TrustRadius
OnBase by Hyland is a leading enterprise content management system, from Hyland Software headquartered in Ohio.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8F/2t/ZO0I4RF0KGTX.jpegOnBase - it stores your docsOnBase is being used by our entire organization. The primary purpose is for document storage. However, a good chunk of its use is also for workflow functionalities. For example, a document comes in of a certain type, someone looks at it and pushes a button, it goes to another person who pushes another button which moves it out of the workflow area.,Document storage BASIC workflow activities BASIC forms for users to fill out/use,Documentation - If you want basic functionality they do a pretty good job in detailing out an overview of aspects. However, when you get into the technical aspects of their documentation it falls flat. There were many instances where I didn't understand how an aspect would behave and had to call them in order to get the answer. Many times they even had to go directly to a developer in order to get my answers. Support - They try to push their clients to use third parties instead of working directly with them. Third parties are great for BASIC troubleshooting, and possibly could be used for training basic administrative functions. However, over time you grow in your OnBase knowledge and calls go something like this: Call support. Explain your situation. They are unsure. You try to convince them to call Hyland. They continue to research. You ask again to call Hyland. They finally do. Explain your situation all over again. Functionality - OnBase really tries to push you down a road that they want you to go. What I mean is that they offer a few different ways to access the OnBase data. A few years ago they came up with a new client (Unity) and really....really try to get customers to move to that. This means that other clients become an afterthought, even though that is the primary way your business may interact with OnBase. On one hand this may be okay, however, they also charge you to use this client they are pushing per server, and per client.,7,The ROI can be seen by the basic workflow. You no longer have to ask "What status is X document in?" You can also realize ROI by replacing paper and space for paper with electronic means. The downside is that OnBase requires at least 1 full-time person to manage it.,EMC Documentum,Mimecast Secure Email Gateway, DocuSign, Secret ServerDocument Management in Higher EducationAt the University of New Mexico, OnBase is our exclusive repository for handing student documents related to the enrollment management experience. We use the product for storing documents as well as processing them through various Workflows that support our business processes. This helps us track and manage an enrollment of approximately 30,000 students and be able to easily track the status of a students application to the University, Financial Aid questions or concerns, and registration issues. Not only do we use this system internally to our departments but students interact with the system by filling out web forms that help us gather information from students quickly and more effectively than through e-mail or paper methods.,Tools to assist with configuration changes especially for Workflow processes. Easy to query the database to pull reports on usage. Support for a wide variety of files that can be stored within the product. Great support channels for resolving application issues.,Lack of feature parity between clients. Some features are supported in Thick Client, but not in Unity Client (Or the other way around). Confusing menu structures within administrative programs. Lots of bouncing between programs in order to configure or tweak things. Report Services is an additional license and should be included with the base product.,8,We are able to reduce our paper costs by collecting documents electronically and keeping them electronic throughout the lifecycle of that document. We have increased visibility into where our bottlenecks are for processing documents. It is easier to identify inefficient processes and pinpoint how to leverage the product to reduce the time and effort needed to process that document. We are able to easily retrieve documents that need to be stored long term. Some of our students pursue multiple degrees from us or take a few years off and come back. Being able to easily retrieve relevant information for that student is critical in getting that student readmitted or helping get them into the academic program they are applying to. Students are able to submit information directly to our offices which reduces resolution time and allows for us to better track that student's request and understand what students are asking about the most.,Kofax Capture,Information Builders WebFOCUSHigh-Level Department Use of OnBaseDepartmentally at this point; Started with the HR Department [It] addresses the problems of late applications being reviewed and continues to develop in AP for invoice payment.,Workflow for business processes Hiring application storage General line of business data transfer AP/AR process management and workflow for managing approvals,Need to reduce costs for smaller organizations, even with OnBase SaaS Possibly easier open API for smaller business system integration,9,Been positive since everyone touching it has learned how to effectively use the software,DocuVantage OnDemand,Salesforce.com, ClearSlide, Microsoft Azure,5,1,HR Application management Document storage HR system interaction,Document sharing,Continue to introduce OnBase to new departments,9Tactical ReviewWe use OnBase to review applications to Boston University. The program is the platform that organizes all of the application materials, which then allows us to review each document, make decisions, and organize the applications as a whole. At our office, it is used in connection with UIS software, so it is not a traditional CRM format.,The filtering options within OnBase can be very helpful when trying to narrow down criteria from more than 50,000 applications. The layout of different documents makes it easy to review all of the materials from different applications.,The main downside is that it has to be connected to another software (UIS) to accomplish everything we need. This makes it particularly slow over VPN connections. The way that decisions are integrated with other programs makes it hard to "undo" a decision or backtrack. It would be nice if it required fewer steps. It would be great if there were more tags available for documents so that there could be more options for filtering and sorting.,7,I am not involved in the "cost" side of the product, however, I would say that some cost is definitely wasted on the time it takes to fix the integration errors and problems associated with the program crashing.,OnBase makes ECM a task, not a chore.OnBase by Hyland is being used as our enterprise content management system with a specific focus on automating processes within specific business areas. By allowing rapid importing of physical and digital artifacts into the ECM, OnBase provides the means to store, search, retrieve and process these artifacts. Our organizational business areas are then able to automate what was once manual tasks by leveraging the ability to define workflows that are congruent to internal business processes.,Workflows move documents through business processes with ease and functionality that is not possible in a physical exclusive environment. Storage and retrieval are simple and easy and eliminates the need for physical storage space of documents and files. Document retention allows for compliance with internal policy and procedure for longevity of document maintenance as well as regulatory considerations.,Continued use of the thick client to perform administrative tasks. There is a high level of complexity involved with workflow development. Use of OS services to perform tasks within the application.,9,Business processes have been reconsidered to better align with an efficient model that OnBase helps to craft. Use of OnBase across the organization has eliminated the need for several individual solutions. Consolidation of storage eliminates the need for off-site physical storage.,Microsoft Project, VMware Horizon View, Ellucian Advance
Unspecified
OnBase by Hyland
31 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

