TrustRadius
iContact is an easy-to-use and inexpensive email marketing product that was acquired by Vocus in 2012. The product is integrated with Facebook and Twitter and is aimed at SMBs.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ej/7j/TTWF0WQOXTT1.PNGThanks for making emailing fun AND easy, iContact!Every client in our agency utilizes an email campaign platform to send out eBlasts to our audiences and each of those clients uses a service that is fit best for them - so, no solution is agency-wide, here. In the case of the Bridge Run, we reviewed several platforms before making the decision to go with iContact and it was a fantastic choice. They offer incentives for non-profits and the service they provide is above all else. We have an activation account manager that guides us through new capabilities and keeps us in line with our stats. It solves the annoying issue of emailing. It's the best email tool we've explored yet.,Our account manager keeps us up to date with our email sending statistics and provides an extra eye on the account. This helps us determine what and why open rates fluctuate and tools to keep the click-throughs UP! They offer incentives for their clients. It's the easiest and most user-friendly platform we use in the agency and when it comes to training, and execution - it's above all else!,Honestly, I think I've learned the most from iContact on email platforms -- they provide blogs that are insightful to users and when I inquire or have questions, they're quick to respond and always have a detailed explanation.,10,MailChimp and Constant Contact,100,000 to 250,000,Both,Workamajig, Salesforce App Cloud, MailChimp, SlackProfessional Company With Solid E-mail InfrastructureWe use iContact to integrate with other website tracking tools and to send e-mails to various segments of subscribers. This is used by the digital marketing department and it addresses the business opportunity of staying in touch with our customers with news and offers that are important to them. We use iContact in coordination with a dedicated account manager, which is a major difference maker for us.,Constant support from a dedicated account manager. Consistent deliverability of e-mail messages. Accurate reporting of clicks, opens and the ability to easily segment based on these.,Ability to deliver to inbox based on days/times recipient typically opens. Reports on messages being forwarded or otherwise shared. More sends per month included in plans.,9,Email marketing is always great for ROI when lists are segmented properly. Works well here. Guidance from dedicated account manager has helped increase ROI.,Robly,10,000 to 25,000,B2B,CoScheduleHelps Provide a Consistent Branding Solution for CommunicationsWe use iContact to send communications to our various audiences, including physicians and consumers. Approximately three departments in our company use the product, and it helps coordinate communications, ensure it is on brand and allows us to track open rates.,iContact is relatively easy to use, with many templates and the ability to customize templates to better fit your brand. iContact also provides excellent customer service. They have an extensive help section and my account representative is always available to answer questions. iContact provides good feedback on open rates, with downloadable reports.,Although there are different types of iContact products, the product we use is relatively basic. The spell check feature can be improved. The process to maintain and scrub mailing lists is not as obvious as I would prefer.,8,A big positive has been the fact that various departments that send communications to our primary audience are now using branded templates. Using iContact also has helped us, and other departments, better manage email lists. We are able to track open rates, change subject lines to increase open rates, and improve our communications to our audiences.,Vertical Response,Less than 10,000,B2B,Oracle Eloqua, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop,9,NoIContact is worth itMany departments use IContact to create colorful, well-designed newsletters to promote activities and events. It helps us provide information about upcoming programs and events of interest to our residents.,Versatile templates available Will create customized templates Easy to use email address collection forms,Resizing columns Subscriber sign-up forms across different user folders Spellcheck is a little cumbersome,10,Increase awareness of government activities and programs Generate more participation at special events Provide information about different departments,MailChimp,10,000 to 25,000,Both,Microsoft Access, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe PhotoshopiContact reps must wear capes and fly!We use iContact as a supplement to our current email service provider. We currently use it for online forms, registrations and newsletter management.,Customer service is wonderful! They are always helpful, guiding and available for any odd question, even if those questions are training for a newbie to the email world. Building forms for data collection and the code generator the for the site is very easy. Ensuring double opt-in is extremely straightforward. Including unsubscribe on every message automatically means we never have to worry about CAN-SPAM.,We also would like to send transactional messages which don't require an opt-out, this is a challenge with iContact. (May be a feature with pro?) The regular version of iContact doesn't support event management or logic flows for automated messaging. Custom form fields have limited field type options (can't build a drop-down).,8,No specific ROI as we use the tool for non-revenue generating activities and brand awareness campaigns.,Pardot,10,000 to 25,000,Both,Pardot, Wrike, GoToMeeting, Google Hangouts
Unspecified
iContact
66 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
TRScore

iContact Reviews

iContact
66 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 66 vetted iContact reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
May 15, 2018

