Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform Reviews

107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

Mark Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Brand Monitoring and Influencer Outreach for Intermediate Social Marketers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meltwater is a great tool for finding, archiving and managing your Influencer marketing efforts. In just minutes, you can use their database of over 1 million influencer accounts to filter, sort and prospect new nano, micro, macro, and high profile accounts that correlate with your brand. They also provide additional packages with different social listening tools as well.
  • Easy to find new influencers.
  • Provides easy-to-use tags for updating status of current relationships.
  • Influencer profile count is set at 50 for basic account, would like to have much more.
  • Very expensive compared to beginner programs like Mention or Hootsuite.
I would ask to definitely research and way their options as well as budget before purchasing. The contract starts as a year-long commitment so make sure you chat in-depth with your rep about the different features you have available to you. It can be very helpful, but if your company isn't big enough, it may not be worth the cost for you.
Read Mark Anderson's full review
Alexis Ramsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Get Meltwater... If You Like Pushy Reps and Want Things to Fall Apart Quickly...

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team (6 support specialists) and I used Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform to engage with a social audience of 2M+ and schedule LinkedIn posts on occasion. We switched to Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform from Salesforce, and that was a mistake. Setting up Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform was easy, and technical support was attentive, but within three months, glitches began to arise, and my team was unhappy with the software as a whole.
  • Setup of social profiles and adding users is a quick process that was easy to understand without any formal training or directions.
  • Scheduling content across social platforms is straightforward and utilizes a drag and drop option, which is quick and effective.
  • Technical support can be reached within the software, so putting in a request ticket from multiple users is helpful.
  • Software is glitchy when it comes to actions taken on native (i.e., liking posts) and having them register on Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform promptly. This made for a lot of "double-tapping" from our team for engagement.
  • The reps for Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform are not helpful and continued to be pushy about selling more services, getting a contract renewal, and contacting team members that were not the point of contact.
  • The number of users for the cost you pay is limited. With other services, the number of seats is usually enough, but with Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform, it was constantly "for another $1000, here's another user" even though the software cost was well above competitors.
If you are already familiar with Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform and switching to a competitor would cause a hardship for your team in terms of labor, then stick with it. However, if you could use more ODC budget, want reps (we went through 3) that are not pushy and listen to your concerns, or want a software that has more training capabilities built-in for your team, then I can't recommend Meltwater.
Read Alexis Ramsey's full review
Jason Mollica | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Outside Insight means Advantage YOU with Digital, Social Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meltwater's dynamic digital and social media analytics platform to help educate and prepare students in American University's School of Communication to stay on top of today's ever-changing world. In 2017, we launched a digital analytics class to address specific student requests to be more versed in how to understand the billions of online conversations.
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Clear and customizable graphs for analytics reports
  • Customer service is top-notch
  • None to speak of at the time of submitting the review
Meltwater's platform is really effective for any sized business. However, your client and/or business should be aware that any intelligence platform is not cheap. That stated, my students have used Meltwater for digital and social communications campaign projects, monitoring how wide our class chats spread, and digging deeper into conversation data on Twitter.
Read Jason Mollica's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Media Analysis Comes With A High Price

