Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Lillian Laporte | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Not alot in 2019..watch out 2020!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Communities to create a positive and encouraging environment for our cx's to visit to gain support for inquires, encourage self serve and share points of views on Rogers products and services
  • Provides a great framework on how to manage a community.
  • Extensive amount of reporting capabilities.
  • Ability to create rewards and or look at trends on how to easily improve expert awareness.
  • The ability to change the look and feel without being a Coder.
  • Issue Resolution Timelines.
  • Integration with business CRM solutions.
I don't have any scenarios where they are not suited to our vision for Community Forums. They are aligned with where Rogers is heading.
I feel that Khoros is a forward-thinking organization consistently wanting to improve and create positive experiences for their cx's.
We have definitely benefited. Prior to my arrival just under 2 yrs ago. The team had a very solid framework in place to support how Rogers wanted their Community to function. We were able to leverage best in class experiences from the Khoros team on various topics and their flexibility and willingness to help has always been evident. They have supported Rogers in building what has been referred to by Khoros as a VERY healthy community through the years as a result. We have been able to increase our call deflection monthly year over year and increase our overall Cx satisfaction scores.
Read Lillian Laporte's full review
Ty Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Khoros is the enterprise-grade community platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Communities so merchants and partners can share, and learn from one another in a variety of languages. Enabling self-service via proactive content, as well as peer to peer support and guidance in our community enables internal teams to capture feedback, identify trends as well as participate whenever possible which helps build trust with our community members.
  • Insight - A variety of analytics, and methods to access these details are offered.
  • Extensible - Extensive customization opportunities.
  • Peer Support - Khoros Atlas is a great learning destination.
  • Customization - Opportunities are limited unless you are a developer, or have dedicated developer support.
  • Development - Staging/sandbox performance could be improved.
  • Campus - Training courses would benefit from a refresher.
The Khoros platform does things right and enables companies to provide a quality experience that follows industry best practices.

With customization, the platform can be tweaked to support just about anything you might need which makes this is a good starter platform as well as something that you can develop on for the long-term.

Companies that need to provide more than just a basic forum experience should consider Khoros due to the flexibility and scalability it offers as you grow such as implementing a TKB, Ideas, Groups, etc.
The platform offers extensive customization so anything you think of it is most likely possible. Customization like this does require developer support however but once engaged they will be able to leverage quality documentation and an active customer community (Khoros Atlas) that can help them accomplish their tasks.

In terms of handling crisis or high-volume events, I have experienced a few of these using this platform and each time Community remained stable and snappy.
We use support for break/fix assistance primarily, opting to use product coaching and peer discussion for strategy and goal planning instead. Professional Services was involved during our large scale migration and was supportive.
Read Ty Williams's full review
Claire Flanagan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Khoros delivers value!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Khoros Communities to support our prospects and customers on our products. We also use it to power our knowledge base.
  • Vision - They have a clear vision of the future and deliver incremental value to their customers.
  • Feedback & Voice of the Customer - They listen to their customers and take steps to implement needed feature fixes or innovation to drive customer value.
  • Leader - They are a leader in this space. No other platform can come close to the ability to securely scale and power massive communities/page views. This is a strategic advantage for them vs. other smaller / newer players. If you are running a consumer-grade or enterprise-grade community with millions of views a month - you need to be sure you have a platform that will deliver.
Khoros is best used for external, customer-facing communities. They have added several features recently that make it really attractive to power open and private, on-demand "sub-communities". I would not consider the platform best for internal, employee-only facing communities. But they are on their way to bringing powerful capabilities for that niche as well.
I mentioned this earlier but this platform is definitely enterprise-grade, secure, and scalable. It can handle millions of page views without degrading response times. It can also "scale" in terms of supporting a variety of business use cases through configuring the system and features to meet a variety of needs.
We have engaged Khoros professional services to help us with our community integration strategy and execution when our company merged with another company. The talent was superb and their commitment to our success was clearly evident.
Read Claire Flanagan's full review
Lili McDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Using Khoros for established communities or launching new communities

