TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bk/5g/D8DXGSZA37RB.pngActiveCampaign: Nailed the Sweet Spot of Power vs. Ease-of-UseActiveCampaign (AC) is the lifeblood of my email flight deal alert company, Flights Machine. We are in AC everyday, since our subscribers rely on our emails as the main way they get notified about our flight deals. The campaign builder in AC is nice, but where it stands out over other offerings such as MailChimp (our former email tool) is in its automation builder. They have a strong API to tag users based on arbitrarily complex business logic in your codebase, with an easy to use automation builder than can be triggered when tags get added to a user.,Automations (based on tagging a user from your codebase via their API, start sending that user an email sequence) Campaign Builder (as good as other tools such as Mailchimp) Pricing (pay per contact, not per email sent. AND email addresses can be added to multiple lists and only count as 1 contact, unlike Mailchimp which would consider that 2 contacts),The Admin Dashboard Contacts Search tool is very limited in functionality The pricing buckets are very large... It goes 10,000 to 25,000 to 50,000 ... Being more granular would help a lot for businesses just over the cusp of one of these limits Provide an API to validate email addresses as valid or invalid. Mailchimp does this for free when you try to add to your list, but ActiveCampaign allows adding garbage typo-ed email addresses like *@gmail.con to your list (forcing you to use a 3rd party vendor for this),9,The majority of our website traffic comes from emailing our userbase with ActiveCampaign Automations have allowed us to upsell our best users on additional products With their shared IP address management, we get high deliverability rates on our email campaigns,MailChimp, AWeber and Constant Contact,25,000 to 100,000,B2CGreat Features, Great Price!We use ActiveCampaign for marketing smart automation and also consult with other companies on selecting marketing automation tools. ActiveCampaign is a very powerful tool for small businesses looking for a rich feature-set at an affordable price.,The automation interface is fairly intuitive to work through and offers powerful, flexible features. For the price and features it offers, it's the best value of any automation service that exists today. It has a TON of options for the advanced user to tinker and test with.,Since it has so many options, a beginner might be overwhelmed by the choices available. This is hard to avoid when offering so much flexibility, but still, a new user would be well-served to watch some tutorials and have a clear idea about the workflow they want to get started. There is a point at which your list will outgrow the service (hopefully!) and you might want to think about switching to a service whose CRM and landing page functionality is more robust.,8,The fortune is in the follow through, and ActiveCampaign makes the follow through easier. Drip campaigns and triggers strengthen granular follow up opportunities. The granular messaging options coupled with attractive pricing have made this our go to service for businesses who need more automation features, but are just getting started in the space.,MailChimp, Infusionsoft, HubSpot, Constant Contact and AWeber,Less than 10,000,B2B,Infusionsoft, MailChimp, Constant ContactActiveCampaign is one of the most flexible marketing automation platforms out there!We use ActiveCampaign to generate and nurture leads, manage sales pipeline with a built-in CRM to help close sales, and stay in touch with existing customers. It's an integral part of the business as it helps bring in new customers and keep existing customers while increasing their lifetime value with new orders and services.,Automation campaigns are excellent in ActiveCampaign. It allows granular control over what happens when to whom and how. You can create very complex automated campaigns to nurture leads at the right time with the right content. Ability to create custom pipelines is great as it allows us to cater to different sales processes that vary depending on customer type and/or different services, so we can track the right information in a flow that makes sense in specific situations. Sending 1-to-1 emails in CRM that are tracked so we know when contacts open emails. Chrome extension for Gmail is really useful to access contact data within emails in Gmail and being able to track emails sent in Gmail.,You can't add a contact without an email address. Site tracking of visitors sometimes doesn't work, so when they submit a form their activity prior to form submission is lost. Sales/CRM reporting is very limited. Anyone coming from a proper CRM like Salesforce would find reporting unusable, especially sales teams. Email builder needs some work, it has certain limitations and doesn't allow custom designs to be editable in the builder. No Android app for CRM (suppose to be in the works as we were told).,8,ActiveCampaign is the base of our marketing communications operations. So all the leads that we generate and nurture go through ActiveCampaign, which means most of not all of our revenue directly or indirectly is related to ActiveCampaign. It helps us operate and grow the business. It helps us provide more personalized experience for new leads as well as our existing customers. It makes communication more efficient, especially with the Gmail integration.,HubSpot, MailChimp and Hatchbuck,Less than 10,000,B2BA Closer Look at ActiveCampaign from a Frequent UserMy company uses ActiveCampaign for email marketing for one of my clients. We specifically use ActiveCampaign vs any other email marketing programs because of the ability to set up automations and its ability to integrate with their WooCommerce website and the ability to track events in Google Analytics.,Easy to create and format emails with a "drag and drop" interface. Anyone can easily create an email with little instruction. You can also use custom HTML to create an email or email template so that you can be assured the email you are sending looks EXACTLY like you want it to or matches your website exactly.,There is no media database/library. All images uploaded for use just kind of "live" with the user that uploaded them in the emails and there is no easy way to organize them and there is no way to share them amongst different users. So needless to say, images are just kind of a mess. Campaigns can be organized by various methods - type, status, label and list. But there is no way to organize by campaign name, date created or date scheduled/sent which would be helpful for the person creating all the emails to keep track of what's done and needs to be done. (You can sort by 'last modified' but if you jump around a bit between emails, that doesn't help.),6,Positive ROI: ActiveCampaign has allowed us to use tags and automation to segment our subscribers based on purchases so that we can keep those buyer engaged with emails and information that pertains to the specific things they are interested in, and not bother them with things they are not. Thereby increasing open rates and click-throughs and decreasing unsubscribe rates which thereby increases sales. Negative ROI: Learning the program takes some time as do setting up the automations, so you need to be willing to make the investment in time to do so. Initially, this may adversely affect your ROI.,Constant Contact and MailChimp,Less than 10,000,B2C,MailChimp, Buffer, CanvaActiveCampaign will be a game changer for your marketing and sales teamActiveCampaign is an absolute game changer if you want to grow your business. Email automation and sending specific offers to specific people who are ready to take action is KEY to growing any business. Segmenting your list, knowing what people are taking what actions, moving people along the sales pipeline when they take specific actions... You just can't beat it. Active Campaign > ConfusionSoft any day.,Email Automation CRM Sales Pipelines,2 way texting Using local phone numbers for texting,10,We've probably [doubled] our business because of ActiveCampaign over other email/CRM providers,Infusionsoft,10,000 to 25,000,B2B,Trello, Slack
Unspecified
ActiveCampaign
59 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

