ActiveCampaign Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
114 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

Stephen Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

ActiveCampaign - All of the email tools you’ll ever need, in one toolbox.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign for all of our email communications, from initial email signup onboarding to abandoned cart autoresponders, ticketing for questions or support, weekly email newsletters, and automated highly segmented emails with more information and details after someone has visited a specific page for a specific number of times.

The automation capability greatly reduces our time spent answering general questions, as we can create automations for virtually anything that is repetitive and time-consuming. Frequently asked questions through email are responded to by tagging that question to trigger a sequence of emails from one to multiples to answer the initial question and ask further questions to drill down to the reason for the initial question.

For example, if someone asks why their plants had pest insects on them, we would start the answer by tagging "pest question" to trigger the initial email outlining the general answer, with a question at the end if they need or want more details. If they click "yes", that triggers a series of emails explaining how soil fertility and weed population factors into pest insect problems, and gives links to articles we've written answering those questions.
  • Automation: one of ActiveCampaign's primary strengths. Because it is so powerful it can be confusing at first, but their learning library and Facebook community make it easier.
  • The email signup process is very easy, yet is completely customizable depending on the need. Our general email signup form is very simple, but some of our content upgrades on specific articles are more detailed, which helps us get the subscriber the right information at the right time.
  • It is difficult to re-send a single email in a sequence or newsletter to an individual. You have to create a custom group, then add just that email to the group before sending it out a second time. This could be easier!
  • The workflow in creating an automation and the email sequence for that automation could be simpler or more intuitive. You can create the emails and then add them into the automation sequencing, or create the sequencing with placeholders for the emails, but you can't go from a sequence to creating an email easily.
ActiveCampain is a full-featured enterprise-level email system, with integrations for any number of automations with any length of sequencing. Due to the depth of features and abilities, it isn't a lightweight email platform that can be learned in a weekend. If you just need to send out a monthly or weekly email blast to all of your contacts, this isn't the system for you. However, if you need to be able to tag and segment each and every one of your contacts—no matter how many—based on interests, page visits to your website, buying history, and interests in your emails while being able to create personalized, highly segmented emails to educate and inspire more visits and loyalty while increasing amount and frequency of purchases, then this should be in your final list for review and testing.
Read Stephen Scott's full review
Page Vandiver | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2019

Get off of the email provider you're using and get on this one instead!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is an email marketing platform/CRM that we use for our own company and for our clients. It automates email campaigns, user journeys, and allows us to send out single email broadcasts. ActiveCampaign provides a platform to communicate with potential customers and turn them into repeat customers, loyal buyers, and to follow up with people after purchase.
  • Email automation - Automated email marketing to potential customers, follow up with existing customers, and automated messaging to outside parties.
  • Flow building - This software allows companies to build simple or complicated sequences in a visual builder so that you can see exactly where people are in the sequence of messages.
  • CRM - Customer relationship data. Maintaining data points across a user journey (tagging a UTM source, current activity. If you have someone - and want to know where they are in the journey, there's a way to find that data and label a profile with that).
  • Integrations - ActiveCampaign integrates with almost everything. Seamlessly. You can trigger behaviors in other apps through Zapier, or import data from other software you use. It's a very easy experience to integrate with others.
  • Customer support - Every team member I've encountered has been exceptionally helpful. They are probably the bar for customer support in the tech industry, to be honest.
  • Email systems for the long-haul (and for sequences and emails that are expected to bring in a lot of $$$). Email marketing should be 30-50% of revenue for most businesses. It's THE platform that we recommend for coaches and other businesses to help them earn 6 & 7 figures from email. You can track A LOT of data through this software as a platform, which makes it a great candidate for businesses who want to grow and visualize where their customers are in the overall purchase process, as well as maintaining them as multiple purchases customers.
  • User education - I really appreciate the company's effort with many help articles, study halls in cities, and reps for accounts. It does take a bit to get up to date on what functionality the platform has and in applying it.
  • Migration from Mailchimp - Mailchimp has just been disabled as a CRM with access to Shopify. So a slew of customers are looking for new solutions. Technically Mailchimp is probably a competitor to ActiveCampaign as an ESP (email service provider), but if that's the case, wouldn't you want to make it easier to get data from that platform/migrate from that ESP?
  • Clarity in communication & expectation setting - (ex: possibilities if you do/don't have a rep) - I really appreciate the support that is provided by the platform - but my team was helping clients migrate to the platform for some time before we learned about extra services we had available to us (ex: partner programs, migration services) and then IF you had a rep, what expectations looked like for the relationship, things that you didn't have access to if you did have a rep.
  • Error prevention in sequences and flows - Building flows can be really tricky - make one spelling mistake on a tag, and you can really get yourself into trouble (and it takes a while to clean up the mess). New users need to put serious thought into what they're building and the data that they're trying to track.
  • Simplification of the system - I appreciate the system for what it is, but it's a lot more complicated than other ESP's. The capabilities are great - it's broad and flexible and can handle big builds, but it's not as user intuitive as Mailchimp for new users or out of the box.
This platform is a GREAT fit for almost any growing businesses or coach:
  • That has a minimum of 200 contacts (or that are planning on generating more very soon).
  • That has marketing and lead generation in place to grow their network.
  • That needs automated email marketing (automated messages sent out to potential, existing customers).
  • That wants to visualize their data (be able to see where potential customers are coming from.
  • That wants to integrate their email marketing with all other aspects of their business.
This isn't a great fit for brand new users to email:
  • If you are brand new to email marketing, need something super visual and super easy to use... ActiveCampaign may not be the best place to learn. It's mid-tech (some understanding needed) in order to execute these. The learning curve might prevent you from sending out emails altogether. Don't be intimidated, but if you're brand new, plan on asking for a bit of help.
  • If you're planning on building for the long-haul, then I would recommend this platform - just don't do the emails yourself. Hire this out to consultants or email marketers.
If you're an eCom business processing orders on Shopify, we recommend a different platform that is designed specifically for that use case.
Read Page Vandiver's full review
Rene Steffan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

