TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/8Q/b9/W47TSZK0C41J.PNGScale Computing reviewScale Computing is hosting all our company virtual servers. It was deployed to replace the old VMware setup we had using separate ESX hosts, switches and SAN.,Because the Scale Computing is a converge storage, it's much more cost-effective to support and maintain vs. out old ESX cluster setup. Installing updates is easier to do vs. a system that setup using separate ESX hosts, switches, and SAN because we just have to deal with one appliance. The support service has been good so far. Every time we had an issue or question we will get someone on the phone in a few min and they are knowledgeable about the product.,One of the biggest drawbacks of the current Scale solution is its limitation when it comes to VM management. For example, options that are available in VMware for years like the ability to expend a virtual drive live does not exist. The Scale management portal is nice and very easy to use because it's very simple, but it's limited in how much information it provides. Because the hypervisor OS is a custom software, it does not allow for more advanced management. any changes or issues that need to troubleshoot requires opening a ticket with support.,7,10,We run our primary file server, SQL server, and accounting software on the Scale. The requirements are basic and the performance is as expected for the model we use.,We lowered the total cost of ownership by switching from an ESX cluster with separate ESX host, Switches, and SAN.,Nutanix and Pivot3 AcuityScale HC3 is the way to go.HC3 hosts the core servers for our entire network.,Firmware updates are dead simple Tech support is easy, fast and thorough Building Servers only takes minutes,Server performance when logged in seems sluggish. Even though we got discounted pricing it may not be the cheapest solution but the benefits definitely are worth it. They say that parts will arrive next day but in our remote locations they (like other vendors) don't seem to realize that there is no such thing as "next day" delivery.,10,10,SQL, Exchange, Active Directory. I haven't found anything that doesn't really work yet.,No longer have to worry about buying server hardware. I'm just seconds or minutes away from spinning up a new server. Saves time. Creates less stress,Scale HC3 is the BestWe have utilized Scale Computing HC3 to virtualize our entire server environment for our whole organization. This solved the issues of hardware related failures since the Scale Computing HC3 is in a cluster. It also solved the issue of us needing to update our hardware and provided us with a single pain of glass to view everything on it at once.,Speed - Scale has increased our server performance drastically. Ease of use - The system is so easy to use and set up! Support - The scale support team is awesome and really knows their product. PRICE - You can't touch their price elsewhere for the performance that you receive.,Make it easier to migrate from other hypervisors to scale without having to buy third-party software.,10,10,Our entire company runs off of scale computing, I can easily scale out our company by cloning servers and having the new ones up and running within minutes. I can also add more hosts in a matter of a phone call and a few screws and wire connections. It is a great product!!!,Saved us a ton on hardware Saved us a ton on licenses Saved us a ton on support and consultant fees,VMware ESXi, Nutanix, VxRail and SimpliVity OmniCubeScale is worth a look!The Scale cluster manages the virtual machines which all employees utilize. Currently only the IT team, which consists of 6 members, interacts with the Scale environment directly.,Simple VM management interface Provides easy access to support streams Immediate system performance and alerting,A granular user management system is required. The Scale interface lacks the ability to add user accounts with limited access to manage individual or groups of VMs. Remote access is an all or nothing security model. VM export is missing. An ability to export a VM from a cluster for external backup or transfer to another cluster which is not linked is also not supported.,9,8,We operate our custom manufacturing, shipping, accounting and customer ERP system as a VM within a cluster. We've not had performance or systems issues while running our critical software under this platform. On another cluster we operate our internal web sites and system monitoring platform again without faults or performance loss. Increasing system resources - such as allocating additional RAM or drive storage is as simple as moving GUI sliders or allocating containers for new drives.,Upon initial installation we were able to migrate 10 physical servers into the cluster of three. This had the immediate benefit of a reduced electrical and thermal load in the data center.,VMware ESXi and Oracle VM VirtualBoxMy Weigh In on Scale ComputingWe currently use Scale Computing HC3 as our central cluster for all of our VMs. It's mostly just our IT department that controls and uses it daily, while everyone around us benefits from the centralized product. We run web servers, point of sale, and network distributing virtual machines with our cluster. It provides a great and convenient interface that makes it easy for anyone of any networking background to manage and operate. It has been of great service towards our company in the past couple of years!,Scale Computing HC3 provides a very efficient GUI, that makes it easy for us to maneuver from VM to VM. The displayed information of disk usage and RAM space helps us determine in what capacity we can use our cluster.,We have dealt with the cosmetic issue for our individual VMs, where the disk space is showing incorrect on the interface, in contrast to the actual disk space showing within the VM itself.,9,10,We solely run our POS system on our Scale cluster. Ever since we switched to Scale and used the cluster for our central POS database, it has been nothing short of amazing. It gives easy access, we can connect anyone needing to connect to it with ease, and eliminates the use of an actual machine at the locations.,It has had nothing but positive impact. We love being able to have a centralized hub for to run business-critical services and applications. Updates have served us well, with new features to equip or cluster with.,VMware vSphere Data Protection AdvancedA worthy investmentWe utilize Scale computing products for deploying virtual systems within our company. These systems serve a variety of roles across our organization including individual workstation virtual desktops to dedicated file storage and domain controllers.,New virtual systems are easy to set up and configure. Easy to transfer systems between nodes on the cluster offers great flexibility and control over the environment. The technical support they offer is great. The few times I have needed to contact them they have been quick to respond and resolve any troubles or questions.,Customers need to be able to configure backups/snapshots of the systems. This is a bit of a confusing process that previously involved contacting support and have their engineering team update scripts when we bring a new system online. Pricing is a little high, but for the amount of features and services the Scale units provide, we have been able to justify the costs.,9,10,We run our domain controllers and several critical systems on the Scale products including a main file server and workstations for employee use. The infrastructure the Scale products provide is vital to our IT department.,Flexibility of systems allows us to justify the cost. Small footprint, 1U of rack space for a multitude of functions.Time to Replace VMware ESXi and Microsoft Hyper-V with Scale HC3Scale Computing HC3 is being used across the whole organization with a cluster at the corporate office configured for full two-way replication with another cluster at a branch office. This provides complete disaster recovery capability for both sites. Performance of both clusters is outstanding. Operational maintenance is almost non-existent. Setting up replication required only providing the name and administrator credentials for the remote cluster -- amazingly simple and automatic.,Firmware updates are a non-event. They are released about twice a year and when you are ready to apply the update, you just click the button to authorize it. Then it just happens automatically, rolling from one server to the next with no down time. Of course you should verify that you have a full set of backups first and probably will want to do this during a "quieter" time but you could do it in the middle of a work day with only minor performance impact. Any agent-based VM backup, like Veeam Backup & Replication, works fine. I like that the failure of a disk drive is not a critical-level event. The cluster raises an alarm, automatically ensures that all data is re-duplicated, and a replacement disk is sent to you the next day for hot-swap. During the disk failure event all you have is just a little less disk storage available. The HEAT system which automatically migrates active data between fast SSD disks and the usual spinning kind as required to meet your performance priorities, is completely hands off. The recent addition of automatic disk data deduplication means better performance and less disk space usage. Taking snapshots is almost instant and does not "cost" additional disk space. Growth is amazingly simple and easy to do -- just rack another node, add it to the cluster then walk away -- in short time it's a fully functioning member of the cluster sharing the load. HC3 Cloud Unity with Google Cloud Platform is an unmatched hybrid cloud solution. Usually hybrid Clouds require lots of very sophisticated networking to tie the local network to the cloud network -- Unity does all of this automatically and transparently -- the Cloud instance looks like it's on your local LAN. A single Scale HC3 web interface can manage your local and remote on-prem instances together with your cloud instance.,Scheduling of snapshots is fairly flexible but a little restricted when combined with Replication. Looking forward to the next major firmware release where this is scheduled to be improved. There is a single-node server available for remote offices but it would be nice to have a two-node version for those small offices to be able to avoid all down time (for updates).,10,10,If your company provides services or support on a 24x7 basis you just can't ever be down. Exchange email, SQL Server databases, web servers, ERP App Servers, File & RDSH servers -- nothing can go down because you need it all of the time. There's no time for down time to do maintenance or increase capacity. Scale HC3 gives you all of that. Also, who wants to spend so much time keeping all of that virtualization infrastructure updated -- Scale HC3 remove 90-95% of the maintenance work required to keep a VMware or Hyper-V Cluster with shared storage secure and updated.,A pending iSCSI Storage array hardware refresh cycle and VMware maintenance update can provide enough funds to replace all of that with a new Scale HC3 Cluster that also drastically reduces on-going support and maintenance costs. The ROI is under one year. Your IT staffing costs will decrease as will your outside IT support costs for running virtualized clusters with shared storage. Most businesses never actually get around to deploying multi-site replication because it's too expensive and far too hard to do and maintain. Scale HC3 makes all that easy and automatic.,VMware ESXi, Hyper-V and Virtuoso Universal ServerNet AdminWe're converting our XenServer Virtual Infrastructure over to HC3 Scale. It's faster, easier to use and takes up less space. Setting up SCALE was easy. We rack mounted it, set it up in about 20 minutes. Since purchasing our first 3 servers, we recently just cut a PO to expand to 8. Overall, it's a great product.,Its simplicity is a load off my shoulders. There are not hours of forums I have to sift through. No more licensing problems. Remote support is a super easy.,I would like to see more information about my VMs Historical Data would be nice such as 30 day chart for CPU usage.,10,8,We run our XenApp environment on SCALE and found that the speed of our VM servers has increased over XenServer 6.5. Utilizing HC3's DoubleTake Move software, we were able to migrate our VM's with just a few clicks. We also have a Domain Controller running on our SCALE Environment and login duration's have decreased dramatically.,Troubleshooting times have decreased. Support issues have decreased due to only have to call one vendor. Availability of our VM's has increased Space in our server room as increase and temperatures have decreased which is really important to us.,Solid option for SMBs who don't want to spend their time administering virtual environments.We use a Scale cluster as our primary computing infrastructure, hosting SQL, ERP, WMS, RDS Cluster, file storage, IIS, and some other minor server VMs. All our VMs are currently MS OSs.,Ease of setup and operation. We have a very small IT bench, and these individuals are not virtual infrastructure engineers. They have little to no experience in VM environments. Yet they have no problems standing up VMs, setting up or modifying replication, cloning, shifting VMs to other nodes, etc. They can modify resource draw easily (with one notable exception) and generally can stay out of the VM management world and stay in the server and application management worlds. Hardware support. I can only recall one hardware issue we had. Rather than going back and forth, or trying to fix one part at a time to reduce costing, Scale had a new box to us I think the next day or the day after. Hard drive swap and we were back in business at 100%. Tecahnical support. There are some minor headaches working outside of the normal hypervisor realms of Hyper-V/VMWare. But Scale support has been there to help us whenever we hit one of those stumbling blocks.,Modifying the size of an instantiated virtual hard drive. You can change memory/cpus core with a few mouse clicks, but hard drive size increases are time consuming, complicated, and annoying in the current environment. There is some room for improvement with regards to SQL writes. The hyperconverged solution is exceptional in durability and reliability, but large quantity small size SQL writes seem to cause a speed bottleneck larger than one would expect given the power of the architecture. Could be caused by spanning between nodes? Not sure if this is a Scale issue or an MS issue, but we have never been able to clone an RD server with all apps installed and add it to the RDS cluster; we have to clone a barebones server, install everything and build all the printer connections, and then add it to the cluster.,9,10,SQL is our most critical app, and we have seen a substantial increase in its environmental footprint in the past year. Save for some frustrations in increasing drive size (much easier to plan ahead and make your drives large, or to just add a second drive and spread), we have been able to handle our growing pains with some after-hours reboots. Similarly, we have doubled the amount of servers in our RDS environment.,Scale was a much more cost-effective option than other hyperconverged solutions we looked, or when compared to the cost of refreshing our previous environment of HP servers and a SAN. And that is before you look at the cost savings of not having to pay for a recurring VMWare license!,HC3 works for me!As a one person IT shop the Scale HC3 system made it easy for me to manage storage and it reduced the number of physical servers I had to maintain. It is used for all departments in our organization from a file server to a mapping server.,Their tech support is very good, though I have only had to call a couple of times over the last five years for minor issues. Their sales staff keeps in touch on a regular basis. Some vendors will only call for a sale and assume everything is fine if they aren't hearing from you. The user interface is easy to learn, from creating and scheduling snapshots to creating virtual machines for running test scenarios.,Scale Computing HC3 has met all of our company's needs.,9,10,We use virtual servers to house mission critical databases that are written to daily with large amounts of data with no issues. Our online backup software is able to connect with the virtual servers to add another layer of disaster recovery.,As a one person IT department I always try to streamline and automate whenever possible. The Scale HC3 has reduced time spent on maintaining multiple physical servers and the overall ease of use is great. At the time of purchase their system was at least 10-15,000 less than their competitors.,Scale Computing HC3 - Excellent and Unique Hyper-Converged Platform with a few Rough EdgesScale HC3 is being used to virtualize a large portion of our physical IT stack. We purchased it for the following reasons: 1. Simplify administration of our infrastructure. 