Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (101-125 of 165)

Nicholas Hempenius | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a six blade Scale cluster that supports our 20+ servers that are essential in providing the back-end of the Hammock Source e-commerce presence. The servers also provide services to our shipping, receiving, and customer service departments. Our Scale VM cluster addresses our need for a large amount of servers within a limited amount of space. It also allows for business expansion that is continuously going on.
  • Scale Computing provides a simple and easy to use graphical interface.
  • The VM export feature makes it easy to backup VM images to remote storage servers without having to use external tools.
  • Resource allocation to various VMs is easy and seamless using the graphical interface.
  • The VM Disk usage meter seems to be broken, we have an in house work around to track this.
  • The cluster logs could provide a little more feedback and be more verbose.
  • Automating VM export would also be extreamly helpful.
A great scenario where Scale computing is almost perfect would be in class room type environment. I am a technical lead for the East Carolina University Collegiate Cyber defense competition, we need to have a lab environment with many different operating systems that can all communicate with each other so that we can practice cyber security techniques. With my experience in using the HC3 I feel that it would be a wonderful environment to practice cyber defense.
We have multiple servers that provide business-critical applications, almost all of them reside on Scale Computing HC3. For example, our FedEx shipping server, vendor websites, NCR point of sales server all run on the HC3 and we have very little to no downtime for these critical servers. We feel safe knowing we can revert these servers to snapshots at any time if needed and that we have images backed up to remote storage in case of emergencies.
Read Nicholas Hempenius's full review
Rick Waring | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Scale review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCALE to host our production/test/dev environments across the organization - We are currently in a transition from physical servers to virtual, and have extremely limited resources to manage a virtual environment. We needed a solution that was flexible, affordable, and did not require a lot of dedicated resource commitment.
  • Simplifies deployment of a resilient virtual platform with minimal dedicated resource commitment on our part.
  • Excellent tech support.
  • Very stable environment that recovers well from unexpected system glitches.
  • Reverting to a previous snapshot is a bit convoluted, not as straightforward as in VMWare.
  • Increase granularity of visibility into VM operations - they have been adding details to the main GUI, and are making progress, but still leaves a bit to be done as far as monitoring/managing individual VMs - overall system monitoring is good, but would be more useful if we could also drill down to individual BMs.
  • Currently there are unexpected issues with changing networking after the system has been deployed (for example: we need to change our default gateway - same subnet, but a different IP, and under the current version, we are required to take the entire system down for that one small change. SCALE is working on a better modification policy and we are hopeful they can develop a different solution so we do not have to totally shut down the system).
This is a quick way to deploy a resilient virtual environment that has decent specifications and flexibility, but not as good as some other solutions if you need to closely monitor individual VMs or require regular snapshot management.
We primarily host postgreSQL database applications with web-server front-ends -- uptime is critical for us and we have not had any serious issues with the SCALE environment, even when outside glitches (unusual failure of network switches supporting the iSCSI backbone did take the system offline, but SCALE recovered with minimal impact once the failed switches were replaced) - this could have been a very bad incident, but the SCALE environment recovered well with little additional effort on our part.
Read Rick Waring's full review
Blaine Derek Cappel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We first engaged with Scale several years ago as our first dive into server virtualization. We were so impressed we expanded our first cluster within a few months. We have since completed a hardware refresh and to this day we continue to be extremely impressed with Scale Computing HC3! I highly recommend Scale!
  • Server virtualization
  • I/O performance
  • customer service
  • None
Any application that is I/O intensive or mission critical where a virtualized environment is beneficial. Scale Computing HC3 has been a tremendous asset to our information technology infrastructure. Reliable, efficient, easy to use and administer. We did end up taking a video security system server off this solution as it was still better suited for a stand-alone box.
Our emergency room medical record system consists of five different servers that we have virtualized on our Scale Computing HC3 solution. Needless to say, these are very important servers that need to have 100 percent uptime. The robust solution that Scale Computing HC3 supplies is the perfect fit for this business critical application.
Read Blaine Derek Cappel's full review
Marc-Andre Ciccariello | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2017

