TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T3/KI/JVECOPT0CJWO.PNGInvaluable Client Health Visibility for Your Entire OrgGainsight is primarily used by the CSMs in our greater Global Client Success org, but it goes beyond that and is an indispensable tool for our executive team as well. We use Gainsight primarily for insight and visibility into client health. We also use it to drive call-to-actions.,Call-to-Actions 360 Client Health Annual Pulse Conference,Nurturing Email Campaign based on unique metrics or lifecycle of our clients Product Roundtables or local networking events,10,Increased employee efficiency Better, faster client success,Salesforce Communities, AppNexus, Lotame,11 to 25 peopleFoundation To Customer SuccessOur Customer Success Group uses Gainsight to support the day to day of our CSMs and automate our 1:many approach of driving adoption. Other departments have visibility into Gainsight activities. Gainsight primarily solves the problems of prioritizing accounts, creating a health score, creating triggers and predicting churn.,A health score using various data sources. Calls to Action when there are problems with accounts. One-to-many email service.,Cross object reporting Some UI issues,8,Overall reduction in churn,Preact,26 to 50 peopleProactive success with GainsightCoordinate data and customer info from many varied places into an easy to use platform, see transparent health of all customers in one place, and proactively and strategically work with customers for their success are three good reasons why Gainsight is a win.,Transparency for the whole company Efficient aggregation of information Meaningful management of customer success,Unique business structures can prove to be challenging but the Gainsight team is right there to help you Continued improvements are important, it is not a set it once and leave it,10,Proactive help = happy customers,6 to 10 peopleEarly implementation already seeing valueWe're still in the implementation process of Gainsight, so our use case is still a little more narrow than we'd like it to be. We're currently using Gainsight to send monthly NPS surveys to our customers, depending on their renewal date, a maximum of twice a year. We're also using the CTAs to manage our customers through their lifecycle, especially at the beginning of their relationship with us and through the renewal. The CTAs are also drawing attention to risk, especially around the passive cancelation of renewal. We're currently working on implementing our usage data and associated CTAs, and what I've seen so far has been very impressive.,Being able to manage our customers renewals and be alerted of our customer's renewals has been really fantastic. NPS surveys, built on lists that we choose how we segment, has been really helpful. As a manager, I get great visibility into the turn-around of core job functions of my individual contributors.,It's really hard to implement if you don't have clean, accessible data already. Even when you do have your data, learning how to configure your own rules in a reliable way is difficult. The UI leaves something to be desired, but I saw a preview of their 5.0 UI today and think that'll improve quite a bit in the near future. Licensing is a pain because it requires an SFDC admin to set it up, and no one on my team is an SFDC admin - we're left waiting for the help of Sales Ops.,8,More clarity into the behaviors of my individual CSMs in terms of how they turn-around on our CTAs. Real insight into the usage of our customers, giving us the ability to respond in a really positive way. MUCH, MUCH better renewal process management and compliance for the entire team.,Totango, Preact and Bluenose Analytics,Zendesk, JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence,6 to 10 peopleGainsight needs some improvement for the Enterprise space but has a lot of potentialGainsight is being used by the customer success high level accounts across two service offerings. Currently supporting 100+ users with <2000 accounts. Goal was for a one stop shop for CuSM to access usage data and scale to automate CTAs and analytics findings.,User interface. Dashboard visulaizations. Basic report building.,Be able to do reporting across multiple tables/objects. Usage visualization view to see over time. Today this can only be seen when data is copied over to the Native SFDC stack and only visible in the usage graph which is not available in relationships. Segmented view based on user credentials.,8,Increased training ramp up for new CuSMs. Increased efficiency as end users now do not have to look at multiple data sources and merge them together themselves. CTAs have allowed for monitoring of customers without human intervention. Negative: Additional reporting outside of Gainsight needed as Gainsight is not able to provide reporting across multiple objects. We had originally expected to do a lot of executive level reporting to be made available in the tool. Positive: More people are beginning to think about what kind of analytics is possible now that the data is merged. Negative: Without a admin level access and knowledge of the rules engine, end users cannot test their own theories or build their own custom reports.,Scout and Tableau Online,Tableau Online, Platfora, Hadoop,More than 100 people,,8,Yes,9,Yes,Scott Drost! He has been instrumental in our success.
Unspecified
Gainsight
317 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Gainsight Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Gainsight
317 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 317 vetted Gainsight reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (126-150 of 176)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Amy Lipsius profile photo
June 16, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Invaluable Client Health Visibility for Your Entire Org"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is primarily used by the CSMs in our greater Global Client Success org, but it goes beyond that and is an indispensable tool for our executive team as well. We use Gainsight primarily for insight and visibility into client health. We also use it to drive call-to-actions.
  • Call-to-Actions
  • 360 Client Health
  • Annual Pulse Conference
  • Nurturing Email Campaign based on unique metrics or lifecycle of our clients
  • Product Roundtables or local networking events
Our Client Success team has been relying on Gainsight for over three years (it was in place before I came on board at our company). It provides invaluable insight and visibility into client health for our CSMs and greater organization, creating actionable results. CTAs and reporting enable our CS team to be proactive and not reactive with their book of business. Gainsight has been very receptive to our product feedback. They've also sent our Gainsight CSM on site several times for review of the product, features, etc. with our greater team as well as help develop our long-term strategy with our executive team. Their annual conference, Pulse, in San Francisco each year, has been a real boost to my professional knowledge and networking. Highly recommend Gainsight.
Read Amy Lipsius's full review
Scott Superko profile photo
June 14, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Foundation To Customer Success"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success Group uses Gainsight to support the day to day of our CSMs and automate our 1:many approach of driving adoption. Other departments have visibility into Gainsight activities.

