Chartbeat Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 18, 2020
Ariel González Mouls | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is a key software for our newsroom. One of the major uses is for monitoring in real time the performance of our articles, and take decisions (for example, move up or down into the scroll of the homepage) for a better performance. Also it´s a good tool to discover technical problems in our infrastructure.
  • Real time performance of articles.
  • Show metrics for each platform (desktop, mobile, tablet).
  • Show info about referrers.
  • More detail about devices (SO, resolution).
Best for media and newsrooms.
As I said, this technology gives the possibility of take decisions in real time to increase the performance of our articles.
It´s easy to understand.
Read Ariel González Mouls's full review
January 08, 2021
Ariel Insua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chartbeat to know site performance in real time for each content section. Visually we can see what and how different things on the site are performing or not.
  • Velocity
  • Clarify different points of view
  • History information
  • Content
  • Redaction
  • Metrics
Real-time module is simple, clear, easy to read, and we know what content is performing and what is not. You don't need to be an expert to understand this module, and UI propose a big perspective of your sites to move on and change.
This is the best of Chartbeat. The realtime does [it] all easier. We can change and adapt our sites with hot information, and for us, this is so important. We can see the content performance in UI and interactions through the Chrome extension. This combination of different tools with different focuses gives us the power to understand the content in places of sites and how our visitors interact with all content.
Chartbeat is very easy to use, to modify some visuals and filter what kind of information you want to see. Most used for us is the realtime mode. In my opinion, Chartbeat must work on integrating functionalities, for example, if we want to combine more sites we need to use another solution.
Read Ariel Insua's full review
December 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used by our organization to track our time spent on articles and where our articles are receiving the majority of their traffic in real time.
  • Real-time traffic and helping us to understand where our audience is coming from
  • I'd like to see clearer distinctions for Google News and Google Discover under the news tab.
  • I'd also like to see a growth marker for content that suddenly starts over-performing after a period of time on that day or even older content that jumps back into high traffic.
I think Chartbeat is extremely important if you run any type of site dedicated to content just to have a whole view of everything happening on your site at the moment. I think it could get better at recommending where content pieces are coming from and suggesting where you can place them, making them more visible.
From an SEO perspective, it just really helps me understand audience volume, size, interest and if we should be expecting more out of this or we are where we need to be from an audience perspective.
I can probably use another Chartbeat training to understand some of the more intricate parts of the tool.
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used in the news division to understand what stories are performing well and to understand where our traffic is coming from.
  • I program the homepage, so I use the heads-up display to learn quickly which stories are hits with readers.
  • Spike alert notifications do the same as the above, with a wider range of traffic sources.
  • The Chartbeat real-time display includes lots of information in easy-to-understand graphic form.
  • Some referrer information is vague. For instance, I don't know what "deep links, push alerts" means on stories for which we have not created push alerts.
  • Chartbeat calculates page views in a way that's different from Google Analytics, so Chartbeat is less helpful for deeper analysis of story performance.
Well suited for real-time analytics of story performance; less well suited for historic traffic analysis.
When I see stories are getting clicks, I can move them to places on the homepage or our other platforms so that they can be seen by more readers.
I'd give it a 10, but I've had to explain to colleagues who are new (or even not new) to Chartbeat how to work their way around the dashboard. Small things, usually involving an accidental change to a different section or workspace.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Kurt Gessler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Newsrooms across Tribune Publishing use Chartbeat for not only realtime metrics, at which the product excels, but also for longer-lens analysis, tracking engagement KPIs like scroll depth, quality pageviews and average engaged time over time and after changes. The product's scalable dashboards and the heads-up display overlay are the most frequently used metrics tool by audience teams. Great product. Great customer support.
  • Realtime metrics
  • Source tracking
  • Analytics
  • Advance queries tool could be easier to use and more intuitive
It's a great tool for media or market-facing sites that get enough customer traffic to benefit from realtime changes in headlines, design or display. However, small sites that don't get enough traffic to benefit from realtime changes in headlines, design or display probably can't justify the cost of the product.
By making changes in headlines, design, display and visuals, we are able to consistently optimize the homepage experience -- key to subscriber growth and retention -- for engagement and usability. If a piece of content is under-performing, we see it now and can take immediate action, making changes or swapping it out.
Chartbeat's primary tools -- the editorial dashboard and its heads-up display -- are world class. It also offers a good multivariate headline testing tool. It has a solid mobile app. We use its API to power many other features, including content recommendation. However, advanced queries has good data but needs a better user interface.
Read Kurt Gessler's full review
November 29, 2020
Graeme Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Chartbeat] is used across the whole organization but compartmentalized into smaller areas, one of which I run. It's principally valuable for real time information on our audience, and comparison with others, but also in terms of displaying loyal audience and various platforms. I also use Chartbeat historical to monitor performance.