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Khoros Community is used across the organization. It is used to provide self-service content, peer-to-peer support, product information and discussions, and more.
  • Interaction styles - there are various options available and they function differently enough to be unique.
  • User management - you can segment users and assign permissions and access as needed.
  • Style - you can use what is out of the box or apply your company's unique branding.
  • Content management - although last year there was an overhaul to the text editor function, there is still a lot of room for improvement. We often receive complaints from users attempting to create content in the community. There is also room for improvement in approval workflows for blogs and KBs.
  • User permissions - while there are pros to user management, there is still a lot of room for improvement with granular permissions to segment users even more.
  • Personalization - serving up content to users that they care about.
A Khoros Community is great for an enterprise that wants to create a home for their users.
It may be less suited for a company that only wants a forum board. The platform is much more robust than this.
I have managed older, larger communities and there is some room for improvement with scalability when it comes to content and users. Archiving, performance, etc. are all important to address.
We engaged with Khoros Professional Services to help with the launch of the community and updating the styling to match our brand guidelines. It was great to hand them our style guides and not have to employ our own internal resources.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Read Lili McDonald's full review
Chris Hemedinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

A good partner with deep expertise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Khoros to host our peer-to-peer support forum for our customers. It's visited by SAS users around the world to find answers to their SAS usage questions, best practices, and to connect with other users and with SAS experts. Our community helps customers to find answers to their questions so they do not need to contact technical support as often. This self-service provides a better customer experience, and of course, it also reduces support costs for SAS.
  • Optimized for internet search (SEO).
  • Ease of use for visitors.
  • APIs and data access.
  • Advanced skills needed to style/customize.
  • Need better support for private groups.
  • Need to improve timely and comprehensive response to support cases.
Our community is a highly searchable knowledge base of Q&A and expert articles. Thanks to good SEO practices, the content draws millions of visits per year, which we know translates to better customer experience. The insights from Khoros community data are helpful in understanding the usage and engagement. And responses to the built-in "impact survey" help us to quantify deflected support cases and ROI.

We also make heavy use of Khoros APIs to gather data and publish content. We are able to automate some bulletins/announcements using the publishing APIs. We use the bulk data API to pull all transactional data (visits, posts, views, likes, and more) and add to our own enterprise data store for reporting and action.

But, Khoros is not optimized as a technical community. Many visitors expect something like Stack Overflow, and this is a different experience. We aim to provide a richer experience by adding curated content and networking opportunities, and the Khoros community platform is good for that.
Our Khoros community is hosted in AWS in multiple nodes, and we know that as demand increases this can scale. Khoros manages all of this for us and delivers solid uptime. The community platform is extensible and we can customize the experience in many ways. For example, we used bulk data transactions and our own SAS analytics to build a topic recommendation engine, which we plugged into the community visitor experience using our own services and APIs.
A major reason that we partnered with Khoros was their deep expertise in communities. Khoros also hosts its own community ("Atlas") where community professionals can share ideas and practices.

Since our original launch in 2015, Khoros (formerly Lithium) has undergone lots of changes in leadership and personnel. However, they remain good partners with a deep bench of community experts.
Read Chris Hemedinger's full review
Brian Oblinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

The Enterprise Community Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Khoros Communities at two organizations to build vibrant communities of customers, partners, and employees to drive to increase engagement, satisfaction, retention, and a host of other imperatives across the business. The primary use case in both instances was scalable support via case deflection and cost reduction. We then leveraged it across a number of other use cases including learning, innovation, ideation, internal collaboration, and corporate communications.
  • Robust - The feature/functionality set is best-in-class.
  • Scalable - The platform can handle any volume/size community you can throw at it.
  • Extensible - APIs and customization frameworks enable great flexibility.
  • Workflow capabilities for things like Knowledge Base and Blogs are lacking (updates have been promised for 2020).
  • Minor features that are present in other solutions are missing (although the roadmap pace of releases is picking up).
If you are serious about owned and branded community as a core pillar of your business, Khoros is best-in-class across a number of key areas. It is no surprise that many of the largest brands in the world utilize Khoros Communities due to their ability to deliver a quality experience at scale. Khoros' flexibility to customize and ability to integrate with many different business systems gives it an advantage over competitors.

