Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (101-125 of 165)

Blaine Derek Cappel profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We first engaged with Scale several years ago as our first dive into server virtualization. We were so impressed we expanded our first cluster within a few months. We have since completed a hardware refresh and to this day we continue to be extremely impressed with Scale Computing HC3! I highly recommend Scale!
  • Server virtualization
  • I/O performance
  • customer service
  • None
Any application that is I/O intensive or mission critical where a virtualized environment is beneficial. Scale Computing HC3 has been a tremendous asset to our information technology infrastructure. Reliable, efficient, easy to use and administer. We did end up taking a video security system server off this solution as it was still better suited for a stand-alone box.
Our emergency room medical record system consists of five different servers that we have virtualized on our Scale Computing HC3 solution. Needless to say, these are very important servers that need to have 100 percent uptime. The robust solution that Scale Computing HC3 supplies is the perfect fit for this business critical application.
Read Blaine Derek Cappel's full review
Marc-Andre Ciccariello profile photo
December 11, 2017

Surprise Surprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale Computing to reduce physical servers and better management of our ressources. Redundant between 2 sitesm Simple and fast. Currently converting all my DC and share to put on the scale...
  • Simple
  • Fast
  • Always update for better use of the HC3
  • UI is too simple and not always giving the right info
  • Possibility to have 1 main interface to manage all the Scale/cluster
  • Nest Virtualization
All the virtualization without Nesting (a VM in a VM) is great with Scale. We don't have many tools either to control the server so we are always with a small 5% that we can't be autonomous.
Domain Controller, Fortinet EMS (antivirus), FortiAnalyzer (Logs), Share... More and more business don't want multiple physical servers for every single use. So when you turn in with a Scale solution you can have all you need in a small 1U HC3 and create cluster redundant so if one fails it transfers to the others. Even a backup solution is needed but if you have bought the right scale you can use it for snapshots schedule and keep it simple
Read Marc-Andre Ciccariello's full review
Morgan Rinehart profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 has been used by our organization to support virtualization of existing physical servers and migration from another vendor platform. Scale Computing HC3 is being used by all departments in our organization. Scale Computing HC3 has addressed our business problems that occur by unpredictable growth in our departments that requires IT infrastructure upgrade and improvements that were very costly with other vendors. Scale Computing gives us a platform that can easily be expanded to meet immediate needs.
  • Very simple to use and requires minimal training to operate.
  • Streamlined upgrade process that can update entire site with click of button.
  • Shared storage is present across Scale Computing HC3 system has allowed us to limit investment in expensive SAN storage systems and add resources on demand.
  • Increased support with VMWare and Hyper-V for customers that are migrating from these systems to Scale over time.
  • More robust backup support with vendors already in the industry. Very little support with existing players in this market.
Scale is great for an environment that needs shared storage and organization and lacks resources to invest in a SAN environment.
We have migrated Exchange, SQL, Oracle, and DFS servers to Scale Computing HC3. These systems are working better than ever and Scale gives us flexibility to increase resources as needed on-demand.
Read Morgan Rinehart's full review
Karl Sharkey profile photo
December 08, 2017

Scale HC3 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale across the whole of our organisation as we have moved our network to the "cloud". It addresses issues around updating hardware constantly with using Microsoft Hyper-V as in we no longer have to update the Hyper-V server as Scale updates can be carried out on the live system.
  • Snapshots are very good and give you peace of mind that you can go back to as many points in time as you wish
  • Incredibly easy to set up initially
  • Support line very good
  • Ability to increase disk sizes of VMs "on the fly"
  • You currently need to shut down the server and clone before you can
  • Being able to plug in USB drive and get files off
In a business where they need a large amount of VMs that need to be highly available.
We run ConnectWise on a server and also our management software.
Read Karl Sharkey's full review
Trenton Mengel profile photo
December 08, 2017

Scale was easy for me

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated to the Scale so my company would have failover capabilities and cost savings over traditional servers. We have moved many of our company's applications to the Scale cluster (Domain, Exchange, etc.).
  • Easy to start up and migrate systems.
  • Failover capabilities.
  • The display of usable hard drive storage shows actual space left not the usable space.
  • I would like to have the ability for the snap shots to be stored on a NAS as well as on the cluster.
Good for mission-critical systems. VDI desktops.