Gainsight primarily solves the problems of prioritizing accounts, creating a health score, creating triggers and predicting churn.
  • A health score using various data sources.
  • Calls to Action when there are problems with accounts.
  • One-to-many email service.
  • Cross object reporting
  • Some UI issues
Gainsight is well suited if you have a dedicated customer success group and clean data sources.
Read Scott Superko's full review
Amy Niemann profile photo
June 14, 2016

User Review: "Proactive success with Gainsight"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coordinate data and customer info from many varied places into an easy to use platform, see transparent health of all customers in one place, and proactively and strategically work with customers for their success are three good reasons why Gainsight is a win.
  • Transparency for the whole company
  • Efficient aggregation of information
  • Meaningful management of customer success
  • Unique business structures can prove to be challenging but the Gainsight team is right there to help you
  • Continued improvements are important, it is not a set it once and leave it
Gainsight helps create a rich history of your customer's journey, marking important milestones that are important to remember.
Read Amy Niemann's full review
Andrew Hall profile photo
May 13, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Early implementation already seeing value"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're still in the implementation process of Gainsight, so our use case is still a little more narrow than we'd like it to be. We're currently using Gainsight to send monthly NPS surveys to our customers, depending on their renewal date, a maximum of twice a year. We're also using the CTAs to manage our customers through their lifecycle, especially at the beginning of their relationship with us and through the renewal. The CTAs are also drawing attention to risk, especially around the passive cancelation of renewal. We're currently working on implementing our usage data and associated CTAs, and what I've seen so far has been very impressive.
  • Being able to manage our customers renewals and be alerted of our customer's renewals has been really fantastic.
  • NPS surveys, built on lists that we choose how we segment, has been really helpful.
  • As a manager, I get great visibility into the turn-around of core job functions of my individual contributors.
  • It's really hard to implement if you don't have clean, accessible data already. Even when you do have your data, learning how to configure your own rules in a reliable way is difficult.
  • The UI leaves something to be desired, but I saw a preview of their 5.0 UI today and think that'll improve quite a bit in the near future.
  • Licensing is a pain because it requires an SFDC admin to set it up, and no one on my team is an SFDC admin - we're left waiting for the help of Sales Ops.
You don't need Gainsight until you've already progressed to a certain level of a CS organization - we were prospected to by them (and others) when we were too early to be ready for them, so delaying was definitely the right thing. The more accessible your data is, especially usage data, the sooner you're going to see substantial value.
Read Andrew Hall's full review
Diana Doan profile photo
May 13, 2016

