TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8Q/b9/W47TSZK0C41J.PNGScale and the SMB SectorWe run 75 virtualized client and server systems across a 4 node cluster, which serves the entire organization. This encompasses our: Active Directory and Exchange stack, virtualized desktop infrastructure, and our production order injection, processing, and rendering systems. The Scale cluster provides simplified management of the virtual machines, and the Scale team provides a strong support infrastructure for the software and hardware.,Single pane of glass management console with the ability to 'Tag' virtual machines into separate groups for organization, making it easy to view resource utilization and VM state. Additionally, direct in-browser remote control without the use of a third party plugin makes direct control seamless. Quick and easy cloning of virtual machines makes life easier, providing the ability to maintain a single master template for a given class of system. Moving a VM from one node to another is as simple as clicking Move, then selecting the target node. Because of the way Scale backend the storage for their VMs, all migrations are Live. Support reps are very friendly, and are available at varied hours of the day, thus not limiting you to a 9-5 window if there is a problem.,On high memory nodes, the current view pane does not provide an easy means by which to view a detailed list of VMs on a given node. I'd love to see an additional view which provides detailed list of VMs per node, or something on the VM 'card' itself with the host node information. I'd like to see the ability to control how many replica copies of data are stored on a given cluster. The ability to configure the environment so that every node has a copy of every VM's data is something that I feel would be beneficial if you have the storage. Scale currently lack a comprehensive in-built backup solution which can communicate with external storage. The snapshot system is good, but the ability to configure an external storage point for redundancy would be appreciated.,9,9,Some of the applications we run on our cluster include:Industry specific production software which injects, processes, and renders order data for output purposesInternally developed middleware for CRM, order management, billing, and reporting purposesPoint of Sale, inventory management, and financial accounting softwareAuto-printing software for dynamically generated order packing slipsMail, instant messaging, and patch management serversWebservers,System uptime has significantly improved after we migrated off of our old virtualization platform, in part due to VM migration times with the ability to Live Migrate, and in part due to the replacement of aging hardware. Management and support time is greatly reduced.HC3 delivers on their promise of fast, easy, flexible deploymentsOur Scale HC3 system is being used for a data-intense multi-server public safety application suite. It is primarily used by our police and fire departments to collect, store and make accessible large amounts of historic incident records. It addresses our customer requirements for high availability while offering ease and flexibility for our system administrators.,Very easy to use. Intuitive and simple web-based administration interface, all the necessary features that we'd expect without any of the clutter that's irrelevant in day-to-day use. Flexible resource allocation between nodes and easy use of available processor, memory and storage capacities. Very fast on-the-fly changes of settings. No worries about separate storage management when compared to basic virtualization solutions (not hyper-converged). N+1 node concept provides for ultimate expansion and contraction flexibilities when designing systems, building out systems, or splitting systems.,No integrated backbone. I'd rather see a node interconnect system similar to network switch stacking (loop of directly attached Twinax cables, for example) than a requirement for multi-gigabit switches with very narrow specification guidelines due to lack of support for some industry leader products. Manufacturer-dependent initial deployments and configurations. The customer is required to coordinate with manufacturer/vendor, which can be inconvenient to arrange. While we have seen perfect reliability in pure storage and backup scenarios we did observe occasional "mysterious" application issues that we do not see on non-HC3 systems. So far we have been unable to better isolate problems and perform root-cause analysis but it has lead to a diminished trust and prevents us from more aggressively deploying the product.,7,5,We are currently using two sets of HC3 nodes. The larger one is located in our primary data center and hosts a large multi-server records management system for our public safety customers. The smaller one is located in our backup data center and serves as an off-site storage location for critical VMs. The HC3 systems have performed wonderfully in this critical 24/7 environment as far as hosting converged interface application servers and storage resources. We do still have some issues with primary client/server application responsiveness, and while our environment is built exactly to HC3 specifications (specific Dell fiber switches etc.) it has not yet been determined if the problems are application, system or network-related.,As our systems are run in a non-profit government services environment it is not possible to quantify an ROI in simple monetary terms. We did observe reduced system administrator time requirements when compared to standard distributed virtualization environments, though. HC3 was (and still is) our first foray into hyper-converged infrastructure. It addressed our business needs nicely when trying to easily implement a vendor solution requiring a larger number of tightly-integrated servers. However, it also forced us to deviate from our internal networking standards due to tight specifications, which is a challenge in our small shop with concentrated staff knowledge and experience in other areas only. One object we have is to improve overall environmental impact within our data centers (ambient requirements for cooling, light, etc.), since we do have staff members working in these rooms. One issue that negatively impacted the quality of the work environment is the very loud and high-pitched fan noise levels of all nodes.,Scale Computing reviewScale Computing is hosting all our company virtual servers. It was deployed to replace the old VMware setup we had using separate ESX hosts, switches and SAN.,Because the Scale Computing is a converge storage, it's much more cost-effective to support and maintain vs. out old ESX cluster setup. Installing updates is easier to do vs. a system that setup using separate ESX hosts, switches, and SAN because we just have to deal with one appliance. The support service has been good so far. Every time we had an issue or question we will get someone on the phone in a few min and they are knowledgeable about the product.,One of the biggest drawbacks of the current Scale solution is its limitation when it comes to VM management. For example, options that are available in VMware for years like the ability to expend a virtual drive live does not exist. The Scale management portal is nice and very easy to use because it's very simple, but it's limited in how much information it provides. Because the hypervisor OS is a custom software, it does not allow for more advanced management. any changes or issues that need to troubleshoot requires opening a ticket with support.,7,10,We run our primary file server, SQL server, and accounting software on the Scale. The requirements are basic and the performance is as expected for the model we use.,We lowered the total cost of ownership by switching from an ESX cluster with separate ESX host, Switches, and SAN.,Nutanix and Pivot3 AcuityScale HC3 is the way to go.HC3 hosts the core servers for our entire network.,Firmware updates are dead simple Tech support is easy, fast and thorough Building Servers only takes minutes,Server performance when logged in seems sluggish. Even though we got discounted pricing it may not be the cheapest solution but the benefits definitely are worth it. They say that parts will arrive next day but in our remote locations they (like other vendors) don't seem to realize that there is no such thing as "next day" delivery.,10,10,SQL, Exchange, Active Directory. I haven't found anything that doesn't really work yet.,No longer have to worry about buying server hardware. I'm just seconds or minutes away from spinning up a new server. Saves time. Creates less stress,Scale HC3 is the BestWe have utilized Scale Computing HC3 to virtualize our entire server environment for our whole organization. This solved the issues of hardware related failures since the Scale Computing HC3 is in a cluster. It also solved the issue of us needing to update our hardware and provided us with a single pain of glass to view everything on it at once.,Speed - Scale has increased our server performance drastically. Ease of use - The system is so easy to use and set up! Support - The scale support team is awesome and really knows their product. PRICE - You can't touch their price elsewhere for the performance that you receive.,Make it easier to migrate from other hypervisors to scale without having to buy third-party software.,10,10,Our entire company runs off of scale computing, I can easily scale out our company by cloning servers and having the new ones up and running within minutes. I can also add more hosts in a matter of a phone call and a few screws and wire connections. It is a great product!!!,Saved us a ton on hardware Saved us a ton on licenses Saved us a ton on support and consultant fees,VMware ESXi, Nutanix, VxRail and SimpliVity OmniCube
Windows, Linux, Unix
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
Score 9.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Scale Computing HC3
225 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 225 vetted Scale Computing HC3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (101-125 of 153)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 18, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale and the SMB Sector"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run 75 virtualized client and server systems across a 4 node cluster, which serves the entire organization. This encompasses our: Active Directory and Exchange stack, virtualized desktop infrastructure, and our production order injection, processing, and rendering systems. The Scale cluster provides simplified management of the virtual machines, and the Scale team provides a strong support infrastructure for the software and hardware.
  • Single pane of glass management console with the ability to 'Tag' virtual machines into separate groups for organization, making it easy to view resource utilization and VM state. Additionally, direct in-browser remote control without the use of a third party plugin makes direct control seamless.
  • Quick and easy cloning of virtual machines makes life easier, providing the ability to maintain a single master template for a given class of system.
  • Moving a VM from one node to another is as simple as clicking Move, then selecting the target node. Because of the way Scale backend the storage for their VMs, all migrations are Live.
  • Support reps are very friendly, and are available at varied hours of the day, thus not limiting you to a 9-5 window if there is a problem.
  • On high memory nodes, the current view pane does not provide an easy means by which to view a detailed list of VMs on a given node. I'd love to see an additional view which provides detailed list of VMs per node, or something on the VM 'card' itself with the host node information.
  • I'd like to see the ability to control how many replica copies of data are stored on a given cluster. The ability to configure the environment so that every node has a copy of every VM's data is something that I feel would be beneficial if you have the storage.
  • Scale currently lack a comprehensive in-built backup solution which can communicate with external storage. The snapshot system is good, but the ability to configure an external storage point for redundancy would be appreciated.