ActiveCampaign Reviews

ActiveCampaign
59 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 59 vetted ActiveCampaign reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ben Gelsey profile photo
October 30, 2018

Review: "ActiveCampaign: Nailed the Sweet Spot of Power vs. Ease-of-Use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign (AC) is the lifeblood of my email flight deal alert company, Flights Machine. We are in AC everyday, since our subscribers rely on our emails as the main way they get notified about our flight deals. The campaign builder in AC is nice, but where it stands out over other offerings such as MailChimp (our former email tool) is in its automation builder. They have a strong API to tag users based on arbitrarily complex business logic in your codebase, with an easy to use automation builder than can be triggered when tags get added to a user.
  • Automations (based on tagging a user from your codebase via their API, start sending that user an email sequence)
  • Campaign Builder (as good as other tools such as MailChimp)
  • Pricing (pay per contact, not per email sent. AND email addresses can be added to multiple lists and only count as 1 contact, unlike MailChimp which would consider that 2 contacts)
  • The Admin Dashboard Contacts Search tool is very limited in functionality
  • The pricing buckets are very large... It goes 10,000 to 25,000 to 50,000 ... Being more granular would help a lot for businesses just over the cusp of one of these limits
  • Provide an API to validate email addresses as valid or invalid. MailChimp does this for free when you try to add to your list, but ActiveCampaign allows adding garbage typo-ed email addresses like *@gmail.con to your list (forcing you to use a 3rd party vendor for this)
ActiveCampaign is perfect for teams that want a lightweight, easy to use email software which still has the ability to deeply integrate with your codebase/business logic (through tagging via their API and automations).