Review: "Thanks for making emailing fun AND easy, iContact!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every client in our agency utilizes an email campaign platform to send out eBlasts to our audiences and each of those clients uses a service that is fit best for them - so, no solution is agency-wide, here. In the case of the Bridge Run, we reviewed several platforms before making the decision to go with iContact and it was a fantastic choice. They offer incentives for non-profits and the service they provide is above all else. We have an activation account manager that guides us through new capabilities and keeps us in line with our stats. It solves the annoying issue of emailing. It's the best email tool we've explored yet.
  • Our account manager keeps us up to date with our email sending statistics and provides an extra eye on the account. This helps us determine what and why open rates fluctuate and tools to keep the click-throughs UP!
  • They offer incentives for their clients.
  • It's the easiest and most user-friendly platform we use in the agency and when it comes to training, and execution - it's above all else!
  • Honestly, I think I've learned the most from iContact on email platforms -- they provide blogs that are insightful to users and when I inquire or have questions, they're quick to respond and always have a detailed explanation.
The platform is suited both for individuals that know little to nothing about email campaigns as well as those who work in an agency setting and are accustomed to design.
Read this authenticated review
Cameron DeJong profile photo
April 25, 2018

iContact Review: "Professional Company With Solid E-mail Infrastructure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iContact to integrate with other website tracking tools and to send e-mails to various segments of subscribers. This is used by the digital marketing department and it addresses the business opportunity of staying in touch with our customers with news and offers that are important to them. We use iContact in coordination with a dedicated account manager, which is a major difference maker for us.
  • Constant support from a dedicated account manager.
  • Consistent deliverability of e-mail messages.
  • Accurate reporting of clicks, opens and the ability to easily segment based on these.
  • Ability to deliver to inbox based on days/times recipient typically opens.
  • Reports on messages being forwarded or otherwise shared.
  • More sends per month included in plans.
Its very well-suited for enterprise or medium business size mailings and the ability to integrate with many third party tools. It is not the robust and exciting interface that you may see with competitors, so if that is important to you, it may be difficult to grasp.
Read Cameron DeJong's full review
Richard Angeloni profile photo
April 18, 2018

iContact Review: "Helps Provide a Consistent Branding Solution for Communications"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iContact to send communications to our various audiences, including physicians and consumers. Approximately three departments in our company use the product, and it helps coordinate communications, ensure it is on brand and allows us to track open rates.
  • iContact is relatively easy to use, with many templates and the ability to customize templates to better fit your brand.
  • iContact also provides excellent customer service. They have an extensive help section and my account representative is always available to answer questions.
  • iContact provides good feedback on open rates, with downloadable reports.
  • Although there are different types of iContact products, the product we use is relatively basic.
  • The spell check feature can be improved.
  • The process to maintain and scrub mailing lists is not as obvious as I would prefer.
iContact is well suited for sending and tracking communications, such as newsletters and general correspondence, to various audiences. It does not have all of the bells and whistles of an advanced email automation tool like Marketo or Eloqua. We use the product for general communications and for our purposes it does the job. We are able to see if readers click on links to our website and can track open rates. The product does not allow us to track how long they stay on our website and other web activity.
Read Richard Angeloni's full review
Todd McGee profile photo
April 25, 2018

User Review: "IContact is worth it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many departments use IContact to create colorful, well-designed newsletters to promote activities and events. It helps us provide information about upcoming programs and events of interest to our residents.
  • Versatile templates available
  • Will create customized templates
  • Easy to use email address collection forms
  • Resizing columns
  • Subscriber sign-up forms across different user folders
  • Spellcheck is a little cumbersome
IContact is well suited for sending our irregular as well as regular contacts. The templates are easy to set up, and they will work with you to create customized templates.
Read Todd McGee's full review
No photo available
April 25, 2018