ActiveCampaign for everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is being used only by our Marketing and Sales Department in our organization. We use ActiveCampaign, integrated with Salesforce, to send out HTML rich emails to our guests and patients. It's very easy to use and provides great templates to choose from. The reports and tracking are very in-depth and helpful as well.
  • Templates
  • Integrates with Salesforce
  • View the email/design from the report screen
If you are looking to reach a large base of clients with HTML rich emails, ActiveCampaign is a great tool to use. We use it for events, products, services, weekly webinars, truly the possibilities are endless. I don't think I can think of a scenario where ActiveCampaign wouldn't be appropriate to use. Maybe to tell something they have cancer.
Read Rene Steffan's full review
Mike Koolwijk | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

ActiveCampaign: A great marketing tool to start with

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We help companies with setting up their marketing, based on existing tools or tools that we can suggest. ActiveCampaign is one of the tools we use and suggest, and also some of our clients use it. (So, there is not really one best tool for me, but it depends on the situation.) For marketing automation, we use ActiveCampaign for smaller companies with fewer than 500 contacts. It's easy to use, gets the job done for most of the wishes there are, and you can start at $9 per month. If it's not working, then it won't hit you too hard. We mainly use ActiveCampaign for lead generation, segmentation, automation of emails to the segments, and contact forms in one system.
  • A real clean and complete automation setup
  • Low price, even if you wanna try "marketing automation" to get your feet wet
  • Reports are kinda bland. I wish I could have more information or even build them myself.
  • With no HTML editor, the emails sometimes end up looking like something you don't want to send.
From my experience, ActiveCampaign is better at "email marketing automation" than marketing automation as a whole. So, when your main focus is getting everything out of your mail campaigns and subscribers, this tool is perfect! If you are a small company, or even a bigger one, and want to "experience" marketing automation, ActiveCampaign is a perfect base to start. But if you are bigger and want the complete picture of "marketing automation" with sales management, etc., I would suggest other tools.
Read Mike Koolwijk's full review
Tim Bost | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Choose ActiveCampaign For Its Power & Versatility, If You Don't Mind It Being Affordable, Too!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I rely on ActiveCampaign for all areas of the business, from marketing and CRM to subscription management. ActiveCampaign really does a fantastic job of keeping the kind of running records of customer contacts and interactions in a way that not only provides "number crunchable" data but also offers remarkable insights into the specifics of individual customer actions and preferences.
  • List Segmentation - With ActiveCampaign you get lots of options for list segmentation, including lists, tags and custom fields. Whether you're trying to beef up a marketing automation sequence or needing to respond to a special case situation on the fly, the capabilities here make your work a lot easier!
  • Marketing Automation - ActiveCampaign provides an easy-to-use flowchart system for creating and editing marketing automations. It tremendously enhances the overall power of this system.
  • Email Campaign Management - ActiveCampaign does a great job scheduling and sending out email campaigns to designated lists. Deliverability is particularly strong, and it's easy to track opens and clicks for specific contacts as well as for lists as a whole.
  • ActiveCampaign is so powerful and so versatile that it can sometimes be a challenge to use. There are certainly plenty of online resources available to help you get up to speed, but there are times when the process can seem a little overwhelming. I got a lot of help by attending a "Study Hall" in-person classroom session that was sponsored by the company. Chris Davis was the instructor; he did an amazing job of clarifying priorities and procedures for getting the most out of ActiveCampaign. After going to that session my productivity with ActiveCampaign increased enormously, but in retrospect, I felt like I should have been able to get that kind of expert guidance with the software much earlier, instead of using ActiveCampaign at far less than its maximum capability for several years before feeling like I was really getting my feet on the ground.
