Constant Contact Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
536 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Stephen Sokolowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2020

Constant Contact cancelled my account without warning after significant investment into their platform

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The customer service team is friendly (but often unable to help).
  • The customers who received the E-Mail saw the intended design.
  • Their compliance department said my industry sends spam and closed my account, even though I only sent one message in 7 days.
  • I waited on hold for 2 hours and 47 minutes over six calls and still couldn't get a technical issue resolved.
  • Because they suddenly closed the account without contacting me first, I lost hundreds of dollars in salaries put into researching their API and setting up templates.
  • They do not offer true two-factor authentication using the TOTP algorithm, a must for any account with thousands of subscribers. Constant Contact's authentication method is vulnerable to an attack known as a "SIM swap."
Read Stephen Sokolowski's full review
Jason Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Constant Contact is a great product for small businesses

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Constant Contact's email-creation UI is easy and powerful. This makes creating new emails and newsletters fast for even non-technical users. The user has many options to customize the email with images, buttons, links, and more.
  • Constant Contact is more than just a email sending service. Their other campaign types include event registration, surveys, and A/B tests. Each of these campaigns can add value to your company beyond just email.
  • Constant Contact offers many email templates to choose from. Whether you are looking to send a bulk newsletter or a more personal note, there will be template for you to work off of and further customize.
  • Constant Contact's list management UI is not the best. Selecting a list on the Contacts home page does not link you directly to the list, so refreshing the page means you have to re-select the list, which is a couple clicks away. This becomes troublesome when updating contacts in a separate tab and hoping to refresh the list page to see the results.
  • The UI of the Contact page is also not great. There is a confusion between lists and tags, and the data fields are not organized well.
  • The reporting features, while useful, lack customizability. More than surface level data analysis needs done with an import into Excel.
Read Jason Kelly's full review
Jason Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Constant Contact makes email outreach easy and classy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. It's quick and easy to create campaigns, and once they've been created it's even easier to use them again.
  • Uploading lists of contacts. You can quickly upload a list via Excel or CVS file.
  • The fee structure is based on the number of contacts, so rather than store all of our email contacts on Constant Contacts, we try to add and delete lists to keep the monthly cost down. This can be slightly tedious for the cost-conscious company.
  • While there is a 60-day free trial, there is no free version for extended use. For the small business, a longer free version during lean months or for further analysis would be helpful.
Read Jason Carlage's full review
Matt Rychener | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Good features can't overcome poor support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Highly customizable templates.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Easy to manage contact database.
  • Poor billing policies. If I prepay for a year of service rather than opt to pay by the month, then my contract should last for 12 months. Constant Contact would notoriously say that their rates had gone up midway through a contract year and I would have to renew months earlier than what I should have.
Read Matt Rychener's full review
mitch mcgrane | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Constantly satisfying our business needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly - It's very easy to use both in drafting and sending the e-mails and accessing and understanding the back-end summary tools.
  • Good analytics - Seeing who has opened the e-mails and clicked what links are invaluable for helping target our follow up marketing.
  • Contact management - Weeding out invalid e-mail addresses as people leave firms has cleaned up our contact list considerably
  • Social media integration - Coordinating the scheduling of e-mails with posts to LinkedIn.
  • A little more flexibility in the campaign e-mail design would be helpful.
  • Not sure if it's possible, but I'd really like the ability to see if the e-mail gets forwarded and an address for who it is forwarded to instead of registering as another view by the original contact.
Read mitch mcgrane's full review
Jeya Chelliah | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2019

Constant Contact is the winner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flawless delivery of emails
  • Easy to use email templates
  • Easy to mange subscribers list
  • Easy to upload your subscribers list from other email platforms
  • Reporting system sometimes confusing
  • There is no notification if and when any new subscribers signed up via our sign up form
  • Bounced email types are not clear
Read Jeya Chelliah's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Constantly Impressed by Constant Contact

