Mavenlink Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Rachel Stantliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

Mavenlink: A Masterful Tool for Project Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real time view of budgets/burn rate
  • Time entry is easy
  • Integrates well with Google Drive
  • Provides a central location for all project information
  • Checklist items need to be checked off before a task can be marked complete
  • Would love a more visual way to create and manage tasks for staff that work better in a visual environment
  • Integration with Trello
Read Rachel Stantliff's full review
Scott Gellatly | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

The Hottest Project and Resource Planning tool for services business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Project margin reporting. We really know the profitability of projects, clients and portfolios, and can track where things WENT wrong when we don't.
  • Team utilization. We can schedule and control when and what people are working on, so the team is highly profitable and efficient.
  • Automating and productizing the delivery of our services with templates gets us away from time billing into value-based, high margin services.
  • The best reporting stack of any project management platform I have ever seen.
  • Visual, drag and drop capacity planning makes life very easy.
  • Closer integration between bottom up scheduling vs top down capacity planning.
  • More customization options on project and task status.
Read Scott Gellatly's full review
Joe Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

Mavenlink is a good option for project planning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Project Management: dashboard to see all activity in your project and task
  • Expenses: easy to find categories and attach receipts
  • Resource Management: know who is on what task, and assign tasks only as needed
  • Mobile app doesn't show same information as the website always.
  • Website is mobile-optimized so if the app is giving you trouble you have no options.
  • Time tracking is annoying - your tasks sometimes don't show up so then you refresh and lose some work you've already done.
Read Joe Mills's full review
Mark Whitlock | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2019

Mavenlink is the high-powered, company-wide project management tool you've been longing for

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows quick tagging of other team members so you can bring them into the conversation.
  • Connects with automation software tools so that exports and imports from other programs run seamlessly.
  • Clone functionality throughout so creating similar tasks or projects is super easy and fast.
  • Sometimes when searching for a task, Mavenlink doesn't "find" it because I'm not searching in the right channel. There's not a global search feature that works for my needs.
  • The interface is ugly and cold. It's also highly technical in how it works. It isn't intuitive to operate.
  • The mobile app stinks; using a mobile browser works okay, but it's not optimized for mobile.
  • You can't really create bookmarks for tasks in your browser. So it takes several clicks to get to were you're going.
Read Mark Whitlock's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Thoughts on Mavenlink after 2 years...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Friendly user interface - very modern and clean, easy to use even for a non-experienced project managers or clients. It also comes with a mobile app and even browser add-ons.
  • Robust feature set - variety of alert settings, project templates, permission system, detailed analytics and reporting, billing, estimates, and planning modules.
  • Integrations - Salesforce, JIRA, and many other which is possible thanks to Mavenlink API.
  • Customer service - very helpful and available 24/7. Easy to access from the user interface which is great.
  • Task management - not easy to copy/paste tasks and milestones within the same project, can't select multiple tasks to do some mass changes/actions.
  • User interface significantly slows down once you have 30-50 tasks expanded. Also, default view is "collapsed" and you have to "expand" milestones and tasks one by one in a project.
  • User permission system is there and pretty good but not always intuitive. It's not easy to move people from between two participating project parties or switch leads (you have to demote existing admin and make someone else an admin first).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

Mavenlink: The PM software that let us down in a big way.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Offers visuals on project budget
  • Has a decent interface for managing your team
  • Email notifications, though difficult to filter can be good indicators of tasks starting and finishing
  • Where to begin. The email notifications are next to impossible to get right. Your team will be bombarded with notifications that carry no real weight.
  • The cost is just too high. Compared to other PM software, this one is in the tens of thousands of dollars for a company to utilize for such a dated piece of software.
  • There are so many layers to this tool that it is difficult to decipher permissions for users.
  • You can't add photos in comments! Seriously it's 2019 and they can't implement a simple field that allows for images to be pasted right in with the comments. Everything has to be an attachment, which is cumbersome and slows progress.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Outstanding product for Resource Management, Time Tracking and Reporting!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customized business insights reporting
  • Easy to use Master Planning view to see resources capacity in real time based on individual's work weeks
  • Easy to use time tracking tool
  • Better communication to clients when new features are released, even if they are minor changes
  • Agile project planning
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Frustrating tool for workers