  • There doesn't seem to be a way to create or accommodate multiple email addresses for a single contact in the system. When people get into the system with multiple email addresses, they show up as multiple contacts. This can create problems with proper list segmentation; it should be easy enough to resolve this problem, but it's a nagging headache whenever it pops up.
If you're looking for an affordable yet powerful way to bring together email list management, CRM, and marketing automation, then ActiveCampaign is a great choice. It's fabulous for effective list segmentation, extremely robust in its marketing automation features, and wonderfully reliable in delivering accountable actions and relevant data that can help your business expand. Allow the appropriate time for the learning curve required, get your business goals and marketing priorities straight, and ActiveCampaign will serve you extremely well.
Read Tim Bost's full review
Nehal Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Wondrous Email Campaign Tool for Sales, Support and Marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We changed our mind to get an alternative from one of the popular tools which they said hub of a marketing campaign. It was 100% the right decision to move over to ActiveCampaign. I love the simplicity of the UI as well as their easy-to-use features like Newsletter campaigns, contact management, deal tracking and the one I like most, the automation setup to follow up with leads.


  • Event-Triggered Email: It's way more easy to set up event-triggered email. It sends the email to your subscriber for the action they took. I love that part.
  • API Integration: Their documentation is very well done and they have functional examples that you can use as a base for your work.
  • Subscriber Management: We're product based SaaS company which is one of the leading social media marketing tools. It's incredible to have ActiveCampaign in our workflow to manage our subscribers. We can see each single detail right from when they visited our website to subscribe to us.
  • The way I use I don't have anything to dislike, but I have some feature requests and enhancement request I'm thinking to submit to their support team.
  • I wish there were some extra customisation available in their forms, would be great.
  • Little things aren't possible in their reports. For example, we can't get the information on how some parts of our contact list are performing.
The tools are comparable to what you'll pay 2X for, and one of the features I love about ActiveCampaign is their Marketing Automation Workflows - allowing you to set up, segment, and activate the inactive. By using this tool, [our] partner ag achieved 15% open rates in the HR industry where 10% is often average; by integrating the online tools with our inbound marketing team - both phone and online support - we were able to increase sales demos 5X over the previous 6 months because ActiveCampaign helped us motivate the inactive as well as those who take action.
Read Nehal Patel's full review
Chad Carman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

ActiveCampaign should be your next email software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is used within our marketing department for automated emails, newsletters, call-to-action emails and more. Specifically, it allows us to send conditional content which makes it easier for us to send emails that are specific to each individual and help them along their customer journey. The editor is simple to use so multiple users can create emails that are on-brand.
  • Targeted email segmentation.
  • Easy to duplicate previous campaigns.
  • Quality WYSIWIG editor.
  • Difficult to send "one-off" emails.
  • Reporting is lacking.
ActiveCampaign is well suited to "set it and forget it" email automation campaigns. It is geared more for smart email marketing based on conditions, actions, etc., that segment your audience based on interaction. It is not well suited for scenarios where you need to send to one-off lists like an event or other scenarios because of the process involved with manually subscribing or unsubscribing individuals.
Read Chad Carman's full review
Jake Tacher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Be weary of AC

