Crownpeak DXM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Andy Wood | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Crownpeak DXM (SaaS, headless, adaptable, interoperable)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crownpeak DXM for website design and build implementations for our client's customer marketing in the UK, Europe and the USA.

Crownpeak delivers for us on core customer marketing principles - European GDPR compliance, and the principle of capturing customer data as part of a transparent value exchange is baked into the platform.

Their partner relationship and technical roles understand what marketers need from a WCMs investment. We're able to collaborate with them to tailor solutions for client best-fit, and platform interoperability is excellent with best-of-breed tools across CRM, PIM, DAM, Commerce.

The SaaS model, means we get version updates with new features and functions without our developers getting involved in integration and update tasks. We know exactly what year-on-year platform costs will be, so we can plan content marketing and CRM budgets - rather than spending time and money on developer tasks associated with version updates.
  • Due to the headless nature of the platform, publishing is super fast straight to HTML.
  • One repository of content capable of feeding different applications across different languages.
  • Back end look and feel is a little dated, could do with some updating on interface design.
  • Navigating content tree's can be a little long winded with deeper content sites, although it's hard to see a way around this.
Crownpeak DXM is particularly well suited to Customer centric, CX Driven digital implementations. It has plenty of 'out the box' features which we use on a regular basis with our clients, but it also acts like a headless CMS with the ability to share content across different platforms and integrate with 'best of breed' CRM, PIM, Commerce tools for example.

We work closely with Crownpeak to scope and define CX driven solutions for our clients, and it's especially useful when we need to be interoperable with other systems and tools in the customer communications and digital business toolkit.

We've used it in B2C commerce situations, in B2B closed environments, and with brands with large volume product inventory management.
Read Andy Wood's full review
Zeynep Babadagli Baykal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Enterprise Level CMS functionalities with Saas infrastructure!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We currently use Crownpeak DXM for some of our clients. For the clients that we provide web content management services via the Crownpeak DXM, they use the platform all across the whole organization also in different languages. The tools provide a seamless content management operations process; the workflow structure and content management process allows non-technical users to create state of the art customer experiences with limited teams. In-built DQM (Digital Quality Management) tool gives the marketing teams the ability to audit their content for accuracy and accessibility. The system has a decoupled deployment structure; as content authors we are able to create, manage and push content globally (in various languages) with less efforts and shorter turnaround times when it comes to delivering complex digital projects without any IT involvement.
  • Short turn-around times when delivering projects.
  • Built-in Digital Quality tool (DQM) tool allows you to check the quality of content and any accessibility issues and immediately flag any issues before publishing.
  • Platform can be slow sometimes.
  • Training materials are limited
The Crownpeak DXM solution is totally suitable for any organization looking for a modern cloud-based true-SaaS CMS solution to modernize their website and web operations on time and budget. The ease of use without requiring IT or developers, the ability to move quickly and make updates or push out campaigns with ease and top notch security are some of the differentiators of the tool.
Read Zeynep Babadagli Baykal's full review
Mike Coakley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Dont always have to think about enterprise-level CMS deployment first

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Epsilon assists our clients with building, configuring, integrating, and operating their content management solutions using Crownpeak. With Crownpeak we can work with clients who have needs at the work group level or business unit level to get the benefits of a full content management solution at a lower overall cost. We can also work with organizations to implement at the corporate level. In all, clients us Crownpeak to get the traditional productivity, consistency, and delivery benefits of a content management platform.
  • Ability to deploy at a work group level
  • Compartmentalize their solution for client flexibility
  • Compete on their differences and embrace them
Although it can be used at a corporate level, it is a fantastic solution for getting a company's feet wet. Work groups or business units can deploy, can get quick wins and show improvements, and then get more groups to buy in. Not a lot of solutions have that business flexibility with licensing.
Read Mike Coakley's full review
Frank Zare | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Complete Automated Digital Governance A must have