Review: "Gainsight needs some improvement for the Enterprise space but has a lot of potential"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by the customer success high level accounts across two service offerings. Currently supporting 100+ users with <2000 accounts. Goal was for a one stop shop for CuSM to access usage data and scale to automate CTAs and analytics findings.
  • User interface.
  • Dashboard visulaizations.
  • Basic report building.
  • Be able to do reporting across multiple tables/objects.
  • Usage visualization view to see over time. Today this can only be seen when data is copied over to the Native SFDC stack and only visible in the usage graph which is not available in relationships.
  • Segmented view based on user credentials.
Gainsight is great for single offer companies and where product is built with customer analytics in mind. It is not great for on premise products (not a Gainsight problem) where usage data is minimal. It is not scalable for multi offers due to the current rules required to process data for a single offer, this may be handled better through the new rule chaining feature.
Read Diana Doan's full review
Karen Nichols profile photo
May 13, 2016

User Review: "Gainsight: No better choice!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by customer success team across three product lines, various geographies. It helps CSMs by being mostly a one-stop-shop for the most critical info they need.
  • Love that it is force.com; easy to grab info from Salesforce and other force.com apps.
  • Easy to create reports for dashboards with no report building experience necessary.
  • Easy for users to learn and use with minimal training.
  • Gainsight is THE leader in the industry.
  • We have had a bit of difficulty with data feeds, some self-inflicted, some due to the way data has to be structured to be used for reporting.
We have had no problems with it, but our friends in Sweden had an issue related to currency. Perhaps it should be more globally adapted?
Read Karen Nichols's full review
Hazel Valdez profile photo
May 13, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Ridiculously happy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently being used by the customer success teams, addressing overall health, usage, and adoption. All CSMs use Gainsight in order to complete any calls to action, gap analysis, client trends and churn patterns and renewal probabilities. It has been helpful that our director has built out appropriate play books that coincide with either our many or high touch clients on a daily basis. Gainsight is our world daily!
  • Playbooks and CTAs
  • Pattern trends for both renewal and churn
  • Trends in usage and likeliness of upsell
  • Better documentation on Success Plans
  • More office hours
  • Updates on what is added into the Vault
Not for the business I am in; basically, Gainsight is my day everyday!
Read Hazel Valdez's full review
Nikhil Gour profile photo
May 12, 2016

Review: "Gainsight is key to being a successful CSA/M"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As of today, Gainsight is primarily used in the customer success organization. We plan to roll it out to our sales team and then eventually to our partner network. Customer Success is a vital role of our company and Gainsight helps us keep up with over 3000 customers on a quarterly basis.
  • Easy to use UX
  • Cockpit is the best thing since sliced bread
  • Rules engine
  • I just attended the Gainsight roadmap and most of the features Karl talked about are ones I've been waiting for like the updated UX in the cockpit.
In a customer success setting, Gainsight is highly efficient in helping CSA/Ms keep up with hundreds of customers. Being layered on top of Salesforce is key as well because there is a lot of automation with data gathering and it makes it easy to figure out your point of contact within a customer's organization or figuring out what you need to get accomplished that day.
Read Nikhil Gour's full review
Alex Tran profile photo
May 12, 2016

Gainsight Review: "Keep a Pulse on your Customers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight being used by our customer success department. It has been helpful in staying up to date with accounts and issues. I like how CTAs and emails can be automated so it saves a lot of time.
  • User-friendly: Not very difficult to learn and use.
  • Accurate overview of customer accounts across our customer success department. I like the dashboard and NPS views and reports.
  • CTAs - there is a lot of room for error because CSMs often forget to checkmark the CTAs once they're finished.
  • Slow loading time.
Because our CSMs are so busy, CTAs are easily often overlooked and not clicked on even when the tasks are finished.
Read Alex Tran's full review
Graham Smith profile photo
May 11, 2016

