TrustRadius
IBM acquired Coremetrics in 2010, and has since re-branded the platform to the IBM Digital Marketing Optimization Solution. This cloud-based solution includes IBM Digital Analytics, the core analytical product, as well as several add-on modules, including Benchmark, Product Recommendations, Lifecycle, Multisite, and more. IBM has integrated the Digital Marketing Optimization platform with other solutions, like WebSphere Commerce and Portal for ecommerce, IBM Campaign and Interact (acquired from Unica in 2010) for cross-channel campaign management, IBM Tealeaf (acquired in 2012) for customer experience management, and much more. IBM continues to integrate the Digital Marketing Optimization platform into many other solutions as well, from business intelligence tools, to social media analytics, and more. IBM Digital Marketing Optimization primarily competes with other enterprise-level digital analytics solutions like Adobe Omniture, Google Analytics, WebTrends, and more.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/NA/03/U1KIM97ZN1EV.pngFrom Coremetrics to IBM Digital AnalyticsWe've recently implemented IBM analytics for the B2B portion of our business. Our marketing dept primarily uses it to track incoming traffic and measure ROI of conversion rates and engagement goals. IBM analytics allowed us to build our marketing strategy to get a better return on our SEM budget which is crucial in order to get an increased budget.,Simplified exporting of reports and specific ranges of data Automated reports are easy enough to set up UI is simple and easy to use,The speed of the UIX can be improved upon greatly, at times it is laggy. The more tabs that are open, the slower the tool becomes. Hard tagging is not full of features when compared to other solutions.,6,Heavy amount of time for training and setting up Increased optimizations of the conversion funnel Costlier than other similar web analytical solutions,Kissmetrics and Google Analytics,Kissmetrics, Google Analytics, MetricStreamIBM is deadWe use IBM Digital Analytics to track website activity through element tags, conversion events, marketing programs, etc. We analyze the metrics and provide strategy accordingly such as areas for improvement for the site and opportunities for increased engagement. It is used by our strategy and development departments and finding are presented internally to the rest of the company and to the client.,Ability to nicely organize and determine the hierarchy of data Ability to hardcode tags throughout your site for specific tracking Dashboard provides opportunity to display metrics in various types of charts and graphs,The new UI is slow, buggy, incomplete, is not intuitive, and has limited support or explanation. The demo videos for the new UI showcase features that are not even available in the new UI and support said those features may never be available so they are not sure either why they are shown in the demo videos. Tag management is extremely manual leaving a lot of room for human error. Support across the board for the legacy UI and new UI are not very helpful. They typically do not take the time to understand the root of your problem and commonly default to the response "that feature is not available". For example, you cannot currently delete reports in the new UI even though there is a delete button available. Support says the feature is not available, so if you want anything deleted you have to submit a list to support and they will delete it for you. This is extremely frustrating when you are creating "test" reports in the new UI and then you have no option to delete them when done.,2,We spend too much time trying to work around bugs on the new UI. We spend too much time trying to figure out how to make certain segments work because support and the knowledge center are lackluster. Our sales rep is very unresponsive and leaves us searching for a lot of answers on our own, including what other products we may benefit from that IBM offers.,Google Analytics Premium, Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager,Tableau Desktop, Google Analytics, Adobe Illustrator CC, Slack, Evernote, SEO PowerSuiteDisappointedIt is currently used by the marketing strategy department. We have been using Digital Analytics along with other reporting tools to drive business decisions.,It's relatively easy to export and schedule reports. The new UI has a simple and clean design.,Currently, the new UI is extremely buggy for a beta release with simple features like deleting reports or renaming workspaces being absent. The transition from old to new has been rough especially with an absence of support at times. Date sorting is also frustrating when creating custom reports.,1,It's been our main analytics tool so it has a positive impact by default.,IBM Digital Analytics: