TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6X/04/4CWIFQVVGM2S.JPEGWhy M-Files will make you Smile!M-Files is being used to store content that is related to individual departments, across departments and across business functions. We had issues sharing and finding content, having too many duplicates and restricting permissions to certain content (or too much restriction).,Search functionality - M-Files has a robust search system that allows users to quickly find content in seconds Relationships between content - how M-Files relates objects to content makes finding valuable information easy Versatility - MFiles allows users to integrate with current systems and microsoft office to easily integrate into normal business operations.,One major frustration we have had has to do with our particular project, not the tool in and of itself. We had a combination of development efforts, some from M-Files and some from our developers in house. It has been hard to push the project forward at times since we are not allowed to control the cloud environment or develop in the cloud environment. We have had to wait on things to get pushed via content packs we develop on prem, which are then shared via a dropbox to M-Files. We hoped there would be a smoother solution for this.,8,We haven't had a chance to experience this; we just rolled out M-Files to our first department.,We have slightly since we employ SharePoint, but we mainly are going to benefit from the API integration that is available. We have an in house application that we are going to be able to use as an integration with M-Files which is going to add a lot of value.,We expect to benefit from all of these capabilities, but have not had the chance yet to do so. We have had careful planning sessions however around permissioning and confidential content.,Yes. We have set up a detailed record retention schedule that is going to be implemented via M-Files that allows to to comply with regulations/audits.,In house applications that pull customer information and transaction information.M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located.M-Files is being Piloted by a few NC Board of Nursing departments prior to being used organization-wide. M-Files is simplifying access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. We're also combining the implementation of M-Files with the OCR conversion of 10+ years of graphic files into electronically searchable files, which will dramatically improve accessibility and drastically reduce search time.,M-Files simplifies access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. You just need to know what you're looking for not where it's located. M-Files Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) tool can search several different databases and applications simultaneously, including but not limited to Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive, and shared drives. The IML results of your search criteria are displayed on a single page, which simplifies review, access and storage. M-Files automatically tracks file/document versions to simplify management and version control, as well as prevent duplicates. Searching specific files using the IML Tool is streamlined by displaying company/customer names, document types, contacts etc.,None so far, since we're early in our implementation.,10,M-Files has already improved staff efficiencies by simplifying search and storage. M-Files will improve data, file accessibility using the IML tool which can search several locations simultaneously.,We have not installed the IML Tool yet, but plan to implement it within the next 1-2 months. We're very excited about the IML tool's ability to search documents in several different enterprise locations simultaneously.,M-Files built-in security capabilities have improved our data security and controls, improving the protection of our data and security compliance.,Yes, M-Files will help with our planned SOC2 audit.,Pilot has been limited to loading paper documents directly into M-Files. The transition from paper to electronic files has improved access to data and simplified/sped up searching. Next phase includes transitioning Papervision digital files into electronically searchable documents located into M-Files for easy access, search, storage and version control. Organization-wide implementation in 1-2 months will include integration with Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive and shared-network drives. This will make data, documents easier to access, search ... using the IML Tool toed to all of these systems.,Worldox GX4 and MS SharePointM-files ReviewWe use M-Files for our U.S. HR department. While we are a global company, we have not rolled this out outside of the U.S. so it is not used across the whole organization at this time. It addresses elimination of paper files and having everything stored electronically.,Electronically located on users' desktop and users can drag and drop documents quickly and easily. We were manually filing papers, so this has been a nice tool to have. Once our system was set up, it has been user friendly.,Main menu not as intuitive. Client set up was not as easy and streamlined.,5,More efficient way of storing files Electronic ease for our administrators,Empower yourself with content, information and processWe use M-Files workflows to manage business units across the organization. Such as Project implantation, contract life cycle, sales, commissions and more. Tracking project status, history, and documents are key to our success. We utilize M-Files workflows to track key project tasks, personnel and follow up. Workflow notifications keep me on track