Surprise Surprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale Computing to reduce physical servers and better management of our ressources. Redundant between 2 sitesm Simple and fast. Currently converting all my DC and share to put on the scale...
  • Simple
  • Fast
  • Always update for better use of the HC3
  • UI is too simple and not always giving the right info
  • Possibility to have 1 main interface to manage all the Scale/cluster
  • Nest Virtualization
All the virtualization without Nesting (a VM in a VM) is great with Scale. We don't have many tools either to control the server so we are always with a small 5% that we can't be autonomous.
Domain Controller, Fortinet EMS (antivirus), FortiAnalyzer (Logs), Share... More and more business don't want multiple physical servers for every single use. So when you turn in with a Scale solution you can have all you need in a small 1U HC3 and create cluster redundant so if one fails it transfers to the others. Even a backup solution is needed but if you have bought the right scale you can use it for snapshots schedule and keep it simple
Read Marc-Andre Ciccariello's full review
Morgan Rinehart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 has been used by our organization to support virtualization of existing physical servers and migration from another vendor platform. Scale Computing HC3 is being used by all departments in our organization. Scale Computing HC3 has addressed our business problems that occur by unpredictable growth in our departments that requires IT infrastructure upgrade and improvements that were very costly with other vendors. Scale Computing gives us a platform that can easily be expanded to meet immediate needs.
  • Very simple to use and requires minimal training to operate.
  • Streamlined upgrade process that can update entire site with click of button.
  • Shared storage is present across Scale Computing HC3 system has allowed us to limit investment in expensive SAN storage systems and add resources on demand.
  • Increased support with VMWare and Hyper-V for customers that are migrating from these systems to Scale over time.
  • More robust backup support with vendors already in the industry. Very little support with existing players in this market.
Scale is great for an environment that needs shared storage and organization and lacks resources to invest in a SAN environment.
We have migrated Exchange, SQL, Oracle, and DFS servers to Scale Computing HC3. These systems are working better than ever and Scale gives us flexibility to increase resources as needed on-demand.
Read Morgan Rinehart's full review
Karl Sharkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Scale HC3 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale across the whole of our organisation as we have moved our network to the "cloud". It addresses issues around updating hardware constantly with using Microsoft Hyper-V as in we no longer have to update the Hyper-V server as Scale updates can be carried out on the live system.
  • Snapshots are very good and give you peace of mind that you can go back to as many points in time as you wish
  • Incredibly easy to set up initially
  • Support line very good
  • Ability to increase disk sizes of VMs "on the fly"
  • You currently need to shut down the server and clone before you can
  • Being able to plug in USB drive and get files off
In a business where they need a large amount of VMs that need to be highly available.
We run ConnectWise on a server and also our management software.
Read Karl Sharkey's full review
Trenton Mengel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2017

Scale was easy for me

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated to the Scale so my company would have failover capabilities and cost savings over traditional servers. We have moved many of our company's applications to the Scale cluster (Domain, Exchange, etc.).
  • Easy to start up and migrate systems.
  • Failover capabilities.
  • The display of usable hard drive storage shows actual space left not the usable space.
  • I would like to have the ability for the snap shots to be stored on a NAS as well as on the cluster.
Good for mission-critical systems. VDI desktops.