  • User friendly
  • Always works
  • Fast
  • Ability to build dashboards including and excluding certain sections
  • Visibility of social media post (Facebook mostly) rather than just referrer
  • Improved suggestions - they can be weak
It is well suited to the live environment but historical data often doesn't match Google Analytics, which is where our targets are measured.
[Charbeat] has had a behavioral impact on our organization. As a newspaper group, we have historically been tied to print deadlines- Chartbeat exemplifies a live organization with an audience waiting to be served. It also has a behavioral aspect in that people get used to a par performance - say 3,000 concurrents - and it keeps them focused when under-performing.
[Charbeat is] really user friendly both on desktop and mobile. In terms of being able to extract live data, it has been transformational. We are able to make live content decisions backed up by research from platforms which is relevant at the time of publication. The app makes it possible for me to stay in touch with performance when I am not working.
I have had limited experience of support for Chartbeat but whenever I have needed help it has been there. Recently there was an issue of seeing different forms of data in real time - app and otherwise effectively, and the issue was being clearly dealt with and communicated back to us.
Read Graeme Brown's full review
November 24, 2020
John Byrne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used by all members of our team, both our editorial and business employees. We use it to track all the performance of all our news articles in real-time. It's tremendously helpful in tracking which stories are performing best and where our referral traffic is coming from. We also use it to determine where to put news articles on our front page, based on the performance of our content on other platforms (Facebook, Twitter, etc.).
  • Real time analytics.
  • Real time referral tracking.
  • Provides the ability to optimize positioning of our articles on our website.
  • Historical data is not as thorough as Google Analytics.
  • Much better real-time analysis than historical analytic analysis.
  • Could be more granular.
Chartbeat is our best tool for real-time performance tracking of news articles. It allows us to optimize our editorial workflow and determine what content performs best, as well as which content should be highlighted when we post to other platforms. I'd highly recommend it for anyone who runs an editorial team or manages a news or information website that needs real-time tracking.
Knowing how our content is performing in real-time is critical in determining what content we post to different platforms (FB, Twitter, etc.) If we're able to know immediately which content readers most enjoy, we can be more selective in posting our best content to each platform. Chartbeat allows us [to] know extremely quickly what content is most important to our readers, and thereby allows us a strategic advantage on other platforms.
Chartbeat is very easy to use out of the box for all employees (as opposed to Google Analytics, which appears to be designed for engineers and data analysts).
Chartbeat is quick and responsive to our needs. On rare occasions, we've been frustrated with responses that don't seem to answer the question we needed help with.
Read John Byrne's full review
August 26, 2020
Andrew Topping | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is being used across our entire organisation of more than 100 local and national news outlets. We use it each day to analyse the performance of our news articles and to review trends in user interaction. It allows us to see how well our work performs online; including Facebook, Twitter, Google Search and internally on our own website. It helps us in seeing which news articles and topics perform best to our customer base, allowing us to tailor our content in a way that brings the best rewards.
  • Provides detailed, in-time performance figures of our news articles online
  • Identifies trends in our customer and user interaction
  • Offers historical detail on past news articles to see which stories have performed well previously
  • The service could be broken down to provide page view figures for individual tags on our website metadata
  • The dashboard for each day could offer more detail on performance compared to previous days/last week - how many people viewed articles of the same topic in a similar time period
Chartbeat is excellent when running live and breaking news stories. It allows you to see how many people are viewing that story on a live basis, giving you the opportunity or insight to push for more information or continue creating content around this topic if it performs well. It is also well-suited to looking at previous news articles and reviewing their performance - analysing how well they performed and whether there is scope to do a follow-up.
Seeing how our visitors are interacting with our content is the prime use for us with Chartbeat. As mentioned previously, it allows us to see how well breaking or detailed news content is performing online, and often gives us inspiration to do follow-up content on this topic to maximise user interaction.
It's very simple to use and navigate, with simple pages helping you to review both real time and historical data.
Read Andrew Topping's full review
December 02, 2020
Michael Geheren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chartbeat to track individual stations and content across the station group. At NewsNation, we are dedicated to national news content from our 110 stations. Chartbeat's spike alerts are key to find trending content from across the group. We use Chartbeat's big board in our newsroom to monitor our local stations. I also use the heads-up display and headline testing to make strategic decisions when curating content.
  • Real-time analytics
  • A/B testing
  • User friendly
A fantastic way for all news organizations to keep track of content and make strategic decisions.
Seeing breaking news in real-time is where Chartbeat shines. The big board is the biggest feature of this and I think is the most useful element of the platform.
It's just easy to use. Doesn't require training. If I have a question about a specific data point, I just hover and it tells me.
