TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/X4/F1/2T5TQAHFZV5I.PNGThere's big room for improvement!We use Hipchat across all company offices as it comes with JIRA and other Atlassian software. We have multiple groups depending on the department or product but only internally. Our employees communicate daily and use it in both formal and informal ways to manage projects/software development/office management. We also have JIRA integration in some groups.,Since Hipchat and JIRA belong to Atlassian, Hipchat has decent and hassle-free integration with JIRA. Hipchat bots are very useful and make routine tasks easier to accomplish and save some time. Easy to use and intuitive user interface.,Mobile app is not very responsive on iOS. Sometimes connection to Hipchat servers is taking too long even on good networks. Both mobile and desktop versions have no alphabetical or recent sorting for groups and chat rooms. Video and audio calls are pretty useless, they're slow and not always work. The whole user interface is simple but very outdated - apparently Atlassian didn't focus too much on Hipchat even though they tried in the last 2 years.,5,Slack and Cisco Spark Room Series,Mavenlink, Emarsys, Skype, Slack, Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Office 365, Salesforce.com, JIRA Software, Zendesk, Paylocity Web Pay, Nexonia Expenses, WebEx MeetingsBest tool for enterprise team communicationIn my company, HipChat is used for real-time cross-team communication chat application, mainly to avoid long mail trails that get lost with time and hard to keep track. Also, it's quicker to chat with anyone in the company from a list than to email to one or a group of people and wait for the reply. HipChat is being used by all departments in the company. One of the main problems HipChat has solved is that it replaced slow internal email with faster cross-team communication either 1-on-1 or a group of people.,HipChat is the first enterprise team chat application, hence it invented the idea of itself. Cross-platform support and hence runs on most of the computing devices Efficient search Completely free for smaller teams Webhooks +1 Integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well. For example, Infra monitoring applications. Custom emojis Media and file sharing directly or in a group Video chat,UI and UX has a huge room for improvement Dull and uninspiring colors Temporary rooms are not possible It's very expensive based on the team size, goes up exponentially,8,Slack, StrideHipChat is a great chat client for small-to-moderate sized-business.We started using HipChat in our Development and IT departments, but have had other teams migrate from Skype for Business so it's pretty much across the organization including remote users. Our Agile teams all have their own rooms. The cross-platform product is used by both our Mac and Windows users at higher rates than any previous chat client we had and it's stable and constantly online.,Cross-Platform support for both Windows & Mac users as well as a web-based client. Small installation footprint with outstanding functionality. Free version exists so you can try the product without having to purchase upfront.,The program sometimes locks up and has to be killed via Task Manager on the Windows side. The updates are frequent, but that's part of their process. Integration with Active Directory would be nice.,9,Cisco Jabber, Skype and Skype for Business,Windows Server, Eset Smart Security, McAfee ePolicy OrchestratorA poor alternative to SlackI tried out HipChat as an alternative to Slack and was not satisfied. We intended to use it for internal communications with team members, file sharing, and project organization. I thought it would be a more efficient alternative to emails and Google Chat.,Message members of organization Share files Integrate with project management software,The platform is not user-friendly There is no way to set it to “away” so you have to log out each time If you log in via Google, you have to enter your entire login info each time,3,Slack,ContactMonkey, Streak, Keyword Tool DominatorHipChat - Open, developer friendly online communication tool for your business.HipChat is a good tool for internal online chat. My organization tried it for some time but due to error prone technical features, we discontinued. This application has some good features with some good functionalities which gives the advantage of being developer friendly but the status changes and technical issues lower down its rating. As compared to some other products we have better options available elsewhere.,The main advantage is having an Open API which is useful for developers There are many services on this app which are free It offers a good overall tool for online communication between the teams,The technical issues are more on this application The status changes are quite buggy There are lot of complications for the admin accounts,6,Slack and Skype for Business,Slack, Skype for Business
Windows, Linux, Mac
HipChat
513 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
TRScore

HipChat Reviews

HipChat
513 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 513 vetted HipChat reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 130)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alexander Bekhterev profile photo
January 19, 2018