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a sales and marketing CRM, but our success and support team trickles in there sometimes too. We also try to use it to calculate commission.
  • Marketing automation (ok)
  • Price
  • That's literally all I can think of
  • Product: built backward in a lot of ways and is incredibly unsmooth to work with
  • Server goes down a lot
  • Buggy as all get out
Honestly, if you are 5-10 people this might be awesome because of price and simplicity. That being said, if you plan to scale at all, pay for a better CRM. We got it hastily when we were about 20 employees but are switching now and the switch couldn't come sooner for us.
Read Jake Tacher's full review
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Great place to get started with marketing automation, but reporting is weak

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign both on the marketing and fulfillment sides of the business. ActiveCampaign helps us segment and target our audience so that we can market the most relevant programs and offers to each person. We also use ActiveCampaign to deliver digital course content and help our clients stay on schedule with their learning and development. We've just started taking advantage of the SMS capabilities of ActiveCampaign in this regard as well.
  • Makes it easy to set up automation flows without necessarily having the whole thing planned beforehand. Other tools that I have used require more advanced planning done upfront and then you implement all it once. I like that ActiveCampaign allows me to use the platform as part of the planning and iterative process. I don't have to have every email or another message pre-written and created and then inserted into an automation. I can even create empty placeholders and come back later to fill in the content.
  • Email creation is simple and I can duplicate a previous email and edit it very easily without the risk of inadvertently modifying the original.
  • Integrates well with other tools in our tech stack.
  • The CRM is easy to customize in terms of the type of information that we collect, but it is not as easy as I would like to customize the layout and prioritization of the information presented. It's a little clunky to get around a contact record.
  • Reporting needs a massive upgrade. I don't get half of the email performance data that I need to optimize the performance of our campaigns and automation.
  • System uptime isn't terrible, but I get more notifications of system-wide email delivery problems than any other tool I've used in the past.
ActiveCampaign is great for small businesses that need to easily get something built and deployed quickly. It's a simple system to use, but with enough power to grow with your business for quite a while. It has a pretty good number of integrations with other small business marketing tech tools and hopefully, this will expand over time as well. The price point is palatable for a lot of small businesses as well, but once your contact list really starts taking off, you may need a different system.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
Rachelle Reichley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Easy to use and great return on investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Active Campaign for all of the autoresponder forms on our website and to send out newsletters to our customers.
  • Ease of use
  • Intuitive interface
  • Great customization
  • Less expensive
I think Active Campaign is a great solution for any size company. It works wonderfully for the autoresponders on our website and you don't need a tech degree to figure it out.
Read Rachelle Reichley's full review
Atilla Vekony | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2019

Affordable Marketing Automation For Small Businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I provide setup and consulting for clients for email marketing solutions. It is a great and accessible tool for small businesses that want to get started with email marketing.
  • Audience segmentation.
  • Reporting and dashboards.
  • Email design.
  • It would be great if ActiveCampaign's CRM had an e-commerce component. However, it is available via third-party integrations.
Active Campaign is extremely well suited for marketing automation for those businesses who don't just want to send email broadcasts.
Read Atilla Vekony's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