Review: "A lot of benefit with Gainsight and we've just scratched the surface"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used by our account management team. We utilize the tool to better understand the overall health of our customers and also when to connect with customers - which isn't something we always know when to do. The insight we get from Gainsight gives us a good reason to reach out and not just to 'check in'. It also proactively notifies us of utilization increases and decreases, through its CTAs. All in all, Gainsight has been extremely valuable for our team and I'm excited to see how we can continue to maximize the tool.
  • Notification of Sponsor changes. This informs us if our champion has changed roles or left the organization.
  • Utiization increases and decreases - both great reasons to connect and to continue to have a pulse for our customers' usage.
  • Provides one place to include details regarding a customer's health score.
  • Adoption has been a challenge for our team. I think there is a perceived challenge with implementing the tool and incorporating into our daily use.
Gainsight is very well suited for our account management group.
Read Graham Smith's full review
Rick Devoe profile photo
May 10, 2016

User Review: "Gain INSIGHT into Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used across the company but by a specific department. It's very useful to track customer health, and manage retention. We use it to keep momentum with our customer rapport as well. Overall it's a fantastic tool to maintain customer contacts and drive great customer relationships to fulfill ROI.
  • Customer health. Tracking whatever metric you define as a health score is extremely valuable.
  • Automated response and 1-to-many. When you have a hundred accounts, you need a hand!
  • Maintaining relationships. Awesome tool to know what contacts are interested in what items.
  • Persistent notes. There is no real way to automatically log scorecard notes, etc.
  • Access to contacts in Salesforce. Currently need to log into Salesforce directly to edit contacts that don't have roles assigned.
Gainsight is great for customer relationship management but less so for a support or sales perspective.
Read Rick Devoe's full review
Brian Wilson profile photo
February 25, 2016

User Review: "Gainsight Insight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All 16 of my CSM's use it on a daily basis to monitor the overall customer health score for or 23,000 customers. It helps us scale across our three tiers of customers.... High Touch, Low Touch, Tech Touch.
  • Thought leaders in the field of Customer Success
  • Excellent product, with frequent releases, flexibility, and stability.
  • Very customer focused Executive Staff
  • Our overall time to value was longer than anticipated, largely due to the various data sources we had to get to import into Gainsight.
  • Further flexibility in surveying our customers, for additional attributes beyond NPS
  • Would be cool to have a canned Net Revenue Retention report that could be added into an Executive dashboard
Well suited for any true subscription based business model.
Read Brian Wilson's full review
Lou Jacob profile photo
September 30, 2015

"Gainsight is positioned to be an excellent cornerstone of growing company's Customer Success strategy."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently implementing and using the product within the customer success organization. It is our intention to allow the sales organization to access certain aspects of Gainsight as well, however we are not ready for that yet. We are currently using the product to better align our activities with the information already contained in Salesforce, and we need a common repository for the tasks common to our roles so that we can easily track and report on progress. Additionally, we are using the product to track and automatically act on usage data of our SaaS products. This is key to our strategy so that we can scale to a larger number of customers and still ensure we are focusing on the right customers at the right time.
  • They are providing a fairly comprehensive and technical analysis tool, which is still accessible through Salesforce.
  • The system is highly configurable and lends itself well to the differences in our workflow vs. the workflow of others.
  • The system's rules engine is complex and allows for a very fine grained way of looking at, and acting upon, usage data.
  • Customer support response time is slow. We'd like to see a more responsive team that is more aligned and engaged with specific customers' needs.
  • Documentation is good, but it deviates from the actual product. We understand that it is difficult to keep these things aligned (Because the product changes quickly) but it is important to keep the documentation viable.
  • There are disparities in the UI between different modules of the system, and it is often slow to switch contexts between the modules. We'd like to see faster performance and more focus on usability of the UI.
We think that as an "out of the box" solution this would be a challenging implementation. It is important for a new customer to understand that there IS prerequisite knowledge of Salesforce involved, AND having a fairly technical team member involved in the implementation (whether or not there is a data integration involved) is important.
Read Lou Jacob's full review
Joshua Santos profile photo
September 30, 2015