Scale's feature set targets the SMB sector, particularly those companies without a full-time in-house IT team. This is a good fit, as they offer the ability to replicate VMs to a remote Scale cluster for redundancy and disaster recovery purposes. Their remote support is also well suited to this, as if there's a hardware issue, they will send a replacement chassis/disk, and walk you through the required physical steps for replacement, while they remotely manage the software-level changes required for a node which is joined to the cluster.

In a much larger environment, with a dedicated server team, I think that is where a company begins to outgrow Scale's targeted feature set.

Some of the applications we run on our cluster include:

  • Industry specific production software which injects, processes, and renders order data for output purposes
  • Internally developed middleware for CRM, order management, billing, and reporting purposes
  • Point of Sale, inventory management, and financial accounting software
  • Auto-printing software for dynamically generated order packing slips
  • Mail, instant messaging, and patch management servers
  • Webservers
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "HC3 delivers on their promise of fast, easy, flexible deployments"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 system is being used for a data-intense multi-server public safety application suite. It is primarily used by our police and fire departments to collect, store and make accessible large amounts of historic incident records. It addresses our customer requirements for high availability while offering ease and flexibility for our system administrators.
  • Very easy to use. Intuitive and simple web-based administration interface, all the necessary features that we'd expect without any of the clutter that's irrelevant in day-to-day use.
  • Flexible resource allocation between nodes and easy use of available processor, memory and storage capacities. Very fast on-the-fly changes of settings. No worries about separate storage management when compared to basic virtualization solutions (not hyper-converged).
  • N+1 node concept provides for ultimate expansion and contraction flexibilities when designing systems, building out systems, or splitting systems.
  • No integrated backbone. I'd rather see a node interconnect system similar to network switch stacking (loop of directly attached Twinax cables, for example) than a requirement for multi-gigabit switches with very narrow specification guidelines due to lack of support for some industry leader products.
  • Manufacturer-dependent initial deployments and configurations. The customer is required to coordinate with manufacturer/vendor, which can be inconvenient to arrange.
  • While we have seen perfect reliability in pure storage and backup scenarios we did observe occasional "mysterious" application issues that we do not see on non-HC3 systems. So far we have been unable to better isolate problems and perform root-cause analysis but it has lead to a diminished trust and prevents us from more aggressively deploying the product.
HC3's greatest strength would have to be its tremendous flexibility in scenarios where an erratic or uncertain growth rate needs to be accommodated. While performance can be matched by other vendors or system designs, HC3 shines when it comes to its ease of system administration (creation/sizing/moving of VMs and their storage resources within the system).
We are currently using two sets of HC3 nodes. The larger one is located in our primary data center and hosts a large multi-server records management system for our public safety customers. The smaller one is located in our backup data center and serves as an off-site storage location for critical VMs. The HC3 systems have performed wonderfully in this critical 24/7 environment as far as hosting converged interface application servers and storage resources. We do still have some issues with primary client/server application responsiveness, and while our environment is built exactly to HC3 specifications (specific Dell fiber switches etc.) it has not yet been determined if the problems are application, system or network-related.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale Computing review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is hosting all our company virtual servers. It was deployed to replace the old VMware setup we had using separate ESX hosts, switches and SAN.
  • Because the Scale Computing is a converge storage, it's much more cost-effective to support and maintain vs. out old ESX cluster setup.
  • Installing updates is easier to do vs. a system that setup using separate ESX hosts, switches, and SAN because we just have to deal with one appliance.
  • The support service has been good so far. Every time we had an issue or question we will get someone on the phone in a few min and they are knowledgeable about the product.
  • One of the biggest drawbacks of the current Scale solution is its limitation when it comes to VM management. For example, options that are available in VMware for years like the ability to expend a virtual drive live does not exist.
  • The Scale management portal is nice and very easy to use because it's very simple, but it's limited in how much information it provides.
  • Because the hypervisor OS is a custom software, it does not allow for more advanced management. any changes or issues that need to troubleshoot requires opening a ticket with support.
If your virtualization needs are basic and you don't need any advanced features I think that the performance/cost is a good proposition. It's also fairly easy to add another node to the cluster to increase your resources.
We run our primary file server, SQL server, and accounting software on the Scale. The requirements are basic and the performance is as expected for the model we use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 30, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 is the way to go."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 hosts the core servers for our entire network.
  • Firmware updates are dead simple
  • Tech support is easy, fast and thorough
  • Building Servers only takes minutes
  • Server performance when logged in seems sluggish.
  • Even though we got discounted pricing it may not be the cheapest solution but the benefits definitely are worth it.
  • They say that parts will arrive next day but in our remote locations they (like other vendors) don't seem to realize that there is no such thing as "next day" delivery.
Scale HC3 is great in so many situations. If you want a small physical footprint but have the ability to spin up dozens of servers in minutes then it is fabulous. They also have an offsite replication package. You have 2 sets of nodes in different sites and the main site replicates to the offsite backup. If something catastrophic happens to the main site you just point everything to the offsite locations and nothing is lost because the offsite is an exact replica. Almost no downtime and no data loss.
SQL, Exchange, Active Directory. I haven't found anything that doesn't really work yet.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 is the Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized Scale Computing HC3 to virtualize our entire server environment for our whole organization. This solved the issues of hardware related failures since the Scale Computing HC3 is in a cluster. It also solved the issue of us needing to update our hardware and provided us with a single pain of glass to view everything on it at once.
  • Speed - Scale has increased our server performance drastically.
  • Ease of use - The system is so easy to use and set up!
  • Support - The scale support team is awesome and really knows their product.
  • PRICE - You can't touch their price elsewhere for the performance that you receive.
  • Make it easier to migrate from other hypervisors to scale without having to buy third-party software.
Scale Computing is well suited for anyone who is looking to create a virtualized server environment that values price, performance, and reliability. The footprint of the hardware makes it so that it can be placed in even the smallest of racks and give you the performance and scalability of the larger companies at a fraction of the price.
Our entire company runs off of scale computing, I can easily scale out our company by cloning servers and having the new ones up and running within minutes. I can also add more hosts in a matter of a phone call and a few screws and wire connections. It is a great product!!!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale is worth a look!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Scale cluster manages the virtual machines which all employees utilize.
Currently only the IT team, which consists of 6 members, interacts with the Scale environment directly.
  • Simple VM management interface
  • Provides easy access to support streams
  • Immediate system performance and alerting
  • A granular user management system is required. The Scale interface lacks the ability to add user accounts with limited access to manage individual or groups of VMs. Remote access is an all or nothing security model.
  • VM export is missing. An ability to export a VM from a cluster for external backup or transfer to another cluster which is not linked is also not supported.
Scale is a user friendly VM cluster which offers redundancy across hardware devices which protects against a full system failure. This is well suited to environments with multiple servers.
We operate our custom manufacturing, shipping, accounting and customer ERP system as a VM within a cluster. We've not had performance or systems issues while running our critical software under this platform.