So glad we decided to switch to ActiveCampaign

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign to manage our email campaigns across the whole company. We also use ActiveCampaign as a 3rd party email automation solution for our clients. It helps us to automate the emails sent to our prospects and current clients. For our marketing agency clients, we use ActiveCampaign to manage their email lists and send automated emails.
  • ActiveCampaign can handle large email lists
  • ActiveCampaign helps to keep the emails lists organized
  • The ActiveCampaign automation is a must to keep the email list healthy and engaged
  • We think the workflow, from creating a list until designing the automation, should be a little more intuitive
  • First-time users must watch quick tutorials to move quickly inside the application if they want to better understand the system
ActiveCampaign can be used to import emails from funnels (landing page), so the prospect received an automated email (welcome email). This email can be tagged and, at the same time, a simple or complex email automation can be started. This automation can be created and administrated visually by using the email design tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Great Solution, but could use a little finessing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use ActiveCampaign to send out email communications to our audience. We also use it to organize our list of 150k based on what online course they are in, what free resources they have signed up for, which funnel they joined us by. And last, we use it to send out automated emails for our online courses.
  • We were initially using Campaign Monitor and were very happy with them. But then we started using Thinkific for our online courses, and Thinkific did not integrate with Campaign Monitor, so we switched to ActiveCampaign. We've been pretty happy with it, and it integrates well with Thinkific.
  • List Management
  • Email Automation
  • Email delivery
  • Reporting
  • If you have an extensive database of users and you would like to be able to organize/categorize them and send them emails, it does well. I love that our users can unsubscribe from a single list while remaining on other lists.
  • I think if you did not have a broad audience, then ActiveCampaign my be more than you need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Robust, flexible, and user-friendly!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We rely on ActiveCampaign for everything from subscription management, to CRM insights, to an automated email and SMS marketing. It's a fantastic platform that has all the automation capabilities we need without getting too convoluted - very simple to implement and train our team to use. One of the greatest benefits we've found when implementing ActiveCampaign for our clients is the great insight that it provides on Lead and Customer interactions, purchase history, and conversion attribution.
  • Revenue attribution reporting.
  • Lead and customer tagging.
  • Would love to see more robust CRM capabilities.
We have found such success in implementing ActiveCampaign for our own agency as well as a number of our clients, that we have become a reseller of the platform. We truly believe in ActiveCampaign's value and capabilities! That being said, we have found that it is best suited when implementing a client that has an external CRM for us to integrate with via API (or native integration). Without a CRM, it becomes much too difficult and even impossible to provide the high-level of reporting that a more robust CRM offers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Absolutely the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ActiveCampaign for a couple of different things. The main usage is a long term drip campaign that all of our users cycle through. It is set up specifically to target users based on the products they purchased and help them understand how to better use the products and then encourage them to try other products that fit with what they have purchased. Once they have completed that cycle, they are dumped into our long term nurture campaign and receive a series of emails that repeats every 12 months. The email paths that they initially enter into will change as they take certain actions and it works amazingly well. We also use ActiveCampaign as a way to deliver special announcements like sales, promos, new items, etc.
  • Negative assumption campaigns. Easy to set up and maintain. Great stats to show you open rates, conversions, clicks, etc.
  • Long term nurture campaigns.
  • Seamless integration with Shopify Plus, which was a must for our business. This is so simple to connect and show all relevant user data, from orders to money spent and more.
  • Can't think of anything that we find lacking. We have been very happy since switching over to ActiveCampaign and it meets or exceeds all of our needs.
If you are a Shopify or Shopify Plus user, ActiveCampaign is a must-have as a way to manage your customers. For the price, you can't beat it. We have 2 websites, each with over 100,000 customers, that are using ActiveCampaign to manage communications with the customer base, both buyers and non-buyers. We can segment pretty much whatever we want in sending out specific emails to customer groups. We even did workshops in certain locations across the country and used the geographic segmenting to target customers in those areas and it worked like a charm. Drip campaigns work amazingly well and are fairly easy to set up, once you understand the system. Newsletters or other messaging is also easy to do and provides all of the analytics you could want.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

ActiveCampaign is well worth the pricetag

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign for several clients. We design emails and set up automations. ActiveCampaign has a robust automation feature and since we are a reseller, we can organize our client's accounts in one place.
  • Automation is the major feature of ActiveCampaign. We can visually outline how every email is sent out and when.
  • Having a reseller account lets us organize all of our client's account in one dashboard.
  • Texting automation in addition to sending emails is time saving and efficient. We can have both texts and emails sent in one automation outline.
  • I don't like how we currently have to log in to our account as a reseller. I wish there was an easier way to do this.
  • Automation outlines can get very detailed and can be hard to see on one page. I wish there was a way to zoom out to see the entire outline on one page.
ActiveCampaign isn't the cheapest solution out there but for more robust email marketing campaigns it's a must. I would not suggest ActiveCampaign to a small business that just wants to send out an email to their email list once a month since it won't be cost effective for their needs.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Mulford | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