2. Provide out-of-the box High-Availability and/or near High-Availability for critical systems 3. Decrease TCO for our physical infrastructure 4. Simplify our infrastructure by collapsing all of the requirements for a clustered virtualization solution down into one software/hardware stack, including compute, storage, and networking. 5. Decrease deployment time for new environments. Using near-instant thin-cloning we can deploy multiple systems in a very short amount of time. 6. SCALE provided a solid platform alternative to other traditional high-availability solutions, like SQL Clustering. In this case we simplify life by deploying SQL server's as stand-alone but because they are virtual and on a Hyper-Converged platform, they are HA by default. So we get a lot of the benefits of SQL clustering without the headache and complexity of actual SQL clustering.,Scale has focused on ease-of-management and it shows. Their UI is incredible and easily the best in the industry. SCRIBE - the underlying storage layer is brilliant and if you are a techie, worth taking a closer look. The way SCALE has done storage for hyper-converged is very different from almost all of the other major players in a very good way. SCRIBE VM snapshots and cloning is incredible, very fast, very efficient. Simplified licensing model - NO VMWARE - this is a big deal. Scale has built-the-entire-stack from almost the ground up. You only have one company to deal with when it comes to licensing your hyper-converged stack. Furthermore, all SCALE HC3 clusters have ALL FEATURES. There is no nickel-and-dime (and arm-n-leg) for additional functionality.,I think the company has been focused on the SMB market and as a result are not familiar with dealing with the issues and concerns of either larger companies/deployments and/or companies like ours which service larger clients. We have no tolerance for unscheduled downtime. When it comes to dealing with support they are mostly all very knowledgeable but they seem a bit green when it comes to understanding how "serious" uptime is for their customers that are running mission-critical systems. I think the company has been focused on the SMB market, and as a result I get the impression they are not overly familiar with companies that run mixed and/or more highly-demanding workloads. We are pushing our cluster hard. We run a heavy mix of both virtualized SQL and WEB tier systems. Based on multiple interactions with the company, I don't think they have very many customers operating in this space and as a result, the platform hasn't been as well vetted based on these kinds of workloads. That said, I realize that virtualizing multiple busy database servers on a single platform is huge ask. All of the above being said... we have not had any system failures that have impacted any of our production VM's and by-and-large the platform is pretty darn solid. We are seeing some performance hits, particularly around storage, as our cluster gets more busy however we haven't done wide-spread performance testing to get an accurate measurement and I believe scribe is dynamically tiering data to keep our busiest systems running effectively. I guess I would like to just see a higher "low watermark" for storage performance on VM's. Support is overall very responsive however in-depth issues can drag-on a bit, which is understandable. They are still missing some features such as role-based administrative access which are important to, once again, larger companies and/or those who service larger companies. All-in-all - Scale has historically targeted SMB - and as a result they have a ton of core strengths that are unique to their company and their product. However, in focusing on this market segment, I think they have a bit of tunnel-vision which has resulted in them missing some crucial areas for businesses that take their IT very serious because it is a critical part of their service delivery/day-to-day operations.,7,8,We have several applications that are "mission critical" that were candidates for more complex solutions like SQL Clustering. We opted to virtualize those on SCALE instead which was drastically easier and honestly "less fragile" because there are few "moving parts". Scale has also decreased our dependency on more complex and typically much more expensive TCO, SAN storage. We have drastically simplified our onsite backup and recovery by using scheduled snapshots.,We have virtualized ~25 systems at this point and dropped two older SAN arrays from our environment. This has drastically reduced administrative complexity in our environment. Things are just "more stable" - we were often putting out fires with failing hardware across multiple systems. With scale, we have one platform which is highly-redundant and this allows me to finally get some sleep at night. Sleep is priceless. For new projects, we have cut new environment deployment time drastically. Setting up a new hosted environment for a project used to take 2 - 4 weeks, it now takes 2 - 4 days. It also cuts down expense. When we need dedicated environments we now spin-up VM's on a platform that is already budgeted and paid for vs. having to buy new dedicated hardware. An Active-Passive SQL cluster with SAN storage can run anywhere from $20K (assuming you already have the SAN) --> $60k or even $100k if you need to put in the SAN and supporting infrastructure. A SCALE cluster however can support multiple SQL servers and provide almost the same level of redundancy/high-availability with drastically lower cost and complexity vs a traditional cluster.,NutanixScCale Hyperconvergence - No Pain all GainOur existing infrastructure was getting old. The hardware was excellent and provided more than adequate performance. Apart from the insecurity of age the only complaints were from the IT team. It was taking too much work to maintain. The 3 node Scale cluster replacees and aging infrastructure of Linux Red Hat/HP hosts running 80% of the company's virtual servers. The Scale cluster will essentially run our company. When all VMs have been moved over to the cluster It will encompass Windows a windows domain controller, our MRP system, several database servers, analytics, and server and network monitoring appliances. A remote Scale node acts as a backup to the cluster and maintains daily backups with varying retention to reflect daily, weekly and monthly, and quarterly backups. We have moved about 30% of the infrastructure to the scale cluster.,The ease of use of the Scale interface is fantastic. All the basics are within easy reach and more complex tools are readily accessible. I'm used to simple interfaces meaning limited scope and simplistic products. But the scale interface is on top of a very sophisticated and powerful system. The interface works so well it needs no training to use - having said that training always helps. Scale's Remote replication is fantastic. Setting up and applying a schedule and setting a lifespan for the replicated images was a breeze. Initiating the replication was a single click and the replication was fast. Replicated VM's could be cloned and started in seconds. Restoring data for users was so fast my users were not ready to deal with the quick results. Scales continually impresses me with the way the product is maturing. Their product road map is not merely a future wish list. New features are regularly being delivered and delivered on schedule. Installation and set up is FAST. the longest part was mounting the hardware and connecting the interfaces. Scale technicians held my hand from power on to instantiating a new VM. It mas more of a formality than a necessity. Their tech support is effective. The best I have ever seen. Their staff are astute and great communicators. Follow up is quick, and they often log in and resolve the problem without my having to generate and upload logs. They minimise my work and maximise interaction. The unusual part is how they communicate among themselves. On a single issue i spoke to multiple staff and they all were aware of case. I never had to repeat the details of the problem or the steps taken. We have been importing all of our VM's fairly easily. There is a need for improvement with the import process for non HC3 VMs. It works but is the only poorly executed part of the HC3 environment i have come across. It's as if in the design of the product Scale only thought companies would be creating and working with new VM's., and forgot completely about migrations from other systems. HC3 easily imports and exports Scale VM's directly from the Interface in a single step. But, non HC3 images, even if they are qcow2 images just like HC3's, require a multi-step process. Having said that, the process is not complex at all. Apparently this will be corrected in a future release. Pricing. Wow! A friend in another company opted for a competing HCI system. It took about 3 months to get the system fully installed and stable. But the ongoing costs of licensing Vmware and paying hardware maintenance have forced them to reconsider their purchase. They are desperate to cut costs and are planning to pull out VMware and go with KVM. With Scale I paid less and got at least equal performance without any configuration headaches. That raises another point. The HC3 system is fully integrated all in one solution. All the components needed for HCI, Virtualisation, VM Management, Integrated and distributed storage, and redundancy are included and fully supported. One neck to wring.,As mentioned, Scale needs to refine the rocess used for importing non-native VM's. It is a multi step process that "fools" HC3 into thinking it a native VM. All of our VMs, except for one, are KVM. I can't comment on importing other image formats. HC3 has all the basics covered and does a fantastic job under the sheets. but is lagging in more modern features .Scale needs to provide applications under HC3. A "cloud" type storage service that VM's could tap into directly. A database service which would reduce the need for us to maintain database servers. A containerisation service would be an excellent addition. Currently we have to run containers in a VM, which is not optimal. Missing is a simple way of upgrading storage. Disks are hot swappable., but upgrading storage requires a lot of work.,9,9,Our infrastructure scales great with HC3 (pun not intended.) We have been adding VM's cloning images for testing and development without anxiety. before we were constrained by the resources of a single machine- we were consistently running out of memory or disk space. We were chasing resources across the network, porting VM's wherever we could find room. The cluster environment is like a diving into an ocean. All the resources are accessible. This simplifies development and allows me to respond with a big "YES" to my users instead of "Maybe tomorrow, i'll let you know",It's too early to tell how our ROI will be affected. Our estimates indicate that we will smooth our our expenditures. We expect to able to take advantage of business opportunities and provide new services faster for our dealers. We have already cut a future staff acquisition because of the ease of use of Scale system. The initial cost was high. Getting an entire cluster is a bigger pill to swallow than adding a new server. We mitigated the problem by delaying upgrades. When suddenly the company was faced with 4 server's needing replacement or one Scale custer with the attendant advantages over installing four new hosts, plus a DR solution, the decision became much easier.,Maxta and StratoscaleScale Computing -> Best ValueScale Computing is being used as our primary server cluster across the whole organization. We have it hosting 20+ servers. It's very easy to use and virtually maintenance free. It has freed up a lot of my time, to be honest, I don't even think about it anymore because it just works.,Setting up and provisioning a new VM is super simple. I come from a VMWare environment but the Scale UI is very easy to understand. I can imagine for someone new they would be able to learn the task of managing the cluster very easily. Snapshots and clones are processed super fast.,I would like to be able to see actual disk availability instead of the raw number of TB. The ability to copy and paste from your local machine to a VM seems like missing functionality, it is very useful to have. I guess it's not a problem specifically with Scale, probably more with KVM and backup vendors but I really did enjoy having a backup system that worked across the whole hypervisor, it just simplified things a lot. I would like to see the breakdown of the VMs and the amount of RAM they are consuming changed a bit. If its a VM with less than 6 GB it doesn't show on the dashboard. Maybe if it was a pie chart it would be easier? Not sure but just something different would be nice so you could see all the VMs.,9,10,We run in-house Exchange, SQL, MySQL, and Apache web servers. They run flawlessly. The only problems I have are with the individual applications themselves, never at the infrastructure level. When I bought the system they didn't have SSD out yet, so I can't speak about the ability to portion out the SSD across VMs but it looks super awesome!,The biggest impact Scale has had is on my time. I really don't even think about the infrastructure anymore. It has really freed me up to handle other important matters. It's also very nice to know that when I need to upgrade or refresh in the future, I can just swap out servers and have minimal, or no downtime.,VMware ESXi, SimpliVity OmniCube and Hyper-VScale HC3 First ImpressionsWe started working with a client that recently deployed a 4 node SCALE HC3 cluster. Our role was to help transition them from VMware/HyperV VM's to be on Scale HC3 instead. It is being used now for 90% of all services/vms within the company. They still have a couple physical servers due to the complexity of moving those to Scale Computing HC3, this in addition to using the volume of storage they have on the physical servers. The main business problem it addressed was stability and simplifying the environment. The HC3 cluster gives them the stability and redundancy they needed to ensure they have great uptime!,Simplifying building and running a Hypervisor Cluster for redundancy and uptime. Fast deployment/snapshotting Great technical support, really fast.,Expanding volumes is cumbersome (have to clone the vm and make the drive bigger) Little support for UPS and network shutdowns Tricky to migrate VM's to HC3 unless you use their paid software product GUI is pretty simple and barebones, feels like it limits what you can do.,5,7,Our application/server set is a mixed Windows Server/Desktop VM world with a healthy dose of Linux CentOS VMs. We enjoy how quickly we are able to take a node offline and all VM's will move gracefully on their own. The Scale Computing HC3 system seems to keep all nodes balanced without much thought from our end. The redundant networks work great and we have done testing by pulling a switch and watching the networks fail over without missing a beat!,The company will not need to purchase new hardware for 5 years or as long as Scale will support the nodes. The yearly software/maintenance costs are high and after a couple years running we may consider looking at another direction ROI on needing a tier 3 tech on staff is good. The cluster just works and requires little babysitting.,hyperv and VMware ESXiFantastic first experience with virtualization!HC3 is used to consolidate some of our services and reduce our server footprint. It was the perfect replacement for our aging Citrix farm (and other applications) and has reduced our cooling, rack, and power requirements as well as unused resources (CPU, memory, storage). Also, the DR cluster gives us some peace of mind and a faster recovery.,Reduced licensing costs Single pane of glass Consolidation of storage, virtualization and management,None yet!,10,10,We are currently hosting multiple applications including Domain controllers, Quickbooks, Helpdesk, Remote Desktop Servers, and Electronic Medical Records. The critical data is automatically replicated to a second cluster for disaster recovery. Our experience has been great with no issues with any of the Windows VM's running in Scale.,Reduced footprint, cooling, power, warranty, licensing requirements Reduced wasted utilization of CPU, memory, and storage resources Reduced cost to manage server farm,NutanixScale helped consolidate our network needs into one solutionWe are using Scale HC3 as a 3 in 1 solution. We use the Scale virtualization software for our servers, including a VDI server. We utilize a 16TB SAN for all of our Virtual servers, user files, etc. Finally, we use a 2nd Scale cluster at our 2nd location as a Disaster Recovery solution between sites.,Disaster Recovery using snapshots. Easy clones and restores. Virtualization of servers is seamless and very intuitive. San is provisioned internally by HC3 eliminating dead and wasted space. Control panel is intuitive and easy to use,Would like to see ability to expand partitions without Scale Support. Would like to be able to have restores to folder or file level,9,10,We are running our VDI for desktops on the Scale servers and expansion is relatively