HipChat Review: "There's big room for improvement!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hipchat across all company offices as it comes with JIRA and other Atlassian software. We have multiple groups depending on the department or product but only internally. Our employees communicate daily and use it in both formal and informal ways to manage projects/software development/office management. We also have JIRA integration in some groups.
  • Since Hipchat and JIRA belong to Atlassian, Hipchat has decent and hassle-free integration with JIRA.
  • Hipchat bots are very useful and make routine tasks easier to accomplish and save some time.
  • Easy to use and intuitive user interface.
  • Mobile app is not very responsive on iOS. Sometimes connection to Hipchat servers is taking too long even on good networks.
  • Both mobile and desktop versions have no alphabetical or recent sorting for groups and chat rooms.
  • Video and audio calls are pretty useless, they're slow and not always work.
  • The whole user interface is simple but very outdated - apparently Atlassian didn't focus too much on Hipchat even though they tried in the last 2 years.
If you want native and painless JIRA integration - it's a perfect tool. Also, it comes for free with Atlassian software and can help teams solve basic tasks and improve communication despite its ancient interface and slowness.
Read Alexander Bekhterev's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva profile photo
January 17, 2018

HipChat Review: "Best tool for enterprise team communication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, HipChat is used for real-time cross-team communication chat application, mainly to avoid long mail trails that get lost with time and hard to keep track. Also, it's quicker to chat with anyone in the company from a list than to email to one or a group of people and wait for the reply.

HipChat is being used by all departments in the company. One of the main problems HipChat has solved is that it replaced slow internal email with faster cross-team communication either 1-on-1 or a group of people.
  • HipChat is the first enterprise team chat application, hence it invented the idea of itself.
  • Cross-platform support and hence runs on most of the computing devices
  • Efficient search
  • Completely free for smaller teams
  • Webhooks +1
  • Integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well. For example, Infra monitoring applications.
  • Custom emojis
  • Media and file sharing directly or in a group
  • Video chat
  • UI and UX has a huge room for improvement
  • Dull and uninspiring colors
  • Temporary rooms are not possible
  • It's very expensive based on the team size, goes up exponentially
HipChat is best for startups with less than 10 employees, since it's free, where collaboration and constant communication are very important. Since it runs on most of the devices, it reduces the friction of staying connected with the team(s). HipChat can be hosted internally, very few companies provide self-hosted chat applications and most of them are cloud-based. If privacy is your concern, HipChat works very well.

Cost goes up with team size in an exponential manner, this is where HipChat doesn't seem very useful for what it was intended for (not sure if this has changed). It's not so fun application when compared with Slack.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Eric Broz profile photo
January 16, 2018

"HipChat is a great chat client for small-to-moderate sized-business."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using HipChat in our Development and IT departments, but have had other teams migrate from Skype for Business so it's pretty much across the organization including remote users. Our Agile teams all have their own rooms. The cross-platform product is used by both our Mac and Windows users at higher rates than any previous chat client we had and it's stable and constantly online.
  • Cross-Platform support for both Windows & Mac users as well as a web-based client.
  • Small installation footprint with outstanding functionality.
  • Free version exists so you can try the product without having to purchase upfront.
  • The program sometimes locks up and has to be killed via Task Manager on the Windows side.
  • The updates are frequent, but that's part of their process.
  • Integration with Active Directory would be nice.
We were using a mix of Skype (which was not ideal because it's open to the public) and a Cisco product that was difficult to license and manage. Management needed something that would work on both Mac & Windows and we initially looked to Lync but didn't want to spend the money for it; we migrated to Office365 for Skype for Business and while it's installed on every employee's computer, it wasn't used, and our Mac users didn't like the Skype for Business interface and weren't using it. HipChat was the platform we decided on because it gets used.
Read Eric Broz's full review
Ashley N. Baker profile photo
January 23, 2018

HipChat Review: "A poor alternative to Slack"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I tried out HipChat as an alternative to Slack and was not satisfied. We intended to use it for internal communications with team members, file sharing, and project organization. I thought it would be a more efficient alternative to emails and Google Chat.
  • Message members of organization
  • Share files
  • Integrate with project management software
  • The platform is not user-friendly
  • There is no way to set it to “away” so you have to log out each time
  • If you log in via Google, you have to enter your entire login info each time
It is most suited for a scenario in which organization members cannot use or download Slack. It is not a great alternative but could be a fallback.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review
Himanshu Singh profile photo
January 18, 2018