User Review: "iContact reps must wear capes and fly!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iContact as a supplement to our current email service provider. We currently use it for online forms, registrations and newsletter management.
  • Customer service is wonderful! They are always helpful, guiding and available for any odd question, even if those questions are training for a newbie to the email world.
  • Building forms for data collection and the code generator the for the site is very easy.
  • Ensuring double opt-in is extremely straightforward.
  • Including unsubscribe on every message automatically means we never have to worry about CAN-SPAM.
  • We also would like to send transactional messages which don't require an opt-out, this is a challenge with iContact. (May be a feature with pro?)
  • The regular version of iContact doesn't support event management or logic flows for automated messaging.
  • Custom form fields have limited field type options (can't build a drop-down).
Its great for people just getting started with email. The builder and templates make it easy to ensure emails look great and are optimized. The coaching and assistance provided by the iContact team is unparalleled. If you need someone to help you understand email better, or take your messages to the next level, this team can do it. They even review your current messaging and provide guidance on how to improve everything from design to the subject lines.
Read this authenticated review
Charlene Botet Pelaez profile photo
September 14, 2015

User Review: "iContact - I like it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iContact was being used to address marketing and promotion for a consulting job I was assigned to. This was a general contractor who wanted to promote sites and completed projects to current, potential and clients that did not know of them. It was used by the Marketing firm handling their PR and it was being used as an outreach tool.
  • It allows for multiple audience databases.
  • It allows for multiple document structures and designs (internal and imported)
  • User friendly and ease of use
  • Access to help for functions could be more readily available within the various areas of content. This would prevent users from having to go to the help area and away from where they are working.
  • Easing limitations on how many users could be sent blasts at one given time.
iContact is well suited for small to medium organizations and allows for customization which goes above and beyond the average online marketing tool. It would be well suited for internal departments within a large organization as well doing it's own marketing. When perusing marketing tools for your business, always look at what you are sending, where you are sending it and to whom, ensuring the tool you choose can accommodate all needs required.
Read Charlene Botet Pelaez's full review
Zeenath Haniff profile photo
April 30, 2015

Review: "iContact - Easy way to connect to contacts"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customer service is beyond expectations. Every representative has full knowledge of every aspect of the program and provides detailed instructions including links. They are prompt and courteous each time as well as patient, staying online to chat until the entire issue is resolved.
  • iContact is easy to use by providing building blocks in the form of modules. It is rather simple to move blocks of text or add new text boxes.
  • Linking directly to social media is an intelligent way of instantly extending the reach of an email marketing piece. Having all major social media platforms through iContact also makes it easier to track.
  • Tracking reports does the work for you, making iContact a one-stop shop for email marketing purposes. It is easy to see if the email marketing piece is truly reaching the target audience.
  • Copying and pasting text can only be done using keyboard functions. The right-click drop-down menu exists but does not work, rendering the menu useless.
  • Readjusting the size of boxes isn't easy and requires manipulating the program to get exactly the right look, which takes up an unnecessary amount of time.
  • Lack of space for image storage reduces efficiency.
iContact provides easy-to-use templates for those who are not familiar with HTML coding or advanced users can utilize the Message Coder to truly customize email marketing campaigns. Things to consider are certainly the purpose of the email marketing piece, target audience (contacts can be categorized in iContact), level of customer service (instant messaging with an actual representative is quick and painless), storage capacity (better to upgrade if in need of many images) and marketing needs (tracking reports can narrow down the number of emails clicked, opened, bounced, etc.).
Read Zeenath Haniff's full review
Mark Tuttle profile photo
July 07, 2015

Review: "iContact, inexpensive, but in need of some serious improvement."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used iContact on a daily basis to send a high volume of emails, either through broadcast sends or and autoresponder email series. Email is our main source of communication with customers. We have various different strategies from early lead conversion, to reoccurring purchasers to inform them of new product releases. Without email we would not be able to spread the word of our business or acquire new customers.
  • They are inexpensive
  • Their HTML editing software is great for new users
  • Easy to manage various lists for large number of broadcast sends
  • Testing emails is quick and easy
  • They are not in a hurry to improve their platform. Their software is the same today as it was 3 years ago when we first signed up with them (an eternity in internet years)
  • Their analytics are sparse, if you want to know more than just general open and click rates then look somewhere else.
  • Deliverability is terrible. If you use iContact expect to be sent in the spam folder for all your Gmail and Hotmail clients.
iContact is great for anyone with less than 10,000 leads; any more than that - look elsewhere. You will want to make sure that you have well-engaged users that like to open and click your emails. If you do then your reputation may be good enough to avoid the spam folder. But the main problem is iContact uses a shared IP address for all their users, so if your emails land on the same IP as someone with a terrible reputation, you will be forced to send with them and your mail to inbox ratio will take a massive hit.
Read Mark Tuttle's full review
Richard MacRae profile photo
March 10, 2015

