TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/X4/F1/2T5TQAHFZV5I.PNGThere's big room for improvement!We use Hipchat across all company offices as it comes with JIRA and other Atlassian software. We have multiple groups depending on the department or product but only internally. Our employees communicate daily and use it in both formal and informal ways to manage projects/software development/office management. We also have JIRA integration in some groups.,Since Hipchat and JIRA belong to Atlassian, Hipchat has decent and hassle-free integration with JIRA. Hipchat bots are very useful and make routine tasks easier to accomplish and save some time. Easy to use and intuitive user interface.,Mobile app is not very responsive on iOS. Sometimes connection to Hipchat servers is taking too long even on good networks. Both mobile and desktop versions have no alphabetical or recent sorting for groups and chat rooms. Video and audio calls are pretty useless, they're slow and not always work. The whole user interface is simple but very outdated - apparently Atlassian didn't focus too much on Hipchat even though they tried in the last 2 years.,5,Slack and Cisco Spark Room Series,Mavenlink, Emarsys, Skype, Slack, Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Office 365, Salesforce.com, JIRA Software, Zendesk, Paylocity Web Pay, Nexonia Expenses, WebEx MeetingsA poor alternative to SlackI tried out HipChat as an alternative to Slack and was not satisfied. We intended to use it for internal communications with team members, file sharing, and project organization. I thought it would be a more efficient alternative to emails and Google Chat.,Message members of organization Share files Integrate with project management software,The platform is not user-friendly There is no way to set it to “away” so you have to log out each time If you log in via Google, you have to enter your entire login info each time,3,Slack,ContactMonkey, Streak, Keyword Tool DominatorCommunicate with a real-time chat with your team membersWe use HipChat to communicate with virtual teams, across the whole organization. It gives virtual teams a sense of belonging to the same team, and allows people to communicate in real time, addressing problems more interactively, and sometimes faster than a mail thread sent to all people from the same team could do.,HipChat keeps the history of a chat within a room, allowing anyone with the right permission to join the room at any time, and to search the chat history months after. HipChat has support for animated gifs, which allows the people to communicate with animated gifs and memes. People who are not in the chat at the time they are mentioned receive an e-mail, so that they know they need to catch up later on. HipChat is integrated with other Atlassian products like Confluence and JIRA. Updates to pages in Confluence or card in JIRA can trigger real-time notifications in a HipChat room.,The notification system could be improved. You have the choice to receive notifications at every message (could be overwhelming), only when you are mentioned, or never. When you choose to never receive notifications, it'd be nice to see a unread count in the app dock. Sometimes people get disconnected or close the app and forget to re-open it. This may sometimes end up with chats losing some people, without anyone realizing it before some time. It'd be nice if there was a system to remind people to re-open their app if they do not show after some days. It'd be nice to see in real time who is writing in the chat before the message is sent.,7,IBM Sametime and Jabber,Jabber, Atlassian Confluence, Bitbucket, JIRA Software, WebEx MeetingsHipChat is a good solution for teams looking for something cheaper than SlackWe adopted HipChat for our team as a better way to communicate when our organization was still using Jabber as the official communication tool. At the time, it was a much better solution for communication because it was more reliable and had better features than Jabber. We were also able to utilize many integrations with other services.,Pricing Integrations Good apps Reliability,Design Popularity (not as widely used as Slack) Innovation (somehow getting an edge on Slack),7,Jabber, Slack and Rocket Chat,Slack, Drupal, WordPressBest tool for enterprise team communicationIn my company, HipChat is used for real-time cross-team communication chat application, mainly to avoid long mail trails that get lost with time and hard to keep track. Also, it's quicker to chat with anyone in the company from a list than to email to one or a group of people and wait for the reply. HipChat is being used by all departments in the company. One of the main problems HipChat has solved is that it replaced slow internal email with faster cross-team communication either 1-on-1 or a group of people.,HipChat is the first enterprise team chat application, hence it invented the idea of itself. Cross-platform support and hence runs on most of the computing devices Efficient search Completely free for smaller teams Webhooks +1 Integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well. For example, Infra monitoring applications. Custom emojis Media and file sharing directly or in a group Video chat,UI and UX has a huge room for improvement Dull and uninspiring colors Temporary rooms are not possible It's very expensive based on the team size, goes up exponentially,8,Slack, Stride
Windows, Linux, Mac
HipChat
500 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
TRScore

