Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-100 of 165)

john Galotta profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the HC3 to run several of our virtual servers. Two of the servers are our domain controllers. We are in the process of migrating more of our VMs over from VMware. The use of Scale has freed up resources that we had budgeted for VMware.
  • Very easy to install and migrate existing VMs over from VMware.
  • Support is seamless and remote help is a click away.
  • Support is US based and never a problem getting in touch with a technician on the first try.
  • The only thing that was missing when we purchased the unit was remote replication. They have addressed this with a cloud offering.
If you are looking to save money on your virtual environment then Scale will help you accomplish this. We have not had one issue in two years of running the system.
We have several of our domain controllers running on the HC3 and the migration was seamless. We are ready to move other mission-critical systems over to our HC3 cluster.
Read john Galotta's full review
Adam Hassall profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Scale Computing's HC3x has allowed us to virtualise 100% of our company's server infrastructure. We've used the technology for the last 5 years and it has been as solid as a rock. The biggest benefit is its simplicity because we are a small IT department and don't have the time to maintain a more complicated solution such as VMWare or Hyper-V.
  • The simplicity of the technology is its biggest strength.
  • There aren't different licensing levels and so all features are available in the standard licensing costs.
  • Their support team is second to none. Everyone I've spoken to is extremely knowledgeable about their product.
  • The only drawback is that if you need extra storage, your only option is to purchase another node. On other platforms, you could just install extra storage space.
Scale Computing for us has been a life-saver. Spinning up new virtual machines takes seconds with minimal configuration required. I suppose the only scenario that Scale Computing HC3 wouldn't be suitable is if you need USB/com pass-through as they can't [be] presented to the virtual machines.
We run four SQL servers hosting our business systems, terminal servers, domain controllers, deployment servers and file & print servers.

Spinning up new servers is incredibly simple and can be started within seconds.
Read Adam Hassall's full review
Robert Leno Jr profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Scale Computing HC3 has been implemented as a replacement for the client's old VMware environment. The client wanted a more substantial and reliable virtual platform for their business. They have multiple remote sites and remote uses, in which they wanted to provide a seamless user environment to all users. They have 6 virtual servers and 16 virtual desktops. The HC3 platform has fulfilled the client's current needs and should carry them well into the future.
  • Relaibility
  • Rapid systems deployment
  • Excellent fault tolerance, backup, and recovery
  • Easy overall management
  • Snapshot management has room for improvements, more recovery options, export options, etc.
  • Image import/export could encompass more virtual image types.
Any business with greater than average amount of servers or remote desktops would be an excellent opportunity for deployment of the Scale Computing HC3. Small businesses with one or 2 servers, in my opinion, would not enjoy the benefits that the Scale platform affords.
Read Robert Leno Jr's full review
Jefferson Davis profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HC3 to virtualize ALL server assets. High performance, delegatable interface.
  • Super easy to use, easy to delegate to technicians
  • Much lower cost than most competing products
  • Excellent support
  • Could use better integration with UPS's. Currently UPS shutdown has to be handled by a separate windows system
  • Sometimes, migrating other vendor's VM appliances can be a bit "fiddly"
Small to mid-sized organizations looking for higher performance, and the advantages of virtualization with little of the added administrative pain and cost.
The system makes it very easy to allocate additional resources (RAM, CPU cores, Disk space) as needed, and simply.

We run our DNS and LDAP servers, on HC3, and found the the VM was under-supplied with disk space. Very simple to add more storage.
Read Jefferson Davis's full review
Jamie Yennie profile photo
January 29, 2018

Scale Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to house all our Windows servers, roughly 25 total. The reliability has been tremendous. Only real problem we have had is resizing hard disks in our VMs.
  • High availability. We have had no unplanned downtime.
  • Technical support is amazing. Very responsive.
  • Easy to expand and grow.
  • Can only use static memory
  • Too cumbersome to expand hard drive in VMs
  • Too hard to manage snapshots and storage
Perfect for small business that needs high availability, but cannot afford traditional clustering technologies.
We run our terminal server which all company users use to access our accounting system and our ERP.
Read Jamie Yennie's full review
Greg Starnes profile photo
January 23, 2018

Scale Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole company. It is our virtual host for all of our servers. It also helps us manage such a large group of servers (12), and there are only two of us in the I.T. department. Management of this solutions is very easy and intuitive. We also have two cluster at a different location as our DR site.
  • Management. It is very easy to manage your environment through one pane of glass. You know the health of your hardware by just looking at the main page.
  • Support. Their support is all based here in the U.S. They are very timely to get to you, and they keep you informed throughout your issue.
  • Price. They are very well priced for what you get.
  • Compatibility. Some manufactures don't have products that will run on the KVM kernel.
Scale Computing HC3 is great for small to medium businesses and I.T. departments. They have a great pane of glass to tell what is going on in the environment. They also scale out very easily. I would also have to say they have some of the best support around.