iContact: "Maybe if you're a begining novice but if you know what clickthrough rates or A/B test are, don't waste your time."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used iContact to send our retail and wholesale email newsletters for over 5 years.
  • Their deliverability was very good, our bounce rate averaged less than 2% and open rates were better than the email provider we moved to after we left iContact.
  • The user interface was relatively simple and easy to use, with only a couple exceptions it's very intuitive.
  • They have a large selection of templates to choose from, both completely blank and themed with graphics. Example: want to send a 4th of July themed email? Go into the email templates and they'll have several with fireworks and flags decorating the background and/or borders, all you have to do is plug in your main content and not worry about spending time "decorating" the email.
  • The amount of free storage they provide for hosting the images in your email is better than some of the others out there so if you need to store a lot of images for your emails it's easy to do within iContact and avoid using a third party hosting service, which complicates the email building process.
  • Very weak reporting. Example: they calculate click through rates based off of the number of emails you send, not off the number of people who opened the email and actually saw the links in your email. Because of this a poor open rate results in a poor click through rate, even if 100% of the people who read your email clicked on your link. If you're not aware how they're calculating this it could lead you to make some very poor decisions based on their misleading stats.
  • There is no automated A/B testing feature. You have to export your list, segment it in a spreadsheet, label each segment, then upload the segments, now you have the lists for the test emails and the main segment for the winner. Next you create the two versions of the email and send them. After you have collected enough data you have to examine the stats and choose a winner, then send it to your main segment. Both of the other email providers I've tired since have an automated A/B testing feature, create the test emails, the software segments your list, sends the test, waits for the data to come in, then sends the winner out to the remainder of your list. While they do have limitations, it's far easier than iContact.
  • They don't have any built in rendering or testing mechanism to see how your emails will look in Gmail vs.Yahoo, or a mobile device. If you want to do this you either have to use a third party service that you upload or send the email to or you can create various email accounts and send test emails to each, then log into each account to see how your email is displayed.
If you're a novice at mass email iContact could be good for you (I started with them in '09 with 410 subscribers) but as your list grows and you gain a better understanding of some of the intricacies of email marketing you'll become aware of it's many limitations. That's how it happened for me. If you're already practiced in mass emails and have a larger list then I'd definitely say this isn't for you. I just should have moved on years earlier so I could take advantage of the much more advanced features many other email providers offer.
Read Richard MacRae's full review
David A Taylor profile photo
February 25, 2015

iContact Review: "Best. Email Marketing Suite. Ever"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use UI makes building your emails a breeze!
  • The list import and building process is click and go.
  • The Spam check is one of the simple and most accurate that I have ever used.
  • If you are like me and prefer to build your own HTML and self-host then iContact is the best here. Nothing strange happens to the code when you import; click and go!
  • Added support for CSS Styles would be GREAT.
  • A device/client simulator for various devices and platforms would be awesome too!
  • Improve the list removal/editing process; its a little cumbersome.
iContact is my go to; What do you need to do? Do you audit your spam compliance, do you need a tool that provides great suggestions on how to optimize your emails for filters? Do you build your own or need a library of templates? how much Mobile support do you need? iContact might be the tool for you!
Read David A Taylor's full review
Peggy Lutz profile photo
February 03, 2015

User Review: "IContact Uses Shady Billing Practices"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using iContact as our email marketing service, to send monthly newsletters to our email mailing list. It facilitates regular contact with our customer base, introduces new products and makes clients aware of special sales events and what's new with Peggy Lutz Plus.
  • This kind of email service is relatively easy to use as it offers templates and modules.
  • Emails go out quickly and easily.
  • Updates to the mailing list are made by the service, including deletions and new subscribers.
  • Customer service at iContact is seriously lacking.
  • iContact overcharged me for two years of service and refused to issue a reasonable refund.
There are many similar email services to consider, and after my recent experience, I feel robbed by iContact and cannot recommend them to colleagues.
Read Peggy Lutz's full review
Kevin Fritz profile photo
December 30, 2014