"Gainsight Review by CS Veteran"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Gainsight for 360 degree views of our customers. In addition to usage data we also have subjective metrics, support engagement, NPS scores, and onboarding/PS project status as factors in the overall health of each customer. Gainsight is also used heavily for customer success execution among our CSMs. Based on a variety of actions in the system, CTAs (Calls to Actions) get triggered and are assigned to the appropriate CSM. This allows each CSM to have a prioritized list of timely action items to help guide engagements with customers. Lastly, we are using Gainsight for managerial and executive level reports, dashboards, and for our code red process.
  • Customer Success Execution - Managing CTAs (Calls to Actions), Playbooks, and Collaborating around these activities. Absolutely no solution does this better.
  • Integrated NPS (and Survey solution).
  • Customer 360 View with a holistic view of the customer (usage, scorecards, status of projects, opportunities, churns, key contacts, etc.).
  • Sponsor Tracking - when a champion or exec sponsor changes their Linkedin job title, company, or location, you automatically get a trigger.
  • Great Customer Success processes, they practice what they preach. They are thought leaders in this space.
  • Improved workflow in the 360 View (ability to edit fields).
  • Ability to save filters in reports & dashboards (coming in the future).
  • Faster UI (limited by Force platform).
You need to be a SFDC customer and be ready to make a decent investment in a customer success (CS) solution. If these two criteria are met, Gainsight is the most robust option on the market today. We have already paid our subscription fees many times over with the benefits we have received from the platform. If you do a proper implementation and ensure your customer success managers (CSMs) are leveraging it, the ROI can be dramatic.
Read Joshua Santos's full review
Elizabeth Choiniere profile photo
May 13, 2016

"Gainsight Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used across departments. It solves consistency of service and offers the ability for my team to scale.
  • Dashboards
  • Scorecard
  • Team management
  • UI
  • Clunky mechanics navigating
  • Overall ease of use
Gainsight is well suited for building a geographically dispersed team operating with the same process and consistency.
Read Elizabeth Choiniere's full review
Shala Shirazi profile photo
November 25, 2015

Gainsight Review: "Awesome internal tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by my entire CS department. We use it to organize information on our clients so we can all stay on top of their account. It has been very helpful, especially when using chatter to discuss matters internally.
  • Organizes client accounts.
  • Quick access/view to all accounts.
  • Chatter makes internal conversations readily accessible.
  • UI could be more clean.
  • Less scrolling.
  • More links.
Great for my CS department where we can all access client account information and view internal discussions. It would be great if we could get some sort of combination/integration with smartsheet.
Read Shala Shirazi's full review
Yossi Truzman, PMP, PRINCE2 profile photo
November 11, 2015

Gainsight Review: "Great Product with awesome potential!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is being used primarily by the Customer Success Department, and is addressing our needs to scale and drive proactive behavior, thus helping us reduce churn and promote expansions.
  • Reports are insightful and easy to digest
  • Standardization across multiple global teams thus helping align the business
  • Net promoter score (NPS) survey mechanism which helps shed light on customers' opinions and feedback
  • Integration with Salesforce at the Field Level - it is not always easy to see/update Salesforce data from Gainsight
  • Performance could be improved
Gainsight is a very strategic tool for helping Customer Success to scale, especially in the velocity, 1-to-many, low touch market segment. It seems to be less useful for high touch, 1-to-1, enterprise market segment. Having said that, it could just be the way we implemented it to date.
Read Yossi Truzman, PMP, PRINCE2's full review
Matt Lindeman profile photo
February 22, 2016

User Review: "Success with Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Gainsight cross functionally to gain visibility and accountability for customer success.
  • Monitoring customer success exposure and playbook driven action
  • Integrating with SFDC
  • Aggregating triggers
  • Reporting
  • Computing overall risk of an account
  • Churn Predictability
  • Management Reporting
Gainsight is great for SaaS solutions.
Read Matt Lindeman's full review
Diane Gordon profile photo
February 19, 2016

User Review: "Love Gainsight"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Customer Success is the primary user of Gainsight, using it to calculate and track our "Customer Adoption Scores". Other groups (Sales, Renewals) access Gainsight dashboards but don't actively use the software. Our Customer Success team also uses Gainsight to send out surveys.
  • Customer Success - Your EBR process, in particular, is really good.
  • Customer scoring
  • Custom changes/reporting feel hard/expensive to do
Seems like a good horizontal tool
Read Diane Gordon's full review
Sean Wiggins profile photo
October 05, 2015

