HipChat (discontinued)

HipChat (discontinued)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.6 out of 100
HipChat (discontinued)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Basic app with basic features

7 out of 10
April 13, 2021
HipChat was used by our whole company and especially within the Engineering community. It helps everyone to communicate across team very …
Continue reading

HipChat

9 out of 10
January 17, 2018
[It's] Used by developers and product management team. A very useful tool for quick discussions and sharing of ideas, in a one to one or …
Continue reading

HipChat ain't all that hip.

3 out of 10
January 17, 2018
We used HipChat for our internal communication platform. However, we recently switched to Slack. HipChat seemed a bit dated and frequently …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features

Notifications (132)

7.7
77%

Chat (134)

7.7
77%

Search (104)

7.2
72%

Discussions (112)

6.5
65%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of HipChat (discontinued), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

HipChat Basic

$0

Cloud
per user

HipChat Plus

$2

Cloud
per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.hipchat.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Project Management

7.3
73%

Communication

7.3
73%

File Sharing & Management

6.3
63%

Product Details

What is HipChat (discontinued)?

Hipchat is discontinued by Atlassian. Users are being migrated to Slack.

HipChat (discontinued) Features

Project Management Features

  • Supported: Mobile Access
  • Supported: File tracking
  • Supported: Search
  • Supported: Integrates with other Project Management Tools

Communication Features

  • Supported: Chat
  • Supported: Status updates and activity feed
  • Supported: Notifications
  • Supported: Discussions
  • Supported: User directory and online status
  • Supported: Sharing and privacy
  • Supported: Surveys
  • Supported: Internal knowledgebase
  • Supported: Integrates with GoToMeeting

File Sharing & Management Features

  • Supported: Document files
  • Supported: Image files
  • Supported: Video files
  • Supported: Audio files
  • Supported: Access control
  • Supported: Advanced security features
  • Supported: Integrates with Google Drive
  • Supported: Device sync
  • Supported: Web interface

Additional Features

  • Supported: Custom emoticons

HipChat (discontinued) Screenshots

HipChat is with your team, whenever, wherever. Try it on your desktop, web, mobile, tablet, & wearable.Give your eyes the respite they deserve from your blaring white screen with HipChat dark mode!HipChat becomes your command center by integrating with over 100 awesome apps/tools your team already loves (like Uber!).

HipChat (discontinued) Integrations

  • Bitbucket
  • PagerDuty
  • Adobe Creative Cloud Image Editor
  • Facebook
  • JIRA
  • Google Calendar
  • Statuspage.io
  • Uber
  • and over 100 more!

HipChat (discontinued) Competitors

HipChat (discontinued) Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is HipChat (discontinued)?

Hipchat was discontinued by Atlassian. Users are being migrated to Slack.

What is HipChat (discontinued)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Surveys highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses HipChat (discontinued)?

The most common users of HipChat (discontinued) are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 135)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was used by our whole company and especially within the Engineering community. It helps everyone to communicate across team very effectively. HipChat had plugin and integration support so we have integrated with every other internal applications within the company. It helped for effective communication. It helped engineers' productivity and everyone reachable via this online platform.
  • Instant Messaging app within your team and across teams via private and public channels
  • Sharing documents and integration with JIRA were very helpful. Since it's an atlassian product it supported lot of integrations with confluence, jira, bitbucket.
  • Video calls and audio calls.
  • At times, we've faced issues with hipchat server. Frequent downtime due to instability of the app.
  • Video calls are not that great and it missed lot of functionalities provided in Zoom.
  • It lacked apps within hipchat like how Slack does.
Well suited for

Cross-teams communication.
Webhooks support.
Easy integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well.
File sharing directly or in a group.
Video/Audio calls.

Not suited for:

Lacks apps integration like Slack.
Lacks quality with video calls.
Slow file transfer for large files.
Frequent downtime due to app instability.

