iContact Reviews

87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2020
Karen Chamberlain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Maintains the list of contacts.
  • Allows us to segment or divide our contacts up into targeted lists.
  • Provides a dashboard with statistics for marketing insights.
  • Deleting contacts is not easy and if you make a mistake it is not easy to fix.
  • Finding and reusing messages is not easy.
  • Adding/manipulating blocks is sometimes frustrating to get the look you want in a message.
Read Karen Chamberlain's full review
December 19, 2019
Stacy Venditto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A quick campaign creation process.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Hundreds of attractive email templates.
  • There's a limited amount of storage space for images.
  • Their subscriber-based pricing can get high really fast.
  • The email customization options are limited.
Read Stacy Venditto's full review
December 05, 2019
Kelly Palermo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows me to send out large quantities of emails at one time.
  • It allows me to make my newsletters interesting.
  • I'd like to know how to attach links to the emails.
Read Kelly Palermo's full review
December 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email template design.
  • Workflow automation.
  • Scheduled delivery.
  • Interface can use an upgrade.
  • Email designer can use a fresher design too.
  • Would have liked to see functions we could put on our website (popups) instead of using 3rd party.
Read this authenticated review
September 12, 2019
Delbert Adair | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • You can get help by live chat, email or telephone.
  • They regularly send out tips to improve your communication with your subscribers.
  • They allow you to have many pictures. I have 126 and have not reached my maximum limit.
  • Every time you edit or sometimes open an email it brings it to the top of the list. I would prefer my email to go to the top only after I send it out to my subscribers.
  • When I add a new contact I sometimes copy and paste the email. This is not allowed sometimes and I have to manually type the email in.
  • LinkedIn will not allow you to add pictures anymore when sending emails out.
Read Delbert Adair's full review
September 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use templates.
  • Good delivery rates.
  • Good customer support
  • Can get complicated if you do not want to use one of their templates
  • Larger email lists can get expensive.
  • Very strict rules about adding a contact who does not respond to an invite.
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2019
Stephanie Nelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great themes and templates that are already set up for you.
  • It's easy for my customers to set up or decide to decline emails.
  • Once emails are sent out, I'm able to view success rates and how well the emails are being received. Like how well they are doing, being opened and such.
  • The ways the emails are sent out come across as spam. I wish iContact info was left out of it.
  • Some of the editing tools are hard to navigate, and once I go from one page to the next, I have lost things that I have worked on. "Save" doesn't seem to work.
Read Stephanie Nelson's full review
December 17, 2018
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick sends. You can trust that it will go out.
  • Individual person management. We mostly use them in groups, but being able to address the small things on each account makes it more effective and makes us more efficient.
  • Templates. Some of their newer templates are really nice and do more than what I could ever hope to do!
  • Their emails are not WYSIWYG. We will pick a font and love it, but then see that it turned into a generic font when it was sent.
  • Email upload. Their recent email uploading situation is terrible. It is a recent update and only adds time to my job.
  • List management. It's not like MailChimp, but still works OK. It could be better.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
December 14, 2018
Kirsten Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Contact management. iContact is really great for entering all your contact. You are able to put them onto different lists, and let them choose which lists they would like to be a part of as well. There are many data fields provided to fill in information.
  • Emailing. We use the email feature at least once a month. They are always improving and adding new features, which is very helpful in presenting content in a new and exciting way to our readers. There are many options with remade templates and themes, or you can add your own.
  • Insights. It is really helpful being able to have the data to see what is working and what isn't. It is nice to be able to go back and see how things went in the past compared to now. Opens, clicks, shares, etc.
  • Surveys. iContact used to offer doing surveys direct through their platform and it was great. Very easy to use with great results. They removed that feature, sadly.
  • Even better contact management. Every list you put a contact on goes towards your subscriber count. The more subscribers you have to more you have to pay. Sometimes emails get lost and the only way to manually subscribe someone to a list that never responded is by contacting support.
  • More flexibility in creating templates. Their template creating feature for emails is very rigid. While you can change colors and widths of columns, you can't make it completely yours
Read Kirsten Rodriguez's full review
December 07, 2018
Nicholas Kouvatsos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • iContact, for the most part, ONLY does e-mail, so they're good at it. You can expect inbox deliverability to to be high because it's all they do. They don't have their team focused on trying to be everything to everyone.
  • iContact has an easy drag & drop user interface to create e-mails as well as the flexibility of being able to code your own e-mails with an HTML source editor.
  • They only do e-mail. This is a pro in the sense that they're good at it. But their marketing automation is lacking.
  • Misses the mark on some cool things that competitors are doing like sending e-mails out at different times to individual subscribers based on when they're most likely to open your message. This would be a great feature to add.
  • Segmentation isn't as good as it could be. A tagging system would be preferred for segmenting. Right now, you can really only segment based on field data and to add a field for every possible situation I might want to tag a contact record is a bit daunting. Being able to segment based on realtime behavior would also be helpful. For example, we only send to contacts that have had some interaction (opened or clicked an email) within the last 180 days. Each month, I have to pull everyone who hasn't clicked in that time and add them to a list that I exclude. I also have to remove anyone who has interacted again from the exclusion list. It'd be easier if that segment of people updated automatically so I didn't have to manually add and remove people each month.
  • If you're working with a lot of contacts and you have a lot of segments, loading and performance can be slow.
Read Nicholas Kouvatsos's full review
December 07, 2018
Jerry van Dalen Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great list segmentation. You can make a segment based on many different rules.
  • Analytical tracking information is also very useful. It has all the major KPI's that one would expect.
  • The integration to Salesforce is very useful. It allows us to have a more complete view of a contact within the Salesforce profile.
  • Some of the emails that bounce cannot be traced to a specific reason. It leaves our team in the dark about why the emails are bouncing.
  • The spam test sometimes give a thumbs up while the email is still flagged in Outlook. Obviously Outlook is a big deal for B2B marketing emails, and the resolution hasn't been so clear.
  • iContact alots only a specific amount of space for your email images. This can be restricting at times.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
January 04, 2019
Todd McGee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Versatile templates available
  • Will create customized templates
  • Easy to use email address collection forms
  • Will offer expert insight and analysis on how to build lists
  • Resizing columns
  • Subscriber sign-up forms across different user folders
  • Spellcheck is a little cumbersome
Read Todd McGee's full review
December 19, 2018
Danny Poulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Much more reasonable guidelines for acceptable content than other programs I have tried
  • Easy to understand tracking data
  • Contact management is a breeze with custom lists