On another cluster we operate our internal web sites and system monitoring platform again without faults or performance loss. Increasing system resources - such as allocating additional RAM or drive storage is as simple as moving GUI sliders or allocating containers for new drives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "My Weigh In on Scale Computing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Scale Computing HC3 as our central cluster for all of our VMs. It's mostly just our IT department that controls and uses it daily, while everyone around us benefits from the centralized product. We run web servers, point of sale, and network distributing virtual machines with our cluster. It provides a great and convenient interface that makes it easy for anyone of any networking background to manage and operate. It has been of great service towards our company in the past couple of years!
  • Scale Computing HC3 provides a very efficient GUI, that makes it easy for us to maneuver from VM to VM.
  • The displayed information of disk usage and RAM space helps us determine in what capacity we can use our cluster.
  • We have dealt with the cosmetic issue for our individual VMs, where the disk space is showing incorrect on the interface, in contrast to the actual disk space showing within the VM itself.
I believe that Scale Computer HC3 has been amazing for the structured environment it provides. Since it allows you to organize the VMs into groups, it makes it much easier to find exactly what you're looking for due to the purpose of the VM. Whenever you're looking for some specific information about disk space, RAM, or any other specs, the descriptive interface provides that quickly without having to dive into the computer and search for it.
We solely run our POS system on our Scale cluster. Ever since we switched to Scale and used the cluster for our central POS database, it has been nothing short of amazing. It gives easy access, we can connect anyone needing to connect to it with ease, and eliminates the use of an actual machine at the locations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "A worthy investment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Scale computing products for deploying virtual systems within our company. These systems serve a variety of roles across our organization including individual workstation virtual desktops to dedicated file storage and domain controllers.
  • New virtual systems are easy to set up and configure.
  • Easy to transfer systems between nodes on the cluster offers great flexibility and control over the environment.
  • The technical support they offer is great. The few times I have needed to contact them they have been quick to respond and resolve any troubles or questions.
  • Customers need to be able to configure backups/snapshots of the systems. This is a bit of a confusing process that previously involved contacting support and have their engineering team update scripts when we bring a new system online.
  • Pricing is a little high, but for the amount of features and services the Scale units provide, we have been able to justify the costs.
Perfect for easy deployments of virtual systems within a small to mid-size business.
We run our domain controllers and several critical systems on the Scale products including a main file server and workstations for employee use. The infrastructure the Scale products provide is vital to our IT department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale tips the Scale for the Best Hyper-convergence solution on the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire VMware infrastructure was replaced by the Scale HC3. This replaced all our VM servers, with the exception of a few that were transitioned to the cloud (AWS). It is being used to host servers that are used by 500-600 of our organizations staff. Scale has solved a number of different business problems we faced as a non-profit, one of which was the rising cost of other solutions and other vendors changing their tiering pricing structure forcing us into tiers that were overkill and overpriced for what we actually needed. Scale also allowed us to implement a disaster recovery solution which we did not have previously. Scale has consolidated administratrion of what used to be 4-5 disparate systems into one easy to manage and administer system.
  • Disaster Recovery - We needed a disaster recovery solution that could get us up and running within hours if a primary node failed, and the disaster recovery tests and simulations we did proved to us the superiority of Scale compared to other onsite VM solutions. The process was very quick, easy, painless to clone and replicate VM's back to our primary nodes.
  • It is so easy to manage VMs and set up automated snapshots.
  • Migration from VMware and other solutions is easy and straightforward.
  • Implementing true deduplication, though that is actually scheduled for a future release.
  • More granularity in performance reports on servers and VMs.
  • Error logs occasionally aren't helpful, e.g. too vague.
In a hyper-convergence scenario when hosting in a public cloud such as AWS or Azure is not an option, or doesn't make business sense, or there are security concerns, Scale is simply the best hyper-convergence solution out there for small and medium business. I wouldn't see it being the best solution for us for running virutal desktops, but that's not really what it is designed to be a solution for.
We run all the following VMs on Scale, our network monitor, Spiceworks, our telephone system admin, our controller for our Wifi system, our DHCP server, our antivirus server, our WSUS server, our firewall analyzer, our printer servers, our finance system servers, our campus access building control server, and several application servers and SQL implementations for customers. We have had no problems and it's been really easy to manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2018

User Review: "Scale Computing HC3"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Scale HC3 platform at our corporate office to host the majority of our virtual machines. We are using it to host many different platforms and applications, such as application servers, file servers, vehicle routing and dispatching software, SharePoint, SQL, terminal servers, utility servers, domain controllers, and VOIP. It hosts both locally accessed applications and remotely accessed applications within the organization. The HC3 platform allows simple and efficient hosting and management of several virtual machines. The platform also provides high availability and disaster recovery.
  • Disaster recovery/high availability. Useful and essential for data protection and application availability.
  • Ease of use/management. Simple and easy to use and manage virtual machines.
  • High performance. The HC3 platform provides exceptional computing resources.
  • More information
  • More statistics
  • Ability to download media (ISOs) stored on cluster
More suited toward large number of VMs where high availability/disaster recovery needed. Less suited for fewer VMs or where high availability isn't necessary.
Over time, several of our applications have required more or less hardware resources. The HC3 platform makes it extremely simple and efficient to allocate appropriate resources quickly and easily, with minimal downtime.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "SCALE WON'T BAIL!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale HC3 for multiple departments. We host file servers for 8 departments and over 200 users. The HC3 solution allows us to provide stability are reliability to our entire server environment. Management is easy and the technical support provided by scale is one of the best I have ever worked with!
  • Stability is key! The HC3 platform allows us to almost never reboot. Thanks to its Linux operating system updates are rarely needed and when they are its a snap!
  • Better availability than others. Scales multi layered system environment ensures that you will not be left with VM getting destroyed.
  • I really can't say enough great things about how their customer service! They are always available when I need them and they provide a professional and quick solution.
  • The GUI is great, but sometimes I find that I can't do something I wish I could. Like cancelling an export job for example.
Well Suited: 1. Small to medium environments. We have maxed out our ability to add more nodes at 6. (Not sure if that's because of the level of boxes I chose or a limitation of the system. However, I believe that this size works well for us. 2. Anywhere there is a need for high availability. Since we have switched to Scales HC3 environment, about a year ago, we have not had a single server down!