My search for an autoresponder is over

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business is to handle email automation solutions for clients. We can offer more services to our client because we use ActiveCampaign then we ever could with any other product on the market. ActiveCampaign provides the 3 things that our clients are looking for in an automation package. CRM, Automation and Segmentation. Any service can send emails, but AC take this service to a whole new level. The full stack capabilities of AC allow for an unlimited expansion of services. AC does what they do better than anyone and they integrate with the top platforms to do the rest. I have tried using others in the past. Nobody does a better job of delivering quality support and services than ActiveCampaign.
  • Automations - We constantly use automations to do all kinds of things behind the scenes. Like move contact through the deals based upon actions they have taken, urls they have visited or emails they have opened.
  • Predictive Sending - We use predictive sending to enhance our open rates. We've seen a 20% increase in opens as a result.
  • Conversations - we use conversations instead of chatbot on our sites. While this feature is still in its early stages, we have made the switch now. My staff has the app downloaded to their phones and can interact as need. Not as robust as Intercom and some others, but it is a great personalization tool.
  • Deals/Tasks - We use the Deals and Tasks for all kinds of things. I can communicate with my VA using tasks related to clients in a way that keeps everything under the same hood.
  • Scoring - We use scoring to run "behind the scenes" context. We monitor the contacts actions, apply a score and send them rewards or reminders whichever is appropriate. This is a huge hit with our clients.
  • I would like to be able to sort contact based upon some fields or scores.
  • I would like to have a score report.
  • I would like to see the forms features more robust.
The full stack approach does a great job of filling in the blanks.
Read Eric Mulford's full review
Kristi Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

I recommend ActiveCampaign to Everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign to build our email list, to send mass emails to our list, and for funnel and email automations. It allows us to create email campaigns, sales and webinar funnels, so that subscribers move along the funnel automatically. Once the automations are built, it runs seamlessly with little effort from us.

I have used several other email platforms and I recommend ActiveCampaign to my clients and colleagues now.
  • Email Automations
  • Funnel Creation
  • List management
  • Easy-to-use templates
  • Better tag management for contacts
  • A visual calendar to see emails scheduled to go out to different lists.
I’ve used ActiveCampaign with clients that are just starting out and with corporations that have huge emails lists and multiple funnels. I believe it can be a fit for any of those. It will need some planning to get the most from the software and to create funnels that turn subscribers into clients or buyers.
Read Kristi Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

ActiveCampaign is a solid option for small business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using ActiveCampaign for a number of marketing functions:
  • Lead gen efforts that are part of our content strategy.
  • Broadcasting our newsletters.
  • Managing pipelines.
  • Automations.
What works particularly well is that it features both your usual email and marketing automation tools, as well as a 'Deals' function, which are sales pipelines at all the effects that are fully integrated and feed off the same contact database.
It is also flexible enough to allow us to do this for multiple brands too.
  • The marketing automation 'canvas' is very intuitive and easy to use -- you can set up sophisticated automation in minutes.
  • Using the sales pipelines for other tasks such as outreach efforts to source blog contributors.
  • Website tracking is a powerful option too, that helps you build a very good 'picture' of your contacts.
  • ActiveCampaign's main USP is that it fully integrates email marketing, marketing automation, and sales pipelines.
  • As a CRM, it lacks the sophistication to track companies and contacts.
  • The new live chat function is still very much a 'minimum viable product.'
  • There is no landing page function.
For the price, ActiveCampaign has no rivals. To get the same number of features, you would need to sign up with a much costlier platform. Another advantage is that it can be used for email marketing as well as your B2B sales efforts -- a well-implemented setup will automate most tasks, and your sales team will not need to use spreadsheets anymore.
ActiveCampaign features a number of 'deep data' integrations with third-party platforms, but doesn't handle transactional data such as e-commerce orders well -- you can't associate multiple records (eg. purchase orders) to a single contact.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