Not good for REALLY small business where 1 server is all the resource needed.
I have a small 3 node system but I am looking to expand the number of nodes and I know that the expansion will be as simple as pulling in the power and setting an IP on the new nodes and the system will be online. There is nothing else to do.
Read Trenton Mengel's full review
Gerry Charriere profile photo
January 25, 2018

Scale Rules

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our department for a variety of services. We have created different data storages and even created VM machines.
  • Their service technicians are very professional. They assisted us with issues that we have encountered with our Scale product.
  • At the present time, I do not see any missing functionalities with this product.
I am not sure if I would use Scale to create VM machines, because I know we could always use more space to store our data.
We do not run any business critical applications on the HC3.
Read Gerry Charriere's full review
Chad Davis profile photo
January 15, 2018

Scale HC3 Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to virtualize 50 servers across the whole organization.
  • Easy to manage and stand up machines
  • Easy to migrate machines from one node to another
  • No VMware costs
  • Additional networking ability
We use it for Citrix XenApp, file sharing and network services.
We use it for XenApp.
Read Chad Davis's full review
Tyler Moser profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We don't have an HC3 implementation in-house but we sell, manage, and support it for our customers. Our implementations have been organization-wide and address the issue of needing a highly available virtual infrastructure.
  • Cost - very competitive on cost vs. the competition
  • Pre-sales support - very thorough in understanding the environment and providing assistance in right-sizing the solution
  • Post - sales support - very responsive with any issues
  • Migrating existing virtual workloads into the cluster could be easier. Relies on third-party software to work.
HC3 is well suited for small business clients needing advanced virtual infrastructure pieces but not looking to incur a large CAPEX. It may be less appropriate at the enterprise level.
We have a customer that needed the run their ERP application in a highly-available environment. They were not getting the performance needed from their ageing ESX implementation and by migrating onto the HC3 infrastructure, they were able to greatly increase performance.
Read Tyler Moser's full review
Russell Lund profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coming from an IT background I have never used such a dynamic and and versatile system for VM's. Currently our system is running VM's which are used in all departments in my company, from IT to general research. If we need a new system we can immediately implement it for use the same day. It eliminates the need for group computers and management. We are able to integrate it into our network without issues and manage it right from my desk.
  • The scalability is amazing.
  • The ease of use is great.
  • The flexibility of the VM's helps each department on a daily basis.
  • I can't think of any areas where it need improvement. The system does everything we need it to do.
We have multiple hardware that may need a new computer with its own specific settings, Scale makes this very easy to implement within hours instead of waiting days and weeks for systems and set up.
Our bioinformatics department is constantly asking for more power, more RAM, more space. With Scale we can easily adjust the system to accommodate within minutes of the request.
Read Russell Lund's full review
Donny Lynch profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCALE Computing HC3 handles about 80% of our server needs across the organization.
  • SCALE Computing HC3 is easy to manage
  • Has a great support system when needed
  • Provides great built in disaster recovery options
  • Graphics hardware to support intensive graphic oriented software
Great in consolidating older legacy server hardware and server OS into one system
ERP, SQL server and remote access have been easy to deploy with SCALE Computing HC3
Read Donny Lynch's full review
No photo available
December 18, 2017

Scale and the SMB Sector

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run 75 virtualized client and server systems across a 4 node cluster, which serves the entire organization. This encompasses our: Active Directory and Exchange stack, virtualized desktop infrastructure, and our production order injection, processing, and rendering systems. The Scale cluster provides simplified management of the virtual machines, and the Scale team provides a strong support infrastructure for the software and hardware.
  • Single pane of glass management console with the ability to 'Tag' virtual machines into separate groups for organization, making it easy to view resource utilization and VM state. Additionally, direct in-browser remote control without the use of a third party plugin makes direct control seamless.
  • Quick and easy cloning of virtual machines makes life easier, providing the ability to maintain a single master template for a given class of system.
  • Moving a VM from one node to another is as simple as clicking Move, then selecting the target node. Because of the way Scale backend the storage for their VMs, all migrations are Live.
  • Support reps are very friendly, and are available at varied hours of the day, thus not limiting you to a 9-5 window if there is a problem.
  • On high memory nodes, the current view pane does not provide an easy means by which to view a detailed list of VMs on a given node. I'd love to see an additional view which provides detailed list of VMs per node, or something on the VM 'card' itself with the host node information.
  • I'd like to see the ability to control how many replica copies of data are stored on a given cluster. The ability to configure the environment so that every node has a copy of every VM's data is something that I feel would be beneficial if you have the storage.
  • Scale currently lack a comprehensive in-built backup solution which can communicate with external storage. The snapshot system is good, but the ability to configure an external storage point for redundancy would be appreciated.