with contract balances, end dates because the consultant and projects records are always at my fingertips. M-Files standardizes our documentation employing templates for quotes, proposals, contracts and project documentation streamlining our processes.,Workflows are powerful; they notify personnel of the status and details of a project. Routines, tasks, and checklists are assigned automatically via email or views based on roles or process. We can track and inform on anything, from customer requests, formal internal communications, requests, audits, and risk. When a teammate is assigned a request, it brings instant visibility and accountability. Colleagues receive reminders on task deadlines, and tasks escalate when not completed on time, resulting in stronger communication and faster result all around. I often say, “If we track it on a spreadsheet today, the process needs to be moved to M-Files tomorrow." There are many micro processes within a team where an individual manages an important procedure in a homegrown manner often on a spreadsheet with date, check boxes, and reminders. Finding these and deploying their methods in M-Files can ease the task and share responsibility among the team.,I would like to see M-Files implement spellcheck in the user interface and the administration module. It seems like a no-brainer improvement for the end user. A web-based template tool or integration would be also wonderful enhancement . Enhancement of the Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) to ease migration of documents from Network Folders.,10,M-Files has let us do more with less. We always look to M-Files to streamline operations. We have increased our efficiency in all areas of business and rarely fret about purchasing more licences to add individuals to the process.,We have implemented permissions in all areas of M-Files. All users are on a need-to-see basis based on groups, department or workflow state. M-Files can set permission on any piece of metadata. As an example: salespeople create commission statements and send them to their manager changing their permission to read-only. The manager permissions are set to Edit. If they send it back to the salesperson, permissions change back to edit. When the commission statement is approved and sent to admin, the document becomes read-only for all. Permission protects the document throughout all phases of the workflow and salespeople have access to only documents they created.,M-Files meets our customers compliance needs in document control, change requests, issue managment, risk managment, audits and periodic task managment with automated process, easy controlled document access, automated training and course managment. M-Files is very strong in this area and should not be overlooked.,We have integrated M-files with core ERP e-automate and SalesForce replicating vendor, customer, project and contract data to M-Files providing a single source for core data. With our customers we have integreated with an endless lidt of databases: MS Dynamics, Sage, NetSuite, and CYMA just to name a few. The advantages include; a single source for data across the organization that minimizes data entry errors and reduces clicks when entering data.M-Files is the Document Management Solution We NeededM-Files is being used across multiple departments as a library for raw material and packaging specification documents. It is also being used to manage a number of workflows related to those documents, as well as the onboarding process for new record creation in our main ERP system.,M-Files offers fantastic document management capabilities that solve virtually all of the issues associated with managing document libraries in a traditional folder structure. Version control and document history, the ability to classify documents such that they appear in multiple views, and the excellent access control are all tools we can no longer live without. M-Files is extremely customizable without requiring a deep technical background. Basic administrative functions can be learned with relative ease. User support for M-Files is top notch.,M-Files lacks the ability to audit for users who have never accessed it.,10,M-Files has greatly improved our ability to manage a large library of raw material and packaging specification documents. General users now have simplified and improved access to these critical documents, and we have gained a greatly improved ability to manage and maintain this library going forward. This has meant significant time savings and improvements in efficiency in multiple functional areas. M Files has afforded us the ability to develop processes and workflows on the fly. M-Files is particularly well suited to the development of processes, since it is easily updatable and generally quite flexible. This has proven to be of great benefit in instances where our organization lacks an established process in the first place, as it allows us to experiment and develop one organically.,M-Files has improved our ability to access documents and to control access to those documents. We have not as of yet tied M-Files directly to any external systems.,The most basic levels of access control in M-Files have been sufficient for our purposes, and have represented a significant improvement over what was otherwise available in a tradition folder structure on a server.,We are not currently housing documents against which we would be audited in M Files, however it is easy to see how version control and document history in M-Files would be of tremendous advantage in these situations.,MS SharePoint / SQL
Windows
M-Files
63 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