OnBase by Hyland Reviews

OnBase by Hyland
31 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 31 vetted OnBase by Hyland reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
February 01, 2018

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase - it stores your docs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is being used by our entire organization. The primary purpose is for document storage. However, a good chunk of its use is also for workflow functionalities. For example, a document comes in of a certain type, someone looks at it and pushes a button, it goes to another person who pushes another button which moves it out of the workflow area.
  • Document storage
  • BASIC workflow activities
  • BASIC forms for users to fill out/use
  • Documentation - If you want basic functionality they do a pretty good job in detailing out an overview of aspects. However, when you get into the technical aspects of their documentation it falls flat. There were many instances where I didn't understand how an aspect would behave and had to call them in order to get the answer. Many times they even had to go directly to a developer in order to get my answers.
  • Support - They try to push their clients to use third parties instead of working directly with them. Third parties are great for BASIC troubleshooting, and possibly could be used for training basic administrative functions. However, over time you grow in your OnBase knowledge and calls go something like this: Call support. Explain your situation. They are unsure. You try to convince them to call Hyland. They continue to research. You ask again to call Hyland. They finally do. Explain your situation all over again.
  • Functionality - OnBase really tries to push you down a road that they want you to go. What I mean is that they offer a few different ways to access the OnBase data. A few years ago they came up with a new client (Unity) and really....really try to get customers to move to that. This means that other clients become an afterthought, even though that is the primary way your business may interact with OnBase. On one hand this may be okay, however, they also charge you to use this client they are pushing per server, and per client.
OnBase is well suited for environments that aren't trying to replace their COMPLICATED workflows with OnBase. If you want to do basic routing, emails, document storage, etc. OnBase is great for that. OnBase is also one of the more cost-effective solutions out there. However, if you are planning to do advanced API calls, advanced forms, and things of that nature you may want to look very carefully if OnBase is the right choice.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Yoder profile photo
March 29, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "Document Management in Higher Education"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the University of New Mexico, OnBase is our exclusive repository for handing student documents related to the enrollment management experience. We use the product for storing documents as well as processing them through various Workflows that support our business processes. This helps us track and manage an enrollment of approximately 30,000 students and be able to easily track the status of a students application to the University, Financial Aid questions or concerns, and registration issues. Not only do we use this system internally to our departments but students interact with the system by filling out web forms that help us gather information from students quickly and more effectively than through e-mail or paper methods.
  • Tools to assist with configuration changes especially for Workflow processes.
  • Easy to query the database to pull reports on usage.
  • Support for a wide variety of files that can be stored within the product.
  • Great support channels for resolving application issues.
  • Lack of feature parity between clients. Some features are supported in Thick Client, but not in Unity Client (Or the other way around).
  • Confusing menu structures within administrative programs. Lots of bouncing between programs in order to configure or tweak things.
  • Report Services is an additional license and should be included with the base product.
Works great for organizations with distributed personnel and has the ability to allow segmentation based on organizational rules, and for organizations who need to split storage costs for documents. Good support for a variety of file types and best suited for a primarily Windows environment. While it is possible for non Windows users to interact with OnBase through a web client, the experience will be less than ideal. For heavy scanning environments its best to stick with the traditional OnBase Client as the Unity Client (OnBase 16 SP2) still struggles with handling large batches of documents.
Read Andrew Yoder's full review
Robert Weist profile photo
March 27, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "High-Level Department Use of OnBase"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Departmentally at this point; Started with the HR Department