The only thing I could think that would not be the best scenario for Scale Computing HC3 is in extremely large companies.
We run our Exchange Servers, HVAC, Shoretel, File Servers, Scanning Servers, Domain Controllers, and I would run anything else on this hardware.
Read Greg Starnes's full review
Hiten Patel profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HC3 is used to consolidate some of our services and reduce our server footprint. It was the perfect replacement for our aging Citrix farm (and other applications) and has reduced our cooling, rack, and power requirements as well as unused resources (CPU, memory, storage). Also, the DR cluster gives us some peace of mind and a faster recovery.
  • Reduced licensing costs
  • Single pane of glass
  • Consolidation of storage, virtualization and management
  • None yet!
Organisations with limited IT resources/budgets.
We are currently hosting multiple applications including Domain controllers, Quickbooks, Helpdesk, Remote Desktop Servers, and Electronic Medical Records. The critical data is automatically replicated to a second cluster for disaster recovery. Our experience has been great with no issues with any of the Windows VM's running in Scale.
Read Hiten Patel's full review
Scott Poole profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Scale HC3 as a 3 in 1 solution. We use the Scale virtualization software for our servers, including a VDI server. We utilize a 16TB SAN for all of our Virtual servers, user files, etc. Finally, we use a 2nd Scale cluster at our 2nd location as a Disaster Recovery solution between sites.
  • Disaster Recovery using snapshots. Easy clones and restores.
  • Virtualization of servers is seamless and very intuitive.
  • San is provisioned internally by HC3 eliminating dead and wasted space.
  • Control panel is intuitive and easy to use
  • Would like to see ability to expand partitions without Scale Support.
  • Would like to be able to have restores to folder or file level
Scale works well for my company of 150 users. The scalability of the cluster in terms of memory and hard drive space means we are able to upgrade as needed without changing out the entire system or vendor.

Space wise, the Scale footprint is relatively small compared to the space that would be required if we used 3 different solutions for our SAN, DR and virtualization needs.
We are running our VDI for desktops on the Scale servers and expansion is relatively easy with the current solution.
Read Scott Poole's full review
Jean-Paul Jordan profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across an entire physical location, around 100 people. It hosts the core virtual machine infrastructure, which is 100% Windows.
  • Simple
  • Good Support
  • V2V is a complete nightmare. We ended up just giving up. This is half the reason we don't recommend Scale any longer.
  • Backups are a pain. VEEAM spoils you. With Scale you have to manage each endpoint at its layer. Frustrating, and the other half of the reason we don't recommend Scale.
Great for environment with simple needs and light-touch IT staff. It really is very simple and does what it does quite well.
Active Directory and other critical systems. Unfortunately, the greater cost of the Scale setup is only compounded by the extra time you spend managing backups.
Read Jean-Paul Jordan's full review
Wes Miller profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the backbone of our network. We use it for our ERP and we have Scale at our DR site that we replicate to and can spin up servers in that environment in the case of a disaster. We also have most of our file sharing on the Scale hardware.
  • Snapshots and replication
  • Ease of configuration and use
  • Cloning of new servers
  • Support
  • Cannot run Windows 2003 Servers
  • Cannot run 1 of our ShoreTel servers for conferencing
We have a multiple site environment and it works fast and efficiently when accessed by remote sites and by its nature, solves our disaster recovery needs. In our experience being an old VM customer, SQL also works more efficiently in the Scale environment. For high I/O servers like our SQL servers, it is super easy to configure the servers to use the solid state drives, instead of the slower spinning drives
ERP - SQL based and critical to our business - SQL performs better and faster for our internal clients than our previous VM environment which was current HP based servers and a traditional SAN connected via fiber channel.

Creating or cloning a new server is such a quick process also. It uses the snapshot to create clone and the old VM world used to copy the .vmdk files and that takes time. This allows us to solve problems and test solutions quicker.
Read Wes Miller's full review
David Buzzell profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Most of our environment is virtualized - all on Scale. The performance and ROI have been phenomenal!