Scale's feature set targets the SMB sector, particularly those companies without a full-time in-house IT team. This is a good fit, as they offer the ability to replicate VMs to a remote Scale cluster for redundancy and disaster recovery purposes. Their remote support is also well suited to this, as if there's a hardware issue, they will send a replacement chassis/disk, and walk you through the required physical steps for replacement, while they remotely manage the software-level changes required for a node which is joined to the cluster.

In a much larger environment, with a dedicated server team, I think that is where a company begins to outgrow Scale's targeted feature set.

Some of the applications we run on our cluster include:

  • Industry specific production software which injects, processes, and renders order data for output purposes
  • Internally developed middleware for CRM, order management, billing, and reporting purposes
  • Point of Sale, inventory management, and financial accounting software
  • Auto-printing software for dynamically generated order packing slips
  • Mail, instant messaging, and patch management servers
  • Webservers
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 system is being used for a data-intense multi-server public safety application suite. It is primarily used by our police and fire departments to collect, store and make accessible large amounts of historic incident records. It addresses our customer requirements for high availability while offering ease and flexibility for our system administrators.
  • Very easy to use. Intuitive and simple web-based administration interface, all the necessary features that we'd expect without any of the clutter that's irrelevant in day-to-day use.
  • Flexible resource allocation between nodes and easy use of available processor, memory and storage capacities. Very fast on-the-fly changes of settings. No worries about separate storage management when compared to basic virtualization solutions (not hyper-converged).
  • N+1 node concept provides for ultimate expansion and contraction flexibilities when designing systems, building out systems, or splitting systems.
  • No integrated backbone. I'd rather see a node interconnect system similar to network switch stacking (loop of directly attached Twinax cables, for example) than a requirement for multi-gigabit switches with very narrow specification guidelines due to lack of support for some industry leader products.
  • Manufacturer-dependent initial deployments and configurations. The customer is required to coordinate with manufacturer/vendor, which can be inconvenient to arrange.
  • While we have seen perfect reliability in pure storage and backup scenarios we did observe occasional "mysterious" application issues that we do not see on non-HC3 systems. So far we have been unable to better isolate problems and perform root-cause analysis but it has lead to a diminished trust and prevents us from more aggressively deploying the product.
HC3's greatest strength would have to be its tremendous flexibility in scenarios where an erratic or uncertain growth rate needs to be accommodated. While performance can be matched by other vendors or system designs, HC3 shines when it comes to its ease of system administration (creation/sizing/moving of VMs and their storage resources within the system).
We are currently using two sets of HC3 nodes. The larger one is located in our primary data center and hosts a large multi-server records management system for our public safety customers. The smaller one is located in our backup data center and serves as an off-site storage location for critical VMs. The HC3 systems have performed wonderfully in this critical 24/7 environment as far as hosting converged interface application servers and storage resources. We do still have some issues with primary client/server application responsiveness, and while our environment is built exactly to HC3 specifications (specific Dell fiber switches etc.) it has not yet been determined if the problems are application, system or network-related.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Scale Computing review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is hosting all our company virtual servers. It was deployed to replace the old VMware setup we had using separate ESX hosts, switches and SAN.
  • Because the Scale Computing is a converge storage, it's much more cost-effective to support and maintain vs. out old ESX cluster setup.
  • Installing updates is easier to do vs. a system that setup using separate ESX hosts, switches, and SAN because we just have to deal with one appliance.
  • The support service has been good so far. Every time we had an issue or question we will get someone on the phone in a few min and they are knowledgeable about the product.
  • One of the biggest drawbacks of the current Scale solution is its limitation when it comes to VM management. For example, options that are available in VMware for years like the ability to expend a virtual drive live does not exist.
  • The Scale management portal is nice and very easy to use because it's very simple, but it's limited in how much information it provides.
  • Because the hypervisor OS is a custom software, it does not allow for more advanced management. any changes or issues that need to troubleshoot requires opening a ticket with support.
If your virtualization needs are basic and you don't need any advanced features I think that the performance/cost is a good proposition. It's also fairly easy to add another node to the cluster to increase your resources.
We run our primary file server, SQL server, and accounting software on the Scale. The requirements are basic and the performance is as expected for the model we use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 hosts the core servers for our entire network.
  • Firmware updates are dead simple
  • Tech support is easy, fast and thorough
  • Building Servers only takes minutes
  • Server performance when logged in seems sluggish.
  • Even though we got discounted pricing it may not be the cheapest solution but the benefits definitely are worth it.
  • They say that parts will arrive next day but in our remote locations they (like other vendors) don't seem to realize that there is no such thing as "next day" delivery.
Scale HC3 is great in so many situations. If you want a small physical footprint but have the ability to spin up dozens of servers in minutes then it is fabulous. They also have an offsite replication package. You have 2 sets of nodes in different sites and the main site replicates to the offsite backup. If something catastrophic happens to the main site you just point everything to the offsite locations and nothing is lost because the offsite is an exact replica. Almost no downtime and no data loss.
SQL, Exchange, Active Directory. I haven't found anything that doesn't really work yet.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