HipChat has nice support from the customer service.
Ajay Akunuri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is used as channel to communicate within our team, and also used to collaborate with other teams and individuals. It is used by our organization, as it was cheaper compared to other solutions at the time we started using it.
  • Easy to create private rooms and add people
  • Effortless searching history of conversations
  • Simple to integrate other Atlassian products like confluence and Jira
  • UI and UX can be improved
  • Should allow mentions for people who are not in group
  • Should have a feature to reply to a message in group chat
  • Video feature should allow more than 20 people
Hipchat is well-suited when you are referring to other Atlassian products in conversation as well as when you writing a code and sending it in a chat . The whole code is very well formated and easy to read . I personally Find it less usable when using screensharing and video/audio feature. Didnt have really good experience in meetings
HipChat support is good . Responds in timely manner when ever we have raised the request via email , phone and gives us continue update on the request .Though most of the questions are answered by HipChat FAQs , but they can still improve it and add more to the knowledge base .
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was used for my section of the organization. My team had its own group chat were we communicated. It solved the problem of working from home and relaying messages to my team members in real time. It helped eliminate individuals getting lots of emails. HipChat gave us clarity and transparency on what people were working on.
  • Good user interface
  • Transparency
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to manage
  • Video calling
  • More functionality
HipChat was a great tool for real-time communication. It was great when I was able to link Jira products to specific HipChat rooms so that when issues were updated or addressed, messages are sent to a HipChat room that I specified. This gave my team and my clients clarity and transparency. I also really liked the fact that it integrated with other Atlassian products. This was a really big bonus for me and my organization since it allowed us to have one suite to manage all social products--Jira, Confluence, and Crowd.
HipChat support was one of the best I've encountered. When we faced difficult tasks in terms of updates to infrastructure (where HipChat sits on top) or updates to the application itself, HipChat support was very responsive to our questions, concerns, and comments. HipChat also had some really good online documentation. We were able to find step-by-step guidelines and documentation when implementing new features or installing new updates/patches.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I formerly worked at used HipChat for all inter-office employee communications. In 2013 when I started at GLG, it was the primary form of communication used by employees. Although our desks all had ip phones we almost never used them unless interfacing with clients outside of the business. Instant messaging through HipChat made a huge difference in productivity since it meant you could respond even while inside a meeting. Meetings were nearly constant at GLG and this massively improved productivity and response times.
  • Instant Messaging Colleagues
  • File Transfer
  • Searchable Message History
  • Audio quality was inconsistent. Sometimes excellent but mostly awful.
  • Video quality was universally poor and led us to using Zoom as our primary video communication tool.
  • Although HipChat supported file transfer, larger files would sometimes stop transferring.
HipChat was discontinued by Atlassian because it wasn't as versatile as Slack and couldn't handle Video/Audio calls as well as Zoom. It lacked the screen sharing capabilities of Skype and ScreenHero (now owned by Slack). It wasn't great at any particular area and its competitors were obviously better in those areas. This lack of versatility negatively impacted it's adoption at GLG, and I'd imagine the rest of world as well. HipChat excels at instant messaging communication (which is the one thing they got right) and although you could make specific rooms to chat about certain topics, Slack was already doing this way better. Overall it's impossible to recommend this software today. If I recall it was very expensive compared to better and more feature rich competitors. If you're seeking a bare bones method of communication you may consider the free version of it, but outside of that scenario, you are almost certainly better off going with a different product.


HipChat's support was nearly non-existent. This was one of the reasons I recall our company not wanting to get into an extended licensing agreement with Atlassian to use it. One rather humorous reason we actually stopped using the paid version and switched to the free version was because chat logs would be wiped after 30 days I believe. We used this as compliance feature and to let our clients know their sensitive information would not be at risk from a security perspective.
February 09, 2019