Those that fail with Khoros often do so at the hands of their own community strategy (or lack thereof), not because of technical roadblocks or lack of execution of Khoros' part. This is true of nearly all community platform vendors.
I am not aware of another active enterprise community platform that can achieve the scale that Khoros offers at this point.
Khoros' Professional Services team is likely the best in the industry in terms of the quantity and quality of insights and success they can deliver. A team of their experts walk you through the entire launch process and stick around to ensure that you are meeting your success criteria for some time after. They also have a technical team that can help you build customizations, integrations, and do design work if you need it.
Read Brian Oblinger's full review
Melissa Potvin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Khoros Communities Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Khoros Community is being utilized across many teams and departments within Qlik, most notably within Marketing, Support, Customer Success, and Product Management. The Khoros Community is utilized as a primary delivery channel or 'hub' that allows us to connect and interact with our many Qlik users and fans across the globe. Being able to connect with our members is of paramount importance - we help them by answering questions and/or address challenges they may be facing -we have teams standing by to do just that.
  • The platform has strong capabilities that assist us to drive SEO optimization.
  • Analytics. Community Analytics thru Admin Panel and/or LSI is powerful.
  • Early Access Programs allow us the opportunity to see what's coming while allowing us to also be part of the process to give our feedback.
  • Account Team Coverage. the Khoros Team has always been there to assist us often at a moment's notice.
  • Customizations - You will need access to developer resources for sure.
  • Content Types - More needs to be done to bring in some of the key functionality that made Jive so great - such as with groups and events.
  • UI - need easier ability to manipulate the UI perhaps in a drag and drop capacity.
  • Back-end moderation controls - Should not have to buy another package (CARE) to do what we need to do to moderate effectively.
With the Khoros platform, you are well suited to scale. If there is a desire to grow your community you can feel comfortable that Khoros can grow with you. Khoros is well suited in a situation where you want to host both internal and external audiences as the roles/permissions/security setup allows you to create gates in situations where it is warranted. Khoros seems complicated both in implementation effort and cost to use for a 'small' community.
With Khoros you are able to scale without fear of degradation in performance. You can grow and/or modify the 'structure' of your community as you need to.
I highly recommend the use of Khoros' Success Services which are points-based professional services 'packages' - it feels like an a la carte menu of options to select from. If you have projects on your horizon there is likely a package you can utilize to help you execute on that project. Offerings range from assessments and audits to execution of deliverables.

I highly recommend a support option that will give you a dedicated manager to assist in managing support cases. This was a challenge for us initially but after upgrading our support we already feel the difference. We consider the Khoros team an extension to ours.
Read Melissa Potvin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