Review: "HipChat - Open, developer friendly online communication tool for your business."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is a good tool for internal online chat. My organization tried it for some time but due to error prone technical features, we discontinued. This application has some good features with some good functionalities which gives the advantage of being developer friendly but the status changes and technical issues lower down its rating. As compared to some other products we have better options available elsewhere.
  • The main advantage is having an Open API which is useful for developers
  • There are many services on this app which are free
  • It offers a good overall tool for online communication between the teams
  • The technical issues are more on this application
  • The status changes are quite buggy
  • There are lot of complications for the admin accounts
HipChat is well suited when your organization is developer friendly. The Open API it provides is more than useful for a Developer Community. But, if you can't figure out the bugs yourself, then this tool might cause hindrances. The technical issues are not rare. Over-reliance on online communication rather than verbal communication will give you a headache with this tool.
Read Himanshu Singh's full review
Hugo Romani Cortes profile photo
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat for devops"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat has been selected as a product from Atlassian's suite. Because we already used Bitbucket and because we were looking for a persistent chat room, HipChat was chosen. This product was not only used by our devops teams in order to discuss and receive notifications but also by software craftsmanship in order to debate technologies and help each other.
  • Persistent chat room. HipChat stores the communication and allows you to follow a discussion without being involved from the beginning.
  • Multi tenant rooms. We can create as many discussion rooms as we want.
  • Third-party integration. HipChat exposes an API that can be used by third-party applications (i.e. Prometheus for monitoring, Jenkins for CI/CD, etc).
  • Research should be enhanced
  • Possibility to integrate a chat bot
HipChat is very suitable in a devops team:
- allows persistent communication between team members
- can receive notifications from Jenkins or Prometheus
- allows multi tenant rooms

Nevertheless, HipChat can be a new way of working for some people that require training. The learning curve of HipChat is very simple, but for a company which is not familiar with these new tools (chat rooms), it might be a bit disturbing.
Read Hugo Romani Cortes's full review
No photo available
January 24, 2018

HipChat Review: "Communicate with a real-time chat with your team members"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat to communicate with virtual teams, across the whole organization. It gives virtual teams a sense of belonging to the same team, and allows people to communicate in real time, addressing problems more interactively, and sometimes faster than a mail thread sent to all people from the same team could do.
  • HipChat keeps the history of a chat within a room, allowing anyone with the right permission to join the room at any time, and to search the chat history months after.
  • HipChat has support for animated gifs, which allows the people to communicate with animated gifs and memes.
  • People who are not in the chat at the time they are mentioned receive an e-mail, so that they know they need to catch up later on.
  • HipChat is integrated with other Atlassian products like Confluence and JIRA. Updates to pages in Confluence or card in JIRA can trigger real-time notifications in a HipChat room.
  • The notification system could be improved. You have the choice to receive notifications at every message (could be overwhelming), only when you are mentioned, or never. When you choose to never receive notifications, it'd be nice to see a unread count in the app dock.
  • Sometimes people get disconnected or close the app and forget to re-open it. This may sometimes end up with chats losing some people, without anyone realizing it before some time. It'd be nice if there was a system to remind people to re-open their app if they do not show after some days.
  • It'd be nice to see in real time who is writing in the chat before the message is sent.
HipChat is well suited for real-time communication on incidents, especially when the people solving the incident are in different locations. It's also well suited for people in different locations to keep in touch with informal communication with their remote colleagues. It's less suited when a need to curate and organize the information exists as the chats will be kept in a giant log without specific organization.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2018