Review: "Gainsight is a great product and a great company!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it to help manage the customer lifecycle for all of our customers. Currently we use it across the customer success organization but are looking to give others access to continue to drive value from the product for our organization. The primary business problem it addresses is scaling the customer success team as the company and the customer base grows.
  • Aggregate data; it's easy to ignore this point, but for a small but swiftly growing company, it is very easy to begin to clutter and customize an SFDC instance to try to meet everyone's needs and asks. Gainsight removes this temptation and allows us to pull the date from where it lives and consume it via the slick Gainsight UI.
  • Automation; the biggest add here is automating the frequency of customer interaction so that we as an organization can ensure consistency in approach and touch regardless of any variation in individual strengths amongst our team members.
  • Reports 2.0; we're just scratching the surface here, but this utility picks up where SFDC reports end and fills in a lot of gaps that we've struggled with in leveraging the available date into meaningful reports and dashboards.
  • None - with a little guidance, the tool is very straightforward to set up and administer. Furthermore, our users love it.
If you have a customer success team, and you use SFDC, then you should be running your customer success practice out of Gainsight. It's a game changer for our organization, particularly in how it helps us scale yet maintain quality interaction and value delivery for our customers. Even an established customer success practice would benefit from adopting this tool.
Read Sean Wiggins's full review
Gabriel Hobbs profile photo
October 02, 2015

Review: "Gainsight does allow you to gain insight into your customers - appropriate name!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is currently used by our CSM team to manage account CTAs, to get insight on contract and feature usage, as well as to prep for customer meetings. Using Gainisight has allowed CSMs to gain access to data which was previously held in three different systems. Our consultant team also have started working with Gainsight to monitor the onboarding of new customers. We are also exploring new avenues of use with our marketing team.
  • Allows you to gain new insight into customer behaviours and patterns to help identify healthy accounts vs. accounts at risk.
  • Allows you to combine data from multiple data sources and presents this in one place which makes it easy for CSMs to prepare for customer meetings.
  • Through the use of Gainsight's rules engine, you can monitor all your customers on a regular basis automatically. In other words, you have a tool / rule which combs through the data for you.
  • Gainsight does not help analyse the data, but rather helps to present it. There could be some improvements made on the analytics side - as any analytics will require input / logic from the end user.
Companies with established customer success management (CSM) processes will get a faster ROI when using Gainsight as you can take a lot of these processes and implement them in the tool. For companies with more immature processes, implementing Gainsight forces you to think through these processes and then implement them.

I can see this tool being of great value if an organisation does not want to develop their own programmes / customize Salesforce to do the same. This is an out-of-the box offering which you can tailor to your organisational needs.
Read Gabriel Hobbs's full review
Jacob Darwin Jones profile photo
September 29, 2015

User Review: "Gainsight is Great"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Gainsight to manage a book of business. We focus on the healthcare industry and our accounts are different medical offices/corporations. We use data that will trigger product usage and based on the CTA that fires we act accordingly to help individual practices grow their businesses by cutting back on financing charges.
  • Allows for our company to tier our accounts based on specific measures that we set.
  • We can track individual CSM goals and monthly/quarterly numbers.
  • Keeps data organized and very navigational.
  • Very hard to find past notes on old cta's.
Gainsight is overall a great product. I prefer Gainsight to Salesforce.com. The only issue I have with Gainsight is when I need to track past cta's I literally have to scroll down and read all of my old cta's to recount past converstaions that I have had with my accounts.
Read Jacob Darwin Jones's full review
Jarryd Hensel profile photo
September 24, 2015

Gainsight Review: "GainMoreSight into your clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Procore currently utilizes Gainsight within our customer success organization. Implementation has been on the slower side, but we are now beginning to see the value of the software. We strive on time to first value with our clients and think Gainsight will ultimately help us pull the right levers at the right time to ensure our clients are successful. For our large existing customer base, Gainsight will play a crucial role to notify us of what we deem are important events, all in an automated fashion.
  • Native Salesforce app! If it's not in Salesforce, it doesn't exist!
  • Thought leader in Customer Success.
  • Powerful feature set.
  • Implementation: Gainsight has a large team and sometimes it seems like you have to speak with 2-3 people to get an answer.
  • Ease of use: Gainsight could be more intuitive.
Gainsight is much more suited for a customer success organization. It is a good solution for a larger customer success team and/or a rapidly growing one who needs to put best practices in place.
Read Jarryd Hensel's full review
Mandi Derbis profile photo
September 24, 2015