easy with the current solution.,We were able to reduce our maintenance costs by 50% with the scale solution by eliminating the need for a separate SAN, DR, and virtual server solution. We are saving money by not having to upgrade/replace outdated San, DR and server hardware IT maintenance time has been greatly reduced with an all-in-one solid solution,,120,2,Easy Virtualization of all servers in company Large scalable storage SAN Ease of use,Eliminated need for additional Disaster recovery software,Desktop virtualization,9,Microsoft Office 365, Sage 300 ERP,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Third-party Reviews,I would choose Scale again. Have not found anything that we prefer over Scale currently.Good for simple deployments.It is being used across an entire physical location, around 100 people. It hosts the core virtual machine infrastructure, which is 100% Windows.,Simple Good Support,V2V is a complete nightmare. We ended up just giving up. This is half the reason we don't recommend Scale any longer. Backups are a pain. VEEAM spoils you. With Scale you have to manage each endpoint at its layer. Frustrating, and the other half of the reason we don't recommend Scale.,7,9,Active Directory and other critical systems. Unfortunately, the greater cost of the Scale setup is only compounded by the extra time you spend managing backups.,No change.,VMware ESXiScale Computing - A+ on cost and function.It is the backbone of our network. We use it for our ERP and we have Scale at our DR site that we replicate to and can spin up servers in that environment in the case of a disaster. We also have most of our file sharing on the Scale hardware.,Snapshots and replication Ease of configuration and use Cloning of new servers Support,Cannot run Windows 2003 Servers Cannot run 1 of our ShoreTel servers for conferencing,9,9,ERP - SQL based and critical to our business - SQL performs better and faster for our internal clients than our previous VM environment which was current HP based servers and a traditional SAN connected via fiber channel. Creating or cloning a new server is such a quick process also. It uses the snapshot to create clone and the old VM world used to copy the .vmdk files and that takes time. This allows us to solve problems and test solutions quicker.,1st, We didn't have to purchase additional VMWare software which saved us about 40% up front. Also no ongoing maintenance costs for that add-on layer of software. We spend much less time in our Scale management software than we did in VMWare managing resources and server issues so our internal support time is cut drastically. I would say we spend at least 50% less time maintaining our virtual environment than we did in the past. A fully functional Disaster Recovery plan was affordable using Scale. This gives us the relief knowing that we are protected from a disaster and it is more cost-effective. To replicate the environment we have now with other hardware and VMWare licensing for both our main computer room and disaster recovery site would have almost doubled our project costs.,Scale - what others are weighed against!Most of our environment is virtualized - all on Scale. The performance and ROI have been phenomenal! Their support shines above all vendors that I have dealt with over 25 years. Their system monitoring is proactive and they fix problems before they are even apparent.Scale is considered a key vendor in our infrastructure.,Ease of configuration. Spin up a new server with ease. Stability - rarely even have to think about this environment. ROI - the Scale environment let us get into virtualization for a very cost effective value.,Lower cost on the SSD solution. But then don't we always want the latest for less.,10,10,Almost all of our environment is on scale. With peak demands placed on our web application, this handles those peaks without a glimmer of issues. As we have added additional machines, some with legacy applications we have encountered zero issues.,Best ROI of any infrastructure software that I have encountered. We were looking at upgrading servers and the various virtual licenses and found the Scale solution a much better solution.,Scale Computing HC3 ReviewFor our company, we running most of our application servers on our Scale HC3. Most of the servers were migrated from VMware and the rest of them were virtualized from physical servers.,High Stability Super easy to manage VMs Automatic failover when node fails,I wish they could have more log features, for example, graphical statistics for hardware usage over time. Overall, the Scale HC3 is preforming really well for us.,10,10,We migrated our telephone system and reporting system from physical servers to Scale last year, we never had any issue with it.,Reduced management cost,VMware ESXiScale saved me from a VMware upgrade nightmare!We moved our entire VMware environment onto HC3. We use it to run our Windows servers. We are about to spin up our DR site as well. All of our Active Directory servers, FileCloud server, print servers, QuickBooks run on it. We will also be using it to replace Splashtop for users logging in remotely.,HC3 is easy to set up. The administration is so simple that you can give admin to less experienced employees. The VMs are very fast!,The interface needs more color. Integrate the Doubletake software into the system. Cloud replication?,10,10,We run only basic things like QuickBooks, Sage and file and print services on our stuff,Prevented expensive VMware upgrade My boss loves no monthly fees Cost so much less - I used the money for network upgrades too,VMware ESXiReview of our Scale HC3 systemWe use the Scale Computing HC3 platform across our whole organization. With its ease of use, we are able to obtain 99.9% uptime as well as a full DR site with 100% of our data. It solves the need by not requiring complicated switching equipment, advanced networks, etc. All of the systems are essentially self-contained and require near 0 maintenance.,DR - Scale does DR really well. With a few clicks, you can have a (or more) multiple DR sites. Ease of use - The system is extremely easy to use through it's GUI. With a few clicks, you're able to spin a VM up and have it set up snapshots and replication to other sites.,Ability to share or use dynamic memory.,10,10,We run our entire environment on the HC3 system. Primary & Backup domain controllers, application servers, file servers and most importantly our terminal servers. I have been blown away by the ease of use, performance and redundancy with the system.,To be honest - It's still a bit early to accurately tell our ROI -- But so far, we are happy.,VMware ESXi and XenServer,Deploying new VMs,Some back-end changes or console configuration changes.,No,10Scale delivers manageability and power savingsWe use Scale to visualize our whole server environment including database, exchange, and terminal servers. Each user is impacted directly by the performance of the cluster. Scale helps us simplify our server infrastructure as well as provides redundancy and backups. With a simple GUI, the Scale nodes are easy to manage as well as add resources such as memory or virtual hard drives. As the name implies, Scale is a solution that will be easy to add additional nodes should our capacity needs change, this helps us budget future years with more certainty.,Scale care support provides, by far, some of the best support of any issues that arise. No downtime for Scale updates. Migration of virtual machines and cloning machines is incredibly simple.,I'd really like an Android app where I can view the status of and manage nodes. Their GUI is perfect for this use case. During sales, I would have liked to be up sold to SSD's in each node.,10,10,I'll decline on the basis of giving too much information about our company. The points of redundancy and high availability are all valid. We've come to trust that Scale will always have out OSs up and running.,Power Savings, really quickly we noticed we have to air condition less. Our UPS is also able to add additional run time to Scale when compared to the 9 servers we had previously, now just 3 nodes. Less time looking at hardware issues. Quick resolution of any issues that have cropped up (not many),Microsoft Hyper VScale HC3 - It's for me.All our VMs (except 1) are on the Scale Computing HC3 system across the organization. It lives in our colocation facility and snapshots across the network to a remote site. It is our virtual platform and storage area network and hosts SQL, SharePoint, Exchange, File/Print, Citrix, payroll, DHCP, DNS, and other miscellaneous. servers.,Easy to snapshot servers offsite and recover - We actually had to test this in real-time as we had a corrupted file server that had been snapshotted previously. Easy to log in and turn on the snapshot'd server, verify and re-replicate it back to replace the production server. What could have taken hours only took a few minutes. Support - Scale has always been responsive to any questions or needs we have had and are easy to work with. We've done several os upgrades have had no issues. Easy - it's just an easy platform to manage. Not too complicated. Visually appealing to manage through the GUI.,Using the GUI is good, however, when I have several servers on a box, it's sometimes hard to tell which node the server is connected to. It does not clearly, visibly display which node. If you hover over the node, it will give the name of the server.,10,9,SQL2016 / SharePoint 2016 - our SharePoint2010 and 2016 environment runs on the system with no issues.,Improved UPtime Allows us to focus on other issues since this is not a time-consuming or difficult task,HC3 is a cost effective solution to deploy and operate in a manufacturing environmentOther than the ERP system, all other services are implemented in the Scale cluster, domain controller, file sharing, HR applications, EDI - FTP server etc.,The main strength of the system is that the system is fault tolerant. We have had issues on one server in the HC3 cluster (it went down!), no production downtime, end users did not even know that we had issues. The support from the ScaleComputing team has been excellent. User interface to manage the cluster is simple, the migration from various sources (VMware, stand alone servers was simple). Requires just common sense knowledge to manage the system.,Like to see an option to export a VM external to the cluster, like to a NAS.,8,9,After we migrated some VMWare and standalone servers to the Scale Cluster we noticed that not all of the initial setups on the Scale cluster was correct, adjusting them was painless and easy to execute.,With the high availability features built into the Scale Cluster the backups are less critical. That is why an option to export a VM to an external storage device would be great! This will reduce the overall cost of operations. When comparing the total cost of ownership/maintenance and for VMWare base servers and standalone servers, the cost of the Scale Cluster over a five year is very competitive. Add to this the education requirements of the personnel operating/managing the cluster you will be further ahead with the Scale Cluster.,VMware ESXi
Windows, Linux, Unix
Scale Computing HC3
240 Ratings
Score 9.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Scale Computing HC3
240 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 240 vetted Scale Computing HC3 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (76-100 of 164)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Scale Computing HC3: "Scale Computing review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is hosting all our company virtual servers. It was deployed to replace the old VMware setup we had using separate ESX hosts, switches and SAN.
  • Because the Scale Computing is a converge storage, it's much more cost-effective to support and maintain vs. out old ESX cluster setup.
  • Installing updates is easier to do vs. a system that setup using separate ESX hosts, switches, and SAN because we just have to deal with one appliance.
  • The support service has been good so far. Every time we had an issue or question we will get someone on the phone in a few min and they are knowledgeable about the product.
  • One of the biggest drawbacks of the current Scale solution is its limitation when it comes to VM management. For example, options that are available in VMware for years like the ability to expend a virtual drive live does not exist.
  • The Scale management portal is nice and very easy to use because it's very simple, but it's limited in how much information it provides.
  • Because the hypervisor OS is a custom software, it does not allow for more advanced management. any changes or issues that need to troubleshoot requires opening a ticket with support.
If your virtualization needs are basic and you don't need any advanced features I think that the performance/cost is a good proposition. It's also fairly easy to add another node to the cluster to increase your resources.
We run our primary file server, SQL server, and accounting software on the Scale. The requirements are basic and the performance is as expected for the model we use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 30, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 is the way to go."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 hosts the core servers for our entire network.
  • Firmware updates are dead simple
  • Tech support is easy, fast and thorough
  • Building Servers only takes minutes
  • Server performance when logged in seems sluggish.
  • Even though we got discounted pricing it may not be the cheapest solution but the benefits definitely are worth it.
  • They say that parts will arrive next day but in our remote locations they (like other vendors) don't seem to realize that there is no such thing as "next day" delivery.
Scale HC3 is great in so many situations. If you want a small physical footprint but have the ability to spin up dozens of servers in minutes then it is fabulous. They also have an offsite replication package. You have 2 sets of nodes in different sites and the main site replicates to the offsite backup. If something catastrophic happens to the main site you just point everything to the offsite locations and nothing is lost because the offsite is an exact replica. Almost no downtime and no data loss.
SQL, Exchange, Active Directory. I haven't found anything that doesn't really work yet.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 is the Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized Scale Computing HC3 to virtualize our entire server environment for our whole organization. This solved the issues of hardware related failures since the Scale Computing HC3 is in a cluster. It also solved the issue of us needing to update our hardware and provided us with a single pain of glass to view everything on it at once.
  • Speed - Scale has increased our server performance drastically.
  • Ease of use - The system is so easy to use and set up!
  • Support - The scale support team is awesome and really knows their product.
  • PRICE - You can't touch their price elsewhere for the performance that you receive.
  • Make it easier to migrate from other hypervisors to scale without having to buy third-party software.
Scale Computing is well suited for anyone who is looking to create a virtualized server environment that values price, performance, and reliability. The footprint of the hardware makes it so that it can be placed in even the smallest of racks and give you the performance and scalability of the larger companies at a fraction of the price.
Our entire company runs off of scale computing, I can easily scale out our company by cloning servers and having the new ones up and running within minutes. I can also add more hosts in a matter of a phone call and a few screws and wire connections. It is a great product!!!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 24, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale is worth a look!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Scale cluster manages the virtual machines which all employees utilize.
Currently only the IT team, which consists of 6 members, interacts with the Scale environment directly.
  • Simple VM management interface
  • Provides easy access to support streams
  • Immediate system performance and alerting
  • A granular user management system is required. The Scale interface lacks the ability to add user accounts with limited access to manage individual or groups of VMs. Remote access is an all or nothing security model.
  • VM export is missing. An ability to export a VM from a cluster for external backup or transfer to another cluster which is not linked is also not supported.
Scale is a user friendly VM cluster which offers redundancy across hardware devices which protects against a full system failure. This is well suited to environments with multiple servers.
We operate our custom manufacturing, shipping, accounting and customer ERP system as a VM within a cluster. We've not had performance or systems issues while running our critical software under this platform.