Not good for REALLY small business where 1 server is all the resource needed.
I have a small 3 node system but I am looking to expand the number of nodes and I know that the expansion will be as simple as pulling in the power and setting an IP on the new nodes and the system will be online. There is nothing else to do.
Read Trenton Mengel's full review
James Tio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it for hosting small critical servers for a production environment. It is not used by other departments. We had a cooling problem back then in our data center and Scale Computing has a small footprint and generates less heat compared to Dell servers.
  • Easy to create VM and install OS.
  • Storage is already clustered and ready to be used.
  • Excellent support tools. I email the problem and they take it from there.
  • Major firmware upgrade may require shutting down all VMs.
  • Backup not supported by Netbackup.
Small foot print area for servers and minimum downtime. The cluster configuration will be a plus for company with part time system administrator.
We are not using HC3 for business-critical applications although I believe I will consider it in the future.
Read James Tio's full review
Tyler Bucy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale HC3 cluster is our main server unit for our company. It hosts almost all of our network services, including AD, FTP, IIS (Website), file sharing and more. The biggest business problems that it addresses are, since we don't have a dedicated IT team, the simplicity to manage everything is great, and offsite replication is a breeze. I don't have to worry about losing any critical data.
  • Setting up a cluster is very simple. The interface is intuitive and does not require being a system expert to run.
  • Managing VMs and settings is easy. An admin just needs to login to one of the local nodes, and they have access to view status, setting, and even remote into all installed VMs.
  • Redundancy. In the HC3 setup, there are three nodes that connect through a back plane. If one node goes down, it's simple to spin up a lost VM on another node to continue running business.
  • It does not offer the same level of logical networking, like that of VMware.
  • We have had issues with some software not being able to activate because of the virtual environment.
  • We have to run a separate hardware device for network license dongles.
HC3 is best utilized in a small to medium business. It may not have all the necessary features for a large enterprise environment. Specifically, it is a good option for companies that don't have a large team of technicians to manage their network.
Our whole business depends on the HC3 cluster working. Currently, the most critical apps that we run, are a suite of home built modules for interfacing with our ERP system. Just the other day, we started running out of resources with our VM, and in a matter of about 2 minutes, I was able to go in and allocate more resources to eliminate any problems.
Read Tyler Bucy's full review
Trevor Pott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing is used by us for both primary production workloads and mission critical testlab infrastructure workloads. We have a cluster at a co-location facility whose purpose is to host websites, a virtualized file server, some e-mail servers, a few databases and some VDI instances. These are the workloads upon which our small business depends.

One of the services we offer our customers is Testlab as a Service. We do everything from reviews for technology magazines to full tear-down beta testing. Accomplishing anything remotely like efficiency and profitability requires that a great deal of the testlab's digital infrastructure be rock solid. This includes domain controllers, e-mail servers, databases, monitoring software and much, much more.

We also use a Scale Computing SNAC node (https://virtualizationreview.com/articles/2016/11/30/scale-computing-single-node-appliance-review.as...) to back up our workloads.
  • Scale is reliable. Drives can fail. Nodes can fail. All sorts of weird things can happen, but data doesn't get lost.
  • Scale support is fantastic. I call them "Datacenter Butlers" because they take a lot of the miserable scut work off of plate. I used to constantly put out fires just to keep things running smoothly. Now, whenever there's a problem, Scale support likely knows about it before I do, and will fix most of it for me.
  • Speed. Scale isn't the fastest on the market, but they also cost a fraction of the highest end gear out there. It doesn't make a lot of sense to compare, for example, a hybrid solution using SAS/SATA to EMC's top-end custom all-flash DSSD. That said, dollar for dollar, I would say Scale manages to be the fastest solution amongst their peers.
  • Scale pay attention to the little things. They have a robust QA program and an extensive beta testing program. They get industry experts to bang on their latest and greatest before it hits the streets and it shows. Scale is the opposite of the current tech trend to push out alpha-level software as generally available and then patch things according to the pyramid of screaming.
  • Scale needs a new UI to be able to handle more than 500 VMs in a single cluster.
  • Scale needs a multi-cluster management UI.
  • Scale needs a full private cloud offering with a self-service portal, template and recipe marketplace and fully integrated configuration management.
Talking about the suitability of Scale is best done by looking at how we, ourselves, implement it. We have at our disposal hundreds of thousands of dollars worth IT equipment and software from across the industry. We could host both our production solutions and our testlab on anything, using any solution or combination thereof. We choose to use Scale.

When it absolutely has to work, and we cannot afford to worry about it going boom, when we need our infrastructure to be easy to use and not require fussing, that calls for Scale. It isn't as feature rich. It doesn't have as many nerd knobs. But it Just [Censored] Works. Some times, that's the only thing that really matters.

First off, I'd like to object to the statement that "Hyper-converged Infrastructure products like Scale Computing HC3 are designed to make it easy to run applications in a highly scalable manner" in the prompting question. They're not. They're designed to make running workloads easier. Name me one HCI provider out there that makes it easy to scale workloads. Just one. You won't be able to because that's not the job of HCI. That's the job of the management and orchestration layer that turns virtualization - whether HCI or not - into something most of us would call a "cloud".

I think this is an important piece of context for discussion. HCI in general - and Scale's offering very specifically - is based emphatically on ease of use. If what you're looking for are edge cases like high frequency trading or other extreme use case niches, look elsewhere. That's not what HCI is about.