HipChat Reviews

HipChat
500 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 500 vetted HipChat reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 130)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
January 19, 2018

HipChat Review: "There's big room for improvement!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hipchat across all company offices as it comes with JIRA and other Atlassian software. We have multiple groups depending on the department or product but only internally. Our employees communicate daily and use it in both formal and informal ways to manage projects/software development/office management. We also have JIRA integration in some groups.
  • Since Hipchat and JIRA belong to Atlassian, Hipchat has decent and hassle-free integration with JIRA.
  • Hipchat bots are very useful and make routine tasks easier to accomplish and save some time.
  • Easy to use and intuitive user interface.
  • Mobile app is not very responsive on iOS. Sometimes connection to Hipchat servers is taking too long even on good networks.
  • Both mobile and desktop versions have no alphabetical or recent sorting for groups and chat rooms.
  • Video and audio calls are pretty useless, they're slow and not always work.
  • The whole user interface is simple but very outdated - apparently Atlassian didn't focus too much on Hipchat even though they tried in the last 2 years.
If you want native and painless JIRA integration - it's a perfect tool. Also, it comes for free with Atlassian software and can help teams solve basic tasks and improve communication despite its ancient interface and slowness.
Read Alexander Bekhterev's full review
January 23, 2018

HipChat Review: "A poor alternative to Slack"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I tried out HipChat as an alternative to Slack and was not satisfied. We intended to use it for internal communications with team members, file sharing, and project organization. I thought it would be a more efficient alternative to emails and Google Chat.
  • Message members of organization
  • Share files
  • Integrate with project management software
  • The platform is not user-friendly
  • There is no way to set it to “away” so you have to log out each time
  • If you log in via Google, you have to enter your entire login info each time
It is most suited for a scenario in which organization members cannot use or download Slack. It is not a great alternative but could be a fallback.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review
January 24, 2018

HipChat Review: "Communicate with a real-time chat with your team members"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat to communicate with virtual teams, across the whole organization. It gives virtual teams a sense of belonging to the same team, and allows people to communicate in real time, addressing problems more interactively, and sometimes faster than a mail thread sent to all people from the same team could do.
  • HipChat keeps the history of a chat within a room, allowing anyone with the right permission to join the room at any time, and to search the chat history months after.
  • HipChat has support for animated gifs, which allows the people to communicate with animated gifs and memes.
  • People who are not in the chat at the time they are mentioned receive an e-mail, so that they know they need to catch up later on.
  • HipChat is integrated with other Atlassian products like Confluence and JIRA. Updates to pages in Confluence or card in JIRA can trigger real-time notifications in a HipChat room.
  • The notification system could be improved. You have the choice to receive notifications at every message (could be overwhelming), only when you are mentioned, or never. When you choose to never receive notifications, it'd be nice to see a unread count in the app dock.
  • Sometimes people get disconnected or close the app and forget to re-open it. This may sometimes end up with chats losing some people, without anyone realizing it before some time. It'd be nice if there was a system to remind people to re-open their app if they do not show after some days.
  • It'd be nice to see in real time who is writing in the chat before the message is sent.
HipChat is well suited for real-time communication on incidents, especially when the people solving the incident are in different locations. It's also well suited for people in different locations to keep in touch with informal communication with their remote colleagues. It's less suited when a need to curate and organize the information exists as the chats will be kept in a giant log without specific organization.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2018

Review: "HipChat is a good solution for teams looking for something cheaper than Slack"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted HipChat for our team as a better way to communicate when our organization was still using Jabber as the official communication tool. At the time, it was a much better solution for communication because it was more reliable and had better features than Jabber. We were also able to utilize many integrations with other services.
  • Pricing
  • Integrations
  • Good apps
  • Reliability
  • Design
  • Popularity (not as widely used as Slack)
  • Innovation (somehow getting an edge on Slack)
HipChat is a great solution for any kind of team communication. HipChat is well suited for those who would like Slack-like features but who don't want to pay the high price for Slack. HipChat might not be a good choice for those who already use Slack for other teams, don't want another chat application to keep up with, and are willing to pay the prices for Slack's premium features.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2018

HipChat Review: "Best tool for enterprise team communication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, HipChat is used for real-time cross-team communication chat application, mainly to avoid long mail trails that get lost with time and hard to keep track. Also, it's quicker to chat with anyone in the company from a list than to email to one or a group of people and wait for the reply.