User Review: "Make Contact with iContact"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact allows you to store a large number of images (5,000 KB) within your account without upgrading or paying an add-on fee. I do manage and pay for an FTP site with another brand, which I use to maintain my website and store images on as well; however, iContact saves me the time (and money) of going back and forth from an FTP site to my e-newsletter.
  • I am very happy with the lack of bugs or idiosyncrasies I have experienced with other programs. Paragraphs don't shift on their own, WYSIWYG, so there are not surprises when it is finally sent out to my audience.
  • Even if I have not logged in for a while, it remembers me. That is beyond convenient, and after two years, I have no reason to believe it is not secure.
  • I would really like a way to put captions under any image at any time. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.
  • All of my previous e-newsletters do not show under the Messages tab. They do show up under "Email-Re-use." It may be that I am reusing my previous message each time to keep the template in order.
  • A separate archive folder would be handy, a la Constant Contact.
The questions to ask when deciding on any e-newsletter program include finding out what the base price includes and how much add-ons and upgrades will cost. Also, you need to know support will be with you 24/7 and that you can rely on the program not crashing, causing you to lose your work. If there is something specific you want the program to do, ask about it and make sure it is exactly what you want.
Read Kevin Fritz's full review
Matthew Crandall profile photo
December 01, 2014

iContact Review: "Mass Emailing for Non-Profit Advocacy Organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact makes it easy to send organized and professional looking emails to our network.
  • Clean data layout - bounces, no info, unsubscribe, etc.
  • Templates for all occasions and the flexibility to use HTML to edit the templates.
  • Segments are not user friendly. Need to improve by allowing multiple selections i.e. for state you should be able to say "Either NY, NJ, PA, or CT".
  • Photo editing - should be able to resize when uploading.
  • Uniform HTML layout across outlook, gmail, etc.
How many users? How many emails per month? Do you know HTML? How are your lists segmented? How often will you be sending emails? How many different formats do you need?
Read Matthew Crandall's full review
Malarie Knox profile photo
November 22, 2013

iContact Review: "A Fine ESP Option for Beginners"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Segmenting Lists: iContact makes it very easy to segment contact lists into subsegments, so you can better target your audience with specific email communication.
  • Customer Service: All email service providers give the best customer service in the beginning of your contract. iContact provides excellent customer service for the entire extent of your contract.
  • Creating and Editing Email Templates: I've used a few ESPs in my experience, and iContact was the easiest to use when creating and editing emails in both visual and html modes.
  • Email Automation: iContact provides many options for setting up triggers that automatically add contacts to lists and allows you to email them a series of timed emails - minimal coding required.
  • Email Automation Customization - you can't dictate what time of day the emails go out. Also, once you automatically add users to a list, you can't automatically remove them (for example - you may want to remove contacts from a list after they have been converted).
  • Site Speed - My company used iContact extensively, and it was very slow at times, which was frustrating.
  • Deliverability Testing - iContact doesn't have the best deliverability testing, which can be harmful for your domain's reputation.
iContact is better than a lot of the other ESPs out there, but it's not the best, and I don't believe it's always the cheapest. The good thing about iContact is that they are committed to constant improvement of their product/service. When searching for an ESP you should have an estimate of how many contacts you expect to accumulate and how many emails you plan on sending because this will help you save a lot of money (different ESPs have different pricing structures) and time in the future (you don't want to have to switch ESPs if your business outgrows iContact).
Read Malarie Knox's full review
Tamara Guion-Yagy profile photo
December 10, 2013

"iContact Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Out of all the direct marketing tools available, iContact has the most flexibility in the area of design for my projects. I think their templates look great and I like being able to customize them for my projects.
  • iContact has top notch customer service, and they have always been knowledgeable and helpful.
  • Their website was a little difficult to navigate initially. They've made improvements since I first signed up, but I still think that there are areas where it could be much more intuitive than it is.
  • Occasionally, some of templates can act a little buggy. I've had to start over on some projects because things like borders or font color will appear one way in the message builder, and then when the message is tested and viewed in email, will be a different color. I've never been able to fix this, and I believe it might be errors in code.
  • We often publish newsletters in multiple languages and it would be helpful to be able to work on two messages at once. I've tried this in the past all to find out that one version was not able to be saved.
My advice would be to spend some time getting acquainted with the site and experiment with the templates initially before sending anything out to clients.
Read Tamara Guion-Yagy's full review
Annie Schmidt profile photo
December 06, 2013