Those workloads are the equivalent of commuting to work on a Saturn V. Think of Scale Computing more like the Honda Civic of IT. It is powerful enough to deal with the overwhelming majority of use cases. It will meet the needs of the mass market. It will run all your day-to-day mundane infrastructure workloads from the SMB to the enterprise and fit very nicely in ROBO scenarios.

What you're not going to get from a Scale HCI cluster - at least not until an all-flash NVMe version running on top of 25GbE or 100GbE networking comes out - is something that will handle huge databases with ultra low latency requirements and trillions of transactions per second. Nor is Scale going to be the super cheap near-zero-margin $/TB bulk storage solution required for large-scale data warehousing. If you're building a massive radio telescope, maybe look elsewhere.

But for the rest of us, for those running a few thousand people in an exchange environment, or a modest use case database for a point of sales application, for some VDI or image rendering or a hundred other workloads I've run on Scale, it just works. That's what hyperconvergence is: It Just Works(TM) in a turnkey appliance for 90% of workloads you could ever want.
Read Trevor Pott's full review
John Brainard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Due to the success of the first scale cluster installation and the ease of use and administration, we actually have two different dedicated clusters. One runs the business servers and daily operations, the other runs the core of the refinery operation servers. The Scale Platform streamlined how we handled VMs in our company. Previously there was a lot of mismatched hardware, VMWare, Hyper-V, and dedicated hardware servers. The backup solution and redundancy started becoming an issue along with heat load and just sheer hardware management. The stress of having critical 24/7 process servers running on mismatched hardware was a daily stress. Scale has removed all of that and it really does just work. Plain and simple.
  • Super simplified interface. I like to tinker around like any true IT minded person, but I don't have the time to learn all the details on all new systems we implement. I was up and running and fully knew my system in less than a day.
  • The tech and setup department knowing we are an oil refinery and rarely, if ever, get a chance for a full shutdown. We got that chance unexpectedly and they literally customized and overnighted a cluster system in 2 days. It took us less than 72 hours from initial contact to have all servers migrated and online in the new cluster. Support engineers worked with us all weekend; they were amazing. They are truly their for their customers, not just a 9-5 company.
  • The only thing I can think of, and its to their service or systems, but the cost of some small upgrades seems excessive. a simple ram upgrade to one node was between $1100 - $1500. The actual hardware cost for that is about 25-30% of that.
For anyone looking to virtualize or organize their virtual environment, Scale has been amazing. The only thing we have found that we couldn't use Scale for was with VMWare specific machines. An example is a scenario we ran into during our implementation. Cisco Prime and WIFI servers run either on really expensive Cisco hardware or a VMWare based machine. I couldn't migrate that machine to scale and thus have to keep a VMWare cluster just for that. Now, that isn't Scale's fault by any means, but having the ability to have a VMWare virtual environment in Scale would open it to the world. Even if it was a Scale virtual server that hosted VMWare on it. At this time and my understanding, that isn't possible...yet!
The most critical thing we run here is an actual refinery. We are 24/7/365 staffed and data logging, HMI, and analytics servers MUST be online and safe running. That is what scale provides for us. A low-overhead, secure, robust system that just works.
Read John Brainard's full review
Nick Bertram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using our HC3 cluster as our production environment for the corporation. We have migrated all but a handful of systems to the cluster with excellent results. We migrated from a stand alone Hyper-V system to address the fail over problems we were having. The system has performed better than expected, allowing us to migrate additional systems in to the cluster as well as expanding and adding an additional node.
  • Fail over and load balancing - Having used a basic Hyper-V system with no clustering and no fail over, this was a selling point to migrate to the HC3.
  • Expansion - The process to add an additional node was seamless. Ordered the node, once it arrived gave support a call. Walked thru the process during production hours and was migrating systems over to it within a couple of hours. Could not ask for a simpler process.
  • Dashboard - The improvements to the dashboard have been great. The ability to monitor is "real time" the IOPs of the system and individual nodes as well as their processor load have helped us track down issues that might have been missed otherwise.
  • The issues that we had early on have been addressed by their support staff. As we have found something that we wanted the system to do they have been very supportive and worked them into their road map. Such as disk usage display and IOPs.
  • Multiple User Support - This is one feature that would be nice to get implemented. Single account with admin rights has limited who has access to the system to help support end users. The ability to create user accounts with varying level of access would be beneficial.
If you a running an environment with your systems spread out to the role they are performing (each server has a role and not stacking roles) the HC3 system has been great for us.