Review: "HipChat is a good solution for teams looking for something cheaper than Slack"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted HipChat for our team as a better way to communicate when our organization was still using Jabber as the official communication tool. At the time, it was a much better solution for communication because it was more reliable and had better features than Jabber. We were also able to utilize many integrations with other services.
  • Pricing
  • Integrations
  • Good apps
  • Reliability
  • Design
  • Popularity (not as widely used as Slack)
  • Innovation (somehow getting an edge on Slack)
HipChat is a great solution for any kind of team communication. HipChat is well suited for those who would like Slack-like features but who don't want to pay the high price for Slack. HipChat might not be a good choice for those who already use Slack for other teams, don't want another chat application to keep up with, and are willing to pay the prices for Slack's premium features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by developers and product management team. A very useful tool for quick discussions and sharing of ideas, in a one to one or in a room setting. I particularly like it where it lets users share images and screenshots. Being in a relatively distantly placed group, this is the tool of choice.
  • Image sharing
  • Setting a private as well as group (room) environment
  • Mobile app keeps you in touch in real time
  • Sometimes it is not very evident if there is a new message
  • The UI can be improved
  • Able to reply to a particular comment in a room setting
Highly suitable for a diversified group. Not very useful for a small group, still can be used.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat ain't all that hip."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HipChat for our internal communication platform. However, we recently switched to Slack. HipChat seemed a bit dated and frequently had issues such as outages, latency, and a number of other problems. For a platform that is basically AIM on steroids, we've come to expect that at a bare minimum uptime to be damn near perfect.
  • Internal communication
  • Allows for chat between teams
  • Allows for troubleshooting to quickly be discussed
  • Uptime
  • Ability not to freeze or lag
  • Lacked "bells and whistles" than comparable platforms offer
HipChat is bare bones and is pretty similar to a lot of other chat platforms. If you're looking for a solution, this one works. Is it the best? Probably not. Is it the most expensive? Can't imagine. Smaller organizations might benefit more from this type of platform and possibly need to adjust as they scale up.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

User Review: "HipChat -- Silly Name, Great Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep both our remote team and office teams connected. We love the ability to search, the bots, the gifs, and the ability to connect over time zones, over states, etc. We love that it is free -- allows us to collaborate. It is a good response to those who may be averse to using Slack.
  • Collaboration
  • GIFS and fun
  • Search features
  • Desktop or through browser
  • Could use less bots.
  • We dont need so many points or options to gain points.
This tool is well suited for large teams who enjoy collaborating and working together. Gets remote teams talking, sharing info, working together. I could see this tool being used on small teams all the way up to around a 100 person team. You need someone, or a few folks, to manage the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "HipChat nice messenger app - all in one"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is being used across the whole organization. I'm a software developer and I use to chat and collaborate with other developers across the whole organization. We have three groups of people talking about specific topics and sharing code snippets.
  • The /code is useful to share code.
  • HipChat groups are really useful in order to get connected to people with a particular interest across the organization.
  • The Video Call, all in one tool is really nice.
  • Write code in a line with other words, for example.
  • I am using this class /code SomeClassName, and it's not working.
It's fine for everything I think.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Rae Allen profile photo
September 17, 2016

User Review: "Virtual standups with Hipchat"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat is not organisation wide but is heavily used in both the editorial content areas and the strategy implementation areas of our division. It is also heavily used by a number of development teams working on our products. In particular our editorial content and strategy teams are scattered across Australia with users in regional areas such as Broome WA, Bendigo NSW and Lismore VIC. When staff are located thousands of kilometres apart a real time targeted chat system is important.
  • standups: I have installed the standup hipbot and as we have staff in a handful of locations across 3 timezones we can run virtual standups by having members of the team log a "Yesterday I did ... "/"Today I'm doing ..." The bot allows me to pull these reports out of the noise very simply.
  • availability: When you have a dispersed team working on a project the ability to see they are available and get immediate answers to questions is important.
  • contact with other teams: While other teams work on our products its useful to be able to watch what they are doing by lurking in their HipChat room. I always say Good Morning and them knowing I'm there means they can ask for clarification on requests quite simply even though they may be working 1000 or 2000kms away.
  • I would love to see a bot wizard developed - for example I'd like to find the time to build an "on this day" bot which replied to the first person to chat each day, but I lack the time to study the system.
We manage it as an internal chat system so I haven't looked at wider use.
Read Rae Allen's full review
Charlie Chauvin profile photo
July 22, 2016

