OnBase by Hyland Reviews

53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 23, 2020
Beau Sorensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OnBase by Hyland throughout our organization. The primary reason we bought it was to move from a paper patient chart to an electronic one; however, we also realized that it was powerful and flexible enough to support additional departments. It now handles our patient chart, our employees' HR records, financial department documents like AP statements, invoices, and remittance advices as well as educational content. It has handled every file type we've thrown at it, from PDFs to scanned documents to video and audio files.
  • Organizing and managing myriad forms of data--I haven't met a file type I can't organize.
  • Working across applications--OnBase by Hyland does particularly well integrating in with all kinds of different applications like CYMA, QuickBooks, Epic, Netsmart, and more.
  • It works well with regulatory frameworks, providing data security and compliance built in with multiple different methods.
  • It is really complex. This isn't something that I'd buy and implement in an hour.
  • In the spirit of moving forward but staying put, I feel like they go down too many roads at one time instead of pushing towards transformational changes.
  • It's complicated at times for end-users, too. You have to shut off avenues at times so they can understand how to use it.
OnBase by Hyland shines wherever you need to manage loose documents. These may be electronic files that are sitting on a computer or it may be a room full of paper files. Either way, you can choose your document types, categories, access, and tags with ease. It is incredibly robust and will store millions of files securely and safely.
As long as you are paying your bills, I have found their support to be very good. They are responsive and knowledgeable and can easily solve the problems you foist on them. Of course, you do have to pay maintenance to get support. That's probably expected, but just in case you thought you didn't need it. They've also got a great website with a lot of self-help options available.
Read Beau Sorensen's full review
September 09, 2020
Andy Barker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use OnBase by Hyland as our primary records management repository across most of the organization. Our largest processes that are managed in-system use Agenda Management (for City Council, Planning Commission, and a few other boards and committees) and Electronic Plan Review for all of our engineering, commercial building, and many zoning permit projects. These are also powered by OnBase Workflow for process automation, and Application Enabler to assist in document capture and retrieval from third-party systems.
  • Customization.
  • Breadth of modules & capabilities.
  • Content management.
  • Google apps support.
  • Cloud team responsiveness.
  • Dependence on Microsoft Office.
OnBase is well-suited for content management needs - especially when there are many channels by which new content needs to be captured. Even if your organization has a heavy investment in legacy terminal-based apps, OnBase has the ability to integrate with those to provide document storage and retrieval. As for process automation, OnBase workflow allows for the development of no-code rules-based processes that can be routed throughout your organization to slash response times, so they're a great fit for organizations looking to reduce reliance on paper but perhaps don't have in-house programming staff.

Hyland is still working on their mobility game, so it may not be the best fit if you have a lot of field staff consuming content on mobile phones.
Support for OnBase comes in many forms depending on what's needed. I've worked with their tech support team on numerous occasions - sometimes, they even got the development team in to assist on calls if it was a particularly difficult issue to track down. The Hyland Community site is extremely active with other users and Hyland staff to answer questions, and most of the time, you can find a solution to what you're working on there. Then there's Hyland's annual training conferences, and their on-site and e-learning class opportunities and certification programs to make sure you're equipped to tailor your system to your organization's specific needs.
Read Andy Barker's full review
September 09, 2020
Eric Zelina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used by a vast majority of our departments, mainly on the business side. It addresses several needs of ours including electronic document storage, document conversion from physical paper to electronic, allows more automation in business workflows, data capture, reporting, and document processing speed to name a few.
  • OnBase can be customized to fit a wide range of needs through their different modules.
  • You can build complex workflows without needing an excessive amount of custom code.
  • Offers users several different applications that allow access to OnBase (Thick client, Web client, Unity, Mobile).
  • OnBase integrates well with Microsoft applications like the whole Office suite.
  • There are many different applications that need to be used when being an administrator for this product.
  • The process of first implementing OnBase can take longer than initially expected.
  • Each of the different applications used by end users are vastly different in appearance and confuse users if they need to switch from one to another.