It strikes the balance nicely between allowing developers and marketers to collaborate --- simply instruct the developers to tag users appropriately in the business logic / code base, and then the marketers can use AC's automations initiated by a tag to come up with whatever complex follow-up they desire (all without bugging the developers again).
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
Nicholas De Salvo profile photo
October 29, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "Great Features, Great Price!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign for marketing smart automation and also consult with other companies on selecting marketing automation tools. ActiveCampaign is a very powerful tool for small businesses looking for a rich feature-set at an affordable price.
  • The automation interface is fairly intuitive to work through and offers powerful, flexible features.
  • For the price and features it offers, it's the best value of any automation service that exists today.
  • It has a TON of options for the advanced user to tinker and test with.
  • Since it has so many options, a beginner might be overwhelmed by the choices available. This is hard to avoid when offering so much flexibility, but still, a new user would be well-served to watch some tutorials and have a clear idea about the workflow they want to get started.
  • There is a point at which your list will outgrow the service (hopefully!) and you might want to think about switching to a service whose CRM and landing page functionality is more robust.
For the small business who is just getting started or has a list smaller than 2,500 contacts, ActiveCampaign is a leader in smart communication. Compared with free (or cheap) alternatives like MailChimp or Constant Contact, the feature set provides a lot more value. The one real caveat here is that you have to really want to use the features. For someone who is happy to just send out their monthly newsletter, this might be more than you need.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Viktor Nagornyy profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "ActiveCampaign is one of the most flexible marketing automation platforms out there!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign to generate and nurture leads, manage sales pipeline with a built-in CRM to help close sales, and stay in touch with existing customers. It's an integral part of the business as it helps bring in new customers and keep existing customers while increasing their lifetime value with new orders and services.
  • Automation campaigns are excellent in ActiveCampaign. It allows granular control over what happens when to whom and how. You can create very complex automated campaigns to nurture leads at the right time with the right content.
  • Ability to create custom pipelines is great as it allows us to cater to different sales processes that vary depending on customer type and/or different services, so we can track the right information in a flow that makes sense in specific situations.
  • Sending 1-to-1 emails in CRM that are tracked so we know when contacts open emails.
  • Chrome extension for Gmail is really useful to access contact data within emails in Gmail and being able to track emails sent in Gmail.
  • You can't add a contact without an email address.
  • Site tracking of visitors sometimes doesn't work, so when they submit a form their activity prior to form submission is lost.
  • Sales/CRM reporting is very limited. Anyone coming from a proper CRM like Salesforce would find reporting unusable, especially sales teams.
  • Email builder needs some work, it has certain limitations and doesn't allow custom designs to be editable in the builder.
  • No Android app for CRM (suppose to be in the works as we were told).
ActiveCampaign has its shortcomings, but it is a very good marketing automation platform and can do wonders for a business. The best feature is the automated campaigns. It allows very targeted communication that some larger (enterprise focused) marketing automation platforms can't provide. That's why a lot of businesses, especially online businesses, flock to ActiveCampaign. They want to take advantage of the automatons that ActiveCampaign provides to generate leads and sales.

Where I wouldn't recommend ActiveCampaign (at least not right now) is when a business has a sales team. The limited CRM functionality and poor reporting compared to dedicated CRMs would make it very difficult for a sales team to function, especially for a sales manager to get proper reporting to know how everyone is doing and where they are as a sales organization.
Read Viktor Nagornyy's full review
Tracy Beers profile photo
October 31, 2018

Review: "A Closer Look at ActiveCampaign from a Frequent User"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses ActiveCampaign for email marketing for one of my clients. We specifically use ActiveCampaign vs any other email marketing programs because of the ability to set up automations and its ability to integrate with their WooCommerce website and the ability to track events in Google Analytics.
  • Easy to create and format emails with a "drag and drop" interface. Anyone can easily create an email with little instruction.
  • You can also use custom HTML to create an email or email template so that you can be assured the email you are sending looks EXACTLY like you want it to or matches your website exactly.
  • There is no media database/library. All images uploaded for use just kind of "live" with the user that uploaded them in the emails and there is no easy way to organize them and there is no way to share them amongst different users. So needless to say, images are just kind of a mess.
  • Campaigns can be organized by various methods - type, status, label and list. But there is no way to organize by campaign name, date created or date scheduled/sent which would be helpful for the person creating all the emails to keep track of what's done and needs to be done. (You can sort by 'last modified' but if you jump around a bit between emails, that doesn't help.)
ActiveCampaign is not for everyone. It is well suited for those who understand email marketing or have experience with email marketing and automations. If you are not going to use it for the automations, it's probably not worth using it. You are just as well served using a less expensive and simpler program that is easier to use.
Read Tracy Beers's full review
Adam Middlesworth profile photo
October 29, 2018