Scale HC3 is the Best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized Scale Computing HC3 to virtualize our entire server environment for our whole organization. This solved the issues of hardware related failures since the Scale Computing HC3 is in a cluster. It also solved the issue of us needing to update our hardware and provided us with a single pain of glass to view everything on it at once.
  • Speed - Scale has increased our server performance drastically.
  • Ease of use - The system is so easy to use and set up!
  • Support - The scale support team is awesome and really knows their product.
  • PRICE - You can't touch their price elsewhere for the performance that you receive.
  • Make it easier to migrate from other hypervisors to scale without having to buy third-party software.
Scale Computing is well suited for anyone who is looking to create a virtualized server environment that values price, performance, and reliability. The footprint of the hardware makes it so that it can be placed in even the smallest of racks and give you the performance and scalability of the larger companies at a fraction of the price.
Our entire company runs off of scale computing, I can easily scale out our company by cloning servers and having the new ones up and running within minutes. I can also add more hosts in a matter of a phone call and a few screws and wire connections. It is a great product!!!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2018

Scale is worth a look!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Scale cluster manages the virtual machines which all employees utilize.
Currently only the IT team, which consists of 6 members, interacts with the Scale environment directly.
  • Simple VM management interface
  • Provides easy access to support streams
  • Immediate system performance and alerting
  • A granular user management system is required. The Scale interface lacks the ability to add user accounts with limited access to manage individual or groups of VMs. Remote access is an all or nothing security model.
  • VM export is missing. An ability to export a VM from a cluster for external backup or transfer to another cluster which is not linked is also not supported.
Scale is a user friendly VM cluster which offers redundancy across hardware devices which protects against a full system failure. This is well suited to environments with multiple servers.
We operate our custom manufacturing, shipping, accounting and customer ERP system as a VM within a cluster. We've not had performance or systems issues while running our critical software under this platform.

On another cluster we operate our internal web sites and system monitoring platform again without faults or performance loss. Increasing system resources - such as allocating additional RAM or drive storage is as simple as moving GUI sliders or allocating containers for new drives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Scale Computing HC3 as our central cluster for all of our VMs. It's mostly just our IT department that controls and uses it daily, while everyone around us benefits from the centralized product. We run web servers, point of sale, and network distributing virtual machines with our cluster. It provides a great and convenient interface that makes it easy for anyone of any networking background to manage and operate. It has been of great service towards our company in the past couple of years!
  • Scale Computing HC3 provides a very efficient GUI, that makes it easy for us to maneuver from VM to VM.
  • The displayed information of disk usage and RAM space helps us determine in what capacity we can use our cluster.
  • We have dealt with the cosmetic issue for our individual VMs, where the disk space is showing incorrect on the interface, in contrast to the actual disk space showing within the VM itself.
I believe that Scale Computer HC3 has been amazing for the structured environment it provides. Since it allows you to organize the VMs into groups, it makes it much easier to find exactly what you're looking for due to the purpose of the VM. Whenever you're looking for some specific information about disk space, RAM, or any other specs, the descriptive interface provides that quickly without having to dive into the computer and search for it.
We solely run our POS system on our Scale cluster. Ever since we switched to Scale and used the cluster for our central POS database, it has been nothing short of amazing. It gives easy access, we can connect anyone needing to connect to it with ease, and eliminates the use of an actual machine at the locations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