iContact Review: "Good from far, but far from good"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact provides you with easily customized templates that have a professional look about them.
  • Since we have frequent turnover, the ability to view previous drafts and sent messages helps us maintain information about previous marketing strategies. We can also reuse the templates if we found something was successful.
  • We appreciate the integration with our CRM tool so that we can collect more information on what our clients are interested in.
  • Once you start using a template, you cannot easily transition it to a new template or format.
  • Does not maintain integrity of design when sent to Outlook.
  • There are several times where font will be hard to change or extra spacing will appear within the document.
  • Sometimes text will jump as you are typing and you will be typing in a section you did not want to.
I would let the colleague know that it can be very frustrating to work with, especially when manipulating text. If the colleague has experience with HTML, then I would definitely suggest this product because it is easier to work with from that design perspective. The benefit is that it is also easy to figure out and use even if you don't have a tech background. The majority of our clients use Microsoft Office, which makes it hard to configure a message based on what it will look like in the email message. It works great with Gmail and Hotmail.
Read Annie Schmidt's full review
Niamh Bennett profile photo
November 25, 2013

User Review: "iContact Hits and Misses"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact is great at allowing email list so be segmented, allowing a user to target their audience with specific niche emails.
  • iContact has a large image library, which allows for plenty of visuals to be added to emails.
  • iContact has a good customer support team. They are always available by phone or email to answer questions.
  • iContact does not allow attachements to be included along with the main body of the email, which can be frustrating.
  • The visual aspects of the email such as logos and images sometimes do not show, depending on the type of device which is opening the email e.g. Blackberry
  • I have noticed that the tracking feature of iContact does not always accuratly depict the number of users who's email bounced, opened etc.
For a colleague considering this product, I would ask them to discuss options with regards to sending videos and email attachments along with the email. Not being able to send attachements has proved problematic for our company at times. I would also ask them to look into the providers tracking mechanisms and make sure that they are as accurate as possible.
Read Niamh Bennett's full review
Sage Bronzino profile photo
November 23, 2013

Review: "iContact is perfect for small businesses!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact enables small companies to have professional looking communications without a big marketing department or in house graphic designer. It is easy to use, affordable, and we are able to control the look and feel (i.e. our branding).
  • The ability to send information to a large contact list, using their spam filters and settings, is something smaller companies can not achieve on their own. The unsubscribe button enables us to manage our contact list and communicate effectively with those who we know have opted in.
  • The online contact list truely is a cloud based version, so we have peace of mind that it is being backed up and stored off of our internal databases & server.
  • The design tools are intuitive - you need not be a technical wiz to produce powerful graphics and top notch marketing presentations to your audience.
  • Sometimes if you selected the preview screen, it would not save your updates. Would be nice to have a "stop" feature where you are prompted to save your work prior to changing to a different screen to ensure it saves.
In order to use this product, you have to have a basic understanding of how to upload a graphic or create a template. That said, the tutorials can assist you in becoming more sophisticated in your abilities.
Read Sage Bronzino's full review
Karen DiMora profile photo
November 22, 2013

iContact Review: "Messaging made easy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use.
  • Variety of templates to suite different engagements.
  • Integration with Salesforce.
  • Good statistical information for analysis.
  • Responsive customer service.
  • I always want to see more templates!
  • Better graphics.
  • I have issues importing content.
Usability. What are you looking to accomplish for your lead generation and marketing programs. Ask the question, test the product before you make decisions. View the competition and compare equally both from a functionality perspective and if integration and customer service are critical to your plans. What type of target are you looking to hit? How broad is your customer base?
Read Karen DiMora's full review
Nicholas Blumenberg profile photo
November 21, 2013

User Review: "'iContact' you made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Their sales team very helpful throughout my initial research into choosing this product. They were very insightful and detailed.
  • I like how easy it is to use this product versus other large comparable email services. I have yet to have a problem and I am sending a large number of messages.
  • When I do have questions about the capabilities, or features, the support team is very easy to reach. They have great training opportunities.
  • It is very easy to integrate social media into your messages and bring multiple campaigns together.
  • I enjoy seeing the metrics that they provide.
  • It would be slightly more affordable to have more contacts at a lower price point, as each tier is different.
  • It does seem that there are certain email platforms that either bounce or get marked as spam much more then others. It is difficult to find which ones until you conduct your own research.
  • When lists that are marked as spam exceed 0.01 percent, the list is added to a do not mail list. This is frustrating, however this is also a federally enforced metric.
If you are sending out many thousands of messages, this is the way to go.
Read Nicholas Blumenberg's full review
Sue Ann Scharon profile photo
November 21, 2013