Review: "ActiveCampaign will be a game changer for your marketing and sales team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is an absolute game changer if you want to grow your business. Email automation and sending specific offers to specific people who are ready to take action is KEY to growing any business. Segmenting your list, knowing what people are taking what actions, moving people along the sales pipeline when they take specific actions... You just can't beat it. Active Campaign > ConfusionSoft any day.
  • Email Automation
  • CRM
  • Sales Pipelines
  • 2 way texting
  • Using local phone numbers for texting
If you drive a lot of traffic/leads into your business and you need a solid follow up process while also tracking the behaviors of your leads, you need ActiveCampaign. It will be a complete game changer for your marketing automation and sales process for you and your sales team.
Read Adam Middlesworth's full review
Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching profile photo
October 29, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "A simple and cost-effective tool to simplify your email marketing and deliver consistent value to your list"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign for email marketing, delivering content to our database, and creating lead funnels automation. It allows us to educate our leads, our clients and deliver value in a simple and consistent manner.
  • Simple to use
  • Good value for the price
  • Automation sequences
  • Lead scoring
  • Cannot capture the overall structure of an automation sequence. Would be nice to capture the whole automation sequence as an image file or PDF file to go back to when I want to make amendments.
  • Sometimes the platform is a bit slow to respond.
  • Have more examples of automation sequences of aces studies on how to use automation features with real-life examples of sequence and details of how each step functions. That would help build better automation sequences.
It does the job and it's cost-effective and has a simple user interface compared to other competitors.
Read Dr Olivier Becherel - Leadership and Executive Coaching's full review
No photo available
October 31, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "A clean and effective email marketing system."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, I use it in the marketing department. I basically use it for promotional email campaigns. With this applicatio,n I make promotional emailers and send them to my database to generate queries for my products.
  • It’s very easy to set up an account on this application.
  • During the campaign design it automatically saves your templates.
  • The email mobile optimisation is the best feature in this application.
  • Unavailability of incoming text messaging integration. They should integrate this feature for better engagement.
  • Sometimes I have difficulties creating my campaign through the HTML builder. I think it happens because of some bugs.
  • Its pricing is very steep for a small company or for a starter.
For a small company like us, it is very useful to build a list of subscribers through email campaigns and subscription forms. The accuracy of its email campaigns helps me to grow my list very fast.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "Gets the job done"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ActiveCampaign to handle email marketing for my small online business. I use it to collect leads, warm them up with automation, and then sell products and services. I use it for both automated and broadcast emails for all communication with my list, with several automated series going simultaneously at any given time.
  • Email automation
  • Lead generation
  • Communicating effectively with different parts of your list
  • Lists vs. tags can be somewhat confusing -- I feel it could be all tags
  • UX is a slow and sometimes confusing
  • Snippets are difficult to use
It's very well suited for what I use it for: handling email automation for a small business. They have more robust marketing automation tools for larger businesses, but I don't use them so couldn't comment effectively. Ultimately, I feel like it's the most flexible, best bang for the buck email solution that's out there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

Review: "So glad we decided to switch to ActiveCampaign"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign to manage our email campaigns across the whole company. We also use ActiveCampaign as a 3rd party email automation solution for our clients. It helps us to automate the emails sent to our prospects and current clients. For our marketing agency clients, we use ActiveCampaign to manage their email lists and send automated emails.
  • ActiveCampaign can handle large email lists
  • ActiveCampaign helps to keep the emails lists organized
  • The ActiveCampaign automation is a must to keep the email list healthy and engaged
  • We think the workflow, from creating a list until designing the automation, should be a little more intuitive
  • First-time users must watch quick tutorials to move quickly inside the application if they want to better understand the system
ActiveCampaign can be used to import emails from funnels (landing page), so the prospect received an automated email (welcome email). This email can be tagged and, at the same time, a simple or complex email automation can be started. This automation can be created and administrated visually by using the email design tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "Take control of your automated campaigns today!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are currently using ActiveCampaign on both the corporate side and as an opt-in feature for our franchise locations. On the corporate side, we use ActiveCampaign to manage our franchise sales cycle. We use it to assign automations to leads that come in as well as assign tasks to our team in how those leads are handled. On the franchise side, it's used to manage client leads as well as handle the hiring process in some cases. ActiveCampaign is really useful in cutting out a lot of the grunt work involved. The automations can handle a lot and are very flexible in how they can be built. On top of that the interface is very intuitive and easy to learn.
  • ActiveCampaign is really easy to use unlike some of the other automation software available out there. The automated campaigns are very flexible and you can manage contact forms, emails, and users all in one system.
  • For the features it offers, it's the cheapest solution out there (as far as I am aware). ActiveCampaign offers a different range of pricing and even has a reseller program.
  • ActiveCampaign is still a relatively small and new company. As such, there are some features missing. For example, there is currently no way to change the design of any internal emails or notifications sent. This means if you are a reseller, any notifications your clients get from the system will be stuck with the blue color scheme.
  • Another big feature missing if the support for SSL on custom domains. Again, if you are a reseller and want your clients to access their system on a custom subdomain, the connection won't be secure unless you use ActiveCampaigns generated domain.
ActiveCampaign is well suited for businesses that need an easy to use automated campaign system. If you have previously used a service like Pipedrive before then you will find its bucket system intuitive. ActiveCampaign is great for managing and even generating leads through its automations. If you need an automation system that's very robust and has corner case uses, then ActiveCampaign is not for you. However, for most, ActiveCampaign will be the perfect solution as it is flexible enough and easy to learn use quickly. There's no steep learning curve here!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 03, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "Advanced automation at a very low price"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is used primarily by our Marketing team, but it also integrates with our sales team communication. We use it for our weekly newsletter, marketing automation campaigns, signup forms, auto responses, etc. It's primary use it to connect with customers and potential customers. We have a community of users so email communication is extremely important for us.
  • Their HTML email builder is easy to use.
  • Their automation workflows have tons of options to send custom messages to your audience
  • It has advanced features at a much lower price than other vendors
  • I wish they had a landing page builder included (like other tools do)
  • Their forms are not very customizable
If you're a startup or small business and are looking for quality email automation at a low price, I can't recommend ActiveCampaign enough. But if you're looking for an all-in-one platform with the most advanced automation features, you'd probably be better off with a more expensive solution like Hubspot or Marketo.
Read this authenticated review
Lauren Lopez profile photo
April 25, 2018