A worthy investment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Scale computing products for deploying virtual systems within our company. These systems serve a variety of roles across our organization including individual workstation virtual desktops to dedicated file storage and domain controllers.
  • New virtual systems are easy to set up and configure.
  • Easy to transfer systems between nodes on the cluster offers great flexibility and control over the environment.
  • The technical support they offer is great. The few times I have needed to contact them they have been quick to respond and resolve any troubles or questions.
  • Customers need to be able to configure backups/snapshots of the systems. This is a bit of a confusing process that previously involved contacting support and have their engineering team update scripts when we bring a new system online.
  • Pricing is a little high, but for the amount of features and services the Scale units provide, we have been able to justify the costs.
Perfect for easy deployments of virtual systems within a small to mid-size business.
We run our domain controllers and several critical systems on the Scale products including a main file server and workstations for employee use. The infrastructure the Scale products provide is vital to our IT department.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire VMware infrastructure was replaced by the Scale HC3. This replaced all our VM servers, with the exception of a few that were transitioned to the cloud (AWS). It is being used to host servers that are used by 500-600 of our organizations staff. Scale has solved a number of different business problems we faced as a non-profit, one of which was the rising cost of other solutions and other vendors changing their tiering pricing structure forcing us into tiers that were overkill and overpriced for what we actually needed. Scale also allowed us to implement a disaster recovery solution which we did not have previously. Scale has consolidated administratrion of what used to be 4-5 disparate systems into one easy to manage and administer system.
  • Disaster Recovery - We needed a disaster recovery solution that could get us up and running within hours if a primary node failed, and the disaster recovery tests and simulations we did proved to us the superiority of Scale compared to other onsite VM solutions. The process was very quick, easy, painless to clone and replicate VM's back to our primary nodes.
  • It is so easy to manage VMs and set up automated snapshots.
  • Migration from VMware and other solutions is easy and straightforward.
  • Implementing true deduplication, though that is actually scheduled for a future release.
  • More granularity in performance reports on servers and VMs.
  • Error logs occasionally aren't helpful, e.g. too vague.
In a hyper-convergence scenario when hosting in a public cloud such as AWS or Azure is not an option, or doesn't make business sense, or there are security concerns, Scale is simply the best hyper-convergence solution out there for small and medium business. I wouldn't see it being the best solution for us for running virutal desktops, but that's not really what it is designed to be a solution for.
We run all the following VMs on Scale, our network monitor, Spiceworks, our telephone system admin, our controller for our Wifi system, our DHCP server, our antivirus server, our WSUS server, our firewall analyzer, our printer servers, our finance system servers, our campus access building control server, and several application servers and SQL implementations for customers. We have had no problems and it's been really easy to manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 11, 2018