Review: "HipChat is a solid option for real time communication for today's virtual teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a team of about 15-20 employees. HipChat has been super helpful to keep everyone instantly connected. We also have a work from home option on Friday. HipChat is extremely important from everything to quick questions to aiding as an additional conversation stream while on conference calls. It's a must to keep us connected in real time. I also love that fact that on a Mac you can drop in your screen grabs from your clip board. It saves tons of time when trying to get a point across.
  • HipChat allows you to quickly see who is online on your team.
  • Sharing screen grabs, links and files is a breeze. Saves a ton of time.
  • Fun icons are a nice way to add humor to your daily conversations.
  • You can't mention people in rooms/groups that they are not in. If they leave the room/group, they will not see the notification.
  • Slack has more emojis and icons which brings them closer to how people use their cell phones in text conversations.
  • There is not an option to share screens if a problem arises that is bigger than text communication.
Hip chat is great for immediate communication. It throughly met our needs for a long time and allowed us to stay really closely connected. The only reason we've been looking for a better solution is because we work with custom web development where we have several teams that evolve and change regularly. We need the flexibility to add a person to a conversation as needed. Additionally, we've seen other services that offer screen sharing. This has become extremely important as we are moving towards being a virtual office and need to be able to have virtual assistance when someone is not physically able to walk over to your desk.
Read Charlie Chauvin's full review
Vladimir Salnikov profile photo
November 09, 2016

HipChat: "Hip Chat review by Vladimir Salnikov (Bee Robotics team)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat across the whole organization to communicate with a distributed team, with members located in many corners of world - Russia, Brazil, US, Japan, India... Sometimes when problems with other messengers occurs, we also use HipChat to make video calls. Here we are missing group videocalls. So we use Skype for it, and this is the only reason to use Skype. The rest of HipChat works very well. Earlier versions of HipChat had troubles with Windows 7 x64, but nowadays it is very stable and works perfectly.
  • Storing messages history
  • Sending and storing docs
  • Stability and scalability
  • Group video calls
It is less appropriate for group video calls, which is a must for an our company. The rest is working well, even on different platforms.
I've used Hip Chat on Windows 7, Windows 10, Linux Ubuntu, Mac OS X and Android tablet - and everywhere it works perfectly! Congrats, developers team, you are great!
Read Vladimir Salnikov's full review
Oscar Faixat profile photo
November 07, 2016

"HipChat Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using hipchat throughout all of our organization, we have it synchronized with bitbucket, jira and confluence. All in all it is a very complete environment to work with. It mainly lets us keep track of everything that is going and allows us to quickly reference issues (or other things).
  • Integrations with other Atlassian products as it creates a perfect work environment.
  • HipChat is stable and very reliable. We have not had connection issues to the service.
  • The video call is very useful as we don't have to switch to another application to do calls.
  • Only comes as OVA or AMI images. Doesn't come as a binary and depending on the organizations environment it can be a little tricky to deploy.
  • Better notification system while the user is offline.
HipChat is well suited for having separate conversations for teams, departments or projects.
Read Oscar Faixat's full review
Francis Lewis profile photo
November 01, 2016

HipChat Review: "Great product for team collaboration and discussion"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was used for online conversation throughout the entire company. In a lot of cases, it is much better, and of course much faster, to use than email for getting replies, making decisions, and collaborating.
  • Screen sharing was nice for when you need to quickly show somebody something.
  • History search.
  • Chat rooms.
  • Cleaner interface.
  • Better code support.
  • Easier editing/deleting of messages.
HipChat overall is a great chat client. In my opinion, one of the best options available unless you're needing to post frequent code snippets or shell instructions since the formatting options can be a bit difficult to figure out. It's great for being able to have a discussion and pull up the history later in case documentation was missed.
Read Francis Lewis's full review
Dody Helgestad profile photo
July 01, 2016