"Gainsight review from a new Administrator"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is utilizing Gainsight within our Customer Success, Sales (Renewal), and Executive Teams. We leverage its functionality to prioritize opportunities and tasks, balance workload, track high-value conversations and success plans, and collaborate on at risk customers.
  • Provides one interface to leverage information from various systems, such as Salesforce, Zendesk, and our product usage data.
  • Automates the workflow for our Customer Success Team.
  • Allows us to create customized Calls To Action, reports, dashboards, etc. to meet the needs of all teams who are utilizing it.
  • While Gainsight is quite intuitive for the end user, it can be challenging from an administrator perspective.
  • We have had some challenges with our product usage data. Gainsight support has been wonderful to work with in trying to resolve the issue, but this has been an ongoing challenge.
I think it will suit any customer success organization well that is utilizing Salesforce.com. It would specifically suit an organization well who is looking to scale their customer service department and/or get additional insight into their customer base. If the integration of product usage is important, this would be one area of focus during the sales cycle to ensure the integration is tight.
Read Mandi Derbis's full review
Zach Boisi profile photo
December 26, 2015

User Review: "Go get Gainsight now!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Gainsight is used by the Client Success, Sales, Marketing, Product and Executive teams to monitor the health of our global client base. It helps us to see all interactions and information about each client: logins, support tickets, product adoption, etc.
  • Great Customer Support
  • Easy to Use UI
  • Great Training Materials
  • Simple to Understand Data
Ask for access to their community and educational materials. They have such an incredible wealth of information related to customer success and their product.
Read Zach Boisi's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (126)
8.4
API (94)
7.9
Integration with Salesforce.com (161)
9.4
Integration with Marketo (41)
7.9
Integration with Eloqua (16)
7.6
Product usage (155)
8.7
Help desk / support tickets (128)
8.2
NPS surveys (132)
9.2
Sponsor tracking (128)
8.4
Customer profiles (154)
9.1
Automated workflow (167)
8.4
Internal collaboration (153)
8.3
Customer health scoring (167)
9.6
Customer segmentation (142)
9.3
Customer health trends (158)
9.3
Engagement analytics (138)
9.0
Revenue forecasting (85)
9.2
Dashboards (166)
9.0

About Gainsight

Gainsight says they enable business transformation through their passionate community, proven expertise, and cutting edge technology. In addition to the largest customer success community, the vendor says they also have a diverse, 333+ customer base spanning across Fortune 1000 companies such as HP, Cisco and Adobe and growth businesses like Box and Shopify.

Via their community and customers, Gainsight says they have developed deep expertise around customer success best practices which are embedded into the product. Additionally, the vendor says 50% of their company headcount is dedicated to R&D, and that their platform can serve business needs across various customer segments. The vendor’s value proposition is that their product innovations are consistently first to market and built to scale from day one.

Gainsight says their customers see an average of 4% higher retention and 20% faster growth than their peers.

Gainsight Features

Customer Data Extraction / Integration Features
Has featureProduct usage
Has featureHelp desk / support tickets
Has featureOnline customer community
Has featureBilling
Has featureMarketing emails
Customer Success Management Features
Has featureNPS surveys
Has featureSponsor tracking
Has featureCustomer profiles
Has featureAutomated workflow
Has featureInternal collaboration
Has featureCustomer health scoring
Has featureCustomer segmentation
CSM Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureCustomer health trends
Has featureEngagement analytics
Has featureRevenue forecasting
Has featureDashboards
Has featureCustomer lifetime value
Has featureChurn rate
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Marketo
Has featureIntegration with Eloqua
Additional Features
Has featureCustomer360
Has feature4D Analytics
Has featureCustomer Lifecycle Cockpit
Has featureIn-product best practices library of resources
Has feature60 second video message to Customers

Gainsight Screenshots

Gainsight Video

View Gainsight Product Demonstration

Gainsight Downloadables

Gainsight Integrations

Gainsight Competitors

Totango, Amity, Service Source

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Based on a per user/per month model.

Gainsight Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
30%

Gainsight Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Gainsight Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android