  • The editing of custom emails can be a little frustrating sometimes, Changing fonts and sizes, resizing and positioning images...
Read Danny Poulos's full review
December 19, 2018
Taylor Cavazos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • GREAT customer service. Our rep, Paige Maites, is always the first to pick up the phone and handle any issues.
  • I love that you can design invites within the application.
  • Managing lists. I feel like we are always hitting our storage cap with unnecessary contacts that are over 2 years old
Read Taylor Cavazos's full review
December 07, 2018
Tom Alsop | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Recently, iContact changed the way HTML emails are prepared and that has significantly moved us along this path of communicating better with our membership.
  • If we have questions, Bill is always there to help us. The personal involvement means a lot because many times we're under a deadline to get information out to our membership.
  • Adding names to iContact has been a cinch as we grow.
  • Once we got to understand how HTML emails and newsletters were created, the process has been much simpler and I cannot honestly think of ways to improve anything about their website or implementation of the work we need to have done.
Read Tom Alsop's full review
April 25, 2018
Cameron DeJong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Constant support from a dedicated account manager.
  • Consistent deliverability of e-mail messages.
  • Accurate reporting of clicks, opens and the ability to easily segment based on these.
  • Ability to deliver to inbox based on days/times recipient typically opens.
  • Reports on messages being forwarded or otherwise shared.
  • More sends per month included in plans.
Read Cameron DeJong's full review
April 18, 2018
Richard Angeloni | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • iContact is relatively easy to use, with many templates and the ability to customize templates to better fit your brand.
  • iContact also provides excellent customer service. They have an extensive help section and my account representative is always available to answer questions.
  • iContact provides good feedback on open rates, with downloadable reports.
  • Although there are different types of iContact products, the product we use is relatively basic.
  • The spell check feature can be improved.
  • The process to maintain and scrub mailing lists is not as obvious as I would prefer.
Read Richard Angeloni's full review
September 14, 2015
Charlene Botet Pelaez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows for multiple audience databases.
  • It allows for multiple document structures and designs (internal and imported)
  • User friendly and ease of use
  • Access to help for functions could be more readily available within the various areas of content. This would prevent users from having to go to the help area and away from where they are working.
  • Easing limitations on how many users could be sent blasts at one given time.
Read Charlene Botet Pelaez's full review
April 30, 2015
Zeenath Haniff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer service is beyond expectations. Every representative has full knowledge of every aspect of the program and provides detailed instructions including links. They are prompt and courteous each time as well as patient, staying online to chat until the entire issue is resolved.
  • iContact is easy to use by providing building blocks in the form of modules. It is rather simple to move blocks of text or add new text boxes.
  • Linking directly to social media is an intelligent way of instantly extending the reach of an email marketing piece. Having all major social media platforms through iContact also makes it easier to track.
  • Tracking reports does the work for you, making iContact a one-stop shop for email marketing purposes. It is easy to see if the email marketing piece is truly reaching the target audience.
  • Copying and pasting text can only be done using keyboard functions. The right-click drop-down menu exists but does not work, rendering the menu useless.
  • Readjusting the size of boxes isn't easy and requires manipulating the program to get exactly the right look, which takes up an unnecessary amount of time.
  • Lack of space for image storage reduces efficiency.
Read Zeenath Haniff's full review
July 07, 2015
Mark Tuttle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They are inexpensive
  • Their HTML editing software is great for new users
  • Easy to manage various lists for large number of broadcast sends
  • Testing emails is quick and easy
  • They are not in a hurry to improve their platform. Their software is the same today as it was 3 years ago when we first signed up with them (an eternity in internet years)
  • Their analytics are sparse, if you want to know more than just general open and click rates then look somewhere else.
  • Deliverability is terrible. If you use iContact expect to be sent in the spam folder for all your Gmail and Hotmail clients.
Read Mark Tuttle's full review
April 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer service is wonderful! They are always helpful, guiding and available for any odd question, even if those questions are training for a newbie to the email world.
  • Building forms for data collection and the code generator the for the site is very easy.
  • Ensuring double opt-in is extremely straightforward.
  • Including unsubscribe on every message automatically means we never have to worry about CAN-SPAM.
  • We also would like to send transactional messages which don't require an opt-out, this is a challenge with iContact. (May be a feature with pro?)
  • The regular version of iContact doesn't support event management or logic flows for automated messaging.
  • Custom form fields have limited field type options (can't build a drop-down).
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2015
Richard MacRae | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their deliverability was very good, our bounce rate averaged less than 2% and open rates were better than the email provider we moved to after we left iContact.
  • The user interface was relatively simple and easy to use, with only a couple exceptions it's very intuitive.
  • They have a large selection of templates to choose from, both completely blank and themed with graphics. Example: want to send a 4th of July themed email? Go into the email templates and they'll have several with fireworks and flags decorating the background and/or borders, all you have to do is plug in your main content and not worry about spending time "decorating" the email.
  • The amount of free storage they provide for hosting the images in your email is better than some of the others out there so if you need to store a lot of images for your emails it's easy to do within iContact and avoid using a third party hosting service, which complicates the email building process.
  • Very weak reporting. Example: they calculate click through rates based off of the number of emails you send, not off the number of people who opened the email and actually saw the links in your email. Because of this a poor open rate results in a poor click through rate, even if 100% of the people who read your email clicked on your link. If you're not aware how they're calculating this it could lead you to make some very poor decisions based on their misleading stats.
  • There is no automated A/B testing feature. You have to export your list, segment it in a spreadsheet, label each segment, then upload the segments, now you have the lists for the test emails and the main segment for the winner. Next you create the two versions of the email and send them. After you have collected enough data you have to examine the stats and choose a winner, then send it to your main segment. Both of the other email providers I've tired since have an automated A/B testing feature, create the test emails, the software segments your list, sends the test, waits for the data to come in, then sends the winner out to the remainder of your list. While they do have limitations, it's far easier than iContact.
  • They don't have any built in rendering or testing mechanism to see how your emails will look in Gmail vs.Yahoo, or a mobile device. If you want to do this you either have to use a third party service that you upload or send the email to or you can create various email accounts and send test emails to each, then log into each account to see how your email is displayed.
Read Richard MacRae's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (23)
6.3
Dynamic content (20)
6.0
Ability to test dynamic content (20)
5.4
Landing pages (13)
6.1
A/B testing (16)
5.9
Mobile optimization (20)
7.1
Email deliverability reporting (28)
7.7
List management (24)
7.0
Triggered drip sequences (14)
6.5
Dashboards (25)
7.7
Standard reports (24)
6.8
Custom reports (14)
6.4