Their support shines above all vendors that I have dealt with over 25 years. Their system monitoring is proactive and they fix problems before they are even apparent.

Scale is considered a key vendor in our infrastructure.

  • Ease of configuration. Spin up a new server with ease.
  • Stability - rarely even have to think about this environment.
  • ROI - the Scale environment let us get into virtualization for a very cost effective value.
  • Lower cost on the SSD solution. But then don't we always want the latest for less.
We have found Scale to be a great environment for all of our systems. With Scale we have had zero downtime and has resolved many issues compared to what we have had in the past.
Almost all of our environment is on scale. With peak demands placed on our web application, this handles those peaks without a glimmer of issues. As we have added additional machines, some with legacy applications we have encountered zero issues.
Read David Buzzell's full review
Eric Sun profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our company, we running most of our application servers on our Scale HC3. Most of the servers were migrated from VMware and the rest of them were virtualized from physical servers.
  • High Stability
  • Super easy to manage VMs
  • Automatic failover when node fails
  • I wish they could have more log features, for example, graphical statistics for hardware usage over time.
  • Overall, the Scale HC3 is preforming really well for us.
If you have a decent budget and you want a nice VM server upgrade or want to virtualize your old physical servers, Scale computing is an ideal solution for you.
We migrated our telephone system and reporting system from physical servers to Scale last year, we never had any issue with it.
Read Eric Sun's full review
Craig Ackerson profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved our entire VMware environment onto HC3. We use it to run our Windows servers. We are about to spin up our DR site as well. All of our Active Directory servers, FileCloud server, print servers, QuickBooks run on it. We will also be using it to replace Splashtop for users logging in remotely.

  • HC3 is easy to set up.
  • The administration is so simple that you can give admin to less experienced employees.
  • The VMs are very fast!
  • The interface needs more color.
  • Integrate the Doubletake software into the system.
  • Cloud replication?
Please do yourself a HUGE favor - get rid of overly complex VMware in small environments! Are you crazy - you can never understand all that. However if you are in a big environment, maybe VMware still has use, I would hate that but some things have to stay old tech I suppose.
We run only basic things like QuickBooks, Sage and file and print services on our stuff
Read Craig Ackerson's full review
Matthew Marlowe profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Scale Computing HC3 platform across our whole organization. With its ease of use, we are able to obtain 99.9% uptime as well as a full DR site with 100% of our data. It solves the need by not requiring complicated switching equipment, advanced networks, etc. All of the systems are essentially self-contained and require near 0 maintenance.
  • DR - Scale does DR really well. With a few clicks, you can have a (or more) multiple DR sites.
  • Ease of use - The system is extremely easy to use through it's GUI. With a few clicks, you're able to spin a VM up and have it set up snapshots and replication to other sites.
  • Ability to share or use dynamic memory.
Scale Computing HC3 is well suited in any environment that requires a simple, cost-effective and easy to use hyper-converged system that "just works".
We run our entire environment on the HC3 system. Primary & Backup domain controllers, application servers, file servers and most importantly our terminal servers. I have been blown away by the ease of use, performance and redundancy with the system.
Read Matthew Marlowe's full review
Dave Guenther profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale to visualize our whole server environment including database, exchange, and terminal servers. Each user is impacted directly by the performance of the cluster. Scale helps us simplify our server infrastructure as well as provides redundancy and backups. With a simple GUI, the Scale nodes are easy to manage as well as add resources such as memory or virtual hard drives. As the name implies, Scale is a solution that will be easy to add additional nodes should our capacity needs change, this helps us budget future years with more certainty.
  • Scale care support provides, by far, some of the best support of any issues that arise.
  • No downtime for Scale updates.
  • Migration of virtual machines and cloning machines is incredibly simple.
  • I'd really like an Android app where I can view the status of and manage nodes. Their GUI is perfect for this use case.
  • During sales, I would have liked to be up sold to SSD's in each node.
Scale is great for mid-size organizations with 50-200 employees. Anywhere under that, there are likely solutions that are more cost-effective, over that I'm not sure but you can expand as needed. IT admins who want to focus less on server hardware will appreciate the all in one package and manageability of scale.
I'll decline on the basis of giving too much information about our company. The points of redundancy and high availability are all valid. We've come to trust that Scale will always have out OSs up and running.
Read Dave Guenther's full review
Brenda Hartson profile photo
January 10, 2018