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DXM acts as our complete web governance for the website and it's a tool that we utilize to ensure our digital experiences comply with accessibility, brand, SEO, legal and usability standards. It's been a great tool for improving the accessibility requirements of our website to meet with WCAG guidelines.
  • Provide guidelines with SEO related issues on each landing page
  • Use it to resolve all the accessibility issues with the website
  • User interface could be better to navigate
  • Provide some information on the errors to educate the user
  • Improve SEO: ensures compliance with best practices and guidelines, some of the main reasons we utilize the platform is for monitoring misspellings, broken image, and broken link detection
  • Web Accessibility: fully supports Web Content Guidelines (WCAG).
Read Frank Zare's full review
Joel Macaluso | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Crownpeak DXM - Truly SaaS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Crownpeak partner and implement DXM for various clients. Typically it is used by the marketing, or digital, department on behalf of the whole organization. It serves as a the backbone for the web presence for a business. i.e., it's the product that allows a business to maintain its website easily and effectively, refreshing content as needed.
  • The SaaS platform eliminates the headache of upgrades and patches and allows businesses to just focus on the site development and day-to-day management.
  • Crownpeak's technical support team is always prompt with answering any question or issue that arises.
  • The lack of real-time debugging may contribute to additional development effort at times.
  • Although its my understanding that its being addressed, the publishing queue can be slow at times during extremely heavy publishing loads.
For companies looking to move into a truly cloud-based environment without the complexity of managing servers and upgrades, Crownpeak really shines. It is extremely easy to use from a content editor point of view. Sites built on Crownpeak DXM can be managed by developers with "mid-level" experience, unlike many competitors. Managing digital quality (SEO, accessibility, brand standards, etc.) is a very powerful advantage. Although it is quite capable at integrating with third party solutions, companies that are looking for a ton of "out-of-the-box" add-ons (e-commerce for example) will not find it appropriate.
Read Joel Macaluso's full review
Nick Zettler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Perfect fit for enterprise CMS implementation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Crownpeak DXM platform with one of our large utility clients to power their marketing sites and customer portals.
  • Seamless upgrades and enhancements. In true Saas fashion, you don't have to worry about what version your software is on, as you are always on the latest.
  • Highly performant. Allows you to create extremely lightweight applications that have no load time and snappy performance.
  • The admin UI takes a little getting used to for new users.
I recommend it in any ecosystem where you need to manage content across multiple channels and devices. There isn't really a scenario where Crownpeak is not a good solution. The only exception would be when IT would rather maintain more control over the architecture and hosting.
Read Nick Zettler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Reliable CMS With Unsurpassed Support

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crownpeak DXM as the CMS for our enterprise website for US and International. We are also looking to expand the CMS to our product websites.
  • Lots of flexibility
  • Easy to use user interface
  • Platform runs slowly
  • Brand not well known in industry
Flexible to publish content almost anywhere. Easy to scale for enterprises with multiple web properties. Great up time and support. Does require development resources.
Read this authenticated review
Sean Brasher | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2019

Enterprise-level CMS platform with all the tools in one place

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire web department uses DXM to build websites, including websites for our clients. It allows our enterprise clients to have a tool that supports both their non-technical content creators as well as their UX engineers.
  • Having all the tools all in one place - you don't need a separate quality tool or asset management tool for instance
  • Ease of use is great because even non-technical users can get in and add content after minimal training.
  • Personalization and A/B testing built in makes a HUGE difference in how marketers build a site.
  • Crownpeak moved to a web browser admin tool in 2018, which has made the admin experience much better, but there are still a couple of features missing from the browser version that won't arrive until later in 2019.
  • Integration with 3rd party digital asset management tools would be great.
  • Smoother integration with source control would be nice.
Crownpeak is great for a company with a marketing team that wants to build sites in a competitive environment where their conversion rates matter and where they are looking for an edge through personalization or optimizing their content. It is also best suited for sites with a lot of content that you need to manage.

It is less appropriate for very small sites or sites where the design is more important than the content. It can be used for small sites but it is overkill for them and there are open-source options to use instead. Similarly, in a site like a portfolio site for a designer, you would have an easier time building exactly what you want outside of a CMS platform.
Read Sean Brasher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Review of Crownpeak DXM