Sprinting with HipChat

Bob Cadieux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is used by our Agile Transformation Office (ATO). We create Kanban and Scrum team rooms. Each team collaborates in dynamic discussions on daily work. We also have support and private scrum master channels.
  • Create team rooms for Kanban and Scrum teams.
  • Great tool for immediate collaboration.
  • Allow public access to team room or restrict members.
  • Add attachments to discussions.
  • Create a new private room on the fly.
  • New messages alert room members in e-mail.
  • Start a new room within minutes.
  • Integrates with JIRA and Confluence Wiki sites.
  • Search box allows filtering through all discussions.
  • Integrate with Skype for Business. We do nor have GotoMeeting
  • Allow working in multiple rooms at same time.
HipChat is well suited for Scrum teams in Sprints. Excellent tool for handling story defects or asking business stakeholders questions. By integrating with JIRA, we can address a story issue immediately. HipChat does not provide a meeting function.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is a product using the concept of connecting with other people, just like a messenger for office purposes. You can share files and videos but it gets messy when sending large files. Easy to use and easy to create groups and communicate. This type of software is better for fast messaging than sending emails; you will get notified when any message arrives.
  • Connecting to office people in simpler way.
  • Easily sending documents, videos, images, etc.
  • Video call feature is also available which can be used.
  • Sending large files is problematic, sometimes it fails.
  • Emoji system is not so good.
There are lot of messaging services nowadays. HipChat still has to be developed better. They should upgrade their software to keep up with the race of the messaging world. Their service is just average.
Connecting to bunch of office people in a single platform is a great idea, as is sharing documents and images, but doubts will always be there for security of confidential documents.
Small and medium companies can use HipChat, but when it comes to a large company HipChat is not the best option.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat to communicate with virtual teams, across the whole organization. It gives virtual teams a sense of belonging to the same team, and allows people to communicate in real time, addressing problems more interactively, and sometimes faster than a mail thread sent to all people from the same team could do.
  • HipChat keeps the history of a chat within a room, allowing anyone with the right permission to join the room at any time, and to search the chat history months after.
  • HipChat has support for animated gifs, which allows the people to communicate with animated gifs and memes.
  • People who are not in the chat at the time they are mentioned receive an e-mail, so that they know they need to catch up later on.
  • HipChat is integrated with other Atlassian products like Confluence and JIRA. Updates to pages in Confluence or card in JIRA can trigger real-time notifications in a HipChat room.
  • The notification system could be improved. You have the choice to receive notifications at every message (could be overwhelming), only when you are mentioned, or never. When you choose to never receive notifications, it'd be nice to see a unread count in the app dock.
  • Sometimes people get disconnected or close the app and forget to re-open it. This may sometimes end up with chats losing some people, without anyone realizing it before some time. It'd be nice if there was a system to remind people to re-open their app if they do not show after some days.
  • It'd be nice to see in real time who is writing in the chat before the message is sent.
HipChat is well suited for real-time communication on incidents, especially when the people solving the incident are in different locations. It's also well suited for people in different locations to keep in touch with informal communication with their remote colleagues. It's less suited when a need to curate and organize the information exists as the chats will be kept in a giant log without specific organization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted HipChat for our team as a better way to communicate when our organization was still using Jabber as the official communication tool. At the time, it was a much better solution for communication because it was more reliable and had better features than Jabber. We were also able to utilize many integrations with other services.
  • Pricing
  • Integrations
  • Good apps
  • Reliability
  • Design
  • Popularity (not as widely used as Slack)
  • Innovation (somehow getting an edge on Slack)
HipChat is a great solution for any kind of team communication. HipChat is well suited for those who would like Slack-like features but who don't want to pay the high price for Slack. HipChat might not be a good choice for those who already use Slack for other teams, don't want another chat application to keep up with, and are willing to pay the prices for Slack's premium features.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I tried out HipChat as an alternative to Slack and was not satisfied. We intended to use it for internal communications with team members, file sharing, and project organization. I thought it would be a more efficient alternative to emails and Google Chat.
  • Message members of organization
  • Share files
  • Integrate with project management software
  • The platform is not user-friendly
  • There is no way to set it to “away” so you have to log out each time
  • If you log in via Google, you have to enter your entire login info each time
It is most suited for a scenario in which organization members cannot use or download Slack. It is not a great alternative but could be a fallback.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hipchat across all company offices as it comes with JIRA and other Atlassian software. We have multiple groups depending on the department or product but only internally. Our employees communicate daily and use it in both formal and informal ways to manage projects/software development/office management. We also have JIRA integration in some groups.
  • Since Hipchat and JIRA belong to Atlassian, Hipchat has decent and hassle-free integration with JIRA.
  • Hipchat bots are very useful and make routine tasks easier to accomplish and save some time.
  • Easy to use and intuitive user interface.
  • Mobile app is not very responsive on iOS. Sometimes connection to Hipchat servers is taking too long even on good networks.
  • Both mobile and desktop versions have no alphabetical or recent sorting for groups and chat rooms.
  • Video and audio calls are pretty useless, they're slow and not always work.
  • The whole user interface is simple but very outdated - apparently Atlassian didn't focus too much on Hipchat even though they tried in the last 2 years.
If you want native and painless JIRA integration - it's a perfect tool. Also, it comes for free with Atlassian software and can help teams solve basic tasks and improve communication despite its ancient interface and slowness.
Himanshu Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is a good tool for internal online chat. My organization tried it for some time but due to error prone technical features, we discontinued. This application has some good features with some good functionalities which gives the advantage of being developer friendly but the status changes and technical issues lower down its rating. As compared to some other products we have better options available elsewhere.
  • The main advantage is having an Open API which is useful for developers
  • There are many services on this app which are free
  • It offers a good overall tool for online communication between the teams
  • The technical issues are more on this application
  • The status changes are quite buggy
  • There are lot of complications for the admin accounts
HipChat is well suited when your organization is developer friendly. The Open API it provides is more than useful for a Developer Community. But, if you can't figure out the bugs yourself, then this tool might cause hindrances. The technical issues are not rare. Over-reliance on online communication rather than verbal communication will give you a headache with this tool.
January 17, 2018