What is iContact?

iContact is an email marketing solution that was acquired by Vocus in 2012. The product is integrated with Facebook and Twitter and is aimed at SMBs with unlimited sending as a key feature.

Drag & Drop Editor
No HTML required, but can be used in conjunction with their Drag & Drop email designer.

A/B Split Testing
Conduct email tests to specific subscriber groups ranging from test email subject lines, incentives, layouts, or color schemes.

Automation
Schedule emails based on your own needs, or with suggested times based on iContact's automation algorithm.

Landing Pages
Designed to help users automize conversion rates with customizable landing page templates.

Performance Reporting
Analyze email metrics with personalized dashboards.

Subscriber Management
Embed custom sign-up forms, and manage lists of subscribers based on demographics.

Multiple Users
One account, multiple users, with customizable permissions-levels.

API Integrations
Incorporate data from multiple sources into iContact for subscriber management. Export data from iContact into other tools to optimize email marketing applications.




Categories:  Email Marketing

iContact Integrations

iContact Competitors

iContact Pricing

Starting Price: $14

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
1500 Users$15.00Per Month
2500 Users$25.00Per Month
5000 Users$45.00Per Month

iContact Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is iContact?

iContact is an email marketing solution that was acquired by Vocus in 2012. The product is integrated with Facebook and Twitter and is aimed at SMBs with unlimited sending as a key feature.

How much does iContact cost?

iContact starts at $14.

What is iContact's best feature?

Reviewers rate Email deliverability reporting and Dashboards highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses iContact?

The most common users of iContact are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.