On another cluster we operate our internal web sites and system monitoring platform again without faults or performance loss. Increasing system resources - such as allocating additional RAM or drive storage is as simple as moving GUI sliders or allocating containers for new drives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "My Weigh In on Scale Computing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Scale Computing HC3 as our central cluster for all of our VMs. It's mostly just our IT department that controls and uses it daily, while everyone around us benefits from the centralized product. We run web servers, point of sale, and network distributing virtual machines with our cluster. It provides a great and convenient interface that makes it easy for anyone of any networking background to manage and operate. It has been of great service towards our company in the past couple of years!
  • Scale Computing HC3 provides a very efficient GUI, that makes it easy for us to maneuver from VM to VM.
  • The displayed information of disk usage and RAM space helps us determine in what capacity we can use our cluster.
  • We have dealt with the cosmetic issue for our individual VMs, where the disk space is showing incorrect on the interface, in contrast to the actual disk space showing within the VM itself.
I believe that Scale Computer HC3 has been amazing for the structured environment it provides. Since it allows you to organize the VMs into groups, it makes it much easier to find exactly what you're looking for due to the purpose of the VM. Whenever you're looking for some specific information about disk space, RAM, or any other specs, the descriptive interface provides that quickly without having to dive into the computer and search for it.
We solely run our POS system on our Scale cluster. Ever since we switched to Scale and used the cluster for our central POS database, it has been nothing short of amazing. It gives easy access, we can connect anyone needing to connect to it with ease, and eliminates the use of an actual machine at the locations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "A worthy investment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Scale computing products for deploying virtual systems within our company. These systems serve a variety of roles across our organization including individual workstation virtual desktops to dedicated file storage and domain controllers.
  • New virtual systems are easy to set up and configure.
  • Easy to transfer systems between nodes on the cluster offers great flexibility and control over the environment.
  • The technical support they offer is great. The few times I have needed to contact them they have been quick to respond and resolve any troubles or questions.
  • Customers need to be able to configure backups/snapshots of the systems. This is a bit of a confusing process that previously involved contacting support and have their engineering team update scripts when we bring a new system online.
  • Pricing is a little high, but for the amount of features and services the Scale units provide, we have been able to justify the costs.
Perfect for easy deployments of virtual systems within a small to mid-size business.
We run our domain controllers and several critical systems on the Scale products including a main file server and workstations for employee use. The infrastructure the Scale products provide is vital to our IT department.
Read this authenticated review
Gerry Wisnoski profile photo
January 19, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Time to Replace VMware ESXi and Microsoft Hyper-V with Scale HC3"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 is being used across the whole organization with a cluster at the corporate office configured for full two-way replication with another cluster at a branch office. This provides complete disaster recovery capability for both sites. Performance of both clusters is outstanding. Operational maintenance is almost non-existent. Setting up replication required only providing the name and administrator credentials for the remote cluster -- amazingly simple and automatic.
  • Firmware updates are a non-event. They are released about twice a year and when you are ready to apply the update, you just click the button to authorize it. Then it just happens automatically, rolling from one server to the next with no down time. Of course you should verify that you have a full set of backups first and probably will want to do this during a "quieter" time but you could do it in the middle of a work day with only minor performance impact.
  • Any agent-based VM backup, like Veeam Backup & Replication, works fine.
  • I like that the failure of a disk drive is not a critical-level event. The cluster raises an alarm, automatically ensures that all data is re-duplicated, and a replacement disk is sent to you the next day for hot-swap. During the disk failure event all you have is just a little less disk storage available.
  • The HEAT system which automatically migrates active data between fast SSD disks and the usual spinning kind as required to meet your performance priorities, is completely hands off.
  • The recent addition of automatic disk data deduplication means better performance and less disk space usage.
  • Taking snapshots is almost instant and does not "cost" additional disk space.
  • Growth is amazingly simple and easy to do -- just rack another node, add it to the cluster then walk away -- in short time it's a fully functioning member of the cluster sharing the load.
  • HC3 Cloud Unity with Google Cloud Platform is an unmatched hybrid cloud solution. Usually hybrid Clouds require lots of very sophisticated networking to tie the local network to the cloud network -- Unity does all of this automatically and transparently -- the Cloud instance looks like it's on your local LAN. A single Scale HC3 web interface can manage your local and remote on-prem instances together with your cloud instance.
  • Scheduling of snapshots is fairly flexible but a little restricted when combined with Replication. Looking forward to the next major firmware release where this is scheduled to be improved.
  • There is a single-node server available for remote offices but it would be nice to have a two-node version for those small offices to be able to avoid all down time (for updates).
The entry level configuration for a completely redundant cluster is 3 small nodes for about $35,000. Currently the maximum size is 8 much larger capacity nodes, but there is a plan to increase that. Replication between clusters couldn't be any easier or automatic. The Scale HC3 architecture makes this platform an excellent candidate to exploit the tremendous I/O performance available with NVMe.
If your company provides services or support on a 24x7 basis you just can't ever be down. Exchange email, SQL Server databases, web servers, ERP App Servers, File & RDSH servers -- nothing can go down because you need it all of the time. There's no time for down time to do maintenance or increase capacity. Scale HC3 gives you all of that. Also, who wants to spend so much time keeping all of that virtualization infrastructure updated -- Scale HC3 remove 90-95% of the maintenance work required to keep a VMware or Hyper-V Cluster with shared storage secure and updated.
Read Gerry Wisnoski's full review
Jason Weatherby profile photo
January 17, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Net Admin"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're converting our XenServer Virtual Infrastructure over to HC3 Scale. It's faster, easier to use and takes up less space. Setting up SCALE was easy. We rack mounted it, set it up in about 20 minutes. Since purchasing our first 3 servers, we recently just cut a PO to expand to 8. Overall, it's a great product.
  • Its simplicity is a load off my shoulders. There are not hours of forums I have to sift through.
  • No more licensing problems.
  • Remote support is a super easy.
  • I would like to see more information about my VMs
  • Historical Data would be nice such as 30 day chart for CPU usage.
We have migrated our Citrix Xen-App services off from Xen-Server and VMWare and moved them onto our new HC3 SCALE cluster and it has suited us very well.
We run our XenApp environment on SCALE and found that the speed of our VM servers has increased over XenServer 6.5. Utilizing HC3's DoubleTake Move software, we were able to migrate our VM's with just a few clicks. We also have a Domain Controller running on our SCALE Environment and login duration's have decreased dramatically.
Read Jason Weatherby's full review
J. Power Hely profile photo
January 11, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Solid option for SMBs who don't want to spend their time administering virtual environments."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a Scale cluster as our primary computing infrastructure, hosting SQL, ERP, WMS, RDS Cluster, file storage, IIS, and some other minor server VMs. All our VMs are currently MS OSs.
  • Ease of setup and operation. We have a very small IT bench, and these individuals are not virtual infrastructure engineers. They have little to no experience in VM environments. Yet they have no problems standing up VMs, setting up or modifying replication, cloning, shifting VMs to other nodes, etc. They can modify resource draw easily (with one notable exception) and generally can stay out of the VM management world and stay in the server and application management worlds.
  • Hardware support. I can only recall one hardware issue we had. Rather than going back and forth, or trying to fix one part at a time to reduce costing, Scale had a new box to us I think the next day or the day after. Hard drive swap and we were back in business at 100%.
  • Tecahnical support. There are some minor headaches working outside of the normal hypervisor realms of Hyper-V/VMWare. But Scale support has been there to help us whenever we hit one of those stumbling blocks.
  • Modifying the size of an instantiated virtual hard drive. You can change memory/cpus core with a few mouse clicks, but hard drive size increases are time consuming, complicated, and annoying in the current environment.
  • There is some room for improvement with regards to SQL writes. The hyperconverged solution is exceptional in durability and reliability, but large quantity small size SQL writes seem to cause a speed bottleneck larger than one would expect given the power of the architecture. Could be caused by spanning between nodes?
  • Not sure if this is a Scale issue or an MS issue, but we have never been able to clone an RD server with all apps installed and add it to the RDS cluster; we have to clone a barebones server, install everything and build all the printer connections, and then add it to the cluster.
If you are a small to midsized company for whom cloud computing does not make financial sense (or a large company with reasons to keep things on-prem), Scale is a solid and cost-effective choice. It allows a low entry point, good scalability, and ease of operations even with a minimal IT team.
SQL is our most critical app, and we have seen a substantial increase in its environmental footprint in the past year. Save for some frustrations in increasing drive size (much easier to plan ahead and make your drives large, or to just add a second drive and spread), we have been able to handle our growing pains with some after-hours reboots.