If you are stacking multiple roles into a single system, you may not benefit as much from this setup. Not really a fault of the system, but the design is not virtual friendly from my experience.
We are currently running 2 SQL instances and the results have been great. We have support systems running as well, but the value has been in the database systems running.
Read Nick Bertram's full review
Gerry Charriere | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2018

Scale Rules

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our department for a variety of services. We have created different data storages and even created VM machines.
  • Their service technicians are very professional. They assisted us with issues that we have encountered with our Scale product.
  • At the present time, I do not see any missing functionalities with this product.
I am not sure if I would use Scale to create VM machines, because I know we could always use more space to store our data.
We do not run any business critical applications on the HC3.
Read Gerry Charriere's full review
Jonah Fulmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our primary Virtual Server Center. It is utilized by the entire company. It has resolved issues we where having with our old system in the area of network connectivity bottle-neck and VM Storage management.
  • Technical Support is probably there biggest strength. There hasn't been a single time as of yet that I haven't been able to get a hold of someone quickly. All of the support personnel at every level are very knowledgeable about the product.
  • Management is always ready to hear any concerns you have.
  • I have to mention Technical support again, because it deserve that much space :) .
  • Their Hyper-visor is always being improved, and that is the only real area I can think of that needs improvement. But they are constantly adding newer and expanded features to rival the top tier VM software vendors. So not really an area they need to improve, but an area where I am just impatient to see what they come out with next.
Scale HC3 is definitely best suited for IT environments with 2 to 0 IT employees where the company has upwards of 100 employees. In that kind of scenario, the IT personnel doesn't have a lot of time to sit and monitor the server environment. And HC3 provides the reliability the IT Admin's need in that kind of scenario.
However, the reverse is true. If you have a large IT environment, HC3 is still a good option, it would just create a scenario where a few of the IT staff might be left with nothing much to do :) .
We don't have a lot of applications running from the VMs themselves. Really the only one that works completely off of the server is our financial and project tracking software from Deltek. The majority of my needs lie in scalable storage. Currently HC3 software doesn't have a way to scale storage on the fly like the other major VM sofware manufacturers, but I know it is a feature that they are working on.
Read Jonah Fulmer's full review
Mike Slates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Setup was easy with Scale's assistance. Rack, connect, and they walk you through establishing the cluster. Then, it just runs! Upload your OS ISO's and you're off and running.
  • VM creation is a extremely quick and easy. Modification of CPU/RAM/Disk of existing VM's is also easy.
  • High availability. If one node goes down all the VM's on that node automatically migrate to other nodes. (I haven't had any issues with the boxes, so this hasn't occurred. But, firmware upgrades do take individual cluster nodes offline during the upgrade process, so that simulates it.)
  • Performance. We're running 25 VM's on our 4-node Scale HC3 cluster. We have the middle tier platform, HC2000 with SAS drives and 10 Gb NICs, and the performance has been excellent.
  • Reduction of physical servers, power, and heat. We used to have 2 full racks of physical servers, plus several remote servers. All using power and generating heat. Now, we could fit everything in a half rack.
  • Support. Scale's support team is outstanding. Every time I call or open a ticket on their support portal, I get a response immediately. And it's by a team of well-trained professionals, speaking English, based in Indiana!
  • Ability to grow. Just add a node to the cluster. Boom! Extra CPU/RAM/Disk available immediately. And you can add nodes while the cluster is running.
  • Disaster Recovery. We added 2 DR nodes at a remote site and are replicating snapshots of all our servers nightly. This was a huge win for us, as we've been struggling with BCP/DR for years.
  • Cannot modify CPU/RAM/Disk while a VM is running. Not a huge Con in my book, since I don't have a lot of need for this.
  • Took them a while add support for Windows Server 2016(and Windows 10).
If you're a small/medium sized business and looking to do a server refresh, I would definitely look at Scale. They have simplified my server setup substantially, and made everything a lot easier and more reliable.
If you're looking at implementing a SAN backend with Hyper-V or VMWare, look at a Hyper-Converged vendor like Scale. You'll probably save money and have a much simpler setup.
We run the following on our Scale HC3 cluster:
- Active Directory - 4 servers in total. Zero problems.
- SQL/Reporting - No issues and it's fast.
- Dynamics on SQL - again, no issues and its fast.
- SQL database servers for custom order processing applications. Works great.
- WSUS for Windows Updates.
- Print/Scan-to-email server.
- Groups server.
- Software/Build server.
- Certificate Authority servers.