OnBase does well with document storage, workflows, and scanning and indexing documents. A specific case in which it was very useful was a department that had a large amount of physical files that they wanted to transition over to be stored digitally. There were five different types of documents that each had their own cover sheet. We were able to build a scan queue as well as an automated workflow that utilized the advanced capture module of OnBase that detected specific areas of the different cover sheets to automatically index the documents and enter in several keywords. This process was made much more streamlined and efficient with the different capabilities of OnBase.

A less specific scenario when OnBase may not be the best option is when sharing documents between two different companies is required. Transferring documents directly from OnBase to a different organization is difficult if the other organization does not also have OnBase. Either the documents need to be saved outside of OnBase then sent using a different method, or the other organization needs access to your company's OnBase environment.
In my experience with the customer support of OnBase, the issues that have been submitted were all addressed and fixed in a timely manner. There are also several ways to submit a ticket such as creating one online or calling the phone number provided on their site. An account manager, success advisor, and support team are all assigned to helping you with any questions or issues that arise and phone numbers and email addresses for each of those areas are provided as well.
Read Eric Zelina's full review
September 08, 2020
Timothy Oliver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the entire organization. It has streamlined processes between department and different line of business systems using workflow and workview. It is used by every employee when completing PTO requests, Policy review and acknowledgements. It a key component of our mobile workforce also. We integrate OnBase with every application using App Enabler. We couldn't function without OnBase.
  • Integrates document capture/viewing without programming using app enabler.
  • Workflows processes between departments engaged with different line of business systems.
  • Advance Capture significantly saves time and energy from mundane tasks.
  • Not really any issues currently.
Excellent as a content management system. Its workflow functionality and integration between applications is seamless. Its mobile components are excellent especially when used in conjunction with location thru its ESRI integration. Records retention could use some work.
Great attention to us as a customer. We are a direct customer and get assistance with issues immediately.
Read Timothy Oliver's full review
September 06, 2020
Kyle Swearingen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using OnBase across our entire organization. We have implemented it in new business, claims, marketing, accounting, and development. We are using it to tackle all of our business process automations. We have automated processes like claim payments, billing statement review, lead management, and even subscription renewals. Since we went live with OnBase (2017), we have not had to hire in our Operations department despite doubling in production over the same time period.
  • Integrations
  • Low-code configuration
  • API
  • Upgrades
  • Test Environment
  • Server Infrastructure
  • Mobile
OnBase has provided us so many advantages with our business processes; I can't think of any situations where it is less appropriate. We are integrating every single internal process into OnBase so our employees have full clarity on where to go to have a holistic view of our data. There is no confusion as to what system our employees work on. The integration capability with 3rd party software is unmatched.
Their support started out great! We had a dedicated team where we got the same support people every single time we called in. As they got bigger, they switched to a "ticket only" approach and removed the ability for us to call support unless we had a production down emergency. This lead to us getting support staff that was less knowledgeable as we were and we constantly had to escalate tickets to get someone who could understand our situation. It has improved over the past year but we still run into that from time to time where they are just completing unknowledgeable.
Read Kyle Swearingen's full review
September 04, 2020
Dean Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Discovery Benefits and WEX we use OnBase as a business process improvement tool as well as a ECM. All of our business units and employees benefit from OnBase but to pick a couple of the larges would be our Claims Processing, Client Implementation and Support, Participant Services team, Sales and Accounting.
  • Integrations with multiple platforms and industry specific processes.
  • Support and communication.
  • Easy of use and setup for everyone.
  • Provide a community for all to share and learn from.
  • QA Testing on new modules.
We use OnBase in all departments so it is suited for any one looking to improve ROI and automation of tasks.
Call, email or submit a ticket and you will get someone to respond and start to work on your issues. If it is not a rush and you want to search the "Community" for an answer you have that option as well.
Read Dean Johnson's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used across the organization in many different departments, on the clinical and back office sides.
  • Scales to the users and departments leveraging OnBase.
  • Integrates with many different line of business applications.
  • Provides excellent technical support as well as online resources.
  • The scanning options are plentiful to meet the requirements of a process.