Similarly, we have doubled the amount of servers in our RDS environment.
Read J. Power Hely's full review
Jon Rich profile photo
January 11, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "HC3 works for me!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a one person IT shop the Scale HC3 system made it easy for me to manage storage and it reduced the number of physical servers I had to maintain. It is used for all departments in our organization from a file server to a mapping server.
  • Their tech support is very good, though I have only had to call a couple of times over the last five years for minor issues.
  • Their sales staff keeps in touch on a regular basis. Some vendors will only call for a sale and assume everything is fine if they aren't hearing from you.
  • The user interface is easy to learn, from creating and scheduling snapshots to creating virtual machines for running test scenarios.
  • Scale Computing HC3 has met all of our company's needs.
I have used the Scale Computing HC3 system to save time by purchasing an appropriate server operating system license and delivering a fully functional server with less time and expense of a physical server. With any purchasing decision you have to weigh out costs and benefits and this system was a perfect fit for our business. They continue to grow and improve their products, so we will be able to continue using their system into the future.
We use virtual servers to house mission critical databases that are written to daily with large amounts of data with no issues. Our online backup software is able to connect with the virtual servers to add another layer of disaster recovery.
Read Jon Rich's full review
Nathan Beam profile photo
December 23, 2017

Review: "Scale Computing HC3 - Excellent and Unique Hyper-Converged Platform with a few Rough Edges"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale HC3 is being used to virtualize a large portion of our physical IT stack.