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Meltwater for a couple of clients who have had a relationship with them for multiple years. It is only being used in our digital team's department. It does address a reporting need, but only by specific use cases.
  • The publications pulled are relatively good.
  • There is limited stock noise that pulls through.
  • Meltwater is a media intelligence platform based on keywords and Boolean search strings that most media analytics professionals in Public Relations are familiar with. It does do a good job of pulling in quality publications, but the UI and platform restrictions are so frustrating. You cannot overwrite the boolean like many other providers, you have a search cap limit as well as a metric limit on a particular dashboard, and the reports are not interactive.
  • You cannot overwrite the Boolean.
  • The UI is not visually appealing and there are many restrictions.
I've used tons of other flexible platforms with way more capabilities for a cheaper price. It may be a great secondary tool to have, but definitely not a primary tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Meltwater Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Meltwater as a search and monitoring tool for the entire organization. It allows us to know when our brand is mentioned in the news media and the potential reach for any of our proactive efforts. We have also recently started using Meltwater as a way to connect with journalists or other sources who may be interested in the content we are developing.
  • Meltwater has a good reach and makes it easy to add new media sources if they do not pick up brand mentions natively.
  • The account support has always been good with Meltwater and we can typically resolve problems quickly.
  • Meltwater has an easy-to-use interface that makes it simple to get started.
  • It would be nice to have more customization available with the dashboards and other widgets.
  • I recently learned that you can create influencer lists from the general search results. It would be helpful to make that more clear for users.
  • I wish there was an easier way to set up the boolean searches. Account managers are great to help but it seems like there has to be a way to make it easy for novices to get a search set up correctly.
As with any product or service, you need to determine whether Meltwater is truly going to meet your needs. It has a lot of features and the add-ons continue to grow. If you do not have a way to track brand mentions and to search news outlets for information that is relevant to your industry, Meltwater is a great option to consider. If this is not important for your organization, it may not be needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

Deceptive auto-renewal technique

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meltwater for media monitoring purposes in order to identify new leads for our Sales Reps, observe competitors activity in digital and social media & measure the impact of our publications. The tool is used solely by the Marketing department that feeds all the above info to the Management and Sales Director.
  • Interaface is very user-friendly
  • Dashboard
  • Nothing More...
  • Customer Service
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Search Engine
Deceptive auto-renewal clause in their contract which was never communicated by the company nor the Sales Rep who actually throughout the first year of the contract tried to renew our subscription on multiple occasions, indicating that they need our permission to extend the length of the contract.

Very poor Customer service that is focused only on the gains for the company. Appalling e-mail contact.

The search feed received is way over the top and doesn't always correspond to set up the search. This is in order to boost the number of results so the end Customer has the feeling of good investment. In the end, your reporting will take much longer as you have to go through a lot of noise news which normally wouldn't appear in there in the first place.
Read this authenticated review
Matar Gueye | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

Meltwater: Smart Media Monitoring

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Meltwater to monitor the media coverage that is generated around the freight railroad industry across the nation. We use the platform to compile comprehensive reports that we share with internal and external stakeholders. We also use the platform to monitor our online presence, particularly social media. We use the engage program to proactively push out content as well as pull reports and measure authority and engagement rates.
  • Assesses the scale of an event: When there is a major event that earns media, especially national media we need to know how large the story is going to get. We are able to aggregate coverage across the nation to determine the level of effort we will need to push back or shape a particular story. This is a valuable insight that allows us to prioritize our efforts.
  • Clips: We need to know what is being said about our industry at all times. Meltwater allows us to have real-time insight on mentions and stories that are being published across the nation. We are able to share this content with our subject matter experts daily who alert the communicators of potential issues. This content also helps us proactively create content.
  • Monitors social: We need to know what is being said about our industry on social media, particularly important for our industry as we operate in communities small and large across the nation. Meltwater allows us to aggregate the thousands of messages and mentions we receive so that we can focus on monitoring those accounts that have a higher authority and influence level.
  • Logins: If you have more than one product from Meltwater you have to login into different portals. Not a huge deal except I cannot save my password for each one because my computer recognizes both portals as the same website, so if the passwords vary it won't save them.
  • Dashboard: There could be more modules to choose from that could enhance the reporting capabilities.
  • Add-ons: I know it is the name of the game but there are a lot of added paid features. Meltwater could benefit from beefing up their basic package with more features for their users.
Meltwater is well suited for any organization that wants to know where it stands in the world it operates. Reputation is everything and with an ever-evolving media landscape, it is important to invest in a tool that can keep up.
Read Matar Gueye's full review
Brianna Zambrano | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

Meltwater is a helpful platform for businesses

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meltwater has been very helpful in catching social posts that mention our brand. Most of them may have included our name misspelled or not tagged properly. This has helped stay ahead of the curve for good and bad exposure.