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to set up a branded template for other individuals to use and remain "on-brand."
  • Constant Contact does a great job of allowing email customization within the design portal - adjusting preheader text, changing custom colors, adding interactive gifs.
  • There could be a "recently used" area in the image library that pulls up recent images.
  • The folder structure could be improved - being able to sort/search through past sent emails could be easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Must-Use - Try Constant Contact if You Haven't Already

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating templates and adapting mail communications is straightforward and effective.
  • Constant Contact offers value-add features such as database management options, analysis review and suggestions for better performance.
  • Design elements, editing, uploading, etc. are easy to manage and not time consuming.
  • Would be great if we could integrate several accounts into one master account, for easy management by a supervisor.
  • Faster customer support is necessary. This is the only area that is lacking - the support team is extremely slow and almost negligent in responding to urgent issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Great Way to Contact!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Constant Contact allows you to track the Analytics of the newsletters that you send out.
  • Constant Contact has a great plugin that works well with WordPress and other CRMs.
  • Constant Contact allows you to edit the style and formatting of your newsletter more than most other mass email sending services.
  • I have not seen the ability to upload HTML to a Constant Contact newsletter form.
  • I like that Constant Contact auto-saves my changes but I would also love to be able to see a save button to reassure myself.
Read this authenticated review
Rachael Ossovicki | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Constant Contact checks most of the boxes!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great reporting within the system
  • Flexible design
  • Can sort out lists very specifically
  • Easy to use
  • Spam filters work great, and checking for broken addresses
  • Pricing is a tad high
  • The templates aren't truly that flexible
  • Some CRMs offer email campaigns that are industry specific
  • No built out content for industries
Read Rachael Ossovicki's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Improve your Communication with Constant Contact

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are a huge fan of the numerous templates that may be used for designing emails.
  • Constant Contact also allows for our organization's brand (logo, colors, and fonts) to be easily incorporated into designs.
  • The metrics and data gathered from email campaigns is very detailed and helpful.
  • For a small nonprofit, the price is a little steep for us, especially when compared to similar software programs.
  • Constant Contact is pretty strict on showing proof of how people signed up to be on your contact list.
  • It's a little challenging to place images that are not in a standard size or that do not easily fit into a pre-designed template.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Great for Email Campaigns of Any Kind

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Segmenting your contact list is easy.
  • You can see contact-specific results from your email campaigns: who opened the email, who didn't, and who clicked on a link in the email, etc.
  • Results of your campaign are automatically charted so you can track your success.
  • User-friendly.
  • The graphic design capabilities when building an email have room for improvement. "Drag and drop" an image block into your template is not always as easy as you'd like it to be.
  • Mobile-responsiveness is a great feature but could be improved. What looks great on a desktop does not look as great on mobile, and vice versa.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

An Email Marketing Program I Recommend To Fellow Marketers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Segmentation of lists.
  • Creation of content.
  • Reporting and analysis.
  • Re-sending email message to those who haven't opened yet.
  • Social media sharing.
  • Pricing for different numbers of emails. The break is at 5,001 and I wish that the breaks would be smaller so that our pricing doesn't jump drastically with the addition of only one or two email addresses.
  • The copy editor is a little stiff. It would be nice to see more flexibility and more fonts to choose from.
  • A discount for multiple accounts would be nice.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Bramhall | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Adequate!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. It's simple to use though that comes with some limitations in what we can do easily (like the photo interface - which I find cumbersome and will get to that later). Our SOP for sending clinic emails is really, really short - which means there's less that can go wrong.
  • Functionality. Frankly, it does exactly what we need it to do. We send the same email a lot - we have bout 4 emails that we send and we send them a lot. CC makes that really straightforward.
  • Ubiquity. Everyone pretty much knows how to use it - we could bring in another user really simply and without any real training.
  • User Interface. The interface feels dated - there are a lot of clicks to get from point A to point B, and those often feel like unnecessary extra steps in a world where I'm used to not hitting the 'save' button.
  • Inserting photos. The photo library really feels like it's out of 2004. It should be totally simple and transparent to drop a new photo into a newsletter rather than uploading it to a library, then editing it in that library, THEN importing it into a newsletter.
  • The myriad of in-app communication. It gets in the way of using it. I know that the holidays are coming - if I wanted to email people about them, I would. I don't need a pop-up reminder showing up at a random point in my use of the application. I get the same feeling about the upsells, but at least that I understand.
Read Jeff Bramhall's full review
Sanjit Mandal | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