The Khoros platform is core to our successful community

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros Community is the backbone of our support forum, which offers peer-to-peer product solutions and engagement opportunities for our users. In conjunction with a dedicated help site, the primary value of these resources is to provide users with solutions without requiring them to open a support case via live channels. The ability to convey information in a one-to-many format is critical to minimizing contacts on other channels while ensuring an excellent experience for all users.
  • Highly customizable.
  • Strong analytics.
  • Excellent SEO optimization and visibility.
  • Out-of-box experience isn't ideal for every use case.
  • Admin tools can be difficult to navigate.
  • Analytics require work on your part; deep insights aren't offered by default.
The Khoros Community platform offers every feature you could conceivably ask for in forum software. It's appropriate for large communities that warrant a wide range of features and customization. It may be less suited to small, simple communities where many of its features are unnecessary. The out-of-box experience is acceptable, but I would recommend the assistance of a dedicated web developer to create a truly branded and tailored forum.
Our community has multiplied in size many times over since we first started using Khoros Community. Between our own ongoing education, expanding the application of Community, and development of the product, we are always discovering new ways to utilize the software. We've never once felt like we were outpacing the capability of our software.
Our contacts at Khoros have been invaluable to our success. Having a technical account manager means we always have our finger on the pulse of service issues, development challenges, or open support tickets. Our business and marketing contacts put us in touch with other community managers to discuss best practices and keep us informed of new opportunities that might be well-suited to our business. We come up with lots of wild ideas, and our Khoros partners are usually the first place where we go to discuss.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Khoros Communities Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Khoros Communities within our Customer Organization to assist end users in their search for product education, training, support and best practices from others using the tool and from within our organization.
  • The Khoros Communities platform has an incredible ability to scale quickly.
  • The platform is highly customizable for a unique user experience (with development expertise).
  • The Analytics provided by the platform both natively and through APIs are incredibly powerful for data driven decisions.
  • The Admin UI has not been updated in over 10 years and begs attention for a better user experience.
  • The ability to scale is both a blessing and a curse, as the granularity and complexity of things like permissions can be very difficult to manage.
  • Also, the customizability is both great and not great as there's limited changes one can make OOTB without development assistance, despite the 'feeling' that it can be drag and drop.
Khoros Communities is very well suited for organizations that are willing to invest in the product itself and in the team to support it. The platform has immense power, but requires resources and skills to be truly put to its best use. This is not a set it and forget it product, but rather truly a platform - which is only as good as those who actively manage it. For that reason Khoros Communities is often best suited for large enterprises or smaller organizations that truly believe in the power of community to support their business goals.
It's very powerful if you know how to make it work for you - but again, this often requires development work.
Only during our implementation phase, which was a positive experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

First time using a Community Platform and I wouldn't have it any other way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros Community is currently being used by my organization as a platform to host and operate our own Community forum. This forum is for our users to discuss our products. The Community also gives our internal team key insights as to what our user base is saying and delivering hot topics to key stakeholders. Before we had no 'owned' forum for this type of discussion and now we are able to pull metrics!
  • Community Analytics - You're able to pull analytics such as page views, registered users, top posts, etc. which is a great feature for different teams within our organization.
  • Helpful staff - The team at Khoros is unbelievable! They have helped me build an amazing Community and continue to answer questions in a timely manner. They also have a great Community, which I explore on a daily basis to help scale my Community.
  • Although Khoros continues to provide Product Coaching, I'd love to see a more in-depth approach to coaching after your Community has launched. I think it would be helpful, even if it was a yearly touch base and an in-depth overview of how your Community has performed and make any applicable changes. I.e. My community doesn't really do well with the Gamification. Our users don't necessarily use it. I'd love to talk to a Community Strategist as I did when building the Community to talk about this in more depth and plan accordingly.
I would absolutely recommend Khoros Community to anyone in the field looking to build and implement a Community. I really do feel that they want you to succeed as much as you do. They are continuing to make improvements for the platform, host events such as Engage to meet others in the field, and always take feedback seriously. Our Community has grown to 30k in one year and the platform continues to host this amount with little to no outages.
The platform continues to keep up and makes necessary improvements for success. My team has submitted a few 'feature request' for the platform and we always feel heard. We look forward to growing with Khoros!
My Community team continues to use Product Coaching and the Khoros Community to learn and scale our Community. For example, the other day I posted in the Khoros Community on how to best plan for the new year in regards to Community team growth. Right away, 3 other Community team members replied with their personal experiences and team structure. This type of feedback really helped me with my 2020 plan. It's nice to search within the Community before opening a support ticket as this is a great way to reduce wasted time and learn from others. Int he case you need to open a support ticket, the support feature is directly built-in within the Community channel, so creating and managing support tickets is a breeze.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Khoros Communities from the perspective of marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros Communities are being used across our whole organization to be a place for our community members to interact with Microsoft experts, share best practices with the community, to source credible news and information from a trusted official Microsoft source. It is not a place for ticketed support, which makes this community particularly unique. We also identify evangelists and potential influencers based on their interaction in the community.
  • Ability to stand up a white-listed community so it presents our brand well.
  • Deep customization on components and permissions.
  • Access to the Bulk Data API so that we can do deep analysis on metrics.
  • API access that allow traffic to community to flow directly from our products.
  • Lack of technical expertise across their staff, frustrated with a lack of knowledge about how their products work.
  • Responsiveness to requests for answers.
  • Lack of connection between their marketing and communities products.
It's best in class in the industry, but their support could use some improvement.
Khoros has shown a lot of potential, but over the 4 years, we've seen limitations to functionality (video streaming, storage).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Khoros Community Fan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros Community is used as a safe place for members to connect with each other or to have access to ask USAA servicing questions. It helps us educate members while facilitating their financial security.
  • Customer service.
  • Integration for quick unified social service.
  • PII and profanity filters to ensure a safe place.
  • Additional features to ensure accessibility requirements are met.
Khoros Communities is well suited for large clients who want a central place to manage their community experience. The Khoros Community is a wealth of knowledge built from Khoros experts and customers who use the tool.
Khoros has been a great partner to help us build new capabilities that help our Community be innovative.
Khoros Support is incredible - I am so pleased with our Customer Success Director who is quick to respond and thorough and thoughtful in the work she provides. Professional services are also a great asset to get a deep understanding of the technology.
Read this authenticated review
Kate Fenerty | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2018