Overall product suite, digital ecosystem and marketing priorities should guide your choiceOur clients have traditionally selected IBM Digital Analytics over competitive platforms when they need a robust, enterprise system which can be 1) readily integrated with and provide cost benefits due to chosen CMS (typically IBM WebShere), 2) require reliable, robust data security and data ownership due to heavy regulatory concerns or 3) provide a uniform deployment allowing for the ability to opt into industry/vertical benchmarks.,Uniform deployments provide for the ability to opt-in to relatively robust benchmarks. Technical support teams allow both clients and agencies access to technical subject matter experts to ensure best-in-class implementations. Cost structure is often quite favorable, if a company has chosen other products within the IBM family. Current and long term integrations with IBM products (including Unica, Tealeaf, etc.) show promise and will continually increase the value of IBM Digital Analytics,Uniformity of deployment comes at a price, namely flexibility. IBM Digital Analytics is a better choice who are focused exclusively on e-commerce, heavily regulated industries, or simply interested in precision marketing and CRM. For those companies which prioritize style, form, and flexibility over precision (aka Art over Science), other solutions may be more effective. Competitors are integrating their systems more rapidly than IBM, which is still very siloed. It can be difficult to find professionals with technical expertise to implement and support IBM Digital Analytics. The user base from which to draw is significantly smaller. IBM technical training can be quite elusive to secure, unless you are already committed to the product and have a service contract in place, unlike competitors where technical training is readily available with registration open to all.,6,Overall, the positive impact has typically been on improving the reliability of data driven decisions to improve path to conversion.,Webtrends Analytics,Adobe Analytics,Google Analytics,3,5IBM Digital Analytics ReviewWe are a reseller of IBM DA where we have many clients engaged with several levels of the IBM product suite. The data is used across many departments for gauging marketing and site design performance. Many of our clients use this data to forecast visitors to their site and their potential actions. We use the Explore tool frequently to setup more in depth reports using custom variables passed in the tags, to build out and answer many of the tougher questions. We also have several clients that take advantage of the LiveMail tool to target and remarket to consumers based on interests or actions (abandoned cart campaigns for example).,IBM Digital Analytics is a strong offering for retail eCommerce clients, based on the out-of-the-box metrics available around product views, items added and abandoned, as well as the ability to remarke to the individual user based on that information. Fairly straight forward implementation compared to the other major tools Visitor stitching - I feel the IBM Live Profile is very accurate at creating a full picture of an individual user and provides opportunities to create better messages to them. Having IBM Support as a an immediate resource to clarify or troubleshoot any of the system features has been very beneficial as well,The user interface is in Flash, which can be very frustrating and slow at times. Apparently, this is to be transitioned in a future release. Can only segment the last 93 days of data. Any historical segmentation beyond the 93 days must be run in Explore (which is credit based, and has its own limitations with the number of credits per month, based on the initial contract with IBM). Reports can only display 93 days of data at a given time for custom date ranges. There are pre-programmed date ranges setup with IBM during implementation (last week, last month, last quarter etc.), but are not flexible enough to answer more specific questions. Certain reports cannot have segments applied, making answering some simple questions a bit more tricky. For example, I can create a segment around mobile devices and apply it to the marketing channels report, but I can't create a marketing channel segment and apply it to the mobile reports. Built in API calls allows for nice report design and automation.,8,Increased employee efficiency by utilizing API calls for reporting Lifetime value metrics have helped identify a client's strongest customers and the ability to market to those individuals more likely to convert, for a stronger ROI Identify geographic and technological (mobile etc.) opportunities to expand the client's business,,7
Unspecified
IBM Digital Analytics
48 Ratings
Score 5.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