The easiest email marketing software to use for startups and SMB with support.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Setting up groups
  • Creating templates branded with the company's website - AWESOME!
  • Support is outstanding!
  • Easy to use, drag and drop.
  • A live map of when and where people are opening the emails
Read Sanjit Mandal's full review
Ashley Gennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

Great for small companies looking to market

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization of all emails.
  • Simple list designations for recipients.
  • Easy to learn and use. The clean layout made it easy to educate interns so that they could assist with email marketing.
  • As our company continued to grow, we found it difficult for Constant Contact to handle the size of our database. With about 25,000+ contacts across all companies, we experienced a very high rate of bounce backs. These issues began to flag us in the system.
  • We also were finding it difficult to sync with our CRM system. With so many contacts in an ever changing industry, it became a lot of work to constantly have to manually edit the information in the system.
  • Seeing as our portfolio of companies are so diverse, we wanted to be able to accurately (and cleanly) track all campaigns we were hosting. It made it a little difficult within Constant Contact.
Read Ashley Gennett's full review
Corey Birkmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Constant Contact is a great starting point to email marketing

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to import lists
  • Templates are a great start for beginners
  • List management is easy
  • If you know how to code, it lacks intuitiveness
  • Templates are cookie cutter
  • Lack of additional automation features (or at least, there used to be)
Read Corey Birkmann's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2018

"Great platform to develop and send email marketing campaigns

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The name says it best. Constant Contact facilitates you constantly promoting your brand with contact with your current and prospective clients. As a consultant, the metrics and reports allow us to show our clients the success of their email campaigns and how they can improve processes.
  • Constant Contact is great, this system allows us to create very effective email marketing campaigns to increase sales and reach many potential customers.
  • Its interface is very nice and intuitive, which allows us to quickly learn to use this system. Creating a campaign is very easy because the system has a great variety of templates and we can choose the one that best suits our idea and edit it easily.
  • I like the simplicity with which we can segment our contacts, constant contact allows us to create different lists of contacts that we can easily select for sending email marketing campaigns.
  • This system is great and I do not have much to say against, I just wish they could improve the search filter of email campaigns made previously, and include a search field that allows you to find campaigns related to the phrase name included in that field of search.
  • I really don't have any dislikes with the software now that I am familiar with the product.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (45)
8.5
Dynamic content (44)
8.0
Ability to test dynamic content (44)
8.1
Landing pages (31)
8.6
A/B testing (27)
8.8
Mobile optimization (46)
8.1
Email deliverability reporting (49)
8.9
List management (50)
8.8
Triggered drip sequences (24)
8.1
Dashboards (48)
8.1
Standard reports (49)
8.7
Custom reports (31)
8.5

About Constant Contact

Constant Contact is a full-featured email marketing solution with capabilities such as social media integration, drag-and-drop editing, and real-time reporting. It is a bulk email tool designed for SMB customers. While it is most widely known for its email marketing capabilities, it also provides services pertaining to website management such as a website builder, ecommerce tools, and logo design assistance.

Key Email Marketing Features
  • Email templates
  • Marketing Automation
  • Facebook & Instagram ads
  • Google ads
  • Ecommerce integrations
  • Email campaign ideas
Categories:  Email Marketing

Constant Contact Integrations

RedHorse CRM, Zyprr Inc, Aurea List Manager (formerly Lyris LM)

Constant Contact Competitors

AWeber, iContact, JangoMail, Mailigen, Ontraport, Vertical Response, Makesbridge, Emma, Sendinblue, Boingnet, MailerLite, Acoustic Campaign (formerly IBM Watson Campaign Automation)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Constant Contact Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No