M-Files Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

M-Files
63 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 63 vetted M-Files reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 26)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Rebecca Sims profile photo
September 07, 2018

User Review: "Why M-Files will make you Smile!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is being used to store content that is related to individual departments, across departments and across business functions. We had issues sharing and finding content, having too many duplicates and restricting permissions to certain content (or too much restriction).
  • Search functionality - M-Files has a robust search system that allows users to quickly find content in seconds
  • Relationships between content - how M-Files relates objects to content makes finding valuable information easy
  • Versatility - MFiles allows users to integrate with current systems and microsoft office to easily integrate into normal business operations.
  • One major frustration we have had has to do with our particular project, not the tool in and of itself. We had a combination of development efforts, some from M-Files and some from our developers in house. It has been hard to push the project forward at times since we are not allowed to control the cloud environment or develop in the cloud environment. We have had to wait on things to get pushed via content packs we develop on prem, which are then shared via a dropbox to M-Files. We hoped there would be a smoother solution for this.
MFiles is well suited for companies with large amounts of content, that have confidential information, that are related to other "objects" and much more.
Read Rebecca Sims's full review
Tom Purdy profile photo
September 05, 2018

Review: "M-Files - Allows you to search for what you need wihout knowing where it's located."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is being Piloted by a few NC Board of Nursing departments prior to being used organization-wide. M-Files is simplifying access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. We're also combining the implementation of M-Files with the OCR conversion of 10+ years of graphic files into electronically searchable files, which will dramatically improve accessibility and drastically reduce search time.
  • M-Files simplifies access to files, data, etc., located in several different databases and applications. You just need to know what you're looking for not where it's located.
  • M-Files Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) tool can search several different databases and applications simultaneously, including but not limited to Outlook, SharePoint, OneDrive, and shared drives. The IML results of your search criteria are displayed on a single page, which simplifies review, access and storage.
  • M-Files automatically tracks file/document versions to simplify management and version control, as well as prevent duplicates.
  • Searching specific files using the IML Tool is streamlined by displaying company/customer names, document types, contacts etc.
  • None so far, since we're early in our implementation.
M-Files is well-suited for searching files, documents, etc., that are located in several different databases and/or applications. It also simplifies the search process quickly by displaying results from several different sources simultaneously.
Read Tom Purdy's full review
Torrie Plata profile photo
August 27, 2018

"M-files Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-Files for our U.S. HR department. While we are a global company, we have not rolled this out outside of the U.S. so it is not used across the whole organization at this time. It addresses elimination of paper files and having everything stored electronically.
  • Electronically located on users' desktop and users can drag and drop documents quickly and easily.
  • We were manually filing papers, so this has been a nice tool to have.
  • Once our system was set up, it has been user friendly.
  • Main menu not as intuitive.
  • Client set up was not as easy and streamlined.
Would be well suited for a smaller sized company with fewer complexities.
The initial client set up interaction with the users was confusing.
We had some disconnects with statement of work and pricing.
Read Torrie Plata's full review
Todd Ek profile photo
October 15, 2018

M-Files Review: "Empower yourself with content, information and process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

We use M-Files workflows to manage business units across the organization. Such as Project implantation, contract life cycle, sales, commissions and more. Tracking project status, history, and documents are key to our success. We utilize M-Files workflows to track key project tasks, personnel and follow up. Workflow notifications keep me on track with contract balances, end dates because the consultant and projects records are always at my fingertips. M-Files standardizes our documentation employing templates for quotes, proposals, contracts and project documentation streamlining our processes.



  • Workflows are powerful; they notify personnel of the status and details of a project. Routines, tasks, and checklists are assigned automatically via email or views based on roles or process.
  • We can track and inform on anything, from customer requests, formal internal communications, requests, audits, and risk. When a teammate is assigned a request, it brings instant visibility and accountability. Colleagues receive reminders on task deadlines, and tasks escalate when not completed on time, resulting in stronger communication and faster result all around.
  • I often say, “If we track it on a spreadsheet today, the process needs to be moved to M-Files tomorrow." There are many micro processes within a team where an individual manages an important procedure in a homegrown manner often on a spreadsheet with date, check boxes, and reminders. Finding these and deploying their methods in M-Files can ease the task and share responsibility among the team.
  • I would like to see M-Files implement spellcheck in the user interface and the administration module. It seems like a no-brainer improvement for the end user.
  • A web-based template tool or integration would be also wonderful enhancement .
  • Enhancement of the Intelligent Metadata Layer (IML) to ease migration of documents from Network Folders.
M-Files is well suited for almost any environment, my favorite being Quality Management. It is a great fit for any compliance or regulated organization that wants to enhance compliance or is working towards compliance. M-Files powerfully assists with document control, change requests, audit planning, and execution, issue and risk management and training with a turn-key approach.
Read Todd Ek's full review
Matthew Sirois profile photo
October 08, 2018