All of these apps/servers run as expected, even when one or more of the SQL servers are doing heavy things. IOPS and CPU are never a problem.

Read Mike Slates's full review
Tyler Rother | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is used within our organization as a whole, running all sorts of servers and platforms. It addresses having quick backups (snapshots) to recover from in case of a disaster or a configuration changed that has been botched. It also has stability and quickness within the hardware that makes using it seamless as well as when migrations occur, there is no down time nor slowdown.
  • Scale Support is second to none. Fast. Timely. Precise. No running around the bush when it comes to calling them for assistance or technical issues.
  • Scale Support has made setup a breeze on new units, as well as adding a unit. Up and running in minutes and ready to use shortly after.
  • Scale is constantly updating and bettering there firmware, adding features, making improvements, and creating one of the best virtual platforms out there today.
  • On the Summary portion of the VM in questions, I would like to see the % of Memory used (performance).
  • Instead of fixing the problem and saying it's fixed, problem/solution explanation on each ticket/issue and if something can be avoided and addressed to prevent it from happening again.
  • I would love to see a mobile app of some sort or the GUI mobile friendly in the future.
Scale Computing's support, hardware, firmware, and even their Sales team are again, second to none. They go above and beyond making sure that you as a customer are taken care of whether it be from the administrative/sales side of things to the back end on the technical side making sure everything is running at 100% and functioning as intended.
SQL - running it within the 'These go to 11' setting within the system makes it run smooth, seamless, with no interruptions whatsoever.
Read Tyler Rother's full review
Matthew Beckler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale computing is our primary device handling all of our internal files/databases/applications. The Scale Computing cluster provides all internal services for the whole company. We were looking to internalize services that were not ready to go cloud based that were previously hosted by an MSP. We were on a short time frame so we needed something easy to use, quick to deploy, and that had built in fault tolerance.
  • Extremely easy to deploy. Once the physical connections are made it is very simply to get your VM's up and running.
  • Support was great to work with during the setup. I had a weird issue that turned out to be my monitor and unrelated to Scale and the technician figured it out over the phone.
  • Redundancy built in with no configuration. I just deploy my VM and it is automatically replicated across nodes.
  • SSD tiering system that moves most used blocks to faster storage providing IOPS where needed. This is fully customizable so I can choose what VM's need priority.
  • Expandability I can easily add additional single nodes to increase my compute and storage capacity.
  • KVM based so most of the major Backup players can not backup at the Host level. This requires agents for backing up all VM's and also many backup vendors will not license agents at the Host level so you need to pay per VM for most backup solutions.
  • Extended period where it was not compatible with latest Microsoft operating system (Server 2016 compatibility just came this spring)
  • Email alerts are not directly compatible with Office365 (No TLS login support)
  • No All SSD/Flash options are currently available.
  • Requires external switch and configuration of switch for Node communication.
  • Would like to see extended grouping for easier identification of VM's
  • Some way to easily automate certain tasks. (Some kind of API or Scale supported scripting)
  • Console has some quirks such as mouse not working when using a touchscreen laptop.
Scale is very appropriate in any Small to Mid-Size enterprises. It is easy to use and get up and running. Pretty much anyone with cursory computer knowledge can install a VM on this system and the VM will be replicated automatically across the nodes. When you a need a system that just works this is it.