I haven't had to interact with support, but their documentation is fantastic.
Read Michael Geheren's full review
November 19, 2020
Natalie Fahy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used across Reach by people at all levels. It allows us to see how we are performing in various KPIs in real time including page views, engaged time and recirculation. It means we can monitor performance across the day and make sure we are delivering to loyal readers and keeping them on our site.
  • Real time monitoring
  • Historical data is excellent and informs our one to ones
  • The mobile app means you can monitor performance on the go
  • It would be good to separate off app traffic
  • It would be better to make it easier to build dashboards with multiple sites on
Chartbeat is well suited to a breaking news situation, or to see where traffic is coming from for a specific story which could inform follow ups.
We have benefited because it means we can act if we are falling behind
It is easy to use and intuitive
It seems quite good but I don't need that much support as it is easy to use
Read Natalie Fahy's full review
August 28, 2020
Jerry Portwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by Rolling Stone's editorial department, as well as our corporate SEO and other departments that assist in optimizing our editorial content strategies.
  • Real time reporting
  • Crowdtangle integration for sources of traffic
  • Easy, intuitive way of figuring out trends and immediate changes in results
  • The mobile app needs to be improved
It's great for a newsroom, an editorial team, as well as marketing and other editorial brand needs.
We are able to pivot quickly if we see something attract a lot of attention and repromote content that may also perform better due to real-time trends.
It is much easier to use and navigate and get insights than Google Real Time.
Read Jerry Portwood's full review
August 24, 2020
Zuzanna Banach | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Chartbeat to monitor user behavior when working with journalistic content. It was used only for Microsoft News, not for the whole company.
  • Showing number of users currently reading the article
  • Live updates
  • Time of the updates--sometimes it took ages to see actual data.
  • If you changed, for example, the title of the article, Chartbeat saw it as different pieces for some time.
Chartbeat was just super useful for the type of work we did. It helped not only (probably) make more money, but also to motivate us to work--as challenges, to strive for better results.
That was the most important part--without it, this job wouldn't make sense.
Some lags were happening all the time.
Read Zuzanna Banach's full review
November 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used across our company as a key analytical tool to monitor audience for our online news platforms. We use it at a national, regional and local level for in excess of 50 news media sites. In my own role I use it across a number of news platforms for which I am responsible. We allow all key editorial staff access to Chartbeat to monitor audience levels. It plays a key role in gauging immediate audience reaction to content and allows is to make operational and strategic decisions based on this information
  • Instant 'real time' analytics
  • Audience sourcing data
  • Flags to indicate important trends
  • Access to historic and individual author data
  • Historic data is limited to three months
  • Chartbeat cannot differentiate between site and app results
  • There is always a suspicion of a 'lag' in data as day closes
An excellent tool for analysing and recording audience data for providers of online news and information. It is a solid, east to navigate platform which allows staff with little training to access key data almost immediately. Enhancements such as heads up display provide an extra level of insight into our news websites
Previously our company relied on Adobe for audience data and we had to accommodate an hour or two long lag before seeing the relevant data. In a rolling news operation this did not allow is to respond quickly to audience trends.
Since Chartbeat was made available it is used as a constant tool by our senior editorial team to judge what coverage is attracting audience and this influences further decisions over immediate editorial and strategic planning. Chartbeat is built into our hour-by-hour editorial operation and supported by daily, more granular briefings using Google Analytics.
Generally very easy to use and navigate and the limit of options, compared to say a full Google Analytics suite, actually aids functionality and access, making it more useful as a tool which can be used across the staff. The mobile app does not have the same functionality as the online platform and this could be improved.
Support seems to be solid although there does not appear to be regional (ie. UK) support. One support enquiry I requested asking for an improvement to the interface was however, dealt with promptly and very helpfully and this surprised me a little as it was a UK request to a US support service
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used by our organization to track what readers are reading on our news sites, in real-time. This helps us to understand which content resonates with readers instantly, and which content needs more work to land with readers. We are also able to understand which stories work best with new readers, which ones attract loyal readers, and the sources they come from. It enables newsrooms to make decisions involving reader behavior in real-time.
  • Instant insight for newsrooms: What are readers reading, on what platform, how long are they staying?
  • Headline testing: Allows us to try multiple versions of the 'sell' for the story to understand what interests different sorts of readers
  • Segmentation of audience: Allows us to understand not only where readers come from (search, social, direct, etc.) but also how loyal they are and how long they stay
  • Proper engagement time: Too often our industry obsesses on dwell time, but Chartbeat's active engaged time gives us a true sense of how long we really engage people for
  • Simple actions: For example, the Chartbeat overlay tells us where people on average leave a story, so it helps us take actions quickly
  • Wealth of data, but sometimes hard to extract in detail historically
Chartbeat is a very strong go-to for newsrooms across the world that want to place audiences at the heart of what they do.