  • Building dashboards is very simple
  • Communicating with the Meltwater support team is easy
  • Monitoring social channels and media channels is simple
  • More reporting functions for growth management on social channels
  • Better auto identity of positive and negative sentiment
  • Cheaper pricing for buying the whole monitoring and social planning packaging
I think pricing is a little high for most companies but the options for monitoring both social and media channels is great. Adding pieces onto your package is simple but it does come with a cost. Meltwater was great at building a package for everything but it is still generally the most expensive company on the market for monitoring.
Read Brianna Zambrano's full review
Abbey Dufoe | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

I love Meltwater for Media Tracking!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization to track media pickups about our organization and our programs. It addresses how we're seen in the media and social media. We also track trends with keywords to see how other organizations are writing about topics we care about so we can stay ahead.
  • Tracks media mentions
  • Tracks social media
  • Exports journalists and sources
  • The ability to edit things within the platform. I have to export all my searches, which is cumbersome
It's great for tracking how your company is doing in the media, across social media channels, and for figuring out how to reach people through their listening tools. By tracking certain keywords, you can see what your competition is writing about, which is very helpful. However, it's not helpful in sentiment analysis if you're writing about something negative like "climate change", which is mostly always negative. We just ignore that part of the platform.
Read Abbey Dufoe's full review
Wesley Polk Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

User-Friendly Platform, Customer Service & Product Updates Make for a Great Expereince

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform is utilized by the Marketing Department at Visit Frisco. It allows us to track media mentions of not only our organization, but our media efforts to promote our events and tourism partners here in Frisco.
  • The Meltwater platform is extremely user-friendly. I like the simplicity of the navigation, layout and search functions.
  • The search capabilities are great. I can narrow my search of a particular media contact down to topic, location and event see previous published works to determine if they're a relevant source to our efforts.
  • We utilize the Dashboard and widgets within them daily. We love to see our potential reach, estimated ad value, content stream, etc. It really shows us in real time that our efforts are achieving real results.
  • The ability to create more searches without added cost would be nice. Or the ability to freeze/hold searches in order to add more without adding to total... we have annual events that we only track for a certain amount of time, so I'm having to save those search terms and delete them in order for us to track new things that are upcoming.
  • When sending an alert/release through outreach, I wish there was a way when selecting recipients, to see and select individual names from saved lists (without having to know the name). Sometimes we have something to send out that we want to send to a few specific people from several lists. We end up having to go back to saved lists, selecting those people and creating an entirely new list, which we end up deleting because it's never always the same people.
The usability and reporting are the biggest things I share with colleagues when asked about the platform. Meltwater's customer service is also extremely high and something worth noting.
Read Wesley Polk Lucas's full review
Stacy Howard | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

Keeping track of our coverage!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform as a media contact and outreach hub, and to monitor our media coverage. We also use the platform to run detailed reports to present to our employees and board.
  • Great customer service, staff are very knowledgeable and helpful.
  • The platform saves us a lot of time and energy by creatively organizing our contacts so we can quickly and easily send releases.
  • We appreciate the platform staying updated and relevant, constantly keeping it user-friendly and to fit our organization's needs.
  • We would love to be able to "select all" when we send releases to our contacts. We have so many groups and currently have to check off each one.
Perfect platform if you have hundreds + contacts and if you need reports and specific news monitoring.
Read Stacy Howard's full review
Courtney Glode | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2017

Stay far away if you're looking for reliable broadcast monitoring

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses media monitoring tools daily, and were sold Meltwater on the promise that it would replace our current media monitoring subscription with real-time results. This was false advertising as this was not the product we received.
  • Social media monitoring
  • Online news monitoring
  • Poor customer support
  • Service is not as described by sales team
  • Very poor broadcast monitoring
  • Ineffective software
Meltwater's social media monitoring and online web monitoring is useful. However, if you're looking for reliable and timely broadcast monitoring stay far, far away.
Read Courtney Glode's full review
Avery Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2017