Review: "M-Files is the Document Management Solution We Needed"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is being used across multiple departments as a library for raw material and packaging specification documents. It is also being used to manage a number of workflows related to those documents, as well as the onboarding process for new record creation in our main ERP system.
  • M-Files offers fantastic document management capabilities that solve virtually all of the issues associated with managing document libraries in a traditional folder structure. Version control and document history, the ability to classify documents such that they appear in multiple views, and the excellent access control are all tools we can no longer live without.
  • M-Files is extremely customizable without requiring a deep technical background. Basic administrative functions can be learned with relative ease.
  • User support for M-Files is top notch.
  • M-Files lacks the ability to audit for users who have never accessed it.

M-Files is specifically well suited for document management, especially when the population documents are significant. When the number of documents is small, that advantages of using M-Files may be offset by the need to setup an appropriate document type and metadata structure.

M-Files is also excellent at managing customized workflows.

Read Matthew Sirois's full review
Tim Goetz profile photo
September 28, 2018

User Review: "M-Files Rocks!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being and end user of M-Files, I am in the Sales Dept and use it daily. I create Proposals using the templates and love it. I use it to look up customer contract information which is done very easily. All correspondence done with my customers is stored in M-Files so I am able to easily retrieve it.
Bottom line... "It makes my job that much easier!"
  • Creating Proposals: I use the templates in Word and Excel to create Pricing and Proposals on a daily basis.
  • Archiving Customer Information: I use the Outlook Plug in and archive all emails related to my customers and projects I am working on.
  • Retrieving Customer Information: The SEARCH feature makes life easy and I can easily find my customer information with a quick search.
  • I don't see any areas that need improvement. However, M-Files seams to find them and put them in the new releases before I even thought I needed them. For instance the highlighting of the search words.. very nice and makes it easy to find at a quick glance what I am looking for.
M-Files seams to have every area covered.. at least from my perspective. I can see where every dept at our company can use it.
Read Tim Goetz's full review
Alan Lampe profile photo
September 21, 2018

M-Files Review: "A wonderful document management system."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used in several departments. We scan in various documents, tag them and retain them as historical records. It is easier to find the file in M-Files than search through paper files.
  • It indexes a wide range of documents easily.
  • It allows for custom designed tags.
  • It is easy for me to use.
  • When tagging an Excel spreadsheet of names, I add the person to the tag. If the person is new, M-Files wants to add the new person. The new user window pops up in the middle of the screen every single time. I have to move it out of the way to see the data behind it. M-Files needs to be able to retain the location of where I move a window so that it opens where I want it to, and not right in the middle of the screen, right on top of the data that I need to enter.
  • Wish it had an OCR option.
M-Files is well suited to retain your invoices, orders, employee information and more. With custom-designed fields for tagging, you have the option to input as much, or as little data you want.
Read Alan Lampe's full review
Ken Heinrich profile photo
September 03, 2018

M-Files Review: "Great value"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We resell M-Files. We provide the M-Files platform to our customers/prospects here in Canada.
  • Great feature set
  • Cost effective
  • Easy to deploy
  • Ability for free trials
M-Files is very well suited for companies that are looking to automate some of their current manual workflows.
Read Ken Heinrich's full review
Michael Ellerbeck profile photo
August 01, 2018