[It] addresses the problems of late applications being reviewed and continues to develop in AP for invoice payment.
  • Workflow for business processes
  • Hiring application storage
  • General line of business data transfer
  • AP/AR process management and workflow for managing approvals
  • Need to reduce costs for smaller organizations, even with OnBase SaaS
  • Possibly easier open API for smaller business system integration
  • Business Process Management; HR/Finance Integration
  • Workflow to manage the AP invoice payment approval process
  • HR for application review and approval
Read Robert Weist's full review
Evan Hancock profile photo
March 13, 2017

OnBase by Hyland: "Tactical Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OnBase to review applications to Boston University. The program is the platform that organizes all of the application materials, which then allows us to review each document, make decisions, and organize the applications as a whole. At our office, it is used in connection with UIS software, so it is not a traditional CRM format.
  • The filtering options within OnBase can be very helpful when trying to narrow down criteria from more than 50,000 applications.
  • The layout of different documents makes it easy to review all of the materials from different applications.
  • The main downside is that it has to be connected to another software (UIS) to accomplish everything we need. This makes it particularly slow over VPN connections.
  • The way that decisions are integrated with other programs makes it hard to "undo" a decision or backtrack. It would be nice if it required fewer steps.
  • It would be great if there were more tags available for documents so that there could be more options for filtering and sorting.
OnBase does a strong job of presenting application components in an easy to read and review manner, and overall, it is easy to sort and filter through the mass of applications we receive. However, it can be hard to undo decisions, and there aren't a lot of ways to flag different documents. Also, the program can often lock a user out of a particular document if it freezes in the middle of working on it. This can be a real hassle when you reboot and try to go back into the file.
Read Evan Hancock's full review
Christopher Bunner profile photo
March 08, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase makes ECM a task, not a chore."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is being used as our enterprise content management system with a specific focus on automating processes within specific business areas. By allowing rapid importing of physical and digital artifacts into the ECM, OnBase provides the means to store, search, retrieve and process these artifacts. Our organizational business areas are then able to automate what was once manual tasks by leveraging the ability to define workflows that are congruent to internal business processes.
  • Workflows move documents through business processes with ease and functionality that is not possible in a physical exclusive environment.
  • Storage and retrieval are simple and easy and eliminates the need for physical storage space of documents and files.
  • Document retention allows for compliance with internal policy and procedure for longevity of document maintenance as well as regulatory considerations.
  • Continued use of the thick client to perform administrative tasks.
  • There is a high level of complexity involved with workflow development.
  • Use of OS services to perform tasks within the application.
When properly designed and implemented, OnBase is a robust, highly functional enterprise content management solution that provides an easy to use interface for the end users. The end user experience is customizable, while at the same time, provides system administrators the ability to standardize many features and aspects of the client. This, combined with the ease of deployment and maintenance, makes it a great solution for ECM needs.
Read Christopher Bunner's full review
Robby Tabuchi profile photo
March 08, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase is On Point!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is currently being used across the whole organization (the University of Wyoming Foundation). We use the software to log and retrieve important documents and data regrading our constituents. It is very important that we have a reliable and easy to use tool across all of our departments. Onbase solves the issue of having to manually track down important information and saves valuable time that can be spent on analyzing the information.
  • Has the ability to create links between specific constituents and the information that is relevant to them.
  • Enables the user to easily navigate through large amounts of documents via search tools.
  • Provides an intuitive document view that enables the user to easily read and navigate the data.
  • Offers the ability to interact with our database back-end for even easier linking to entities.
  • The interface could be a little more intuitive for new users.
  • Easily accessible training modules and troubleshooting would be useful.
  • It would be useful for the document zoom and edit features to be more accessible when in document view.
Scenarios where OnBase by Hyland is well suited, include logging and retrieval of a transaction, legal/contractual, and intent documents. These documents are necessary to be retrieved quickly for a research and development professional, accounting, and leadership. OnBase by Hyland is less appropriate in logging and retrieving simple descriptive information that could be better suited for a large database system.
Read Robby Tabuchi's full review
Jared Jozsa profile photo
March 08, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase is OnPoint.. mostly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the state of Nebraska, we use OnBase as a records retention solution as well as an overall ECM (Enterprise Content Management) solution. We create various solutions for our users (state departments/agencies) to utilize OnBase, and we have replaced many agencies' dependence on paper forms. One of our biggest projects was/is taking multiple inspection reports that are filled out by different state inspectors and creating them as Unity forms - the inspectors now use tablets with OnBase Briefcase out in the field.
  • One thing that has proved invaluable is OnBase's ability to keep everything contained within itself - data, form data, etc.
  • OnBase uses web-based sharing in its document retrieval which is extremely useful as a state agency - we can let the members of the public search our database for various records (assuming said records are available to the public).
  • OnBase's briefcase functionality allows our inspectors to use the Unity forms when they are offline and out in the field.
  • Hyland is a big company, and one thing that would be nice to see change is their dedication to customer satisfaction (i.e. tech issues, tech support).
  • Some of the modules that are part of OnBase as a whole can be difficult to use as small pieces often change between versions and are not documented efficiently.
If you're a smaller company who doesn't have an IT staff available - OnBase is a great solution to fit your needs; Unity Designer allows non-programmers to efficiently create Unity forms.