Meltwater does the trick!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our public relations department uses Meltwater for tracking media mentions as well as sending out press releases. We track media mentions from syndicated writers, bloggers, and websites as well as social media mentions on Facebook and Twitter. Press releases are sent out monthly to journalists and editors. We are able to construct a list of contacts to reach out to with our release based on their company, their role, their genre of writing and even a keyword search allows us to find journalists who have written about a certain keyword/topic recently.
  • Keyword Search - We are able to find who has recently written about a topic. This allows us to target those who have been recently interested in what we are writing about in our release. It is also a way for us to expand our contact list to reach people who may be writing outside of their normal beat/genre.
  • Search Function - We take advantage of several saved searches that track media mentions. This uses boolean logic to get us the exact results we are looking for. The search function is also great for searching for mentions of our competitors, narrowing our search to a specific product we may have done a campaign on or a more broad topic outside of our company alone.
  • Reporting - Meltwater allows us to set up our own customized reports that are emailed to us on a regular basis that we request.
  • Dashboard - Each user is able to set up a dashboard (homepage) for the platform with the reporting functions that are specific to what we are interested in or need to be aware of. This is a great day-to-day update of our media mentions.
  • Their tracking system for media mentions isn't perfect - we have stumbled across several posts mentioning our company/product that were not picked up by the platform. While frustrating, we send these URLs to our rep and their tech team ensures that that website will be monitored moving forward.
Meltwater is great for pulling together reports of our media mentions - both on the web and social media. It is great to report to management and the entire company where we are getting visibility on the internet.

Sending out press releases is not only easy, but there is also great value in the ability to reach a wider journalist and editor base.

A list of media contacts is very beneficial for a search of current employees when looking for a contact to reach out to. This allows us to reach out to new contacts to form a relationship with.
Read Avery Harris's full review
Jake Neeley | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2017

Meltwater - Good for the Price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The communications team at my company primarily uses Meltwater for the media database. It has a few other functions but at the end of the day we hope to connect with specific people so Meltwater provides the data to do so. Currently it is used only by the communications team as no other team currently has a need.
  • Up to date contact information. It is actually relevant and active info, not always the case with others.
  • The user interface is better than most tools. While not perfect, it's pretty easy to figure out how to get what you want.
  • Their support is excellent. Anytime I've needed help I can call, but better than this, they proactively call and assist.
  • Their media monitoring leaves a little to be desired. I find Google Alerts gets as much as they do.
  • I wish I could use this more as a CRM but the only thing you can do is create lists and simple notes of your contacts.
  • They offer bulk emailing but it's very easy for a recipient to know if they are part of a mass email. Mass emails are not encouraged anyway but this is one of their "selling features."
Meltwater works if you need an easy way to find contact info for people of influence. That's where they excel. I would not get it if you are only working with the same individuals from the same places. Growing your network is where this tool really comes to benefit a PR professional.
Read Jake Neeley's full review
David Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2017

Meltwater, coffee -- a good way to start the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meltwater is used to track our media placements and to build distribution lists for press releases and media pitches. It's currently used by strategic communications, the primary marketing and communications hub for the University of Alabama. Our athletics department is also a Meltwater client.

We switched to Meltwater News roughly three years ago because of the platform and the amount of media contacts provided. The ability to see what reporters have written in the last six months helps build more effective distribution lists than our previous service. The clipping component of Meltwater also finds placements on obscure trade or science sites that don't show up in Google alerts.