Khoros enables your support capabilities.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros Online Communities is being used as a peer support community for anyone affected by cancer. The platform enables any Australian affected by cancer to connect, share experiences and stories, as well as seek information in a safe environment that is moderated by trained health professionals.

The use of Khoros Online Communities complements existing information and support services outside of business hours, connecting people with each other in real-time, regardless of when they seek support or information.

  • Privacy - use of usernames and the ability to hide identifying information such as email addresses from public view.
  • Accessibility - the site is fully accessible for people of all abilities, across all devices and platforms.
  • Community - The width and breadth of the community product is huge, even 2 years on, there are things we have still yet to try out and Lithium are constantly innovating the product too!
  • There is always room for improvement on any product, Khoros actively works with its customer community and encourages ideas. They build many of these into their product roadmaps ongoing.
It's the perfect all-rounder, great for product, support or counseling style communities.
Like every backend, it can always be improved upon.

The excellent thing is that Khoros have a hugely active customer support community as well as a fantastic case management system to triage support issues and requests. So regardless of your level of knowledge or familiarity, you're well supported out of the box.
Read Kate Fenerty's full review
Sam Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

My experience with Khoros

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Khoros Communities in the wider context of our digital customer help. It allows us to deflect calls into our customer contact centers. It allows our customers a place to discuss our great products and help each other out. We also make use of the space to run product trials.
  • Has all the features and discussion styles you could need including standard discussions, knowledgebase, reviews, gamification, Ideation.
  • Easy to use analytics built in with downloadable reports.
  • Great success services to help make sure you get the most out of the features.
  • Need to be quicker at reacting to customer suggestions for product improvements.
  • Slight lack of focus on the community part of their product range in the last year or so
  • Would benefit from a more transparent roadmap with dates!
The Khoros solution is probably better suited to a larger enterprise due to the huge number of features and discussion styles - a smaller operation may find costs prohibitive. Particularly useful if you have a social media management need as well as they also cater for this in their product range.
Read Sam Ross's full review
Allison Fasching | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

The side effects of Khoros...Technologies.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Originally we started out using Khoros Communities, with our prepaid brands Boost & Virgin, after a very successful launch, we made the decision to move our 12-year-old Sprint Community, over to Khoros. Initially, the primary purpose of all Communities was call deflection. More recently we have begun to use it to improve our customer experience. If you would like more detail, please read about our Social Support success.
  • Configurability. There are so many tools, features and functions, that you can easily customize your community to meet your industry needs.
  • Ease of use. Out of the box both users and admins can easily begin using the Community, but it also offers more technical options, and training for everything.
  • The entire Community is built for optimization, tags, labels, the ability to create custom search, titles, text & canonical URLs.
  • Overall I am very satisfied, as with any tool there is always room from improvement or change, every company has specific needs, so these are a couple of things that would benefit me.
  • Search. The internal search tool works well, but there is room for improvement. Khoros is currently working on enhancements, so I am looking forward to the new changes.
  • Surveys. They have a great survey tool, but I would love to see an enhancement that would allow agents/community managers to respond to customer survey responses. This is probably an industry thing, but our customers tend to use the survey tool as a complaint box.
If you are looking for an online Community platform, this one is hard to beat, however, it is more suited to mid to large corporations. Small businesses typically do not have the volume to justify the intricacies of the platform.
Read Allison Fasching's full review
Stephen Fell | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Get closer to your customers and let them innovate for you