HipChat for devops

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat has been selected as a product from Atlassian's suite. Because we already used Bitbucket and because we were looking for a persistent chat room, HipChat was chosen. This product was not only used by our devops teams in order to discuss and receive notifications but also by software craftsmanship in order to debate technologies and help each other.
  • Persistent chat room. HipChat stores the communication and allows you to follow a discussion without being involved from the beginning.
  • Multi tenant rooms. We can create as many discussion rooms as we want.
  • Third-party integration. HipChat exposes an API that can be used by third-party applications (i.e. Prometheus for monitoring, Jenkins for CI/CD, etc).
  • Research should be enhanced
  • Possibility to integrate a chat bot
HipChat is very suitable in a devops team:
- allows persistent communication between team members
- can receive notifications from Jenkins or Prometheus
- allows multi tenant rooms

Nevertheless, HipChat can be a new way of working for some people that require training. The learning curve of HipChat is very simple, but for a company which is not familiar with these new tools (chat rooms), it might be a bit disturbing.
January 17, 2018

HipChat

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used by developers and product management team. A very useful tool for quick discussions and sharing of ideas, in a one to one or in a room setting. I particularly like it where it lets users share images and screenshots. Being in a relatively distantly placed group, this is the tool of choice.
  • Image sharing
  • Setting a private as well as group (room) environment
  • Mobile app keeps you in touch in real time
  • Sometimes it is not very evident if there is a new message
  • The UI can be improved
  • Able to reply to a particular comment in a room setting
Highly suitable for a diversified group. Not very useful for a small group, still can be used.
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, HipChat is used for real-time cross-team communication chat application, mainly to avoid long mail trails that get lost with time and hard to keep track. Also, it's quicker to chat with anyone in the company from a list than to email to one or a group of people and wait for the reply.

HipChat is being used by all departments in the company. One of the main problems HipChat has solved is that it replaced slow internal email with faster cross-team communication either 1-on-1 or a group of people.
  • HipChat is the first enterprise team chat application, hence it invented the idea of itself.
  • Cross-platform support and hence runs on most of the computing devices
  • Efficient search
  • Completely free for smaller teams
  • Webhooks +1
  • Integrations with Atlassian products and other systems as well. For example, Infra monitoring applications.
  • Custom emojis
  • Media and file sharing directly or in a group
  • Video chat
  • UI and UX has a huge room for improvement
  • Dull and uninspiring colors
  • Temporary rooms are not possible
  • It's very expensive based on the team size, goes up exponentially
HipChat is best for startups with less than 10 employees, since it's free, where collaboration and constant communication are very important. Since it runs on most of the devices, it reduces the friction of staying connected with the team(s). HipChat can be hosted internally, very few companies provide self-hosted chat applications and most of them are cloud-based. If privacy is your concern, HipChat works very well.