Review: "M-Files, simple, elegant, love the outlook plugin and the m: drive!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently M-Files is being used by a single department to track a lot of documents surrounding COAs and other necessary documents for purchase orders. It is extremely useful for being able to add documents directly from an email. It sends out alerts if certain forms haven't been entered and matched in a timely manner.
  • Easy install, go get your self a demo!
  • Great outlook integration!
  • Wonderful API
  • More more more training docs!
  • M-Files is a paradigm shift, so wrapping your brain around how its storing metadata takes some getting used to.
  • Learning curve with advanced features (what product doesn't?).
It's great for routing documents, creating workflows, and quickly retrieving data and image scans/PDF. Search works really well
Sometimes it is difficult to know how to match its metadata design to a traditional ECM problem. I think that is where lots of training documents, examples templates, and case studies would be very helpful! I like documentation!
Read Michael Ellerbeck's full review
John Kujawa profile photo
September 25, 2018

"M-Files review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have vaults for Finance Dept, Legal Dept, Personnel (HR), IT and Executive files across the whole organization. M-Files eliminates the need to paper copies, easier and faster to search and allows for workflow.
  • Ease of use. Familiar user interface.
  • Search of documents.
  • Easy to configure and administer.
  • Annotations seem clumsy to work with. On large documents annotations are hard to find. Multiple annotations can overlay each other.
  • Would like the ability to setup pre-defined queries where user can enter a values for certain metadata fields.
  • Workflow can be more intuitive.
  • Web client currently does not match the desktop client.
Works well with certain documents that have clear metadata. Harder to work with on more generic documents.
Read John Kujawa's full review
Rush Hoag profile photo
September 07, 2018

Review: "M-Files is a great problem solving solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-Files to help our customers keep track of and control their documents.
  • Storage of documents
  • Customer service
  • User training
  • M-Files used to offer a more entry-level program, but they have done away with that, limiting the type of the customer that can justify the product
It's perfect for people managing complex financial portfolios
Read Rush Hoag's full review
No photo available
September 21, 2018

M-Files Review: "Look Ma, No Hand[ler]s"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently used to manage contracts (purchase contracts and community partnerships) and approvals by our Board of Education.
  • Creating associations between documents/objects; allows for endless options for viewing data that is stored within M-Files.
  • Search feature; also searches within documents (not just the titles).
  • Workflows
  • More user friendly customization options that do not require knowledge of coding/scripting. For example, prompting the creation of a new document from a template in a workflow.
  • When using the 'insert property' feature in a Word doc, I would love to convert dates from a mm/dd/yy format to be written out (such as September 21, 2018). Or possibly even just to pull the year or the month from a selected date to insert into a document.
  • I've often wished that I could find more detailed tutorials online for some features.
M-Files is well suited for a step-by-step process that involves changes to documents. Such as a document approval process. Specifically in the way that we currently use IT for contracts, which involves revisions and approvals by multiple people, tracking of milestones and important dates, and management of associated insurance requirements.

We also have a trip application process that I would love to integrate into M-Files. This would eliminate the need for multiple people to print and sign a document to show their approval. The approval could be granted within the same system and then the application moved to the next step in the approval process.

An example of a less appropriate use - M-files would probably be overkill for a simple repository of data/documents that only one person needs to access. Although if I already had M-Files I would probably use it anyway.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 12, 2018

User Review: "M-Files"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the legal department as a database to store contracts. We put in ticklers to let us know when an agreement is coming up for auto-renewal, termination, etc.
  • User interface is easy to understand and learn for new users.
  • The functionality is great once contracts are loaded into the system.
  • Customer service. We experienced some difficulty with our account this year and the service wasn't the most responsive. We rely on M-Files to run our department and without prompt responses/clear resolutions, it became fairly frustrating.
  • Problem resolution. We were shut out of our account for a month or so this year which really set us back as a company. Not sure why it took so long to resolve, but again, it was a significant hinderance.
  • We have a backlog of contracts that need to be uploaded. Anything that allows the contracts to be input into the system in a quicker, more efficient manner would be helpful
I think it is a perfect solution for a company such as ours, a basic contract storage database that also allows you to keep track of contract expiry. Anything more advanced, or needing specific integrations completed, I would probably recommend a different service.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 12, 2018