I compile our clips each morning and generate a report for our department. I also provide support for colleagues who use the service.
  • Meltwater does a tremendous job of locating domestic and international placements of research-based stories we promote, particularly from science and trade websites.
  • The most beneficial to me is the media contacts dashboard. It's simple to search for reporters via name, beat or outlet. I'm able to organize distribution lists and retrieve them in the future. The option that really sold me was the ability to see what reporters have recently written. So much more efficient than assuming a reporter is actually on the beat, and having to Google multiple keywords to vet them.
  • The dashboards are so easy to navigate and customize, and the analytics are so detailed now. We get daily reports and get graphs to determine trends in coverage, which helps shape our expectations for coverage of annual events.
  • While the platform has seemingly unlimited options, it takes a while to learn. Our product support representative has been really helpful in web tutorials, and the Knowledge Base documents explain some things in detail, but it may be helpful for Meltwater to publish videos of them navigating the site.
  • Meltwater finds obscure placements, but it misses many on prominent web sites. In the last month, it's missed stories on Forbes, New York Times, Huffington Post and Bloomberg.
  • Meltwater can improve its updating of media contacts. I think they do this annually, but I average six or seven dead email addresses for every 25 reporters whenever I build a distribution list.
If you're looking to build a distribution list quickly and correctly, Meltwater is tremendously helpful. If you're a communications specialist tasked with tracking multiple facets of your brand, Meltwater's customizable dashboards and organization will shave significant time spent tracking placements and social media. Our office hasn't made the transition to using Meltwater to distribute our releases, but the option will allow us to track the number of opens and for how long, which will help us determine the success of our distribution. We're really excited about this feature.
Read David Miller's full review
Lance Cranmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2017

Meltwater has been a success for me

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization switched to Meltwater in 2015 after many years of using a different service and we have been very happy with it. For my role in public and media relations, I primarily use Meltwater as a way to keep an ear to the ground for things going on in our industry. Meltwater provides each customer with a personal adviser who stays in contact and regularly sets up call-in meetings to run through new features and answer any questions about features that I may not have experience using.

The first thing we did is set up daily e-mails that come directly from Meltwater. One e-mail contains any mention of our organization in any publication around the country. The second e-mail sends me industry news that is focused on terms that our adviser and I set up. While these industry term e-mails aren't always of direct impact to me, once in a while they are a great help.

The other major thing that I personally use Meltwater for is finding media contacts in specific markets. If we have an event or something big going on in a specific city or area, I can use Meltwater's search functions to find contacts who write about certain topics and Meltwater has all of their contact information. It saves a great deal of time that I used to spend sorting through search results on individual media websites.

Meltwater also has a wealth of information available to users about total mentions, positive vs. negative tones, and all sorts of other useful items. I don't always need these things, but when our organizational leadership asks for the, Meltwater makes it very easy for me to grab them quickly and show people valuable information. I recommend using this tool for media monitoring without a doubt.
  • Statistics and graphics that are available provide a wealth of knowledge.
  • Any journalist I've ever wanted to know more about has a complete and detailed profile on Meltwater.
  • Daily e-mails are a big help.
  • Sometimes it seems like the Meltwater app does so much that it can be a little overwhelming.
  • No matter how many times we type into our search fields that we don't want to see social media results from our own account they still seem to show up. Not sure why this can't be fixed.
  • Searching for things can sometimes be tedious.
If you send out press releases with the intention of reaching a very specific audience, Meltwater can help you with that. If you are constantly looking for industry-specific articles for blogs or social media, Meltwater can be extremely helpful for that. If you're trying to track overall impressions of your organization in the media - whether they're positive or negative, etc. - Meltwater is a huge help. I can't think of a specific scenario where it would not be appropriate if you're working in public relations or media relations.
Read Lance Cranmer's full review
Janet Van Pelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2017