We purchased it for the following reasons:

1. Simplify administration of our infrastructure.
2. Provide out-of-the box High-Availability and/or near High-Availability for critical systems
3. Decrease TCO for our physical infrastructure
4. Simplify our infrastructure by collapsing all of the requirements for a clustered virtualization solution down into one software/hardware stack, including compute, storage, and networking.
5. Decrease deployment time for new environments. Using near-instant thin-cloning we can deploy multiple systems in a very short amount of time.
6. SCALE provided a solid platform alternative to other traditional high-availability solutions, like SQL Clustering. In this case we simplify life by deploying SQL server's as stand-alone but because they are virtual and on a Hyper-Converged platform, they are HA by default. So we get a lot of the benefits of SQL clustering without the headache and complexity of actual SQL clustering.
  • Scale has focused on ease-of-management and it shows. Their UI is incredible and easily the best in the industry.
  • SCRIBE - the underlying storage layer is brilliant and if you are a techie, worth taking a closer look. The way SCALE has done storage for hyper-converged is very different from almost all of the other major players in a very good way. SCRIBE VM snapshots and cloning is incredible, very fast, very efficient.
  • Simplified licensing model - NO VMWARE - this is a big deal. Scale has built-the-entire-stack from almost the ground up. You only have one company to deal with when it comes to licensing your hyper-converged stack. Furthermore, all SCALE HC3 clusters have ALL FEATURES. There is no nickel-and-dime (and arm-n-leg) for additional functionality.
  • I think the company has been focused on the SMB market and as a result are not familiar with dealing with the issues and concerns of either larger companies/deployments and/or companies like ours which service larger clients. We have no tolerance for unscheduled downtime. When it comes to dealing with support they are mostly all very knowledgeable but they seem a bit green when it comes to understanding how "serious" uptime is for their customers that are running mission-critical systems.
  • I think the company has been focused on the SMB market, and as a result I get the impression they are not overly familiar with companies that run mixed and/or more highly-demanding workloads. We are pushing our cluster hard. We run a heavy mix of both virtualized SQL and WEB tier systems. Based on multiple interactions with the company, I don't think they have very many customers operating in this space and as a result, the platform hasn't been as well vetted based on these kinds of workloads. That said, I realize that virtualizing multiple busy database servers on a single platform is huge ask. All of the above being said... we have not had any system failures that have impacted any of our production VM's and by-and-large the platform is pretty darn solid. We are seeing some performance hits, particularly around storage, as our cluster gets more busy however we haven't done wide-spread performance testing to get an accurate measurement and I believe scribe is dynamically tiering data to keep our busiest systems running effectively. I guess I would like to just see a higher "low watermark" for storage performance on VM's.
  • Support is overall very responsive however in-depth issues can drag-on a bit, which is understandable.
  • They are still missing some features such as role-based administrative access which are important to, once again, larger companies and/or those who service larger companies.
  • All-in-all - Scale has historically targeted SMB - and as a result they have a ton of core strengths that are unique to their company and their product. However, in focusing on this market segment, I think they have a bit of tunnel-vision which has resulted in them missing some crucial areas for businesses that take their IT very serious because it is a critical part of their service delivery/day-to-day operations.
Based on my experience, I think smaller SMB shops that want to simplify their infrastructure and primarily have a mix of light-weight systems (Domain Controllers, Web Servers, some SQL but not a ton, File Servers, etc.) are the "perfect fit" for SCALE.

I think if they straighten out a few of the kinks in their process and product, they will actually be a perfect fit for us. That all said, this probably sounds overly negative so I will state that I am very glad that we went with SCALE HC3 and in retrospect, I wouldn't change that decision. I think they are one of the best hyper-converged platforms on the market.

If you are looking at an IT refresh and you realize you also are using a mix of a bunch of different products and platforms to achieve high-availability, to provide backup and recovery, etc, etc, SCALE could very well be an excellent fit for you because you can collapse all of that "stuff" into one platform that by-and-large does it all very well.
We have several applications that are "mission critical" that were candidates for more complex solutions like SQL Clustering. We opted to virtualize those on SCALE instead which was drastically easier and honestly "less fragile" because there are few "moving parts".

Scale has also decreased our dependency on more complex and typically much more expensive TCO, SAN storage.

We have drastically simplified our onsite backup and recovery by using scheduled snapshots.
Read Nathan Beam's full review
Scott White profile photo
December 11, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "ScCale Hyperconvergence - No Pain all Gain"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our existing infrastructure was getting old. The hardware was excellent and provided more than adequate performance. Apart from the insecurity of age the only complaints were from the IT team. It was taking too much work to maintain.