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Khoros platform is used across our entire consumer business. Used initially for its community and p2p capabilities, more recently for its wider CMS functionality. The platform is now used to host our complete help & support site for the consumer business.
  • Scalability
  • Uptime
  • Ability to customise a unique, branded experience.
  • Cost, but you get what you pay for
If you're looking for an enterprise-grade forum platform, capable of growing with your business then Khoros is ideal. In addition to the core community product, you have a number of other tools and features you can bolt on to take your support experience to the next level. So far every idea we've had, we've been able to build it on the platform.
Read Stephen Fell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2018

Khoros communities is great to leverage connecting to your customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for a number of products in our group. It allows us to connect to customers; customers connect to us and customers to connect to each other.
  • Interactive discussion forums
  • Ideas exchange for tracking ideas submitted by customers ; implementation by product team
  • Customization to our customers needs
  • Direct marketing/nurture campaigns leveraging the software is more challenging than it should be.
It is well suited for discussion forums and ideas exchange.
Read this authenticated review
Catherine Kaiser | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2017

Khoros is the leader in this space.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Khoros platform is used across the entire organization - both for external communities and an internal community. It's a great online platform to communicate with our B2C and B2B customers, allow for customer feedback, and test beta versions of our product. It helps give us visibility into the praises and concerns of our customers and prospects.
  • Ideation
  • Gamification
  • A true focus on community
  • Price
It's well suited for established companies and brands. Would be tough for a startup to handle the cost.
Read Catherine Kaiser's full review
Veit Irtenkauf | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2014

A very good contender in the Social platform environment for Enterprise customers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Khoros is an enterprise-grade social community platform, which is most commonly used to allow for interactions between B2B and B2C customers, prospects, and partnering in either a Support (call deflection), Marketing, or Collaboration environment or context. Communities deployed by its customers are predominantly external-facing. The product is modular, so it can be expanded with additional functionality over time. Khoros offers connectors to popular enterprise backend systems, such as Salesforce. Additional connections or functionality can be programmed via APIs. Most customers use professional service organizations to launch Khoros for them.
  • Community - it has the robust functionality and all the bells and whistles that customers typically look for
  • Out-of-the-box widgets - there are a number of out of the box widgets, such as "Most recent threads" or "Unanswered questions" that can be easily deployed throughout the community. Depending on where you deploy them, e.g., homepage vs. a specific board, these widgets "narrow down" their content based on the context you are in.
  • Programmability - well-documented APIs that allow you to custom-program functionality
  • Not a knock on the product per se - but each product in this space follows a certain philosophy. If customers don't want to learn that philosophy and thus force-feed Khoros to do something it's not designed, it becomes hard to implement and maintenance heavy. Same is true with Jive and Salesforce Communities
  • Design adaptation sometimes requires a lot of custom-programming. This is often caused by designers not fully understanding how communities work. On the other hand, esp. on homepages, in order to draw people in, a mix of content is often the best approach. And that requires at least some custom-programming for Khoros's integrators
Apart from what Khoros does best (managing and surfacing UGC), it is very well suited for support or sales support communities when an existing CRM is involved. During the selection process, it's important to fully understand what prospects want and why. E.g., if they want to encourage people to post, Q&A might be the module you want to put front and center, whereas if you want people to engage with existing content first, you might want to deemphasize content creation a bit. It's important to understand the prospect's philosophy to help them guide to the best approach.
Knowledgable, does custom code analysis to point out issues that might make the code not work (well), have a great developer community that can help, even if their support does not.
Read Veit Irtenkauf's full review
Patrice Kong | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2013