Cost goes up with team size in an exponential manner, this is where HipChat doesn't seem very useful for what it was intended for (not sure if this has changed). It's not so fun application when compared with Slack.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HipChat for our internal communication platform. However, we recently switched to Slack. HipChat seemed a bit dated and frequently had issues such as outages, latency, and a number of other problems. For a platform that is basically AIM on steroids, we've come to expect that at a bare minimum uptime to be damn near perfect.
  • Internal communication
  • Allows for chat between teams
  • Allows for troubleshooting to quickly be discussed
  • Uptime
  • Ability not to freeze or lag
  • Lacked "bells and whistles" than comparable platforms offer
HipChat is bare bones and is pretty similar to a lot of other chat platforms. If you're looking for a solution, this one works. Is it the best? Probably not. Is it the most expensive? Can't imagine. Smaller organizations might benefit more from this type of platform and possibly need to adjust as they scale up.
Eric Broz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using HipChat in our Development and IT departments, but have had other teams migrate from Skype for Business so it's pretty much across the organization including remote users. Our Agile teams all have their own rooms. The cross-platform product is used by both our Mac and Windows users at higher rates than any previous chat client we had and it's stable and constantly online.
  • Cross-Platform support for both Windows & Mac users as well as a web-based client.
  • Small installation footprint with outstanding functionality.
  • Free version exists so you can try the product without having to purchase upfront.
  • The program sometimes locks up and has to be killed via Task Manager on the Windows side.
  • The updates are frequent, but that's part of their process.
  • Integration with Active Directory would be nice.
We were using a mix of Skype (which was not ideal because it's open to the public) and a Cisco product that was difficult to license and manage. Management needed something that would work on both Mac & Windows and we initially looked to Lync but didn't want to spend the money for it; we migrated to Office365 for Skype for Business and while it's installed on every employee's computer, it wasn't used, and our Mac users didn't like the Skype for Business interface and weren't using it. HipChat was the platform we decided on because it gets used.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep both our remote team and office teams connected. We love the ability to search, the bots, the gifs, and the ability to connect over time zones, over states, etc. We love that it is free -- allows us to collaborate. It is a good response to those who may be averse to using Slack.
  • Collaboration
  • GIFS and fun
  • Search features
  • Desktop or through browser
  • Could use less bots.
  • We dont need so many points or options to gain points.
This tool is well suited for large teams who enjoy collaborating and working together. Gets remote teams talking, sharing info, working together. I could see this tool being used on small teams all the way up to around a 100 person team. You need someone, or a few folks, to manage the tool.
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is being used across the whole organization. I'm a software developer and I use to chat and collaborate with other developers across the whole organization. We have three groups of people talking about specific topics and sharing code snippets.
  • The /code is useful to share code.
  • HipChat groups are really useful in order to get connected to people with a particular interest across the organization.
  • The Video Call, all in one tool is really nice.
  • Write code in a line with other words, for example.
  • I am using this class /code SomeClassName, and it's not working.
It's fine for everything I think.
Vladimir Salnikov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat across the whole organization to communicate with a distributed team, with members located in many corners of world - Russia, Brazil, US, Japan, India... Sometimes when problems with other messengers occurs, we also use HipChat to make video calls. Here we are missing group videocalls. So we use Skype for it, and this is the only reason to use Skype. The rest of HipChat works very well. Earlier versions of HipChat had troubles with Windows 7 x64, but nowadays it is very stable and works perfectly.
  • Storing messages history
  • Sending and storing docs
  • Stability and scalability
  • Group video calls
It is less appropriate for group video calls, which is a must for an our company. The rest is working well, even on different platforms.
I've used Hip Chat on Windows 7, Windows 10, Linux Ubuntu, Mac OS X and Android tablet - and everywhere it works perfectly! Congrats, developers team, you are great!
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HipChat across our organization for one on one and group chat. We also use it for video calls when employees work remotely.
  • The emoticons are fun and add levity to the printed word which can come across wrong.
  • Groups are hugely useful for team communication.
  • Search history is great for retrieving information from past conversations.
  • HipChat app fails to load at least once a week. This is extremely annoying.
  • Sometimes on start up it looks like no one is available.
  • Constant updates interfere with our day to day work.
It's rickety and not dependable.
November 07, 2016

HipChat Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using hipchat throughout all of our organization, we have it synchronized with bitbucket, jira and confluence. All in all it is a very complete environment to work with. It mainly lets us keep track of everything that is going and allows us to quickly reference issues (or other things).
  • Integrations with other Atlassian products as it creates a perfect work environment.
  • HipChat is stable and very reliable. We have not had connection issues to the service.
  • The video call is very useful as we don't have to switch to another application to do calls.
  • Only comes as OVA or AMI images. Doesn't come as a binary and depending on the organizations environment it can be a little tricky to deploy.
  • Better notification system while the user is offline.
HipChat is well suited for having separate conversations for teams, departments or projects.
November 02, 2016

HipChat

Anish Venugopal  PSM I | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat allows overall collaboration across teams which are collocated.
  • Communicating with offshore teams
  • Instantaneous responses
  • Send files with ease
  • Allow call facility
  • Manage notifications better
Well suited for teams split across various locations
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat is being used on a daily basis by every employee here at Dealer.com Since our company continues to grow HipChat allows us to stay in constant and instant communication with one another rather than via email.
  • Instant Communication
  • Easy to Use
  • Ability to Share Images/Files/Urls etc
  • Sometimes hipchat will show a user is offline but in fact they are not
  • HipChat will sometimes not start up right away
  • HipChat will shut down and take some time to reload
November 02, 2016

Cool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as a group chat across the whole organization between different departments. It address all technical business problems we experience.
  • Quick
  • Stays connected
  • Fairly easy to navigate
  • Constant updates on who is logged in and out
  • If I check the box to stay logged in, it will still log me out
Francis Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HipChat was used for online conversation throughout the entire company. In a lot of cases, it is much better, and of course much faster, to use than email for getting replies, making decisions, and collaborating.
  • Screen sharing was nice for when you need to quickly show somebody something.
  • History search.
  • Chat rooms.
  • Cleaner interface.
  • Better code support.
  • Easier editing/deleting of messages.
HipChat overall is a great chat client. In my opinion, one of the best options available unless you're needing to post frequent code snippets or shell instructions since the formatting options can be a bit difficult to figure out. It's great for being able to have a discussion and pull up the history later in case documentation was missed.