Chartbeat

Chartbeat

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Top Rated
Chartbeat

Overview

Recent Reviews

Give me a (Chart) beat!

10 out of 10
November 10, 2021
My team uses it to gauge what users are reading and how to rank stories on our website. Chartbeat is displayed prominently in our newsroom …
Continue reading

Great option for social!

8 out of 10
August 13, 2021
We used Chartbeat to see what was doing well on social media platforms and our website in order to better curate content that will be …
Continue reading

Decent

9 out of 10
July 27, 2021
I use it to track analytics of editorial content that is published on the website. It is being used across the department, and is likely …
Continue reading

Chartbeat continues to deliver

9 out of 10
July 16, 2021
Used to track performance of our articles within sections of our digital platforms. Helps us clarify what specific headlines work to draw …
Continue reading

A very useful tool

10 out of 10
July 16, 2021
Chartbeat is used by our whole organisation to track page views and find out which articles are performing well across our news sites.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Chartbeat, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Chartbeat?

Chartbeat provides real-time web analytics, but is specifically designed for magazine and newspaper publishers making the switch from print to digital. The product tracks where traffic is coming from and helps maximize traffic and engagement.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Google Analytics?

Google Analytics is perhaps the best-known web analytics product and, as a free product, it has massive adoption. Although it lacks some enterprise-level features compared to its competitors in the space, the launch of the paid Google Analytics Premium edition seems likely to close the gap.

What is Parse.ly?

Parse.ly is a content optimization platform for online publishers. It provides in-depth analytics and helps maximize the performance of the digital content. It features a dashboard geared for editorial and business staff and an API that can be used by a product team to create personalized or…

Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Chartbeat?

Chartbeat, a content intelligence platform for publishers, empowers media companies to build loyal audiences with real-time and historical editorial analytics across desktop, social, and mobile platforms. Chartbeat helps digital publishing organizations understand what, within their content, is keeping people engaged.

The vendor boasts Partnering with over 60,000 media brands across 70+ countries, Chartbeat’s real-time and historical dashboards, in-depth headline testing and in-page optimization tools, and robust reporting, to help the world’s leading media organizations understand, measure, and build business value from the attention earned by their written and video content. Chartbeat offers a Mobile app, Slack integration, spike alerts, and flexible API, so that users can always be ready to take action with data at their fingertips.


Chartbeat Features

  • Supported: Real-time and historical analytics dashboards
  • Supported: Headline Testing
  • Supported: Image Testing
  • Supported: Reporting Tools
  • Supported: Raw Data Pipeline

Chartbeat Screenshots

Screenshot of Big Board: A favorite in newsrooms all over the world, our leaderboard-style visualization shows your top stories on your biggest, baddest screen.Screenshot of Real-time dashboard: Understand how your audience is connecting with your content in the moment – across platforms, channels, and devices – so you can act to optimize when trends happen.Screenshot of Historical Dashboard: Intuitively assess content performance, KPIs, and valuable trends over the long term.Screenshot of Heads Up Display: Know which homepage articles are your top performers, how stories are trending up or down in traffic, and how far visitors are scrolling down the page. Adapt the user experience accordingly, all in your normal workflow.Screenshot of Video Dashboard: Grasp how your video content captures viewer attention so you can capitalize on distribution opportunities.

Chartbeat Downloadables

Chartbeat Competitors

Chartbeat Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesAll

Frequently Asked Questions

Chartbeat provides real-time web analytics, but is specifically designed for magazine and newspaper publishers making the switch from print to digital. The product tracks where traffic is coming from and helps maximize traffic and engagement.

Contentsquare (Clicktale), Adobe Analytics, and Parse.ly are common alternatives for Chartbeat.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.6.

The most common users of Chartbeat are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Online Media industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (93)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 33)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My web content performance has significantly risen since using Chartbeat, but the key is you have to USE it and use it often. If you have no intention of looking at this daily, then try something else. The benefits are in real-time engagement metrics showing you exactly where you need to tailor a piece of content. I have found myself going into stories and adding images, videos, or keywords to improve reader engagement.
November 10, 2021

Give me a (Chart) beat!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As mentioned previously, the HUD allows us to A/B test headlines, a huge asset to my team. We often debate which headline will work best, and Chartbeat gives us the answer in 5-10 minutes, a great tool to have at your disposal.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the engagement metrics the most considering I use it mostly for social media seeing as we're a podcast primarily. So that way I can gauge whether followers prefer certain pictures over others or how comments change based on the content and what that means for our curation process.
July 27, 2021

Decent

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used the engagement metrics to refresh headlines when they were not performing as expected, and used Chartbeat to compare and contrast that performance with other, similar content. Using this, content that might not have performed well has been edited and changed rapidly, and performed better than it would have otherwise.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we've used the engagement metrics to test our content and improve performance by tweaking words in headlines—A/B testing headlines, promoting stories that are doing well, and even promoting content on other platforms, especially new content when we see it do well on a particular platform. We see this last one all the time, when a new piece of content starts to spike on Google and then we immediately post to Facebook because both platforms have social listening tools that are picking up signals from one another.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We regularly use A/B headline testing on articles and it's tremendously helpful in improving the traffic on stories when we change headlines. Testing headlines is something that has become just a part of our process and that's thanks to Chartbeat's functionality.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Watching for dips in traffic enables our teams to understand the best times to send updates on particular pieces of content. Understanding how long people stay on an asset or for how long they watch a video is also key.

We've discovered new traffic sources and the benefits of certain aggregators from watching our Chartbeat graphs, too. These data points have led to us reaching out for new partnerships.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have not used Chartbeat's content testing tool, only because I didn't know it existed until this moment. But now that you mention it, I'll have to look into it. Chartbeat gives us a strong feel for how to time our social media response (which times of day are optimal engagement times, when's a good time to push something out again, etc.).
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
From our use of Chartbeat, we have been able to see the importance of having our talent push out our content on their social media pages, since Chartbeat showed that drives a good number of our clicks. We've also changed the number of push alerts we send after seeing how people react to them in real time.
January 05, 2021

Chartbeat Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat allows us to see in real time if a story is performing well on one platform but not on another and to adjust where needed--improve placement on the homepage, schedule a post on social platforms, improve the SEO headline, etc.
Return to navigation