  • Process automation through Workflow.
  • Change management. The process of moving code through environments (test to prod) is cumbersome.
Scanning, process automation, and integration are areas where OnBase excels!
Hyland tech support has a real ownership quality when it comes to support. Once they are contacted, they follow the issue through till the end.
Read this authenticated review
October 03, 2019
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase provided us a central location to house our transcripts and other important documents attached to student accounts in a secure manner. It provided us as advisors easy access to the students' information to better assist and provide the best customer service possible. We were able to easily access the information needed to do our jobs efficiently.
  • Search easily for documents by using certain markers, to find a person or document
  • Easy one stop access for all documents pertaining to an account.
  • Easy view of each document and saving and printing capabilities if needed and access granted.
  • Very secure site.
  • I think a way to view multiple documents side by side easier would be very beneficial.
This software is well suited if you have multiple documents that need to be attached to a customer or student and want easy access to all documents for that individual to better assist and provide customer service to them as a whole. It makes time management easier as well to assist without losing efficiency.
I thoroughly enjoyed using the software in my prior position, it made my job easier to complete, made assisting easier, and made me over all more efficient in getting what needed to be done, done. So I did not have to go looking all over for a document. It was just a software I couldnt do my job without.
Read Erica Terry's full review
October 22, 2019
Solange K. R. Charles, MIB | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used by the entire university community as its central data management tool. In my department, it is used for all documentation - donations, gift agreements, correspondence, proposals, reports, etc.
  • User friendliness is optimal
  • Streamline our gift processing- Capability of utilizing the program scan, remote deposit, create batches and store documents
  • Providing ready access to al documentation.
  • I don’t believe there is a con to the program
  • It is costly and the more users you add and features the more expensive it gets
  • Sometimes the system is sluggish
At the end of our gift processing streamline all gift documents are uploaded into Ombass based on the unique gift identifier associated with each batches gift from RE
Because they could improve the user-friendliness of the system
Read Solange K. R. Charles, MIB's full review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OnBase across several departments who govern user access for PeopleSoft. We previously used a manual process for users to request new or additional access to PeopleSoft, but OnBase provides an online workflow so that we do not have to deal with paper request forms, scanning, or signatures anymore.
  • Integrates with our HR system to auto-populate demographic info for users after they log in.
  • Our approval workflow solution is highly customized, and OnBase was very accommodating.
  • Helpful one-click buttons allow us to move requests forward or backward in the workflow with ease.
  • Sometimes a request form gets stuck in the workflow, and one of our business analysts has to manually push it forward.
  • Sometimes a request form will not save properly without using odd workarounds, like selecting options on the form that aren't actually needed by the requester.
  • We have had some visual bugs for users while they complete the request form online. Drop down menus with strange text layering effects, for instance.
I think OnBase is best suited for situations where customization is needed, but also where the workflow used is not too complicated. We found OnBase's customer service to be very attentive during the design process, but we have struggled to eliminate the bugs in the system that we have discovered over time.
When OnBase was designing our approval workflow solution, they were very accommodating in terms of customizations that we asked for. However, there have been several minor bugs that have arisen since our implementation, and OnBase has not been very helpful in resolving them. One strange example is that when an approver types a message in OnBase that will be sent to the requester, the email that the requester receives must appear in all caps, all lower case, or with each word capitalized. OnBase said it could not deliver these messages as typed. We had to choose one of the three options I just described.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is used in multiple ways by the City of Charlotte. We, in aviation, will be using it as an EDMS and will expand into other areas as user comfort grows.
  • Folder structure
  • Enterprise search
  • Automated form creation
  • Actual appearance is kinda clunky
  • Difficult to get salespeople to respond
It is well suited where there is already a culture of electronic documents and work processes. It is less appropriate if all you have is a file room full of paper. You do need appropriate support staff on the technical end, but I must say that OnBase has an extensive training video library. Every technical person I have spoken with at OnBase has been phenomenal.