Scale HC3 - It's for me.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All our VMs (except 1) are on the Scale Computing HC3 system across the organization. It lives in our colocation facility and snapshots across the network to a remote site. It is our virtual platform and storage area network and hosts SQL, SharePoint, Exchange, File/Print, Citrix, payroll, DHCP, DNS, and other miscellaneous. servers.
  • Easy to snapshot servers offsite and recover - We actually had to test this in real-time as we had a corrupted file server that had been snapshotted previously. Easy to log in and turn on the snapshot'd server, verify and re-replicate it back to replace the production server. What could have taken hours only took a few minutes.
  • Support - Scale has always been responsive to any questions or needs we have had and are easy to work with. We've done several os upgrades have had no issues.
  • Easy - it's just an easy platform to manage. Not too complicated. Visually appealing to manage through the GUI.
  • Using the GUI is good, however, when I have several servers on a box, it's sometimes hard to tell which node the server is connected to. It does not clearly, visibly display which node. If you hover over the node, it will give the name of the server.
Small to mid-sized companies that want something easy. We have approximately 20 servers in production on the cluster and sleep well at night knowing it works. Have not tested but it may not be suited for high volume transactions. Not sure.
SQL2016 / SharePoint 2016 - our SharePoint2010 and 2016 environment runs on the system with no issues.
Read Brenda Hartson's full review
Albert Smid profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Other than the ERP system, all other services are implemented in the Scale cluster, domain controller, file sharing, HR applications, EDI - FTP server etc.
  • The main strength of the system is that the system is fault tolerant. We have had issues on one server in the HC3 cluster (it went down!), no production downtime, end users did not even know that we had issues.
  • The support from the ScaleComputing team has been excellent.
  • User interface to manage the cluster is simple, the migration from various sources (VMware, stand alone servers was simple).
  • Requires just common sense knowledge to manage the system.
  • Like to see an option to export a VM external to the cluster, like to a NAS.
It is great for the normal IT Server functions and light database. At this time based on our deployment, I would not recommend this for high database loads. Having said that I would not deploy an ERP database on an Intel based system.

We're planning to migrate in the third quarter MS Exchange on the Scale cluster as well, our analysis indicates that we should have enough resources within the cluster to accommodate this.
After we migrated some VMWare and standalone servers to the Scale Cluster we noticed that not all of the initial setups on the Scale cluster was correct, adjusting them was painless and easy to execute.
Read Albert Smid's full review
Mark Snead profile photo
December 18, 2017

SCALE WON'T BAIL!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale HC3 for multiple departments. We host file servers for 8 departments and over 200 users. The HC3 solution allows us to provide stability are reliability to our entire server environment. Management is easy and the technical support provided by scale is one of the best I have ever worked with!
  • Stability is key! The HC3 platform allows us to almost never reboot. Thanks to its Linux operating system updates are rarely needed and when they are its a snap!
  • Better availability than others. Scales multi layered system environment ensures that you will not be left with VM getting destroyed.
  • I really can't say enough great things about how their customer service! They are always available when I need them and they provide a professional and quick solution.
  • The GUI is great, but sometimes I find that I can't do something I wish I could. Like cancelling an export job for example.
Well Suited: 1. Small to medium environments. We have maxed out our ability to add more nodes at 6. (Not sure if that's because of the level of boxes I chose or a limitation of the system. However, I believe that this size works well for us. 2. Anywhere there is a need for high availability. Since we have switched to Scales HC3 environment, about a year ago, we have not had a single server down!

Ill Suited:
1. Large environments.