If you're an adept programmer, you will find Unity Designer to be somewhat frustrating at times; it is built for people who are not programmers.
Read Jared Jozsa's full review
No photo available
April 12, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase is On Point!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is currently used by my organization to store and manage documents. These include data releases, legal documents, rent payroll and other documents we want to centralize. Overall, OnBase is useful for having a central location that users can search in to pull documents that are needed for the task at hand. We primarily use it to store brokerage reports and other market based data.
  • OnBase's code filing system allows users to search a series by a code and return all documents found in that series. This is particularly helpful for organizing documents.
  • OnBase's security system also allows users to pull the files necessary to their work while still keeping other administrative files secure.
  • The overall communication between departments is improved because instead of sending data files or administrative documents to each other directly, we can just refer to the onBase code.
  • The multiple licenses can be tricky to manage and can cause some backup in the process.
  • The license approval process is also quite a pain sometimes, as it can stall important requests.
OnBase is best used whenever specific documents, particularly older ones, are required. Using the date sorting metrics, it's easy to find documents that would otherwise take some time to dig up. OnBase is not particularly useful as a method for tracking signatures or documents which require signing by multiple people in an office. Something like Docusign might be better for this.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 17, 2017

OnBase by Hyland Review: "OnBase rocks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OnBase to reduce paper flow through many departments. we have a workflow process setup to ingest payable invoices to go directly into our accounting system. We use Onbase through many departments to make things easier and more visible to people. This has helped us decrease our paper flow and increase productivity.
  • Scanned images are easy access to employees to find things.
  • We have gotten rid of all of our filing cabinets, no need for paper.
  • We can have out auditors access images without being physically here.
  • Workflows are hard to change, usually have their tech people do this work.
  • Some of the timers on products do not work all the time.
  • The software is constantly upgraded every year, causing lots of testing for changes.
Great for paper reduction and ease of ingesting things into the system.Helps save time and paper, smaller footprint, less file cabinets. They have a great support staff that helps with issues and can go online and help you.The constant upgrading and changing can be somewhat of a hassle due to extensive testing that needs to be done.
Read this authenticated review
Bridget Mullally profile photo
February 25, 2016