HipChat is being used by all departments in the company. One of the main problems HipChat has solved is that it replaced slow internal email with faster cross-team communication either 1-on-1 or a group of people.
  • HipChat is the first enterprise team chat application, hence it invented the idea of itself.
  • Cross-platform support and hence runs on most of the computing devices
  • Efficient search
  • Completely free for smaller teams
  • Webhooks +1
  • Integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well. For example, Infra monitoring applications.
  • Custom emojis
  • Media and file sharing directly or in a group
  • Video chat
  • UI and UX has a huge room for improvement
  • Dull and uninspiring colors
  • Temporary rooms are not possible
  • It's very expensive based on the team size, goes up exponentially
HipChat is best for startups with less than 10 employees, since it's free, where collaboration and constant communication are very important. Since it runs on most of the devices, it reduces the friction of staying connected with the team(s). HipChat can be hosted internally, very few companies provide self-hosted chat applications and most of them are cloud-based. If privacy is your concern, HipChat works very well.

Cost goes up with team size in an exponential manner, this is where HipChat doesn't seem very useful for what it was intended for (not sure if this has changed). It's not so fun application when compared with Slack.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
January 16, 2018

"HipChat is a great chat client for small-to-moderate sized-business."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using HipChat in our Development and IT departments, but have had other teams migrate from Skype for Business so it's pretty much across the organization including remote users. Our Agile teams all have their own rooms. The cross-platform product is used by both our Mac and Windows users at higher rates than any previous chat client we had and it's stable and constantly online.
  • Cross-Platform support for both Windows & Mac users as well as a web-based client.
  • Small installation footprint with outstanding functionality.
  • Free version exists so you can try the product without having to purchase upfront.
  • The program sometimes locks up and has to be killed via Task Manager on the Windows side.
  • The updates are frequent, but that's part of their process.
  • Integration with Active Directory would be nice.
We were using a mix of Skype (which was not ideal because it's open to the public) and a Cisco product that was difficult to license and manage. Management needed something that would work on both Mac & Windows and we initially looked to Lync but didn't want to spend the money for it; we migrated to Office365 for Skype for Business and while it's installed on every employee's computer, it wasn't used, and our Mac users didn't like the Skype for Business interface and weren't using it. HipChat was the platform we decided on because it gets used.
Read Eric Broz's full review
January 18, 2018

Review: "HipChat - Open, developer friendly online communication tool for your business."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is a good tool for internal online chat. My organization tried it for some time but due to error prone technical features, we discontinued. This application has some good features with some good functionalities which gives the advantage of being developer friendly but the status changes and technical issues lower down its rating. As compared to some other products we have better options available elsewhere.
  • The main advantage is having an Open API which is useful for developers
  • There are many services on this app which are free
  • It offers a good overall tool for online communication between the teams
  • The technical issues are more on this application
  • The status changes are quite buggy
  • There are lot of complications for the admin accounts
HipChat is well suited when your organization is developer friendly. The Open API it provides is more than useful for a Developer Community. But, if you can't figure out the bugs yourself, then this tool might cause hindrances. The technical issues are not rare. Over-reliance on online communication rather than verbal communication will give you a headache with this tool.
Read Himanshu Singh's full review
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat for devops"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat has been selected as a product from Atlassian's suite. Because we already used Bitbucket and because we were looking for a persistent chat room, HipChat was chosen. This product was not only used by our devops teams in order to discuss and receive notifications but also by software craftsmanship in order to debate technologies and help each other.
  • Persistent chat room. HipChat stores the communication and allows you to follow a discussion without being involved from the beginning.
  • Multi tenant rooms. We can create as many discussion rooms as we want.
  • Third-party integration. HipChat exposes an API that can be used by third-party applications (i.e. Prometheus for monitoring, Jenkins for CI/CD, etc).
  • Research should be enhanced
  • Possibility to integrate a chat bot
HipChat is very suitable in a devops team:
- allows persistent communication between team members
- can receive notifications from Jenkins or Prometheus
- allows multi tenant rooms