User Review: "M-Files is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used throughout our organization. We rely on the powerful workflow tools to help us manage our internal processes. As a growing company we needed a powerful tool that would help us grow without requiring additional staffing resources. M-files has allowed us to continue our growth plan with great success.
  • Ease of use for both technical and non-technical staff.
  • Ability to search within M-Files as well as other repositories.
  • Support and service of the software.
  • The M-Files software has very few areas for improvement.
M-Files has applications in nearly all of our departments. We use it to manage Human Resource documents as well as the hiring process. M-Files is the starting point and repository for all of our contracts. All documents are stored and managed in M-Files as well. It is ingrained in everything we do.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 12, 2018

M-Files Review: "Pleasantly pleased couldn't be happier with program"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-files to manage our QA documentation.
  • Very user friendly
  • You can easily locate your documents within moments by using the search
  • We were able to bring information from other databases to retrieve information so lessen manual input of metadata within M-files.
  • Very nice reporting feature - we use to create an index tracing material to part.
  • I have not seen any issues that affect our use
M-files has worked very well in the tracing of materials used, locating documents and providing reports. M-files also has very good support.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

Review: "M-Files saved us from a document conversion nightmare"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by specific departments for two different companies that we support. Converting documents to electronic format using ChronoScan, attaching tags and descriptions to make documents searchable, and adding destroy dates for make sure documents are being destroyed for legal reasons.
  • Using ChronoScan makes it very easy to get hard copies to be converted to electronic copies, and automatically added to M-Files, once ChronoScan is setup. The setup of ChronoScan took some time, as its very specific to a template being used.
  • Adding tags, metadata, and descriptions to the M-Files properties for each documents makes it very easy to find those documents, or group of documents in the future.
  • Having the ability to set destroy dates in the properties gives us the confidence to know that document has been destroyed and can no longer be accessed forever.
  • Workflows allow for automatic document loading vs approved document loading. Making any part of the workflow a place to place verification and approval if desired.
  • The only long-standing issue we have at the moment is a slowness issue, but working through the issue we are discovering our two vault instances are at two different locations. Maybe do a better job at determining the best datacenter location for the vault to reside at depending on the customers locations?
Converting paper documents to electronic documents, organizing, making those documents searchable, and destroying them at a specific date.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 23, 2018

M-Files Review: "Strong DMS"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files is used by a department only. It used for integration with MS Office.
  • The most powerful part of M-Files is workflow automation.
  • System has quite a simple interface.
  • Good integration with other applications like MS Dynamics.
  • Workflow definitions need graphical interface.
  • M-Files API need documentation and samples.
  • Files upload is very slow.
M-Files is well suited for what it is designed for - document management.
Customization using M-Files API is cumbersome, not because of API itself, but because of API documentation.
Read this authenticated review
Vineta Rubene profile photo
September 11, 2017

User Review: "M-files Magic"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use M-files across the whole organization (50 users). M-files helped to implement a paperless office - our documents are agreed and approved in M-files. Documents are available at other company locations immediately. Version control is great with M-files.
  • Very user-friendly interface.
  • Quite easy to configure.
  • Extremely powerful user access rights management, including access based on document metadata.
  • Add comments to read-only document.
  • Minor improvement - posibility create a new document based on existing document (not copy, just duplicate common metadata).
Very good for typical document management - create document (based on template or not), approve, share, store, search. Good version management. Works with Microsoft.
M-files is not a task or resource management system (however quite a lot of things could be done through M-files tasks).
Read Vineta Rubene's full review
HAMID TAIATI profile photo
December 21, 2016

User Review: "Why I'm using M-files"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use m-files in all departments of our company. [There are] six users. We chose M-Files to organize and securely manage all incoming and outgoing documents.
  • Organization
  • Security
  • Workflows
  • Google products integrations are not available like Microsoft products are.
  • The OCR functionality is too expensive for a small organization.
  • Community forum is not very active.
You can use m-files for any organization on permise or on the cloud. It is based on the metadata of documents. It is recommended to Windows users because the desktop client is not available for others systems but you can access it via a simple browser.
Read HAMID TAIATI's full review
Melissa S. Jackson, PMP profile photo
August 09, 2016