It's easy to be overwhelmed by data, and also easy to dismiss it too quickly. Chartbeat gets the balance right - drawing on a lot of data to tell us what we need to know about readers to better serve them.
It changes the way newsrooms work. Good newsrooms don't just publish, they understand they need to keep working on the "sell" of the story. Chartbeat helps us do that--showing us straight away how well a story is landing with readers. Have we exhausted all the places to promote it? Are readers sticking with it? Which headline is working best? Chartbeat answers all of these.
Very strong, simple interface. Could do with more options to filter the real-time data, and greater opportunities to access the historical data. But you can get a lot out of it in just a few minutes and build from there.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used by all our editors and social media employees. It shows us the articles that are not being well-read.
  • It is easy to understand the metrics.
  • It shows the recirculation of readers in the website.
  • Chartbeat points exactly to the social media posts that are sending readers to the website.
  • There are some metrics that Chartbeat doesn't measure and it would be fine if it did. Views of the photo gallery, for example.
  • It would be nice if Chartbeat could suggest what we should try to grow the recirculation at the website.
It is very good to guide us at the homepage of our website and, especially, to observe the articles that are maintaining the users at the website.
It is very nice because we can "see" where the visitors are and if they are reading more articles (because of the recirculation) and it is very good to see when the good effects by any change we do in the articles.
I think the dashboard is clear and simple.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used across the whole organization and gives us real-time audience metrics.
  • Real-time audience metrics are best in class
  • HUD on live webpages makes it easy to see real-time information
  • Rankings of most-clicked links on homepage are widely used internally
  • Referral sources are hard to interpret and aren't granular enough
  • There's a live display of referring tweets, Facebook posts, etc., but not a historical analysis of which sent the most traffic
  • Available historical data isn't robust
It's the best-in-class product for real-time audience metrics that I've seen.
Identifying content that is performing well in real-time is hugely beneficial so we can improve upon that content and work on directing users from that content to more content. Identifying underperforming content in real-time is also hugely beneficial so we can try to better optimize that content.
Very easy to use overall. Any complaints I have are simply about wanting more data at my fingertips. The available data is very accessible.
I haven't needed support from Chartbeat itself. It's very easy to use as is.
Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat it's being used across the whole organization to measure and analyze our audience data in real-time. Chartbeat it's useful too for the historical analysis of our numbers.
  • Measures audience in real time
  • Highlights the most important sources and referrers
  • List the best performance content
  • Sometimes it's difficult to configure the historical data
  • More clarity about the concepts will be a help
Well suited when you need a real time monitorization of your audience, Chartbeat is the tool, when you need to optimize your content and your recirculation, Chartbeat is the tool. When you need to know the reader-journey and optimize your Channels, Chartbeat is the tool.
It is of great help to adopt editorial decisions.
The real-time is perfect, but in the historical, there is some lack of clarity and usabilities.
They are always open. And their Support page is very useful.
Read this authenticated review
November 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a select group of editors to monitor traffic on our stories and to test different headlines for stories. I check it constantly to see how the headlines I write are performing on the site—both the number of concurrent visitors, the total number of clicks, and the time spent on each story. It's all really helpful information for me.
  • Provide real-time data on individual stories.
  • Ease of use: the app works well.
  • The web page feature that ranks how each story is performing is terrific.
  • I also like that you can see which sources are driving traffic—Google, Twitter, Drudge, etc.
  • Love the headline test feature; it's my replacement for sports during the pandemic.
  • I'd love to be able to do the headline tests and check how they're performing on the phone app, can only do that on the computer.
It's become an essential tool for me as an editor; I can't think of any downside to the product.
The ability to see how an individual story is performing with readers in real-time is tremendously valuable. Headlines make the difference between a story that gets huge engagement or one that is ignored. This is super important because reporters and editors often spend days on stories and want a lot of readers to see their work. We can adapt quickly if a particular headline isn't clicking.
It's very easy to use on the phone and computer. I wish I could perform headline tests on the phone/tablet app and see the results there, rather than having to log on to the computer. But that's a relatively minor complaint.
I'm not the person who deals with Chartbeat support, but I know that issues that have come up rarely (about signing in) have been resolved quickly.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our brand editorial teams use Chartbeat to monitor progress on a minute-to-minute basis, to get both an instant and longer-term sense of audience engagement with our websites. We use it across all the brands in the portfolio and we have hundreds of users in the organization.
  • Tells us the current (up to the minute) state of our audience.
  • Gives us context as to the engagement points of the audience.
  • Helps guide editorial and product decision making in real time.
  • Further video implementation.
  • Continue to evolve the user interface (reflecting more than just concurrency).
It is the best tool possible for newsrooms and teams that develop and publish fast-twitch, news-driven, high-velocity content. Especially during major news events, Chartbeat helps swiftly identify the specific areas of interest that the audience wants to know more about. Chartbeat has less relevance, generally, to evergreen/lifestyle content, though it can help optimize in specific instances (like, for instance, during Thanksgiving).
Chartbeat provides the fastest and cleanest signals from the audience of any analytics product available.
The entire experience -- login, UX, mobile/desktop -- is fast, easy, frictionless.
Very responsive, and know what our challenges are.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chartbeat to track how well our online stories are doing, how many people read them, and how many people are concurrently reading stories. What works and what doesn't. We can see on a daily basis what news stories are doing well, and see what to follow up on. And also, what isn't doing well and try and work out why. With Chartbeat, we can work out what stories to place more prominently on our page, as they are being looked at by our readers, so it helps with prioritizing what stories go where on our homepage too.