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows a lot of customization in regards for projects if you want them to be extremely detailed on tasks
  • Master planning feature gives a great overall view for me planning my projects out
  • The design looks better than Salesforce, color coding certain projects indicating for their statuses
  • Our team has to put all of our project updates in before a certain time before our meeting starts. Very annoying to remember that.
  • Our current process is extremely tedious in regards to marking each task as complete as I work throughout the day. As an engineer, I don't want to be thinking about marking tasks all day, I want to make it as streamlined as possible.
  • Extremely difficult and time-consuming to search for specific projects and tasks. Very frustrating for me as a worker when I need to do it quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2019

Easy to use, very granular reporting and awesome collaboration functions!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mavenlink is an easy to use tool out of the box that requires very little training for new team members, usually, no more than 20 minutes of coaching is required by a peer to get someone using the tool effectively.
  • Reporting functions are powerful and the ease with which you can set up and run custom reports is great. We spent a little time developing, automating and scheduling reports which have saved us a tremendous amount of time and effort every week.
  • Mavenlink allows our team to use the tool in real-time to track the amount of time spent against given tasks, this allows us to accurately bill time against projects and track employee utilization.
  • Albeit intuitive, the user interface can be complex at times requiring time to learn the platform before being able to harness the many features.
  • Unless a project has tasks already assigned, you can't track time against a project and create a new task at the same time. This is a minor but annoying detail which forces one to go to another part of the portal to create a task and then revert to tracking time against the said task.
  • Some things seem to be missing from the dashboard like a real-time project utilization for hours like a widget.
Read this authenticated review
Chandler Elmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

An Expensive but Robust Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Track time- We use the timecard feature to match the hours and minutes of our day to a specific client or project.
  • Track projects- As an agency, we have a lot of projects going on most of the time. Maven helps us keep a pulse on the projects as they happen. Even if one person is not on a project, he or she has insight and visibility into it.
  • Interface- It is challenging to use and not particularly intuitive. We have had to spend significant time learning the platform and learning what we can do with it.
  • Updating tasks- Due to the depths that Mavenlink can be drilled down to, it is an ordeal to update a task. You also cant delete a task unless you created it.
Read Chandler Elmore's full review
Nereida Betancourt | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2018

Solution of management of projects in the cloud.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The prices of the plans are scalable.
  • The business intelligence functionality (Enterprise plan) is excellent.
  • File sharing through the Google Drive integration.
  • Mobile functionality.
  • The possibility of creating project templates that can be reused in the future.
  • Advanced reporting features are only available with Premier and Enterprise plans.
  • Mavenlink has a steep learning curve.
Read Nereida Betancourt's full review
Ben White | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2017

Mavenlink Your Way to Success - Your Team Will Love You For It

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Process Solidification - Mavenlink allows us to intuitively plan new processes and rework old ones within a template mode, that we can then convert into any number of projects that we need to. It's great to have the ability to rework templates as we see fit to optimize our workflow without needing to alter projects that are already in-process.
  • Time Tracking is important to some of our clients. Our team enjoys how integrated time tracking is [done at] the task level. It's always right there near the task you're working on, so there's no time wasted by managing time in other external modules or softwares.
  • Our team appreciates being able to know, right away, what the day's task load looks like. Mavenlink does an amazing job of showing what the team's workload looks like for the day, next 2 weeks, month...whatever you want. And it can get either as simplified or as granular as you need it to be in terms of hour allocation down to the person or by project. Mavenlink has mastered the 30,000-ft. view of the team's workload. It lets us make decisions at a glance, rather than rifling through project documents, trying to hunt due dates.
  • For as much as I use Mavenlink's templating capabilities, it is rather finicky to learn at its current version. There is a "steeper-than-I'd-recommend" learning curve associated with it. However, once you learn what works and what doesn't, it's no longer an obstacle. I will say, though, that Mavenlink is amazing when it comes to listening to the user that has feature recommendations and bug notifications. I'm on a first-name-basis with my support contact at Mavenlink, and she is absolutely amazing as my personal liaison direct to the Mavenlink engineering team.
Read Ben White's full review
Spence Hackney | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Mavenlink Ain't Perfect, but it's About the Best Around

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking project financials
  • Store housing project communication
  • Managing sub-tasks for a project
  • Its integrations aren't the best. The Google Drive and QuickBooks integrations are flawed enough to make them unusable for us.
  • They need a mobile app bad. They tout the responsive version of their web app as the answer to this, but it is so stripped down it is useless. This is a significant disappointment for us.
  • They don't handle recurring projects (those that happen every month) well at all.
Read Spence Hackney's full review
Amir Deihimi | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Best Project Management Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Seamless time tracking.
  • Project budget controlling using the time sheet entries.
  • Precise budget and scheduling reports.
  • Great access level management based on the organization charts.
  • No deficiencies as far as we are concerned. The tools are really user-friendly and easy to implement.
Read Amir Deihimi's full review
Haider Alleg | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2016