Review: "M-FIles helps get your organizational act together"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased M-Files to be used across the School of Arts and Sciences which consisted of about 800 faculty and 100 staff members. The goal was to organize decades worth of contracts that contained inconsistent information in each document and manage the contractual details of each document. The ultimate goal was to eventually allow administrators in the field to have access to this as well which would have consisted of another 300 or so persons.
  • M-Files forces your organization to think through and update their process. We spent years doing things because 'it was how it was always done". When that became unmanageable, we were forced to consider the logical steps needed to complete various tasks.
  • M-Files was intuitive in that searching for things became easier because all our files were mapped by department, area, person, year, etc.
  • M-Files was highly customizable. Because we changed our processes fairly often (every 3 years of so) it allowed us the flexibility to manage this.
  • From a technical perspective, M-Files wouldn't allow us to scale because our LDAP configuration was not Windows based (Active Directory). We were a Linux shop and it caused problems.
M-Files is best suited for managing documents where the details don't change often due to irregularities within the organization. We have so much turn over at a university with administrations that it becomes a challenge to keep a process in place without a strong leader who is tech conscious (which doesn't always happen. It also didn't help that there wasn't a sponsor to enforce this project through its completion.).
Read Melissa S. Jackson, PMP's full review
Jacob Allen profile photo
September 30, 2015

"M-Files review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use M-Files both for testing and development as a re-seller and also for in house purposes.
  • Search. Much like Google, M-Files has a simple yet robust search function.
  • Workflow. Comes standard with the product.
  • Templates. Configure standardized documents to auto populate with customer specific information.
  • M-Files mobile app. Lacks the ability to create documents or assignments. Very limited.
We have yet to come across a customer that could find no benefit in using this product.
Read Jacob Allen's full review
Jason O'Neill profile photo
September 11, 2015

Review: "M-Files has allowed us to embark on our path to a paperless business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
M-Files has been an instrumental tool for our organization to stream line our manufacturing operations, quality control systems and corporate functions. After implementing M-Files, visibility to key information has been moved from a paper system to M-Files which has allowed our company to make real time business decisions.
  • The integration of M-Files into our ERP system is very powerful in overlaying our buisness processes on to the functionality of M-Files.
  • Customization has also proved to be valuable to our organization as our team demanded a system that could to modified to fit the way we run our business.
  • The user interface is good, but as we bring new employees on board it takes time for them to learn the layout and features.
Anyone considering an Enterprise Content Management (ECM) solution, should interface with their entire team to gather the requirements of each business stakeholder. This we found was the most important part of the selection process. It was identified that the ability of M-Files to intregate with our ERP system was a critical requirement.
Read Jason O'Neill's full review
Anar Guliyev profile photo
September 11, 2015

M-Files Review: "Highly configurable system."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We used M-Files for our customers, as a solution for industry specific document flow control, e-catalogs etc. We liked that M-Files is highly configurable - each folder/item level can be configured to have certain fields (and field types are also configurable). So, you can create a sophisticated system of almost any type of structured information. We considered implementing it for medical data, museum inventory, legal and business documents.
  • Each folder/item level can be configured to have certain fields. So, you can create a sophisticated system of almost any type of structured information. DIfferent folders and document types can evolve independently, so you can create several systems within one.
  • Field types are also configurable.
  • Convenient version control
  • Powerful search features.
  • Convenient workflows management.
  • Creating new language localization requires to contact M-Files (the could make it possible with plugins)
  • Lacks good mobile access and integration on Linux.
M-Files is highly configurable - we could use it in different scenarios and industries. Just keep in mind it is mostly a "Windows" solution.
Read Anar Guliyev's full review
Dave Turner profile photo
April 09, 2014