  • Instant feedback, live figures.
  • Accurate statistics.
  • Ability to check figures on the current day.
  • Ability to check historic figures.
  • Know where to place stories on our homepage.
  • Know what links work in stories and what don't.
  • The app doesn't show the same stats as you can get on a desktop computer.
  • To get the most out of Chartbeat you really need a desktop computer, improved mobile features would help.
Perfect for online journalism and working out what your stories are doing in terms of readership. What's working and what doesn't. With Chartbeat you get instant feedback on how well stories are doing, what stories are being looked at, how long people are engaged with a story for (how long they spend reading it). You can check what placement works well on a homepage, what stories to promote, and what to move down the list. You can also check what headlines work well and draw in readers and Chartbeat will automatically select the one that does the best for you.
This is key for our business where online clicks translate into advertising revenue. We can see exactly what is working on our site at any given time. Stories that are doing well, so they can be promoted more on social media. Ones that are not doing so well. Headlines that grab attention and those that aren't drawing people in. Chartbeat also gives the source of where those people are coming from—Google search, social media, links, internal links, and other news sites. We can then work out what to strengthen.
Once you have a log-in, Chartbeat is easy to use with a host of information on the desktop. There is more limited information available on mobile devices via the app, which could be improved to give more of the desktop experience. That would really help as we work more and more from mobile devices. Especially when out reporting.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Chartbeat all day every day, including on a big monitor in the newsroom to track what content is trending, but also in historical analysis to look back at what worked, when it worked, and why it worked, for future planning assignments. The interface is simply designed and easy to consume, making for quick transitions from data to real-time decisions and results.
  • Real-time site monitoring
  • Easy to consume graphs and data points
  • Insightful historical analysis
  • Historical data could go back further in time like Google Analytics.
  • Better mobile app interface--I prefer mobile browser over app, but neither are ideal.
  • More real-time notifications when things are trending or getting a lot of traffic
Chartbeat is the perfect software for news organizations. We see what our audience is consuming the most and make those articles more readily available through social media posts, app push alerts, more prominent homepage rankings, etc. It also does a good job of comparing real-time data to where we were at the previous week/month/etc. Much more accurate snapshot of real-time audience than Google Analytics offers.
It helps us decide what topics to pursue for coverage, which stories need more prominence on our home page, and what articles to focus on for push alerts and social posts. Using this software has helped us make editorial decisions that have led to substantial gains in traffic and users.
Simple design, easy to understand and utilize.
Read this authenticated review
August 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is used across the whole organization to monitor the performance of all content across individual sites, groups of sites, individual authors, teams; different referrers like social media, search engines, direct to site, apps, email, etc. It's also used to monitor homepage performance showing how users interact with and around the site.
  • Engagement time with articles, showing you how long readers are staying with the article.
  • Breakdown of where traffic is coming from, which helps to see what kind of reader prefers which kind of story (eg what is a "Facebook" story).
  • How readers are moving round the site, which articles are being picked up internally.
  • The mobile app could be more detailed, it could show page views and more information on referrers.
  • Email, apps and IM could be separated to make the data more granular.
  • The heads up display often drops off the site.
It works well in a digital newsroom where you're constantly monitoring the performance of your website. I always have Chartbeat open throughout the day and I can check it on the app if I'm away from my laptop. If you don't need real-time web analytics for your business, it would be less appropriate.
We can see how long readers spend with our content, work out what is an average, and from that, work out what is a high level of engagement, and from that, set some benchmarks for what we deem to be high impact content. Seeing how many people are on our site at any one time allows us to understand the behavior of our audience and time content appropriately.
It is easy to use however the range of functions means it's easy to forget what some of them do from time to time, but there's a helpful guide if you need a reminder!
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chartbeat is being used by multiple departments, but not the entire organization. It's being used by the editorial department and product department as well. It addresses our need for A/B testing for headlines to increase website traffic and helps with analytics to better understand user behavior on our website.
  • A/B testing
  • Real-time dashboard
  • Photo testing
  • Historical analytics
Chartbeat is well suited to the people I work with directly, reporters in particular who are trying to increase traffic to their stories. It's suited to improving home page traffic where we can test headlines to see which our readers like best. It's less suited for a finance department, for example, that might not have much use for Chartbeat's capabilities.
Our analytics folks work more directly with Chartbeat than I do on a regular basis. However, we've had representatives visit and they have been wonderful, showing us the latest in what's happening with the platform and answering any questions we have. Typically Chartbeat is quick to respond when we have problems or concerns.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in the web department, and we use it to track how many people are on our web properties at any given time, and how they got there. We also use it to see spikes in traffic, and get the alerts to see if our servers go down. I send reports frequently to department heads in the organization based on information I get from Chartbeat.
  • Real-time analytics
  • Server speed/if the server is up
  • Traffic sources
  • Geo-location of sources
  • The source of traffic sources could be a little more clear - where do "direct" links come from?
Very useful when you need to know how many people are on your site and where they're coming from.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it simply to keep a live track of current visitor levels to the site. It gives a good initial gauge of how our email activity is performing.
  • Live concurrent visitors
  • Nice dashboard view
  • Having the ability to compare today with what we did the same time last week, last month, last year would be useful
  • If I'm interested in any level of detail I go to GA
Just for giving a general idea of how much traffic is coming to the site and where they are going
Read this authenticated review