Scale Computing without additional integration/automation options and an easier way to use commonly used Backup software may be less appropriate for organization with many VM's where it would be a large effort to add guest backup agents to every VM.
All our internal applications run on Scale Computing..
We have not experienced in any issues with our business critical applications.
These include SQL server, 2 Files servers, Various application servers.
All Servers have run quick and haven't experienced any downtime.
Read Matthew Beckler's full review
Robert Candee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 (Scale) is used company wide. Scale was selected as our primary hypervisor. Before Scale, we were a pure physical server shop. With the power of Scale we were able to convert our physical servers to virtual servers (P2V) with minimal effort. The tools that were supplied by Scale aided in the P2V process. We were able to convert nearly our entire Information Technology (IT) infrastructure to virtual in under a week. The Scale environment controls 99% of our IT solutions.
  • Scale offers what is known as hyperconvergence. Hyperconvergence is a combination of hypervisor, storage, and networking all in one appliance.
  • Creating a new virtual machine takes about 40 seconds to complete. In the past, spinning up a new server would take days.
  • Scale offers the ability to create snapshots of virtual machines both manually and automatically.
  • Scale offers the ability to create a development environment with ease. Simply clone the VM that you want to use, change a few setting related to networking and you are set!
  • Scale reduces the TCO because processing power, networking, and storage are all contained in a single appliance.
  • Replication is one of the areas that could be improved. Please do not get me wrong, replication works well but the interface is missing the ability to throttle bandwidth usage.
  • Setup and configuration could be a bit simpler. However, Scale's support team is way above average and available. The only issue is having to schedule a time for configuration.
Scale is very well suited for small/medium business (SMB). Companies that have a small number of physical servers could benefit from Scale's hyperconvergence technologies. For example, in my company's environment, we went from over 20 physical servers down to one Scale cluster. The cooling requirements for our data center dropped dramatically.
With Scale, we were able to migrate our entire ERP solution, which was hosted on three different physical servers, to Scale's virtual environment in two days! Scale's snapshot functionality allows us to create automatic snapshots of our ERP easily and efficiently. In addition to migrating our ERP solution we were able to migrate our Microsoft SQL servers to Scale which allowed us to reduce the number of physical servers and reduce MS SQL licensing requirements.
Read Robert Candee's full review
Chad Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2018