Ill Suited:
1. Large environments.

We run two Enterpole servers for out 911 department on our HC3 solution. This type of server is used to locate individuals in need of 911 dispatch services, dispatch police, ambulances and equipment operatoers. As you can imagine these two servers HAVE to be up and running 24/7. That is why we trust Scale for our Hyperconvered needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing, a big thumbs up!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the firm, housing all our production servers. Scale gives the addition of high availability/failover in case of server outages along with an easier path to replication and DR. Something we did not have in our previous traditional server setup.
  • Ease of installation. Took us longer to rack and cable than initialize the nodes. I was adding my first system 30 minutes after power on!
  • Ease of use. Being an IT generalist, building out any other similar setup would have taken longer and cost much more $$. I could have the least knowledgeable user in this office adding VM's in 5 minutes with their product!
  • Scale Support. A phone call away from the answers your looking for. No multi vendor support situation with Scale, they support from the hardware up the stack.
  • Lack of vendor backup support. Due to the APIs in use, there are no backup vendors at this time that can reach in and back up a VM. Have to use client/file level.
  • Little more robust on system history statistics reporting. Can't really see trending system info (past), only whats happening real time.
It's well suited for shops that are looking to move from other virtual environments and or had no virtual setup at all. There is some vendor lock-in, but for us, that is not a big deal. We had no existing virtual setup to integrate with. This setup we felt was much more cost effective for what we were trying to accomplish. I'm sure there are the less appropriate scenarios out there, that's up to the IT shops that are doing the evaluations.
Being a small shop, we run traditional stuff like email, file and print and some vendor appliances. Our main move was for the consolidation along with fault tolerance/high availability and snapshotting Scale offers in their product base. Not to mention again, the ease of use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale up today!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SCALE Computing HC3 at several of our clients. It allows us to combine virtualization and storage. This saves the client on licensing costs. It also allows them to combine their back-end storage and virtualization. It also allows them to have a cost-effective disaster recovery solution offsite.
  • The user interface is well laid out and easy to use.
  • Replication is easy to set up and works particularly well.
  • Recovering VMs that that been replicated to storage is quick and easy.
  • Currently, there is not a straightforward way to add disk space to virtual machines.
  • With the latest release, we are having some issues with increased replication traffic to our branch DR site.
Well suited for smaller clients who would like to save money on storage and virtualization costs. Provides disaster recovery, virtualization, and back-end storage at a fraction of the cost of other solutions. It is easy to set up and manage. Customer support is top notch and always available. Less appropriate for enterprise or larger customers needing more functionality.
We currently run many applications on Scale HC3. We run Exchange and several other specific applications that require an application front end and SQL back end. We have noticed no performance hits even with a number of resource intensive applications and servers running on Scale HC3. Would highly recommend to anyone in the SMB market.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "General Cluster"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The majority of the servers within the client's company have been consolidated and run off of a four-node cluster. This solves concerns with redundancy and overall reliability. Windows Server clusters tend to be less reliable when it comes to load balancing, which can often lead to performance issues. The Scale cluster handles these tasks with ease.
  • The cluster is easily expandable by adding additional nodes. This can potentially keeps costs down by allowing you to increase the performance potential of your existing cluster.
  • Managing and controlling virtual machines is very straightforward and convenient from the browser-based control panel.
  • Creating and restoring snapshots is very easy, making it much less stressful to make major changes to VMs.
  • I honestly can't think of any cons off the top of my head. I've been fairly impressed with this product.
The Scale cluster is well suited to businesses looking to consolidate servers and decrease the space required to run multiple machines, while also increasing overall reliability and availability. I don't know that it would be a good fit for a data center or other large high-volume setup but it works great for the day to day needs of many businesses.
We primarily use the cluster to run the domain controllers, ERP software, Exchange hybrid server, etc. Availability has been great, with very few issues. Overall, it's been a great experience and we know we can count on the Scale cluster to keep everything up and running.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "How Scale tipped the Scales for us"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is our main virtualization platform. It is our first endeavor in the hyper-converged space and we could not be happier. Absolutely every aspect of our dealing with Scale has been top notch! They are custom tailored to SMBs and really get what it is we need from a vendor in regards to upfront sales, purchasing, implementation, and support.
  • Sales
  • Implementation
  • Support
  • Uh.... Logo?
Well suited to SMBs that don't require the push button mass automation of the larger vendors. Simple as all get out to use and if you can't figure it out the support is TOP NOTCH.