User Review: "ActiveCampaign Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ActiveCampaign within our organization as an email management tool, CRM, and a marketing automation solution. We've created our own systems with this tool and we also create systems for our clients using ActiveCampaign.
  • Killer automation features - allowing you to create an in-depth marketing system that connects customers, websites, and sales funnels.
  • Reasonably priced and good re-seller program
  • Easy navigation of the email platform and CRM deals section
  • Love to see them improve the overall speed of their program. Waiting for pages to load when creating emails and automations can be a real drag on productivity and create an overall frustrating experience. (Asana is the gold standard here).
  • I'd like them to improve email delvierability, as I've heard some complaints in this area.
  • I'd like them to create a more fleshed out deals section so we can completely replace all of our other CRM programs.
ActiveCampaign is well suited for small and big businesses alike who value marketing systems and automations that create powerful relationships. If all you're looking for is an email newsletter service, you're better off signing up with something like MailChimp or AWeber. ActiveCampaign is much more powerful and in my opinion, provides much more value for the cost. I also appreciate their attentive and kind customer service.
Read Lauren Lopez's full review
J.P. VanderLinden profile photo
April 24, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "An Awkward Middle Child Between ESP and MA"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I implemented ActiveCampaign for two different companies, each hoping to use AC to deliver targeted emails to opted in users and nurture these users through a decision journey that could take between weeks and months. The goal was to allow for logic branching based on user interaction, and deliver content based on that logic branching that addressed key pain points and guided a user towards the right solution for them.
  • Most Email Service Providers don't allow for logic branching in their drip sequencing - they allow for time delays or opt out/ins based on opens and maybe clicks, but no true branching or trees. This is a key differentiation for AC.
  • The drag and drop workflows and organization is fantastic, easy to use and fast. You can setup a sequence in a matter of minutes where it would take hours with other providers.
  • Integrating with others is a key part of the modern tech stack. Active Campaign works with Zapier, making it able to talk to landing page software, ad campaigns, other marketing automation, email databases and more. Plus it offers native integrations with Stripe, SurveyMonkey, PipeDrive, Paypal and more.
  • If you're just getting started and have less than 1k contacts, the pricing is very reasonable. You can get out between $17 and $100 a month and get a host of features competitors can't touch.
  • The reporting UI is difficult to use. I setup a fantastic sequence, but understanding how it was performing was like pulling teeth. How many users branched, how many unsubscribed? I had to dig into individual emails to get this information.
  • As your contact list climbs, the pricing does, too. Once you get up around 2-5k contacts, you really should start looking at options like HubSpot, where the pricing is comparable but the feature list is much larger.
  • At it's heart, AC is an email platform. So no landing pages, the website tracking is kinda half-baked and the CRM feels like it's just tacked on without it being integrated in an intentional and strategic way.
If you're just getting started and know you're going to want an Email Service Provider (not a Marketing Automation software), then you really should check out ActiveCampaign. Compared to MailChimp or ConstantContact or Klaviyo it's a big step up in terms of advanced, smart delivery.