Review: "HipChat, your work world at your fingertips :)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our Expensify team, we use HipChat to communicate with all the employees. Since we work online, it's a great place to discuss questions concerning the receipts that we enter. It leads to happy customers, because if there's a problem, we "nip it in the bud" before it goes back to the customer by communicating on HipChat. It's also great to be able to get to know your co-workers, since you really never see them. I love the fact that I can communicate with all, or just one, for those personal things you don't want everyone to see. The emoticons help you get to know the personality of your co-workers as well.
  • The fact that if you're not online, you will receive an email from HipChat when someone talks to you. So, when a question about things is answered, you don't have to be online to get it.
  • HipChat lets you talk to everyone or anyone. It's great to be able to talk to the whole crew at the same time! We have some pretty fun conversations. The fact that you can talk to all, a few, or just one-on-one is a must for any company to thrive.
  • I love the emoticons, and the fact that you can make your own. You can really get to know a person this way. I made my own signature good-bye, so everyone knows when I'm signing off. It's great to be able to communicate that way!
  • I would love to see a place where you can click it and go to an exact date. I've been using this for two years, and some information that I remember takes a long time to scroll back to.
  • I don't use the HipBots that much, I think those could be improved upon or even eliminated.
  • It would be nice to have a place where you could see the members you're associated with in one place. They could list their interests, activities, even pictures. Like social media, only just for your team.
I think HipChat helps keep our company morals up. When there's a employee feeling down, the rest are there to pick them up. Also, it's great to be praised in front of you co-workers. The fact that we can all be together even though we work online is great. Feels like you're part of a team. HipChat has been our savior since I started, not just for production issues, but for personal issues as well. I would recommend it to any colleague!
Read Dody Helgestad's full review
Niranjan Rao profile photo
June 30, 2016

User Review: "HipChat has a lot to catch on"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was being used only in our department and not the whole organization. HipChat is used to keep the whole department's communication together, for the purpose of calling meetings or querying about the work task. Managing issues from JIRA and keeping track of when commits have happened in Bitbucket was easier with HipChat.
  • Basic chatting functionality
  • File Sharing
  • Deep integration with JIRA and Bitbucket
  • Keeps History
  • Also available on mobile
  • Slow to load
  • Sharing files takes time
  • Video calling only available in paid version
HipChat is well suited in organizations where supported integration applications are used, like JIRA, BitBucket or Asana.
For voice or video call HipChat falls back and even for screen sharing. These features are available on other chat applications for free.
HipChat should consider this features more seriously for free version as organizations are skeptical about using multiple chat applications.
Read Niranjan Rao's full review
Scott Baxter profile photo
June 30, 2016

HipChat Review: "Very solid business chat solution with one major missing feature"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat has long been a very solid standard for prompt business communication. It's full of features, both used to improve workflow with various integrations, and also to provide humor and provide a more human emotion to the standard text communication of chat. On the surface it's really great, and fairly reliable (there are bugs like any software), however the lack of proper message syncing on the back end commonly leaves me looking for a better tool. Push notifications for direct user conversation (@username) is great, but opening up their mobile app and having no room or user badges is a huge disappointment. Especially considering so many other chat providers (free and paid) have done this from their inception. I started using HipChat in 2011, and it's surprising that in 2016, this still isn't a feature. If I don't have a computer left online and logged into HipChat constantly, I miss a lot of important conversations and have no great way of knowing they occurred unless I go looking through our (>100?) rooms. Such a great tool with lots of capability, yet this single feature which seems so common place is severely limiting it's potential.
  • Emoticons! Plenty to choose from, and the ability to make your own is really great.
  • @all, @here, @username - this notification system is very useful and well thought out.
  • s/change/change words inline is great for quick typers!
  • It may seem small, but the alert tone they have decided to use is really great. It's bright enough to hear well, but not a very high register, so it's not annoying.
  • The interface is well thought out, and easy to navigate.
  • Keyboard shortcuts to jump between rooms (up/down a single room, or cmd-1/cmd-2, etc for each item on your sidebar, users and cmd-t to jump to a specific user or room.
  • Topics are quick/easy to update... we use/change these a lot!
  • Notifications, alerts and push notifications are great, but upon logging into a client, no room or user badges for the number of missed messages? How is this such a difficult task?
  • Page Search! It's nice to be able to go back and see history for several days, etc... but I often want to just reference something from earlier in the day that's still cached above... I'd hugely benefit from a "Find on page" instead of being taken away from the room I'm in to view a much larger amount of history.
  • I will occasionally be set to "Away" and not notice it for many hours to many days... I'm not sure why this happens... but it somehow gets stuck in a status that I didn't manually set, and only can tell if someone mentions it, or if I happen to notice the small orange icon in the top right of the mac app. It should be better at alerting if you're actively chatting or viewing the app (on any platform) and set as Away or Do not disturb.
HipChat is great for lots of business related communications. If it handled message sync better, I'd say it would be THE go to app for work related chat conversations. It's great for emergency type war room chat, as well as casual conversations between a group of users with a specific task.
Read Scott Baxter's full review
Daniel Berlin profile photo
June 30, 2016