Meltwater deceptive auto-renewal policy and truly awful customer service

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Meltwater to help identify potential prospects in our area. We found it difficult to use for that purpose. Then we found out that we had been misled by our sales rep into going past a 60 day auto renewal provision and despite repeated communications with them well in advance of our contract expiration that we didn't wish to renew they are trying to force us to use their software (which we DO NOT want) for another year at a cost of $10k.
  • We didn't identify anything particularly distinctive about the Meltwater solution, and the difficulty of doing business with them far outweighs any potential benefits.
  • The results were cluttered and the search process was not intuitive.
While the Meltwater platform is probably adequate, their business practices are non-standard and deceptive. The value of their tools is absolutely not worth the pain of trying to work with the company. They bury a 60 day auto-renewal in their terms of use, which is normally reserved for how to interact with the site not business terms. Their sales rep contacts you suggesting that they send over renewal paperwork, which further obscures the auto-renewal provision. Once you are 1 day past the 60 days, they hold on like grim death and refuse any effort to terminate the contract, even if you provide notice well in advance of the end of your contract period. I have never seen a company operate this way; I'm assuming that because of the new and much better offerings from Cision and others they are bleeding customers and taking desperate measures to hang on to those they have. But it's not a pleasant experience if you're one of the poor companies that made the mistake of getting into business with them. I would avoid them at all costs.
Read Janet Van Pelt's full review
Jerry Slaff | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2017

Excellent media platform that is evolving to new interface

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a communicator in a federal Comms shop, I use it to track our news hits, and to distribute news releases to the media.
  • Large database of news outlets, easy to search on specific topics.
  • Large database of news media, makes finding relevant reporters easy.
  • Search capabilities robust.
  • Interface for news release layout and distribution works, but needs to be improved.
  • New interface remedies some of these problems, but needs to be fixed/tweaked to be usable for a large organization such as ours.
Well suited to rapid response efforts on breaking news. Interface could be smoothed and made more user friendly, and they're finally working on that.
Read Jerry Slaff's full review
Ahrim Nam | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2017

Meltwater review!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, the PR department here uses Meltwater to track any media and social coverage we get for our agency as well as our clients and campaigns. It's a great tool to have all of our press and social monitoring in one place. Additionally, it has tools like MeltwaterNews that allow us to find contacts with ease if necessary.
  • Meltwater churns out visually accurate and pleasing graphs that correspond with the numbers shown in our reports.
  • When you pair key words correctly, Meltwater is able to capture all relevant media/press mentions and makes our lives much easier.
  • The support that the Meltwater team provides whenever we have questions can't go unrecognized. They are always super quick and responsive to our needs.
  • Some articles do fall through the cracks on occasion and we wish Meltwater would catch those articles.
  • The impression numbers that Meltwater generations sometimes seem inflated and we'd like more accurate numbers, if possible.
  • Meltwater's broadcast search feature is great, but we would love for there to be a functionality where we can download the audio/press clips that mention us/our work.
It's well-suited for tracking media/social coverage, especially when it comes to big campaign launches. It's less useful for smaller work that goes out which we can track with Twitter or Google search.
Read Ahrim Nam's full review
Logan Stewart | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2017

Here's Why I'm Sticking with Meltwater, for Now.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Meltwater twice in the past few years, for media clips. It's the main way we track media mentions for our organization. I also use it for media contacts as we have 39 offices spread out geographically and a service like this is the best way to find contacts in those markets. Through Meltwater we are more easily able to track Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn mentions and follow individual media on social media. I also report on media coverage to our C-Suite using a template from Meltwater.
  • Excellent customer service
  • Visually appealing platform
  • Great social media monitoring
  • Better updated contacts than in the past
  • Still not catching some media; more blogs that they don't seem to have in their system
  • Seem to have a few less media contacts than Cision; lacking in smaller markets
  • Not as many smaller, niche individualized reporter beats
  • Meltwater is best suited to social media monitoring, is average for general media monitoring and is great for reporting if you need something easy to read and aesthetically pleasing. It's also great for finding comprehensive details on media's social media accounts.
  • Meltwater is somewhat lacking in contacts overall. It's adequate but lacks some sites and is less updated.
Read Logan Stewart's full review
Jessica Herrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2017