Review: "M-Files simply easy to use Document Management Software priced for the small business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use M-Files to manage all of my business and personal documents. Everything from quotes, RFPs, orders, invoices, emails, resumes, job descriptions, agreements to contracts and more. With M-Files I can easily find anything I need just by entering any of the stored metadata tags or anything from the contents into the search box. I also can create custom Views that act as a "saved search" giving me quick access to pertinent groups of documents filtering out all of the metadata properties and sorting them anyway that I want. I also use M-Files OCR module to turn all my paper docs into fully searchable PDFs. I use their Reporting Module to create reports showing me graphical statistics about the content that I have in my M-Files Vault.
  • Very easy to use
  • Tightly integrated with Windows Explorer and the MS Office suite, there are M-Files functional buttons inside Word, Excel, PPT and Outlook
  • I can access my information from anywhere using their Web browser and also via my iPhone using their Mobile Client downloaded from the App Store
  • Their prices are perfect for a small business
  • Their Mobile Browser could be improved to allow more functionality, I am told this is coming out in a soon to be released update.
  • It would be nice to be able to put annotations onto PDFs like drawings, I am told this is also coming out before the end of 2014
It is my opinion that M-Files can benefit even the smallest business all the way up to a Fortune 100 company. Their price was not a barrier to me deciding to purchase and I was able to get up and running in just a few hours. I did it all myself because my needs were simple, but they offer full consultancy services to design and configure your vault to your requirements.
Read Dave Turner's full review
Mark List profile photo
April 08, 2014

User Review: "M-Files making it easy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use M-Files to organize and maintain our CAD and drawing libraries. It is used by myself and our other engineers. M-Files make finding and accessing data quick and easy by being able to search a variety of options.
  • Finding files based on description, part numbers, etc.
  • Finding related files, parts, and drawings when searching an assembly or part. It can tell you all the places a file is used.
  • Being able to rollback to a previous version if a mistake is made or a previous design worked better.
  • The only real problem I've had with M-Files in during setup. Sometimes it just doesn't want to connect to the server and I would get an error saying the DNS Server could not be found. It was a real pain. I called M-Files for support and they tried to help me out but to no avail. Eventually I got it to work fine by re-installing everything multiple times. I'd say the setup can be a bit of a hassle if things don't go right the first time.
M-Files seems to be less suited to organize PDF files that need to be updated. If the PDF is given the same name you end up with multiple copies of the file with the same name. I'd ask about that if you do a lot of PDF files.
Read Mark List's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (16)
7.2
File sync, storage & archiving (19)
7.9
Document management (20)
8.1
Records management (19)
7.9
Content search & retrieval (20)
8.3
Enterprise content collaboration (16)
7.2
Content publishing & creation (1)
10
Security, risk management & information governance (16)
7.9
Contract lifecycle management (14)
7.7
Automated workflows (15)
7.7
Artificial intelligence (7)
7.3

About M-Files

M-Files enterprise information management (EIM) solutions aim to eliminate information silos and provide quick and easy access to the right content from any core business system and device.

According to the vendor, M-Files achieves higher levels of user adoption resulting in faster ROI with an intuitive approach to EIM that is based on managing information by "what" it is versus "where" it's stored. M-files offers flexible on-premises, cloud and hybrid deployment options, and aims to place the power of EIM in the hands of the business user and reduce demands on IT by enabling those closest to the business need to access and control content based on their requirements.

According to the vendor, thousands of organizations in over 100 countries use the M-Files EIM system as a single platform for managing front office and back office business operations, which improves productivity and quality while ensuring compliance with industry regulations and standards, including companies such as SAS, Elekta and NBC Universal.

M-Files Features

Enterprise Content Management Features
Has featureContent capture & imaging
Has featureFile sync, storage & archiving
Has featureDocument management
Has featureRecords management
Has featureContent search & retrieval
Has featureEnterprise content collaboration
Does not have featureContent publishing & creation
Has featureSecurity, risk management & information governance
Has featureContract lifecycle management
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureArtificial intelligence
Does not have featureMobile support
Does not have featureIntegration

M-Files Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics AX, Microsoft Dynamics GP, NetSuite, Salesforce.com, DocuSign, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Esri

M-Files Competitors

M-Files Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

M-Files Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:M-Files is available in 100+ countries through direct support or via the company's partner network.
Supported Languages: M-Files is available in 30+ languages.