The support is tremendous. They don't get called "evangelists" for nothing. Seriously, this group of people is talented, committed and focused on resolving issues. They are also not afraid to tell you what they can't do--yet come up with options to accomplish what is needed. Love the support people.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, OnBase is being used to streamline medical records and medical record requests across departments at UnitedHealth to eliminate provider abrasion from multiple medical record requests.
  • Easy to use.
  • TONS of integration opportunities across multiple servers and applications.
  • Super easy reporting options.
  • Timeouts are inevitable with large quantities of users.
  • Due to the size of our company we are constantly buying additional user licenses and storage space <— to be fair I’m not part of this purchasing arrangement and not aware of the reasons this is needed as often as it is.
Assignment of work, document review workflows, work views for specific departments, application integrations with web services and API’s.
We have a hyland staff member on hand to discuss immediate issues and get them resolved.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2018
Russell Ullinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I am part of the Professional Services team where I'm involved with pre-sales, project planning, solution designing, solution implementations, and support for Hyland and ECM solutions with other organizations. We have customers across the entire USA.
  • Consistent research and development by Hyland leads to an enhanced user experience.
  • Integrates well with most COTS Enterprise software.
  • Patching is not available in OnBase. Bug fixes typically require a full upgrade to resolve.
  • Licensing can be very confusing for the customer side. But a good vendor can assist with that.
OnBase's potential is nearly limitless. If you have an experienced vendor to support you with your business processes, there is nearly always an opportunity to use OnBase to enhance that process. It has a strong API, workflow, and many modules to support your business requirements.
Read Russell Ullinger's full review
March 29, 2017
Andrew Yoder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the University of New Mexico, OnBase is our exclusive repository for handing student documents related to the enrollment management experience. We use the product for storing documents as well as processing them through various Workflows that support our business processes. This helps us track and manage an enrollment of approximately 30,000 students and be able to easily track the status of a students application to the University, Financial Aid questions or concerns, and registration issues. Not only do we use this system internally to our departments but students interact with the system by filling out web forms that help us gather information from students quickly and more effectively than through e-mail or paper methods.
  • Tools to assist with configuration changes especially for Workflow processes.
  • Easy to query the database to pull reports on usage.
  • Support for a wide variety of files that can be stored within the product.
  • Great support channels for resolving application issues.
  • Lack of feature parity between clients. Some features are supported in Thick Client, but not in Unity Client (Or the other way around).
  • Confusing menu structures within administrative programs. Lots of bouncing between programs in order to configure or tweak things.
  • Report Services is an additional license and should be included with the base product.
Works great for organizations with distributed personnel and has the ability to allow segmentation based on organizational rules, and for organizations who need to split storage costs for documents. Good support for a variety of file types and best suited for a primarily Windows environment. While it is possible for non Windows users to interact with OnBase through a web client, the experience will be less than ideal. For heavy scanning environments its best to stick with the traditional OnBase Client as the Unity Client (OnBase 16 SP2) still struggles with handling large batches of documents.
Read Andrew Yoder's full review
March 27, 2017
Robert Weist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Departmentally at this point; Started with the HR Department

[It] addresses the problems of late applications being reviewed and continues to develop in AP for invoice payment.
  • Workflow for business processes
  • Hiring application storage
  • General line of business data transfer
  • AP/AR process management and workflow for managing approvals
  • Need to reduce costs for smaller organizations, even with OnBase SaaS
  • Possibly easier open API for smaller business system integration
  • Business Process Management; HR/Finance Integration
  • Workflow to manage the AP invoice payment approval process
  • HR for application review and approval
Read Robert Weist's full review
March 13, 2017
Evan Hancock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OnBase to review applications to Boston University. The program is the platform that organizes all of the application materials, which then allows us to review each document, make decisions, and organize the applications as a whole. At our office, it is used in connection with UIS software, so it is not a traditional CRM format.
  • The filtering options within OnBase can be very helpful when trying to narrow down criteria from more than 50,000 applications.
  • The layout of different documents makes it easy to review all of the materials from different applications.
  • The main downside is that it has to be connected to another software (UIS) to accomplish everything we need. This makes it particularly slow over VPN connections.