User Review: "uContact so iContact"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact provides e-mail templates that look aesthetically pleasing and professional.
  • The capability to maintain your database is easy and streamlined.
  • The analytics provide insightful information that helps any online marketing professional improve their campaigns.
  • The analytics feature is only available for "upgraded" accounts, and this feature should be made available to all accounts.
  • Incorporating some automation features. For example, if someone clicks on a link embedded within an e-mail campaign, an additional e-mail gets triggered.
I would definitely recommend the product to a colleague. The questions to ask when selecting an online e-mail campaign platform are:
Does it provide the templates that will fulfill my campaign needs?
Does the product provide social media compatibility?
Does the product provide analytics?
Read Sue Ann Scharon's full review
Angie Norris profile photo
November 21, 2013

iContact Review: "Best-in-Class Email Marketing Campaign Tool for Lead Gen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact is a well-designed email marketing software with a great selection of campaign management, design, and analytics tools.
  • iContact for Salesforce is a great integration tool that allows me to run campaigns within Salesforce with all of the luxuries of iContact.
  • The iContact support team is extremely responsive, provide support with world class customer service, and have saved me from spending time on technical research.
  • The design tools are easy to use and the ability to use both HTML and WYSIWYG is nice, however some of the design elements do not publish correctly from time to time.
iContact is a great tool for all levels of expertise and has an intuitive interface that allows for all users to have confidence in running, designing, and analyzing email marketing campaigns.
Read Angie Norris's full review
Sherienne Jackman profile photo
December 10, 2013

User Review: "iContact Fanatic"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I really love the "ease" of use of creating mailing lists and updating contact info of subscribers.
  • The ability to preview emails provides me with a chance to correct and revise without having html background.
  • I would like to add words that are business/organization related to the spell check function.
I would definitely recommend. I like the way it integrates with our CRM, Salesforce. One question I would ask would be to find out if they have an in house graphic designer to help assist with any design changes to HTML?
Read Sherienne Jackman's full review
Leah Ackerman profile photo
November 21, 2013

iContact Review: "Email Marketing Made Easy Peasy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The templates are fantastic and simple, especially for those of us who are graphically-challenged.
  • iContact does a great job of checking for keywords that will flag your messages as "spam" and easily allows changes to be made.
  • I occasionally have trouble when formatting messages. For example, moving blocks of text around. There could be improved user functionality there.
My first question would be how tech-savvy they are. And, how much time they're willing to invest in designing their own messages. iContact makes it very easy to have little to no experience and still produce effective, powerful content.
Read Leah Ackerman's full review
Nathan Peters profile photo
November 21, 2013

Review: "Using iContact for Marketing to Professionals"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • iContact provides great tools for managing my e-mail contact list
  • iContact allows me to focus on the message I want to send, rather than on the mechanics of sending it
  • iContact give me the tools to customize what I want to say and who I want to say it to
  • Much of the benefit in iContact depends upon setting it up properly at the start. If you begin without a clear idea of what you are doing, you'll have to go back and redo all of the work.
  • Much of the information regarding delivery effectiveness depends upon feedback that most corporate e-mail systems don't allow to be collected
  • The online message editor has a jerky, unstable feel to it. I prefer to write my message in outlook or a word processing application and then paste it into the editor to minimize the amount of work I have to do in it.
Understand how you should organize your contacts to reflect the types of marketing efforts you want to undertake. Also think about how frequently you will be communicating with your contacts. Although iContact is designed for use by a non-IT marketer, there may be some opportunity to do even more valuable work by including IT resources. One example would be linking iContact to other existing applications for order management.
Read Nathan Peters's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (8)
8.0
Dynamic content (6)
8.5
Ability to test dynamic content (6)
7.7
Landing pages (4)
8.0
A/B testing (6)
9.7
Mobile optimization (6)
9.4
Email deliverability (8)
9.4
List management (8)
8.8
Triggered drip sequences (3)
7.3
Dashboards (8)
8.8
Standard reports (8)
9.0
Custom reports (3)
10.0

About iContact

iContact is an easy-to-use and inexpensive email marketing product that was acquired by Vocus in 2012. The product is integrated with Facebook and Twitter and is aimed at SMBs.
Categories:  Email Marketing

iContact Integrations

iContact Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

iContact Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No