IBM Digital Analytics Reviews

IBM Digital Analytics
48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 21 of 48 IBM Digital Analytics ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-21 of 21)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 22, 2018

Review: "From Coremetrics to IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IBM Analytics is a great tool for measuring and analyzing web traffic along with consumer behavior to a degree. When compared to other solutions and tools available in the market today, I'd suggest checking out Kissmetrics or even Google Analytics over this tool. Ultimately, it will come down to the end user and if they are comfortable in the environment of the backend and workflows of IBM Digital Analytics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "IBM is dead"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IBM Digital Analytics was already in place when our team was brought on. None of us are fans. IBM does not seem to care from a customer service level whether or not we are satisfied or getting what we need out of their offering.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2018

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Disappointed"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think that Google Analytics does everything just a little bit better than IBM. I was brought in with IBM being so deeply integrated with existing systems that changing to another tool isn't viable at this time.
Read this authenticated review
Stewart Pratt profile photo
February 04, 2015

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics: Overall product suite, digital ecosystem and marketing priorities should guide your choice"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IBM Digital Analytics is typically a choice driven by CMS and pricing decisions. In terms of stand alone considerations:

Adobe Analytics typically wins on flexibility (aka ability to customize the system to your particular business)
Google Analytics typically wins on technical user base (aka ability to easily hire teams with the expertise to support the product)
IBM typically wins on uniformity/standardization of deployment and industry benchmarking (aka proven, standard deployment process leading to less error prone implementation)
Read Stewart Pratt's full review
John Runyon profile photo
May 22, 2014

"IBM Digital Analytics Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics - Compared to IBM, not as strong on the product reporting (product views, abandoned carts etc.). The end results can be achieved through custom variables, but that does require custom coding. While Google does at least have a reporting API, it is not nearly as streamlined as IBM's.Google has at least caught up in the way of custom metrics and some visitor stitching with the Universal Analytics.

Site Catalyst - Compared to IBM, definitely a much more intensive implementation.
Read John Runyon's full review
Seth Poplaski profile photo
May 21, 2014

"A Review of IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics is great low cost alternative to IBM Digital Analytics for smaller, low traffic sites but does not offer the in depth product performance reports we require for our retail clients. IBM can add notes on Google's user interface but Google should really add additional e-commerce capabilities. Google should also reevaluate their policy on the use of PII data.
Read Seth Poplaski's full review
Gareth Beer profile photo
May 15, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Digital Analytics at the heart of your business"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Analytics,Adobe Analytics
I would put DA above both GA and AA because of the overall package. Google is great because it's free but it doesn’t quite get to the level I want. I found the UX on Adobe frustrating and lacking a user friendly outlook. For me the biggest selling point of DA is the integration into the EMM suite. IBM has really captured the market in putting together a marketing package and putting data at the heart of this.
Read Gareth Beer's full review
J. G. Emile Daigle profile photo
June 30, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics, harness the Core of your Metrics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Adobe Analytics,Google Analytics,Webtrends Analytics
IBM Analytics typically goes up against Adobe Analytics in the enterprise web analytics product selection process. When we determine a client isn't after the big guns, we'll usually refer them to Google Analytics, but when individual user conversion tracking is a must, we will steer them towards IBM Digital Analytics.
Read J. G. Emile Daigle's full review
Alice Watson profile photo
May 16, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics, an easy win for online retailers."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Have extensive use of Omniture and Google Analytics, but I find Digital Analytics the best for retailers. It's is an easy to use solution that highlights the merchandising and marketing issues related to your website.
Read Alice Watson's full review
Jim Moult profile photo
May 15, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Think analysts, not their tools."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I mentioned Adobe and Google and made some comparisons in prior questions. I believe that any of these packages can be made quite powerful with a good implementation, which includes a good tagging strategy. I like Coremetrics best because I believe it is easier to get a solid implementation, and it is possible to get the added analytics capabilities that Adobe provides using exports, a good data model for your ETLs and BI tools with a data warehouse.
Read Jim Moult's full review
Nathaniel Guralski profile photo
May 13, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "A Whole Lot of Brain, But Not Much Beauty"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I feel that Google Analytics give you what you really need, without the hefty price tag. Along with giving you what you need, it is extremely more user friendly than IBM DA and can be easily learned by a multitude of people while still giving very significant information that will be useful in your reviews.
Read Nathaniel Guralski's full review
Gina Perez profile photo
May 09, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Very powerful, pricey, be prepared to add staff to take full advantage"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At the time we signed they were a Cadillac of software, there are really only 1-2 others that can compete on their level but that comes at a cost.
Read Gina Perez's full review
Gus Brito profile photo
June 17, 2014

"In my opinion: IBM Digital Analytics, aka Coremetrics review."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WebSideStory (Hitbox),Google Analytics,Experian (Hitwise)
Coremetrics was the overall most comprehensive solution at the time.
Read Gus Brito's full review
Timothy Ponce profile photo
August 27, 2013