We run two Enterpole servers for out 911 department on our HC3 solution. This type of server is used to locate individuals in need of 911 dispatch services, dispatch police, ambulances and equipment operatoers. As you can imagine these two servers HAVE to be up and running 24/7. That is why we trust Scale for our Hyperconvered needs.
Read Mark Snead's full review
Bryan Watson profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Scale Computing HC3 across all departments within the City of Hudson. The main reason we went with it was because of its built-in replication ability to other Scale Computing clusters, which is perfect for not only a backup solution but also as a disaster recovery solution.
  • I marvel that I can create a new VM, give it an IP address, a name, and join it to the domain all in about 10 minutes. After the first 3 or 4 VMs, I realized that I can take that freshly installed VM and just clone it to have new VMs under two minutes! I now have a VM that is strictly for cloning to make a new VM servers.
  • If a user accidentally deletes a file, I can clone that VM from a snapshot in about two minutes to recover the file. Or, depending on the replication schedule, I can retrieve the file from another clusters just as quickly.
  • The dashboard for the cluster has great gauges to show the usages of the CPUs, RAM, Disk space, and IOPS. It also has a box for each node in the cluster to show which VMs are on which node and its RAM and disk usages.
  • There is a tile for each VM that also has its own set of gauges to Disk, CPU, and network usage.
  • I like that I manage the cluster from a web browser instead of a KVM in a rack.
  • The gauges for the cluster could be improved. The Disk Space usage shows the total disk space before the RAID and not the actual usable amount after the RAID. The RAM cluster show a total off 188GB but show be 192GB; each cluster has 64GB of RAM and I have three clusters.
Having multiple clusters in the same location that are replicating to one another would be a good fit for a high availability environment. I do not believe it would be suited for a small business environment.
Our police department has squad car and body cameras that require lots of storage space. Scale Computing HC3 does an excellent job in handling the resources needed for the ability to access those videos without buffering or connectivity/accessibility issues when numerous people are trying to view videos or while videos are being uploaded to the server.
Read Bryan Watson's full review
Brandon Rasler profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our aging VM environment with Scale for a fraction of the cost that was quoted by our current vendor. Implementation time was lower than what was expected to upgrade existing equipment with new hardware and software.
  • We bought two HC3 so we have DR covered with ease by Scale Snapshots and Replication.
  • Tech support has been phenomenal. We have only called a few times but they have always been available and were able to immediately address our issues.
  • While we were not making the switch for improved performance reasons, our users have noticed speed improvements across several applications.
  • The time that Scale spent helping us with planning and implementation has been better than we have had with other vendors and far exceded our expectations.
  • If I could resize drive size without a VM shut down that would be great.
I would recommend to any colleague. I honestly think it is priced at the low end that most mid-sized businesses could afford and I wouldn't doubt the ability for a Scale system to handle a very large implementation as well.
Our ERP software runs completely on Scale. We are serving close to 150 users with terminal services using servers on our Scale hyper-converged infrastructure.
Read Brandon Rasler's full review
Colin Craig profile photo
December 18, 2017

Scale Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize two infrastructures. One for our main system that hosts an IIS and SQL server and a secondary cluster for DR. Both clusters support the majority of our businesses functionality.
  • Their raid set up is pretty neat. When a drive goes out, it permanently moves the information to another. One the drive is replaced, it builds on the new drive instead of transferring information back to the new drive.
  • We were able to cut our server room down from 4 racks to 2.
  • We were able to cut our energy consumption in half.
  • 3 words. Redundancy, redundancy, and redundancy. Excellent setup.
  • There are some things on the UI that can be implemented.
It’s great for small to mid size companies, not so much large companies. Scale meeting our budget was crucial for our decision making.
Read Colin Craig's full review
Zach Hightower profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Scale Computing HC3 cluster is used to provide a virtual host farm for the majority of our storage and services across our small college campus. Ultimately, it is utilized by every single faculty, staff, and student with services ranging from department share folders, LDAP connections, SQL databases, and remote desktops.
  • GUI - The interface is leagues above VMware and is very easy to use. It also supports OSX, which is something we value.
  • Ease of VM setup - Once you have the ISOs and drivers loaded, it takes almost no time to spin up a new virtual machine.
  • Overview and system alerts - Scale is excellent with providing a snapshot of your system resources as soon as you log in and also sends out timely emails to notify you when there are issues.
  • Load balancing - Sometimes when a drive goes out, the entire system has to go through a lengthy re-balancing process.
  • Firmware updates - Scale does a great job at improvements on their firmware, getting a swing-cluster to make those upgrades is difficult.
  • Support - Scale has amazing phone support and always has a knowledgeable tech available for critical issues. Smaller issues seem to get lost and it can be difficult to keep track of non-priority tickets.
I think Scale is perfect for small organizations that don't want to buy virtual hosts and storage. They also don't have ridiculous software licensing costs like many other virtual providers.

I am not sure where it would be less appropriate, but they are a lesser known company and there may be scenarios where more known software are compatible with other vendors.
We run our main LDAP, SQL, and remote desktop services on Scale.

We had an aging installation of SQL server. Because we had it on Scale, we were easily able to make a replacement/upgrade VM and then seamlessly transfer everything over to the new server with no glitches.