Mavenlink is rocksolid for Consulting Firms

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Planning with Gantt and risk views
  • Booking resources across the whole company
  • Contextualising the info in a single view
  • Integrations of popular tools (Mailchimp, BaseCRM...)
  • Price is heavy and can slow us down (maybe a start-up package?)
  • Loading pre-made templates, exporting or importing them is a plus
Read Haider Alleg's full review
Micquella Anthony | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2016

Mavenlink is here - put the .mpp down and slowly back away!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting: Mavenlink has extensive reporting capabilities that fulfill almost all of our needs. We used Analytics for basic, daily reporting, and we use Insights for a "deeper dive". When we need something different from what Insights provides out-of-the-box, we can build custom reports & dashboards.
  • Resource planning: Mavenlink far surpassed all other tools when we looked for their attention to resource planning capabilities. Managers are very happy with the ease of use and flexibility when looking to see their reports' schedules.
  • Customer service: the support we've gotten from all levels of the Mavenlink team is outstanding, whether it's getting questions answered, hearing suggestions for features, providing training, or giving process input.
  • Finer points of building a project plan: Mavenlink has a solid foundation for project plans - creating and assigning tasks/dates/metadata is pretty simple. Unfortunately, the Task Tracker and Gantt views don't have all the same functionality or show the same information, so we have to use some workarounds or work specifically in one view to keep all the timelines accurate. Since our implementation, Mavenlink has released a number of improvements in this area, and I'm told there are more to come.
  • Time tracking: A basic timesheet is available, but some of our staff have qualms with the usability of the timer and the experience of entering their time. Mavenlink was receptive to our feedback, and they're planning on addressing the issues in a future release.
Read Micquella Anthony's full review
Kate Battle | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2016

Management Consultant who did full analysis of many PM Collaboration Tools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time tracking is incredibly easy and intuitive allowing for you to add time to multiple projects on a single sheet - also easy to distinguish between billable and un-billable time.
  • As an admin it is really easy to add people to projects and change cost and bill rates quickly.
  • The financial analytics when you include the insights module is very well done and easy to slice and dice the data.
  • We don't use it for detailed project management much (more for the time and budgeting features) but it's really easy to add a project, add some tasks, and assign people to it with their cost and bill rates.
  • The resource planning tool is really neat as well - we are still playing with it but I can see it adding a lot of value for us.
  • There are a lot of training resources available and videos as well as a live chat feature that helps take questions off my back.
  • Expense reporting and approvals is really easy.
  • Our accounting manager was not able to integrate it with QuickBooks as easily as we hoped but I'm not sure why.
  • The resource forecasting function is great but you have to get a little more detailed than we would need to so its a bit extra work.
  • We would love for you to be able to add company holidays and PTO for individuals into the tool to subtract from the "possible" hours in the utilization calculations.
  • Would be great to be able to distinguish between a full time and contract employee for margin calculations.
  • Risk and Issue tracking is available but it's not very intuitive - needs some work.
Read Kate Battle's full review
Kristin Stull | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2016

Mavenlink

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Project Tracking: able to keep info on one project all together with expenses, time and finances
  • Resource allocating: planning for resources and Gantt chart views for projects
  • Invoicing: lots of options on method of invoicing
  • Still growing into their platform so some fine tuning with minor features
Read Kristin Stull's full review
Danielle Evennou | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

A Planner's Paradise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mavenlink gives us the ability to create and keep track of complex work plans.
  • Mavenlink provides a place to share information and store files related to the development of new scopes of work for projects.
  • Mavenlink's template feature helps us think through the planning of frequently executed deliverables.
  • Our project timelines change frequently. Having an ability to easily view older "archived" versions of the task tracker would be helpful, so that we could easily see the history of the changes made to the task tracker in a given project.
  • We love the "Master Planning" section of Mavenlink. Rather than planning out staff hours, we wished the Mavenlink gave us the ability to plan with "assigned tasks" using a similar tool.
Read Danielle Evennou's full review
Amanda Davenport | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2016