Relatively good platform, but misses key results.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization used Meltwater as a means to track and follow media stories, organizational coverage, and collect information on the news cycle both locally and nationally. It was used by the Communications Department.
  • Track coverage using specific Boolean searches.
  • Link to stories and news coverage based on keyword searches.
  • Collect stories shared over various platforms and in different media outlets.
  • Track coverage trends of organizations, key words, and individuals.
  • Search tools are very basic.
  • Certain stories and coverage that was found using other search platforms (including a basic Google search) were missed or omitted.
Meltwater is a great platform for organizations and individuals who want something that can supplement other media tracking. It cannot stand alone in this endeavor, and is better suited to support other options. Meltwater is also good at allowing for saved searches and specific tracking of key words or phrases. It works well with basic Boolean search functions.
Read Jessica Herrera's full review
Mike Nourie | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2017

Meltwater is great for Basic Tracking

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meltwater to manage the collection of our media data, including number of articles appeared in, reach, share of voice and other metrics. It also helps us to analyze how we compare to our competitors in the industry.
  • Wide variety of metrics available
  • Wide variety of tracking capabilities
  • Ease of use for exporting data to spreadsheets and presentations
  • Clunky to set up and use
  • Searches bring back too many results that aren't always relevant
  • Hard to clear the clutter within searches without taking out relevant articles
Meltwater Media Intelligence is great for tracking basic PR metrics, such as total number of articles and share of voice and makes it easy to view different time periods to compare metrics from previous quarters and years.

However, it isn't great for tracking how those articles bring traffic to your site and integrating with other tools. While it's great to see how many articles are written, it doesn't tell you if links in the article were clicked and if it can be traced back to your business.

Read Mike Nourie's full review
Meredith Boyce | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2017

Meltwater - It literally will melt your heart

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor social media hashtags and different campaigns that we are running. We use it to post to our accounts and monitor more frequently. We also have a weekly conference call with a representative from Meltwater who we talk with about different projects we have and ask different questions about the Meltwater platform.
  • They have great customer service.
  • Great tracking techniques.
  • Not always user-friendly.
  • Can be pushy at time to use different things they offer.
If you are looking for simple analytics then this is not going to be for you. Meltwater would be perfect for large-scale campaigns as well as campaigns that are broadcasting advertisements. The platform can be overwhelming with the amount of information and it isn't always clear how to use the data.
Read Meredith Boyce's full review
Nathan Illsley | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2017

Meltwater - Great Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meltwater for several key features. One, we use Meltwater for media tracking purposes. In this capacity we have several alerts set up so that the software will aggregate articles based on keywords that we choose. We have alerts set up both as daily recaps and "as-it-happens" so we can catch breaking stories. Secondly, we use Meltwater to search for contact information for members of the media.
  • Media monitoring
  • Detailed retroactive media searches
  • Media contact information
  • Out of date information for some publications
It is well suited for searching traditional media and for those needing basic contact information from media contacts. However, for those looking to take a deep dive into social media analytics, the platform lacks.
Read Nathan Illsley's full review
Stacey Garrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2017

Meltwater Won't Let You Drown

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department is very small, just a few of us. 2 of us use it regularly and are currently learning more about all of its capabilities. My assistant is building some media lists and we use the reports everyday to see where we are showing up in the media and to get ideas for stories we can share that are relevant to our industry.
  • The dashboard offers many options for customization and is very fresh/clean.
  • The option to address media contacts individually and build those relationships is very promising.
  • Great support! They are always asking if they can help in any way.
  • Because of the many different features and options, some of the platform can be confusing at first. It isn't always clear or divisive as to what I am looking at or trying to accomplish.
  • There seem to be a lot of steps for certain tasks that could be condensed.
  • Maybe add more of the full-service option to create lists and build relationships for the clients.
I think for the time being, it provides a great connection to media but you have to be pretty autonomous about it. This isn't suited for the company or department that is hands-off or wants a more automated or full-service option. I think for the cost, it serves its purpose well.
Read Stacey Garrison's full review

About Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform

Meltwater Media Intelligence platform is a set of public relations software tools for media monitoring, social media monitoring, and collecting brand insights. The four areas of functionality are Monitor, Analyze, Distribute, and Engage. (Note that this product combines features from the vendor Meltwater's former Buzz, Press, and News products.)
Categories:  Public Relations (PR)

Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No