Scale Computing HC3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Scale HC3 platform at our corporate office to host the majority of our virtual machines. We are using it to host many different platforms and applications, such as application servers, file servers, vehicle routing and dispatching software, SharePoint, SQL, terminal servers, utility servers, domain controllers, and VOIP. It hosts both locally accessed applications and remotely accessed applications within the organization. The HC3 platform allows simple and efficient hosting and management of several virtual machines. The platform also provides high availability and disaster recovery.
  • Disaster recovery/high availability. Useful and essential for data protection and application availability.
  • Ease of use/management. Simple and easy to use and manage virtual machines.
  • High performance. The HC3 platform provides exceptional computing resources.
  • More information
  • More statistics
  • Ability to download media (ISOs) stored on cluster
More suited toward large number of VMs where high availability/disaster recovery needed. Less suited for fewer VMs or where high availability isn't necessary.
Over time, several of our applications have required more or less hardware resources. The HC3 platform makes it extremely simple and efficient to allocate appropriate resources quickly and easily, with minimal downtime.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the firm, housing all our production servers. Scale gives the addition of high availability/failover in case of server outages along with an easier path to replication and DR. Something we did not have in our previous traditional server setup.
  • Ease of installation. Took us longer to rack and cable than initialize the nodes. I was adding my first system 30 minutes after power on!
  • Ease of use. Being an IT generalist, building out any other similar setup would have taken longer and cost much more $$. I could have the least knowledgeable user in this office adding VM's in 5 minutes with their product!
  • Scale Support. A phone call away from the answers your looking for. No multi vendor support situation with Scale, they support from the hardware up the stack.
  • Lack of vendor backup support. Due to the APIs in use, there are no backup vendors at this time that can reach in and back up a VM. Have to use client/file level.
  • Little more robust on system history statistics reporting. Can't really see trending system info (past), only whats happening real time.
It's well suited for shops that are looking to move from other virtual environments and or had no virtual setup at all. There is some vendor lock-in, but for us, that is not a big deal. We had no existing virtual setup to integrate with. This setup we felt was much more cost effective for what we were trying to accomplish. I'm sure there are the less appropriate scenarios out there, that's up to the IT shops that are doing the evaluations.
Being a small shop, we run traditional stuff like email, file and print and some vendor appliances. Our main move was for the consolidation along with fault tolerance/high availability and snapshotting Scale offers in their product base. Not to mention again, the ease of use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2018

Scale Support Nightmare

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole Organization.
Upgrade of physical servers
  • virtualization
  • ease of use
  • ease of configuration
  • Sales team should not undersell to sell again at a higher price
  • Lot of improvement is required in support
  • Lot of improvement needed in installation support
  • Quotes not provided to months
  • No information provided once order is placed
  • Delivery too slow - awaiting hardware for last approx. 2 months
Maybe suitable for small organizations, it is not appropriate for an organization requiring IT availability 24 x 7 at least with the kind of support currently provided.
ERP System and its ancillary softwares
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

Scale

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale to move past our VMware and iSCSI connections.
  • Support is great
  • Software industry standard
  • Fast
  • Network drivers crash often,
  • Need backup API to Veeam, badly. Backup is like a step back in time, and no, snapshots are not backups.
Not suited for highend workloads or large companies
All workloads. e-mail file server many specialized software packages
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

Scaling - KISS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved from 25% virtual environment to 100% virtual environment with Scale.
  • Simple UI
  • Reduced complexity
  • Serial Drivers
  • Recognize USB
These setups are ideal for SMBs with limited staff knowledge.
Two different ERPS with 25 users each. One is legacy and the other presently supported. 4 DCs, terminal services, document management, Print/files services.
Read this authenticated review
Tom Blazek profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is being used as our primary server cluster across the whole organization. We have it hosting 20+ servers. It's very easy to use and virtually maintenance free. It has freed up a lot of my time, to be honest, I don't even think about it anymore because it just works.
  • Setting up and provisioning a new VM is super simple.
  • I come from a VMWare environment but the Scale UI is very easy to understand. I can imagine for someone new they would be able to learn the task of managing the cluster very easily.
  • Snapshots and clones are processed super fast.
  • I would like to be able to see actual disk availability instead of the raw number of TB.
  • The ability to copy and paste from your local machine to a VM seems like missing functionality, it is very useful to have.
  • I guess it's not a problem specifically with Scale, probably more with KVM and backup vendors but I really did enjoy having a backup system that worked across the whole hypervisor, it just simplified things a lot.
  • I would like to see the breakdown of the VMs and the amount of RAM they are consuming changed a bit. If its a VM with less than 6 GB it doesn't show on the dashboard. Maybe if it was a pie chart it would be easier? Not sure but just something different would be nice so you could see all the VMs.
I feel Scale Computing is well suited for any small or medium business that needs more than 1 physical server. The ease of use and capabilities of the cluster are really unmatched for the price. I like how all the features are included for one price. I could even see it being used in a larger enterprise environment.
We run in-house Exchange, SQL, MySQL, and Apache web servers. They run flawlessly. The only problems I have are with the individual applications themselves, never at the infrastructure level. When I bought the system they didn't have SSD out yet, so I can't speak about the ability to portion out the SSD across VMs but it looks super awesome!
Read Tom Blazek's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English