The best email marketing automation platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ActiveCampaign to automate the email communication with the users of my application. Setting up automation with ActiveCampaign is super easy and the email delivery is awesome. I don't have to worry about my emails hitting the spam folder.
  • Easy and robust marketing automation setup
  • Awesome email delivery
  • Great tracking feature
  • Easy email design
  • More modern email templates and easier to use builder
  • Email templates don't include subject lines!
  • Explanation/tooltips inside the application, especially in the automation, would be great.
ActiveCampaign is a great tool to use for an automated marketing funnel. Great for basic autoresponder as well. Great for onboarding new users to your products and services.
Read this authenticated review
Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

ActiveCampaign - The Perfect Combination of Simplicity Plus Power

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is my favorite email marketing platform. It's simple and fast to set up and is super powerful. It also has great deliverability. So whether you are trying to send out a weekly newsletter to your email list, email much more frequently, or are looking for an email automation tool that allows you to segment and automate very specific actions, ActiveCampaign is a great solution.
  • Simple, easy, and fast setup for lists. You can set up a new list in just seconds. And also, they allow you to have an unlimited number of lists and tags that keep things organized.
  • Powerful automations and a clean interface to build them. ActiveCampaign is a powerful tool, allowing you to segment users and send them congruent messaging.
  • Great deliverability. Email marketing is only as useful as the number of emails that get received. If your emails don't send or wind up in spam or junk or promotions folders, that will severely inhibit your email marketing efforts.
  • Text message marketing. There are other tools that are specifically designed for text message marketing, but it would be great if ActiveCampaign took over this industry as well, with their same philosophy of simple and fast to build + super powerful.
  • It gets a bit expensive when you have a large list, because they charge in tiers based on the number of contacts. So does everyone else though, so if you have a big list it will be expensive to host.
ActiveCampaign is great for any company looking to leverage email marketing effectively to share content that builds goodwill and makes sales. They make it simple, fast, and easy to set up lists and automations so that you can easily keep in touch with your customers. Whether you send out a weekly newsletter or are much more aggressive with your email marketing, ActiveCampaign can handle just about anything you throw at it.
Read Ben Marcoux Roofing Lead Generation Expert's full review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

ActiveCampaign helps you super sell!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is used across our whole organization, from Program Director to Office Manager to Executive Director, in order to organize, promote, and provide registration for our various music education programs. We can also track trends for registration, run reports on t-shirt sizes, do a demographics breakdown, create coupon codes, and send emails internally.
  • ActiveCampaign is great at organizing and storing information about our email lists.
  • ActiveCampaign is an incredible tool for marketing automation, setting up blasts to go out.
  • Their reaction time is great for help desk questions.
  • The Customer messaging tools aren't necessarily a huge improvement on doing it yourself, but I really appreciate the option.
  • The automated text messages for sales have gotten us a little bit of negative feedback but it has also helped with awareness! So it's a toss-up.
  • I'm not positive that ActiveCampaign is the very best email marketing on the market, but it's super sleek and easy to use.
ActiveCampaign is fantastic for getting a plan together and organizing a bird's-eye view of your sales and marketing. It's super helpful to set up automation and educate yourself on the options available to you in that realm of sales. It's not necessarily the best email blast system, I personally prefer Campaign Monitor.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2018

ActiveCampaign: Nailed the Sweet Spot of Power vs. Ease-of-Use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign (AC) is the lifeblood of my email flight deal alert company, Flights Machine. We are in AC everyday, since our subscribers rely on our emails as the main way they get notified about our flight deals. The campaign builder in AC is nice, but where it stands out over other offerings such as MailChimp (our former email tool) is in its automation builder. They have a strong API to tag users based on arbitrarily complex business logic in your codebase, with an easy to use automation builder than can be triggered when tags get added to a user.
  • Automations (based on tagging a user from your codebase via their API, start sending that user an email sequence)
  • Campaign Builder (as good as other tools such as MailChimp)
  • Pricing (pay per contact, not per email sent. AND email addresses can be added to multiple lists and only count as 1 contact, unlike MailChimp which would consider that 2 contacts)
  • The Admin Dashboard Contacts Search tool is very limited in functionality
  • The pricing buckets are very large... It goes 10,000 to 25,000 to 50,000 ... Being more granular would help a lot for businesses just over the cusp of one of these limits
  • Provide an API to validate email addresses as valid or invalid. MailChimp does this for free when you try to add to your list, but ActiveCampaign allows adding garbage typo-ed email addresses like *@gmail.con to your list (forcing you to use a 3rd party vendor for this)
ActiveCampaign is perfect for teams that want a lightweight, easy to use email software which still has the ability to deeply integrate with your codebase/business logic (through tagging via their API and automations).