Meaningful Data from Mavenlink!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Insight reporting allows us to view our business in different layers.
  • Easy-to-use interface.
  • Provides variety in viewing projects and different time tracking options to allow the user to pick which choice they're most comfortable with.
  • We would love for Mavenlink to provide a view of available hours (vs. scheduled) on the master planning sheet.
  • We would really like to see insights use the custom workweeks for each user when looking at utilization reports vs. just a standard 40 hour work week.
  • It would be helpful to be able to customize invoices (batches across clients) vs. having it set up to go to an email.
  • It would be helpful to be able to export invoices in Excel or Word vs. just PDF.
Read Amanda Davenport's full review
Carlton Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2016

Used it for 2 years, and still find it hard to use. Pricing not as simple as it seems on the surface.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I think the UI has improved a lot for the most part. I still find some basic things -- like adding Tasks -- have more steps than necessary when compared to other tools like Basecamp, ProjectBubble, and Redbooth.
  • I like the Time Tracking functionality -- very good for myself and contractors who use it.
  • The ability to link together discussion threads to tasks is very seamless and easy.
  • The process of adding new users is totally confusing.
  • Invoice feature is very weak and seems like an after thought.
  • I think the UI behind adding a Task -- the cornerstone of any project management software -- is confusing and doesn't allow for enough flexibility. The Description field is incredibly tiny. I get that the Discussions can easily attach to the Tasks, but it also seems kind of clunky and not very intuitive. Clients I introduce to Mavenlink never seem to grasp this feature intuitively, which I think is a problem. Overall, I think it is a good project management software, but it does have a learning curve. Time spent watching their videos (which are great) should be a priority. Still, this is something I think a lot of small business owners like myself have time for, and I know my clients don't.
Read Carlton Smith's full review
Massimo Emilione | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2016

Mavenlink Review from a consultant

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mavenlink allows for task tracking. At a quick glance you can see which tasks remain and which resource is allocated for that task.
  • Mavenlink provides for a common collaboration platform. Users on the project can ask or provide comments into a project that can be seen by everyone on the project. This allows for quicker communication on the project without the use of email.
  • Time Tracking is great as it provides the ability to input the time for each project. This has allowed us to consolidate different time reporting applications into Mavenlink. Users can now input their time while on a project at the same as completing a task.
  • We need the ability to do mobile expenses. Most of our time and expenses are entered on the road. It is easiest to utilize a phone to add receipts.
  • Too many notifications when collaboration is being done. Need the ability to consolidate the emails when a lot of collaboration is going on.
  • Setup is a little cumbersome for small projects as it requires the same effort for medium and larger projects.
Read Massimo Emilione's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (30)
8.3
Resource Management (29)
8.0
Gantt Charts (25)
7.4
Scheduling (29)
7.9
Workflow Automation (3)
8.2
Team Collaboration (31)
8.0
Document Management (29)
6.0
Email integration (27)
7.2
Mobile Access (24)
4.4
Timesheet Tracking (30)
8.8
Change request and Case Management (22)
6.2
Budget and Expense Management (26)
8.2
Quotes/estimates (1)
7.3
Invoicing (17)
6.4
Project & financial reporting (20)
7.9
Integration with accounting software (14)
6.8

About Mavenlink

Mavenlink provides project management and task collaboration software for small to mid-sized professional services companies. The vendor says the software was built for teams whose mission is to provide exceptional service while balancing ever-changing parameters such as budgets, timelines, and people. The software is geared towards:

  • Marketing Agencies
  • Advertising Firms
  • PR Teams
  • IT Service Providers
  • Management Consultants
  • Architecture Firms
  • Engineering Teams
  • Software & Technology Developers
  • Commercial Property Managers

Mavenlink Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Does not have featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureBudget and Time Estimates
Has featureInvoicing and Online Payments
Has featureCustom Branding
Has featureAPI Access
Has featurePerformance Analytics
Has featureProject Templates
Has featureUtilization Reporting

Mavenlink Screenshots

Mavenlink Integrations

Salesforce.com, Zendesk, Google For Work, Intuit QuickBooks, Microsoft Office

Mavenlink Competitors

OpenAir PSA, Clarizen, Workfront, Basecamp, Deltek TrafficLIVE, Workamajig, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas), TeamWork

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Teams$19annually, for up to 5 users. Additional Users: $4/month/user
Premier$49For larger customers, price can go as low as $10.
Professional$29per user, per month

Mavenlink Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials

Mavenlink Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Canada, China, Europe, India, Latin America, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: English