The 3 node Scale cluster replacees and aging infrastructure of Linux Red Hat/HP hosts running 80% of the company's virtual servers. The Scale cluster will essentially run our company. When all VMs have been moved over to the cluster It will encompass Windows a windows domain controller, our MRP system, several database servers, analytics, and server and network monitoring appliances. A remote Scale node acts as a backup to the cluster and maintains daily backups with varying retention to reflect daily, weekly and monthly, and quarterly backups. We have moved about 30% of the infrastructure to the scale cluster.
  • The ease of use of the Scale interface is fantastic. All the basics are within easy reach and more complex tools are readily accessible. I'm used to simple interfaces meaning limited scope and simplistic products. But the scale interface is on top of a very sophisticated and powerful system. The interface works so well it needs no training to use - having said that training always helps.
  • Scale's Remote replication is fantastic. Setting up and applying a schedule and setting a lifespan for the replicated images was a breeze. Initiating the replication was a single click and the replication was fast. Replicated VM's could be cloned and started in seconds. Restoring data for users was so fast my users were not ready to deal with the quick results.
  • Scales continually impresses me with the way the product is maturing. Their product road map is not merely a future wish list. New features are regularly being delivered and delivered on schedule.
  • Installation and set up is FAST. the longest part was mounting the hardware and connecting the interfaces. Scale technicians held my hand from power on to instantiating a new VM. It mas more of a formality than a necessity.
  • Their tech support is effective. The best I have ever seen. Their staff are astute and great communicators. Follow up is quick, and they often log in and resolve the problem without my having to generate and upload logs. They minimise my work and maximise interaction. The unusual part is how they communicate among themselves. On a single issue i spoke to multiple staff and they all were aware of case. I never had to repeat the details of the problem or the steps taken.
  • We have been importing all of our VM's fairly easily. There is a need for improvement with the import process for non HC3 VMs. It works but is the only poorly executed part of the HC3 environment i have come across. It's as if in the design of the product Scale only thought companies would be creating and working with new VM's., and forgot completely about migrations from other systems. HC3 easily imports and exports Scale VM's directly from the Interface in a single step. But, non HC3 images, even if they are qcow2 images just like HC3's, require a multi-step process. Having said that, the process is not complex at all. Apparently this will be corrected in a future release.
  • Pricing. Wow! A friend in another company opted for a competing HCI system. It took about 3 months to get the system fully installed and stable. But the ongoing costs of licensing Vmware and paying hardware maintenance have forced them to reconsider their purchase. They are desperate to cut costs and are planning to pull out VMware and go with KVM. With Scale I paid less and got at least equal performance without any configuration headaches.
  • That raises another point. The HC3 system is fully integrated all in one solution. All the components needed for HCI, Virtualisation, VM Management, Integrated and distributed storage, and redundancy are included and fully supported. One neck to wring.
  • As mentioned, Scale needs to refine the rocess used for importing non-native VM's. It is a multi step process that "fools" HC3 into thinking it a native VM. All of our VMs, except for one, are KVM. I can't comment on importing other image formats.
  • HC3 has all the basics covered and does a fantastic job under the sheets. but is lagging in more modern features .Scale needs to provide applications under HC3. A "cloud" type storage service that VM's could tap into directly. A database service which would reduce the need for us to maintain database servers. A containerisation service would be an excellent addition. Currently we have to run containers in a VM, which is not optimal.
  • Missing is a simple way of upgrading storage. Disks are hot swappable., but upgrading storage requires a lot of work.
Scale hits the sweet spot for the SMB market. The product and support are what a small company needs to get into the efficiencies the big boys enjoy and does it without the costs they pay. They do a great job of lifting SMBs into the true disaster recovery. I think it would be overkill where files sharing is a major activity. We are keeping only user folders on our hosted VMs. We use Synology appliances for shared storage and for hosting data on our DMZ accessed by external clients.
Our infrastructure scales great with HC3 (pun not intended.) We have been adding VM's cloning images for testing and development without anxiety. before we were constrained by the resources of a single machine- we were consistently running out of memory or disk space. We were chasing resources across the network, porting VM's wherever we could find room. The cluster environment is like a diving into an ocean. All the resources are accessible. This simplifies development and allows me to respond with a big "YES" to my users instead of "Maybe tomorrow, i'll let you know"
Read Scott White's full review
Tom Blazek profile photo
December 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing -> Best Value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing is being used as our primary server cluster across the whole organization. We have it hosting 20+ servers. It's very easy to use and virtually maintenance free. It has freed up a lot of my time, to be honest, I don't even think about it anymore because it just works.
  • Setting up and provisioning a new VM is super simple.
  • I come from a VMWare environment but the Scale UI is very easy to understand. I can imagine for someone new they would be able to learn the task of managing the cluster very easily.
  • Snapshots and clones are processed super fast.
  • I would like to be able to see actual disk availability instead of the raw number of TB.
  • The ability to copy and paste from your local machine to a VM seems like missing functionality, it is very useful to have.
  • I guess it's not a problem specifically with Scale, probably more with KVM and backup vendors but I really did enjoy having a backup system that worked across the whole hypervisor, it just simplified things a lot.
  • I would like to see the breakdown of the VMs and the amount of RAM they are consuming changed a bit. If its a VM with less than 6 GB it doesn't show on the dashboard. Maybe if it was a pie chart it would be easier? Not sure but just something different would be nice so you could see all the VMs.
I feel Scale Computing is well suited for any small or medium business that needs more than 1 physical server. The ease of use and capabilities of the cluster are really unmatched for the price. I like how all the features are included for one price. I could even see it being used in a larger enterprise environment.
We run in-house Exchange, SQL, MySQL, and Apache web servers. They run flawlessly. The only problems I have are with the individual applications themselves, never at the infrastructure level. When I bought the system they didn't have SSD out yet, so I can't speak about the ability to portion out the SSD across VMs but it looks super awesome!
Read Tom Blazek's full review
Jason Grilo profile photo
December 06, 2017

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 First Impressions"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started working with a client that recently deployed a 4 node SCALE HC3 cluster. Our role was to help transition them from VMware/HyperV VM's to be on Scale HC3 instead.

It is being used now for 90% of all services/vms within the company. They still have a couple physical servers due to the complexity of moving those to Scale Computing HC3, this in addition to using the volume of storage they have on the physical servers.

The main business problem it addressed was stability and simplifying the environment. The HC3 cluster gives them the stability and redundancy they needed to ensure they have great uptime!
  • Simplifying building and running a Hypervisor Cluster for redundancy and uptime.
  • Fast deployment/snapshotting
  • Great technical support, really fast.
  • Expanding volumes is cumbersome (have to clone the vm and make the drive bigger)
  • Little support for UPS and network shutdowns
  • Tricky to migrate VM's to HC3 unless you use their paid software product
  • GUI is pretty simple and barebones, feels like it limits what you can do.
We would recommend a customer look at Scale HC3 if they want a simple/fast way to deploy a clustered environment. The price point on a Scale Computing HC3 cluster isn't very appealing compared to a HyperV cluster build with a SAN, but we understand the power behind the all-in-one approach of Scale HC3.
Our application/server set is a mixed Windows Server/Desktop VM world with a healthy dose of Linux CentOS VMs. We enjoy how quickly we are able to take a node offline and all VM's will move gracefully on their own. The Scale Computing HC3 system seems to keep all nodes balanced without much thought from our end. The redundant networks work great and we have done testing by pulling a switch and watching the networks fail over without missing a beat!
Read Jason Grilo's full review
Hiten Patel profile photo
January 22, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Fantastic first experience with virtualization!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is used to consolidate some of our services and reduce our server footprint. It was the perfect replacement for our aging Citrix farm (and other applications) and has reduced our cooling, rack, and power requirements as well as unused resources (CPU, memory, storage). Also, the DR cluster gives us some peace of mind and a faster recovery.
  • Reduced licensing costs
  • Single pane of glass
  • Consolidation of storage, virtualization and management
  • None yet!
Organisations with limited IT resources/budgets.
We are currently hosting multiple applications including Domain controllers, Quickbooks, Helpdesk, Remote Desktop Servers, and Electronic Medical Records. The critical data is automatically replicated to a second cluster for disaster recovery. Our experience has been great with no issues with any of the Windows VM's running in Scale.
Read Hiten Patel's full review
Scott Poole profile photo
January 19, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale helped consolidate our network needs into one solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale HC3 as a 3 in 1 solution. We use the Scale virtualization software for our servers, including a VDI server. We utilize a 16TB SAN for all of our Virtual servers, user files, etc. Finally, we use a 2nd Scale cluster at our 2nd location as a Disaster Recovery solution between sites.
  • Disaster Recovery using snapshots. Easy clones and restores.
  • Virtualization of servers is seamless and very intuitive.
  • San is provisioned internally by HC3 eliminating dead and wasted space.
  • Control panel is intuitive and easy to use
  • Would like to see ability to expand partitions without Scale Support.
  • Would like to be able to have restores to folder or file level
Scale works well for my company of 150 users. The scalability of the cluster in terms of memory and hard drive space means we are able to upgrade as needed without changing out the entire system or vendor.