  • The way that decisions are integrated with other programs makes it hard to "undo" a decision or backtrack. It would be nice if it required fewer steps.
  • It would be great if there were more tags available for documents so that there could be more options for filtering and sorting.
OnBase does a strong job of presenting application components in an easy to read and review manner, and overall, it is easy to sort and filter through the mass of applications we receive. However, it can be hard to undo decisions, and there aren't a lot of ways to flag different documents. Also, the program can often lock a user out of a particular document if it freezes in the middle of working on it. This can be a real hassle when you reboot and try to go back into the file.
Read Evan Hancock's full review
March 08, 2017
Christopher Bunner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is being used as our enterprise content management system with a specific focus on automating processes within specific business areas. By allowing rapid importing of physical and digital artifacts into the ECM, OnBase provides the means to store, search, retrieve and process these artifacts. Our organizational business areas are then able to automate what was once manual tasks by leveraging the ability to define workflows that are congruent to internal business processes.
  • Workflows move documents through business processes with ease and functionality that is not possible in a physical exclusive environment.
  • Storage and retrieval are simple and easy and eliminates the need for physical storage space of documents and files.
  • Document retention allows for compliance with internal policy and procedure for longevity of document maintenance as well as regulatory considerations.
  • Continued use of the thick client to perform administrative tasks.
  • There is a high level of complexity involved with workflow development.
  • Use of OS services to perform tasks within the application.
When properly designed and implemented, OnBase is a robust, highly functional enterprise content management solution that provides an easy to use interface for the end users. The end user experience is customizable, while at the same time, provides system administrators the ability to standardize many features and aspects of the client. This, combined with the ease of deployment and maintenance, makes it a great solution for ECM needs.
Read Christopher Bunner's full review
March 08, 2017
Robby Tabuchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is currently being used across the whole organization (the University of Wyoming Foundation). We use the software to log and retrieve important documents and data regrading our constituents. It is very important that we have a reliable and easy to use tool across all of our departments. Onbase solves the issue of having to manually track down important information and saves valuable time that can be spent on analyzing the information.
  • Has the ability to create links between specific constituents and the information that is relevant to them.
  • Enables the user to easily navigate through large amounts of documents via search tools.
  • Provides an intuitive document view that enables the user to easily read and navigate the data.
  • Offers the ability to interact with our database back-end for even easier linking to entities.
  • The interface could be a little more intuitive for new users.
  • Easily accessible training modules and troubleshooting would be useful.
  • It would be useful for the document zoom and edit features to be more accessible when in document view.
Scenarios where OnBase by Hyland is well suited, include logging and retrieval of a transaction, legal/contractual, and intent documents. These documents are necessary to be retrieved quickly for a research and development professional, accounting, and leadership. OnBase by Hyland is less appropriate in logging and retrieving simple descriptive information that could be better suited for a large database system.
Read Robby Tabuchi's full review
March 08, 2017
Jared Jozsa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the state of Nebraska, we use OnBase as a records retention solution as well as an overall ECM (Enterprise Content Management) solution. We create various solutions for our users (state departments/agencies) to utilize OnBase, and we have replaced many agencies' dependence on paper forms. One of our biggest projects was/is taking multiple inspection reports that are filled out by different state inspectors and creating them as Unity forms - the inspectors now use tablets with OnBase Briefcase out in the field.
  • One thing that has proved invaluable is OnBase's ability to keep everything contained within itself - data, form data, etc.
  • OnBase uses web-based sharing in its document retrieval which is extremely useful as a state agency - we can let the members of the public search our database for various records (assuming said records are available to the public).
  • OnBase's briefcase functionality allows our inspectors to use the Unity forms when they are offline and out in the field.
  • Hyland is a big company, and one thing that would be nice to see change is their dedication to customer satisfaction (i.e. tech issues, tech support).
  • Some of the modules that are part of OnBase as a whole can be difficult to use as small pieces often change between versions and are not documented efficiently.
If you're a smaller company who doesn't have an IT staff available - OnBase is a great solution to fit your needs; Unity Designer allows non-programmers to efficiently create Unity forms.