Probably not well suited to large enterprises and they will tell you that is not their market.
DCs, File Shares, Web Servers, Exchange 2016, SQL, the list goes on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Support Nightmare"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole Organization.
Upgrade of physical servers
  • virtualization
  • ease of use
  • ease of configuration
  • Sales team should not undersell to sell again at a higher price
  • Lot of improvement is required in support
  • Lot of improvement needed in installation support
  • Quotes not provided to months
  • No information provided once order is placed
  • Delivery too slow - awaiting hardware for last approx. 2 months
Maybe suitable for small organizations, it is not appropriate for an organization requiring IT availability 24 x 7 at least with the kind of support currently provided.
ERP System and its ancillary softwares
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale to move past our VMware and iSCSI connections.
  • Support is great
  • Software industry standard
  • Fast
  • Network drivers crash often,
  • Need backup API to Veeam, badly. Backup is like a step back in time, and no, snapshots are not backups.
Not suited for highend workloads or large companies
All workloads. e-mail file server many specialized software packages
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scaling - KISS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved from 25% virtual environment to 100% virtual environment with Scale.
  • Simple UI
  • Reduced complexity
  • Serial Drivers
  • Recognize USB
These setups are ideal for SMBs with limited staff knowledge.
Two different ERPS with 25 users each. One is legacy and the other presently supported. 4 DCs, terminal services, document management, Print/files services.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Bucy profile photo
June 26, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "HC3, a small business hyper-converged solution."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 cluster is our main server unit for our company. It hosts almost all of our network services, including AD, FTP, IIS (Website), file sharing and more. The biggest business problems that it addresses are, since we don't have a dedicated IT team, the simplicity to manage everything is great, and offsite replication is a breeze. I don't have to worry about losing any critical data.
  • Setting up a cluster is very simple. The interface is intuitive and does not require being a system expert to run.
  • Managing VMs and settings is easy. An admin just needs to login to one of the local nodes, and they have access to view status, setting, and even remote into all installed VMs.
  • Redundancy. In the HC3 setup, there are three nodes that connect through a back plane. If one node goes down, it's simple to spin up a lost VM on another node to continue running business.
  • It does not offer the same level of logical networking, like that of VMware.
  • We have had issues with some software not being able to activate because of the virtual environment.
  • We have to run a separate hardware device for network license dongles.
HC3 is best utilized in a small to medium business. It may not have all the necessary features for a large enterprise environment. Specifically, it is a good option for companies that don't have a large team of technicians to manage their network.
Our whole business depends on the HC3 cluster working. Currently, the most critical apps that we run, are a suite of home built modules for interfacing with our ERP system. Just the other day, we started running out of resources with our VM, and in a matter of about 2 minutes, I was able to go in and allocate more resources to eliminate any problems.
Read Tyler Bucy's full review
Trevor Pott profile photo
June 26, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing: when you don't have time for gimmicks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing is used by us for both primary production workloads and mission critical testlab infrastructure workloads. We have a cluster at a co-location facility whose purpose is to host websites, a virtualized file server, some e-mail servers, a few databases and some VDI instances. These are the workloads upon which our small business depends.

One of the services we offer our customers is Testlab as a Service. We do everything from reviews for technology magazines to full tear-down beta testing. Accomplishing anything remotely like efficiency and profitability requires that a great deal of the testlab's digital infrastructure be rock solid. This includes domain controllers, e-mail servers, databases, monitoring software and much, much more.

We also use a Scale Computing SNAC node (https://virtualizationreview.com/articles/2016/11/30/scale-computing-single-node-appliance-review.as...) to back up our workloads.
  • Scale is reliable. Drives can fail. Nodes can fail. All sorts of weird things can happen, but data doesn't get lost.
  • Scale support is fantastic. I call them "Datacenter Butlers" because they take a lot of the miserable scut work off of plate. I used to constantly put out fires just to keep things running smoothly. Now, whenever there's a problem, Scale support likely knows about it before I do, and will fix most of it for me.
  • Speed. Scale isn't the fastest on the market, but they also cost a fraction of the highest end gear out there. It doesn't make a lot of sense to compare, for example, a hybrid solution using SAS/SATA to EMC's top-end custom all-flash DSSD. That said, dollar for dollar, I would say Scale manages to be the fastest solution amongst their peers.
  • Scale pay attention to the little things. They have a robust QA program and an extensive beta testing program. They get industry experts to bang on their latest and greatest before it hits the streets and it shows. Scale is the opposite of the current tech trend to push out alpha-level software as generally available and then patch things according to the pyramid of screaming.
  • Scale needs a new UI to be able to handle more than 500 VMs in a single cluster.
  • Scale needs a multi-cluster management UI.
  • Scale needs a full private cloud offering with a self-service portal, template and recipe marketplace and fully integrated configuration management.
Talking about the suitability of Scale is best done by looking at how we, ourselves, implement it. We have at our disposal hundreds of thousands of dollars worth IT equipment and software from across the industry. We could host both our production solutions and our testlab on anything, using any solution or combination thereof. We choose to use Scale.

When it absolutely has to work, and we cannot afford to worry about it going boom, when we need our infrastructure to be easy to use and not require fussing, that calls for Scale. It isn't as feature rich. It doesn't have as many nerd knobs. But it Just [Censored] Works. Some times, that's the only thing that really matters.

First off, I'd like to object to the statement that "Hyper-converged Infrastructure products like Scale Computing HC3 are designed to make it easy to run applications in a highly scalable manner" in the prompting question. They're not. They're designed to make running workloads easier. Name me one HCI provider out there that makes it easy to scale workloads. Just one. You won't be able to because that's not the job of HCI. That's the job of the management and orchestration layer that turns virtualization - whether HCI or not - into something most of us would call a "cloud".