Khoros Social Intelligence - Your Community Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Great for reporting on unique visits, views and visitors
  • Availability of data by device: Desktop vs. Mobile
  • Excellent for reporting and analyzing Community Forum data
  • Ability to select date range is not available for all metrics, this makes is difficult and time consuming to report on a specified time period
Tool is very user-friendly but requires a dedicated resource to understand the full functionality of the tool.
Read Patrice Kong's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2012

Much better than Jive!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Deployment and ease of use have been amazing – day and night vs. Jive. Typically deployment gives you a cringe – absolutely the easiest deployment I’ve ever been a part of.
  • Overall layout and design/ flow is a lot easier to manage than Jive. It has a CMS type thing that self-propogates through the entire community. Jive did not automatically propogate.
  • Analytics - They have a lot of patented algorithms that help generate key metric indexes. You can compare yourself with other Khoros customers. When you dive in deeper into analytics, Khoros allows you to look deeper into what an individual is doing vs. just a broad view of your community.
  • Integration with Salesforce.com
  • Content editor for moderators – you need to know HTML for adding custom content. Several editors don’t know HTML and it is hard to get it to look like they want. The WYSIWYG is very limited in the functions that it has. It falls on the site admin to do a lot of the adding of content. The client-side works fine – can format posts however they want.
They are responsive and proactive. They are really on top of things. They send personal emails to check in on you. It feels like they really know you. You only get emails from 3-4 people at Khoros – they must be customer assigned.
  • Online training
It is easy as could be to use. Clients can also use it easily.

The analytics are easy to use.
Read this authenticated review

About Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium)

Khoros Communities enable organizations to host a space where people find answers, develop expertise, share experiences, and build a brand.

The vendor states that Khoros powers over 400 of the world’s most recognized brands, and boasts 15+ years of experience, a robust feature set, enterprise scale and security, and a dedicated services team who aim to ensure a brand's community will reduce support costs, delight customers, and grow business.

They state Khoros Communities key benefits are to:

Attract more visitors & build trust

  • Be easier to find & provide peer validation by hosting authentic conversations on your digital property. Community content can lead to a 48% uplift in organic search traffic and double conversion rates

Accelerate resolution to delight customers while reducing costs

  • Create a hub for your customers to connect with experts, learn, and get answers to their questions at any time, in any region. The vendor says users can deflect up to 20% of calls that would otherwise go to the customer service call center.

Innovate faster with constant customer feedback

  • Iterate rapidly and uncover new ideas from a dedicated pool of domain experts who are invested in your success.

Deliver expert community management

  • Nurture large, engaging communities with the most advanced moderation tools, content management, analytics, and expertise that provide quantifiable business value through customer acquisition, retention, and growth.

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Features

Has featureForums
Has featureAbility to verify solutions
Has featureIdeas
Has featureQuestion and Answer
Has featureContests
Has featureBlogs
Has featureTribal Knowledge Bases
Has featureEnhanced Moderation Tools
Has featureFully Customizable
Has featureSophisticated Ranking and Incentivization
Has featureNative Mobile Support (Responsive UI)
Has featureMultiple user permission levels
Has featureEasy to use REST API
Has featureSpam prevention
Has featureSSO integration
Has featureGroups
Has featureContent Syndication
Has featureSupport for multiple languages
Has featureSupport for multiple instances
Has featureRich media support
Has featurePromoted search results
Has featureFederated search
Has featureHistorical and Real Time Analytics and Shareable dashboards
Has featureNotifications and personalization

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Screenshots

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Videos (3)

Watch Samsung Case Study

Watch Content Syndication

Watch Group Hubs overview

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Downloadables

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Integrations

SAP CRM, Salesforce Sales Cloud, Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Pricing is variable based on the needs of the customer.

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
10%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
90%

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Khoros Communities (Formerly Spredfast + Lithium) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web