What is Chartbeat?

Chartbeat, a content intelligence platform for publishers, empowers media companies to build loyal audiences with real-time and historical editorial analytics across desktop, social, and mobile platforms. Chartbeat helps digital publishing organizations understand what, within their content, is keeping people engaged.

The vendor boasts Partnering with over 60,000 media brands across 70+ countries, Chartbeat’s real-time and historical dashboards, in-depth headline testing and in-page optimization tools, and robust reporting, to help the world’s leading media organizations understand, measure, and build business value from the attention earned by their written and video content. Chartbeat offers a Mobile app, Slack integration, spike alerts, and flexible API, so that users can always be ready to take action with data at their fingertips.


Chartbeat Features

Has featureReal-time and historical analytics dashboards
Has featureHeadline Testing
Has featureImage Testing
Has featureReporting Tools
Has featureRaw Data Pipeline

Chartbeat Screenshots

Chartbeat Downloadables

Chartbeat Competitors

Chartbeat Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Chartbeat Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Chartbeat Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Chartbeat?

Chartbeat provides real-time web analytics, but is specifically designed for magazine and newspaper publishers making the switch from print to digital. The product tracks where traffic is coming from and helps maximize traffic and engagement.

What is Chartbeat's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses Chartbeat?

The most common users of Chartbeat are from Mid-size Companies and the Online Media industry.