Nevertheless, HipChat can be a new way of working for some people that require training. The learning curve of HipChat is very simple, but for a company which is not familiar with these new tools (chat rooms), it might be a bit disturbing.
Read Hugo Romani Cortes's full review
October 26, 2017

Review: "HipChat nice messenger app - all in one"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is being used across the whole organization. I'm a software developer and I use to chat and collaborate with other developers across the whole organization. We have three groups of people talking about specific topics and sharing code snippets.
  • The /code is useful to share code.
  • HipChat groups are really useful in order to get connected to people with a particular interest across the organization.
  • The Video Call, all in one tool is really nice.
  • Write code in a line with other words, for example.
  • I am using this class /code SomeClassName, and it's not working.
It's fine for everything I think.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by developers and product management team. A very useful tool for quick discussions and sharing of ideas, in a one to one or in a room setting. I particularly like it where it lets users share images and screenshots. Being in a relatively distantly placed group, this is the tool of choice.
  • Image sharing
  • Setting a private as well as group (room) environment
  • Mobile app keeps you in touch in real time
  • Sometimes it is not very evident if there is a new message
  • The UI can be improved
  • Able to reply to a particular comment in a room setting
Highly suitable for a diversified group. Not very useful for a small group, still can be used.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2018

User Review: "HipChat ain't all that hip."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HipChat for our internal communication platform. However, we recently switched to Slack. HipChat seemed a bit dated and frequently had issues such as outages, latency, and a number of other problems. For a platform that is basically AIM on steroids, we've come to expect that at a bare minimum uptime to be damn near perfect.
  • Internal communication
  • Allows for chat between teams
  • Allows for troubleshooting to quickly be discussed
  • Uptime
  • Ability not to freeze or lag
  • Lacked "bells and whistles" than comparable platforms offer
HipChat is bare bones and is pretty similar to a lot of other chat platforms. If you're looking for a solution, this one works. Is it the best? Probably not. Is it the most expensive? Can't imagine. Smaller organizations might benefit more from this type of platform and possibly need to adjust as they scale up.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2018

User Review: "HipChat -- Silly Name, Great Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep both our remote team and office teams connected. We love the ability to search, the bots, the gifs, and the ability to connect over time zones, over states, etc. We love that it is free -- allows us to collaborate. It is a good response to those who may be averse to using Slack.
  • Collaboration
  • GIFS and fun
  • Search features
  • Desktop or through browser
  • Could use less bots.
  • We dont need so many points or options to gain points.
This tool is well suited for large teams who enjoy collaborating and working together. Gets remote teams talking, sharing info, working together. I could see this tool being used on small teams all the way up to around a 100 person team. You need someone, or a few folks, to manage the tool.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2016

User Review: "Virtual standups with Hipchat"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat is not organisation wide but is heavily used in both the editorial content areas and the strategy implementation areas of our division. It is also heavily used by a number of development teams working on our products. In particular our editorial content and strategy teams are scattered across Australia with users in regional areas such as Broome WA, Bendigo NSW and Lismore VIC. When staff are located thousands of kilometres apart a real time targeted chat system is important.
  • standups: I have installed the standup hipbot and as we have staff in a handful of locations across 3 timezones we can run virtual standups by having members of the team log a "Yesterday I did ... "/"Today I'm doing ..." The bot allows me to pull these reports out of the noise very simply.
  • availability: When you have a dispersed team working on a project the ability to see they are available and get immediate answers to questions is important.
  • contact with other teams: While other teams work on our products its useful to be able to watch what they are doing by lurking in their HipChat room. I always say Good Morning and them knowing I'm there means they can ask for clarification on requests quite simply even though they may be working 1000 or 2000kms away.
  • I would love to see a bot wizard developed - for example I'd like to find the time to build an "on this day" bot which replied to the first person to chat each day, but I lack the time to study the system.
We manage it as an internal chat system so I haven't looked at wider use.
Read Rae Allen's full review
July 22, 2016