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is a digital agency that develops and maintains websites for many clients, and we use Crownpeak for websites with several of our clients. I'm not sure why Crownpeak is used other than that it's cloud-based and our company has a long history with it, so we have a partnership with Crownpeak.
  • The form inputs are very flexible
  • The REST API is generally pretty intuitive
  • It feels very top-to-bottom and self-contained, so I don't have to bother with lots of plugins and interop and such
  • Navigation within the folder structure feels clunky all-around.
  • Local debugging is difficult-to-impossible
  • The Visual Studio plugin is buggy
  • True documentation for the REST API is sparse
From what I can gather from the conversations happening among more important people around me, it seems as if using Crownpeak makes sense for large enterprises when they wants a complete solution that includes hosting. From a developer perspective, the only reason I would suggest working with Crownpeak is that at least you get to use C#. None of the devs I know enjoy working with it overall, or feel like it helps them be as productive as they'd like to be.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Good in some areas, bad in many others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crownpeak is being used across our entire organization. We use it to publish community events and for registrations of those events.
  • The ability to search for registrants within a list
  • Individualizing event information
  • Takes a LONG time to load.
  • Can't delete a registrant without them being notified (for example, if someone registers multiple times).
  • Can't upload files in special instructions (for example, an event flyer).
If your registration fields are similar to their template then it works well. However, you can't take away any of their automatic fields, which is frustration. There are situations where address, email, etc. isn't necessary for us, but it is still required. I wish you could take fields away that you don't need, not just the option to add to their existing fields.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Let's not make that mistake again! Waiting for the end of our contract.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crownpeak has been deployed to manage our corporate Website and blog, and our internal intranet. We selected the platform for what we were told would be a platform that would allow our business users to easily create blog posts and personalized user experiences. Marketing is the department largely responsible for the day-to-day management of the Website, but the entire company uses the intranet.
  • The sales team is phenomenal at making promises.
  • The support team is very responsive, at communicates in a timely fashion. Trouble tickets have always been addressed within the SLA.
  • Product updates are delivered frequently.
  • Initial setup is a nightmare, and pretty much impossible without an expensive professional services engagement or an outside consultant.
  • It is difficult to create personalized content, and the module is not particularly robust, at that.
  • The user interface is extremely confusing for business users, and time-to-productivity is high.
Crownpeak may be well-suited to a large team of developers or a company with an army of consultants. For a mid-market company seeking a platform more robust than popular open source CMS solutions, you will find Crownpeak expensive, difficult to setup, and cumbersome to use on a day-to-day basis. The platform is also quite expensive for the little value it delivers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

An ideal CMS tool for offering a great user experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crownpeak DXM is being used by the digital experience team within the Corporate Marketing Department at my organization. We're using it to manage and host our 19+ sites and their related image, video, PDF and other assets.
  • Simplistic Content Management - the system is very easy to learn and use.
  • Customer Support Team is great - our issues get responses and resolution in a timely manner.
  • It's really easy to clone/duplicate assets, which helps with building out new sites or new sections within existing sites.
  • I never got to use the desktop application version - which my colleagues love(ed) - but the web browser version, although easy, has some weird glitches. For instance, I have to refresh the browser one-two times per day to get the scroll bar to appear to scroll through long form asset files/content pages.
  • It would be nice to have some kind of capability to have new files/PDFs wrapped when you upload them. At the moment, I have to upload a new file, then go manually wrap it before I embed it on a page, which adds an extra step to common tasks I perform.
It's great for companies that manage multiple websites. Everything is in one place on a tool that's easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Great product and great support

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crownpeak DXM to update a variety of websites for the Virginia Department of Transportation. It provides content and breaking news to Virginians looking for project and traffic updates. It is used by many across the state who contribute content to the websites.
  • Allows non-technical people to update the website with ease.
  • Allows updates from anywhere there's an internet connection.
  • Fast cloning of template files allows for the fast creation of new websites.
  • I think I stumbled on something. When a website is built out, it would be nice to be able freeze the templates, rendering them Read Only.
  • There are many, many backend files needed to get links to files and other pages working. It would be nice to streamline that.
The main benefit from Crownpeak DXM that is not necessarily provided in a free CMS like DNN or Drupal is their excellent, on the spot support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Friendly for content editors

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for SEO and WCAG checks and balances, as well as optimization of the site.
  • Deployments of dev updates to templates affecting large numbers of URLs.
  • Customizable templates.
  • Folder architecture is easy and intuitive.
  • The drag and drop functionality of components to build templates as a non-designer/developer.
  • Personalization functionality - Cannot use for it for A/B testing.
  • Moving around from a web page to a quick view of other assets like images is cumbersome.
Crownpeak DXM is well suited for large organizations backed by developers. It is not well suited for small, hands-on content editors/web managers that don't have a developer easily at disposal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

