a pretty steep learning curve because it is different from the tools that entry-level users may have already been exposed to. This can be a shock and many users are alienated at first because they just don't get some of the fundamentals at first. I'd like to see much better help screens that are thoroughly interlinked with the KB and documentation. Having superb online support would make a world of difference with the adoption of this basically powerful tool.
Matthieu Dejardins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Don't ask you to pay for both collected and analyzed data
  • Custom reporting: ability to leverage tracking and create meaningful reports for Business users
  • The product itself was very slow (9) or buggy (10)
  • The ability to create new custom reports complex (consultant needed and can not apply historical data without replay)
  • The possibility to drill-down data limited and not dynamic (segments, funnels, goals)
  • The UI is rudimentary (9) or visually overwhelming (10) without thinking about functionality (advanced segmentation)
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • It effectively measures transactions on the site. Currently, we measure primarily basic metrics such as visitors and site visits. We haven’t formalized a reporting/call to action for the data yet: It’s one of our biggest initiatives this year. Once the proper KPIs are established, it will provide the metrics to support the KPIs
  • It does not provide real time monitoring. We typically can look at data about 48 hours after it has occurred. This matters specifically for campaigns and for troubleshooting the site.
  • The On Premises solution is not as robust as the On Demand solution which our security department is hesitant to use. The On Premise version has fewer of the innovations than On Demand, including integration with Sharepoint, Spaces, and social media.
  • We are a health insurance company, so we are always cautious about releasing Protected Health Information (PHI). Since we are highly regulated, the consequences of a privacy breach are pretty severe, so we tend to be very conservative when sending data outside of our data environment. Being On Demand means are sending log files through the cloud which may or may not include PHI.
Seth Garske | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Very flexible when there is a need to set up custom reports.
  • Doesn't provide enough out of the box reporting/metrics.
  • Dashboards and UI are difficult to navigate, but getting better.
  • Excel plug-ins are not intuitive and hard to use vs. Omniture's Report Builder.
September 25, 2014

Not recommended

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Friendly Heatmaps
  • Webtrends explore (tried) to make things look more user friendly ....(tried)
  • There are a lot of areas for improvements for this tool. It's a powerful tool however it has so many restrictions such as running historic data for the past 3 months only
  • Integration of Webtrends10 and WT9 did not work, you can see that since most of the time you still need to use WT9 in order to get results in WT 10 this is very confusing and frustrating
Brian Mackintosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Gives complete data. This is critical if you want to look at all of the data in a particular set of analysis -- all of the specific search data or customer data. WebTrends was not a sample based product so we could get full data as needed.
  • System availability. The tools were always available and had great up-time.
  • Customization. With the proper Analyst support we could configure Webtrends to provide the specific data sets we needed to make report decisions.
  • Customizing reports requires significant system knowledge. As a regular user, I found it very difficult to modify reports or metrics (compared to a product like Google Analytics). This required my organization to find and hire a WebTrends specialist to full utilize the power of the tool.
Chaim (Daniel) Arnstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • In terms of simple web site usage, Webtrends is excellent at showing increasing or decreasing usage month over month.
  • Webtrends is very good at showing what pages of the web site are getting the most usage, what are the most successful downloads
  • Webtrends is also very good at showing the geographic location of the clients. It is pretty good at showing what organizations the clients belong to as well.
  • For Webtrends on Premises, Memory usage is a big problem. And even powerful servers with copious amounts of physical memory - does not help for Webtrends
  • There doesn't seem to be an upgrade path for Webtrends on Premises. It is stuck at version 9.2b, and there are currently no plans to upgrade. Companies that want the latest features must instead use the hosted version, Webtrends on Demand. Companies may save on salaries, but they will need to pay Webtrends lots of money, if they are big users of the software.
  • Webtrends for SharePoint requires a Professional Services contract to do properly - Webtrends does not share the documentation. Some of the other add-ons have the same, or similar, issue.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Content groupings were a nice way to see groups of content (all cart pages, all product detail pages, etc); but this is available on most analytics systems
  • Historical reporting -- if you don't know exactly what you want to measure, you are out of luck. So, for example, if sales suddenly go up and you need to understand why, but you didn't have a report set up for sales by geography/sales by campaign/sales by promo code/sales by whatever (IP address for fraud, etc) you are out of luck. You can do a look back of 30-60 days, but it takes a significant amount of time to pull those reports. This is especially important when you're trying to trouble shoot issues -- maybe sales by browser (because of a cart issue in a browser, for example) is something you need, but you don't know.
  • Consistency of account managers -- turnover at Webtrends is very high. Our company went through 8 account managers in 2 years. Every new account manager, you have to start over.
  • Time to load data -- refreshes only every 12 hours. I need at least near-real time data. They do have Streams now which gives you real time data, but not on everything.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Flexibility and scalable. One aspect is the capability of hosting in house. For companies that do want to keep therr data they have the option to as they say keep it on premises.
  • Webtrends developed rapidly on data visualization which for companies that do want to quickly set that up they can have a clean visualization of all of your most important data and trends through dashboards, scorecards and an intuitive UI.
  • Like any Web analytics software the customer support has to help the power users. I still would like to say one day that customer support has solved all my problems which indirectly solves the main stakeholders problems. This obviously translates to the success of the usage and extending the annual contracts within this company.
Mitchell Teixeira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Control privacy, data sharing and competitive industrial knowledge using Webtrends on premises
  • Great control over custom reports, custom dimensions and metrics
  • Flexible tool which allows multiple methods of data capture. To my knowledge it was the first tool with a Tag Builder / Tag Management function built in via a supporting website.
  • Requires careful setup and planning during implementation
  • If using web server logs, you're able to re-analyze historical data - but it takes time and careful planning/execution.
  • It would be great to have a fully implemented public test profile to send potential clients to see all the product's features
  • Wish it supported Microsoft HyperV virtualization. Last time I checked, only VMWare was supported for virtualization of on premises installations.
May 09, 2014