We can also spin up test VMs in no time at all. And delete them just as easily once we are finished.
Read Zach Hightower's full review
Lew Pollock profile photo
December 15, 2017

Tipping the Scale to HC3

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Scale HC3 in all our regional offices. All have their own server farm and we wanted to do something with virtualization without the cost of a VMWare cluster. We discovered Scale at a conference and discussed how it would fit with our plans for this office. We currently have two 3 node clusters and a single node in a very small satellite office. We have started replicating between our sites for backup and redundancy.
  • Ease in creating a new virtual host. Amazingly simple for our support people to create new VMs quickly and efficiently.
  • Easy to manage. Everything for the cluster is on one screen and easily to read and manage.
  • Great support team to help us troubleshoot issues.
  • Easy installation.
  • Would love to be able to manage all my clusters from one device.
  • Would love to make certain changes live without having to shut down a VM.
The only place we have not been able to use a Scale HC3 is when dealing with a software vendor which will not support VMs on any other software/hardware not related to Hyper-V or VMWare. We have been successful using these devices to replace all types of servers.
In our satellite office we are migrating all business to the HC3 cluster from email to file and print. To date we have had no issues running any type server on the Scale cluster.
Read Lew Pollock's full review
Nicholas Hempenius profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a six blade Scale cluster that supports our 20+ servers that are essential in providing the back-end of the Hammock Source e-commerce presence. The servers also provide services to our shipping, receiving, and customer service departments. Our Scale VM cluster addresses our need for a large amount of servers within a limited amount of space. It also allows for business expansion that is continuously going on.
  • Scale Computing provides a simple and easy to use graphical interface.
  • The VM export feature makes it easy to backup VM images to remote storage servers without having to use external tools.
  • Resource allocation to various VMs is easy and seamless using the graphical interface.
  • The VM Disk usage meter seems to be broken, we have an in house work around to track this.
  • The cluster logs could provide a little more feedback and be more verbose.
  • Automating VM export would also be extreamly helpful.
A great scenario where Scale computing is almost perfect would be in class room type environment. I am a technical lead for the East Carolina University Collegiate Cyber defense competition, we need to have a lab environment with many different operating systems that can all communicate with each other so that we can practice cyber security techniques. With my experience in using the HC3 I feel that it would be a wonderful environment to practice cyber defense.
We have multiple servers that provide business-critical applications, almost all of them reside on Scale Computing HC3. For example, our FedEx shipping server, vendor websites, NCR point of sales server all run on the HC3 and we have very little to no downtime for these critical servers. We feel safe knowing we can revert these servers to snapshots at any time if needed and that we have images backed up to remote storage in case of emergencies.
Read Nicholas Hempenius's full review
Rick Waring profile photo
December 12, 2017

Scale review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCALE to host our production/test/dev environments across the organization - We are currently in a transition from physical servers to virtual, and have extremely limited resources to manage a virtual environment. We needed a solution that was flexible, affordable, and did not require a lot of dedicated resource commitment.
  • Simplifies deployment of a resilient virtual platform with minimal dedicated resource commitment on our part.
  • Excellent tech support.
  • Very stable environment that recovers well from unexpected system glitches.
  • Reverting to a previous snapshot is a bit convoluted, not as straightforward as in VMWare.
  • Increase granularity of visibility into VM operations - they have been adding details to the main GUI, and are making progress, but still leaves a bit to be done as far as monitoring/managing individual VMs - overall system monitoring is good, but would be more useful if we could also drill down to individual BMs.
  • Currently there are unexpected issues with changing networking after the system has been deployed (for example: we need to change our default gateway - same subnet, but a different IP, and under the current version, we are required to take the entire system down for that one small change. SCALE is working on a better modification policy and we are hopeful they can develop a different solution so we do not have to totally shut down the system).
This is a quick way to deploy a resilient virtual environment that has decent specifications and flexibility, but not as good as some other solutions if you need to closely monitor individual VMs or require regular snapshot management.
We primarily host postgreSQL database applications with web-server front-ends -- uptime is critical for us and we have not had any serious issues with the SCALE environment, even when outside glitches (unusual failure of network switches supporting the iSCSI backbone did take the system offline, but SCALE recovered with minimal impact once the failed switches were replaced) - this could have been a very bad incident, but the SCALE environment recovered well with little additional effort on our part.
Read Rick Waring's full review

About Scale Computing HC3

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Features

Has featureSimplicity
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureScalability

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Nutanix, Hyper-V, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC12008,500Per Node
HC1250D15,170Per Node
HC12509,665Per Node
HC1250DF16,750Per Node
HC5250D25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English