If you're an adept programmer, you will find Unity Designer to be somewhat frustrating at times; it is built for people who are not programmers.
Read Jared Jozsa's full review
February 25, 2016
Bridget Mullally | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used as an applicant tracking system for our recruiting department as well as a billing tracking system for our medical billing team and call center. We have currently not implemented OnBase across the entire organization. OnBase has been critical for me personally as an applicant tracking system by keeping track of potential, current, and former employees.
  • User friendly interface, very easy to understand
  • Clearly describes when user has created a problem
  • Reporting features
  • More customization
  • Implementation of "overview shot" or "dashboard"
OnBase does seem to work better as an applicant tracking system than a customer billing system.
Read Bridget Mullally's full review
November 26, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I implemented Hyland Onbase as both a simple and complex document management system across many different market segments for the sole purpose of making scanned and virtual documents easily searchable and accessible. The workflow capabilities of the product as well as the Unity web interface and the ability to seamlessly tie into most 3rd party applications to allow easy associated information lookups within Onbase led to a very dynamic and game-changing product over how companies previously managed their information.
  • Integration with third party applications is amazing. Being able to get documents and information through email, folder importing, mainframe screens, other applications, and xml/csv streams was simple, powerful, and effective.
  • The Application Enabler utility is one of the best I've seen which allows integration with 3rd party applications to easily pull up and locate related information within an Onbase system.
  • The administration of the platform is simple and with minimal training can be maintained by a regular system administrator.
  • The Administrator interface, while powerful, is antiquated and has so many options to chose from it can be overwhelming at times trying to find what you need in order to accomplish a task.
  • The Unity application is a work in progress and is missing out of some features that are much better in the thick client, such as scanning documents in at high volume. This has improved over time, though.
  • Hyland Onbase is a content management platform and, while it does handle ingestion and scanning processes, does require a 3rd party application to really complete the whole package. Hyland's Perceptive platform or Kofax Capture complement it greatly.
Hyland Onbase is simple, effective, and just works for when it comes to content management systems. Many companies rely on static folder structures for storing information or Excel/Access tables which can easily become a mess whereas with Onbase every document is unique and access can be restricted/audited depending on user permissions. It allows for a company to easily take control of their information and be more productive.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used for documentation retention across all departments in our organization. Our IT group has determined that OnBase is the most secure and efficiently managed document retention platform currently available to us and for that reason, we are currently transitioning into making it our primary method of storing all of our important documents including financial statements, tax returns, invoices, and contracts.
  • Once familiar with the system, document upload and access is a breeze.
  • OnBase allows for customizable document retention periods that can vary across folders or file types.
  • Transferring documents from OnBase to external platforms is quick and simple.
  • After using local and network drives as the main suppository for important documents for my entire working career, it has been difficult to re-train myself to use another system. The more that OnBase can look and feel like folders in a network drive, the better.
  • There are occasions where the response speed of OnBase has been delayed. For instance, I sometimes experience a few second delay in moving between screens within the software. Although minimal, it can be frustrating when compared to the speed of a local drive.
OnBase is a useful tool in scenarios where documents need to be deleted after a certain period of time. The software is also useful where workflow processes are required. For instance, one of the ways that my company uses OnBase is for customer sales tax exemption workflow and storage. Our operations team has the ability to scan exemptions into a review queue where the tax department reviews the forms for completeness and accuracy before adding keywords to the document for storage and later retrieval within OnBase. Old forms are automatically deleted after a certain amount of time.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is being used by our entire organization. The primary purpose is for document storage. However, a good chunk of its use is also for workflow functionalities. For example, a document comes in of a certain type, someone looks at it and pushes a button, it goes to another person who pushes another button which moves it out of the workflow area.
  • Document storage
  • BASIC workflow activities
  • BASIC forms for users to fill out/use
  • Documentation - If you want basic functionality they do a pretty good job in detailing out an overview of aspects. However, when you get into the technical aspects of their documentation it falls flat. There were many instances where I didn't understand how an aspect would behave and had to call them in order to get the answer. Many times they even had to go directly to a developer in order to get my answers.