Review: "HipChat is a solid option for real time communication for today's virtual teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a team of about 15-20 employees. HipChat has been super helpful to keep everyone instantly connected. We also have a work from home option on Friday. HipChat is extremely important from everything to quick questions to aiding as an additional conversation stream while on conference calls. It's a must to keep us connected in real time. I also love that fact that on a Mac you can drop in your screen grabs from your clip board. It saves tons of time when trying to get a point across.
  • HipChat allows you to quickly see who is online on your team.
  • Sharing screen grabs, links and files is a breeze. Saves a ton of time.
  • Fun icons are a nice way to add humor to your daily conversations.
  • You can't mention people in rooms/groups that they are not in. If they leave the room/group, they will not see the notification.
  • Slack has more emojis and icons which brings them closer to how people use their cell phones in text conversations.
  • There is not an option to share screens if a problem arises that is bigger than text communication.
Hip chat is great for immediate communication. It throughly met our needs for a long time and allowed us to stay really closely connected. The only reason we've been looking for a better solution is because we work with custom web development where we have several teams that evolve and change regularly. We need the flexibility to add a person to a conversation as needed. Additionally, we've seen other services that offer screen sharing. This has become extremely important as we are moving towards being a virtual office and need to be able to have virtual assistance when someone is not physically able to walk over to your desk.
Read Charlie Chauvin's full review
November 09, 2016

HipChat: "Hip Chat review by Vladimir Salnikov (Bee Robotics team)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat across the whole organization to communicate with a distributed team, with members located in many corners of world - Russia, Brazil, US, Japan, India... Sometimes when problems with other messengers occurs, we also use HipChat to make video calls. Here we are missing group videocalls. So we use Skype for it, and this is the only reason to use Skype. The rest of HipChat works very well. Earlier versions of HipChat had troubles with Windows 7 x64, but nowadays it is very stable and works perfectly.
  • Storing messages history
  • Sending and storing docs
  • Stability and scalability
  • Group video calls
It is less appropriate for group video calls, which is a must for an our company. The rest is working well, even on different platforms.
I've used Hip Chat on Windows 7, Windows 10, Linux Ubuntu, Mac OS X and Android tablet - and everywhere it works perfectly! Congrats, developers team, you are great!
Read Vladimir Salnikov's full review
November 07, 2016

"HipChat Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using hipchat throughout all of our organization, we have it synchronized with bitbucket, jira and confluence. All in all it is a very complete environment to work with. It mainly lets us keep track of everything that is going and allows us to quickly reference issues (or other things).
  • Integrations with other Atlassian products as it creates a perfect work environment.
  • HipChat is stable and very reliable. We have not had connection issues to the service.
  • The video call is very useful as we don't have to switch to another application to do calls.
  • Only comes as OVA or AMI images. Doesn't come as a binary and depending on the organizations environment it can be a little tricky to deploy.
  • Better notification system while the user is offline.
HipChat is well suited for having separate conversations for teams, departments or projects.
Read Oscar Faixat's full review
November 01, 2016

HipChat Review: "Great product for team collaboration and discussion"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was used for online conversation throughout the entire company. In a lot of cases, it is much better, and of course much faster, to use than email for getting replies, making decisions, and collaborating.
  • Screen sharing was nice for when you need to quickly show somebody something.
  • History search.
  • Chat rooms.
  • Cleaner interface.
  • Better code support.
  • Easier editing/deleting of messages.
HipChat overall is a great chat client. In my opinion, one of the best options available unless you're needing to post frequent code snippets or shell instructions since the formatting options can be a bit difficult to figure out. It's great for being able to have a discussion and pull up the history later in case documentation was missed.
Read Francis Lewis's full review
July 19, 2016

User Review: "HipChat is solid."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat allows developers, designers and support technicians to stay in touch easily in a large building without needing to call and bother the other person.
  • HipChat is completely free to use with as many team members as you need and with as many integrations as you need. Hooray! At the free tier of service, you get group messaging, instant messaging, and file sharing capabilities. Your search history is capped at 25,000 message, and the storage ceiling is 5GB. The free plan is an excellent deal.
  • There is a HipChat Plus option for $2 per user per month that adds three notable features: video conferencing, screensharing, and unlimited storage and messages. HipChat Plus is an excellent value, and you can try it for free for 30 days.
  • HipChat most closely resembles Slack, so it's worth comparing their prices. With Slack's free tier of service, you also get unlimited members and plenty of core features, but your account search history is limited to 10,000 messages, rather than 25,000. Storage gets capped at 5GB, so that matches HipChat. With Slack's free account, however, you can only integrate with five services, compared with HipChat's unlimited integrations. The conclusion: HipChat has fewer limitations and offers more at the free level.
  • It's not completely open source?
  • I'm very happy with HipChat.
If you're using other Atlassian applications, HipChat is a no brainer.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
November 02, 2016