"OnBase by Hyland Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase is used as an applicant tracking system for our recruiting department as well as a billing tracking system for our medical billing team and call center. We have currently not implemented OnBase across the entire organization. OnBase has been critical for me personally as an applicant tracking system by keeping track of potential, current, and former employees.
  • User friendly interface, very easy to understand
  • Clearly describes when user has created a problem
  • Reporting features
  • More customization
  • Implementation of "overview shot" or "dashboard"
OnBase does seem to work better as an applicant tracking system than a customer billing system.
Read Bridget Mullally's full review
No photo available
January 29, 2016

Review: "Engineering Drawing Management Made Easy with OnBase by Hyland"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OnBase by Hyland is our enterprise drawing management program for engineering drawings which supports our operating plants in the US. Drawings are also available to our viewers in Canada.

  • With OnBase and our established Workflows within OnBase we manage the check out and check in of drawings with notifications to internal and external design groups. This ensures that the latest version is tracked and updated and made available to users at the operating plants as well as engineering groups in the corporate office.
  • OnBase has an internal viewer that provides users access to engineering drawings created by different computer aided drafting software (AutoCAD, Microstation, Visio, etc). This results in a cost savings of purchased CAD licenses.
  • Users are able to view and print, including to PDF which eliminates the need to contact the Design group for copies. We are currently limited to one print at a time but we are working with our Value Added Reseller and Hyland to correct the issue.
  • Using a Value Added Reseller has brought unique help to our specific situation. We have a reseller that assists with upgrades and recommendations, who has expertise beyond our small staffing group; a reseller with immediate access to the right individuals at Hyland if needed. It's a great relationship.
  • Training - Hyland offers in house classroom training at their headquarters in Cleveland. With hotel recommendations and pick up service, the out of town student has no problem getting to "school" and back. Any pre-requisites are explained on their training website where the Administrator or Expert can track and maintain their certifications. Classroom work is thorough and challenging but the staff is friendly and helpful and willing to take extra time to assist in making sure that each individual has a good chance of passing required testing for certification. With a facility that includes a restaurant and a program for the student that includes some evening "entertainment", school takes on a whole new meaning.
  • Training also is available online for some courses. This is something I still need to experience.
  • Scalability - Our use of OnBase by Hyland currently is just for engineering drawings and our annual maintenance is a one time payment.
  • Hyland showcases in many online articles and videos on how OnBase can be used throughout the entire organization from applications to HR, accounts receivable and accounts payable... and in different types of organizations from healthcare to banking...and including manufacturing.
  • We could grow OnBase to include many other departments of our company but the choice is ours.
  • Permissions and security - With OnBase we are able to give all our users the ability to view and print drawings for plant operations or project work. We limit the number of designers who can edit drawings. We manage locations which an individual is able to check out files and edit. Proprietary drawings, where required, are available to only a select group.
  • Availability - By importing our engineering drawings into OnBase all drawings are available to all users in North America. We still have engineering drawings on a drafting server and these drawings are only available to designers. Organizing drawings from a project turnover can be a challenge; importing them into OnBase is easy.
  • Printing multiple drawings from a hit list.
  • We are currently working with our Value Added Reseller and Hyland to enable a print button that would allow us to print multiple drawings from a hit list. Our users might need entire sets of electrical one line diagrams or piping and instrument diagrams for plant operations or project work. The disabled option stems from the fact that some engineering drawings are created with external drawings (XRefs or external references) that are referenced inside a drawing. Because 99% of our drawings are simple drawings that do not use external references, the disable print button is a handicap. If not resolved in this issue, which is still our hope, Hyland is aware that the issue needs to be fixed in the future.
We utilize OnBase for managing our engineering drawings and managing revisions that occur through our management of change process to these drawings. I can only say that it works well for this process in our organization.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Content capture & imaging (10)
8.8
File sync, storage & archiving (11)
7.5
Document management (11)
8.4
Records management (11)
8.2
Content search & retrieval (11)
8.5
Enterprise content collaboration (9)
7.2
Content publishing & creation (5)
6.4
Security, risk management & information governance (10)
6.7
Contract lifecycle management (7)
6.3

About OnBase by Hyland

OnBase by Hyland is a leading enterprise content management system, from Hyland Software headquartered in Ohio.

OnBase by Hyland Competitors

OnBase by Hyland Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No