Space wise, the Scale footprint is relatively small compared to the space that would be required if we used 3 different solutions for our SAN, DR and virtualization needs.
We are running our VDI for desktops on the Scale servers and expansion is relatively easy with the current solution.
Read Scott Poole's full review
Jean-Paul Jordan profile photo
January 16, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Good for simple deployments."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across an entire physical location, around 100 people. It hosts the core virtual machine infrastructure, which is 100% Windows.
  • Simple
  • Good Support
  • V2V is a complete nightmare. We ended up just giving up. This is half the reason we don't recommend Scale any longer.
  • Backups are a pain. VEEAM spoils you. With Scale you have to manage each endpoint at its layer. Frustrating, and the other half of the reason we don't recommend Scale.
Great for environment with simple needs and light-touch IT staff. It really is very simple and does what it does quite well.
Active Directory and other critical systems. Unfortunately, the greater cost of the Scale setup is only compounded by the extra time you spend managing backups.
Read Jean-Paul Jordan's full review
Wes Miller profile photo
January 15, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale Computing - A+ on cost and function."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the backbone of our network. We use it for our ERP and we have Scale at our DR site that we replicate to and can spin up servers in that environment in the case of a disaster. We also have most of our file sharing on the Scale hardware.
  • Snapshots and replication
  • Ease of configuration and use
  • Cloning of new servers
  • Support
  • Cannot run Windows 2003 Servers
  • Cannot run 1 of our ShoreTel servers for conferencing
We have a multiple site environment and it works fast and efficiently when accessed by remote sites and by its nature, solves our disaster recovery needs. In our experience being an old VM customer, SQL also works more efficiently in the Scale environment. For high I/O servers like our SQL servers, it is super easy to configure the servers to use the solid state drives, instead of the slower spinning drives
ERP - SQL based and critical to our business - SQL performs better and faster for our internal clients than our previous VM environment which was current HP based servers and a traditional SAN connected via fiber channel.

Creating or cloning a new server is such a quick process also. It uses the snapshot to create clone and the old VM world used to copy the .vmdk files and that takes time. This allows us to solve problems and test solutions quicker.
Read Wes Miller's full review
David Buzzell profile photo
January 15, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale - what others are weighed against!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Most of our environment is virtualized - all on Scale. The performance and ROI have been phenomenal!

Their support shines above all vendors that I have dealt with over 25 years. Their system monitoring is proactive and they fix problems before they are even apparent.

Scale is considered a key vendor in our infrastructure.

  • Ease of configuration. Spin up a new server with ease.
  • Stability - rarely even have to think about this environment.
  • ROI - the Scale environment let us get into virtualization for a very cost effective value.
  • Lower cost on the SSD solution. But then don't we always want the latest for less.
We have found Scale to be a great environment for all of our systems. With Scale we have had zero downtime and has resolved many issues compared to what we have had in the past.
Almost all of our environment is on scale. With peak demands placed on our web application, this handles those peaks without a glimmer of issues. As we have added additional machines, some with legacy applications we have encountered zero issues.
Read David Buzzell's full review
Eric Sun profile photo
January 15, 2018

"Scale Computing HC3 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our company, we running most of our application servers on our Scale HC3. Most of the servers were migrated from VMware and the rest of them were virtualized from physical servers.
  • High Stability
  • Super easy to manage VMs
  • Automatic failover when node fails
  • I wish they could have more log features, for example, graphical statistics for hardware usage over time.
  • Overall, the Scale HC3 is preforming really well for us.
If you have a decent budget and you want a nice VM server upgrade or want to virtualize your old physical servers, Scale computing is an ideal solution for you.
We migrated our telephone system and reporting system from physical servers to Scale last year, we never had any issue with it.
Read Eric Sun's full review
Craig Ackerson profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale saved me from a VMware upgrade nightmare!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved our entire VMware environment onto HC3. We use it to run our Windows servers. We are about to spin up our DR site as well. All of our Active Directory servers, FileCloud server, print servers, QuickBooks run on it. We will also be using it to replace Splashtop for users logging in remotely.

  • HC3 is easy to set up.
  • The administration is so simple that you can give admin to less experienced employees.
  • The VMs are very fast!
  • The interface needs more color.
  • Integrate the Doubletake software into the system.
  • Cloud replication?
Please do yourself a HUGE favor - get rid of overly complex VMware in small environments! Are you crazy - you can never understand all that. However if you are in a big environment, maybe VMware still has use, I would hate that but some things have to stay old tech I suppose.
We run only basic things like QuickBooks, Sage and file and print services on our stuff
Read Craig Ackerson's full review
Matthew Marlowe profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale Computing HC3: "Review of our Scale HC3 system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Scale Computing HC3 platform across our whole organization. With its ease of use, we are able to obtain 99.9% uptime as well as a full DR site with 100% of our data. It solves the need by not requiring complicated switching equipment, advanced networks, etc. All of the systems are essentially self-contained and require near 0 maintenance.
  • DR - Scale does DR really well. With a few clicks, you can have a (or more) multiple DR sites.
  • Ease of use - The system is extremely easy to use through it's GUI. With a few clicks, you're able to spin a VM up and have it set up snapshots and replication to other sites.
  • Ability to share or use dynamic memory.
Scale Computing HC3 is well suited in any environment that requires a simple, cost-effective and easy to use hyper-converged system that "just works".
We run our entire environment on the HC3 system. Primary & Backup domain controllers, application servers, file servers and most importantly our terminal servers. I have been blown away by the ease of use, performance and redundancy with the system.
Read Matthew Marlowe's full review
Dave Guenther profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale delivers manageability and power savings"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to visualize our whole server environment including database, exchange, and terminal servers. Each user is impacted directly by the performance of the cluster. Scale helps us simplify our server infrastructure as well as provides redundancy and backups. With a simple GUI, the Scale nodes are easy to manage as well as add resources such as memory or virtual hard drives. As the name implies, Scale is a solution that will be easy to add additional nodes should our capacity needs change, this helps us budget future years with more certainty.
  • Scale care support provides, by far, some of the best support of any issues that arise.
  • No downtime for Scale updates.
  • Migration of virtual machines and cloning machines is incredibly simple.
  • I'd really like an Android app where I can view the status of and manage nodes. Their GUI is perfect for this use case.
  • During sales, I would have liked to be up sold to SSD's in each node.
Scale is great for mid-size organizations with 50-200 employees. Anywhere under that, there are likely solutions that are more cost-effective, over that I'm not sure but you can expand as needed. IT admins who want to focus less on server hardware will appreciate the all in one package and manageability of scale.
I'll decline on the basis of giving too much information about our company. The points of redundancy and high availability are all valid. We've come to trust that Scale will always have out OSs up and running.
Read Dave Guenther's full review
Brenda Hartson profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale Computing HC3 Review: "Scale HC3 - It's for me."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All our VMs (except 1) are on the Scale Computing HC3 system across the organization. It lives in our colocation facility and snapshots across the network to a remote site. It is our virtual platform and storage area network and hosts SQL, SharePoint, Exchange, File/Print, Citrix, payroll, DHCP, DNS, and other miscellaneous. servers.
  • Easy to snapshot servers offsite and recover - We actually had to test this in real-time as we had a corrupted file server that had been snapshotted previously. Easy to log in and turn on the snapshot'd server, verify and re-replicate it back to replace the production server. What could have taken hours only took a few minutes.
  • Support - Scale has always been responsive to any questions or needs we have had and are easy to work with. We've done several os upgrades have had no issues.
  • Easy - it's just an easy platform to manage. Not too complicated. Visually appealing to manage through the GUI.
  • Using the GUI is good, however, when I have several servers on a box, it's sometimes hard to tell which node the server is connected to. It does not clearly, visibly display which node. If you hover over the node, it will give the name of the server.
Small to mid-sized companies that want something easy. We have approximately 20 servers in production on the cluster and sleep well at night knowing it works. Have not tested but it may not be suited for high volume transactions. Not sure.
SQL2016 / SharePoint 2016 - our SharePoint2010 and 2016 environment runs on the system with no issues.
Read Brenda Hartson's full review
Albert Smid profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale Computing HC3: "HC3 is a cost effective solution to deploy and operate in a manufacturing environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Other than the ERP system, all other services are implemented in the Scale cluster, domain controller, file sharing, HR applications, EDI - FTP server etc.
  • The main strength of the system is that the system is fault tolerant. We have had issues on one server in the HC3 cluster (it went down!), no production downtime, end users did not even know that we had issues.
  • The support from the ScaleComputing team has been excellent.
  • User interface to manage the cluster is simple, the migration from various sources (VMware, stand alone servers was simple).
  • Requires just common sense knowledge to manage the system.
  • Like to see an option to export a VM external to the cluster, like to a NAS.
It is great for the normal IT Server functions and light database. At this time based on our deployment, I would not recommend this for high database loads. Having said that I would not deploy an ERP database on an Intel based system.

We're planning to migrate in the third quarter MS Exchange on the Scale cluster as well, our analysis indicates that we should have enough resources within the cluster to accommodate this.
After we migrated some VMWare and standalone servers to the Scale Cluster we noticed that not all of the initial setups on the Scale cluster was correct, adjusting them was painless and easy to execute.
Read Albert Smid's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English