A partner in need is a partner indeed.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Crownpeak across the organization and not just limited to a specific department. It manages the website of our company.
  • It creates amazing pages which can hold a bunch of information and also keeps the customer attracted towards the page despite of so many details.
  • It gives a variety of template options which suits best with all types of content
  • The best part about Crownpeak is that its very user friendly and non technical person can also use it to keep the website up to date.
  • I don't actually know if this is a con but there are different templates we have to manage to create one single page. If we can manage all templates in one particulate form than it will save time and error free as well.
  • Website is more smooth if the images used are optimized. Right now I have to optimize all the images before uploading it to database. If the platform has a functionality which can optimize image automatically that will be very helpful.
I wanted to create a product page where I can display all content from website which is tagged to this product page. It pulls all the product specific content to one page. I liked how easy it is to view so many things on one single product page. It helped customer to understand the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2014

CrownPeak is a Difficult Development Environment

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrownPeak is well suited for simple article and blog websites and allows copywriters the ability to manage large amounts of textual content. A large client of our agency uses it to host most of it's web properties.
  • Hosting simple article pages and images
  • The development environment is sub-par. It's difficult to create any type of "application" as the format of page templates is not suited for compile-time checks, cross classes, and many .NET libraries are excluded. You cannot use modern development techniques such as SASS for CSS, nor does their system minify or bundle JavaScript or CSS. There is no place for a standard relational database so creating "category" pages of related content is difficult. There is no source control integration. Again. No source control history or usage whatsoever. Also, a real difficulty in development is the code-deploy-wait model used - it's similar to SharePoint in that a developer makes a change to a template, saves, and then needs to "deploy" that change to another server to view it. The deployment usually takes from seconds to minutes. This makes development take a lot longer than other platforms where the feedback is more immediate.
  • The content creation user experience is very confusing. For instance, there is a "new" menu for creating content but the developers control of that is limited and end users often get lost in a large development template folder looking for the "right" template to use. Other content creation systems like Wordpress are a lot more intuitive.
  • The documentation and online forum are particularly lacking. The documentation does not have many examples and the forum is extremely cumbersome and limited. Most of the "help" documentation is sideways Powerpoints. CrownPeak makes up for this with their support email system - they respond very quickly - but it's very hard to look up anything for yourself.
Are you ok having extra people manually categorize content and update most things by hand?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (14)
8.4
API (9)
6.8
Internationalization / multi-language (10)
7.5
WYSIWYG editor (14)
7.7
Code quality / cleanliness (14)
7.4
Admin section (13)
6.3
Page templates (15)
7.0
Mobile optimization / responsive design (14)
7.5
Publishing workflow (15)
7.8
Form generator (12)
6.5
Content taxonomy (13)
7.0
SEO support (13)
6.5
Bulk management (13)
6.3
Availability / breadth of extensions (13)
6.5

About Crownpeak DXM

Crownpeak DXM aims to empower digital marketers and business users to create, manage and evolve digital experiences that increase customer engagement and conversion with personalized, engaging content. The SaaS platform lets business users manage any digital experience, from global corporate sites to mobile-optimized experiences, intranets, e-commerce sites, portals, microsites, landing pages and more.

Crownpeak promises to provide enterprise digital marketers and business users the necessary speed, flexibility, and self-service capability to launch new digital experiences themselves. The platform also offers a secure, stable, scalable architecture that ensures peace-of-mind for corporate IT and information security teams.

Crownpeak DXM Features

Web Content Creation Features
Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Does not have featureLibrary of website themes
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling
Web Content Management Features
Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Does not have featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Does not have featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Does not have featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities
CMS programming language or framework Features
Does not have featurePHP
Does not have featurePython
Does not have featureJava
Has feature.NET
Additional Features
Has featureDigital Quality Management
Has featurePersonalization & Testing
Has featureFull Stack Hosting
Has featurePlatform Agnostic Deployment
Has featureAdvanced Cybersecurity Capabilities

Crownpeak DXM Integrations

Jive, Marketo, Oracle Eloqua, Salesforce.com, Oracle CRM, Google Analytics, Webtrends Analytics, Adobe Analytics, Brightcove, Janrain, TagMan, MS SharePoint, Dropbox, Box, Site24x7, Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium), Disqus, ExactTarget, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, Inquira, YouTube, IBM, Lionbridge, EC Innovations, Sajan

Crownpeak DXM Competitors

Evoq Content, OpenText WEM, Sitecore Web Content Management, Ingeniux CMS, Adobe Experience Manager, Episerver CMS, SDL Tridion Sites, CoreMedia, Acquia Platform, Percussion CMS, HCL Digital Experience (formerly IBM WebSphere Portal & Web Content Manager), Ektron Web Content Management System (Discontinued)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Crownpeak DXM Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
80%

Crownpeak DXM Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Crownpeak DXM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: All major languages