I think this is an important piece of context for discussion. HCI in general - and Scale's offering very specifically - is based emphatically on ease of use. If what you're looking for are edge cases like high frequency trading or other extreme use case niches, look elsewhere. That's not what HCI is about.

Those workloads are the equivalent of commuting to work on a Saturn V. Think of Scale Computing more like the Honda Civic of IT. It is powerful enough to deal with the overwhelming majority of use cases. It will meet the needs of the mass market. It will run all your day-to-day mundane infrastructure workloads from the SMB to the enterprise and fit very nicely in ROBO scenarios.

What you're not going to get from a Scale HCI cluster - at least not until an all-flash NVMe version running on top of 25GbE or 100GbE networking comes out - is something that will handle huge databases with ultra low latency requirements and trillions of transactions per second. Nor is Scale going to be the super cheap near-zero-margin $/TB bulk storage solution required for large-scale data warehousing. If you're building a massive radio telescope, maybe look elsewhere.

But for the rest of us, for those running a few thousand people in an exchange environment, or a modest use case database for a point of sales application, for some VDI or image rendering or a hundred other workloads I've run on Scale, it just works. That's what hyperconvergence is: It Just Works(TM) in a turnkey appliance for 90% of workloads you could ever want.
Read Trevor Pott's full review
John Brainard profile photo
June 23, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Hands-Off Simplified Enterprise approach to Server Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Due to the success of the first scale cluster installation and the ease of use and administration, we actually have two different dedicated clusters. One runs the business servers and daily operations, the other runs the core of the refinery operation servers. The Scale Platform streamlined how we handled VMs in our company. Previously there was a lot of mismatched hardware, VMWare, Hyper-V, and dedicated hardware servers. The backup solution and redundancy started becoming an issue along with heat load and just sheer hardware management. The stress of having critical 24/7 process servers running on mismatched hardware was a daily stress. Scale has removed all of that and it really does just work. Plain and simple.
  • Super simplified interface. I like to tinker around like any true IT minded person, but I don't have the time to learn all the details on all new systems we implement. I was up and running and fully knew my system in less than a day.
  • The tech and setup department knowing we are an oil refinery and rarely, if ever, get a chance for a full shutdown. We got that chance unexpectedly and they literally customized and overnighted a cluster system in 2 days. It took us less than 72 hours from initial contact to have all servers migrated and online in the new cluster. Support engineers worked with us all weekend; they were amazing. They are truly their for their customers, not just a 9-5 company.
  • The only thing I can think of, and its to their service or systems, but the cost of some small upgrades seems excessive. a simple ram upgrade to one node was between $1100 - $1500. The actual hardware cost for that is about 25-30% of that.
For anyone looking to virtualize or organize their virtual environment, Scale has been amazing. The only thing we have found that we couldn't use Scale for was with VMWare specific machines. An example is a scenario we ran into during our implementation. Cisco Prime and WIFI servers run either on really expensive Cisco hardware or a VMWare based machine. I couldn't migrate that machine to scale and thus have to keep a VMWare cluster just for that. Now, that isn't Scale's fault by any means, but having the ability to have a VMWare virtual environment in Scale would open it to the world. Even if it was a Scale virtual server that hosted VMWare on it. At this time and my understanding, that isn't possible...yet!
The most critical thing we run here is an actual refinery. We are 24/7/365 staffed and data logging, HMI, and analytics servers MUST be online and safe running. That is what scale provides for us. A low-overhead, secure, robust system that just works.
Read John Brainard's full review
Nick Bertram profile photo
June 20, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "How we benefited from our Scale HC3 cluster"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using our HC3 cluster as our production environment for the corporation. We have migrated all but a handful of systems to the cluster with excellent results. We migrated from a stand alone Hyper-V system to address the fail over problems we were having. The system has performed better than expected, allowing us to migrate additional systems in to the cluster as well as expanding and adding an additional node.
  • Fail over and load balancing - Having used a basic Hyper-V system with no clustering and no fail over, this was a selling point to migrate to the HC3.
  • Expansion - The process to add an additional node was seamless. Ordered the node, once it arrived gave support a call. Walked thru the process during production hours and was migrating systems over to it within a couple of hours. Could not ask for a simpler process.
  • Dashboard - The improvements to the dashboard have been great. The ability to monitor is "real time" the IOPs of the system and individual nodes as well as their processor load have helped us track down issues that might have been missed otherwise.
  • The issues that we had early on have been addressed by their support staff. As we have found something that we wanted the system to do they have been very supportive and worked them into their road map. Such as disk usage display and IOPs.
  • Multiple User Support - This is one feature that would be nice to get implemented. Single account with admin rights has limited who has access to the system to help support end users. The ability to create user accounts with varying level of access would be beneficial.
If you a running an environment with your systems spread out to the role they are performing (each server has a role and not stacking roles) the HC3 system has been great for us.