Review: "Hipchat may soon have the features all my other tools have had for years. In the meantime, it does some other things poorly."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat is used by our department. Company-wide we have other chat solutions.
  • The best thing about HipChat is that when I send feedback, someone seems to be reading it. The three biggest complaints I had when I started using it a few months ago have been patched out of existence. The software seems very immature to me, but it's making big strides.
  • The conversation pane is well organized, such that I can easily see who wrote which messages and when
  • Popup notifications have good customization controls.
  • The interface is designed such that it is work to do anything other than talk to the person I am already talking to. It seems like my use case is not considered (number of contacts/rooms, number of people in my org not already in my list, etc)
  • I cannot organize my list of contacts other than adhoc (no alphabet? no groups?). Finding a new contact involves moving my hand to the mouse, scrolling to the top of the left-hand pane, clicking on a header that doesn't seem to indicate anything but is the key to revealing the search bar I want... It's clunky and unintuitive.
  • The embedded youtube feature fails more often than it works and I'd really just like to turn it off. I used to click links and open them in browsers, where I expect websites to open, but now even if I remember to right-click instead of clicking, I still have to do more clicks to open a link than I used to.
  • I am disappointed by the half-functional nature of this feature, but more disappointed when I think software is losing its direction. Is this a chat program or a series of weak solutions to a bunch of problems I don't have?
  • Notifications other than the popup don't contain much information. For example, I am in a chat room and someone sends an @here message. I have a blue number 23 which shows that 23 messages have been sent since I last looked, and at least one of them had my name or @here tagged. Now, I want to make sure I didn't miss something someone sent to me in particular. Only way to find out which message triggered which alerts is to scroll a bunch and look. If you are logged in to one chat room, hanging out with 5 people casually, it's probably not an issue, but when I come back from a meeting and there are 7 rooms with large blue numbers in them... I have to do a lot of silly work to find out if I missed anything important.
While Hipchat will very likely one day become the chat software I need, there are many that have been out there for years that already are. I am constantly frustrated at having to use Hipchat.
Read Daniel Berlin's full review
Brandon Cluff profile photo
July 19, 2016

User Review: "HipChat is solid."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat allows developers, designers and support technicians to stay in touch easily in a large building without needing to call and bother the other person.
  • HipChat is completely free to use with as many team members as you need and with as many integrations as you need. Hooray! At the free tier of service, you get group messaging, instant messaging, and file sharing capabilities. Your search history is capped at 25,000 message, and the storage ceiling is 5GB. The free plan is an excellent deal.
  • There is a HipChat Plus option for $2 per user per month that adds three notable features: video conferencing, screensharing, and unlimited storage and messages. HipChat Plus is an excellent value, and you can try it for free for 30 days.
  • HipChat most closely resembles Slack, so it's worth comparing their prices. With Slack's free tier of service, you also get unlimited members and plenty of core features, but your account search history is limited to 10,000 messages, rather than 25,000. Storage gets capped at 5GB, so that matches HipChat. With Slack's free account, however, you can only integrate with five services, compared with HipChat's unlimited integrations. The conclusion: HipChat has fewer limitations and offers more at the free level.
  • It's not completely open source?
  • I'm very happy with HipChat.
If you're using other Atlassian applications, HipChat is a no brainer.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
Anish Venugopal  PSM I profile photo
November 02, 2016

User Review: "HipChat"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat allows overall collaboration across teams which are collocated.
  • Communicating with offshore teams
  • Instantaneous responses
  • Send files with ease
  • Allow call facility
  • Manage notifications better
Well suited for teams split across various locations
Read Anish Venugopal PSM I's full review
Manuel Darío Escobar Ramírez profile photo
July 05, 2016