On the other hand, if you know you'll be wanting options like landing pages and robust tracking within 12 months, or expect to be working with a large list soon, you might find yourself disappointed, and should start looking at Infusionsoft or HubSpot instead, as you won't be as likely to outgrow it so soon.
Read J.P. VanderLinden's full review
Brett Farr profile photo
April 24, 2018

Review: "ActiveCampaign is Great for Businesses Just Starting Out with Automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign helps my clients organize their contacts and use automation to send follow up based on the contacts' interactions with the website and sales team. We use the tagging feature to segment groups like prospects, customers, and other meaningful segmentation. We use the automation to send drip-style emails to our prospects and customers and stay in touch with them.
  • The automation builder is fairly easy to use and makes following up really easy.
  • The CRM and Deals module makes it easy for our salesteam to track progress of our different sales opportunities.
  • It's easy to track behavior of our leads (like clicking on links in emails, visiting our site, etc).
  • The automations builder is a bit clunky sometimes and requires a lot of effort to do seemingly easy tasks.
  • The CRM is a little weak for our sales team. They'd like a tighter integration into Gmail as well as a more robust task management system.
  • The reporting could use a lot of work. There really aren't' any visual reports to show me funnel info and conversion rates of my leads from one step to the next. This would make it easier to improve our marketing efforts.
ActiveCcampaign is a great start for online businesses looking to get started with marketing automation. For businesses who are already well-equipped and understand marketing automation, they might get a bit frustrated with its lack of features that more robust systems have.
Read Brett Farr's full review
Mitchell Terpstra profile photo
April 20, 2018

ActiveCampaign Review: "Big Learning Curve but also Big Dividends"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign allows my agency to automate email communications with clients that address their needs at different stages of their relationship with business, identify strong leads, and maintain solid contact over time.
  • ActiveCampaign goes beyond email services like MailChimp in that you can build logic trees which trigger email communications to customers rather than handling them on an individual basis. Allows you to send info to interested parties at the moment they're most wanting it.
  • With ActiveCampaign, there's quite a bit of learning up front to really understand how to use its services to full effect.
  • The tutorial videos are led by a guy who clearly hates his life.
ActiveCampaign excels at sending automated emails to customers who've shown interest in your business--whether by signing up for some list or freebie, visiting your online store and perhaps abandoning a shopping cart, or just for thank you or confirmation emails--all triggered by actions you determine and sent out to speak to them at the right time.
Read Mitchell Terpstra's full review
Steena Brown profile photo
December 14, 2017

ActiveCampaign Review: "I beg my colleagues to switch to Active Campaign!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I practically beg my colleagues to switch to ActiveCampaign, especially if they’re moving into more business automation and want to accurately and efficiently track their email list activity. I’ve used a couple of competitor's products and find them cumbersome and confusing. With Active Campaign, automation series are simple and visual, templates are easy to create and edit, and the robust tracking/tagging options aren’t in the way of the normal use for beginners while still being easily accessible for more advanced users. This is an email system that scales with your business and integrates well with sales funnel software.
  • Easy to implement detailed if/then email Automation
  • Templates are easy to use and access
  • Integrates with click funnel
  • Campaign sending has a few too many steps to go through, would love to see more on one page
  • More organizational tools for sent, drafts, and different list emails other than just one level tagging would be great
  • Visual email scheduling for newsletters on a calendar would be a huge improvement to the list style. Drag and drop to reschedule emails would be a godsend!
Honestly, I’ve seen this system scale from total start-up beginner businesses to larger businesses with more nuanced lists.
Read Steena Brown's full review
Alden Dale profile photo
December 11, 2017

Review: "ActiveCampaign - Budget automation platform with 80% of the features that a $5k a month tool offers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is one of the best budget options for marketing automation. While there is a CRM aspect, and in theory a sales department appeal, I think the primary usage is around marketing automation (although for the price, having the selling tools is a nice perk).

Usually, ActiveCampaign is deployed within the marketing, or marketing operations department. Because of its placement in the market, it's often a good fit for smaller businesses that are not in a budget place to consider some of the pricier options, however, don't discount it as a tool for a larger company. If it has the tools you need, it can be a solid choice.

However, the weak integration with SFDC often prevents me from suggesting this as a tool for larger businesses. Some can be done with the built-in integration, and using some API work (either custom dev or through a middle company like Zapier) helps, it's still not as strong when it comes to a 1:1 CRM sync.
  • Sending emails at an affordable cost
  • Plug-and-play website/email automations. Very easy to set up triggered emails based on web activity.
  • The SMS messaging is a nice perk you don't often find in a tool at this price point
  • Clean list management and basic CRM functionality
  • Integration to 3rd party CRMs (particularly SFDC--- However I've heard they're working on this currently and there may be something available early 2018)
  • Ability to auto-delete leads from automation (no idea why this is the case... there should be the option to have "delete lead" as a flow step; makes keeping the database clean unusually time consuming)
  • Ability to specify multiple contacts for a single deal in the CRM
Well suited:
- Companies with smaller budget and smaller list/database size
- Companies that rely more on marketing and less on sales for generating pipeline
- Companies without a team dedicated to marketing automation management, <3 FT employees in marketing