User Review: "HipChat"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat allows overall collaboration across teams which are collocated.
  • Communicating with offshore teams
  • Instantaneous responses
  • Send files with ease
  • Allow call facility
  • Manage notifications better
Well suited for teams split across various locations
Read Anish Venugopal PSM I's full review
November 01, 2016

"HipChat Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is composed of members who live in different states. We use hipchat to communicate amongst our team. It makes it easy to keep questions to multiple individuals amongst the team. It is linked to our Jira and Stash and lets us keep track of pull requests and how various tasks are progressing. This way, it makes it easy to discuss any proposed changes to our code base etc.
  • HipChat is very stable and reliable. I have never had issues with not being able to connect or being able to communicate with others on HipChat.
  • HipChat integrates quite well with other applications, such as Jira and Stash. This is a main selling point for my team. It provides a convenient feed of actions on a JIRA story or Stash pull request.
  • HipCat does a good job of allowing 1-1 and group chats. It is simple to start a new conversation and it is easy to hold a group conversation and keep track of who is in the room.
  • I like how HipChat has away/here/on mobile statuses. This makes it easy to see if a person is available to be contacted.
  • It would be nice to have a record of shared images or documents, perhaps an option to see all shared items for the past X days.
  • It would be nice to have a few more color/style themes (perhaps one similar to Sublime tests slushi theme!?).
  • An option to "save" received messages for future reference.
It is quite amazing for software development and integrates well with many other programming related tools and utilities.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2016

HipChat Review: "It does the job most of the time."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat across our organization for one on one and group chat. We also use it for video calls when employees work remotely.
  • The emoticons are fun and add levity to the printed word which can come across wrong.
  • Groups are hugely useful for team communication.
  • Search history is great for retrieving information from past conversations.
  • HipChat app fails to load at least once a week. This is extremely annoying.
  • Sometimes on start up it looks like no one is available.
  • Constant updates interfere with our day to day work.
It's rickety and not dependable.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2016

User Review: "HipChat - Effective Communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is being used on a daily basis by every employee here at Dealer.com Since our company continues to grow HipChat allows us to stay in constant and instant communication with one another rather than via email.
  • Instant Communication
  • Easy to Use
  • Ability to Share Images/Files/Urls etc
  • Sometimes hipchat will show a user is offline but in fact they are not
  • HipChat will sometimes not start up right away
  • HipChat will shut down and take some time to reload
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2016

User Review: "Hip or not? Hipchat messaging"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hipchat is being used by the engineering, product, and data teams, only these departments and not across the whole organization. Hipchat quickly allows coworkers to communicate, send documents, and screenshots. While emails tend to clutter the inbox and contain longer essays, hipchat allows for quick informal check-ins and conversations through instant messaging. In a quiet office, it helps team-building where co-workers can have little conversations on the side.
  • Hipchat allows me to "call" on different people in the department by the @ sign.
  • Hipchat allows me to create different rooms for projects so I don't have to remember who's doing what, rather label the item based on the project.
  • Hipchat provides a myriad of communication methods where I can add emojis to messages. It strikes the balance of informal in a business setting.
  • Hipchat loads and presents attachments well.
  • Hipchat could organize its messaging UI better, the side panel isn't my favorite.
  • Hipchat could provide more granularity to its notification - it currently has three settings. One suggestion would be to provide different chimes for different rooms or people.
  • Hipchat sends a notification when I'm not logged in and I receive a 1-on-1 message, these messages could be batched instead of individual emails.
  • Hipchat sometimes doesn't authenticate my login correctly. Losing communication between the team makes teamwork hard.
Hipchat is great as a companion to JIRA providing quick communication among technology teams. However I haven't seen how this platform really differs from Skype or Gchat. I couldn't see HipChat as a stand alone product. To make it stand alone, I would like to see a simpler UI design and a directory to call-out different co-workers. Maybe a status update so I know who to talk to and when.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2016