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Solid web analysis product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Webtrends and Omniture were on the shortlist. Webtrends tagging implementation seemed a little less flexible than Omniture and Coremetrics. When it finally came down to pricing and desired features, Omniture and Coremetrics were not significantly different, so we based the final call on customer service. Testimonials from current clients and peers using both systems seemed to indicate that Coremetrics had winning customer service.
Read Timothy Ponce's full review
No photo available
February 25, 2015

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Unless you're looking for a complex site 'cash register,' don't waste your time"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Much of the work we did in IBM Digital Analytics could have been answered through Google Analytics, a much simpler, agile and FREE solution set. Not mention, given the vast number of Google Analytics USERS, free and actionable support is simply a click away ... this compared to IBM Digital Analytics fractured and often absent support service.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Reliable, Marketing oriented & efficient Digital Analytics Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Analytics,Adobe Business Catalyst,Adobe Analytics
Compared to Adobe: I think Adobe Analytics and IBM DA are very close in terms of functionalities. IBM makes the difference when it comes to the marketing attribution model. Also, the pre-integrated solutions such as LIVEmail or IBM Recommendations are very easy to use and allow strong ROI.
Compared to Google: the main asset of IBM compared to GA is the fact that you can go down to the visitor level in Analytics and run much more precise analysis. Also, in Google the data calculation and attribution models can be unclear and therefore difficult to trust.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "E-commerce is real strong point."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Omniture and Webtrends were also considered. When business needs are met by both Coremetrics and Omniture, the latter tends to be more expensive. Webtrends is often a good choice when server logs are also used with page tags. Server logs is an older technology which tends to undercount discrete web visitors (because multiple visits from different people at a single company are counted a a single visit). But, as Coremetrics and Google Analytics only use the newer tag technology, Webtrends can be a good choice if both server logs and tags are being used.

Coremetrics is renowed for it's great support and easy implementation which - along with cost - was a deciding factor in many situations.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

"Honest Review of IBM Digital Analytics"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Adobe Analytics and Google Analytics in similar instances. IBM Digital Analytics is between the 2 products, slightly better than Google Analytics but far behind the flexibility offered in Adobe.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "DA vs GA - Which Tech Giant has the edge on Analytics?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The customer support, advanced analysis and no data sampling are the primarily reasons why I would choose IBM over GA.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 19, 2014

Review: "IBM Digital Analytics - it costs, but it is worth the investment."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As a consulting company, we tailor the analytics solution to our clients. Usually they start with a free solution like Google Analytics, but they rapidly end up with a paying solution because it offers a deeper analysis and less restrictions on the data.

For instance Google Analytics will not allow you to nail a visitor and trace his journey from the start of his visit to the end of it. Moreover we are, with IBM Analytics for example able to identify the visitors that came multiple times in their lifetime to buy online. This allows us to study the customer life cycle and link this with the email that we send them to re-engage them after a while.

An other strength that IBM Analytics has compared to Google Analytics is the ability to have 50 attributes per tags and therefore adapt the tracking to the company.

The weak point however is the price of the solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2014

IBM Digital Analytics Review: "Pricy Analytics tool but..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Analytics,Webtrends Analytics,Localytics
IBM analytics prices can get really high if you overpass the contracted server calls, also increasing the amount of credits reports can get you the price to the roof
Read this authenticated review

About IBM Digital Analytics

IBM acquired Coremetrics in 2010, and has since re-branded the platform to the IBM Digital Marketing Optimization Solution. This cloud-based solution includes IBM Digital Analytics, the core analytical product, as well as several add-on modules, including Benchmark, Product Recommendations, Lifecycle, Multisite, and more. IBM has integrated the Digital Marketing Optimization platform with other solutions, like WebSphere Commerce and Portal for ecommerce, IBM Campaign and Interact (acquired from Unica in 2010) for cross-channel campaign management, IBM Tealeaf (acquired in 2012) for customer experience management, and much more. IBM continues to integrate the Digital Marketing Optimization platform into many other solutions as well, from business intelligence tools, to social media analytics, and more.

IBM Digital Marketing Optimization primarily competes with other enterprise-level digital analytics solutions like Adobe Omniture, Google Analytics, WebTrends, and more.

IBM Digital Analytics Integrations

IBM Digital Analytics Competitors

IBM Digital Analytics Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No