Poorly suited:
- Companies with existing CRM that need to add on an automation tool (its possible; just not best)
- Companies with very large budgets where having a more main-stream tool is needed
Read Alden Dale's full review
Austin Schmidt profile photo
December 08, 2017

ActiveCampaign Review: "Affordable, easy-to-use, worth a look."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is the core of my business. It's used to store customer/prospect data, email customers and prospects, track website behavior, and provide analytics. It addresses the problem of wanting the power of modern marketing automation, but not wanting to pay thousands of dollars per month.
  • Ease-of-use. Marketing automation has never been this easy. You don't need a marketing tech background to build elaborate automations in this tool. Everything is intuitive.
  • The automation builder is flat out incredible. For an inexpensive solution, I'm blown away by the automation capabilities of ActiveCampaign. It blows many of the more expensive solutions like Pardot out of the universe. Not quite on a Marketo level, but ballpark.
  • Affordable. The thing I love about ActiveCampaign is that it's inexpensive to get started, but won't restrict growth. AC scales from start up to enterprise.
  • No landing page builder. Having to integrate a separate tool for landing pages is a complexity. On the other hand, I respect that they stick to their strengths.
  • The reporting is hit or miss. Some of the reporting (example: email open, click through, etc, analytics) is exceptional. Some, like connecting form fill outs to emails and automations isn't quite as clean as I would like. It's workable.
  • I wish the user interface of the CRM was configurable. Being able to create my own contact layout would be nice.
If you're looking for affordable, easy-to-use marketing automation, it's hard to beat ActiveCampaign. One of the very best solutions if you're not flush with cash and able to drop 80K on Marketo. If you're a complex organization with cash, you may want to look towards a Marketo or Hubspot, as they certainly have more functionality. With that said, most marketing departments buy more than they need.
Read Austin Schmidt's full review
No photo available
December 27, 2017

User Review: "ActiveCampaign - Almost There."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ActiveCampaign in a specific location within a nationwide business. We are using it for marketing purposes, as well as onboarding, deadline countdowns, and information based emails. ActiveCampaign helps us to better serve our current customers and market to new customers with their automation options and one-off emails within the CRM.
  • Marketing Automation
  • Click/Link Tracking
  • Email Integration with Gmail via a Chrome extension
  • One-to-one email automation (all automations have unsubscribe / impersonal req'd fields)
  • Sometimes the Chrome plugin does not work properly.
  • The email builder could use improvement on the UX end.
ActiveCampaign works well for onboarding, deadline countdowns, informational emails, and marketing. I think that ActiveCampaign could improve it's one-to-one sales email options to really be an all in one solution with it's CRM.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

ActiveCampaign: "Active Campaign Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool for our mass emails and for our email automations. It allows us to create email campaigns and set them to run without much work from us once running.
  • Ease of loading targets
  • Easy to use templates
  • Easy to track targets who click on links/images within email
  • Some of the automation features need to be easier to use. When creating a long automation the linking time span or action in between messages is limited.
  • Linking targets to automation can sometimes be challenging
  • Could use some upgrades to the reports, such as page visit time spent, how many links clicked on, repeat visits etc.
This is a great tool for anyone looking to create email campaigns, either one-off emails or mass emails. It makes it easy to set up and to track your progress and success.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

ActiveCampaign Review: "Cheap tool that's good for beginners"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We're using Active Campaign for clients that cannot afford more comprehensive CRM and automation tools. ActiveCampaign is being used by our marketing team in order to deliver services to our clients that revolve around inbound marketing. It is fairly easy to set up and it allows us to create email marketing automation and track our results. The best part about it is that it's very cheap compared to other solutions, but keep in mind that you'll need several other tools in order to create your campaigns.
  • It's a cheap solution.
  • It integrates well with many other software.
  • It's easy to set up.
  • it has good email automation and personalization options.
  • It doesn't have any landing pages options so you'll need to use additional systems.
  • Reporting system is petty basic and could be much more in-depth.
  • Automations are sometimes limited. You need to plan ahead and make sure you have everything set correctly.
It's a good tool if you're just starting out and want to tap into email marketing and automation systems. However, know that it is fairly limited compared to other CRM systems and you will need additional tools to manage social media, create landing pages, CTAs etc. It's also a good fit for small businesses that are still discovering the power of inbound marketing.
Read this authenticated review
Andy Ryan profile photo
September 01, 2017