Review: "I was grumpy about using HipChat instead of Skype, but now I'm happy!"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hipchat as a method of internal communication, as well as the notifier of Jira Help desk.
  • Excellent connection between Jira and Hipchat.
  • Real time notification on chatrooms when tickets have updated.
  • It's easy to mention help desk tickets through jira in hipchat.
  • The app can do better, it's difficult to keep it active when a phone goes idle. My profile looks idle and coworkers think i'm not checking my messages; I get email notifications.
  • Multiple emails sent for one message - for example someone writes on hipchat "hi-hits enter-do you have a sec-hits enter-let me know-hits enter, I get 3 separate emails for that.
  • There is no share screen/video option to discuss issues.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2016

Review: "HipChat Brings Zen to Your Communication Overload"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my previous organization we used HipChat across our entire SaaS product organization to quickly communicate between Customer Services/Success, Engineering and Product Management departments. In addition to enabling topic based conversations without the horrendous anti-scale of email, we relied heavily on integrations for alerting across our infrastructure and tools so that information was available to all who were interested. If you are using Bitbucket, JIRA and Confluence the synergy becomes awesome.
  • Real-time collaboration
  • User specific customizable alert settings
  • Centralized tool for communication and alert monitoring
  • Native apps have performance issues and often lag behind in features compared to the web app
  • Search through historical conversations could be much better
  • Grouping users or using aliases could be made easier
I think HipChat excels for anyone looking for consolidated, real-time instant messaging in a professional context. Its appropriateness could vary wildly depending on an organization's culture and agreed upon ways of using the tool.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Mobile Access (94)
7.5
Search (99)
6.5
Chat (129)
8.3
Notifications (127)
7.3
Discussions (108)
7.6
Surveys (35)
6.5
Internal knowledgebase (40)
6.5
Integrates with GoToMeeting (21)
6.5
Video files (81)
6.7
Audio files (69)
6.6
Access control (56)
6.9
Advanced security features (47)
6.1
Integrates with Google Drive (26)
7.2
Device sync (54)
7.5

About HipChat

HipChat helps teams work better together by making it easier to share ideas, updates, codes, and files in real-time. Users can communicate via chat, audio, or video calls in private 1-1 conversations or team chat rooms.

The vendor says HipChat brings the tools that run a business into one seamless communication platform. With unlimited integrations, teams can plan, track, and monitor work in real-time with tools like JIRA, Google Calendar, Bitbucket, Statuspage.io, and more.

HipChat Connect (Atlassian’s API) enables developers to build custom apps and integrations which extend HipChat. This enables users to receive important information about apps used and to take action from the chat window. The vendor’s value proposition is that this turns HipChat into a command center where all team alerts come in, are vetted and actions come out. The vendor refers to this as ChatOps, which is a collaboration model that connects people, tools, and automation into a transparent workflow.

Categories:  Collaboration

HipChat Features

Project Management Features
Does not have featureTask Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Does not have featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureFile tracking
Does not have featureTagging
Has featureSearch
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools
Does not have featureVisual planning tools
Communication Features
Has featureChat
Has featureStatus updates and activity feed
Has featureNotifications
Does not have featureComments and feedback
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy
Has featureSurveys
Has featureInternal knowledgebase
Does not have featureIntegrates with Skype
Has featureIntegrates with GoToMeeting
Does not have featureIntegrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts
Does not have featureIntegrates with Outlook
File Sharing & Management Features
Does not have featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Does not have featureDocument collaboration
Does not have featureShared folders
Has featureAccess control
Has featureAdvanced security features
Has featureIntegrates with Google Drive
Does not have featureIntegrates with SharePoint
Has featureDevice sync
Has featureWeb interface
Does not have featureFile change notifications
Does not have featureSimultaneous editing
Additional Features
Has featureCustom emoticons

HipChat Screenshots

HipChat Integrations

Bitbucket, PagerDuty, Adobe Creative Cloud Image Editor, Facebook, JIRA, Google Calendar, Statuspage.io, Uber, and over 100 more!

HipChat Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HipChat Basic$0per user
HipChat Plus$2per user

For Server pricing info please visit https://www.hipchat.com/server (Only $1.20/user/month at the highest user tier!)

HipChat Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

HipChat Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English