  • Support - They try to push their clients to use third parties instead of working directly with them. Third parties are great for BASIC troubleshooting, and possibly could be used for training basic administrative functions. However, over time you grow in your OnBase knowledge and calls go something like this: Call support. Explain your situation. They are unsure. You try to convince them to call Hyland. They continue to research. You ask again to call Hyland. They finally do. Explain your situation all over again.
  • Functionality - OnBase really tries to push you down a road that they want you to go. What I mean is that they offer a few different ways to access the OnBase data. A few years ago they came up with a new client (Unity) and really....really try to get customers to move to that. This means that other clients become an afterthought, even though that is the primary way your business may interact with OnBase. On one hand this may be okay, however, they also charge you to use this client they are pushing per server, and per client.
OnBase is well suited for environments that aren't trying to replace their COMPLICATED workflows with OnBase. If you want to do basic routing, emails, document storage, etc. OnBase is great for that. OnBase is also one of the more cost-effective solutions out there. However, if you are planning to do advanced API calls, advanced forms, and things of that nature you may want to look very carefully if OnBase is the right choice.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is currently used by my organization to store and manage documents. These include data releases, legal documents, rent payroll and other documents we want to centralize. Overall, OnBase is useful for having a central location that users can search in to pull documents that are needed for the task at hand. We primarily use it to store brokerage reports and other market based data.
  • OnBase's code filing system allows users to search a series by a code and return all documents found in that series. This is particularly helpful for organizing documents.
  • OnBase's security system also allows users to pull the files necessary to their work while still keeping other administrative files secure.
  • The overall communication between departments is improved because instead of sending data files or administrative documents to each other directly, we can just refer to the onBase code.
  • The multiple licenses can be tricky to manage and can cause some backup in the process.
  • The license approval process is also quite a pain sometimes, as it can stall important requests.
OnBase is best used whenever specific documents, particularly older ones, are required. Using the date sorting metrics, it's easy to find documents that would otherwise take some time to dig up. OnBase is not particularly useful as a method for tracking signatures or documents which require signing by multiple people in an office. Something like Docusign might be better for this.
Read this authenticated review
March 17, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OnBase to reduce paper flow through many departments. we have a workflow process setup to ingest payable invoices to go directly into our accounting system. We use Onbase through many departments to make things easier and more visible to people. This has helped us decrease our paper flow and increase productivity.
  • Scanned images are easy access to employees to find things.
  • We have gotten rid of all of our filing cabinets, no need for paper.
  • We can have out auditors access images without being physically here.
  • Workflows are hard to change, usually have their tech people do this work.
  • Some of the timers on products do not work all the time.
  • The software is constantly upgraded every year, causing lots of testing for changes.
Great for paper reduction and ease of ingesting things into the system.Helps save time and paper, smaller footprint, less file cabinets. They have a great support staff that helps with issues and can go online and help you.The constant upgrading and changing can be somewhat of a hassle due to extensive testing that needs to be done.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (24)
9.2
File sync, storage & archiving (24)
9.7
Document management (25)
9.5
Records management (25)
8.3
Content search & retrieval (26)
9.0
Enterprise content collaboration (21)
8.7
Content publishing & creation (18)
8.0
Security, risk management & information governance (24)
9.5
Contract lifecycle management (19)
8.7
Automated workflows (13)
9.0
Artificial intelligence (8)
6.8
Mobile support (11)
8.7
Integration (13)
9.6

What is OnBase by Hyland?

OnBase is an enterprise information platform that supports a variety of content services for managing content, processes and cases throughout an organization. OnBase centralizes important business content in one secure location, and then delivers relevant information to the right people when they need it, wherever they are. For more information visit Hyland.com.

OnBase by Hyland Competitors

IBM FileNet Content Manager, Oracle WebCenter Content, Laserfiche, Alfresco Content Services, Box, Nuxeo, OpenText Enterprise Content Manamagement (ECM), M-Files

OnBase by Hyland Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
OnBase25,000one-time purchase

OnBase by Hyland Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No