Review: "ActiveCampaign is for the experienced marketing professional"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I partnered up with another online marketer to sell his course online in January 2017. He recently switched from AWeber to ActiveCampaign. The difference was like comparing a base line economy vehicle to a top or the line luxury SUV with all the bells and whistles. ActiveCampaign was easy to learn with a basic knowledge of previous email services such as AWeber and MailChimp. Between the two of us we were able to set up automated drip campaigns and tag people with how they took action. We were using ads and webinars to sell the course and ActiveCampaign handled everything we neeeded including all the integrations with other services. It was very intuitive to use and set up lists, forms and tags.
  • It can automatically trigger sequences based on the actions of the contacts. If they click a link they can then trigger a different drip campaign. Or vise versa.
  • It was really easy to create the emails with the editor
  • The data reporting made sense and was a great way to get a quick glance of how things were going.
  • As of January 2017... There were a few integrations that were not there that Infusionsoft had but ActiveCampaign didn't . One of those was SendOutCards. We had wanted a trigger to send people who purchased a physical card in the mail thanking them for their purchase. We had to manually input each sale since there was not an integration. (There may have been a way to do it, we just couldn't figure it out in time)
  • They charge based on number of contacts in your list. At the time we were working with a list around 30k. The tiers go from 500, 1000, 2500, 5000, 10k, 25k, 50k etc. So it got a little pricey per month to get the features we wanted. But we found it to be worth it with the number of sales that came in.
  • Again as of January 2017 - the backend interface or User Experience could be a bit nicer. It definitely looked like it was designed by engineers, not UX people.
For the person who is looking to set up a bunch of automations this is your answer.

For the person who has a tiny list less then a couple hundred, I would recommend something like MailChimp to get started.

ActiveCampaign is definitely for people who have a bit more experience in the field of email marketing.
Read Andy Ryan's full review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

User Review: "ActiveCampaign - Proceed with Caution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCampaign is being used solely by our marketing team. It is an economical tool that addresses the fundamental aspects of marketing automation, including email marketing, form handling and lead scoring.
  • It features easily deployable email campaigns.
  • Its lead scoring component is easy to set up and configure.
  • Its form tool is straightforward and provides for easy embedding on websites and landing pages.
  • It's reporting functionality is terrible. I can't emphasize this enough. There is not a path for ad hoc reports; only canned system reports and some ability to use advanced search and filters to "try" and work around this.
  • The form tool does not have the best styling capabilities.
  • Their list building / segmentation features are difficult to confidently maneuver when trying to establish unique paths for individual contacts based on certain triggers / behavioral actions.
If someone needs an economical entry into marketing automation features and does not require any comprehensive reporting, ActiveCampaign can be a suitable tool. If ad hoc reports and advanced list segmentation features are important, avoid it.
Read this authenticated review
Alex Chaidaroglou profile photo
April 24, 2017

User Review: "ActiveCampaign - strong automations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using ActiveCampaign at the company I currently work at, for my personal blog and strongly recommend it to clients I occasionally work with. It is being used to send email newsletters and set up automations based on actions a subscriber takes. One of the core benefits it provides is that it has email automations with very strong capabiities and its API is very friendly to set up events and custom actions, which makes it ideal for small and medium SaaS.

  • Automations: You can segment users, apply tags and do a bunch of other things in order to nail your targeting and messaging. Very easy to set up with an array of triggers and actions, like wait time, copy-paste actions, etc.
  • Pricing: If you get the plan that doesn't have the lead scoring and CRM, you get a very affordable email service provider with high deliverability and strong automations.
  • List cleanup: It has an automated way to clean up your lists from inactive subscribers that hurt your deliverability. The support team has helped me many times toset things up.
  • The email editor: It has improved since a year or so ago, but it still has room for improvement. Sometime the font size doesn't stay the same when you change lines and when you view the source code, everything is one line; making it hard to read and edit.
  • More webinars for existing users: When I first signed up I watched a webinar with ActiveCampaign's features and it really helped me. I am sure there is like a 10% of it that I am not currently using and I'd like to learn more about additional functionality.
ActiveCampaign is ideal for small and medium businesses (especially SaaS) that want to have a higher than average email deliverability, coupled with some strong automations. These automations can be used for funnels, filtering opt ins and so much more. Bigger companies might want to go to a more enterprise solution.
Read Alex Chaidaroglou's full review

ActiveCampaign Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (20)
7.7
Dynamic content (20)
7.4
Ability to test dynamic content (17)
7.5
Landing pages (7)
6.7
A/B testing (17)
7.2
Mobile optimization (22)
7.7
Email deliverability (24)
8.3
List management (24)
8.1
Triggered drip sequences (22)
9.3
Dashboards (23)
7.1
Standard reports (23)
7.3
Custom reports (15)
6.7

About ActiveCampaign

Categories:  Email Marketing

ActiveCampaign Integrations

ActiveCampaign Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

ActiveCampaign Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No