WebTrends 9 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Story mode presents data in an easy to read narrative format. This is important for people who are not necessarily the most computer savvy but still have the responsibility in their job description of managing webpages.
  • File exporting. This is convenient for whenever someone needs to report information to management.
  • Product support. This is a must when dealing with a complex software and I know that users appreciate it.
  • Outages. There have been a few times where the system was not able to provide information on the dates requested, which makes reporting to management difficult.
Adam Waddington | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Ability to customize variables, values, structure
  • Ease of access to customer support
  • Good price point compared to competition
  • User interface changes to allow for non-power users.
  • More out-of-the-box variable possibilities (plug and play)
  • Access to the deeper data (think data warehouse)
Jaclyn Wallace | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Detailed traffic tracking - You are able to drill down within the profiles to get to a specific webpage you are looking for rather than it providing the "total" numbers (you are able to see which pages contributed to the total)
  • Time period selection - You are able to select a single day, group of days, week, months, years, and see the available metrics for what you have selected. This is useful for comparing monthly, quarterly, or annually.
  • Scheduling exports - The process of scheduling a report is not as simple as I believe it should be. The data arrives sometimes a day later than you indicated, sometimes a few days.
  • Deleting scheduled exports - As I am not the administrator of the tool I am not able to delete scheduled exports. This included exports that I have set up and are being sent to my email/stored in a location I have indicated. Have the capability to delete scheduled exports that you have created would assist in keeping only the necessary functions running and assisting in eliminating the delay of enabled reporting.
May 02, 2014

Webtrends

Kevin Ornduff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Data is well organized
  • Standardized setup
  • Has a clickmap, other software doesn't seem to have this feature
  • Not very customizable
  • "Clunky" or inflexible in some areas
  • Limited access to segment building/modification
Lindsay Buescher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • The Webtrends user interface is fairly easy to navigate and the reporting is pretty intuitive to figure out on your own.
  • The level of data that Webtrends provides is very helpful as an analyst to make appropriate optimizations for both the website as well as the paid advertising campaigns driving to the site.
  • For the most part, I trust the data that is collected by Webtrends since the site is being tagged and managed by a team of professionals at the company
  • In the past 2 years that I have been using Webtrends there was very little support and services/faq available online, which I've just noticed that they have started to address, which is great to see. For example, when I had a question on how Webtrends defines a certain site metric, they didn't even have a dictionary or reference guide online to help.
  • Customer service in general has been in issue for our agency in regards to response time to questions/troubleshooting and following through on client requests.
  • We have found that local market reporting can be limiting when you want to segment the data a lot further.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Webtrends Analytics makes complex situations understandable to a non-technical audience. The vast capabilities and ways to slice data is both a great tool, but can also cause a user/users many hours of frustration.
  • Visual data display is clean, to the point, and not overly convoluted with unneeded variables and standard (defualt) settings. Everything the end user sees is customizeable.
  • Exports of raw data collections was easy and accurate. Once the parameters of data collection are finally set up and working, its easy to get what you want from the UI and is delievered in a variety of options.
  • The weakness of this software by far is the staff that support it. My company and I had some of the most frustrating conversations with people supporting our account. They would continually re-route us to other support staff. Their deadlines for solutions/answers were continually pushed back, and their answers of "Why" things were happening the way they were happening was most of the time just a ploy and cover up in hopes we would eventually stop asking the questions.
  • Although simple campaigns can be easily set up, I would say the set up for larger campaigns (as ours was) was extremely difficult and confusing. Webtrends offered many, many ways to see the same data, but unfortunately alot of the time the data was inconsistent when you knew it should be. An example of this would be our team trying to track the number of visits for Page A and where they were previously before coming to that page. Now, if on one view Page A visits returned 10,000 and on another view with different parameters showed 20,000 visits we knew something was not right. The issue would always be sent back to support staff who never really provided a logical answer as to why this was happening.
Matthew Koppel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • First and foremost, the customer service for Webtrends is excellent. Even if my name is not on the account, they will go out of their way to make sure everything is coded properly. Plus, they have a very active social media team that looks to answer small questions quickly that pop up on Twitter.
  • Implementation of Webtrends is a rather easy process for the basics. Compared to Omniture, I would say it takes about half the time.
  • I'm a big fan of the URL generator. When trafficking digital media, generating URLs can be a real pain and the generator is far better than anything for Google Analytics or Omniture.
  • Over the years, they have greatly improved the UX and UI of the system. It used to look more like an IT tool than a Business Intelligence tool. Now, I feel that it can operate as both.
  • Functionality is dependent upon implementation. If an IT department is in charge of implementation, then they will not be looking for the same things that a marketer needs.
  • Certain clients have required that I and my staff have to be on their network in order to access Webtrends. Accessing via a VPN connection can slow down the data download process.
  • Like all web analytics platforms, generating custom reports with multiple variables can effect the data output. I have found that the limit on Webtrends for a good pull is three dimensions. (I then have to go back and merge the data sets on my own.)
  • I would love for greater level of integration with adservers like DART or Atlas. If I could line up cookie level logs on the analytics and adserver, I could execute much deeper attribution and better QA.
Return to navigation