It strikes the balance nicely between allowing developers and marketers to collaborate --- simply instruct the developers to tag users appropriately in the business logic / code base, and then the marketers can use AC's automations initiated by a tag to come up with whatever complex follow-up they desire (all without bugging the developers again).
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Great Features, Great Price!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign for marketing smart automation and also consult with other companies on selecting marketing automation tools. ActiveCampaign is a very powerful tool for small businesses looking for a rich feature-set at an affordable price.
  • The automation interface is fairly intuitive to work through and offers powerful, flexible features.
  • For the price and features it offers, it's the best value of any automation service that exists today.
  • It has a TON of options for the advanced user to tinker and test with.
  • Since it has so many options, a beginner might be overwhelmed by the choices available. This is hard to avoid when offering so much flexibility, but still, a new user would be well-served to watch some tutorials and have a clear idea about the workflow they want to get started.
  • There is a point at which your list will outgrow the service (hopefully!) and you might want to think about switching to a service whose CRM and landing page functionality is more robust.
For the small business who is just getting started or has a list smaller than 2,500 contacts, ActiveCampaign is a leader in smart communication. Compared with free (or cheap) alternatives like MailChimp or Constant Contact, the feature set provides a lot more value. The one real caveat here is that you have to really want to use the features. For someone who is happy to just send out their monthly newsletter, this might be more than you need.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Audréa Trinh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2018

Effective and not expensive marketing automation tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign (AC) is an easy and effective marketing automation tool for small businesses. I have implemented AC in the marketing department in order to send different and multiple types of campaigns (simple newsletters, invites, nurturing campaigns) and also to create lead funnel automations. If you have a little customer base (<5000 contacts), AC is a good tool and it is easy to use for lead generation.
  • Creating emails or templates is VERY easy as well as the automation builder is easy to use.
  • Affordable for small companies. Even if your database is growing, the price will of course increase but it is still affordable.
  • You can't create landing pages :(
  • The reporting section can be improve. The interface is not user-friendly at all. We have used another tool to visualize and analyze the results of our campaigns.
ActiveCampaign is well suited for basic scenarios such as daily emailing, follow-up emails, invites, thank you emails or reminders. If you want to create nurturing campaigns with multiple possibilities, AC is also pretty effective with the automation builder. If you want to do very personalized automated email campaigns, ActiveCampaign might not be the best tool to use.
Read Audréa Trinh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (41)
8.0
Dynamic content (40)
8.0
Ability to test dynamic content (36)
7.9
Landing pages (15)
6.9
A/B testing (35)
8.2
Mobile optimization (42)
8.4
Email deliverability (46)
8.7
List management (45)
8.7
Triggered drip sequences (42)
9.6
Dashboards (45)
7.4
Standard reports (45)
7.6
Custom reports (33)
7.4

About ActiveCampaign

The vendor states that ActiveCampaign's Customer Experience Automation Platform presently helps 90,000+ businesses in 161 countries meaningfully engage with their customers. The platform gives businesses of all sizes access to hundreds of pre-built automations that combine email marketing, marketing automation, CRM, and machine learning for orchestration, segmentation and personalization across social, email, messaging, chat, and text. 300+ integrations. Pricing starts at $9/month.

Email Marketing
Subscription Forms
Dynamic Content
Email Segmentation
Split Testing

Marketing Automation
Site Tracking
Event Tracking
Automation Goals
Automation Map
Attribution
Split Action

Sales & CRM
Gmail Extension for Chrome
Contact & Lead Scoring
Mobile App
Salesforce App

Messaging
SMS
Site Messages
Facebook Custom Audiences
Conversations

Machine Learning
Win Probability
Predictive Sending
Predictive Content Beta

ActiveCampaign Integrations

ActiveCampaign Competitors

Mailchimp, HubSpot, Klaviyo, Marketo, Campaign Monitor, Constant Contact, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), ConvertKit

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

ActiveCampaign Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No