Review: "HipChat is not just a communication tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has several locations around the world, and Hipchat has proved to be a really useful tool for our cross site communication. Security is our main concern, and encrypted conversations help us to be confident that our communications will be secure. Video chat, file transfer and the ability to search through our conversation history has given us really useful tools. Integrations with several other applications has it made easy for us to monitor and follow up on several internal process. [Had we done it] in another way, it may have caused outages due lack of timing visibility.
  • Encrypted communication
  • Highlighted code and quotations
  • Integrations with other systems like Zendesk, Nagios, PagerDuty, Datadog
  • gif, movies and other cool stuff integrated on conversations
  • Group Video chat
  • Recent login issues have been really annoying
  • Mobile App sometimes shows it as being connected but it isn't updating
Video chat is not an strong point for hipchat, I think that [they should] focus on their strong points and let other applications handle that part of the work. It is the perfect tool to keep an eye on the entire operation, since you can integrate development tools, production monitoring, and alerting and reporting.
Read Manuel Darío Escobar Ramírez's full review
Spencer Bywater profile photo
July 05, 2016

User Review: "An Overview of HipChat"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to communicate privately with individuals and in groups across the company. We also use the integrations to receive updates about the status of deployment, and other development-related processes that we are waiting on.
  • Easy one-on-one chat
  • Video/voice call works fine
  • Organized group chats
  • Sometimes freezes up, have to completely close the program
  • Could use more shortcuts and slash commands
It is pretty well suited for software development organizations. For organizations that just need chat, it might be a little overkill.
Read Spencer Bywater's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Mobile Access (94)
7.5
Search (99)
6.5
Chat (129)
8.1
Notifications (127)
7.2
Discussions (108)
7.5
Surveys (35)
6.8
Internal knowledgebase (40)
6.9
Integrates with GoToMeeting (21)
6.8
Video files (81)
6.7
Audio files (69)
6.5
Access control (56)
6.9
Advanced security features (47)
5.9
Integrates with Google Drive (26)
7.2
Device sync (54)
7.5

About HipChat

HipChat helps teams work better together by making it easier to share ideas, updates, codes, and files in real-time. Users can communicate via chat, audio, or video calls in private 1-1 conversations or team chat rooms.

The vendor says HipChat brings the tools that run a business into one seamless communication platform. With unlimited integrations, teams can plan, track, and monitor work in real-time with tools like JIRA, Google Calendar, Bitbucket, Statuspage.io, and more.

HipChat Connect (Atlassian’s API) enables developers to build custom apps and integrations which extend HipChat. This enables users to receive important information about apps used and to take action from the chat window. The vendor’s value proposition is that this turns HipChat into a command center where all team alerts come in, are vetted and actions come out. The vendor refers to this as ChatOps, which is a collaboration model that connects people, tools, and automation into a transparent workflow.

Categories:  Collaboration

HipChat Features

Project Management Features
Does not have featureTask Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Does not have featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureFile tracking
Does not have featureTagging
Has featureSearch
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools
Does not have featureVisual planning tools
Communication Features
Has featureChat
Has featureStatus updates and activity feed
Has featureNotifications
Does not have featureComments and feedback
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy
Has featureSurveys
Has featureInternal knowledgebase
Does not have featureIntegrates with Skype
Has featureIntegrates with GoToMeeting
Does not have featureIntegrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts
Does not have featureIntegrates with Outlook
File Sharing & Management Features
Does not have featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Does not have featureDocument collaboration
Does not have featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Has featureAdvanced security features
Has featureIntegrates with Google Drive
Does not have featureIntegrates with SharePoint
Has featureDevice sync
Has featureWeb interface
Does not have featureFile change notifications
Does not have featureSimultaneous editing
Additional Features
Has featureCustom emoticons

HipChat Screenshots

HipChat Integrations

Bitbucket, PagerDuty, Adobe Creative Cloud Image Editor, Facebook, JIRA, Google Calendar, Statuspage.io, Uber, and over 100 more!

HipChat Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HipChat Basic$0per user
HipChat Plus$2per user

For Server pricing info please visit https://www.hipchat.com/server (Only $1.20/user/month at the highest user tier!)

HipChat Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

HipChat Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English