Scale HC3 Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to virtualize 50 servers across the whole organization.
  • Easy to manage and stand up machines
  • Easy to migrate machines from one node to another
  • No VMware costs
  • Additional networking ability
We use it for Citrix XenApp, file sharing and network services.
We use it for XenApp.
Read Chad Davis's full review
Tyler Moser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We don't have an HC3 implementation in-house but we sell, manage, and support it for our customers. Our implementations have been organization-wide and address the issue of needing a highly available virtual infrastructure.
  • Cost - very competitive on cost vs. the competition
  • Pre-sales support - very thorough in understanding the environment and providing assistance in right-sizing the solution
  • Post - sales support - very responsive with any issues
  • Migrating existing virtual workloads into the cluster could be easier. Relies on third-party software to work.
HC3 is well suited for small business clients needing advanced virtual infrastructure pieces but not looking to incur a large CAPEX. It may be less appropriate at the enterprise level.
We have a customer that needed the run their ERP application in a highly-available environment. They were not getting the performance needed from their ageing ESX implementation and by migrating onto the HC3 infrastructure, they were able to greatly increase performance.
Read Tyler Moser's full review
Russell Lund | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coming from an IT background I have never used such a dynamic and and versatile system for VM's. Currently our system is running VM's which are used in all departments in my company, from IT to general research. If we need a new system we can immediately implement it for use the same day. It eliminates the need for group computers and management. We are able to integrate it into our network without issues and manage it right from my desk.
  • The scalability is amazing.
  • The ease of use is great.
  • The flexibility of the VM's helps each department on a daily basis.
  • I can't think of any areas where it need improvement. The system does everything we need it to do.
We have multiple hardware that may need a new computer with its own specific settings, Scale makes this very easy to implement within hours instead of waiting days and weeks for systems and set up.
Our bioinformatics department is constantly asking for more power, more RAM, more space. With Scale we can easily adjust the system to accommodate within minutes of the request.
Read Russell Lund's full review
Donny Lynch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCALE Computing HC3 handles about 80% of our server needs across the organization.
  • SCALE Computing HC3 is easy to manage
  • Has a great support system when needed
  • Provides great built in disaster recovery options
  • Graphics hardware to support intensive graphic oriented software
Great in consolidating older legacy server hardware and server OS into one system
ERP, SQL server and remote access have been easy to deploy with SCALE Computing HC3
Read Donny Lynch's full review
Zac King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale Computing at our data center for cloud services that we host for our clients. It has dramatically simplified the management of our IT infrastructure and lowered the management time that the staff spends at our datacenter. We no longer have to worry about data replication or a single server affecting our ability to deliver the highest uptime.
  • Scale Computing simplifies the management of the critical components in your IT infrastructure. The interface allows you to understand what's going on with a quick glance, giving you the important and relevant information right in front of you.
  • Scale Computing also gives you the flexibility to add the right kind of performance your company needs as it grows. Whether you need more storage, RAM, or compute, the cluster can accommodate your expansion needs.
  • Scale Computing allows your DR facility to be managed in the same way as your production facility. No complicated setups or configurations, just simple point and click.
  • Upgrades can be expensive at times.
  • Reporting for individual VM's and their usage could be improved in a few small areas.
Scale is great for those who need a simple way to manage their servers without jumping through a lot of hoops or spending weeks or months to get trained on how to use it. It just works and doesn't require you to babysit it to make sure it's doing what it's supposed to.
We run everything on our Scale cluster including AD, Exchange, SQL, Remote Desktop, and VoIP. Everything just works the way it's supposed to without a lot of fuss. Snapshots of VM's are a breeze to setup and use when you need to test something out.
Read Zac King's full review
Yancy Lancaster | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Scale for not only our own infrastructure but our customers and in our data center. Scale provides the perfect 'pay as you grow' approach with IT for our clients. We also use it to support our clients in the data center as a quick off-site restore platform when disaster strikes.
  • The true pioneers of hyper-convergence. If you are evaluating H/C, or are planning on deploying H/C, explore all the solutions out there, and you will find that Scale is the only one that is doing H/C at the base level, the way it should be. Products like Cisco's and others are add ons or afterthoughts and are not much different or just re-worded UCS models.
  • The "Pay as you Grow" model afforded by Scale is the future of IT. Why would you EVER buy significantly more computing resources than you need for the very short term? Scale gives you the ability to tighten your capacity planning to meet the fiduciary responsibility modern IT demands.
  • They push third party migration software, that is nearly 100% useless. In the 5 different cases we have tried to use it, we have needed significant tech support and they have not been able to even get the program to work outside of a lab environment. This is not a reflection on Scale other than they push this expensive software that they KNOW 100% doesn't work.
  • We have experienced significant failure rate from the single node, noncluster servers. One device we have had to replace 2 times (we are on the 3rd one) in a month.
  • Pay as you grow model.
  • Digital Cloud Transformation of existing IT departments.
Solid Works Vault. Efolder.
Read Yancy Lancaster's full review
Jeffrey Place | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Scale Computing HC3 across our organization. We chose HC3 due to its simplicity to implement and scale up when necessary. We started with a 3-node system and due to some necessary system upgrades we just added a 4th node to our unit. As a one-person IT department, it made virtualizing our entire environment much easier and without the annual licensing costs of VMWare.
  • Scale Computing HC3 allows me to spin up a test environment in minutes, not hours.
  • With HC3, it is easy to clone a machine, take a snap shot or backup a system. Literally just a few clicks and you are done.
  • HC3 also provides peace of mind that if one-node goes down, the other can spin up easily without missing a beat.
  • In place upgrades of the interface is great, I don't have to have a maintenance window to do routing updates to the interface.
  • I have had very few issues with the HC3 system. It did have a glitch which would not allow me to upload files to the system using the Chrome browser but tech support helped me with a work-around.
  • I don't particularly like the way the web-site knowledge base is put together but I am getting used to it. Thankfully, I haven't needed to use it very much.
The unit I have is very for small SMBs with few or no full time IT personnel, they can be remotely managed and with the new single node option you can have off-site backup/disaster recovery set up in a very time. I can see how this system can be used with multiple small offices/remote site and can scale up to larger enterprises.

We run both VMWare and HC3 virtual servers. We are currently running our SQL Server and two terminal servers on our HC3 system. I was reluctant to move the SQL server to a virtual environment due to lag-time issues, but there hasn't been a noticeable lag in our SQL Server. We run all of our payroll, accounting and production software systems on the HC3 nodes. Next up, we will be moving our Exchange system to our HC3 platform as well.

Read Jeffrey Place's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix AOS, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English