If you are stacking multiple roles into a single system, you may not benefit as much from this setup. Not really a fault of the system, but the design is not virtual friendly from my experience.
We are currently running 2 SQL instances and the results have been great. We have support systems running as well, but the value has been in the database systems running.
Read Nick Bertram's full review
Jonah Fulmer profile photo
June 07, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Hardware that is reliable"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our primary Virtual Server Center. It is utilized by the entire company. It has resolved issues we where having with our old system in the area of network connectivity bottle-neck and VM Storage management.
  • Technical Support is probably there biggest strength. There hasn't been a single time as of yet that I haven't been able to get a hold of someone quickly. All of the support personnel at every level are very knowledgeable about the product.
  • Management is always ready to hear any concerns you have.
  • I have to mention Technical support again, because it deserve that much space :) .
  • Their Hyper-visor is always being improved, and that is the only real area I can think of that needs improvement. But they are constantly adding newer and expanded features to rival the top tier VM software vendors. So not really an area they need to improve, but an area where I am just impatient to see what they come out with next.
Scale HC3 is definitely best suited for IT environments with 2 to 0 IT employees where the company has upwards of 100 employees. In that kind of scenario, the IT personnel doesn't have a lot of time to sit and monitor the server environment. And HC3 provides the reliability the IT Admin's need in that kind of scenario.
However, the reverse is true. If you have a large IT environment, HC3 is still a good option, it would just create a scenario where a few of the IT staff might be left with nothing much to do :) .
We don't have a lot of applications running from the VMs themselves. Really the only one that works completely off of the server is our financial and project tracking software from Deltek. The majority of my needs lie in scalable storage. Currently HC3 software doesn't have a way to scale storage on the fly like the other major VM sofware manufacturers, but I know it is a feature that they are working on.
Read Jonah Fulmer's full review
Mike Slates profile photo
June 07, 2017

"Scale Computing HC3 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Setup was easy with Scale's assistance. Rack, connect, and they walk you through establishing the cluster. Then, it just runs! Upload your OS ISO's and you're off and running.
  • VM creation is a extremely quick and easy. Modification of CPU/RAM/Disk of existing VM's is also easy.
  • High availability. If one node goes down all the VM's on that node automatically migrate to other nodes. (I haven't had any issues with the boxes, so this hasn't occurred. But, firmware upgrades do take individual cluster nodes offline during the upgrade process, so that simulates it.)
  • Performance. We're running 25 VM's on our 4-node Scale HC3 cluster. We have the middle tier platform, HC2000 with SAS drives and 10 Gb NICs, and the performance has been excellent.
  • Reduction of physical servers, power, and heat. We used to have 2 full racks of physical servers, plus several remote servers. All using power and generating heat. Now, we could fit everything in a half rack.
  • Support. Scale's support team is outstanding. Every time I call or open a ticket on their support portal, I get a response immediately. And it's by a team of well-trained professionals, speaking English, based in Indiana!
  • Ability to grow. Just add a node to the cluster. Boom! Extra CPU/RAM/Disk available immediately. And you can add nodes while the cluster is running.
  • Disaster Recovery. We added 2 DR nodes at a remote site and are replicating snapshots of all our servers nightly. This was a huge win for us, as we've been struggling with BCP/DR for years.
  • Cannot modify CPU/RAM/Disk while a VM is running. Not a huge Con in my book, since I don't have a lot of need for this.
  • Took them a while add support for Windows Server 2016(and Windows 10).
If you're a small/medium sized business and looking to do a server refresh, I would definitely look at Scale. They have simplified my server setup substantially, and made everything a lot easier and more reliable.
If you're looking at implementing a SAN backend with Hyper-V or VMWare, look at a Hyper-Converged vendor like Scale. You'll probably save money and have a much simpler setup.
We run the following on our Scale HC3 cluster:
- Active Directory - 4 servers in total. Zero problems.
- SQL/Reporting - No issues and it's fast.
- Dynamics on SQL - again, no issues and its fast.
- SQL database servers for custom order processing applications. Works great.
- WSUS for Windows Updates.
- Print/Scan-to-email server.
- Groups server.
- Software/Build server.
- Certificate Authority servers.

All of these apps/servers run as expected, even when one or more of the SQL servers are doing heavy things. IOPS and CPU are never a problem.

Read Mike Slates's full review
Tyler Rother profile photo
June 07, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale - Vision - Implementation - Stable - GREAT!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is used within our organization as a whole, running all sorts of servers and platforms. It addresses having quick backups (snapshots) to recover from in case of a disaster or a configuration changed that has been botched. It also has stability and quickness within the hardware that makes using it seamless as well as when migrations occur, there is no down time nor slowdown.
  • Scale Support is second to none. Fast. Timely. Precise. No running around the bush when it comes to calling them for assistance or technical issues.
  • Scale Support has made setup a breeze on new units, as well as adding a unit. Up and running in minutes and ready to use shortly after.
  • Scale is constantly updating and bettering there firmware, adding features, making improvements, and creating one of the best virtual platforms out there today.
  • On the Summary portion of the VM in questions, I would like to see the % of Memory used (performance).
  • Instead of fixing the problem and saying it's fixed, problem/solution explanation on each ticket/issue and if something can be avoided and addressed to prevent it from happening again.
  • I would love to see a mobile app of some sort or the GUI mobile friendly in the future.
Scale Computing's support, hardware, firmware, and even their Sales team are again, second to none. They go above and beyond making sure that you as a customer are taken care of whether it be from the administrative/sales side of things to the back end on the technical side making sure everything is running at 100% and functioning as intended.
SQL - running it within the 'These go to 11' setting within the system makes it run smooth, seamless, with no interruptions whatsoever.
Read Tyler Rother's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English